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MINUTES OF THE __HOUSE  COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY
The meeting was called to order by Representativ%ﬁiﬁiﬁit S. Wunsch at
3:30  %&x¥p.m. on February 16 1987 in room .313-5 of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Representatives Duncan and Peterson, who were excused.

Committee staff present:

Jerry Donaldson, Legislative Research Department
Mary Ann Torrence, Revisor of Statutes Office
Mary Jane Holt, Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Jim Hays, Kansas Association of School Boards

Marjorie VanBuren, Office of Judicial Administration

Carolyn Schmitt, Kansas National Education Association

Char Schuknecht, single parent

Jim Robertson, Child Support Enforcement Program Administrator & Senior

Legal Counsel, Social and Rehabilitation Services

Terry Harmon, Assistant State Archivist

Bill Wagnon, Professor of History, Washburn University

Mike Boyer, Kansas Bureau of Investigation

Ray Hiner, Professor of History and Education, University of Kansas
Commissioner Robert Barnum, Youth Services, Social and Rehabilitation Services

Hearing on H.C.R. 5002 -~ Education and training of persons dealing with
sexually abused children

Jim Hays testified in support of H.C.R. 5002. He proposed an
amendment to line 40 following the word "education" by inserting "through
the current inservice education program"'". This language would make it
clear that this training would be available to teachers and would not
be a new program mandated upon local school boards, (see Attachment TI).

Marjorie VanBuren testified in support of the concept of continuing
education for judges of the district courts and attorneys. The Supreme
Court has implemented rules on both continuing judicial education and
continuing legal education mandating annual continuing education for
judges and attorneys. She distributed copies of continuing education
conferences, (see Attachment II).

Carolyn Schmitt testified that it is imperative all school
employees receive special training in dealing with sexually abused children,
(see Attachment ITITI).

The hearing was closed on H.C.R. 5002.

Hearing on H.B. 2134 - Procedure for enforcement of support obligations

Char Schuknecht stated she is a single parent of a handicapped
child. She requested the bill be amended to include child support for a
handicapped child past the age of 18, or that the Committee introduce a
bill covering her amendment.

Jim Robertson testified this bill complies witha recently promolugated
federal mandate that all states give full faith and credit to another
state's support and paternity orders and to implement income withholding.
Unless the law is amended the state could losé $5 million in federal
funding to the Child Support Programs, $3 million in federal incentives
for Title IV-D support collections and ultimately $30 million in Aid to

Dependent Children. He submitted an amendment to remove "court" in line 75,
"support issued by a court"” in line 87 and "issued by a court of another
state'" in line 158. Supporting letters and memoranda are a part of his

LofestspeaificaNy noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
attachment, (see Attachmgiitraiy)

ried vetbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not
been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for 1

editing or corrections. Page
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Hearing on H.B. 2218-Preservation of juvenile records for historical
research

Terry Harmon testified this bill is an effort to revise two Kansas
statutes which prevent preservation of juvenile court records in the
state archives. He stated that these records have much potential research
value. This bill would not create a new program and the projected annual
cost of $600 could easily be absorbed at current funding levels. He
also said he would welcome an effort to amend this bill to include authority
to microfilm birth and death records created before 1911 which are held
by local government officials, (see Attachment V).

Bill Wagnon testified juvenile court records will be destroyed if
they are not entrusted to the State Archivist. These records are a vital
resource of our society and should be preserved and made available to
future generations for their instruction and inspiration, (see Attachment VI).

Mike Boyer testified he supports H.B. 2218. He questioned whether
the bill addressed the records of the state automated juvenile information
system. He also asked if expunged records should be included.

Ray Hiner testified in support of H.B. 2218,and stated the study
of juvenile court records has a social utility that clearly justifies
their preservation. He proposed rigorous procedures and guidelines to
protect the identity of individuals, (see Attachment VII).

The hearing on H.B. 2218 was closed.

Hearing on H.B. 2170 - Periodic review of placements of children in need of
care

Robert Barnum testified this bill is designed to require periodic
review hearings for children in foster care. This bill will provide the
checks and balance system necessary in ensuring that all children in foster
care are given a timely permanency plan. This complies with a federal
mandate thus preserving federal funds for child welfare services, (see
Attachment VIII).

Marjorie VanBuren testified in support of H.B. 2218. She stated
there may be some additional court time involved with the implementation
of this bill. Not only is it important the review take place but it is
important the review be documented.

The hearing on H.B. 2170 was closed.
The meeting was adjourned at 4:55 p.m.

The next meeting will be Tuesday, February 17, 1987, at 3:30 p.m.
in room 313-S.
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KANSAS
ASSOCIATION

TESTIMONY ON HCR 5002

by
Jim Hays, Research Director
Kansas Association of School Boards
February 16, 1987
House Judiciary Committee

Mr. Chairman and members of the committee, I appear today in support of
the concepts contained in HCR 5002.

KASB agrees with the interim committee that the individuals named in
HCR 5002 should be thoroughly familiar with all aspects of the reporting,
investigation and prosecution‘of cases involving the sexual abuse of children.
However, KASB is concerned that this resolution does not specifically indi-
cate to the State Board of Education the direction that the Legislature pre-
fers that it take in implementing this training for teachers.

KASB suggests that HCR 5002 be amended on line 40, following "education"

. by inserting the phras. "through the current inservice education program'.

This language would make it clear that this training would be available to
teachers, and would not be a new program mandated upon local school boards.

Through the existing inservice program teachers could use the course to
re-certify and districts would be encouraged to participate in inservice educa-
tion. The cost of the program would continue to be a shared responsibility
of the state and local school districts. The use of a mechanism which is
already in place would hasten the actual delivery of the training to teach-
ers who need it.

Thank you for your attention to KASB's thoughts on HCR 5002.

Attachment I
House Judiciary 2/16/87



Recent Judicial Education
on Child Sexual Abuse Issues

Provided by the Supreme Court to Kansas Trial Judges

1985 Judicial Conference, Hutchinson Kansas
from conference progranm

"Child Sexual Abuse: Nature and Extent of the Problem
Dr. Robert W. tenBensel
school of Public Health
University of Minnesota

A half-day session designed to address the effect of
sexual abuse on the child and family.’ specifically,
attention will be given to issues involving children's
competency to testify. long-term effects on children, and
examine the use of videotaping."

1986 Judicial Conference, Lawrence, Kansas
from conference program

"SENTENCING THE SEX OFFENDER
Fred S. Berlin, MD, PhD
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
John Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland

This session will focus on the subjects of disparity in
sentencing, innovative sentencing and alternatives to
ijncarceration. The psychological and medical issues
related to sex offenders will be reviewed, with focus on
the conflicts between patient confidentiality and the
protection of children." ‘

Attachment II
House Judiciary 2/16/87



KANSAS-NATIONAL EDUCAT+oN ASSOCIATION / 715 W. 10TH STwREET / TOPEKA, KANSAS 66612

Carolyn Schmitt Testimony Before

The House Judiciary Committee
EE;??ZID February 16, 1987
1 —

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:

I am Carolyn Schmitt and I am president of the Kansas-National
Education Association, representing some 22,000 educational employees
across the state. The Kansas-NEA supports House Concurrent Resolution
5002.

The duty to report suspected child abuse or neglect is a grave
responsibility. This duty falls equally on teachers, administrators, and
other employees of a school which the child is attending. When the statute
requiring reporting of suspected abuse passed, I assisted in providing
training to teachers in my local school district. While the requirements
of the law were and are clear, the symptoms and evidence of abuse and
neglect are not always so clear. I was left to my own devices with the
assistance of my professional organization to locate resources for my
school district to use.

It seems very reasonable to Kansas—-NEA that the State Department of
Education provides a uniform training package for all educational
employees. While some training may be provided in teacher education
programs, this will not provide adequate assistance to teachers new to the
state or to other employees of a school district. The law requires each
and every school employee observing suspected abuse to make a report;

therefore training for every employee is imperative.

Attachment III
House Judiciary 2/16/87
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Testimony Regarding H.B. 2134

Submitted By: .
J.A. Robertson
Child Support Enforcement Program
Administrator & Senior Legal Counsel
296-3237

The majority of the proposed Chapter 23 amendments to the Kansas Uniform
Reciprocal Enforcement of Support Act are geared towards satisfying a recently
promulgated federal mandate that all states give full faith and credit to
another state’s support and paternity orders. This mandate was designed to
enhance the interstate enforcement of support orders and is sorely needed.

Although Kansas law does currently provide for "full faith and credit" for the
most part, we need to make it clear that we will recognize any support order
legally established by another state’s court or agency, if that agency has been
granted the legal authority to establish enforceable orders. The proposed
amendment in Section 1, line 26 is suggested to accomplish this result by
altering the definition of "court" to include such an agency of another state.

K.S.A. 23-472 in its current form does conflict with the principle of "full

faith and credit" by providing a paternity defense to an obligor even though
another state has issued a legally valid order establishing paternity. The

proposed amendment on lines 109-110 would strike that defense.

The remaining Chapter 23 amendments are technical in nature and are designed to
"clean up" the existing law and to resolve inconsistencies.

The proposed amendments to K.S.A. 23-4,107 (Section 10, lines 208-292) are
required to fully satisfy federal mandates concerning income withholding and to
insure that Kansas continues to receive full federal funding for the Title IV-D
(child support) and IV-A (ADC) programs. SRS has been officially notified by
the federal Office of Child Support Enforcement that - after considering our
numerous requests for reconsideration - Kansas law does not comply with the
requirement that wage withholding occur when there is an arrearage in support
payments in an amount equal to or greater than the amount of support payable for
‘one month. Specifically, Section 466(b)(3) of the Social Security Act, 42
U.S.C. 666(b)(3) provides that:

an absent parent shall become subject to withholding, and the advance notice
required under paragraph (4) shall be given, on the earliest of -

(A) the date on which the payments which the absent parent has failed
to make under such order are at least equal to the support payable for
one month;

(B) the date as of which the absent parent requests that such
withholding begin, or;
(C) such earlier date as the state may select.

Attachment IV
House Judiciary 2/16/87
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When S.B. 51 (the Kansas Legislation geared towards satisfying the Child Support
Enforcement Amendments of 1984) was enacted by the 1985 legislature, a ten day
grace period was added as a criteria which must occur before an income
withholding order can be obtained. The ten extra days provided for by Kansas
law is the sole reason for the federal determination of non-compliance.

As a result of the federal decision that Kansas law does not comply with the
Child Support Enforcement Amendments of 1984, SRS has also been officially
notified that the Kansas Title IV-D State Plan will be rejected. Unless the law
ig amended, this State Plan rejection will result in the immediate loss of
approximately five million dollars in federal funding currently provided to the
Child Support Program and a potential three million dollars in federal
incentives paid to Kansas for Title IV-D support collections. Further, since
IV-A (Aid to Dependent Children) funding is dependent on Kansas having an
acceptable IV-D plan for support enforcement, Kansas could ultimately lose
approximately thirty million dollars in ADC as well. (Prior to withdrawal of
all federal IV-A funding, the state would most likely be penalized from 1%
($300,000) to 5% ($1,500,000) of IV-A funding.)

Aside from satisfying the federal mandate, the result of the proposed income
withholding amendment would benefit Kansas children whose parents do not — as a
routine matter - pay child support as ordered by the court by speeding up the
withholding process. The main principle behind income withholding is to
establish dependable periodic support payments that can be relied upon by the
custodial parent to pay periodic expenses, and to avoid the need to pay welfare
benefits because obligors do not satisfy their support obligations in a timely
fashion.
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AN ACT concerning enforcement of support of certain persons;
relatinj to the cnforcement of orders for support by income
withholding; amending K.S.A. 23-463, 23-472, 23-483, 23-486
and 23-488 and K.S.A. 1886 Supp. 23-452, 23-462, 23-473,
93-487 and 23-4,107 and repealing the existing sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:
Section 1. K.5.A. 1086 Supp. 23-452 is hereby amended to

read as follows: 23-452. (a) “Court” means the district court of

this state and when the context requires means the court or

- agency «f any other state as defined in a substantially similar

reciprocai law.

(b) “iduty of support” means a duty of support whether
imposed or imposable by law or by order, decree or judgment of
any court, whether interlocutory or final or whether incidental to
an actio- for diverce, separation, separate maintenance, annul-
ment, adoption or custody and includes the duty to pay ar-
rearage: of support past due and unpaid from the date of the
order of support entered in the responding state as well as
arrearages which have accrued on the basis of another state’s
support order.

(c) “Governos” includes any person performing the functions
of governor or the sxecutive authority of any state covered by this
act, ‘

(d) “Initiating state” means a state in which a proceeding
pursuant to this or a substantially similar reciprocal law is com-
menced. “Initiating court” means the court in which a proceed-
ing is commenced.

(e) “Law” includes both common and statutory law.

() “Obligee” means a person including a state or political

Seem e TR O TR
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subdivision to whom a duty of support is owed or a person
including a state or political subdivision that has commenced a
proceeding for enforcement of an alleged duty of support or for
registration of a support order. It is immaterial if the person to
whom a duty of support is owed is a recipient of public assist-
ance,

(g) “Obligor” means any person owing a duty of support or
against whom a proceeding for the enforcement of a duty of
support or registration of a support order is commenced.

(h) “Prosecuting attorney” means:

(1) The county or district attorney of the county in which the
action is brought if the action concerns criminal enforcement
under part 1] of this act or if the action is not brought pursuant to
part D of title IV of the federal social security act (42 USC § 651
et seq.), as amended, and there is no court trustee in such county;

(2) the court trustee of the judicial district in which the action
is brought, if the office of court trustee has been established, and
if the action concerns civil enforcement under parts IIl and IV of
this act; or

(3) an attorney or contractor for the department of social and
rehabilitation services in counties where no court trustee has
been established, if the action concerns civil enforcement under
parts I1} and IV of this act and the action is brought pursuant to
part D of title IV of the federal social security act (42 USC § 651
et seq.), as amended,

(i) “Register” means to file in the registry of foreign support
orders.

