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MINUTES OF THE ___%%USE  COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
The meeting was called to order by Marvin L. Littleiohn P — at
_1:30  /fdw//p.m. on March 3, 1986 in room _423=S___ of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Representative Vern Williams, excused

Committee staff present:

Emalene Correll, Research
Norman Furse, Revisor
Sue Hill, Secretary to Committee

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Dr. Lois Scibetta, Executive Administrator of Ks. State Board of Nursing
Mack Smith, Executive Secretary of state Board of Mortuaty Arts

Visitor's register, (see Attachment No.1l)

Chair called meeting to order when quorum was present, calling attention to
hearings today on the following bills. HB 3020, HB 3082, HB 3022, HB 3083.

Hearings began on HB 3020:--

Dr. Lois Scibetta gave hand-out to members, see (Attachment No.2), for details. She
stated HB 3020 is a modification of HB 2082 from the 1985 Legislative session,

and has been requested to do three things; to follow up on Board action regarding
examination fees, to increase statutory fee maximums, and to tighten up their legal
procedures regarding disciplinary matters. She elaborated on these items, and
fielded questions from members, i.e., language omn authorization to suspend is very
broad; ves, they do follow disciplinary net work through the National Council of
State Boards of Nursing and they are kept aprised if there is any action against a
Kansas Nurse; a nurse coming in from another country must take an examination before
being allowed to practice in Kansas. .

Hearings closed on HB 3020.
Hearings began on HB 3082:--

Dr. Scibetta gave hand-out to members, see (Attachment No.3), for details. This is
basically a clean-up bill she said and had been requested by their Board, and would
up date the Nurse Practice Act. HB 3082 speaks to giving Board option of making
determination (satisfactory rehabilitation) prior to the candidate taking the exam,
rather than after the exam; temporary permit is explained in the balloon copy shown
in Attachment No 3 which speaks to extending length of time for temporary permit
nurses taking the referesher course and they ask for 180 days extension; Line 164
speaks to qualifications of Board members, line 189 states 5 years experience is
required before appointment to Board; lines 220-222 the word "limitations" and "limit"
are added, giving the Board more discretion regarding disciplinary matters; line 230
the executive Administarator is custodian of the Seal of the Board, lines 233-234 the
Secretary-Treasurer is not the Secretary. She then answered numerous questions from
members and staff, i.e., clarification on how long a nurse could practice while under
a temporary permit; licensure exam is given twice a year; exam for licensure covers
clinical and medical materials both; must take this refresher if they have not been
in active practice for 5 years or more; moral turpitude still being delt with in
statutes was discussed.

At this point, Rep. Foster moved to strike language in line 36-37, after the word
felony, "or any offense involving moral turpitude". Motion seconded by Rep. Runnels,
vote taken, motion carried.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not
heen submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for 1

editing or corrections. Page
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Hearings continue on HB 3082.

Balloon copy on HB 3082 indicates additional language to be considered in line 68

after the word exceed strike rest of language through line 70. Then insert paragraph

to read, "60 days. Exception. For the reinstatement of a lapsed license, a nurse, enrolled
in a refresher course may be granted a temporary permit issued for 180 days, which may

be renewed by the Board for one additional period of not to exceed 180 days."

Discussion ensued, i.e., whether the term nurse should be used if person applying for
license was considered a nurse or nurse applicant. Revisor then read language changes
that could be used, i.e., For the reinstatement of a lapsed license, and applicant for
licensure as a licensed professional nurse who was previously licensed in the state and
who is enrolled in a refresher course required by the Board for reinstatement of lapsed
license may be granted a temporary permit to practice nursing as a registered professional
nurse for a period not to exceed 180 days. Discussion continued. At this point, Rep.
Friedeman moved to adopt language just suggested by Revisor Mr. Furse, seconded by Rep.
Harder, vote taken, motion carried.

Chair noted Mr. Furse and he had discussed the advisability amending HB 3020 into
HB 3082, and he asked wishes of members in this regard. Discussion ensued. Rep. Runnels
made a motion to amend HB 3020 into HB 3082, seconded by Rep. Bryant, motion carried.

Rep. Friedeman made a motion to pass HB 3082 as amended favorably for passage, motion
seconded by Rep. Neufeld, vote taken, motion carried.

