December 3, 1986

Approved =
ate
MINUTES OF THE __House  COMMITTEE ON Transportation
The meeting was called to order by Rex Crowell at
Chairperson
1:30 X¥¥/p.m. on February 3 1986in room __519=8 of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Representatives Adam, Justice and Brown - excused.

Committee staff present:

Bruce Kinzie, Revisor of Statutes
Hank Avila, Legislative Research
Donna Mulligan, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Representative Ed Bideau

Mr. Bill Green, Kansas Corporation Commission

Mrs. Mary Turkington, Kansas Motor Carriers Association
Mr. Ronald Blackly, Overland Tow Service, Inc.

Ms. Terry Humphrey, Kansas Manufactured Housing Institute

Chairman Crowell called the meeting to order and the first order of
business was a hearing on HB-2708 concerning operating distance
limitations on local wrecker carriers.

Representative Ed Bideau, sponsor of the bill, briefed the Committee
on its contents. (See Attachment 1)

Representative Bideau said that HB-2708, if passed, would extend the
radius of operation of a local wrecker permit holder to 25 miles.

Mr. Bill Green, Kansas Corporation Commission testified concerning
HB-2708. (See Attachment 2)

Mr. Green stated the Commission has no position on HB-2708, but the
effect of expanding the 3 mile limit to 25 miles for local wrecker
permits would be to authorize current local wrecker permit holders

to provide service to an area approximately the size of a Kansas
county in most parts of the state; while in the Kansas City area

local wreckers would be permitted to serve approximately the Kansas
City Commercial Zone established by the Interstate Commerce Commission.

Discussion was held among Committee members and Mr. Green concerning

the expansion of the 3 mile limit, as well as requirements for local

operators to operate as local wreckers. Mr. Green circulated a copy

of instructions among Committee members concerning the application to
operate as a local wrecker. (See Attachment 3)

Mrs. Mary Turkington of the Kansas Motor Carriers Association
testified in opposition to HB-2708. (See Attachment 4)

She said legislation enacted during the 1984 Session provided
clarification of the statutory framework which governs the service
of towing and recovery operations. Mrs. Turkington requested that
the current statute be permitted to operate and the Committee not
recommend HB-2708 for passage.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
been transeribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not
been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for

editing or corrections. Page 1 Of
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Representative Patrick asked if she would have any objection to making it
mandatory that wrecker operators carry a copy of their tariff for
customers to see. Mrs. Turkington said she had no objection.

Mr. Ronald Blackly, Overland Tow Service, Inc., Overland Park, Kansas,
testified in opposition to HB-2708.

Representative Ed Bideau was recognized for further comments on HB-2708.
He said the industry has indicated they are willing to compromise on the
mileage limit, and added his constituents do not wish to be in the

"Point A to Point B" business. Representative Bideau also stated another
middle ground might be to exempt those people who are Jjust bringing
vehicles back to their shop to work on them.

The hearing on HB-2708 ended.

Ms. Terry Humphrey of the Kansas Manufactured Housing Institute, presented
a request for legislation which would return the fee for a mobile dealer
tag to $10.50.

A motion was made by Representative Knopp to introduce this legislation.
The motion was seconded by Representative Dillon. Motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:35 p.m.

Crowell, Chairman
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STATE OF KANSAS

EDWIN BIDEAU I

REPRESENTATIVE, FIFTR DISTRICT A MEMBE COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS
R: JUDICIARY
NEOSHO COUNTY ‘ LABOR AND INDUSTRY
123 W. MAIN y o ~ PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
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TOPEKA

HOUSE OF
REPRESENTATIVES

LOCAL WRECKER SERVICE
H.B. 2708

NEED FOR REMEDIAL ACTION

Many complaints on current KCC policies have been received from
operators of automobile repair shops who furnish outside service
calls to their customers and on occasion tow their customer’s
cars in for repair. These small operators do not provide public
wrecker service hauling from point A to point B but only provide
towing services for customers who wish for them to work on their
car. A classic example of this is the service station you call
when your car will not start in the winter. If they cannot get
you started out on the road or in your driveway, they will haul
the car in to work on it. This service can be very important for
the elderly and people who are not mechanically inclined in small
towns.

PRESENT LAW PROBLEMS

Under present law which was passed in 1984, as interpreted by the
KCC, an auto service company operating under a local wrecker
permit may only provide this service within a three mile radius
of the city he is located in. In order to service customers
outside the three mile radius they must apply to the KCC for
common or contract carrier authority. This requires a trip to
Topeka for a hearing and an increased application fee.

One can imagine the increased burden placed upon a small service
station providing this service to its customers at a reasonable’
cost. Operators in my district have simply withdrawn the service
rather than go through the hearing process. As a result, people
living in small surrounding cities outside the three mile limit
that do not have their own local service available must either do
without or hire a much more expensive public carrier. The permit
required for operation outside the three mile limit cannot be
obtained without a hearing in Topeka. Chanute is only two hours
from Topeka. What will the impact be on a repair shop operator
close to the Colorado border?

h{ﬁa;«)sf)- 7/5’/?4
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The present law is also confusing when applied to used car
dealers, auto body shops and to certain operations by new car
dealers. There is substantial confusion within the KCC itself and
the Highway Patrol as to its application. Although the private
carrier exemption has been retained in the law and was not
modified by the 1984 revision, the KCC refuses to interpret this
to permit holders of local wrecker permits to operate within that
25 mile limit. The ranks of full service gas stations and car
dealers are dwindling in the rural areas even without this type
of repressive regulation. Continuing under present rules will
leave those with low income and without mechanical skill
helpless. This includes a substantial portion of the senior
citizen population.

PROPOSED CHANGE

The bill proposed would extend the radius of operation of a local
wrecker permit holder to 25 miles. There is precedent for this
mileage limit since under pre-1984 law, a private carrier,
hauling only property of others incident to or in furtherance of
a commercial enterprise (repair business) was exempt from full
KCC authority. It can be argued that the KCC could still grant
this exemption by interpreting the two statutes together but the
KCC does not see it that way. Under their interpretation the KCC
is strictly regulating the business that hauls your car to town
to work on it but not the business that hauls your TV or Refri-
gerator for the same purpose.

Under the proposed bill the operator will still need to have a
local wrecker permit, must meet insurance requirements and be
subject to revocation of the permit for wrongful acts. In short,
regulation would still exist but at reduced license fees, with no
hearing requirement and regulation will not stifle sorely needed
local services.



