
 
 

 

Legislative Pay 
 
According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, 21 states set legislative 
compensation by commission. Commission composition and power vary, with some 
recommendations going into effect immediately while others can be voted on by the legislature 
to negate the recommendation or have to be voted on to go into effect. Oregon and West 
Virginia are both addressing their legislative pay right now, New York hadn’t had a pay raise in 
20 years until their newly formed commission recommended one in 2018, and half of our 
neighboring states use a commission to set legislative pay. Of interest, research seems to 
indicate that public opposition to increasing legislative pay stems not from wanting to keep 
salaries low but from a great level of overestimation of how much legislators are already paid.  
 
 
West Virginia 
Considering a bill (SB740) that ties legislative pay to the per capita income of West Virginia 
determined by the U.S. Census Bureau the prior year. The pay raise would not take effect until 
the next legislature takes office in January 2025. Current pay of $20K would increase to $28K. 
Have a 7-member Citizens Legislative Compensation Commission that recommended 
lawmakers receive a raise of $10,000. The commission, which meets every four years as spelled 
out in the state code, passed a resolution earlier this year recommending the pay increase. 
 
Oregon 
Considering SB786, which brings legislators’ paychecks in line with the average wage of a 
“covered” employee within Oregon. That is the average wage for the 90% of workers whose 
employers pay unemployment insurance taxes. Would increase pay from $35,052 to over $64K. 
Pay would be adjusted every two years and could not decrease more than 2% a year if average 
wages go down. 
 
New York 
Every four years a commission on Legislative, Judicial, & Executive Compensation is established 
with seven appointed members – three are designated by the Governor, one by the President 
Pro Tempore of the New York State Senate, one by the Speaker of the New York State 
Assembly, and two by the Chief Judge of the New York State Court of Appeals, one of whom 
serves as chair of the Commission. The first recommendation from the commission in 2018 was 
for a 63% pay increase over three years and was an increase from $79.5K to $130K. This was 
the first pay raise in 20 years. Recommendations go into effect automatically unless lawmakers 
reject them. 

https://www.ncsl.org/about-state-legislatures/legislative-compensation-setting
https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/2021/09/08/state-legislators-make-big-decisions-so-why-do-they-get-tiny-paychecks/
https://wvmetronews.com/2023/03/08/blair-backs-legislative-pay-raise-because-its-tied-to-success-of-state/
https://www.opb.org/article/2023/03/01/oregon-politics-salem-lawmakers-pay-salary-raise-increase-senators-representatives/
https://apnews.com/article/787abd7fd87b4143926e865c4bfeda86


 
Missouri 
Salaries are controlled by the 21 members of the Missouri Citizens’ Commission on 
Compensation for Elected Officials, who meet every two years. Lawmakers did not reject the 
commission’s recommendation for a pay raise for the first time in 13 years in 2021. The 
commission report set legislative pay at “the same percentage increase as was received by 
Circuit Judges in their most recent yearly increase.” Legislative salaries went up 5%, from 
$35,915 per year in fiscal 2021 to now $37,711. Provision tying raises to judicial pay boosts was 
designed to get around political reluctance to vote for pay raises. 
 
Oklahoma  
The Legislative Compensation Board controls salaries. Th Board is made up of five members 
appointed by the Governor and two members appointed by both the House Speaker and 
Senate President Pro Tem. Every two years, the Board reviews and may vote to change the 
compensation paid to the members of the Legislature. Such a change automatically becomes 
effective on the fifteenth day following the succeeding general election. In 2017, the Board 
voted to cut lawmakers’ salaries by 8.4 percent, from $38,400 to $35,021. The cut was admitted 
to be a punitive measure. In October 2019, the Board voted to raise lawmakers’ base salary 
from $35,021 to $47,500, a 35.6 percent increase and the first raise in 20 years. The 2021 
meeting of the board held pay at the existing level.  
 
Nebraska 
Pay is set at $1,000 a month, $12K a year, via the state constitution. 2012 proposal to increase 
pay to $22,500 was defeated by Nebraska voters by a 68% to 31% margin. The last pay raise 
amendment that passed was in 1988 and increased pay from $400 a month to the current 
$1,000.  
 
Colorado 
Member salaries are adjusted at the beginning of each term to equal 25 percent of a county 
judge's salary during the first year of the term. Senators whose terms began prior to January 
2023 will receive $41,449 annually.  Senators whose terms begin on the first day of the 
legislative session in January of 2023 and all members of the House will receive $43,977 
annually.  

https://boards.mo.gov/userpages/Board.aspx?33
https://okpolicy.org/legislative-compensation-board/
https://www.omahadailyrecord.com/content/opinion-it%E2%80%99s-time-raise-pay-nebraska%E2%80%99s-state-senators
https://leg.colorado.gov/agencies/legislative-council-staff/salaries-legislators-statewide-elected-officials-and-county#:~:text=In%20calendar%20year%202022%2C%20all,of%202021%20receive%20%2441%2C449%20annually.

