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MINUTES OF THE _SENATE  COMMITTEE ON _TRANSPORTATION AND UTILITIES

The meeting was called to order by Sen. Bill Morris at
Chairperson

9:00 a.m./pRx on March 6 lﬁéjnrmm1j22&fi_xﬁthquﬁmL

All members were present excepik .
Sen. Vidricksen was excused.

Committee staff present:

Arden Ensley, Revisor of Statutes

Ben Barrett, Legislative Research Department
Hank Avila, Legislative Research Department
Louise Cunningham, Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Harley T. Duncan, Secretary, Department of Revenue

Dr. James A. McHenry, Commissioner of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services, SRS
Elaine Brady Rogers, Kansas Association of Prevention Professionals, SRS
Chris Edmonds, Kansas Club and Tavern Association

Richard Schlegel, ABATE

HEARING ON S.B. 675 - Increase in drivers' license fees.

Harley T. Duncan, Secretary of Revenue, said the purpose of the bill
was to increase driver license fees and also change the procedure for es-
tablishing the expiration date for first-time licensees in Kansas. He said
there had been no increase in the fees since 1973 and the driver licensing
and control operations were draining the State Highway Fund of $1 million
annually. This should really be self-supporting. A copy of his statement is

attached. (Att. 1).

Dr. James A. McHenry, Commissioner of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services,
SRS, appeared in support of S.B. 675 and also had an amendment which would
direct some of the funds to a school alcohol and drug abuse prevention fund.
He said money is currently going to the drivers' education fund but there is
no specific training for alcohol and drug abuse. A copy of his statement
and the proposed amendment is attached. (Att. 2).

The committee discussed the funds from the liquor taxes which were
currently going into the alcohol abuse programs. Dr. McHenry said 80% is
going into treatment and intervention programs. There was need for a pre-
vention program bacause they do work. They were asking for $500,000 from
the increase in drivers' license fees to be credited to the school alcohol
and drug abuse prevention fund.

Elaine Brady Rogers, Kansas Association of Prevention Professionals,
spoke of the effectiveness of intervention programs and how necessary it
was to reach youth before alcohol and drug problems are evident. She
supported the amendment to provide funds for the program. A copy of her
statement is attached. (Att. 3).

Chris Edmonds, Kansas Club and Tavern Association said they support “‘
programs for alcohol and drug abuse and these programs should start in ele- @&s
mentary and secondary schools. They have a problem with I.D. cards and this
was especially true in college towns such as Lawrence, Manhattan and Wichita.
Some of these towns are picking up 300 to 800 false I.D. cards every week.
Several rings are operating that produce what looks like a legal driver's
license. He thought perhaps the department could come up with some kind
of a magnetic card which would help tavern owners enforce the law. He asked
them to address this problem.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not

been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not

been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for

editing or corrections. Page 1
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March 6

room __254-F Statehouse, at 9:00 a.m./Rgy on 198_6.

There was some discussion that since this would help the tavern owners,
perhaps their license fees should be raised to help pay for different cards.

Richard Schlegel, ABATE, said they support the increase and asked for
an increase in the motorcycle fund with the money generated by the increase.
He submitted copies of the statutes pertaining to the motorcycle fund. A

copy 1is attached. (Att. 4).

A motion was made by Sen. Havden and was seconded by Sen. Martin to
adopt the amendments submitted by Dr. McHenry. Motion carried.

Sen. Francisco suggested that signs be placed in drivers' license
examination rooms to remind people to donate organs. This did not have to
be a part of S.B. 675 but the signs should be put up.

It was also felt that the Department should look into coming up with
some kind of a tamper-proof driver's license to assist tavern owners in
being sure they were looking at valid licenses. It was decided that this
could be done by Resolution.

A motion was made bv Sen. Martin and was seconded by Sen. Walker to
recommend S.B. 675 as amended favorably for passage. Motion carried.

ACTION ON S.B. 624 - Concerning disposition of certain property.

A motion was made by Sen. Walker and was seconded by Sen. Francisco
to recommend S.B. 624 favorably for passage. Motion carried.

DISCUSSION ON S.B. 616 - Height of head lights.

It was decided to hold this bill over.

ACTION ON S.B. 469 - Personalized license plates.

A motion was made by Sen. Francisco and was seconded by Sen. Walker
to recommend S.B. 469 adversely. Motion carried.

Meeting was adjourned at 10:00 a.m.
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MEMORANDUM

TO: The Honorable Bill Morris, Chairman
Senate Uommittee on Aransportation and Utilities

FROM: Harlev T. Duncan
Hecratary of R

REy Sernate Bill 675 ~ Driver License Feeaes
TaTE: March &, 1986

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you today on
Senate Bill  &75 which would increase driver license fees and
sk i the procedure for establishing the expiration date for
+irst—time licensses 1in Kansas. The Department of Revenue
supports enactment of this measuwre.

