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Date
MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON LABOR AND INDUSTRY.
The meeting was called to order by Chairman David Heinemann at 9:00 a.m. on January 12, 1993, in Room

526-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Committee staff present: Jerry Ann Donaldson, Legislative Research Department
Jim Wilson, Revisor of Statutes
Kay Scarlett, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

George Gomez, Director, Division of Workers Compensation
Bill Morrissey, Associate Director, Division of Workers Compensation

Others attending: See attached list

Director Gomez addressed the committee and gave an overview of the Workers Compensation Division and
distributed packets. (Attachments 1 and 2) Since last spring, the Division has created a Data Collection Staff
to better collect data regarding workers compensation. They also will be hiring an extra Administrative Law
Judge to be located in Wichita. He then introduced Bill Morrissey who has 30 years expertise in the area of
workers compensation.

Mr. Morrissey reviewed the Division’s organizational chart (Attachment 1), the Data Collection Staff in
particular. Everyone recognizes that Kansas does not have sufficient data to see what the cost drivers are in
workers compensation. If changes are made in the law, we cannot tell specifically what the impact of those
changes will be. We know from experience certain areas cost money, but they can’t be clearly defined with
the data now available.

The Medical Utilization Review Section will administer the medical fee schedule authorized by the 1990
Legislature. Medical costs account for about one-half of the workers compensation dollar.

The sections of the Workers Compensation Division and their functions are more fully explained in the
Introduction of the Employers’ Handbook. (Attachment 2)

It is important to remember that the Workers Compensation Division is a fee funded agency. All the funds to
operate the Workers Compensation Division come from employers. A bill is sent once a year to all insurance
companies and self-insureds based on the proportionate case load they had the prior year. There are three fee
funds. The Workers Compensation Fee Fund finances their office. The State Self Insurance Fund headed by
George Welch, Department of Administration, is the insurance company for state employees. The Workers
Compensation Fund operated by the Insurance Commissioner is for pre-existing injuries.

Workers compensation is a social insurance program started in 1911 in Kansas covering all businesses in
Kansas with a gross payroll of $10,000 or more, except agriculture. (Attachment 2) There are approximately
55,000 employers in Kansas, 220 self-insureds, and about 2,000 in group-funded pools. Rules for self
insurance are rather strict and only large solvent companies usually qualify. Workers compensation is paid by
the employer, not by the employee.

Chairman Heinemann thanked Mr. Morrissey and asked him to return tomorrow to complete his presentation.
Chairman Heinemann introduced the committee staff: Jerry Ann Donaldson, Legislative Research
Department; Jim Wilson, Revisor of Statutes; and Kay Scarlett, Committee Secretary. All members of the

committee then introduced themselves.

The meeting adjourned at 10:02 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for January 13, 1993.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been franscribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals 1
appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.
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Workers Compensation
Employers' Handbook and Resource Data

ERRATA July 1, 1992

All changes are in bold type.

WHEN AN ACCIDENT OCCURS (red edging)

Section titled "Benefits," second page:

Add new line to Maximum Compensation Schedule and Workers Compensation Schedule
of Benefits.

July 1, 1991 - June 30, 1992 $289
July 1, 1992 - June 30, 1993 $299
Mileage rate effective December 1, 1990 ($.26)

Also add following line to last paragraph on page: Turnpike or other toll, and parking fees
actually and necessarily incurred are also reimbursed to the Injured worker.

INFORMATION SERVICES AND RESQURCES (iight green edging)

Section titled "Other Resources,"
third page:

The before mentioned offices are located at:
KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION

800 SW JACKSON ST STE 600

TOPEKA KS 66612-1227

fourth page:

Liberal Law Judge (316) 624-6200
Write to:

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
WORKERS COMPENSATION

11 W5TH ST

LIBERAL KS 67901-3323

Workers Compensation Rates, Rules and Policy Forms, Group Self-
Insureds: Bill Wempe, Supervisor of Commercial Multi-Perils Section, or
John Spain, Policy Examiner, Kansas Insurance Department, 420 SW Sth St,
Topeka KS 66612-1678. (913) 296-3071.

Workers' Compensation Fund: William Dempsey, Attorney, Kansas

Insurance Department, 420 SW Sth St, Topeka KS 66612-1678.

(913) 296-7812.
(continued) ,
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. age 2 (Continued)
July 1, 1992 - ERRATA

Workers Compensation Assigned Risk Plan: Margaret Gartner, Supervisor
NCCI (National Council on Compensation Insurance), Kansas Service
Office, Ste 1, 2930 Wanamaker Dr, Topeka KS (913) 273-6660. Mail-
ing Address: NCCI, Kansas Service Office, PO Box 1577, Topeka KS
66601-1577.

fifth page:

Workers Compensation Legal Questions Covering Drug Testing or

Employment Applications: A. J. Kotich, Staff Attorney, Kansas

Department of Human Resources, 401 SW Topeka Blvd, Topeka KS 66603-3182.
(913) 296-4902.

FORMS NOT FURNISHED BY THE DIVISION OF WORKERS
COMPENSATION:

Miller Printers, Inc., 1010 Grant St, PO Box 549, Great Bend KS 67530-3516.
(316) 793-5222.

Thill Printing Co., PO Box 1046, Great Bend KS 67530-1046. (316) 793-8866.

Uniform Printing and Supply (does not provide Form D), PO Box 189,
Kendaliville IN 46755-0189. 1-800-382-2424.

Paragon Graphics, Inc., 8131 W 10th St, Indianapolis IN 46214-2431.
1-800-876-4578.

Special forms:

OSHA Forms 100 and 200 may be obtained from: DHR, Industrial Safety
and Health Section, 512 SW 6th Ave, Topeka KS 66603-3174. (913) 296-4386.

NCCI Policy Termination/Cancellation/Reinstatement Notice, Form #WC
89 06 09, order blanks for ordering this form may be obtained from: NCCI,
Order Processing Department, 750 Park of Commerce Drive, Boca Raton
FL 33487-3696. (407) 997-4608.
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Bl THE DIVISION

Workers Compensation is an insurance plan provided by the
employer (by law) to pay certain benefits to employees who are injured in
accidents that arise out of and in the course of employment. The Division
of Workers Compensation, Kansas Department of Human Resources
(DHR), administers the Workers Compensation Act.

The Division of Workers Compensation is made up of five sections:
Administrative, consisting of Statistical and Administrative Services and the
Self-insured program; ClaimsAdvisory; Rehabilitation; Judicial; and Medical
Utilization Review sections.

The Administrative section processes all incoming documents and
provides information on programs or individual cases. Information is
recorded on injured workers, employers, insurance carriers, self-insureds
and attorneys. This section also handles all accident reports and publishes an
annual statistical report and a quarterly newsletter. Included is the self -
insured program for individual self insured employers. This program grants
self-insured status to large, financially-sound employers with sufficient
financial strength to pay workers’ compensation claims.

The Claims Advisory section monitors insurance carriers for timely
and proper administration of workers’ compensation claims, provides
information and assistance to injured workers, insurance carriers, employers
and attorneys regarding workers’ compensation liabilities. This section also
administers the employee and employer election program.

The Rehabilitation section directs and audits the vocational and
physical rehabilitation needs of injured workers with insurance carriers, self-
insureds, private vocational rehabilitation vendors and the Department of
Social and Rehabilitation Services to monitor workers’ return to employ-
ment through appropriate vocational rehabilitation services.

The Judicial section is comprised of Administrative Law Judges,
who hear cases on request by an injured worker, employer or insurance
company. A hearing may be requested whenever there is a disagreement
regarding the right to compensation or benefits due the injured worker.
Awards by the judges can be appealed to the Workers Compensation
Director, the District Court, and the Kansas Appellate Courts.

The Medical Utilization Review section was established July 1,
1990, when the Act was amended . It mandates the Director to prepare and
adopt rules and regulations which establish a maximum fee schedule or
schedules for the state. Schedules are limited to defined localities. A
schedule places a limit on medical-related fees, including vocational reha-
bilitation and any other services provided or ordered by health care provid-
ers to employees under the Act. The law provides for a seven-member
advisory panel to assist the Director in establishing the schedule or sched-

ules and providing an annual review of the fee schedule.
October,1990
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Introduction

B THE LAW

The first law in Kansas regarding workers’ compensation was
enacted in 1911 and has been changed considerably since that time.

Initially, the law covered only hazardous jobs and there were certain
exemptions in regard to the number of employees. The law today covers all
employers in Kansas, no matter how many employees they have or the
nature of the work, except where the employer has less than an estimated
$10,000 annual payroll in any calendar year.

While the law contains provisions for some employers to self-insure,
normally only large, substantial companies are approved for self-insurance.
Application for self-insurance is made and approval is given by the Director
of Workers Compensation. Group self-insurance is available for those that
qualify, and the program is administered by the Kansas Insurance Depart-
ment, (913) 296-3071.

Most employers provide coverage by purchasing workers’ compen-
sation insurance. To obtain insurance, or information as to its cost, an
employer should contact an insurance agent. The Kansas Insurance
Commissioner’s office can answer questions in regard to insurance policies,
rules, rates and forms.

The Division of Workers Compensation publishes the the Kansas
Workers Compensation Law and Rules when the law is changed (see
publications in the Informational Services and Resources Section).

Bl POSTING NOTICE

The law requires all Kansas Employers to post K-WC-40, Notice: Your
Employer is Subject to the Kansas Workers Compensation Law Which Provides
Compensation for Job-Related Injuries. It must be posted in a conspicuous place.

To receive a copy of this poster, a copy of other required Kansas posters
and a brochure listing federal required posters, call (913) 296-7106 or write:

ATTN: Communications

Kansas Department of Human Resources
401 SW Topeka Blvd.

TOPEKA, KS 66603-3182

H THE HANDBOOK

The purpose of this material is to increase your understanding of the

law, to help you to correctly prepare the appropriate forms and to facilitate
your interaction with the Division of Workers Compensation.

The material is in loose leaf form so information in the sections may
be updated as the Workers Compensation Law evolves. It is color-coded for
quick reference and to ease the introduction of updated material. The
Division recommends that the pages being replaced be saved. The old
material will pertain to accidents that occur before amendments to the Act
take effect. if the amendments affect substantine rights, rather than proce-
dural or remedial rights. Revisions to the Workers Compensation Hand-
book will be available after October 1 each year. Requests for revisions
must be made in writing to the Division of Workers Compensation. The
address is listed under other resources in the Informational Services and
Resources Section. Sample forms and form helpers can be found in the
appendix‘ October,1990
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The present law covers all employers in the state of Kansas except Intl‘OduCtlon

for employers in agricultural pursuits and employers with less than $10,000
gross annual payroll. All payroll is taken into account, including that paid in
Kansas or elsewhere. If the employer is a sole proprietor or a partnership,
the wages paid to such employer(s) and his/her (their) family are not used in
the computation of the $10,000 gross annual payroll.

