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MINUTES OF THE _ SENATE  COMMITTEE ON _ TRANSPORTATION AND UTILITIES

Sen. Bill Morris at
Chairperson

The meeting was called to order by

2:00 4 m.fpwx on April 1 1986in room 254-E __ of the Capitol.

All members were present sxe&pEX .

Committee staff present:

Arden Ensley, Revisor of Statutes

Hank Avila, Legislative Research Department
Ben Barrett, Legislative Research Department
Louise Cunningham, Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Lt. Bill Jacobs, Kansas Highway Patrol

Jim Clark, Kansas County and District Attorneys Association
Jim Sullins, Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association

Harold Turntine, Department of Revenue

Larry Ross, Bicycle, Kansas - Wichita
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On a motion from Sen. Francisco and a second from Sen. Frey the Minutes
of March 25, 26, 27 and 28 were approved. Motion carried.

HEARING AND ACTION ON H.B. 3058 - Offenses for which traffic citation may be
issued.

Lt. Jacobs explained the bill and said the Highway Patrol strongly
supports it. It would establish the specific statutes for which a Notice
to Appear (NTA) would suffice as a legal complaint. Most courts now accept
this but there have been cases in the last several months where charges
have been dismissed because the judges felt that NTA was not a legal complaint.
These involved transporting open containers. Lt. Jacobs said they are
understaffed at present and taking people off the roads to appear in court
is a hindrance. They are already sworn in when they become officers.
A copy of his statement is attached. (Att. 1).

Jim Clark, Kansas County and District Attorneys Association, said they
were in support of the bill but he felt an amendment was necessary to put a
criminal complaint definition in the bill showing a valid complaint. S.B.
498 gave the Fish and Game division authority to issue tickets but some
judges said that a Notice to Appear did not constitute a criminal complaint
and cases were dismissed, so therefore this amendment was necessary. Sen.
Frey agreed with this statement.

A conceptual motion was made by Sen. Hayden and seconded by Sen. Frey
to adopt the amendment to do what had been suggested by Mr. Clark. Motion
carried.

A motion was made by Sen. Frey and was seconded by Sen. Hayden to recom-
mend H.B. 3058 as amended, favorable for passage. Motion carried.

HEARTING AND ACTION ON H.B. 3095 - Motor vehicle dealers and manufacturers
licensure, salesmen.

Jim Sullins, Kansas Motor Car Dealers Association, explained the bill
and said it would change from 2 years to 5 years the period of time considered
when issuing a license to a dealer or salesperson who has been convicted of a
felony. It would also raise the license fee from $5.00 to $10.00. A copy
of his statement is attached. (Abt. 2)

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not
been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for
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editing or corrections.
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Harold Turntine, Department of Revenue, said they had originally asked
for $15.00 but it was amended by the House to $10.00. The $10.00 amount is
closer to a break-even point.

Sen. Francisco said S.B. 470, the bonding bill, was still in the House
Transportation Committee and he made a motion to amend S.B. 470 into H.B. 3095.
The motion did not receive a second.

The Chairman said the House committee has asked for an interim study on
the bonding bill. They do not plan to take action on S.B. 470.

Harold Turntine, Department of Revenue, said they support H.B. 3095. A
copy of his statement is attached. (Att. 3).

A motion was made by Sen. Hayden to amend S.B. 470, the bonding bill,
into H.B. 3095. Motion was seconded bv Sen. Francisco.

Sen. Martin said he had reservations about the bonding bill. He wanted
to know how it would affect the people in his district and wanted to be
assured that bonding would be available. He supported the interim study on
the bill. The committee discussed the bonding situation.

A substitute motion was made by Sen. Norvell and seconded by Sen. Martin
to amend H.B. 3095 on line 83 to have the license fee $15 instead of $10.
Motion carried.

A motion was made by Sen. Norvell and was seconded by Sen. Martin on
line 0275, page 8, to delete "five" years and insert "two" years

The Chairman explained that the bill was permissive and the director
may deny application of a license.

Sen. Norvell withdrew his motion.

A motion was made by Sen. Francisco and was seconded by Sen. Havden to
amend S.B. 470 into H.B. 3095.

A substitute motion was made by Sen. Thiessen and was seconded by Sen.
Frey to recommend H.B. 3095 as amended(to the $15 fee) favorable for passage.
Motion carried.

