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MINUTES OF THE _House _ COMMITTEE ON Insurance
The meeting was called to order by Rep. Rex B. Hoy P — at
_3:30 XZ¥®¥p.m. on Tuesday, March 5 19.85in room __521-S_ of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Rep. CGraeber - Excused

Committee staff present:

Melinda Hanson - Legislative Research
Gordon Self - Revisor's Office
Helen Carlson - Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Mr. Ron Smith - Legislative Counsel, Kansas Bar Association

Ms. Kathleen Sebelius - Kansas Trial Lawyers Association
Mr. Randy Forbes - Trial Lawyer, Topeka

Mr. Wayne Morris - Security Benefit Life Insurance Company
Ms. Jane Tedder - Security Benefit Group.

Mr. Ron Smith spoke in opposition to HB 2422 as drafted. He said the

KBA strongly supports the No-Fault concept enacted in 1974 and thought
the law had been doing what it was intended to do. A copy of Mr. Smith's
testimony is attached hereto. (Attachment TI)

Kathleen Sebelius spoke in opposition to HB 2422, saying she does not fé;l
the Kansas law is out of step with other states as the $500 threshold and
verbal language falls in the middle compared to other states. Ms. Sebelius
passed out a Handout containing testimony of the Kansas Trial Lawyers Assn.,
a Table of State "No-Fault" laws, and a printout on Automobile Injuries

and their Compensation in the United States which are attached hereto.
(Attachment IT)

Randy Forbes spoke in opposition to HB 2422, saying a great deal of time

was given to this subject in 1984 by the Interim Committee and they de-

cided there should be a change in Pip benefits but recommended no change

in the tort threshold. He further stated that he feels it is an unfair indict-
ment to say trial lawyers are taking unfair advantage of people as many con-
sumers receive more dollars, after attorney fees, than they would get from
their insurance company. Mr. Forbes does not feel people should be denied
their constitutional rights and should be able to take their case to court

if they so desire.

Rep. Hoy said he thought if we could work out a way to get the money to
the injured person first without their going to Court and without being
denied or turned down on average claim, that we would be doing them a
favor. He further stated that everyone gets money up front with No-Fault
insurance, plus getting money for pain and suffering.

Rep. Blumenthal said he would like to have time to digest the material
presented.

Rep. Sprague said he had requested an amendment to HB 2422 and had had

staff prepare a balloon copy of bill with amendment, which he passed out

for members to look at and discuss. The proposed amendment would amend the
"general benefits" provision to provide an allowance of $500 if medical
benefits exceed $1,250, and then $1.00 for each dollar of medical benefits
paid out above $1,250 to a limit of $2,250. The proposed amendment would also
increase the tort threshold amount from $500 to $3,000. The verbal threshold
would be retained.

Rep. Blumenthal again said he would like time to digest impact of this
amendment and made a motion that it be tabled until Friday, March 8.
Rep. Gierstad seconded the motion. Motion failed.

Rep. Sprague said he would like to adopt the amendment and vote on the bill
as amended, Friday morning.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not

been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for R
editing or corrections. Page 1 Of _.2._
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Rep. Neufeld asked what the passage of HB 2422 would cost the policyholder,
and Rep. Hoy said the cost would be $54.80 a year with an additional $1.80
for the amendment.

Rep. Lacey asked if under this bill anyone would be denied access to Court
and the answer was "yes" if medical bill goes over $3,000 or there is
permanent disability.

Chairman Hoy announced action would be delayed on the amendment until
Thursday, March 7, 1985.

HB 2464 - Mr. Wayne Morris explained the bill which deals with investments
by insurance companies and presented written testimony which is attached
hereto. (Attachment IIT)

Ms. Jane Teddar briefly explained the difference between "ordinary'" mutual

funds and money market mutual funds. Her testimony is attached hereto.
(Attachment IV).

Meeting adjourned at 5 PM. _“:)
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RON SMITH
Legislative Counsel

HB 2011 & HB 2422 :
House Insurance Committee KANSAS BAR
March 5, 1985 ASSOCIATION

Mr. Chairman. Members of the Insurance Committee. I am
Ron Smith, Legislative Counsel for the Kansas Bar Association.

I can guickly dispose of the basic positions KBA has on both
these bills:

1. KBA strongly supports the no-fault concept enacted in
1974. It was true compromise, we feel, since both
sides had to give up something. In the end, neither
side was very happy. Perhaps that is a good recommen-
dation of the virtues of the 1974 bill.

2. HB 2422, as drafted, creates verbal thresholds rather
than monetary thresholds, and as such represents a
major departure from the spirit of the 1974 compro-
mise. KBA is opposed to HB 2422 as drafted.

3. HB 2422, as recommended for amendment, contains an
interesting new philosophy of award automatic pain and
suffering denominated as general damages. However,
since that language is not yet ready, and we don't know
the costs of such language when compared to a simple
increase in the medical expense tort threshold, I
cannot yet comment on the legislation until my Executive
Council has had a chance to see the new language.

4., HB 2011 is the interim proposal. Our Executive Council
has reviewed this bill. While KBA approves of the in-
crease in PIP benefits to adjust for inflation, and
while we do not oppose HB 2011, we also do not believe
HB 2011 is going to be the realistic work-product of
this legislature.

