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The meeting was called to order by
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SENATE  COMMITTEE ON FEDERAL AND STATE AFFAIRS

Senator Edward F. Reilly, Jr. at
Chairperson

_11:00  am./pamxon

January 12 19_88in room __254-E _ of the Capitol.

All members were present ezgenk

Committee staff present:

Mary Galligan, Legislative Research

Emalene Correll, Legislative Research

Mary Ann Torrence, Assistant Revisor of Statutes
June Windscheffel, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

The Chairman welcomed the returning Committee Members, as
well as staff. He welcomed all present in the room,
and introduced a new employee, Mrs. A. Jean Pierce.

Staff reviewed the 1987 carryover billsg in the Senate
Committee on Federal and State Affairs (Attachment #1),

as well as those in the House Committee on Federal and State
Affairs (Attachment #2).

There was Committee discussion, and the Chairman proposed
various matters for members to consider.

The Chairman announced that the Committee will meet
tomorrow at the regular hour.

The meeting was adjourned at noon.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
been transceribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not
been submiited to the individuals appearing before the committee for

editing or corrections. Page L Of 1
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MEMORANDUM
_ January 11, 1988
TO: Senate Committee oﬁ Federal and State Affairs
FROM: Kansas Legislative Research Department

RE: 1987 Carryover Bills

The following bills remained in Committee at the end of the 1987
Legislative Session.

S.B. 331 -- Missouri and Kansas Metropolitan
Culture and Recreation District Compact

The bill would authorize a compact between Kansas and Missouri to
provide for the establishment of cultural and recreation districts. The purpose
of the districts would be to build, operate, and maintain major cultural and
recreational facilities; and to provide operating and developmental support and
coordination for cultural and recreational organizations operating within the
districts.

Districts in Kansas could be created by petition of 1 percent of the
number of voters who paricipated in the most recent preceding gubernatorial
election in counties that have a population of at least 80,000 according to the
most recent federal census. The district could be composed only of the petition-
ing county or of that county and one or more counties within 60 miles in the
same state or an adjacent state. Each of the counties included in a district
would have to meet the population requirements. Alternatively, the governing
body of any county that meets the population requirements could create a

district by resolution. Districts created by resolution could also be multi-county
districts.

Within 24 months of the filing of a petition or adoption of a resolu-
tion, the county governing body must request that the county election officer
submit to the voters the question of whether a maximum retail sales tax of .25
percent should be levied to support the cultural and recreational facilites and
organizations. within the district. The question must appear on the ballot at the

next primary or general election following the date of the request to the
election officer.

If the voters approve the sales tax it would be levied and collected in
the same manner as other local sales taxes and would be in addition to other
sales taxes authorized in the jurisdiction. Net sales tax revenue would be
deposited in the Kansas Metropolitan Culture and Recreation District Trust Fund.
The state would retain in the State General Fund 1 percent of the tax collected
to cover the cost of collection. If the sales tax proposition is rejected, the
county would remain in the district, but its commissioners would be nonvoting
commissioners. The sales tax proposition could be resubmitted to the voters at
any time.

The Commissions created undér the act would be composed of one
qualified voter from each participating county who would be appointed by the
county governing body; one qualified voter from each city with a population of
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at least 80,000 located totally or partially within a participating county who
would be appointed by the city governing body; and one qualified voter from
each state containing one or more participating counties who would be appointed
by the governor. The appointees would have to be persons with demonstrated
interest, expertise, knowledge, or experience in cullural and recreational or-
ganizations or endeavors. Persons appointed to the commission would serve
staggered four year terms. Vacancies on the commission would be filled in the
same manner as the original appointment. Persons appointed to the commission
could be removed for cause following a hearing before the full commission and
an affirmative vote for removal by 2/3 of the ccmmissioners. The chairperson
and vice-chairperson of the commission would be elected by the membership of
the commission. Other officers and employees could be appointed by the
commission. Commission members would not receive compensation for their
services on the commission, but would receive actual and necessary expenses.

The commissions created would have the following powers:

1. Acquire by gift, purchase, lease or devise and to plan, construct,
operate, and maintain, or to lease to others for operation and
maintenance, cultural and recreation facilities within the territory
of the district. The faciliies shall be determined by the
commission based upon any the facility's impact upon the district.
The impact could include, but would not be limited to:

a. economic impact;
b. educational impact

C. contribution to the quality of life and popular image of
the district;

d. the breadth of popular appeal within and without the
district;

e. contribution to the geographic balance of recreational
and cultural facilities throughout the district; and

f. uniqueness as compared with other recreational and
cuitural facilities within and without the district.

2. Levy and collect the sales tax (maximum of .25 percent) approved
by the voters.

3. Solicit and collect contributions to be used as grants for operat-
ing and developmental support of cultural and recreational
organizations in the district.

4. Make grants or loans to cultural and recreational organizations in
the district.

5. Create and fund endowments for the construction, operation, and
maintenance of cultural and recreational facilities within the dist-
rict and for grants for the operating and developmental support
of cultural and recreational organizations in the district.
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Charge and collect fees and rents for the use of and admission
to the facilities owned or operated by the district.

Receive contribl;tions, tax funds, grants, donations or appropria-
tions from municipalities, counties or the federal government or
from any other source, public or private.

Enter into contracts and sue and be sued.
Disburse funds for its lawful activities.

Borrow money for the acquisition, planning, construction,
equipping, operation, maintenance, repair, extension, or improve-
ment of any facility which it has the power to own or to operate
and to issue negotiable notes, bonds or other instruments.

Any bonds or notes issued by the commission would be payable
out of sales tax revenues, or other resources of the commission
including a mortgage or deed of trust upon any property owned
by the commission.

Condemn any and ail rights or property, of any kind or charac-
ter, necessary for the purposes of the commission.

Make all appointments and employ officers, agents, and employe-
es, determine their qualifications and duties and fix their
compensation.

Perform all other necessary and incidental functions; exercise
such additional powers as shall be conferred on it by the legisla-
ture of any state containing a county or counties participating in
the district concurred in by the legislature of the other and, as
appropriate, by act of Congress.

Apply to Congress for its consent and approval of the compact
and any districts and commissions created under it.

Property of the commission would have the same tax status as

property of municipalities.

Each commission created under the compact would be required to make
an annual report to the governor of each state containin

in the district.

