House
MINUTES OF THE __°"°°  COMMITTEE ON ___ Labor and Industry

Held in Room 521-S , at the Statehouse at 9:30 a. m./g2%ak.,

on January 20 , 1983

All members were present except:

Representative Robert Miller / Excused

" The next meeting of the Committee will be held at 9:30 a. m./EX.,
on January 25 1983
These minutes of the meeting held on , 19 were

considered, corrected and approved.

(bt Lu W

N - o
Chairman

The conferees appearing before the Committee were:

Mr. Arnold Berman
Mr. Bryce Moore

Chairman Douville called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

Chairman Douville: "I see by the paper that the various
segments of the industry and labor and representatives of
the public have agreed upon a plan which they are going to
present to the Legislature. I haven't seen the details of
it, but certainly want to give serious consideration to it,
and I am going to ask our Research and Revisors Office's to
work with the Department of Human Resources in preparing a
bill based upon such a plan. However, that does not mean
that we are not going to consider a number of alternatives.
One that I have not seen any figures on yet, deals with
raising the base to a different amount, like 8 or 10 thousand
dollars."

Chairman Douville then asked of the Department of Human
Resources representatives if there were figures available
with a different base.

Mr. Arnold Berman responded that by next week the Depart-
ment of Human Resources would have available that type of
approach based on differing wage levels, running from
$7,000.00 up to approximately $13,000.00.

Chairman Douville then introduced Mr. Bryce Moore, Director
of Workers Compensation.

Mr. Moore passed out to the committee a copy of "Workers'
Compensation Law & Rules," (Attachment #1) and an employees
information sheet and employers informational sheet, (Attach-
ment #2). Mr. Moore introduced Mr. Richard Smelser, the
Administrative Officer. Mr. Smelser manages the Self
Insurance Program.

Mr. Moore then gave an over view of what Workers Compensation
is all about.

A short discussion followed.

Chairman Douville adjourned the meeting at 9:58 a.m.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded
herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual re-
marks as reported herein have not been submitted to the
individuals appearing before the committee for editing or
corrections.
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STATE OF KANSAS
DIVISION OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION

An Important Message to Injured Workers: If you have a job-related injury and benefits
are not being paid or you have a question in regard to the proper settlement amount, please
contact the Division of Workers' Compensation at once for help. Our Claimant Advisory
Section in the Topeka Office will work with an injured worker in attempting to get his

or her problems resolved. You do have a right to file an application for hearing; however,
prior to doing so you would be advised to call the Claimant Advisory Section. Our office
will also answer any questions you might have on a claim or visit with you about your
rights and obligations under the law. When you call the Division ask to speak to the
"Claimant Advisory Section." As records are mainly kept in the Topeka Office, it is
suggested you contact this office for help. The telephone number is (913) 296-3441 and
the address is Division of Workers' Compensation, 535 Kansas Avenue, 6th Floor, Topeka,
Kansas, 66603. You may also contact the following branch offices who will answer your
questions or relay a message for the Topeka Office to call you: Kansas City, Kansas (913)
342-4500; Wichita (316) 262-6416; and Great Bend (316) 792-1911.

Es requergdo que el patrbn dé& tratamiento HAVE A PROBLEM WITH YOUR
médico y compensaci%n meintres que el empleado @A RS SERNSTO LR
esta fuera de su trabajo por un golpe recibido Al
en o por causa del trabajo. Llame a este B
numero para preguntar acerca de sus derechos
913—296—34&1. Officina de Trabajadores de
Compensacion, Estado de Kansas, 535 Kansas )
Avenida, Topeka, Kansas, 66603. My wedical bills aren’t paid yeg 1177\

What do | have to do to start
the processing of my claim ?

WORKERS' COMPENSATION INFORMATION

Can you explain what is a proper

The Division of Workers' Compensation Ascttlement amount ?
has prepared this informational sheet for

an employee to give him information about
the Kansas Workmen's Compensation Law. This
is designed to give a general picture about Should I file for a hearing?
the rights and obligations a person has under

the Kansas Workmen's Compensation Law if How much do | rocoive 8 weak ?

he or she is injured on the job.

WHAT IS WORKERS' COMPENSATION?

Workers' Compensation is an insurance plan provided by an employer to give injured
workers certain benefits. The benefits are therefore normally paid by a private insur-
ance company except where the employer is self-insured. These benefits include weekly
compensation while one is off work over one week, medical expenses and help with vocational
and physical rehabilitation. In addition an injured worker may be entitled to further
compensation if he or she has any permanent disability from the injury.

THE IMPORTANT REQUIREMENT FOR FILING A WRITTEN CLAIM

The Kansas Workmen's Compensation Law has a time limit in which to make a claim.
Therefore, one would be advised that if he or she wishes to proceed with a claim, they
are required to file a written claim within 200 days of the occurrence of the accident
or the last date compensation is paid in the way of weekly compensation or authorized
medical treatment. This form should be filed even though a person is presently receiving
weekly compensation or medical treatment. A written claim is filed with the employer,
not with the Division of Workers' Compensation. The claim can be served upon the employer
by (1) taking it to the employer and having the employer sign the receipt portion of the
form; or by (2) sending it to the employer by certified mail and requesting a return receipt.
A claim Form 15 can be obtained from the Division of Workers' Compensation.