() “Registering court” means any court of this state in which
a support order of a rendering state is registered.

Delete

(k) “Rendering state” means a state in-which the-g-epurt has

Delete

issued a support order for which registration is sought or granted
in the court of another state.

(1) “Respondin;; state”” means a state in which any responsive
proceeding pursuant to the proceeding in the initiating state is
commenced. “Responding court” means the court in which the
responsive proceeding is commenced.

(m) . “State” includes a state, territory or possession of the
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0083 United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of
0084 Puerts Rico, and any foreign jurisdiction in which this or a
0085 substantizlly similar reciprocal law is in effect.
on86  (n) “Sapport order” means any judgment, decree or order of Delete
0087 Bupport-issued by-a-court'in favor of an obligee whether tempo-
0088 rary or final, or subject to modification, revocation or remission,
0089 regardless of the kind of action or proceeding in which it is
0080 entered.
o081 Sec. 2. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 23-462 is hereby amended to read
0002 - as follows: 23-462. If this state is acting as an initiating state, the
0093 prosecuting attorney upon the request of the court or the secre-
0084 tary of social and rehabilitation services shall represent the
0095 obligee in any proceeding under this aet part. If the prosecuting
0096 attorncy neglects or refuses to represent the obligee the attorney
0097 general may order such attorney to comply with the request of
0098 the court or may undertake the representation.

# 0099 Sec. 3. K.S.A. 23-463 is hereby amended to read as follows:

‘ D 0100 23-463. A petition on behalf of a minor obligee may be executed

E’Eg; 0101 and filed by a person having Jegal custody of the minor without
0102 . appointment as guardian ad litem.

1 0103 Sec. 4. K.S.A. 25-472 is hereby amended to read as follows:
0104 23-472. In any hearing for the civil enforcement of this act the
0105 court is governed by the rules of evidence applicable in a civil
0106 court action in the district court. If the action is based on a
0107 support order previously issued by enother eourt, a certified
0108 copy of i::¢ order shall be received as evidence of the duty of
0109 support, subject only to any defenses available te an ebliger with

. 610 respeet tc paternily K-8+A- 23-476) or to a defendant in an action -
0111 or a proceeding to enforce a foreign money judgment. The
0112 determination or cuforcement of a duty of support owed to one
0113 obligee is unaffected by any interference by another obligee
0114 with rights of custody or visitation granted 'by a court.

0115 Sec. 5. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 23-473 is hereby amended to read

" o116 as follows: 23-473. If the responding court finds a duty of support
0117 it may order the obligor to furnish support or reimbursement
0118 therefor and subject the property of the obligor to the order. Any
0119 such support order shall be accompanied by the conditional
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order for withholding of income required by K.S.A. 1685 1986
Supp. 23-4,107 and amendments thereto. Support orders made
pursuant to this act shall require that payments be made to the
clerk of the court or the court trustee of the responding state
except for good cause shown. The eourt and proseeuting attorney
of any ecunty in which the ebligor is present or has property
have the seme powers and duties to enforece the order as have
thesa of the aounty in whieh it was first issued: If enforeement is
impossible or eanuot be eompleted in the eounty in which the
order was istned; the preseeuting attorney shall send a eertified
eopy of the order te tho preseeuting attorney of any eounty in
whicly i ¢ oppenrs H:at proeeedings to enfaree the erdor weuld be
effcctive and; if tho aclen is brought pursuant to part D of title
IV of the federal nvelal soeurity aet (42 U-5-GC: § 651 ot seq); as
amended; shall nutiy the proper offieial of this state and the
initiating jurisdietion of the activity requested: The proseeuting
attorney to whem: the eertified eopy of the order is forwarded
shall proeced witl: enforeement and repert the results of the
proceedings to th eourt first issuing the erder All remedies
available for enforcement of judgments rendered by courts of
the responding state are available for enforcement of any order
entered under this act,

Sce. €. K.5.A. 23-483 is hereby amended to read as follows:

23-483. it the duty of support is based on a fereign support order
issued by a court of another state, the obligee has the additional
remedics provided in the following sections.
"Sec. 7. K.§.A. 23-486 is hereby amended to read as follows:
23-486, If this stat~ is acting either as a rendering or a registering
state the eeunty prosecuting attormey upon the request of the
couit o1 the state department secretary of social welfare and
rehabilitation services shall represent the obligee in proceed-
ings under this part.

If the prosecuting attorney neglects or refuses to represent the
obligee, the attorney general may order him the prosecuting
attorney; ‘o comply with the request of the court or may under-
take the representation. '

- Sec. 8. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 23-487 is hereby amended to read

Y
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as follows: 23-487. (a) An obligee seeking to register a foreign

Delete

support order z’mwd—-by-e-oeu#t—ef&neﬂzer—&t&&e’ in a court of this
state shall transmit to the clerk of the court or, if the action is
brought pursuant to part D of title IV of the federal social
security act (42 U.5.C. § 651 et seq.), to the department of social
and rehabilitation services: (1) Three certified copies of the
order with all mocifications thereof; (2) one copy of the recipro-
cal enforcement of support act of the state in which the order was
made; and (3) a statement verified and signed by the obligee,
showing the post office address of the obligee, the last known
place of residence and post office address of the obligor, the
amount of support remaining unpaid, a description and the
location of any preperty of the obligor available upon execution
and a list of the siates in which the order is registered. Upon

‘receipt of these documents the clerk of the court, without pay-

ment of a filing fee or other cost to the obligee, shall file them in
the registry of foreign support orders. The filing constitutes
registration under this act.

(b) Promptly upon registration the clerk of the court shall
send by certified o1 registered mail to the obligor at the address
given a notice of the registration with a copy of the registered
support order and the post office address of the ebligee prose-
cuting attorney. The clerk shall also deeket the ease and notify
the prosecuting atiorney of his action. The prosecuting attorney
shall proceed diligently to enforce the order.

Sec. 6. K.S.A, 23-488 is hereby amended to read as follows:
23-488. (2) Upon re gistration the registered foreign support order
shall be treated in the same manner as a support order issued by
a court of this state:. It has the same effect and is subject to the
same procedures, defenses; and proceedings for reopening, va-
cating; or staying u: a support order of this state and may be
enforced and satis‘ied in like manner. '

(b) The obligor Las 20 days after the mailing of notice of the
registration in which to petition the court to vacate the registra-
tion or for other relief. If ke the obligor does not so petition the
registered support order is confirmed.

(c) Atihe any hearing to enforce the registered support order
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the obligor may present only matters that would be available to
hint the obligor as defenses in an action to enforce a foreign
money judgment. If he the obligor shows to the court that an
appeal trom the order is pending or will be taken or that a stay of
execution has bern granted, the court shall stay enforcement of
the order until thc appeal is concluded, the time for appeal has
expired; or the order is vacated, upon satisfactory proof that the
obligor has furnished security for payment of the support or-
dered as required by the rendering state. If he the obligor shows
to the court any ground upon which enforcement of a support
order of this state may be stayed the court shall stay enforcement
of the order for au appropriate period if the obligor furnishes the
same security for payment of the support ordered that is required
for a support ord:r of this state.

Sec. 10. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 23-4,107 is hereby amended to
read as follows: 23-4,107. (a) Any new or modified order for
support entered on or after January 1, 1986, shall include a
provision for the withholding of income to enforce the order of
support. Unless thie order provides that income withholding will

take efiect immediately, withholding shall take effect only if: (1)

There is an arrearage in an amount equal to or greater than the
amount of support payable for one month or, if a judgment is
granted pursuant to K.S.A. 38-718a and amendments thereto, a
lump sum due anl owing; {2) at deast o}l or part of one payment or
a lumy sum judy 1ont is mere than 10 days everdue; and (3} (2)
there is compliance with the requirements of this section.

(b) If the court has issued an order for support, with or
without a conditional order requiring income withholding as
provided by subsection (a), the obligee or a public office may
apply for an order for withholding by filing with the court an
affidavit stating: (1) That an arrearage exists in an amount equal
to or geeater than the amount of support payable for one month;
() thet all or part of at loast ene payment is more than 10 days
ovordues (3) (2) that a notice of delinquency has been served on
the olligor in accordance with subsection (f) and the date and
type of service; {4) (3) that the obligor has not filed a motion to
stay service of the income withholding order; and (6 (4) a
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specified amount which shall be withheld by the payor to satisfy
the order of suppor: and to defray any arrearage. Upon the filing
of the alfidavit, the court shall issue an order requiring the
withholding of income without the requirement of a hearing,
amendment of the support order or further notice to the obligor.

For purposes of this subsection, an arrearage shall be com-
puted on the basis of support payments due and unpaid on the
date the notice of Jelinquency was served on the obligor,

(¢) Anorderissued under this section shall be directed to any
payor of the obligor and shall require the payor to withhold from
any income due, or to become due, to the obligor a specified
amount sufficient to satisfy the order of support and to defray any
arrearage, subject to the limitations set forth in K.S.A. 1985 1986
Supp. 23-4,109 and amendments thereto. The order shall include
notice of and direction to comply with the provisions of K.S.A.
1685 1986 Supp. £3-4,108 and 23-4,109, and amendments
thereto.

(d) An order issued under this section shall be served on the
payor and returned by the officer making service in the same
manner as an order of attachment.

(e) An income withholding order issued under this section
shall be binding on :ny existing or future payor on whom a copy
of the order is served and shall require the continued withhold-
ing of income from each periodic payment of income until
further order of the court, If the obligor changes employment or
has a new source of income after an income withholding order is
issued by the couri, the new employer or income source, if
known, must be served a copy of the income withholding order
without the requirement of prior notice to the obligor.

() Nosworn affidavit shall be filed with the court issuing the
support order pursuant to subsection (b) unless it contains a
declaration that the obligee or public office has served the
obligor a written notice of delinquency because an arrearage
exists in an amount equal to or greater than the amount of
support payable for one month; that all or part of one payment is
more than 10 days everdue and that the notice was served on the
obligor by certified mail, return receipt requested, or in the
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0276
0277
0278
0279
0280
0281
0282
0283
0284
0285
0286
0287
0288
0289
0200
0201
0202
0293
0204
02985
0286
0297
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mannei for service of a summons pursuant to article 3 of chapter
60 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated at least seven days before
the date the affidavit s filed. If service is by certified mail, a copy
of the roturn receint shall be attached to the affidavit. The notice
of delinquency served on the obligor must state: (1) The terms of

the support order and the total arrearage as of the date the notice |

of delinquency was prepared; (2) the amount of income that will
be withheld; (3) that the provision for withholding applies to any
current or subsequent payors; (4) the procedures available for
contesting the withholding and that the only basis for contesting
the withholding is a mistake of fact concerning the amount of the
support order, the amount of the arrearage, the amount of income
to be withheld or the proper identity of the obligor; (5) the period
within which the obligor must file a motion to stay service of the
income withholding order and that failure to take such action
within the specified time will result in payors’ being ordered to
begin withholdiny; and (6) the action which will be taken if the
obligor contests the withholding.

In addition to any other penalty provided by law, the filing of
an affidavit with knowledge of falsity of the declaration of notice
is punishable as a contempt. The obligor may, at any time, waive
in writing the notice required by this subsection.

(g) On request of an obligor, the court shall issue a with-
holding order which shall be honored by a payor regardless of
whether there is an arrearage.

Sec. 11. K.S.A. 23-463, 23-472, 23-483, 23-486 and 23-488
and K.5.A. 1985 Supp. 23-452, 23-462, 23-473, 23-487 and 23-
4,107 are hereby repealed.

Sec. 12. This act shall take effect and be in force from and
after its publication in the Kansas register.

RS
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Dr. Robert C. Harder, Secretary
Social and Rehabilitation Services
State Office Building

Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Dr. Harder:

As you will recall, in our letter of November 6, 1986 (copy attached) we
emphasized the importance of the State of Kansas submitting an approvable
State plan amendment on Mandatory Wage Withholding no later than
December 31, 1986.

As indicated in our said letter, the transmittal of August 27, 1986 is
not approvable for the reason that the Kansas law on mandatory wage
withholding does not comply with 45 C.F.R. 303.100(a)(4) which requires
the State take steps to implement withholding and to send advance notice
"the date on which the parent fails to make payments in an amount equal
to the support payable for one month." According to Kansas law, Senate
Bill 51 section 3(b), wage withholding does not occur until all or part
of at least one payment is more than ten days overdue in addition to the
existence of an arrearage which is equal to or greater than the amount of
support payable for one month.

Accordingly, I have no alternative but to recommend to Mr. Wayne A.
Stanton, Director of the Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) and
Administrator of the Family Support Administration (FSA) that the current
Kansas State plan be disapproved pursuant 45 C.F.R. 301.13(c). As you
are aware, 45 C.F.R. 301.10 makes an approved State plan the basis for
federal financial participation in the cost of operating the State's
program. Without an approved State plan, such funding is not available.

Upon receipt of our recommendation, the Director of OCSE pursuant Action
Transmittal, OCSE-AT-86-21, dated December 31, 1986, will officially
determine whether the Kansas State plan complies fully with Federal law
and may issue a notice of intent to disapprove the State plan in
accordance with 45 C.F.R. 301.13(c).



Due to the extreme gravity of these circumstances, you are urged to take
whatever steps are necessary to secure the enactment and implementation
of the required legislation and to submit an approvable State plan as
soon as possible.

If you have any questions or if our office can be of any assistance in
these matters, please advise.

