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MEMORANDUM
To: House Committee on Transportation
From: Office of Revisor of Statutes
Date: February 14, 2023
Subject: Bill Brief — HB 2680

HB 2680 creates a traffic infraction for leaving a child eight years of age or younger
unattended in a vehicle.

Section 1 of HB 2680 provides that a parent, legal guardian or other person responsible
for a child who is eight years of age or younger shall not knowingly leave such child inside a
motor vehicle without being subject to the supervision of a person who is 12 years of age or
older. A violation of this provision will be a traffic infraction with a fine of $100 by inserting this
offense into the uniform fine schedule in Section 2 of the bill.

Section 1 further states that fines collected by district courts pursuant to a violation of the
section shall be remitted to the state treasurer and deposited into the children and family trust
account of the family and children investment fund established in K.S.A. 38-1808. Expenditures
from the children and family trust account are used to provide services and programs related to a
broad range of child abuse and neglect prevention activities.

Additionally, Section 1 requires the division of vehicles to include information
concerning the dangers of leaving children unattended in vehicles in the Kansas driving
handbook, drivers’ training schools and courses, driver improvement clinics and any community
awareness materials by the division or any other agencies, including but not limited to, the
department of transportation, the department for children and families and the Kansas highway
patrol.

The bill becomes effective upon publication in the statute book.
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