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Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATION AND ELECTIONS.
The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Marvin Smith at 9:00 a.m. on March 16, 1993 in Room

521-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Representative Tom Bradley (Excused)
Representative Sheila Hochhauser (Excused)
Representative Ed McKechnie

Committee staff present: Carolyn Rampey, Legislative Research Department
Dennis Hodgins, Legislative Research Department
Arden Ensley, Revisor of Statutes Y
Nancy Kippes, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Carolyn Rampey, Legislative Research Department

Gene Yockers, Director, Kansas Real Estate Commission
Karen France, Kansas Association of Realtors

Chris Barteldes

Fritz Kramer

Earl Brown

Harold Ackerley

Representative Gwen Welshimer

Virginia Craig

Others attending: See attached list

Carolyn Rampey, Legislative Research, provided background and information concerning SB 269, SB 270
and SB 271 (Attachment 1).

Hearing on:
SB 270 - amendments to state certified and licensed real property appraisers act.

Gene Yockers, Kansas Real Estate Commission, testified in support of SB 270 (Attachment 2). He requested
an amendment to extend to June 30, 1994 the time for transitional licenses to be converted to licenses and that
to be effective upon publication in the Kansas Register. Another amendment would change all references to
“board” back to “commission”.

Karen France, Kansas Association of Realtors, gave testimony in support of SB 270 and requested an
amendment to reduce the 2,000 hours of experience required to 500 hours (Attachment 3). She stated it is
very difficult to get 2,000 hours of experience in two years as required.

Chris Barteldes, a licensed real estate agent from Lawrence, appeared in support of the amendmentin SB 270
to change the number of hours experience to 500 hours.

Fritz Kramer, licensed in real estate in Kansas and Missouri for 19 years, spoke in support of the amendment
in SB 270 to change the number of hours of experience from 2,000 to 500 hours.

Earl Brown, realtor, auctioneer, and appraiser in Junction City, appeared in support of the amendment in SB
270 to change from 2,000 to 500 hours the hours of experience required for appraisers. He stated in a rural
area it was impossible to get 2,000 hours of experience because it would take 250 appraisals. For residential
reviews you receive one hour of experience.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been

transcribed verbatim. individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to —I
the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATION AND
ELECTIONS, Room 521-S Statehouse, at 9:00 a.m. on March 16, 1993.

Harold Ackerley, Paola, appeared before the committee to relate his experience as an appraiser with the
training but not able to acquire the 2,000 hours of experience required.

Representative Gwen Welshimer provided testimony on SB 270 and ask for an amendment to reinstate the
annual license renewal (Attachment 4).

Virginia Craig, a real estate appraiser for 15 years, spoke in opposition to the amendment on SB 270 to
decrease the hours of experience to 500.

SB 269 - administration of state certified and licensed real property appraisers act.

Gene Yockers, Kansas Real Estate Commission, testified in support of SB 269 to separate the Real Estate
Appraisal Board from the Kansas Real Estate Commission (Attachment 5). He also asked to change “director”
to “chairperson” and suggested it may be appropriate to amend SB 270 into SB 269.

/
SB 271 - real estate brokers’ and salespersons’ license act; amendments.

Gene Yockers, Kansas Real Estate Commission, provided testimony in support of SB 271 (Attachment 6).
He requested an amendment making an exception for courses reviewed pursuant to subsection (j). Another
amendment would allow an individual licensee to submit a course and receive credit if it meets the objectives
of continuing education. A third amendment would change language concerning the disclosure requirements if
a licensee represents both the buyer and seller. The final amendment would allow the commission to provide
suggested forms of agency disclosure and agency agreements.

Representative Dillon moved approval of the minutes for March 15, 1993 as submitted. Representative
Gilbert seconded. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:35 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for March 17, 1993.
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MEMORANDUM

Kansas Legislative Research Department

300 S.W. 10th Avenue
Room 545-N — Statehouse
Topeka, Kansas  66612-1504
Telephone (913) 296-3181 FAX (913) 296-3824

March 16, 1993

To: House Committee on Governmental Organization and Elections
From: Carolyn Rampey, Principal Analyst

Re: Background Information on the Real Estate Appraisal Board

In 1990, the Legislature enacted the State Certified Real Estate Appraisers Act and
created the Real Estate Appraisal Board. The legislation was enacted in response to the federal
Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989 (FIRREA). The federal law
was intended to reform the savings and loan industry and one provision was aimed at improving the
quality and ensuring greater uniformity of real estate appraisals. That provision required that,
beginning July 1, 1991, real estate appraisals performed in connection with federally-related
transactions had to be done by persons who met certain qualifications. (The federal regulatory
agencies involved included the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, the Federal
Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Office of Thrift
Supervision, and the National Credit Union Administration.)