Within 60 days of enactment of the compact the Governor, with the
advise and consent of the state senate, would be required to appoint three
persons to enter into the compact on behalf of the state.
compact would become binding on the two states and would be filed with the

Secretary of State of both Kansas and Missouri.

The act would become effective upon publication in the statute book.

g counties participating

Once signed, the



Background

The Committee held a hearing on the bill on March 18, 1987. Senator
Langworthy appeared at that hearing and stated that one of the problems that
the bill would address in Johnson County is the large number of municipalities in
the area.

Mr. Ed Peterson appeared on behalf of Kansas City Consensus, a
nonprofit organization created to explore problems that exist in the metropolitan
area. One of the issues addressed is that of maintaining and expanding cuitural,
recreational and arts activities in the Kansas City area. As characterized by Mr.
Peterson, the bill would create a metropolitan area funding base to support
cultural and recreational activities. According to Mr. Peterson, the five counties
that would be included in the district are Jackson, Clay, and Platte in Missouri
and Johnson and Wyandotte in Kansas. (Mr. Peterson also indicated that Douglas
and Leavenworth counties in Kansas could participate in the district, but those
two counties do not meet the population requirements established in the bill.)
The commission of that five-county district would include one member from each
of the five counties, one member each from Kansas City and Overland Park,
Kansas; and Kansas City and Independence, Missouri and one member appointed
by each of the governors. Kansans would thus comprise five of the 11 members
of the commission.

According to Mr. Peterson's written testimony, many options for
funding were considered, but the sales tax was identified as the means which
would lend itself to an equitable means of collection and distribution.

An analysis of S.B. 331 prepared by the Department of Revenue
indicates that an approximate total of $11.6 miilion annual ne! sales tax revenue
would be generated by the .25 percent tax in three of the eligible counties,
Johnson ($7.4 million), Wyandotte ($2.6 million) and Shawnee ($1.6 million). (The
Department's analysis did not include an estimate for Sedgwick County which
may also be eligible to create a district under the bill as drafted.)

.B. 354 -- License Fe Liquor Retailers and Class A Cl

The bill includes a $1,000 class A club license fee which is different
than the two-tier fee based on membership that was established by 1987 Sub-
stitute S.B. 141. Current law established the license fee for class A social clubs
with 500 or fewer members at $500 and for those with over 500 members at
$1,000.

The $250 license fee included in the bill for liquor retailers was
included in Substitute S.B. 141 so is current law. The bill does not include a fee
structure for drinking establishments.

S.B. 360 -- Alcoholic Bg verage Server Training and License

Effective July 1, 1988, the bill would require that any person who
serves any alcoholic beverage as an officer, employee, or agent of a club,
drinking establishment, caterer or retailer of cereal malit beverage (CMB) sold for
on-premise consumption be licensed. The annual licenses required under the law
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would be issued by the director of the Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) division
of the Department of Revenue.

in order to obtain-a license a person must;
be at least 18 years of age;

submit to the director of the ABC evidence of completion of an

alcoholic liquor server education program approved by the
director; and

pay the license fee established in rules and regulations.

The bill also authorizes the Secretary of Revenue to adopt rules and

regulations establishing standards for alcoholic liquor server education programs.
The rules and regulations must include standards for:

1.

2.

curriculum and materials;
examination of servers and examination procedures; and

approval of providers of such programs.

Standards for'the curriculum must include, but not be limited to:

alcohol as a drug and its effects on the body and behavior,
especially driving ability;

the effects of alcohol in combination with commonly used drugs
and illegal drugs;

recognition of the problem drinker and community treatment pro-
grams and agencies;

state alcohol beverage laws such as prohibition of sale to minors,
sale to intoxicated persons, sale for on-premises consumption,
hours of operation and penalties for violations of the laws;

drunk driving and liquor liability laws;

intervention with problem customers including ways to cut off
service, ways to deal with the belligerent customer and al-
ternative means of transportation to get the customer safely
home; and

advertising and marketing for safe and responsible drinking
patterns and standard operating procedures for dealing with
customers.

The bill would require the director of the ABC to publish at least

quarterly a list of approved alcohol server education programs.



-6 -

The bill would take effect upon publication in the statute book.

Background

The Liquor Law Review Commission recommended establishment of an
alcoholic beverage handler training program "as a means of reducing the in-
cidence of drinking and driving, sales to minors, and other violations of the
alcoholic beverage control laws." The bill as introduced includes most of the
elements of the policy advocated by the Commission.

S.B. 141 included a provision that would have required the Secretary
of Revenue to adopt rules and regulations establishing standards for alcoholic
liquor server education programs, and to publish at least quarterly a list of
approved education programs. After June 30, 1988 each applicant for a new or
renewal license as a class C establishment (liquor by the drink establishment) or
caterer would have been required to submit evidence that all employees, officers
or agents of the licensee who serve alcoholic liquor had successfully completed
an alcoholic liquor server education program. Unlike S.B. 360, the bill did not
include a licensure requirement and would not have covered servers in private
clubs or CMB taverns. The Committee will recall that the server education
provision was not included in the Senate substitute for S.B. 141,

An analysis of S.B. 360 prepared by the Department of Revenue
indicated that approximately 18,000 people would be licensed under the law.
Total revenue anticipated based on a $25 annual license fee would be $450,000.

The ABC submitted a memo to the Committee advocating licensure of
beverage servers and inclusion of persons working in clubs and CMB taverns
under the licensure requirements. According to the ABC licensure would ensure
compliance with the education requirement and allow for a checking process to
ensure that a server had not been convicted of a felony or morals violation. A
license would also place responsibility for compliance on the server as well as
his or her employer according to the ABC.

H.B. 2385 -- Regulating Time-Share Plans

H.B. 2385, as amended by the House Committee on Federal and State
Affairs, would place certain requirements on sellers of time share plans in the
state. Time share plans would be defined as any arrangement, plan, scheme or
similar device whereby a purchaser receives ownership rights in or a right-to-use
accommodations or facilities for less than full time for a period of more than
three years.

