December 3, 1986

Approved
Date
MINUTES OF THE _House  COMMITTEE ON Transportation
The meeting was called to order by Rex Crowell at
Chairperson
1:30  %¥¥/p.m. on March 25 1986 in room _519=S  of the Capitol.

All members were present exeep:

Committee staff present:

Bruce Kinzie, Revisor of Statutes
Hank Avila, Legislative Research
Donna Mulligan, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Secretary Harley T. Duncan, Xansas Department of Revenue

Dr. James McHenry, Kansas Dept. of Social & Rehabilitation Services
Representative George Teagarden

Mrs. Connie Hubbell, Kansas State Board of Education

Ms. Chris Graves, Associated Students of Kansas

Ms. Jane Morrissey, Kansas Association of Prevention Professionals
Ms. Elizabeth Taylor, Kansas Association of Alcohol & Drug Program Directors
Mr. Richard D. Schlegel, ABATE of Kansas

Senator Robert Frey

Mrs. Mary Turkington, Kansas Motor Carriers Association

Mr. Jim Sullins, Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association

Mr. David H. Moses, Sedgwick County District Attorney's Office

Mr. Jim Crim, Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle & Parts Commission

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Crowell and the first
order of business was a hearing on SB-675 concerning drivers'
license fees.

Mr. Harley T. Duncan, Secretary, Department of Revenue, testified in
support of SB-675. (See Attachment 1) Secretary Duncan said this

bill would increase driver license fees and change the procedure for
establishing the expiration date for first-time licensees in Kansas.

He said the increase in fees is necessary because at current levels

they do not cover the cost of administering Drivers License Examining and
Control Bureau.

Secretary Duncan reported FY-1985 receipts from all sources (approximately
75 percent of which are from driver licenses) totalled $4.0 million. He
said the actual 1985 expenditures in this Bureau amounted to $5.1 million
and $5.3 million has been requested for FY-1987. He added that the driver
licensing and control operations constitute a net drain on the State
Highway Fund in excess of $1.0 million annually.

Dr. James McHenry, Department of Social & Rehabilitation Services, gave
favorable testimony concerning SB-675. (See Attachment 2) Dr. McHenry
said passage of the bill with New Section 4, would make $500,000
available for distribution by SRS/Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services

to schools across the state for prevention and intervention programming.

Representative Moomaw asked what amount is currently being spent on
this program. Dr. McHenry said in terms of programs directly to school
districts, it is about $225,000.

Representative George Teagarden, spoke in favor of SB-675. He said he
supports the bill prlmarlly because of the alcohol and drug abuse
program fund created in it.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not
been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for

editing or corrections. Page
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Mrs. Connie Hubbell, Kansas State Board of Education, testified in
support of SB-675. (See Attachment 3)

Mrs. Hubbell said the State Board of Education supports increasing

state funds for the prevention of drug and alcohol abuse but believes

that $500,000 is too much money to spend when it appears teacher salary
increases will be minimal. She said the Board recommends that the

amount be changed to $250,000 and sunset following a three-year pilot
program. This should allow sufficient time to determine the effectiveness
of the program.

Ms. Chris Graves, Associated Students of Kansas, appeared in support
of SB-675. (See Attachment 4)

Ms. Jane Morrissey, Kansas Association of Prevention Professionals,
testified in support of SB-675. (See Attachment 5)

Ms. Elizabeth Taylor, Kansas Association of Alcohol & Drug Program
Directors, spoke in favor of SB-675.

Mr. Richard D. Schlegel, ABATE of Kansas, testified in favor of SB-675.
(See Attachment 6) 22002

Mr. Schlegel said they support SB-675 on the grounds that it will provide
additional funds for motorcycle rider training programs.

The hearing on SB-675 was concluded.

The next order of business was a hearing on SB-624 concerning the
disposal of impounded vehicles.

Senator Robert Frey, sponsor of SB-624, briefed the Committee on the
contents of the bill.

Mrs. Mary Turkington, Kansas Motor Carriers Association, testified in
support of SB-624. (See Attachment 7) She said passage of this
legislation will be helpful in meeting some of the problems tow

truck operators experience with wrecked or abandoned vehicles, and
will help such tow truck operators to comply with the lawful
dispostion of such property.

The hearing on SB-624 ended.

The next order of business was a hearing on $B-470 concerning the
licensure of certain dealers and brokers under the Vehicle Dealers
and Manufacturers Licensing Act.

Mr. Jim Sullins, Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association, spoke in
favor of SB-470. (See Attachment 8)

Mr. Sullins distributed a copy of a "Motor Vehicle Dealer Bond" used
in Missouri, to Committee members. (See Attachment 9)

Representative Spaniol asked Secretary Harley Duncan how many times
had a dealer's license been suspended or revoked. Secretary Duncan
said the figure would probably be less than ten in the last three
years.
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Mr. David H. Moses, Sedgwick County District Attorney's Office,
testified concerning SB-470. (See Attachment 10)

Mr. Moses said that in 1985 his office handled 128 consumer protection
cases involving new or used auto dealers, which is approximately

16 percent of their total cases from 1985. He said 51 percent of the

cases involved charges of misrepresentation while 16 percent involved

failure to deliver title.

Mr. Moses said that SB-470 seems to give consumers added protection
when dealing with car dealers, but requested the Committee consider
the following questions before acting on this legislation: 1) Does
SB-470 include consumer protection actions brought by the District
Attorney or Attorney General, within the indemnity of bond provision?

2) Will the legislation substantially eliminate the smaller new or used

1986

car dealer, who being considered a high risk by bonding companies, cannot

readily obtain a surety bond?

Mr. Jim Crim, Oklahoma Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, State
of Oklahoma, testified in support of SB-470. (See Attachment 11)

Mr. Crim told the Committee the bond program is used in the state of
Oklahoma and it has been a help in "cleaning up" the industry in the
state of Oklahoma.

The Chairman announced the hearing on S$B-470 would be continued on
another date.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:55 p.m.

Rex Crowell, Chairman
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MEMORANDUM

TOs The Honorable Rex Crowell, Chairman
House Committee on, Transportation

7P

RE Sernate Rill 678 - Driver lLicense Fees

FROM: Harley T. Dunca
Secretary of §

DATE: March 24, 1986

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you today on
Senate Bill 675 which would increase driver license fees and
change the procedure for establishing the expiration date for
first-time licensees in Fansas. The Department of Revenue
supports enactment of this measure.

Driver License Fees

Senate BLll 675 would increase driver license fees as
followss

DRIVER LICENSE FEES

CL.ASE OF LICENSE CURRENT FROFDSED
LEARNER FERMITS ¥.350 2,00
CLASS A and B F10.00 #135. 00
CLAass © $£é. 00 F10.00
CLASS D (MOTORCYCLED 5,00 £5. 00

We propose to increase the fees because at the current
levels they do not cover the cost of administering the Driver
License Examining and Control Bureaw. FY 1985 receipts from  all
sources (approdimately 79 percent of which are from driver
licenses) totalled #4.0 million. Ow actual 1985 expendituwres in
this Bureauw amounted #F5.1 million and #$5%5.3 million has been
reguested for FY 1987. Thus, o driver licensing and control
operations constitute a net drain on the State Highway Fund in
exvcess of F£F1.0 million annually.