STATE OF KANSAS

EDWIN BIDEAU I
REPRESENTATIVE. FIFTH DISTRICT
NEOSHO COUNTY
123 W. MAIN
CHANUTE. KANSAS 66720

COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS
MEMBER. JUDICIARY
LABOR AND INDUSTRY
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TOPEKA

HOUSE OF
REPRESENTATIVES

December 11, 1985

Mr. Jack Tierce

Kansas Corporation Commission
State Office Building

Topeka, Kansas 66612

Re: Wrecker or tow truck operations
K.S.A. 66-1329 - 1324

Dear Mr. Tierce:

Please let this confirm our telephone conversation of
December 10, 1985, concerning the above captioned matter.

I have been contacted by many local body shop, service
station and automotive repair shop operators, who have previously
used a tow truck or wrecker solely for the purpose of bringing
customer vehicles to their shop to perform repair service on
premises. These people do not operate a wrecker service for hire
to the public and generally decline to tow vehicles to any
location other than to their repair facility.

You and I discussed the interpretation of the above
captioned statutes. After reviewing the statutes, it is my
opinion that these statutes in no way repeal the exemption for a
private motor carrier as defined in K.S.A. 66-1,108(i), and the
exemption provided for in K.S.A. 66-1,109(b), operating within a
radius of twenty-five (25) miles beyond the corporate limits of
the city. K.S.A. 66-1330 simply requires any person "providing
wrecker or towing service within this state'", to have "a local
wrecker carrier permit". The term "local wrecker carrier permit"
is defined as a credential issued by the State Corporation
Commission. It is my position that a person having a local
wrecker carrier permit, if they otherwise meet the criteria for
"private motor carrier" may still avail themselves of the
exemption provided for in K.S.A. 66-1,109(b) if they limit their
operations to within a twenty-five (25) mile limit.

Y



In our discussion you have equated "local wrecker carrier",
and "local wrecker carrier permit", as meaning the same thing.
It is clear that they have different meanings since they are
defined separately in the statute. At no place in the statute
does it specifically state that any person providing wrecker or
towing service outside a three (3) mile limit must have a motor
common carrier or contract carrier permit. Since penal statute
are to be strictly interpreted against the State, and in favor of
the person to be punished, I would submit that if it was the
intent of the Corporation Commission or the Legislature to
require all wrecker service operators operating outside the three
(3) mile limit to have a common carrier permit, the statute
should have specifically so provided in clear language. This
language is definitely not present in this statute, and I don't
think it can be inserted by implication. It is further my
understanding that no regulations have been adopted or drawn on
this particular provision of the statute.

As I stated to you in our telephone conversation, the
interpretation which you have advocated will put a severe
hardship on citizens in our local community, particularly the
elderly, in that, an automobile service facility or body shop
that does not have a common carrier permit will be unable to go
to any of the small surrounding towns to pick up a vehicle for
service. The elderly living in Humboldt, Kansas, Thayer, Kansas,
St. Paul, Kansas, Buffalo, Kansas, Altoona, Kansas, and many
other small towns that don't have service facilities will be left
helpless. I know of approximately 15-20 service stations, repair
shops and body shops in Neosho County alone that would be
required to go to Topeka for a hearing before the Corporation
Commission in order to obtain common carrier status if this
interpretation is correct. If this number exists in a small
county of 18,000, I would submit that there are, in all
likelyhood, 2,000-3,000 similarly situated businesses in the
state. If all complied this would equate to 10 hearings each day
throughout the entire year.

I would submit to the Corporation Commission that a proper
interpretation of this statute would be to take the position that
it did not repeal the private motor carrier exemption, and that a
person having a local wrecker carrier permit could also qualify
as a private motor carrier if they otherwise met the conditions
for such and limited their operations to a radius of twenty-five
(25) miles beyond the corporate limits of the city.

In summary, the wrecker statute does not state anywhere that
a person have a "local wrecker carrier permit" must limit his
operations to the three (3) mile limit.



This is a very pressing issue to several citizens in Neosho
County and surrounding areas that rely upon the excellent vehicle
repair facilities in the city of Chanute. This is particularly
true in these winter months of severe weather when many elderly
People and senior citizens have difficulty with their vehicles.
I would urge your prompt attention to this matter, and I am
certainly hopeful that this can be resolved as soon as possible.

W

Edwin H. Bideau III
State Representative
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December 17, 1985

Mr. Edwin Bideau III
Representative Fifth District
123 W. Main

Chanute, KS 66720

RE: Wrecker or tow truck operations in
Ransas

Dear Mr. Bideau:

I have been asked by Jack Tierce to provide a legal analysis
of the pertinent wrecker law in Kansas pursuant to your letter of

December 11, 1985.

In the above mentioned letter, you submit that a proper
interpretation of K.S.A. (1984 Supp.) 66-1329 - 66-1334 is that it
did not repeal the private motor carrier exemption set out in
K.S.A. 1984 Supp. 66-1,109(b), and therefore a person having a
local wrecker carrier permit could also qualify as a private motor
carrier if they limited their operations to a radius of 25 miles

beyond corporate limits of the city.

Upon review of the motor carrier statutes, I must differ in
my interpretation. Looking at the definitions and exemptions

applicable to this discussion, K.S.A. (1984 supp.)



66-1,109(b) provides an exemption for "private motor carriers of
property who operate within a radius of 25 miles beyond the
corporate limits of a city. The definition of a private motor
carrier of property is set out in K.S.A. 66-1,108(i):

The term private motor carrier of property shall also

include a person who transports the property of others

by motor vehicle when such transportation is not for

hire but is incident to or in furtherance of a

commercial enterprise of such person other than

transportation.

By first glance of this definition, a wrecker providing a
tow service to a disabled vehicle to the location of his shop for
repair work, would seem to fit the definition of a private carrier
and thus be exempt under K.S.A. (1984 Supp.) 66-1,109(b).
However, one must not overlook the new statutes adopted on this
subject last year. K.S.A. (1984 Supp.) 66-1329 defines a private
wrecker or tow truck:

(e) Private wrecker or tow service means the act of

transporting with a wrecker, tow truck or car carrier

any vehicle owned by the operator of wrecker, tow
truck or car carrier. (emphasis mine)

As you can see the definition of 'private wrecker' in K.S.A.
66-1329 is much narrower than the definition of '‘private motor
carrier of property' in 66-108(1i). A private wrecker cannot
transport the property of others in furtherance of a commercial
enterprise. While the adoption of 66-1329 et. seq. did not
‘repeal' the private motor carrier exemption, it does deal
specifically with defining a private wrecker. Where there is a
conflict between a statute dealing generally with a subject and

another dealing specifically with a certain phase of it, the



specific legislation controls. Szoboszlay v. Glessner 233 Kan.