Driver License Fees

Senate Bill &75  would increasse driver license fess as

follows:

DRIVER LICENSE FEES

CLAats OF LICENSE CURRENT FROFOSED

LEARNER PERMITE ¥.350 F2.00

ClL.Ass A and B ¥10.00 ¥15.00

ClAss © ¥4, 00 F10.00

CiAass I (MOTORCYCLES .00 ¥5.00

—
e

We propose  to increase the fees becsuse at the current
evels they do not cover the cost of administering the Driver
icense Examining and Control Bureau. FY 1985 receipts from all
o cs (approximately 73 percent of which are from driver

) totalled #4.0 million. Ouwe actual 1985 srxpenditures in
wrean  amounted  #5,.1 million and #3.3% million has been
ed for FY 1987. Thus, our driver licensing and control
ions constitute a net drain on the State Highway Fund in
coof FL.0 million annually. We believe this activity should
s@lf-—supporting. Driver license fees have not increased since
and we do not think the proposed fees are exorbitant for  a

diriving privilege. Other fees generated in the Driver
icensing Buread include reinstatement fees (£23), driver record
: (¥17 and the pheoto fee associated with the license (Fl).
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Senate RBill 475 Fage ~2-

We estimate that the proposed increases will generate
aprodimately F2.,1 million annually. Under current law, receipts
from driver license fees are distributed as follows:

DISTRIBUTION OF FEES

SAFETY M-CYCLE  HIGHWAY

CLASE OF LLICENSE FUND FUNE FUND

LEARMNER FERMITES 100, G%
CLASE A and B 25. 0% 750U
Clags C 0. 0% 50. 0%
CLags D IR A F3.3A E5. 3%

Based on thig distribution, approximately #1.1 million of

the increased fees will be deposited to the State Highway Fund,
#1.0 million to the State Safety Fund and #40,000 +to the
Motorocvole Saftety Fund. The increase will bring driver—-related

fees deposited to the Highway Fund or directly to the Motor
Yehicle Operating Fund to about #5.6-5.7 willion, compared to our
recommended F#5.7 million budget.

The increase will bring total receipts to the two safety
funds to roughly $2.5 million. Receipts in the satety funds are
digtributed to school districts tor driver education and
motoroyvole education programs.

Expiration Date Changes

mder  current law, the term of the driver license +for
persons being licensed for the first time in Kansas may extend
from as little as six months to as long as 3% months depending on
the yvear and month of the person’s hirth. {(Costs of the license
are prorated accordingly.) This system was established to even
aut the number of licenses coming up for renewal in any one vyear
when the state moved Ffrom a two-year license to a fowr—-year
license in 1970.

Wi le such  a staggering mechanism was necessary during the
transition from a two-yvear to a four-year license, it no longer
Zerves any useful purpose. A1l new licensees (new drivers and
new residents! shouwld be randomly distributed by month and  vear
%0 that no build-up of renewals should occcur.



Senate Eill &73 Fage -3—

Most importantly, this staggering of terms and fees creates

difficulty and confusion for the public and the Department. It
takes extra time to sarve the clients and malkes the
econciliation of examiner and station accounts guite difficult
and time consuming. It also does not make any sense to  the

driving public.

Senate Bill &75 would allow uws to issus all first-time
licenses for & fowr-vear period. The license will still expire
can the driver 's birthday, and the initial period will be four
vears from the birthday nearest to the application date. That is
it I have a March birthday and receive a license in May 1985, it
will expire in March 1989. I+ I receive the license in December
1985, it will expire in March 1990. The fee for all First-time
licenses will the same-—%10 if the proposal outlined above is
adoptead.

Thank vouw for the opportunity to appear. I would be glad to
answer any questions.



STATE OF KANSAS

JOHN CARLIN, Governor
STATE DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND REHABILITATION SERVICES

ALCOHOL AND DRUG ABUSE SERVICES ROBERT C. HARDER, SECRETARY 2700 WEST 6TH STREET
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66606
(913) 296-3925
KANS-A-N 561-3825

TESTIMONY FOR SB 675 INCREASE IN DRIVER'S LICENSE FEE
March 6, 1986

I am speaking today in favor of SB 675. I am also presenting an amendment to
the bill to direct some of the resulting increased funding from the state
safety fund to a school alcohol and drug abuse prevention fund.

In 1985, HB 2142 was signed into law by Governor John Carlin. The bill
encourages school districts to implement alcohol and drug prevention and
intervention programs, and provide for obtaining treatment services that may
be needed for their students.

The Interdepartmental Coordinating Committee on Alcohol and Drug Abuse is a
body composed of representatives from state agencies with an interest in
alcohol and drug abuse. An educational subcommittee is drafting a report
making recommendations for the development and implementation of comprehensive
alcohol and drug prevention and intervention programs in Kansas schools as
suggested by HB 2142. The drivers' license fee increase and proposed school
alcohol and drug abuse prevention fund were suggested by representatives of
the Department of Revenue and other members of the ICC subcommittee as a
viable source of funds to assist prevention and intervention programs in
schools.

