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SPECIAL SESSIONS IN KANSAS 
 

BACKGROUND AND HISTORY 
There are two types of legislative sessions—regular and special. A regular session is the annual 
(or biennial) gathering of legislators, typically with a start date and length determined by a 
statutory or constitutional provision. A special session occurs when the legislature is called to 
convene at a time outside the regular legislative session usually to address a particular topic or 
emergency. There is no specific timing for a special session. In most states, either the governor 
or the legislature may call a special session. In 16 states, only the governor may call a special 
session. In Kansas, the governor may call a special session or the legislature may petition the 
governor to call a special session.  
 
KANSAS 
Article 1, Section 5 of the Constitution of the State of Kansas provides, “The governor may, on 
extraordinary occasions, call the legislature into special session by proclamation; and shall call 
the legislature into special session, upon petition signed by at least two-thirds of the members 
elected to each house.” 
 
Originally, the constitution only allowed the governor to call a special session, but was amended 
in 1972 to allow the legislature to petition the governor to call a special session. In 1974, the 
legislature enacted K.S.A. 46-1401 through 46-1403 to provide for the proper procedure for the 
legislature to petition the governor for a special session. Of the four special sessions since the 
constitutional amendment allowing the legislature to petition the governor to call a special 
session, none have been the result of legislative petition. 
 
Though special session proclamations usually provide a particular start date and subject matter, 
once called, the length and subject matter of a special session may not be limited by the 
proclamation.  In 2005 and 2013, the gubernatorial proclamations contained deadline dates for 
particular legislation to be passed. However, such deadlines have no legal force or effect (AG 
Op. 87-92). 
 
There have been 22 special sessions in Kansas. The first was in 1874 to deal with a grasshopper 
plague destroying crops. The most recent was in 2013 to address criminal sentencing procedures 
that impose a 50-year mandatory minimum sentence. Governor Alf Landon (1933-1937) called 
the most legislative sessions with three. 
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Previous Special Sessions 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

1874: Gov. Osborn, 7 days—Grasshopper 
plague destroying crops.  

1884: Gov. Glick, 7 days—Foot and 
mouth disease outbreak in cattle. 

1886: Gov. Martin, 28 days—Redistricting 
and appropriations. 

1898-99: Gov. Leedy, 17 days—
Regulations for railroad charges. 

1903: Gov. Baily, 3 days—Emergency 
flood relief. 

1908: Gov. Hoch, 16 days—Regulation of 
railroad rates, create a primary election, 
banking regulations. 

1919: Gov. Allen, 4 days—Ratify the 19th 
Amendment to the Constitution of the 
United States. 

1920: Gov. Allen, 20 days—Coal miners’ 
strike and funding for Kansas National 
Guard expenses. 

1923: Gov. Davis, 7 days—Deal with 
voter-approved payments to World War I 
veterans that $25 million in bonds would 
not cover. 

1928: Gov. Paulen, 3 days—Amend the 
Constitution of the State of Kansas to 
allow the state to build and maintain 
highways so as not to lose federal funds. 

1930: Gov. Reed, 11 days—Constitutional 
amendment on tax policy. 
 

1933: Gov. Landon, 25 days—Investigate 
municipal bonds and respond to federal 
banking and work relief laws. 

1934: Gov. Landon, 6 days—Extend a 
mortgage foreclosure moratorium. 

1936: Gov. Landon, 6 days—Draft a 
constitutional amendment to allow the 
state to participate in the federal social 
security program. 

1938: Gov. Huxman, 22 days—Make 
changes to welfare laws and increase state 
funding. 

1958: Gov. Docking, 17 days—Respond to 
budget crisis after the Kansas Supreme 
Court struck down a mineral severance tax. 

1964: Gov. Anderson, 6 days—
Redistricting changes because of one-
person, one-vote Supreme Court ruling. 

1966: Gov. Avery, 14 days—Legislative 
redistricting. 

1987: Gov. Hayden, 6 days—Attempt to 
enact a comprehensive highway program. 

1989: Gov. Hayden, 2 days—Extend 
deadline to pay property taxes. 

2005: Gov. Sebelius, 12 days—Respond to 
a Kansas Supreme Court order regarding 
public school funding. 

2013: Gov. Brownback, 2 days— Respond 
to a U.S. Supreme Court ruling regarding 
criminal sentencing procedures used to 
impose a 50-year mandatory minimum 
term of imprisonment ("hard 50"). 