5. The Kansas Bar Association was on record last year, and
is on record this year, supporting a reasonable, equit-
able, inflationary adjustment to PIP benefits and
the tort threshold, not to exceed $1,000. While there
is nothing magic about doubling PIP benefits and the
medical expense tort threshold together, we believe
this course (a) maintains the spirit of the 1974 com-
promise that we think should be of overriding concern
to Kansas legislators, and (b) makes the appropriate
inflationary adjustment.
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No-Fault
March 5, 1985

I'll try to simplify our position on this complex issue.

The primary public policy question for legislators is two-
fold:

(1) Do you provide Kansans with higher PIP benefits
because of inflationary erosion of 1974 benefits?

(2) 1If so, how do you fund those added benefits?
There are three choices for funding:

(a) Generate expense-side savings and use those
savings to offset expected insurance increases in
the PIP premiums. The insurance industry advocates
this method through higher medical expense tort
thresholds, or the use of verbal thresholds. This
is done by adopting legislation similar to HB 2422,
if left unamended.

(b} The additional benefits can be funded by having
the public pay slightly higher PIP premium benefits.
Out of the ordinary $150/six months premium, testi-
mony last summer indicated this might cost an addi-
tional $6 to $9. This concept is the rationale of
HB 2011.

(c) A third alternative is to do neither, and let
consumers suppliment their current PIP benefits by
purchasing "add-on" PIP coverage through premium
riders, or other forms of health and accident insur-
ance. This can be done by keeping the status quo.

I submit your choice of policy questions is answered when you
determine who is to be protected by no-fault insurance? Is
it the person who caused the accident? The injured consumer?
Lawyers? Or Insurance companies?

Proponents of HB 2422 said yesterday that the $500
medical expense threshold has become both a "target" for the
unscrupulous, and that the $500 amount was inadeqguate from
Day One of that 1974 no-fault bill. While I'm sure that "un-
scrupulous" is how some insurance people view the claimants
who are seeking financial compensation from the company, I
imagine that the same word is used by those claimants who have
a hard time collecting what they feel is due them from those
companies.



No-Fault
March 5, 1985

Further, while admittedly the industry does not like the
$500 level, evidence presented this summer indicate that even
with inflation, the $500 level still cuts out 70% of the
smaller lawsuits from the pain and suffering category of com-
pensation.

Other statistics presented this summer, and which I believe
were included in the handouts, indicate that of the cases in
Kansas which are currently allowed to sue for pain and suffering,

only 4 of every 10 such cases involve medical expense exceeding
the $500 threshold.

Several times yesterday, and in the summer, the industry
has indicated that never was an intended benefit of no-fault
to be lower premiums. But it seems to me that for the industry
to now argue that we need to change thresholds in order to lower
or keep premiums the same is in fact using no-fault to adjust
premiums. This is another reason why KBA believes you should
keep the balance in political theories found in the 1974 com-
promise bill.

Finally, there remains the practical question: which philo-
sophy will Governor Carlin sign. He vetoed a bill that doubled
PIP benefits but tripled the medical expense threshold. He said:

"There is little evidence to indicate that our courts
are unduly burdened with automobile lawsuits. I am
reluctant to restrict rights of all the citizens of
this state unless there is compelling evidence that
the benefits received outweigh any potential harm."
(emphasis added)

The ‘Governor was a first-term legislator when this issue
first began to be discussed in 1971-72. He has participatead
in every major no-fault decision since 1974. I don't presume
to speak for him, but he did not write that veto message
lightly, without consideration of all the arguments. I be-
lieve the Governor supports the spirit of the 1974 compromise
just as KBA does. The legislation you send him should be some-
thing that keeps the spirit of that compromise.

Mr. Chairman, KBA believes the 1974 law has acted to reduce
court congestion and promptly and adequately compensate injured
traffic victims. In so doing, fewer people find it necessary
to resort to expensive litigation. We believe that any changes
in the basic no-fault law should incorporate and maintain the
spirit of the 1974 compromises. '



TESTIMONY OF THE
KANSAS TRIAL LAWYERS ASSOCIATION

H.B. 2011 and H.B. 2422
March 4 and 5, 1985

HISTORY OF NO FAULT

Between 1971 and 1975 twenty-six states passed bills
enacting No Fault Auto Insurance. One state, Nevada, has
repealed the 1legislation. In two others, New Mexico and
Illinois, the bills never became law. No state has passed a no
fault bill since 1975.

The only recent statute became effective in the District
of Columbia in 1983. 1Iun December 1984, the $5,000 threshold in
D.C. was struck down as unconstitutional by the U.S. District
Court for the District of Columbia.

The Kansas Automobile Injury Reparations Act (no fault
law) was enacted in 1973. The purpose of the Act, according to

K.S.A. 40-3102, is "to provide a means of compensating persons

promptly for accidental bodily injury arising out of the owner-

ship, operation, maintenance or use of motor vehicles in lieu

of liability for damages to the extent provided herein."”

The Kansas law provides for mandatory insurance with lia-
bility limits of $25,000/$50,000 per accident; Personal Injury
Protection (PIP) benefits for disability, survivor's benefits,
medical expenses, funeral benefits, rehabilitation expenses and

substitute service expenses. The PIP benefits provide "first
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party coverage"” and pay expenses for persons injured in
accidents.

There 1is a two-part "threshold"” in the no fault law.
Although the term is deceptive, the threshold is a bar or pro-
hibition from court unless the injured person meets the statu-
tory test. In the Kansas law the threshold is $500 in medical
expenses or “permanent disfigurement, fracture of a weight
bearing bone; a compound, comminuted, displaced or compressed
fracture; loss of a body member; permanent injury or loss of a
body function or death.”

