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ate
MINUTES OF THE _HOUSE  COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY
The meeting was called to order by Rep. John Solbach at
Chairperson
w2315 . Kifpam. on April 1 , 1922 in room _527-S  of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Representatives Gregory, Heinemann, Snowbarger and Vancrum who were excused.
Committee staff present:

Jerry Donaldson, Legislative Research
Jill Wolters, Revisor of Statutes
Judy Goeden, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Bud Grant Kansas Chamber of Commerce & Industry
Ron Smith, Kansas Bar Association

The chairman called the meeting to order.

Hearing on HB 3200, an act concerning civil procedure; civil penalties for theft,
was opened.

Bud Grant, Kansas Chamber of Commerce & Industry, testified in favor of HB 3200.

He said 44 states already have similar legislation. Shoplifting in Kansas is a $260
million problem. In answer to a member's question he said that he felt that guardian
should be clarified so legal guardians such as foster parents would not be included
in this bill.

Ron Smith, Kansas Bar Association, testified in opposition to HB 3200. (Attachment
#1) He answered committee members questions.

Hearing on HB 3200 was closed.

Rep. Everhart moved to have necessary technical amendments made to HB 2253, then
recommend HB 2253 as amended favorably for passage. Rep. Hochhauser seconded the
motion. Motion carried.

Rep. Gomez moved to report SB 757 favorably for passage. Rep. Garner seconded the
motion. Motion carried.

Rep. O'Neal moved to recommend HB 670 favorably for passage. Rep. Everhart seconded
the motion.

Rep. Hamilton made a substitute motion to amend SB 670 to include in line 37, Section
4, law firms, and adding prohibition of disclosure to third party. Rep. Smith seconded
the motion. Motion carried.

Rep. O'Neal moved to report SB 670 as amended favorably for passage. Rep. Gomez
seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Rep. O0'Neal moved to amend HB 3200 to exclude certain guardians. Rep. Pauls seconded
the motion. Motion carried.

Rep. Rock moved to amend HB 3200 to include "either/or civil or criminal. Rep. Gomez
seconded the motion. Motion failed.

Rep. O'Neal moved to amend HB 3200 by stating merchandise of a value under $2,500.
Rep. seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Rep. O'Neal moved to further amend HB 3200 to state not less than $50 or not more
than $250 fine. Rep. Garner seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not
been transcribed verbatim, Individual remarks as reported herein have not
been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for

editing or corrections. Page 1 Of —2




CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE __HOUSE COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY

room ___527-SStatehouse, at __12:15  asn./p.m. on April 1 , 1992

Rep. 0'Neal moved to report HB 3200 as amended favorably for passage.

Rep. Lawrence
seconded the motion. Motion failed.

The Committee requested and Jerry Donaldson was directed to write a formal committee
request for an interim study on HB 3200.

Meeting adjourned at 1:45 P.M.
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POSITION STATEMENT

TO: House Judiciary Committee
FROM: Ron Smith, KBA General Counsel
SUBJ: HB 3200

DATE: April 1, 1992

There are several policy issues in this bill. KBA oppos-
es a statutory civil liability for theft, primarily because
it makes unnecessary changes and limitations to the common
law. Among our reasons for opposition are:

1. While punitive damages ordinarily survive bankrupt-
cy, most thieves are judgment-proof. The civil law already
allows a civil action for theft, but not parental liability
unless the child maliciously or willfully destroys property
of another.® The peanut is the special new authority
to sue the parents of thieves who are minors.

2. What this bill does is raise a question of whether
3200's remedies are the SOLE civil remedy for theft, rather
than the general common law theory that one can sue a crimi-
nal in civil court for damages.