Sincerely,

Max W. Smith
Regional Representative, OCSE
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"'} Region ViI

Federa! Office Building
601 East 12th Street

NOV 6 1986 Kansas City, Missouri 64106

-

Dr. Robert C. Harder, Secretary
Social and Rehabilitation Services
State Office Building

Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Dr. Harder:

As you are aware, section 3 of Public Law 98-378, which added sections
454(20) and 466 to the Socisl Security Act, requires that States have in
effect and use the procedures specified in section 466 to improve the
effectiveness of the child support enforcement program. Section 466 of
the Social Security Act identifies the eight mandatory procedures to
improve program effectiveness as: wage withholding, expedited process,
state income tax refund offset, liens, bonds, paternity, consumer credit
reporting and wage withholding in all orders. The specifics concerning
these mandatory procedures are found at section 466 of the Act and at 45
C.F.R. sections 302.70 and 303.100 - 303.105.

The purpose of this letter is to call to your attention the effective
date for the implementation of these mandatory procedures and a
compliance problem with the Kansas wage withholding provisions. Federal
law, at section 3(g)(3) of Public Law 98-378, requires the States to
implement the mandatory procedures by October 1, 1985, unless the
Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services has determined
that State legislation is required to implement these new procedures. If
such a determination is made, the State is granted an implementation
delay until the beginning of the fourth month after the end of the first
session of the State's legislature which ends on or after October 1, 1985.

The State of Kansas was granted an implementation delay. The first
session of the Kansas legislature ending on or after October 1, 1985,
ended on June 7, 1986. Accordingly, Kansas must implement the mandatory
procedures by October 1, 1986. Pursuant to 45 C.F.R. section 301.13(g),
the effective date of a State plan amendment may not be earlier than the
first day of the calendar quarter in which an approvable plan is
submitted. Therefore, Kansas must submit its State plan amendments no
later than December 31, 1986. Kansas has filed and we have approved
State plan amendments for seven of the eight mandatory procedures. 1In
addition, on August 27, 1986, this office received your transmittal of
the State plan amendment for the remaining procedure, Mandatory Wage
Withholding.



Upon review it has been determined that the Kansas law on manadatory wage
withholding does not ccmply with 45 C.F.R. 303.100(a)(4) which requires
that the State take steps to implement withholding and to send advance
notice “the date on which the parent fails to make payments in an amount
equal to the support payable for one month.” According to Kansas law,
Senate Bill 51 section 3(b), wage withholding does not occur until all or
part of at least one payment is more than ten days overdue in addition to
the existence of an arrearage which is equal to or greater than the
amount of support payable for one month.

Should the above ten day requirement in Senate Bill 51 remain in effect,
the Kansas State plan will not meet the requirements for an approvable
State plan. Under the applicable exemption procedures at 45 C.F.R.
302.70(d), and instructions issued in OCSE Action Transmittal,
OCSE-AT-86-08, dated March 31, 1986, Kansas would have to demonstrate
that compliance with the requirements of 45 C.F.R. 303.100(a)(4) (i.e.,
dropping the ten day rule in Kansas Senate Bill 51) would not increase
the effectiveness and efficiency of the State's child support enforcement
program in order to warrant approval of an exemption request. Since
keeping the ten day rule would clearly result in fewer wage withholding
actions, an exemption would not be warranted.

As you are aware, 45 C.F.R. 301.10 makes an approved State plan the basis
for federal financial participation in the cost of operating the State's
program. Without an approved State plan, such funding is not available.
Due to the extreme gravity of these circumstances, you are urged to take
whatever steps are necessary to secure the enactment and implementation
of the required legislation and to submit an approvable State plan
amendment no later than December 31, 1986.

If you have any questions or if our office can be of any assistance in
these matters, I would appreciate an opportunity of meeting with you and
your staff next week to explore options available.

Sincerely,

Max W. Smith
Regional Representative, OCSE
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SUBJECT:

BACKGROUND:

= " PROGRAM_INSTRUCTION

ACTION TRANSMITTAL
OCSE-AT-86-21
December 31, 1986

STATE AGENCIES ADMINISTERING CHILD SUPPORT
ENFORCEMENT PLANS APPROVED UNDER TITLE IV-D
OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT AND OTHER
INTERESTED INDIVIDUALS

Procedures for Determining That a State IV-D Plan is
Disapproved

Section 455(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act (the
Act) specifies that funds appropriated under title IV-D
of the Act shall be paid to States with approved State
IV-D plans. There is no authority to expend Federal
funds under title IV-D of the Act for the operation of a
State Child Support Enforcement Program unless such
State has an approved State IV-D plan. Congress has
made no provision for limited or partial suspension of
funds, as it did under section 404(a) of the Act for
AFDC programs.

Section 454 of the Act sets forth the statutory
requisites for the State IV-D plan. In addition,
regulations at 45 CFR 301.10 define the State IV-D plan
as a comprehensive statement submitted by the IV-D
agency describing the nature and scope of its program.
The State IV-D plan contains all the information
necessary for the Office of Child Support Enforcement
(OCSE) to determine whether the plan can be approved, as
a basis for Federal financial participation in the State
IV-D program.

Section 452(a)(3) of the Act requires that the Director
of the Office of Child Support Enforcement review and
approve State plans for Child Support Enforcement
programs under title IV-D of the Act. The authority to
approve State plans is delegated to the Regional Office,
but the Director retains authority for determining that
a State IV-D plan is not approvable.

Section 402(a)(27) of the Act provides that an approved
State IV-D plan is a reguirement for approval of a State



plan under title IV-A. If a State IV-D plan is
disapproved, Federal IV-A funding may be reduced
pursuant to section 404(d) of the Act. A reduction
under section 404(d) will be imposed in accordance with
section 403(h) of the Act.

The Child Support Enforcement Amendments of 1984, P.L.
88-378, created a new section 466 of the Act which
requires that all States, as a condition for approval of
their State IV-D plan, must have in effect laws
requiring the use of certain mandatory procedures to
increase the effectiveness of their Child Support
Enforcement programs. As a condition for State plan
approval, section 454(20) of the Act provides that, to
the extent required by section 466, States must have
laws in effect and implement the procedures prescribed
in or pursuant to such laws. For States which required
legislation in order to conform their State IV-D plans
to the revised statute, the requirement was delayed
until the beginning of the fourth month beginning after
the end of the first session of the State legislature
which ends on or after October 1, 1985. By this date, a
State must have enacted any required legislation. By
the end of the quarter in which this date occurs, the
State must submit new or amended State plan material to
the OCSE Regional Office. This deadline for submitting
State plan material has passed with respect to a number
of States, and is imminent for the majority of States.

OCSE has been tracking the progress of each of the
States in enacting the new mandatory laws and is noting
the date when each State's legislative session ends in
order to ascertain when these laws are required to be in
effect and when the State must submit new or amended
State plan material for approval by OCSE in order to
operate a Child Support Enforcement program according to
the requirements of title IV-D of the Act. If a State
fails to submit the necessary State plan amendments,
OCSE will have to determine that the State does not have
an approvable State plan.

A determination that a State IV-D plan is disapproved
will result in immediate suspension of all Federal
payments for the State's child support enforcement
program, and such payments will continue to be withheld
until the State IV-D plan can be approved by OCSE. If a
State is dissatisfied with the Director's decision,
reconsideration may be requested pursuant to 45 CFR
301.14. Withholding of Federal payments cannot be
stayed pending reconsideration.

Although it is not required under Title IV-D of the Act,
OCSE will give States an advance notice of "Intent to
Disapprove" a previously approved State IV-D plan. The



State will then be permitted the opportunity to waive
reconsideration of the Director's final decision and to
exercise, prior to the State plan approval/disapproval
decision, the right to a hearing under the procedures
set forth at 45 CFR Part 213. If the State elects to
pursue its hearing rights prior to issuance of the
Director's decision, no further administrative appeal
will be allowed.

CONTENT: This action transmittal addresses the process for
disapproving a State IV-D plan and the procedures for
taking subsequent action to withhold Federal payments
under title 1V-D of the Act, including provision for
notice and an optional hearing to States prior to
disapproval.

INQUIRIES TO: OCSE Regional Representatives

y4

Dipector
fick of Child Support Enforcement



II.

ITI.

IV.

NOTICE OF INTENT TO DISAPPROVE

The Director of OCSE will issue a Notice of Intent to Disapprove a
State Plan to the State umbrella agency head when he has
determined that either of the following situations exist:

A. Pursuant to the requirements at 45 CFR 301.13(d) the State
IV-D plan no longer meets the requirements for an approved
State plan based on relevant Federal statutes and guidelines.

B. Pursuant to the requirements at 45 CFR 301.13(e) or (f) the
State IV-D plan or amendment submitted for approval does not
meet the requirements under title IV-D of the Act and
regulations issued pursuant to the Act.

NOTICE OF OPPORTUNITY FOR HEARING

The Notice of Intent to Disapprove issued by the Director will
provide opportunity for the State to request a hearing prior to
jssuance of the final decision if the State waives its right to a
reconsideration of the Director's decision under 45 CFR 301.14.
The State must request a hearing within 60 days of the date of the
Notice of Intent to Disapprove. If the State does not request a
hearing, the Director shall proceed according to the procedures
set forth under Determination to Withhold outlined below.

Upon request of the State for a hearing, the Director will issue a
Notice of Hearing which will state the time and place of the
hearing, the issues which will be considered, and shall be
published in the Federal Register. The hearing procedures
contained in regulations at 45 CFR Part 213 shall apply to these
proceedings.

NEGOTIATIONS

As provided in regulations at 45 CFR 213.1(b) the hearing process
does not preclude or limit negotiations between OCSE and the
State, whether before, during or after the hearing to resolve the
jssues which are, or otherwise would be, considered at the
hearing. Such negotiations and resolution of issues are not part
of the hearing, and are not governed by the hearing procedures,
except as expressly provided for in such procedures.

DETERMINATION TO WITHHOLD

1f the Director of OCSE concludes that the State does not have an
approved State IV-D plan under section I of these instructions, he
will notify the State that further Federal payments under title
IV-D of the Act will not be made to the State until a State IV-D
plan is submitted and approved. Until a State IV-D plan is
approved, no further Federal payments under title IV-D will be



made to the State for any child support enforcement activities.
Pursuant to 45 CFR 213.33, the effective date for the withhotding
of Federal funds shall not be earlier than the date of the
Director's decision and shall not be later than the first day of
the next calendar quarter following such decision.

RECONSIDERATION

Any State which has not waived its right to reconsideration and is
dissatisfied with the Director's decision that the State does not
have an approvable State plan may request reconsideration of the
decision pursuant to regulations at 45 CFR 301.14. Funding,
however, will be suspended and may not be restored unless the
Director subsequently determines that the original decision to
withhold Federal IV-D funding was incorrect.
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Date

From
Subject:

To

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Memorandum

I cu {

Region Vil

Federa: Office Building
601 East 12th Street
Kansas City, Missour: 6410¢

: November 28, 1986

. Office of the General Counsel

Region VII, Kansas City

Kansas - Mandatory Wage Withholdin@

* Max Smith

Regional Representative, OCSE
Region VII, Kansas City

We have reviewed your memorandums of November 7, 1986, and
November 20, 1986, regarding mandatory wage withholding in Kansas.
We previously advised you that Kansas did not comply with the
requirement that wage withholding occur when there is an arrearage
in support payments in an amount equal to or greater than the amount
of support payable for one month. Specifically, Section 466(b) (3)
of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 666(b)(3), provides that:

An absent parent shall become subject to such withholding,
and the advance notice required under paragraph (4) shall
be given, on the earliest of-
(A) the date on which the payments which the absent
parent has failed to make under such order are at
least equal to the support payable for one month,
(B) the date as of which the absent parent requests
that such withholding begin, or
(C) such earlier date as the State may select.

Kansas provides that wage withholding may not occur until a support
payment is at least 10 days overdue. Senate Bill No. 51 § 3(b).
Section 466(b)(3) is stated in terms of an amount of money in
arrears, however, not a length of time. See also 45 C.F.R.
§ 303.100(a)(4). In addition, if an absent parent paid the overdue
support within 10 days, wage withholding could not occur because
support would not then be 10 days overdue, as required by Senate
Bill No. 51 § 3(b). The Secretary's regulations specifically
provide that an absent parent may contest withholding only if there
is a mistake of fact. 45 C.F.R. § 303.100(a)(5). Payment of
overdue support may not be the sole basis for not implementing
withholding. 45 C.F.R. § 303.100(a)(8).

We believe you would be Jjustified to conclude that the Kansas
statute does not comply with Section 466(b)(3) of the Act or the
Secretary's regulations. We have consulted Bob Keith in the Office



Max Smith 2

of the General Counsel, Family Support and Human Development
Division, about this matter and he agrees that Kansas is not in
-compliance. He has suggested, however, that a waiver may be
available under § 1115 of the Social Security Act.

We hope this is helpful to you. If we may be of any further
assistance, please call me.

isti AY Schmidt
Assistant Regional Counsel

Enclosures
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Reafonal Representative, OCSE
Regfon YII, Kansas City

Kansas - Mandatory Wage Withholding

Kristi A, Schmidt
Assfstant Regfonal Counsel
Office of General Counsel

The State of Xansas advises that under thefr current procedures the
Notice of Delinguency and the Affidavit are not filed at the same time.
However, they are amerable to modifying the procecdures and/or notice to
clarifv the {ssue you-have raised in this regard. Please advise which
language vou referred to which indicates that the State may be filing
both the notice and affidavit at the same time,

In addition, it is their pesitfon that even under the mest optimistic
scenario for serving the Notice of Pelfnquency, that a ten day period
will pass before the earliest opportunity arrives for filing the
affidavit requesting the {ncome withholding order.

For service of the notfce by certified matl, the Kansas Code of Civil
Procedure, KSP 60-206(e), provides that the prescribed perfod after
service of notfce to a partv shall automatically be extenced an
acditiona) three (3) days where service of process is by mail., (See
attachment.)

For service of notice by the Sheriff, the State of Kansas offers the
following scenarfo:

Dzy Mo. Activity Involved
Day O Support due, unpaid by 11:59 PN,
Pay 1 Notice of Delinquency delfvered to clerk of court

(for filing and preparation of paperwork
transmitting notice to Sheriff for service.)