WEEKLY BENEFITS FOR AN INJURED EMPLOYEE

The Kansas Workmen's Compensation Law requires that the employer or insurance carrier
pay an injured worker 2/3 of the employee's gross average weekly wage up to the maximums
listed below. Employees are not paid benefits for the first week they are off except
medical benefits; however, if they are off over seven (7) days then they are entitled
to receive weekly compensation (if off three (3) weeks employee can receive compensation
for the first week). To determine the maximum that is applicable, check the maximum in
effect for the year of the injury by the schedule below. The maximum in effect at the
date of the injury does not change once set. Remember also that if 2/3 of the gross average
weekly wage is below the maximum listed below, the actual amount one would receive would
be only 2/3 of the gross average weekly wage.

MAXIMUM COMPENSATION SCHEDULE

Date of Injury Julys 155019788 s June 30/, #1979 $129.06
Date of Injury July 1, 1979 - June 30, 1980 $148.00
Date of Injury July 1, 1980 - June 30, 1981 $170.00
Date of Injury July 1, 1981 - June 30, 1982 $187.00
Date of Injury July 1, 1982 - June 30, 1983 $204.00
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Weekly compensation is payable at the above rate until the doctor releases an employee
to return to work; however, in no case can such payments exceed a total of $100,000 for
permanent total or $75,000 for partial or temporary disability.

YOU MAY BE ENTITLED TO VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION SERVICES

The Division of Workers' Compensation by law provides services to injured workers
who need vocational rehabilitation. Vocational rehabilitation may consist of training,
on-the-job training or assistance in job placement. Our goal is to return injured workers
to gainful employment as soon as possible. If you desire assistance, you may either phone
or write the Rehabilitation Administrator, Division of Workers' Compensation, 535 Kansas
Avenue, 6th Floor, Topeka, Kansas, 66603, telephone (913) 296-3441.

WHAT ARE THE MEDICAL AND HOSPITAL BENEFITS?

A person that has a work related injury is entitled to all medical treatment that
may be needed to cure the worker from the effects of the injury. The employee and his
employer and insurance company should work together in selecting a physician, but the
employer has the right to choose the physician under the law. If the employee seeks treat-
ment from a doctor not authorized by the employer, the insurance company is only liable
up to $350.00 toward such medical bills ($150.00 on accidents occurring prior to July
1, 1981). An injured worker generally is entitled to reimbursement for mileage for trips
to see the physician if the trip is over five (5) miles for the round trip. If the worker
‘must hire transportation, this can also be reimbursed.

SETTLEMENT OF YOUR WORKERS' COMPENSATION CLAIM

When the doctor releases you to return to work, you may be entitled to further benefits
because of a permanent disability from a work related injury. Compensation for permanent
disability can be paid weekly or in a lump sum settlement by the employer, if self-insured,
or your employer's insurance company. The law only allows so many weeks of compensation
to certain listed members of the body (see Schedule List below). If your injury is outside
the schedule, for example an injury to your back, your compensation generally is paid
over a 415 week period.

It is realized that a settlement amount can be very important to an injured worker.
Therefore, it is our suggestion that you contact the Division of Workers' Compensation
if you have any questions on whether your settlement is being computed correctly. We
would also point out that just because you have a job-related injury does not necessarily
mean you are entitled to some type of settlement. Many claims involve the employee being
off work a relatively short period of time and not have any permanent disability. Normally
a permanent disability to the body as a whole (for example a back injury) is based on
two factors, a disability rating as found by your treating doctor and the effect the injury
has on your future employability in your regular occupation.

SCHEDULE LIST

Number Weeks * Number Weeks
Accidental Injury Disability Payable Accidental Injury Disability  Payable
Arm 210 Thumb 60
Forearm 200 1st (index) finger 37
Hand 150 2nd (middle) finger 30
Leg 200 3rd (ring) finger 20
Lower Leg 190 4th (little) finger 15
Foot W25 Great toe ' 30
Eye 120 Great toe, end joint 15
Hearing, both ears 110 Each other toe A 10
Hearing, one ear 30 Each other toe, end joint 5

Amputation through a joint is considered loss to next higher schedule.

HOW TO COMPUTE A SETTLEMENT

(A) Amputation (example finger, foot, etc.): (1) Add weeks on applicable schedule
to number of weeks healing period (additional weeks compensation allowed for time you
are off work up to 10% of weeks on schedule, but no more than 15 weeks); (2) Multiply
these weeks times your weekly compensation payment; (3) Subtract the amount of compensation
previously paid. For partial or multiple amputations, contact the Division of Workers'
Compensation.

(B) Loss of Use to Schedule Member (crippling but no amputaticn; example disabled
arm, leg, finger, etc.): (1) Subtract weeks of compensation already paid to you from
number of weeks on Schedule List; (2) Multiply this figure by percent of disability to
the member; (3) Multiply this figure by your weekly compensation rate. (This give the
total settlement due.) (Note: Healing period may be allowed in non-amputation cases.)