Workers’ compensation benefits are not paid by the state of Kansas
except to state employees. Benefits are provided and paid for by the em-
ployer through insurance or self-insurance. Employees pay no portion of
the cost of workers’ compensation. Self-insurance can only be undertaken
after application is made and approval is given by the Director’s office.
Normally, only large, substantial companies are permitted to self-insure.
Most employers provide coverage by purchasing workers’ compensation
insurance. To obtain insurance, or information as to its cost, an employer
should contact an insurance agent. The Kansas Insurance Commissioner’s
office can answer questions in regard to insurance policies, rules, rates and
forms. Group self-insurance is available for those that qualify, and the
program is administered by the Kansas Insurance Department, phone (913)
296-3071.
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B ELECTIONS

KSA 44-505 provides that the Workers Compensation Act shall
apply to all employers except (1) agricultural pursuits, (2) employers with
less than $10,000 gross annual payroll, and (3) members of a Firemen’s
Relief Association which has elected not to come under the Act.

The method of determining whether or not an agricultural pursuit is
under the Act generally follows the rule that only purely agricultural pursuits
are exempt; servicing agricultural pursuits are considered covered under the
Act.

In computing the $10,000 payroll to determine whether an em-
ployer is mandatorily covered, all payroll would be counted in a corporate
business, but in a non-corporate situation, that portion of the payroll paid to
a member of the employer’s family is not required to be counted. The
various election forms (See sample forms in appendix) presently in use are
set out below:

Forms 50 and 50a deal with the election out of the Act by certain
corporate employees. The form can only be used by an employee of a
corporation who owns 10 percent or more of the corporate stock. Such an
employee so electing by use of Form 50 exempts himself/herself from
coverage under the Act. The form to cancel a Form 50 election previously
filed is Form 50a.

Forms 51 and 51a are to be used by employers who are exempted
from the law and wish to be covered. This would include employers with
less than $10,000 payroll and agricultural pursuits. Form 51 is the election
by which these employers can make themselves subject to the Act. Form
51a cancels Form 51 election.

Form 113 is an election filed by an individual, proprietor, or partner
to cover himself or herself under the Act. Form 114 cancels Form 113.
Both the 113 and 114 forms must be signed by an insurance company
underwriter or other official of the insurance carrier. A signature of an
agent, either captive or general, is not acceptable.

Form 123 is an election whereby the employer can elect to provide
coverage for all or part of his/her volunteer workers. Form 124 is a cancel-
lation of Form 123.

Form 135 is an election of the employer to provide workers’ com-
pensation coverage for persons performing public or community service as a
result of a contract of diversion, assignment to a community corrections
program or suspension of sentence, or as a condition of probation or in lieu
of a fine. Form 135a is a cancellation of Form 135.

Examples of Use:
Assume a partnership of two persons with two employees - one of

these employees is a member of the partner’s family and the other employee .

not a member of the family (the second of the employees not earning
$10,000 per year.) The employment would not be subject to the Workers
Compensation Act since they do not have a gross annual payroll paid to

non-family members of $10,000 or more.
October,1990
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overage

Assume that the partnership files election Form 51. That would
make the business subject to the Act by their election. The coverage,
therefore, would be for the two employees, the one member of the family
and the other non-member. Although the member of the family payroll is
not used to determine whether the business is mandatorily subject to the Act,
the election to bring the business subject to the Act automatically extends
the coverage to the family employee and the non-family employee. There is
no coverage of each of the partners since they are not employees, but rather
employers.

Forms 50 and 50a would have no application to this business since
the business is not a corporation.

If the partners also filed election Form 113 on each of the partners
in addition to Form 51, coverage would extend not only to the two employ-
ees but also to each of the individual partners.

B EMPLOYEES WITH DISABILITIES

The Kansas Workers Compensation law contains a provision which
is known as the Kansas Workers’ Compensation Fund. Most states have
similar provisions and many refer to them as the Second Injury Fund.

The purpose of the Workers’ Compensation Fund is to create an
inducement to employers to hire qualified workers with disabilities. Since a
person with an existing disability might expose the employer to greater risk
of an injury claim, this fund was created to remove that added risk. The
word “handicapped” as used in these sections of the law does not only refer
to persons with severe handicaps, but also to others with minor disabilities
that constitute a hurdle to getting and keeping employment.

a If the name of the employee with a disability is filed with the

Director’s office,

m or if the employer proves he or she knew of a preexisting handicap,

= and that employee sustains an injury,the employer can claim relief

from payment from the Workers’ Compensation Fund. How much
is paid from the Fund depends upon the facts of the case.

Benefits may be paid from the Fund in three types of

situations. They are as follows:

1. If an accident occurs in which an employee is injured and that
accident would not have occurred “but for” the preexisting disability, then
all compensation would be paid by the Fund.

2. If the employee’s preexisting disability did not cause the accident
to occur, but the employee sustains a disability that is totally attributable to
the preexisting condition, then all of the compensation would be paid by the
Fund.

3. If the preexisting impairment did not cause the accident to occur
but the employee sustains a disability that is partly attributable to the preex-
isting condition, then part of the compensation would be paid by the Fund.

October,1990
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Employers can use Form 88 (see sample forms in appendix) to Coverage

file the names of employees with disabilities. Copies of this form are
available from the The Division of Workers Compensation Office.

An employee with a disability is defined as follows: any person
afflicted with, or subject to, any physical or mental impairment, or both,
whether congenital or due to an injury or disease of such character that
the impairment constitutes a handicap in obtaining employment or
would constitute a handicap in obtaining reemployment if the employee
should become unemployed.

Also, a handicap may be due to any of the following diseases or
conditions—epilepsy, diabetes, cardiac disease, arthritis, amputated foot,
leg, arm or hand, loss of sight of one or both eyes or a partial loss of
vision of more than 75 percent bilaterally, residual disability from
poliomyelitis, cerebral palsy, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease,
cerebral vascular accident, tuberculosis, silicosis or asbestosis, psycho-
neurotic or mental disease or disorder established by medical opinion or
diagnosis, loss of or partial loss of use of any member of the body. In
addition, a handicap may be due to any physical deformity or abnormal-
ity, other physical impairment, disorder or disease, physical or mental,
which is established as constituting a disability in obtaining or in retain-
ing employment.

NOTE: workers’ compensation insurance premiums are not
based on the fact that an employee may be disabled. They are based on
the type of work that is to be performed.

In a recent study conducted by a major industrial firm, qualified
disabled employees rated average or better attendance; rated average or
better in turnover; were more highly motivated toward good safety,
attendance and job performance; and were
capable of achieving a satisfactory level of safety and job performance.
In fact, the best workers were found to be those with the severest dis-
abilities, i.e., amputees, blind persons and paraplegics.

With the passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA),
more employers may be interested in making their work sites handi-
capped accessible. DHR’s Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns
(KCDC) can provide information on free accessibility surveys and some
(often simple and inexpensive) accommodations. KCDC can be
reached by calling (913) 296-1722.

B INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS

The Division of Workers Compensation is frequently contacted
about the problem of the independent contractor. The basic question is
whether an individual is an independent contractor or an employee.
This can be a very important question in regard to whether an employer
must cover the worker as an employee or whether the worker is indeed
an independent contractor, and therefore, not subject to the employer’s

insurance coverage. Under the Kansas Workers Compensation law, if a
October,1990




worker is an employee, he/she cannot be required to contribute towards
purchasing workers’ compensation insurance. If the worker is an employee,
then the employer must purchase the insurance and the employer cannot
withhold funds from the employee’s pay or commission to purchase the
insurance.

In workers” compensation, the determination of whether a worker is
an employee or an independent contractor is made through the so-called
“common law test” as applied by the Kansas Supreme Court or Kansas
Court of Appeals. In other words, there is no statute in the Workers Com-
pensation law that sets the definition for the legal requirements as to whether
a certain individual is an employee or an independent contractor. An
Administrative Law Judge, or the Director, or other appeal courts will arrive
at this determination by examining how the prior decisions of the Kansas
Supreme Court defined an employee.

In the case of Snyder vs. Lamb, 191 Kan. 446, our Supreme Court
said, “The question whether, in a given situation, an injured workman
occupied the status of an independent contractor—as distinguished from an
employee—has been before this court many times. Generally speaking, an
independent contractor is one who, exercising an independent employment,
contracts to do a piece of work according to his own methods and without
being subject to control of his employer except as to the result of his work.”
The court further noted in that case that the right of control test is not an
exclusive test to determine the relationship, but other relevant factors are
also to be considered. The court in the case of Evans vs. Board of Education
of Hays, 178 Kan. 275, noted “an independent contractor represents the will
of his employer only in the result of his work and not as to the means by
which it is accomplished.” The court further noted in that decision, “It is not
the exercise of direction, supervision or control over a workman which
determines whether he is a servant or an independent contractor, but the
right to exercise such direction, supervision or control.”

The right to hire or discharge the worker also can be an important
element in this test. Generally, if an independent contractor does not per-
form a job he/she was contracted to do in a satisfactory manner, the legal
recourse is not to discharge that person but to sue the person for breach of
contract due to faulty workmanship or incomplete service. Usually an
independent contractor cannot be discharged at the whim of the person
contracting the work. An employee, however, can be subject to this type of
termination.

The person engaging the independent contractor usually enters into
a written agreement where a certain end result is contracted for and a certain
set amount of money will be paid once that end result is completed. For
mstance, if a home owner contracted with a plumbing service to build a
bathroom for a certain amount of money and did not engage in the supervi-
sion of the independent contractor while he/she performed the job, then that
person performing the job would most probably be an independent contrac-
tor. However, if a person was a contractor who built homes and contracted
with a certain individual that he/she would be paid so much an hour while

“he/she did the plumbing work, generally gave directions how the plumbing
October,1990
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work should be completed and had the right to discharge that person at any
time during the progress of the work, that person doing the work would Coverage

most probably be an employee.

Problems develop where there exists an extremely close question of
whether that person is an employee or an independent contractor. Employ-
ers are cautioned that they may be taking a financial risk if they do not
cover such workers, because if it is determined that the worker is an em-
ployee, the employer would be required to pay the benefits even though he/
she is uninsured.

Sometimes general contractors and others will require certificates of
insurance from all persons doing work for them, and therefore, avoid the
contractor vs. employee question and protect themselves from workers’
compensation claims. The only problem with this is some workers might
complain they are being required to carry workers’ compensation insurance
on themselves even though they believe themselves to be employees.
Therefore, the problem can arise even before an accident may occur.

When the law was revised in 1974, church boards inquired about
the status of ministers. The questions arose because the Internal Revenue
Service apparently considers most ministers self-employed and not employ-
ees. However, applying the “common law test” to most situations involv-
ing ministers indicated to our office that these people most probably were
employees rather than independent contractors. In most cases, a minister is
subject to discharge by a church board and it does have a certain right of
control over the minister’s activities by providing directions regarding
duties and how they generally should be performed. In most cases, the
church should provide workers’ compensation coverage for the minister.

Questions concerning independent contractors have been presented
by the trucking industry. In the Supreme Court case, Knoble vs. National
Carriers, 212 Kan. 331, the truck driver owned the tractor and leased it to
the trucking firm. The employee, with his tractor, towed the trailer of the
trucking firm. The truck driver and the trucking firm had a written contract
which specifically stated the parties did not intend to create an employer-
employee relationship.

Truck drivers were not prescribed as to the number of days they had
to work or times they had to work; however, they had to conform to the
ICC regulations as the amount of time they could work in a given day. The
truck drivers were given advances for expense money, which was deducted
from their payment on completion of delivery of a load. Some of the
evidence brought out in the case was that the drivers received instructions
from the dispatcher as to what commodities were to be hauled and where
they were to be delivered. The drivers were required to check with the
employer on a call-in basis at least once a day.