SRS Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services wishes to expand the very positive
relationships existing with the state Department of Education and school
districts across the state. ADAS provides funding for school based prevention
programs in Shawnee Mission USD 512, Salina Public Schools, and Cowley County
Special Services Cooperative. In addition, six ADAS funded community based
prevention programs provide services to schools. Wichita Public Schools
receives funding to provide School Team Training to representatives of schools
from across the state. Since 1983, 75 teams from 39 districts have received
training. Forty-four teams will be trained in 1986. ADAS has provided
technical assistance, information and materials to many more schools. We have
assisted Students Against Driving Drunk (SADD) in expanding from 27 chapters
in 1984 to over 100 at this time.

Expanded funding through the proposed school alcohol and drug abuse prevention
fund should result in expanded private sector involvement in prevention and
intervention programs in our schools. Ewing Kauffman of Marion Laboratories
and the Kansas City Royals, funds Project STAR, a Kansas City area youth
alcohol and drug prevention project, through the Ewing M. and Muriel I.

j-vak @
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Kauffman Foundation. In a recent conversation with me, he indicated an
interest in expanding Project STAR to other Kansas communities. Expansion
would be contingent on assistance from other sources of funding. In this and
other cases, the proposed school alcohol and drug abuse prevention fund would
help leverage an expansion of private funding of prevention and intervention

programs in our schools.

To be successful in reducing alcohol and drug abuse, there must be
comprehensive school-based prevention strategies. Comprehensive strategies
include: 1) alcohol and drug information, 2) education in life skills, 3)
alternatives to alcohol and drug use, and 4) health promotion.

A recently released study by Gene Smith, associate professor at Harvard
Medical School, strongly suggests that substance abuse is not a random
development and indicates that teenage alcohol, cigarette, and drug use can be
predicted and prevented. Adolescents with personality traits including
obedience, responsibility and self-confidence tend to shun  drugs.
Comprehensive prevention programming is designed to foster and enhance these
positive traits.

We believe the proposed school alcohol and drug abuse prevention fund is a
viable method of supporting the intent of HB 2142. A continuum of
comprehensive alcohol and drug prevention, intervention, and treatment must be
in place if we are to limit alcohol and drug abuse among the young people of

our state.

Thank you for the opportunity to make this presentation.

LH:kh
7101C
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Session of 1986

SENATE BILL No. 675

By Committee on Transportation and Utilities

2-20

AN ACT concerning motor vehicle drivers’ licenses; amending

K.S.A. 8-240/and K.S.A. 1985 Supp. 8-247 and repealing the
existing sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:
Section 1. K.S.A. 8-240 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 8-240. (a) Every application for an instruction permit shall
be made upon a form furnished by the division of vehicles and
accompanied by a fee of $-50 $2. Every other application shall be
made upon a form furnished by the division and accompanied by
an examination fee of $3 and by the proper fee for the license for
which the application is made. If the applicant is not required to
take an examination the examination fee shall not be required.
The examination shall consist of three tests, as follows: n
Vision; (2) written; and (3) driving. If the applicant fails the
vision test, the applicant may have correction of vision made and
take the vision test again without any additional fee. If an
applicant fails the written test, the applicant may take such test
again upon the payment of an additional examination fee of
$1.50. If an applicant fails the driving test, the applicant may take
such test again upon the payment of an additional examination
fee of $1.50. If an applicant fails to pass all three of the tests
within a period of six months from the date of original applica-
tion and desires to take additional tests, the applicant shall file an
application for reexamination upon.a form furnished by the
division, which shall be accompanied by a reexamination fee of
$3. Upon the filing of such application and the payment of such
reexamination fee, the applicant shall be entitled to reexamina-
tion in like manner and subject to the additional fees and time
limitation as hereinbefore provided for examination on an origi-

and 8-267




0046
0047
0048
0049
0050
0051
0052
0053
0054

© 0055

0056
0057
0058
0059

" 0060
0061
0062
0063
0064
0065
0066
0067
0068
0069
0070
0071
0072

0h89

SB 675
2

nal application. If the applicant shal pass sueh passes the reex-
amination, the applicant shall be issued the classified driver's
license for which the applicant originally applied, which license
shall be issued to expire as if the applicant had passed the
original examination.

(b) Every application shall state the name, date of birth, sex
and residence address of the applicant, and briefly describe the
applicant, and shall state whether the applicant has theretofore
been licensed as a driver, and, if so, when and by what state or

.country, and whether any such license has ever been suspended

or revoked, or whether an application has ever been refused,
and, if so, the date of and reason for such suspension, revocation
or refusal,

(c) Whenever When an application is received from a person
previously licensed in another jurisdiction, the division shall
request a copy of the driver’s record from the other jurisdiction.
When received, the driver’s record shall become a part of the
driver’s record in this state with the same force and effect as
though entered on the driver's record in this state in the original
instance.

(d) Whenever When the division receives a request for a
driver’s record from another licensing jurisdiction the record
shall be forwarded without charge.

