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Date
MINUTES OF THE _House  COMMITTEE ON Transportation
The meeting was called to order by Representatizicgi;;imzilbert at
__£139_~%§§&1m.0n March 20 1985 in room __219=5 &f the Capitol.

All members were present except: Representative John Sutter, excused.

Committee staff present:

Hank Avila, Legislative Research Department
Fred Carman, Office of the Revisor of Statutes
Donna Mulligan, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Sgt. Bill Jacobs, Kansas Highway Patrol

Mrs. Mary Turkington, Kansas Motor Carriers Association

Mr. Ron Desch, Kansas Department of Revenue

Mr. Harley Duncan, Kansas Department of Revenue

Ms. Shari Fiest, Kansas Corporation Commission

Mr. Jim Sullins, Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association

Mr. Ray Rathert, State of Kansas Insurance Department

Mr. Steve Wiechman, Kansas Automotive Dismantlers Association

The meeting was called to order by Vice-Chairman Larry Wilbert, and the
first order of business was a hearing on SB-318 concerning vehicles with
gross weight in excess of that for which registered.

Sgt. Bill Jacobs of the Kansas Highway Patrol testified in favor of
SB-318. (See Attachment 1)

Sgt. Jacobs said the bill as written would require the owner or operator
of a vehicle in violation of their maximum gross weight to pay the dif-
ference in the cost of their registered weight and the weight at which
they were actually operating, plus an additional $75 fine.

Mrs. Mary Turkington of the Kansas Motor Carriers appeared in support of
SB-318, and urged passage of the bill.

Mr. Ron Desch, of the Revenue Department testified favorably concerning
SB-318.

The hearing on SB-318 was concluded.

The next order of business was a hearing on SB-321 concerning vehicle
dealer license plates.

Mr. Harley Duncan of the Kansas Department of Revenue, presented favor-
able testimony concerning SB-321. (See Attachment 2)

Mr. Duncan said SB-321 attempts to reduce potential misuse of dealer
tags, and outlined suggested amendments to the bill.

Ms. Shari Fiest of the Kansas Corporation Commission appeared on behalf
of Mr. Bill Green, in support of SB-321. (See Attachment 3)

She said the KCC supports Section 5 of SB-321, which was added by the
Senate Transportation and Utilities Committee to clarify the intent of
SB-591 which was enacted during the 1984 legislative session. 1984
session SB-591 pertained to regulation of local wreckers by the KCC.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
been transeribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not
been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for

editing or corrections. Page 1 Of _2_._.




CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE __House COMMITTEE ON Transportation
room _519-8 Statehouse, at _.1:30  %¥&X/p.m. on March 20 19.85

Mr. Jim Sullins, of the Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association, testified
in support of SB-321. (See Attachment 4)

Mr. Sullins told the Committee the Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association
would like to suggest an amendment which would state that anyone who
does not sell at least 12 vehicles during a calendar year may purchase
only one dealer license plate.

Mr. Ray Rathert of the State of Kansas Insurance Department testified
on SB-321. (See Attachment 5)

Mr. Rathert said the cost of the bond referred to in SB-321 is estimated
to be $10 per thousand of the penal amount, and the cost of a $20,000
bond would be $200.

He referred to Section 2, subsection (i) (A) on Page 9 of SB-321 and
stated the negative connotation of this provision will automatically
eliminate numerous carriers from consideration of the bond.

Mr. Steve Weichman, attorney representing the Kansas Automotive Dis-
mantlers and Recyclers Association, gave favorable testimony concerning
SB-321. (See Attachment 6)

Mr. Wiechman proposed the following language be added at Line 422 after
the Senate Committee amendment: ‘'"or to any salvage vehicle dealer who
has not reported to the Division the purchase of at least five motor
vehicles for dismantling, disassembling or recycling or the surrender of
at least five vehicle titles to the Division."

The meeting was adjourned at 3:20 p.m.

Crowell, Chairman
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GUEST LIST

COMMITTEE:  Transportation  DATE: 3-20-55
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SUMMARY OF TESTIMONY

BEFORE THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

SENATE BILL 318

Presented by the Kansas Highway Patrol
(Sergeant William A. Jacobs)

March 20, 1985

The Patrol requested introduction of Senate Bill 318 and urges
favorable consideration of the bill.

The bill concept is simply to require persons who are hauling
weight in excess of their registered gross weight limitation to
properly register their vehicles for the proper classification
needed for their particular needs.

