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MINUTES OF THE __HOUSE _ COMMITTEE ON __PUBLJIC HEALTH AND WELFARF

The meeting was called to order by Carol H. Sader . at
Chairperson

1:30 /4{Al/p.m. on January 24, 19.91in room 423=-S  of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Representative Theo Cribbs, excused absense

Committee staff present:

Emalene Correll, Research
Norman Furse, Revisor
Sue Hill, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Tom Hitchcock, Executive Secretary Kansas Board of Pharmacy
Mack Smith, Executive Secretary, Kansas Board of Mortuary Arts
Dr. Robert Harder, Secretary Department of SRS

Chair called meeting to order, inviting those present with bill requests
to begin.

Tom Hitchcock, Ks. Board of Pharmacy offered hand-outs, (Attachments No.

1,2,3, drafts of proposed legislation.

Mr. Hitchcock outlined in detail the requested changes, i.e., verbage changes;
renewal fee penalty changes; examination fee cap raised from $250 to $350

so increases can be implemented by regulation when needed. He detailed

other minor changes, then answered dquestions.

Chair entertained motions in regard to request. Rep. Neufeld moved this
committee introduce these requests as committee bills, seconded by Rep.

Flottman, motion carried.

Mr. Mack Smith, Executive Secretary, Kansas Board of Mortuary Arts explained

hand-outs, (Attachment No. 4), noting requested changes, i.e., to up-date

educational requirements; add verbage in regard to relicensing; add verbage
in present statutes in regard to "apprentice embalmers", relicensing; and
to increase maximum fee limitations. He answered questions. Chair enter-
tained motions in regard to this request. Rep. Amos moved to introduce
this request as a committee bill, seconded by Rep. Scott motion carried.

Chair then recognized Dr. Robert Harder.

Dr. Harder, Secretary of Department of SRS gave an informational presenta-
tion on the Department of SRS. (Attachment No. 5, outline of offices in
the Department. He detailed the proposed organizational chart. (Attach-
ment No. 6, Program Synopses outlined, i.e., administration; alcohol/drug

abuse services; cash assistance; medical assistance and services; KanWork;
mental health/retardation services; youth services; vocational rehabilitation
services; blind services; disability determination services. Dr. Harder
detailed Government recommendations on dollars spent, (Attachment No.7)

then outlined (Attachment No. 8), medicaid allocations per state; aid to
families with dependent children; general assistance funding by state; winter
and summer Low Income Energy Assistance Programs, (LIEAP).

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not
been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for

editing or corrections. Page __1_. Of _2__



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE __ HQIISE COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE

room 4235 Statehouse, at __1:30 _ #ph./p.m. on January 24, 19.91

Dr. Harder answered numerous questions throughout his presentation, i.e.,
yes, the number of patients who are veterans coming out of state institu-
tions into nursing home situations will increase; when a federal mandate
comes down, we must also put in a substantial amount of dollars to match;
ves, there is litigation approaching hearings state; Fed fighters are also
the group that knows about waivers, primarily in the Title 19 program and
ways to provide alternate care are formulated. If a waiver is obtained
the funding can be shifted to accommodate other social services.

Further responses to questions, i.e., yes, annual report is close to being
completed; yes, there is a working paper on the three mental retardation
centers that were studied, but it is not as yet complete; the results from
KanWork plan are not complete, however there is a draft prepared. It is
still too early to reach a comprehensive conclusion. We have put many people
to work in KanWork.

Emalene Correll, Research then gave a briefing on Interim study report.
Proposal No. 34 was requested by an individual member of the Senate. There
was no formal written request. A number of these issues listed are far-

reaching so the Legislative Coordinating Council recommended the Judicial
Council be instructed to handle a complicated issue. It appears then reports
will come down at a later time from this Judicial Committee.

Proposal No. 45, came about when Congresswoman Jan Meyers discussed her
concerns about low level radio active by-product materials with the Special
Committee on Public Health and Welfare. Ms. Correll outlined this proposal
to committee.

Chair noted agenda for meeting on Monday, January 28th. There will be two
final Interim Report briefings; bill requests; hearings on HB 2017.

Chair adjourned meeting at 3:02 p.m.

Page _2 _of _2
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65-1637. Pharmacist required to be in charge of pharnmacy;
compounding and filling of prescriptions; brand exhcange;
refilling prescriptions. 1In every store, shcp or other place
defined in this act as a "pharmacy" there shall be a pharmacist
in charge and the compounding and putting up of prescriptions
shall be limited to pharmacists only. Except as otherwise
provided by the pharmacy act of this state, when a pharmacist is
not in attendance at & pharmacy, the premises shall be enclosed
and secured. Prescription orders may be written, oral or
telephonic. Blank forms for written prescription orders may
have two signature lines. The first signature line shall state:
"Dispense as written ." The second signature line shall
state: ‘"Brand exchange permissible ." Prescriptions
shall only be filled or refilled in accordance with the
following reguirements:

(a) All prescriptions shall be filled in strict conformity
with any directions of the prescriber, except that a pharmacist
who receives a prescription order for a brand name drug product
may exercise brand exchange with a view toward achieving a
lesser cost to the purchaser unless:

(1) The prescriber, in the case of prescription signed by
the prescriber and written on a blank form containing two
signature lines, signs the first signature line following the
statement "dispense as written ;' or

(2) the prescriber, in the case of a prescription signed by




the prescriber, writes in the prescriber's own handwriting
"dispense as written" on the prescription, or

(3) the prescriber, in the case of a prescription other
than one in writing signed by the prescriber, expressly
indicates the prescription is to be dispensed as communicated,
or

(4) the federal food and drug administration has determined
that a drug product of the same generic name is not
bioceguivalent to the prescribed brand name prescription
medication.

(b) Prescription orders shall be recorded in writing by the
pharmacist and the record so made by the pharmacist shall
constitute the original prescription to be dispensed by the
pharmacist. This- record, 1f telephoned by other than the
physician shall bear the name of the person so telephoning.
Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed as altering or
affecting in any way laws of this state or any federal act
requiring a written prescription order.

(c) No prescription shall be refilled, -if it -conteins—a

statement—that it is not-to be refilled unless authorized by the

prescriber either in the original prescription or by oral order

which is reduced promptly to writing and filled by the

pharmacist.

(d) If any prescription order contains a provision that the

prescription may be refilled a specific number of times within

vt
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or during any particular period, such prescription shall not be
refilled except in strict conformity with such regquirements.

(e) If a prescription order contains a statement that
during any particular time the prescription may be refilled at
will, there shall be no limitation as to the number of times
that such prescription may be refilled except that it may not be

relilled after the expiration of the time specified, or one year

after the prescription was originally issued whichever occurs

first.

(f) Any pharmacist who exercises brand exchange and
dispenses a less expensive drug product shall not charge the
purchaser more than the regular and customary retail price for
the dispensed drug.

Nothing contained in this section shall be construed as

b

preventing a pharmacist from refusing to fill or refill any
prescription if in the pharmacist's professional judgment and
discretion such pharmacist is of the opinion that it should not
bpe filled or fefilled.