At the time, Kansas had no certification or regulation of real estate appraisers. In order
to comply with the federal law, states had to have a procedure in place that met federal standards
with regard to educational and other requirements to be a real estate appraiser.

The response in Kansas was to create the seven-member Real Estate Appraisal Board.
The Board, appointed by the Governor, was comprised of at least one member who represented the
general public, two members who represented financial institutions, and at least three members who
were real estate appraisers. After the terms of the original members expire (there are two original
members still on the Board), all real estate appraisers appointed to the Board must be certified, at
least one appraiser member must be a certified general real property appraiser, and the public
member cannot be affiliated with any financial institution or be in the practice of real estate
appraising. Members serve three-year terms, with a limit of two consecutive terms.

Duties of the Board include approving and monitoring courses of instruction for real
estate appraisers; administering or designating a testing service to administer the qualifying
examination; approving or disapproving applications for certification; renewing certificates; and
reviewing, explaining, and interpreting real estate appraisal standards.

When the Board was created in 1990, the Legislature did not create a separate agency,
but placed the Board within the Real Estate Commission for administrative purposes. However, the
Board is independent in the sense that actions taken with regard to the certification of real estate
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appraisers are not reviewed by the Real Estate Commission and the Real Estate Commission has
no jurisdiction over real estate appraisers.

At the present time, the Real Estate Appraisal Board has no employees of its own. The
Real Estate Commission, which currently has 15 full-time equivalent (FTE) positions, assigns its staff
to assist the Board in its duties. For purposes of its budget, the Commission pays the salaries of one
of its clerical employees and part of an administrative position (0.3 FTE) from fees collected by the
Real Estate Appraisal Board. The amount of money currently budgeted by the Real Estate
Commission for the Real Estate Appraisal Board in FY 1994 is §73,385, which consists of the salaries
of the 1.3 FTE positions and office expenses such as travel, equipment, and rent that can be
attributed to the Appraisal Board.

S.B. 269, currently in the House Committee on Governmental Organization and
Elections, would separate the Real Estate Appraisal Board from the Real Estate Commission and
establish it as a separate state agency. The fiscal impact of S.B. 269 is estimated by the Division of
the Budget to be $39,174, in addition to the already-budgeted $73,385, for a total expenditure in FY
1994 of $112,559. (The additional money consists of $23,110 for a full-time administrator, $7,972 for
furniture and equipment, and $8,092 for office rent) However, according to the Real Estate
Commission, even if S.B. 269 does not pass, the Commission plans to come before the Legislature
during the Omnibus Session to ask for additional expenditure authority above the $73,385 for costs
associated with the Real Estate Appraisal Board. Specifically, the Commission will ask for a new
position to serve as full-time administrator for the Real Estate Appraisal Board.

93-5510/CR



~ Fee Fund Analysis

1 Recal Estate Fee Fund. Real estate brokers and sal

espersons licenses are issued and renewed for a two-

year period on a staggered basis. More revenue is typically received in even-numbered years than in odd numbered

years. The following table summarizes estimated receipts, expenditures,

and the Governor’s recommendation:

and fund balances based on the agency’s request

Actual Agency Gov. Rec. Agency Gov. Rec.

Resource Estimate FY 92 Est. FY 93 FY 93 Reg. FY 94 FY 94
Beginning Balance § 434452 § 496214 § 496214 $ 387785 § 399155
Transfer from Appraiser Fee Fund 25,000 - - - .-
Net Receipts 524,900 463,400 463,400 501,936 501,936
Total Funds Available Y 984362 ¥ 0961d ¥ 030814 ) 3 901,001
Less: Expenditures 488,148 571,829 560,459 381,791 565,003
Ending Balance $746217 Y WIS Y OWDET T WISH T 3805

ST R —— L L —
Ending Balance as a Per-
centage of Expenditures 101.7% 67.8% 712% 52.9% 59.5%