Sellers would be required to disclose the purpose of any promotional
device, including sweepstakes and gift awards used to solicit sales of time share
plans.  Sellers using promotional devices would be required to file any promo-
tional program material with the Attorney General for approval and material
could not be used unless determined by the Attorney General to meet specific
standards. The House Committee amended the bill to clarify that approval of
promotional materials by the Attorney General constitutes approval of legal
sufficiency only. In addition, the bill was amended to require that promotional
material include a statement that the material has been approved by the
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Attorney General as to legal sufficiency only and that the approval does not
constitute an endorsement of the promotion.

Prizes specified in promotional material would have to be awarded in
the number and within the time limits advertized. Promoters would be required
to keep lists of the names and addresses of all prize winners and make the lists
available to the public. The provisions of the bill would not apply to an

individual reselling a time share plan originally acquired for the individual's own
occupancy.

Purchasers of time share plans would have five days to rescind or void
their contracts.

Requirements would also be established for disclosure of information to
potential purchasers of exchange programs, which would be defined as any
opportunity or procedure for the assignment or exchange of time share periods
among purchasers in the same or other time share plans. The same information
would be filed with the Attorney General annually. Offering of an exchange
program in conjunction with the offer or sale of time shares would not con-
stitute a security under state law.

A House Committee amendment also provides that if a seller of time
share periods or an exchange company fails to comply with the act, the contract

between the purchaser and seller shall be voidable at the option of the pur-
chaser.

Violation of thé act would be a class A misdemeanor

The act would take effect upon publication in the statute book.

Background

The bill is patterned after the Missouri law regulating time share
plans. Proponents of the bill characterized it as a consumer protection measure.

The Committee held a hearing on the bill in late April, 1987.
Representative Anthony Hensley appeared in support of the bill. The Committee
received written testimony on the bill from the Johnson County District Attorney
who characterized the bill as containing “important new protections to Kansas

consumers." An attorney representing a company that operates campground
facilities in Kansas also presented written testimony that included proposals for
changes in the bill. After the hearing the Committee recommended that the

subjects of time-share plans, health spas, buying clubs, business opportunities and
other consumer protection issues be included in an interim study. The request
was made of the Legislative Coordinating Council, but the topic was not ap-
proved for study during the 1987 interim.

88-7/MG
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MEMORANDUM

January 7, 1988

FROM: Kansas Legislative Research Department

RE: 1987 Bills Carried Over

The following paragraphs summarize the 1987 bills that are in the
House Committee on Federal and State Affairs.

H.B. 2007 -- Crimes Involving
Aiding Runaways

The bill was recommended by the Special Committee on Judiciary
during the 1986 interim. The Committee’'s charge was to "review and determine
the merits of those unenacted recommendations of the 1985 Attorney General's

Task Force on Mlssmg and Exploited Children, wuth emphasis on the problem of
runaway children . "

As amended by the House Committee on Judiciary, the bill would
expand the crime of contributing to a child's misconduct or deprivation to
include: failure to reveal, upon a lawful request, information regarding a
runaway with the intent to aid the runaway in avoiding detection or apprehen-
sion; causing or encouraging a child under 18 to commit a felony offense;
sheltering or concealing a runaway with the intent to aid the runaway in
avoiding detection or apprehension. Failure to reveal would be a class A
misdemeanor, but violation of the other two provisions would be a class E
felony.

The bill also requires that a person who provides shelter to a known
runaway shall report the child's location to a law enforcement agency, or the
child’s parent or other custodian. The law enforcement officer would be
permitted to allow the child to remain in the place of shelter if there is reason
to believe it would be in the child's best interest. If the child is allowed to
remain, the law enforcement agency would be required to promptly notify the
Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services.

The amended bill passed the House and was recommended by the
Senate Committee on Judiciary. The bill was extensively amended by the Senate
Committee of the Whole to incorporate provisions of S.B. 225 which would create
new law regarding certain abortions. (S.B. 225 is in the Senate Judiciary
Committee.) The provisions of S.B. 225 are similar to those contained in 1986
S.B. 577.

In its current form, the bill contains defined terms which include the
definition of a minor as any person under age 16. Under the bill, no abortion
could be performed on a minor except in a medical emergency, without the
informed consent of an emancipated minor, the parent of a minor, or a court

order waiving parental consent.
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The court ordered waiver of parental consent would be an alternative
to obtaining the consent of a parent and would be available to the uneman-
cipated minor as long a the requirements contained in the bill are met. District
court proceedings would be required to be conducted in a manner designed to
protect the identity of the unemancipated minor. The court would be required to
hear evidence about the minor's age, family, circumstances of pregnancy,
gestation of the fetus, emotional and physical stability and development of the
minor, alternatives to the abortion considered by the minor, whether the minor's
parents have consented to the abortion, previous pregnancies of the minor, and
any other which the court considers useful. An expedited appeal would be
authorized.

A new crime of aggravated criminal abortion would be created. Ag-
gravated criminal abortion would be defined as the performance of an abortion
by a person not licensed to practice medicine and surgery, the performance of an
abortion without first obtaining an informed, written consent in the case of an
unemancipated minor, or the performance of a second or third trimester abortion
in any place other than that required by any law regulating abortion. Ag-
gravated criminal abortion would be a class E felony.

Another new crime contained in the bill is illegal abortion defined as
the failure to perform any act required by laws regulating abortions not amount-
ing to a felony. lllegal abortion would be a class A misdemeanor.

A medical emergency or circumstances under which informed consent
could not be obtained due to the medical condition of the minor would be a
complete defense to aggravated abortion or illegal abortion.

K.S.A. 38-123 would be amended to restrict the right of an unmarried,
pregnant minor, as provided in the bill, to consent to medical care.

The bill would take effect upon publication in the statute book.

The bill was authored by the Special Committee on Judiciary and
referred to the House Committee on Judiciary which amended it. The bill was
further amended by the Senate Committee of the Whole. When the bill was
returned to the House, it was determined that, in accordance with House Rule
2107, the subject of the bill had been materially changed and the bill was
referred to the House Committee on Federal and State Affairs on April 1.