HTSTORY: L. 1953, ch. 290, sec. 23; L. 1975, ch. 319, sec. 23;

. 1978, ch. 242, sec. 2; L. 1979, ch. 194, sec. 1; L. 1986, ch.

231, sec. 25, June 1.
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65-1643. Registration or permit required; pharmacies,
manufacturers, wholesalers, auctions, sales, distribution or
dispensing of samples, retailers, institutional drug rooms,
pharmacy interns; certain acts declared unlawful. On and after
the effective date of this act, it shall be unlawful:

(a) For any person to operate, malntain, open or establish

y pharmacy within this state without first having obtained a

o
3

registration from the board. Each application for registration
of a pharmacy shall indicate the person or persons desiring the
registration, including the pharmacist in charge, as well as the
lecation, including the street name and number, and such other
information as may be required by the board to establish the

exact location of the pharmacy. The issuance of a
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for any pharmacy shall also have the effect of
permitting such pharmacy to operate as a retail dealer without
requiring such pharmacy to obtain a retall dealér's permit. On
evidence satisfactory to the board: (1) That the pharmacy for
which the registration is sought will be conducted in full
compliance with the law and the rules and regulations of the
board; (2) that the location and appointments of the pharmacy
are such that it can be operated and maintained without
endangering the public health or safety; (3) that the pharmacy
will be under the supervision of a pharmacist, a registration
shall be issued to such persons as the board shall deem

qualified to conduct such a pharmacy. /575/y'éb)
-2 y—7/
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(b) For any person operating outside the state which ships,

mails or delivers in any manner a dispensed legend drug into a

Kansas without first having obtained a registration from the

board; and that part of the pharmacy operation dispensing the

prescription for a Kansas resident shall abide by Xansas law and

rules and regulation of the board. The Legilslature recognizes

that the regulations of the state of Kansas and those of the

state in which the pharmacy is located may conflict; in which

case, the regulation of the state in which the pharmacy 1is

located shall prevail in order to not conflict with interstate

commerce laws.

b} (c) For any person to manufacture within this state any

drugs except under the personal and immediate supervision cf a
pharmacist or such other person or persons as may be approved by
the board after an investigation and a determination by the
board that such person or persons is qualified by scientific or
technical training or experience to perform such duties of
supervision as may be necessary to protect the public health and
safety; and no person shall manufacture any such drugs without
first obtaining a registration so to do from the board. Such
registration shall be subject to such rules and regulations with
respect to requirements, sanitation and equipment, as the board
may from time to time adopt for the protection of public health

and safety.

~+e3y (d) For any person to distribute at wholesale any drugs \
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without first obtaining a registration so to do from the board.

¢4} (e) For any person to sell or offer for sale at public

auction or private sale in a place where public auctions are
i

conducted, any drugs without first having obtained a

registration from the board so to do, and it shall be necessary

\Q

to obtain the permission of the board in every instance where
ny of the products covered by this section are to be sold or
offered for sale.

ey &El For any person to in any manner distribute or
dispense samples of any drugs without first having obtained a
permit from the board so to do, and it shall be necessary to
obtain permission from the board in every instance where the
samples are to be distributed or dispensed. Nothing in this
subsection shall be held to regulate or in any manner interfere
with the furnishing of samples of drugs to duly licensed

care facilities.

bt

practitioners, to pharmacists or to medica

£}y (g) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection (£

—

(9) - for any person operating a store or place of business tc

cell, offer for sale or distribute any drugs to the public

without first having obtained a registration or permit from the

board authorizing such person so to do. No retail dealer who

sells 12 or fewer different nonprescription drug products shall

be required to obtain a retail dealer’'s permit under the

pharmacy act of the state of Kansas or to pay a retail dealer

new permit or permit renewal fee under such act. It shall be Lﬂ)
g,_
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lawful for a retail dealer who is the holder of a valid retail
dealer's permit issued by the board or for a fetail dealer who
sells 12 or fewer different nonprescription drug products to
sell and distribute nonprescripticn drugs which are prepackaged,
fully prepared by the manufacturer or distributor for use by the
consumer and labeled in accordance with the requirements of the
state and federal food, drug and cosmetic acts. Such
nonprescription drugs shall not include: (1) A controlled
substance; (2) a drug product the label of which is required to
bear substantially the statement: "Caution: Federal law
prohibits dispensing without prescription"; or (3) a drug
product intended for human use by hypodermic injection; but such
a retail dealer shall not be authorized to display any of the
words listed in subsection(s) of K.S.A. 65-1626 and amendments
thereto, for the desigrnation of a pharmacy or drugstore.

4¢3+ (h) For any person to sell any drugs manufactured and
sold only in the state of Kansas, unless the label and
directions on such drugs shall first have been approved by the
board.

=23 (1) For any person to operate an institutional drug

room without first having obtained a registration to do so from
the board. Such registration shall be subject to the provisions

of K.S5.A. 65-1637a and amendments thereto and any rules and

regulations adopted pursuant thereto.

423} (J) For any person to be a pharmacy intern withouﬁ #@CL)
p
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first obtaining a registration from the

to do so

accordance with rules and regulations adopted by

becard, in

the board, and

paying a pharmacy intern registration fee of $25 to the board

HISTORY: L. 1853, ch. 290, sec. 25; L. 1967, ch. 342, sec. 3;

L. 1975, ch. 319, sec. 29; L. 1979, ch. 183, sec. 3; L. 19832,

ch. 2483, sec. 7; L. 1983, ch. 210, sec. 2; L. 1986, ch. 231,

sec. 29, June 1
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65-1627. Grounds for revocation, suspension, placement in

.probaticnary status or denial of license for pharmacist, permit

Hh

or retall dealer or registration for pharmacy or manufacturer

or distributor; procedure. (a) The board may revoke, suspend,

place in a probationary status or deny a renewal of any license
of any pharmacist upon a finding that:

(1) The license was obtained by fraudulent means;

(2) the licensee has been convicted of felony and the board
determines, after investigation, that such person has not been
sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust;

(3) the licensee is found by the board to be guilty of

unprofessional conduct or professional incompetency;

(4) the licensee is addicted to the liquor or drug habit to
such a degree as to render the licensee unfit to practice the
profession of pharmacy;

(5) the licensee has violated a provision of the federal or

state food, drug and cosmetic act, = the uniform controlled

substances act of the state of Kansas, or any rule or regulation

adopted under either;

(6) the licensee is found by the board to have filled a
prescription not in strict accordance with the directions of the
practitioner;

(7) the licensee is found to be mentally or physically

incapacitated to such a degree as to render the licensee unfit

to practice the profession of pharmacy;

PHFY
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(8) the licensee has violated any of the provisions of the

~pharmacy act of the state of Kansas or any rule and regulatioﬁ

adopted by the board pursuant to the provisions of such pharmacy
act;

(9) the licensee has failed to comply with the requirements
of the board relating to the continuing education of
pharmacists;

(10) the licensee as a pharmacist in charge or consultant
pharmacist under the provisions of subsection (c) or (d) of
K.S.A. 65-1648 and amendments thereto has failed to comply with
the requirements of subsection (c) or (d) of K.S.A. 65-1648 and
amendments thereto; o=

(11) the licensee has knowingly submitted a misleading,
deceptive, untrue or fraudulent misrepresentation on a claim
form, bill or statements;

(12) the licensee has had a license to practice pharmacy

revoked, suspended or limited, has been censured or has had

other disciplinary action taken, or an application for license

denied, by the proper licensing authority of another state,

territory, District of Columbia, or other country, a certified

copy of the record of the action of the other jurisdiction being

conclusive evidence thereof; or

(13) the licensee has self administered any controlled

substance without a practitioner's prescription order.