2. Appraiser Fec Fund. This fee fund was estab

appraisal board. The Commission performs the following functions for the Board:

applications for certification and licensure;
The following table summarizes estimated r

maintaining a current registry;

and assisting

lished by the 1990 Legislature for the operations of the

processing new and renewal
the Board in daily operations.

eceipts, expenditures, and fund

balances based on the agency’s request and

Governor’s recommendation:

Actual Agency Gov. Rec. Agency Gov. Rec.
Resource Estimate FY 92 Est. FY 93 FY 93 Req. FY %4 FY 94
Beginning Balance $ 2470 $ 9976 9,976 § 169,156 $ 177,516
Net Receipts 153,212 145,120 145,120 130,800 130,800
Total Funds Available S T8 T 24206 S ALO% 29558 T 308316
Less: Expenditures 54,706 72,940 64,580 76,555 73,385
Transfer to Real Estate Fee Fund 25,000 -- - - -
Ending Balance $9%9% 3 169,156 ¥ 1773516 3 B80T 3 234,931
e e —
Ending Balance as a Per-
centage of Expenditures 1773% 231.9% 274.9% 291.8% 320.1%
Real Estate Commission 53
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House Governmental Organization and Elections Committee
March 16, 1993
Senate Bill 270

Mr. Chair and members of the committee:

My name is Gene Yockers, and I am the Director of the Kansas Real
Estate Commission. The Real Estate Appraisal Board is attached to
the commission for administrative purposes, and I am here on behalf
of the board. We are also requesting that you amend the bill, and
copies of the amendments have been distributed along with my
testimony.

Senate Bill 270 has two major purposes: (1) to change from a one-
year to a three-year renewal term, and (2) to provide that
investigations and disciplinary actions apply to any appraisals
performed by licensed and certified appraisers.

(1) CHANGE TO THREE~YEAR RENEWAL TERM

Section 1 (page 1) is the fee section. There is no change in the
maximum license/certificate and renewal fees. The language "based
on an annual amount" has been added to address both the one-year
and three-year terms.

A $25 annual federal registry fee is collected from each appraiser
and transmitted to The Appraisal Subcommittee. The amendment in
subsection (f) addresses collection of the fee in the event it is
increased during a three-year renewal term.

Section 3 (page 5) provides for a three-year renewal term beginning
July 1, 1994. There will be one more annual renewal for the period
July 1, 1993 to June 30, 1994.

Section 4 (page 5) amends the renewal date to coincide with the
three-year term.

Section 5 (page 5) provides that the continuing education
requirement will not have to be met until the second renewal if,

for a one-year renewal, the license/certificate expires less than
six months after issuance; and, for a three-year renewal, less than

18 months after issuance.

(2) INVESTIGATIONS AND DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

Subsection (d) of Section 6 on page 8 has been added to establish
or clarify that investigations and disciplinary actions apply to
any appraisals performed by licensed and certified appraisers
whether or not the appraisal involves a federally related

| transaction. The Appraisal Subcommittee, which monitors state
g programs for compliance with federal law, wants this provision in
3/6-73
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SB 270, page 2

state laws. Their position was stated in testimony before Congress
on the implementation and effectiveness of Title XI (federal law).

(3) OTHER CHANGES

Section 1(a)(8) (page 1). In order for an appraiser to obtain
continuing education credit for a course, the course must be
approved by the board. The sponscr submits the course for approval
and pays a $50 fee for review of a new course and $15 for renewal
of a course. The addition in paragraph (8) will allow an appraiser

to submit a course for approval for a fee not to exceed $10. This

'will be helpful to an appraiser who takes a course which the
sponsor does not choose to submit for approval but which meets
criteria for approval.

Section 2(f) (page 4). The amendment is clean-up language.

(4) AMENDMENTS TO SB 270 REQUESTED BY APPRAISAL BOARD

Please refer now to the amendment pertaining to transitional
licenses, which was distributed.

This amendment was not considered by the Senate. At their meeting
on February 26, at the request of interested persons, the board
reviewed the matter of transitional licenses and asked the staff to
request this amendment.

To give you some background, there are three classifications of
appraisers: certified general, certified residential, and
licensed. The certified classifications have higher qualifications
than the licensed.

An applicant for a license must have 75 classroom hours and 2,000
hours of experience, and must pass the examination. Our law was
amended in 1991 to provide for issuance of transitional licenses.
The change was based on an advisory from the Appraisal
Subcommittee, which monitors state programs for compliance with
federal law. The ASC supported transitional licenses if they were
valid for a strictly limited period of time and if their issuance
is restricted to the early years of a state's licensing program.