The bill as written would require the owner or operator of a
vehicle in violation of their maximum gross weight to pay the
difference in the cost of their registered weight and the weight
at which they were actually operating, plus an additional $75.00
fine. The fine is intended to be a deterrent to violation of the
registration laws and an incentive to voluntary compliance. It
would make it 1less lucrative for an owner or operator to
intentionally under-register their maximum gross weight limitation
to save the cost of a higher weight limit.
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JOHN CARLIN Governor
MICHAEL LENNEN Chairman
MARGALEE WRIGHT Commissioner
KEITH R. HENLEY Commissioner

&afe Cor/ooraﬁon C)ommiddion

Fourth Floor, State Office Bldg.

JUDITH A. McCONNELL Executive Secretary Ph. 913/296-3355
BRIAN J. MOLINE General Counsel
B “ TOPEKA, KANSAS 66612-1571

STATEMENT PRESENTED ON MARCH 20, 1985, TO THE HOUSE

TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE BY THE STATE CORPORATION

COMMISSION OF KANSAS ON SENATE BILL NO. 321

MR. CHAIRMAN AND MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE, I AM BILL GREEN, ADMINISTRATOR
OF THE TRANSPORTATION DIVISION OF THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION. I
APPEAR TODAY IN SUPPORT OF SECTION 5 OF SENATE BILL 321. SECTION 5 WAS
ADDED BY THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION AND UTILITIES COMMITTEE TO CLARIFY

THE INTENT OF SENATE BILL 591 WHICH WAS ENACTED DURING THE 1984

LEGISLATIVE SESSION.

SENATE BILL 591 WAS ENACTED IN 1984 AND IT REQUIRES THE COMMISSION TO
REGULATE LOCAL WRECKERS. AS A RESULT OF THAT BILL, USED VEHICLE DEALERS,
USED MOBILE HOMES DEALERS, MANUFACTURERS OF MOTOR VEHICLES, TRAILERS, OR
SEMI-TRAILERS, MOBILE HOME MANUFACTURERS, FIRST AND SECOND STAGE
MANUFACTURERS, FIRST AND SECOND STAGE CONVERTERS, DISTRIBUTORS, AND
WHOLESALERS ARE NO LONGER EXEMPT FROM K.C.C. REGULATIONS WHEN OPERATING
WITH A DEALERS TAG. THE COMMISSION, THE COMMISSION'S STAFF AND SEVERAL
OTHER AGENCIES INVOLVED IN THE ENFORCEMENT OF OUR STATUTES AND
REGULATIONS DO NOT BELIEVE THAT THE LEGISLATURE INTENDED TO EXPAND THE
COMMISSION'S JURISDICTION TO THE ABOVE FIRMS AND INDIVIDUALS WHEN
OPERATING WITH A DEALER TAG. SECTION 5 CLARIFIES THE RELATIONSHIP

#f?‘@ Elrs >
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OF THE PREVIOUSLY MENTIONED VEHICLE DEALERS WHO PRIOR TO SENATE BILL
591 (1984 SESSION) WERE EXEMPT FROM THE COMMISSION'S JURISDICTION.
(SEE LINES 0622 - 0626 ON PAGE 17)

AT THIS TIME, SHOULD YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS I WILL ATTEMPT TO ANSWER THEM.

3/18/85



Statement before the
HOUSE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATICN
by the
KANSAS MOTOR CAR DEALERS ASSOCIATION
on
Senate Bill 321
Wednesday, March 20, 1985

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee, I am Jim Sullins, Executive
Vice President of Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association, the state trade asso-
ciation representing 385 franchised new car and truck dealers in Kansas. We
would first 1ike to thank Secretary of Revenue Harley Duncan and his staff for
their cooperation and assistance during the summer months in working with the
ad hoc committee, which was appointed to study the use of dealer tags, the
problems surrounding dealer tags, and the dealer licensing law. Secretary Duncan
and his staff have worked together with KMCDA since the final report of the ad hoc
committee, and we are in agreement that SB 321 is necessary legislation and a good

first step toward curbing the abuse of dealer tags.

To give you a brief history of the bill, some of you will remember that ‘the
Senate committee discussed SB 600 of the 1984 session. That bill would have
repealed all use of dealer tags, except for use dealing with the actual demonstra-
tion or exhibition of vehicles by vehicle dealers. The committee took no action
on SB 600 last year, and in conjunction with a report made by the House Ways and
Means Subcommittee on the Department of Revenue budget, an ad hoc committee was
appointed to study the use of dealer tags. That ad hoc committee, appointed by
the Secretary of Revenue, was the Dealer Review Board. It was felt that the Dealer
Review Board would be the appropriate committee, rather than appointing a group of
individuals who were removed from the industry. KMCDA worked very closely with
the Secretary and the Dealer Review Board and formulated proposals that were pre-
sented to the Dealer Review Board for their consideration.