May it be noted that the two sections from HB 3020 spoken to above would be amended into
HB 3082, and HB 3020 would just die then at end of this legislative session.

Hearings began on HB 3022:--

Mack Smith, State Board of Mortuary Arts gave hand-out to members, see (Attachment No.4),
for details. He explained HB 3022 contains two main sections, educational requirements

in licensing embalmers, and recipricol requirements for licensing both reciprocal embalmers
and funeral directors. This would give the option of having embalmer applicants take

60 hour college requirements either before or after attending mortuary school. Currently
they are required to take this requirement before entring mortuary school. Part of the
current reciprocal law requires applicants be licensed in a state with at least equal
requirements to Kansas. There is no provision for applicants with individual requirements
equal to Kansas to obtain a Kansas reciprocal license. The proposed amendment would

allow individuals that meet Kansas requirements to obtain a Kansas license via reciprocity.
He answered numerous questions from members.

Hearings closed on HB 3022.
Hearings began on HB 3083:--

Mack Smith, noted his hand-out (No.4), also contained comments in regard to HB 3083,

This would distinguish the difference in funeral establishments and branch establishments.
Currently no distinguishment made. It would require owners of a branch establishment to
also own a licensed establishment, but it would not require that branch to employ a full-
time funeral director or have a preparation (embalming) room. He answered numerous
questions.

Hearings closed on HB 3083.

Rep. Foster made a motion to pass HB 3022 out of committee favorable for passage and
have it placed on comsent calendar, and further to pass favorable for passage out of
committee HB 3083. This dual motion was seconded by Rep. Friedeman. Short discussion
ensued. Vote taken, motion carried.
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Chair requested staff briefings.
Briefing began on HB 3061.

Mr. Furse gave background on HB 3061, saying it had been introduced at the request
of the Osteopathic Society, and speaks to Physical Therapists and Physical Therapy
Assistants. Note, in lines 30-38, language would be modified to allow the Physical
Therapy Assistant to initiate certain steps on the order of a physician, if the
Physical Therapist is not immediately available. This would be beneficial in rural
Kansas. Chair had members note, the Board of Healing Arts, and Physical Therapists
Association have both signed off on this bill.

Briefings began on HB 3096.

Ms. Correll stated this legislation came from Interim Committee Study on Credentialing.
Two groups that did not fit the classifications of licensing/registration were the
Pharmacists and Psychologists, and HB 3096 deals only with Doctor level of Psychologists.
Those are Psychologists who are certified by the board of Behavioral Sciences. It is

a protection of practice act. The terms, "certified'" changed to "licensed", are the
basic changes in the bill. :

Breifings on HB 3084.

Ms. Correll stated this bill also came from Interim Committee Study. There are a
number of people waiting to be licensed and to hook on to existing Boards. The Board
of Healing Arts is currently over-burdened and so HB 3084 will create a new Board

to help carry the load. It will be called, Allied Health Professionals Board, and
will be a 9 member Board appointed by the Governor. She gave specifics on the make-up
of said Board members, length of terms of Board members, other employees to be working
for this Board. There are no policy changes she said. This is only a new Board that
will have some existing disciplines transferred to their authority from that of the
Board of Healing Arts. Chairman Littlejohn noted he had requested this bill be intro-
duced. Ms. Correll answered numerous questions from committee members.

Briefings on HB 2888.
Ms. Correll gave brief background, i.e., HB 2888 had been requested by Rep. Friedeman
and it is to include in the schedule for controlled substances, Butyl Nitrite. Mr.

Furse had members note that in line 163, the spelling should be Nitrite.

Meeting adjourmed.
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KANSAS STATE BOARD OF NURSING

BOX 1098, 503 KANSAS AVENUE, SUITE 330
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66601

Telephone 913/296-4929

TO: The Honorable Marvin Littlejohn, Chairman, and Members of the
House Public Health agé Welfare Committee

FROM: Dr. Lois Rich Scibeffé? Executive Administrator

DATE: February 24, 1986

RE: House Bill 3020

Thank you Mr. Chairman for the opportunity to comment on House Bill 3020.
House Bill 3020 is a bill which was requested by the Board of Nursing and
it is a modification of Hcouse Bill 2082 from the 1985 session.