As the handout indicates, the current Kansas law has, by
comparison, extremely low PIP benefits and an average
threshold.

Since the enactment of the Kansas no fault law in 1973,
the insurance industry has pushed for alterations. Almost
yearly there have been bills introduced proposing raises in the
PIP benefits and raises in the tort threshold. A bill finally
was passed by both Houses of the Legislature in 1983, but was
vetoed by Governor John Carlin. The subject was referred to an
interim study.

1984 INTERIM STUDY

The Special Committee on Judiciary was directed to study
the no fault law and "determine whether changes are needed in
the tort threshold, the 1level of personal injury protection

benefits, and other aspects of the law." For the first time in



this lengthy debate, the industry was asked to submit data on
the Kansas no fault experience. (A copy of the questionnaire
is enclosed). The Committee heard extensive testimony from the
insurance industry and the legal community and made the recom—
mendations included in H.B. 2011.

They are to enact the increases in PIP benefits proposed

in 1984 H.B. 2833 as summarized below:

PIP Benefits Current Proposed

Disability (loss
of earnings) $650/person/month  $1,200/person/month

Survivor's

benefit $650/person/month  $1,200/person/month
Medical expense $2,000/person $5,000/person
Funeral expense $1,000/person $2,500/person
Rehabilitation

expense $2,000/person $5,000/person
Substitute serv-

ice expense $12/day/person $22/day/person

The Committee also unanimously rejected the concept of
"indexing", a feature which appeared in the 1983 and 1984 pro-
posals. The index would automatically adjust PIP benefits and
the threshold according to the Consumer Price Index. The
Judiciary Committee felt that any changes should remain within

legislative discretion.

After lengthy debate, the Judiciary Committee recommended

no change be made in the tort threshold. A significant factor

in the Committee's decision was the testimon of two major
y



insurers on the premium increases which would result from a
raise in PIP benefits without an increase in the threshold.

State Farm Insurance told the Committee that premiums

would increase $3,10 per six—-month period and Western Insurance

quoted a $2.50 per six—month increase. The majority of the

Committee felt that the increase was negligible considering the
overal premium costs and was justified to insure those who
experience pain and suffering as a result of an automobile
accident. (Page 388 "Report on Legislative Interim Studies to
the 1985 Legislature").

KANSAS TRIAL LAWYERS POSITION ON H.B. 2011, H.B. 2422.

KTLA wholeheartedly supports the recommendation of the
Interim Committee on the tort threshold. The Association
opposed the imposition of the initial $500 bar to the courts
and strongly objects to raising or making more restrictive the
threshold provision.

Eight of the states with no fault laws (Oregon, South
Dakota, Delaware, Maryland, Arkansas, Texas, South Carolina and
Pennsylvania) have no restrictions to an injured victims right
to full recovery of damages. The no fault system provides for
payment of various tangible expenses, but no compensation for
"pain and suffering”. It is not difficult to comprehend that
the medical bills may not fully demonstrate the injuries

received in an auto collision.



Citizens can spend the rest of their lives in pain or with
a limited lifestyle due to a crash,. The PIP benefits pay for
only tangible expenses and do not compensate for other real
injuries.

Currently, many Kansas citizens have coverage which dupli-
cates PIP benefits. They have health insurance, disability
insurance, workers compensation and a variety of insurance
coverages which would pay bills. Raising PIP benefits, even to
the relatively modest level suggested in H.B. 2011, forces all
Kansans to purchase extra coverage which may duplicate their
current insurance.

Although the data submitted by insurance companies this
summer was 1incomplete and somewhat incomprehensible, the
responses indicate that more than half of Kansas drivers cur-
rently voluntarily purchase increased PIP benefits. The
increased benefits, far in excess of H.B. 2011, are very inex-
pensive (from $2.00 to $6.00 per year). These drivers would
receive no direct benefit from H.B. 2011 and would be required
to share the costs of mandatory increased coverage for other
Kansas drivers.

KTLA feels that it is an appropriate public policy choice
for the Legislature to weigh the merits of increased benefits.
Even though the costs are relatively modest (approximately $.50
per month), it may be too expensive for some citizens. Since

many Kansans already carry higher PIP benefits, and have other



insurance which duplicates the benefits, it might be better to
leave the existing system in place.. If more citizens were
driven out of the insurance market because of minor increases,
the net effect would be negative.

H.B. 2422 1is one more demonstration of the dinsurance
industry's attempt to convince the Legislature that it is good
public policy for people to be forced to buy insurance, to be
forced to purchase increased protection and to suggest that
they pay for the coverage by releasing their legal rights to
adequate compensation if they are injured.

For the first time, we have some specific insurance data
about no fault. According to their responses, approximately

71%2 of the auto claims fall under the existing $500 threshold.

Consequently, the threshold is effective in keeping small
claims and the vast majority of claims out of the court system.

The bill vetoed last year by the Governor had a $1,500
medical threshold and no change in the "“verbal" language. In
his message the Govermor said "H.B. 2833 would eliminate access
to the courts for certain Kansas citizens. There is 1little
evidence to indicate that our courts are unduly burdened by
automobile law suits. I am reluctant to restrict rights of all
citizens of this state unless there is compelling evidence that
the benefits received outweigh any potential harm. There is no
demonstration that H.B. 2833 would( enhance protection for

Kansas drivers.’