H.B. 2057 -- Mandatory Life Imprisonment
for Certain Crimes

As introduced, the bill would define the crime of premeditated murder
as the Kkilling of a human being, committed maliciously, willfully, deliberately,
and with premeditation and require that persons, over the age of 18, found
guilty of the crime be subject to a sentencing proceeding. The sentencing
proceeding would be conducted by the trial judge before the trial jury for the
purpose of determining whether the defendant would be required to serve a life
sentence with a mandatory duration of 30 years prior to eligibility for parole, or
a life sentence with the possibility of parole. Aggravating and mitigating
circumstances of the crime, and any other evidence deemed appropriate by the
court, would be presented during the sentencing proceeding.
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in order for a person to be sentenced to the mandatory 30 years in
prison, the jury would have to find, by unanimous vote, beyond a reasonable
doubt, that one or more of the aggravating circumstances exist, and that the
aggravating circumstances are not outweighed by any mitigating circumstances.
if the jury is unable to reach a verdict, a sentence of imprisonment for life with
eligibility for parole would be imposed by the judge. The judge would be
required to review any jury verdict imposing the mandatory sentence to deter-
mine whether the imposition of the sentence is supported by the evidence. If
the sentence is determined not to be supported by the evidence, the court would
be required to modify the sentence to life in prison with eligibility for parole.

The aggravating circumstances would be limited to the following:

previous conviction of first or second degree murder, aggravated
kidnapping, or aggravated robbery;

knowingly creating a great risk of death to more than one person;

commission of the crime while engaged in the perpetration of or
attempt to perpetrate and conviction of commission or the attempt to
commit kidnapping, robbery, rape, aggravated sodomy, or aggravated
arson;

commission of the crime for the purpose of receiving money or
anything of monetary value or authorizing or employing another to
commit the crime;

commission of the crime in order to avoid or prevent lawful arrest or
prosecution;

commission of the crime in an especially heinous, atrocious, or cruel
manner; and

commission of the crime while serving a sentence of imprisonment on
conviction of a felony.
Mitigating circumstances would include, but not be limited to, the

following:

no significant history of prior criminal activity on the part of the
defendant;

commission of the crime while under the influence of extreme mental
or emotional disturbances;

participation in or consent to the defendant’'s conduct by the victim;

acting as an accomplice in a crime committed by another person and
participating in a relatively minor role;

commission of the crime under extreme distress or under the substan-
tial domination of another person;
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substantial impairment of the capacity to appreciate the criminality of
the defendant's conduct or to conform the defendant's conduct to the
requirements of law; and

the age of the defendant at the time of the crime. (Persons under
the age of 18 years at the time of the commission of premeditated
murder could not be sentenced under this act, but would be subject to
sentencing as otherwise provided by law.)

All 30-year mandatory sentences would be subject to automatic review
by and appeal to the Supreme Court of Kansas. The Court would be required to
consider the question of the sentence as well as any trial errors. In regard to
the sentence, the Court would be required to determine whether the mandatory
prison term was imposed under the influence of passion, prejudice, or any other
arbitrary factor; and whether the evidence supports the findings that an ag-
gravating circumstance or circumstances existed and that any mitigating cir-
cumstances were insufficient to outweigh the aggravating circumstances.

The bill was introduced as an alternative to the death penalty (H.B.
2062) during the 1987 Session.

The act would take effect upon publication in the statute book.

H.B. 2086 -- Prohibiting Credit Sales

or Exchange of Cigarettes
or Tobacco Products

The bill was amended and recommended for passage by the House
Committee on Federal and State Affairs. It was withdrawn from the calendar
and re-referred to the Committee on May 4, 1987.

As amended, the bill would prohibit cigarette wholesalers from selling
cigarettes to retailers on credit of any kind thus requiring cash payments for
cigarettes at the time of purchase. The bill would take effect upon publication
in the statute book.

Proponents of the bill cited difficulties for wholesalers caused by the
magnitude of accounts receivable for cigarettes. Part of the problem was
attributed to the amount of tax on cigarettes. The Kansas Food Dealers’
Association spoke in opposition to the bill saying that it would limit retailers’
ability to enter into contracts with wholesalers.

The act would take effect upon publication in the statute book.

H.B. 2099 -- Application and Enforcement
of Open Meetings Law and S.B. 307
--_Exemption of Discussions of
Security Matters from Open

Meetings Law

H.B. 2099, which was not considered by the Committee, would exclude
from the definition of meeting in the Open Meetings Law, "gatherings during
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travel, or social or casual gatherings, at which no official business is transacted
and no binding action is taken."

S.B. 307, which in its original form would have excluded discussion of
security matters from the provisions of the Open Meetings Law, was amended, by
the Senate Committee on Federal and State Affairs at the request of the Kansas
Association of School Boards, to include the provisions of H.B. 2099. The
amended bill failed on final action in the Senate, was reconsidered, and re-
referred to the Senate Committee. A subcommittee considered the bill and
proposed amendments, suggested by the Attorney General, to the full Committee.

In its current form, the bill would add a new section to the law to
make it clear that free association among members of a body or agency, when
such association does not constitute a meeting covered by the Act, is not
prohibited.

H.B. 2125 -- Prohibiting Smoking a Pipe
or Cigar in a Restaurant

The bill would make smoking a pipe or cigar in a restaurant during
business hours a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $50. The bill would
take effect upon publication in the statute book.

Note: H.B. 2412, which became effective on May 21, 1987, prohibits
smoking in public places or at public meetings except in designated smoking
areas. In that act, smoking is defined as ". . . possession of a lighted cigarette,
cigar, pipe, or any other lighted smoking equipment." Thus, smoking pipes and
cigars in the designated smoking area of a restaurant or other public place is
currently permitted.

H.B. 2175 -- Withdrawal from Central interstate
Low-L evel Radioactive Waste Compact

The bill would cause Kansas' withdrawal from the Compact by repeal-
ing the statutes that authorize participation.

A motion to withdraw the bill from the Committee and place it on
General Orders failed by a vote of 68-57 on April 8, 1987.

Note: Several bills and one resolution concerning this topic were
introduced during the 1987 Session. One bill was enacted. Sub. for H.B. 2108
was signed by the Governor on April 1, 1987. The act provides that the
Hazardous Waste Disposal Facility Approval Board may not approve any license
for a facility that would permit the disposal of low-level radioactive waste below
the surface of the disposal site. However, if the Board, subject to legislative
approval, determines that below-surface disposal provides greater protection to
the environment and public health than above-surface disposal of low-level
radioactive waste, the Board may approve a license.

Other 1987 bills and a resolution that remained alive at the end of the
session include:
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S.B. 114, which includes provisions identical to those in H.B. 2175,
remains in the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources. A
motion to withdraw the bill from the Committee failed to receive the
required consitutional majority on April 30, 1987.