Day 2 Clerk of court delivers notice to Sher}{§ for
service. i
Pay 3 Sheriff serves notice. '
Day & --Pav 1 of waiting perfod,
OFFICE SURNAME DATE OFFICE SURNAME SURNAME UATE

----------------------------------

..........................................

eU.S. GPO: 1986-151-173



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Day 6
Day 7
Day 8
Day 9
pay 10

--Day 3 of waiting period.
--Day & of waiting period.
~-Day 5 of wafting period.
--Day € of wafting period.
--Pay 7 of wafting period.

The monthly payment is more than ten days overdue and the State can
{rmediately file the affidavit requesting wage withholding.

Please review and advise.

FILE
GOPY

Max ¥. Smith

p
ooy

SURNAME

DATE

SURNAME

DATE ]| OFFICE

-------

--------------

--------------

-------------

.............

--------------

..............

.......

eU.S. GPO: 1986-151-173



60-206

PROCEDURE, CIVIL

3. Subsection () noted; 22-3609 (2) construed to
require written notice of criminal appeal from munici-
pal court. City of Overland Park v. Nikias, 209 K. 643,
647, 498 P.2d 56.

4. Question whether defendant counsel entitled to
notice of default judgment raised but not determined.
Goldsberry v. Lewis, 220 K. 69, 71, 551 P-2d 862.

8. Section applied; service of process sufficient
under 82a-724. Frontier Ditch Co. v. Chief Engineer of
Water Resources, 1 K.A.2d 186, 188, 189, 563 P.2d 508.

6. Referred to in determining appeal not filed within
time prescribed by 60-2103; dismissal ordered. Kittle
v. Owen, 1 K.A.2d 748, 749, 573 P.2d 1115.

7. Party attempting to revive action under 60-225
subject to provisions of nonclaim statute; personal ser-
vice requirement. Gatewood v. Bosch, 2 K.A.2d 474,
476, 581 P.2d 1198.

8. Subsection (b) cited; notice required hereunder
need not be given to counsel who has been dismissed
by plaintiff; court order of service of notice on plaintiff
proper. Alexander v. State Dept. of Social & Rehab.
Serv., 4 K.A.2d 57, 58, 59, 602 P.2d 544.

9. Mentioned: notice of hearing served on attormey
of record is sufficient under facts of case. Krumme v.
Krumme, 6 K.A.2d 939, 843, 636 P.2d 814 (1981).

10. Section governs service of motion to intervene.
Wilson & Walker v. State, 230 K. 48, 55, 56, 630 P.2d
1102 (1981).

11. Considered in construing 21-4603 as permitting
district court to retain jurisdiction and act on timely
motion for probation or sentence reduction after 120-
day period. State ex rel. Owens v. Hodge, 230 K. 804,
808, 641 P.2d 399 (1982).

13. Severance of parental rights invalid for lack of
adequate notice and because relief granted by default
was not requested in pleadings. Sweetser v. Sweetser,
7 K.A.24d 463, 465, 643 P.2d 1150 (1982).

60.206. Time, computation and exten-
sion. The following provisions shall govern
the computation ang extension of time:-

(a) Computation; legal holiday defined.
In computing any period of time prescribe
or allowed by this chapter, by the local rules
of any district court, by order of court, or by
any applicable statute, the day of the act,
event, or default from which the designated
period of time begins to yun shall not be
included. The last day of the period so
computed is to be included, unless it is a
Saturday, Sunday or a legal holiday, in

- which event the period runs until the end of

the next day which is not a Saturday, a
Sunday or a legal holiday. When the period
of time prescribed or allowed is less than
seven (7) days, intermediate Sundays and
holidays shall be excluded in the computa-
tion. A half holiday shall be considered as
other days and not as a holiday. “Legal
holiday” includes any day designated as a
heoliday by the congress of the United
States, or by the legislature of this state.
When an act is to be performed within any

prescribed time under any law of this state,
or any rule or regulation lawfully promul-
gated thereunder, and the method for com-
puting such time is not otherwise specifi-
cally provided, the method prescribed
herein shall apply.

(b) Enlargement. When by this chapter
or by a notice given thereunder or by order
of court an act is required or allowed to be
done at or within a specified time, the judge
for cause shown may at any time in the
judge’s discretion (1) with or without mo-
tion or notice order the period enlarged if
request therefor is made before the expira-
tion of the period originally prescribed or as
extended by a previous orSer or (2) upon
motion made after the expiration of the
specified period permit the act to be done
where the failure to act was the result of
excusable neglect; but it may not extend the
time for taking any action under K.5.A. 60-
250 (b), 60-252 (b), 60-259 (b), (d) and (e)
and 60-260 (b) except to the extent and
under the conditions stated in them.

(c) Unaffected by expiration of term.
The period of time provided for the doing of
any act or the taking of any proceeding is
not affected or limited by the continued
existence or expiration of a term of court.
The continued existence or expiration of a
term of court in no way affects the power of
a court to do any act or take any proceeding
in any civil action pending before it.

(d) For motions — affidavits. A written
motion, other than one which may be heard
ex parte, and notice of the hearing thereof
shall be served not later than five (5) days
before the time specified for the hearing,
unless a different period is fixed by these
rules or by order of the judge. Such an order
may for cause shown be made on ex parte
application. When a motion is supported by
affidavit, the affidavit shall be served with
the motion; and except as otherwise pro-
vided in K.S.A. 60-259 (d), opposing affida-
vits may be served not later than one (1) day
before the hearing, unless the court permits
them to be served at the time of hearing. .

(e) Additional time after service by -
mail. Whenever a party has the right or is _
required to do some act or take some pro- %
ceedings within a prescribed period after
the service of a notice or other paper upon
him or her and the notice or paper is served
upon him or her by mail, thres 3) days shall
be added to the prescribed period.

Al3

\

s 16

s —————————"

History: 1
1964.

Source or prior }
() G.S. 1868,
R.S. 1923, 60-38
(b). G.S. 1868,
R.S. 1923, 60-72
(c). G.S. 1868,
R.S. 1923, 60-30
{d). G.S. 1868
87,8 10; L. 187]
313,558, RS. 1

Revisor's Note:
Extensions at

Benchbook, Kan

Cross Reference
Defenses and
Amendment ¢
Jury trial of ¥
\Motion for di
New trial, se
Relief from ji
Service and i

60-205.
Summary jud

Research and |
Holidaves1 €
Hatcher's Di
C.].S. Holida
Barron & Ho

625, 878, 879,
Gard’s Kansa
Vemon's Kar

60-206.
Vemon's Ka

2.54.

Law Review ai
“Sume Comn

cedure,” Emm
Paragraph (¢

practice, Earl |
Developmer
and 1964, Robx
Subsections
late Proced:
41 JBAK. 20
Constitution
entry and deta
(1972).
“Survey of }
Elliott, 27 K.L
“42 US.C. ¢
ment,” James

Prior law ¢
797, 60-2932,
the 1961 Sup)

1. Applied;
by mail. Whe.
tion Commiss

2. When p:
65-118 (c), o
excluded. Wt
ration Comm
1019.



Date

From

Subject:

To

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Memorandum

Refer to: Region VII
Federa! Office Building
601 East 121h Street
Kansas City, Missour: 64106

: November 7, 1986

Regional Representative, OCSE
Region VII, Kansas City

Kansas - Mandatory Wage Withholding

Kristi A. Schmidt
Assistant Regional Counsel
Office of the General

The Staté of Kansas has submitted the attached Program Clearance to address
the issue raised in your opinion of October 9, 1986.

Basically, the State has amended their procedures to take steps and to send
the advance notice immediately when there is an arrearage in an amount equal
to or greater than the amount of support payable for one month.

It is our position that this change in their procedures adequately saddresses
the issue and brings the State's Mandatory Wage Withholding process into
compliance.

Please review and advise as soon as possible, for I will be meeting with the
State umbrella agency head next week on the matter,

24 pha

Max W. Smith



KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND REHABILITATION SERVICES
Child Support Enforcement Program

MEMORANDUM

TO: CSE Specialist IIs DATE: November 6, 1986
CSE Attorneys
IV-D Contractors
CSE Specialist Is
Central Office Management Staff

FROM: J.A. Robertson SUBJECT: Program Clearance 86-16
Procedures to Implement
Income Withholding

This program clearance is issued to supplement Program Clearance 85-9, dated
October 9, 1986, to ensure the full and effective implementation of income
withholding in the State of Kansas.

PROCEDURES MANDATORY

The provisions of income withholding are mandatory for all title IV-D cases.
Thus, the State must take immediate steps to implement the withholding and to
send the Notice of Delinquency form when there is an arrearage in an amount
equal to or greater than the amount of support payable for one month.
Specialist IIs, the Contractors, the SRS Attorneys, and other program
personnel shall, upon behalf of the State, promptly file the notice of
delinquency and request issuance of the withholding order in all appropriate
cases. If the absent parent fails to contest the withholding or the Court
determines upon contest that the withholding shall occur, the request for
wage withholding shall be filed immediately and the income withholding order
issued to the employer.

JAR:RM:vr
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Office of

N (C DEPARTMENTOF REA. 4 & HUMAN SERVICES Child Support Enforcement
Refer to: Rockville MD 20852
OCT 28 1986 -
MEMORANDUM
FROM: Director

Policy and Planning Division
SUBJECT: Kansas State Plan - Mandatory Wage Withholding

T0: Max W. Smith
Regional Representative
Region VII

This is in response to your memorandum of October 9 requesting our
review of the adequacy of Kansas Senate Rill 51 in complying with the
requirements at 45 CFR 303.100(a)(4).

The Regional Attorney has indicated that the Kansas statute is not in
compliance since it requires that all or part of at least one payment
be more than 10 days overdue in addition to the existence of an
arrearage which is equal to or greater than the amount of support
payable for one month. We agree with the Regional Attorney's
assessment. The requiremert at 303.100(a)(4) is stated in terms of an
amount of money in arrears not a length of time in arrears. If a
monthly support payment is missed by a single day, or the second missed
biweekly payment is a few days late, the amount in arrears could equal
payment for one month even though the payment is not 10 days late.

Should the above 10 day requirement in Senate Bill 51 remain in effect,
the Kansas State plan will not meet the requirements for an approvable
State plan. Your reference to the possible need for an exemption is
not appropriate in this situation. Under the applicable exemption
procedures at 45 CFR 302.70(d), and instructions issued in
OCSE-AT-86-08 Kansas would have to demonstrate that compliance with the
requirements at 303.100(a)(4) (i.e., dropping the 10 day rule in Kansas

Senate Ril11 51) woul increase the effecti s and efficiency of
the State's chil ent program. Since keeping the 10
day ruTe would clearly result in fewer wage withholding actions, an

exemption would not be warranted.

R L avid B. Shith
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gé DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

“rhere

Date * OCT -g 1986 MEIIIUIPH'%IL

From Regional Representative, OCSE
~ Region VII, Kansas City

Subject Kansas State Plan - Mandatory Wage Withholding

To David B. Smith, Director
Policy and Planning Division

Attached is the opinion from the Regional Office of General Counsel on
the Kansas Wage Withholding procedures.

The OGC has cleared the procedures except for the following issue:

45 CFR 303.100(a)(4) requires that the State take steps to implement
the withholding “the date on which the absent parent fails to make
payments in an amount equal to the support payable for one month."

Kansas Senate Bill 51 requires that the State take steps to implement
the withholding at the point "(1) that an arrearage exists in an
amount equal to or greater than the amount of support payable for one
month; (2) that all or part of at least one payment is more than 10
days overdue."

It is possible to read the Kansas law as more stringent than the
federal. Monthly payments one-month in arrears will certainly be more
than 10 days overdue.

Please review and advise whether this minor deviation is serious enough

to require an exemption.

Max W.” Smith

Attachments



-

-

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Memgrandum

Refer to: Region Vi1
Federa! Office Building

601 East 12th Strect
Kansas City, Missoin 61106

Date : October 9, 1986

From : Office of the General Counsel
Region VII, Kansas City

Subject: Kansas - Mandatory Wage Withholding

To : Max W. Smith
Regional Representative
Office of Child Support Enforcement
Region VII

We have reviewed, at your request, amendments to Kansas' procedures
with regard to the Secretary's regulations governing Mandatory Wage
Withholding, 45 C.F.R. § 303.100, along with your comments and
believe that you would be justified to conclude that §ansas complies
with the Secretary's regulations in all but one area.” Kansas still
does not comply with section 303.100(a)(4) which requires that the
state take steps to implement withholding and to send advance notice
at the earliest of:

(i) the date on which the parent fails to make payments in
an amount equal to the support payable for one month, (ii)
such earlier date that is in accordance with State law, or
(iii) the date on which the absent parent requests
withholding.

According to Kansas law, Senate Bill No. 51 § 3(b), wage withholding
does not occur until one support payment is more than ten days

) overdue. Thus, Kansas does not comply with section
303.100(a)(4)(1i).
1

The Kansas amendments were made in response to the compliance
problems indicated in our opinion, re: Kansas - Mandatory Wage
Withholding, Septembe; 17, 1986. .



Max W. Smith

Ve hope this is helpful to you.
. please advise.

If we can be of further assistance,

Kyis . Schmidt
Assistant Regional Counsel



STATE OF KANSAS

- JOHN CARLIN. Goveawon

STATE DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND REHABILITATION SERVICES

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES : ROBERTY C. HARDER. Szcagranr ) STATE OFFicE BuibING

TOPEKA KANSAS 66612

Child Support Enforcement Program
P.0. Box 497
Topeka, KS 66601
(913) 296-2629

December 31, 1986

Mr. Max Smith

Regional Representative

Office of Child SupportEnforcement
Region VII, Federal Building

601 East Twelfth Street

Kansas City, Missouri 64106

Dear Mr. Smith:

This is to advise that the State of Kansas hereby requests, pursuant to
Section 454(20) of the Social Security Act, an exemption from mandatory
wage/income withholding requirements to operate a similar, equally efficient and
effective procedure. The justification for this exemption request, as required
by Action Transmittal OCSE-AT-86-08, follows below.