House Bill 3020 was requested by the Board of Nursing to do three things;
1) to follow up on Board action regarding examination fees,
2) to increase the statutory fee maximums
3) to tighten up cur legal procedures regarding disciplinary
matters
The latter was suggested by our legal counsel.

1) The Board of Nursing voted in October 1983, to have the candidates pay
their fee to the examination service. This prcdedure was suggested by
the Executive Administrator to cut expenditures and to delay a fee in-
crease for as long as possible. The Board felt that this should be in
the law.

Before the direct fee payment by the candidate to the exam service, the
Board was billed a flat fee for each candidate. In FY 1985, the fee

was $21.50, in FY 1986 the fee was raised to $27.50. Beginning with the
October 1985 national exam the candidates were required to pay $25.00%
directly to the examination service.

When the candidates paid their fee directly to the examination service,
the result was a reduction in expenditures, and significant savings for
the fee fund account. The expenditure reduction, and savings for the
Board, using the direct payment method, for FY 1985 was $40,807 (1,898
candidates @ $21.50). he savings to date for FY 1986 is $41,838 a
total savings of $82,645.

%*The fee for the Board is higher ($27.50).
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The Henorable Marvin Littlejohn
February 24, 1986
Page 2

2)

Increase in Statutory Fee Maximums:

This request is a management decision, and is requested because the
Board of Nursing has been at the statutory fee maximums for three
years, and also because of the uncertainty in the nursing profession
at this time. WE DO NOT ANTICIPATE A FEE INCREASE IN FY 1987, none-
theless, if an emergency occurred, i.e., decrease in number of licen-
sees, problems with the new computer system, there is not a way for
the Board to secure increased funding. The enabling legislation is
necessary. No immediate fiscal impact is anticipated at this time.

The third aspect of the Bill deals with the area of comsistency in
the regulatory function of the Board, i.e., disciplinary matters.
Upon advice of our legal counsel, we are requesting the authority

to act against a license based on the actions of another board or
agency of the United State Government. There is no fiscal impact
related to this item per se, however there would probably be some
saving involved in "time spent' on these activities. The Board
believes that this aspect of the Bill will protect the public in

a more effective manner. Total cost would be negligible, and savings
would be $82,645.

The Board requests that the Committee report House Bill 3020 favorably
for passage. Thank you Mr. Chairman. I will be happy to answer any
questions which the Committee may have.
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KANSAS STATE BOARD OF NURSING

BOX 1098, 503 KANSAS AVENUE, SUITE 330
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66601
Telephone 913/296-4929

TO: The Honorable Marvin Littlejohn, Chairman, and Members
of the House Public Hea%i? and Welfare Committee

FROM: Dr. Lois Rich ScibetggfﬁExecutive Administrator

DATE: March 3, 1986

RE: House Bill 3082

Thank you Mr. Chairman for the opportunity to speak regarding HB 3082.
The Bill was requested by the Board to update the Nurse Practice Act.
It is essentially a clean-up, fix-up type bill.

The first section of the Bill (L 0035-C037) is requested in order to
give the Board the option of making this determination (satisfactory
rehabilitation) prior to candidate taking the examination, rather than
after the examination.

Tn Section 3 (D) Temporary Permit, a balloon (attached) has been pre-
pared to clarify the intent of the Board of Nursing. The Board does
not wish to extend the length of time for the temporary permit to all
professional nurses, but rather only to those nurses in the refresher
course. Clinical experience in the refresher course cannot be com-
pleted within sixty days.

The next few sections involve minor changes. On line 0164 speaking to
qualifications of Board members, active practice is requested for nurses
at the time of reappointment. The Mental Health Technicians (line 0189)
are required to have at least five years experience at the time of
appointment.

In Section & (lines 0220 and 0222) page 6, the word "limitations'" and
"1imit" are added, giving the Board more discretion regarding discip-
linary matters.

On line 0230, page 7, Section 5, the Executive Administrator is custo-
dian of the Seal of the Board. On lines 0233-0234 the Secretary Trea-
surer is not the Secretary.

