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Chair Gossage and Committee Members, 

 

Thank you for the opportunity to speak to the Committee today. I am David Fye, Executive Director of the 

Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board (BSRB), and I will be speaking as a proponent of HB 2340, a bill 

requested on behalf of the BSRB. 

 

The BSRB is a composite Board that serves as the licensing agency for most of the state’s mental health 

professionals. Our mission is to protect the public’s health, safety, and welfare from unlawful or 

unprofessional practitioners who fall under the board’s jurisdiction. We oversee requirements that 

applicants must satisfy before being granted licensure. The BSRB licenses the following professions: Social 

Work, Professional Counseling, Marriage and Family Therapy, Addiction Counseling, Licensed 

Psychology, Master’s Level Psychology, and Behavior Analysis. Currently, our agency has 14,847 active 

permanent licensees in the professions we regulate. Since 2015, the Board has seen an increase in the 

number of permanent licensees by over 20.0 percent. For some professions, the growth in clinical 

practitioners has been even more pronounced. The profession of social work makes up over 55.0 percent 

of all licenses. Since 2015, the number of clinical social workers has increased by over 42.0 percent, from 

1,966, to 2,804. Kansas has fewer clinical social workers than some other states, but most of this is 

attributable to the relative population differences between the states. Also, when you examine the number 

of master’s level practitioners that are in the pipeline to become clinical practitioners, Kansas exceeds many 

other states who have populations larger than Kansas. A historical table on licensee is attached. 

 

CURRENT NUMBER OF PERMANENT LICENSES 

 

Social Workers 

   

8,104  Licensed Psychologists     1,010    

Professional Counselors 

   

2,118  Master's Level Psychologists 

                

       600  

Marriage & Family Therapists 

   

1,103  Behavior Analysts 

              

       388  

Addiction Counselors 

   

1,524      

 

However, even though the number of permanent licensees has been growing, the Board understands that 

there is still a need for additional mental health professionals. The Board of the BSRB is very excited to 

bring forward several new items in HB 2340 that will assist the public protection mission of the agency and 

address other issues, such as workforce concerns. Additionally, the Board utilizes standing Advisory 

Committees for each of the seven professions regulated by the Board, which assist the work of the Board 

discussing topics relevant to the professions and forwarding recommendations to the Board for 

consideration. Currently, 55 individuals volunteer to serve on these Advisory Committees, so the final 

recommendations on the Board before you in HB 2340 represent positions which have been discussed by 

many individuals associated with the Board. Below, I have included a summary of significant items 

included in HB 2340. 

http://www.ksbsrb.ks.gov/
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Lowering Years of Practice for Reciprocity Applicants 

 

For most professions under the Board, the statutes require certain reciprocity applicants to have obtained a 

license from a jurisdiction with substantially equivalent requirements for licensure or to have met other 

requirements. One of these requirements states the applicant must have practiced in that jurisdiction 48 of 

the past 54 months. However, recent changes to reciprocity requirements for certain groups of individuals 

and current discussions on multi-state compacts have led to a significant amount of confusion concerning 

this item and the Board believes it would best serve the public protect mission of the Board and address 

workforce concerns by lowering the required period of time from 48 months to 12 months, so this item is 

included in HB 2340. 

 

Increasing Time Period for Temporary Licenses 

 

HB 2340 includes language to extend the time period for temporary licenses from 1 year to 2 years. When 

applicants apply for initial licensure, they must meet certain criteria to be approved to take a standardized 

licensing examination for their profession. When they reach this point in the licensing process, they are 

able to request a temporary license to be able to work while attempting to pass the licensing examination. 

The Board has received information that some individuals have struggled to pass the licensing 

examination, so the Board voted to request a change to statute to extend the time period for temporary 

licenses one additional year, which allows more time if the applicant is struggling to pass the licensing 

examination, allows the applicant greater flexibility when scheduling that examination, and provides 

assistance to address workforce concerns by allowing an individual to work up to 2 years with a 

temporary license. 

 

Creating Pathway for Requesting Additional Time to Complete Continuing Education Hours, 

Which Will Allow More Current Licensees to Maintain Their Licensure 

 

HB 2340 creates a new pathway for current licensees to request additional time to complete continuing 

education hours, if certain conditions are met. Currently, one of the requirements to renew a permanent 

license under the BSRB is completion of continuing education hours. However, the BSRB has received 

comments from some licensees that were unable to complete their continuing education hours because of 

unexpected extreme conditions relating to their health, the health of someone close to them, or other 

factors. In some of these cases, the licensees chose to let their licenses expire. Under this new pathway, if 

current licensees are reaching the expiration date of their license and they have not completed the 

necessary continuing education hours to renew their license, they can request up to 3 months of additional 

time if they submit a request to the BSRB, show extenuating circumstances existed for needing the 

additional time, and provide a plan for attaining the necessary hours. If approved, they would be able to 

renew their licenses, then attain the necessary hours as approved by the BSRB. 

 

Decrease Reinstatement Fee and Create New 6-Month Reinstatement Temporary License 

 

HB 2340 creates language allowing previous licensees whose licenses have expired to be able to reinstate 

their licenses more quickly and at a decreased cost. Currently, if most licensees allow their licenses to 

expire, to reinstate those licenses, they would need to pay a renewal fee as well as a reinstatement fee 

equal to the cost of the renewal fee. However, in an effort to address workforce concerns, the Board 

elected that for anyone whose license has been expired for over one year, who is interested in rejoining 

the workforce under a profession of the BSRB, the cost to reinstate the license would be cut in half. 

Additionally, one of the requirements to reinstate a license is attain continuing education hours for the 

previous time period. However, HB 2340 creates a new 6-month reinstatement temporary license for 

individuals who had not met this requirement, which would allow that person to work under this new 6-

month reinstatement temporary license while attaining the necessary hours for their permanent license to 

be fully reinstated. 
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Creating New Temporary License for Graduates of Social Work Programs “in Candidacy” for 

Accreditation 

 

HB 2340 includes language creating new Temporary “in candidacy” licenses for social work applicants 

who received their education from programs that are “in candidacy” for accreditation by the national 

accrediting body for the social work profession, the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE). 

 

The BSRB is in a time of transitions concerning the topic of online education. In the past, most education 

was received while students were physically present at schools and many of the BSRB program 

requirements for the education standards of the professions reflected this viewpoint. However, there has 

been a growth and improvement in online education programs and many of these programs have recently 

started operating in the state of Kansas. For the social work profession, the BSRB requires that students 

receive their education from programs that meet certain standards. The national accrediting body for the 

social work profession is CSWE. If applicants received their education from programs accredited by 

CSWE, the BSRB is able to expedite their license applications. However, if applicants did not receive 

their education from programs accredited by CSWE, then those applicants must have received their 

education from a program that meets alternative requirements in the licensing regulations for the 

profession. For many years, these regulations have required that applicants from non-accredited programs 

must have received half of their education while in face-to-face contact with core faculty at the physical 

location of the education institution. 

 

The issue for new online programs is that the accreditation process with CSWE takes about 3 years to 3 

and a half years to complete. Therefore, for new schools that are seeking accreditation, they will begin 

accepting students and those students may graduate from that program prior to the program reaching 

accreditation. If those applicants apply for licensure from the BSRB, since they received their education 

from a program that is not accredited by CSWE, they will need to have received their education from a 

program that met the alternate requirements for licensure. If those programs are online-only programs, 

then they would be unable to meet those requirements. 

