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MINUTES OF THE _SENATE _ COMMITTEE ON _TRANSPORTATION AND UTILITIES

The meeting was called to order by Sen. Bill Morris

Chairperson

at

9:02  am./mm. on January 31 , 1990 in room _254=E _ of the Capitol.

All members were present eggept: .

Committee staff present:

Ben Barrett, Legislative Research Department
Bruce Kinzie, Revisor of Statutes
Louise Cunningham, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Mark Wettig, Department of Revenue

Jerel Wright, Kansas Credit Union League

Chuck Stones, Kansas Bankers Association

Steve Wiechman, Kansas Automotive Dismantlers and Recyclers Association
Pat Wiechman, Kansas Automotive Dismantlers and Recyclers Association

Mark Wettig had the figure the committee had requested for S.B.
483 regarding penalties collected. He said last year $56,000 had
been collected with the penalty at 5%. The computer would be able
to handle the 5% penalty without serious problems.

Hearing on S.B. 485 - Increasing fees for filing security interest
in motor vehicles.

Mark Wettig said the actual cost to process a Notice of Security
Interest by a secured party 1is $2.50 and the bill also contains
provisions for the banking industries to obtain needed information
in order to satisfy federal banking regulators. A copy of his
statement is attached. (Attachment 1).

Jerel Wright said they support the bill because it would solve
the credit union's problem by having the county provide the written
proof of 1lien to the credit wunion. A copy of his statement is
attached. (Attachment 2).

Chuck Stones said the banking industry needs a solution to this
problem because lien holders are not getting enough information.
Some liens are falling through the cracks. They met with the
Department of Revenue and this bill would solve the problem. They
support it.

A motion was made by Sen. Francisco to amend S.B. 485 by inserting

on page 4, 1line 29 after "delivery ." the sentence "The county
treasurers shall mail a copy of the title application to the
lienholder. Motion was seconded by Sen. Thiessen. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Sen. F. Kerr to recommend S.B. 485 as

amended, favorably for passage. Motion was seconded by Sen. Sallee.
Motion carried. S.B. 485 will be carried by Sen. Doyen.

Hearing and Action on S.B. 482 - Salvage vehicle dealers, place of
business.

Steve Wiechman said this bill was requested because presently
salvage dealers that desire to sell used vehicles at retail must have

both a used and salvage license. This 1is administratively efficient
but there is a great deal of confusion for everyone and the possibility
of abuse exists. This bill would clean up the language. He also

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not

been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for
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asked that all who are in the salvage business should contribute
to the workers compensation fund so all salvage dealers would be
playing on the same turf. A copy of his statement is attached.
(Attachment 3).

He was asked who would object to this bill and he said he knew
of no one. This would not affect the parts stores.

Mark Wettig said they oppose S.B. 482 because he felt this should
be handled by the Worker's Compensation Administrator. A copy of
his statement is attached. (Attachment 4).

A motion was made by Sen. Rock to strike on page 5, line 38,
the portion beginning with "In addition", and ending on page 6, line
5 with the word "license". Motion was seconded by Sen. Francisco.
Motion carried.

A motion was made by Sen. Rock to recommend S.B. 482 as amended,
favorably for passage. Motion carried. S.B. 482 will be carried
by Sen. Morris.

The Chairman suggested that this committee might request a study
to insure that those that should have Workman's Compensation do have
it.

Hearing on S.B. 531 - Transfer certificates for salvage vehicles.

Pat Wiechman said this bill would address the problem of Ijunk
vehicles being disposed of on city streets, county roads, in pastures
and backyards. A copy of her statement is attached. (Attachment
5).

Mark Wettig said they were opposed to the bill but with the
amendments suggested in Pat Wiechman's statement there would be no
problem with the bill.

Harold Turntine, Vehicle Services Administrator, said this bill
would be a big help to them.

A motion was made by Sen. Francisco to amend the bill on page
1l with the amendments proposed by Ms. Wiechman in her statement.
Motion was seconded by Sen. Hayden. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Sen. Francisco and was seconded by Sen.
Hayden to recommend S.B. 531 as amended, favorably for passage. Motion
carried. Sen. Francisco will carry the bill.