The employee was paid on the basis of 70 percent of the gross
revenue taken in by the truck and no social security or withholding tax was
withheld or paid by the trucking firm. The Supreme Court, in that case,
concluded that the lower court was correct in finding an employer-em-
ployee relationship to exist. The court, in making this finding, noted, “that
the trucking company exercised or had the right to exercise as much control
October,1990
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Coverage

over the drivers of leased vehicles as it desired or was required to exercise in
order to operate efficiently.” The court further noted that no exact formula
exists for determining if one is an employee or an independent contractor and
concluded, “The determination of the relation in each instance depends upon
the individual circumstances of the particular case.”

It might also be noted that where one person is exclusively associated
with another in order to conduct his/her business efficiently, the principal in
the relationship, as a practical matter, must exercise or reserve some control
over the worker’s activities. Also, it might be observed that a person who is
willing to be considered an independent contractor may have a change of
feeling as to this status once he or she is injured on the job.

Where an employer-employee relationship is found to exist, the
employer would be required to pay the benefits even though he/she did not
carry workers’ compensation insurance. The liability can be very high
because of unlimited medical and present overall dollar maximums, in
addition to the employer’s attorneys’ fees.

October,1990
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Hl THE STANDARD PROCEDURE

When an accident occurs, the process of settling all claims resulting
from that accident begins with the notification of the employer, who must
file an accident report with his or her insurance carrier (see sample forms in
appendix). In turn, the insurance carrier or a self-insured employer files the
report with the Director of Workers Compensation and this office sends an
informational sheet and claim form to the injured employee. A Physician’s
Report (see sample forms in appendix) is filed by the treating physician with
the insurance carrier or the employer following the filing of the accident
report by the carrier. The employee files his or her claim for benefits, Claim
for Workers Compensation K-WC15, (see sample form in appendix) with
the employer. ;

An employer/insurance carrier must begin paying compensation on

the 14th day of the time lost following the injury. The first week is not
payable unless the employee is off for at least three consecutive weeks.

The right to compensation may be forfeited if a claim is not served
in time (see the deadlines chart in this section).

Verbal notice of accident to employer
(May be exempted)

Written notice of occupational disease

Carrier must file original accident
report typed or printed in black ink,
with the Division of Workers Compen-
sation

The worker must file a written claim
with employer (in person or or by
registered or certified mail) if the
accident report is timely filed.

Worker must file a written claim when
employer fails to report accident within
28 days.

Dependents submit written claim in
death cases

Workers suffering disability from
occupational disease

Application for hearing by employee

October,1990
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within 10 days of accident

within 90 days of disablement

within 28 days from date the
employer has knowledge of
accident

200 days from date of accident
or last date of medical /
temporary compensation

one year from date of accident

one year from date of accident

one year from date of disable-
ment

within three years of date of
accident or two years after last
payment of compensation

2-/3
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B HEARINGS

If a hearing is desired, the injured employee is required to file an
Application for Hearing (see sample forms in appendix), provided that a
written claim has been filed within specified deadlines with the employer.

B BENEFITS

The Kansas Workers Compensation law requires that the employer
or insurance carrier pay an injured worker two-thirds of the employee’s
gross average weekly wage up to the maximum benefits listed below.
Employees are not paid benefits for the first week they are off work except
medical benefits; however, if they are off over seven days, then they are
entitled to receive weekly compensation (if off three weeks, employees can
receive compensation for the first week).

To determine the maximum that is applicable, check the maximum
in effect for the year of the injury provided by the schedule below. The
maximum in effect at the date of the injury does not change once set. Re-
member, also, that if two thirds of the gross average weekly wage is below
the maximum listed below, the actual amount one would receive would be
only two thirds of the gross average weekly wage.

Maximum Compensation Schedule

Date of Injury Maximum Benefit
July 1, 1985-June 30, 1986 $239
July 1, 1986-June 30, 1987 $247
July 1, 1987-June 30, 1988 $256
July 1, 1988-June 30, 1989 $263
July 1, 1989-June 30, 1990 $271
July 1, 1990-June 30, 1991 $278

Weekly compensation is payable at the above rate until the doctor
releases the employee to return to work; however, in no case can such
payments exceed a total of $125,000 for permanent total or $100,000 for
partial or temporary disability.

Medical Benefits:

A person injured on the job is entitled to all medical treatment that
may be needed to cure or relieve the effects of the injury. Under the law, the
employer has the right to choose the treating physician. If the worker seeks
treatment from a doctor not authorized or agreed upon by the employer, the
insurance company is only liable up to $350 toward such medical bills. The
employee does have the right to apply to the Director for a change of doctor.
An injured worker is generally entitled to mileage reimbursement for trips to
see the physician if the distance is over five miles for the round trip. If the
worker must hire transportation, this can also be reimbursed.
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Settling the Workers Compensation Claim:

Employees who receive a permanent injury as a result of a work-
related accident may be entitled to permanent disability benefits. The law
allows a certain number of weeks of compensation to be paid for various
injuries to the listed body members (see schedule list in this section). If the
injury is not on the schedule, compensation may be required to be paid over a
415-week period.

Although the law requires that compensation be paid for a certain
period of weeks, the employee, employer or insurance carrier have the right
to settle the employee’s claim on a lump-sum basis. Before the employee
agrees to such a settlement, the employee may call the Division of Workers
Compensation Claims Advisory Section to discuss his/her situation.

Many factors can affect the employee’s dicision to accept a lump-
sum settlement on his/her claim. The Division of Workers Compensation
cannot make this decision to accept or reject an offer of settlement nor will it
act as legal counsel to the employee. However, it can outline the employee’s
rights and obligations under the law so any decision is an informed decision.

Schedule List
(amputation through a joint is considered loss to the next higher schedule)

Accidental Injury Disability Weeks Payable
Arm 210
Forearm 200
Hand 150
Leg 200
Lower Leg 190
Foot 125
Eye 120
Hearing, Both Ears 110
Hearing, One Ear 30
Thumb 60
First (index) Finger 87
Second (middle) Finger 30
Third (ring) Finger 20
Fourth (little) Finger 15
Great Toe 30
Great Toe, End Joint 15
Each Other Toe 10
Each Other Toe, End Joint 5

Computing the Settlement:

Amputation (1) Add weeks on applicable schedule to number of
weeks healing period (additional weeks compensation allowed for time you
are off work up to 10 percent of the weeks on the schedule, but no more than
15 weeks); (2) Multiply these weeks times the weekly compensation
payment; (3) Subtract the amount of compensation previously paid. For
partial or multiple amputations, contact the Division of Workers Compensa-
tion.
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Loss of Use to Schedule Member (1) Subtract weeks of compensa-
tion already paid to employee from number of weeks on the Schedule List;
(2) Multiply this figure by percent of disability to the member; (3) Multiply
this figure by employee’s weekly compensation rate. This gives the total
settlement due. NOTE: Healing period may be allowed in non-amputation
cases.

Permanent Partial Disability to the Body (Example: back, shoul-
der, and head) (1) Compute employee’s weekly permanent partial compensa-
tion rate by muliplying his/her gross average weekly wage times his/her
percent of disability; (2) Multiply this figure by .6667 (cannot exceed maxi-
mum benefit listed on reverse side); (3) Subtract the number of weeks of
compensation already paid to the employee from 415 weeks; (4) Multiply the
balance by the permanent partial weekly rate. (This gives the total settlement
due.)

Death Benefits The Kansas Workers Compensation Act requires an
employer to pay weekly benefits to the surviving dependents of an employee
who suffers work-related accidental death. The weekly benefits equal two-
thirds of the deceased’s gross average weekly wage, but cannot exceed the
maximum weekly benefit applicable on the date of death shown on the table
under the Benefits heading in this section.

Generally, weekly benefits are payable to a maximum of $200,000
depending on the continued eligibility of the surviving spouse and dependent
children. All medical and hospital expenses incurred by the fatal incident are
payable, and funeral expenses up to $3,200 are allowed.

Children are considered dependent if unmarried and under the age of
18 on the date of the deceased’s death. Children between the ages of 18 and
23 are considered dependent children if they are physically or mentally
incapacitated, attending college or involved in vocational education. Depen-
dent children can receive compensation until age 18 even if the benefits
exceed $200,000.

If the deceased leaves only a surviving spouse and no dependent
children, the surviving spouse receives the entire weekly benefit. If the
deceased leaves a surviving spouse and dependent children, the weekly
benefit is paid half to the spouse and half to the children. If only children
survive, the weekly benefit is divided equally among the children. If the
deceased is unmarried and leaves no dependent children, then parents,
grandparents, brothers or sisters who were wholly or partially dependent
upon the deceased can receive compensation. However, spouses or depen-
dent children take to the exclusion of all other dependent relatives.

Questions regarding the employee’s rights under the Kansas Workers
Compensation Act can be answered by the Claims Advisory Section of the
Division of Workers Compensation. The telephone numbers (including the
toll-free number) and address are listed under Other Resources in the Infor-
mational Services and Resources Section.
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B CLOSING A WORKERS
COMPENSATION CASE

Form D, Final Receipt and Release of Liability:This form is filed by
the employer and insurance carrier to release their liability on a claim. It
requires the employee’s signature and the attachment of a Form G,
Physician’s Report, supporting the percent of disability upon which the
compensation is paid. The Form D. release can be set aside within a
year if the release does not reflect that the claimant has been provided
compensation in accordance with the Act.

Joint Petition and Stipulation:This method of settlement has the effect
of an award by an Administrative Law Judge. It can only be used in
death cases; when the claimant is incapacitated and cannot come to a
settlement hearing; or if the claimant is out of state and unable to travel
to Kansas for such a hearing.

Settlement in Front of an Administrative Law Judge:This is a
settlement by the parties presented to the Administrative Law Judge for
approval and award. A written record is made of the settlement hearing.
The Administrative Law Judge advises the claimant of his or her rights
under the Workers Compensation Act and the effect of the proposed
settlement. Once the settlement is approved, the award is final unless
appealed. A lump sum settlement cannot be appealed.

TRIAL OF A CONTESTED CASE:

A. Preliminary hearings pursuant to KSA 44-534a: The
Administrative Law Judge may order compensation paid during the trial
of a workers’ compensation case following a preliminary hearing.
Seven days notice is required for such a hearing and the Administrative
Law Judge must render his/her decision within five days after the
hearing. Compensation allowable in a preliminary hearing is temporary
total, medical compensation, and vocational rehabilitation benefits
pending the final submission of the case to the Administrative Law
Judge for an award. If the Administrative Law Judge later finds the
compensation should not have been paid, reimbursement is allowed
from the Workers’ Compensation Fund administered by the Kansas
Insurance Department. This procedure allows the claimant to begin to
receive compensation in a minimum of 12 days following a Notice of
Hearing.

B. Regular hearings pursuant to KSA 44-534: Twenty days
written notice is required prior to the hearing. Each party is allowed 30
days after the hearing to complete their case. The Administrative Law
Judge is required to render a decision within 30 days following the
submission of the case. A written record is made in front of the Admin-
istrative Law Judge when the claimant testifies. Depositions of doctors
are generally taken by the attorneys. The record is then submitted to the
Administrative Law Judge. A preliminary award can be made in the
October,1990
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interim before the final award is made in a case.