 

CSWE utilizes steps to accreditation that include (1) Pre-Candidacy, (2) Candidacy, and (3) 

Accreditation. Pre-Candidacy means that a program has submitted an application and other materials and 

is in communication with CSWE seeking to be accepted into the accreditation phase known as 

“Candidacy.” Once a school is accepted into “Candidacy,” CSWE performs onsite inspections and 

provides the program with annual reports indicating whether the program is on track to reach 

accreditation. If the program reaches accreditation, CSWE will backdate their accreditation date to when 

the program was accepted into “Candidacy.” However, for the BSRB’s licensing purposes, the issue is 

what should be done for these students when they graduate from a program that is in “Candidacy” for 

accreditation. 

 

First, the Advisory Committees discussed whether the requirement for education to be received while the 

student was physically present is still necessary. The Social Work Advisory Committee, Professional 

Counseling Advisory Committee, Addiction Counseling Advisory Committee, and Marriage and Family 

Therapy Advisory Committee recommended to the Board removing the physical presence requirement 

and allowing for the face-to-face component to be satisfied either in person or by screen for their 

professions educational regulations and the Board voted to support that recommendation, so that change 

is working its way through the regulation change process. 

 

Second, the BSRB researched methods used by other states to resolve the issue of students graduating 

from programs that are in “Candidacy” for accreditation. The Board recommended adopting a model 

similar to one used by the Minnesota Board of Social Work, which grants a temporary license to 

applicants from programs that are in “Candidacy” for accreditation. Once their program reaches 

accreditation, they can request a permanent license. If their program does not become accredited, then 

they would no longer able to use the temporary license. This new language creating this Temporary 

Candidacy License is included in HB 2340. 
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Creating New Student Temporary Addiction Counseling Licenses 

 

HB 2340 creates a new student temporary addiction counseling license for students who are seeking to 

become licensed as Licensed Addiction Counselors, but are short of the coursework necessary to obtain 

this level of licensure. Under this new Student Temporary License, an individual would be able to provide 

helpful services to an employer while completing necessary requirements for a full permanent addiction 

counseling license. 

 

Other Modifications to Behavior Analyst Statutes 

 

HB 2340 includes several changes to create more uniformity between the regulations for the Behavior 

Analyst profession, including adding language to authorize restatements of licenses and modifying 

disciplinary remedies to make the language more consistent with professions under the Board. 

 

Statutory Cleanup 

 

HB 2340 includes reorganization of certain statutes and includes additional clarifying language to better 

assist the public and other individuals seeking to understand processes of the BSRB by reviewing the 

statutes. 

 

 

Concerns with Amendments Added by House Health and Human Services Committee 

 

When HB 2340 was heard and worked by the House Health and Human Services Committee, six 

amendments were made to the bill. Three of the amendments removed items from the bill and three of the 

amendments added new items to the bill. While the Board is still supportive of the three items that were 

removed by the House Committee, the Board is not asking for those items to be restored to the bill. 

 

However, the Board has serious concerns with different aspects of the three items added to the bill by the 

House Health and Human Services Committee. The concerns of the Board are listed below. 

 

Item #1 – Creation of Community-Based Licenses for Employees in Community Mental Health 

Centers 

 

The House Committee added new language that would call for the BSRB to create new “Community-

Based Licenses” for the professions of Licensed Psychology, Social Work, Professional Counseling, and 

Marriage and Family Therapy. This new type of license does not appear to be based on a model in any 

other states or a model used by other state agencies. These “Community-Based Licenses” appear to 

function the same as temporary licenses, in that they would be for individuals who have applied for 

licensure, but have not yet passed the licensing examination, they would last no longer than 24 months, 

they could not be issued or renewed again on any subsequent application for the same license level. 

However, these new licenses would specifically be available to applicants who worked at a Community 

Mental Health Center and were under supervision by a person licensed by the BSRB at the independent 

level. However, the statutes further state that individuals holding these temporary licenses would be 

able to use the titles and initials of a permanent license holder, even though they have not passed 

the licensing examination and are not permanent license holders. These means that applicants holding 

these temporary “Community-Based Licenses” would be able to call themselves Licensed Psychologists 

and use the initials LP after their name, even though they are not permanently licensed by the Board as a 

Licensed Psychologist and have not met all of the requirements for permanent licensure, such as passing 

the licensure examination and paying the license fee. The same would be true for applicants holding these 

“Community-Based Licenses” in the professions of Licensed Bachelor’s Social Worker (LBSW), 

Licensed Master’s Social Worker (LMSW), Licensed Professional Counselors (LPC), and Licensed 

Marriage and Family Therapists (LMFT). 
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The Board is very concerned that this will endanger the public, as it will mislead individuals to believe 

these holders of temporary licenses have permanent licenses under the Board. Additionally, the Board is 

concerned that utilization of these titles and initials by individuals who are not permanently licensed 

could cause the public to doubt whether the thousands or professionals who currently use these titles and 

initials truly hold the titles they have earned, or whether they are allowed to use those titles due to an 

exception in the law. 

 

It appears that the concept of a “Community-Based License” has not been fully worked through. Aside 

from the public protection issues noted above, the proposed new language does not clarify if these new 

“Community-Based Licenses” would be needed in addition to the current temporary license; whether they 

would be an alternative to the current temporary license; or whether an individual could receive a 

temporary license, then later apply for a Community-Based License if they had not passed their licensing 

examination. 

 

Given these concerns, the Board requests an amendment (Attached Amendment #1) removing the 

language which would create these new “Community-Based Licenses.” The Board is receptive to 

consideration of new license types when they are beneficial and do not harm the public protection mission 

of the Board, however the language of these license types appears harmful to the professions. If the 

language regarding the titles and initials is removed, it is still unclear whether there is a need for this type 

of new license that is different than the existing temporary licenses. 

 

 

Item #2 – House Amendment that Lowers Social Work Required Education and Hours of 

Experience in Diagnosis and Treatment Prior to Clinical Licensure   

 

The House Committee added language to modify statutory requirements for applicants seeking to become 

Licensed Clinical Social Workers who would be providing clinical services independently, to decrease 

from 15 hours to 3 hours educational requirements related to diagnosing and treating individuals, 

including elimination of required coursework in diagnostic assessment, interdisciplinary referral and 

collaboration, treatment approaches, and professional ethics. Additionally, applicants seeking a clinical 

social work license must complete a graduate level supervised clinical practicum of supervised 

professional experience, including psychotherapy and assessments, and have completed 3,000 hours of 

supervised professional experience, including at least 1,500 hours of direct client contact conducting 

psychotherapy and assessments. The reason that these criteria are required is that it is vitally important 

that an applicant have experience diagnosing and treating individuals prior to being licensed to perform 

that work independently. The House Committee added the phrase “including, but not limited to,” which 

has the effect of reducing the required direct client contact hours conducting psychotherapy and 

assessment from 1,500 hours, down to one hour, because so long as some experience conducting 

psychotherapy and assessment is included, it would appear to meet the new standard. 

 

This drastic reduction in experience providing diagnosis and treatment would be very harmful and would 

lead to a rise in complaints against practitioners who would lack the necessary experience diagnosing and 

treating individuals prior to becoming licensed. 

