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Journal of the Senate

SIXTY-FIRST DAY

SENATE CHAMBER, TOPEKA, KANSAS
Friday, May 7, 2010—11:00 a.m.

The Senate was called to order by President Stephen Morris.
The roll was called with forty senators present.
Invocation by Chaplain Fred S. Hollomon:

Heavenly Father,

Having spent two years as administrative assistant to the House Majority
Leader, one year as administrative assistant to the Senate President, and 29 years
as Chaplain of the Senate, I have watched our Senators struggling to take care
of our state’s necessities while balancing the budget. T have to admit that this
year has been the most difficult for that project.

While this is the major goal at this point, Senators must take care of multiple
resolutions, act on bills passed by the House, wait on decisions by conference
committees, deal with the Governor’s vetoes, take care of other bills awaiting
action, participate in debates during General Orders, etc. etc.

Not to mention messages from constituents on both sides of issues. I realize,
Lord, that constituents are deeply concerned about their needs. I happen to be
a constituent and feel very strongly about certain issues, but help us to treat our
legislators with the respect and courtesy which we all deserve.

Since You are God who sees every sparrow that falls, and have numbered the
hairs on our head, I turn to You for wisdom, for answers, and for mercy.

I pray in the Name of Jesus Christ,
AMEN

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by President Stephen Morris.

COMMUNICATIONS FROM STATE OFFICERS

JOHNSON COUNTY KANSAS
DEPARTMENT OF RECORDS
AND TAX ADMINISTRATION

May 6, 2010

John A. Bartolac, Chairman of the Kansas Electronic Recording Commission, submitted
an update to the Kansas Electronic Recording Standards as modified at the April 6, 2010
annual meeting of the Kansas Electronic Recording Commission.

The delivery of this updated document is in compliance with the Kansas Uniform Real
Property Electronic Recoding Act.

The President announced the above report is on file in the office of the Secretary of the
Senate and is available for review at any time.
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INTRODUCTION OF ORIGINAL MOTIONS AND SENATE RESOLUTIONS

Senators  Schodorf, Abrams, Hensley, Huelskamp, Marshall, Owens, Steineger,
Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil and Wagle introduced the following Senate resolution, which
was read:

SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1882—
A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Ron Nitcher.

WHEREAS, Ron Nitcher will be retiring on July 1, 2010, after serving the State of Kansas
for 16 years through his outstanding efforts at the Kansas State Department of Education.
Prior to his service at the Department of Education, Ron served for 11 years at the Kansas
Insurance Department and five years at the State Department of Administration, for a total
of 32 years of dedicated service to the State of Kansas; and

WHEREAS, Ron graduated from Lawrence High School in 1973. He attended the
University of Kansas and graduated from Emporia State University with a Bachelor of
Science degree in Business in May of 1977. He was an excellent student, having been named
to the Dean’s Honor Roll and the President’s Honor Roll. Ron was an accounting honor
student, graduating in the top 10% of his class; and

WHEREAS, Ron served at the State Department of Administration as a Central
Accountant in the Division of Accounts and Reports from 1978 to 1983. He then served as
a Controller at the Kansas Insurance Department from 1983 to 1994, where he was
responsible for supervising accounting, budgeting, internal auditing and many other duties.
In 1994, he joined the Department of Education as the Director of Fiscal Services and
Operations; and

WHEREAS, At the Department of Education, Ron prepared and justified the
Department’s annual budget request, covering approximately 70 state and federal programs.
He worked with other state departments and the Kansas Legislative Committees on
Appropriations and Ways and Means and their subcommittees, as well as the United States
Department of Education. He oversaw grants and financial reporting, managed daily
operations of a highly complex computerized accounting and procurement system, managed
the facilities and print shop of the Department of Education and supervised all financial
and management responsibilities and ensured compliance with all federal and state laws,
regulations and guidelines, in addition to many other responsibilities; and

WHEREAS, Ron has been an invaluable source of information for the staff of the Office
of the Revisor of Statutes in the drafting of legislation concerning both school finance and
relating to budget matters for the Department of Education. He has also been invaluable
in his assistance and as a source of information for the staff of the Kansas Legislative
Research Department; and

WHEREAS, Ron has always been known for his dedication to his job, rarely taking time
off from work. He could almost always be found working one, if not both days, every
weekend. His integrity, professionalism and kindness have been appreciated by everyone
with whom he has worked at the Department of Education, as well as at the Department
of Administration and the Insurance Department; and

WHEREAS, Ron is more than just a colleague or co-worker. Ron is a dear friend to all
who have had the privilege of working with him. Ron will be sorely missed by all when he
leaves in July to begin his retirement; and

WHEREAS, Ron plans on enjoying his retirement through riding his motorcycle, camping
with his pop-up trailer, playing and collecting mandolins and enjoying all types of music, as
well as spending time with his family, including his wife, Cindy, his daughter and son-in-
law, Jennifer and Kerry Romero and their children, Mira, Mason, Austin and Anthony, and
his daughter Madison: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend
Ron Nitcher for his 32 years of devoted service to the State of Kansas and extend our best
wishes for his continued success and happiness in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send five enrolled
copies of this resolution to: Kansas State Department of Education, ¢/o Ron Nitcher, 120
SE 10th Avenue, Topeka, KS 66612-1182.
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On emergency motion of Senator Schodorf SR 1882 was adopted unanimously.

REPORT ON ENGROSSED BILLS

SB 434 reported correctly re-engrossed May 6, 2010.
SB 306; SCR 1631 reported correctly engrossed May 7, 2010.

REPORT ON ENROLLED BILLS

SB 54; H Sub for Sub SB 214 reported correctly enrolled, properly signed and presented
to the Governor on May 7, 2010.

SR 1875, SR 1876, SR 1877, SR 1878, SR 1879, SR 1880, SR 1881 reported correctly
enrolled, properly signed and presented to the Secretary of the Senate on May 7, 2010.

On motion of Senator D. Schmidt, the Senate recessed until 1:30 p.m.

AFTERNOON-SESSION

The Senate met pursuant to recess with President Morris in the chair.

MESSAGE FROM THE HOUSE

The House adopts the conference committee report on HB 2554.
The House adopts the conference committee report on SB 452.

ORIGINAL MOTION

Senator D. Schmidt moved that subsection 4(k) of the Joint Rules of the Senate and
House of Representatives be suspended for the purpose of considering the following bills:
SB 452; S Sub for HB 2506; HB 2660.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on House
amendments to SB 452, submits the following report:

The Senate accedes to all House amendments to the bill, and your committee on
conference further agrees to amend the bill, as printed with House Committee of the Whole
amendments, as follows:

On page 1, by striking all in lines 21 through 43;

By striking all on pages 2 through 4;

On page 5, by striking all in lines 1 through 36 and inserting the following:

“New Section 1. (a) Any manufacturer or supplier of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt
beverage, whether licensed in this state or any other state, may apply for an annual packaging
and warehousing facility permit. The application shall be on a form prescribed by the
director and shall include all information the director deems necessary.

(b) A packaging and warehousing facility permit shall allow:

(1) The transfer of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to the licensed premises of
a packaging and warehousing facility for the purpose of packaging or storage, or both;

(2) the sale and transfer from the licensed premises of a packaging and warehousmg
facility to the licensed premises of a spirits, wine or beer distributor licensed in Kansas or
to a Kansas supplier; and

(3) the transfer from the licensed premises of a packaging and warehousing facility to
another state.

(c) The annual fee for a packaging and warehousing facility permit shall be $2,500.

(d) Each brand and label of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage that is intended
for sale to distributors in Kansas and is transported, packaged or stored at a licensed
packaging and warehousing facility must be registered in accordance with the provisions of
K.S.A. 41-331, and amendments thereto.

(e) The tax imposed pursuant to K.S.A. 41-501, and amendments thereto, shall be paid
on alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage imported into this state under a packaging and
warehousing facility permit only if the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage is sold to a
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distributor for sale at wholesale in this state and shall be paid by the distributor who
purchases the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage for sale at wholesale.

(f)  This section shall be part of and supplemental to the Kansas liquor control act.”;

On page 10, after line 20, by inserting the following:

“New Sec. 4. (a) The director shall issue a drinking establishment license to any
municipal corporation that qualifies under K.S.A. 41-2601 et seq., and amendments thereto,
for the premises specified in the license application.

(b)  Municipal corporations applying for a drinking establishment license shall not be
subject to the provisions of subsection (a)(1) or (a)(3) through (9) of K.S.A. 41-2623, and
amendments thereto.

Sec. 5. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-308a is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-308a. (a)
A farm winery license shall allow:

(1) The manufacture of domestic table wine and domestic fortified wine in a quantity
not exceeding 100,000 gallons per year and the storage thereof;

(2) the sale of wine, manufactured by the licensee, to licensed wine distributors,
retailers, clubs, drinking establishments, holders of temporary permits as authorized by
K.S.A. 41-2645, and amendments thereto, and caterers;

(3) the sale, on the licensed premises in the original unopened container to consumers
for consumption off the licensed premises, of wine manufactured by the licensee;

(4) the serving free of charge on the licensed premises and at special events, monitored
and regulated by the division of alcoholic beverage control, of samples of wine manufactured
by the licensee or imported under subsection (f), if the premises are located in a county
where the sale of alcoholic liquor is permitted by law in licensed drinking establishments;

(5) if the licensee is also licensed as a club or drinking establishment, the sale of domestic
wine, domestic fortified wine and other alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed
premises as authorized by the club and drinking establishment act;

(6) if the licensee is also licensed as a caterer, the sale of domestic wine, domestic
fortified wine and other alcoholic liquor for consumption on the unlicensed premises as
authorized by the club and drinking establishment act;

(7)  the sale and shipping, in the original unopened container, to consumers outside this
state of wine manufactured by the licensee, provided that the licensee complies with
applicable laws and rules and regulations of the jurisdiction to which the wine is shipped;
and

(8) the sale and shipping of wine within this state pursuant to a permit issued pursuant
to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 43=348 41-350, and amendments thereto.

(b) Upon application and payment of the fee prescribed by K.S.A. 41-310, and
amendments thereto, by a farm winery licensee, the director may issue not to exceed three
winery outlet licenses to the farm winery licensee. A winery outlet license shall allow:

(1) The sale, on the licensed premises in the original unopened container to consumers
for consumption off the licensed premises, of wine manufactured by the licensee;

(2) the serving on the licensed premises of samples of wine manufactured by the licensee
or imported under subsection (f), if the premises are located in a county where the sale of
alcoholic liquor is permitted by law in licensed drinking establishments; and

(3)  the manufacture of domestic table wine and domestic fortified wine and the storage
thereof; provided, that the aggregate quantity of wine produced by the farm winery licensee,
including all winery outlets, shall not exceed 100,000 gallons per year.

(c) Not less than 60% of the products utilized in the manufacture of domestic table
wine and domestic fortified wine by a farm winery shall be grown in Kansas except when a
lesser proportion is authorized by the director based upon the director’s findings and
judgment. The label of domestic wine and domestic fortified wine shall indicate that a
majority of the products utilized in the manufacture of the wine at such winery were grown
in Kansas.

(d) A farm winery or winery outlet may sell domestic wine and domestic fortified wine
in the original unopened container to consumers for consumption off the licensed premises
at any time between 6 a.m. and 12 midnight on any day except Sunday and between 12
noon and 6 p.m. on Sunday. If authorized by subsection (a), a farm winery may serve samples
of domestic wine, domestic fortified wine and wine imported under subsection (e) and serve



1542 JOURNAL OF THE SENATE

and sell domestic wine, domestic fortified wine and other alcoholic liquor for consumption
on the licensed premises at any time when a club or drinking establishment is authorized
to serve and sell alcoholic liquor. If authorized by subsection (b), a winery outlet may serve
samples of domestic wine, domestic fortified wine and wine imported under subsection (e)
at any time when the winery outlet is authorized to sell domestic wine and domestic fortified
wine.

(e) The director may issue to the Kansas state fair or any bona fide group of grape
growers or wine makers a permit to import into this state small quantities of wines. Such
wine shall be used only for bona fide educational and scientific tasting programs and shall
not be resold. Such wine shall not be subject to the tax imposed by K.S.A. 41-501, and
amendments thereto. The permit shall identify specifically the brand and type of wine to
be imported, the quantity to be imported, the tasting programs for which the wine is to be
used and the times and locations of such programs. The secretary shall adopt rules and
regulations governing the importation of wine pursuant to this subsection and the conduct
of tasting programs for which such wine is imported.

(f) A farm winery license or winery outlet license shall apply only to the premises
described in the application and in the license issued and only one location shall be described
in the license.

(g) No farm winery or winery outlet shall:

(1) Employ any person under the age of 18 years in connection with the manufacture,
sale or serving of any alcoholic liquor;

(2)  permit any employee of the licensee who is under the age of 21 years to work on
the licensed premises at any time when not under the on-premise supervision of either the
licensee or an employee of the licensee who is 21 years of age or over;

(3) employ any person under 21 years of age in connection with mixing or dispensing
alcoholic liquor; or

(4)  employ any person in connection with the manufacture or sale of alcoholic liquor if
the person has been convicted of a felony.

(h)  Whenever a farm winery or winery outlet licensee is convicted of a violation of the
Kansas liquor control act, the director may revoke the licensee’s license and order forfeiture
of all fees paid for the license, after a hearing before the director for that purpose in
accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act.

(i) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the Kansas liquor control act.

Sec. 6. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-310 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-310. (a) At
the time application is made to the director for a license of any class, the applicant shall pay
the fee provided by this section.

(b) The anmmuat fee for a manufacturer’s license to manufacture alcohol and spirits shall
be $2:500 $5,000.

(¢) The anmuat fee for a manufacturer’s license to manufacture beer and cereal malt
beverage shall be:

) For 1 to 100 barrel daily capacity or any part thereof, $260 $400.
) For 100 to 150 barrel daily capacity, $466 $800.

) For 150 to 200 barrel daily capacity, $766 $1,400.

) For 200 to 300 barrel daily capacity, $5666 $2,000.

) For 300 to 400 barrel daily capacity, $1366 $2,600.

) For 400 to 500 barrel daily capacity, $5466 $2,800.

(7)  For 500 or more barrel daily capacity, $1;660 $3,200.

As used in this subsection, “daily capacity” means the average daily barrel production for
the previous 12 months of manufacturing operation. If no basis for comparison exists, the
licensee shall pay in advance for operation during the first year’s—operation term of the
license a fee of $1:600 $2,000.

(d) The anmuat fee for a manufacturer’s license to manufacture wine shall be $566
$1,000.

(e) (1) The anmmat fee for a microbrewery license or a farm winery license shall be $256
$500.

(2) The ammuat fee for a winery outlet license shall be $56 $100.
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(3) The ammuat fee for a microbrewery packaging and warehousing facility license shall
be $166 $200.

(f)  The ammmt fee for a spirits distributor’s license for the first and each additional
distributing place of business operated in this state by the licensee and wholesaling and
jobbing spirits shall be $1;660 $2,000.

(g) The anmmuat fee for a wine distributor’s license for the first and each additional
distributing place of business operated in this state by the licensee and wholesaling and
jobbing wine shall be $1:666 $2,000.

(h) The ammuat fee for a beer distributor’s license, for the first and each additional
wholesale distributing place of business operated in this state by the licensee and wholesaling
or jobbing beer and cereal malt beverage shall be $5666 $2,000.

(i) The annual fee for a nonbeverage user’s license shall be:

For class 1, $16 $20.

For class 2, $50 $100.

For class 3, $160 $200.

For class 4, $200 $400.

For class 5, $500 $1,000.

) In addition to the license fees prescribed by subsections (b), (c), (d), (f), (g), (h) and

1
2
3
4
5
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(i):

(1) Any city in which the licensed premises are located may levy and collect amranmat
a biennial occupation or license tax on the licensee in an amount not exceeding the amount
of the anmmat license fee required to be paid under this act to obtain the license, but no city
shall impose an occupation or privilege tax on the licensee in excess of that amount; and

(2) any township in which the licensed premises are located may levy and collect an
ammat a biennial occupation or license tax on the licensee in an amount not exceeding the
amount of the anmuat license fee required to be paid under this act to obtain the license,
but no township shall impose an occupation or privilege tax on the licensee in excess of that
amount; the township board of the township is authorized to fix and impose the tax and the
tax shall be paid by the licensee to the township treasurer, who shall issue a receipt therefor
to the licensee and shall cause the tax paid to be placed in the general fund of the township.

(k) The anmual fee for a retailer’s license shall be $256 $500.

(1) In addition to the license fee prescribed by subsection (k):

(1) Any city in which the licensed premises are located shalt may levy and collect an
ammmat a biennial occupation or license tax on the licensee in an amount not less than $166
$200 nor more than 366 $600, but no other occupation or excise tax or license fee shall
be levied by any city against or collected from the licensee; and

(2) any township in which the licensed premises are located shalt may levy and collect
amranmuat a biennial occupation or license tax on the licensee in an amount not less than
$166 $200 nor more than %366 $600; the township board of the township is authorized to
fix and impose the tax and the tax shall be paid by the licensee to the township treasurer,
who shall issue a receipt therefor to the licensee and shall cause the tax paid to be placed
in the general fund of the township.