(C) Permanent Partial Disability to the Body (example back, shoulder, scheduled
member and back, etc.): (1) First compute your weekly permanent partial compensation
rate; this is done by multiplying your gross average weekly wage times your percent of
disability; (2) Multiply this figure by .67 (cannot exceed maximum benefit listed on reverse
side). (3) Subtract the number of weeks of compensation already paid to you from 415
weeks; (4) Multiply this figure by your permanent partial weekly rate. (This will give
you the total settlement due.)




INFORMATION TO EMPLOYERS ON THE KANSAS
WORKMEN’S COMPENSATION ACT

WHAT WORKERS' COMPENSATION IS

Workers” Compensation is an insurance plan provided by the employer (by law) to pay certain benefits to employees who are injured
in accidents that arise out of and in the course of the employment. The first law in Kansas regarding workers’ compensation was enacted in
1911 and has been changed considerably since that time. Initially, the law covered only hazardous employments and there were certain
exemptions in regard to the number of employees. The present law, however, covers all employers in the state of Kansas no matter how
many employees they have or the nature of the work, except where the employer has less than an estimated $10,000 annual payroll in any
calendar year. Wages paid to the employer or his immediate family are not used in the computation of the $10,000 wage figure.
Agricultural pursuits are exempted under the Workmen’s Compensation Act.

HOW TO OBTAIN WORKERS' COMPENSATION COVERAGE FOR EMPLOYEES

Workers’ Compensation is a private insurance plan where the benefits are not paid by the state of Kansas, but paid by the employer
through his insurance carrier or a self-insurance plan. Self-insurance can only be allowed where there is application to the Division of
Workers’ Compensation and approval made by the Director. Normally a fairly large financial reserve and excess insurance is required. For
information on self-insurance requirements, contact the Division of Workers’ Compensation. To obtain insurance for employees, the
employer should contact his insurance agent to obtain this insurance. Any difficulty an employer has in getting insurance should be
referred to the Kansas Insurance Commissioner, Honorable Fletcher Bell, First Floor, State Office Building, Topeka, Kansas, 66612,
telephone (913) 296-3071. Also the Insurance Commissioner can answer questions in regard to rates and the proper amount for the
insurance premium in individual cases. The Kansas Division of Workers’ Compensation has no jurisdiction in regard to setting premium
rates.

BENEFITS EMPLOYEES ARE ENTITLED TO WHEN THEY ARE INJURED IN A JOB-RELATED ACCIDENT

When a worker is injured on the job, the worker is entitled to certain benefits while off work from his injury and also medical expenses
and vocational rehabilitation assistance, if found eligible. Benefits are paid at the rate of % of the employee’s average weekly wage while
the worker is off work up to a maximum amount based on a percentage of the state’s average weekly wage. All medical benefits are paid to
cure and/or relieve the worker of the effects of the injury. If an employee dies as a result of a job-related injury, the surviving spouse or
dependents can receive compensation based on a rate of 66%% of the employee’s average weekly wage up to the applicable maximum
amount. Any questions in regard to benefit levels should be referred to the Division of Workers’ Compensation. Also the Division
maintains a Claimant Advisory Section that will advise and help injured employees on their claims. The Division also has a special
information sheet available for injured workers which can be ordered in quantity and contains complete dollar benefit information.

WHAT THE EMPLOYER SHOULD DO WHEN AN ACCIDENT OCCURS

The law does require an employer to furnish the Kansas Division of Workers’ Compensation with a Form 11014, Accident Report, if
an employee is injured on the job. The employer should immediately report any accidents to his insurance carrier, and either the insurance
carrier or the employer will submit the original Accident Report to the Division of Workers” Compensation. Self-insureds also should file
the original Accident Report with the Division of Workers’ Compensation.

CAN AN EMPLOYER OR AN EMPLOYEE ELECT OUT OF THE ACT?

An employer cannot elect out of the Act if he is mandatorily covered. The employee cannot waive his rights as to coverage under the
Act. An employee is restricted from electing out of the Act except where the employee owns 10% or more of the corporate stock in the
corporation for which he works. The election out of such by an employee who owns 10% or more of the corporate stock is done on a Form
50 which is furnished by the Division of Workers’ Compensation and can be obtained by writing to the Division. An individual employer,
partner or self-employer can elect to cover himself under the Act if desired. This is done by contacting your insurance agent and filing a
Form 113 with the Division of Workers’” Compensation.

This informational outlines provisions of the Kansas Workmen’s Compensation Law. Complete statutes and regulations are found in
Kansas Statutes Annotated and Kansas Administrative Regulations. Copies of the Workmen’s Compensation Law and Rules are available
from the Division of Workers’ Compensation at 2 nominal cost. Billfold size benefit cards are also available in quantity and can be ordered
from the Division of Workers’ Compensation.

For information write the Kansas Division of Workers’ Compensation, 535 Kansas Avenue, 6th Floor, Topeka, Kansas, 66603,
telephone number (913) 296-3441.
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