The Office of the General Counsel, OCSE Region VII, has reviewed the Kansas
Income Withholding Act and relevant portions of Kansas® state plan and expressed
the opinion that Kansas has not met the requirements of 42 USC 466(b) (mandatory
practices, mandatory wage/income withholding). A final, formal determination of
non-compliance has not yet been rendered, however, in the event that such a
determination is made, Kansas is requesting that an exemption be granted to
permit Kansas to operate a similar, equally effective income withholding
procedure.,

The enclosed copy of the Kansas Income Withholding Act (Appendix A) and
program clearances (Appendix B) adequately demonstrate that the Kansas deviation
from the federal regulations is so minor that the program’s effectiveness and
efficiency would not be improved by modification of existing procedures. The
Kansas procedures comply in all respects with the comprehensive statutory and
regulatory requirements for wage/income withholding, except for mlnor variations
with respect to 45 C.F.R. 303.100(a)(4) and (8).

With regard to the date upon which the initial notice of delinquency is to
be sent to the absent parent, Kansas Program Clearance 86-9 provides as follows:
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"The provisions of income withholding are mandatory for all title IV-D
cases. Thus, the State must take immediate steps to implement the
withholding and to send the Notice of Delinquency form when there is an
arrearage in an amount equal to or greater than the amount of support
payable for one month."

The regulation provides:

"The State must...send the advance notice...on...the date on which the
parent fails to make payments in an amount equal to the support payable
for one month....m

These provisions are virtually identical, and a close reading of the Kansas
Income Withholding Act reveals that there is nothing contained in the statute
which would impair the Kansas IV-D agency’s ability to send the Notice of
Delinquency on the date required by the federal regulation.

The Kansas Income Withholding Act provides that the final step to implement
withholding is the filing of an affidavit requesting issuance of the income
withholding order; the court’s issuance of the income withholding order is
mandatory once the affidavit has been filed. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 23-~4,107
requires the affidavit to state that %"all or part of at least one payment is
more than 10 days overdue."™ Pursuant to 45 C.F.R. 303.100(d)(2), the final step
to implement withholding cannot be invoked until the period allowed an obligor
to request a stay has expired. Although the Kansas Income Withholding Act
specifies a seven-day period for this purpose, K.S.A. 60-206(e) (Appendix C)
automatically extends the period by three days when service is by mail.
Furthermore, even under the most optimistic scenario for serving the Notice of
Delinquency, a ten day period will pass before the earliest opportunity for
filing the affidavit arrives; see Appendix D. By such time, all or part of at
least one payment will be more than ten days overdue and income withholding will
be invoked, resulting in virtually the same number of income withholding orders.

The only case in which income withholding could not be implemented would be
one in which the obligor paid the entire arrearage in full between the receipt
of the Notice of Delinquency by the obligor and the preparation of the affidavit
at the end of the ten day period. Although this is a variation from 45 C.F.R.
303.100(a)(8) ("Payment of overdue support upon receipt of the notice...may not
be the sole basis for not implementing withholding."), the amount of support
collected from the Kansas income withholding procedures would be identical to
the collections available by modifying the ten-day rule to conform to the
federal scheme. This equally effective procedure is accomplished at no increase
in the administrative costs of the income withholding process.

It is also worth noting that the absence of an income withholding order in
such circumstances eliminates a ten-day delay in processing payments (the period
allowed the employer for remitting collections), reduces the administrative
burden upon the private sector, and leaves as much as $10 per month of the
obligor’s income unencumbered by the processing fee permitted under the Income
Withholding Act, income which can be best used for support.
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Having demonstrated that conformity would not increase the effectiveness or
efficiency of its Child Support Enforcement Program, Kansas respectfully
requests an exemption for a three year period.

Sincerely,

Robert C. Harder
Secretary
RCH:JLC:vr
Enclosure(s)



KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND REHABILITATION SERVICES
Child Support Enforcement Program

MEMORANDUM

T0:°  CSE Specialist IIs DATE: October 9, 1986
CSE Attorneys
IV-D Contractors
CSE Specialist Is
Central Office Management Staff

FROM: J.A. Robertson/)\ fc SUBJECT: Program Clearance 86-9
Procedures to Implement
Income Withholding

This program clearance is issued to supplement Program Clearance 85-13, dated
October 10, 1985, to ensure the full and effective implementation of income
withholding in the State of Kansas.

PROCEDURES MANDATORY

The provisions of income withholding are mandatory for all title IV-D cases.
Thus, the State must take immediate steps to implement the withholding and to
send the Notice of Delinquency form when the criteria for Income Withholding are
met. Specialist IIs, the Contractors, the SRS Attorneys, and other program
personnel shall, upon behalf of the State, promptly file the notice of
delinquency and request issuance of the withholding order in all appropriate
cases. If the absent parent fails to contest the withholding or the Court
determines upon contest that the withholding shall occur, the request for wage
withholding shall be filed immediately and the income withholding order issued
to the employer.

BASIS FOR NOT IMPLEMENTING WITHHOLDING

Under no circumstances shall payment of overdue support upon receipt of the
advance notice be the sole basis for not implementing the income withholding
order.

TERMINATION OF INCOME WITHHOLDING ORDER

The State must have a process for promptly terminating withholding, as provided
on page 10, Program Clearance 85-13, but in no case should payment of overdue
support be the sole basis for termination of withholding.

PROMPT REFUND

If it is determined that income has been improperly withheld, arrangements shall
be made to promptly refund the improperly withheld amount to the obligor. This
process shall be accomplished through the SRS refund process or other local
refunding processes if the income is in the control of a contractor.
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PROCEDURES FOR PROMPT DISTRIBUTION

All child support éollections from income withholding shall be distributed
“promptly in accordance with Section 457 of Title IV-D of the Social Security Act
and 45 CFR 302.33, 45 CFR 302.51, and 45 CFR 302.52.

For more specific instructions on the distribution process, see Section 5 of the
Child Support Enforcement Manual.

CHANGE OF EMPLOYER OR PAYOR

If the obligor changes employment within the State when income withholding is in
effect, the obligor’s new employer, if known, must be served with a copy of the
income withholding order. 1If the obligor”s new employer is unknown, staff shall
utilize all location sources available to locate the new employer.

MULTIPLE WAGE WITHHOLDING ORDERS

If there is more than one notice for withholding against a single absent parent,
the State must allocate amounts available for withholding giving priority to
current support up to the limits imposed under the Consumer Credit Protection
Act. The allocation shall be made by the State as follows:

1. If the total to be withheld for current and past due support does not exceed
Consumer Credit Protection Act limitations, the support will be withheld in full
and disbursed to the respective courts.

2. If the total to be withheld for current support alone exceeds Consumer
Credit Protection Act limitations, the State shall disburse to the court
designated in each income withholding order an amount for current support which
bears the same ratio to the aggregate amount withheld for current support as the
amount designated for current support in such order bears to the aggregate of
all amounts designated for current support in all the withholding orders.

3. If the total to be withheld for current and past due support exceeds
Consumer Credit Protection Act limitations and if all withholding orders for
current support have been satisfied, the State shall disburse to the court
designated in each income withholding order an amount for past due support which
bears the same ratio to the aggregate amount withheld for past due support as
the amount designated for past due support in such order bears to the aggregate
of all amounts designated for past due support in all the withholding orders.

JAR:RM:vr
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Don Bears . . DATE @ctober 10, ..85

- CSE Specialist 1ls y SUBJECTProgram Clearance 85-13
CSE Attorneys Procedures to Implement Income
I1V-D Contractors Withholding for Kansas Orders

CSE Specialist Is -

Central Office Management Staff

-

PROCEDURES TO TMPLEHENT INCOME WITHHOLDING FOR KANSAS ORDERS
(pursuant to S.B. 51, sections 1-14; Chapter 115, 1985 Session Laws)

In order to fully utilize the new income withholding legislation, as required
by Kansas and federal law, a total conmittment is needed from all CSE and
contract staff to identify appropriate withholding cases, compute accurate
arrearage figures, and to insure that withholding orders are properly modified
(when arrearages are paid in full or the underlying support order changes) by
closely monitoring such cases. SRS attorneys and contract agencies will be
responsible for identifying cases in their referred caseload in which
withholding is the proper remedy. CSE program staff will be responsible for
identifying cases which meet the criteria for wage withholding and for
referring such cases for legal action.

CSE Specialist I's through their normal monitoring and review systems will be
required to review all cases to determine the feasibility of establishing
{ncome withholding orders. In addition, CSE Specialist I's will be
responsible for informing legal staff of all potential withholding cases
regardless of the present legal status of the case. In general, cases which
would meet the criteria for garnishment will also meet the criteria for income
withholding.

MONITORING

It is imperative that cases be effectively monitored throughout the income
withholding process because of the short time allowances and the serious
consequences of missing deadlines. Because of variations between offices’
record keeping resources and normal office practices, only a few of the
monitoring responsibilties be1ow have been specifically assigned. It is
expected that the Specialist Il's, the Contractors, the SRS Attorneys, and
other program personnel will work together to devise an effective monitoring
system with responsibilities clearly defined in writing.

- The monitoring system must:

1. Ildentify cases eligible for income withholding
2. Ident1fy cases with outstanding Notices of Delinquency and the date the
obligor's response time is expected to expire

3. Identify cases ready for Affidavit Requesting Withholding Order to be
filed (response time expired and late payments credited)

4. Identify cases with a pending Motion to Stay, the deadline for ho1d1ng the
hearing or the date set for hearing, and the time by which the court must

rule on withholding

[
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5. Identify cases with withholding orders in which the current obligation
changes (a) by court order, (b) because child turns 18, dies, or is
emancipated or adopted, or (c) because child begins receiving SSI which
satisfies all or part of current obligation

6. Identify cases with fncome withholding orders in which payments cease or

- otherwise vary unexpectedly -

7. . Identify cases with new payors subject to existing withholding orders

8. ~Identify cases with {ncome withholding orders in which arrearages will be
paid in full in 30 days ]

9. Identify cases with payments not reflected on court record

FEDERAL AND STATE LAW REQUIRE THE USE OF INCOME WITHHOLDING IN EVERY CASE IN
WHICH ALL OF THE FOLLOWING CRITERIA ARE SATISFIED. (If a withholding order
could be applied for and instead we file a garnishment or a contempt, federal
auditors could find the state out of compliance and levy a financial penalty.)

Criteria for Income Withholding

1. Kansas Court Order requiring the payment of support (child support or for
maintenance of a spouse or ex-spouse 1iving with a child for whom an order
for support is also befng enforced); and

2. An arrearage in an amount equal to or greater than the amount of support
owed for one month; and

3. At least all or part of one payment s more than 10 days overdue; and

4. The obligor has income from a source which is subject to the jurisdiction
of a Kansas Court. "Income" means any form of periodic payment to an
Tndividual, regardless of source, Tncluding but not 1imited to wages,
salary, trust, royalty, commission, bonus, compensation as an {ndependent
contractor, annufty and retirement benefits and any other periodic
payments made by any person, private entity or federal state or local
government or any agency or instrumentality thereof. Section 2 of Chapter
115 of the 1985 Session Laws also provides “Any other state or local laws
which 1imit or exempt income or the amount or percentage of income that
can be withheld shall not apply.”

Once a determination s made that a case s elfgible for income withholding,
an accurate up-to-date arrearage computation must be completed for use in the
notice of delinquency to be sent to obligor.

If program personnel have questions about how arrearages should be cemputed,
they should consult a IV-D attorney who will make the final decision on method -
and amount. 1If a case has been previously referred for legal services, the
contract agency or SRS attorney will have the responsibility for determining
the total arrearage owed. CSE program staff will have the responsibility for
preparing arrearage computations in cases prior to referral of a case for
legal services. Because persons enforcing support by withholding must make a
commitment regarding the amount of arrearages, they MUST BE ACCURATELY
COMPUTED.

It is desirable to know the approximate amount of income pafd the obligor and
frequency of payment prior to initiating the withholding process, as a
specific amount to be withheld must be stated on several documents, To assist



{n determining the amount of income and other employment information. The
 statute allows any “public office" (SRS, Court Trustees, IV-D Contractor) to

send written requests for information to employers or other payors of income
AT ANYTIME (even before a withholding is fnitiated) (1985 Kan. Sess. Laws Ch.
Y15, sec. 4). The law states "It shall be the affirmative duty of any payor
to respond within ten (10) days to written requests for information presented
by the public office concerning:

(1) The full name of the obligor;
(2) The current address of the obligor;
(3) The obligor's Social Security number;
(4) The obligor's work location;
(5) The number of obligor's claimed dependents;
(6) The obligor's gross income;
(7) The obligor's net fncome; :
(8) An itemized statement of deductions from the obligor's income;
(9) The oblfgor's pay schedule; and
(10) the obligor's health insurance coverage.

This s an exclusive 1ist of information that the payor 1s required to provide
under this section.™ A form has been prepared for your use in requesting
information from payors. (See Attachment 1)

Since federal and state law require the use of income withholding the day
after the above stated four criteria are satisfied, it is suggested that the
information request form be sent as soon as possible on existing cases (unless
you have sufficient information from other sources to designate the sum to be
withheld) and as soon as possible after a IY-D case is opened. Generally,
{ncome {nformation should be obtained by the office enforcing the support
order. The SRS attorney or contract agency to whom a particular case has been
referred would usually send the information request form for that case. For
cases which have not been referred, the Program Technician should normally
obtain {ncome information during the case assessment period or when employment
{s identified or verified.