We believe this activity should be self-supporting. Diiver
license fees have not increased since 1973, and we do not think

the proposed fees are exorbitant for a 4-year driving privilege.
Other fees generated in the Driver Licensing Bureau include

A Tmbsﬁ. 3/z 5/9L
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SR 675

reinstatement fees (#2959, driver record checks (1) and the photo
fee associated with the license (Fi).
We estimate that the proposed increases will generate

aproximately #2.1 million annually. Under current law, receipts
from driver license fees are distributed as follows:

DISTRIBUTION OF FEES

S5AFETY M-CYCLE HIGHWAY

CLABS OF LLICENSE FLIND FUND FLUND

LEARNER PERMITS 100, 0%
CLASS A and B 25, 0% 75. Q%
OLAass C 0. 0% S0, 0%
CLAGS D EEREA NORIY 2 RIRIY 4

Based on this distribution, approximately #1.1 million of
the increased fees will be deposited to the State Highway Fund,
¥1.0 million to the State Safety Fund and #40,000 to the
Motorcycle Safety Fund. The increase will bring driver-related
fees deposited to the Highway Fund or directly to the Motor
Vehicle Operating Fund teo about #5.6-5.7 million, compared to our
recommended 5.3 million budget.

The increase will bring total receipts to the two safety
funds to roughly #2.5 million. Receipts in the safety funds are
distributed to school districts for driver education ard
motorcycle education programs.

The Senate amendments +to the bill would change the
distribution of funds. It would provide that #500,000 of the
amount that would otherwise go to the Safety Funds would go to
the School Alcohol and Drug Abuse Frevention Fund ( a new fund)
to be used by the Secretary of Social and Rehabilitation Services
to make grants to school districts for alcohol and drug  abuse
prevention programs.,

The Department of Revenue takes no position with respect to
the Senate amendments. We do, however, feel very strongly that
it the Committer disagrees with the proposed funding of alcohol
and drug abuse prevention programs (or any similar programs) that
the proposed increase in driver license fees should be approved
s0 that ow  driver licensing and control activities can be
sel f-supporting.
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Expiration Date Changes

Under current law, the term of the driver license for
persons being licensed for the first time in Eansas may extend
from as little as six months to as long as 59 months depending on
the vear and month of the person’'s birth. (Costs of the license
are prorated accordingly.) This system was established to even
out the number of licenses coming up for renewal in any one year
when the state moved from a two-year license to a four-year
license in 1970.

While such & staggering mechanism was necessary during the
transition from a two-year to a four-year license, it no longer
gerves any useful purpose. All new licensees (new drivers and
new residents) should be randomly distributed by month and vear
so that no build-up of renewals should occour.

Most importantly, this staggering of terms and fees creates
difficulty and confusion for the public and the Department. It

takes axtra time to serve the clients and makes the
reconciliation of examiner and station accounts guite difficult
and time consuming. It also does not make any sense to the

cdiriving public.

SBenate Bill 673 would allow uwus to issue all Firgt-time
licenses for a fouwr-year period. The license will still expire
on the driver 's birthday, and the initial period will be four
vears from the birthday nearest to the application date. That is
if I have a March birthday and receive a license in May 1985, it
will expire in March 1989. If I receive the license in December
1985, it will expire in March 1990, The fee for all Ffirst-time
licenses will the same——%£10 if the proposal outlined above is
adopted.

Thank you forr the opportunity to appear. I would be glad to
answer any gquestions.



DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND REHABILITATION SERVICES
ALCOHOL AND DRUG ABUSE SERVICES

Senate Bill 675
Increase in Motor Vehicle Drivers' License Fees

I. Title
An act concerning motor vehicle driver's licenses; amending KSA 8-240 and
KSA 1985 Supp. 8-247 and repealing the existing sections.

II. PURPOSE

The bill increases the fee for an application for a driver's license
permit from $.50 to $2. Fee of class C driver's license is increased
from $6 to $10, class D from $3 to $5, class A or B from $10 to $15.

IIT. BACKGROUND

Fee increase is requested by the Department of Revenue to cover costs of
administering the drivers' license program.

The increase will generate additional funds for the state safety fund.
Members of the Interdepartmental Coordinating Committee on Alcohol and
Drug Abuse, including the Department of Revenue, suggested that a portion
of the increase in funds for the state safety fund be allocated to a
proposed school alcohol and drug abuse fund. The fund proposed in New
Section 4 would provide funding to implement the intent of HB 2142 which
was signed by Governor Carlin in 1985. The fund would provide for
SRS/Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services to distribute monies for alcohol and
drug abuse programming in Kansas schools.

IV. EFFECT OF PASSAGE
Passage of the bill with New Section 4 would make $500,000 available for
distribution by SRS/ADAS to schools across the state for prevention and
intervention programming.

V. SRS RECOMMENDATION
Support the amendment of Kansas Statutes to increase the driver's license
fees and create a school alcohol and drug abuse fund.

Robert C. Harder
Office of the Secretary
Social and Rehabilitation Services
296-3271
March 25, 1986
7198C
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STATE OF KANSAS

JOHN CARLIN, Governor
STATE DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND REHABILITATION SERVICES

ALCOHOL AND DRUG ABUSE SERVICES ROBERT C. HARDER, SecreTanry 2700 WEST 6TH STREET
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66606
(913) 296-3925
KANS-A-N 561-3925

TESTIMONY FOR SB 675 INCREASE IN DRIVER'S LICENSE FEE
March 25, 1986

1 am speaking today in favor of SB 675. My testimony is chiefly directed at
New Section 4, creation of the school alcohol and drug abuse Prevention Fund.

In 1985, HB 2142 was signed into law by Governor John Carlin. The bill
encourages school districts to implement alcohol and drug prevention and
intervention programs, and provide for obtaining treatment services that may
be needed for their students.

The Interdepartmental Coordinating Committee on Alcohol and Drug Abuse is a
body composed of representatives from state agencies with an interest in
alcohol and drug abuse. An educational subcommittee is drafting a report
making recommendations for the development and implementation of comprehensive
alcohol and drug prevention and intervention programs in Kansas schools as
suggested by HB 2142. The drivers' license fee increase and proposed school
alcohol and drug abuse prevention fund were suggested by representatives of
the Department of Revenue and other members of the ICC subcommittee as a
viable source of funds to assist prevention and intervention programs in
schools.

SRS Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services wishes to expand the very positive
relationships existing with the state Department of Education and school
agistricts across the state. ADAS provides funding for school based prevention
programs in Shawnee Mission USD 512, Salina Public Schools, and Cowley County
Special Services Cooperative. In addition, six ADAS funded community based
prevention programs provide services to schools. Wichita Public Schools
receives funding to provide School Team Training to representatives of schools
from across the state. Since 1983, 75 teams from 39 districts have received
training. Forty-four teams will be trained in 1986. ADAS has provided
technical assistance, information and materials to many more schools. We have
assisted Students Against Driving Drunk (SADD) in expanding from 27 chapters
in 1984 to over 100 at this time.

Expanced funding through the proposed school alcohol and drug abuse prevention
fund should result in expanded private sector involvement in prevention and
intervention programs in our schools. Ewing Kauffman of Marion Laboratories
ana the Kansas City Royals, funds Project STAR, a Kansas City area youth
alconol and drug prevention project, through the Ewing M. and Muriel I.
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Kauffman Foundation. In a recent conversation with me, he indicated an
interest in expanding Project STAR to other Kansas communities. Expansion
would be contingent on assistance from other sources of funding. In this and
other cases, the proposed school alcohol and drug abuse prevention fund would
help leverage an expansion of private funding of prevention and intervention
programs in our schools.