475, 479 (1983). Unless body shops and automobile service
facilities are hauling their own vehicles, they do not qualify as
a 'private wrecker' and therefore cannot use the exemption set

forth in 66-1,109(b).

You also stated in your letter that at no place in the
statute does it specifically say that any person providing wrecker
service or towing service outside a three (3) mile limit must have
a motor common carrier or contract carrier permit. Please observe
K.S.A. 66-1,111 which basically states that all motor carriers of
property must have the appropriate KCC operating authority unless
otherwise provided (i.e. an exemption). Since wreckers operating
beyond the 3 mile limit do not fall within any exemptions, they
are therefore regulated. From a practical standpoint, why would
the KCC exempt a wrecker who is operating within 25 miles of the
corporate limits and then require a wrecker who is operating only

within 3 miles of the corporate limits to obtain authority?

A brief review of the common carrier operating authority may
be helpful. K.S.A. (1984 Supp.) 66-1,114 sets out the criteria
that an applicant must meet. Like 66-1,111, this statute also
states that except as otherwise provided, it is unlawful for any
public motor carrier to operate in intrastate commerce without
first obtaining a certificate of convenience and necessity.

Applicants must show they are fit, willing and able to perform



their pfoposed service. Before 1982, an applicant had to show
they were fit, willing and able plus that there was a need for
their services. This 'need' criteria prevented many applicants
from getting the desiréd authority, since an existing wrecker
(with authority) in the area could simply protest the application
by showing he was currently providing the service and thus the
need. The elimination of this language in 66-1,114 in 1982 has
given the applicants a '‘relaxed entry standard'. In all
practicality, it is quite easy now to get common carrier authority
for a wrecker. A hearing is required, but unless the application

is protested, it usually lasts 20-25 minutes.

It is the opinion of this Commission that it is in the best
interest of the public that all wreckers and tow trucks be
regulated. The tariff which is published and on file with the
Commission prevents an operator from charging different prices to
different customers under similar circumstances. The insurance
requirements ensure all patrons will be compensated if the

operator damages their vehicle.

Sincerely,

sy Ysttg

Mary Wettig
Assistant General Counsel

MW:vib
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October 25, 1985
SUBJECT: CLARIFICATION AND INTERPRETATION OF THE NEW
. LAWS GOVERNING WRECKFER OR TOW TRUCK OPERA-
TIONS
TO: ‘ Colonel Bert Cantwell
Headquarters
ATTN: Captain llutcherson

Captain Pickert

This letter is in response Lo a letter writlten by Trooper
Kessling. lHe requestced clarification of the laws governing
the opcration of wreckers. In reviewing his letter and
answering the questions poscd through hypothetical situa-
tions, it has crcatced somewhat of a problem to two othor
state agencies--namely the Kansas Corporation Commission
and Dealer Rcgistration. The problem is a wrecker under
certain circumstances may not be operated with a dealcr
license plate and exempt from registration with the Kansas
Corporation Commission. In preparing this letter, 1 have
‘Conferrcd with Jack Tierce of the Kansas Corporation Commis-
sion, and Marcus Woods of the Dcaler Registration Burcau.
They are in concurrence of my answers and opinions.

In an attempt to cxplain the Wrecker Scrvice regulations
that went into cffect January 1, 1985, 1 will first explain
the different types of wrecker and towing scrvices that’
require rcgistration with the Kansas Corporation Commission,
and the exemptions that now exist. Sccondly, T will answer

v’

122 SW SeveEstTH STREED
Toreka, Kansas 66603 (U13) 2:32-9200



Col. Bert Cantwell
October 25, 1985
Page Two '

the questions posed by Trooper Kessling in his hypothetical
situations. 1'11 address each of the situations individu-
ally as there are several points in each hypothetical situa-
tion. Thirdly, I will give explanations of how and where
the opinions and answers were derived from.

VERNON J. TLER, Lieutenant
Division 8-1, Topeka

cee

cc: Sgt. Bob Giffin
Trooper Kessling
Jack Tierce, KCC :
Marcus Woods, Dept. of Revenuc
Ron Desch, MCI Bureau
File



In an attempt to explain the new wrecker regulations that
went into effect January 1, 1985, I will first explain
the different types of wrecker and towing services that
require registration with the Kansas Corporation Commission
and any cxemptions that now ecxist. Sccondly, Trooper Kes-
sling has raised scvcral hypothetical situations involving
wrecker operations and has requested clariftication. 1

will address cach of his situations individually.

.

Basically, since the first of January 1985, there have
been only three types of wrecker or towing secrvices and

only two exemptions.

I. Wrecker and Towing Service
a. As defined in 66-1329, Sub (4d)

1. Means the act of transporting, towing or rc-
covering with a wrecker, tow truck, or car
carrier, any vchicle not owned by the operator
of the wrecker, tow truck, or car carrier for
which the opcerator "reccives compensation  or
other personal gain either dircctly or in-
directly, except such tcerms shall not include

private wrecker towing secrvicc.

b. Types of carriers requiring registration with the
Kansas Corporation Commission under thié Act.
1. Common Carriers:

a. Operating more than three miles from the
corporate city limits of a city or village
they may operatc from.

2. Contract Carriers:

a. Operating morc than thrce miles from the
corporate city limits of a city or village
they may operate from and when towihg ve-
hicles owned by a company or individual,
the wrecker opcrator has a contract to

provide such towing service.
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3. Local Wrecker Carricr:

a. 1Is any person engaged in performing wrecker
or towing service wholly within a 3 mile
radius of a city or wvillage, or bhetwecen
contiguous cities.

4. Private Wrecker or Towing Service:

a. Means the act of transporting with a wreck-
er, tow truck, or car carrvicr, any vchicle
owned by the operator of the wrecker,
tow truck, or car carrier.

b. This type of operation is not to be confusead
with 66-1,108 Sub (1i).

5. A wrecker, tow truck, or car carrier registeored
as a Common or Contract carrier may:

a. Operate both within and beyond the 3 mile
radius of a city as long as it's within
the scope of their authority.

b. No registration as a local wrecker is re-
gquired of veéhicles registereé as Common

or Contract wrccker scrvices.