H.B. 2422 suggests that PIP benefits be increased by the
same level suggested in H.B. 2011 (about 2,5 times the existing
level) and that the threshold be drastically altered. There
would be no dollar amount which could qualify a Kansas citizen
to have access to the courts. Instead all victims' injuries

would have to meet a restricted or arbitrary test.

0174 Sec. 2. K.S.A.40-3117 is hereby amended to read as follows:
0175 40-3117. In any action for tort brought against the owner, opera-
0176 tor or occupant of a motor vehicle or against any person legally
0177 responsible for the acts or omissions of such owner, operator or
0178 occupant, a plaintiff may recover damages in tort for pain, suf-
0179 fering, mental anguish, inconvenience and other nonpecuniary
0180 loss because of injury only in the event the injury requires
0181 medieal treatment of a kind deseribed in this aet vy mediend
0182 benefits; having a reasonnble wulue of five hundred dolus
0183 ($500) er mere; or the injury consists in whole or in part of
0184 permanent disfigurement, « fraeture to o weishtbenring bones a
0185 compeound; comminuted; displuced or compressed frretures Joss
0186 of a body member, permanent injury within reasonable medical
0187 probability, permanent loss of a bodily function or death. Any
0188 person whe is entitled to receive free medien]l and suppieal
0180 benefits shall be deemed in complinnee with the requirements
0160 of this section upon a showing that the medieal treatment re-
0191 ecived has an equivalent value of at Jeast five hundred dolwms
G198 (5500 Any person recebving ordinney und necessury services;
0193 normally performed by a purses from a relative or a member of

The removed Jlanguage, including fractures to various
bones, is intended to further eliminate awards for pain and
suffering in these injuries. Anyone who has ever suffered a
break of a bone fitting into this definition can readily under-

stand that pain and suffering are an enormous part of these

injuries.'



The "verbal threshold” is the most restrictive and harsh
test for access to the courts. Only threee states, Florida,
Michigan and New York have this system. In all three, the ben-
efit package is exceedingly more generous than the new levels
suggested for Kansas.

Not only would this system guarantee more litigation to
determine which injuries fit the new formula, but undeniably
victims would be barred from full compensation. If an innocent
driver was injured by a drunk driver, regardless of the dollar
amount of the medical bills, the victim would have no access to
the courts unless the injuries fit this new narrow definition.
What about the pregnant woman who loses her baby? The young
whose legs are broken; should he be prevented from full compen-
sation?

Is $.50 per month too much to pay to allow citizens their
full legal rights? If it is, isn't the better choice to leave
the law alone and not force people to buy more coverage 1in
exchange for giving up access to the courts?

No one has to hire a lawyer; victims seek legal counsel
when they feel that they are not being treated fairly by insur-
ance companies, A new law penalizing delay in settling cases,
and awarding costs and expense to victims when companies resist
paying property damage claims would provide constitutents with

reasonable consumer protection.



The two tables from a 1979 national study by the All-
Industry (insurance) Research Advisory Committee shows that

only 12.5%2 of PIP claimants are eligible for a tort claim under

the existing Kansas law (far smaller than the 23.2% national
average). Table 8-12.

Table 8-15 indicates that of the very small number of
injured citizens in Kansas who now have access to the courts,
10.5% meet the "fracture” definition and 39.5 meet the "medical
expenses” threshold to qualify for court. These two groups,
approximately 51%Z of those citizens who are now able to seek
full recovery for their injuries, would be barred from court by
H.B., 2422,

CONCLUSION.

The Kansas Trial Lawyers Association urges the Legislature
to reject this blatant special interest legislation by the
insurance industry. If it is desirable to mandate that more
Kansas drivers have increased PIP benefits, we urge your favor-
able consideration of H.B. 2011, the recommendation of the
Special Judiciary Interim Committee.

Please do not trade citizens fights for 50 cents. There
is no compelling public policy to require that additional vic~-
tims should lose their rights to full recoveries. The monetary
costs of increased protection are extremely low, either man-
dated as PIP benefits or voluntarily purchased on the open

market. We urge the Legislature to resist the argument that



the only way to purchase more protection for Kansas drivers is
to restrict their access to the courts. Please vote to defeat

H.B. 2422,
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The study procedure followed in the auto injury closed claim study was to have each of
the participating companies complete the detailed questionnaire (Appendix A) for each bodily
injury liability, uninsured motorist liability, medical payments and personal injury protection
claim closed during 10 consecutive work days between October 2 and November 20, 1977.



Table 8-11 reveals the effect of such thresholds on the distribution of BI claims in the no-

5 fault states, where only 37.8 percent of the BI claims arose from injuries involving economic

T losses of $500 or less. By contrast, these small claims accounted for 67.4 percent of BI claims
in the tort states and 70.1 percent in add-on states, neither of which have thresholds.

Another way of measuring the impact of tort thresholds is presented in Table 8-12. It

shows, for each no-fault state, the percentage of PIP claimants judged by file reviewers to be

eligible for a tort claim in addition to their PIP payments. The question was posed in two dif-

TABLE 8-11
Distribution of Claimants By Size of Economic Loss
BI COVERAGE l
Size of Tort States No-Fault States Add-On States
Economic Loss Number %o Number Yo Number %o
$ 0- 500 9,028 67.4% 1,601 37.8% 2,997 70.1 %
501-1,000 1,713 12.8 697 16.4 500 11.7
Over 1,000 2,652 19.8 1,941 45.8 777 18.2
Total Valid Responses 13,393 100.0% 4,239 100.0% 4,274 100.0%

TABLE 8-12
Percentages of PIP Claims Eligible for Tort Claim and
Estimated Effect of No-Fault Thresholds