S.B. 406 would create the Kansas Low-level Radioactive Waste Disposal
Authority.  The authority would consist of five members appointed by
the Governor subject to confirmation by the Senate. One of the
members would be a licensed medical doctor trained in nuclear
medicine, one would be a nuclear engineer, one would be a geologist,
and two would represent the interests of the general public. The
members of the Authority would serve four-year terms. The Authority
would elect a chairperson, and vice-chairperson from the membership
and a secretary-treasurer who would not have to be a member of the
Authority.

The Authority would have exclusive jurisdiction over site selection,
preparation, and construction; and operation, maintenance, decommis-
sioning, closing, and financing of disposal sites. The Secretary of
Health and Environment would retain authority and duties to regulate,
inspect, and monitor disposal sites.

The Authority would be provided with broad powers to implement the
act including, but not limited to, the following:

apply for, accept, receive, and administer gifts, grants, and
other funds from any source,

enter into contracts with the federal government and its
agencies, the state and its other agencies, other states,
interstate agencies, local governmental entities, and private
entities for the purpose of carrying out the act;

acquire, hold, and dispose of real and personal property and
exercise the power of eminent domain in the manner
provided by law in the exercise of its powers and duties
under the act;

issue revenue bonds of the authority payable solely from
fees pledged for their payment;

construct and equip facilities to process, store, and dispose
of low-level radioactive wastes; and

employ and fix the compensation for consuiting engineers,
attorneys, accountants, construction and financial experts,
superintendents, managers, and such other employees and
agents as may be necessary.

The Authority would be required to develop and operate or contract
for operation of one disposal site for the  processing, storage, and
disposal of low-level radioactive waste in Kansas. The selection of
the site would be based upon the results of studies conducted or
contracted for by the Authority. A public hearing to consider whether
or not the site determined to be most suitable would be selected would
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have to be held in the county in which the disposal facility would be
located.  Prior to the public hearing, the Authority would be required
to make information regarding all aspects of the disposal site selection
process available to the public and would be authorized to hold
informational seminars.

Storage of low-level radioactive waste would have to be above ground
unless state or federal regulatory programs for low-level radioactive
waste preclude or recommend against above-ground disposal, or the
authority, subject to legislative approval, has determined that below-
ground disposal provides greater protection than above-ground disposal.

The Authority would be required to comply with all state and federal
licensing and regulatory laws, and in order to obtain a license, would
be required to submit to the Department of Health and Environment
evidence as to the reasonableness of any technique for managing
low-level radioactive waste to be practiced at the proposed site. The
Authority would be required to ensure that the design of facilities for
low-level radioactive waste disposal incorporates, insofar as possible,
safeguards against hazards resulting from warfare and local meteoro-
logical conditions. The Authority would be required to provide
financial security for perpetual care of a disposal site in the form and
manner required by federal and state agencies.

Only low-level radioactive waste that is generated within the state of
Kansas or within states with which Kansas has entered into a compact
for disposal of low-level radioactive waste, that is properly processed
and packaged, would be accepted at the site. The Authority would be
empowered to exclude certain types of low-level radioactive waste
from the disposal site if the waste is incompatible with disposal
operations. The Secretary of Health and Environment would be
required to adopt rules and regulations relating to the packaging of
the waste and an inspector employed by the Department would be
required to inspect all packaged waste before it is transported to the
disposal site. The Department would be required to provide in rules
and regulations for charging a reasonable fee, to cover only the cost
of the inspection. The site operator or agent would be required to
report a person who delivers improperly processed or packaged waste
to the federal and state agencies that establish standards for process-
ing, packaging, and transporting waste.

The Authority would be required, after notice and a hearing, to adopt
an emergency response plan for each disposal site to be implemented
in the event a disposal site becomes a threat to the public health or
safety or to the environment.

The Authority would be required to hold a hearing prior to closing a
site. Any site closed would have to be decommissioned in compliance
with federal and state laws.

At least 60 days prior to each regular session of the Legislature, the
Authority would be required to submit to the appropriate committees,
a biennial report that would serve as a basis for periodic oversight
hearings on the Authority’'s operations and on the status of interstate
compacts and agreements.
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Expenses of the Authority would be paid from fees and appropriations.
A waste disposal fee would be collected from each person who delivers
low-level radioactive waste to the site. The schedule of fees adopted
by the Authority would be based on the volume of waste and the
relative hazard of the waste. The fees charged by the Authority
would be required to be sufficient to allow the authority to recover
operating and maintenance costs, start-up expenses amortized over a
period of not more than 20 years, an amount necessary to cover the
cost of decommissioning and closing the site, an amount necessary to
pay licensing and monitoring fees and to provide security for perpetual
care of the site required by the Department of Health and Environ-
ment.  The Authority would also be required to adopt a schedule of
processing and packaging fees based on the volume of improperly
processed or packaged low-level radioactive waste and on the cost to
the Authority for processing and packaging the waste properly in
compliance with federal and state standards.

Fee revenue could also be pledged to pay bonds issued by the Author-
ity for the purpose of paying all or any part of the cost of acquisition
and construction of disposal sites.

The Pooled Money Investment Board would be authorized to loan to
the Authority sufficient funds for the costs of acquisiton and con-
struction of disposal sites, if the terms of such loan have been
approved by the State Finance Council.

The bill is in the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources.

H.B. 2050, which is in the House Committee on Energy and Natural
Resources, would prohibit placement of spent nuclear fuel or any other
high-level or low-level radioactive materials in bedded salt formations
on either a temporary or a permanent basis.

H.C.R. 5015 would direct the Governor to appoint a special committee
to study the feasibility of Kansas withdrawing from the Central
Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compact and designating the
Wolf Creek nuclear power plant site as the low-level radioactive waste
repository for Kansas.

The Special Committee on Energy and Natural Resources was directed
to study the matter of low-level radioactive waste disposal during the 1987
interim.

H.B. 2219 -- Limiting Sales of
Animal Vaccines

The bill would prohibit the sale of rabies vaccine or live brucella
abortus strain 19 vaccine unless the vendor is a licensed veterinarian, as defined
by K.S.A. 47-816. The act would take effect upon publication in the statute
book.
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The scheduled hearing on the bill in the House Committee on Federal
and State Affairs was cancelled.