II. Types of Wrecker or Towing Services Exempt from KCC
Registration
A. Exempt by'Statutc:
1. 66-1,109 Sub (f)
a. A new vehicle dealer as defined by K.S.A.
8-2401 and amendments thercto when transpor-
ting property to or from the place of busi-
ness of such dealer. '
b. KCC has ruled that under this exemption
a new vehicle dealer would be allowed to
provide wrecker service as defined 1in KSA
66-1329 Sub (d4), as long as the load origi-
nated or terminated at his place of business.
c. This is the only exemption that permits
wrecker or towing service for compensation

or personal gain.
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2. 66-1,109 Sub (R)

a. Provides a vechicle being operated with
a dealer license plate issuecd under K.S.A.
8-2406 and amendments thereto, and in com-

" pliance with K.S.A. 8-136 and Acts amenda-
tory thereto.

b. This would permit a used or new vehicle
dealer to transport a vehicle by wrecker,
tow truck, or carrier displaying a dealer
licensc plate to transport a vehicle owned
by him as 1long as the weight of the towed

vehicle docs not exceced two (2) tons.

SITUATION 1

A new vehicle dealer responding to a call of a wrecked

or disabled w~chicle and towing the disabled vehicle back
to his place of business. The decaler may or may not provide
repair service to the vechicle and if not, the dcaler may
later be hired to transport the vehicle from the dcaler's
place of business to another location. 66-1,109 (f) cxoempts
a new vehicle dealer from KCC regulations when transporting
property to or from his place of business, so I feel that
he necds no permits to perform this service. Of coursec,
the o0ld ruling éoncerning a continuous shipment and just
“touching base" at his place of business would still apply.
Furthermore, if tﬁe disabled vehicle is his own vehicle
and it weighs no more than two (2) tons, hec may provide
this service with a dcaler's tag displaycd on his wrecker
by authority of 8-136 and 66-1329 (d). Also by the same
reasoning, a salvwage—er used vehicle dealer may display
a dealer tag on their wrecker or car carrier when transpor-
ting their own property weighing no more than two (2) tons.
If in the above two instances, the transportation goes
outside of a 25 mile radius of the dealer's domicile or
place of business, a private carrier permit will have to

be obtained and displayed along with the dealer's tag.
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ANSWER
Situation 1 above has many different issues. I'll address

each one as a separate issuc and list ecach numerically.

1. The first issuc is when a new vehicle dealer uses the
exemption under 66-1,109 Sub (f). lle cannot transport
a disabled vehicle to his place of business, then to
another location as two scparatc towing instances.
This would be an attempt to circumvent the restrictions
of the exemption end KCC has ruled that this is not

to be permitted.

2. The use of a dealer plate on the wreccker would be pro-
hibited by K.S.A. 8-136 and 66-1329, .if thecre is any
compensation recceived or derived from the wrecker or
towing service. ‘

3. A dealer registration may be displayed on a wrecker
providing, the load being transported does not excced
two (2) tons and belongs to the dealer providing the
transportation. This change allowing use of the dealer
tag on a- wrccker was a result of a change in the lan-

guagce of K.S.A. 8-136. (1984 Legislative Session).

4. A salvage dealer is prohibited from displaying a dealer
license plate on any vehicle, other than a vehicle
he has purchased for salvage, including dismantling,
disassembling, or recycling. This 1is stated explicitly
in K.S.A. 8-2406 Sub (d).

5. If the transportation of a vehicle by a wrecker owned
and operated by a new vehicle dealer, regardless of
whether he 1s displaying a dealer license plate or

regular registration, is exempt from registering with

the KCC as 1long as he operates within the scope of
K.S.A. 66-1,109 Sub (f).
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6. A used vchicle dealer would be cxcempt from registering
with the KCC regardless of the radius, as long as he
is: (1) transporting a vehicle he owns and displays
a dealer license plate, or (2) transporting a wvechicle
with a wreccker bearing a dealer license plate and opera-
ting in compliance with K.S.A. 8-2406, K.S.A. 8-136,
and K.S.A. 66-1329,

EXPLANATIONS

The reasoning behind why a new or used vehicle dealer may

use a dealer license plate on a wrecker was the result
of the re-writing of 1language in K.S.A. 8-136, and the
implementation of the K.S.A. Statutes rcgulating wrecker

operations.

K.S.A. B8-136 now states in part, "Such a license plate
may not be used by a dealer to haul commodities weighing
in ecxcess of two (2) tons. Such licensc plates shall not
be used on a wrecker or tow.truck when providing wrecker
or towing services as defined by K.S.A. 1984 Supp. 66-
1329",

K.S5.A. 66-1329, Sub (d) defincs "wrecker or towing service"
as “the act of transporting, towing or recovering with
a wrecker, tow truck or car carricer, any vehicle not owned
by the owner of the wrecker, tow truck, or car carrier,
for which the operator receives compensation of other per-
sonal gain, either directly or indirectly, except such

terms shall not include a private wrecker or towing servicc".

“Private wrecker or towing service" should not be confuscd
witﬁ the definition of a private carrier in K.S.A. 66-
1,108 Sub (i). In 66-1329 Sub (e), a "private wrecker
br towing service" is defined as "the act of transporting
with a wrecker, tow truck, or car carrier, a vehicle owned
by the operator of the wrecker, tow truck, or car carrier".

A private wrecker or towing service may or may not require
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registration with the KCC, depending on the individual
circumstance. However, at no time may he tow the vehicle
of another for any tywme of compensation or personal gain,
which eliminates the type of wrecker scrvice!we previously

classified as priva-c carrier,.

SITUATION 2

A salvage or used vehicle dealer or individual responding

to a call of a disabled vehicle, not his own, when the
only service provided is the transportation of the disabled
vehicle. If the transportation takes place outside of
the three mile radius of the dcaler's or-individual's domi-
cile or placc of business, a common or contract certificate
or permit must be obtained. If the transportation takes
place wholly within the three mile radius 66-1,109 (a)
and 66-1330 require that a local wrecker bcrmit bc obtainecd
except that 66-1330 does not require a wrecker alrcady

licensed as a common or contract carrier to obtain a local

wrecker permit. However;—sinee—66~1336—fatts—to—mention
private.  carriers—in—that—exemption—a—private—carrier—will
6till—-be-required..to..obtain_a_local wrecker permit before

providing-thé-—-above—described-serviec.

ANSWER
1. Used vehicle decaler's and salvage dcalcer's when perform-
ing a wrecker or towing servicc, must be registercd
as either a common or contract carrier, if operating
beyond a three mile radius of "any city or village.
If operating wholly within the corporatec city 1limits
or the surburban territory within 3 miles of such cor-
_porate city limits, they must’ be registcred as a local

wrecker.