FORMS (attachments 1 - 25)

The attached forms are the work product of the Office of Judicial
Administration, CSE Central Office and a subcommittee of the Kansas Commission
on Child Support. 1In developing the forms, input and direction were received
from District Court Judges, Administrators, and Clerks as well as from the
general membership of the Kansas Commission on Child Support. Each form was
drafted to comply with very specific statutorily required notices,
consequently, CSE personnel and 1V-D contractors should use the attached forms
unless extraordinary circumstances arise. If original pleadings or documents
are used for withholding, a careful review of Ch. 115 of the 1985 Kansas
Sessfon laws should be conducted to fnsure that statutorily required notices
are provided the obligor and the payor.
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Summary of the Withholding Process

Uncontested Case

1. Notice of Delinquency served on obligor

2. Dbligor fails to file Motion to Stay within seven days after being served
the Notice of Delinquency -

3. Affidavit filed with court :

4, Tourt issues a WITHHOLDING ORDER to the payor

Contested Case

1. Notice of Delinguency served on obligor

2. Obligor files Motion to Stay within seven days

3. Court sets hearing date and conducts hearing with 14 days

4, Court enters an Order granting or denying relief, amending the notice of
delinquency or otherwise resolving the matter

NOTICE OF DELINQUENCY

When 1t s determined that the criteria necessary to inftiate income
withholding have been met, the Notice of Delinquency form must be filled in
completely (see attachment 3). A Notice of Delinquency must be served on the
obligor whether or not the underlying support order includes a conditional
withholding order. (A conditional withholding order is a statement by the
court in the support order that {f an arrearage develops, the obligor's income
may be subject to withholding.) The case caption in the upper left-hand
corner of the form must be {dentical to the case caption on the underlying

support order.

In paragraph A, the amount and period of payment in the most recent order must
be inserted.

Please note that income withholding may be used to collect current support
only. (This would apply if an obligor voluntarily requests a withholding
order even though arrearages are not owed or after arrearages are fully paid
pursuant to an fnvoluntary withholding order.) Withholding may also be used

to collect an arrearage only. (This would apply when enforcing assigned
arrearages after ADC case closure or after a current support order terminates.)

NOTE: When the criteria for Income Withholding are met, withholding must be
{nitiated for the entire amount of current support plus some amount to
reduce the total arrearage. Orders cannot be set for an amount less
than current support. If the obligor does not have the present
ability to pay the current support order, he/she always has the right
to file a motion to modify the support order.

Generally, the {nitfal income withholding order will require withholding for
both the full amount of current support and a portion of the arrearage. For
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example, 1f withholding fs established because the obligor owes $100/month
current support and $100 in arrearages, the withholding order might read "ngg

per month, to be applied:
' - $100 for current support and

§ 50 for current support”

Once a withholding order s established with a stated arrearage, it {s
impérative that the case be closely monitored to determine when the arrearage
fs paid so that an Income Withholding Order-Modification (attachment 19) can
be filed to reduce withholding to current support only.

Failure to modify the withholding order in a timely fashion could result in
liability for damages, therefore a monitoring system must be used to alert
staff at Jeast 30 days prior to the date arrearages will be satisfied to allow
enough time for preparation of an order to modify the withholding.

On page 2 of the Notice of Delinquency (after paragraph 4), the person sending
the notice of delinquency should 1ist his/her name and mailing address.

Once the Notice of Delinquency form has been filled out, 1t must be served on
the obligor in one of the following ways:

1) Personal service - send the Clerk of Court where the support order was
Tssued the original and one copy of the Notice of Delinquency and a
written request (conforming to court rules) that the Notice of
Pelinquency be served upon the obligor. Be sure to give the obligor's
address, including the county, to the Clerk.

2) Certified mail - Sent a copy of the Notice of Delinquency to the
obligor by certified mail, return receipt requested, deliver
restricted to the addressee. Note on the original Notice of
Delinquency the date the copy was mailed to the obligor and file the
original with the Court Clerk. Be sure to keep the return receipt; it
must be attached to the affidavit requesting the Income Withholding

Order.

If service is by certified mafl and a return recefpt bearing the
obligor's signature is not received, proper service has not been
achieved. Often it takes 2-3 weeks to receive a return receipt from
the post office; this makes personal service a more attractive choice
in 1ight of the time standards {mposed by federal law.

If service of the notice fs attempted by mail, the Certificate of
Mailing on page 3 of the Notice of Delinquency must be completed by
the person preparing and mailing the notice.

Inftially, IV-D legal staff will prepare the Notice of Delinquency for most
cases because the majority of cases meeting the criterfa for a wage
withholding order are presently in legal status. IV-D attorneys will bear the
ultimate responsibility for proper preparatfon of the Notice of Delinquency
and other legal forms for income withholding, however, 1Y-D attorneys and CSE
Specialist II's may wish to develop a local procedure in which Specialist I's

L
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would be delegated the authority to prepare and serve delinquency notices for
cases as they process the referral to the IV-D attorney/contractor. If such
authority is delegated to program personnel, the attorney must approve the
arrearage computation if the support order is more than five years old
(involving the issue of dormant or void judgments). If anyone other than an
attorney prepares the Notice, the worker's title MUST be indicated to prevent

misunderstandings.

After the obligor {s service the Notice of Delinquency, he/she may contest the
action by filing a Motion To Stay Income Withholding Order (attachment 16)
with the Court within seven days and serving a copy of this motion on the
public office filing the Notice of Delinquency. The motion will normally be
addressed to the person who prepared the Notice, but it might be sent to the
attorney of record (or whose name {s on the Notice of Assignment). All
motions received must be brought immediately to the SRS or contract attorney's
:tteqtion because of the extremely short time allowed to prepare for the
earing.

To insure that timely follow-up action 1s taken, a monitoring system must be
designed to call attention to cases as the date for hearing approaches or as
the time for.the obligor's response expires.

The individual who filed the Notice of Delinquency is responsible for
monitoring to fnsure that all motions filed recefve immediate legal attention
and to fnsure that income withholding orders are fssued promptly.

It is recormended that the monitoring system allow time before further action
is prompted for (1) the Notice to be served, (2) the seven days the obligor is
given for response to run, and (3) any Motion mailed by the obligor on the
seventh day to be received. Examples of monitoring systems are a tickler
system, a desk calendar system, or a weekly review list showing when the
notice was filed or mailed.

If it §s determined that the obligor has been properly served the Notice of
Delinquency and that no Motion to Stay has been filed with the court within
seven days after service of the Notice of Delinquency, IV-D personnel must
then file an affidavit with the court,

AFFIDAYIT REQUESTING INCOME WITHHOLDING ORDER

If the obligor does not contest the withholding after befng served the Notice
of Delinquency or if the court holds a hearing and determines that a
withholding order should be served, the affidavit form (attachment 4) must be
completed for filing with the court. An affidavit must be sent to the court
whether or not the underlying support order includes a conditional withholding
order.

When fi11ing out the affidavit form, the name and address of the payor of
income must be shown at the end of the case caption. The court will need this
information to properly serve a withholding order on the payor.
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The name of the attorney filing the affidavit should be inserted in the first
- paragraph of the body of the document. The attorney will also sign at the end
of the document and certify the mailing of copies of the affidavit to the
obligor and any other interested party. Consequently, the attorney {s
responsible for the accuracy of the information in the affidavit. PLEASE
NOTE: Section 3(f) of the statute provides that any person filing an
affidavit with knowledge of falsity of the declaration of notice is subject to
%eing found in contempt of court 1n addition to any other penalty provided by
aw.

The affidavit form requires the selection of a specific dollar amount to be
withheld for current support, past due support, or a combination of both. As
the Notice of Delinquency provides, 1f "earnings" are to be withheld, the
maximum amount subject to withholding ranges from 50%-65% per pay period
(depending on the amount of the arrearage and the obligor's other
- dependents). If the obligor's earnings are so low that the dollar amount
asked for in the affidavit exceeds the maximum percentage allowed by law (the
percentage circled on the Notice of Delinguency), actual withholding will be
Timited to the maximum percentage of disposable fncome.

Even though it may be lawful to attach from 50%-65% of an obligor's earnings,
it 1s not recormended that we do so. Please remember that, unlike
garnishment, withholding applies to each pay period and is not limited to one
attachment per month. If it does not remain profitable for the obligor to
continue working, he/she s 1ikely to quit or file for bankruptcy, neither of
which 1s desirable.

At this time, determination of the total dollar amount to withhold is left to
the discretion of 1V-D personnel, giving consideration to the particular case
circumstances (1.e., the amount of the arrearage, the obligor's income, other
dependents, the length of time the obligor has been employed, work history,
etc.). It is suggested that the total amount withheld from earnings range
between 30% to 40% of dispcsable fncome.

Earnings are defined fn K.S.A. 60-2310 as “compensation paid or payable for
personal services, whether denominated as wages, salary, cormission, bonus, or
otherwise.” If a Withholding Order is sought to attach income other than
earnings, the 50%-65% percentage l1imitations do not apply. Therefore, 100% of
such income may be legally withheld. Circumstances, again, will determine
what s reasonable. For example, payment to an independent contractor are not
technically earnings, but they may be an obligor's sole source of fncome.

After the affidavit form is completed, attach a copy of the Notice of
Delinquency served on the obligor (showing the type of service obtained and
the return recefpt for service by certified mail) and submit both documents to
the court which issued the underlying support order with the proposed Income
Withholding Order package (see Belowg.
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INCOME WITHHOLDING ORDER

Upon receipt of the affidavit Requesting an Income Withholding Order, the
court should, as expedicfously as possible, fssue an order requiring the
withholding of fncome from the named payor without further hearing, amendment
of the support order, or further notice to the obligor. Once the affidavit is
filed with the court, the withholding order must be {ssued; the Judge has no

discretion. g

Obviously, with this type of procedure, the burden of obtaining proper service
of process, monitoring, computing of an accurate arrearage , and the
determining a proper amount to be withheld rests with IV-D personnel.

It is fmportant to note that the amount of the arrearage owed s to be
computed on the basis of the support payments due and unpaid on the date the
Notice of Delinquency was served on the obligor. If the arrearage was at
least equal to the amunt of support owed for one month, an Income Withholding
Order must still be obtafned even {f the oblfgor pays the entire arrearage
after receiving the notice. If this occurs, IV-D personnel must insure that
the order issued the payor requires withholding for current support only.

In paragraph 6 of the withholding order, the payor should be directed to send
payments to the Clerk of Court or Court Trustee.

To simplify matters as much as possible for the ordinary business person,
separate forms have been drafted for employers (forms labeled “employer") and
for payors other than employers (forms labeled “payor™). The IV-D attorney
must: (1) Complete the Income Withholding Order for either the employer
(attachment 5) or payor (attachment 9) for the "hearing officer's" signature
(Judge, Magistrate, Court Trustee); (2) select the proper Notice to Employer
(attachment 6) or Notice to Payor (attachment 10); (3) select the proper
Employer Answer (attachments 7 & 8) or Payor Answer (attachments 11 & 12);

(4) add a change of address/termination of employment form {attachment 13);
and (5) submit the package of forms to the court with the Affidavit and a copy

of the hotice of Delinquency.

Chapter 115 of the 1885 Session Laws allows for service of an Income
Withholding Order on a self-employed obligor [see section 2(f)]. However, if
the self-employed obligor does not honor the withholding order, the only
action IV-D personnel may take under the Act is to obtain a judgment against
the obligor for the total amount of the arrearages due. One solution may be
found in section 11 of Chapter 115 which provides that a self-employed obligor
may be ordered to post bond or give some other security or guarantee to insure

that support is paid.

Once the hearing officer signs the Income Withholding Order, the Clerk of
Court will have 1t personally served on the payor of income. The payor must
deduct the required amount beginning with the next payment of {ncome due the
oblfgor after 14 days follewing recefpt of service of the withholding order.
Thereafter, the payor must continue to withhold fncome from each periodic
payment until further order of the court.



" CHANGE OF EMPLOYER OR PAYOR

If the obligor changes employment or has a new source of fncome after an
{ncome withholding order fs issued by the court, the new source of frcome, 1f
known, should be served with the Income Withholding Order. The obligor need
not be given prior notice (do not send & new Notice of Delinquency) if the
terms of the Income Withholding Order are not changed. An Income withholding
Ordgr can be extended to other fncome sources as follows:

(1) & new {ncome source is {dentified;

(2) The 1V-D attorney completes and files a Motion For Modification of the
Income Withholding Order (attachment 15);

(3) The IV-D attorney completes and submits the appropriate Income Withholding
Order form along with the proper Notice and Answer forms;

{4) The Court has the new payor of income served in the same fashion as the

original payor.

NOTE: These fnstructions may not apply 1f the new source of income is in
addition to, not in place of, the old income source.

Although the payor of income {s required by statute to promptly notify the
Clerk of the District Court or Court Trustee of the termination of the
obligor's employment or other source of fncome, it s suggested that a local
monitoring system be developed to 1dentify fncome withholding cases in which
payments cease.

MOTIONS TO MODIFY THE WITHHOLDING ORDER

IY-D program personnel must be alert to the need for modification of the
withholding order. If any office receives a copy of a private attorney's
Motion to Modify the support order on which the withholding is based or a
Motion to Terminate the withholding order, the document must be irmediately
referred to the IV-D attorney who established the withholding order.

A monftoring system must be established which will alert the IY-D attorney at
Teast 30 days before arrearages will be fully paid so that a Motion to Modify
the Withholding Order can be prepared, filed, and served on the payor in time

to avoid any overpayment.

IV-D attorneys are required to file motions to: (1) Modify or terminate the
withholding order because of a modification or termination of the underlying
support order; and (2) Modify the amount of income withheld to ref]ect full
payment of the arrearage. (See attachment 19)

NOTE: Brady v. Brady may require a modification fn the current support
order. ,

The obligor-has the right to file a motion to request a termination of the
withholding order 1f all arrearages have been paid and payments have been
withheld for at least 12 months. The court has discretion concerning whether
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or not the order should be terminated. 1IV-D attorneys may wish to contest
such a motion by arguing that the court has good cause to continue the order

because of a poor payment history, etc.