H.B. 2220 -- Licensure and Regulation
of Retailers and Wholesalers
of Pet Animals

The bill was withdrawn from the calendar and rereferred to the
Committee on May 4, 1987.

The bill, as amended by the House Committee on Federal and State
Affairs, would provide for licensure and regulation of certain persons who work
with animals.  The bill would require that after January 1, 1988 the following
entities would be required to be registered with or licensed by the Livestock
Commissioner:

hobby kennel operators;

animal wholesalers, animal auction managers and research facilities
whether or not they hold a federal license; and

animal shelters operated as pounds in cities of the first class.

Any applicant for or holder of a retailer or wholesaler license or
certificate of registration would be required to have a controlling interest in the
licensed or registered business. The maximum annual license fee would be set at
$100 and the maximum annual registration fee would be $25.

The Commissioner would be required to inspect the premises of each
applicant for an original license and would be authorized to initiate inspections
of licensed or registered facilites. @ The Commissioner would be authorized to
refuse to issue or renew, or to suspend or revoke a license or certificate of
registration upon a determination that the applicant or registrant does not hold
a valid federal license, or has been convicted of cruel or inhumane treatment of
an animal. Any registrant or licensee of the Livestock Commissioner or veterin-
arian who knowingly employs, contracts with, or has as an agent, servant,
stockholder, or director a person who has been convicted of cruel or inhumane
treatment of an animal would be subject to a $2,000 fine.

The Commissioner would be required to inspect the premises of any
registered wholesaler, research facility, auction manager, or hobby kennel in
response to a complaint. All complaints to the Commissioner would have to be
signed, but would have to be kept confidentia. The Commissioner would be
required to provide the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) with a copy of
any complaint made against a federally licensed facility, and a USDA veterinarian
would have to be present during the inspection of any such facilty. The USDA
veterinarian would subsequently receive the report and records of the inspection.

Local health officials, who could make inspections as a designee of the
Livestock Commissioner, would have to be trained by the Commissioner and the
cost of any inspections conducted by local health officials would be borne by the
state.
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The Board of Veterinary Examiners would be authorized to refuse to
issue or renew a license, and to revoke the license, of any applicant or licensee
convicted of cruel or inhumane treatment of an animal.

Upon conviction of a licensee or registrant for failure to adequately
house, feed, and water animals, the court could order the Commissioner to seize
and impound, at the expense of the licensee, sell, or euthanize any animals in
the possession of that person. Conviction of cruelty to animals under state law
or a comparable city ordinance could not be expunged from a person’s record for
five years after completion of the sentence imposed. Expunged convictions would
have to be disclosed if requested in an application for licensure or registration
by the State Board of Veterinary Examiners, or Livestock Commissioner or in
any application for employment with a veterinarian or licensee or registrant of
the Livestock Commissioner if the employment would involve contact with
animals. Expunged records could be released to a veterinarian, the State Board
of Veterinary Examiners or the Livestock Commissioner for the purpose of
verifying employment applications or for the purpose of registration or licensure.

The act would take effect upon publication in the statute book.

According to testimony presented to the Committee, the bill is
patterned after an lowa statute. A representative of the USDA stated that the
bill. would assist the Department in its efforts. Opponents of the bill expressed
concerns about double licensing requirements for those entities licensed by the
USDA. Both proponents and opponents suggested amendments considered by the
Committee.

H.B. 2276 -- Crime of Causing Injury
While Driving Under the Influence
of Alcohot or Drugs

The bill would create as a Class E felony the crime of causing injury
while driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The crime would be
defined as unintentionally causing great bodily harm, disfigurement, or dismem-
berment to another human being, committed in the commission of the crime of
driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or a combination of
alcohol and drugs.

The act would take effect upon publication in the statute book.

H.B. 2291 -- Prohibit Diversion for
Sex Oftenses involving Children

The bill would amend K.S.A. 22-2908 to prohibit county or district
attorneys from entering into a diversion agreement in lieu of further criminal
proceedings if the complaint alleges commission of indecent liberties with a
child, aggravated indecent liberties with a child, enticement of a child, indecent
solicitation of a child, aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, sexual
exploitation of a child, promoting sexual performance by a minor, promoting
prostitution when the prostitute is under 16 years of age, or aggravated sexual
battery when the victim is under 16 years of age.

The act would take effect upon publication in the statute book.
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H.B. 2309 -- Application of Open Meetings
Law to Members-Elect of a Body

The bill, as introduced, would add members-elect to the persons
subject to the Open Meetings Act.

The Committee held a hearing on the bill and considered, but did not
adopt, amendments proposed by Representative Baker. The amendments would
have included members-elect in the definition of membership in the act and
would specifically allow a member of a governing body and the member’s
successor to meet in a closed meeting to discuss transitory business.

H.B. 2348 -- Law Enforcement Officers,
Appointment, Training, and Authority
of Reserve Officers

The bill, which was tabled by the House Committee on Federal and
State Affairs, defines reserve officers as persons who volunteer to serve without
compensation and who are appointed by a sheriff or the head of a county law
enforcement agency or the chief of a city police department to maintain public
order or to make arrests for crimes, or both.

The bill would require reserve law enforcement officers to successfully
complete an 80 hour course of training at the Law Enforcement Training Center
or at a certified state or local law enforcement training school. Reserve officers
also would be required to complete 20 hours of additional training annually,
beginning the second year after certification.

Persons appointed to a reserve officer position prior to the effective
date of the act would have to receive the prescribed training within one year of
the effective date of the act. If the required training is not received within the
year, the person would forfeit the appointment and be ineligible for reappoint-
ment within a year following the date of the forfeiture.

The Committee held a hearing on the bill at which John Wolfe, Dean
of Continuing Education at KU, appeared and presented an estimate of the cost
of implementing the program at the Law Enforcement Training Center. Con-
ferees in support of the bill included representatives of the Derby Police
Department, the Kansas Peace Officers’ Association, the Kansas Sheriffs Associa-
tion, and the Shawnee County Sheriff. A representative of the League of Kansas
Municipalities appeared in opposition to the bil.

H.B. 2349 -- Veterans' Preferences
Under Kansas Civil Service Act

The bill would amend existing law to allow veterans who have
voluntarily retired with 20 or more years of active service to be eligible for a
veteran's preference on Civil Service Examinations.

