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MINUTES OF THE _SENATE _ COMMITTEE ON _ TRANSPORTATION AND UTILITIES

The meeting was called to order by Sen. Bill Morris at
Chairperson

9:00  am./p&¥ on _ March 21 198%in room 254=E___ of the Capitol.

All members were present excaEpix .

Sen. Doyen and Sen. Walker were excused.

Committee staff present:

Arden Ensley, Revisor of Statutes

Hank Avila, Legislative Research Department
Ben Barrett, Legislative Research Department
Louise Cunningham, Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Mary Turkington, Kansas Motor Carriers Association

Pat Wiechman, Kansas Dismantlers and Recyclers Association
Lt. Bill Jacobs, Kansas Highway Patrol

Terry Humphrey, Kansas Manufactured Housing Institute

Jim Sullins, Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association

Harley Duncan, Secretary, Department of Revenue

HEARING ON H.B. 2765 - Registration of wrecker or tow trucks.

Mary_ Turkington, Kansas Motor Carriers Association, said she was
today representing members of their Towing and Recovery Divison. This bill
was designed for clarification of public policy which has been applied in
thiss registration category over the years. A copy of her statement is
attached along with a letter from the Department of Revenue dated September
11, 1985 stating that they are in accord that the gross weight registration
on the wrecker vehicle would be equal to the weight of the vehicle and its
load and not including the weight of the unit being towed. A copy is
attached. (Att. 1).

Pat Wiechman, KADRA, said she concurred with the previous remarks
and they support H.B. 2765.

Lt. Jacobs, said this was the way it is enforced anyhow and this
was no change.

A motion was made by Sen. Francisco and was seconded by Sen. Norvell
to recommend H.B. 2765 be passed. Motion carried.

HEARING ON H.B. 2842 - Mobile home dealer license fees.

Terry Humphrey said when S.B. 321 was passed in 1985 it was intended
for the motor car dealer industry and not for the mobile home industry.
She said the tags are only used to transport the homes from factory to dealer
and from dealer to the consumer and the tag has a very limited use. She
said since S.B. 321 was not intended for this industry they were asking for
a return to a more reasonable fee. A copy of her statement is attached.

(Att. 2).

Harley Duncan was asked what fee would be appropriate and he said
he felt $250 was not appropriate and he thought $25 was a reasonable amount.
He also said, in response to a question, that there would be a loss of
approximately $87,000 in revenue if this bill was passed.

There was some discussion about mobile home salesmen having tags
on their cars which were dealer tags.

Jim Sullins said a dealer in vehicles can sell any type of vehicle
and if he has a tag on his car it should be a $250 tag. The $25 tag for
mobile homes would have a decal that is only for mobile homes. He said they
support H.B. 2842.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not

been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for

2
editing or corrections. Page 1 Of




CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE __SENATE =~ COMMITTEE ON _TRANSPORTATION AND UTILITIES
room _224-E Statehouse, at - 9:00  am.oxx on March 21 19_86

A motion was made by Sen. Martin and was seconded by Sen. Vidricksen
to recommend H.B. 2842 be passed. Motion carried. Sen. Francisco wished to
be recorded as voting "No" because of the loss of revenue.

Meeting was adjourned at 9:25 a.m.
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STATEMENT
By The
KANSAS MOTOR CARRIERS ASSOCIATION

In support of House Bill 2765 which
clarifies statutory requirements for
the registration of wreckers or tow
trucksl.

Presented to the Senate Transportation
& Utilities Committee, Sen. Bill Morris,
Chairman; Statehouse, Topeka, Friday,
March 21, 1986.

MR. CHAIRMAN AND MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE:

I am Mary Turkington, Executive Director of the Kansas
Motor Carriers Association and appear here today representing
the members of our Association and specifically our Towing
& Recovery Division. We support the provisions of House
BRI 7658, |

This legislative proposal is designed to clarify the
statutory requirements for the registration of wreckers or
tow trucks in this state.

When the Kansas Legislature wisely adopted the gross weight
registration provisions which now govern the registration fees
for motor truck equipment, the statutory definition for gross

weight was placed in our law.

s
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Tow Truck Registration - page 2

That definition is incorporated in H.B. 2765 in paragraph

(2) of Section 1 of this bill. The language provides:
the term ''gross weight'" shall mean and

include the empty weight of truck, or of combination
of truck or truck tractor and any type trailer or

semitrailer, plus the maximum weight of cargo which

will be transported on or with the same, except that

when the empty weight of a truck plus the maximum weight
of cargo which will be transported thereon is 12,000

pounds or less.