If a withholding order 1s terminated by the court and the obligor subsequently
develops a one month arrearage and all or part of one payment is more than 10
days overdue, the IV-D agency must obtain another withholding order by taking
a1l the steps which were taken to establish the fnitial order (service of the
Wotice of Delinquency, etc.). The federal requirement that fncome withholding
be used 1n such circumstances for IV-D cases may be useful fn pursuading the
court not to terminate a withholding order in the first place.

MOTION TO STAY ISSUANCE OF THE INCOME WITHHOLDING ORDER

After the oblfgor recefves the Notice of Delinquency he/she may contest the
establishment of a withholding order by filing a Motion to Stay with the court
(and a sending copy to the preparer of the Notice) within seven (7) days.

(See attachment 16) Do not send a blank copy of the Motion to Stay along with
the Notice of Delinquency unless you are requested to do so by the-
Administrative Judge of the Court which fssued the underlying support order.

If the obligor files a Motion to Stay, the court has the responsibility of
conducting a hearing within 14 days after receipt of the motion. Notice of
the date and time of hearing will be provided by the clerk of court (see
attachment 17). The only grounds available to the obligor to prevent the
withholding concern “mistakes of fact™ as set forth in the Notice of
Delinquency. Specifically, the obligor must show errors in one or more of the

following:

(1) the amount of the current support order

(2) the amount of the arrearage
(3) the amount of income to be withheld (i.e., the total exceeds 50%-65% of

disposable earnings or the income {s earnings rather than non-earnings)
(4) the identity of the obligor

As part of the Motion to Stay, the obligor must specify one or more of the

above listed “mistakes of fact." If the amount of the support order or the
amount of the arrearage fs challenged, the obligor must specify the amount

he/she believes {s correct.

If, at the hearing, the court determines that at least the minimum arrearage
for fnitiating fncome withholding existed at the time the Notice of
Delinquency was served on the obligor, the Judge should immediately issue the
withholding order; other proceedings may be necessary to determine the precise
arrearage or any other {ssue properly raised. In any contested case, the
court must rule within 45 days from the date the obligor received the Notice
of Delinquency on whether income withholding is to take place.
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CONDITIONAL WITHHOLDING ORDER

Any new or modified order of support fssued after January 1, 1986, must
include an appropriate conditional withholding statement sinilar to the ones
shown in attachment 21.

It Is suggested that conditional withholding statements be 1nc1uded in support
orders prior to January 1, 1986, 1f the Judge concurs. It s also important
to note that the Judge aTways has discretion to order the establishment of an
fmmediate fncome withholding order at the time the support order is
estabTished, before any arrearage accumulates. IV-D attorneys are urged to
obtain such orders whenever possible.

YOLUNTARY WITHHOLDING ORDER

Section 3(g) of the Act requires the court to fssue a withholding order on the
request of the obligor regardless of whether an arrearage exists. (See
attachment 14)

A form (attachment 2) {s also provided which waives the Notice of Delinquency
and the right to file a Motion to Stay. It fs suggested that this form be
sfgned 1n conjuction with a voluntary application for withholding §f no Notice
of Delinquency has been served on the obligor.

PRIORITIES

An Income Withholding Order has priority over garnishments, earlier voluntary
fncome assignments, income assignments executed pursuant to K.S.A. 60-1613,
and "any other legal process under state law against the same {ncome;" the
only exception 1s another fncome withholding order (as explained below). For
example, if a garnishment to collect child support is served on an employer
before an fncome withholding order, the withholding order takes priority and
must be satisfied first.

If the payor receives more than one withholding order for support owed by one
obligor, the payor must comply on a first-come-first-served basis. If the
withholding order served first can be satisfied without exceeding the limits
of the Consumer Credit Protection Act (CCPA 50%-65%), the difference between
the CCPA 1imit and the amount withheld on the first order is all that is
available to satisfy the second order. However, withholding to enforce
current support takes priority over withholding to collect arrearages, so all
withholding to satisfy current support under all withholding orders must be
completed before any withholding for arrearages can be done.

PAYOR PENALTIES

If a payor ignores the order to withhold, the court must enter a judgment
agafnst the payor for the amount which shou1d have been withheld and may enter
Judgment against the payor for the amount of the entire arrearage owed by the
obligor. 1IV-D attorneys are expected to take judgments agafnst payors when
necessary.
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Any payor who intentionally fires, refuses to hire, or disciplines an obligor
solely because of a withholding order is subject to a civil penalty not
exceeding $500 and “such other equitable relief as the court considers proper"
(f.e., reinstatement to Job with back pay). These issues do not directly
fnvolve CSE and very 1ittle fmpact on 1V-D offices is expected.

-

MISCELLANEOUS FORMS

(1) CHANGE OF ADDRESS/TERMINATION of PAYMENTS - The withholding law requires
the obligee and the obligor to notify the clerk of court or 1V-D office in
writing of any change of address within 7 days after the change. The
obligor must also provide 7 days written notice of any change in income
source. In addition, the statute requires the payor of income to promptly
notify the court of the termination of the obligor's fncome source and
provide the obligor's last known address and the name and address of the
obligor's current employer, if known.

A form has been drafted for use in providing notice of these changes (see
attachment 13). :

(2) JUDGMENT FORM - Attachment 18 can be used in place of a Journal Entry to
cover various circumstances which may arise if the oblfgor contests the
action and a hearing 1s held. It {s designed so the hearing officer can
quickly complete 1t at the conclusfon of the hearing.

(3) NOTICE OF FUNDS ATTRIBUTABLE AS SUPPORT - The statute requires that the
Clerk of Court or Court Trustee be notified fn writing of amounts of
support which have been collected directly by the agency or obligee. The
form shown as attachment 20 must be used to accomplish this purpose.
Please note that the source of payment must be {ndicated by placing the
appropriate code number fn the last column on the form.

(4) NOTICE OF LIEN ON VEHICLE - Although the placement of a lien on the
obligor’s vehicle is not a part of the Income Withholding section of
statute, if you can obtain a vehicle identification nunber, this
enforcement remedy can be quite useful. To be effective, the 1ien must
appear on the certificate of title in the hands of the obligor.

The statute does not provide for any foreclosure or forced sale. Rather,
the obligor must obtain a Release. of Lien (similar to the release we
sometimes provide concerning real estate) or a consent 1n writing prior to
transfer of title or use of the vehicle as collateral. (See attachment 25
for a Consent to Release of Lien form.)

PROCEDURE FOR FILING A VEKICLE LIEN

(1) Liens may be obtafned only 1f a support arrearage exists which {s equal to
or greater than the amount of support payable for one month (no
requirement of 10 days past due). HKHowever, it is suggested that liens
only be filed when a significant arrearage exists since IY-D personnel
must insure that a 1fen 1s released when the arrearage {s satisfied. If
liens are established, payment on arrearages must be closely monitored to
Tnsure that a timely release is filed when appropriate,
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(2) The Notice of Lfen and affidavit (see attachment 22) must be completed and
the original (white copy) sent to the Department of Revenue, Division of
Vehicles (DMV). DMY may be able to {dentify the obligor's vehicle even
though you do not have 2ll the information on the form concerning the
vehicle year, make, style, {dentification number and tag number, but you
must have either the vehicle fdentification number or the tag number. (We

.are working on a tape exchange with DMY to obtain vehicle 1.D. numbers. )

- A $5 fee must accompany the Notice and affidavit when sent to DMV, (we
will also attempt to arrange for a Jump-sum monthly payment by interfund
voucher for SRS-initiated liens fn the near future.)

(3) At the same time the Notice and affidavit are sent to DMY, the yellow copy
must be sent by first-class mail to the obligor at his/her last known
address. The pink copy 1s for the IV-D case record.

(4) The DMV will send a letter to the obligor (attachment 23) demanding the
surrender of the title certificate so the 1ien can be recorded (DMY
reports a 90% return rate when similar requests are made). Once the lien
is recorded, a transfer of the title s not valid unless the lien is
released or consent is given fn writing.

(5) If the obligor fails to surrender the title in 15 days, DMY will send
attachment 24 to the person who requested the lien.

(6) If the obligor fails to return the title on demand, a Motion may be filed
in the court which issued the underlying support order seeking a“court
order requiring the surrender of the title., If the title is obtained in
this manner, 1t must be sent to DMY so that they may recdrd the lien and
return the document to the obligor.

The establishment of a vehicle 1ien need not be accomplished by an attorney.
If a case has been referred to a contractor, contract staff will have the
responsibility of establishing the 1fen, advising CSE program personnel of {its
establishment, and monitoring to fnsure that a release is filed when
arrearages are paid (unless other arrangements are made with local CSE

staff). The CSE Specfalist I has the authority to take the steps necessary to
establish and release vehicle 1iens concerning cases not referred to a
contractor. However, if a case has been referred to a CSE attorney, the
Specialist 1 must inform the attorney of planned lien activity. If the CSE
attorney determines that the notice of lien could damage pending legal
activity or negotiations, the notice of 1ien must not be filed.
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80-206

PROCEDURE, CIVIL

3. Subsection (¢) noted; 22-3609 (2) construed to
require written notice of criminal appeal from munici-
pal court. City of Overland Park v. Nikias, 209 K 643,
647, 495 P2d 56.

4. Question whether defendant counsel entitled to
notice of default judgment raised but not determined.
Goldsbemry v. Lewis, 220 K. 69, 71, 551 P.2d 862.

S. Section applied; service of process sufficient
under 82a-724. Frontier Ditch Co. v. Chief Engineer of
Water Resources, 1 K.A.2d 186, 188, 189, 563 P.2d 509.

6. Referred to in determining appeal not filed within
time prescribed by 60-2103; dismissal ordered. Kittle
v. Owen, 1 KA.2d 748, 749, 573 P.2d 1115,

7. Party attempting to revive action under 60-225
subject to provisions of nonclaim statute; personal ser-
vice requirement. Gatewood v. Bosch, 2 K.A.2d 474,
476, 581 P.2d 1198.

B. Subsection (b) cited; notice required hereunder
need not be given to counsel who has been dismissed
by plaintiff; court order of service of notice on plaintiff
proper. Alexander v. State Dept. of Social & Rehab.
Serv., 4 K.A.2d 57, 58, 59, 602 P.2d 544.

9. Mentioned; notice of hearing served on attomney
of record is sufficient under facts of case. Krumme v.
Krumme, & K.A.2d 939, 843, 636 p.2d 814 (1981).

10. Section govemns service of motion to intervene.
Wilson & Walker v. State, 230 K. 48, 55, 56, 630 pP.2d
1102 (1981).

11. Considered in construing 214603 as permitting
district court to retain jurisdiction and act on timely
motion for probation or sentence reduction after 120-
day period. State ex rel. Owens v. Hodge, 230 K. 804,
808, 641 P.2d 399 (1982).

12. Severance of parental rights invalid for lack of
adequate notice and because relief granted by default
was not requested in pleadings. Sweetser v. Sweetser,
7 K.A.2d 463, 463, 643 P.2d 1150 (1982).

60-206. Time, computation and exten-
sion. The following provisions shall govern
the computation and extension of time:

(a) Computation; legal holiday defined.
In computing any period of time prescribe
or allowed by this chapter, by the local rules
of any district court, by order of court, or by
any applicable statute, the day of the act,
event, or default from which the designated
period of time begins to run shall not be
included. The last day of the period so
computed is to be included, unless it is a
Saturday, Sunday or a legal holiday, in
which event the period runs until the end of
the next day which is not a Saturday, a
Sunday or a legal holiday. When the period
of time prescribed or allowed is less than
seven (7) days, intermediate Sundays and
holidays shall be excluded in the computa-
tion. A half holiday shall be considered as
other days and not as a holiday. “Legal
holiday” includes any day designated as a
holiday by the congress of the United
States, or by the legislature of this state.
When an act is to be performed within any

prescribed time under any law of this state,
or any rule or regulation lawfully promul-
gated thereunder, and the method for com-
puting such time is not otherwise specifi-
cally provided, the method prescribed
herein shall apply.

(b) Enlargement. When by this chapter
or by a notice given thereunder or by order
of court an act is required or allowed to be
done at or within a specified time, the judge
for cause shown may at any time in the
judge’s discretion (1) with or without mo-
tion or notice order the period enlarged if
request therefor is made before the expira-
tion of the period originally prescribed or as
extended by a previous order or (2) upon
motion made after the expiration of the
specified period permit the act to be done
where the failure to act was the result of
excusable neglect; but it may not extend the
time for taking any action under K.S.A. 60-
250 (b), 60-252 (b), 60-259 (b), (d) and (e)
and 60-260 (b) except to the extent and
under the conditions stated in them.

(c) Unaffected by expiration of term.
The period of time provided for the doing of
any act or the taking of any proceeding is
not affected or limited by the continued
existence or expiration of a term of court.
The continued existence or expiration of a
term of court in no way affects the power of
a court to do any act or take any proceeding
in any civil action pending before it.

(d)” For motions — affidacits. A written
motion, other than one which may be heard
ex parte, and notice of the hearing thereof
shall be served not later than five (5) days
before the time specified for the hearing,
unless a different period is fixed by these
rules or by order of the judge. Such an order
may for cause shown be made on ex parte
application. When a motion is supported by
aflidavit, the affidavit shall be served with
the motion; and except as otherwise pro-
vided in K.S.A. 60-259 (d), opposing affida-
vits may be served not later than one (1) day
before the hearing, unless the court permits
them to be served at the time of hearing.