 

Given these concerns, the Board requests an amendment (Attached Amendment #2) with changes 

identified restoring the existing statutory requirement of 15 credit hours in the identified areas of 

diagnosis and treatment and striking the phrase “but not limited to” so that we can ensure that 

individuals who become Licensed Specialist Clinical Social Workers have the necessary education 

and experience to assist the public. 
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Item #3 – House Amendment Requiring 15-Day Review and Assessment Provided to All 

Applicants, Creation of a 30-day Deadline for Issuing a Decision Once a Complete File has Been 

Received, and Implementing an Expedited Licensing Process with a Mandatory Decision in 15 Days  

  

The House Committee added new language which would make three operational changes for the 

Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board. 

 

15-Day Review and Assessment - The first item would require the BSRB to send a message to all 

applicants, within 15 days of receipt of an application, providing an assessment of whether the application 

was considered complete or incomplete, and if the application was not complete, what else would be 

required to have a complete application. The BSRB lacks staffing to accomplish this type of quick review 

timeframe. Currently, we ask applicants to allow for 30 to 45 days, after we have received a complete 

application. We currently have nearly 15,000 permanent licensees, hundreds of individuals with 

temporary licenses, others with temporary out-of-state permits or provisional licenses, and many others 

who are in the process of applying for licensure. One of the strengths of the BSRB licensing system is 

that we allow multiple pathways for licensure, though some pathways take longer to fully evaluate all 

applicant materials. Additionally, we do not receive all information relevant to an application at the same 

time. Meeting this new requirement would require the BSRB to add additional staff members.  

 

Since this language was added by the House Committee, we have been performing a review of our 

licensing timeframes, our licensee totals, and our capacity to add new staff members. Over the last several 

years, we have seen an increase in licensees. While we believe the future growth in licensees could be 

impacted by the potential for Kansas to join several multi-state compacts over the next few years, we 

believe it would be helpful to add more staff members to address concerns related to this increase in 

applicants, so that we are able to increase the timeliness in processing applications. At this time, we 

believe we may be able to rent additional storage space, which would allow us to utilize other office space 

to hire two new licensing specialists. Funding for these positions is not included in the budget that was 

submitted to the 2023 Legislature, but we estimate that adding 2.0 FTE Licensing Specialist positions 

would total $96,352, including $92,353 salary and fringe benefit costs and $4,000 for equipment and 

other costs associated with modifying existing office space for two new employees. We ask that the 

Committee remove the new 15-day requirement, to keep operational policies for the BSRB 

consistent with other regulatory Boards in the state of Kansas, but to support the agency’s future 

request at Omnibus to add funding for 2.0 FTE Licensing Specialist positions, so that we are able to 

provide more updates to applicants and process license applications more quickly. 

 

30-Day Mandatory Decisions - The second item would require the BSRB to issue a decision on 

licensure within 30 days after having a complete application. One of the issues with this provision is that 

it is not always in the best interest of the applicant for a decision to be issued in that timeframe. For 

example, if a social work applicant applied for licensure from a program “in Candidacy” for accreditation 

by a national accrediting body, and that program did not meet the alternate requirements for licensure in 

the education regulations, that applicant would not meet the requirements for licensure. Currently, we are 

able to offer to the applicant that we would be willing to hold their application, pending passage of 

legislation by the 2023 Legislature. If passed, that legislation would allow them to be approved to take the 

social work licensing examination. Under the new language, we would be required to issue them a denial 

and they would need to reapply in the future, after paying another application fee. The Board requests 

an amendment allowing for an exception to this requirement at the request of the applicant. 

 

Expedited Licensure - The third new item would require the BSRB to implement a new expedited 

licensure process, which would require the BSRB to issue a decision on licensure within 15 days of 

receiving a fee for this expedited licensure process. While the Board appreciates applicant’s wishing to be 

licensed as quickly as possible, the reason that the licensing process sometimes takes longer than normal 

is due to the different ways we are able to license individuals, which sometimes requires additional 

information or review by an expert. If the BSRB does not have a complete application, the agency will 

have no choice but to deny the license application. The current language does not state the BSRB must 

have a complete application prior to issuing a decision. The Board is very concerns that this new policy 
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would lead individuals to believe they would be able to receive a license quickly, though the BSRB is 

unable to approve a license application if the agency has insufficient information. By law, licensure of 

some applicants requires a 2/3 vote of the Board, so a 15-day timeframe would mean that some 

individuals would not be able to be licensed, if the Board was unable to meet to approve their licensure. 

The Board is concerned this policy, as it is currently worded, would lead to a significant increase in 

denials of applicants. Additionally, by statute, fees paid to the BSRB are non-refundable, so the increase 

in denials would also follow payment of an extra fee, which the BSRB would not be able to provide back 

to the applicants. Also, a decision on licensure is a legal decision, which necessitates the drafting of a 

legal order. These orders take time to be drafted and sometimes the drafting of those orders is outside of 

the agency’s control. Furter, the Board is concerned that with an increase in denials, this would lead to an 

increase in applicants requesting appeals, which would result in a significant increase in legal fees for the 

agency. Given these factors, the Board would likely need to reverse recent fee decrease and would need to 

increase certain fees to cover this additional cost. The Board requests an amendment that the 

language on an expedited license process be removed. 



July 
2015

July 
2016

July 
2017

July   
2018

Jan   
2019

July   
2019

Jan   
2020

Mar   
2020

July   
2021

Sept   
2021

Nov   
2021

Jan   
2022

Mar   
2022

May 
2022

July 
2022

Sept 
2022

Nov 
2022

Jan  
2023

Mar 
2023

LP 897        967        926        984        928        949        996        1,006     988        1,016       1,035     1,046     1,040      1,054     952        962         987        999        1,010     
LASW 22          21          21          19          18          17           15          13          9            8              9             8            7              7             5            5              5             4            4             
LBSW 1,756     1,754     1,764     1,725     1,668     1,638     1,601     1,577     1,466     1,427       1,413     1,393     1,389      1,377     1,346     1,327      1,313     1,295     1,280     
LMSW 3,519     3,684     3,774     3,862     3,854     3,927     3,881     3,861     3,970     4,016       4,022     4,006     4,003      3,980     4,012     4,028      4,021     4,023     4,016     
LSCSW 1,966     2,009     2,033     2,088     2,115     2,172     2,260     2,274     2,474     2,509       2,553     2,566     2,593      2,634     2,680     2,720      2,752     2,769     2,804     
LPC 648        733        760        813        829        847        880        882        937        953          961         956        963          957        981        1,002      1,006     1,012     1,014     
LCPC 500        546        561        619        661        704        747        747        843        896          929         947        978          945        1,034     1,047      1,077     1,088     1,104     
LMLP 288        304        303        302        305        295        289        291        294        296          298         304        309          309        308        310         311        315        323        
LCP 291        298        294        297        287        288        294        293        282        284          284         286        286          287        289        281         278        276        277        
LMFT 354        350        340        347        335        324        330        327        335        324          319         329        326          330        330        318         312        319        320        
LCMFT 444        499        535        566        587        611        618        620        681        703          719         726        736          745        754        763         773        776        783        
LAC 930        919        729        620        612        618        572        569        578        520          520         521        524          522        522        523         526        530        535        
LMAC ‐             ‐             262        343        352        363        376        375        427        432          433         432        434          436        431        418         414        421        415        
LCAC 537        528        541        527        546        566        546        541        570        536          537         542        547          551        556        561         566        568        574        
LaBA ‐             ‐             15          18          13          14           14          14          12          11            13           13          15            16           17          15            19           21          18          
LBA ‐             ‐             129        175        176        199        224        229        263        270          288         292        304          325        333        347         354        363        370        
Total 
Permanent 
Licenses 12,152  12,612  12,987  13,305   13,286   13,532   13,643   13,619  14,129  14,201    14,333   14,367  14,454    14,475   14,550  14,627    14,714   14,779  14,847   

Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board
History of Permanent Licenses July 2015 to Current

Note : In March 2020, the state of Kansas began to experience the COVID‐19 pandemic. During this time, the Governor released Executive Orders which delayed enforcement of expiration of licenses until 
the end of May 2021.

Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board March 13, 2023



July 
2015

July 
2016

July 
2017

July   
2018

Jan   
2019

July   
2019

Jan   
2020

Mar   
2020

July   
2021

Sept   
2021

Nov   
2021

Jan   
2022

Mar   
2022

May 
2022

July 
2022

Sept 
2022

Nov 
2022

Jan  
2023

Mar 
2023

Total LPs 897        967        926        984        928        949        996        1,006     988        1,016       1,035     1,046     1,040      1,054     952        962         987        999        1,010     

Total SWs 7,263     7,468     7,592     7,694     7,655     7,754     7,757     7,725     7,919     7,960       7,997     7,973     7,992      7,998     8,043     8,080      8,091     8,091     8,104     

Total PCs 1,148     1,279     1,321     1,432     1,490     1,551     1,627     1,629     1,780     1,849       1,890     1,903     1,941      1,902     2,015     2,049      2,083     2,100     2,118     

Total LMLPs/LCPs 579        602        597        599        592        583        583        584        576        580          582         590        595          596        597        591         589        591        600        

Total MFTs 798        849        875        913        922        935        948        947        1,016     1,027       1,038     1,055     1,062      1,075     1,084     1,081      1,085     1,095     1,103     

Total ACs 1,467     1,447     1,532     1,490     1,510     1,547     1,494     1,485     1,575     1,488       1,490     1,495     1,505      1,509     1,509     1,502      1,506     1,519     1,524     

Total BAs ‐             ‐             144        193        189        213        238        243        275        281          301         305        319          341        350        362         373        384        388        
Total 
Permanent 
Licenses 12,152  12,612  12,987  13,305   13,286   13,532   13,643   13,619  14,129  14,201    14,333   14,367  14,454    14,475   14,550  14,627    14,714   14,779  14,847   

Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board
History of Permanent Licenses July 2015 to Current

Note : In March 2020, the state of Kansas began to experience the COVID‐19 pandemic. During this time, the Governor released Executive Orders which delayed enforcement of expiration of licenses until 
the end of May 2021.

Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board March 13, 2023



{As Amended by House Committee of the Whole}

As Amended by House Committee
Session of 2023

HOUSE BILL No. 2340

By Committee on Health and Human Services
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AN ACT concerning the behavioral sciences; increasing the membership 
of the behavioral sciences regulatory board; requiring the behavioral 
sciences regulatory board to process applications within a certain 
time  and  establish  an  expedited  application  process; relating  to 
licensure  and  regulation;  professional  counselors,  social  workers, 
marriage and family therapists, addiction counselors, behavior analysts, 
psychologists and master's level psychologists; decreasing the years of 
practice required for reciprocity licensure; requiring that clinical social 
work  supervisors  be  approved  by  the  board; providing additional 
reduced diagnosis and treatment continuing education requirements; 
establishing  license  categories  for  applicants  from  social  work 
programs  in  candidacy  for  accreditation  and  for  temporary 
reinstatement;  extending  the  license  period  of  temporary  licenses; 
establishing a community-based license for professional counselors, 
social workers, marriage and family therapists and psychologists; 
amending K.S.A. 65-5802, 65-5806, 65-6302, 65-6313, 65-6314, 65-
6402,  65-6407,  65-6608,  65-6614,  65-6618,  65-7504,  65-7505,  74-
5302, 74-5318, 74-5361, 74-5365, 74-5366, 74-5367 and 74-7501 and 
K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 65-5804a, 65-5807, 65-5808, 65-6306, 65-6309, 65-
6322,  65-6404,  65-6405,  65-6406,  65-6411,  65-6610,  65-6611,  65-
6613, 74-5310, 74-5315, 74-5316, 74-5363 and 74-5375 and repealing 
the existing sections; also repealing K.S.A. 74-5339.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:
New  Section  1. (a)  On  and  after  January  1,  2024,  any  licensee 

providing  postgraduate  clinical  supervision  for  any  individual  working 
toward  licensure  as  a  clinical  social  worker  shall  be  a  board-approved 
clinical supervisor. 

(b) An application for a board-approved clinical supervisor shall be 
made to the board on a form and in the manner prescribed by the board 
and shall be accompanied by the fee as provided by K.S.A. 65-6314, and 
amendments thereto. 

(c) Each  applicant  for  board-approved  clinical  supervisor  shall 
furnish evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant: 
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HB 2340—Am. by HCW 8

(2) meeting  the  application  requirements  as  stated  in  K.S.A.  65-
5804a(b)(1), (2) and (4), and amendments thereto.

(f) (1) A temporary professional counselor license may be issued by 
the board after the application has  been reviewed and approved by the 
board and the applicant has paid the appropriate fee set by the board for 
issuance of a temporary license.

(2) Absent  extenuating  circumstances  approved  by  the  board,  a 
temporary professional counselor license issued by the board shall expire 
upon the date the board issues or denies a license to practice professional 
counseling or 12 24 months after the date of issuance of the temporary 
license.  No temporary license  will  be  renewed or  issued again  on any 
subsequent  application  for  the  same  license  level.  The  preceding 
provisions in no way limit the number of times an applicant may take the 
examination.

(g) A person  practicing  professional  counseling  with  a  temporary 
professional counselor license may not use the title "licensed professional 
counselor" or the initials "LPC" independently. The word "licensed" may 
be used only when followed by the words "by temporary license," such as 
licensed  professional  counselor  by  temporary  license,  or  professional 
counselor licensed by temporary license.

(h) No  person  may  practice  professional  counseling  under  a 
temporary professional counselor license except under the supervision of a 
person  licensed  by  the  behavioral  sciences  regulatory  board  at  the 
independent level.

(i) Nothing  in  this  section  shall  affect  any  temporary  license  to 
practice issued under this section prior to the effective date of this act and 
in effect on the effective date of this act. Such temporary license shall be 
subject to the provisions of this section in effect at the time of its issuance 
and  shall  continue  to  be  effective  until  the  date  of  expiration  of  the 
temporary license provided under this section at the time of issuance of 
such temporary license.

(j) (1) An individual may apply to the board for a community-
based  professional  counselor  license  to  practice  professional 
counseling in the scope of employment by a community mental health 
center, as defined in K.S.A. 39-2002, and amendments thereto.

(2) A community-based  professional  counselor  license  may  be 
issued  by  the  board  after  the  board  reviews  and  approves  the 
application and the applicant has paid the fee set by the board for 
issuance of a community-based professional counselor license.

(3) (A) Absent extenuating circumstances approved by the board, 
a community-based professional counselor license issued by the board 
shall expire:

(i) Upon the date the board issues or denies a license to practice 
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HB 2340—Am. by HCW 9

professional counseling; or
(ii) 24 months after the date of issuance of the community-based 

professional counselor license. 
(B) No community-based professional counselor license shall  be 

renewed or issued again on any subsequent application for the same 
license  level.  This  paragraph  shall  not  be  construed  to  limit  the 
number of times an applicant may take the examination.