Numerous studies cite alcohol involvement in half of traffic accidents
involving fatally injured teenage drivers. A November, 1985 National Highway
Traffic Safety Administration report emphasized the need for comprehensive,
well designea prevention programming.

To be successful in reducing alcchol and drug abuse, there must be
comprehensive school-based prevention strategies. Comprehensive strategies
incluce: 1) alcohol and drug information, 2) education in life skills, 3)
alternatives to alcohol and drug use, and 4) health promotion.

A rtecently released study by Gene Smith, associate professor at Harvard
Meaical School, strongly suggests that substance abuse is not a random
development and indicates that teenage alcohol, cigarette, and drug use can be
predicted and prevented. Adolescents with personality traits including
obedience, responsibility and self-confidence tend to shun  drugs.
Comprehensive prevention programming is designed to foster and enhance these
positive traits.

We believe the proposed school alcohol and drug abuse prevention fund is a
viable method of supporting the intent of HB 2142, A continuum of
comprehensive alcohol and drug prevention, intervention, and treatment must be
in place if we are to limit alcohol and drug abuse among the young people of
our state.

Thank you for the opportunity to make this presentation.

LH:kh
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CREATION OF A KANSAS SCHOOL ALCOHOL AND DRUG ABUSE
PREVENTION FUND
SB 675, New Section 4
March 13, 1986

W. WHAT IS THE PROPOSED SCHOOL ALCOHOL AND DRUG PREVENTION FUND AND HOW WILL IT

BE CREATED?

. The School Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention Fund has been amended into SB

675 to provide funds to school districts for implementation of alcohol and
drug abuse prevention and intervention programs. SRS Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Services would administer the funds by inviting school districts to submit
grant applications.

SB 675 proposes to raise the Drivers' License fees for all classes of
Drivers' licenses. A portion of the money from the Drivers' License fees
goes to the State Safety Fund. Schools use this money to fund driver
education programs. It is estimated that increasing the drivers' license
fees will generate an additional $1.1 million for the State Safety Fund. SB
675 as passed by the Senate proposes that the School Alcohol and Drug Abuse
Prevention Fund receive $500,00Q, which would leave an estimated balance of
$600,000 as _the increase for the State Safety Fund.

. WHY SHUULD DRIVERS' LICENSE FEES BE A SOURCE OF REVENUE FOR ALCOHOL AND DRUG

ABUSE PREVENTION PROGRAMS FOR SCHOOLS?

. Youth drinking and driving is a serious problem in Kansas. Kansas youth

begin drinking by age 1l1. Prevention must start in elementary school.

ALl drivers have a fundamental stake in helping prevent the young drinking
driver from being out on the road.

- Up to 60% of all fatal motor vehicle accidents involving young people are
alcohol related. (NHTSA, "Facts About Teenage Drunk Driving™)

- 8,000 teenagers and young adults are killed annually in drinking/driving
accidents; 40,000 are injured (National Institute on Alcoholism and
Alcohol Abuse).

- In 1984, Kansas drinking drivers under age 19 were 17.8% (1,594) of all
grinking drivers involved in accidents; and they were 16.8% (3,161) of
all alcohol related arrests (KBI, Crime in Kansas, 1984).

(. HOW DO WE KNOW THIS MONEY IS NEEDED FOR SCHOOL ALCOHOL & DRUG PREVENTION

PRUGRAMS?

. In a 1983 survey of Kansas schools conducted by the Kansas Department of

Education and SRS/ADAS:

- only 15% of responding schools had K-12 alcohol and drug prevention
education programs, only 28% of responding elementary schools had any
type of prevention/education program.

There were 3,126 admissions of youth age 20 or under to Kansas alcohol and
gruy treatment programs in FY 1985. Admissions of youth have increased
17.%% since FY 83. SRS/ADAS projects at least 33,000 Kansas youth are
problem drinkers in need of intervention or treatment services.
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In the 1984 Gallup Poll on Teenage Alcohol Use, teenagers said that alcohol
ana drug use is the biggest problem of their generation. Meetings held with
Kansas High School students in 1985 and 1986 confirmed this impression.

In 1984/85, prevention programs partially funded by SRS/ADAS were only able
to reach 19% of the 405,347 Kansas students. Limited resources meant that
prevention services could only be provided to 26 of the 105 Kansas counties.

. WHAT TYPES OF PREVENTION PROGRAMS WOULD BE CONSIDERED FOR FUNDING?

1. K-12 alcohol and drug prevention curriculum implementation and teacher
training;

2. Student Assistance Programs to assist youth with alcohol and drug
problems to obtain appropriate diagnosis and referral for services;

3. Training for youth to resist peer pressure. (SADD Chapter Development)

4. Programs for school populations with special needs, such as children of
alcoholics;

5. Programs to increase parents' knowledge and skills to prevent alcohol and
drug abuse by their children.

. WHAT FUNDS CURRENTLY SUPPORT ALCOHOL AND DRUG PREVENTION PROGRAMS IN KANSAS?

SB 888 SRS/ADAS Schools Other Total Allocated to
(local liquor tax) Community and School
Prevention
$425,060 $376,300 $222,289 $261,282 $1,284,931
(33%) (29%) (17%) (21%) (100%)

(One year funding reported in August, 1985 Funding Survey
conducted by SRS/ADAS)

. WHY IS SRS/ADAS THE APPROPRIATE GRANTING AGENCY?

. SRS/ADAS 1is the designated Single State Agency for alcohol and drug

abuse prevention, intervention and treatment and has been working with
schools and communities since 1974. The agency has a granting
procedure which includes regular site visits, quarterly fiscal and
program reports, review of all grant applications by a Grant Review
Committee, and alcohol and drug professional consultants assigned to
each grant. Technical assistance is provided upon request.

If SB 675 is enacted, SRS/ADAS will issue Requests for Proposals to
school aistricts. Whenever possible, schools will be asked to contract
with existing community based alcohol and drug programs. Grants would

be accepted on an open competitive basis. Factors in determining
awards will include criteria such as underserved areas of the state.

A1l moneys designated to the School Alcohol and Drug Prevention Fund
will be used for grants. None of these funds will be wutilized by
SRS/ADAS for administrative purposes.

7506C/3/13/86



Kansas State Board of Education

Kansas State Education Building

120 East 10th Street Topeka, Kansas 66612-1103

Kay M. Groneman Connie Hubbell Bill Musick Evelyn Whitcomb
District 1 District 4 District .6 District 8
Kathleen White Sheila Frahm Theodore R. Von Fange Robert J. Ciemons
District 2 District 5 District 7 District 9
Dale Louis Carey Marion (Mick) Stevens
District 3 March 25, 1986 District 10

TO: House Transportation Committee

FROM: State Board of Education

SUBJECT: Senate Bill 675

My name is Connie Hubbell, Legislative Chairman of the State Board of
Education. 1 appreciate the opportunity to appear before the Committee
on behalf of the State Board.

Senate Bill 675 increases driver's and chauffeur's license fees which will
generate an additional $1,000,000 for the state safety. This bill proposes

that $500,000 of the state safety fund increase be used for new alcohol and

drug abuse prevention programs. The State Board of Education supports increasing
state funds for the prevention of drug and alcohol abuse but believes that

$500,000 is too much money to spend when it appéars teacher salary increases
will be minimal.

The State Board of Education recommends that the amount be changed to $250,000
and sunset following a three-year pilot program. This will allow sufficient
time to determine the effectiveness of the program.

The State Board of Education further recommends that the guidelines for
determining the allocation of the $250,000 be subject to their approval. The
approval of these guidelines should improve the coordination of driver education
and drug and alcohol abuse prevention programs.