3. In an era of difficulties in adequate financing of
judicial budgets, this law will certainly increase litiga-
tion. Further, subsection 1(b) creates a limited form of
"parental malpractice.” However, since parental negli-
gence is unnecessary in order to be liable, I'm unsure wheth-
er litigation costs and damages under this bill is or will
be covered under homeowner's or renter's insurance which is
usually based on negligence. If so, it is ironic that the
Kansas business community -- long a champion of less litiga-
tion for lower insurance =-- is pushing this legislation
which may slightly increase homeowner's insurance, if the
acts are covered. If the cost of litigation is not covered,
then HB 3200 increases the liability of every parent.
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4. 1 am also personally concerned that many of these
actions will be brought in small claims court where the
jurisdiction is less than $1,000. If that happens, parents
and the minor child cannot hire counsel until they APPEAL
the action. Then if they lose that appeal, the small claims
act imposes a unilateral attorney fee shift. If we're going
to impose new costs of litigation on parents that may or may
not be insured, then you should put in an amendment that
such claims under this section cannot be brought in small
claims court. The plaintiff can still file an action pro se
under Chapter 61, but at least defendants will have a choice
whether to hire counsel.

5. The criminal law usually provides restitution to
the merchant if there is a conviction. The problem has been
the courts are ill-equipped to oversee such restitution.
CSOs hate that function. There is considerable law on the
books to be helpful in getting restitution to victims of
property crimes,” but admittedly the state has not
pressed that issue to help merchants. The criminal law does
not provide is a judgment upon which the store can garnish
wages or take unilateral civil action. However, holding
parents liable for a minor child's transgressions is making
parents guarantors of their child's conduct, and is an unusu-
al remedy for problems in the criminal restitution system.

6. HB 3200 is specific law regarding civil remedies
for what amounts to "theft." If a wealthy kleptomaniac took
a new BMW off the dealer's lot and converts the car and has
all the requisite intent, when punished, actual damages
might be thousands of dollars but the limit on exemplary
damages under section 1(b) is $250 even though a larger
punitive award might be needed to dissuade future conduct.
The general rule of statutory construction is that where
there is conflict between general and specific statutes, the
specific legislation controls.® HB 3200 is the specif-
ic remedy for civil liability for theft of merchandise. It
severely limits punitive damage awards -- even when larger
awards might be appropriate under K.S.A. 60-3401 which
ties punitive damage awards to one year's gross income.

2In the KBA-sponsored Property Crime Victims Repara-
tions Act, enacted in 1990. However, the restitution system
in that act requires local prosecutors and county commis-
sions to implement the program, and that has happened only
in Salina.

“Read v Miller, 14 Kan App.2d 274, 276, 788 P.2d 883
(1990); further, 247 Kan 557, 802 P.2d 528 (1990); State v.
Montgomery, 14 K.A.2d 577, 796 P.2d 559 (1990).
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7. Line 28 places liability on parents or guardians
who have "custody" of an unemancipated minor. Is the state
who has a child in foster care a "guardian?" Is there "cus-
tody?" Is the state liable, the same as a parent? If not,
why not? The right to assert legal control over the well-
being of a child is what constitutes "custody." Therefore,
isn't the state that exerts such control liable to the mer-
chant? If you exempt the state, then the law may not treat
all persons similarly situated equally.

8. As to parental liability, a fundamental issue is
whether parents should have unlimited lability in a civil
court for the thefts and intentional acts of a minor who
might be 16 or 17 but uncontrollable. As a practical mat-
ter, the only way parents can protect themselves is to for-
mally emancipate their uncontrollable child as soon as possi-
ble.

HB 3200 is different from K.S.A. 38-120. K.S.A.
38-120 makes parents liable for destruction of
property or personal injury by the parent's child,
if the child lives with the parents and malicious-
ly or willfully destroys property or injures anoth-
er. However, damages under 38-120 are limited to
$1,000 plus court costs. No pain and suffering is
allowed, but medical expenses may be recovered
for bodily injury. If the plaintiff can prove the
child acted because of "parental neglect" the
$1,000 limit is lifted. Case law indicates both
the act and the harm must be intended by the
child before the parents are liable.*

HB 3200 involves no parental neglect standard,
has no dollar limit on actual damages, and the
parents are liable regardless whether the child
intended the act and the harm.

9. Finally, subsection 1(b) makes the parents of a
minor child who have joint custody jointly liable even if
the parents are divorced and perhaps have remarried.
There is no limiting feature to the word "custody." A par-
ent living in another town, or state, can be made liable.

For these reasons, KBA opposes such legislation.

“Hanks v. Booth, supra. /: "V
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