We recognize SB 321 is not a cure-all. Abuses exist, and will continue to
exist, even with the passage of SB 321. As with any law, someone is always going
to try to take advantage of it, but we feel that it will be must more difficult
to circumvent the law and the provisions of SB 321 if SB 321 is enacted. It wiTl
strengthen, tremendously, the requirements to receive a dealer license and require-

ments to maintain a dealer Ticense.

3 fid/f%"
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Senate Bi11 321 addresses several areas in the dealer-manufacturer-
salesman licensing act (KSA 8-2401 et seq.). It is necessary to direct your
attention to several different sections because there is not one clear-cut, easy
solution to this problem. In fact, there are several factors entering the overall
problem which SB 321 attempts to address.

KMCDA sees one of the problems and factors as being the ease with which one
may receive a dealer license. It is quite simple for someone to become licensed
as a motor vehicle dealer in the state of Kansas. I would Tike to point out that
during the testimony, we will use two different terms which are easily confused.
The dealer license is the physical piece of paper displayed in the dealership which
permits the operation as a motor vehicle dealership. The dealer tag is the license
plate affixed to a vehicle (just Tike your regular street tag on the back of your
car). These are the two different terms: the license, which is the authority, and
the tag, the means to demonstrate or drive a vehicle on the street. By meeting a
few simple requirements, one can qualify for a dealer's license. Those requirements
may be found in the statutes (KSA 8-2401) as well as portions of this bill.

One of the requirements is to have an established place of business. You
will find a definition of this on page 6, line 204, subparagraph (ii). The esta-
blished place of business has to be owned either in fee or lease and has to be a
place to keep records and receive mail. On Page 11, Tine 381, another requirement
of the established place of business is to have sufficient lot space to display
vehicles equal to the number of dealer tags issued to the dealership by the Dealer
Licensing Bureau. Therefore, if you have 10 dealer tags, you should have lot space
available to display 10 vehicles. Additional requirements to receive a dealer
Ticense can be found on Tines 386 and 389; 386 being that there must be a sign
easily visible from the street and line 389 being that the established place of
business must be properly zoned if such ioning requirements exist. I think you
would agree with me that these are fairly simple requirements to meet, and personally,
I could probably obtain a Ticense tomorrow if I so desired. With simple requirements,
it makes it very inviting to use a dealer Ticense as a means of getting around
titling and registration of personally owned vehicles. We feel this is one of the
problems,whereby an individual, for $50 for the dealer license and $10.50 for the
first dealer tag, would spend $60.50 to become a dealer--meeting the very minor
requirements. Then he could purchase several dealer tags to put his family, kids,
etc.,on and avoid a tremendous amount of personal property tax and sales tax on

those individually held vehicles.



In an effort to strengthenthe requirements to obtain a license, new language
has been added in SB 321 to the previously mentioned requirements. In Tine 204
under "Established place of business", you will find that it also now reqguires
that there be an operable telephone which is listed in the directory and connected
to the local exchange. This is felt to be necessary as any legitimate business
would want to have their phone listed in the telephone book and want to be reached,
and it should simply be one of the licensing requirements. Additionally, in that
same subsection, it has been added that the established place of business have
posted hours of business where the public can find out when the business is open.
In many cases, it is difficult to find a small, used car operation open. People
will go and it will simply have a wood sign hung over the door and no one is ever
there. These are the "fly-by-night" operations which we feel are probably not
really in the vehicle business and are abusers of dealer tags; but not necessarily
the sole abusers. Also, with the sign provision (which is required to be easily
visible from the street), we think there should be a stipulation where there would
be at least six-inch lettering on the sign. Again, just one more thing someone

has to go through to get the initial dealer license.

Another step in the bill which would strengthen the initial Ticense require-
ment can be found in lines 354 through 370. This would require that a $20,000
surety bond be posted by the applicant or licensee with the Division of Vehicles.
The bond would have to be posted and maintained before an initial license could
be issued or before a renewal application could be processed and maintained in force
during the period that the license is held. Dropping of the bond itself would con-
stitute forfeiture of license and the Division of Vehicles would be able to recall
the dealer license as well as the dealer tags. We feel this is a necessary provi-
sion to assist in preventing the "fly-by-night" operators from being licensed.