In summary, the State Board of Education strongly endorses drug and alcohol
abuse prevention but believes that taking approximately 50 percent of this

new revenue is inappropriate at this time when teacher salary increases may
be minimal.

A TRonsp, 3/35’/!Z
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ASSOCIATED STUDENTS OF KANSAS

Suite 608, Capitol Tower 400 W. 8th
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(913) 354-1394

STATEMENT BY
CHRIS GRAVES

ASSOCIATED STUDENTS OF KANSAS
(ASK)
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HOUSE TRANSFORTATION COMMITTEE

ON

5B 675
An act concerning motor vehicle drivers’ licenses

March 25, 1986
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Good afternoon Mr. Chairman and members of the House Transportation
Committee. My name is Chris Braves. [ am the Executive Director of the
Associated Students of Kansas, representing the student government associations
at the seven public universities. It’'s a pleasure to be here today - I don’'t

often get the opportunity to address this Committee and relate to you ASK

toncerns.

I am here today to express our support for the provisions in SB 675 which
create the school alcohol and drug abuse prevention fund. Throughout the many
hearings at which ASK presented testimony related to increasing the legal
drinking age of 3.2 beer, we continually stressed that the way to curb alcohol
and drug abuse by youth is by education and the changing of attitudes - not just
the accessibility pf these substances to our young people.

"The Comprehensive Studywﬁ of Drug and Alcohol Use in Kansas; Fresent
Patterns, Attitudes and Changes in Use" reported that 11 is the mean age of
first use of alcohol in Kansas. Abviously then, education and prevention is
needed before then, or before the 6th grade, so that problems are less likely to
develop in the teen years and beyond.

Dbviously parents have the responsibility for educating their children, but
too many parents themselves are uneducated in this area and others just confuse
their children by the mixed messages they give in their.advice versus their
bhehavior on a Friday or Baturday night.

The Ql;ohol and Drug Abuse Services division of the Department of Social
and Rehabilitation Services has been legislatively mandated to provide services
throughout Kansas which serve to prevent the abouse of alcohol and other drugs

among all Kansans. For the past several years, youth prevention services have



been identified as a top need in the state, yet a very small percentage of their
budget (10% or less) can presently be allocated to prevention.

There are several different programs currently being developed for the
schools and professionals from ADAS can more fully describe for you the details.
I'm only familiar with a few - SADD, School Team Training, All Stars. From what
I've heard, and from what I've seen from participants in those programs, real
benefits are provided to the students, to the parents, and to the community.

Schools must also share in the responsibility of educating our young people
about the use and abuse of alcohol and drugs. ASKE has always supported the
recommendations ot the Governor's Committee on Drunk Driving for mandatory
education in elementary, junior high and high schools. When possible, this
instruction should be incorporated into ewxisting curriculum. And should SB 675
be passed favorably with these provisions as now written, so much more can be
done.

Thank you again for this chance to be here today. I would be happy to

answer any questions,
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Kansas Association of Prevention Professionals

Box 4052
Topcka, Kansas 66604-0052

March 25, 1986

TESTIMONY SUPPORTING SCHOOL PREVENTION

FUND - SB 675

The Kansas Association of Prevention Professionals has
existed in the state for four years. Our purpose is to "unite
human disciplines interested in the prevention of destructive,
self-defeating behaviors and the promotion and support of
healthy lifestyles." Our membership consists of professionals,
volunteers, and citizens from the 'areas of alcohol and other
drug abuse, mental health, unwanted teenage pregnancy, child

abuse and other social/health issues.

KAPP believes it is cost effective to prevent or intervene
in the progression of diseases such as alcoholism and other
drug abuse. The cost of treatment for any disease naturally
exceeds the resources it takes to prevent it. KAPP supports
the need for quality treatment services, because we know when
good prevention and intervention services are provided, stud-
ents will surface who are already experiencing problems with

alcohol and other drugs and treatment may be indicated.

KAPP proposes as a matter of public policy, Kansas should
begin to examine the cost effectiveness of developing strong,
well evaluated prevention and intervention services. The
bill proposed to create and provide funding for a school

alcohol and drug prevention fund to be used for school preven-
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tion services 1is one more step forward in reaching youth
before alcohol and drug problems are evident, to provide them
with the refusal skills they need, the communication skills

to resist peer pressure, and the alternative activities that
provide alcohol and drug free functions for youth so the keg

party isn't the only option at graduation and prom times.

One curriculum that is used in Kansas and was developed
in Topeka is GET SET. Get Set costs $8.00 per child. It
starts in the elementary grades, when prevention must begin.
Another strategy that is effective is School Team Training
for the Prevention of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse. Extensive
evaluation is available on that program in the Wichita area,

and statewide data is now being gathered.

We have learned through experience and research what is
effective. Our next task is getting the strategies implemented
throughout the state. Current services are fragmented and not

available for thousands of Kansas students.

The development and implementation of the alcohol and drug
continuum of care in Kansas is like assembling a jigsaw puzzle.
Many of the treatment pieces (but not all) are in place. We
now must begin to assemble the prevention and intervention
pieces to complete the puzzle. I can assure you the picture
will be worth seeing when that puzzle is complete, much suffer-

ing will be avoided, many lives will be saved.

It is true that our youth are our future. Your support

of this bill to provide funds for school alcohol and drug pre-
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vention will help secure that future.

Thank you.

Respectfully submitted,

P y, :
L [t ‘///?ffz:f.azz/éf-/
7~ ( e

Jahe Morrissey /
KAPP President Elect




Ter mony Before The House Transportation Committee In Support of S.B. 675

by Richard D. Schlegel, Registered Lobbyist, A.B.A.T.E. of Kansas.

We support Senate Bill 675 on the grounds that, a number of years ago,
our organization approached the legislature to request an increase in
motorcycle license fees which were to be used for rider education programs.
I have a hand-out which will explain this. Under Stituate 8-267, we are
guaranteed one~third of the moneys from "Class D" motorcycle licenses for
rider education programs., Statute 8-272 specifies how this money is to be
used and distributed.

It is my understanding, from talking to Mr. Gerald Christensen, Dept.
of Education, that this increase in drivers license fees will generate
approximately 36,000 to 38,000 dollaras. Hecretary Duncan has stated that
the increase would be approximately 40,000 dollars.

It is interesting to note that since the rider education programs have
become available, there has been a marked reduction in the number of motor-
cycle accidents, especially amoung 'new riders'. Many accidents occur
during the initial "learning" period by new riders. These rider education
programs have, apparently,lead to a reduction in the number of these accidents.

It is also interesting to note that Kansas is the &4th safest state in the
United States to ride a motorcycle in and we like to feel that this is
in some way due to the fact that Kansas has one of the most aggressive
rider education courses available in the U,S.

We did not ask for the increase in license fees. However, we do
support the increase in that more money will go into the rider training
programs and, hopefully, expand these programs.

There are a few minor problems in the program as it is set up now
in that it is locked up within the Dept. of Education and it is hard to
get these programs started in some areas. We have to rely on several
factors such as the good will of a motorcycle dealer for the use of the
rotorcycles, the school board, things of that nature,

Hopefully, this increase in funding could be used by the Board of

Education to purchase motorcycles for these programs or something in this
nature,

%'7;:4,75/0, 3/25/fl
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tween insurance carrier and operator of mfurcd \t‘hl(‘;‘l’cj.
Prickett v. Hawkeyve-Security Insurance Conmpany, 2582
F.2d 294, 29K, 299.