All of the aforementioned changes update and enhance the Nurse Practice
Act. The Board recommends that the Committee report House Bill 3082

favorably for passage. I will be happy tc answer any questions which
you may have.
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HB 3082
2

license to practice nursing as a registered professional nurse.

(2) Without examination. The board may issue a license to
practice nursing as a registered professional nurse without ex-
amination to an applicant who has been duly licensed or regis-
tered as a registered professional nurse by examination under
the laws of another state, territory or foreign country if, in the
opinion - of the board, the applicant meets the qualifications
required of a licensed professional nurse in this state.

(3)  Persons licensed under previous law. Any person who
was licensed immediately prior to the effective date of this act as
a registered professional nurse, shall be deemed to be licensed
as a registered professional nurse under the provisions of this act
and shall be eligible for renewal licenses upon compliance with
K.S.A. 65-1117 and any amendments thereto.

(¢) Title and abbreviation. Any person who holds a license to
practice as a registered professional nurse in this state shall have
the right to use the title, “registered nurse,” and the abbrevia-
tion, “R.N.” No other person shall assume such title or use such
abbreviation or any other words, letters, signs or figures to
indicate that the person using the same is a registered profes-
sional nurse,

(d) Temporary permit. The board may issue a temporary
permit to practice nursing as a registered professional nurse for a
period of -not to exceed 60 days +80-duys, which~temperary
p@;nﬁtnuq+b@49n@wedlgﬁdu;boanifbnon@4u#hﬁouakpedod
of not-to-exceed-+S6-dhays.

Sec. 2. K.S.A.65-1116 is hereby amended to read as follows:
65-1116. (a) Qualification. An applicant for a license to practice
as a licensed practical nurse shall file with the board a written
application for a license and submit to the board satisfactory
proof that the applicant: (1) Has graduated from a high school
accredited by the appropriate legal accrediting agency or has
otherwise obtained the equivalent of a high school education, as
determined by the Kansas state department of education; (2) has
successfully completed the prescribed curriculuin in an accred-
ited school of practical nursing and holds evidence of graduation
therefrom or has successfully completed the prescribed curricu-

sl .

60 days. Exception. For the reinstatement of a lapsed license, a nurse,
‘enrolled in a refresher course may be granted a temporary permit issued
for 180 days, which may be renewed by the Board for one additional period
of not to exceed 180 days. The exception is granted to enable the nurse
to complete the clinical requirement of the refresher course.



MEMBERS OF THE BOARD

MR VERNON L MICKEY.
HOXIE

MR CRAIG A. STANCLIFFE,
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MR. ANDERSON E. JACKSON, -
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The Kendad
State oard of Mortuany Arts

CREATED AUG 1. 1907

214 WEST SIXTH (6TH) STREET
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66603-3797
(913) 296-3980

February 27, 1986

Representative Marvin L. Littlejohn, Chairman
House Public Health & Welfare Committee

Room 423-S
State Capitol
Topeka, Kansas

66612

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:

HB 3022 contains two main sections: 1) educational requirements in licensing
embalmers, and 2) recirpocal requirements for licensing both reciprocal embalmers

and funeral directors.

The bill would give the optional of having embalmer: applicants take their sixty
(60) hour college requirement either before or after attending mortuary school. The
law now states that college must be taken prior to entering the mortuary school
with no provisons listed for applicants to take any college hours after mortuary school.

Part of the current reciprocal law requires that applicants be licensed in a state

with at least equal requirements to Kansas.

There is no provision for applicants with

individual requirements equal to Kansas to obtain a Kansas reciprocal license. The
proposed amendment would allow individuals that meet Kansas requirements to obtain a
Kansas license via reciprocity.

HB 3083 would distinguish a difference in funeral establishments and branch

establishments.

Current statutes distinguish no such difference.

It would require

the owners of a branch establishment to also own a licensed establishment, but it would
not require the branch establishments to employ a full-time funeral director or to

have a preparation (embalming) room.

There already is a statute that requires a licensed

Kansas funeral director to be in charge of any funeral services in the state, so the
branch establishments would still be involved with licensed funeral directors at service

time.

I thank the committee for the introduction of these two (2) bills, and I ask
for their support in passage.

DMS:tab
Enclosure

Sincerely,

Douglas '"Mack" Smith
Executive Secretary
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