An insurance company, we feel, would be very careful in screening an applicant
for a $20,000 bond, and this would simply be another safeguard which would help
assure that the applicant or an existing dealer were legitimately in the vehicle

business.



Turning now to the use of dealer tags specifically and in general, in an
attempt to deter someone from getting a license solely for the purpose of avoiding
personal property and taxes taxes as we previously mentioned, on lines 413 and 414
you will see that the fee for the initial dealer tag has been changed from $10.50
to $250. This is after the $50 dealer Ticense has been paid. From that point on,
each additional tag would remain $10.50 which is current law. This would substan-
tially increase the initial cost of becoming a dealer to a total of $300 for the
license and initial tag, plus the cost of the bond, estimated at approximately
$100 - $125. We are now talking in the neighborhood of $425 in an initial invest-
ment and annual reinvestment to be a vehicle dealer. This getsup to be on par
with possible property taxes, depending upon the individuals Tocation, and would,
we feel, be a deterrent to someone simply applying for a license for the purpose

of getting dealer tags.

KMCDA wholeheartedly supports the increase in the first dealer tag, even
though some of our dealers who have been in business for many, many years will have
a substantial increase in cost. We feel that for the good of the vehicle industry

statewide, this is a very important portion of the bill.

The final section of SB 321 provides for a new type of tag for vehicle dealers.
Currently under exsiting statutes, a regular dealer tag or D-tag, can be used by
the dealer and his spouse; by fulltime, corporate officers of the dealership; and by
the sales manager and fulltime salespeople of the dealership. These are the only
individuals who are allowed personal use of dealer tags. In Section 4 of the bill,
you will find the provisions for what is called a "full privilege" tag. This 1is
something KMCDA has been toying with for several years. It would allow dealers to
purchase, for a premium price, a regular tag such as you have on your personal car,
and would allow the dealer to distribute those tags to any employee of the dealership

or person, such as a child, at the discretion of the dealer.

As previously stated, use of the dealer tag is restricted to certain individuals,
and this would allow dealers to also provide demonstrators to service managers, parts
managers, office managers and other key dealership personnel, as well as children
who are living at home or away at school. With implementation of the full privilege
tag, dealers would be allowed a way to get away from violating the dealer tag law
by putting the previously mentioned individuals on a full privilege tag, rather than
taking a chance of putting them on a regular dealer tag.



KMCDA feels that this is a very necessary provision in the bill as dealers
want to be able to provide their managers with vehicles. This is seen, at
Teast in some degree, as being a fringe benefit of the job, and managers expect
to have a company car provided. It becomes a bargaining tool in negotiating
with an individual concerning employment and continued employment. Under the
current D-tag laws, these managers are not eligible, so dealers end up using
dealer tags illegally to provide these key employees with vehicles. The same
goes with the children of the dealers. Dealers feel like they should be able
to provide a car to a child who, for example, is in school at one of the univer-
sities or colleges in Kansas. By providing a full privilege tag, dealers would
be able to legally put that tag on one of their inventory vehicles and allow that
child to use it and to get away from the dealer tag provision and problems which
arise with the abuse of dealer tags.

You will note in Subsection B of new Section 4 that the annual fee proposed
is $350. The Dealer Review Board, in their study of this issue, felt that $200
would be a fair price for a dealer to pay for one of these tags. Secretary of
Revenue Duncan, in his report to you, stated that is is his feeling that $500
was the price that should be set. When I went before the Senate Committee to ask
for introduction of SB 321, it was decided as a compromise at that time that the
bi11 would be introduced at the $350 level, being halfway between the Dealer
Review Board's proposed $200 and the Secretary of Revenue's $500.

KMCDA feels that the $350 price may be a little high, and we would propose
that Tine 475 of the bill be amended to read $250 instead of $350.

While it is hard, not only for us, but for the Secretary of Revenue's office,
to arrive at a fajr and equitable, statewide fee, we feel that the $350 would be
a 1little high. Where the larger counties have higher mill rates, $350 may be more
in Tine with the cost there; but when you go into Western Kansas where the mill
Tevy is traditionally much lower, $350 would be way out of proportion for dealers
in that area. We feel $250 would be a good middle ground to seek in this parti-

cular area.