8-271. Title of act. This act and the acts
of which this act is amendatory shall be
known and may be cited as the motor vehi-
cle drivers’ license act. _

= - "

History; L. 1937, ch. 73, § 38; L. 1974,
ch. 38, §6; July 1.

DRIVER TRAINING

8-272. State safety fund and motorcy-
cle safety fund; entitlements; certification
of amounts; distribution; proration of insuf-
ficient appropriations; motorcycle safety
courses and instructors. (a) Any sch()pl
district conducting an approycd course 1n
driver training and any pupil attending a
nonpublic school accreditgd by the state
hoard of education conducting an approved
course in driver training shall be entitled to
participate in the state safety fund created
by K.S.A. 8-267, and amendments thereto. In
August of each vear, the superintendent of
eaci school district and the governing au-
thority of each nonpublic school shall report
to the state board of education the number of
pupils who have been in attendance for a
complete driver training course cmmlucted
by such school district or nonpublic school
during the past school year. From the state
safetyv fund in the state treasury, 81,540,0.00
shall be distributed in the manner herein-
after provided to the respective school dis-
tricts and nonpublic schools on order of the
state board of education in the ratio that the
number of pupils in each school district or
nonpublic school in attendance for such
complete courses bears to the total number
of pupils in all such schools and nonpublic
schools in attendance for such complete
courses. The state board of education shall
certifv to the director of accounts an'd re-
ports the amount due each school district
and each pupil of a nonpublic school. The
director ()Faccounts and reports shall draw
warrants on the state treasurer payable to the
treasurer of each school district and to each
pupil of a nonpublic schpol entitled to Ii:a_v-
ment under this subsection upon vouchers
approved by the state board and shall cause
such warrants to be delivered to the respec-
tive school districts and nonpublic schools.
If the amount appropriated in any year from
the state safety fund shall be insufficient to
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AUTOMOBILES AND OTHER VEHICLES

pay the full amount each school district and
each pupil of a nonpublic school is entitled
to receive under this subsection, then the
entire amount appropriated for such vear
shall be prorated among all school districts
and all pupils of nonpublic schools in pro-
portion to the amount each school district
and each pupil of a nonpublic school is
entitled to receive. No monevs in the state
safety fund shall be used for any purpose
other than that specified in this subsection
or for the support of driver improvement
programs. The state board of education shall
prescribe all forms necessary for re orting
in connection with this act. The funds shal
be distributed on or before November 1 each
year.

(b) Any school district conducting an
approved course in motorcycle safety as a
part of an approved course in driver trainin
and any pupil attending a nonpublic schoo%
accredited by the state board of education
conducting an approved course in motorcy-
cle safety as a part of an approved course in
driver training shall be entitled to partici-
pate in the motoreyele safety fund created
v K.S AL 8-267, and amendments thereto.
The state board of education may establish,
by rules and regulations, standards for the
conduct, operation and approval of courses
in motorcycle safety em([p?()r the qualifica-
tions of instructors for such courses. Such
standards shall not include the requirement
that instructors be certificated by the state
board of education. In August of each year,
the superintendent of cu(ﬁ) school district
and the governing authority of each non-
public scﬁoo] shall report to the state board
of education the number of pupils who have
been in attendance for a ('()mpsete course in
motorevele safety as a part of the driver
training course conducted by such school
district or nonpublic school during the past
school year. From the motorevele safety
tund in the state treasury, $210,000 shall be
distributed in the manner hereinafter pro-
vided to the respective school districts and
nonpublic schools on order of the state
board of cducation in the ratio that the
number of pupils in each school district or
nonpublic school in attendance for such
complete courses in motoreycle safety hears
to the total number of pupils in all such
schools and wonpablic schools in attend-
ance for such complete courses. The state

board of education shall certify to the direc-
tor of accounts and reports the amount due
each school district and each pupil of a
nonpublic school. The director of accounts
and reports shall draw warrunts on the state
treasurer payable to the treasurer of each
school district and to each pupil of a non-
public school entitled to pavment under this
subsection upon vouchers approved by the
state board and shall cause such warrants to
be delivered to the respective school dis-
tricts and nonpublic schools. If the amount
appropriated in any year from the motorey-
cle sa%ety fund shall be insufficient to pa
the full amount each school district and eac
pupil of a nonpublic school is entitled to
receive under this subsection, then the en-
tire amount appropriated for such year shall
be prorated among all school districts and
all pupils of nonpublic schools in propor-
tion to the amount each school district and
each pupil of a nonpublic school is entitled
to receive. No moneys in the motorcycle
safety fund shall be used for any purpose
other than that specified in this subsection
or for the support of motorcycle driver im-
provement programs. The state board of ed-
ucation shall prescribe all forms necessary
for reporting in connection with this act.
The funds sﬁal] be distributed on or before
November 1 each year.

History: L. 1959, ch. 312, § 1; L. 1969,
ch. 310, § 1; L. 1971, ch. 20, § 1; L. 1974, ch.
10, § 1; L. 1977, ch.39, § 1; L. 1978, ch. 35,
§ 1;L.1979, ch.39, § 1; L. 1982, ch. 42, § 3.
July 1.

Cross References to Related Sections:
When license granted without examination, see 8-

235h.

8-293. Drivers’ training school license
act; definitions, The following words and
phrases when used in this act shall, unless
the context otherwise requires, have the
meanings respectively ascribed to them in
this section:

(a) ““Motor vehicle.” Every vehicle
which is self-propelled upon or by which
any person or property is or may be trans-
ported or drawn upon a public highway
except devices usc(l exclusively upon sta-
tionary rails or tracks.

() “Drivers’ training schools.” Any per-
son, partnership or corporation giving (lln‘\'-
ing instruction to ten (10) or more persons
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attected by guest statute. Neilson v. Gambrel 214 K.
339, 342, 520 P.2d 1194.

8:265. Employing persons to operate
vehicle; proper class 0} license required.
No person shall employ any person to
operate a motor vehicle, if the person so
employed is not then licensed to operate the
appropriate class of motor vehicles as pro-
vided in this act. '

History: L. 1937, ch. 73, § 32; L. 1949,
ch.7 104, § 36; L. 1975, ch. 36, § 29; Jan. 1,
1976.

8-266. Renting motor vehicle to an-
other; record. (a) No person shall rent a
motor vehicle to any other person unless the
latter person is then dulv licensed hereunder
to operate such motor vehicle or, in the case
of a nonresident, then duly licensed under
the laws of the state of his or her residence,
except a nonresident whose home state does
not require that a driver be licensed.

No person shall rent a motor vehicle
to another until such person has inspected
the license of the person to whom the vehi-
cle is to be rented and compared and veri-
fied the signature thereon with the signature
of such person written in his or her pres-
ence.

(¢) Every person renting a motor vehicle
to another shall keep a record of the regis-
tration number of the motor vehicle so
rented, the name and address of the person
to whom the vehicle is rented, the number of
the license of said latter person and the date
and place when and where said license was
issued. Such record shall be open to inspec-
tion by any police officer or officer or em-
ployee of the division.

History: L. 1937, ch. 73, § 33; L. 1949,
ch. 104, § 37; L. 1975, ch. 36, § 30; Jan, 1.
1976.

Research and Practice Aids:

Automobilese=387.

C.]J.S. Motor Vehicles §§ 760, 761.

Am. Jur. 2d Automobiles and Highway Traffic §§
298 to 300, 579.

8-2606a.
History: L. 1949, ch. 104, §38; Re-
pealed, L. 1959, ch. 49, § 35; July 1.

