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Office of Revisor of Statutes, 3/6/2023 

MEMORANDUM 

To:    Senate Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance 

From:    Office of Revisor of Statutes 

Date:    March 7, 2023 

Subject:  Bill Brief, HB 2090 

 

HB 2090 is the House version of SB 27. The bill amends K.S.A. 40‐4905, 40‐4906, and 40‐5505, relating to 

certain fees charged by the insurance department. The bill would give the Commissioner of Insurance 

the ability to set the amount of these fees charged, with an upper limit provided by statute. 

 

Under current law, K.S.A. 40‐4905 requires that a person applying for a resident insurance agent pay a 

nonrefundable  fee of $30. HB 2090 would amend  that provision  to state  that a person applying  for a 

resident agent  license would be required to pay a nonrefundable fee  in an amount not to exceed $30. 

The bill also would require that the Commissioner set the amount of the resident agent license fee for 

the next year and publish it in the Kansas register by December 1 of the year. 

 

Similarly, under  current  law, K.S.A. 40‐4906  requires  that a nonresident person who  is applying  for a 

nonresident agent  license of $50. HB 2090 would amend  the provision  to  state  that  the nonresident 

person would be required to pay a nonrefundable  fee  in an amount not to exceed $50. And again, as 

with  the previous  statute,  the Commissioner  is  required  to  set  the amount of  the nonresident agent 

license fee for the next year by December 1 of the year and publish it in the Kansas Register. 

 

Finally,  under  current  law,  K.S.A.  requires  and  applicant  for  a  public  adjuster  license  to  pay  an 

application  fee of $100. HB 2090  again would  amend  that provision  to  state  that  an  applicant  for  a 

public adjuster license would be required to pay a fee in an amount not to exceed $100. And again, as 

before,  the Commissioner  is  required  to set  the amount of  the public adjuster application  fee  for  the 

next year by December 1 of the year and publish it in the Kansas Register. 

 

If enacted, the bill would go into effect on July 1, 2023. 

 

The House Committee of the Whole passed HB 2090 unanimously on February 21, 2023. 

 

 