2. If registered as a common or contract *"wrecker or towing
service", and operating within the scope of their gran-
ted authority, they are not required to .obtain local
wrecker authority to operate within the corporate city

limits of any city within their scope of authority.
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SITUATION 3

A salvage or used dealer or individual responding to a

call of a disabled vehicle, not his own, when the service
provided is the repair of the disabled vchicle and the
transportation by the onc who will do the repair and the
towing, is incidental to the repair. 66-1,108 (i) defincs
a person who provides this type of service as a private
motor carrier of property and therefore requires that he
beé licensed as such if the transportation takes place out-
side of a 25 mile radius of his place of business or domi-
cile. Also, 66-1330 requires that no matter where the
transportation takes place, a local wrecker permit must
be obtained and does not exempt one already licensed as

a private carrier from this requirement.

ANSWER

in'1984 when the Legislature passed Senate Bill 591 which
became K.S.A. 66-1329 through K.S.A. 66-1334, this Bill
and laws make it mandatory to be registered with the KCC
as either common, contract, local wrecker or towing service
when transporting the vehicle of another for compensation
or personal -'gain, directly or indircctly. With the imple-
mentation of this ncw law, it climinated the private carrier
operations for wrecker and towing scrvices under 66-1108,
Sub (1i).

Previously, 66-1108, Sub (i), was interpretea to mean a
person owning a repair shop could transport a vehicle not
his own back to his shop and perform somc sort of repair
and be classified as a private carrier, as long as the
repair was the primary factor and-the towing was only inci-
dedtal to furtherance of his commercial enterprise, With
the enactment of K.S.A. 66-1329, it defines each type of
Qrecker or towing operation and states the type of authority

required.
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IN BOTH SITUATIONS 2 AND 3, if the disabled vchicles arc

the‘property of the transporter, then their status changes
to a private wrecker or towing service, as defined by 66-
1329 (e), and are no longer required to obtain a local
wrecker permit. However, if the transportation goes oulside
of the 25 mile radius, they would still be reguirced Lo

be registered as a private carrier.

ANSWER

This situation as stated, is basically truc cxcept if the
used vehicle dealer is displaying dealer plates on his
wrecker and he is in compliance with K.S.A. 8-136, hc would
still be excempt from KCC registration cven beyond the 25
mile radius under K;S.A. 66-1,109, Sub (r)..

1 hopc the responses to the situations cxpressed by Troopar
Kessling have been answered to provide clarification, rather

than creating further confusion.

- -~ N
Q‘vr re e {T)}Q‘-—‘*-v S \g:\.\‘-

VERNON J. “PROSTLER, Licutenant.
bivision Eight, Topcka

cece
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STATEMENT PRESENTED ON H.B. 2708 TO THE HOUSE
TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE ON FEBRUARY 3, 1986 BY THE
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION OF KANSAS

MR, CHAIRMAN, MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE, I AM BILL GREEN, ADMINISTRATOR
OF THE TRANSPORTATION DIVISION OF THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION, I
APPEAR HERE TODAY ON BEHALF oF THE COMMISSION ON H,B, 2708,

THE COMMISSION HAS NO POSITION ON THIS BILL HOWEVER, BELIEVE IT IS
IMPORTANT TO REMIND THE COMMITTEE OF THE BACKGROUND ON THE LOCAL
WRECKER AND THE POSSIBLE EFFECTS OF THIS-BILL“.

BACKGROUND ON LOCAL WRECKER PERMITS
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 1985 IT BECAME UNLAWFUL FOR PERSONS TO PROVIDE

WRECKER SERVICE TO THE PUBLIC IN THE STATE OF KANSAS WITHOUT HAVING
A LOCAL WRECKER PERMIT, IF THAT WRECKER OR TOWING SERVICE WERE
PROVIDED:
1, WHOLLY WITHIN THE CORPORATE LIMITS OF A CITY IN KANSAS
AND UP TO A THREE MILE RADIUS OUTSIDE THOSE LIMITS; OR
2, BETWEEN CONTIGUOUS (TOUCHING) CITIES IN KANSAS; OR
3, BETWEEN CONTIGUOUS (TOUCHING) CITIES IN KANSAS AND
ANOTHER STATE; OR
44, BETWEEN ANY CITY IN KANSAS OR ANOTHER STATE AND WITHIN
THREE MILES OF THE CORPORATE LIMITS OF ANY CITY IN KANSAS

H. Transp .2/3/34

41 ,/ u/-/{ c’./: .
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THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME THIS TYPE OF WRECKER AND TOWING OPERATION
HAD BEEN REGULATED ON THE STATE LEVEL,

IN ORDER TO RECEIVE THE LOCAL WRECKER PERMIT A CARRIER MUST FILE AN
APPLICATION WITH THE COMMISSION, LIST VEHICLES TO BE REGISTERED AND
PROVIDE THE COMMISSION WITH PROOF OF LIABILITY AND CARGO INSURANCE,
THERE 1S A $10 APPLICATION FEE AUTHORIZED BY STATUTE AND A REGULATORY
FEE OF $10 PER VEHICLE REGISTERED WITH THE COMMISSION,

AT THE TIME THE LOCAL WRECKER LEGISLATION WAS BEING CONSIDERED IN
1984 THERE WERE APPROXIMATELY 150 KCC REGULATED WRECKERS. PRESENTLY
THERE ARE APPROXIMATELY 300 KCC REGULATED WRECKERS HOLDING INTRASTATE
COMMON AUTHORITY. APPROXIMATELY 133 LOCAL WRECKER PERMITS HAVE NOW
BEEN ISSUED, MOST OF THE LOCAL WRECKER APPLICANTS AT THE TIME OF
FILING ALSO FILE AN APPLICATION FOR INTRASTATE COMMON AUTHORITY, RE-
SULTING IN A 100% INCREASE IN INTRASTATE COMMON WRECKER AUTHORITIES,

EFFECTS OF HOUSE BILL 2708

H.B. 2708 PROPOSES TO EXPAND THE 3 MILE LIMIT TO 25 MILES FOR LOCAL
WRECKER PERMITS, THE EFFECT OF THIS EXPANSION WOULD AUTHORIZE CURRENT
LOCAL WRECKER PERMIT HOLDERS TO PROVIDE SERVICE TO AN AREA APPROXIMATELY
THE SIZE OF A KANSAS COUNTY IN MOST PARTS OF THE STATE; WHILE IN THE
KANSAS CITY AREA LOCAL WRECKERS WOULD BE PERMITTED TO SERVE APPROXIMATELY

THE KANSAS CITY COMMERCIAL ZONE ESTABLISHED BY THE INTERSTATE COMMERCE
COMMISSION,



H.B, 2708
1/31/86
THEREFORE, WITH THIS EXPANDED AREA OF 25 MILES, LOCAL WRECKERS WOULD
BE ABLE TO PROVIDE SERVICE TO AN AREA THE SIZE OF A COUNTY WITHOUT
HAVING TO FILE AN APPLICATION AND APPEAR FOR A HEARING OR FILE A COPY
OF THEIR TARIFF STATING THE CHARGES FOR THEIR SERVICE, THE END RESULT
WOULD BE INCREASED COMPETITION AMONG WRECKERS IN THE STATE OF KANSAS,