(m) The license year term for a license shall commence on the date the license is issued
by the director and shall end ome-year two years after that date. The director may, at the
director’s sole discretion and after examination of the circumstances, extend the license term
of any license for not more than 30 days beyond the date such license would expire pursuant
to this section. Any extension of the license term by the director pursuant to this section
shall automatically extend the due date for payment by the licensee of any occupation or
license tax levied by a city or township pursuant to this section by the same number of days
the director has extended the license term.

Sec. 7. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-311 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-311. (a) No
license of any kind shall be issued pursuant to the liquor control act to a person:

(1)  Who has not been a citizen of the United States for at least 10 years, except that
the spouse of a deceased retail licensee may receive and renew a retail license
notwithstanding the provisions of this subsection (a)(1) if such spouse is otherwise qualified
to hold a retail license and is a United States citizen or becomes a United States citizen
within one year after the deceased licensee’s death;
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(2)  who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state, any other state or
the United States;

(3)  who has had a license revoked for cause under the provisions of the liquor control
act, the beer and cereal malt beverage keg registration act or who has had any license issued
under the cereal malt beverage laws of any state revoked for cause except that a license may
be issued to a person whose license was revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor at
any time after the lapse of 10 years following the date of the revocation;

(4)  who has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping a house of prostitution or
has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges of being a keeper of a house of
prostitution;

(5)  who has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling house, pandering or any
other crime opposed to decency and morality or has forfeited bond to appear in court to
answer charges for any of those crimes;

(6) who is not at least 21 years of age;

(7)  who, other than as a member of the governing body of a city or county, appoints or
supervises any law enforcement officer, who is a law enforcement official or who is an
employee of the director;

(8) who intends to carry on the business authorized by the license as agent of another;

(9)  who at the time of application for renewal of any license issued under this act would
not be eligible for the license upon a first application, except as provided by subsection
(a)(12);

(10)  who is the holder of a valid and existing license issued under article 27 of chapter
41 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated unless the person agrees to and does surrender the
license to the officer issuing the same upon the issuance to the person of a license under
this act, except that a retailer licensed pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2702, and amendments thereto,
shall be eligible to receive a retailer’s license under the Kansas liquor control act;

(11) who does not own the premises for which a license is sought, or does not, at the

time of application, have a written lease thereon foratteast34of theperiod-for-which-the
hcm—to—be—rgs‘md‘ o o .

(12)  whose spouse would be ineligible to receive a license under this act for any reason
other than citizenship, residence requirements or age, except that this subsection (a)(12)
shall not apply in determining eligibility for a renewal license;

(13)  whose spouse has been convicted of a felony or other crime which would disqualify
a person from licensure under this section and such felony or other crime was committed
during the time that the spouse held a license under this act; or

(14)  who does not provide any data or information required by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-
311b, and amendments thereto.

(b) No retailer’s license shall be issued to:

(1) A person who is not a resident of this state;

(2) aperson who has not been a resident of this state for at least four years immediately
preceding the date of application;

(3) a person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer, distributor, farm winery
or microbrewery licensed under this act, except that the spouse of an applicant for a retailer’s
license may own and hold a farm winery license, microbrewery license, or both, if the spouse
does not hold a retailer’s license issued under this act;

(4) a person who has a beneficial interest in any other retail establishment licensed
under this act, except that the spouse of a licensee may own and hold a retailer’s license for
another retail establishment;

(5)  a copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain a license;

(6) a corporation; or

(7) atrust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license
under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply
in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license.

(¢) No manufacturer’s license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation, if any officer or director thereof, or any stockholder owning in the
aggregate more than 25% of the stock of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a
manufacturer’s license for any reason other than citizenship and residence requirements;



May 7, 2010 1545

(2) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners shall have been residents of this state
for at least five years immediately preceding the date of application and unless all the
members of the copartnership would be eligible to receive a manufacturer’s license under
this act;

(3) atrust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license
under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply
in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license;

(4) an individual who is not a resident of this state;

(5) an individual who has not been a resident of this state for at least five years
immediately preceding the date of application; or

(6) a person who has a beneficial interest in a distributor, retailer, farm winery or
microbrewery licensed under this act, except as provided in K.S.A. 41-305, and amendments
thereto.

(d) No distributor’s license shall be issued to:

(1) A corporation, if any officer, director or stockholder of the corporation would be
ineligible to receive a distributor’s license for any reason. It shall be unlawful for any
stockholder of a corporation licensed as a distributor to transfer any stock in the corporation
to any person who would be ineligible to receive a distributor’s license for any reason, and
any such transfer shall be null and void, except that: (A) If any stockholder owning stock in
the corporation dies and an heir or devisee to whom stock of the corporation descends by
descent and distribution or by will is ineligible to receive a distributor’s license, the legal
representatives of the deceased stockholder’s estate and the ineligible heir or devisee shall
have 14 months from the date of the death of the stockholder within which to sell the stock
to a person eligible to receive a distributor’s license, any such sale by a legal representative
to be made in accordance with the provisions of the probate code; or (B) if the stock in any
such corporation is the subject of any trust and any trustee or beneficiary of the trust who
is 21 years of age or older is ineligible to receive a distributor’s license, the trustee, within
14 months after the effective date of the trust, shall sell the stock to a person eligible to
receive a distributor’s license and hold and disburse the proceeds in accordance with the
terms of the trust. If any legal representatives, heirs, devisees or trustees fail, refuse or
neglect to sell any stock as required by this subsection, the stock shall revert to and become
the property of the corporation, and the corporation shall pay to the legal representatives,
heirs, devisees or trustees the book value of the stock. During the period of 14 months
prescribed by this subsection, the corporation shall not be denied a distributor’s license or
have its distributor’s license revoked if the corporation meets all of the other requirements
necessary to have a distributor’s license;

(2)  a copartnership, unless all of the copartners are eligible to receive a distributor’s
license;

(3) atrust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license
under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply
in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license; or

(4) a person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer, retailer, farm winery or
microbrewery licensed under this act.

(e) No nonbeverage user’s license shall be issued to a corporation, if any officer,
manager or director of the corporation or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more
than 25% of the stock of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a nonbeverage user’s
license for any reason other than citizenship and residence requirements.

(f)  No microbrewery license or farm winery license shall be issued to a:

(1) Person who is not a resident of this state;

(2) person who has not been a resident of this state for at least four-years one year
immediately preceding the date of application;

(3) person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer or distributor licensed under
this act : s tetat st i . except as
provided in K.S.A. 41-305, and amendments thereto;

(4) person, copartnership or association which has a beneficial interest in any retailer
licensed under this act or under K.S.A. 41-2702, and amendments thereto, except that the
spouse of an applicant for a microbrewery or farm winery license may own and hold a
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retailer’s license if the spouse does not hold a microbrewery or farm winery license issued
under this act;

(5)  copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain a license;

(6) corporation, unless stockholders owning in the aggregate 50% or more of the stock
of the corporation would be eligible to receive such license and all other stockholders would
be eligible to receive such license except for reason of citizenship or residency; or

(7) atrust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license
under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply
in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license.

(g) The provisions of subsections (b)(1), (b)(2), (c)(3), (c)(4), (d)(3), ()(1), (£)(2) and
K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-311b, and amendments thereto, shall not apply in determining
eligibility for the 10th, or a subsequent, consecutive renewal of a license if the applicant has
appointed a citizen of the United States who is a resident of Kansas as the applicant’s agent
and filed with the director a duly authenticated copy of a duly executed power of attorney,
authorizing the agent to accept service of process from the director and the courts of this
state and to exercise full authority, control and responsibility for the conduct of all business
and transactions within the state relative to alcoholic liquor and the business licensed. The
agent must be satisfactory to and approved by the director, except that the director shall
not approve as an agent any person who:

(1) Has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state, any other state or the
United States;

(2)  has had a license issued under the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage laws of
this or any other state revoked for cause, except that a person may be appointed as an agent
if the person’s license was revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor and 10 years have
lapsed since the date of the revocation;

(3)  has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping a house of prostitution or has
forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges of being a keeper of a house of
prostitution;

(4) has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling house, pandering or any
other crime opposed to decency and morality or has forfeited bond to appear in court to
answer charges for any of those crimes; or

(5) s less than 21 years of age.

Sec. 8. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-317 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41- 311 (a)
Appll(,dtl()ns for all hcenses under this act shall be

campleted and submitted to the

director in @ manner prescribed by the director. Each
applicant shall submit an application fee of $50 for each 1n1t1c11 application
and $10 for each renewal apphcatlon to defray the cost of

processing the application.

(b)  Each applicant shall submit to the division of alcoholic beverage control the full
amount of the application fee and:

(1) The full amount of the license fee required to be paid for the kind of license specified
in the application; or

(2) one-half of the full amount of the license fee required to be paid for the kind of license
specified in the application.

(c) If the applicant elects to pay only one-half of the license fee pursuant to subsection
(b)(2), the remaining one-half of the license fee plus 10% of such remaining balance shall be
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due and payable one year from the date of issuance of the license. Notwithstanding any
other provision of law, failure to pay the full amount due under this paragraph on the date
it is due shall result in the automatic cancellation of such license for the remainder of the
license term. The director may, at the director’s sole discretion and after examination of the
circumstances, extend the date payment is due pursuant to this paragraph for not more than
30 days beyond the date such payment is originally due.

(d) Any license fee paid by an applicant shall be returned to the applicant if the
application is denied.

(e) Payment of all fees required to be paid pursuant to this section may be made by
personal, certified or cashier’s check, United States post office money order, debit or credit
card or cash, or by electronic payment authorized by the applicant in a manner prescribed
by the director.

(f) All fees received by the director pursuant to this section shall be remitted by the
director to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and
amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit
the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the state general fund.

b (g) Every applicant for a manufacturer’s, distributor’s, nonbeverage user’s,
microbrewery, farm winery, retailer’s or special order shipping license shall file with the
application a joint and several bond on a form prescribed by the director and executed by
good and sufficient corporate sureties licensed to do business within the state of Kansas to
the director, in the following amounts:

(1) For a manufacturer, $25,000;

(2)  for a spirits distributor, $15,000 or an amount equal to the highest monthly liability
of the distributor for taxes imposed by the Kansas liquor control act for any of the 12 months
immediately prior to renewal of the distributor’s license, whichever amount is greater;

(3) for a beer or wine distributor, $5,000 or an amount equal to the highest monthly
liability of the distributor for taxes imposed by the Kansas liquor control act for any of the
12 months immediately prior to renewal of the distributor’s license, whichever amount is
greater;

(4) for a retailer, $2,000;

(5)  for nonbeverage users, $200 for class 1, $500 for class 2, $1,000 for class 3, $5,000
for class 4 and $10,000 for class 5;

(6)  for a microbrewery or a farm winery, $2,000; and

(7)  for a winery holding a special order shipping license, $750, unless the winery has
already complied with subsection th}6} (g)(6).

If a distributor holds or applies for more than one distributor’s license, only one bond for
all such licenses shall be required, which bond shall be in an amount equal to the highest
applicable bond.

te} (h) All bonds required by this section shall be conditioned on the licensee’s
compliance with the provisions of this act and payment of all taxes, fees, fines and forfeitures
which may be assessed against the licensee.

Sec. 9. K.S.A. 41-326 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-326. A license shall be
purely a personal privilege, valid for not to exceed ome-year two years after issuance, except
as otherwise provided by law, unless sooner suspended or revoked, and shall not constitute
property, nor shall it be subject to attachment, garnishment or execution, nor shall it be
alienable or transferable, voluntarily or involuntarily, or subject to being encumbered or
hypothecated. A license shall not descend by the laws of testate or intestate devolution but
shall cease and expire upon the death of the licensee except that executors, administrators
or representatives of the estate of any deceased licensee and the trustee of any insolvent or
bankrupt licensee, when such estate consists in part of alcoholic liquor, may continue the
business of the sale, distribution or manufacture of alcoholic liquor under order of the
appropriate court and may exercise the privilege of the deceased, insolvent or bankrupt
licensee after the death of such decedent, or after such insolvency or bankruptcy, until the
expiration of such license but not longer than one year after the death, bankruptcy or
insolvency of such licensee.
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provisions—of-this—sectior- When the licensee pays the full amount of the license fee upon

application and is prevented from operating under such license in accordance with the
provisions of this act for the entire second year of the license term, a refund shall be made
of one-half of the license fee paid by such licensee. The secretary of revenue may adopt rules
and regulations pursuant to K.S.A. 41-210, and amendments thereto, which provide for the
authorization of refunds of tha i fcerrs spai 3 focH ich one-
half of the license fee paid when the licensee does not use such license for the entire second
year of the license term as a result of the cancellation of the license upon the request of the
licensee for voluntary reasons.

Sec. 10. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-350 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-350. (a)
For the purposes of this act, the term “winery” means any maker or producer of wine
whether in this state or in any other state, who holds a valid federal basic wine manufacturing
permit. The terms “director” and “secretary” have the meaning ascribed to these terms in
K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-102, and amendments thereto.

(b) Any winery may be authorized to make direct shipments of wine to consumers in
this state upon obtaining a special order shipping license from the secretary pursuant to this
act.

(1) A special order shipping license shall only be issued to a winery upon compliance
with all applicable provisions of this act and the regulations promulgated pursuant to this
act, and upon payment of a license fee in the amount of 56 $100. The license term for a
special order shipping license shall commence on the date the license is issued by the director
and shall end two years after that date.

(2) A special order shipping license shall entitle the winery to ship wine upon order
directly to consumers for personal or household use in this state. The purchaser shall pay
the purchase price and all shipping costs directly to the permit holder. Enforcement taxes
collected herein shall be paid solely on the purchase price and not on the shipping costs.

(c) No holder of a special order shipping license shall be permitted to ship in excess of
12 standard cases of wine of one brand or a combination of brands into this state to any one
consumer or address per calendar year.

(d) (1) Before accepting an order from a consumer in this state, the holder of a special
order shipping license shall require that the person placing the order to state affirmatively
that he or she is 21 years of age or older and shall verify the age of such person placing the
order either by the physical examination of an approved government issued form of
identification or by utilizing an internet based age and identification service approved by
the director of alcoholic beverage control, or the director’s designee.

(2)  Every shipment of wine by the holder of a special order shipping license shall be
clearly marked "Alcoholic Beverages, Adult Signature Required” and the carrier delivering
such shipment shall be responsible for obtaining the signature of an adult who is at least 21
years of age as a condition of delivery.

(e) A special order shipping license shall not authorize the shipment of any wine to any
premises licensed to sell alcoholic beverages pursuant to this act or the club and drinking
establishment act.

(f) The failure to comply strictly with the requirements of this act and rules and
regulations promulgated pursuant to this act shall be grounds for the revocation of a special
order shipping license or other disciplinary action by the director. After notice and an
opportunity for hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative
procedure act, the director may refuse to issue or renew or may revoke a shipping permit
upon a finding that the permit holder has failed to comply with any provision of this section
or K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-501 et seq., and amendments thereto, or any rules and regulations
adopted pursuant to such statutes. Upon revocation of a special order shipping license for
shipment of wine to a person not of legal age as required herein such winery shall not be
issued any special order shipping license pursuant to this act for a period of one year from
the date of revocation.

(g) The holder of a special order shipping license shall collect all gallonage taxes imposed
by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-501 et seq., and amendments thereto, shall remit such taxes
annually in a manner prescribed by the secretary and shall accompany such remittance with
such reports, documentation and other information as may be required by the secretary. In
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addition, an applicant for and a holder of a special order shipping license, as a condition of
receiving and holding a valid license, shall:

(1) Collect and pay the applicable Kansas enforcement tax on each sale shipped to a
consumer in Kansas imposed by K.S.A. 79-4101 et seq., and amendments thereto;

(2) accompany each remittance with such sales tax reports, documentation and other
information as may be required by the director of taxation; and

(3) if the holder of the license is an out-of-state shipper, the licensee shall be deemed
to have appointed the secretary of state as the resident agent and representative of the
licensee to accept service of process from the secretary of revenue, the director and the
courts of this state concerning enforcement of this section, K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-501 et
seq., and amendments thereto, and any related laws and rules and regulations and to accept
service of any notice or order provided for in the liquor control act.

(h) The secretary of revenue may adopt rules and regulations to implement, administer
and enforce the provisions of this section.

(i) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the Kansas liquor control act.

Sec. 11. K.S.A. 41-2601 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-2601. As used in the
club and drinking establishment act:

(a) The following terms shall have the meanings provided by K.S.A. 41-102 and
amendments thereto: (1) “Alcoholic liquor”™; (2) “director”; (3) “original package”; (4)
“person”; (5) “sale”; and (6) “to sell.“

(b) “Beneficial interest” shall not include any interest a person may have as owner,
operator, lessee or franchise holder of a licensed hotel or motel on the premises of which
a club or drinking establishment is located.

(c) “Caterer” means an individual, partnership or corporation which sells alcoholic
liquor by the individual drink, and provides services related to the serving thereof, on
unlicensed premises which may be open to the public, but does not include a holder of a
temporary permit, selling alcoholic liquor in accordance with the terms of such permit.