All transitional licenses had to be issued before January 1, 1992
and could not be renewed beyond June 30, 1993. Approximately 79
transitional licenses were issued. These appraisers had 75
classroom hours and passed the exam but did not have 2,000 hours of
experlence. This gave them until June 30, 1993 to complete their
experience and have their transitional llcense converted to a

license.



SB 270, page 3

There are approximately 30 transitional licenses (out of the
original 79) which have not been converted to licenses.

The amendment would allow these 30 transitional licenses to be
renewed for one more year -- expiring June 30, 1994.

In order for the amendment to take effect in time for transitional
licenses to be renewed on their May 31, 1993 renewal date, we ask
that you also amend SB 270 to be effective upon publication in the
Kansas Register.

(4) TECHNICAL AMENDMENTS

As introduced, SB 269 provided for separation of the board from the
commission. All references to "commission" in the act were changed
to "board."

SB 270 contained other changes requested by the board. It was our
intent that, if SB 269 did not pass or was vetoed, we would still
have the 3-year renewal term, etc., provided by SB 270.

The Senate Committee amended SB 270 to include the amendments in SB
269. References in SB 270 to "commission" were changed to "board."
In a conversation with staff after the committee hearing and
action, it was our understanding that the amendments were probably
backwards and could be addressed on the House gide. We therefore
ask that you consider amending SB 270 to change references to
"board" back to "commission" and that SB 269 be amended to include
the provisions of SB 270.

We should also point out in the committee amendments to SB
270, some references to ‘"commission" were apparently
overlooked:

Lines 38 and 42 on page 4
Lines 19 and 21 on page 5
Line 42 on page 6

A typographical error appears on line 28, page 6 of SB 270.
This was in the original bill.

We respectfully request that you amend SB 270 to include the
amendment pertaining to transitional licenses, any needed technical
amendments, and to become effective upon publication in the Kansas

Register.

Thank you for your consideration.

=3



March 16, 1993
Amendment pertaining to Transitional Licenses
Requested by the Kansas Real Estate Appraisal Board

SB 270 - beginning on line 30, page 4
SB 269 - beginning on line 8, page 8

A transitional license shall expire on the next June 30 after
issuance and shall not be renewed more than eme-time two times.
The license shall include a statement that it is a transitional
license. and--that-it--may-be-renewed--omre--+ime—-omkys If the
transitional license is renewed a second time, the renewed license
shall include a statement that it may not be renewed and extended
beyond the expiration date appearing on the license.

In order for the amendment to take effect in time for renewal of
transitional licenses, please amend SB 270 to be effective upon
publication in Kansas Register.

R~




KANSAS ASSUCIATION OF REALTOI

Executive Offices:

3644 S. W. Burlingame Road
REALTOR® Topeka, Kansas 66611

Telephone 913/267-3610

TO: THE HOUSE GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATION AND ELECTIONS
COMMITTEE

FROM: KAREN FRANCE, DIRECTOR, GOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS

DATE: MARCH 16, 1993

SUBJECT: SB 270 KS STATE CERTIFIED AND LICENSED REAL PROPERTY
APPRAISERS ACT

Thank you for the opportunity to testify. On behalf of the Kansas Association of
REALTORSS®, I appear today to support SB 270 and to offer an amendment.

Due to the extreme difficulty individuals who would like to become a licensed appraiser have
in getting 2,000 hours of experience, we request that this bill be amended to provide that the
number of hours of experience needed be reduced to 500 hours.

The 2,000 hours requirement means, at a minimum, 2 years of work doing nothing but
appraisals.  This is an almost insurmountable task for persons seeking to enter this profession.
Persons who are trying to become licensed appraisers are attending our classes and asking us
how to get the 2,000 hours of experience. They relate stories of the trouble they have had
finding anyone to "intern" or "apprentice" with, in order to achieve the requirement. They are
told by licensed and certified appraisers either that there is not enough business to go around or
that they do not want the liability of having an unlicensed or uncertified appraiser working with
them. In the event that they have found an appraiser who will take them in, it is often with an

agreement that little or no compensation would be given. This puts them in a near servitude
situation.