Section 4 goes on to say that the full privilege tag may be transferred
by the dealer to any vehicle in inventory. This is the same way current D-tags
are being transferred. Full privilege tags would not be able to be used on
leased or rental vehicles; used to haul commodities in excess of 2 tons; nor
could they be used on what's commonly known as a wrecker or tow truck when
providing wrecker or towing services. This echoes KSA 8-136 which defines the
Tegal use of a dealer tag. Full privilege tags would be used in basically the
same manner as a regular dealer tag, and the prohibitions that apply to the
dealer tag would also apply to the full privilege tag.

Subsection F allows for the allotment of the fees received from the sale
of the full privilege tag; Half of the fees received would go to the county
treasurer's office in the county which the dealer has his established place of
business. The other 50% of the fees would go to the Secretary of Revenue's
office. It would be credited to the vehicle dealers and manufacturers fee fund

which is being created by the bill.

It was the feeling of the Dealer Review Board when they studied this that
fees generated by the full privilege tag should, in turn, be used by the Dealer
Licensing Bureau to step up enforcement of the dealer licensing law. That is the
reason that we are asking that half of the fee be directed back to the Secretary
of Revenue and the Dealer Licensing Bureau. We feel this is very important
and is one of the reasons that we are so supportive of the bill.

Obviously, there is quite a bit of an increase in cost to the franchised
dealer, as well as the other dealers, but we recognize that one of the biggest
problems is with the actual enforcement of the current statutes of the
dealer Ticensing law and the use of dealer tag. The fact is that the Department
of Revenue does not have an adequate staff to properly enforce the law. It is
quite impossible for the department, with two fulltime field men and four part-
time field men to go out and adequately police the use of dealer tags in the
State. With so few people enforcing, it makes it very inviting to dealers to
attempt to violate the D-tag law because there is a small chance of being caught.
We think this money should be channelled back directly to the Department of Revenue
to be used at the Secretary's discretion to step up the enforcement of the Taw and
to obtain additional field personnel, as necessary, to go out and check the dealers
and go through the dealerships to make sure dealer tags are being properly used.



You may wonder why the dealers would want to pay for this type of tag
rather than to title and register a vehicle. There are several reasons. The
most important, as far as our dealers are concerned, is the depreciation factor
incurred when a new vehicle is titled and registered. Under Kansas law, a vehicle
is considered new until such time as the Manufacturer's Statement of Origin is
transferred to a consumer and a regular certificate of title is issued. At that
point, the vehicle becomes used. There is no mileage factor or any other provision
to denote the difference between a new and a used vehicle. For example, a dealer
could title a vehicle that only had ten miles on the odometer, and that vehicle
would then have to be sold as a used vehicle and could not be represented as a new
vehicle. When the dealer titles and registers a vehicle, he incurs property tax as
does the individual, as well as sales tax based on the cost of the vehicle to the
dealer from the manufacturer. As you all know, when a vehicle is titled and becomes
used, there is substantial,initial decrease in the value of that vehicle. That
is the depreciation factor. The cost in total to the dealer, by titling and regis-
tering the vehicle and making that new vehicle a used vehicle, is quite high. The
dealers don't want to knock down the price of the vehicle that much.

Additionally, when a vehicle is titled, the warranty begins running and
there is no way to regenerate the warranty on that vehicle. It is only good for
the 12 months or 12,000 miles, or whatever the manufacturer's warranty is, from
the date of title. On a demonstrator vehicle, for example, the warranty begins
to run when the vehicle is put into demonstrator service and reported by the
dealer to the manufacturer. However, at the time of sale to the ultimate consumer,
the warranty, ‘for a minor fee, generally in the neighborhood of $50, can be regen-

erated to the consumer's benefit.

These are two of the reasons we see that this full privilege tag is necessary.
Without it, the possibility exists for the dealers to continue to violate the
dealer tag law by putting vehicles into demonstrator service and permitting
unauthorized persons (such as service managers, etc.) to drive those vehicles

on D-tags.

Subsection C states that the license plate would have an expiration date of
January 31. The reason for this is because all dealer tags expire on Dec. 31 techni-
cally, but there is an extensjon of 45 days granted to Feb. 15, so the Dealer
Licensing Bureau has time to receive applications and to have dealer license tags
made. In order to allow the Department -ample time to.issue full privilege tags in
the same manner, January 31 was chosen to approximate the expiration date of

February 15 (including the extension).



Secticn G on Tine 513 is a simnle statement that the provisions of KSA 8-136
and 8-2406 sihall not apply to the full privilege tags. This is included because
those two specific statutes address the proper use of the D-tag, and those pro-
visions should nat be construed to apply to the full privilege tag.