 

Previous Special Sessions 
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LEGISLATIVE PETITION 
Article 1, Section 5 of the Constitution of the State of Kansas allows the legislature to petition 
the governor to call a special session if at least two-thirds of the members of each chamber sign 
such a petition. K.S.A. 46-1401 states, “Whenever any legislator wishes to petition the governor 
to call a special session of the legislature as provided in section 5 of article 1 of the constitution 
of the state of Kansas, he shall subscribe the form prescribed in this section.” K.S.A. 46-1401 
also provides the petition form and requirements for such petition, including sworn affirmation 
before a notary public. The Constitution and K.S.A. 46-1402 require the governor to call a 
special session when properly petitioned by the legislature. The constitutional provision allowing 
for legislative petition was enacted in 1972. There have been four special sessions called during 
that time, but none of which have been the result of legislative petition.  
 
GOVERNOR’S PROCLAMATION  

To call a special session, Article 1, Section 5 of the Constitution of the State of Kansas requires 
the governor to issue a proclamation. K.S.A. 75-403 requires that all proclamations issued by the 
governor be countersigned by the secretary of state. Once it is signed, the proclamation will be 
filed with the secretary of state pursuant to Executive Order No. 75-1. The original will remain in 
the secretary of state’s office, but for any certified copies, the secretary of state will “attach an 
official certification thereto under the secretary of state’s official seal,” pursuant to K.S.A. 75-
409. 
 
Historically, the governor’s proclamation has included both the date and time which the 
legislature will gather for the special session. However, Attorney General Opinion No. 87-92 
states that the proclamation may not require an end date or limit the subject matter of the special 
session. If such proclamation does provide an end date or subject matter limitation, it will have 
no legal force or effect. 
 
Because of the pressing nature of special sessions, the governor’s proclamation is typically 
issued less than a month before the start of the special session and can be within a few days. In 
1987, the governor’s proclamation was issued on August 4 with the special session beginning on 
August 31. In 1989, the governor’s proclamation was issued on December 4 with the special 
session beginning on December 8. In 2005, the governor’s proclamation was issued on June 9 
with the special session beginning on June 22. In 2013, the governor’s proclamation was issued 
on August 6 with the special session beginning on September 3. 
 
MESSAGE FROM THE GOVERNOR 
Article 1, Section 5 of the Constitution of the State of Kansas requires the governor to 
communicate in writing to the legislature at every session. This message from the governor 
includes priorities and need for a special session.  
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RESOLUTIONS 
ORGANIZATIONAL RESOLUTION 
At the beginning of each session, including special sessions, the legislature must organize and 
name its officers. Both chambers traditionally prepare an organizational resolution declaring the 
officers and notifying the other chamber that they are organized.  
 
SEATING CHART RESOLUTION 
Pursuant to House Rule 2504 and Senate Rule 20, both chambers are to ensure that all current 
members have an assigned seat. Typically, this is done by adoption of a seating chart resolution.   
 
CONCURRENT ORGANIZATIONAL RESOLUTION 
A concurrent resolution notifying the governor that the chambers are organized and ready to 
receive messages is prepared. This resolution requirement is implied by Article 1, Section 5 of 
the Constitution of the State of Kansas. The governor is required to send certain messages to the 
legislature, so it is necessary for the governor to know when the legislature is organized and 
prepared to receive such messages. 
 
CONCURRENT ADJOURNMENT RESOLUTION 
The Constitution of the State of Kansas states that one chamber cannot adjourn without the 
consent of the other chamber. Traditionally, this is accomplished with a concurrent adjournment 
resolution. However, on one occasion in 1989, both chambers simply declared their respective 
chamber adjourned sine die.  
 
BILLS 
REGULAR SESSION BILLS 
Regular session bills may not be acted upon during the special session.  Article 2, Section 8 of 
the Constitution of the State of Kansas provides, in part, “Bills and concurrent resolutions under 
consideration by the legislature upon adjournment of a regular session held in an odd-numbered 
year may be considered at the next succeeding regular session held in an even-numbered year, as 
if there had been no such adjournment.” (Emphasis added.) 
 
AG Opinion No. 87-92 states that bills and resolutions introduced, but not acted upon, 
during the preceding regular session may not be carried over to a special session. 
 
SPECIAL SESSION BILLS 
Bills and resolutions introduced during the special session may not be carried over to the 
next regular session. AG Opinion No. 87-92 states that all bills and resolutions enacted 
during a special session must have been introduced during such special session. 
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PREFILED BILLS 
Bills may not be prefiled for a special session.  Both K.S.A. 46-801 and 46-804 specify that 
prefiling is specific to the “regular session.”  
 
REFERRAL OF BILLS 
All bills introduced during special session are referred by the presiding officer in each 
chamber in the same manner as during a regular session absent a specific rule adopted for 
the special session. 
 