If an individual is starting from scratch in terms of the acquiring the hours they are caught
in an additional "Catch 22", because many people who are willing to take these trainees in,
prefer that they have passed their examination prior to beginning. The statute provides that a
license cannot be issued unless the applicant took the exam within two years of submitting the
application. This means that they would have to begin working with an appraiser immediately
after taking the exam and, essentially, do nothing else for two years so the application could be
filed at the end of the two years. Given the "servitude" arrangement described above, the
individual needs to be independently wealthy or have someone suppomng them because they
would not have time to keep down another job. S-)d-
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REALTOR®-is a registered mark which identifies a professional in
real estate who subscribes to a strict Code of Ethics as a member of
the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS.



We requested the Appraisal Board to amend their regulations to the 500 requirement, but
they have declined to do so. They talk about some sort of "training" category, but have not yet
developed it, but are waiting for some sort of program from the Federal Appraisal Committee.
Meanwhile the persons who have are already licensed and certified are enjoying a "closed shop"
monopoly.

The Oklahoma Legislature passed legislation last year eliminating the experience requirement
altogether. We do not think that is necessary or prudent. We do not ask for this reduction
lightly. KAR has always stood for professionalism in all aspects of the real estate industry.
However, we feel this change is reasonable and necessary in order to permit a steady flow of
individuals into the appraiser profession. A steady flow helps to insure there are plenty of
appraisers when the market needs them and helps to keep costs down for the consumer. Supply
and demand principles say that monopolies serve to keep prices elevated. Consumers are the
ones who will pay if Kansas does not remove the statutory monopoly which exists for this
industry.

I have attached a balloon for your convenience. Thank you for your assistance.

3=l



FIRREA
(FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS REFORM, RECOVERY AND ENFORCEMENT ACT)
1989

FFIEAC
(FEDERAL FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS EXAMINATION COUNCIL)

APPRATISAL SUBCOMMITTEE
OF FFIEC

THE APPRAISAL FOUNDATION

APPRATSAL QUALIFICATIONS BOARD

KANSAS LEGISLATION
K.S.A. 58-4102 et seq, 1990

REGULATIONS OF THE KANSAS REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL BOARD
KquR- 117"4"2
EFFECTIVE JUNE 10, 1991

FDIC IMPROVEMENT ACT OF 1991
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SB 270—Am.
3

approved by the director of the eommission chairperson of the
board or by a person or persons designated by the direeter
chairperson.

(i) All amounts collected for federal registry fees shall be credited
totally to the federal registry clearing fund, which is hereby created
in the state treasury. All disbursements from the. federal registry
clearing fund shall be made upon warrants of the director of accounts
and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the direetor
of the eemmission chairperson of the board or by a person or
persons designated by the direeter chairperson. Amounts credited
to the federal registry clearing fund under this section shall not be
subject to any limitations imposed by any appropriations act of the
legislature.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 1992 Supp. 58-4109 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 58-4109. (a) There is hereby established the following
classes of real property appraisers:

(1) State licensed real property appraiser classification;

(2) certified general real property appraiser classification; and

() certified residential real property appraiser classification.

(b) The board may establish, by rules and regulations, such other
classifications as permitted by federal law.

(c) The board shall adopt rules and regulations, consistent with
requirements and criteria adopted pursuant to federal law, to:

(1) Define each classification;

(2) establish education and experience requirements for each

classification;

(3) establish examination specifications for each classification; and

(4) establish continuing education requirements for renewal of
each classification.

(d) In adopting rules and regulations pursuant to subsection (c),
the board shall determine the education, experience and examination
requirements necessary to provide appropriate assurance that an
applicant for certification or licensure is competent to perform ap-
praisals within the scope of practice of the appraisal work authorized
for the classification applied for and that persons renewing their
certificates or licenses have current knowledge of real property ap-
praisal theory, practices and techniques which will provide a high
degree of service and protection to those members of the public
with whom they deal. In making such determination, the board shall
take into consideration the following:

(1) Appropriate knowledge of technical terms commonly used in
or related to real estate appraising, appraisal report writing and
economic concepts applicable to real estate;

however, the board shall not establish an experience.
requirement for the state licensed real property appraiser
classification in excess of 500 hours;