(b) The board may suspend, revoke, place in a probationary

o)

/,gw/'47/
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status or deny a renewal of any retail dealer's permit issued by

the board when information in possession of the boaxrd discloses

that such operations for which the permit was i1ssued are not
being conducted according to law or the rules and regulations of
the board.

(c) The board may revoke, suspend, place in a probationary
status or deny a renewal of the registration of a pharmacy upon
a finding that: (1) Such pharmacy has beeﬁ operated in such
manner that violations of the provisions of the pharmacy act of
the state of Kansas or of the rules and regulations of the board
have occurred in connection therewith; (2) the owner or any
pharmacist employed at such pharmacy is convicted, subseqguent to
such owner's acquisition of or such employee's employment at
such pharmacy, of a violation of the pharmacy act or uniform
controlled substances act of the state of Kansas, or the federal
or state food, drug and cosmetic act; or (3) the owner or any
pharmacist employed by such pharmacy has fraudulently claimed
money for phafmaceutical services.

(d) A registration to manufacture or to distribute at
wholesale a drug or a registration for the place of business
where any such operation is conducted may be suspended, revoked,
placed in a probationary status or the renewal of such
registration may be denied by the board upon a finding that the

registrant or the registrant's agent: (1) Has materially

falsified any application filed pursuant to or required by the
N
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pharmacy act of the stute of Kansas; (2) has been convicted of a
.felony under any federal or state law relating to the
manufacture or distribution of drugs; (3) has had any federal
registration for the manufacture or distribution of drugs
suspended or revoked; (4) has refused to permit the board or its
duly authorized agents to inspect the registrant's establishment
in accordance with the provisions of XK.S.A. 65-1629% and
amendments thereto; or (5) has failed to keep, or has failed to
file with the board or has falsified records required to be kept
or filed by the provisions of the pharmacy act of the state of
Kansas or by the board's rules and regulations.

(e) Orders under this section, and proceedings thereon,
shall be subject to the provisions of the Kansas administrative
procedure act.

HISTORY: L. 1953, ch. 290, sec. 13; L. 1965, ch. 369, sec. 5;
L. 1972, ch. 231, sec. 5; L. 1975, ch. 319, sec. 3; L. 1982, ch.
262, sec. 1; L. 1984, ch. 313, sec. 106; L. 1986, ch. 235, sec.
2. L. 1986, ch. 231, sec. 10; L. 1986, ch. 234, sec. 3; L. 1988,

ch. 356, sec. 195; L. 1989, ch. 193, sec. 2, July 1.
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65-1631. Licensure required of pharmacists; qualifications of
avplicants; examination fee; reciprocal licensure; applicantsﬂ
from schools outside United States. (a) It shall be unlawful
for any person to practice as a pharmacist in this state unless
such person is licensed by the board as a pharmacist. Except as
otherwice provided in subsection (d), every applicant for
licensure as a pharmacist shall be at least 18 years of ags,
shall be a graduate of a school or college of pharmacy or
department of a university recognized and approved by the board,
shall file proof satisfactory to the board, substantiated by
proper affidavits, of a minimum of one year of pharmaceutical
experience: acceptable to the board, under the supervision of a
preceptor and shall pass an examination administered by the
board. Pharmacuetical experience as required in this section
shall be under the supervision of a preceptor and shall be
predominantly related to the dispensing of prescripticn
medication, compounding prescriptions, preparing pharmaceutical
preparations énd keeping records and making reports required
under state and federal statutes. A school or college of
: |
pharmacy or department of a university recognized and apprbved
by the board under this subsection (a) shall have a standard of
education not below that of the university of Kansas school of
pharmacy. The board shall adopt rules and regulations
establishing the criteria which a school or college of pharmacy
or department of a university shall satisfy in meeting the t
| w
9/
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standard of education established under this subsection (a).

(b) All applications for examinations shall be made on a
form to be prescribed and furnished by the board and shall be
filed with the beoard at least 30 days before examinations are to

pe held. Each application must be accompanied by an examination
fee fixed by the board as provided in XK.S.A. 65-1645 and
mendments thereto. The examination fee established by this

section immediately prior to the effective date of this act

“ferent examilnation fee 1is

H‘\

shall continue in effect until a di
fixed by the board by rules and regulations as provided in
K.S.A. 65-1645 and amendments thereto.

(c) The board is authorized to adopt rules and regulations
relating to the grades which an applicant must receive in order
to pass the examination.

(d) Notwithstanding the preceding provisions of this
section, the board may in its discretion license as a
pharmacist, without examination, any person who is duly
registered OrAW‘CPﬂ sed by examination in some other state,
except that the boerd may require that such person take the law
examination adrministered bv the board. Such perscn shall file
prcof satisfactory to the board of having the educetion and
training required of applicants for licensure under the
provisions of the pharmacy act of this state. Persons who are

registered or licensed as pharmacists by examination in other

states shall be required to satisfy only the requirements which




licensed in h other states The provisions of this
subsection shall apply only if the state in which the person is

registered or licensed grants, under like conditions, reciprocal
registrations or licenses as pharmacists, without examination,
to pharmacists duly licensed by examination in this state.
Reciprocal licensure shall not be denied to any applicant
otherwise qualified for reciprocal licensure under this section
who has met the internship requirements of the state from which
the applicant is reciprocating or who has at least one year of

practice as a licensed pharmacist. A reciprocal licensure may

Py

e’

be denied for any of the reasons set forth in X.S.A.

€5-1627(a)(1l) through (13).

(e) In the event that an applicant for reciprocal licensure
has not been subiect to laws requiring continuing education as a
condition for renewal of a registration or license, such
applicant shall be reguired to satisfy the board through a
competency exémlh ition that the applicant has the knowledge and

ability to meet Kansas standards for licensure as a pharmacist.

(f) No applicant who has taken the examination Ior
licensure given by the board and has failed to complete it

successfully shall be considered for licensure by reciprocity

within one year from the date such applicant sat for the

examination.

(g) All applicants for reciprocal licensure shall
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their applicaticns on a form to be prescribed and furnished by

be accompanied by a fee of

jo-—

the board and such application shal

¥

$250.