(d) “Cereal malt beverage” has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 41-2701 and
amendments thereto.

(e) “Class A club” means a premises which is owned or leased by a corporation,
partnership, business trust or association and which is operated thereby as a bona fide
nonprofit social, fraternal or war veterans” club, as determined by the director, for the
exclusive use of the corporate stockholders, partners, trust beneficiaries or associates
(hereinafter referred to as members) and their families and guests accompanying them.

(f) “Class B club” means a premises operated for profit by a corporation, partnership
or individual, to which members of such club may resort for the consumption of food or
alcoholic beverages and for entertainment.

(g) “Club” means a class A or class B club.

(h)  “Minibar” means a closed cabinet, whether nonrefrigerated or wholly or partially
refrigerated, access to the interior of which is restricted by means of a locking device which
requires the use of a key, magnetic card or similar device.

(i) “Drinking establishment” means premises which may be open to the general public,
where alcoholic liquor by the individual drink is sold.

(j) “Food” means any raw, cooked or processed edible substance or ingredient, other
than alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage, used or intended for use or for sale, in whole
or in part, for human consumption.

(k) “Food service establishment” has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 36-501 and
amendments thereto.

(1) “Hotel” has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 36-501 and amendments thereto.

(m) “Minor” means a person under 21 years of age.

(n) “Morals charge” means a charge involving prostitution; procuring any person;
soliciting of a child under 18 years of age for any immoral act involving sex; possession or
sale of narcotics, marijuana, amphetamines or barbiturates; rape; incest; gambling; illegal
cohabitation; adultery; bigamy; or a crime against nature.

(0) “Municipal corporation” means the governing body of any county or city.

fo} (p) “Restaurant” means:
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(1) 1Inthe case of a club, a licensed food service establishment which, as determined by
the director, derives from sales of food for consumption on the licensed club premises not
less than 50% of its gross receipts from all sales of food and beverages on such premises in
a 12-month period;

(2) in the case of a drinking establishment subject to a food sales requirement under
K.S.A. 41-2642 and amendments thereto, a licensed food service establishment which, as
determined by the director, derives from sales of food for consumption on the licensed
drinking establishment premises not less than 30% of its gross receipts from all sales of food
and beverages on such premises in a 12-month period; and

(3) in the case of a drinking establishment subject to no food sales requirement under
K.S.A. 41-2642 and amendments thereto, a licensed food service establishment.

tp} (9) “RV resort” means premises where a place to park recreational vehicles, as
defined in K.S.A. 75-1212 and amendments thereto, is offered for pay, primarily to transient
guests, for overnight or longer use while such recreational vehicles are used as sleeping or
living accommodations.

fqp (r) “Secretary” means the secretary of revenue.

fr} (s) “Temporary permit” means a temporary permit issued pursuant to K.S.A. 41-
2645 and amendments thereto.

Sec. 12. K.S.A. 41-2605 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-2605. The director
shall issue amranmmat @ license to each applicant for licensure which qualifies under this act.
Such license shall be issued in the name of the corporation, municipal corporation, partners,
trustees, association officers or individual applying.

Sec. 13. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-2606 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41- 2606. (a)
Apphcatlons for all licenses under this act shall be

complet@(l and submitted to the
director in a manner prescribed by the director. Each featt i
applicant shall submit an application fee of $50, for each initial apphcatlon and $10, for
each renewal apphcanon to defray the cost of
2 2 pl ocessmg such apphcatlon -E-‘tch

(b) Each application for licensure as a club shall be accompanied by a copy of the current
bylaws and rules of the club and a current list of the officers of the club.

(c) Each applicant shall submit to the division of alcoholic beverage control the full
amount of the application fee and:

(1) The full amount of the license fee required to be paid for the kind of license specified
in the application; or

(2) one-half of the full amount of the license fee required to be paid for the kind of license
specified in the application.

(d) If the applicant elects to pay only one-half of the license fee pursuant to subsection
(c)(2), the remaining one-half of the license fee plus 10% of such remaining balance shall be
due and payable one year from the date of issuance of the license. Notwithstanding any
other provision of law, failure to pay the full amount due under this paragraph on the date
it is due shall result in the automatic cancellation of such license for the remainder of the
license term. The director may, at the director’s sole discretion and after examination of the
circumstances, extend the date payment is due pursuant to this paragraph for not more than
30 days beyond the date such payment is originally due.

(e) Any license fee paid by an applicant shall be returned to the applicant if the
application is denied.

(f) Payment of all fees required to be paid pursuant to this section may be made by
personal, certified or cashier’s check, United States post office money order, debit or credit
card or cash, or by electronic payment authorized by the applicant in a manner prescribed
by the director.

to) (g)  All application fees collected by the director pursuant to this section shall be

remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and
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amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit
the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the state general fund.

Sec. 14. K.S.A. 41-2607 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-2607. (a) The license
plOVlded hereln shall be 1ssued for a term of one—year two years renewable on explratlon

pays the full amount of the license fee upon applzcatlon and is prevented from opemtmg
under such license in accordance with the provisions of this act for the entire second year
of the license term, a refund shall be made of one-half of the license fee paid by such licensee.
The secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 41-210, and amendments thereto, rules
and regulations providing for the authorization of refunds of one-half of the license fee paid
when the licensee does not use such license for the entire second year of the license term as
a result of the cancellation of the license upon the request of the licensee for voluntary
reasons.

(b) The director, may, at the director’s sole discretion and after examination of the
circumstances, extend the license term of any license for not more than 30 days beyond such
date the license would expire pursuant to this section. Any extension of the license term by
the director pursuant to this section shall automatically extend the due date for payment by
the licensee of any occupation or license tax levied by a city or township pursuant to K.S.A.
41-2622, and amendments thereto, by the same number of days the director has extended
the license term.

Sec. 15. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-2622 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-2622. (a)
At the time application is made to the director for a license pursuant to the club and drinking
establishment act, the applicant shall pay the following anmmat license fee in the manner
provided by K.S.A. 41-2606, and amendments thereto:

(1) For a class A club which is a bona fide nonprofit fraternal or war veterans’ club, as
defined by rules and regulations of the secretary, $256 $500;

(2) for a class A club which is a bona fide nonprofit social club, as defined by rules and
regulations of the secretary, and which has not more than 500 members, $566 $1,000;

(3) for a class A club which is a bona fide nonprofit social club, as defined by rules and
regulations of the secretary, and which has more than 500 members, $+666 $2,000;

(4) for a class B club, $1660 $2,000;

(5) for a drinking establishment, $1,000;

(6) for a hotel of which the entire premises are licensed as a drinking establishment,
$3,000;

(7) for a caterer, $560 $1,000;

(8) for a drinking establishment/caterer, $1,500; and

(9) for a drinking establishment/caterer, if the drinking establishment is a hotel of which
the entire plemlses are hcensed as a dnnlﬂng estabhshment $3 500

(b ) On and after ]uly 1, 2011, at the time an applu,atz(m is whmltted to the dzrector for
a drinking establishment license pursuant to the club and drinking establishment act, the
applicant shall pay the following license fee in the manner provided by K.S.A. 41-2606, and
amendments thereto:

(1) For a drinking establishment, $2,000;

(2)  for a hotel of which the entire premises are licensed as a drinking establishment,
$6,000;

(3) for a drinking establishment/caterer, $3,000; and

(4) for a drinking establishment/caterer, if the drinking establishment is a hotel of which
the entire premises are licensed as a drinking establishment, $7,000.

tb (¢c) 1In addition to the fee provided by subsectiona) subsections (a) and (b), any city
where the licensed premises of a club or drinking establishment are located or, if such
licensed premises are not located in a city, the board of county commissioners of the county
where the licensed premises are located may levy and collect amanmuat a biennial occupation
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or license tax from the licensee in an amount equal to not less than $166 $200 nor more
than $256 $500.

fo} (d) No occupational or excise tax or license fee other than that authorized by
subsection tb} (¢) shall be levied by any city or county against or collected from a licensed
club or drinking establishment.

td (¢) The director shall remit all moneys received under this section to the state
treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto.
Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount
in the state treasury. Of each such deposit, 50% shall be credited to the state general fund,
and the remaining 50% shall be credited to the other state fees fund of the department of
social and rehabilitation services. In addition to other purposes for which expenditures may
be made from the other state fees fund of the department of social and rehabilitation
services, expenditures may be made by the secretary of social and rehabilitation services for
the purpose of implementing the powers and duties of the secretary under the provisions
of K.S.A. 65-4006 and 65-4007, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 16. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-2623 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-2623. (a)
No license shall be issued under the provisions of this act to:

(1) Any person described in subsection (a)(1), (2), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9), (12) or (13)
of K.S.A. 41-311, and amendments thereto, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(7)
of such section shall not apply to nor prohibit the issuance of a license for a class A club to
an officer of a post home of a congressionally chartered service or fraternal organization, or
a benevolent association or society thereof.

(2) A person who has had the person’s license revoked for cause under the provisions
of this act.

(3) A person who has not been a resident of this state for a period of at least one year
immediately preceding the date of application.

(4) A person who has a beneficial interest in the manufacture, preparation or
wholesaling or the retail sale of alcoholic liquors or a beneficial interest in any other club,
drinking establishment or caterer licensed hereunder, except that:

(A) A license for premises located in a hotel may be granted to a person who has a
beneficial interest in one or more other clubs or drinking establishments licensed hereunder
if such other clubs or establishments are located in hotels.

(B) A license for a club or drinking establishment which is a restaurant may be issued
to a person who has a beneficial interest in other clubs or drinking establishments which
are restaurants.

(C) A caterer’s license may be issued to a person who has a beneficial interest in a club
or drinking establishment and a license for a club or drinking establishment may be issued
to a person who has a beneficial interest in a caterer.

(D) A license for a class A club may be granted to an organization of which an officer,
director or board member is a distributor or retailer licensed under the liquor control act
if such distributor or retailer sells no alcoholic liquor to such club.

(E)  Any person who has a beneficial interest in a microbrewery or farm winery licensed
pursuant to the Kansas liquor control act may be issued any or all of the following: (1) Class
B club license; (2) drinking establishment license; and (3) caterer’s license.

(5) A copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain a license.

(6) A corporation, if any officer, manager or director thereof, or any stockholder owning
in the aggregate more than 5% of the common or preferred stock of such corporation would
be ineligible to receive a license hereunder for any reason other than citizenship and
residence requirements.

(7) A corporation, if any officer, manager or director thereof, or any stockholder owning
in the aggregate more than 5% of the common or preferred stock of such corporation, has
been an officer, manager or director, or a stockholder owning in the aggregate more than
5% of the common or preferred stock, of a corporation which:

(A) Has had a license revoked under the provisions of the club and drinking
establishment act; or

(B) has been convicted of a violation of the club and drinking establishment act or the
cereal malt beverage laws of this state.
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(8) A corporation organized under the laws of any state other than this state.

(9) A trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license
under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) of K.S.A. 41-
311, and amendments thereto shall not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would
be eligible for a license.

(b)  No club or drinking establishment license shall be issued under the provisions of
the club and drinking egtabhehment act to:

(1) A person deserib :
who does not own the premises for whzch a license is Sought or does not, at the time the
application is submitted, have a written lease thereon, except that an applicant seeking a
license for a premises which is owned by a city or county, or is a stadium, arena, convention
center, theater, museum, amphitheater or other similar premises may submit an executed
agreement to provide alcoholic beverage services at the premises listed in the application in
lieu of a lease.

(2) A person who is not a resident of the county in which the premises sought to be
licensed are located.

Sec. 17. K.S.A. 41-2629 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-2629. (a) A class B

club licenserdrinking-establishmentticense or caterer’s license shall be purelyapersomat

privitegesgoodfor issued for a term not to exceed omeyear two years after issuance, except
as otherwise provided by law, unless sooner suspended or revoked as provided in this act.

(b)  Priorto July 1, 2011, a drinking establishment license shall be issued for a term not
to exceed one year after issuance, except as otherwise provided by law, unless sooner
suspended or revoked as provided by this act. On and after July 1, 2011, a drinking
establishment license shall be issued for a term not to exceed two years after issuance, except
as otherwise provided by law, unless sooner suspended or revoked as provided by this act.

(c) The director, may, at the director’s sole discretion and after examination of the
circumstances, extend the license term of any license for not more than 30 days beyond such
date the license would expire pursuant to this section. Any extension of the license term by
the director pursuant to this section shall automatically extend the due date for payment by
the licensee of any occupation or license tax levied by a city or township pursuant to K.S.A.
41-2622, and amendments thereto, by the same number of days the director has extended
the license term.

(d) A class B license, drinking establishment license or caterer’s license shall be purely
a personal privilege and shall not constitute property, nor shall it be subject to attachment,
garnishment or execution, nor shall it be alienable or transferable, voluntarily or
involuntarily, or subject to being encumbered or hypothecated. A class B club license,
drinking establishment license or caterer’s license shall not descend by the laws of testate
or intestate devolution but shall cease or expire upon the death of the licensee subject to
the following provision.

(e) An executor, administrator or representative of the estate of any deceased holder of
a class B club, drinking establishment or caterer’s license or the trustee of any insolvent or
bankrupt class B club, drinking establishment or caterer’s license may continue the licensee’s
business under order of the appropriate court and may exercise the privilege of the deceased,
insolvent or bankrupt licensee after the death of such licensee or after such insolvency or
bankruptcy until the expiration of such license, but in no case longer than one year after
the death, insolvency or bankruptcy of such licensee.

tsacts 2 i When the llcensec
pays the full amount of the license fee upon appllwtwn and is prebente(] from operating
under such license in accordance with the provisions of this act for the entire second year
of the license term, a refund shall be made of one-half of the license fee paid by such licensee.
The secretary shall adopt, in accordance with K.S.A. 41-210, and amendments thereto rules
and regulations providing for the authorization of refunds of s 2

permd—m—whtch one- half of the hcenw fee pmd when the hcensee does not use such license

1s for the entire
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second year of the license term as a result of the cancellation of the license upon the request
of the licensee for voluntary reasons.

Sec. 18. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-308b is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-308b. (a)
A microbrewery license shall allow:

(1) The manufacture of not less than 100 nor more than 15,000 barrels of domestic
beer during the license year and the storage thereof;

(2) the sale to beer distributors of beer, manufactured by the licensee;

(3) the sale, on the licensed premises in the original unopened container to consumers
for consumption off the licensed premises, of beer manufactured by the licensee;

(4) the serving free of charge on the licensed premises of samples of beer manufactured
by the licensee, if the premises are located in a county where the sale of alcoholic liquor is
permitted by law in licensed drinking establishments;

(5) ifthe licensee is also licensed as a club or drinking establishment, the sale of domestic
beer and other alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premises as authorized by
the club and drinking establishment act; and

(6) if the licensee is also licensed as a caterer, the sale of domestic beer and other
alcoholic liquor for consumption on unlicensed premises as authorized by the club and
drinking establishment act.

(b) Upon application and payment of the fee prescribed by K.S.A. 41-310, and
amendments thereto, by a microbrewery licensee, the director may issue not to exceed one
microbrewery packaging and warehousing facility license to the microbrewery licensee. A
microbrewery packaging and warehousing facility license shall allow:

(1) The transfer, from the licensed premises of the microbrewery to the licensed
premises of the microbrewery packaging and warehousing facility, of beer manufactured by
the licensee, for the purpose of packaging or storage, or both; and

(2) the transfer, from the licensed premises of the microbrewery packaging and
warehousing facility to the licensed premises of the microbrewery, of beer manufactured
by the licensee; or

(3) the removal from the licensed premises of the microbrewery packaging and
warehousing facility of beer manufactured by the licensee for the purpose of delivery to a
licensed beer wholesaler.

(c) A microbrewery may sell domestic beer in the original unopened container to
consumers for consumption off the licensed premises at any time between 6 a.m. and 12
midnight on any day except Sunday and between 11 a.m. and 7 p.m. on Sunday. If authorized
by subsection (a), a microbrewery may serve samples of domestic beer and serve and sell
domestic beer and other alcoholic liquor for consumption on the licensed premises at any
time when a club or drinking establishment is authorized to serve and sell alcoholic liquor.

(d) The director may issue to the Kansas state fair or any bona fide group of brewers a
permit to import into this state small quantities of beer. Such beer shall be used only for
bona fide educational and scientific tasting programs and shall not be resold. Such beer
shall not be subject to the tax imposed by K.S.A. 41-501, and amendments thereto. The
permit shall identify specifically the brand and type of beer to be imported, the quantity to
be imported, the tasting programs for which the beer is to be used and the times and
locations of such programs. The secretary shall adopt rules and regulations governing the
importation of beer pursuant to this subsection and the conduct of tasting programs for
which such beer is imported.

(e) A microbrewery license or microbrewery packaging and warehousing facility license
shall apply only to the premises described in the application and in the license issued and
only one location shall be described in the license.

(f)  No microbrewery shall:

(1)  Employ any person under the age of 18 years in connection with the manufacture,
sale or serving of any alcoholic liquor;

(2)  permit any employee of the licensee who is under the age of 21 years to work on
the licensed premises at any time when not under the on-premises supervision of either the
licensee or an employee of the licensee who is 21 years of age or over;

(3) employ any person under 21 years of age in connection with mixing or dispensing
alcoholic liquor; or
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(4) employ any person in connection with the manufacture or sale of alcoholic liquor if
the person has been convicted of a felony.