34




STATE OF KANSAS

COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

MEMBER: TAXATION
INSURANCE
LOCAL GOVERNMENT
ADMINISTRATIVE RULES & REGULATIONS

GWEN WELSHIMER
REPRESENTATIVE, EIGHTY-EIGHTH DISTRICT
SEDGWICK COUNTY
6103 CASTLE
WICHITA, KANSAS 67218
316-685-1930

DURING SESSION
LEGISLATIVE HOTLINE
1-800-432-3924

TOPEKA

HOUSE OF
REPRESENTATIVES

MARCH 16, 1993 MW

TO: REP. MARVIN SMITH
CHAIRMAN, HOUSE GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATION COMMITTEE

FROM: REP. GWEN WELSHIMER

SUBJECT: TESTIMONY - SB270

MY CONCERN WITH SB270 IS THE LANGUAGE WHICH CHANGES THE TIME FOR
APPRAISER LICENSE RENEWAL FROM ONE YEAR TO THREE. I AM HERE TO ASK
YOU TO AMEND SB 270 BY REINSTATING THE WORDS ONE YEAR ON PAGE ONE,

LINE 40 OF THE BILL, AND DELETING ON PAGE 5, LINES 7, 8, 9, 10, 11,

AND 12. THIS AMENDMENT WOULD REINSTATE ANNUAL LICENSE RENEWAL WITH
TEN HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION PER YEAR.

CURRENTLY, THE RENEWAL FEE IS $200, AND A THREE-YEAR RENEWAL WOULD
COST A LICENSEE $600. FEES WILL MOST LIKELY NEED TO INCREASE FROM
THE 5200 TO THE STATUATORY LIMIT OF $300 PER YEAR BECAUSE THE
APPRAISAL BOARD PLANS TO ESTABLISH IT'S OWN OFFICE AND PERSONNEL.
THREE YEARS FROM NOW, A LICENSE RENEWAL FEE COULD BE $900, AND I
THINK THIS IS PROHIBITIVE. MANY APPRAISERS DON'T MAKE THAT MUCH IN
A WEEK. NEW LICENSEES WHO ARE FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO FIND SOMEONE TO
WORK UNDER TO GAIN THEIR 2,000 HOURS EXPERIENCE WILL PROBABLY NOT
BE PAID AT ALL.

LICENSE RENEWAL ALSO INCLUDES THE COST OF CONTINUING EDUCATION.
LICENSEES ARE FREQUENTLY HESITANT TO INTERRUPT THEIR WORK DAY
SCHEDULES TO TAKE COURSES UNTIL THE LAST MINUTE. AS A RESULT,
THEIR CHOICES WILL BE THIRTY-HOUR COURSES PROVIDED BY APPRAISAL
TRADE ASSOCIATIONS. SOME OF THESE COURSES HAVE $1,500 ENROLLMENT
FEES IN ADDITION TO AIR FARE TO ANOTHER STATE, HOTELS, MEALS, AND
A WEEK AWAY FROM THE BUSINESS AT HAND. A THREE-YEAR RENEWAL MAY
VERY WELL COST A LICENSEE A MINIMUM OF $3,000.

THERE ARE NOW LOCAL COURSES APPROVED FOR TEN HOURS TO SATISFY THE
ONE-YEAR RENEWAL PROVIDING NEW AND INNOVATIVE INFORMATION FOR
APPRAISERS. IF A LICENSEE NEEDS THE 30-HOUR COURSES, THEY WILL
ALWAYS BE THERE. THE TEN-HOUR COURSES AND SEMINARS WILL NOT
DEVELOP TO MEET THEIR NEEDS DUE TO LOW DEMAND.

AS THE COST BECOMES PROHIBITIVE, ONLY THOSE THAT ARE WELL
ESTABLISHED WILL CONTINUE TO BE LICENSED. A SHORTAGE OF APPRAISERS

WILL OCCUR, AND THE PRICE FOR THE SERVICE TO THE PUBLIC WILL
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House Governmental Organization and Elections Committee
March 16, 1993
Senate Bill 269

Mr. Chairman and members of the committee:

My name is Gene Yockers, and I am the Director of the Kansas Real
Estate Commission. The Real Estate Appraisal Board is attached to
the commission for administrative purposes, and I am here on behalf
of the board and the commission. :

The regulation of appraisers was mandated by federal law, known as
Title XI. When our state law was passed by the 1990 Legislature,
no one had a very good estimate as to the number of appraisers who
would become licensed or certified. The numbers exceed our
expectations.

Now that we are in our third year of the program--the board having
been appointed in July 1990--we believe that the program justifies
and can support an independent agency.