(e) A fee of $6 $10 shall be charged for a class C driver’s
license, a fee of $3 $5 shall be charged for a class D driver’s
license and a fee of $10 $15 shall be charged for a class A or B
driver’s license. In the ease of the issuance of an original elass G

¢ following sehedule; based on the length of the period be-

éeﬁlendmwm&hqte&ndmdﬁdmg%e&leﬁ%monﬂm trrrree $1.50
13 ealendar months te and ineluding 18 ealendar months 1::::5 225
189 enlendur months to and including 24 celendar months 122124 300
25 calendar months to and including 31 calendar months 1::::+ 345
32 enlendar wmonths to and ineluding 36 ealendar months <1521 450
37 calendur months to and ineluding 48 eulendar months 1cv::4 5:25
43 enlendar months to and ineluding 48 celendur months :::5 6:60
Meﬂmhﬁm&h%tetmdmel«dmg#&%kﬂdﬂfﬁm T T 675

55 enlendur months to und ineluding 50 calendar monrths 1:1715 189
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In ense of the issuanece of an original elass A or B driverls leense;
the fee to be paid therelor shall be as speeified in the following
schedule; based on the length of the period between the date of
6 calendur menths to and induding 13 ealendur months :vzz0s $2.50

13 enlendar months to and ineluding 18 enlendar months « - 375
10 enlendar months to and including 24 ealendar months - - - 500
25 enlendar months to and including 3} calendar months - .- 635
32 ealendar months to and including 36 enlendur months <75+ 50
37 entendur months to and including 128 ealendar months -::v05 1 8375
43 enlendur months to and including 48 ecalendor months 12741 1000
40 enlendar months to and ineluding 54 ealendur months -:::- 1445
85 ealendar months to end including 50 ealendar months rrx::+ 1259
If one fails to make an original application or renewal application

for a driver’s license within the time required by law, or fails to
make application within 60 days after becoming a resident of
Kansas, a penalty of $:50 $1 shall be added to the fee charged for
the driver’s license.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 1985 Supp. 8-247 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 8-247. (a) All original licenses; end el shall expire on the
fourth anniversary of the date of birth of the licensee which is
nearest the date of application. All renewals thereof, shall expire
on every fourth anniversary of the date of birth of the licensee.
No driver’s license shall expire in the same calendar year in
which the original license or renewal license is issued, except
that if the foregoing provisions of this section shall require the
issuance of a renewal license or an original license for a period of
less than six calendar months, the license issued to the applicant
shall expire at midnight on every fourth anniversary of the date
of birth of the applicant.

(b) If the driver’s license of any person shall expire while
such person is outside of the state of Kansas and on active duty in
the armed forces of the United States, the license of such person
shall be rencwable, without examination, at any time prior to the
end of the sixth month following the discharge of such person
from the armed forces, or within 90 days after reestablished
residence within the state, whichever time is sooner. If the
driver’s license of any person shall expire while such person is
outside the United States, the division shall provide for renewal
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by mail.
(c) At least 30 days prior to the expiration of a person’s
license the division shall mail a notice of expiration or renewal

application to such person at the address shown on the license.
The division shall include with such notice a copy of the eye-
sight examination form and a copy of the written examination
prescribed by subsection (e). In addition, a copy of the Kansas
driver’s manual, prepared pursuant to K.S.A. 8-266b and amend-
ments thereto also shall be included. '

(d) Every driver’s license shall be renewable on or before its
expiration upon application and payment of the required fee and
successful completion of the examinations required by subsec-
tion (e). Application for renewal of a valid driver’s license shall
be made to the division in accordance with rules and regulations
adopted by the secretary of revenue. Such application shall
contain all the requirements of subsection (b) of K.5.A. 8-240 and
amendments thereto. Upon satisfying the foregoing require-
ments of this subsection, and if the division makes the findings
required by K.S.A. 8-235b and amendments thereto for the is-
suance of an original license, the license shall be renewed
without examination of the applicant’s driving ability. If the
division finds that any of the statements relating to revocation,
suspension or refusal of licenses required under subsection (b) of
K.S.A. 8-240 and amendments thereto are in the affirmative, or if
it finds that the license held by the applicant is not a valid one, or
if the applicant has failed to make application for renewal of such
person’s license on or before the expiration date thereof, the
division may require the applicant to take an examination of
ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the opera-
tion of a motor vehicle as provided in K.S.A. 8-235d and amend-
ments thereto.

(e) (1) Prior to renewal of a driver’s license, the applicant
shall pass an examination of eyesight and a written examination
of ability to read and understand highway signs regulating,
warning and directing traffic and knowledge of the traffic laws of
this state. Such examination shall be equivalent to the tests
required for an original driver’s license under K.S.A. 8-235d and
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amendments thereto. A driver’s license examiner shall admin-
ister the examinations without charge, and shall report the re-
sults of the examinations on a form provided by the division,
which shall be submitted by the applicant to the division at the
time such applicant applies for license renewal.