% of PIP % of PIP % of PIP
Claimants Claimants Claimants
Judged Eligible Judged Eligibl¢ Made Ineligible
Total For Tort Claim Total For Tort Claim| For Tort Claim

Number of Under Prior Number of Under By

State Claimants Tort Law Claimants  No-Fault Law Threshold

Colorado 469 54.6% 463 15.8% 38.8%
Connecticut 640 65.3 636 . 18.7 46.6
Florida 1,984 68.5 1,912 30.9 317.6
Georgia o 953 56.0 947 24.1 31.9
Hawaii 220 58.6 216 3.2 55.4
Kansas 325 52.9 321 12.5 40.4
Kentucky 451 52.8 443 10.4 42.4
Massachusetts 680 65.6 670 26.3 39.3
Michigan 1,053 56.1 994 6.0 50.1
Minnesota 5717 62.9 556 10.1 52.8
Nevada 95 70.5 92 21.7 48.8
New Jersey 2,070 68.7 2,058 35.2 33.5
New York 3,115 71.5 3,084 27.2 44.3
North Dakota 89 53.9 89 3.4 50.5
Pennsylvania 2,101 64.3 2,079 19.1 45.2
Utah 156 44.9 155 19.4 25.5
14,978 64.7 % 14,715 23.2% 41.5%

— 96—




TABLE 8-15 _
HOW THRESHOLD OVERCOME
Two-Week BI

Medical Permanent Loss of
Effective Threshold Dismemberment Permanent Bodily Dieability Medical
State Dste of Law Limitation Death  Disfigurement Injury Function Perfod Fracture  Expense Other
% of % of % of % of % of % of % of "% of
Total Total Total Total Total Tota) Total Total

New Jersey

1467)* 11713 $ 200 6% 6.2% 6.0% - 4% 8.8% 14.7% 3.2%
Connecticut ’

(118} 1/1/73 400 6.8 11.8 11.0 - .8 12.7 53.4 3.4
Colorado |

{68) 4/1/14 500 7.6 12.1 10.6 3.0% 1.5 - 57.6 7.6
Georgia ‘

(179 10/1/74 500 4.5 10.} 5.0 - 39.7 9.5 1.0 , 12.3
Kensus

1381 171774 500 5.3 18.4 13.2 — 2.6 10.5 38.5 ° 10.5
Massachusetts

{162) 1/1/7% 500 6.2 16.7 6.2 .6 1.2 32.9 30.9 5.6
New York

{H64) - 2/1/74%* 500 3.0 10.5 7.4 11 3.5 113 61.0 2.1
Utah .

{32) 117714 500 6.2 12.5 6.2 3.1 3.1 12.5 40.6 15.6
Nevada .

{26) 2/1/74 750 7.7 3.8 3.8 3.8 - 7.7 5.7 15.4
Pennsylvanis

(142) /19715 50 3.5 4.2 1.1 N 6.3 1.3 64.} 2.1
Florida -

1552) 1/1/772% 1,000 3.8 12.5 38.6 2.4 8.3 3.3 26.3 4.9
Kentucky L

1£2) 171718 1,000 9.1 4.5 13.6 - — 27.3 40.9 4.5
North Dakota

{3) 171776 1,000 - - — - 66.7 - 33.3 -
Hawaii

{6} 9/1/74 1,500 — 16.1 16.7 - - — 66.7. —
Minnesota

17 /1715 2,000 3.7 29.6 25,9 - 18.5 —_ 14.8 7.4
Michigan

57) 10/1/73 — 19.3 24.6 14.0 24.6 1.8 7.0 - 8.8

*Figures in parentheses show the number of BI claimants subject Lo the no-fault law. The claim count is less than in some other tables, in part because
some Bl claims in this study were filed prior 1o the effective dates of the various no-fault laws, and therefore were not subject to the tort thresholds,

**On 7/5/77 Florida changed to a days.of-disability threshold and on 6/20/78 changed to & verbal threshold. New York changed to a deys-of-disability

threshold on 8/11/78. RN ! -

Table 8-16 shpws the average payment received per $1 of economic loss by PIP claimants
in no-fault states and by MP claimants in tort states. Most injured persons had these cov-
erages available whether or not they were eligible for a tort recovery. The table shows that the
PIP coverage provided substantially higher reimbursement than the MP coverage, partic-
ularly for injuries involving large economic losses. Extent of reimbursement declined as
economic losses increased in size, in part because of coverage limits (see Tables 4-21 and
8.25). 7

An adjusted indication of the extent of reimbursement provided by MP is found in
column three, which shows the average payment per $1 of economic loss for MP claimants
after taking into account estimated wage losses. Since MP does not cover wage loss, the
claims presented to MP insurers generally do not include this element of loss, and as a re-
sult the reimbursement ratios shown in column two are not comparable to those shown for
PIP. The missing wage loss was estimated from comparable data collected on PIP claims in
no-fault states.