Senate Bill 269 provides for the separation of the board from the
commission. We believe the fiscal impact would be minimal. Most
of the costs in administering the appraiser program will be the
same whether handled through the commission staff or by a new
appraiser board staff. For instance, if the separation occurs, the
board will hire an administrator. If it does not occur, the
comnission will request an administrative position to be assigned
to the appraiser function. ’

A technical amendment needs to be made to line 13 on page 6.
Changing "director" to "chairperson" was apparently overlooked in
the Senate committee amendments.

As noted in my testimony on SB 270, it may be appropriate to amend
the provisions of SB 270 into SB 269.

Members of the board and commission join me in urging you to
recommend the bill for passage.

F/4{-73
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House Governmental Organization and Elections Committee
March 16, 1993
Senate Bill 271

Mr. Chair and members of the committee:

My name is Gene Yockers, and I am the Director of the Kansas Real
Estate Commission. Senate Bill 271 amends the real estate brokers!
and salespersons' license act. We are also requesting that you
amend the bill, and copies of the amendments have been distributed
along with my testimony.

Section 1 (page 1). Subsection (g) has been added to define
commercial or investment real estate property. The definition is
necessary because of a change in Section 5.

Section 2 (page 3). The present law allows the commission to waive
the pre-license and examination requirement for licensees of other
states who have equivalent requirements and with which we have
reciprocity agreements.

We do not have reciprocity agreements with Colorado and Texas, for
example, because their pre-license education requirements are much
higher than Kansas. This means that someone who has held a
salesperson's license in Colorado for any number of years has to
take a 30 hour principles of real estate course and pass our
examination before they can obtain a Kansas license. Also,
"reciprocity" applies only to nonresidents. Someone who was
licensed in another state for many years and moves to Kansas cannot
obtain a Kansas license without meeting the same requirements as
someone who has never had a license.

The amendments allow the commission to waive the requirements if,
in the judgment of the commission, the applicant met equivalent
requirements in another state. The waiver applies only to pre-
license requirements. Licensees must meet all other requirements
of the act, including continuing education.

Most nonresidents will still be licensed through reciprocity
agreements. However, the amendments will give the commission some
flexibility in licensing individuals who have met equivalent, or in
most cases, higher qualifications than the Kansas act requires.

Section 3 (page 5). The amendment provides for licensure of
members of a limited liability company, which acts as a real estate
brokerage business, in the same manner as that provided for
corporations and partnerships.
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SB 271, page 2

Section 4 (page 6). Section 4 deals with educational
requirements.

An understanding of the background for subsection (f) is important.
In 1980, a post-education requirement was passed which provided
that licensees would have to have 30 hours in December 1981; 30
more hours would be due the second renewal; and for brokers, 30
more hours on the third renewal. Any hours taken during the past
seven years could be filed for credit. Licensees immediately began
filing hours to take advantage of the seven-year period.

Before the first hours were due in December 1981, the law was
declared unconstitutional. The 1982 Legislature passed a
continuing education requirement (hours due every renewal period)
as opposed to a post-license requirement. Licensees were allowed
to file hours any time prior to January 1, 1983 and keep those
hours as a pool. There was no limit placed on the number of hours,
and many licensees filed hours far in excess of the maximum 90 that
would ever have been required under the old law.

Now, ten years later, approximately 2,000 licensees still have
pooled hours from which they can meet their "continuing" education
requirement of 12 hours every two years.

The amendment provides that on July 1, 1993, the commission would
remove any hours in excess of 12 hours. This would leave each
affected licensee with 12 hours for the next two-year renewal.
This would give the licensee two years before any additional
education would have to be taken.

Subsection (g) provides that courses which receive approval of the
commission must be offered by one of the entities listed:

(1) an institution which is accredited by the north central
association of colleges and secondary schools accrediting agency;
(2) an area vocational or vocational-technical school

(3) a proprietary school

(4) a state agency, or

(5) a similar institution in another state

Please refer to the page with the amendments, and note Amendment A.
This amendment is to make an exception for courses reviewed
pursuant to subsection (j).

Under current law, a licensee cannot receive credit for a course
unless it has been submitted by the course provider and approved by
the commission. Amendment B will allow an individual licensee to
submit a course and receive credit if it meets the objectives of
continuing education. :

Subsection (i) provides for approval of nontraditional courses.
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SB 271, page 3

Section 5 (page 8). The amendment gives the commission the
authority to conduct and pay expenses for instructor development
workshops. :

Section 6 (page 9). Section 6 is the "prohibited acts" section.
The amendments in paragraphs (3) and (28) are clean-up language.