(2) In lieu of the examination of the applicant’s eyesight by
the examiner, the applicant may submit a report on the exami-
nation of eyesight by a physician licensed to practice medicine
and surgery or by a licensed optometrist. The report shall be
based on an examination of the applicant’s eyesight not more
than three months prior to the date the report is submitted, and it
shall be made on a form furnished the applicant with the notice
of the expiration of license under subsection (c).

(3) In lieu of the driver’s license examiner administering the
written examination, the applicant may complete the examina-
tion furnished with the notice of the expiration of license under
subsection (c), and submit the completed examination to the
division.

(4) The division shall determine whether the results of the
written examination and the eyesight reported are sufficient for
renewal of the license, and if the results of either or both of the
examinations are insufficient, the division shall notify the appli-
cant of such fact and return the license fee. In determining the
sufficiency of an applicant’s eyesight, the division may request
an advisory opinion of the medical advisory board, which is
hereby authorized to render such opinions. ‘

(5) An applicant who is denied a license under this subsec-
tion (e) may reapply for renewal of such person’s driver’s license,
except that if such application is not made within 90 days of the
date the division sent notice to the applicant that the license
would not be renewed, the applicant shall proceed as if applying
for an original driver’s license. If the applicant has been denied
renewal of such person’s driver’s license because such applicant
failed to pass the written examination, the applicant shall pay an
examination fee of $1.50 to take the test again.

(6) When the division has good cause to believe that an
applicant for renewal of a driver’s license is incompetent or
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otherwise not qualified to operate a motor vehicle in accord with
the public safety and welfare, the division may require such
applicant to submit to such additional examinations as are nec-
essary to determine that the applicant is qualified to receive the
license applied for. Subject to subpart (7) of this subsection (e),
in so evaluating such qualifications, the division may request an
advisory opinion of the medical advisory board which is hereby
authorized to render such opinions in addition to its duties
prescribed by subsection (b) of K.S.A. 8-255b. Any such appli-
cant who is denied the renewal of such person’s driver’s license
because of a mental or physical disability shall be afforded a
hearing in the manner prescribed by subsection (b) of K.S.A.
8-255.

(7) Seizure disorders which are controlled by prescribed
medication shall not be considered a disability under the pre-
ceding subpart unless the medical advisory board finds that the
applicant’s condition is such that the applicant is likely to be a
danger to such applicant or others, while operating a motor
vehicle. In appropriate cases to which this subpart applies, the
medical advisory board may recommend that such person be
issued a driver’s license to drive class C or D vehicles and
restricted to operating such vehicles at any time while going
directly to such person’s place of employment or while coming
directly from such place, or in an emergency or on days while
school is in session, over the most direct and accessible route

between the licensee’s residence and such person’s school of

enrollment for the purposes of school attendance. Restricted
licenses issued pursuant to this subpart (7) shall be subject to
suspension or revocation as provided in subsection (a) of K.S.A.
8-237, and amendments thereto.

-

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 8-267 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 8-267. (a) All moneys received under this act shall
ce paid over by the secretary of revenue to the state
treasurer who shall, except as set forth in subsection (b),
credit 50% of aill moneyo so received from' class C driver's
licenses and 33 1/3% of all moneys so received from class D
driver's licenses and 25% of all moneys so received from class
: which is hereby

A or B driver's licenses to a special fund,
created and shall be known as the "state safety fund" and who
shall credit 33 1/3% of all moneys so received from class D
driver's licenses to a special fund which is hereby created
and shall be known as the '"motorcycle safety fund." Moneys in
the state safety fund and in the motorcycle safety fund shall
be distributed to provide funds for driver training courses in
the schools of Kansas and for the administration of this act,
as the legislature shall provide. The state treasurer shall
credit the balance of all moneys received under thls act to
the state highway fund.

(b) The state treasurer shall credit the school alcohol
and drug abuse prevention fund created under this act with the

first $500,000 in new moneys generated each fiscal year by the

increase in fees authorized by this act which would otherwise

Ce credited to the state safety fund.

“See. 8. K.S.A. 8-240/and K.S.A. 1985 Supp. 8-247 ﬁlereby
repealed.

Sec. # This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its publication in the statute book.

New Sec. 4. <(a) There is hereby created in the state
treasury the school alcohol and drug abuse prevention fund.

(b) Moneys in the school alcohol and drug abuse prevention
fund shall be used by the secretary of social and
rehabilitation services to provide grants to school districts
and special education cooperatives for the purpose of

developing and implementing alcohol and drug abuse prevention
programs.

(e¢) All expenditures from the school alcohol and drug
abuse prevention fund shall be made in accordance with
appropriation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts
and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the
secretary of social and rehabilitation services or by a person
designated by the secretary.

e and 8-267
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rhansas Association of Prevention Professiona..

Box 4052
Topeka, Kansas 66604-0052.