ACTION ON H.B. 2559 - Bicycle Bill.

The Chairman said he had reguested KDOT, the Highway Patrol and the
people requesting the bill to get together and reach a compromise. They
could not do this and still had irreconcilable differences.

The Chairman said while most of the cyclists appearing before the commit-
tee were expert and had very expensive vehicles, many of the bicycle riders
were children or young people and he thought the bill opened up unsafe
practices.

Lt. Jacobs said the bicyclists had the left-hand turn now that they
were asking for and if this bill were passed tricycles wouldn't be allowed
on sidewalks because they would be classified as vehicles.

Larry Ross, Bicycle, Kansas, said the cyclists had to dismount now to
legally make a left-hand turn.

A motion was made by Sen. Hoferer and was seconded by Sen. Norvell to
recommend H.B. 2559 favorable for passage. Motion carried.

Meeting was adjourned at 10:05 a.m.
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SUMMARY OF TESTIMONY
Before the Senate Committee on Transportation and Utilities
House B1ill 3058

Presented by the Kansas Highway Patrol

(Lieutenant William A, Jacobs)

April 1, 1986

The Patrol strongly supports House Bill 3058.

House Bill 3058 would establish the specific statutes for which a
Notice to Appear (NTA) would suffice as a legal complaint.

At present, most courts will accept an NTA as a legal complaint for
any offense related to traffic upon a highway. However, in the last
several months, at least two courts have dismissed charges of trans-
porting open containers because they felt an NTA was not a legal
complaint except for offenses of chapter 8 of the Kansas Statutes.

We think this particular bill would alleviate that problem 1in the
future and would bring all courts into conformance.

If law enforcement officers are required to go to the court and file
long form complaints on offenses that previously were accepted on an
NTA, it would require many hours off the road and substantially hinder
our patrolling activities.
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Statement Before the
SENATE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION AND ULILITIES
by the
KANSAS MOTOR CAR DEALERS ASSOCIATION

Tuesday, April 1, 1986

RE: HOUSE BILL 3095

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee. I am Jim Sullins,
Executive Vice President of the 392-member Kansas Motor Car Dealers
Association, representing the franchised new car and new truck dealers

of Kansas. We come before you this morning in support of HB 3095.

The provisions of the bill are quite simple. First, the bill
changes from 2 years to 5 years the period of time which the
Divisioh of Vehicles may consider when issuing a license to either
a dealer or salesperson who has been convicted of a felony. This is
permissive language, and just because an individual has been convicted
of a felony in the last 5 years does not necessarily mean that the
Division will not issue a license. It just grants the division a broader

period of time to review.

Secondly, the bill raised from $5.00 to $10.00 the cost of a
salesman's license. In the original version of the bill, it was proposed
to raise the fee to $15.00, but as you can see, the House Committee on
Transportation chose to lower the license cost to $10.00. KMCDA supports

the change to $10.00.
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Other changes you see in the bill were either technical or were

made to clarify the intent of the bill.

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee, KMCDA supports HB 3095
as amended by the House Committee, and urges this Committee to recommend

the bill favorably for passage.

If there are any questions, we would be happy to respond.
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MEMORANDUM

TO: The Honorable Bill Morris, Chairman

Senate Committee on Transportation and Utilities
FROM:  Harley T. Duncan, Secre

Kansas Department of

RE: House Bill 3085

DATE:  April 1, 1986

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you today on
House Bill 3095. We support enactment of this measure.

HB 3095 makes two changes in current law as it relates to the
licensing of motor vehicle sales personnel. First, as amended by the
House, it raises the sales person license from $5 to $10 per year. This
will essentially cover our costs for printing, matling and scoring the exam
plus conducting criminal background checks and producing a temporary and
permanent license. License fees in surrounding states are Nebraska - $7;
Colorado - $20; and Oklahoma - $10 for a new vehicle sales person and $5
for a used vehicle sales person.

The second change is to extend the number of years which must
elapse between conviction for a felony and the point in time at which the
conviction can no longer be considered in the licensing process from 2 to 5
years. The criminal record checks we run disclose tha a humber or sales
persons have been convicted of felony crmes ncluding violent crimes and
crimes involving the motor vehicle business. We do not believe it is
unreasonable to require that five years elapse after such convictions
before receiving a State license to conduct vehicle sales.

- Thank you for this opportunity. | would be glad to answer any
questions.
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