(g) Whenever a microbrewery licensee is convicted of a violation of the Kansas liquor
control act, the director may revoke the licensee’s license and all fees paid for the license
in accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act.”;

And by renumbering the remaining sections accordingly;

Also on page 10, in line 21, by striking all after “K.S.A.”; in line 22, by striking “727” and
inserting “41-326, 41-2601, 41-2605, 41-2607 and 41-2629 and K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-102,
41-308a, 41-308b, 41-310, 41-311, 41-317, 41-350, 41-727, 41-2606, 41-2622 and 41-2623”;

In the title, in line 15, by striking “al-"; in line 16, by striking “coholic beverages”; in line
17, by striking “2009 Supp. 41-102, 41-311 and 41-727” and inserting “41-326, 41-2601, 41-
2605, 41-2607 and 41-2629 and K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 41-102, 41-308a, 41-308b, 41-310, 41-
311, 41-317, 41-350, 41-727, 41-2606, 41-2622 and 41-2623";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

MELVIN NEUFELD

MIKE KIEGERL

JupIiTH LOGANBILL
Conferees on part of House

PETE BRUNGARDT

ROGER P. REITZ

OLETHA FAUST-GOUDEAU
Conferees on part of Senate

Senator Brungardt moved the Senate adopt the Conference Committee Report on SB
452,

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 40, Nays 0, Present and Passing 0, Absent or Not Voting
0.

Yeas: Abrams, Apple, Barnett, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Colyer, Donovan, Emler,
Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Holland, Huelskamp, Huntington, Kelly,
Kelsey, Kultala, Lee, Lynn, Marshall, Masterson, McGinn, Morris, Ostmeyer, Owens,
Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Reitz, Schmidt D, Schmidt V, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken,
Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle.

The Conference Committee report was adopted.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on Senate
amendments to HB 2506, submits the following report:

The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on
conference further agrees to amend the bill, as printed as Senate Substitute for House Bill
No. 2506, as follows:

On page 1, by striking all in lines 17 through 43;

By striking all on pages 2 through 10;

On page 11, by striking all in lines 1 through 18 and inserting the following:

“Section 1. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2364 is hereby amended to read as follows: 38-2364.
(a) If an extended jurisdiction juvenile prosecution results in a guilty plea or finding of guilt,
the court shall:

(1) TImpose one or more juvenile sentences under K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2361, and
amendments thereto; and

(2) impose an adult criminal sentence, the execution of which shall be stayed on the
condition that the juvenile offender not violate the provisions of the juvenile sentence and
not commit a new offense.

(b) When it appears that a person sentenced as an extended jurisdiction juvenile has
violated the one or more conditions of the juvenile sentence or is alleged to have committed
anew offense, the court, without notice, may revoke the stay and probation juvenile sentence
and direct that the juvenile offender be immediately taken into custody and delivered to
the secretary of corrections pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4621, and amendments thereto. The court
shall notify the juvenile offender and such juvenile offender’s attorney of record, in writing
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by personal service, as provided in K.S.A. 60-303, and amendments thereto, or certified
mail, return receipt requested, of the reasons alleged to exist for revocation of the stay of
execution of the adult sentence. If the juvenile offender challenges the reasons, the court
shall hold a hearing on the issue at which the juvenile offender is entitled to be heard and
represented by counsel. After the hearing, if the court finds by substantiat a preponderance
of the evidence that the juvenile committed a new offense or violated one or more conditions
of the juvenile’s sentence have-been—viokated, the court shall revoke the juvenile sentence
and order the imposition of the adult sentence previously ordered pursuant to subsection
(a)(2) or, upon agreement of the county or district attorney and the juvenile offender’s
attorney of record, the court may modify the adult sentence previously ordered pursuant to
subsection (a)(2). Upon such finding, the juvenile’s extended jurisdiction status is
terminated, and juvenile court jurisdiction is terminated. The ongoing jurisdiction for any
adult sanction, other than the commitment to the department of corrections, is with the
adult court. The juvenile offender shall be credited for time served in a juvenile correctional
or detention facility on the juvenile sentence as service on any authorized adult sanction.

(c) Upon becoming 18 years of age, any juvenile who has been sentenced pursuant to
subsection (a) and is serving the juvenile sentence, may move for a court hearing to review
the sentence. If the sentence is continued, the court shall set a date of further review in no
later than 36 months.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2365 is hereby amended to read as follows: 38-2365. (a)
When a juvenile offender has been placed in the custody of the commissioner, the
commissioner shall have a reasonable time to make a placement. If the juvenile offender
has not been placed, any party who believes that the amount of time elapsed without
placement has exceeded a reasonable time may file a motion for review with the court. In
determining what is a reasonable amount of time, matters considered by the court shall
include, but not be limited to, the nature of the underlying offense, efforts made for
placement of the juvenile offender and the availability of a suitable placement. The
commissioner shall notify the court and-thejuveniteoffender’s, the juvenile’s attorney of
record and the juvenile’s parent, in writing, of the initial placement and any subsequent
change of placement as soon as the placement has been accomplished. The notice to the
juvenile offender’s parent shall be sent to such parent’s last known address or addresses.
The court shall have no power to direct a specific placement by the commissioner, but may
make recommendations to the commissioner. The commissioner may place the juvenile
offender in an institution operated by the commissioner, a youth residential facility or any
other appropriate placement. If the court has recommended an out-of-home placement, the
commissioner may not return the juvenile offender to the home from which removed
without first notifying the court of the plan.

(b) 1If a juvenile is in the custody of the commissioner, the commissioner shall prepare
and present a permanency plan at sentencing or within 30 days thereafter. If a permanency
plan is already in place under a child in need of care proceeding, the court may adopt the
plan under the present proceeding. The written permanency plan shall provide for
reintegration of the juvenile into such juvenile’s family or, if reintegration is not a viable
alternative, for other permanent placement of the juvenile. Reintegration may not be a viable
alternative when: (1) The parent has been found by a court to have committed murder in
the first degree, K.S.A. 21-3401, and amendments thereto, murder in the second degree,
K.S.A. 21-3402, and amendments thereto, capital murder, K.S.A. 21-3439, and amendments
thereto, voluntary manslaughter, K.S.A. 21-3403, and amendments thereto, of a child or
violated a law of another state which prohibits such murder or manslaughter of a child;

(2) the parent aided or abetted, attempted, conspired or solicited to commit such
murder or voluntary manslaughter of a child;

(3) the parent committed a felony battery that resulted in bodily injury to the juvenile
who is the subject of this proceeding or another child;

(4)  the parent has subjected the juvenile who is the subject of this proceeding or another
child to aggravated circumstances as defined in K.S.A. 38-1502, and amendments thereto;

(5) the parental rights of the parent to another child have been terminated involuntarily;
or
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(6) the juvenile has been in extended out-of-home placement as defined in K.S.A. 2009
Supp. 38-2202, and amendments thereto.

(c) If the juvenile is placed in the custody of the commissioner, the plan shall be
prepared and submitted by the commissioner. If the juvenile is placed in the custody of a
facility or person other than the commissioner, the plan shall be prepared and submitted
by a court services officer. If the permanency goal is reintegration into the family, the
permanency plan shall include measurable objectives and time schedules for reintegration.

(d) During the time a juvenile remains in the custody of the commissioner, the
commissioner shall submit to the court, at least every six months, a written report of the
progress being made toward the goals of the permanency plan submitted pursuant to
subsections (b) and (c) and the specific actions taken to achieve the goals of the permanency
plan. If the juvenile is placed in foster care, the court may request the foster parent to
submit to the court, at least every six months, a report in regard to the juvenile’s adjustment,
progress and condition. Such report shall be made a part of the juvenile’s court social file.
The court shall review the plan submitted by the commissioner and the report, if any,
submitted by the foster parent and determine whether reasonable efforts and progress have
been made to achieve the goals of the permanency plan. If the court determines that
progress is inadequate or that the permanency plan is no longer viable, the court shall hold
a hearing pursuant to subsection (e).

(e) When the commissioner has custody of the juvenile, a permanency hearing shall be
held no more than 12 months after the juvenile is first placed outside such juvenile’s home
and at least every 12 months thereafter. Juvenile offenders who have been in extended out-
of-home placement shall be provided a permanency hearing within 30 days of a request
from the commissioner. The court may appoint a guardian ad litem to represent the juvenile
offender at the permanency hearing. At each hearing, the court shall make a written finding
whether reasonable efforts have been made to accomplish the permanency goal and whether
continued out-of-home placement is necessary for the juvenile’s safety.

(f)  Whenever a hearing is required under subsection (e), the court shall notify all
interested parties of the hearing date, the commissioner, foster parent and preadoptive
parent or relatives providing care for the juvenile and hold a hearing. Individuals receiving
notice pursuant to this subsection shall not be made a party to the action solely on the basis
of this notice and opportunity to be heard. After providing the persons receiving notice an
opportunity to be heard, the court shall determine whether the juvenile’s needs are being
adequately met; whether services set out in the permanency plan necessary for the safe
return of the juvenile have been made available to the parent with whom reintegration is
planned; and whether reasonable efforts and progress have been made to achieve the goals
of the permanency plan.

(g) If the court finds reintegration continues to be a viable alternative, the court shall
determine whether and, if applicable, when the juvenile will be returned to the parent. The
court may rescind any of its prior dispositional orders and enter any dispositional order
authorized by this code or may order that a new plan for the reintegration be prepared and
submitted to the court. If reintegration cannot be accomplished as approved by the court,
the court shall be informed and shall schedule a hearing pursuant to subsection (h). No such
hearing is required when the parent voluntarily relinquishes parental rights or agree agrees
to appointment of a permanent guardian.

(h)  When the court finds any of the following conditions exist, the county or district
attorney or the county or district attorney’s designee shall file a petition alleging the juvenile
to be a child in need of care and requesting termination of parental rights pursuant to the
Kansas code for care of children: (1) The court determines that reintegration is not a viable
alternative and either adoption or permanent guardianship might be in the best interests of
the juvenile;

(2) the goal of the permanency plan is reintegration into the family and the court
determines after 12 months from the time such plan is first submitted that progress is
inadequate; or

(3)  the juvenile has been in out-of-home placement for a cumulative total of 15 of the
last 22 months, excluding trial home visits and juvenile in runaway status.
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Nothing in this subsection shall be interpreted to prohibit termination of parental rights
prior to the expiration of 12 months.

(i) A petition to terminate parental rights is not required to be filed if one of the
following exceptions is documented to exist: (1) The juvenile is in a stable placement with
relatives;

(2) services set out in the case plan necessary for the safe return of the juvenile have
not been made available to the parent with whom reintegration is planned; or

(3) there are one or more documented reasons why such filing would not be in the best
interests of the juvenile. Documented reasons may include, but are not limited to: The
juvenile has close emotional bonds with a parent which should not be broken; the juvenile
is 14 years of age or older and, after advice and counsel, refuses to be adopted; insufficient
grounds exist for termination of parental rights; the juvenile is an unaccompanied refugee
minor; or there are international legal or compelling foreign policy reasons precluding
termination of parental rights.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2373 is hereby amended to read as follows: 38-2373. (a)
Actions by the court. (1) When a juvenile offender has been committed to a juvenile
correctional facility, the clerk of the court shall forthwith notify the commissioner of the
commitment and provide the commissioner with a certified copy of the complaint, the
journal entry of the adjudication and sentencing. The court shall provide those items from
the social file which could relate to a rehabilitative program. If the court wishes to
recommend placement of the juvenile offender in a specific juvenile correctional facility,
the recommendation shall be included in the sentence. After the court has received notice
of the juvenile correctional facility designated as provided in subsection (b), it shall be the
duty of the court or the sheriff of the county to deliver the juvenile offender to the facility
at the time designated by the commissioner.

(2)  When a juvenile offender is residing in a juvenile correctional facility and is required
to go back to court for any reason, the county demanding the juvenile’s presence shall be
responsible for transportation, detention, custody and control of such offender. In these
cases, the county sheriff shall be responsible for all transportation, detention, custody and
control of such offender.

(b) Actions by the commissioner. (1) Within three days after receiving notice of
commitment as provided in subsection (a), the commissioner shall notify the committing
court of the facility to which the juvenile offender should be conveyed, and when to effect
the immediate transfer of study custody and control to the juvenile justice authority. The
date of admission shall be no more than five days after the notice to the committing court.
Until received at the designated facility, the continuing detention, custody, and control of
and transport for a juvenile offender sentenced to a direct commitment to a juvenile
correctional facility shall be the responsibility of the committing county.

(2) Except as provided by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2332, and amendments thereto, the
commissioner may make any temporary out-of-home placement the commissioner deems
appropriate pending placement of the juvenile offender in a juvenile correctional facility,
and the commissioner shall notify the court, local law enforcement agency and school district
in which the juvenile will be residing if the juvenile is still required to attend a secondary
school of that placement.

(¢) Transfers. During the time a juvenile offender remains committed to a juvenile
correctional facility, the commissioner may transfer the juvenile offender from one juvenile
correctional facility to another.

Sec. 4. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2364, 38-2365 and 38-2373 are hereby repealed.”;

And by renumbering the remaining section accordingly;

In the title, in line 9, by striking all after “concerning”; by striking all in lines 10 through
12; in line 13, by striking all before “and” where it appears the second time and inserting
“juvenile offenders; amending K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 38-2364, 38-2365 and 38-2373";
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And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

TaomAas C. OWENS
DEREK SCHMIDT
Davip HALEY
Conferees on part of Senate

PAaT COLLOTON

JOE PATTON

MELODY MCCRAY-MILLER
Conferees on part of House

Senator Owens moved the Senate adopt the Conference Committee Report on HB 2506.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 39, Nays 1, Present and Passing 0, Absent or Not Voting
0.

Yeas: Abrams, Apple, Barnett, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Colyer, Donovan, Emler,
Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Hensley, Holland, Huelskamp, Huntington, Kelly, Kelsey,
Kultala, Lee, Lynn, Marshall, Masterson, McGinn, Morris, Ostmeyer, Owens, Petersen,
Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Reitz, Schmidt D, Schmidt V, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman,
Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle.

Nays: Haley.

The Conference Committee report was adopted.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on Senate
amendments to HB 2660, submits the following report:

The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on
conference further agrees to amend the bill, as printed with Senate Committee of the Whole
amendments, as follows:

On page 3, following line 13, by inserting the following:

“New Sec. 2. (a) On and after January 1, 2012, any owner or lessee of one or more
passenger vehicles, trucks of a gross weight of 20,000 pounds or less or motorcycles, who is
a resident of the state of Kansas, and who submits satisfactory proof to the director of
vehicles, in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by the secretary of revenue, that
such person is a veteran of the Vietnam war, upon compliance with the provisions of this
section, may be issued one distinctive license plate for each such passenger vehicle, truck
or motorcycle designating such person as a veteran of the Vietnam war. Such license plates
shall be issued for the same period of time as other license plates upon proper registration
and payment of the regular license fee as provided in K.S.A. 8-143, and amendments thereto.

(b) Any person who is a veteran of the Vietnam war may make application for such
distinctive license plates, not less than 60 days prior to such person’s renewal of registration
date, on a form prescribed and furnished by the director of vehicles, and any applicant for
the distinctive license plates shall furnish the director with proof as the director shall require
that the applicant is a veteran of the Vietnam war. Application for the registration of a
passenger vehicle, truck or motorcycle and issuance of the license plates under this section
shall be made by the owner or lessee in a manner prescribed by the director of vehicles
upon forms furnished by the director.

(c) No registration or distinctive license plates issued under the authority of this section
shall be transferable to any other person.

(d) Renewals of registration under this section shall be made annually, upon payment
of the fee prescribed in subsection (a), in the manner prescribed in subsection (b) of K.S.A.
8-132, and amendments thereto. No renewal of registration shall be made to any applicant
until such applicant has filed with the director a form as provided in subsection (b). If such
form is not filed, the applicant shall be required to comply with K.S.A. 8-143, and
amendments thereto, and return the distinctive license plates to the county treasurer of
such person’s residence.

New Sec. 3. (a) On and after January 1, 2012, any owner or lessee of one or more
passenger vehicles, trucks registered for a gross weight of 20,000 pounds or less or
motorcycles, who is a resident of Kansas, upon compliance with the provisions of this section,
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may be issued one I'm pet friendly license plate for each such passenger vehicle, truck or
motorcycle. Such license plates shall be issued for the same time as other license plates
upon proper registration and payment of the regular license fee as provided in K.S.A. 8-
143, and amendments thereto, and the presentation of the annual logo use authorization
statement provided for in subsection (b).

(b) The college of veterinary medicine at Kansas state university may authorize the use
of their I'm pet friendly logo to be affixed on license plates as provided by this section. Any
royalty payment received pursuant to this section shall be paid to the college of veterinary
medicine at Kansas state university and shall be used to support education regarding the
spaying and neutering of dogs and cats in Kansas and veterinary student externships at
animal shelters in Kansas. Any motor vehicle owner or lessee annually may apply to the
college of veterinary medicine at Kansas state university for the use of such logo. Upon
annual application and payment to the college of veterinary medicine at Kansas state
university in an amount of not less than $25 nor more than $100 as a logo use royalty payment
for each license plate to be issued, the college of veterinary medicine at Kansas state
university shall issue to the motor vehicle owner or lessee, without further charge, a logo
use authorization statement, which shall be presented by the motor vehicle owner or lessee
at the time of registration.