Action on S.B. 483 - Taxation of motor fuels, payment, penalty.

A motion was made by Sen. Martin to recommend S.B. 483, as amended
to include the 5% penalty, favorably for passage. Motion was seconded
by Sen. Rock. Motion carried. Sen. Martin will carry the bill.

Action on S.B. 481 - Increasing fee for duplicate registration receipt.

A motion was made by Sen. Rock and was seconded by Sen. Vidricksen
to recommend S.B. 481 favorably for passage. Motion carried. Sen.
Vidricksen will carry the bill.

Meeting was adjourned at 10:00 a.m.
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MEMORANDUM

TO: The Honorable Bill Morris, Chairman
Senate Transportation and Utilities

FROM: Mark E. Wettig
Special Assistant to the Secretary of Revenue

DATE: January 31, 1990

SUBJECT: Senate Bill 485

[ appreciate the opportunity to appear before you today in support
of legislation requested by the Department of Revenue. Senate Bill
485 is the result of a Department recommendation concerning Notice
of Security Interest fees.

BACKGROUND

The current fee for the filing of a Notice of Security Interest by a
secured party is $1.50. This summer the Department did an
intensive internal audit of all user fees which have not been changed
for some time, to determine if such fees fell short of the

Department's actual costs for the services rendered. The auditors
determined that the actual cost to process the NSI filing is $2.50. The
current fee has not been raised since 1979.

The bill also contains provisions for County Treasurers to charge a
$1.00 fee to mail a copy of the title application to the lienholder.
This was instituted due to the banking industries feeling that they
needed this information in their loan files in order to satisfy federal
banking regulators. In order to clarify that the provision is
mandatory, the Department would suggest the attached amendment.

RECOMMENDATION

The Department urges the committee to support Senate Bill 485.

ATT.1
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for registration, except that no application for registration shall be
required for a mobile home or travel trailer used for living quarters
and not operated on the highways.

(4) The fee for each original certificate of title shall be $8:00
until January 1 1090 and $3.50 thereafter, in addition to the fee
for registration of such vehicle, trailer or semitrailer. The certificate -
of title shall be good for the life of the vehicle, trailer or semitrailer
while owned or held by the original holder of the certificate of title.

(5) Upon sale and delivery to the purchaser of every vehicle
subject to a purchase money security interest as defined in K.S.A.
84-9-107, and amendments thereto, the dealer or secured party may
complete a notice of security interest and when so completed, the
purchaser shall execute the notice, in a form prescribed by the
division, describing the vehicle and showing the name and address
of the secured party and of the debtor and other information the
division requires. The dealer or secured party may, within 10 days
of the sale and delivery, mail or deliver the notice of security interest,
together with a fee of $1:50 $2.50, to the division. The notice of
security interest shall be retained by the division until it receives
an application for a certificate of title to the vehicle and a certificate
of title is issued. The certificate of title shall indicate any security
interest in the vehicle. Upon issuance of the certificate of title, the
division shall mail or deliver confirmation of the receipt of the notice
of security interest, the date the certificate of title is issued and the
security interest indicated, to the secured party at the address shown
on the notice of security interest. The proper completion and timely
mailing or delivery of a notice of security interest by a dealer or
secured pal ty shall pelfect a securlty interest in the vehicle deser 1bed

wriea.
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charge a $1.00 service fee for processing and mailing a copy of the
title application to the lienholder.

(6) It shall be unlawful for any person to operate in this state a
vehicle required to be registered under this act, or to transfer the
title to any such vehicle to any person or dealer, unless a certificate
of title has been issued as herein provided. In the event of a sale
or transfer of ownership of a vehicle for which a certificate of title .
has been issued, which certificate of title is in the possession of the
transferor at the time of delivery of the vehicle, the holder of such
certificate of title shall endorse on the same an assignment thereof,
with warranty of title in a form prescribed by the division and printed
thereon and the transferor shall deliver the same to the buyer at

the time of delivery to the buyer of the vehicle or at a time agreed &

upon by the parties, not to exceed 30 days, inclusive of weekends

Ne s~

The county treasurers shall
mail a copy of the title

application to the lienholder.