The reimbursement received by individuals collecting BI payments also differed by state

—99_



Michigan ~“-Fault Press Reference Manual

Public Relations Department, State Farm
Insurance Companies

Ly

TABLE OF STATE “NO-FAULT” LAWS

Index To State Listings

Arkansas E—103
Colorado E—104
Connecticut E—102
Delaware E-101
District of Columbia E—106
Florida E-101
Georgia E—104
Hawaii E~104
Kansas E—103
Kentucky E~-105
Maryland E—102
Massachusetts E-101
Michigan E—102
Minnesota E—105
Nevada E—~104
New lJersey E—~102
New York E—~102
North Dakota E—106
Oregon E—101
Pennsylvania E—105
South Carolina E--105
South Dakota E—101
Texas E—103
Utah E—103
Virginia E—102

F-5- 5

Rev, 11-42 F—100




PROVISIONS OF STATE “NO-FAULT” LAWS

Limitation on Damages ) Effective

State No-Fault Benefits For Pain and Suffering Vehicle Damage Date

Massachusetts $2,000 in benefits for Can recover only if medical Stays under tort system Jan. 1, 1971

’ medical, funeral, wage loss, costs excead $500, or in case alter Jan. 1, 1977. Prior
and substitute service ex- of death, loss of all or part to then, no tort liability:
penses. Wage loss and of body member, permanent for vehicle damage.
substitute service benefits and serious disfigurement,
are limited to 75% of actual loss of sight or hearing, or a
loss. ~ fracture.

Delaware $15,000 per person and None. But amount of no- Stays under tort system. Jan. 1, 1972,
$30,000 per accident. fault benefits received can't
Covers medical costs, loss of be used as evidence in suits
income, loss of services, and {or general damages.
funeral expenses (limited to
$3,000).

Florida $10,000 per person. Pays Cannot recover unless injury Stays under tort system. Jan. 1, 1972,
80% of medical costs; results in significant, perma- for original
60% of lost income; replace- nent loss of important body law. Provi-
ment services; and funeral function; permanent injury; sions at left ef-
costs (limited to $1,750). significant and permanent fective Oct. 1,
Deductibles of $250, $500, scarring or disfigurement; or 1982,
$1,000, and $2,000 available, | death.

Oregon $5,000 medical benefits. None. Stays under tort system, Jan. 1, 1972,
70% of wage loss up to $750 Jan. 1, 1974,
month. $18 a day substitute for benefits at
services, Wage loss and left,
substitute services paid from
first day if disability lasts 14
days; are limited to 52
weeks.

Sauth Dakota Purchase is optional. $2,000 None. Stays under tort system. Jan. 1, 1972,
in medical expense. $60
week for wage loss, starting
14 days alter injury, for up
to 52 weeks. $10,000 death
benefit.
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.

for medical, wage loss, and
substitute service benefits.
Wage loss: 80% of actual
loss with benefit limited to
$1,000 per month. Substi-
tute services benefits: $25 a
day for one year. In fatal
cases, estate gets $2,000 in
addition to above benelits,

disabled for 90 of the 180
days after accident, or Injury
causes dismemberment; sig-
nificant disfigurement; frac-
ture; loss of a fetus; perma-
nent loss of use of body
organ, member, function, or
system; permanent conse-
quential limitation of use of
body organ or member,
significant limitation of use
of body function or system;
or death.

system.

Limitation on Damages Effective
State No-Fault Benefits Pain and Suffering Vehicle Damage Date
Virginia Purchase is optional. $2,000 None Stays under tort July 1, 1972,
for medical and funeral system.
. costs. $100 week for wage
A loss with limit of 52 weeks.
Connecticut $5,000 benelits for medical, Cannot recover unless Stays under tort Jan. 1, 1973.
hospital, funeral (limit economic loss exceeds $400, system.
$2,000), lost wages, sur- or there is permanent injury,
vivors' loss, and substitute bone fracture, disfigurement,
service expenses. Wage dismemberment, or death.
loss, substitute service, and
survivors' bencfits limited to
85% of actual loss.
Maryland $2,500 in benetits for None. Stays under tort Jan. 1, 1973,
medical, hospital, funeral, system.
wage loss, and substitute
service expenses.
New Jersey Unlimited benefits for Motorist selects one of two Stays under tort Jan. 1, 1973,
medical and hospital coats. optional limitations. Option system. for original
Wage loss up to $100 a 1: Cannot recover if injuries law. July 1,
week for one year. Substi- are confined to soft tissue 1984, for this
tute services up to $12 a day and medical costs, exclusive version, .
for maximum of $4,380 per of hospital, x-ray and other
person. Funeral expenses of diagnostic expenses, are less
$1,000. Survivors’ benefits than $200; unless injury
equal to amount victim causes death, permanent
would have received if he disability, permanent signifi-
had not died. Motorist may cant disfigurement, perma-
exclude all benefits except nent loss of a bodily func-
medical and hospital. tion, or loss of a body
Medical coverage may be member. Option 2: Cannot
bought with deductibles of recover if medical expenses,
$500, $1,000, or $2,500. excluding hospital, x-ray and
g other diagnostic costs, are
less than $1,500 (adjusted
annually to reflect inflation);
unless injuries cauge death,
permanent disability, perma-
nent significant disfigure-
ment, permanent loss of a
body function, or loss of
body member.
Michigan Unlimited medical and Cannot recover unless in- Tort liability abol- Oct. 1, 1973.
hospital benefits. Funeral juries result in death, serious ished, except in cases
benefits up to $1,000. Lost impairment of body func- where damage is not
wages up to $1,47S per tion, or permanent serious over $400.
month, adjusted annually to disfigurement.
keep up with cost of living,
and substitute services of
$20 a day payable to victim
or survivor,
New York Aggregate limit of $50,000 Cannot recover unless Stays under tort Feb. 1, 1974,

for original
law.
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Limitation on Damages Effective
State No-Fault Benefits For Pain and Suffering Vehicle Damage Date
Arkansas Purchase is optional. None, Stays under July 1, 1974,

$5,000 per person tort system.
for medical and
hospital expenses.
Wage lozs: 70% of
lost wages up to
$140 a week, be-
ginning 8 days after
accident, for up to
52 weeks. Essential
services: up to $70
a week for up to 52
weeks, subject to
8-day waiting
period, Death
benefit: $5,000.