(¢) Any applicant for a license plate authorized by this section may make application for
such plates not less than 60 days prior to such person’s renewal of registration date, on a
form prescribed and furnished by the director of vehicles, and any applicant for such license
plates shall provide the annual logo use authorization statement provided for in subsection
(b). Application for registration of a passenger vehicle, truck or motorcycle and issuance of
the license plate under this section shall be made by the owner or lessee in a manner
prescribed by the director of vehicles upon forms furnished by the director.

(d)  No registration or license plate issued under this section shall be transferable to any
other person.

(e) Renewals of registration under this section shall be made annually, upon payment
of the fee prescribed in subsection (a), in the manner prescribed in subsection (b) of K.S.A.
8-132, and amendments thereto. No renewal of registration shall be made to any applicant
until such applicant provides the annual logo use authorization statement provided for in
subsection (b). If such logo use authorization statement is not presented at the time of
registration, the applicant shall be required to comply with K.S.A. 8-143, and amendments
thereto, and return the license plate to the county treasurer of such person’s residence.

(f) The college of veterinary medicine at Kansas state university shall:

(1) Pay the initial cost of silk-screening for license plates authorized by this section; and

(2) provide to all the county treasurers a toll-free number where applicants can call the
college of veterinary medicine at Kansas state university for information concerning the
application process or the status of their license plate application.

(g) The college of veterinary medicine at Kansas state university, with approval of the
director of vehicles and subject to the availability of materials and equipment, shall design
a plate to be issued under the provisions of this section.”;

On page 22, by striking all in lines 39 through 43;

By striking all on page 23;

On page 24, by striking all in lines 1 through 22; before line 23, by inserting the following:

“Sec. 7. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 8-1,141 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-1,141. (a)
Any new distinctive license plate authorized for issuance on and after July 1, 1994, shall be
subject to the personalized license plate fee prescribed by subsection (c) of K.S.A. 8-132,
and amendments thereto. This section shall not apply to any distinctive license plate
authorized prior to July 1, 1994.

(b) The director of vehicles shall not issue any new distinctive license plate authorized
for issuance on and after July 1, 1995, unless there is a guarantee of an initial issuance of
at least 500 license plates.

(c)  The provisions of this section shall not apply to distinctive license plates issued under
the provisions of K.S.A. 8-1,145, or K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 8-177d or section 2, and amendments
thereto.
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(d) The provisions of subsection (a), shall not apply to distinctive license plates issued
under the provisions of K.S.A. 8-1,146 or 8-1,148, and amendments thereto, or K.S.A. 2009
Supp. 8-1,153, 8-1,158 or 8-1,161, and amendments thereto.

(e) The provisions of subsection (f) shall not apply to distinctive license plates issued
under the provisions of K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 8-1,160, and amendments thereto, except that
the division shall delay the manufacturing and issuance of such distinctive license plate until
the division has received not less than 1,000 orders for such plate, including payment of the
personalized license plate fee required under subsection (a). Upon certification by the
director of vehicles to the director of accounts and reports that not less than 1,000 paid
orders for such plate have been received, the director of accounts and reports shall transfer
$40,000 from the state highway fund to the distinctive license plate fund.

(f) (1) Any person or organization sponsoring any distinctive license plate authorized
by the legislature on and after July 1, 2004, shall submit to the division of vehicles a
nonrefundable amount not to exceed $20,000, to defray the division’s cost for developing
such distinctive license plate.

(2)  All moneys received under this subsection shall be remitted by the secretary of
revenue to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and
amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit
the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the distinctive license plate fund
which is hereby created in the state treasury. All moneys credited to the distinctive license
plate fund shall be used by the department of revenue only for the purpose associated with
the development of distinctive license plates. All expenditures from the distinctive license
plate application fee fund shall be made in accordance with appropriation acts, upon
warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by
the secretary of the department of revenue.

(g) (1) Except for educational institution license plates issued under K.S.A. 8-1,142,
and amendments thereto, the director of vehicles shall discontinue the issuance of any
distinctive license plate authorized prior to July 1, 2004, and which is subject to the
provisions of subsection (b) if:

(A) Less than 500 license plates, including annual renewals, are issued for that
distinctive license plate by July 1, 2006; and

(B) less than 250 license plates, including annual renewals, are issued for that distinctive
license plate during any subsequent two-year period after July 1, 2006.

(2)  The director of vehicles shall discontinue the issuance of any distinctive license plate
authorized on and after July 1, 2004, if:

(A) Less than 500 plates, including annual renewals, are issued for that distinctive
license plate by the end of the second year of sales; and

(B) less than 250 license plates, including annual renewals, are issued for that distinctive
license plate during any subsequent two-year period.

Sec. 8. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 8-1,147 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-1,147. In
the event of the death of any person issued distinctive license plates under the provisions
of K.S.A. 8-161, 8-177a, 8-177c, 8-1,139, 8-1,140, 8-1,145; or 8-1,146 or K.S.A. 2009 Supp.
8-177d or section 2, and amendments thereto, the surviving spouse or other family member,
if there is no surviving spouse, shall be entitled to possession of any such distinctive license
plates. Such license plates shall not be displayed on any vehicle unless otherwise authorized
by statute.

Sec. 9. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 8-126, 8-145d, 8-197, 8-1,141 and 8-1,147 are hereby
repealed.”;

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

In the title, in line 17, by striking all following “thereof;”; by striking all in lines 18 and
19; in line 20, by striking “8-1598 and 8-1749a” and inserting “providing for certain
distinctive license plates; amending K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 8-126, 8-145d, 8-197, 8-1,141 and
8-1,147";
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And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

DWAYNE UMBARGER
BOB MARSHALL
KeLLy KuLTara
Conferees on part of Senate

GARY K. HAYZLETT
JENE VICKREY
MARGARET LONG
Conferees on part of House

Senator Umbarger moved the Senate adopt the Conference Committee Report on HB
2660.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 36, Nays 4, Present and Passing 0, Absent or Not Voting
0.

Yeas: Abrams, Apple, Barnett, Brownlee, Brungardt, Colyer, Donovan, Faust-Goudeau,
Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Holland, Huelskamp, Huntington, Kelly, Kelsey, Kultala, Lee,
Lynn, Marshall, Masterson, McGinn, Morris, Ostmeyer, Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle,
Reitz, Schmidt D, Schmidt V, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Wagle.

Nays: Bruce, Emler, Owens, Vratil.

The Conference Committee report was adopted.

EXPLANATION OF VOTE

MR. VICE PRESIDENT: I am changing my vote from Aye to No on HB 2660 with some
regret because I am a Vietnam Veteran and my son is a Boy Scout Eagle. But like the sales
tax exemptions in this state the numbers of specialized license plates have grown way too

numerous and out of control. With all due respect to both my fellow Vietnam Veterans and
Boy Scouts, 1 regrettably vote No on HB 2660.

INTRODUCTION OF ORIGINAL MOTIONS AND SENATE RESOLUTIONS
Senator Vratil introduced the following Senate resolution, which was read:

SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1883—

A RESOLUTION recognizing and supporting the freedom of Kansans to provide
for their health care.

WHEREAS, A law or rule should not compel, directly or indirectly, any person, employer
or health care provider to participate in any health care system or purchase health insurance;
and

WHEREAS, A person or employer should have the ability to pay directly for lawful health
care services and should not be required to pay penalties or fines for doing so; and

WHEREAS, Conversely, a health care provider should have the ability to accept direct
payment for lawful health care services and should not be required to pay penalties or fines
for doing so; and

WHEREAS, The purchase or sale of health care services should not be prohibited by
law or rule: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the leaders of the state of Kansas
urge the federal government to respect the rights of Kansans to provide for their health
care and urge Congress to repeal the health care reform act.

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide an enrolled
copy of this resolution to the President of the United States, the President of the United
States Senate, the Majority Leader of the United States Senate, the Minority Leader of the
United States Senate, the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, the
Majority Leader of the United States House of Representatives, the Minority Leader of the
United States House of Representatives and each member of the Kansas Congressional
Delegation.

On motion of Senator Vratil SR 1883 was passed over.

Senators Bruce, Hensley, D. Schmidt, Steineger and Umbarger introduced the following
Senate resolution, which was read:
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SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1884—

A RESOLUTION commending Barb Hinton for her outstanding work as Legislative Post
Auditor for the State of Kansas and congratulating her on her future endeavors.

WHEREAS, Barb Hinton began her career in the Legislative Division of Post Audit in
1977 as an editor, working her way up as an audit supervisor, audit manager and Deputy
Post Auditor, until 1991, when she was named Legislative Post Auditor by the Legislative
Post Audit Committee. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and Master of Science
degree in Journalism from the University of Kansas; and

WHEREAS, During her tenure as Legislative Post Auditor, Barb has received numerous
awards for her outstanding performance and leadership, including the David M. Walker
Excellence in Government Performance and Accountability Award, presented by the
National Intergovernmental Audit Forum. She also received the William R. Snodgrass
Distinguished Leadership Award, presented by the National State Auditors Association and
the Mike Harder Public Administrator of the Year Award, presented by the Kansas chapter
of the American Society for Public Administration. Her division has also received awards,
including twice winning the Excellence in Evaluation Award from the National Legislative
Program Evaluation Society and winning numerous National Legislative Program
Evaluation Society’s Certificate of Recognition of Impact Awards; and

WHEREAS, In addition to her duties as Legislative Post Auditor, Barb’s record of service
to professional organizations has done much to advance the field of auditing. She is Chair
of the Mid-America Intergovernmental Audit Forum and serves as an Executive Committee
Member for the National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers and Treasurers. In
the past she has served as President of the National State Auditors Association, as an
Executive Committee Member for the National Legislative Program Evaluation Society and
as a member of the GAO’s Governmental Auditing Standards Advisory Council. She has
also worked as a professional consultant, peer reviewer or concurring reviewer for a number
of states; and

WHEREAS, Barb’s leadership has helped the State of Kansas make the most of its limited
resources. She has implemented advanced and sophisticated techniques in her analysis of
programs or operations that have saved millions of dollars for the state. By identifying areas
where state programs could operate more efficiently and more effectively, and by boiling
complex issues down to focused and concise reports, Barb’s Legislative Post Audit Division
has proven to be an essential component to the government of Kansas; and

WHEREAS, Barb has always been known for her integrity, dedication, professionalism
and the streamlined organization of her division. She is well-respected by both fellow agency
heads in Kansas and her audit peers in other states. She is well-loved by her co-workers and
will be missed as she leaves in June, to begin her new position as Deputy Director for
Performance Audits for the Washington State Auditor’s Office: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we commend Barb Hinton for
her outstanding performance as Legislative Post Auditor and congratulate her as she enters
the next phase of her career. We extend our best wishes for her continued success and
happiness in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send five enrolled
copies of this resolution to Senator Bruce, to be given to Barb and her family.

On emergency motion of Senator Bruce SR 1884 was adopted unanimously.

REFERRED TO COMMITTEE
Vice President Vratil referred SR 1883 to the Committee of the Whole.

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

On motion of Senator D. Schmidt, the Senate resolved itself into Committee of the
Whole, for consideration of bills on the calendar under the heading of General Orders with
Senator Emler in the chair.

On motion of Senator Emler the following report was adopted:

Senate Sub for HB 2180 be amended by adoption of the committee report
recommending a substitute bill, be amended by motion of Senator V. Schmidt on page 4,
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in line 24, after “fee” by inserting “, nonrefundable, except as provided in K.S.A. 2009 Supp.
74-8738, and amendments thereto,”

Senate Sub for HB 2180 be further amended by Senator Masterson on page 15, before
line 1, by inserting the following:

“Sec. 10. On and after July 1, 2010, K.S.A. 21-4010, as amended by section 3 of 2010
House Bill No. 2221, is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-4010. (a) No person shall
smoke in an enclosed area or at a public meeting including, but not limited to:

(1) Public places;

(2) taxicabs and limousines;

(3) restrooms, lobbies, hallways and other common areas in public and private buildings,
condominiums and other multiple-residential facilities;

(4) restrooms, lobbies and other common areas in hotels and motels and in at least 80%
of the sleeping quarters within a hotel or motel that may be rented to guests;

(5) access points of all buildings and facilities not exempted pursuant to subsection (d);
and

(6) any place of employment.

(b) Each employer having a place of employment that is an enclosed area shall provide
a smoke-free workplace for all employees. Such employer shall also adopt and maintain a
written smoking policy which shall prohibit smoking without exception in all areas of the
place of employment. Such policy shall be communicated to all current employees within
one week of its adoption and shall be communicated to all new employees upon hiring.
Each employer shall provide a written copy of the smoking policy upon request to any
current or prospective employee.

(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, K.S.A. 21-4011 or 21-4012, and
amendments thereto, the proprietor or other person in charge of an adult care home, as
defined in K.S.A. 39-923, and amendments thereto, or a medical care facility, may designate
a portion of such adult care home, or the licensed long-term care unit of such medical care
facility, as a smoking area, and smoking may be permitted within such designated smoking
area.

(d) The provisions of this section shall not apply to:

(1) The outdoor areas of any building or facility beyond the access points of such building
or facility;

(2) private homes or residences, except when such home or residence is used as a day
care home, as defined in K.S.A. 65-530, and amendments thereto;

(3) a hotel or motel room rented to one or more guests if the total percentage of such
hotel or motel rooms in such hotel or motel does not exceed 20%:;

57 (4) that portion of an adult care home, as defined in K.S.A. 39-923, and amendments
thereto, that is expressly designated as a smoking area by the proprietor or other person in
charge of such adult care home pursuant to subsection (c) and that is fully enclosed and
ventilated;

67 (5) that portion of a licensed long-term care unit of a medical care facility that is
expressly designated as a smoking area by the proprietor or other person in charge of such
medical care facility pursuant to subsection (c) and that is fully enclosed and ventilated and
to which access is restricted to the residents and their guests;

7 (6) tobacco shops;

8} (7) a class A or class B club defined in K.S.A. 41-2601, and amendments thereto,
which (A) held a license pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2606 et seq., and amendments thereto, as
of January 1, 2009; and (B) notifies the secretary of health and environment in writing, not
later than 90 days after the effective date of this act, that it wishes to continue to allow
smoking on its premises; and

9} (8) a private club in designated areas where minors are prohibited.

Sec. 11. On July 1, 2010, K.S.A. 21-4010, as amended by section 3 of 2010 House Bill
No. 2221, is hereby repealed.;”

And by renumbering remaining sections accordingly;
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In the title, in line 11, after “amending”, by inserting “K.S.A. 21-4010, as amended by
section 3 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221, and”

Upon the showing of five hands a roll call vote was requested.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 22, Nays 17, Present and Passing 1, Absent or Not Voting
0.

Yeas: Abrams, Apple, Barnett, Brownlee, Bruce, Colyer, Donovan, Huelskamp, Kelsey,
Lynn, Masterson, McGinn, Ostmeyer, Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Reitz, Schmidt D,
Schmidt V, Schodorf, Taddiken, Wagle.

Nays: Brungardt, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Holland, Huntington,
Kelly, Kultala, Lee, Marshall, Morris, Owens, Steineger, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil.

Present and Passing: Emler.

The motion carried and the amendment was adopted.

Senate Sub for HB 2180 be further amended by Senator Huntington on page 14, in
line 36, by striking “state infrastructure improvements” and inserting “expenditures for
deferred maintenance of regents institutions pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 76-7,101 et seq.,
and amendments thereto”

Senate Sub for HB 2180 be further amended by Senator Kultala on page 8, in line 41,
after the semicolon, by striking “and”;

On page 9, in line 12, by striking the period and inserting ; and

(5) a resolution of endorsement from the city governing body, if the proposed facility is
within the corporate limits of a city, or from the county commission, if the proposed facility
is located in the unincorporated area of the county.”;

Also on page 9, after line 42, by inserting the following:

“Sec. 6. K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 74-8742 is hereby amended to read as follows: 74-8742. (a)
The executive director shall submit the proposed racetrack gaming facility management
contract to the commission for the commission’s approval. The commission shall not approve
a management contract unless the commission determines that the proposed development
consists of an investment in infrastructure of at least $50,000,000 in the northeast and south
central Kansas gaming zones, and of at least $25,000,000 in the southeast Kansas gaming
zone. The commission, in determining whether the minimum investment required by this
subsection is met, shall not include any amounts derived from or financed by state or local
retailers” sales tax revenues.