(4) A  person  practicing  professional  counseling  with  a 
community-based  professional  counselor  license  may  use  the  title 
"licensed professional counselor" or the initials "LPC" independently.

(5) No  person  may  practice  professional  counseling  under  a 
community-based  professional  counselor  license  except  under  the 
supervision  of  a  person  licensed  by  the  board  to  practice  at  the 
independent level.

Sec. 4. K.S.A. 65-5806 is hereby amended to read as  follows: 65-
5806. (a) An applicant who meets the requirements for licensure pursuant 
to this the professional counselors licensure act, has paid the license fee 
provided  for  by  K.S.A.  65-5808,  and  amendments  thereto,  and  has 
otherwise complied with the provisions of this act shall be licensed by the 
board.

(b) Licenses issued pursuant to this act shall expire 24 months from 
the date of issuance unless revoked prior to that time. A license may be 
renewed upon application and payment of the fee provided for by K.S.A. 
65-5808, and amendments thereto.  The application for renewal shall  be 
accompanied by evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has 
completed  during  the  previous  24  months  the  continuing  education 
required by rules and regulations of the board.  Prior to July 1, 2025,  as 
part of such continuing education, a licensee shall complete not less than 
six  continuing  education  hours  relating  to  diagnosis  and  treatment  of 
mental  disorders  and not  less  than  three continuing education hours  of 
professional ethics. On and after July 1, 2025, as part of such continuing  
education,  a  licensee  shall  complete  not  less  than  three  continuing 
education hours relating to diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders, 
and not less than three continuing education hours of professional ethics 
and not less than three continuing education hours in cultural diversity.  
Acceptable continuing education hours in cultural diversity shall include,  
but not be limited to, professional development regarding age, disability,  
ethnicity, gender, gender identity, language, national origin, race, religion,  
cultural, sexual orientation and socioeconomic status.

(c) (1) A licensee who is unable to complete the required continuing  
education hours for renewal may request additional time to complete any  
remaining continuing education hours. Such request shall be made to the  
board not later than 30 calendar days prior to the expiration of the license 
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HB 2340—Am. by HCW 12

shall  submit  the  license  fee  as  provided  by  K.S.A.  65-5808,  and  
amendments thereto.

Sec.  6. K.S.A.  2022 Supp.  65-5808 is  hereby amended to  read  as 
follows: 65-5808. (a) The board may fix collect the following fees, and 
any such fees shall be established by rules and regulations adopted by the 
board:

(1) For application for licensure as a professional counselor, not more
than $100;

(2) for an original license as a professional counselor, not more than
$175;

(3) for a temporary license as a professional counselor, not more than
$175;

(4) for a six-month reinstatement temporary license as a professional
counselor, not more than $50;

(5) for  renewal for licensure as  a professional  counselor,  not  more
than $150;

(5)(6) for  application  for  licensure  as  a  clinical  professional 
counselor, not more than $175;

(6)(7) for licensure as a clinical professional counselor, not more than 
$175;

(7)(8) for renewal for licensure as a clinical professional counselor, 
not more than $175;

(9) for  a  six-month  reinstatement  temporary  license  as  a  clinical
professional counselor, not more than $50;

(8)(10) for a community-based professional counselor license, not 
more than $175;

(11) for late renewal penalty, an amount equal to the fee for renewal
of a license;

(9)(11)(12) (11) for reinstatement of a license, not more than $175;
(10)(12)(13)(12) for replacement of a license, not more than $20;
(11)(13)(14)(13) for a wallet card license, not more than $5; and
(12)(14)(15)(14)for application as a board-approved clinical supervisor, 

not more than $50.
(b) Fees paid to the board are not refundable.
Sec.  7. K.S.A. 65-6302 is hereby amended to read as  follows: 65-

6302. As used in this the social workers licensure act, unless the context 
clearly requires otherwise, the following words and phrases shall have the 
meaning ascribed to them in this section:

(a) "Board" means the behavioral sciences regulatory board created
by K.S.A. 74-7501, and amendments thereto.

(b) "Extenuating  circumstances"  means  any  condition  or  situation
caused by events beyond a person's control that is sufficiently extreme in  
nature to result in the:
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HB 2340—Am. by HCW 18

the  client's  record.  A  licensed  specialist  clinical  social  worker  may 
continue to evaluate and treat the client until such time that the medical 
consultation is obtained or waived.

(3) Notwithstanding any other provision of this subsection, a licensed 
master social worker who has provided to the board an acceptable clinical 
supervision plan for licensure as a specialist clinical social worker prior to 
the effective date of this act shall be licensed as a specialist clinical social 
worker under this act upon completion of the requirements in effect for 
licensure as a specialist clinical social worker at the time the acceptable 
training plan is submitted to the board.

(4) A person licensed as a specialist clinical social worker on the day 
immediately preceding the effective date of this act shall be deemed to be 
a licensed specialist clinical social worker under this act. Such person shall 
not be required to file an original application for licensure as a specialist 
clinical social worker under this act.

(e)(g) The board  shall  adopt  rules  and  regulations  establishing the 
criteria that a social work program of a college or university shall satisfy to 
be recognized and approved by the board under this section. The board 
may  send  a  questionnaire  developed  by  the  board  to  any  college  or 
university conducting a social work program for which the board does not 
have sufficient information to determine whether the program should be 
recognized and approved by the board and whether the program meets the 
rules  and  regulations  adopted  under  this  section.  The  questionnaire 
providing the necessary information shall be completed and returned to the 
board  in  order  for  the  program  to  be  considered  for  recognition  and 
approval.  The  board  may  contract  with  investigative  agencies, 
commissions or consultants to assist  the board in obtaining information 
about a social work program of a college or university. In entering such 
contracts the authority to recognize and approve a social work program of 
a college or university shall remain solely with the board.

(f)(h) (1) Notwithstanding any pending candidacy for accreditation of 
the masters of social work program at Fort Hays state university, the board 
shall:

(A) Accept  a  master's  degree  from  such  program  as  from  an 
accredited college or university for the purpose of issuing a license as a 
master social worker to an applicant under subsection (b); and

(B) not  impose  any  additional  or  alternative  requirements  to 
accreditation upon an applicant with such degree based on such program's 
pending candidacy for accreditation.

(2) The  provisions  of  this  subsection  shall  apply retroactively and 
shall expire on July 1, 2023.

(i)  (1) An individual may apply to the board for a community-
based  social  work  license  to  practice  social  work  in  the  scope  of 
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HB 2340—Am. by HCW 19

employment  by  a  community  mental  health  center,  as  defined  in 
K.S.A. 39-2002, and amendments thereto.

(2) A community-based social work license may be issued by the 
board after the board reviews and approves the application and the 
applicant  has  paid  the  fee  set  by  the  board  for  issuance  of  a 
community-based social work license.

(3) (A) Absent extenuating circumstances approved by the board, 
a  community-based  social  work  license  issued  by  the  board  shall 
expire:

(i) Upon the date the board issues or denies a license to practice 
social work; or

(ii) 24 months after the date of issuance of the community-based 
social work license.

(B) No community-based social work license shall be renewed or 
issued again on any subsequent application for the same license level. 
This paragraph shall not be construed to limit the number of times an 
applicant may take the examination.