The major amendments involve agency issues. Agency agreements must
be in writing. The amendment to paragraph (13) on page 10 permits
verbal listings for commercial or investment property and for
property owned by any agency of the federal government. Paragraphs
(14), (15) and (16) eliminate agency disclosure requirements when
a licensee handles a lease. ‘

Now please refer to the page with the amendments, and note
Amendment C. Paragraph (16) gives the disclosure requirements if
a licensee represents both the buyer and seller. The licensee is
to immediately disclose in writing that the licensee is acting as
agent for buyer and seller and the compensation arrangement, and
the written disclosure is to be signed by both the buyer and the
seller.

Disclosed dual agency most often occurs with large companies who
may sell their own listings to buyers whom they also represent as
clients. They take two very important actions: (1) when they list
the seller's property, they explain the possibility of dual agency,
and (2) when they obtain an agency agreement with a buyer, they
explain the possibility of dual agency.

Amendment C adds this language: "If the exclusive right to sell
agreement and the buyer's agency agreement include the disclosure
of the possibility of dual agency, the written disclosure, for each
specific transaction, shall be signed by the buyer no later than
the first showing of the property and by the seller no later than
the presentation of the offer to purchase."

An example. Let's say a buyer has signed an agency agreement which
sets out the possibility of dual agency and that buyer is
interested in a property the licensee has listed. The licensee
will then give the written disclosure of dual agency to the buyer
and have the buyer sign it. The seller may not be at home--or even
in town--but the licensee may then go ahead and show the property.
The written disclosure to the seller must then be made no later
than the presentation of the offer if the buyer decides to submit
an offer.

Amendment D simply allows the commission to provide suggested forms
of agency disclosure and agency agreements.
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SB 271, page 4

Section 7 (page 14). Changes in fees.
Current Current New
Statutory Fee Statutory
Maximum (by regqg) Maximum
Salesperson's application $15 $15 $25
Broker's application 15 15 50
*Salesperson's license 30 30 50
*Broker's license 50 50 75

*on annual basis

Current law provides for $50 fee for new course approval; $50 fee
for new instructor approval; $15 for renewed course approval, and
$15 for renewed instructor approval. The amendment increases the
maximum fee for new course approval to $75 and deletes fees for
instructor approval.

Paragraph (14) provides for a fee if a licensee submits a course
for approval as discussed under Section 4.




March 16, 1993
Amendments to SB 271
Requested by the Kansas Real Estate Commission

Amendment A - Beginning on Line 38, page 7

(g) Except for courses reviewed pursuant to subsection (j), on
and after January 1, 1994, courses of instruction required by this
section shall be courses approved by the commission and offered by:

Amendment B - Beginning on Line 22, page 8

€%y (j) Courses of instruction required by this section shall be
courses approved by the commission either before or after their
completion. The commission may give credit toward the 12 hours of

additional instruction required by subsection (e) to any licensee
who submits an application for course review obtalined from the
commission and pays the fee prescribed by K.S.A. 58-3063 and
amendments thereto if, in the judgment of the commission, the
course meets the objectives of continuing education.

Amendment C - Beginning on Line 5, page 11

(16) If the licensee represents both the buyer and seller eor
both-the Jessor-and-tessee, the licensee shall immediately disclose
in writing: (A) That the licensee is acting as agent for both
buyer and seller or--for-beth--lessor-and -tessee; and (B) the
compensation arrangement. The disclosure shall be signed by both
the buyer and the seller er-beoth--thetessor-and-tessee. If the
exclusive right to sell agreement and the buyer's agency agreement
include the disclosure of the possibility of dual agency, the
written disclosure, for each specific transaction, shall be signed
by the buyer no later than the first showing of the property and by
the seller no later than the presentation of the offer to purchase.
In addition, the disclosure of the agency relationship between all
licensees involved and the principals shall be included in any
contract for sale er-tease and in any lot reservation agreement.

Amendment D - Beginning on Line 34, page 13

(c) The commissiony--by--rutes-—-and-regutatienss may provide
suggested forms of agency disclosure and agency agreements and, b
rules and requlations, provide such other prohibitions, limitations
and conditions relating thereto as the commission may prescribe.