TESTIMONY ON S.B. 485
AN ACT concerning fees for filing of security interests
Presented to the
SENATE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION AND UTILITIES
January 31, 1990
by the

KANSAS CREDIT UNION LEAGUE

Mr. Chairman, members of the Committee:

I am Jerel Wright, Governmental Affairs Director for the Kansas
Credit Union League (KCUL). Our association represents 98% of the
147 state-chartered and 42 federally-chartered credit unions
located in Kansas. KCUL member credit unions serve the personal
financial needs of over 500,000 individual credit union members and
have over $1.5 billion in combined assets. Kansas credit unions
range in asset size from $29,000 to $114 million and range in

membership size from 58 to 43,000 members.

CREDIT UNIONS SUPPORT SB 485

As part of a loan transaction involving the use of a motor vehicle
as collateral, every credit union routinely files a security
interest in the motor vehicle. The security interest of the

lienholder (credit union) is perfected by registering the credit

union's lien on the title.

This can be done either by having the owner place the credit
union's lien on the title when the car is registered with the

county motor vehicles department or the credit union may, within

ATT. 2
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10 days of the sale and delivery of the vehicle, mail or deliver
the notice of security interest, to the Kansas Division of Motor
Vehicles. The division will then register the lien when the title

application is received from the county.

In either case, the credit union has no written verification of
their lien which the Kansas State Department of Credit Unions (the
regulatory agency for all 147 state-chartered credit unions in
Kansas) requires to be in loan files in order to show that the
credit union has a perfected security interest in a specific

vehicle.

The new language on page 4, lines 29, 30 and 31 indicates that each
county can provide a copy of the title application to the

lienholder (credit union). This change will help solve the credit
union's problem by having the county provide the written proof of

lien to the credit union. For this reason, we support passage of

SB 485.

Thank you, Mr. Chairman, for considering our comments. I am

available for questions at your convenience.



and Recycler®
Associatio®

SENATE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION
AND UTILITIES

January 31, 1990
SENATE BILL NO. 482

Mr. Chairman, Members of the Committee:

I am Stevén R. Wiechman, general counsel for the
Kansas Automotive Dismantlers and Recyclers Association.

Senate Bill 482 is the result of our Association
working with the Division of Vehicles in an attempt to
address some clean up language to K.S.A. 8-2401.

By way of history, dating back to the years of the
Salvage Control Board, there was a transfer of duties from
the Department of Transportation to the Department of
Revenue. Cautious changes were made in an attempt to
protect the interest and needs of all parties. Prior to
the changes in 1986, there was a need for a separate

Salvage Dealer license. The language surrounding that
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license was .continued into the law changes. Presently,
those salvage dealers that desire_to sell used vehicles at
retail, must have both a used and salvage license. This is
issued as a combination Used and Salvage License. Although
administratively efficient, the result has been a great
deal of confusion for everyone and the possibility of abuse
was created and has been used.

As 1t now stands, anyone desiring to "beat the
system" can first obtain a used vehicle dealers license by
meeting the requirements for that license which include
certain zoning requirements. After the used license is in
place, the dealer is then in the position to check the
"Used and Salvage" designation on the renewal application.
While it is true that most counties and cities have special
zoning requirements for salvage operations, it is also true
that many of the local zoning approvals are>not checked
very closely on renewals, under the theory that they were
in business before and there is really no change, so it is

approved. As a result, the "Used and Salvage" license

g- 2



often gets issued to dealers that do not meet the zoning
requirements of the city or county for the salvage
industry. The counties and cities then have salvage
operations doing business in areas where they are not
approved to be. The problem is that it then creates a
Court battle and expense for local government. It also
creates a bad image for salvage dealers interested in
promoting the industry.