N

(h) The board shall take into consideration any i

conviction of such person, but such conviction ghall not
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auvtomatically operate
(1) All applicants for licensure who graduate from a school
or collece of pharmacy outside the United States or who graduate

harmacy not approved by the board

from a school or college of

o]

shall submit information to the board, as specified by rules and
regulations, and this information shall be accompanied by an
evaluation fee of not to exceed $250 as fixed by the board by

fee shall be in addition

>
»

rules and regulations, which evaluatio
to any other fee paid by the applicant under the pharmacy act of
the state of Kansas. The board may contract with investigative
agencies, commissions or consultants to assist —he board in

obtaining information about such schools or colleges of

D

pharmacy. In Y

ntering such contracts the authority to approve

schools or colleges of pharmacy shall remain solely with the

board.
(3) All applicants for licensure who graduate from a school
or college of pharmacy outside the United States or who are not

itizens of the United States shall provide proof to the board

Q

ot

hat the applicant has a reasonable ability to communicate with

O

the general public in English. The beoard may reguire such LL)
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applicant to take the test of English as a foreign language and
to attain the grade for passing such test as -established by the
board by rules and regulations.

(k) Every registered pharmacist holding a valid
registration as a pharmacist in effect on the day preceding the
effective date of this act shall be deemed to be a licensed

harmacist under this act, and such person shall not be required

e,

to file an original application hereunder for a license.
HISTCRY: L. 1953, ch. 290, sec. 17: L. 1962, ch. 37, sec. 1; L.
1967, ch. 342, sec. 1; L. 1972, ch. 231, sec. 6; L. 1974, ch.
252, sec. 1; L. 1975, ch. 319, sec. 17; L. 1981, ch. 247, sec.

.. 1982, ch. 263, sec. 1; L. 1986, ch. 235, sec. 3; L. 1986,
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£5-1632. Renewal of license; fee: denial: conditions; inactive
status license; reinstatement after nonrenewal; penalty. (a)-
Each license of a pharmacist issued by the board shall expire on
June 30 following the date of issuance. Each application for
renewal of a license as a pharmacist shall be made on a form
prescribed and furnished by the board. Except as otherwise
provided in this subsection, the application, when accompanied
by the renewal fee and received by the executive secretary of

the board on or before the date of expiration of the license,

bt

shall have the effect of temporarily renewing the applicant's
license until actual issuance or denial of the renewal. If at
the time of filing a proceeding is pending before the board
which may result in the suspension, probation, revocation or
denial of the applicant's license, the board may by emergency
order declare that the application for renewal shall not have
the effect of temporarily renewing such applicant's licensec.

ay to the secretary of the

bt
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Every licensed pharmacist shal

ast—1 a renewal fee of not

93]
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more than $100, as fixed by the board by rules and regulatioﬁé.
The renewal fee fixed by the board under this section
immediately prior to the effective date of this act shall

~

continue in effect until a different renewal fee is fixed by the

h
m
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board by rules and regulations as provided under this section.

(b) The board may deny renewal of any license of a

pharmacist on any ground which would authorize the board to deny
g’Xéf'q
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an initial application for licensure or on any ground which
would authorize the board to suspend, revoke or place on
probation a license previously granted. Orders under this

=ction, and prcceedings therecn, shall be subject to the

wn
[

provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act.

(c) The payment of the renewal fee by a person who is a
holder of a license as a pharmacist shall entitle the person to
renewal of license 1f nc grounds exist for denying the renewal

f the license and 1f the person has furnished satisfactory

O

complied
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with the rules and regulations of the board relating to

"U

continuing professional education. These education

(")

regquirements shall be fixed by the board at not le than 10

clock hours nor more than 20 clock hours annually of a program
of continuing education approved by the board. The maximum
number of continuing education hours required by the board to
meet the reguirements for cancellation of inactive status
licensure and.renewal of license under subsection (d) or
reinstatement of license because of nonpayment of fees under
subsection (e) shall not exceed 30.

(d) The payment of the renewal fee by the person who is a
holder of a license as a pharmacist but who has not complied
with the continuing education reguirements fixed by the boaxrd,

if no grounds exist for denying the renewal of the license other

than that the person has not complied with the continuing




education requirements fixed by the board, shall entitle the

person to inactive status licensure by the board. No person

{

holding an inactive status license from the hoard shall engage
in the practice of pharmacy in Upon furnishing

oy

satisfactory evidence to the board of complience with the

continuing education requirements Ifixed by the board and upon
the payment to the board of all applicable fees, a person
holding an inactive status license from the board shall be
entitled to cancellation of the inactive status license and to
renewal of licensure as a pharmacist.

(e) If the renewal fee for any pharmacist's license has not
been paid by August 1 of any year, the license is hereby

declared void, and nc license shall be reinstated except upon

payment of any unpald renewal fee plus a penalty-egqual-to—the-

Hh

ee as fixed by the board by rules and
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regulations and proof satisfactory to the board of compliance

7ith the continuing education reguirements fixed by the board.

.t

FPayment of any unpaid renewal fee plus a penalty -egueal-—teo—fthe
vnpaid-—xrenewat—fee as fixed by the board by rules and

recualations and the submission of proof satisfactory to the

board of compliance with the continuing education reguirements

fixed by the board shall entitle the license to be reinstated.

The nonpayment of renewal fees by a previously licensed

g

pharmacist for a pericd exceeding three years shall not deprive

the previously licensed pharmacist of the right to reinstate the
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upen compliance with the continuing education

by the board, except that the board may reguire such previously
licensed pharmacist to take and pass an examination approved by

the hoard for reinstatement as a pharmacist and to pay any

applicable examination fee.

EISTCRY: L. 1953, ch. 290, sec. 18; L. 1962, ch. 37, sec. 2; L.
1967, ch. 342, sec. 2; L. 1974, ch. 252, sec. 2; L. 1975, ch.
319, sec. 18; L. 1982, ch. 263, sec. 2; L. 1984, ch. 313, sec
107; L. 1886, ch. 231, sec. 21; L. 1987, ch. 236, sec. 3; L.
1988, ch. 356, sec. 198; L. 1980, ch. 224, sec. 1, July 1.
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egistrations and permits; renewals;

1 dealer

[

es; establishment of reta

trations and permits; expiration dates;

registrations or permits under K.S.A. 65-1642 and amendments

thereto shall be made c¢n a form prescribed and furnished by the

bocard and accompanied by the fee prescribed by the board

the provisions of this section. When such application and fees

are received by the executive saecretary of the board on or

shall have the - of
registration or permit
until actual issuance or denial! of the renewal. However, if at

the time of filing a proceeding is pending before the board

ion, probation, revocation ox

U)
b

which may result in the suspen

("1

denial of the applicant’'s registration or permit, the board may
declare, by emergency ordexr, that such application for renewal
shall not have the effect of temporarily renewing such
applicant's régictration or permit. Separate applications shall
be made and separate registrations or permits issued for eacﬁA
eparate place at which is carried on any of the operations for
which a registration or permit is required by K.S.A. §5-1643 and

N

amendments thereto. However, each person holding a

manufacturing or wholesaler registr lon or Dermﬁv for more than

one location shall pay only one

(b) The fees required for the issuing of th




or permits reguired by K.S.A. 65-1643 and amendments thereto

shall be fixed by the board as herein provided, subject to the

(1) Pharmacy, new registration not more than $150, renewal
¥

not more than $125;

(2) pharmacist, examination fee not more than £258 $350;

(3) pharmacist, examination fee for previously licensed

(e]

(4) manufacturer, new registration not more than $500,
renewal not more than $400:

) wholesaler, new reglistration not more than $500,

tn

(
renewal not mcre than $400, except that a wholesaler dealing
exclusively in non-prescription drugs, the manufacturing,
distributing cxr dispensing of which does not require
registration under the uniform controlled substances act, shall
be assessed a fee for registration and reregistration not to

exceed $50;

(6) special auction not more than $50;
(7) samples distribution not more than $50;
(8) institutional drug room, new registration not more than

$40, renewal not more than $35;

) retail dealer selling more than 12 different

o~
(@]

nonprescription drug products, new permit not more than $12,
renewal not more than $12, or;

10) certification of grades for each applicant for
g PP




examination and registration not more than $25;

e of fixing fees, the board may establish

(c) For the purpocs
classes of retail dealers' permits for retail dealecrs selling

e

more than 12 different nonprescription drug products,
board may fix a different fee for each class of permit.