(b) Upon approval of the Kansas lottery commission, the executive director shall submit
such contract to the Kansas racing and gaming commission for approval. The Kansas racing
and gaming commission shall conduct such background investigations of the proposed
racetrack gaming facility manager, and its officers, directors, employees, owners, agents and
contractors, as determined in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by the Kansas
racing and gaming commission. Upon completion of such investigations and approval of the
background of the proposed racetrack gaming facility manager, and its officers, directors,
employees, owners, agents and contractors, the Kansas racing and gaming commission shall
vote to approve or reject the contract in whole. If the Kansas racing and gaming commission
rejects the contract, the Kansas racing and gaming commission shall notify the executive
director of the lottery and make recommendations regarding negotiation of the contract.
The executive director may then resume negotiations with the proposed racetrack gaming
facility manager.”;

And by renumbering remaining sections accordingly;

On page 15, in line 1, after “74-8741,”, by inserting “74-8742,”;

In the title, in line 11, after “74-8741,” by inserting “74-8742,”;

Senate Sub for HB 2180 be further amended by Senator Francisco on page 11, in line
16, after “facility” by inserting “located in the south central or southeast Kansas gaming
zone”; by striking all in lines 39 through 43;

On page 12, by striking all in lines 1 through 6;

And by redesignating paragraphs accordingly;

Also on page 12, in line 7, by striking all after “facility”; in line 8, by striking all before
“is”; in line 13, by striking all after “facility”; in line 14, by striking all before “is”; after line
35, by inserting the following:
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“New Sec. 8. (a) Net electronic gaming machine income from a racetrack gaming facility
located in the northeast Kansas gaming zone shall be distributed as follows:

(1) To the racetrack gaming facility manager, an amount equal to 25% of net electronic
gaming machine income;

(2) 7% of net electronic gaming machine income shall be credited to the live horse racing
purse supplement fund established by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 74-8767, and amendments thereto,
except that the amount of net electronic gaming machine income credited to the fund during
any fiscal year from electronic gaming machines at a racetrack gaming facility shall not
exceed an amount equal to the average of $3,750 per electronic gaming machine at each
location and any moneys in excess of such amount shall be distributed between the state
and the racetrack gaming facility manager in accordance with the racetrack gaming facility
management contract;

(3) 7% of net electronic gaming machine income shall be credited to the live greyhound
racing purse supplement fund established by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 74-8767, and amendments
thereto, except that the amount of net electronic gaming machine income credited to the
fund during any fiscal year from electronic gaming machines at a racetrack gaming facility
shall not exceed an amount equal to the average of $3,750 per electronic gaming machine
at each location and any moneys in excess of such amount shall be distributed between the
state and the racetrack gaming facility manager in accordance with the racetrack gaming
facility management contract;

(4) (A) if the racetrack gaming facility is not located within a city, include a provision for
payment of an amount equal to 3% of the net electronic gaming machine income to the
county in which the racetrack gaming facility is located; or (B) if the racetrack gaming facility
is located within a city, include provision for payment of an amount equal to 1.5% of the
net electronic gaming machine income to the city in which the racetrack gaming facility is
located and an amount equal to 1.5% of such revenues to the county in which such facility
is located;

(5) 2% of net electronic gaming machine income shall be credited to the problem
gambling and addictions grant fund established by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 79-4805, and
amendments thereto;

(6) 1% of net electronic gaming machine income shall be credited to the Kansas horse
fair racing benefit fund established by K.S.A. 74-8838, and amendments thereto;

(7) 40% of net electronic gaming machine income shall be credited to the expanded lottery
act revenues fund; and

(8) 15% of electronic gaming machine income shall be used for gaming expenses, subject
to agreement between the Kansas lottery and the racetrack gaming facility manager.

(b) A racetrack gaming facility management contract may include provisions for a
parimutuel licensee or any other entity to pay the parimutuel licensee’s expenses related to
electronic gaming machines, as the executive director deems appropriate, subject to the
requirements of subsection (a)(9).

(c) On and after January 1, 2013, net electronic gaming machine income from a racetrack
gaming facility located in the northeast Kansas gaming zone shall be distributed as follows:

(1) To the racetrack gaming facility manager, an amount equal to not more than 58% of
net electronic gaming machine income;

(2) 7% of net electronic gaming machine income shall be credited to the live horse racing
purse supplement fund established by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 74-8767, and amendments thereto;

(3) 7% of net electronic gaming machine income shall be credited to the live greyhound
racing purse supplement fund established by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 74-8767, and amendments
thereto;

(4) (A) if the racetrack gaming facility is not located within a city, include a provision for
payment of an amount equal to 3% of the net electronic gaming machine income to the
county in which the racetrack gaming facility is located; or (B) if the racetrack gaming facility
is located within a city, include provision for payment of an amount equal to 1.5% of the
net electronic gaming machine income to the city in which the racetrack gaming facility is
located and an amount equal to 1.5% of such revenues to the county in which such facility
is located;
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(5) 2% of net electronic gaming machine income shall be credited to the problem
gambling and addictions grant fund established by K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 79-4805, and
amendments thereto;

(6) 1% of net electronic gaming machine income shall be credited to the Kansas horse
fair racing benefit fund established by K.S.A. 74-8838, and amendments thereto; and

(7) not less than 22% of net electronic gaming machine income shall be credited to the
expanded lottery act revenues fund.

(d) On and after January 1, 2013, a racetrack gaming facility management contract may
include provisions for a parimutuel licensee or any other entity to pay the parimutuel
licensee’s expenses related to electronic gaming machines, as the executive director deems
appropriate.”;

And by renumbering the remaining sections accordingly

Senate Sub for HB 2180 be further amended by Senator Hensley on page 15, before
line 1, by inserting the following:

“Sec. 10. On and after July 1, 2010, K.S.A. 21-4010, as amended by section 3 of 2010
House Bill No. 2221, is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-4010. (a) No person shall
smoke in an enclosed area or at a public meeting including, but not limited to:

(1) Public places;

(2) taxicabs and limousines;

(3) restrooms, lobbies, hallways and other common areas in public and private buildings,
condominiums and other multiple-residential facilities;

(4) restrooms, lobbies and other common areas in hotels and motels and in at least 80%
of the sleeping quarters within a hotel or motel that may be rented to guests;

(5) access points of all buildings and facilities not exempted pursuant to subsection (d);
and

(6) any place of employment.

(b) Each employer having a place of employment that is an enclosed area shall provide
a smoke-free workplace for all employees. Such employer shall also adopt and maintain a
written smoking policy which shall prohibit smoking without exception in all areas of the
place of employment. Such policy shall be communicated to all current employees within
one week of its adoption and shall be communicated to all new employees upon hiring.
Each employer shall provide a written copy of the smoking policy upon request to any
current or prospective employee.

(¢) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, K.S.A. 21-4011 or 21-4012, and
amendments thereto, the proprietor or other person in charge of an adult care home, as
defined in K.S.A. 39-923, and amendments thereto, or a medical care facility, may designate
a portion of such adult care home, or the licensed long-term care unit of such medical care
facility, as a smoking area, and smoking may be permitted within such designated smoking
area.

(d) The provisions of this section shall not apply to:

(1) The outdoor areas of any building or facility beyond the access points of such building
or facility;

(2) private homes or residences, except when such home or residence is used as a day
care home, as defined in K.S.A. 65-530, and amendments thereto;

(3) a hotel or motel room rented to one or more guests if the total percentage of such
hotel or motel rooms in such hotel or motel does not exceed 20%:;

(4) the gaming floor of a lottery gaming facility or racetrack gaming facility, as those terms
are defined in K.S.A. 74-8702, and amendments thereto, except that, the provisions of this
subsection shall expire on January 1, 2014;

(5) that portion of an adult care home, as defined in K.S.A. 39-923, and amendments
thereto, that is expressly designated as a smoking area by the proprietor or other person in
charge of such adult care home pursuant to subsection (c) and that is fully enclosed and
ventilated;

(6) that portion of a licensed long-term care unit of a medical care facility that is expressly
designated as a smoking area by the proprietor or other person in charge of such medical
care facility pursuant to subsection (c) and that is fully enclosed and ventilated and to which
access is restricted to the residents and their guests;
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(7) tobacco shops;

(8) a class A or class B club defined in K.S.A. 41-2601, and amendments thereto, which
(A) held alicense pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2606 et seq., and amendments thereto, as of January
1, 2009; and (B) notifies the secretary of health and environment in writing, not later than
90 days after the effective date of this act, that it wishes to continue to allow smoking on its
premises; and

(9) a private club in designated areas where minors are prohibited.

Sec. 11. On July 1, 2010, K.S.A. 21-4010, as amended by section 3 of 2010 House Bill
No. 2221, is hereby repealed.;”

And by renumbering remaining sections accordingly;

In the title, in line 11, after “amending”, by inserting “K.S.A. 21-4010, as amended by
section 3 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221, and”

Upon the showing of five hands a roll call vote was requested.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 20, Nays 19, Present and Passing 0, Absent or Not Voting
1.

Yeas: Brungardt, Emler, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Holland,
Huntington, Kelly, Kultala, Lee, Marshall, Morris, Owens, Schmidt D, Schodorf, Steineger,
Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil.

Nays: Abrams, Apple, Barnett, Brownlee, Bruce, Colyer, Donovan, Huelskamp, Kelsey,
Lynn, Masterson, Ostmeyer, Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Reitz, Schmidt V, Taddiken,
Wagle.

Absent or Not Voting: McGinn.

The motion carried and the amendment was adopted.

Senate Sub for HB 2180 be further amended by Senator V. Schmidt on page 4, in line
24, after “fee” by inserting “, nonrefundable, except as provided in K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 74-
8738, and amendments thereto, and except in circumstances when a lottery facility
management contract is disapproved by either the lottery gaming facility review board or
the Kansas racing and gaming commission pursuant to K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 74-8736, and
amendments thereto” and Senate Sub for HB 2180 be passed as amended.

A motion by Senator Steineger to amend Senate Substitute for HB 2180 failed and
the following amendment was rejected: on page 6, in line 24, by striking “and”; in line 38,
by striking the period and inserting the following: “; and

(20) include bid specifications prescribing that employees of any contractor or
subcontractor performing construction, reconstruction or alteration work on the lottery
gaming facility or any ancillary lottery gaming facility operations shall be paid in accordance
with prevailing wages determined in accordance with wage areas, job classifications and
wage rates determined under the federal Davis-Bacon act (40 U.S.C. 276a).”

On page 8, in line 41, after the semicolon, by striking “and”;

On page 9, in line 12, by striking the period and inserting the following: “; and

(5) bid specifications prescribing that employees of any contractor or subcontractor
performing construction, reconstruction or alteration work on the racetrack gaming facility
shall be paid in accordance with prevailing wages determined in accordance with wage areas,
job classifications and wage rates determined under the federal Davis-Bacon act (40 U.S.C.
276a).”

A motion by Senator Pilcher-Cook to amend Senate Substitute for HB 2180 failed and
the following amendment was rejected: on page 15, before line 1, by inserting the following:

“New Sec. 10. (a) No person shall knowingly or intentionally appear in a state of nudity
in a lottery gaming facility or a racetrack gaming facility.

(b) “Nudity” or “state of nudity” means the showing of the human male or female genitals,
pubic area, vulva, anus, anal cleft or cleavage with less than a fully opaque covering, the
showing of the female breast with less than a fully opaque covering of any part of the nipple
or the showing of the covered male genitals in a discernibly turgid state.

(¢) The Kansas lottery shall adopt rules and regulations to enforce this provision.”;

And by renumbering remaining sections accordingly

Upon the showing of five hands a roll call vote was requested:

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 14, Nays 19, Present and Passing 6, Absent or Not Voting
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Yeas: Abrams, Apple, Barnett, Brownlee, Colyer, Huelskamp, Kelsey, Masterson,
Ostmeyer, Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Taddiken, Wagle.

Nays: Bruce, Brungardt, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Huntington, Kelly,
Kultala, Lee, Marshall, Morris, Owens, Reitz, Schmidt V, Steineger, Teichman, Umbarger,
Vratil.

Present and Passing: Donovan, Emler, Holland, Lynn, Schmidt D, Schodorf.

Absent or Not Voting: McGinn.

The motion failed and the amendment was rejected.

A motion by Senator Hensley to amend Senate Substitute for HB 2180 failed and the
following amendment was rejected: on page 2, after line 19, by inserting the following:

“New Sec. 4. (a) The board of county commissioners of Sedgwick county shall not submit
by resolution any question seeking voter approval related to lottery gaming facilities or
operation of electronic gaming machines within Sedgwick county except as provided in
subsection (b).

(b) The board of county commissioners of Sedgwick county shall submit upon
presentation of a valid petition filed in accordance with subsection (c), to the qualified voters
of the county a proposition to permit the operation of electronic gaming machines at an
existing parimutuel racetrack within that county. The proposition shall be submitted to the
voters at a special election to be held no later than 120 days after the effective date of this
section.

(c) A petition to submit a proposition to the qualified voters of a county pursuant to this
section shall be filed with the county election officer. The petition shall be signed by not
less than 5,000 qualified voters of the county. The following shall appear on the petition:
“We request an election to determine whether the operation of electronic gaming machines
at parimutuel racetrack facilities by the Kansas lottery shall be permitted in Sedgwick
county.”

(d) Upon the submission of a petition, the county election officer shall determine whether
a sufficient number of qualified voters of the county have signed such petition. If the
submitted petition calling for an election pursuant to this section is deemed valid, the county
election officer shall cause the following proposition to be placed on the ballot at the election
called for that purpose: “Shall the operation of electronic gaming machines at the Wichita
Greyhound Park by the Kansas lottery be permitted in Sedgwick county?”

(e) If a majority of the votes cast and counted at such election is in favor of permitting
the operation of such machines, the executive director may enter into a contract with the
parimutuel racetrack facility licensee in Sedgwick county to operate such machines at its
existing location in the county. If a majority of the votes cast and counted at an election
under this section is against permitting the operation of electronic gaming machines in the
county, the Kansas lottery shall not operate such machines in the county. The county election
officer shall transmit a copy of the certification of the results of the election to the executive
director and to the Kansas racing and gaming commission.

(f) The election provided for by this section shall be conducted, and the votes counted
and canvassed, in the manner provided by law for question submitted elections of the county.

(g) If in any election provided for by this section a majority of the votes cast and counted
is against the proposition permitting the operation of electronic gaming machines in the
county, another election submitting the same proposition shall not be held after the date of
such election.

(h) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the Kansas expanded lottery act.”;

And by renumbering the remaining sections accordingly

A motion by Senator Teichman to amend Senate Substitute for HB 2180 failed and
the following amendment was rejected: page 15, before line 1, by inserting the following:

“Sec. 10. On and after July 1, 2010, K.S.A. 21-4010, as amended by section 3 of 2010
House Bill No. 2221, is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-4010. (a) No person shall
smoke in an enclosed area or at a public meeting including, but not limited to:

(1) Public places;

(2) taxicabs and limousines;

(3) restrooms, lobbies, hallways and other common areas in public and private buildings,
condominiums and other multiple-residential facilities;
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(4) restrooms, lobbies and other common areas in hotels and motels and in at least 80%
of the sleeping quarters within a hotel or motel that may be rented to guests;

(5) access points of all buildings and facilities not exempted pursuant to subsection (d);
and

(6) any place of employment.

(b) Each employer having a place of employment that is an enclosed area shall provide
a smoke-free workplace for all employees. Such employer shall also adopt and maintain a
written smoking policy which shall prohibit smoking without exception in all areas of the
place of employment. Such policy shall be communicated to all current employees within
one week of its adoption and shall be communicated to all new employees upon hiring.
Each employer shall provide a written copy of the smoking policy upon request to any
current or prospective employee.

(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, K.S.A. 21-4011 or 21-4012, and
amendments thereto, the proprietor or other person in charge of an adult care home, as
defined in K.S.A. 39-923, and amendments thereto, or a medical care facility, may designate
a portion of such adult care home, or the licensed long-term care unit of such medical care
facility, as a smoking area, and smoking may be permitted within such designated smoking
area.

(d) The provisions of this section shall not apply to:

(1) The outdoor areas of any building or facility beyond the access points of such building
or facility;

(2) private homes or residences, except when such home or residence is used as a day
care home, as defined in K.S.A. 65-530, and amendments thereto;

(3) a hotel or motel room rented to one or more guests if the total percentage of such
hotel or motel rooms in such hotel or motel does not exceed 20%;

(4) the gaming floor of a lottery gaming facility or racetrack gaming facility, as those terms
are defined in K.S.A. 74-8702, and amendments thereto, except that, the provisions of this
subsection shall expire on July 1, 2015;

(5) that portion of an adult care home, as defined in K.S.A. 39-923, and amendments
thereto, that is expressly designated as a smoking area by the proprietor or other person in
charge of such adult care home pursuant to subsection (c) and that is fully enclosed and
ventilated;

(6) that portion of a licensed long-term care unit of a medical care facility that is expressly
designated as a smoking area by the proprietor or other person in charge of such medical
care facility pursuant to subsection (c) and that is fully enclosed and ventilated and to which
access is restricted to the residents and their guests;

(7) tobacco shops;

(8) a class A or class B club defined in K.S.A. 41-2601, and amendments thereto, which
(A) held a license pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2606 et seq., and amendments thereto, as of January
1, 2009; and (B) notifies the secretary of health and environment in writing, not later than
90 days after the effective date of this act, that it wishes to continue to allow smoking on its
premises; and

(9) a private club in designated areas where minors are prohibited.