By simply removing the words "at wholesale” in
paragraph (gg) there 1s no longer a need for dual
licensing. Salvage dealers will be able to be salvage
dealers who can sell at wholesale or retail if they wish.
In essence, it will prevent the error and eliminate costs
and problems for cities, counties and the State and will
put the industry into a posturé for improvement through
better disclosure and control where needed.

The second part of SB 482 compliments the clean up
of the first part. In Paragraph (ii), we propose to add

additional requirements to the definition for an



established place of business for a salvage vehicle dealer,
This language is taken from recently passed Michigan law
and first came to our attention through a memorandum from
Department of Revenue. As you may know, Michigan has
experienced many problems in the areas of vehicle theft,
and the disposal of stolen parts and vehicles to "shade
tree" salvage operators. The proposed language clearly
indicates that if you are in the salvage business, you play
on the same turf as all salvage dealers. You must
contribute to the workers compensation costs equal with
other salvage dealers. Everyone will be treated the same
and it will contribute a fair share to the workers
compensation costs while establishing a standard that is
uniform for all.

To be fair and equal to all and to insure that no
one 1is excluded because they do not have to have the
insurance that is required under this law, it may be
desirable to add language to the effect that if you are a

sole proprietor without employees, and you have



affirmatively chosen not to carry workers compensation, the
requirements of this provision shall not aéply.

We believe this standard adopted by Michigan leaves
little room to bend and manipulate to meet the situation.
It is a fair and equal disclosure requirement that will
better regulate the industry and put ALL salvage dealers on
a equal basis.

KADRA requests your favorable passage of Senate Bill
482. 1If you have any questions, I will be happy to try to
address them.

Respectfully submitted,

Steven R, Wiechman
General Counsel



MEMORANDUM

TO: The Honorable Bill Morris, Chairman
Senate Transportation and Utilities

FROM: Mark E. Wettig
Special Assistant to the Secretary of Revenue

DATE: January 31, 1990

SUBJECT: Senate Bill 482

The Department of Revenue appears today in opposition to Senate
Bill 482.

BACKGROUND

If the intent of Senate Bill 482 is to insure that salvage dealers are
providing worker's compensation insurance coverage for their
employees, the Department would suggest that a simpler approach
would be for us to supply the Worker's Compensation Administrator
at the Department of Human Resources with a list of all vehicle
dealers (not just salvage) and let them handle their own area of
expertise in enforcing and administering the work comp laws.

Thank you.

ATT. 4
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and Recycler®
Association

“Serving Kansas thru Dismantling and Recycling”

SENATE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION
AND UTILITIES

January 31, 1990

Senate Bill No. 531

Mr. Chairman, Members of the Committee:

I am Pat Wiechman, executive secretary for the
Kansas Automotive Dismantlers and Recyclers Association.
Senate Bill 531 was requested by our Association in
| an attempt to address a long standing problem that is
growing by the minute, that of junk vehicles that have been
disposed of on city streets, on county roads, in pastures
and in back yards. Several of the inspectors for the
Department have expressed their concern for proper

documentation of ownership for these vehicles. In most

cases, these vehicles are at least ten model years or older

and the owners, if the owners can be found, have misplaced
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the titles and have no desire to exert time, effort or
money to obtain duplicate titles. Or, the owners may have
surrendered the title at some time as "JUNK" and another
title cannot be obtained. The result is that the owner
sells the vehicle without title to persons not licensed as
dealers or abandons the vehicle. There is an overwhelming
abundance of such vehicles clogging Kansas landscape with
no way to economically or expeditiously remedy the
situation. The attempt to_handle these vehicles, after the
owner abandons, 1s a costly burden to our cities and
counties. Additionally, the State continues to carry these
vehicles in the computer records. SB 531 is a simple
alternative to the "title hassel."

SB 531 would create a "transfer certificate" that
would be printed on "secure paper"™ and only be used to
transfer ownership of a motor vehicle ten or more model
years of age from the owner of the vehicle to a licensed
salvage vehicle dealer. When the transfer is completed it

would have the same affect as surrendering the title as

57 2



"Junk" and no subsequent title could ever be issued; and
the transfer certificate could not be used to transfer
ownership.