(d) The board shall determine annua the amount necessary

—
}.._J
<

to carry out and enforce the provisions of this act for the next

ulations the

=

wn
o8
[
-
Hh
o

ensuing fiscal year and fix by rules and re
fees authorized for such year at the sum deemed necessary for
such purposes. The fees fixed by the board under this section
immediately priocr to the effective date of this act shall
continue in effect until different fees are fixed by the board
by rules and regulations as provided under this section.

(e) The board may deny renewal of any registration or
permit reguired by K.S.A. 65-1643 and amendments thereto on any
ground which would authorize the board to suspend, revoke or
vlace on probation a registration or permit previously granted
pursuant to tﬁe provisions of K.S.A. 65-1643 and amendments
thereto. Registration and permits issued under the provisioﬁé
of K.S5.A. 65-1643 and 65-1644 and amendments thereto shall be
conspicuously displayed in the place for which the registration

or permit was granted. Such registrations or permits shall not

be transferable. All such registrations and permits except

retail dealer permits shall expire on June 30 following date of
issuance Retall dealers' permits shall expire on the last day




of February. All registrations and permits shall be renewed

annuaelly. Application blanks for renewal of registrations and
permits shall be mailed by the board to each registrant or
permittee at least 30 days prior to expiration of the

registration or permit. If application for renewal is not made

—
®

pefore 30 days after such expiration, the existing r

Hh

dat

©

T
o

or permit shall lapse and become null and void on th o

&)

s expiraticn, and no new registration or permit shall Dbe

granted except upon payment of the required renewal fee plus a

gistration

penalty equal to the renewal fee. TFailure of any registrant ox

(

the registrant or permittee from the penalty hereby imposed if

the renewal is not made as prescribed.
HISTORY: L. 1953, ch. 290, sec. 31; L. 1962, ch. 37, sec. 5;
1967, ch. 342, sec. 4:; L. 1974, ch. 252, sec. 4; L. 1975, ch.
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MEMBERS OF THE BOARD 7/ze KWGA«

MR. PHILIP W. FELTON,
GREAT BEND
HIR: AHBERSENIE JRERSN, Sizle Board o/ MG/LZ{«W Aris
WICHITA
MRS. CECILE A. LINDSEY,
POMONA CREATED AUG. 1, 1907
MR. DAREL D. OLLIFF
M:HclsLélRPiE;Rf — 1200 S. KANSAS AVE., SUITE 2
; y ' TOPEKA, KANSAS 66612-1331

INDEPENDENCE
(913) 296-3980
OFFICE STAFF

DOUGLAS “MACK” SMITH,
EXECUTIVE SECRETARY
FRANCIS F. MILLS,

T NG "°"  Bill Request Explanation By The Mortuary Arts Board
OFFICE SECRETARY Mack Smith, Executive Secretary

K.S.A. 65-1701a: Up-date educational requirements as suggested by the
National Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards; specify that
the actual apprenticeship must be served on a full-time basis, and allow
the apprenticeship to be served under the supervision of embalmers from
other states as approved by the board in addition to Kansas licensees;

K.S.A. 65-1702: To add a section defining a provision of relicensing
embalmers when a lapse of over six months occurs;

K.S.A. 65-1703: Adding the "apprentice embalmer" to the list of individuals
permitted to perform embalming. An apprentice embalmer is an individual
that has passed the written Kansas embalmer examination. A student
embalmer is an individual registered to take the written examination

that has completed mortuary school;

K.S.A. 65-1714: Requiring the funeral director apprenticeship be served
on a full-time basis;

K.S.A. 65-1716: To add a section defining a provision of relicensing
funeral directors when a lapse of over six months occurs;

K.S.A. 65-1727: Increases the maximum fee limitations that can be changed
by the Board. The actual fees are established using the public hearing
process required for regulations;

K.S.A. 65-1729: Specifying a thirty day notice and reason for applying
for a funeral establishment license, and

K.S.A. 74-1703: To up-date the statute to current standards.

I want to thank the committee in advance for their consideration
of possibly introducing these changes in the form of a committee bill.
I would be happy to answer any questions.

Slncerely, A 11

k Smlth
Executive Secretary

MS:tab
Enclosure



5-1701a. EbUCATIONAL REQUL.  JTS; REGISTRATION AND EXAMIN N, FEES; APPRENT. IP.
(a) Except as otherwise provided by K.S.A. 65-1701b, and amendmeﬁtswthereto, each
applicant for a license to practice embalming in this state, in order to be eligible
for examination, shall be required to show to the satisfaction of state board of mortuary
arts that: (1) Fhe eppiicent has sucecessfully compreted courses in a community coileges
college or university eccumuieating at least 60 semester heours and attended a schoel
of mertuary sciences approved by the board which eoffers a tweive—month course 41 mortuary
seience and gredusted therefrem accumulating during this training at least 30 semester
hours in mertuary seienmee; or {2) the applicant has graduated from a community college,
college or university with at least an AA degree in mortuary science, which degree
program is approved in mortuary science, which degree program is approved by the board,
and has accumulated during this training at least 30 semester hours in mortuary science.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in K.S.A. 65-17071b, and amendments thereto,
each applicant for a license to practice embalming in this state, in order to be eligible
for apprenticeship, shall be required to submit to an examination administered by the
state board of mortuary arts. Each applicant shall be required to register with the
secretary of the board in the manner and at the time required by the board before submitting
to examination and shall receive at least 75% in each subject before successfully passing
the examination. The examination fee and registration fee shall be in the amounts
fixed by the board in accordance with K.S.A. 65-1727 and amendments thereto.

(c) Except as otherwise provided by K.S.A. 65-1701b and amendments thereto, each
applicant for a license to practice embalming in this state, in order to be eligible
for licensure, shall serve am a full-time apprenticeship of one year under the supervision

of a Kansas licensed embalmer or an embalmer approved by the board.