The act would take effect upon publication in the statute book.
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H.B. 2361 -- Advisor ncil
on Intergovernmental Relations
Established

The bill would create the Kansas Advisory Council on Intergovernmen-
tal Relations composed of 15 members appointed to four-year terms. Eleven of
the members would be appointed by the Governor as follows:

-- two elected county officials;

-- two elected city officials;

-- one elected township official;

-- one elected school board member;
- two executive branch officials; and

-- three members of the public.

The remaining members would include two members of the state Senate
appointed by the President and two members of the state House of Represen-
tatives appointed by the Speaker. The Governor would designate the Chairperson
and Vice-Chairperson of the Council. The Council would be required to hold
meetings at least semiannually and would be authorized to meet at other times.

The city, county, township, and school board members would be ap-
pointed from lists of at least five nominees submitted by their respective state
organizations. Not more than half of each type of local government appointee
could be from a single political party. The members appointed from the private
sector would be selected without regard to political affiliation.

The Legislature would be required to make annual appropriations for
operation of the Council. The Council would be authorized to employ an
executive secretary, counsel, expert advisors, and other employees necessary to
carry out the duties of the Council. All employees would be in the unclassified
civil service and compensation would be set by the Council within the limits of
appropriations.

H.B. 2373 -- Penalties for Riding with
Driver Who Is under the Influence
of Alcohol or Drugs

The bill would make it a crime for a person who has a valid driver's
license to be a passenger in a motor vehicle operated by a person who is under
the influence of alcohol or drugs. A violaton would be a misdemeanor punish-
able by a fine of $100-$200 for the first conviction, $200-$300 for the second
conviction, and $300-$500 for the third and subsequent offenses. Persons
convicted of this crime would not be eligible for probation or suspension of
sentence and any fine imposed would have to be paid within 90 days of imposi-
tion.
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The act would take effect upon publication in the statute book.

Note: The minutes of March 18, 1987 show that the bill was reported
adversely.

H.B. 2497 -- Driving While Impaired,
Traffic Infraction

The bill would create a new ftraffic infraction of driving while
impaired. The infraction would be defined as operating or attempting to operate
a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration, at the time or within two hours, of

between .05 and .099. The fine for a violation would be $20, plus court costs if
no trial were held.

The Committee referred the bill to a cubcommittee chaired by Repre-
sentative Sprague. The Subcommittee recommended that a request for an interim
study of the matter by the Judiciary Committee be submitted to the LCC.

H.B. 2506 -- Kansas Bill of Rights
for Disabled Persons

The bill would establish a list of rights that would be used as a guide
in the development of all state policies, procedures, rules and regulations, and
legislation, and would prohibit the purposeful, knowing or willful violation of the
rights listed. The bill also would make it the policy of the state that persons
with disabilites have, in addition to any constitutional or other rights generally

available, the right to:
-- appropriate treatment, education, and habilitation services;

-- services and programs which meet standards designed and
monitored to assure the most favorable outcomes;

- equal opportunities in recreation and leisure time activities;

-- petition for and receive all protections and remedies provided by
law;

-- information about and access to protection, assistance, and
representation independent of any state agency which provides
treatment, education, other services, or habitation;

- a qualified, involved guardian or conservator, or both, when
required to protect their personal well-being and interest;

= assume responsibility for their own lives, make decisions and
solve their own problems to the maximum extent possible;

-- a decent standard of living;

- hold a competitive job, perform productive work, and engage in
other meaningful occupations to the fullest possible extent of
their capacities;
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-- receive equitable pay and benefits for their labor;

-- be informed of the rights afforded them through this act in the
manner most understandable by them;

- a comprehensive diagnosis and evaluation adapted to the cultural
background, primary language, including American sign language,
and ethnic origin of the person; and

-- reevaluation and review of the individual treatment, habilitation
and program plan to assure progress, modify objectives if needed,
and to provide guidance and remediation techniques.

The bill would define a disabled person as any person with a physical,
developmental, mental or emotional impairment which would substantially limit
one or more major life activities such as learning, communication, mobility,
self-care, socialization, employment, housing, and recreation. This would include
any individual who is so limited as a result of having a record of such an
impairment or being regarded as having such an impairment. Major areas of
disability include, but are not limited to vision, hearing, sensory, mobility,
respiratory, and mental impairments; mental illness; learning disabilities; deafness;
head trauma; chronic, disabling, life threatening, terminal illness; intractable
pain; job related injuries; aging; epilepsy and substance abuse.

H.B. 2571 -- Elimination of Exclusive
Franchises of Alcoholic

Liquor Distributors

The bill would eliminate the requirement that liquor wholesalers dis-
tribute products only within their franchised territory.  Under current law, liquor
wholesalers contract with suppliers to distribute their brands of liquor or cereal
malt beverage to retailers in a specific geographic area.

The act would take effect upon publication in the statute book.

The Senate Committee on Federal and State Affairs requested an
interim study of the liquor franchise system, but the study was not approved by
the LCC.

H.B. 2621 -- Parimutuel, Organization
by the State or a Political

Subdivision

The act would amend the Parimutuel Racing Act by including among
the organizations that could be licensed to conduct horse or greyhound races,
nonprofit corporations established by the state or by a political subdivision of
the state. The current law does not specifically mention nonprofit corporations
established by the state or its subdivisions.

The act would take effect upon publication in the statute book.
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S.B. 86 -- Requiring Reports Concerning
the Terminations of Pregnancy

The bill would amend K.S.A. 65-445, a statute that currently requires
hospitals to report annually certain information relating to pregnancies which are
lawfully terminated within the hospital. The bill would require that all medical
care facilities and persons licensed to practice medicine and surgery keep records

of the termination of pregnancies and submit a report thereon to the Secretary
of Health and Environment.

The bill also adds new confidentiality provisions to existing law. The
Committee amendments would make information received by the Secretary of
Health and Environment under the provisions of the bill confidential. Further,
such information could be used for statistical purposes only. Any statistical
information would be required to be presented in such a manner as not to
identify any individual, any medical care facility, or any other medical facility,
either directly or indirectly.

S.B. 95 -- Veterans' Preference for
Veterans Retiring after 20
Years of Service

The bill would amend existing law regarding veterans’ preference in
hiring for state civil service employment. The current law excludes from the
definition of veterans persons who voluntarily retired from the military with 20
or more years of active service. The bill would include those persons in the
-definition of veteran covered by the law.