THE EFFECT OF H.B. 2708 ON THE COMMISSION’'S WORK LOAD WOULD BE TO
RELIEVE TWO ATTORNEYS (A HEARING EXAMINER AND A STAFF ATTORNEY) FROM
HAVING TO HEAR AND PARTICIPATE IN INTRASTATE COMMON WRECKER HEARINGS
BECAUSE THE APPLICATION FOR LOCAL WRECKER PERMITS (WITH THE 25 MILE
RADIUS) WOULD BE PROCESSED BY THE CLERICAL STAFF OF THE COMMISSION,

SUMMARY

IN SUMMARY, MR. CHAIRMAN AND MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE, THE COMMISSION
VIEWS THE QUESTION OF HOW FAR A MOTOR CARRIER’S AUTHORITY EXTENDS OR

THE NEED TO FILE AND HAVE APPROVED TARIFFS ON FILE WITH THE COMMISSION

TO BE A LEGISLATIVE POLICY MATTER, THE COMMISSION DOES NOT FEEL THEY

ARE IN A POSITION TO DETERMINE OR RECOMMEND WHETHER 3 MILES, 10 MILES

OR 25 MILES SHOULD BE THE AREA SERVED BY A LOCAL WRECKER, THE COMMISSION
IS PREPARED TO IMPLEMENT WHATEVER THE LEGISLATURE ENACTS REGARDING THIS
MATTER OF LOCAL WRECKERS,

I[F AT THIS TIME YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, I WILL BE PLEASED TO ATTEMPT TO
ANSWER THEM,

2/3/86
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INSTRUCTIONS rOR PREPARING APPLICATION FOR 4 __MIT TO
OPERATE AS A LOCAL WRECKER IN THE STATE OF KANSAS

Attached you will find a complete set of forms needed to make application to the
State Corporation Commission of Kansas for a license to operate as a local
wrecker,

FILING FEE: The filing fee for a local wrecker permit is $10.00. A
non-refundable postal money order or check must accampany the application.

REGULATORY FEE: A regulatory fee of $10.00 for each vehicle you wish to register
must accompany this application. .

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS: If you are incorporated, attach a copy of your Articles

of Incorporation. If you are a partnership, attach a copy of the Partnership
Agreement. ' :

INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS FOR LOCAL WRECKERS:

A. Public Liability and Property Damage Insurance is required for all motor car-
riers holding a local wrecker permit.

1. Policies or certificates of Insurance must be written by a campany authorized
by the Kansas Insurance Cammissioner to transact business in Kansas. Certificates
must be signed by an authorized representative of the Insurance Campany.

2. The minimum requirenient for Public Liability and Property Damage is:
$100,000,/$300,000/$50,000. (Required by K.S.A. 1983 Supp. 66-1,128)

3. Insurance must be filed in the exact name in which the application is filed.

NOTE: If the application is filed in a name of a. partnership, all partners mst
be named.

4., Please contact your insurance agent in order that he or she may provide the
State Corporation Cammission with the proper Certificate of Insurance, Formm E.
These certificates are supplied by the Home Office or the Regional Office of the
Insurance Company. This Commission does not accept Photo or Xerox copies of this
form.

5. If for any reason the Insurance Company issues a cancellation notice canceling
the current filing in this office, the cancelled filing must be replaced by a new
Certificate of Insurance Form E. The new form must reach this office before the
effective cancellation date to avoid suspensmn or cancellation of your local
wrecker permit.

B. Cargo Insurance in a minimum amount of $3,000 1s required in Kansas for motor
carriers holding a local wrecker permit. -

1. Please.contact your insurance agent in order that he or she may provide the
State Corporation Commission with the proper Certificate of Insurance, Form H.
These certificates are supplied by the Home Office or the Regional Office of the
Insurance Company. This Commission does not accept Photo or Xerox copies of this
form. .

Should you have any questions regarding this state's insurance requirements call
(913) 296-3364.

MAIL COMPLETED APPLICATION TO: THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION OF KANSAS, 4TH
FLOOR, STATE OFFICE BUILDING, TOPEKA, KS 66617 -

| #7?077.516. 3/5’/5’4
AZ Ftack. 3
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APPLICATION FOR A LOCAL WRECKER PERMIT

Name of Applicant (Individual )
(Partnership )
(Corporation )
dba

(complete only if you are not incorporated)

Street (Residence)

City . State Zip

Business Telephone (. ) ~

Give Principal Office Address, if different than above:

(Street) (City) (State) (zip)

I, the undersigned do hereby certify that the above information is true and
correct and that I am authorized to execute and file this document. I further
.certify that I have knowledge of the Commission's regulations on safety contained

in K.A.R. 82-4-3 and 82-4-20,

Signature
Title
'STATE OF
COUNTY CF Ss
Subscribed and sworn to before me, a notary public, this _____day of ’
A D. ’ 19 L]
Notary Public

County

My Commission expires: , 19

Kansas
M.C. ID No.
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KANSAS STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION
TRANSPORTATION DIVISION
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66612-1571
APPLICATION TO REGISTER EQUIPMENT FOR 1985

Name

FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY
Doing business as

. Local Wrecker Permit
Street address

MC ID No.
City and State »

NOTICE: A ten dollar ($10.005.regulatory fee for each
power unit must accompany this application.

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS
COLUMN

MAKE OF VEHICLE YEAR COMPLETE SERIAL NUMBER KCC TAG NO.