Utah $2,000 per person Cannot recover Stays under Jan. 1, 1974.
for medical and unless medical tort system. :
hospital expenses. expenses exceed
85% of gross $500, or injury
income loss, up to results in dismember-
$150 a week, for ment or fracture,
up to 52 weeks. permanent dis-
$12 a day for loss figurement,
of services for up permanent
to 365 days. Both disability, or
wage loss and service death.
loss coverages sub-
ject to 3-day waiting
periods that disappear
if disability lasts
longer than two weeks.
$1,000 funerai
benefit. $2,000
survivor's benefit,

Kansas $2,000 per person for Cannot recover Stays under Jan. 1, 1974.
medical expenses. unless medical tort system,

Wage loss: up to $650 costs exceed $500,
a month for one year. or injury results in
$2,000 for rehabili- permanent dis-
tation costs, Substi- figurement,

tute service benefits of fracture to a

$12 a day for 365 weight-bearing
days. Survivor's bone, a compound,
benefits: Up to comminuted, dis-
$650 a month for placed or com-
lost income, $12 a day pressed fracture,
for substitution bene- loss of a body

fits, for not over member, perma-
one year after death, nent injury,

minus any disability permanent loss of
benefits victim re- a body function,
ceived before death. or death.

Funeral benefit: $1,000,

Texas $2,500 per person None. Stays under 90 days after
overall limit. Covers tort system. adjournment
medical and {uneral ex- of 1973 reg-
penses, lost income, ular session.
and loss of services.

Purchase optional.
Hev. 941 E—103




State

Limitation on Damages

Effective

Rev, 9-79

$5,000. Up to §2,500
for medical costs.

85% of lost income
with maximum $200
week. $20 day for
necessary services.
Survivors' benefits same
as lost income benefits
had victim lived.
$1,500 funeral benefit,

less medical costs
exceed $500, disability
lasts 10 days, or injury
results in death, fractured
bone, permanent dis-
figurement, dismember-
ment, permanent loss
of body function,
permanent, partial or
total loss of sight or
hearing.

tort system.

No-Fault Benefits For Pain and Suffering Vehicle Damage Date
‘evada - Aggregate limit was Could not recover un- Stayed under Feb. 1, 1974,
$10,000. Paid for less medical benefits tort system.
| medical and rehabil- exceeded $750 or
: itation expenses; up injury caused chronic Repeal
 The Nevada to $175 a week for or permanent injury, effective
"no-fault law loss of income; up permanent partial or Jan. 1, 1980
was repealed to $18 a day for 104 permanent total dis- .
June 5, 1979 weeks for replace- ability, disfigurement,
ment services; sur- more than 180 days
vivor's benefits of of inability to work
not less than $5,000 at occupation, "
and not more than fracture of a major
victim would have bone, dismemberment,
gotten in disability permanent loss of a
benefits for 1 year, body function, or
and $1,000 for death. death.
Colorado $25,000 for medical Cannot recover un- Stays under Aprill, 1974.
expenses. $25,000 less medical and re- tort system.
for rehabilitation. habilitation services
Lost income: up to have reasonable
$125 a week forup | value of more than
to.52 weeks. Services: $500, or injury
up to $15 a day for causes permanent
up to 52 weeks. disfigurement,
Death benefit: permanent disability,
$1,000. dismemberment, loss
of earnings for more
than 52 weeks, or
death.
dawaii Aggregate limit of Cannot recover from Stays under Sept. 1, 1974.
$15,000, Pays for 9-1-74, to 8-31-76, unless tort system,
medical and hospital medical and rehabilitation
services; rehabilitation; expenses exceed $1,500.
occupational, psychi- Thereafter, must exceed
atric, and physical a floating threshold
therapy; up to $800 established annually by
monthly for income the insurance commis-
loss, substitute services sioner. Can also recover
and survivors' loss; if injury results in
and up to $1,500 for death; significant,
funeral expenses. permanent loss of use .
of body part or func-
tion; or permanent and
serious disfigurement
that subjects injured
person to mental or
emotional suffering.
Georgia Aggregate limit of Cannot recover un- Stays under Mar. 1, 1975.
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Limitation on Damages Enective

State No-Fault Benefits For Pain and Suffering Vehicle Damage Date
Kentucky Aggregate limit of Cannot recover unless Stays under July 1, 1975,

$10,000. Covers medical expenses ex- tort system.

medical expense; ceed $1,000, or injury

funeral expense resuits in permanent

up to $1,000; in- disfigurement; fracture

come loss up to of weight-bearing

$200 weekly, with bone; a compound,

as much as 15% comminuted, displaced

deducted for in- or compressed fracture;

come tax savings; loss of a body member;

up to $200 a week permanent injury;

each for replacement permanent loss of a

services loss, survivors body function; or

economic loss, and death. But limitation

survivors replace- does not apply to

ment services loss. those who reject no-

Motorist has right fault system or to

to reject no-fault. those injured by driver

who has rejected it.