8-266h. Drivers’ manual. The director
of vehicles shall cause to be prepared and
printed a suitable Kansas drivers” manual. It
shall be the duty of the division to distribute
the manual in such manner that cach appli-
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cant for a driver’s license, upon request, may
be presented with a copy thereof at the time
of making application for a driver’s license.
The cost of such manuals shall be paid from
the state highway fund.

History: L. 1949, ch. 104, § 39; L. 1975,
ch. 36, § 31; Jan. 1, 1976.

8-267. Disposition of moneys; state
safety fund, motorcycle safety fund and
state highway fund. All moneys received
under tEis act shall be paid over by the
secretary of revenue to the state treasurer
who shall credit 50% of all moneys so re-
ceived from class C driver’s licenses and
33%% of all moneys so received from class
D driver’s licenses and 25% of all moneys so
received from class A or B driver’s licenses
to a special fund, which is hereby created
and s}ml] be known as the “state safetv
fund” and who shall credit 33%% of all
moneys so received from class D driver’s
licenses to a special fund which is hereby
created and shall be known as the “motor-
cycle safety fund.” Moneys in the state
safety fund and in the motorcycle safety
fund shall be distributed to provide funds
for driver training courses in the schools of
Kansas and for the administration of this act,
as the legislature shall provide. The state
treasurer shall credit the balance of all
moneys received under this act to the state
highway fund.

History: L. 1937, ch. 73, § 34; L. 1939,
ch. 84, § 2; L. 1949, ch. 104, § 40’ L. 1955,
ch. 53, § 1; L. 1959, ch. 49, § 32; L. 1961, ch.
53,8 1; L. 1963, ch. 54, § 1; L. 1972, ch. 342,
§ 43; L. 1975, ch. 36, § 32; L. 1982, ch. 42,
§ 2; July 1.

Cross References to Related Sections:

Distribution of funds for drivers training courses, see
8-272.

Research and Practice Aids:

Automobilese=141.

C.].S. Motor Vehicles § 158.

8-267a.
History: L. 1938, ch. 13, § 3; Repealed,
L. 1949, ch. 104, § 53; July 1.

8-268. Penalties for violations. Any
person who shall violate any provision of
this act, unless otherwise specifically pro-
vided, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and
on conviction, unless otherwise specifically
srovided, shall he fined not more than five
{mn(lre(l dollars ($500) or be sentenced to

the county jail for a
ninety (90) days or
prisonment.
History: L. 193’
ch. 104, § 42; L. 19
Research and Practice A

Automobilese=326.
C.].S. Motor Vehicles
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History: L. 19
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STATEMENT
By The
KANSAS MOTOR CARRIERS ASSOCIATION

In support of S.B. 624 which clarifies
disposition of abandoned property.

Presented to the House Transportation
Committee, Rep. Rex Crowell, Chairman;
Statehouse, Topeka, Tuesday, March 25,
1986.

MR. CHAIRMAN AND MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE:

I am Mary E. Tﬁrkington, Executive Director of the Kansas
Motor Carriers Association with offices in Topeka. I appear
here this afternoon to support Senate Bill 624 which addresses
some of the major problems our tow truck or wrecker operators
have experienced in handling abandoned vehicles.

We appreciate Senator Robert Frey's assistance in intro-
ducing Senate Bill 624,

Our tow truck members have indicated that assistance is

specifically needed in lawfully disposing of abandoned, wrecked

cars which no one claims.

Ftotach. 7



Abandoned vehicle legislation - page 2

The first portion of the bill deals with vehicles abandoned
on a highway or other property open to use by the public.

The proposed bill further clarifies a vehicle abandoned
on real property - other than public property or property open
to use by the public.

Section 2 of the proposed bill more specifically préscribes
the notice which must be given and the time frame which controls
the sale of such property at public auction.

We believe these revisions will be helpful in meeting some
of the problems our tow truck operators experience with wrecked
or abandoned vehicles and will help such tow truck operators to
comply with the lawful disposition of such property.

We will be pleased to attempt to answer any questions the
committee may have. We support the provisions of Senate Bill 624

and urge you to recommend the bill for passage.

it



Statement Before the
HOUSE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION
by the
KANSAS MOTOR CAR DEALERS ASSOCIATION

Tuesday, March 25, 1986

RE: SENATE BILL 470

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee.‘ I am Jim Suliins,
Executive Vice President of the 392 member Kansas Motor Car Dealers
Association, the state trade association representing the franchised
new car and new truck dealers of Kansas. I come before you today in
support of Senate Bill 470 which deals with requiring vehicle dealers
to post a $25,000 surety bond with the state as well as placing certain

restrictions on brokering of vehicles in Kansas.

The bill, as introduced by Senator Yost of Wichita, originally
only spoke to the bonding of dealers in the form of a $25,000 surety
bond prior to licensing. This change to K.S.A. 1985 Supp. 8-2404 is
found on line 353 through 363 on page 10 of‘the bill. Briefly, the
language requires that every ''applicant or licensee" apﬁying to be a
new or used vehicle dealer furnish and maintain a $25,000 bond conditioned
on the applicant or licensee complying with the provisions of the
statutes applicable to the licensee. The bond would be in a form

approved by the Director of Vehicles.

Currently, at least 26 states require a dealer be bonded, ranging
from $5,000 to as high as $200,000 in Hawaii. The amounts of the bonds
vary, but for the most part, $20,000-$25,000 is the norm. Additionally,

at least one state only requires that used vehicle dealers be bonded.

/9(777147/75743, ;i>45177<5§{
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Current Kansas law does allow the Director of Vehicles to require
a bond if the Director has reasonable cause to doubt the financial
responsibility or compliance by the applicant or licensece. The Director
can require anywhere form a $5,000 to $20,000 bond. Last session, during
the discussions on SB 321, this section was addressed, and rather than
requiring a bond of all dealers, this Committee raised the Director's
discretionary - bond from $15,000 to a maximun of $20,000. Even with
this change, to the best of our knowledge, the Director of Vehicles has
yet to require a bond of any applicant or licensee, either before the
change last session or after. In our opinion, the decretionary bond
does not work as the Director is hesitanf to use it. We feel that an
applicant who is required to have a bond could claim discrimination by
the Division of Vehicles against him simply because he was required to
have a bond and someone else wasn't. Also, who is the Director to say
that someone doesn't have the financial responsibility or might violate
the dealer licensing act. We feel these are the main reasons why bonds

have never been required even though the authority is there.

Requiring a $25,000 bond is simply a consumer protection measure.
If a consumer purchases a vehicle which later is found not to be what
it was represented as, the consumer has recourse against the dealer and
the bond. For the most part, the bond would only come into play when the
dealer who orginally sold the vehicle is no longer in business either
by closing his dealership or by bankruptcy. For example, let's say that
a vehicle had previously been damaged either by a major accident or in
a flood, and this fact was not disclosed.  Also assume that the dealer
who sold the vehicle is no longer in business. If the consumer discovers
the faults or has serious problems with the vehicle and the dealer is out
of business, under the current statutes, the consumer has absolutely no

protection. He is left holding a vehicle with serious problems and has



no way to recover his damages as the dealer is no longer in business or
has nothing to recover against. With the bond having been in force at
the time the sale was made, the consumer would have a method whereby

he could recover at least part, if not all, of the damages.

The question you have before you is a policy decision. Who are
you most concerned in protecting: the consumers of the state, or the
dealers who will have to spend a little more money to purchase the bond

thereby showing that they have some financial reliability?