Mr. Chairman and members of the committee, the Senate made two amendments

to the bill which are found on lines 419 and 440.

On lines 419-422, a stipulation was added so that after the first year of
Ticense, a dealer who did not sell at least five vehicles during the previous year
would not receive d-tags for the new year. He would still be able to acquire a
dealer license which would allow him to assign titles, etc., but would not have
dealer tags. This is aimed at ge*ting those 800+ dealers who sold 0-5 vehicles
last year off dealer tags. Those &10+ dealers are the ones whom we question as

to really being in the vehicle business.

As an option to the Senate amendment, we would like to offer an amendment
which we think will accomplish basically tre same thing, but will still allow a
dealer to have one D-tag. We would ask that the bill be amended to read:

"After the end of the first year of licensure as a dealer, any
dealer who has not reported to the division the sales of at least
twelve motor vehicles in the preceding yea: may purchase only one
dealer license plate until such time that the reported sales exceed

twelve during the calendar year."

The purpose of this amendment is to make sure that even the smallest of
operations has at least one tagon vhichthey can demonstrate vehicles. Under
the Senate amendment, a licensee would not be able to demonstrate any vehicle
offered for sale as the licensee would not have any dealer tags. W7th our pro-
posed amendment, we reach a little Targer segment of the dealer population, but
in turn, allow the dealer to purchase the first dealer license plate at a cost
of $250. We feel that the required sale of 12 vehicles is proper as that is
only one vehicle per month, and anyone who is in the business of selling vehicles
has to sell at least one per month to be able to make a Tiving.



Should you decide not to amend the bill as we have requested, we hone that
you will retain the Senate amendment. We support the Seante amendment and only

offer this as an alternative.

The second Senate amendment in lines 440-443 makes it clear that for a sales
person to be eligible for use of D-tag, they must work in the dealership at
Jeast 20 hours per week. This provision was added to give the Division better
direction as to who is a "full-time" salesperson. KMCDA supports the Senate

amendment.

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee, we think SB 321 is good and
effective legislation. As we stated at the outset, while it may not be the

cure-all for abuses, it is certainly a very good first step.

We urge your favorable consideration to our proposed amendments, as well
~as a favorable report on SB 321 to the full House.

* Thank you for your time, and I would be happy to answer any questions you

may have.



INSURANCE DEPARTHENT
Topeka

MEMORANDUM

TO: Mr. Rex Crowell
Representative, 76th District
Chairman, House Transportation Committee
FROM: Kansas Insurance Department
SUBJECT: Senate Bill No. 321
DATE: March 21, 1985

The following comments summarize remarks presented by Raymond E. Rathert at
the meeting of the House Transportation Committee on March 20, 1985.

The cost of the bond referred to in Senate Bill No. 321 is estimated to be
$10 per thousand of the penal amount. The cost of a $20,000 bond would be
$200.

.In conferring with bonding companies that would offer this kind of bond in
Kansas, we were advised that the bonding company likes to see a working
capital of two to three times the penal amount of the bond. In other words,
if the bond is written for $20,000, the bonding company will hope to find
working capital of $40,000 to $60,000. In addition, the bonding company
will also examine the net worth of the applicant. The general standard is
to find net worth amounting to three to five times the penal amount of the
bond. In the event of a $20,000 bond, the bonding company will hope to see
a net worth of the principal in the amount of $60,000 to $100,000.

A comment was also provided in regard to Section 2, subsection (i)(A) found
on page 9 of Senate Bill No. 321. This particular section provides in part
that "if the director has a reasonable cause to doubt the financial
responsibility or the compliance by the applicant or licensee..., the
director may require the applicant or licensee to furnish and mzintain a
bond in such form, amount and with such sureties as the director approves,
but such amount shall not be less than $5,000 nor more than $15,000...".
The comment was made to the effect that this proviso would leave a bonding
company suspect of the client because of the possibility of adverse
selection. If the director has reasonable cause to doubt the financial
responsibility of the applicant, certainly a bonding company will also have
the same suspicions and more than likely would not want to voluntarily
provide the bond. The negative connotation of this provision will
automatically eliminate numerous carriers from consideration of the bond.
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We are hopeful that the above comments will be satisfactory to the needs of
the committeej; however, should you have any additional questions, please do
not hesitate to contact the Kansas Insurance Department.
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RKANSAS AUTOMOTIVE DISMANTLERS AND RECYCLERS ASSOCIATION