Minnesota $20,000 for medical Cannot recover unless Stays under Jan. 1, 1975,

expense, $10,000 for medical expenses (not tort system,

other benefits, in- including X-rays and

cluding 85% of loat rehabilitation) exceed

income up to $200 $4,000; or disability

weekly; $200 a week exceeds 60 days; or

for replacement the injury results in

services, with 8-day permanent disfigure-

waiting period; up ment; permanent in-

to $200 weekly in jury; or death.

survivors economic

loss benefits; up to

$200 weekly for

survivors replace-

ment service loss;

and $1,250 for

funeral benefits.
South Carolina Aggregate limit of $1,000. None. Stays under Oct. 1, 1974.

Covers medical and funeral tort system.

costs, loss of earnings (if

desired), loss of essential

tervices, Purchase is

optional.
Pennsylvania Up to $10,000 for None. Stays under Oct. 1, 1984.

medical and rehabill- tort system.

tation costs, Up to

$5,000 for income loss,
limited to $1,000 per
month and 80 percent

of actual lost income;
includes benefits for

hiring substitute to perform
self-employment services
and hiring special help to
enable victim to work.

A funeral benefit of $1,500.
Motorists can buy optional
coverages with aggregate
limit up to $277,500. The
Pennsylvania’' Catastrophic
Loss Trust Fund provides up
to $1 million of coverage
for medical and rehabili-
tation expenses exceeding
$100,000.
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State

No-Fault Bencfits

Limitation on Damages
For Pain and Suffering

Vehicle Damage

Effective
Date

arth Dakota

‘Overall limit ol $15,000 per

person. Covers medical and
rehabilitation costs, up to
$150 a week for income loas,
up to $15 a day lor replace-
ment services, up to $150 a
week for survivurs income
loes, up to $15 a day for sur-
vivors replacement services
loss, and up to $1,000 lor
funeral expenses.

Cannot recover from insured
person unless injury results
in more than $1,000 in
medical expenses, more than
60 days of disability, serious
and permanent disfigure-
ment, dismemberment, or
death.

Stays under torl system.

Jan. 1, 1976,

District of Columbia

Medical and rehabilitation
benefits up to $100,000. Up
to $2,000 per month for
work loss, maximum
$24,000. Up to $50 per day,
limited to three years, for
replacement services (max-
imum of $24,000). Funeral
benefits up to $2,000.

Cannol recover unless
medical expenzes exceed
$5,000 (to be adjusted an-
nually to reflect cost-of-living
changes); medically
demonstrable impairment
disables victim for more
than 180 continuous days:
victim has substantial perma-
nent scarring or disfigure-
ment; victim has medically
demonstrable permanent im-
pairment that disables him;
or injury is fatal.

Stays under tort system.

Oct. 1, 1983,

Rev. 443
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Security Benefit Life Insurance Company
A Member of The Security Benefit Group of Companies

Date: March 5, 1985

To: The Honorable Rex Hoy, Chairman, and
Honorable Members, House Committee on Insurance

From: Wayne Morris, Assistant Counsel
Re: H.B. 2464 -- Money Market Mutual Funds

H.B. 2464 is one of the two bills dealing with investments by insurance
companies that were introduced at the request of the entire domestic
insurance industry.

As you know, the type of investments that may be made by insurance
companies are regulated by the terms of each state's insurance code.

In 1983 the Kansas Legislature amended the investment statutes by
enacting KSA 40-2a22 and 40-2b24, which allow insurance companies to
invest up to ten percent of their admitted assets in "open-end regulated
investment companies" or mutual funds. H.B. 2464 would amend these
two sections to permit companies to invest an unlimited amount in certain
money market mutual funds, with no more than 20 percent of assets

in any one money market mutual fund. These investments could be
made in any money market mutual fund that invests only in investments
authorized under: 1) 40-2a01 and 2b01 (U.S. bonds); 2) 40-2a02 and
2b02 (state or local bonds); 3) 40-2a03 and 2b03 (Canadian bonds);

4) 40-2a04 and 2b04 (foreign government bonds, limited to 5 percent);
40-2a05 and 2b05 (certain corporate bonds); and the fund must have
assets of at least $25 million.

| have asked Jane Tedder, Portfolio Manager for Security Benefit, to
briefly explain the difference between "ordinary" mutual funds and
money market mutual funds, the safe nature of investments in money
market mutual funds, and the reasons why this investment authority
is necessary.

Thank you for the opportunity to explain this bill, we will be happy
to answer any questions you may have.

WM/chb
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Memo

Date: March 5, 1985

To: The Honorable Rex Hoy, Chairman, and Honorable Members,
House Committee on insurance

From: Jane Tedder, Portfolio Manager, Security Benefit Group of
Companies

Re: H.B. 2464 -- Money Market Mutual Funds
I. Definition of terms

A. Mutual Funds: professionally managed, diversified portfolios
of securities assembled to meet specific investment objectives
such as growth or income.

B. Money Market Mutual Funds: mutual funds that invest in
short-term money market securities (such as U.S. Treasury
bills, Federal agency securities, or corporate debt obligations
maturing in less than one year) in order to provide relatively
risk-free investments that give a daily payment of competitive
short-term interest rates.

It. Twofold purpose of the amended section

A. To clarify the status of money market mutual funds as
investment vehicles in a separate category because of:

1. their short term nature.

2.  their liquidity.

3. their freedom from market risk (the net asset value
remains constant) 4

B. To allow for unlimited investment in money market mutual
funds when prudent, such as:

1. when economic conditions warrant holding short-term
liquid investments.
2. when cash inflows must be invested temporarily while

a suitable, more permanent investment is found.

NB/adi
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