March 6, 1986

TESTIMONY SUPPORTING SCHOOL PREVENTION
FUND - AMENDING SB 675

The Kansas Association of Prevention Professionals has existed in
the state for four years. Our purpose is to "unite human disciplines interested
in the prevention of destructive, self-defeating behaviors and the promotion
and support of healthy lifestyles." Our membership consists of professionals,
volunteers, and citizens interested in the prevention of child abuse, alcohol
and other drug abuse, mental health, unwanted teenage pregnancy, public health,
and other social/health issues.

KAPP believes it is cost effective to prevent or intervene in the pro-
gression of diseases such as alcohol and other drug abuse. The cost of treatment
for any disease naturally exceeds the resources it takes to prevent it. KAPP
supports the need for quality treatment services, because we know when good
prevention and intervention services are provided, students will surface who
are already experiencing problems with alcohol and other drugs and treatment may
be indicated.

KAPP proposes as a matter of public policy, Kansas should begin to examine
the cost effectiveness of developing strong, well evaluated prevention and
intervention services. The amendment proposed to create and provide funding
for a school alcohol and drug prevention fund to be used for school prevention
services is one more step forward in reaching youth before alcohol and drug
problems are evident, to provide them with the refusal skills they need, the
communication skills to resist peer pressure, and the alternative activities

that provide alcohol and drug free functions for youth so the keg party isn't

BT @
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the only option at graduation and prom times.
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One curriculum that is used in Kansas and was developed in Topeka is Get
Set. Get Set costs $8.00 per child. It starts in the elementary grades, when
prevention must begin. Another strategy that is effective is School Team Training
for the Prevention of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse. Extensive evaluation is
available on that program in the Wichita area, and statewide data is now being
gathered.

We have learned through experience and research what is effective. Our
next task is getting the stfategies implemented throughout the state. Current
services are fragmented and not available for thousands of Kansas students.

The development and implementation of the alcohol and drug continuum of
care in Kansas is like assembling a jigsaw puzzle. Many of the treatment pieces
(but not all) are in place. We now must begin to assemble the prevention and
intervention pieces to complete the puzzle. I can assume you the picture will be
worth seeing when that puzzle is complete, much suffering will be avoided, many
lives will be saved.

It is true that our youth are our future. Your support of this amendment
to provide funds for school alcohol and drug prevention programs will help secure
that future.

Thank you.

Respectfully submitted,
Elrirrbiacty 72
ALt zﬁ?[ afé/m/

Elaine Brady Rogérs
KAPP President
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AUTOMOBILES AND OTHER VEHICLES

attected by guest statute. Neilson v. Gambrel 214 K.
339, 342, 520 P.2d 1194

8-285. Employing persons to operate
vehicle; proper class o} license required.
No person shall employ any person to
operate a motor vehicle, if the person so
employed is not then licensed to operate the
appropriate class of motor vehicles as pro-
vided in this act.

History: L. 1937, ch. 73, § 32; L. 1949,
ch. 104, § 36; L. 1975, ch. 36, § 29; Jan. 1,
1976.

8-266. Renting motor vehicle to an-
other; record. (a) No person shall rent a
motor vehicle to any other person unless the
latter person is then duly licensed hereunder
to operate such motor vehicle or, in the case
of a nonresident, then duly licensed under
the laws of the state of his or her residence,
except a nonresident whose home state does
not require that a driver be licensed.

(b) No person shall rent a motor vehicle
to another until such person has inspected
the license of the person to whom the vehi-
cle is to be rented and compared and veri-
fied the signature thereon with the signature
of such person written in his or her pres-
ence.

(c) Every person renting a motor vehicle
to another shall keep a record of the regis-
tration number of the motor vehicle so
rented, the name and address of the person
to whom the vehicle is rented, the number of
the license of said latter person and the date
and place when and where said license was
issued. Such record shall be open to inspec-
tion by any police officer or officer or em-
ployee of the division.

History: L. 1937, ch. 73, § 33; L. 1949,
ch. 104, § 37; L. 1975, ch. 36, § 30; Jan. 1,
1976.

Research and Practice Aids:

Automobilese=387.

C.].S. Motor Vehicles §§ 760, 761.

Am. Jur. 2d Automobiles and Highway Traffic §§
298 to 300, 579.

8-268a.
History: L. 1949, ch. 104, §38; Re-
pealed, L. 1959, ch. 49, § 35; July 1.

8-266b. Drivers’ manual. The director
of vehicles shall cause to be prepared and
printed a suitable Kansas drivers’ manual. It
shall be the duty of the division to distribute
the manual in such manner that cach appli-
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cant for a driver’s license, upon request, may
be presented with a copy thereof at the time
of making application for a driver’s license.
The cost of such manuals shall be paid from
the state highway fund.

History: L. 1949, ch. 104, § 39; L. 1975,
ch. 36, § 31; Jan. 1, 1976.