(4) A person  practicing  social  work  with  a  community-based 
social  work license  may use  the  title  "licensed  baccalaureate  social 
worker" or "licensed master social worker" or the initials "LBSW" or 
"LMSW" independently.

(5) No  person  may  practice  social  work  under  a  community-
based social  work license except under the supervision of  a  person 
licensed by the board to practice at the independent level.

Sec.  9. K.S.A.  2022 Supp.  65-6309 is  hereby amended to  read  as 
follows: 65-6309. (a) An applicant shall be exempted from the requirement 
for any examination provided for herein,  if the applicant  has taken and 
passed an examination similar to that for which exemption is sought, as 
determined by the board.

(b) Upon  application,  the  board  shall  issue a temporary licenses 
bachelor's social work license or a temporary master's social work license 
to persons who have submitted documentation and met all qualifications 
for licensure under provisions of this act, except passage of the required 
examination, and who have paid the required fee.

(c) Absent  extenuating  circumstances  approved  by  the  board,  a 
temporary bachelor's social work license or a temporary master's social  
work  license issued  by the board  shall  expire  upon the  date  the  board 
issues or denies a license to practice social work or 12 24 months after the 
date of issuance of the temporary license. No temporary bachelor's social  
work license or temporary master's social work license will be renewed or 
issued again on any subsequent applications for the same license level. The 
preceding provisions in no way limit the number of times an applicant may 
take the examination.
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(5) Replacement fee for reissuance of a license certificate due to loss 
or name change shall be not more than $20.

(6) Replacement fee for reissuance of a wallet card shall be not more 
than $5.

(7) Temporary license fee for a baccalaureate social worker, master 
social worker or a social work specialty shall be not more than $50.

(8) Temporary  candidacy  license  fee  for  a  baccalaureate  social  
worker, master social worker or a social work specialty shall be not more  
than $75.

(9) Six-month  reinstatement  temporary  license  fee  for  a  
baccalaureate  social  worker,  master  social  worker  or  a  social  work  
specialty shall be not more than $50.

(10) Community-based  license  fee  for  a  baccalaureate  social 
worker,  master social  worker or social  work specialty  shall  be  not 
more than $175.

(11) Application  fee  for  approval  as  board-approved  continuing 
education sponsors shall be as follows:

(A) Initial  application  fee  for  one  year  provisionally  approved 
providers shall be not more than $125;

(B) three-year renewal fees for approved providers shall be not more 
than $350; and

(C) application fees for single program providers shall be not more 
than  $50  for  each  separately  offered  continuing  education  activity  for 
which prior approval is sought.

(11) Application  for  approval  as  a  board-approved  clinical  
supervisor shall be not more than $50.

(b) Fees paid to the board are not refundable.
Sec. 12. K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 65-6322 is hereby amended to read as 

follows: 65-6322. (a) The board may issue a license to an individual who 
is  currently  registered,  certified  or  licensed  to  practice  social  work  in 
another jurisdiction, if the board determines that:

(1) The standards for registration, certification or licensure to practice 
social  work  at  the  baccalaureate  level  in  another  jurisdiction  are 
substantially  the  equivalent  of  the  requirements  in  the  social  workers 
licensure  act  and  rules  and  regulations  of  the  board  for  licensure  as  a 
baccalaureate social worker; or

(2) the applicant demonstrates compliance on forms set by the board, 
with the following standards as adopted by the board:

(A) Registration, certification or licensure to practice social work at 
the baccalaureate level with a similar scope of practice for at least 48 of 
the last 54 12 months immediately preceding the application, with at least 
the  minimum  professional  experience  as  established  by  rules  and 
regulations of the board;
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of the following areas acceptable to the board:
(A) Either:  (i)  Graduate  coursework;  or  (ii)  passing  a  national, 

clinical examination;
(B) either: (i) Three years of clinical practice in a community mental 

health center, its contracted affiliate or a state mental hospital; or (ii) three 
years of clinical practice in other settings with demonstrated experience in 
diagnosing or treating mental disorders; or

(C) attestation from one professional licensed to diagnose and treat 
mental disorders in independent practice or licensed to practice medicine 
and surgery that the applicant is competent to diagnose and treat mental 
disorders.

(3) A licensed clinical marriage and family therapist may engage in 
the independent practice of marriage and family therapy and is authorized 
to  diagnose  and  treat  mental  disorders  specified  in  the  edition  of  the 
diagnostic  and  statistical  manual  of  mental  disorders  of  the  American 
psychiatric association designated by the board by rules and regulations. 
When  a  client  has  symptoms  of  a  mental  disorder,  a  licensed  clinical 
marriage and family therapist shall consult with the client's primary care 
physician or psychiatrist to determine if there may be a medical condition 
or medication that may be causing or contributing to the client's symptoms 
of a mental disorder. A client may request in writing that such consultation 
be waived and such request shall be made a part of the client's record. A 
licensed clinical marriage and family therapist may continue to evaluate 
and treat the client until such time that the medical consultation is obtained 
or waived.

(4) On and after  January 1,  2002,  a  licensed  marriage  and  family 
therapist may diagnose and treat mental disorders specified in the edition 
of  the  diagnostic  and  statistical  manual  of  mental  disorders  of  the 
American  psychiatric  association designated  by the  board  by rules  and 
regulations only under the direction of a licensed clinical  marriage and 
family  therapist,  licensed  psychologist,  person  licensed  to  practice 
medicine and surgery or person licensed to provide mental health services 
as  an  independent  practitioner  and  whose  licensure  allows  for  the 
diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders. When a client has symptoms 
of a mental disorder, a licensed marriage and family therapist shall consult 
with the client's primary care physician or psychiatrist to determine if there 
may  be  a  medical  condition  or  medication  that  may  be  causing  or 
contributing to the client's symptoms of a mental disorder. A client may 
request in writing that such consultation be waived and such request shall 
be  made  a  part  of  the  client's  record.  A licensed  marriage  and  family 
therapist may continue to evaluate and treat the client until such time that 
the medical consultation is obtained or waived.

(c) (1) An individual may apply to the board for a community-
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based marriage and family therapist license to practice marriage and 
family therapy in the scope of employment by a community mental 
health center, as defined in K.S.A. 39-2002, and amendments thereto.

(2) A community-based  marriage  and  family  therapist  license 
may be issued by the board after the board reviews and approves the 
application and the applicant has paid the fee set by the board for 
issuance of a community-based marriage and family therapist license.

(3) (A) Absent extenuating circumstances approved by the board, 
a community-based marriage and family therapist license issued by 
the board shall expire:

(i) Upon the date the board issues or denies a license to practice 
marriage and family therapy; or

(ii) 24 months after the date of issuance of the community-based 
marriage and family therapist license.

(B) No community-based marriage and family therapist  license 
shall be renewed or issued again on any subsequent application for the 
same license level. This paragraph shall not be construed to limit the 
number of times an applicant may take the examination.

(4) A person  practicing  marriage  and  family  therapy  with  a 
community-based marriage and family therapist license may use the 
title "licensed marriage and family therapist" or the initials "LMFT" 
independently.

(5) No person may practice marriage and family therapy under a 
community-based marriage and family therapist license except under 
the supervision of a person licensed by the board to practice at the 
independent level.

