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Date: February 12,2024
To: The House Committee on Health and Human Services

From: Kansas Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

RE: HB 2746- Update requirements for receiving and renewing a license under the dietitian licensure
act

Chairman Landwehr and Members of the Committee:

As President of the Kansas Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (KSAND), | am speaking in support of HB
2746. This bill will update the educational requirements for an individual seeking to become a licensed
dietitian and modernize the licensing renewal process by alleviating the need for mailed renewal
notification.

Under the current statute, one must obtain a baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate degree and complete
at least 900 hours of supervised practice. This is not in line with current standards of the profession. HB
2746 seeks to rectify that.

In its regulations, Kansas looks to dietetic education and supervised practice programs accredited by the
Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (“ACEND”). ACEND is an autonomous
accrediting agency for education programs preparing students to begin careers as registered dietitians or
dietetic technicians. Effective January 1, 2024, the minimum degree requirement for those seeking to
become eligible to take the registration examination for dietitians changed from a baccalaureate degree

to a graduate degree. Current standards also require the completion of at least 1000 hours of supervised
practice experience.

The need for elevation to a graduate degree was decided necessary based on current and future practice
which examined the roles of the dietitian in clinical practice and the knowledge, skills, and curriculum
necessary to practice as a qualified dietitian. However, recognizing it will take time to make this change,
individuals who became eligible to take the registered examination on or before December 31, 2023, or
those who are already registered are not required to obtain a graduate degree as the impact of such a
requirement on the profession and the provision of care would be too significant. HB 2746 addresses this
concern.

1 Section 28-59-3 of the Kansas Administrative Code refers to courses of study that are accredited or supervised experience that
is accredited by the “American dietetic association.” In 2021 the American Dietetic Association changed its name to the Academy
of Nutrition and Dietetics. The Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) is the accreditation arm of
the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.



https://www.eatrightpro.org/acend/accreditation-standards-fees-and-policies/2022-standards-and-templates
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Our current licensing law and regulations were written in 1988 to align with standards of the profession at
that time. In 1988 conducting swallow screens, placing nasogastric or nasoenteric feeding tubes, or
conducting laboratory testing were not part of the standard dietitian training, but are today. HB 2746
simply aims to update Kansas law to align with 2024 standards of the profession, which ultimately support
the provision of safe, timely, qualified nutrition care. The Kansas Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
respectfully requests committee consideration and support of HB 2746.

Sincerely,
Jordan Chen, MS, RD, LD Linsey Vaughn, MS, RD, CSP, LD
Public Policy Coordinator President

lindseyksand@gmail.com
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