C. Appeal procedures: Within 10 days after the Administrative
Law Judge renders an award, either party has the right to make application
for review. The review is heard by the Workers Compensation Director or
Assistant Director. Following the Director’s decision, which must be made
within 90 days of the review, the matter can then be appealed to the District
Court if a petition for judicial review is filed within 30 days following the
Order of the Director.

If an Administrative Law Judge awards compensation on a final
award, no compensation is due to the claimant until the Director’s Order. If
one of the parties then appeals the matter to the District Court , compensa-
tion must be paid to the claimant for 10 weeks preceding the date of the
Director’s Order and kept current while pending before the District Court.

By statute the workers’ compensation reviews have priority in the
District Court. When the District Court makes its order, either party has 30
days in which to appeal the matter to the Kansas Court of Appeals. An
appeal to the Supreme Court can be taken only if the Supreme Court grants
areview. Pending the decision from the Court of Appeals, all compensation
must be brought to date and the award kept current. If the Director, District
Court or Court of Appeals denies compensation or modifies the award of the
Administrative Law Judge, reimbursement for ovrepayment can be made
from the Workers’ Compensation Fund for compensation previously paid.

After July 1,1990, if the District Court or Appellate Courts reduce
benefits, the employer is entitled to a credit for overpayment to be applied
first against any lump sum due the employee and then against any future
benefit payable to the employee. There is no interuption in benefit pay-
ments to the employee.

D. Review and modification procedure: Following the final
award of the Administration Law Judge, the Director, the District Court or
the Appellate Court, any party may seek a review and modification of the
award pursuant to KSA 44-528. Any party has the right to seek review and
modification on the grounds specified in the statute, usually because the
claimant’s disability has become less or greater.

E. Awards: The Administrative Law Judge may order compensa-
tion paid weekly according to the various types of injury and the amount of
disability.

H VOCATIONALAND PHYSICAL
REHABILITATION PROCEDURE

Accident reports submitted to the Division of Workers Compensa-
tion by the insurance carrier or self-insured employer are computer screened
so those claimants who would have a high probability of meeting the
assessment criteria for vocational rehabilitation will receive information
about those services from the Division of Workers Compensation. Addi-
tionally, carriers and self-insured employers are required to report to the
Division, all injured workers who have missed 90 days of work duetoa
work-related injury on Form R87-1, Insurance Carrier Status Report. (see
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Form Helper in appendix ) Additional information is then provided the
claimant regarding vocational rehabilitation.

Claimants are not automatically referred for vocational rehabilitation
assessment if they have been off work for 90 days. Historically, however,
the greater length of time away from work recovering from an injury, the
greater the likelihood exists that the claimant will need some type of voca-
tional rehabilitation assistance in order to return to suitable work and at
comparable wages.

Referral for a vocational rehabilitation assessment is most often
made when the claimant reaches maximum medical improvement or is quite
close to it. However, where it is known that a vocational rehabilitation '
assessment will have to be made, early intervention is recommended. The
authority and responsibility for making a referral to a qualified vocational
rehabilitation vendor lies with the insurance carrier or self-insured employer.

Referral should be made if it is questionable that the injured worker
can return to the same job with the same employer due to the restrictions
placed on the worker because of a work-related injury. If the employer is
unable to make a reasonable accommodation through a job offer that is
within the restrictions and at a comparable wage, a referral should be made.

Once the injured worker is referred for a vocational rehabilitation
assessment, the rehabilitation counselor must adhere to a determination
based on the following priorities as established under the Workers Compen-

sation law. These are:
a. return to same work with same employer,

b. same work with accommodations, same employer,

c. other work with or without accommodations for same em-
ployer,

d. same work-another employer,

e. other work for another employer and

f. provide vocational rehabilitation re-education or training.

The assessment provides the documentation to establish whether a
need exists for assistance from the rehabilitation counselor and the respon-
dent insurance carrier for the injured worker to return to work in one of the
priorities listed above. Actual vocational rehabilitation services, i.., a
vocational rehabilitation plan, are only provided to those md1v1duals for
whom a need is demonstrated to exist.

The goal of the rehabilitation counselor is twofold, 1) to assess
injured workers to determine whether they will need rehabilitation services
in order to return to work; and 2) to provide/coordinate rehabilitation ser-
vices for those who are determined to need them, to return the injured
worker to employment within their functional restrictions at comparable
wages.

Workers are entitled to temporary total disability compensation
during any period of vocational rehabilitation, reeducation or training, if
they are not working. The worker may receive temporary total or temporary
partlal disability compensation while the vocational rehabilitaion assessment
is being conducted. However, no temporary total or temporary partial
disability compensation shall be payable for any week the injured worker is
receiving Unemployment Insurance benefits.
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ACCldent One way to reduce the cost of workers’ compensation is to

create or maintain as safe a work environment as possible. Lower
O CCUrs premiums are not the only reason to be attentive to safety. Most

workers are skilled and the employer has an investment in them.
Training time, even for positions which do not require training
beyond the high school level, costs the employer money. Maintaining
a safe work environment does not cost money, it saves money.

The Kansas Department of Human Resources can help the
employer save even more money. The Department’s Division of
Industrial Safety and Health provides a free safety and health
consultation service for private industry at the request of the
employer. The consultation is a confidential service to employers; it
can help them prepare for a future inspection by the federal
Occupational Safety and Health Administration while also serving to
reduce insurance costs through elimination of hazards and
minimizing liability. The Division also offers safety education and
training materials. Most insurance carriers also provide safety
engineers to assess the work environment.

Bl SAFETY SAVES MONEY
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The Kansas Department of Human Resources, Division of
Workers Compensation, provides many informational services to
employees, employers, health care providers and others. The
Division of Workers Compensation continues to build its
communication network with each of its constituent groups.

B EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS

Workers Compensation Annual Seminars are held at two loca-
tions in Kansas each fall. Each seminar includes special computation
classes. Special programs delivering specific and extensive information are
presented to attorneys, employers and rehabilitation and insurance profes-
sionals. Contact the Division of Workers Compensation to learn the dates
and locations of the next seminars, (913) 296-3441.

The Speakers Bureau is a statewide network of Department of
Human Resources employees who have been trained to educate the public.
Any labor organization, employer group, employee group, health care
provider organization or other interested party can hear a presentation
covering the Kansas Workers Compensation Act or other Department of
Human Resources programs and services. Speakers are available at no cost
to the public. Appointments should be made in advance by calling the
Department’s Division of Communications at (913) 296-7106.

The Kansas Department of Human Resources Employers’ Insti-
tutes cover a wide range of workplace issues. Workers’ compensation is a
recurrent topic at these institutes, designed to help employers understand
laws and regulations that affect their businesses. The one-day institutes are
co-sponsored by the Job Service Employers’ Committee, an advisory group
to the Department. They are held at various locations, statewide, each
spring and fall. For current topics, dates and locations, call the Communica-
tions Division, (913) 296-5003.

The Governor’s Annual Safety and Health Conference provides
a vast resource of information on safety regulations, programs, practices and
equipment. The conference, sponsored by the Kansas Department of
Human Resources Division of Industrial Safety and Health, traditionally
takes place in November. For more information, dates and location of the
next conference, call the Division of Industrial Safety and Health at (913)
296-4386.

The Division of Industrial Safety and Health offers free safety and
health consultations upon request. This service is designed primarily for
small employers. The Division does not penalize for safety and health
violations. Employers find these inspections very helpful in preparing for
inspections by the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration.
To arrange for a free consultation, call (913) 296- 4386.
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Ir@ rmational The Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns provides a free
Services And
Resources

handicapped accessibility survey or can provide a local contact to offer
this service. The Division of Workers Compensation promotes the hiring
and retention of qualified workers with disabilities. Kansas law provides the
Workers” Compensation Fund to reduce the workers’ compensation risk to
employers who hire these workers. The Kansas Commission on Disability
Concerns can be reached at (913) 296-1722 or TDD 296-5044.

Bl PUBLICATIONS

NEWS AND VIEWS FROM WORKERS COMPENSATION is the
Division’s newsletter for Kansas employers, insurance carriers, claims
adjusters, vocational rehabilitation counselors, health care providers, attor-
neys and others. This quarterly publication offers such practical informa-
tion as advice on claims processing; updates on division policy and/or
procedural changes; pertinent statistics; and news concerning current trends
in workers’ compensation. Call (913) 296-3441 to receive this free publica-
tion.

THE WORKERS COMPENSATION LAW AND RULES may be
purchased from the Division of Workers Compensation, Topeka Office. It
is reprinted whenever changes in the Act occur and it is priced only to cover
the cost of printing, shipping, handling and tax. The publication date of the
latest edition is October, 1990, and can be purchased for $5. The July 1,
1987, edition of the Workers Compensation Law and Rules costs $4.
Checks should be payable to the Division of Workers Compensation.

The Division of Workers Compensation publishes an ANNUAL
STATISTICAL REPORT each fall. To obtain a copy, call
(913) 296-3441.

A free mandatory poster, NOTICE: YOUR EMPLOYER IS SUBJECT
TO THE KANSAS WORKERS COMPENSATION LAW WHICH
PROVIDES COMPENSATION FOR JOB-RELATED INJURIES, is
available (see sample in index). For this poster or other Kansas mandatory
posters, call the Communications Division (913) 296-7106. Communica-
tions also publishes a brochures listing all federal and state mandatory
posters.

H EDUCATIONAL VIDEO

The Division has an educational video tape available from the Topeka
Office free of charge (except postage) on the VHS Format. “Early to Rise”
is a 15-minute production of the International Association of Industrial
Accident, Boards and Commissions’ Medical Committee geared towards
continuing education of physicians.
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B PERSONAL COMPUTER
DIAL-UP RESEARCH

For your convenience, remote electronic research of the Division of Work-
ers Compensation records can be accessed with a personal computer and
modem.

The “Dial-Up” operation works by having a personal computer dial
a telephone number in either Hays, Kansas City, Salina, Topeka or Wichita,
which connects the caller to the mainframe computer in Topeka. The caller
can then access and search through the Division’s computer records. There
is no sign-on or subscription fee, only your long distance phone charges.

The files provide information such as:

s a list of all social security numbers filed with the Division

from accident reports, form 88s, elections, dockets, rehabilitation

records and final releases.

m a list of accident reports, dockets, elections, etc.

m a list of accidents under a specific social security number,

m docket records containing 1.) basic information about the

case, 2.) actions that have taken place on the case, and 3.)

names and serial numbers of attorneys involved in the case.

m identification numbers or mailing addresses for insurance

carriers.

For more detailed information explaining how to access the system
and how to accomplish research once in the Division’s records, call (913)
296-3441 or write the Division to receive the dial-up research instructional
booklet.

B OTHER RESOURCES

The Kansas Division of Workers Compensation:

General Information (913) 296-3441

Director’s Office (913) 296-4000

Rehabilitation (913) 296-2050

Claims Advisory (913) 296-2996 or toll-free (claimants only) 1-800-332-
0353

Self-Insurance (913) 296-3606

Topeka Law Judges (913) 296-7012

The before mentioned offices are located at:
Kansas Department of Human Resources

Duvision of Workers Compensation

600 Merchants Bank Tower

800 S.W. Jackson

Topeka, KS 66612-1227
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Liberal Law Judge (316) 624-6200
Write to:
Workers Compensation Administrative Law Judge
518 N. Kansas
Liberal, KS 67901-3304

Overland Park Law Judges (913) 642-7650
Write to:
Workers Compensation Administrative Law Judge
8417 Santa Fe Drive, Suite 206
Overland Park, KS 66212-2749

Salina Law Judge (913) 827-0724 or FAX *(913) 827-0942
Write to:
Workers Compensation Administrative Law Judge
128 N. Santa Fe, Suite 2A
P.O. Box 2207
Salina, KS 67401-2207

Wichita Law Judges (316) 266-8650 or FAX *(316) 266-8656
White to:
Workers Compensation Administrative Law Judge
402 E. Second
P.O. Box 877
Wichita, KS 67202-0877

*The Topeka Offices for the Division of Workers Compensation has a FAX
machine. The number is (913) 296-0839. The 1990 Legislature approved
the use of FAX submissions by passing House Bill 3067. The Division
requires that a follow-up copy be mailed and submitted no longer than five
working days after the FAX submission.