THIS. SPACE FOR COMMISSION'S USE

Regulatory fee required : , Insurance

Tags issued

Cab cards issued

Control

SCC/T0006 a
Revised: 11/84
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NEW STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS FOR LOCAL WRECKER

OPERATORS DOING BUSINESS IN KANSAS

After January 1, 1985, it will be unlawful for any person to provide
wrecker or towing service within Kansas without a "Local Wrecker
Permit" issued by the State Corporation Commission of Kansas; unless
you currently have a common carrier certificate or contract carrier
"permit issued by this Commission to perform wrecker service,

In an effort to implement this new law we are attempting to contact

all persons known to the Commission to be engaged in local wrecker
operations. '

The new law defines local wrecker operations to be firms or individuals
who perform wrecker or towing service:

1. wholly within the corporate limits of a city in Kansas
and up to a three mile radius outside those limits; or

2. Dbetween contiguous (touching) cities in Kansas; or

3. Dbetween contiguous (touching) cities in Kansas and
another state; or :

4. between any city in Kansas or another state and within
three miles of the corporate limits of any city in Kansas

Please review the attached instruction sheets and return the completed
application to the Transportation Division, State Corporation Commission
of Kansas, 4th Floor, State Office Building, Topeka, Kansas 66612. A
$10 application fee should accompany the application and an additional

- $10 registration fee for each vehicle you wish to have registered under
tre Local Wrecker Permit., - A local wrecker tag shall be issued to you
prior to January 1, 1985,

In order to expedite the processing of your application and quickly
answer any questions you may have, please contact Vanessa Aiken at
(913) 296-3000 or Evelyn Clearwater at (913) 296-3491,

William E. Green, Administrator
Transportation Division

. WEG:kec




LOCAL WRECKER PERMIT REQUIRED BY SENATE BILL 591,

ENACTED DURING THE 1984 LEGISLATIVE SESSION

LOCAL WRECKER CARRIER - Means any person engaged in performing wrecker service
wholly within the corporate limits of a city or within a 3-mile radius
thereof. '

REGISTRATION WITH KCC - All local wrecker operators must register with the
State Corporation Commission of Kansas for a "Local Wrecker Permit"
by January 1, 1985. -

FEES - Each application for a-'"Local Wrecker Permit" shall be accompanied by
a one-time filing fee of $10. Each holder of a local wrecker permit
shall pay an annual registration fee of $10 for each motor vehicle
operated under the permit. :

SAFETY REQUIREMENT - All applicants must declare knowledge of state and federal
safety regulations. (See attachments K.A.R. 82-4-3 and 82-4-20)

INSURANCE REQUIREMENT - Local wrecker operators must comply with regulations
and laws relating to motor vehicle equipment, safety, insurance and
liability which are applicable to common carriers. (Insurance limits
are $100,000 for personal-injury or death to any one person in any one
accident; $300,000 for injury or death to two or more people in any one
accident; $50,000 for loss of property of others in any one accident;
and $3,000 cargo insurance). Insurance must be kept in force for permit
to be valid. - :

CREDENTIAL - Upon receiving a properly prepared application along with the
initial $10 fee and proof of insurance, the Commission SHALL issue the
applicant a "Local Wrecker Permit", : '

VERICLE MARKINGS ~ All vehicles operated under a "Local Wrecker Permit'' shall
have durably marked on each. vehicle, on both sides, the name and address
of the owner or lessee of the vehicle, the gross weight for which the
vehicle is registered, and the word "LOCALY., The lettering shall be
in plain letters not less than two inches in height and with not less
than % inch stroke. '

PENALTY - Violation of this act or of the rules and regulations is a
misdemeanor. Conviction of such a violation may result in a fine not
to exceed $500. .

WRECKERS NOT COVERED BY LOCAL WRECKER PROVISIONS - Corporations and
individuals presently operating a tow truck under a certificate of
convenience and necessity, a contract carrier permit, or operating
lawfully as a private carrier under a private carrier permit, will not
have to obtain any additional permit or authority. Additional permits
or authority shall not be required as long as service performed is with
a vehicle properly registered with the Commission by the carrier.




82-4-3. Motor carrier safety regulations, (a) The foliowing
parts of the federal rules and regulations promulgated by the
U.S. department of transportation, federal highway administra-
tion, and bureau of motor carrier safety, are hereby incorporated
by reference as the rules and regulations of the state corpora-
tion commission of the state of Kansas. The incorporation by
reference shall cover'the parts as they exist oaneptewxmn>Aéh_

983 September 28, 1984: ta)} (1) Federal motor carrier safety

regulations: General, 49 CFR Part 390, except sections-49 CFR

390.1, 390.15, 390.16.

¢b} (2) Qualifications of drivers: 49 CFR Part 391y,

delteting except sections 49 CFR 391.2, 391 3, 391.5, 391.7,

391.11(b) (1), 391.41, 391.43, 391.45, 391.47 aré 391.49 and
" 391.69. |
e} (3) Driving of motor vehicles: 49 CFR.Part 392, except
sections 49 CFR 392.1(c)(d), 392.2, 392,30, 392.31, 392.32,

392.40 and 392.41.

¢4} (4) Parts and accessories necessary for safe operation:

49 CFR part 393y, doleting except section 49 CFR 393.81, 393.87
and 393.95(a) and (b).

(5) Notification and reporting of accidents: 49 CFR

Part 394.

te} (6) Hours of service of drivers: 49 CFR Part 395, except
sections 49 CFR 395.3(c), 395 8(k)(2) and 395.8(1)(2).

t€3 (7) Inspection, repair and maintenance: 49 CFR Part 396.

tg} (8) Transportation of hazardous materials; driving and

parking rules: 49 CFR Part 397. BEPT. GF ADMisiisTRATION
~mr\’—\\ . )
Ah._ Lk s Vr' _',j GCT 1oygy
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(9) Transportation of migrant workers: 49 CFR Part 398,

(10) Employee safety and health standards: 49 CFR Part 399.

(b) Whenever the incorporated federal regulations refer to

portions of the federal regulations that are not included under

subsection (a), those references shall not be applicable to this

regulation,

(c) The following terms as used in this regulation and the

identified sections of the -regulations adopted by reference

are defined as follows:

(1) The term "special agent of FHWA or special agent of the

federal highway administration and authorized represeﬁtaﬁives of

the federal highway administration®, as used in 49 CFR 394.15(a),

395.13(a), 396.9(a), 398.8(a) and 399 appendix B, means

authorized representatives of the state corporation commission of

Kansas and troopers of the Kansas highway patrol.

(2) The term "authorized FHWA personnel' as used in 49 CFR

396.9(b), means troopers of the Kansas highway patrol or

authorized representatives of the state corporation commission of

Kansas,

(3) The term "“associate regional administrator, motor carrier

safety, federal highway édministration', as used in 49 CFR

394.9(d), means superintendent, Kansas highway patrol.

(4) The term "director, regional motor carrier safety office

of the federal highway administration”, as used in 49 CFR 390.40,

391.51(g), 394.7(a), 394.9(a), 394.11(a) and 397.19(b), means the

superintendent, Kansas hlghway patrol and the administrator of

P U RDMISTRATION
ST APRPROVED
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the transportation division of the state corporation commission

of Kansas.

(5) The term "regional federal highway administrator", as

used in 49 CFR 391.51(b)(2), means director of transportation,

state corporation commission of Kansas,

{6) The term "department of transportation act”, as used in

49-CFR, 394.3(a), means the department of transportatlon act and

the motor .carrier act. of the state of Kansas.