(e) Additional time after service by
mail. Whenever a party has the right or is
required to do some act or take some pro-
ceedings within a prescribed period after
the service of a notice or other paper upon
him or her and the notice or paper is served
upon him or her by mail, three (3) days shall
be added to the prescribed period.
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DAY # SERVICE BY CERTIFIED MATL (under most favorable conditions)

Day 0 Support due and unpaid by 11:59 PM

Day 1 Notice of Delinquency mailed (certified mail)

Day 2 Notice of Delinquency delivered to absent parent (SERVICE COMPLETED)

Day 3 Day 1 (period for Motion to Stay): Return receipt received by IV-D

: Attorney from Post Office;

Attorney prepares Affidavit
requesting income withholding
order

Day 4 Day 2 (period for Motion to Stay)

Day 5 Day 3 (period for Motion to Stay)

Day 6 Day 4 (period for Motion to Stay)

Day 7 Day 5 (period for Motion to Stay)

Day 8 Day 6 (period for Motion to Stay)

Day 9 Day 7 (period for Motion to Stay)

Day 10 Day 8 (automatic extension of period for Motion to Stay)

Day 11 Day 9 (automatic extension of period for Motion to Stay)

Day 12 Day 10 (automatic extension of period for Motion to Stay)

Day 13 EARLIEST opportunity for filing Affidavit (support is 13 days past due)
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DAY # SERVICE BY SHERRIFF (under most favorable conditions)

Day O Support due and unpaid by 11:59 PM
Day 1 Notice of Delinquency delivered to Court Clerk (filing and preparation of
paperwork transmitting Notice of Delinquency to Sheriff for service)
Day 2 Court Clerk delivers Notice of Delinquency to Sheriff for service
Day 3 Sheriff serves Notice of Delinquency (SERVICE COMPLETED) and files return
of service with Court Clerk
Day 4 Day 1 (period for Motion to Stay): Clerk mails Sheriff’s return to
IV-D Attorney
Day 5 Day 2 (period for Motion to Stay): Attorney receives Sheriff’s
return and prepares Affidavit
requesting income withholding
, order
Day 6 Day 3 (period for Motion to Stay)
Day 7 Day 4 (period for Motion to Stay)
Day 8 Day 5 (period for Motion to Stay)
Day 9 Day 6 (period for Motion to Stay)
Day 10 Day 7 (period for Motion to Stay)
Day 11 EARLIEST opportunity for filing Affidavit (support is 11 days past due)




COMMENTS CONCERNING HOUSE BILL NO. 2218

Presented to the House Judiciary Committee
by Terry Harmon, Assistant State Archivist

February 16, 1987

House Bill No. 2218 was prepared by the staff of the State Historical
Society's department of archives. It was introduced as H.B. 2846 in the 1986
legislative session and was approved by the House, but inadequate time remained
for action by the Senate.

This is an effort to revise two Kansas statutes which prevent preservation
of juvenile court records in the state archives.

The archives staff believes that these records have much potential research
value. The manner in which our judicial system handles juvenile crime and
children in need of care is an important aspect of social and legal history.
These records provide a unique view of child-rearing practices, the operations
of social welfare agencies, public attitudes toward social problems, and a wide
variety of other matters which are of great interest to historians, sociologists,
political scientists, and persons working in other fields. Scholars obviously
cannot gain a satisfactory understanding of such matters if all the relevant
records are destroyed.

Most court records in Kansas have to be microfilmed and then have to be
offered to the State Historical Society before they may be destroyed. Supreme
Court Rule no. 108, however, allows destruction of all juvenile court records
without microfilming five years after each case is closed. The Supreme Court
has decided, moreover, that K.S.A. 38-1506 and 38-1607 prevent transfer of
these records to the State Historical Society and has suggested that a legis-
lative remedy be sought for the problem.

Such a remedy is needed as soon as possible. Administrative judges in a
number of districts are ordering disposal of juvenile records because the
courthouse space they occupy is needed for other purposes. Court officials in
several counties currently are holding records for us pending the outcome of
this legislative effort, but others have refused to delay the destruction of
all juvenile records in their custody which have met the five-year retention
requirement.

If this bill were enacted the state archivist would be allowed, but not
required, to accept juvenile court records for deposit in the archives if
court officials decided to dispose of them. We would, in other words, be able
to consider the documents involved in each disposal notice and reach a decision
about whether to preserve them. In some circumstances we would retain only
the oldest records or a representative sample. Probably no more than 10% of
those currently being created would be transferred to the archives. The His-
torical Society would not acquire the original documents if they have been
microfilmed, unless examination of the film indicates that it is very unsatis-
factory in quality.

Attachment V
House Judiciary 2/16/87
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This bill would not create a new program. It would merely authorize
adding one more type of documents to the many series of state and local govern-
ment records being preserved in the state archives. Handling juvenile court
records would be a very small part of the department's overall operations, and
the projected annual cost of approximately $600 easily could be absorped at
current funding levels. The State Historical Society someday will need to
seek increased staffing and storage space for the state archives, but preserv-
ing juvenile court records will not have a significant effect on that need.

In proposing these statutory changes, the Historical Society once again
is seeking a reasonable compromise which would meet the needs of researchers
and also provide adequate protection for privacy rights of individuals men-
tioned in confidential records. H.B. 2218 would prohibit disclosure of infor-
mation in most juvenile court records acquired by the Historical Society for
70 years after their creation, unless a researcher obtained an order from a
district court judge authorizing examination of the records. In granting
access to the documents, judges could prohibit disclosure of personally
identifiable information found in them. Scholars would have no need to reveal
the names of individuals involved in juvenile proceedings. Their concern would
be gaining a general understanding of how the judicial system functioned or
what the records revealed about our society.

Preserving confidential records in the state archives would not be a radi-
cal change in policy. We already have restricted records of the correctional
institutions, the Commission on Civil Rights, and other agencies. K.S5.A. 45~
407 requires the archives staff to continue enforcing any restrictions on public
access to records in their custody which would apply if the documents were still
held by the agency of origin. No problems have arisen over a period of many
years with regard to improper disclosure of confidential records held by the
State Historical Society. Such documents are just as safe in the state archives
as they are in the storage areas of courthouses.

Perhaps it is appropriate to point out that this is only one of many _
statutory problems involving research use of confidential records. The archives
staff is particularly interested in achieving revision of K.S.A. 65-2422 in order
to obtain authority to microfilm birth and death records created before 1911
which are held by local government officials. We would welcome an effort to
amend H.B. 2218 in order to deal with this related problem.

Favorable action on this bill by the Judiciary Committee would be appre-
ciated very much. It would help prevent the destruction of a very important
archival resource in Kansas.



WASHBURN UNIVERSITY OF TOPEKA

Department of History
Topeka, Kansas 66621
Phone 913-295-6315

My name is William O. Wagnon, Jr. I am Professor of History at
Washburn University, Chairman of the Kansas State Coordinating
Committee on the Promotion of History and a Director of the
Kansas State Historical Society. I speak in behalf of HB 2218
and urge its passage.

For many years my interest has been in public records management
and their preservation for historical research. My students and
those groups I speak to about our past are curious about our
history. Awareness of it expands their memories and sharpens
their sense of identity, providing a context for their own lives
and illuminating human potential. Yet, what I and my colleagues
are able to teach and discuss is limited by the records of the
past and their availability. Their preservation is always of
moment and in the case of juvenile court records dependent upon
legislative remedy.

In the case of these particular records the problem is not so
much a conflict between the public's right to know and an
individual's right to privacy, but a willingness to assign their
preservation and control of access to the agency best equipped to
harmonize both.

OQur State Archives Department is staffed by officials whose
professional training encompasses skills for maintaining records
and exercising judgment about responsible availability. Few
would argue that treatment of delinquents and dependent and
neglected children are not a part of our past, just as records of
births, marriages, deaths, incorporations, bankruptcies and even
proceedings of the House Judiciary Committee provide important
information about our society as it moves through time. However,
the particular records in question are liable to destruction if
they are not entrusted to the State Archivist. Their loss would
leave significant gaps in our memory about ourselves.

H. B. 2218 would prevent this gap from developing and delineate
policies for responsible access to them. It would provide important
legislative intent that public records are a vital resource of

our society to be preserved and made available to future

generations for their instruction and inspiration.

I seek your support for this bill and encourage you to work for

it becoming law as soon as possible.
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Statement
to
House Judiciary Committee
concerning
House Bill No. 2218
2/16/87

I want to thank Chairman Wunsch and members of the Judiciary Committee
for allowing me to make this brief statement concerning House Bill No. 2218.
As I understand it, the primary purpose of this proposed legislation is to
permit the preservation of juvenile court records and other similar documents
by the Kansas State Historical Society. I strongly favor this objective. It
should be clear from the outset, however, that I do not base my support for
this bill on the antiquarian argument that all historical documents should
always be preserved simply because they exist. I am convinced that the study
of juvenile court records has a social utility that clearly justifies their
preservation.

If we expect the study of America's past to reach its full potential as a
social enterprise, then it must be a study of all its people. In the last two
decades a growing number of historians have committed themselves to
constructing a history of American life that includes the experience of all
groups regardless of their class, race, gender, religion, ethnicity, or age.
The study of children is a vital element of this new social history which is
tfansforming our understanding of our past and present.

Children are crucial to the study of America's past for several reasons.
Though not powerful, their sheer numbers and the value adults have placed on
having children have made them very influential as groups and as individuals.
Children have been an omnipresent element throughout our history. When the
first humans came to North America from Asia millennia ago, children came with

them. When the Pilgrims came to Plymouth in the 1620's, their children came

with them and too often died with them. Twelve years after the first
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adventurers landed at Jamestown, they were joined by children who were soon
put to work. When settlers moved from the coastal plain into the eastern
forests and mountains, their children went with them. Children, as well as
adults, crossed the Cumberland Gap, the Ohio, the Mississippi, the Missouri,
the Kaw, the wide plains, and the searing deserts, the rugged Rockies and the
high Sierras to reach the Pacific. Children, as well as adults, were crammed
into the holds of ships that brought slaves and immigfants to our shores.
Children, as well as adults, were killed in the tragic struggle between
Indians and whites for this continent. Until well into this century large
numbers of children worked alongside adults in the fields, textile factories,
coal mines, and steel mills of this country. Children, as well as adults,
experienced the consegquences of wars and depressions. And children, as well
as adults, were brought before our courts. Children were excluded from
virtually no aspect of our past. Without children any history of America is
incomplete, flawed, and even misleading.

Even so, children present special problems for historians. As historical
subjects, they are very inarticulate, at times practically silent. Children,
especially young ones, are obviously much less likely than adults to write
letters, keep diaries, make speeches, lobby for legislation and run for
political office. Thus historians of childhood are forced to depend heavily
on historical documents created by adults, many of which do not deal directly
with children. For this reason alone, juvenile court records are particularly
valuable because they focus primarily on children.

In more precise terms, juvenile court records can provide insight into
all of the basic questions I have suggested for the history of childhood:

1. What have been the attitudes of adults toward children?

2. What were the conditions that helped to shape the
development of children?



2. What has been the subjective experience of uwuing a
child in the past?

4. How have children influenced adults and each other?

3. What have been the social, cultural, and psychological

functions of children?
By their very nature, Jjuvenile court records offer many opportunities to
analyze the limits adults imposed on children and what happened when these
limits were challenged.

Juvenile court records have a significance that goes beyond their special
value to historians of childhood. For example, it would be impossible to
complete a valid study of the efficacy of juvenile courts and their policles
without access to their records. Legal historians will find these records
indispensable when they try to assess the impact of juvenile law on sociely.
Historians of the family, educational historians, and scholars interested in
the history of gender and ethnicity will also find thése records to be
important sources for their research. The juvenile court can be viewed as an
arena where difficult social issues affecting children are dealt with
explicitly. As such, they provide a window into the heart of American socliety
and culture.

Juvenile courts were created in part to promote the interests of
children. It is for precisely this reason that I support House Bill No. 2218.
With rigorous procedures and guidelines in place to protect the identity of
individuals, it will be possible to use our knowledge of the experience of the
juvenile courts to help us make wise decisions affecting the welfare of
children in the future.

N. Ray Hiner
Chancellors Club Teaching Professor
of History and Education

University of Kansas
Lawrence, Kansas
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1.

STATE DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND REHABILITATION SERVICES

Statement Regarding Proposed Bill No. (H.B. 2170)

Title

An Act concerning the Kansas Code for Care of Children and amending K.S.A.
1986 Supp. 38-1565 and K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 38-1584 to require a review hearing
within 18 months and periodic hearings every 12 months thereafter.

2. Purpose

This bill is designed to require periodic review hearings for children in
foster care as federally mandated in the Adoption Assistance and Child
Welfare Act of 1980.

3. _Background

Through the above referenced act, Congress mandated a review of a child's
foster care status external to the public agency since it saw the need for
checks and balances in the child welfare system. Periodic reviews help
ensure that a child receives appropriate care and treatment and help assess
the adequacy and timeliness of efforts to provide permanence for the child.

In October 1986, the SRS foster care program experienced a federal audit.
The following is quoted from the results of this audit;

"A reading of case records found that over seven percent of the cases did
not contain the annual review by the court. An error rate of ten percent
would have placed the state out of compliance and jeopardized approximately
$564,727 in Title IV-B funds for FY-85. We recommend the state examine
present laws to determine those steps that should be taken that will ensure
future compliance. We believe there is a high risk that a subsequent review
may result in non-compliance, given the present error margin of less than
three percent.”

It should also be noted that in those cases where a review was adjudged to
have taken place, often there was no documentation available from the court.

Effect of Change

This bill will help ensure compliance with federal law thus preserving
ongoing federal funds for child welfare services. This bill will provide
the checks and balance system necessary in ensuring that all children in
foster care are given a timely permanency plan.

SRS Recommendation

SRS recommends passage of this bill.

Robert C. Harder
Office of the Secretary
Social and Rehabilitation Services
296-3271
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