Additionally, through SB 531 the language in K.S.A.
8-135 and 8-198 concerning junk titles will be stricken and
new language added to the statute as new Section 2 to
address the junk title.

We have worked with the Department of Revenue,
Division of Vehicles, since last suﬁmer in an attempt to
address these problems. This week we were advised that the
Department’s legal staff and the highway patrol had some
problems with the bill as it was written. Our Association
has met with both and I have attached a bill balloon
incorporating the changes that we all believe will enhance
and make the law workable.

You will nofe that in the new subsection (d) the
division will issue the transfer certificate after the
division has verified ownership. If it is found that a

certificate of title can be issued, a duplicate title will



be forwarded to the dealer for proper handling. The last
part of that subsection addresses the possibility that the
vehicle has been sold by someone other than the person that
appears on the face of the title or the possibility that
the division has no record of the vehicle. In either case,
the salvage vehicle dealer would be granted a possessory
lien and the procedure would follow that has already been
established by statute for tow truck operators who have a
similar lien.

SB 531 also makes provision for the Department to
fund this effort by charging a fee not to exceed’that of an
original title fee for éach transfer certificate issued to
a salvage dealer.

KADRA requests your favorable passage of Senate Bill
531 with the proposed amendments. I will be happy to try
to answer any questions you may have.

Respectfully submitted,

Patricia M. Wiechman
Executive Secretary
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Sessivn of 1990

SENATE BILL No. 531

By Committee on Transportation and Utilities

1-22

AN ACT relating to motor vehicles; concerning salvage vehicles;
providing for a transfer certificate; amending K.S.A. 1989 Supp.
8-135 and 8-198 and repealing the existing sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

New Section 1. (a) A transfer certificate, which shall be of similar
qualities as a certificate of title and, notwithstanding any provision
of article 1 of chapter 8 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, shall only
be used to transfer ownership of a motor vehicle 10 or more model
years of age to any licensed salvage vehicle dealer, as defined in
K.S.A. 8-2401, and amendments thereto, when the owner thereof
does not have a certificate of title in the owner’s possession. Any
such transfer of ownership through a transfer certificate shall have
the same affect as surrendering of a title as salvage or junk and no
subsequent title shall be issued. _

(b) Any such vehicle transferred through the use of a transfer
certificate shall be dismantled, disassembled or recycled and may
not be sold as a unit at retail. Such unit may be sold as a unit by
the dealer to a scrap processor for recycling after the salvageable
parts have been removed. :

application for

(¢) Theltransfer certificate shall be in three parts. The licensed
salvage vehicle dealer shall complete the blank eertificatel/provided
by the division by completing all the information on the form. The
dealer, after verification of the identification of the owner or

. transferor, shall obtain the owner’s or transferor’s signature on the

application

. application for

[certificate of transfer. The original of the form shall be forwarded
to the director. The second copy of the certificate shall be retained
by the dealer. The third copy shall be given to the owner or
transferor.

(e) (d) Any current registration for the vehicle may be transferred

to an after-acquired vehicle by the owner or transferor in accordance
with the provisions of article 1 of chapter 8 of the Kansas Statutes
Annotated.

(f) () The director of vehicles may charge a fee not to exceed that

of an original title fee for each such form issued to a licensed salvage

(d) The division, upon receipt of the application for transfer certificate, shall verify ownership of
the vehicle and, thereafter, shall issue a certificate of transfer, as prescribed by the director of
vehicles, or a certificate of title. If the owner of the vehicle is other than the transferor, or in the
event that the vehicle has never been titled in the State of Kansas, the salvage vehicle dealer
shall be granted a possessory lien to the extent of any money, service, storage costs and actual
expenses incurred by the dealer for such vehicle. The lien shall be foreclosed in the manner
provided by Article 11, Chapter 8, within 60 days of the date of notification by the department.