HOUSE TRAMSPORTATION COMMITTEE
MArRcH 20, 1985

SENATE BILL NO. 321

MR. CHAIRMAN, MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE:

I AM STEVEN R. WIECHMAN, ATTORNEY FOR THE KANSAS AUTOMOTIVE

DISMANTLERS AND RECYCLERS ASSOCIATION- WITH ME IS PATRICIA

WIECHMAN, ON REHALF OF THE ASSOCIATION. WE APPRECIATE THE

OPPORTUMITY TO APPEAR BREFORE YOU REGARDING SENATE BILL NO ST 571
WHICH IS THE RESULT OF THE JOINT EFFORTS OF THE DEALER REVIEW
BOARD, THE KANSAS MOoTOR CAR DEALERS ASSOCIATION, THE NDIVISION OF

VEHICLES AND OUR ASSCCIATION-

K.A.D-R-A. HAD THE PRIVILEGE OF WORKING

DURIMG THE SUMMER,
TO REACH A SOLUTION TO SOME OF THE PROBLEMS EXISTING WITHIN THE

AREA OF DEALER LICENSING- THOSE PROBLEMS INCLUDED THE

REQUIREMENTS TO BECOME A DEALER, THE IMAGE DEALERS PORTRAY AMD
THE EASE WITH WHICH A PERSON CAN RECEIVE A DEALEPS LICENSE. THE
USE OF DEALER LICENSE PLATES AND THEIR NEED AS A TOOL IN VEHICLE
SALES WAS ALSO DISCUSSED-

K.A.D.R.A. SUPPORTS SENATE BiILL 321, BELIEVING THAT IT WILL
THE

ADDRESS AND SOLVE MANY OF THE CONCERNS THAT EXIST- HOWEVER,

SENATE TRANSPORTATION AND UTILITIES COMMITTEE ADDED LANGUAGE AT
LINE 419 THROUGH LINE 422 WHICH REQUIRES THAT "“. . - NO DEALER
LICENSE PLATE SHALL BF ISSUED TO ANY DEALER WHO HAS NOT REPORTED
TO THE DIVISION THE SALE OF AT LEAST FIVE MOTOR VEHICLES IN THE
PRECEDING YEAR-"
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HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE PAGE 2
MArRcH 20, 1985 SEMNATE BILL No. 321

AS THE NAME OF OUR ASSOCIATION INDICATES, WE ARE AUTOMOTIVE

DISMANTLERS AND RECYCLERS. WHILE SALVAGE VEHICLE DEALERS MAY
PURCHASE COMPLETE VEHICLES DURING THE COURSE OF A YEAR, THE SAME
DEALER MAY NEVER SELL ONE WHOLE OR COMPLETE VEHICLE- THE
VEHICLES THAT THE SALVAGE VEHICLE DEALERS HANDLE, AFTER
DISMANTLING, ARE MANY TIMES SOLD EITHER AS PARTS OR ARE CRUSHED-

SALVAGE VEHICLE DEALERS AND !JSED/SALVAGE VEHICLE DEALERS
ARE REQUIRED TO FILE QUARTERLY REPORTS WITH THE DIVISION OF
VEHICLES- ACCORDING TO DIVISION RECORDS, IN 1984, THERE WERE
L55 DEALERS LICENSED AS SALVAGE DEALERS. THE DEALER QUARTERLY
REPORTS SHOW THAT 183 OF THOSE DEALERS DID NOT REPORT ANY
PURCHASES FOR SALVAGE OR SURRENDER ANY TITLES. FIFTY FOUR (54)
SALVAGE DEALERS REPORTED 1 TO 5 PURCHASES FOR DISMANTLING OR
SURRENDERED TITLES- THEREPORE N 257 oR "'B20) L OF | "THE . SALMAGE
LFCENSE 'HolDERS PURCHASED; 8. 510 .5 ¢ VEHICLES ; IN 1984, oOR
SURRENDERED 5 OR FEWER TITLES- WE RELIEVE THAT THE SAME
STANDARD OF A MINIMUM OF FIVE (5) PURCHASES FOR SALVAGE OR
TITLES SURRENDERED SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO GET A SALVAGE VEHICLE
DEALER LICENSE-

ARSENT THIS REQUIREMENT, I BELIEVE THAT THERE IS A VOID OR
" OOPHOLE” IN THE LAW- A DOUBLE STANDARD EXISTS. ONE THAT WITH
WHICH SALVAGE VEHICLE DEALERS CANNOT COMPLY IN MAKING VEHICLE
SALES-