(d) The board shall adopt rules and regulations establishing the criteria which
a school of mortuary science or college or university offering at least an AA degree
in mortuary science shall satisfy in order to obtain board approval under subsection
(a). The board may send a guestionnaire developed by the board to any school of mortuary
science or college or university offering at least an AA degree in mortuary science
for which the board does not have sufficient information to determine whether the school,
college or university meets the criteria for approval established by rules and regulations
adopted under this section. The questionnaire providing the necessary information
shall be completed and returned to the board in order for the school, college or university
to be considered for approval. The board may contract with investigative agencies,
commissions or consultants to assist the board in obtaining information about such
schools, colleges or universities. In entering such contracts the authority to approve
schools, colleges or universities shall remain solely with the board.

HISTORY: L. 1927, ch. 291, & 4; L. 1941, ch. 297, & 6; L. 1949, ch. 332, & 1; ﬁ)
L. 1955, ch. 291, & 1; L. 1964, ch. 27, & 2 (Budget Session); L. 1977, ch. 218, & 2; )@,Ll"‘
. 1982, ch. 264, & 1; L. 1985, ch. 215, & 2; L. 1986, ch. 237, & 1; L. 1988, ch. 243, //ﬁ

& 8; July 1. '
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-1702. EMBALMER'S LICENSE; -....NNIAL RENEWAL; FEES; NOTICE; PENSION AND REIN: MENT;

RULES AND REGULATIONS; EVIDENCE OF CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIRED FOR LICENSE RENEWAL;
EZXEMPTION. (a) Every licensed embalmer who desires to continue the practice of embalming
shall pay to the secretafy of the state board of mortuary arts a renewal fee in the
amount fixed by the board in accordance with the provision of K.S.A. 65-1727 and amendments
thereto. The secretary shall mail a notice of the due date for payment of the renewal
fee at least 30 days prior to such date to the last know address of each licensee.

(b) If such licensee shall fail to pay the renewal fee prior to thevexpiration
date, the licensee shall be automatically suspended and denied the right to practice
cmbalming in this state during such suspension. The board may reinstate such lapsed
licenses upon payment of the fee in arrears and a reinstatément fee in the amount equal
o0 the renewal fee, except such lapse shall not be over six months in duration.

(c) Any person who fails to reinstate a lapsed license within six months in duration

may apply for relicensure by meking application on a form provided by the board. Relicensure

shall be granted upon receipt of proof that the applicant is competent and meets current

qualifications to act as a licensed embalmer, has satisfied all of the requirements

for renewal set forth in K.S.A. 65-1701 subsection (a) and has paid the board all back

renewal fees as established by the board by rules and regulations.

fe) igl The expiration date of each license issued or renewed shall be established
by rules and regulations of the board. Subject to the provisions of this subsection,
each license shall be renewable on a biennial basis upon filing of a renewal application
prior to the expiration dated of the license and upon payment of the renewal fee established
pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1727 and amendments thereto. To provide for a system of biennial
-enewal of licenses, the state board of mortuary arts may provide by rules and regulations
licenses issued or renewed for the first time after the effective date of this act
may expire less than two years from the date of issuance or renewal. In each case
in which a license is issued or renewed for a period of time less than two years, the
board shall prorate to the nearest whole month the license or renewal fee established
sursuant to K.S.A. 65-1727 and amendments thereto. The provisions of this subsection
ée}igl.shall not apply to apply to apprentice licenses or periods of apprenticeship
nder K.S.A. 65-1707a and amendments thereto.

t@) (e) Every licensed embalmer who desires to be actively engaged in the practice
of embalming in Kansas shall submit with the renewal application evidence of satisfactory
completion of a program of continuing education required by the board. The board by
duly adopted rules and regulations shall establish the requirements for such programs

~f continuing education as soon as possible after the effective date of this act.
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te} (f) Every licensed embalmer who is not actively engaged in the practice of
embalming in the state shall be exempt from the continuing education requirements set
forth in subsection fd} (e) of this section. If the person becomes engaged in the
active practice of embalming such person shall within the first full year after becoming
engaged in active practice meet the continuing education requirements specified by
the board.

HISTORY: L. 1907, ch. 387, & 6; R.S. 1923, 65-1702; L. 1927, ch. 291, & 2; L.
1935, ch. 233, & 1; L. 1941, ch. 297, & 8; L. 1953, ch. 291, & 1; L. 1964, ch. 27,
& 4 (Budget Session); L. 1975, ch. 320, & 1; L. 1979, ch. 188, & 3; L. 1985, ch. 215,

& 4; July 1.



65-1703. UNREGISTERED PERSONS; ACTS UNLAWFUL; ACTUAL EMBALMING DEFINED. It shall
hereafter be unlawful for any person who is not duly licensed hereunder as an embalmer
to advertise, practice, offer to practice, or hold himself out as practicing the science
of embalming, either by arterial or cavity treatment, or otherwise, in this state,
or to embalm any dead human body for shipment or transportation by common or private
carrier. It shall hereafter be unlawful for any common carrier to receive for transportation
or to transport any dead human body unless said body has been prepared by a duly licensed

embalmer, in accordance with this act and the rules and regulations of said board.

No one except a duly licensed embalmer, an apprentice embalmer or a duly registered

student embalmer under the provisions of this act and rules and regulation of this
board shall hereafter be permitted to do any of the actual embalming of a dead human
body, and no duly licensed embalmer shall permit anyone who is not a Kansas licensed

embalmer, an apprentice embalmer or who is not registered as a Kansas student embalmer

assigned to him as such, to perform in his place of business, or elsewhere, or under
his supervision, any of the actual embalming of a dead human body, or perform any act

necessary to embalm and preserve a dead human body .

The term "actual embalming" as herein used shall not be construed to include dressing

the hair, bathing, moving or dressing the body or cosmetic work.

HISTORY: L. 1907, ch. 387, & 8; L. 1909, ch. 225, & 4; R.S. 1923, 65-1703; L.
1941, ch. 297, & 9; June 30.
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65-1714. FUNERAL DIRECTOR'S LICENSE; APPLICATION; QUALIFICATIONS; EXAMINATION;
DISPLAY OF LICENSE; SPECIAL PERMITS. (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to engage
in, or attempt to engage in, the business of a funeral director, conduct a funeral,
or make an interment in this state, except as provided in K.S.A. 65-1713b and amendments
thereto, without a funeral director's license issued by the state board of mortuary
arts.

(b) Every person desiring to enter the practice of funeral directing shall make
written application therefor to the board on such forms and in such manner as shall
be prescribed by the board. The application shall show that the applicant is of legal
age, has successfully completed courses in an accredited academic community college
or accredited academic college or university accumulating at least 60 semester hours
with 20 semester hours earned in subjects designated by the state board of mortuary

arts and has had practical experience in funeral directing working full-time for at

least one year prior to the date of the application as a duly licensed Kansas assistant
funeral director under a Kansas licensed funeral director. The application shall also
show that the applicant has assisted in conducting at least 25 funeral services before
applying for a funeral director's license, which showing shall be supported by a verified
written statement giving the list of the cases with which the applicant assisted, the
dates thereof, and the places where the services were conducted. Funeral director's
licenses shall be issued to individuals only, and not to organizations, institutions
or establishments.

(c) The applicant shall be present before the board for examination at a time
and place fixed by the board. The manner and form of the examination shall be determined
by the board. It shall not be necessary for the applicant to be a licensed embalmer
in order to obtain a funeral director's license under this act.