The other major question this bill addresses deals with a certain
class of dealers called '"brokers' and the brokering of vehicles in
Kansas. To give you a little background, brokering is another word
for consignment selling. Under Kansas law, a dealer may not have any
vehicle on his lot unless that dealer holds clear, free title to that
vehicle. In other words, the dealer must own everything he is offering
for sale. Several years ago, a situation developed where certain
individuals were offering to sell another individual's vehicle for
them, basically on consignment. For a fee or commission, an individual
would advertise and offer for sale another person’s car. Kansas statutes
were mute on this subject, although the individual was acting, for the
most part, like a used vehicle dealer. After attempts to control this
through administrative procedures, it was decided that the statutes should
be amended to define and control these individuals. 'Brokers' were then
established in the statutes, and were licensed by the state. Other states
had similar situations occurring and handled it either by allowing brokers

or specifically prohibiting brokers.

While brokering does serve a purpose by giving individuals an avenue



for disposing of their personal vehicles, it also opens up an opportunity
for disposing of vehicles which have had their odometers tampered or which
have been damaged. Vehicles are ﬁeing brought in from other states and
being sold to Kansas consumers by.brokers. These vehicles have been

flood damaged, wrecked, or otherwise materially changed, and the Kansas

consumers are not being told.

Brokers are actually selling vehicles directly to consumers. The
brokers are demonstrating the vehicles, making representations concerning
the condition of the vehicles, and doing everything that used vehicle
dealers do when they sell vehicles with two notable exceptions. First,
brokers do not coliect sales téx. FSince they never hold title to the
vehicle it is technically not a retail sales by the broker. Instead it
is an occasional and isolated saie, and the purchaser pays sales tax at
the county treasurers office. Secondly, since the broker is not the
retail seller of the vehicle, he does not put an inventory tax stamp on
the title for the same reason they don't collect sales tax--they don't
own the vehicle. Also, up until a couple of weeks ago, there was some
question as to whether the broker had any liability under the Kansas

Consumer Protection Act and the implied warranty sections of the U.C.C.

At KMCDA's request, through Representative Knopp, the Attdrney General
issued Opinion # 86-25 which states that a broker is a 'supplier" under
the Kansas Consumer Protection Act and does have implied warranty
liability under the U.C.C. With this opinion, one area ié cleared up,
but we feel that there is still a major problem with the brokering of

vehicles, and SB 470 supplies the solution.

In line 418 through line 427, you will find language added by the



Senate Committee on Transportation and Utilities which eliminates certain
types of brokers immediately, and phases out the rest over a period of
time through attrition. Subparagréph (@) simply prohibits the brokering
of new and used recreational vehiéles, and a definition of recreational
vehicle has been added beginning on line 235. This was done at the
request of a Senator who is having problems with brokers of recreational
vehicles in his district. Subparagraph (r) prohibits the brokering of
new motor vehicles. For several years, KMCDA has believed that other
language in the statutes prohibited brokering of new vehicles, but

some time ago, the Department of Revenﬁe issued an opinion which
indicates that the statute doesn't Say what we think it does. Therefore,
brokering'of new vehicles is legal, and that is a dangerous attack on

the franchises which new vehicle dealers hold.

Finally, subparagraph (s) grandfathers in any broker who holds a
license on or before December 31, 1986, and prohibits the issuance of
any new brokers license on or after January 1, 1987. The Senate and

. {
the industry was very concerned about putting a going business out of
business. It is not the intent of the industry to take anyone's livelihood
away frdm them. Therefore, it was agreed that the grandfather clause
would be added which would let attrition phase out brokers over a
period of time. To take it one step further, the Senate added language
which allows for the transfer of the broker's license one time from the
original broker to a new broker. Theré are several brokers who have made
substantial investment in a franchised broker operation. To protect
these brokers from losing their investments, the Senate allowed for
the transfer from the current broker to a subsequent broker, but the

subsequent broker will not be allowed to sell the business to another

person. It is a one time transfer,



Finally, new section 3 was added at the request of the Department
of Revenue and adds criminal penalties to the dealer licensing law.
For years, these penalties existed in the statute, and for some reason
they were eliminated a few years back. No one around today seems to
remember why they were eliminated, and we have no objection to adding

them back in if the Department feels them necessary.

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee, basically this whole
bill revolves around consumer protection. KMCDA is dedicated to trying
to clean up the motor vehicle industry in Kansas, and some of ihis can
only be accomplished with your help. Last year, great steps forward
were taken with the d-tag reform which was incorporated in SB 321.

This year, SB 470 is the next step forward.

Our best information is that a $25,000 bond will cost around

$250 per year, and at least one insurance company says that new vehicle
dealers will be able to acquire the bond for $125. The bonding companies
tell us that their only requirements are an indemnity agreement signed
by the applicant and a financial statement. With that, they will bond
virtually any dealer. I would say that it is possible that there may

be a very few dealers whom the insurance companies might closely examine
before issuing a bond. However, if an insurance company isn't willing
to bond someone on such a small amount as $25,000, do you really want

that individual selling vehicles to the consumers of Kansas?

Concerning brokering, several states in recent years have simply
outlawed brokering, two of the most recent being Oklahoma and Texas.
They realized that brokers served no more purpose than used vehicle

dealers, and saw it unnecessary to have this questionable class of dealer.



If someone wants to be in the vehicle business, they should have to
do all of the same things that a used vehicle dealer does, and stand

behind their product in the same way. Therefore, we should eliminate

this class of dealer called '"broker."
The policy decision is yours.

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee, I appreciate your attention
and allowing me the time to present the views of the franchised dealers.
If you have any questions, I would be happy to respond, and I would urge

you to report SB 470 favorable for passage.
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MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOND — MISSOURI

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, that we

as Principal, and UNIVERSAL UNDERWRITERS INSURANCE COMPANY, a corporation
organized and existing under the laws of the State of Missouri, having its principal place of business at
Kansas City, Missouri, as Surety, are held and firmly bound unto the State of Missouri, in the penal sum of
Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000.00) for the payment of which, well and truly to be made, we bind
| ourselves, our heirs, executors, administrators, successors and assigns, jointly and severally, firmly by these
presents.

THE CONDITION of the above obligation is such that WHEREAS the Principal has applied for the
issuance of a Motor Vehicle Dealer’s license and presents this bond in accordance with said statute.

NOW THEREFORE, if the aforesaid Principal shall faithfully comply with the provisions of the State of
Missouri statutes applicable to new motor vehicle franchised dealers and to used motor vehicle dealers, and
shall indemnify any person dealing or transacting business with the principal for any loss sustained by any
person by reason of the acts of principal provided such acts of Principal constitute grounds for suspension
or revocation of Principal’s registration, then this obligation to be void; otherwise, to remain in full force
! and effect.

The aggregate liability of the Surety of all persons shall, in no event, exceed the amount of this bond
during any one license year.