Sec. 15. K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 65-6405 is hereby amended to read as 
follows:  65-6405.  (a)  A person who is  waiting to take the examination 
required by the board may apply to the board for a temporary marriage 
and family therapy license to practice as a licensed marriage and family 
therapist by:

(1) Paying an application a temporary license fee as established by 
the board under K.S.A. 65-6411, and amendments thereto; and

(2) meeting  the  application  requirements  as  stated  in  K.S.A.  65-
6404(a)(1), (a)(2) and, (a)(4) and (a)(5), and amendments thereto.

(b) A person who is waiting to take the license examination required  
by the board, and who has not completed a practicum including 300 hours 
of direct client contact but has been approved by the board to complete 
other postgraduate experience totaling 300 hours, may apply to the board 
for  a  temporary  marriage  and  family  therapy  license  to  practice  as  a 
licensed marriage and family therapist by:

(1) Paying a temporary license fee established by the board under  
K.S.A. 65-6411, and amendments thereto; and
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(9) for  a  six-month  reinstatement  temporary  license  as  a  clinical  
marriage and family therapist, not more than $50;

(8)(10) for community-based licensure as a marriage and family 
therapist, not to exceed $175;

(11) for reinstatement of a license, not to exceed $175;
(9)(11)(12) for replacement of a license, not to exceed $20;
(10)(12)(13) for renewal penalty, an amount equal to the renewal of 

license;
(11)(13)(14) for a wallet card license, not to exceed $5; and
(12)(14)(15) for application for approval as a board-approved clinical 

supervisor, not to exceed $50.
(b) Fees paid to the board are not refundable.
Sec. 19. K.S.A. 65-6608 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-

6608. As used in the addiction counselor licensure act:
(a) "Board" means the behavioral sciences regulatory board created 

under K.S.A. 74-7501, and amendments thereto.
(b) "Addiction counseling" means the utilization of special skills to 

assist  persons  with  addictions,  and  to  assist  such  persons'  families  and 
friends to achieve resolution of addiction through the exploration of the 
disease and its ramifications, the examination of attitudes and feelings, the 
consideration of alternative solutions and decision making, as these relate 
specifically to addiction. Evaluation and assessment, treatment including 
treatment plan development,  crisis  intervention, referral,  record keeping 
and clinical  consultation specifically related to  addiction are within the 
scope  of  addiction  counseling.  Additionally,  at  the  clinical  level  of 
licensure,  addiction  counseling  includes  independent  practice  and  the 
diagnosis and treatment of substance use disorders.

(b) "Board" means the behavioral sciences regulatory board created  
under K.S.A. 74-7501, and amendments thereto.

(c) "Extenuating  circumstances"  means  any  condition  or  situation  
caused by events beyond an individual's control that is sufficiently extreme 
in nature to result in the:

(1) Individual's inability to comply with requirements; or
(2) inadvisability  of  requiring  the  individual  to  comply  with  

requirements.
(d) "Licensed addiction counselor" means a person who engages in 

the practice of addiction counseling limited to substance use disorders and 
who is licensed under this act. Such person shall engage in the practice of 
addiction counseling in a state-licensed or certified alcohol and other drug 
treatment program or in completing a Kansas domestic violence offender 
assessment  for  participants  in  a  certified  batterer  intervention  program 
pursuant  to K.S.A.  75-7d01 through 75-7d13, and amendments  thereto, 
unless otherwise exempt from licensure under K.S.A.  59-29b46(n),  and 
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graduate  program  with  standards  consistent  with  those  of  the  state 
universities of Kansas,  or the substantial equivalent of such program in 
both subject matter and extent of training; and

(4) has had at least two years of supervised experience, a significant 
portion of which shall have been spent in rendering psychological services 
satisfying  the  board's  approved  standards  for  the  psychological  service 
concerned.

(b) The  board  shall  adopt  rules  and  regulations  establishing  the 
criteria  which  an  educational  institution  shall  satisfy  in  meeting  the 
requirements established under subsection (a)(3). The board may send a 
questionnaire developed by the board  to  any educational  institution for 
which the board does not have sufficient information to determine whether 
the educational institution meets the requirements of subsection (a)(3) and 
rules  and  regulations  adopted  under  this  section.  The  questionnaire 
providing the necessary information shall be completed and returned to the 
board in order for the educational institution to be considered for approval. 
The  board  may  contract  with  investigative  agencies,  commissions  or 
consultants to assist the board in obtaining information about educational 
institutions. In entering such contracts the authority to approve educational 
institutions shall remain solely with the board.

(c) (1) An individual may apply to the board for a community-
based  psychologist  license  to  practice  psychology  in  the  scope  of 
employment  by  a  community  mental  health  center,  as  defined  in 
K.S.A. 39-2002, and amendments thereto.

(2) A community-based psychologist license may be issued by the 
board after the board reviews and approves the application and the 
applicant  has  paid  the  fee  set  by  the  board  for  issuance  of  a 
community-based psychologist license.

(3) (A) Absent extenuating circumstances approved by the board, 
a  community-based  psychologist  license  issued  by  the  board  shall 
expire:

(i) Upon the date the board issues or denies a license to practice 
psychology; or

(ii) 24 months after the date of issuance of the community-based 
psychologist license.

(B) No community-based psychologist license shall be renewed or 
issued again on any subsequent application for the same license level. 
This paragraph shall not be construed to limit the number of times an 
applicant may take the examination.

(4) A  person  practicing  psychology  with  a  community-based 
psychologist license may use the title "licensed psychologist" or the 
initials "LP" independently.

(5) No person may practice psychology under a community-based 
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psychologist license except under the supervision of a person licensed 
by the board to practice at the independent level.

(6) The board shall adopt rules and regulations to set the fee, if 
required  by  the  board,  for  the  issuance  of  a  community-based 
psychologist license in an amount not to exceed $225.

Sec. 29. K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 74-5315 is hereby amended to read as 
follows: 74-5315. (a) The board may grant a license to any person who, at 
the time of application, is registered, certified or licensed as a psychologist 
at the doctoral level in another jurisdiction if the board determines that:

(1) The  requirements  of  such  jurisdiction  for  such  certification  or 
licensure are substantially the equivalent of the requirements of this state; 
or

(2) the  applicant  demonstrates  on  forms  provided  by  the  board 
compliance with the following standards as adopted by the board:

(A) Registration,  certification  or  licensure  as  a  psychologist  at  the 
doctoral level with a similar scope of practice for at least 48 of the last 54 
12 months  immediately  preceding  the  application with  at  least  the 
minimum professional experience as established by rules and regulations 
of the board;

(B) the absence of disciplinary actions of a serious nature brought by 
a registration, certification or licensing board or agency; and

(C) a  doctoral  degree  in  psychology  from  a  regionally  accredited 
university or college.

(b) An  applicant  for  a  license  under  this  section  shall  pay  an 
application  fee  established  by  the  board  under  K.S.A.  74-5310,  and 
amendments thereto, if required by the board. Upon notification from the  
board that all eligibility requirements have been satisfied, the applicant 
shall pay the license fee as provided in K.S.A. 74-5310, and amendments  
thereto.