Kansas Insurance Department toll-free number for claimants calling from
Kansas: 1-800-432-2484

Workers Compensation Rates, Rules and Policy Forms, Group Self-
Insureds: Bill Wempe, Supervisor of Commercial Multi-Perils Section, or
John Spain, Policy Examiner, Kansas Insurance Department, 420 S.W. Sth
Street, Topeka, Ks 66612. (913) 296-3071.

Workers’ Compensation Fund: James K. Villamaria, Attorney, Kansas
Insurance Department, 420 S.W. 9th St., Topeka, KS 66612. (913) 296-
7808.

Workers Compensation Assigned Risk Plan: Margaret Gartner, Supervisor
NCCI (National Council on Compensation Insurance), Kansas Service
Office, Suite 6, 2930 Wanamaker Dr., Topeka, KS. (913) 273-6660. Mail-
ing Address: NCCI, Kansas Service Office, P.O. Box 1577, Topeka, KS
66601-1577.
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Workers Compensation Classification of Risk and Experience Modifi-
cation Checks and General Rating Questions: All inquires pertaining to
experience ratings, endorsements, cancellations of policy, notice of termina-
tion of policies, policies information page, ERM-14, form WC 89 06 90, etc.
.. should be sent to:

NCCI Midwestern Division, P.O. Box 19430, Springfield,

IL 62794-9430 (217) 793-1100.

Workers Compensation Legal Questions Covering Drug Testing or
Employment Applications: A.J. Kotich, Chief of Legal Services, Kansas
Department of Human Resources, 401 Topeka Blvd., Topeka, KS 66603.
(913) 296-4902.

FORMS NOT FURNISHED BY THE DIVISION OF WORKERS
COMPENSATION:

Three forms are not furnished by the Division of Workers Compen-
sation and may be printed or reproduced by the employer, as long as the
form provides all the required information (samples of these forms are
contained in the appendix). These forms are: Accident Reports (1101a or
Form A), Final Release (Form D) and Physicians’ Report Blank (Form G).

If employers find it more convenient or cost effective to purchase
these forms from other sources, businesses that have communicated a desire
to sell these forms include:

Miller Printers, Inc., 1010 Grant St., P.O. Box 549, Great Bend, KS 67530.
(913) 793-5222.

Thill Printing Co., P.O. Box 1046, Great Bend, KS 67530. (316) 793-8866.

Uniform Printing and Supply (does not provide Form D), P.O. Box 189,
Kendallville, IN 46755. 1-800-382-2424

Paragon Graphics, Inc., 8131 West 10th St., Indianapolis, IN 46214. 1-800-
876-4578.

Special forms:

ARP-1-KS—Assigned Risk Application for Workers Compensation Insur-
ance may be obtained from: NCCI, Kansas Service Office, P.O. Box 1577,
Topeka, KS 66601-1577. (913) 273-6660.

OSHA Forms 100 and 200 may be obtained from: DHR, Industrial Safety
and Health Section, 512 W. 6th St., Topeka, KS 66603-3150. (913) 296-
4386.

NCCI Policy Termination/Cancellation/Reinstatement Notice, Form #WC
89 06 09, order blanks for ordering this form may be obtained from: NCCI,
Order Processing Department, 750 Park of Commerce Drive, Boca Raton,
FL 33487. (407) 997-4608.
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Claim for Workers Compensation

The oftice of the Division of Workers Compensation has been nolified of an accident or an alleged injury on the job.

If you were olf work for more than one week because of an injury arising out of and in the course of your employment,
or have permanent injury or medical bills, you may be entitled to receive workers compensation disability benefits from your
employer or his insurance carrier. This office pays no benefits,

The faw requires that you must serve written claim for compensation upon your employer within 200 days alter the
accident, the last compensation paid you or the last medical freatment furnished to you. An accident reportis not written claim.

Claim may be served in person or by certified malil, return receipt requested. When claim is served in person, the
employer dates and signs he Receipt. The injured worker keeps the signed Receipt for his or her records. [f the claimis sent

by certified mail, the post office receipt, with the claim receipt, is claimant's proof that he or she timely served wrillen claimupon
his or her empioyer.

RECEIPT
(keep receipt for your records -- do not send to the
Workers Compensation Office)

| hereby acknowledge receipt of written claim:

(employer's signature)

Employee's Name:

Dale of alleged accident: Date claim received:

CLAIM FOR WORKERS COMPENSATION
(leave this portion with employer)

Date , 19

To (employer)

Street City State Zip

You are herewith informed that | claim compensation in accordance with the Workers Compensation laws of Kansas
by reason of an accident which arose out of and in the course of my employment with you on or about (date)

, 19

Signature {worker making claim) Sociat SecurityNo. —

Street City State Zip

EMPLOYER INSTRUCTION: Please forward this claim lo your workers compensation insurance carrier or 1o your self-
insurance claim processing office.

Faderal Prlvacy Act Disclosure Section 7(a)}(2)(B)

.The mandatory requirement that social security numbers be included on forms fited with the Division of Workers Compensation is permitted by
Saction 7(a)(2)(B) of the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, since our regulations which require its disclosura were in existence before January 1, 1975. The
number is used as a means of identilying ali the various records in the Division of WorkersCompensation pertaining fo an individual.

The use of social security bers is made yb of tha large number of applicants who have similar names and birth dates, and
whose identities can only be distinguished by the social security number,

K-WC 15 {Rev. 9-90)

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES

NOTICE

YOUR EMPLOYER IS SUBJECT TO THE KANSAS
WORKERS COMPENSATION LAW WHICH
PROVIDES COMPENSATION FOR JOB-RELATED
INJURIES

WHAT TO DO IF AN ACCIDENT OCCURS ON THE JOB - Notify youremployer immediately. Thereafter you must file a written claim
within 200 days of the accident or last date benefits are paid.
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MEDICAL BENEFITS - An employer is required 1o furnish all necessary medical treatment and has the right to designate the treating

physician. If the employee seeks treatment from a doctor not authorized by the employer, the employer or its insurance carrier is only liable
up to $350.00.

WEEKLY BENEFITS - Benefits are paid by the employer's insurance carrier or self-insurance program, Injured workers arc not entitled to
compensation for the first week they are off work unless they lose three consecutive weeks. The first compensation payment is normally duc
at the end of the 14th day of lost time. An injured employee is entitled to a weekly amount of 66 2/3% of his average weekly wage up to a
maximum of 75% of the state's average weekly wage. These benefits arc subject (o legislative changes and for the latest information on benefit
tevels, please contact the Division at the address and phone number below. If the injury results in permanent disability, the Kansas compen-
sation law provides for additional benefits,

WHERE TO GET HELP OR INFORMATION ON YOUR CLAIM - Contact the Claims Advisory Section at the Kansas Division of
Workers Compensation immediately if you do not receive compensation in a timely manner, The Division of Workers Compensation has full-
time personnel who specialize in aiding injured workers with claim problems. They can give information on what benefits an injured worker
isentitled toreceive. Such problems as benefits not being paid on time, unpaid medical bills, questions in regard to proper setllement amounts,
elc., should be brought to the attention of the Division's Claims Advisory Section.  Injured workers may use our toll free telephone number
1-800-332-0353. Spanish interpreters are available at the Advisory Committee on Hispanic Affairs by calling (913) 296-3465.

TRABAJADORES DE COMPENSACION INFORMACION

Es requerido que el patrén le dé Lratamicnto médico y comp idn que un do est4 fucra de su trabajo por un golpe recibido

eno por causa det trabajo. Llamen a estos numeros para preguntar acerca de sus derechos, (913)296-2996 1-800-332-0353 (gratis). Officina

de Trabajadores de Compensacién, Estado de Kansas, 600 Merchants Bank Tower, 800 S.W. Jackson, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227.

Intérpretes de Espaitol estardn a sus 6rdencs para asistirle en el Comité Conscjero de Asuntos Hispanos. Liamen al tel¢fora 913) 296-3465.
WHERE TO GET HELP OR INFORMATION ON YOUR CLAIM:

Current claims are being administered by

Their claims office is located at telephone )

Kansas Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchants Bank Tower
800 S.W. Jackson, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227
Telephone Number (913) 296-2996

This notice must be posted and maintained by the
employer in one or more conspicuous places.

K-WC 40 (Rev. 4-90)




Workers Compensation Schedule of Benefits

Maximum Maximum Mileage Maximum

Fiscal Weekly Doltar Amount ~ ------ Unauth.

Year Comp. For PT* & TT** Per Diem Medical Funeral Expenses
7-1-78 10 $ 15 $ 50.000
6-30-79 $129.06 $ 50,000 $15.00 $150 $ 2,000
7-1-79 10 $100,000* § 17 $100.000
6-30-80 $148.00 $ 75,000 $15.00 $150 $ 2,000
7-1-80 to $100,000* $ .19 $100.000
6-30-81 $170.00 $ 75,000** $15.00 $150 $ 2,000
7-1-81to $100,000* $ 22 $100.000
6-30-82 $187.00 $ 75,000** $15.00 $350 $ 2,000
7-1-82to $100,000* $ 22 $100.000
6-30-83 $204.00 $ 75,000** $15.00 $350 $ 2,000
7-1-83 to $100,000* $ 22 $100.000
6-30-84 $218.00 $ 75,000** $15.00 $350 $ 3,200
7-1-84 to $100,000° EY 22 $100.000
6-30-85 $227.00 $ 75,000 $16.00 $350 $ 3,200
7-1-85 0 $100,000* $100.000
6-30-86 $239.00 $ 75,000** $15.00 $350 $ 3,200
7-1-86 10 $100,000* $ 205 $100.000
6-30-87 $247.00 $ 75,000** $15.00 $350 $ 3,200
7-1-87 to $125,000* $200.000
6-30-88 $256.00 $100,000** $15.00 $350 $ 3,200
7-1-88 to $125,000° e $200.000
6-30-89 $263.00 $100,000** $15.00 $350 $ 3,200
7-1-89 to $125,000* $ .225/.24* $200.000
6-30-90 $271.00 $100,000** $15.00 $350 $ 3,200
7-1-90 to $125,000 $ .24 $200.000
6-30-91 $278.00 $100,000** $15.00 $350 $ 3,200

Permanent Total Disability
Temporary Total or Permanent Parlial Disability
“** Mileage effective April 1, 1985 thru June 30, 1988
“*** Mileage effective July 1, 1988 thru September 30, 1988 {$.21);
then Oclober 1, 1988 thru February 28, 1990 ($.225)
‘et Mileage effective March 1, 1990

NOTE: The social securily offset on death benefits was effective during the years 7-1-74 through 6-30-77.