{d) Copies of the motor carrier safety regulations
promulgated by the U.S. departméent of transportation may be
obtained from the Superinﬁendent of documenté;'United-States
Government printing office, w&éhingﬁpn, D.C. 20402, (Authorized

by and implementing K.S.A. 1983 Supp. 66-1,112. K.S.A. 66-1.1125,

K.S.A. 1983 Supp. 66-1,112g; and K.S.A. 66-1,129; effective Jan.
1, 1971; modified, 1981 HCR No. 5020, May 1, 1981; amended May 1,
1984; amended, T- - ‘ )
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82-4-20. Transgértation of hazardous materials by motor
vehicles, The federal regulations entitled ™Hazardous
Materials Tables and Hazardous Materials Communications Safety
Regulations", Title 49 CFR, Part l72(as in effect on September

15, 1983, are adopted by reference. (a) The following parts

of the federal hazardous materials rules and regulations

promulgated by the U.S. department of transportation are

incérporated by reference as the rules and regulations of the

state corporation commission of the state of Kansas: Title 49

CFR, Parts 107.103(b) and 107.)05, 171, 172, 173, 177 and 178,

except sections 49 CFR 171.7(@)127), 177.825, 177.842, 177.843

and 177.861, as in effect on September 28, 1984.

(b) Whenever the incorporated federal regulations refer to

portions of the federal regulations that are not included

under subsection (a), those references shall not be applicable

to this regulation. (Authorized by K.S.A. 1982 1983 Supp.

66-1,112, K.S.A, 66-1,112a, K.S.A. 3582~1983 Supp. 66-1,112g
and K.S.A. 66-1,129; implementing K.S.A. 1983 Supp. 66-1,112

and K.S.A., 66-1,129, effective Jan. 1, 1971; amended May 1,

1981; amended May 1, 1984; amended, T- ' - ’
o)
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STATEMENT
By The
KANSAS MOTOR CARRIERS ASSOCIATION

In opposition to H.B. 2708 which would
substantially expand the limits established
for "Local wrecker carrier'" service.

Presented to the House Transportation
Committee, Rep. Rex Crowell, Chairman;
Statehouse, Topeka, Monday, February 3, 1986.

MR. CHAIRMAN AND MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE:

I am Mary Turkington, Executive Director of the Kansas
Motor Carriers Association with offices in Topeka. We are
here today representing the Towing and Recovery Division of
our membership to oppose House Bill 2708.

This Legislature, in the 1984 Session, wisely provided
clarification of the statutory framework which governs the
service of towing and recovery operations for the public in
this state.

You adopted legislation which, for the first time,
statutorily defined a 'wrecker or tow truck." You defined
"wrecker or towing service.'" You defined 'private wrecker

or towing service'" and you defined a '"local wrecker carrier."

H. Transp . —2/3/9/
Attach. Y



Tow Truck Legislation - page 2

That legislation acknowledged that some tow truck operators

would choose to offer only local wrecker carrier service and

that some would wish to serve beyond a local area.

A local wrecker carrier was defined to include any person
engaged in performing wrecker or towing service wholly within
the corporate limits of a city or within three miles of the
corporate limits thereof.

Such wrecker or towing service means the act of transporting,
towing or recovering a vehicle not owned by the operator of
the wrecker or tow truck.

"Private wrecker or towing service' means the act of
transporting with a wrecker or tow truck any vehicle owned
by the operator of the wrecker or tow truck.

Those who wish to perform a wrecker or towing service
beyond the corporate limits of a city or town or the territory
within 3 miles of the corporate limits thereof, would continue
to apply for a common carrier certificate from the Kansas
Corporation Commission just as the law has always required
them to do.

Our industry acknowledged that the revision in the law
which was adopted in 1984 well could result in more tow truck
operators making application for common carrier authority from
the Kansas Corporation Commission to be certain that such tow
truck operators were complying fully with the law.

We believe a review of the applications filed with the KCC
would indicate that this has occurred. Compliance with the law

has improved.
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The 1984 legislation also provided that those tow truck
operators who would choose to offer only local wrecker service
would be required to simply register with the Kansas Corporation
Commission to secure a 'Local wrecker carrier permit" but would
be required to carry proper insurance and comply with the basic
safety rules and regulations required for such motor truck vehicles.

There is no economic regulation of such local wrecker |
operators. There indeed is added protection for the public
from the standpoint of insurance and identification of local
operators.

There are no requirements for such local operators to
file any rates or charges of any kind with the KCC. The
Commission does not have any jurisdictioﬁ over such purely
local fees or charges for wrecker operators or any other
transportation service performed wholly within the city
limits or three miles thereof.

The local wrecker operator is required to keep insurance
in force, must have painted or durably marked on both sides
of such vehicles the word '"local', the gross weight for which
the vehicle is registered and the name and address of the owner
or lessee of the vehicle. These requirements were designed
to more clearly identify the tow truck operator for the public

which might require such local services.
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We sincerely believe the revisions you adopted in 1984
to become effective January 1, 1985, are workable and that
this law as it now stands is in the public interest.

There is nothing to prohibit any local wrecker carrier
from seeking a common carrier certificate from the Corporation
Commission to expand his service beyond the local limits.

As we pointed out a moment ago in this testimony, a
number of tow truck operators have already done just that.

To change the rules on those operators and on the tow
truck carriers who currently are serving their communities
either locally or as common carriers would seem bad public
policy at this time.

The 1984 law is just now working itself into place.
Enforcement officers, the public and the tow truck industry
are working to understand the current law and to comply with
its provisions.

To adopt the expansion of the '"local wrecker carrier"
operations to a radius of 25 miles of the city or state
in which the carrier is located would, for all practical
purposes, simply destroy the statutory framework which now
governs this towing and recovery industry.

We have been talking positively about economic development,
about expansion of small businesses in our state and about
improving our economic climate. We respectfully submit that
the men and women who own these towing and recovery businesses

are a part of the Kansas industrial family.
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They need to know the ground rules under which their
businesses must operate and they need to have good support
from you if they are to continue to address in a constructive
fashion, the problems of the towing and recovery business.

We believe the current law needs to govern the towing
and recovery industry at this time with respect to the limits
adopted in 1984.

That legislation incidentally, had the support of this
Association, the Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association, the
Kansas Highway Patrol, the Automobile Club of Kansas (AAA),
and the City of Wichita.

We respectfully ask that you permit the current statute
to prevail and that you not recommend House Bill 2708 for
passage.

We will be pleased to attempt to answer any questions
you may have. Thank you for this opportunity to present

our industry's comments to you.
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