8-267. Disposition of moneys; state
safety fund, motorcycle safety fund and
state highway fund. All moneys received
under this act shall be paid over by the
secretaryv of revenue to the state treasurer
who shall credit 50% of all moneys so re-
ceived from class C driver’s licenses and
33%% of all moneys so received from class
D driver’s licenses and 25% of all moneys so
received from class A or B driver’s licenses
to a special fund, which is hereby created
and shall be known as the ‘‘state safety
fund” and who shall credit 33'4% of all
moneys so received from class D driver’s
licenses to a special fund which is hereby
created and shall be known as the “motor-
cycle safety fund.” Moneys in the state
safetv fund and in the motorcycle safety
fund shall be distributed to provide funds
for driver training courses in the schools of
Kansas and for the administration of this act,
as the legislature shall provide. The state
treasurer shall credit the balance of all
moneyvs received under this act to the state
highway fund.

History: L. 1937, ch. 73, § 34; L. 1939,
ch. 84, § 2; L. 1949, ch. 104, § 40; L. 1953,
ch.53, § 1; L. 1959, ch. 49, § 32; L. 1961, ch.
53,§ 1; L. 1963, ch. 54, § I; L. 1972, ¢h. 342,
§ 43; L. 1975, ch. 36, § 32; L. 1982, ch. 42,
§ 2; July 1.

Cross References to Related Sections:

Distribution of funds for drivers training courses, see
8-272.

Research and Practice Aids:

Automobileses141.
C.].S. Motor Vehicles § 15%.

8-267a.
History: L. 1938, ch. 13, § 3; Repealed,
L. 1949, ¢h. 104, § 53; July 1.

8-283. Penalties for violations. Any
person who shall violate any provision of
this act, unless otherwise specifically pro-
vided, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and
on conviction, unless otherwise specitically
srovided, shall be tined not more than five
{nm(lrcd dollars (S500) or be sentenced to
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the county jail tor a period of not more than
ninety (90) davs or both such fine and im-
prisonment.

History: L. 1937, ch. 73, § 35; L. 1929,
ch. 104, § 42; L. 1959, ch. 49, § 31; July L
Research and Practice Aids:

Automobileses326.

C.J.S. Motor Vehicles §§ 638, 639, 651,

CASE ANNOTATIONS

1. Violation of section discussed in upholding liquor
license revocation under G.S. 1949, 41-715. Smith v.
Herrick, 172 K. 65, 69, 238 P.2d 357.

2. Mentioned; alcohol breath test sample lawfully
obtained is admissible although driver incapable of
exercising statutory right to refuse test. State v. Garner,

3 K.A.2d 697, 600 P.2d 1166.

8-268a. Invalidity of part. If any part or
parts of this act shall be Eeld to be uncon-
stitutional, such unconstitutionality shall
not affect the validity of the remaining parts
of this act and the legislature hereby de-
clares that it would have passed the remain-
ing parts of this act if it had known that such
part or parts thereof would be declared un-
constitutional.

History: L. 1949, ch. 104, § 52; July 1.
Research and Practice Aids:

Statutese=64(2).
C.].S. Statutes §§ 96 et seq.

8-269. Uniformity of interpretation.
This act shall be so interpreted and con-
strued as to effectuate its general purpose to
make uniform the law of those states which

enact it.
History: L. 1937, ch. 73, § 36; July 1.

8.270. Effect of noncompliance. The
operation of a vehicle in this state without
complying with the provisions of this act
shall not be considered as operating the
same unlawfully or in violation of law so as
to affect the validity of any contract or pol-
icy of liability insurance or indemnity
against liability for personal injuries or
damages to property, or fire, theft or colli-
sion insurance carried on such vehicle.

History: L. 1937, ch. 73, § 37; July 1.
Law Review and Bar Journal References:

Discovery of automobile liability insurance limits,
Joseph P. Jenkins, 14 K.L.R. 59, 81 (1965).

“Automobile Liability Insurance and the Deceased
Insured: A Serbonian Bog,” Joseph P. Jenkins, 18
K.L.R. 651, 652 (1970).

CASE ANNOTATIONS

1. Cited in holding automobile insurance policy can-
not be canceled without actual notice to insured. Koehn
v. Central National Ins. Co., 187 K. 192, 202, 354 P.2d
352.

2. Purpose of section; not mtended to fix rights be-
tween insurance carrier and operator of insured vehicle.
Prickett v. Hawkeye-Security Insurance Company, 282
F.2d 294, 298, 299.

8-271. Title of act. This act and the acts
of which this act is amendatory shall be
known and may be cited as the motor vehi-
cle drivers’ license act.

History: L. 1937, ch. 73, § 38; L. 1974,
ch. 38, § 6; July 1.