S.B. 96 -- Open Records Act

As amended by the Senate Committee on Governmental Organization,
the bill would permit the Director of Vehicles, Department of Revenue, to sell
title and registration records containing motor vehicle owners’ names and
addresses to any requesting party. The Senate Committee amendments would
permit the sale of motor vehicle title and registration lists, but owners couid
request their names and addresses not be provided.

Current statutes allow the Director to provide records to motor
vehicle manufacturers and insurance companies or their representatives for
statutorily defined purposes. Lists of names and addresses derived from motor
vehicle records cannot be sold or used for commercial purposes.

S.B. 129 -- Alcoholic Beverages, Wholesaler
or Distributor Bond, Guests

As introduced, the bill would eliminate the existing requirement that
applicants for licensure as cereal malt beverage wholesalers or distributors
present a $1,000 bond at the time of application. The bill would also eliminate
the requirement that guests of private club members be "bona fide." The Senate
Committee amended the bill to also remove the bonding requirement for liquor
wholesalers and distributors. The Senate further amended the bill on final
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action. Many of the statutes included in the latter amendments were subse-
quently amended in 1987 Sub. S.B. 141.

1987 Sub. S.B. 141 did not remove the $1,000 bond requirement for
Cereal Malt Beverage wholesalers, but did remove the requirement that guests of
private club members be "bona fide."

S.B. 283 -- Real Estate Brokers'
and Salespersons’ License Act

The bill would amend five of the statutes that comprise the Real
Estate Brokers and Salespersons’ License Act. The amendments would delete
from the definition of broker in K.S.A. 58-3035 persons who assist in or direct
the arrangement for mortgage financing on real estate while not acting in the
capacity of a mortgagee or mortgagee’s agent. K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 58-3039 would
be amended to require an applicant for a broker or salesperson's license to pay
both an application and a license fee at the time of application.

The bill would also amend K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 58-3050 to give the
Kansas Real Estate Commission authority to impose a civil penalty on a licensee
either in lieu of any other administrative, civil, or criminal remedy or in addition
to such other penalty. Further amendments to the statute would restrict the
commencement of a complaint alleging a violation of the act to one year after
the conclusion of litigation involving the occurrence giving rise to the complaint.
The bill also authorizes the Commission to proceed against a licensee under
emergency adjudication proceedings provided for in the Kansas Administrative
Procedures Act if a licensee has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to
or has been convicted of any felony charge. New provisions that would be
added to the statute by the bill concern situations in which the name of an
individual whose license has been revoked is included in the business name of a
real estate brokerage. The Commission is authorized to deny continued use of
the name in certain circumstances.

The bill would amend K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 58-3063 to add seven new fees
to those the Commission is authorized to collect. The Commission would also be
directed, through amendments to K.S.A. 1986 Supp. 58-3074, to remit to the State
Treasurer civil penalties collected pursuant to new authority granted by the bill.

The bill was requested by the Kansas Real Estate Commission. The
authority to impose civil penalties added to the bill by amendment was also re-
quested by the Commission.

The act would take effect upon publication in the statute book.
S.B. 307 -- Exemption of Security Matters

from Open Meetings Law
(see H.B. 2099 above)
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S.B. 352 -- Qualifications for
Alcoholic Beverage Licenses

As introduced, the bill would implement a number of recommendations
made by the Liquor Law Review Commission. Many of the changes to existing
law that would have been made by the bill were incorporated into Sub. S.B. 141.

The following amendments to existing law would be made by the bill and were
not included in Sub. S.B. 141:

= elimination of the provision that allows felons or persons
convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude, drunkenness, DUI,
or any other liquor law of any state to be granted a cereal malt
beverage (CMB) license if they were convicted two or more years
prior to making application for the license;

= elimination of the county residency requirement for retail liquor
dealers, farm winery operators and CMB licensees:;

= elimination of the five-year residency requirement for beer
distributors;

- remove moral turpitude from the list of crimes that would
prevent a person from being granted a license; and

- remove the requirement that persons granted CMB licenses must
be of good character and reputation in the community.

The act would take effect upon publication in the statute book.

© S.B. 353 -- Division of Alcoholic Beverage

Control; Residency. Contlict
of Interest

The provisions of the bill were'substantially included in Sub. S.B. 141.

S.B. 355 -- Cereal Malt Beverage Retailers’
Licenses, State Stamp

As introduced, the bill would have required applicants for local CMB
retailers’ licenses to submit a copy of the completed license application to the
ABC for approval. A fee of $25 would have been required for each application.
If the Director of the ABC approved issuance or renewal of the license, a state
stamp would have been placed upon the license. A license could not have been
issued or renewed without a state stamp.

The Senate Committee on Federal and State Affairs amended the bill

to remove the requirement that the ABC approve the license prior to authorizing
the state stamp.

Sub. S.B. 141 essentially included the provisions of the bill as amended
by the Senate Committee effective January 1, 1988. :
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S.B. 366 -- Classes of Felonies
and Terms of Imprisonment

The bill was recommended for passage by the House Judiciary Commit-
tee, withdrawn from the calendar, and referred to this Committee.

The bill would delete language regarding the minimum sentence for
class E felonies as a clarification of what the term of the minimum sentence may
be.

The bill was supported by the Department of Corrections. A spokes-
man noted that some courts have interpreted the language being deleted to allow
them to set a minimum sentence limited only by the overall maximum term.

Prior to 1982, the statute provided that the minimum term for a class
E felony "shall be one (1) year." In 1982, the statute was amended to provide for
a minimum term of "not less than one year nor more than two years." In 1984,
when minimum terms for D and E offenses were "rolled back" to 1982 levels, the
two-year minimum for E felonies was removed. However, the language about the
court setting a term at not less than one year was left in the statute causing
some confusion.

The bill would take effect upon publication in the statue book.
S.B. 368 -- Secretary of Corrections’ Control

of State-Owned Grounds Used by
Correctional Institutions

The bill would place the care, management, and control of all
state-owned buildings and grounds used as correctional institutions and the
operation of the state surplus property program with the Department of Correc-
tions. The bill was amended by the Senate Committee on Federal and State
Affairs to specifically exclude state hospitals where inmates are housed.

The act would be effective upon publication in the statute book.
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