(d) All licenses shall be signed by the president and secretary of the board
and attested by its seal. Every funeral director shall at all times prominently display
the funeral director's license in the funeral director's place of employment. In the
event of the death of the holder of a funeral director's license, or in other special
cases, the board, in its discretion and for good cause shown, may issue special permits
to persons otherwise qualified, except for examination, authorizing the temporary practice
of funeral directing until the next examination by the board.

HISTORY: L. 1935, ch. 234, & 2; L. 1941, ch. 297, & 17; L. 1979, ch. 188, & 6;
L. 1982, ch. 264, & & 2; L. 1985, ch. 215, & 8; L. 1988, ch. 247, & 3; July 1.



65-1716. SAME; BIENNIAL Rb...wWAL FEE; NOTICE; SUSPENSION 0. ~CENSE; REINSTATE
FEE; RULES AND REGULATIONS; EVIDENCE OF CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIRED FOR LICENSE
RENEWAL; EXEMPTION. (a) The renewal fee for a funeral director's license shall
be in the amount fixed by the state board of mortuary arts in accordance with the
provisions of K.S.A. 65~1727 and amendments thereto. The fee shall be due and payable
to the secretary of the board prior to the expiration date of the license. The secretary
of the board shall mail a notice of the expiration date prior to the date of expiration
to the last known address of each license. If the licensee fails to pay such renewal
fee within the time specified, the licensee shall be automatically suspended and
denied the right to practice funeral directing in this state during such suspension.

(b) The board may reinstate such lapsed license upon the payment of the fee
in arrear, plus the additional reinstatement fee in the amount equal to the renewal
fee, if except such lapse is not over six months in duration. Shoutd-a tricensee
retire from the business of funerat directing or become inactive in the businessy
the ricensee shail be allowed six months from the date thereofy as shown by the records
of the board;y in which to render business and reinstate the ricense by paying a reinstatement
fee of $25 plus the renewat fee estabtrished inm KrStA+ 65-1%2% and amendments theretor

(c) Any person who fails to reinstate a lapsed license within six months in

duration may apply for relicensure by making application on a form provided by the

board. Relicensure shall be granted upon receipt of proof that the applicant is

competent and meets qualifications to act as a licensed funeral director, has satisfied

all of the requirements for renewal set forth in K.S.A. 65-1714, subsection (b) and

has paid the board all back renewal fees as established by the board by rules and

regulations.

fc} (d) The expiration date of each license shall be established by rules and
regulations of the board. Subject to the provisions of this subsection, each license
shall be renewed on a biennial basis upon the filing of a renewal application prior
to the expiration date of the license and upon payment of the renewal fee established
pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1727 and amendments thereto. To provide for a system of biennial
renewal of licenses, the board may provide by rules and regulations that licenses
issued or renewed for the first time after the effective date of this act may expire
less than two years from the date of issuance or renewal. In each case in which
a license is issued or renewal for a period of time of less than two years, the board
shall prorate to the nearest whole month the license or renewal fee established pursuant
to K.S5.A. 65~1727 and amendments thereto.

td}(e) Every licensed funeral director who desires to be actively engaged in
the practice of funeral directing in Kansas shall submit with the renewal application
and renewal fee evidence of satisfactory completion of a program of continuing education
required by the board. The board by duly adopted rules and regulations shall establish e

the requirements for such program of continuing education as soon as possible after égq,xﬁ/

/ —

the effective date of this act. i L/,j7
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ted i;l} Every licensed funeral director who is not actively engaged in the
practice of funeral directing in the state shall be exempt from the continuing education
requirements set forth in this section. If the person becomes engaged in the active
practice of funeral directing, such person shall within first full year after becoming
engaged in active practice meet the continuing education requirements specified by
the board.

HISTORY: L. 1935, ch. 234, & 4; L. 1941, ch. 297, & 18; L. 1953, ch. 291, &
2; L. 1964, ch. 27, & 6 (Budget Session); L. 1976, ch. 271, & 1; L. 1979, ch. 188,
& 8; L. 1985, ch. 215, & 10; July 1.




65-1727. FEES; FIXED BY RULES AND REGULATIONS; NOTICE TO LICENSEE. (a) On
or before October 15 of each year, the state board of mortuary arts shall determine
the amount of funds that will be required during the next ensuing two years to properly
administer the laws which the board is directed to enforce and administer under the
provisions of article 17 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and acts
amendatory of the provisions thereof and supplemental thereto, and by rule and regulation
shall fix fees in such reasonable sums as may be necessary for such purposes with

the following limitations:

Embalmers examination fee, not more thamn.........cceeeeevenrececna-. $200
Embalmers reciprocity application fee, not more than............... $300
Funeral directors exémination fee, not more than........ceceeeeeen. $200
Funeral directors reciprocity applicant fee, not more than......... $300
Assistant funeral directors application fee, not more than......... $100
Embalmers licenses and renewal fee, not more than............ccovnn $160 $150
Funeral directors license and renewal fee, not more than........... $375 §§§9

Assistant funeral directors license and renewal fee, not more than. $356 $200

Apprentice embalmers registration fee, not more than............... $100
Funeral establishment license fee, not more than.........cceeceenes 2306 $500
Branch establishments license fee, not more than............cccoee. $366 $500

At least 30 days prior to the expiration date of any lioense issued by the board,
the board shall notify the licensee of the applicable renewal fee therefor.

(b) The fees established by the board under this section immediately prior
to the effective date of this act shall continue in effect until such fees are fixed
by the board by rules and regulations as provided in this section.

(c) Fees paid to the board are not refundable.

HISTORY: L. 1964, ch. 27, & 8 (Budget Session); L. 1973, ch. 251, & 1; L. 1979,
ch. 188, & 11; L. 1981, ch. 300, & 4; L. 1982, ch. 264, & 4; L. 1985, ch. 215, &
15; L. 1986, ch. 238, & 3; July 1.




65-1729. FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE; BRANCH ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE; FEES;
DISPOSITION OF MONEYS. (a) Every funeral establishments, as defined by K.S.A.
65-1713a and amendments thereto, including any branch establishment, located or
doing business within the state shall apply for and obtain a funeral establishment
ilicense or branch establishment, as appropriate, from the state board of mortuary
arts for each location within the state of such funeral establishment or branch

establishment. Any change of ownership, name or geographical location of an establishment

or branch establishment shall result in application of a new license with the

state board of mortuary arts at least thirty (30) days prior to occurrence. The

funeral establishment license fee or branch establishment licensee shall be fixed
by the state board of mortuary arts under K.S.A. 65~1727 and amendments thereto
and shall be due and paid to the state board of mortuary arts on or before the
expiration date of such license. The disposition of all funds collected under
the provisions of K.S.A. 6-1718 and amendments thereto.

(b) Each funeral establishment license or branch establishment license shall
expire every two years on a date established by the state board of mortuary arts
by duly adopted rules and regulations.