DRIVER TRAINING

8-272. State safety fund and motorcy-
cle safety fund; entitlements; certification
of amounts; distribution; proration of insuf-
ficient appropriations; motorcycle safety
courses and instructors. (a) Any school
district conducting an approved course in
driver training and any pupil attending a
nonpublic sc\%ool accredited by the state
board of education conducting an approved
course in driver training shall be entitled to
participate in the state safety fund created
by K.S.A. 8-267, and amendments thereto. In
August of each year, the superintendent of
eac%l school district and the governing au-
thority of each nonpublic school shall report
to the state board ot education the number of
pupils who have been in attendance for a
complete driver training course conducted
by such school district or nonpublic school
during the past school year. From the state
safety fund in the state treasury, $1,540,000
shall be distributed in the manner herein-
after provided to the respective school dis-
tricts and nonpublic schools on order of the
state board of education in the ratio that the
number of pupils in each school district or
nonpublic school in attendance for such
complete courses bears to the total number
of pupils in all such schools and nonpublic
schools in attendance for such complete
courses. The state board of education shall
certify to the director of accounts and re-
ports the amount due each school district
and each pupil of a nonpublic school. The
director oFaccounts and reports shall draw
warrants on the state treasurer payable to the
treasurer of each school district and to each
pupil of a nonpublic school entitled to pay-
ment under this subsection upon vouchers
approved by the state board and shall cause
such warrants to be delivered to the respec-
tive school districts and nonpublic schools.
If the amount appropriated in any year from
the state safety fund shall be insufficient to
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pay the full amount each school district and
each pupil of a nonpublic school is entitled
to receive under this subsection, then the
entire amount appropriated for such vear
shall be prorated among all school districts
and all pupils of nonpublic schools in pro-
portion to the amount each school district
and each pupil of a nonpublic school is
entitled to receive. No moneys in the state
safety fund shall be used for any purpose
other than that specified in this subsection
or for the support of driver improvement
programs. The state board of education shall
prescribe all forms necessary for reportin

in connection with this act. The funds shal
be distributed on or before November 1 each
vear,

(b) Any school district conducting an
approved course in motorcycle safety as a
part of an approved course in driver trainin
and any pupil attending a nonpublic schoo%
accredited by the state board of education
conducting an approved course in motorcy-
cle safety as a part of an approved course in
driver training shall be entitled to partici-
Fate in the motorcycle safety fund created
by K.S.A. 8-267, and amendments thereto.
The state board of education may establish,
by rules and regulations, standards for the
conduct, operation and approval of courses
in motorcycle safety andp or the qualifica-
tions of instructors for such courses. Such
standards shall not include the requirement
that instructors be certificated by the state
board of education. In August of each vyear,
the superintendent of eaci school district
and the Eovemin authority of each non-
public school shaﬁ report to the state board
of education the number of pupils who have
been in attendance for a complete course in
motorcycle safety as a part of the driver
training course conducted by such school
district or nonpublic school during the past
school year. From the motorcycle safety
fund in the state treasury, $210,000 shall be
distributed in the manner hereinafter pro-
vided to the respective school districts and
nonpublic schools on order of the state
board of education in the ratio that the
number of pupils in each school district or
nonpublic school in attendance for such
complete courses in motoreyele safety bears
to the total number of pupils in all such
schools and nonpublic schools in attend-
ance for such complete courses. The state

board of education shall certify to the direc-
tor of accounts and reports the amount due
each school district and each pupil of a
nonpublic school. The director of accounts
and reports shall draw warrants on the state
treasurer payable to the treasurer of each
school district and to each pupil of a non-
public school entitled to payment under this
subsection upon vouchers approved by the
state board and shall cause such warrants to
be delivered to the respective school dis-
tricts and nonpublic schools. If the amount
appropriated in any year from the motorcy-
cle safety fund shall be insufficient to pa

the full amount each school district and each
pupil of a nonpublic school is entitled to
receive under this subsection, then the en-
tire amount appropriated for such year shall
be prorated among all school districts and
all pupils of nonpublic schools in propor-
tion to the amount each school district and
each pupil of a nonpublic school is entitled
to receive. No moneys in the motorcycle
safety fund shall be used for any purpose
other than that specified in this subsection
or for the support of motorcycle driver im-
provement programs. The state board of ed-
ucation shall prescribe all forms necessary
for reportin% in connection with this act.
The funds shall be distributed on or before
November 1 each year.

History: L. 1959, ch. 312, § 1; L. 1969,
ch.310,§ 1; L. 1971, ch. 20, § 1; L. 1974, ch.
40,§ 1; L. 1977, ch. 39, § 1; L. 1978, ch. 35,
§ 1;L.1979, ch. 39, § 1; L. 1982, ch. 42, § 3.
July 1.

Cross References to Related Sections:

23\_\8‘16“ license granted without examination, see 8-
235b.

8-273. Drivers’ training school license
act; definitions. The following words and
phrases when used in this act shall, unless
the context otherwise requires, have the
meanings respectively ascribed to them in
this section:

(a) “Motor vehicle.” Every vehicle
which is self-propelled upon or by which
any person or property is or may be trans-
ported or drawn upon a public highway
except devices useci exclusively upon sta-
tionary rails or tracks.

(b) “Drivers’ training schools.” Any per-
son, partnership or corporation giving driv-
ing instruction to ten (10) or more persons
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