This bond shall be effective , 19
and shall expire , 19

This bond may be cancelled by the Surety giving written notice to the Principal and Missouri Director of
Revenue; stating the date of cancellation, which in no event shall be less than 30 days after receipt of said
notice by the Director of Revenue; however, the Surety shall remain liable for any and all acts of the
Principal covered by this bond up to the date of cancellation.
Dated this day of ‘ , 19

WITNESS TO PRINCIPAL

(Principal) (Seal)
‘ ' (Title)
WITNESS TO SURETY UNIVERSAL UNDERWRITERS INSURANCE CO.
(Surety) (Seal)

BY

Attorney-In-Fact
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CLARK V. OWENS
District Attorney

SEDGWICK COUNTY DISTRICT ATTORNEY
18th Judicial District

Sedgwick County Courthouse
Annex — First Floor,
535 North Main
Wichita, Kansas 67203

Consumer Fraud and
Economic Crime Division

Henry H. Blase (316) 268-7921
Chief Deputy
TESTIMONY
TO: HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE
FROM: DAVID H. MOSES, DIRECTOR, CONSUMER FRAUD & ECONOMIC
CRIME DIVISION OF THE SEDGWICK COUNTY DISTRICT
ATTORNEY'S OFFICE
RE: SENATE BILL 470 - AN ACT AMENDING THE VEHICLE DEALERS'

AND MANUFACTURERS' LICENSING ACT

GIVEN: MARCH 25, 1986 - STATE CAPITOL, TOPEKA, KANSAS

As Director of the Consumer Fraud Division of the Sedgwick
County District Attorney's office, I would like to offer comment
on Senate Bill 470, as it pertains to the Kansas auto dealers.

In 1985 our office handled 128 consumer protection cases
involving new or used auto dealers. This is approximately
sixteen percent of our total cases from 1985. Fifty-one percent
of these cases involved charges of misrepresentation, while
sixteen percent involve failure to deliver title. Clearly, there
is a significant problem which needs to be addressed.

Although Senate Bill 470 seems to offer some protection to
consumers, there are a few questions we would like the committee
to consider:

1. Does Senate Bill 470 include consumer protection actions
brought by the District Attorney or Attorney General, within the
indemnity of bond provision? The District Attorney or Attorney
General should then be considered an ''aggrieved party'. As
an "'aggrieved party'', the District Attorney or Attorney General
brings action and seeks restitution in these judgements on behalf
of Kansas consumers. Therefore, the payment of the judgement
when covered by the surety bond should be applicable to the
District Attorney or Attorney General, as well.

2. Will the legislation substantially eliminate the smaller

new or used car dealer, who being considered a high -risk by bond-
ing companies, cannot readily obtain a surety ‘bond? The majority

//7729/95/3. 3/2.5/574
Attacl. ;o



HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE
Page two ' . :

Ed

of car dealers are small, and although some of the smaller dealers
are repeatedly involved in consumer protection cases in our office,
the majority of small car dealers appear to be reputable.

With the elimination of smaller new and used car dealers,
will this conceivably eliminate competition, thereby potentialily
increasing the price to the consumer?

In conclusion, Senate Bill 470 will give the consumers added
protection when dealing with car dealers; however, we ask that
the committee consider the aforementioned questions before acting
on this legislation.

Respectfully submitted,

oS apes

- DAVID H. MOSES

Assistant District Attorney
Director, Consumer Fraud &
Economic Crime Division




SAMPLE CLAIMS - OKLAHOMA MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BONDS

Claim S-31,934 - Don Richards DBA Discount Auto Sales, Oklahoma
City, Oklahoma - Claimant obtained a judgment against the princi-
pal prior to contacting the surety. The judgment was for $395
actual damages and over $4,000 in punitive damages. This claim
was brought because of fraud and misrepresentation as to the
mileage of a vehicle the principal sold to the claimant. A
settlement agreement was reached by the surety and payment of a
$1,000 loss was made.

Claim $-32,048 - Lonnie Edwards Used Cars, Vinita, Oklahoma -
Principal continued to write checks for the purchase of vehicles
at a car auction, after his checking account had been closed by
the bank. The surety paid a loss of $7,500 in order to settle the
claim for the nonsufficient fund checks which had been written.
The principal subsequently filed bankruptcy and we are currently
unable to collect any reimbursement from him.

Claim $-35,697 - All American Cars, Norman, Oklahoma - Four claims
were filed against this principal's bond. The first involved an
individual who purchased a vehicle from our principal and sub-
sequently found out that the vehicle was subject to a previous
lien. The second claim is one being made by the bank holding this
lien. The third claim involves a nonsufficient fund check our
principal used to purchase a vehicle and the fourth involves a car
sold by him which was later found out to have been stolen. The
surety has interpleaded the entire bond to allow the court to
decide the appropriate disbursement of the bond penalty. The
principal has filed bankruptcy and reimbursement possibilities are
not good.

Claim 5-38,638 - Kenneth Burns, Durant, Oklahoma - There were
three claims filed against this principal each involving non-
sufficient fund checks he had used to purchase vehicles. The
losses totaled $12,310 for which the surety made pro rata payments
surrendering their entire $10,000 bond. The surety was last
informed that the principal was in jail due to felony charges. He
apparently proceeded to escape from jail and is currently being
held in Texas awaiting trial trial for crimes he committed while
on the run. Reimbursement possibilities look bleak.

Claim S-41,239 - Neil F. Osborne DBA Belt Motors, Oklahoma City,
Oklahoma - Claimant alleged that the principal rolled back the
odometer on the vehicle he purchased. The amount of the demand was
$650 for which the surety paid a settlement of $300. The surety
has not yet been able to collect any form of reimbursement from
the principal.
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Claim S$-42,300 - Johnnie Dukes Used Cars, Warner, Oklahoma - A
dealer purchased a pickup from principal for $5,900. He then
resold the vehicle to another dealer for $6,250. It was then
discovered that the vehicle was stolen sometime prior to his
purchasing it from the principal. The dealer has refunded the
subsequent purchaser and is now looking to us to refund the
$5,900. The surety surrendered this amount in settlement and has
been notified by the local police that the principal no longer
lives in the area.

Claim S-42,344 - John R. Miller DBA John's Auto Mart, Oklahoma
City, Oklahoma - Principal purchased six vehicles from an auto
auction in August of 1984. The total of the checks came to
$16,925. The claimant was unable to collect on the checks and the
surety surrendered the entire $10,000 bond in settlement. Reim-
bursement possibilities look bleak as the principal has skipped
town.

Claim S-44,066 - Mike Bullock DBA Mike's Quality Cars, Tulsa,
Oklahoma - Claimant obtained a default judgment against the
principal in the amount of $650 for a vehicle he had purchased and
never received the title for. The principal has since filed
bankruptcy and the surety was responsible for paying the loss.

Claim S5-44,893 - William Teany, Midwest City, Oklahoma ~ The
claimant purchased a Datsun pickup from our principal for $1,100.
He subsequently resold it and the vehicle was then determined to
have been stolen. A judgment was obtained for $1,128 on which the
surety made payment. The surety did collect reimbursement from
the principal.

Claim S-45,400 - Roy Jones DBA May Avenue Auto Sales, Oklahoma
City, Oklahoma - Plaintiff sold and delivered cars amounting to
$85,200 in value to the principal. When he attempted to send the
drafts through the bank along with the titles to be forwarded to
the defendant, the drafts and titles to the vehicles were returned
marked nonsufficient funds. Apparently, the principal was able to
obtain false titles to the vehicles and proceeded to sell then.
The surety surrendered the entire $10,000 bond in settlement and
has been unable to locate the principal to pursue reimbursement.

Claim S-45,976 - Dan Bush DBA Uncle Sam's Auto Sales, Lawton,
Oklahoma - The claimant purchased a 1978 Chevy Van from the
principal. He did not receive title and was claiming monetary
damages of $5,134.48. However, the surety was able to locate the
holder of the title who was willing to accept $2,825 in order to
release the title to the new owner. This amount was paid by the
surety in settling this claim. Surety will be pursuing reim-
bursement from the principal.