The Workers Compensation Fund could nol be impleaded on knowledge only during the years

7-1-77 through 6-30-79.

EORMS FURNISHED AT NO COST
HEARINGS
E-1 Application for Hearing
E-2 Dependent's Application for Hearing
E-3 Application for Preliminary Hearing
SETTLEMENTS
12 Worksheet for Settlement injury Case
13 Worksheet for Settlement Death Case
INFORMATIONALS
15 Claim for Workers Compensalion
103 Digest of Law for Employees
40 Posting Notice
88 Notice of Handicap, Disability or Physical impairment
ELECTIONS
50 Employee Not to Come Under Act, 10% or more shareholder
50a Cancellation of Form 50
51 Employer to Come Under Act, gross annual payrofl is $10,000 or less or
agricultural pursuits
51a Cancellation of Form 51
113 individual, Partner or Seli-Employer to Come Under Act
114 Canceliation of Form 113
123 Employer to Provide Coverage for volunleer workers
124 Cancellation of Form 123
135 Employer to Provide Coverage for persons performing community service
135a Cancellation of Form 135
BEHABILITATION

A complete sel of rehabilitation forms are available and will be sent. Copies of rehabilitation forms may
be made by the requesting party.

MISCELLANEOUS FORMS
41 Subpoena
41a Subpoena Duces Tecum
41b Deposition Subpoena/Deposition Supoena Duces Tecumn
107 Benelit Cards (New cards are issued each July 1st)
112 Surviving Spouse Annuai Statement

-2 7
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NOTICE:  To be processed all entries on this form must be completed. All entries, except signatures, must
be typed. .

NOTE: This Cancellation of Election is effective upon receipt by the Kansas Division of Workers
Compensation.

State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchants Bank Tower
800 S.W. Jackson
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

CANCELLATION OF ELECTION OF EMPLOYER TO COVER EMPLOYEES UNDER KANSAS WORKERS

COMPENSATION ACT WHERE EMPLOYER HAS LESS THAN $10,000 PAYROLL OR IS AGRICULTURAL
PURSUIT.

To the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation, you are hereby notified that:

Name of Employer Cancelling Election:

Corporale Naime, if applicable:

Address of Employer Cancelling Election:

Telephone Number: { ) Type of Business

hereby cancels its election(s) pursuant to K.S.A. 44-505(b) to come within the provisions of the Kansas
Workers Compensation Act.

Valid Signalure of Employer
or Authorized Representalive

Tille of Signing Individual

K-WC 51a (Rev. 1-90)

NOTICE: To be processed all entries on this form must be completed. All entries, except signalures,
must be typed.

NOTE: This Election is effective upon receipt by the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation.

State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchants Bank Tower
800 S.W. Jackson
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

ELECTION OF EMPLOYER TO COVER EMPLOYEES UNDER KANSAS WORKERS COMPENSATION
ACT WHERE EMPLOYER HAS LESS THAN $10,000 PAYROLL OR IS AGRICULTURAL PURSUIT.

To the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation, you are hereby notified that:

Employers Name:

Corporale Name if applicable:

Address of Employment:

Telephone Number: ( ) Type of Business

hereby elects to come within the provisions of the Kansas Workers Compensation Act pursuantto K.S.A. 44-
505(b).

Valid Signature of Employer or Authorized Representative

Title of Signing Individual

Date Signed

K-WC 51 (Rev. 1-90)




NOTICE: To be processed all entries on this form must be completed. All entries, except signatures, must
be typed.

NOTE: This Election is effective upon receipt by the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation.

State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchants Bank Tower
800 S.W. Jackson
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

ELECTION NOT TO ACCEPT COVERAGE UNDER KANSAS WORKERS COMPENSATION ACT BY
EMPLOYEE WHO OWNS 10% OR MORE OF CORPORATE STOCK OF CORPORATE EMPLOYER.

To the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation, you are hereby notified that:

Name of Employee Electing Out of Act:

Social Security Number of Employee:

Corporate Employer's Name and Address:

Telephone Number: ( ) Type of Business

The above named employee states that he/she owns 10% or more of the corporate slock of the above
corporation and elects, pursuant to K.S.A. 44-543, not to accep! coverage under the Kansas Workers
Compensation Act. The above named employee recognizes that by signing this form he/she is not covered
under the Kansas Workers Compensation Act.

Valid Signature of Employee Electing Out of Act

Date Signed by Employee

Faderal Prlvacy Act Disclosure Sectlon 7{a){2)}B)}

“The mandalory requirement thal social security numbers be included en lorms filed with the Division of Workers Compensalion
is parmitted by Section 7(a){2)(B) of the Faderal Privacy Act of 1974, since our regulalions which require ils disclosure were in
oxistenca belore January 1, 1975, The number is used as a means of identifying all the various records in the Division of

p ion pertaining to an
The use of soclal security bers is made yb ol the large number of applicanls who have similar names and

. Name of Employee Cancelling Election:

birth dates, and whose identities can only be distinguished by the social security number.

K-WC 50 (Rov. 9-90)

NOTICE:  To be processed all entries on this form must be compleled. All entries, except signatures, must
be typed.

NOTE: This Cancellation of Efeclion is effective upon receipt by the Kansas Division of Workers
Compensalion.

State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchants Bank Tower
800 S.W. Jackson
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

CANCELLATION OF ELECTION NOT TO ACCEPT COVERAGE UNDER THE KANSAS WORKERS
COMPENSATION ACT BY EMPLOYEE WHO OWNS 10% OR MORE OF CORPORATE STOCK OF
CORPORATE EMPLOYER.

To the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation, you are hereby notified that:

Soclal Securily Number of Employee:

Corporate Employer's Name and Address:

Telephone Number: ) Type of Business

hereby cancels his/her election made pursuant to K.S.A. 44-543 to elect not to accept coverage under the
Kansas Workers Compensation Act. The above named employee recognizes that by signing this form he/
she will now be covered under the Kansas Workers Compensation Acl.

Valid Signature of Employee Cancelling Eleclion

Date Signed by Employee

Federal Prlvacy Act Disclosure Sectlon 7{a){2)(B)

The mandatory requirement that social security numbers be included on forms filed with the Division of Workers Compensation
is permitted by Section 7(a){2)}(B) of the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, since our regulations which require ils disclosure were in
existenca belore January 1, 1975, The number is used as a means of identitying all the various records in tha Division of
WorkersCompensation periaining 1o an individual.

The use of soclal security bers is made y b of the large number of applicants who have similar names and
birth dates, and whose identities can only be distinguished by the soclal secutity number.

K-WC 50a (Rev. 9-90)
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NOTICE: To be processed all entries on this form must be completed. All enlries, except signatures, must
be typed.
State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION

600 Merchants Bank Tower
800 S.W. Jackson

Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

ELECTION OF INDIVIDUAL, PARTNER, OR SELF-EMPLOYED INDIVIDUAL TO COME WITHIN THE
PROVISIONS OF THE KANSAS WORKERS COMPENSATION ACT.

To the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation, you are hereby notified that:

Name of Individual 1o be Covered under Act:

Name of Business (DBA):

Social Security Number of Elecling Individuat:

Address of Efecting Individual:

being a sole owner of a business, pariner or self-employed individual does hereby elect, pursuant to K.S.A.
44-542a, to cover himseli/nersell as an individual under the coverage of the Kansas Workers Compensation
Act.

Valid Signature of Individua! Electing to be covered under the Adt

THIS FORM IS NOT VALID UNLESS INSURANCE CARRIER COMPLETES THE BELOW PORTION.

(NOTE: Cannot be completed by insurance agent. Must be completed by representative of carrier issuing

policy.)

The hereby agrees 10 provide
(Name of Insurance Carrier}

coverage for the above electing individual as of , 19
{first dale of coverage)

o] @ of Repl ive of Carrier issuing policy

Title of Representative Signing above

Address of insurance Carrier

Federal Privacy Act Disclosure Sactlon 7(a){2)(B)

The mandatory requirement that soclal security numbers be included on forms filed with the Division of Workers Compensation
is permitied by Section 7(a){2)(B) of the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, since our regulations which require its disclosure wera in
existence before January 1, 1975. The number is used as a means of identifying all the various records In the Division of

P P g 10 an indivi
‘The use of social security bers is made Y of the large number of applicants who have similar names and
birth dates, and whose identilies can only be distinguished by the social secutity number,

K-WC 113 (Rev. 9-90)

NOTICE: To be processed all entries on this form must be completed. All entries, except signalures, must
be typed.

State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchants Bank Tower
800 S.W. Jackson
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

CANCELLATION OF ELECTION OF INDIVIDUAL, PARTNER, OR SELF-EMPLOYED INDIVIDUAL TO
COME WITHIN THE PROVISIONS OF THE KANSAS WORKERS COMPENSATION ACT.

To the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation, you are hereby notified that:

Individual Cancelling Election:

Name of Business {DBA):

Social Security Number of Electing Individual:

Address of Individual Cancelling Election:

hereby cancels his/her previous election to come within the provisions of the Kansas Workers Compensation
Act.

Valid Signature of Individual Cancaelling Previous Elaction
THIS FORM IS NOT VALID UNLESS INSURANCE CARRIER COMPLETES THE BELOW PORTION.
(NOTE: Cannot be completed by an agent. Must be completed by representative of carrier issuing policy.}

The states that the above individual
(Name of Insurance Carrier)

who is cancelling his/her election Is no longer insured by this carrier. The coverage ceased or will cease on

{date}

Signature of Representalive of Insurance Carrier issuing policy

Title of Representative Signing above

Address of Insurance Carrier

Federal Privacy Act Disclosure Sectlon 7(a}{2)(B)

The mandatory requirement that social security numbers be includad on forms filed with the Division of Workers Compensation
is permitied by Section 7(a)(2)(B) of the Federal Privacy Act of 1874, sinca our regulations which require its disclosure were in
existenca before January 1, 1975. The number is used as a means of identifying all the various records in the Division of
Work : ining to an individual

The use of social s;culity smbers is made yb of the large number of applicants who have similar names and

birth dates, and whose kienlilies can only be distinguished by the social sacurity number.

K-WC 114 (Rev. 9-90)
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NOTICE: Tobe processed all entries on this form must be completed. All entries, except signatures, must
be typed.

NOTE: This Cancellation of Election is effective upon receipt by the Kansas Division of Workers
Compensation.

State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchants Bank Tower
800 S.W. Jackson
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

CANCELLATION OF ELECTION OF EMPLOYER TO PROVIDE WORKERS COMPENSATION COVER-
AGE FOR VOLUNTEER WORKERS. o

To the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation, you are hereby notified that:

Employer Name:

Employer Address:

hereby cancels its previous election to provide workers compensation coverage for volunteers wilhin the
provisions of the Kansas Workers Compensation Act.

Valid Signature of Employer or Authorized Representalive

Title of Signing individual

K-WC 124 (Rev. 1-90)

NOTICE: To be processed all enlries on this form must be completed. All entries, except signatures, musl
be typed.

NOTE: This Election is effeclive upon receipt by the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation.