LIMITATIONS ON CONSIDERATION OF BILLS 
Consideration of bills during a special session may be limited, but only by the adoption of 
a resolution. Such resolution may state that the only bills to be considered will be those 
introduced by specific committees. AG Opinion No. 87-92 states that the legislature may 
adopt a rule or resolution which would restrict the subject matter of bills which may be 
introduced during a special session. (e.g. 2005 SS HR 6003) 
 
PASSING BILLS ON THE DAY THEY ARE INTRODUCED 
During a special session, it is common for bills to move through the legislative process much 
faster than during a regular session. Sometimes a bill may pass on the day it is introduced. 
However, to do so requires special action because Article 2, Section 15 of the Constitution of the 
State of Kansas provides that “No bill shall be passed on the day that it is introduced, unless in 
case of emergency declared by two-thirds of the members present in the house where a bill is 
pending.” This constitutional provision requires two-thirds of the chamber to declare an 
emergency before it votes on a bill that was introduced that same day. 
 
COMMITTEE MEETINGS 
COMMITTEE MEETINGS PRIOR TO THE SPECIAL SESSION  
A committee may meet in the interim prior to the special session to review or discuss issues. 
However, if members of the committee would like to be compensated for attending such 
meetings, the meetings must be approved by the Legislative Coordinating Council (LCC). 
During the interim, the LCC governs the affairs, meetings and activities of standing and other 
committees pursuant to K.S.A. 46-1202 and also governs the mechanics and procedures of all 
legislative committee work and activities. For a member to receive compensation, travel 
expenses and subsistence expenses or allowances for a standing committee, special committee or 
select committee that is meeting during the interim (except for the Ways and Means Committee 
of the Senate and the Committee on Appropriations of the House when meeting pursuant to 
K.S.A. 46-134a), pursuant to K.S.A. 46-1209, the committee meeting must be authorized by the 
LCC.  
 
In the past, the LCC has authorized specific standing committees of the House and Senate to 
meet during the interim to study subject matters assigned to the committee by the LCC. In 1993, 
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the LCC designated all standing committees of the legislature as interim study committees and 
authorized them to meet and to conduct studies.  
 
COMMITTEE MEETINGS DURING THE SPECIAL SESSION 
Standing committees may meet during a special session upon call of the chairperson, but 
committee secretarial staff may or may not be available to such committees during a special 
session.  
 
CONFIRMATIONS 
JUDICIAL SELECTION 
For confirmations of judges or justices by the Senate, there is a statutory time limitation by 
which such confirmation must be done. It is the opinion of the Office of Revisor of Statutes that 
the time requirement does start if a special session is called.  Subsection (b) of 2015 Supp. 
K.S.A. 20-3020 provides: 
 

“No person appointed pursuant to subsection (a) shall assume the office of judge of the 
court of appeals until the senate, by an affirmative vote of the majority of all members of 
the senate then elected or appointed and qualified, consents to such appointment. The 
senate shall vote to consent to any such appointment not later than 60 days after such 
appointment is received by the senate. If the senate is not in session and will not be in 
session within the 60-day time limitation, the senate shall vote to consent to any such 
appointment not later than 20 days after the senate begins its next session. In the event a 
majority of the senate does not vote to consent to the appointment, the governor, within 
60 days after the senate vote on the previous appointee, shall appoint another person 
possessing the qualifications of office and such subsequent appointment shall be 
considered by the senate in the same procedure as provided in this section. The same 
appointment and consent procedure shall be followed until a valid appointment has been 
made. No person who has been previously appointed but did not receive the consent of 
the senate shall be appointed again for the same vacancy. If the senate fails to vote on an 
appointment within the time limitation imposed by this subsection, the senate shall be 
deemed to have given consent to such appointment.” (Emphasis added.) 

 
The language does not distinguish between a regular session and a special session, but merely 
uses the term “session.” The legislative history was not clear as to whether or not this was 
intended to be limited to the regular session. Since it is not distinguished, the Office of Revisor 
of Statutes is of the opinion that “session” includes both a regular session and a special session.   
 
The language does not address what role, if any, the Senate Committee on Confirmation 
Oversight would have in the court of appeals appointment process. The language states that no 
person appointed by the governor shall assume office until the senate acts on such appointment. 
Thus, the provisions of K.S.A. 46-2601, which allow the Senate Committee on Confirmation 
Oversight to give temporary approval to a person appointed by the governor and authorize the 
person to exercise the powers, duties and functions of the office until such appointment is 
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confirmed by the Senate, do not appear to be applicable. When the Senate is in session, Senate 
Rule 56 provides that appointments “shall, unless otherwise ordered by the President, be referred 
to appropriate committees by the President.” The Office of Revisor of Statutes is of the opinion 
that Senate Rule 56 is applicable to the court of appeals appointment and would allow any 
appropriate committee to consider such appointment during the special session, upon referral by 
the president. 