Sec. 11. On July 1, 2010, K.S.A. 21-4010, as amended by section 3 of 2010 House Bill
No. 2221, is hereby repealed.;”

And by renumbering remaining sections accordingly;

In the title, in line 11, after “amending”, by inserting “K.S.A. 21-4010, as amended by
section 3 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221, and”

Upon the showing a five hands a roll call vote was requested:

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 19, Nays 19, Present and Passing 1, Absent or Not Voting
1.

Yeas: Brungardt, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Holland, Huntington, Kelly,
Kultala, Lee, Marshall, Morris, Owens, Schmidt D, Schodorf, Steineger, Teichman,
Umbarger, Vratil.

Nays: Abrams, Apple, Barnett, Brownlee, Bruce, Colyer, Donovan, Huelskamp, Kelsey,
Lynn, Masterson, Ostmeyer, Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Reitz, Schmidt V, Taddiken,
Wagle.
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Present and Passing: Emler.

Absent or Not Voting: McGinn.

The motion failed and the amendment was rejected.

A motion by Senator Kelsey to amend Senate Substitute for HB 2180 failed and the
following amendment was rejected: on page 3, in line 37, by striking “and”;

On page 4, in line 3, by striking the period and inserting “; and

(3) the proposed lottery gaming facility is located not less than 10 miles from the border
of any county where the proposition to permit a lottery gaming facility has been rejected in
a county referendum on the issue.”

On motion of Senator Huelskamp Senate Substitute for HB 2180 was passed over.

Upon returning to the bill Senator Huelskamp’s motion to amend Senate Substitute for
HB 2180 failed and the following amendment was rejected: page 15, before line 1, by
inserting the following:

“Sec. 10. K.S.A. 21-3105 is hereby revived to read as follows: 21-3105. A crime is an act
or omission defined by law and for which, upon conviction, a sentence of death,
imprisonment or fine, or both imprisonment and fine, is authorized or, in the case of a traffic
infraction or a cigarette or tobacco infraction, a fine is authorized. Crimes are classified as
felonies, misdemeanors, traffic infractions and cigarette or tobacco infractions.

(1) A felony is a crime punishable by death or by imprisonment in any state correctional
institution or a crime which is defined as a felony by law.

(2) A traffic infraction is a violation of any of the statutory provisions listed in subsection
(c) of K.S.A. 8-2118 and amendments thereto.

(3) A cigarette or tobacco infraction is a violation of subsection (m) or (n) of K.S.A. 79-
3321 and amendments thereto.

(4) All other crimes are misdemeanors.

Sec. 11. K.S.A. 21-4009 is hereby revived to read as follows: 21-4009. As used in this act:
(a) “Public place” means enclosed indoor areas open to the public or used by the general
public including but not limited to: Restaurants, retail stores, public means of mass
transportation, passenger elevators, health care institutions or any other place where health
care services are provided to the public, educational facilities, libraries, courtrooms, state,
county or municipal buildings, restrooms, grocery stores, school buses, museums, theaters,
auditoriums, arenas and recreational facilities.

(b) “Public meeting” includes all meetings open to the public.

(¢) “Smoking” means possession of a lighted cigarette, cigar, pipe or any other lighted
smoking equipment.

Sec. 13. K.S.A. 21-4010 is hereby revived to read as follows: 21-4010. (a) No person shall
smoke in a public place or at a public meeting except in designated smoking areas.

(b) Smoking areas may be designated by proprietors or other persons in charge of public
places, except in passenger elevators, school buses, public means of mass transportation and
any other place in which smoking is prohibited by the fire marshal or by other law, ordinance
or regulation.

(c) Where smoking areas are designated, existing physical barriers and ventilation systems
shall be used to minimize the toxic effect of smoke in adjacent nonsmoking areas.

Sec.. K.S.A. 21-4011 is hereby revived to read as follows: 21-4011. The proprietor or other
person in charge of the premises of a public place shall post or cause to be posted in a
conspicuous place signs clearly stating that smoking is prohibited by state law. The person
in charge of the premises shall also post or cause to be posted in any designated smoking
area, signs stating that smoking is permitted in such room or area. The proprietor or person
in charge of the public place shall have the authority to establish the percentage of area in
the public place which shall be posted and designated as a smoking area.

Sec. 14. K.S.A. 21-4012 is hereby revived to read as follows: 21-4012. Any person found
guilty of smoking in violation of this act is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of
not more than $20 for each violation. Any person found guilty of failing to post signs as
required by this act, is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $50.
In addition, the department of health and environment, or local department of health, may
institute an action in any court of competent jurisdiction to enjoin repeated violations of
this act.
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Sec. 15. K.S.A. 65-530 is hereby revived to read as follows: 65-530. (a) As used in this
section:

(1) “Day care home” means a day care home as defined under Kansas administrative
regulation 28-4-113, a group day care home as defined under Kansas administrative
regulation 28-4-113 and a family day care home as defined under K.S.A. 65-517 and
amendments thereto.

(2) “Smoking” means possession of a lighted cigarette, cigar, pipe or burning tobacco in
any other form or device designed for the use of tobacco.

(b) Smoking within any room, enclosed area or other enclosed space of a facility or
facilities of a day care home during a time when children who are not related by blood,
marriage or legal adoption to the person who maintains the home are being cared for, as
part of the operation of the day care home, within the facility or facilities is hereby
prohibited. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to prohibit smoking on the
premises of the day care home outside the facility or facilities of a day care home, including
but not limited to porches, yards or garages.

(c) Each day care home registration certificate or license shall contain a statement in bold
print that smoking is prohibited within a room, enclosed area or other enclosed space of
the facility or facilities of the day care home under the conditions specified in subsection
(b). The statement shall be phrased in substantially the same language as subsection (b).
The registration certificate or license shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the facility
or facilities.

(d) The secretary of health and environment may levy a civil fine under K.S.A. 65-526
and amendments thereto against any day care home for a first or second violation of this
section. A third or subsequent violation shall be subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 65-523
and amendments thereto.

Sec. 16. K.S.A. 21-4016 is hereby revived to read as follows: 21-4016. Prior to July 1,
1995, no person shall smoke in any area, room or hallway in the state capitol except in offices
occupied as office space by state officers and employees which have been designated as
smoking areas in accordance with K.S.A. 21-4009 et seq. and amendments thereto. On and
after July 1, 1995, no person shall smoke in any area, room, hallway, or other place in the
state capitol and no area of the state capitol shall be established as a designated smoking
area under K.S.A. 21-4010 and amendments thereto.

Sec. 17. K.S.A. 21-4017 is hereby revived to read as follows: 21-4017. (a) As used in this
section:

(1) “Medical care facility” means a general hospital, special hospital, ambulatory surgery
center or recuperation center, as defined by K.S.A. 65-425 and amendments thereto, and
any psychiatric hospital licensed under K.S.A. 75-3307b and amendments thereto; and

(2) “Smoking” means possession of a lighted cigarette, cigar, pipe or burning tobacco in
any other form or device designed for the use of tobacco.

(b) On and after July 1, 1994, smoking in a medical care facility is hereby prohibited
except that a smoking area may be established within a licensed long-term care unit of a
medical care facility if such smoking area is well-ventilated. On and after July 1, 1994, the
chief administrative officer of each medical care facility shall cause to be posted in
conspicuous places signs stating that smoking in the medical care facility is prohibited by
state law.

(c) Any person found guilty of smoking in violation of subsection (b) of this section is
guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $20 for each violation. Any
person found guilty of failing to post signs as required by subsection (b) of this section, is
guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $50. In addition, the
department of health and environment, or local department of health, may institute an action
in any court of competent jurisdiction to enjoin repeated violations of subsection (b) of this
section.

Sec. 18. On and after January 1, 2014, K.S.A. 21-3105 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 21-3105. A crime is an act or omission defined by law and for which, upon
conviction, a sentence of death, imprisonment or fine, or both imprisonment and fine, is
authorized or, in the case of a traffic infraction or a cigarette or tobacco infraction, a fine is
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authorized. Crimes are classified as felonies, misdemeanors, traffic infractions and cigarette
or tobacco infractions.

(1) A felony is a crime punishable by death or by imprisonment in any state correctional
institution or a crime which is defined as a felony by law.

(2) A traffic infraction is a violation of any of the statutory provisions listed in subsection
(c) of K.S.A. 8-2118, and amendments thereto.

(3) A cigarette or tobacco infraction is a violation of K.S.A. 21-4009 through 21-4014 and
subsection (m) or (n) of K.S.A. 79-3321, and amendments thereto.

(4) All other crimes are misdemeanors.

Sec. 19. On and after January 1, 2014, K.S.A. 21-4009 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 21-4009. As used in thisact K.S.A. 21-4009 through 21-4014, and amendments
thereto:

(a) “Access point” means the area within a ten foot radius outside of any doorway, open
window or air intake leading into a building or facility that is not exempted pursuant to
subsection (d) of K S.A. 21-4010, and amendments thereto.

ta) (b) “Bar” means any indoor area that is operated and licensed for the sale and service
of alcoholic beverages, including alcoholic liquor as defined in KS.A. 41-102, and
amendments thereto, or cereal malt beverages as defined in K.S.A. 41-2701, and amendments
thereto, for on-premises consumption.

(c) “Employee” means any person who is employed by an employer in consideration for
direct or indirect monetary wages or profit, and any person who volunteers their services
for a nonprofit entity.

(d) “Employer” means any person, partnership, corporation, association or organization,
including municipal or nonprofit entities, which employs one or more individual persons.

(e) “Enclosed area” means all space between a floor and ceiling which is enclosed on all
sides by solid walls, windows or doorways which extend from the floor to the ceiling,
including all space therein screened by partitions which do not extend to the ceiling or are
not solid or similar structures. For purposes of this section, the following shall not be
considered an “enclosed area”: (1) Rooms or areas, enclosed by walls, windows or doorways,
having neither a ceiling nor a roof and which are completely open to the elements and
weather at all times; and (2) rooms or areas, enclosed by walls, fences, windows or doorways
and a roof or ceiling, having openings that are permanently open to the elements and weather
and which comprise an area that is at least 30% of the total perimeter wall area of such
room or area.

(f) “Food service establishment” means any place in which food is served or is prepared
for sale or service on the premises. Such term shall include, but not be limited to, fixed or
mobile restaurants, coffee shops, cafeterias, short-order cafes, luncheonettes, grills, tea
rooms, sandwich shops, soda fountains, taverns, private clubs, roadside kitchens,
commissaries and any other private, public or nonprofit organization or institution routinely
serving food and any other eating or drinking establishment or operation where food is
served or provided for the public with or without charge.

(g) “Medical care facility” means a physician’s office, general hospital, special hospital,
ambulatory surgery center or recuperation center, as defined by KS.A. 65-425, and
amendments thereto, and any psychiatric hospital licensed under K.S.A. 75-3307b, and
amendments thereto.

(h) “Outdoor recreational facility” means a hunting, fishing, shooting or golf club, business
or enterprise operated primarily for the benefit of its owners, members and their guests and
not normally open to the general public.

(i) “Place of employment” means any enclosed area under the control of a public or private
employer, including, but not limited to, work areas, auditoriums, elevators, private offices,
employee lounges and restrooms, conference and meeting rooms, classrooms, employee
cafeterias, stairwells and hallways, that is used by employees during the course of
employment. For purposes of this section, a private residence shall not be considered a “place
of employment” unless such residence is used as a day care home, as defined in K.S.A. 65-
530, and amendments thereto.

(j) “Private club” means an outdoor recreational facility operated primarily for the use of
its owners, members and their guests that in its ordinary course of business is not open to
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the general public for which use of its facilities has substantial dues or membership fee
requirements for its members.

(k) “Public building” means any building owned or operated by: (1) The state, including
any branch, department, agency, bureau, commission, authority or other instrumentality
thereof; (2) any county, city, township, other political subdivision, including any commission,
authority, agency or instrumentality thereof; or (3) any other separate corporate
instrumentality or unit of the state or any municipality.

(1) “Public meeting” means any meeting open to the public pursuant to K.S.A. 75-4317 et
seq., and amendments thereto, or any other law of this state.

(m) “Public place” means any enclosed indoor areas open to the public or used by the
general public including, but not limited to: Restaurants Banks, bars, food service
establishments, retail service establishments, retail stores, public means of mass
transportation, passenger elevators, health care institutions or any other place where health
care services are provided to the public, medical care facilities, educational facilities,
libraries, courtrooms, state;county-or-munieipat public buildings, restrooms, grocery stores,
school buses, museums, theaters, auditoriums, arenas and recreational facilities. For
purposes of this section, a private residence shall not be considered a “public place” unless
such residence is used as a day care home, as defined in K.S.A. 65-530, and amendments
thereto.

fer (n) Smokmg means possession of a lighted cigarette, c1gar pipe or
s burning tobacco in any other form or device designed for the use of
tobacco.

(0) “Tobacco shop” means any indoor area operated primarily for the retail sale of tobacco,
tobacco products or smoking devices or accessories, and which derives not less than 65% of
its gross receipts from the sale of tobacco.

(p) “Substantial dues or membership fee requirements” means initiation costs, dues or
fees proportional to the cost of membership in similarly-situated outdoor recreational
facilities that are not considered nominal and implemented to otherwise avoid or evade
restrictions of a statewide ban on smoking.

Sec. 20. On and after January 1, 2014, K.S.A. 21-4010 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 21-4010. (a) No person shall smoke in apublicplace an enclosed area or at a public
meeting exceptimdesigmated-smokingareas: including, but not limited to:

(1) Public places;

(2) taxicabs and limousines;

(3) restrooms, lobbies, hallways and other common areas in public and private buildings,
condominiums and other multiple-residential facilities;

(4) restrooms, lobbies and other common areas in hotels and motels and in at least 80%
of the sleeping quarters within a hotel or motel that may be rented to guests;

(5) access points of all buildings and facilities not exempted pursuant to subsection (d);
and

(6) any place of employment

(b) Each employer having a place of employment that is an enclosed area shall provide a
smoke-free workplace for all employees. Such employer shall also adopt and maintain a
written smoking policy which shall prohibit smoking without exception in all areas of the
place of employment. Such policy shall be communicated to all current employees within
one week of its adoption and shall be communicated to all new employees upon hiring. Each
employer shall provide a written copy of the smoking policy upon request to any current or
prospective employee.

(¢) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, K.S.A. 21-4011 or 21-4012, and
amendments thereto, the proprietor or other person in charge of an adult care home, as
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defined in K.S.A. 39-923, and amendments thereto, or a medical care facility, may designate
a portion of such adult care home, or the licensed long-term care unit of such medical care
facility, as a smoking area, and smoking may be permitted within such designated smoking
area.

(d) The provisions of this section shall not apply to:

(1) The outdoor areas of any building or facility beyond the access points of such building
or facility;

(2) private homes or residences, except when such home or residence is used as a day care
home, as defined in K.S.A. 65-530, and amendments thereto;

(3) a hotel or motel room rented to one or more guests if the total percentage of such hotel
or motel rooms in such hotel or motel does not exceed 20%:

(4) that portion of an adult care home, as defined in K.S.A. 39-923, and amendments
thereto, that is expressly designated as a smoking area by the proprietor or other person in
charge of such adult care home pursuant to subsection (c) and that is fully enclosed and
ventilated;

(5) that portion of a licensed long-term care unit of a medical care facility that is expressly
designated as a smoking area by the proprietor or other person in charge of such medical
care facility pursuant to subsection (c) and that is fully enclosed and ventilated and to which
access is restricted to the residents and their guests;

(6) tobacco shops;

(7) a class A or class B club defined in KS.A. 41-2601, and amendments thereto, which
(A) held a license pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2606 et seq., and amendments thereto, as of January
1, 2009; and (B) notifies the secretary of health and environment in writing, not later than
90 days after the effective date of this act, that it wishes to continue to allow smoking on its
premises; and

(8) a private club in designated areas where minors are prohibited.

Sec. 21. On and after January 1, 2014, K.S.A. 21-4011 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 21-4011. The proprietor or other person in charge of the premises of a public place,
or other area where smoking is prohibited, shall post or cause to be posted in a conspicuous
place signs displaying the mtematzonal no smoking symbol and clearly stating that smoking
is prohlblted by state law s 3

3 totati (a) It shall be unlauﬁllfor
any person who owns, manages, operates or otherwise controls the use of any public place,
or other area where smoking is prohibited, to fail to comply with all or any of the provisions
of K.S.A. 21-4009 through 21-4014, and amendments thereto.

(b) 1t shall be unlawful for any person who owns, manages, operates or otherwise controls
the use of any public place, or other area where smoking is prohibited, to allow smoking to
occur where prohibited by law. Any such person shall be deemed to allow smoking to occur
under this subsection if such person: (1) Has knowledge that smoking is occurring; and (2)
acquiesces to the smoking under the totality of the circumstances.

(¢) It shall be unlawful for any person to smoke in any area where smoking is prohibited
by the provisions of K.S.A. 21-4010, and amendments thereto.

(d) Any person who violates any provision of K.S.A. 21-4009 through 21-4014, and
amendments thereto, shall be guilty of a cigarette or tobacco infraction pumshable by a fine:

(1) Not exceeding $100 for the first violation;

(2) not exceeding $200 for a second violation within a one year period after the first
violation; or
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(3) not exceeding $500 for a third or subsequent violation within a one year period after
the first violation.