State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchanis Bank Tower
800 S.W. Jackson
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

ELECTION OF EMPLOYER TO PROVIDE WORKERS COMPENSATION COVERAGE FOR VOLUNTEER
WORKERS,

To the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation, you are hereby notified that:

Employer Name:

Cmployer Address:

hereby elects to cover volunteer workers who are engaged in the following volunteer work:

Those volunteer workers in the following work are not being brought under the Act:

The employer agrees to cover such volunteerworkers unlil such election shallbe cancelled on a form provided
by the Division of Workers Compensation. The employer further agrees lo provide coverage through the

employer's workers compensation insurance policy or through an already existing approved sell-insurance
plan.

Valid Signalure of Employer or Authorized Representative

Titte of Signing Individual

K-WC 123 (Rev. 1-90)




NOTICE: To be processed all entries on this form must be completed. All entries, except signatures, must
be typed.

NOTE: This Election is effeclive upon receipt by the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation.

State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchants Bank Tower
800 S.W. Jackson
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

ELECTION OF EMPLOYER TO PROVIDE WORKERS COMPENSATION COVERAGE FOR PERSONS
PERFORMING PUBLIC OR COMMUNITY SERVICE AS A RESULT OF A CONTRACT OF DIVERSION,
ASSIGNMENT TO ACOMMUNITY CORRECTIONS PROGRAM OR SUSPENSION OF SENTENCE OR AS
A CONDITION OF PROBATION OR IN LIEU OF A FINE.

To the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation, you are hereby notified that:

Employer Name:

Employer Address:

hereby elecls to cover persons performing the following public or communily service as a result of a coniract
of diversion, assignment to a community corrections program or suspension of sentence or as a condition of
probation or in lieu of a fine.

Classes of persons {o be covered:

Classes of persons NOT to be covered (it any):

The employer agrees 1o cover suchworkers during such period of time they are performing the service under
such conditions until such election shall be cancelled on a form provided by the Division of Workers
Compensation. The employer further agrees to provide coverage through the employer's workers compen-
sation insurance policy or through an already existing approved self-insurance plan.

Signature of Authorized Representative

Title of Signing Individual
K-WC 135 (Rev. 3-90)

NOTICE: To be processed all entries on this form must be completed. All entries, except signalures, must
be typed.

NOTE: This Canceliation of Election is effective upon receipt by the Kansas Division of Workers Com-
pensation.

State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchants Bank Tower
800 S.W. Jackson
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

CANCELLATION OF ELECTICN OF EMPLOYER TO PROVIDE WORKERS COMPENSATION COVER-
AGE FOR PERSONS PERFORMING PUBLIC OR COMMUNITY SERVICE AS A RESULT OF A CON-
TRACT OF DIVERSION, ASSIGNMENT TO A COMMUNITY CORRECTIONS PROGRAM OR SUSPEN-
SION OF SENTENCE OR AS A CONDITION OF PROBATION OR IN LIEU OF A FINE.

To the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation, you are hereby notified that:

Employer Name:

Employer Address:

hereby cancels its previous election to provide workers compensation coverage for workers performing public
or communily service as a result of a conlract of diversion, assignment to a community correclions program
or suspension of sentence or as a condition of probation or in fieu of a fine wilhin the provisions of the Kansas
Workers Compenstion Act.

Signature of Authorized Representative

Title of Signing Individual

K-WC 135a (Rev. 3-90)
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. Employer's name

STATE OF KANSAS
Depanment of Human Resources
Divislon of Workers Compensation
600 Merchants Bank Tower, 800 S.W. Jackson
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT, FINAL RECEIPT AND RELEASE OF LIABILITY

Address: Sireet City, State
2,1 carrler
Address Ins. Co. File No.
3. Injured worker Address
(Street) (&) {State)
Sodlal Security Number
4. Natura of injury for which this clalm for comp ion is made:
5, Dale of injury. 19___ | Comp pald on the following basis
i2, woeks days
6. Lasidayemploveoworked 19 temporary lotat disability $
. 13. weeks days
7. Date employes was able 1o return lo work: 1 % Tomporary partial disability
— @ parweek | §
8. Employ turned to work 19___ | 14, weeks permanent parilal disability
for:
9, it employse worked belween dale of Injury and last date Parcant of amputation to
of disabllity, giva dates:
e % loss of use of
TOTAL COMPENSATION; $
10. Average waakly wage: § 15, Hospllal exp 3.
16. Madical expense
11. Waekly p lon rate $. 17. Other (specily)
(Note: No compsnsation other than medical Is payable for the lirst week following the injury, excep! cases
of ampulation or dealh, unless temporary total loss conli for three ive weeks.)
18. is this a Release and Recalpt lor payments made on award of Director?,
IF hearing(s) held give date and place of hearing(;
FINAL RECEIPT AND RELEASE OF LIABILITY
Received from
{Name of employer or Insurance carrier)
the sum of [¢3 )

making in all, with paymants already recelved a total sum of

.

IN FINAL RECEIPT AND RELEASE OF LIABILITY of this cfaim for compensation and any other claims

for compensation heretofore made on account of any and all Injuries and disabllity incurred by reason of the accident referred
to in this instrument,

SIGNED, ACKNOWLEDGED AND AGREED by Employer and Worker this day of AD., 19
Employer or Agent of employer and insurance carrier Worker
JURAT
Slate of Kansas, Counly of ss.
BE IT REMEMBERED, that on this day of 19, before me, the undersigned, a

Notary Public in and for said county and stale, came the above named worker, to me personally known to be the same
person who signed, acknowtedged and agreed to the foregoing inslrument of writing and duly acknowledged that he
understood and executed the same as of the date above written.

My isslon explres

Notary Public
{Over) i

K-WC Form D (Rev. 9-90) Form 1104

The Kansas Workers Compensation law provides that compensation due may be settled by
agreement and that the employer is entilled to a receipt and release of liabilily upon final payment of
compensation due, and that suchfinal receipt and release of liability shail be fited by the employer inthe office
of the Director of Workers Compensation within sixty (60) days after the date of the execution of the same,
and that such agreement, final receipt and release of liability is made subject to the approval of the Direclor
that the correct amount of compensation has been pald as required by law, and will automatically become
approved by law uniess disapproved by the Director within twenty (20) days of the dale it is received by that
office.

Altest: Kansas Workers Compensation Director.

A current medical report on the prescribed form must be fumished by the employer when this
agreement is filed with the Director for approval.

Faderal Prlvacy Act Disclosure Section 7{a}{2)(B)

The mandalory requirement that social security numbers be included on forms filed with the Division of Workers Compensation
is parmitted by Section 7(a)(2)(B) of he Federal Privacy Act of 1974, since our regulations which require its disclosure were In
existence before January 1, 1975, The number is used as a means of identifying all the various records in the Division of
Wl y ion partaining to an individual

The use of sacial security bers is made yb of the farge number of applicants who have similar names and

birth dates, and whose kdentities can only be dislinguished by the social security number.




State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchants Bank Tower, 800 S.W, Jackson, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

Physician's Report Blank

1. Name of injured worker _ SRS - Age . Sex -
Social Security Number
Address: No. and St e Gty .. State ... .. ... Zip Code —

Name and address of ploy
Date of Accident Hour. M. Date disability began
State in patient's words wheee and how sccident occurred

PR

6, Disgnosis: Give accurate description of nature and extent of injury mnd state fully your findings.

JR—— — SR e FOOL Hond .. .
Specify RigM of Left

Did the injury sesult in loss by amputation of any member
Describe each member and state exact location of amputation, as effects amount
of ion due

X (Mark cxact polnt of amputation on chart)
8. Did the injury result in permanent loss of sny member? Describe each member in

which permanent loss of use occurred and give your opinion ss to the resultant
percentage of permanent loss of use of each member.

Remarks—other disability: .. S -

. ——. Describe treatment
given by you - . —
10. X-Rey diagnosi — PN

9. Date of your first —

15, Was patient hospitalized . Date admilted snd neme of hospital
Date discharged

12. In your opinion at the time of your fins} cxamination is the patient in need of fusther medical I 0,

for how long?
13. Patient will be able to resume light work on

14, Patient will be able to resume segulac work on .. . - R
cause of desth -

15. I death d, give date
16. Date of this report Date of of patient covered by this report ..
17, As part of Workers C fon benefits, ¥ ional Rehabili services can be offered to injured workers needing this assist-

ance to retumn to gainful ploy Does ional ining or job pl
18. Date Vocational Rehabilitation program could begin
19. List physical end work limitati to be idered in ionsl

appear o be necessary.

Signed Address
Write plainly or print City State

(I not sufficient space, attach additions] memoranda)
FOR LOSS OF SIGHT AND HEARING DISABILITIES, USE OTHER SIDE OF T1lIS REPORT.

Federal Prlvacy Act Disclosure Sactlon 7(a)2)(B}

The mandalory requirement that soclal security numbers be indluded on forms filed with the Division of Workers Compensationis permitied by Section
7(a)(2){B) of tha Federal Privacy Act of 1974, since our regulations which require ils disclosure were in existence before January 1, 1975, The aumber
is used as a means of identifying all the various records in the Division of Worl p jon pertaining 10 an individual

The use of sodial securily numbers is made necessary because of the large number of applicants who have similar names and birth dates, andwhose

can only be distinguished by the social security number.

K-WC Form G (Rev, 9-90) Form 1108

PHYSICIAN'S REPORT ON EYE INJURIES
(Use other side for preliminary information and signature of examiner)

Did the injury result in loss of vision in both eyes? ..oovvove.in Did the injury result in loss of vision in one cye?

1f so, whicheye? v oovcnininnns
Does ind ) exist in the uninj
Hax all adey and bl

Are corrective lenses eeded? ...
How many weeks of temporasy tot1al disability have been necessitated
How many weeks of temporary total loss of sight have been experienced! Right eve.
Did the worker use corrective lenses prior to the injury?....o.ooovae 1 so. when and by whom prescribed?
What is the dioptric poser of those lenses? Righteye oooovviviicaviien Lefteye.oooiiiiiiinannts

URABLE RANG QUANTITIVE VISUAL ACUNITY,
L ACUITY AND INDUSTRIAL BLINDNESS

0

BETWEEN NORMAL INDUSTREAL VIS

IWsust acuity Visuel senity Percentage Visun) acuity Visual acully Percentage
2 sl visund scuity st 1 visual weulty
14 inches 20 feet retsined 20 feel 14 inches retnined
14/ 20720 20/80 14/56
14/17.5 20/15 20/90 14/63
1 20/30 20/100 k770
14/24.5 20735 20/110 14784
14728 20/40 20/ 140 14/38
14/31.8 20748 20/160 14/112
14735 20/%0 20/180 147126
14742 20/60 20/100 147140
14749 20/10

MEASUREMENT OF LOSS OF PRIMARY AND COORDINATE VISUAL EFFICIENCY FACTORS

Percentage of visual
2cuity efficiency retained

Percentage of vivaal

Visual acuily Visual acuity
acuity elficiency love

2t 20 feet at 14 inches

Right cye Withoul corrective lenses .

1 ¢ft eye Without corrective lenses ...

Right cye With corrective fenses
f.eft ey With corrective lenses......

