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MEMORANDUM 

To: House Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources 

From: The Office of Revisor of Statutes 

Date: 02/06/2024 

Re: H.B. 2608; Authorizing the animal health commissioner to adopt rules and regulations to 

administer the poultry disease control act and to establish an annual participation fee not to 

exceed $50 for participation in the national poultry improvement plan, a certification fee not to 

exceed $50 for persons performing testing and diagnostic services and a testing fee not to exceed 

$100 per visit to each location participating in the plan. 

 

The national poultry improvement plan was established in the 1930’s to diminish the spread of 

certain poultry diseases and to promote the testing and monitoring for such diseases.1 Under 

current Kansas law, each hatchery within the state must be designated as a “national plan 

hatchery” by the animal health commissioner of the Kansas department of agriculture or meet 

equivalent requirements for pullorum and fowl typhoid control.2 Each hatchery supply flock 

within Kansas must be designated as “U.S. pullorum-typhoid clean” by the commissioner or 

must meet equivalent requirements.3 Additionally, no poultry may be shipped into Kansas other 

than from a source that is designated “U.S. pullorum-typhoid clean” under the plan or that meets 

equivalent requirements.4  

 

Section 1 would grant the commissioner authority to adopt rules and regulations for the 

administration and enforcement of the poultry disease control act.  

 

Section 2 would require each person participating in the plan to pay the commissioner an annual 

plan participation fee not to exceed $50.  

 
1 Find general information about the plan here: (https://www.poultryimprovement.org/default.cfm) 
2 K.S.A. 2-911 (https://www.ksrevisor.org/statutes/chapters/ch02/002_009_0011.html) 
3 Id. 
4 Id. 
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Section 3 would require each person performing any testing or poultry disease diagnostic 

services pursuant to the act to pay an annual certification fee not to exceed $50. Any person who 

requests testing or poultry disease diagnostic services pursuant to act would be required to pay 

the commissioner a fee not to exceed $100 per visit to each location participating in the plan. 

Language would be added to state that using services performed by someone not certified or 

authorized to do so under the act shall not be considered sufficient to support a national plan 

hatchery or U.S. pullorum-typhoid clean designation pursuant to the plan.  

 

Section 4 would state that designation under the plan could be revoked for failure to pay the 

annual plan participation fee within a 60-day grace period.  

 

H.B. 2608 would become effective upon publication in the statute book. 