Sec. 30. K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 74-5316 is hereby amended to read as 
follows: 74-5316. (a) Upon application, the board may issue temporary 
licenses to persons who have met all qualifications for licensure under the 
provisions  of  the licensure of  psychologists  act  of  the state  of  Kansas, 
except passage of the required examination, pursuant to K.S.A. 74-5310, 
and  amendments  thereto,  who  have  paid  the  required  application  and 
temporary license fees and who have submitted documentation as required 
by the board, under the following:

(1) Absent  extenuating  circumstances  approved  by  the  board,  a 
temporary license issued by the board shall expire upon the earlier of the 
date the board issues or denies a license to practice psychology or two 
years after the date of issuance of the temporary license.  No temporary 
license shall be renewed or issued again on any subsequent application for 
licensure under the provisions of the licensure of psychologists act of the 
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{As Amended by House Committee of the Whole}

As Amended by House Committee
Session of 2023

HOUSE BILL No. 2340

By Committee on Health and Human Services

2-7

AN ACT concerning the behavioral sciences; increasing the membership 
of the behavioral sciences regulatory board; requiring the behavioral 
sciences regulatory board to process applications within a certain 
time  and  establish  an  expedited  application  process; relating  to 
licensure  and  regulation;  professional  counselors,  social  workers, 
marriage and family therapists, addiction counselors, behavior analysts, 
psychologists and master's level psychologists; decreasing the years of 
practice required for reciprocity licensure; requiring that clinical social 
work  supervisors  be  approved  by  the  board; providing additional 
reduced diagnosis and treatment continuing education requirements; 
establishing  license  categories  for  applicants  from  social  work 
programs  in  candidacy  for  accreditation  and  for  temporary 
reinstatement;  extending  the  license  period  of  temporary  licenses; 
establishing a community-based license for professional counselors, 
social workers, marriage and family therapists and psychologists; 
amending K.S.A. 65-5802, 65-5806, 65-6302, 65-6313, 65-6314, 65-
6402,  65-6407,  65-6608,  65-6614,  65-6618,  65-7504,  65-7505,  74-
5302, 74-5318, 74-5361, 74-5365, 74-5366, 74-5367 and 74-7501 and 
K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 65-5804a, 65-5807, 65-5808, 65-6306, 65-6309, 65-
6322,  65-6404,  65-6405,  65-6406,  65-6411,  65-6610,  65-6611,  65-
6613, 74-5310, 74-5315, 74-5316, 74-5363 and 74-5375 and repealing 
the existing sections; also repealing K.S.A. 74-5339.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:
New  Section  1. (a)  On  and  after  January  1,  2024,  any  licensee 

providing  postgraduate  clinical  supervision  for  any  individual  working 
toward  licensure  as  a  clinical  social  worker  shall  be  a  board-approved 
clinical supervisor. 

(b) An application for a board-approved clinical supervisor shall be 
made to the board on a form and in the manner prescribed by the board 
and shall be accompanied by the fee as provided by K.S.A. 65-6314, and 
amendments thereto. 

(c) Each  applicant  for  board-approved  clinical  supervisor  shall 
furnish evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant: 
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social worker's name, an individual with a temporary candidacy master  
social work license shall represent themselves as a temporary candidacy 
master social  worker.  An individual with such license shall not use the  
credentials "LMSW." The word "licensed" may be used only when followed  
by the words "by temporary candidacy license." An individual issued a  
temporary  candidacy  master  social  work  license  shall  practice  under 
supervision and shall not be required to complete continuing education. If  
the accrediting body recognized by the board grants accreditation to the 
program  in  candidacy  status,  the  holder  of  the  temporary  candidacy 
master  social  work  license  shall  receive  a  permanent  license  upon 
payment of the appropriate fee. If the accrediting body recognized by the  
board does not grant accreditation to the program in candidacy status, the 
board  shall  immediately  revoke  the  temporary  license  and  notify  the  
licensee of the revocation of such license.

(c)(e) The  board  shall  issue  a  license  in  one  of  the  social  work 
specialties to an applicant who has:

(1) A master's or doctor's degree from an accredited graduate school
of social work, including completion of a social work program recognized 
and approved by the board, pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by 
the board;

(2) had two years of full-time post-master's  or post-doctor's  degree
experience under the supervision of a licensed social worker in the area of 
the specialty in which such applicant seeks to be licensed;

(3) passed an examination approved by the board for this purpose;
and

(4) satisfied the board that the applicant is a person who merits the
public trust; and

(5) upon notification from the board that all eligibility requirements
have been satisfied, paid the license fee established under K.S.A. 65-6314,  
and amendments thereto.

(d)(f) (1) The board shall issue a license as a specialist clinical social 
worker to an applicant who:

(A) Has met the requirements of subsection (c) (e);
(B) has completed 15 3 15 credit hours as part of  or in addition to the

requirements under subsection (c) (e) supporting diagnosis or treatment of 
mental  disorders  with  use  of  the  American  psychiatric  association's 
diagnostic  and  statistical  manual,  through  identifiable  study  of the 
following  content  areas: psychopathology,  diagnostic  assessment, 
interdisciplinary  referral  and  collaboration,  treatment  approaches  and 
professional ethics;

(C) has completed a graduate level supervised clinical practicum of
supervised  professional  experience,  including,  but  not  limited  to, 
psychotherapy  and  assessment,  integrating  diagnosis or  diagnostic 
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impressions and treatment of mental disorders with use of the American 
psychiatric  association's  diagnostic  and  statistical  manual  or  additional 
postgraduate supervised experience as determined by the board;

(D) has completed as part  of  or in addition to the requirements of 
subsection (c) (e) not  less  than  two  years  of  postgraduate  supervised 
professional  experience,  in  accordance  with  a  clinical  supervision  plan 
approved  by  the  board  of  not  less  than  3,000  hours  of  supervised 
professional  experience  including  at  least  1,500  hours  of  direct  client 
contact,  including,  but  not  limited  to, conducting  psychotherapy  and 
assessments  with  individuals,  couples,  families  or  groups integrating 
diagnosis or diagnostic impressions and treatment of mental disorders 
with  use  of  the  American  psychiatric  association's  diagnostic  and 
statistical  manual and  not  less  than  100 hours  of  face-to-face  clinical 
supervision, as defined by the board in rules and regulations, including not 
less than 50 hours of individual supervision, except that the board may 
waive the requirement that such supervision be face-to-face upon a finding 
of  extenuating  circumstances,  integrating  diagnosis  and  treatment  of 
mental  disorders  with  use  of  the  American  psychiatric  association's 
diagnostic and statistical manual;

(E) for persons earning a degree under subsection (c) prior to July 1, 
2003,  in  lieu  of  the  education  and  training  requirements  under 
subparagraphs (B) and (C), has completed the education requirements for 
licensure  as  a  specialist  clinical  social  worker  in  effect  on  the  day 
immediately preceding the effective date of this act;

(F) for persons who apply for and are eligible for a temporary license 
to practice as a specialist clinical social worker on the day immediately 
preceding the effective date of this act, in lieu of the education and training 
requirements  under  subparagraphs  (B),  (C)  and (D),  has  completed  the 
education and training requirements for licensure as a specialist clinical 
social worker in effect on the day immediately preceding the effective date 
of this act;

(G) has passed an examination approved by the board; and
(H) has paid the application fee.
(2) A licensed  specialist  clinical  social  worker  may engage  in  the 

social  work  practice  and  is  authorized  to  diagnose  and  treat  mental 
disorders specified in the edition of the diagnostic and statistical manual of 
mental disorders of the American psychiatric association designated by the 
board by rules and regulations. When a client has symptoms of a mental 
disorder, a licensed specialist clinical social worker shall consult with the 
client's primary care physician or psychiatrist to determine if there may be 
a medical condition or medication that may be causing or contributing to 
the client's symptoms of a mental disorder. A client may request in writing 
that such consultation be waived and such request shall be made a part of 
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