IN ORDER TO MAKE THIS LEGISLATION WORKABLE, WE PROPOSE TO
ADD THE FOLLOWING LANGUAGE AT LINE U422 AFTER THE SENATE'S

LANGUAGE:



HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE PAGE 3
MARcH 20, 1985 SENATE BILL No. 321

", . . OR TO ANY SALVAGE VEHICLE DEALER WHO HAS NOT
REPORTED TO THE DIVISION THE PURCHASE OF AT LEAST FIVE
MOTOR VEHICLES FOR DISMANTLING, DISASSEMBLING OR
RECYCLING OR THE SURRENDER OF AT LEAST FIVE VEHICLE
TITLES TO.TUE BEVISION-"
WE BELIEVE THAT THIS WILL PROVIDE A STANDARD FOR SALVAGE VEHICLE
DEALERS AND ALLOW THE SALVAGE VEHICLE DEALER WHO DISMANTLES AND
MAY 'NOT EVER |SELL% A FULLY ASSEMBLED VEHICLE TO REMAIN  IN
BUSINESS AND RECEIVE DEALER LICENSE PLATES. WITHOUT THIS, OR A
SIMILAR PROVISION, THE LANGUAGE AT LINE 419 THROUGH LINE 422
WILL CERTAINLY CAUSE THE SALVAGE VEHICLE DEALERS WHO DISMANTLE
AND RECYCLE BUT WHO DO NOT REBUILD OR RUN A USED CAR BUSINESS TO
GO OUT OF BUSINESS OR THROUGH LEGAL MEANS, TO CHALLENGE THE LAW-

FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE, A BILL BALLOON, AS TO OUR RECOMMENDED
CHANGES, IS ATTACHED-

THE MEMBERS OF THE KANSAS AUTOMOTIVE DISMANTLERS &
RECYCLERS ASSOCIATION, THANK YOU FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION- IF you
HAVE QUESTIONS, I WILL BE HAPPY TO TRY TO GIVE YOU ANSWERS -
THANK YOU FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO APPEAR BEFORE YOU-

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

STEVEM R. WIECHMAN

KANSAS AUTOMOTIVE DISMANTLERS &
RECYCLERS ASSOCIATION

1101 WesT 10TH

ToPEkA, KS. 66604
(913) 233-8862
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mine the number of dealer license plates the dealer needs. the
director may base the decision on the dealer’s past sales. inven-
tory and any other pertinent factors as the director may deter-
mine. After the end of the first year of licensure as a dealer, no
dealer license plate shall be issued to any dealer who has not
reported to the division the sale of at least five motor vehicles in
the preceding year

". . . OR TO ANY SALVAGE YEHICLE DEALER WHO HAS
NOT REPORTED TO THE DIVISION THE PURCHASE OF AT
LEAST FIVE MOTOR VEHICLES FOR DISMANTLING,
DISASSEMBLING OR RECYCLING OR THE SURRENDER OF AT
LEAST FIVE VEHICLE TITLES TO THE DIVISION.”

There shall be no retund of tees for dealer
license plates in the event of suspension. revocation or voluntary
cancellation of a license. The director is hereby authorized to
designate by identifving symbols on a dealer’s license plate the
tvpe of dealer’s license that the person has been issued. 1f a
dealer has an established place of business in more than one
county, such dealer shall secure a separate and distinct dealer’s
license and dealer license plates for each established place of

business.
(b) New motor vehicle dealers and used motor vehicle
dealers may authorize use of dealer license plates assigned to

such motor vehicle dealers as follows:

(1) The licensed motor vehicle dealer and such dealer’s
spouse;
(2) the corporate officers ot the licensed motor vehicle dealer

when such corporate officers are full-time emplovees thereot:

(3) the sales manager and all other sales personnel when
such manager and sales personnel are full-time employees
thereof and are properly licensed in Kansas, except that no
dealer license plate shall be assigned to sales personnel who are
working at the established place of business of the dealer less
than 20 hours per week;

(4) any employee of such motor vehicle dealer when the use
thereof is directly connected to a particular business transaction
of such motor vehicle dealer:

(53) the customer when operating a motor vehicle in connec-
tion with negotiations to purchase such motor vehicle or during
demonstration of such motor vehicle.

(¢) A wholesaler dealer may authorize the use of dealer
license plates on vehicles purchased by the wholesaler for resale

to a retail vehicle dealer as follows:





