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Date

MINUTES OF THE _SENATE  COMMITTEE ON IRANSPORTATTON AND UTILITIES

The meeting was called to order by Sen. Bill Morris at
Chairperson

9:02  am./peaxon January 30 , 1990 in room _254-E  of the Capito’

All members were present zexcert: .

Committee staff present:

Ben Barrett, Legislative Research Department
Bruce Kinzie, Revisor of Statutes

Louise Cunningham, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Mark Wettig, Special Assistant to the Secretary of Revenue
Pam Somerville, Kansas Department of Transportation

Tom Whitaker, Kansas Motor Carriers Association

Jerel Wright, Kansas Credit Unions

Hearing on S.B. 481 - Increasing fee for duplicate registration receipt.

Mark Wettig said this bill would increase the fee for a duplicate
registration receipt from $.50 to $2.00. The actual cost to replace
a lost or destroyed registration is $2.00 and the Department feels
it should be passed on to the actual user. A copy of his statement
is attached. (Attachment 1).

Hearing on S.B. 483 - Taxation of motor fuels; payment, penalty.

Mark Wettig said this bill would reinstate the exemption from
the motor vehicle fuel tax on the first sale from a refinery, pipeline
terminal or tank farm to a duly licensed distributor. This was
inadvertently eliminated in 1985 when the Department deleted subsection
(e) of K.S.A. 79-3408 in order to eliminate the "daisy chain" effect
of tax free transfers of motor fuel from one licensed distributor to
another because of the potential for tax evasion and the difficulty
in tracing these tax free sales from one distributor to another. They
have made their intentions clear to all licensed distributors but they
must have legislative action if they want to continue to allow the

"tax free" transfer. He had an amendment to S.B. 483 on page 2, line
13 to add the words "who in turn resells to another duly licensed
distributor.” A copy of his statement along with the amendment is
attached. (Attachment 2).

Pam Somerville, KDOT, said they would support the bill with the
amendment. A copy of her statement is attached. (Attachment 3).

Tom Whitaker, KMC, said they were opposed to the increase in the
penalty from 5% to 10%. They feel that after supporting the
comprehensive highway program the statutory penalty provisions are
sufficient, coupled with the overall tax increases they are paying.
They would support the bill providing the penalties for delinguent
fuel taxes remain at %. A copy of his statement is attached.
(Attachment 4).

A motion was made by Sen. Rock to amend the bill on page 2, line
13 after the word distributor, by inserting "who in turn resells to
another duly licensed distributor". Motion was seconded by Sen. Hayden.
Motion carried.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not
been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for
editing or corrections.
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CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE __SENATE COMMITTEE ON _TRANSPORTATION AND UTILITIES

room _254-F Statehouse, at _9:02  am /%% on January 30

A motion was made by Sen. Hayden to recommend S.B. 483 as amended,
favorably for passage. Motion was seconded by Sen. Rock.

A substitute motion was made by Sen. Francisco to strike the 10%

penalty and insert a 5% penalty. Motion was seconded by Sen. Martin.

After discussion on the subject the committee decided to get an
estimate of the cost involved here before voting on the bill.

Action on S.B. 486 - Brokers

Mike Grogan, Executive Director of Wichita New Car Dealers
Association, had an amendment which would take care of the resale of
used R.V.'s. This had been discussed in a previous meeting. A copy
of the proposed amendment is attached. (Attachment 5).

A motion was made by Sen. Rock to adopt the proposed amendment.

Motion was seconded by Sen. Sallee. Motion carried.

Jerel Wright, Kansas Credit Union League, said there are some
credit unions that are working with brokers to help individual members
get a lower price on a motor vehicle without the worry of negotiating
the price. They oppose S.B. 486 because it would prohibit bringing

buyers and sellers together. This would eliminate one of the ways
that credit unions can be of service to their members. A copy of his
statement is attached. (Attachment 6).

A motion was made by Sen. Francisco to recommend S.B. 486 as

amended, favorably for passage. Motion was seconded by Sen. Hayden.

Motion carried.

On a motion from Sen. Thiessen and a second from Sen. Francisco

the Minutes of January 24 and 25 were approved.

Meeting was adjourned at 10:00 a.m.
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MEMORANDUM

TO: The Honorable Bill Morris, Chairman
Senate Transportation and Utilities

FROM: Mark E. Wettig
Special Assistant to the Secretary of Revenue

DATE: January 29, 1990

SUBJECT: Senate Bill 481

I appreciate the opportunity to appear before you today in support
of legislation requested by the Department of Revenue. Senate Bill
481 is the result of a Department recommendation to increase the fee
for a duplicate registration receipt from $.50 to $2.00.

BACKGROUND

A duplicate registration is issued upon request of a vehicle owner
when the original registration has been lost or destroyed. This past
summer the Department did an intensive internal audit of fees which
have not been raised for some time, to determine if such fees fell
short of the Department's actual costs for the service rendered. The
auditors determined that the actual cost (processing, mailing, ect.) to
produce a duplicate registration is $2.00.

RECOMMENDATION

The Department feels that the duplicate registration fee is a "user
fee" and as such should be passed on to the actual user. The

Department of Revenue urges the committee's support of Senate Bill
481.

Thank you.

ATT. 1
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MEMORANDUM

TO: The Honorable Bill Morris, Chairman

Senate Transportation and Utilities
FROM: Mark E. Wettig

Special Assistant to the Secretary of Revenue
DATE: January 30, 1990

SUBJECT: Senate Bill 483

I appreciate the opportunity to appear before you today in support

of legislation requested by the Department of Revenue. Senate Bill
483 is the result of Department recommendations in the fuel tax
area.

BACKGROUND

Senate Bill 483 has several effects:

I.

It reinstates the exemption from the motor vehicle fuel tax on the
first sale from a refinery, pipeline terminal or tank farm to a duly
licensed distributor. In 1985, the Department deleted subsection
(e) of K.S.A. 79-3408 in order to eliminate the "daisy chain" effect
of tax free transfers of motor fuel from one licensed distributor to
another because of the potential for tax evasion and the difficulty
in tracing these tax free sales from one distributor to another. By
eliminating this section, the Department inadvertently eliminated
the exemption that allowed the major oil companies at the
refineries, pipeline and terminals to sell "tax-free" to the first
licensed distributor. Because of the 1985 change, 79-3408
technically requires all major oil companies at the refineries,
pipeline and terminals to collect the tax from the first licensed
distributor who purchases or actually takes delivery of the fuel.
This has become an issue because the Department assured
lawmakers that by eliminating 79-3408(e)(1) in 1985, the
Department did not intend to eliminate the ex-tax sale of motor
fuel to distributors on the first sale from terminals and refineries.
ATT. 2
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Because of continued concern over this matter, the Department
sent out a letter to all licensed distributors, refineries and
terminals stating that our intention was not to eliminate this
provision, and that until we could implement legislation to correct
this, the Department's policy is that the licensed distributor or
importer that is shown on the manifest (bill of lading) as
purchasing or actually taking delivery of the fuel as it leaves the
refinery, pipeline or terminal, are the ones responsible for paying
the motor vehicle fuel tax. So far, this policy opinion has worked.
However, the law technically does not allow our position, so the
Department must request legislative action if we want to continue
to allow the "tax free" transfer. The Department would like to
propose the attached amendment to insure the intent is clear.

2. It increases the penalty rate from 5% to 10% on delinquent motor
fuel tax, special fuel tax, liquified petroleum motor fuel tax, and
interstate motor fuel tax in order to bring the penalty.into
conformity with all other taxes.

3. It adds a provision in the special fuel, L.P. motor fuel and
interstate motor fuel tax acts for the Director of Taxation, when
mutually agreed by the Department and the taxpayer, to extend
the statute of limitations for assessing additional tax or filing a
refund claim.

This provision is currently in place for both income tax and sales and
use tax.

RECOMMENDATION

The Department asks for the committee's support of Senate Bill 483.

Thank you.
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AMENDMENT

SB 483

(2) The sale or delivery of motor-vehicle fuel to the United States

of America and such of its agencies as are now or hereafter exempt
by law from liability to state taxation.

(3) The sale or delivery of motor-vehicle fuel to a contractor for
use in performing work for the United States or those agencies of
the United States above mentioned, provided such contractor has
in effect with the United States or any such agency a cost-plus-a-
fixed-fee contract covering the work.

(4) The sale or delivery of motor-vehicle fuel which is aviation
fuel.

(5) The first sale or delivery of motor-vehicle fuel from a refinery,
pipeline terminal, pipeline tank farm or other place to a duly licensed
distributors

(e) Each distributor, manufacturer or importer shall make full
reports and furnish such further information as the director may
require with reference to all transactions upon which no tax is to
be paid.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 79-3410 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3410. Except as hereinafter provided, every distributor, manu-
facturer or importer of motor-vehicle fuels shall, on or before the
ewentyfifth 25th day of each month, render to the director at the
director’s office in Topeka, Kansas, upon a form prescribed, prepared
and furnished by the director a report certified to be true and correct
showing the number of gallons of motor-vehicle fuels received by
such distributor, manufacturer or importer during the preceding
calendar month, and such further information as the director shall
require. Every distributor, manufacturer or importer within the time
herein fixed for the rendering of such reports, shall compute and
shall pay to the director at the director’s office the amount of taxes
due to the state on all motor-vehicle fuels received by such distrib-
utor, manufacturer or importer during the preceding calendar month.

The director may waive the requirement for monthly reports from
licensed manufacturers, who are also licensed distributors, when all
taxes acerued under either or both licenses or which might accrue
are paid under the distributor license. All taxes imposed under the
provisions of this act not paid ws eferesaid on or before the bwenty-
£l 25th day of the month succceding the calendar month in which
the motor-vehicle fuels were received by the distributor, manufac-
turer or importer shall be deemed delinquent and shall bear interest
at the rate per month, or fraction thereof, prescribed by KA 79-
20684} subsection (a) of K.S.A. 79-2968, and amendments thereto,
from such due date until paid, and in addition thereto there is hereby

imposed upon all amounts of such taxes remaining due and unpaid

who in turn resells
to another duly
licensed
distributor.
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STATE OF KANSAS

KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Docking State Office Building
Topeka 66612-1568
(913) 296-3566

Horace B. Edwards Mike Hayden
Secretary of Transportation Governor of Kansas

JANUARY 30, 1990

MEMORANDUM TO: SENATE TRANSPORTATION AND UTILITIES COMMITTEE
FROM: KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
REGARDING: SB 483 COLLECTION OF MOTOR FUEL TAXES

CHAIRMAN AND MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE:

The provisions of Senate Bill 483 are intended to exempt

certain transactions by refineries, pipeline terminals, and pipeline

tank farms from requiring these entities to be tax remitting

agents for the motor fuel taxes.

The collection of motor fuel taxes by the state is initiated by
the first receipt of the motor fuel by distributors, mahufacturers
and importers in the chain of transactions resulting in purchase by

the actual consumer.
ATT., 3
T&U
1-30-90



Senate Transportation and Utilities Committee
January 30, 1990
Page 2

The bill as currently drafted would exempt a significant
portion of the gallonage from being taxed by eliminating the first
sale to distributors from refineries, pipeline terminals and
pipeline tank farms. The elimination of this gallonage from tax
could significantly reduce the current motor fuel tax collections by

up to $190 million in FY 1991.

The Department of Revenue has indicated their intention to
provide the committee with language to amend the bill. The

following language is being proposed to be inserted at line 13, page

2:

...distributor, who in turn resells to another duly licensed distributor

Unless such language is included in the bill, the Department of

Transportation respectfully opposes the passage of SB 483.



STATEMENT
By The
KANSAS MOTOR CARRIERS ASSOCIATION

Presented to the Senate Transportation & Utilities
Committee; Senator Bill Morris, Chairman; Statehouse,
Topekal, Tuesday, January 30519908

Concerning Senate Bill No. 483, relating to the
payment of motor fuel taxes.

MR. CHAIRMAN AND MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE:

I am Tom Whitaker, Governmental Relations Director of the Kansas
Motor Carriers Association with offices in Topeka. I appear here this
morning representing our 1,525 member-firms and the highway transporta-
tion industry to express our concerns with the penalty ﬁrovisions of
Senate Bill No. 483.

Senate Bill No. 483 increases the penalty for failure to pay the
taxes on motor vehicle fuel, special fuel and LP-gas from 57 to 107%.
While this may appear on the surface to be a small increase, we would
point out to the Committee that the penalty is assessed against the

total delinquent tax and interest, as provided in subsection (a) of

K.S.A. 79-2968, that accrues at a rate of one and one-half percent

per month (187 annual interest).

During the 1989 session of the Kansas Legislature, this industry
supported the comprehensive highway program that became law July 1,
1989. As one of the funding components of this legislation, the tax
on all fuels was increased 4 cents on July 1, 1989, and will increase
another 1 cent-per-gallon per year in 1990, 1991, and 1992. Cuggﬁntﬁy,

T&U
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the state tax rate on diesel fuel is 17 cents-per-gallon combined with
a federal diesel fuel tax of 15 cents—per-gallon.for a total state and
federal tax of 32 cents-per-gallon.

We feel that the present statﬁtory penalty provisions are sufficient,
coupled with the overall tax increases we are paying. We strongly
resist any increase in the penalties currently authorized. The Kansas
Motor Carriers Association will support the provisions of Senate Bill
No. 483 provided the penalties tiorid ellfiing et AU B E e S Mide maul NS Vs

We thank you for the opportunity to appear before you today,

and would be pleased to respond to any questions you may have.
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SENATE TRANSPORTATION & UTILITIES

Changes in Legislative Language
Senate Bill 486

(v) On and after the effective date of this act, no person

shall act as a broker in the advertising, buying of_sellinq of

any new or used motor vehicle. Nothing herein shail be

construed to prohibit a person duly licensed under the

s

requirements of this act from acting as a broker in buving or

selling the following: (1) a mobile home or manufactured home;

or (2) a recreational vehicle as defined by K.S.A. 75-1212(£f),

and amendments thereto, when the recreational vehicle subject

to sale or purchase is a used recreational vehicle which has

been previously titled and independently owned by another

person for a period of 45 days or more, or is a new or used

recreational vehicle repossessed by a creditor holding security

in such vehicle.

ATT. 5
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TESTIMONY ON S.B. 485
AN ACT concerning fees for filing of security interests
Presented to the
SENATE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION AND UTILITIES
January 31, 1990
by the

KANSAS CREDIT UNION LEAGUE

Mr. Chairman, members of the Committee:

I am Jerel Wright, Governmental Affairs Director for the Kansas
Credit Union League (KCUL). Our association represents 98% of the
147 state-chartered and 42 federally-chartered credit unions
located in Kansas. KCUL member credit unions serve the personal
financial needs of over 500,000 individual credit union members and
have over $1.5 billion in combined assets. Kansas credit unions

range in asset size from $29,000 to $114 million and range in

membership size from 58 to 43,000 members.

CREDIT UNIONS SUPPORT SB 485

As part of a loan transaction involving the use of a motor vehicle
as collateral, every credit union routinely files a security
interest in the motor vehicle. The security interest of the

lienholder (credit union) is perfected by registering the credit

union's lien on the title.

This can be done either by having the owner place the credit

union's lien on the title when the car is registered with the aTT. 6

T&U
county motor vehicles department or the credit union may, within

1-30-90



10 days of the sale and delivery of the vehicle, mail or deliver
the notice of security interest, to the Kansas Division of Motor
Vehicles. The division will then register the lien when the title

application is received from the county.

In either case, the credit union has no written verification of
their lien which the Kansas State Department of Credit Unions (the
regulatory agency for all 147 state-chartered credit unions in
Kansas) requires to be in loan files in order to show that the
credit union has a perfected security interest in a specific

vehicle.

The new language on page 4, lines 29, 30 and 31 indicates that each
county can provide a copy of the title application to the

lienholder (credit union). This change will help solve the credit
union's problem by having the county provide the written proof of
lien to the credit union. For this reason, we support passage of

SB 485.

Thank you, Mr. Chairman, for considering our comments. I am

available for questions at your convenience.