HISTORY: L., 1973, ch. 250, & 1; L. 1979, ch. 188, & 12; L. 1981, ch. 300,

% 5; L. 1985, ch. 215, & 16; L. 1986, ch. 238, & 4 July 1.
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74-1703. MEETINGS; QUORUM. The board shall hold at least one four

meetings each year. All meetings shall be held at a time and place to be

designated by the board.
HISTORY: L. 1907, ch. 387, & 3; R.S. 1923, 74-1703; L.

& 2; L. 1981, ch. 300, & 2; July 1.

three members shall constitute a quorum.
1976, ch. 339,
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KANSAS SOCIAL AND REHABILITATION SERVICES
0ffice of the Secretary
Docking State Office Building, Room 603-N
Topeka, Kansas 66612
913-296-3271

Program Synopses
January 23, 1991

The Administration Program provides basic administrative services for the
Department as a whole and the Area Offices, including data processing, automated
eligibility, accounting, audits, budgeting, planning and research, personnel,
staff development, and legal. This program is headed by the Commissioner for
Administrative Services. Contact person: Herman Hafenstein, 296-3241.

The Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services Program coordinates efforts with local
community services to provide alcohol and drug prevention, education, and
treatment programs. This program is directed by the Commissioner for Alcohol
and Drug Abuse Services. Contact person: Andrew 0’Donovan, 296-3925.

The Income Support Program performs the administrative and policy functions
associated with child support enforcement, USDA food distribution, and cash
assistance, including the positions and associated costs for client intake and
eligibility review in the 12 Area Offices. (This program includes Medical
Services.) Contact person: John Alquest, 296-6750.

The Cash Assistance Program contains funding for Aid to Families with
Dependent Children (AFDC), General Assistance (wholly state-funded and
administered), Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LIEAP), Refugee Assistance,
and Other Assistance (including Burial Assistance and Emergency Assistance).

The Housing Assistance program was transferred to the Department of Commerce by
the 1990 Legislature. This program is under the purview of the Commissioner for
Income Support. Contact person: John Alquest, 296-6750.

Medical Assistance and Medical Services provides reimbursement for medically
necessary covered services to eligible cTients under the Medicaid and MediKan
programs. The Medicaid program is federally regulated and partially federally
funded, while the MekiKan program is wholly state-administered and
state-funded. This program is under the purview of the Commissioner for Income
Support and Medical Services. Contact person: John Alquest, 296-6750.

The KanWork Program was initiated by the 1988 Legislature to provide

opportunities and services to participants so they can progress from financial

assistance to financial independence. This program consists of evaluation for
eligibility and services, job preparation, training and education, support
services, and transitional services. This program serves AFDC clients under the
federal JOBS program, Food Stamp recipients under the federal MOST program, and
General Assistance clients. The program also provides day care services for
AFDC, GA, Food Stamp, and other income eligible persons. The KanWork program is
administered by personnel under the jurisdiction of the Director of Workforce
Development. Contact person: Bob Barnum, 296-3273. .
P
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SRS Program Synopses
January 23, 1991
Page 2

Mental Health and Retardation Services was first added to the Department of
Social and RehabiTitation Services budget in FY 1987, although it has been under
the management control of the Department since 1939. This program administers
the systemwide issues concerning the four Mental Health [at Osawatomie, Topeka,
Kansas City (Rainbow Mental Health Facility), and Larned] and three Mental
Retardation Hospitals [at Parsons, Topeka (Kansas Neurological Institute), and
Winfield], as well as providing aid for Community Mental Health Centers and
Community Mental Retardation Centers. The commissioner for Mental Health and
Retardation Services directs this program. Contact person: George Vega,
296-3773.

Medical Services administers Community Based Long-Term Care and Community
Living and Day programs. Contact person: John Alquest, 296-6750.

Youth Services provides services to protect the health and welfare of
children and to provide services that allow the children placed out of home to
be in the least restrictive environment possible. This program oversees the
operation of the four state Youth Centers (at Atchison, Beloit, Larned and
Topeka), as well as providing Foster Care and Adoption Services. The Youth
Services field staff who work in the 12 areas are funded through this program.
The Advisory Commission on Juvenile Offenders and the Commission on Children and
Families operate through this program. The Youth Services program also directly
administers the Comprehensive Screening Unit on the grounds of the Topeka State
Hospital and supervises the operation of the Comprehensive Screening Unit at the
Youth Center at Beloit. Youth Services, as the social service agency within
SRS, also handles adult abuse investigations and adult guardianships. Contact
person: Carolyn Hill, 296-3284.

The Vocational Rehabilitation Services Program administers the Kansas
Vocational Rehabilitation Center in Salina, the Kansas Vocational Rehabilitation
Unit in Topeka, the Commission for the Deaf and Hearing Impaired, and an
independent 1living program. This program is directed by the Commissioner for
Rehabilitation Services. Contact person: Glen Yancey, 296-3911.

Blind Services provides direct employment opportunities through the Kansas
Industries for the Blind and the Business Enterprise Program, as well as
providing specialized training for blind persons. This program is also
concerned with the prevention of blindness and the restoration of sight. The
Commissioner for Rehabilitation Services heads this program. Contact person:
Glen Yancey, 296-3911.

The Disability Determination Services Program makes disability and blindness
determinations for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services on most
social security disability income and supplemental security income claims filed
or reviewed in Kansas. The Commissioner for Rehabilitation Services directs
this program. Contact person: Glen Yancey, 296-3911. C

v

2l

5% J
DY Y
¥\,
¥ [ _F
¢

W;w



GOV RECOMMENDATION ON SELECT SRS PRGMS
(In Millions of Dollars)

FY 91 FY 92 FY 92
PRGM  FY 90 GBR GBR  CURR RES
AFDC $107.8  $1045  $1162  $107.5
GA 13.1 12.4 11.8 24 *
MED 409.7 513.8 556.9 485.1
FC 35.7 42.1 477 41T
% — * GA Prgm Eliminated effective 9/1/91. oy
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GOV RECOMMENDATION ON CASELOAD ESTIMATES
(Average Persons per Mo)

CASE- FY 91 FY 92 FY 92
LOAD FY 90 GBR GBR CURR RES
AFDC 76,880 77,954 80,263 80,263

GA 6,620 6,259 5,961 5,961 *
FC 3,861 4,270 4,832 4,832

* GA Prgm Eliminated effective 9/1/91.



GOV RECOMMENDATION ON SELECT MED SERVS
(In Millions of Dollars)

FY 91

MED SERV  FY 90 GBR
HOSP $116.2 $165.1
ACH 167.5 189.6
PHYS 36.1 47.6
DRUGS 29.7 36.7

FY 92
GBR

$162.0
203.8
61.0

45.5

FY 92
CUR RES

$148.7
184.8
57.8

22.9



GOV RECOMMENDATION ON ALL SRS $’'s & FTE
| (In Millions of Dollars)

_pt”
%*W

/

4ot AV

TOTAL FY 91 FY 92 FY 92
BUDGET FY 90 GBR GBR CURR RES
ALL $819.4 $956.0 $1,034.2 $939.2
SGF 383.9 404.6 440.6 390.0
FTE 3,257.9 3,213.7 3,310.2 3,310.2
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Unlisted - $53,757
State Total - $107,155,685
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SUMMER L.LEAP.
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