For purposes of this subsection, the number of violations within a year shall be measured
by the date the smoking violations occur.

(e) Each individual allowed to smoke by a person who owns, manages, operates or
otherwise controls the use of any public place, or other area where smoking is prohibited,
in violation of subsection (b) shall be considered a separate violation for purposes of
determining the number of violations under subsection (d).

(f) No employer shall discharge, refuse to hire or in any manner retaliate against an
employee, applicant for employment or customer because that employee, applicant or
customer reports or attempts to prosecute a violation of any of the provisions of K.S.A. 21-
4009 through 21-4014, and amendments thereto.

New Sec. 23. On and after January 1, 2014, the director of alcoholic beverage control is
hereby authorized to promulgate rules and regulations to insure any exemption from the
statewide ban on smoking is bona fide and the entity secking such exemption is not
inappropriately seeking to circumvent the smoking ban created under this act.

Sec. 24. On and after January 1, 2014, K.S.A. 65-530 is hereby amended to read as follows:
65-530. (a) As used in this section:

(1) “Day care home” means a day care home as defined under Kansas administrative
regulation 28-4-113, a group day care home as defined under Kansas administrative
regulation 28-4-113 and a family day care home as defined under K.S.A. 65-517 and
amendments thereto.

(2) “Smoking” means possession of a lighted cigarette, cigar, pipe or burning tobacco in
any other form or device designed for the use of tobacco.

(b) Smoking within any room, enclosed area or other enclosed space of a facility or
facilities of a day care home during a time when children who are not related by blood,
marriage or legal adoption to the person who maintains the home are being cared for, as
part of the operation of the day care home, within the facility or facilities is hereby
prohibited. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to prohibit smoking on the
premises of the day care home outside the facility or facilities of a day care home, including
but not limited to porches, yards or garages.

(c) Each day care home registration certificate or license shall contain a statement in bold
print that smoking is prohibited within a room, enclosed area or other enclosed space of
the facility or facilities of the day care home under the conditions specified in subsection
(b). The statement shall be phrased in substantially the same language as subsection (b).
The registration certificate or license shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the facility
or facilities.

(d) The secretary of health and environment may levy a civil fine under K.S.A. 65-526
and amendments thereto against any day care home for a first or second violation of this
section. A third or subsequent violation shall be subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 65-523
and amendments thereto.

(e) In addition to any civil fine which may be levied pursuant to subsection (d), any day
care home that violates any provision of this section may also be subject to criminal
punishment pursuant to K.S.A. 21-4012, and amendments thereto.

New Sec. 25. On and after January 1, 2014, the amendments made to K.S.A. 21-4009
through 21-4012, and amendments thereto, and K.S.A. 21-4013 and 21-4014, and
amendments thereto, shall constitute the Kansas indoor clean air act.”;

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

Also on page 15, after line 2, by inserting the following:

“Sec. 27. K.S.A. 21-3105, as amended by section 1 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221, 21-4009,
as amended by section 2 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221, 21-4010, as amended by section 3
of 2010 House Bill No. 2221, 21-4011, as amended by section 4 of 2010 House Bill No.
2221, 21-4012, as amended by section 5 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221, 21-4016, 21-4017,
65-530, as amended by section 7 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221, section 6 of 2010 House Bill
No. 2221 and section 8 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221 are hereby repealed.

Sec. 28. On January 1, 2014, K.S.A. 21-3105, as revived by section 10, 21-4009, as revived
by section 11, 21-4010, as revived by section 12, 21-4011, as revived by section 13, 21-4012,
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as revived by section 14, 21-4016, as revived by section 16, 21-4017, as revived by section
17, and 65-530, as revived by section 15 are hereby repealed.”;

And by renumbering the remaining section accordingly;

In the title, in line 9, by striking all after “ACT”; by striking all in lines 10 through 12 and
inserting the following: “concerning the Kansas expanded lottery act; relating to lottery and
racetrack gaming facilities; relating to smoking; creating the Kansas agricultural opportunity
act; reviving and amending K.S.A. 21-3105, 21-4009, 21-4010, 21-4011, 21-4012 and 65-
530 and repealing the revived sections; also reviving K.S.A. 21-4016 and 21-4017; amending
K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 74-8734, 74-8741, T4-8744, 74-8747, 74-8751 and 74-8768 and repealing
the existing sections; also repealing K.S.A. 21-3105, as amended by section 1 of 2010 House
Bill No. 2221, 21-4009, as amended by section 2 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221, 21-4010, as
amended by section 3 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221, 21-4011, as amended by section 4 of
2010 House Bill No. 2221, 21-4012, as amended by section 5 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221,
21-4016, 21-4017, 65-530, as amended by section 7 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221, section 6
of 2010 House Bill No. 2221 and section 8 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221.”

Upon the showing of five hands a roll call vote was requested.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 12, Nays 21, Present and Passing 5, Absent or Not Voting
2.

Yeas: Abrams, Brownlee, Bruce, Huelskamp, Kelsey, Lynn, Masterson, Ostmeyer,
Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Wagle.

Nays: Apple, Barnett, Brungardt, Colyer, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Hensley,
Huntington, Kelly, Kultala, Lee, Marshall, Morris, Owens, Reitz, Schmidt V, Schodorf,
Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil.

Present and Passing: Donovan, Emler, Haley, Holland, Steineger.

Absent or Not Voting: McGinn, Schmidt D.

The motion failed and the amendment was rejected.

Senators Hensley, Huntington, Masterson withdrew amendments on S Sub for HB 2180.

S Sub for S Sub for Sub HB 2320 be amended by adoption of the committee report
recommending a substitute bill, be amended by motion of Senator V. Schmidt on page 1,
in line 24, before the period, by inserting: “, but shall not include the Kansas soldiers” home
or the Kansas veterans” home”

S Sub for S Sub for Sub HB 2320 be further amended by Senator Lee on page 4, in
line 10, after “quality” by inserting “care”

The bill was further amended by Senator Lee on page 6, in line 21, by striking all after
“The”; by striking all in line 22; in line 23, by striking all before “person” and S Sub for S
Sub for Sub HB 2320 be passed as amended.

S Sub for S Sub for HB 2650 be amended by adoption of the committee report
recommending a substitute bill, be amended by motion of Senator D. Schmidt on page 48,
in line 18, by striking “$6,000,000” and inserting “$8,000,000”

S Sub for S Sub for HB 2650 be further amended by Senator Brownlee on page 2, in
line 3, by striking “and”; in line 11, by striking the period and inserting “; and

(4) not more than one highway demonstration project for the purpose of evaluating the
design-build concept which may include financing, design, construction and performance
guarantee. Such demonstration project shall be conducted in Johnson or Wyandotte county.
The secretary is authorized to procure such demonstration project in the same manner as
engineering services are procured under K.S.A. 75-5801 et seq., and amendments thereto,
and such demonstration project need not comply with the provisions of K.S.A. 68-410 or
75-430a, and amendments thereto, or any other applicable statute to the procurement of
state highway construction contracts. The secretary of transportation shall provide a cost/
benefit analysis of such demonstration project to the standing committees on transportation
of the house of representatives and the senate on completion of such demonstration project.”

S Sub for S Sub for HB 2650 be further amended by Senator Colyer on page 1, in line
43, before the period, by inserting: “, except for projects funded by build America bonds,
no expansion and economic opportunity projects shall be selected prior to February 1, 2011
and S Sub for S Sub for HB 2650 be passed as amended.

A motion by Senator Bruce to amend S Sub for S Sub for HB 2650 failed and the
following amendment was rejected: on page 49, in line 7, by striking “the” where it appears
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for the second time and inserting “: (A) The”; in line 13, before the period by inserting
and

(B) the issuance of such bonds is approved by resolution of the state finance council.

The approval by the state finance council required by this subsection is hereby
characterized as a matter of legislative delegation and subject to the guidelines prescribed
in subsection (c) of K.S.A. 75-3711c, and amendments thereto. Such approval may be given
by the state finance council when the legislature is in session”

A motion by Senator Brownlee to amend S Sub for S Sub for HB 2650 failed and the
following amendment was rejected: on page 2, in line 3, by striking “and”; in line 11, by
striking the period and inserting “; and

(4) not more than two highway demonstration projects for the purpose of evaluating the
design-build concept which may include financing, design, construction and performance
guarantee. Such demonstration projects shall be conducted in Johnson or Wyandotte county.
The secretary is authorized to procure such demonstration projects in the same manner as
engineering services are procured under K.S.A. 75-5801 et seq., and amendments thereto,
and such demonstration projects need not comply with the provisions of K.S.A. 68-410 or
75-430a, and
amendments thereto, or any other applicable statute to the procurement of state highway
construction contracts. The secretary of transportation shall provide a cost/benefit analysis
of such demonstration projects to the standing committees on transportation of the house
of representatives and the senate on completion of each such demonstration project.”

A motion by Senator Ostmeyer to amend S Sub for S Sub for HB 2650 failed and the
following amendment was rejected: on page 3, by striking lines 31 through 43;

By striking all on pages 4 through 26;

On page 30, by striking all in lines 29 through 43;

By striking all on pages 31 and 32;

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 62, in line 40, by striking all following “K.S.A.”; in line 41, by striking “8-234b,
line 42, by striking all following “Supp.”; in line 43, by striking “143;j,”

On page 1, in the title, by striking all in line 14; in line 16, by striking “8-142, 8-143, 8-
143,

FINAL ACTION OF BILLS AND CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS

On motion of Senator D. Schmidt an emergency was declared by a % constitutional
majority, and S Sub for HB 2180; S Sub for S Sub for Sub HB 2320; S Sub for S Sub
for HB 2650 were advanced to Final Action and roll call.

S Sub for HB 2180, An act concerning the Kansas expanded lottery act; relating to
racetrack gaming facilities; creating the Kansas agricultural opportunity act; amending
K.S.A. 21-4010, as amended by section 3 of 2010 House Bill No. 2221, and K.S.A. 2009
Supp. 74-8734, 74-8741, T4- 8742, 74-8744, T4-8747, 74-8751 and 74-8768 and repealing
the existing sections.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 19, Nays 20, Present and Passing 0, Absent or Not Voting
1.

Yeas: Brungardt, Emler, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Huntington, Kelly,
Lee, Marshall, Morris, Owens, Reitz, Schmidt D, Schodorf, Steineger, Teichman,
Umbarger, Vratil.

Nays: Abrams, Apple, Barnett, Brownlee, Bruce, Colyer, Donovan, Holland, Huelskamp,
Kelsey, Kultala, Lynn, Masterson, Ostmeyer, Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Schmidt V,
Taddiken, Wagle.

Absent or Not Voting: McGinn.

A constitutional majority having failed to vote in favor of the bill, S Sub for HB 2180
did not pass.

EXPLANATION OF VOTE

MR. VICE PRESIDENT: It is my belief S Sub for HB 2180 would have been vetoed if a
total smoking ban were enacted immediately. If it were vetoed, smoking would continue
indefinitely in casinos. A majority of my constituents made it quite clear, they wanted the
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smoking ban to apply to casinos. By voting for amendment number 472, the prohibition
against smoking will ultimately apply to state owned casinos, as it should, and the state will
ultimately be treated the same as every other business.

Mr. Vice President I vote Aye. — JAY SCOTT EMLER

MR. VICE PRESIDENT: I really wanted to vote yes on this bill because the Woodlands was
a great community partner in my district for almost 20 years. However, I believe that this
bill in its current form jeopardizes the success of the existing casino project and of the
proposed racetrack project in my district. — KELLY KULTALA

S Sub for S Sub for Sub HB 2320, An act providing for assessments on certain nursing
facilities; prescribing powers, duties and functions for the Kansas health policy authority;
creating the quality care assessment fund; providing for implementation and administration,
by Committee on Ways and Means.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 30, Nays 9, Present and Passing 0, Absent or Not Voting
1.

Yeas: Apple, Bruce, Brungardt, Donovan, Emler, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley,
Hensley, Holland, Huntington, Kelly, Kelsey, Kultala, Lee, Marshall, Morris, Ostmeyer,
Owens, Petersen, Reitz, Schmidt D, Schmidt V, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman,
Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle.

Nays: Abrams, Barnett, Brownlee, Colyer, Huelskamp, Lynn, Masterson, Pilcher-Cook,
Pyle.

yAbsent or Not Voting: McGinn.
The substitute bill passed, as amended.

EXPLANATION OF VOTE

MR. VICE PRESIDENT: I appreciate the work accomplished for the compromise on this
bill as it closes much of the gap for many facilities. T am thankful that this compromise
actually creates a positive for the nursing homes in my district. But it is not a perfect solution,
and in fact, the gap between winners and losers is still significant. Fundamentally and
philosophically it is what it is: a tax on our most vulnerable citizens. I am sickened by this
approach to solve our economic problems. For this reason, Mr. Vice President I vote NO.
— JuLIA LYNN

S Sub for S Sub for HB 2650, An act relating to transportation; providing for a
transportation works for Kansas program; relating to the financing thereof; amending K.S.A.
8-143b, 8-143c, 8-143g, 8-143h, 8-143i, 8-143k, 8-234b, 12-1775, 68-416, 68-20,120, 68-
2316, 68-2320, 68-2321 and 68-2328 and K.S.A. 2009 Supp. 8-142, 8-143, 8-143j, 8-145,
12-6a35, 12-6a36, 12-1774, 12-1774a, 12-17,148, 12-17,149, 68-2315, 68-2331, 75-5035, 75-
5048, 75-5061, 75-5063, 75-5064, 75-5160, 79-3492b, 79-34,141 and 79-34,142 and
repealing the existing sections; also repealing K.S.A. 68-2314a.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 25, Nays 13, Present and Passing 1, Absent or Not Voting
1.

Yeas: Brungardt, Colyer, Donovan, Emler, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley,
Holland, Huntington, Kelly, Kultala, Lee, Marshall, Morris, Owens, Petersen, Reitz,
Schmidt D, Schmidt V, Schodorf, Steineger, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil.

Nays: Abrams, Apple, Barnett, Bruce, Huelskamp, Kelsey, Lynn, Masterson, Ostmeyer,
Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Taddiken, Wagle.

Present and Passing: Brownlee.

Absent or Not Voting: McGinn.

The substitute bill passed, as amended.

EXPLANATION OF VOTE

MR. VICE PRESIDENT: I have struggled greatly with the question of how to vote on HB
2650. Proponents of this bill advocate it as a jobs project and claim it will create economic
growth throughout the state. I believe, but only to an extent, they are correct in their
assertions; and let me assert, I absolutely believe these are admirable goals which T have
long supported. Our roads are our economic lifeline.
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Despite my support for the intent of this legislation, passing a transportation plan at this
time - in this manner - is ill advised. During the darkest hours of the worst financial crisis
in two generations, we are raising taxes on struggling Kansans and increasing registration
fees on large vehicles while simultaneously increasing Kansas™ debt load to unprecedented
levels in a deeply troubled economy. This additional burden is administered without
adequate oversight and is assumed to be primarily paid for by a funding source that is
tenuous at best given repeated executive and legislative pilfering of our highway dollars.

Until this body is willing to fulfill its fiduciary obligations to the people of this state and
demonstrates a legitimate commitment to protecting the funding source for our highways,
I cannot support such a measure. I vote no. — TERRY BRUCE

Senators request the record to show they concur with the “Explanation of Vote” offered
by Senators Abrams, Apple and Ostmeyer on HB 2650.

MR. VICE PRESIDENT: When bills come across my desk for final action I always ask myself
three questions: 1. “Is this legislation something that is within the scope of government’s
responsibility? 2. “How much will it cost and what is the funding mechanism?” 3. Ts it
sustainable?” Mr. President, S Sub for S Sub for HB 2650 does not completely pass my
smell test. We are responsible for good roads and they are vital to our quality of life.
However, this is not the time. My constituents are concerned with bread and butter issues.
They are cutting back, putting off investments and major purchases, watching their
consumption and working towards financial prosperity and independence. Mr. Vice
President, it’s time the State of Kansas do the same. That’s why I vote NO on S Sub for §
Sub for HB 2650. — JuLIA LYNN.

Senator Abrams requests the record to show he concurs with the “Explanation of Vote”
offered by Senator Lynn on S Sub for S Sub for HB 2650.

MR. VICE PRESIDENT: I vote no on S Sub for S Sub for HB 2650. Yesterday I supported
a one cent sales tax to help partially fund the new Transportation Plan. To be fair to the
Trucking industry and Farmers, the registration fee should have been removed from the
bill. We will have more opportunities to fix this problem and get a bill that is fair and good
for a struggling economy. — RALPH OSTMEYER

MESSAGE FROM THE HOUSE

The House adopts the conference committee report on HB 2482.
The House adopts the conference committee report on HB 2486.
The House concurs in Senate amendments to HB 2595.

On motion of Senator D. Schmidt the Senate adjourned until 11:00 a.m., Saturday, May
8, 2010.

HELEN MORELAND, ROSE MARIE GLATT, SHIRLEY LAMOTT, Journal Clerks.
PAT SAVILLE, Secretary of the Senate.
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