The gross weight statutory definition applied to all
vehicles with the exception of power units which propelled
any travel trailer which is being used for private recreational
purposes -- and to wrecker or tow truck equipment.

The exemption for travel trailers being used for recreational
purposes was spelled out in the statute. The exemption from the
gross weight definition for wrecker or tow truck equipment was
based on a ruling from the legal staff of the former Motor Vehicle
Department in a letter dated March 15, 1962.

It was obvious that tow trucks would transport widely-
ranging cargoes. One customer might have a light-weight,
small car -- and another customer might require towing or
recovery services for a much larger vehicle. The tow truck
operator hardly should be required to register for the maximum
weight vehicle if he seldom or never transported such gross

weight.



Tow Truck Registration - page 3

Public policy has acknowledged the legal ruling by the
Motor Vehicle Department for these many years. The Department
of Revenue, in a letter dated September 10, 1985, re-affirmed
that policy for such wrecker or tow truck registrations. We
have attached a copy of the Department's September 10, 1985
letter to this statement.

The language which is proposed in House Bill 2765 is
designed to provide statutory recognition of the public
policy which has applied in this registration category over
the years.

We support House Bill 2765 as this legislation was

passed by the House and ask you to recommend the bill for

passage.

We will respond to any questions you may have. Thank

you for your consideration of this important legislation.

FHi#H#
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DIEPARTMENT OF REVIENDE

State Office Building
TOPEKA, KANSAS 6682¢

September 10, 1985
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Colonel Bert Cantwell <
Kansas Highway Patrol
122 Sk 7th
Topeka, Kansas 66603

Dear Colonel Cantwell:

A legal opinion dated March 15, 1502, was issued by the Kansas Department of
l( Revenue to the Kansas Highway Patrcl responding to the question of what gross
RN weight registration should be required of a wrecker vehicle. That letter
stated the position of the Departsent that the gross weight registration on
the wrecker vehicle would be equal to the weight of the vehicle and its load
«;“} and not including the weight of the unit being towed,

Advice has been requested by the Kansas Highway Patrol as to whether the

bepartment's position continues in accord with this opinion datea March 15,
. 1967, It is my opinion tnat this opinion is a well considered one, and the
H;» Departrment's position remains 1n accord with the same.

It 1 wmay be of additional information, please let je know,

j{ Sincerely,

William L. Edds
General Counsel

WLE :rab

cc: Harold Turntine
Hary Turkington
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KANSAS MANUFACTURED HOUSING INSTITUTE
100 East Ninth Street e Suite 205 ¢ Topeka, Kansas 66612 ¢ (913) 357-5256

TESTIMONY BEFORE THR
SENATE COMMITTER ON TRANSPORTATION

BY: Terry Humphrey, Fxecutive Director

DATHR: March 21, 1986

RE:  Tn Support of House Bill 2842

Mr. Chairman and members of the Transportation Committee, T

Humphrey, Executive Director of Kansas Manufactured Hous irg
efo

7
Institute; and I thank you for the opportunity to come b
support of House Bill 2842,

KMHT is a trade association representing all facets of the
manufactured housing industry. Today T am here to discuss an issue
that effects mobile home manufacturers and retail deale

In the 1985 1Hglb]dlive session, Senate Bill 321 passed the
legislature raising the dealer tag fee from $10.00 per tag, to
$250.00 for the first tag and $16.75 for additional *ag&. It is my
understanding that the intent behind this fee increase was to

*ur*’41 dealer tag abuses in the motor car dealer industry; and
specifically to discourage an individual from registering as a
dealer to avoid tit ling and taxation,

However, in the process of correcting a problem in one industry, the
nanufactured housing industry was penalized. Both mobile home
manufacturers and mobile home retail sales centers are required to
use a dealer tag. For example: a manufacturer uses a dealer tag to
move a home from the factory to the sales center, and a sales center
uses a dealer tag to transport the home to the consumer.

In the manufactured housing industry a dealer tag has a very limited
use; and it can only be used on a mobile home, not a motorized
vehicle. A large mobile home retailer buys approximately two dealer
tags per year compared to a large motor car dealer who may buy as
many as 100 tags per year. Therefore, the abuses that were being
address sed with a fee increase in the motor car industry do not
relate to our industry.

Since the 1986 dealer tag fee increase was not intended for t
manufactured housing industry, the House Transportation Commit
introduced HB 2842; lowering manufactured housing dealer tag to
$25,00 per tag. On February 26th, the House of Representative
passed the bill, 123 to 0.

he
tee

U:

In conclusion, T respectfully ask this committee to support House
Bill 2842 and return this fee to a reasonable cost. Thank you.

Y D,
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