NOTE: To determing the percentage value of central visual acuity cfficiency retained a one-fold value shall be assisncd to distance vision. and a two-fold v
near vision. For example: If the percentage value of central visual acuity retained for distance is 75, and the pereentage value of central visual \
retained for near is §5, the percentage value of central visual itcu (0.75x 1 +10.58x 2= D6166 0F 61667 retrined

fficicney retained, will be ¢

The percentage of visual acuily efficiency loss therefore is IOO‘";A loss 6L665 ar 1R, M4G. 3
FiELD OF VISION:
Give the sum of the degrees which evidence the distal limits of the cight principal radii of the visual field: Righteye . ...oviiiniiiiann
fofioye
REFAINED PERCENTAGE VALUE OF THE VISUAL FIELD: Righteye oouvniiiiiiiiiiiann, Lelteye.onninnounnnnnnnenne
ENTRA-OCULAR MUSCLE FUNCTION:
State the exact number of the 20 component rectangles of the indusirial mator field, whercin diplopia is demonstrable ..o
State the exact number of the 20 component fectan of the industrial motar field, wherein monncylar fisation is demonstrable.
Right eye Lefteye .. . .
WHAT IS THE RETAINED PERCENTAGE VALUE OF THE INDUSTRIAL EXTRA-OCULAR MUSCLE FUNCTION EFFICIENCY?

Right €¥€ o ovveiernnnveneiiinns Left eve
APPRAISAL OF SECONDARY VISUAL EFFICIENCY ELEMENT DISABILITIES
NAME, DESCRIBE AND APPRAISE, NUMERICALLY. EACH PREVAILING SECONDARY VISUAL EFFICIENCY ELFMENT DISABI 1Y

Right eve

LU CHC e e e et e ae e e e e s et e s s

GIVE THE PERCENTAGE VALUE OF THE RETAINED VISUAL EFFICIENCY FOUND TO EXIST UPON EVALUATION BOTH OF THET HRE1
ND COORDINATE VISUAL EFFICIENCY FACTORS. AND THE SECONDARY VISUAL EFFICIENCY ELEMUNT DISABH.ITN N

PRIMARY

Righteye........ Beftere coiiiriieniaanai ..
GIVE THE RESULTANT TOTAL PERCENTAG CY 1.0SS WHICH HAS BEEN FOR 108
OF ALL VISUAL EFFICIENCY DISABHTIES: Right €3¢ «.oouiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii e Lefueye

(Example: 1006 loss the percentage of the resultant visual efficiency disabilities of the 3
STATE THE PERCENTAGE VALUE OF THE WORKER'S RESULTANT INDUSTRIAL EFFICIENCY LOSS. IF EACH OF HIN EYES HAVE BII'N
PERMANENTLY IMPAIRED .
REMARKS

(100% less the percentage of industrin efficiency )

REPORT ON 1.0SS OF HEARIN
GIVE THE PERCENTAGE 1.0SS OF HEARING: (Pure tone audi ¥. \peech i

v and speech discrimination)

1eftvar Rightear .oouiniieeeannn

GIVE THF PERCENTAGE 1.OSS OF HEARING INDUSTRIALLY WHEN LOSS OF HEARING IS SUS TAINED IN 8OTH D ARN (..
Frample: 7x total per cent, Toss hetter car, plus Ix total per cent. boss worse var, divided hy Keyuabs per cent. Jow of hearing both cars, Hihe percentaye
loss of hearing by the audiometer in the right car iy 4 and the percentage foss of hearing hy the audiometer in the teftear is 0, the pervenipe e o

hearing will be (7.x 0.30) + (1 X 0.40) = 3125 or 32567

REMAREKS o eeinemiorreascaraan e itusansns satinaean .
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Slate of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Marchants Bank Tower, 800 8.W, Jackson, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

Full Name of
Deceased Employee

Social Securily Number
add SURVIVING SPOUSE
OR DEPENDENT
APPLICATION FOR
HEARING

City State Zip

Name of Employer

Address

City State Zip

insurance Carrier

State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchants Bank Tower, 800 S.W, Jackson
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

Employee

Social Security Numbar

Straet

City State Zip

APPLICATION
Employer FOR H EAR'NG

ACCIDENTAL INJURY OR OCCUPATIONAL DISEASE

Dale of accident or di , 19 Hour .. M. Dateof death _ 18

In what counly did accident occur? at or near

(City) (Stale)
How did accident occur?

SURVIVING SPOUSE AND DEPENDENTS

Name Address Age Relationship

It accident did not happen within state of Kansas, county where hearing could be most conveniently held?

Applicant's Si

P 9

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE
Allorney for Applicant

Address

"

Kansas Suprame Count N

Faderal Privacy Act Disclosure Sactlon 7{a)}{2)(B)

The mandalory requirement Ihat social sacurity numbers be included on lorms filed with the Division of Workers Compensation is parmilted by Section
7{a)(2)(B) of the Fedaral Privacy Act of 1974, since our regulations which require its disclosure were in exislence betore January 1, 1975. The number is used
as a means of identilying all the various records in the Division of Work p ion pertaining to an individual.

The use of social security numbers is made necassary bacause of the large number of applicanis who have similar names and birth dates, and whose

idenlities can only be distinguished by the social security number,

K-WC E-2 (Rov. 9-90)

Straet
City State Zip
| Carrier
ACCIDENTAL INJURY OR OCCUPATIONAL DISEASE
Date of Accident or Di , 19

Briefly state what employee was doing when accident occurred

Briefiy state nature and extent of injuries claimed

In what county did the accident or di occur? Ator near

it accident did not happen within Kansas, county where hearing could be most conveniently held?

Applicant's Signalure Date

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE Attornoy for Applicant:

Address:

Kansas Supreme Court Numbser:

Faderal Privacy Act Dlsclosure Sectlon 7(a}{2)}(B)

The mandalory requirement that social security numbers be included on forms filed with the Division of Workers Compaensation Is permitled by Section
7(a)(2){B) of the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, since our regulations which require its disclosure were in existance balore January 1, 1975, The numberis used
as a moans of idonlilying alf the various records in the Division of Wi i individ!

The use of social security bers is made yb
identities can only be dist d by the social security number.

P pertaining lo a
of the larga number of applicants who have similar names and birth dates, and whoso

K-WC E-1 (Rev. 9-90)




State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchants Bank Tower
800 S.W. Jackson, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

Docket Number {if known):

Employee: APPLICATION FOR
Social Security Number: PRELlMlNARY
Employer: HEARING

insurance Carrier:

Employee applies for preliminary hearing wilh regard o accident or occupational di of

Date

Employee intends to address the following issues: D Temporary total compensation
[] Medical treatment

[[] vocational Rehabiitation

1. This form must be accompanied by & completed Application {or Haaring, Form E-1, unfess Form E-1 previously filed for
this accident.

2. This form must be accompanied by a copy of a notice letter required by K.S.A. 44-534 a(a).

Applicant's Signalure

Signed this day of ,19

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE Attorney for Applicant:

Address:

Kansas Supreme Court Number:

Federal Privacy Act Disclosure Sactlon 7(a){2)XB)
The mandatory requirement that social security numbers be included on forms fited with the Division of Workers Compensation is permitted by Seclion
7(a)(2)(B) ol the Faderal Privacy Act of 1974, since our regulations which roquire ils disclosure were in existence before January 1, 1975. The numberis used
as & moans of ldentifying all the various records in tha Division of i ining to an individual.

The use of social security bers is made Y b of the large number of applim'n(s who have similar names and birth dates, and whose
ites can only be distinguisned by the social security number,

K-WC E-3 (Rev. 8-90)
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THE FORM A

Answer every question fully. Must be typewritten or neatly printed in black ink.
Send report to insurance carrier. The insurance carrier will submit original copy
to this office within 28 days of date of employer‘s receipt of knowledge of the

accident.
STATE OF KANSAS—DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
600 Merchants Bank Tower, 800 SW Jackson, Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227
EMPLOYER’S REPORT OF ACCIDENT
Employer
: p .y OSHA CascorFileNo.
information There is a $250 penalty for failure to file Accident Reports within 28 days of the employer's receipt of knowledge
. s of the accident. This form contains all items requested on OSHA Form No. 101, “‘Supplementary Record of
(msured S Name) Occupational Injuries and Hiness.”
must be complete. * READ INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE SIDE OF THIS FORM BEFORE FILLING IT OUT.
1. Name of Employer Telephone # ( | P—
Zip DO NOT WRITE
2. Mail Address Code IN THIS SPACE Employee
3. Location, if different from mail address s1C./ i ion MUST
CORRECTSOCIAL | ' sic Dep. or | Information
3 ature Jusiness e vision
SECURITY NUMBER 5. Name of = — = Age Sex | e be complete and accurate.
Zip H
IS VITAL & Moweiking Cote
\\ Birth Employee's Home Phone # oD
7. Soc. Sec. # Date Occupati
am| v N
| -8 Datc of Injury o O jonal Discase Time of Injury PM.
Date Disability Gross Average
. Began Weekly Wage §
Date of accident % Plac of Accitent or lat xpovare =
# Cuy County Sune
Very lmportant' 10.  Was accident or last exposure on employer's premises? g B 2
1. How did accident occur? Describe in detail
the factors that lead
12. What was employee doing when injured?. P to the 11'1_] ury, did
0 NO TIME LOST worker fall or slip?
Body part Very 13. Name substance or object that directly caused injury | TIME LOST
important 14, Describe in detail nature and extent of injury, indicate part of body InVOIVET 2 MEDICAL
3 FATAL
15. Was worker admitted to hospital? Date. Hospital & Address
Room Only?
16, Name and address of anending physician
17 Has employee returned to Regular duty?. Light duty?. Date.
Return to work [ b compension o e pu < e ip— o
——to—weeRly ion rate § Is further medical aid necded?
date Very 20 Did cmployee die?_________If so. give date of death, DONOT WRITE
1 File amended report within 28 days if death subsequently occurs. IN THIS SPACE
lmportant' 21 Name and address of dependents (death cases only)
Carrier information
22 Insurance Carri
e S must be accurate.
Policy Number Name of Agent . :
ClamNo. _____ Name of Claim Rep. Agent 1S not carrier.
2 DameofRepot ____ Completed by Title
SUBMISSION DOES NOT CONSTITUTE ADMISSION OF LIABILITY
K-WC Form A (Rev. 8-90) Form 1101-A

October,1990
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October,1990

ack

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
1. Answer every question fully.

2! Submit original report only. Must be typewritten or neatly printed in black
ink. No photostat copies can be accepted because they cannot be microfilmed.

3. Sendreportto the insurance carrier. The insurance carrier will submit original
copy 1o this office within 28 days of date of employer's receipt of knowledge
of the accident.

4. Report will be acknowledged only upon request when indication is made by
sender at the top of the form.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SPECIFIC ITEMS

Item 13: Name the object or substance which directly injured the employee.
Example: machine or thing he/she struck or struck him/her; vapor or
poison he/she inhaled or swallowed; chemicals or radiation which irritated
his/her skin; in hernias, the thing he/she was lifting or pulling; etc.

Item 14: Please be specific as possible indicating all that is known about the injury.
Name part of body injured.

(Authorized by K.S.A. 1974 Supp. 44-505, 44-557 and 44-573; effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended Jan.
1,1969; ded Jan. 1,1971; ded Jan. 1,1973; ded Jan. 1,1974; ded E-74-31, July
1, 1974; amended May 1, 1975; amended May 1, 1976.)

Federal Privacy Act Disclosure Section 7(a)2)B)

The mandatory requirement that social security numbers be included on forms filed with the Division of Workers Compensation
is permitted by Section 7(a)(2)(B) of the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, since our regulations which require its disclosure were in
existence before January 1, 1575, The number is used as a means of identifying all the various records in the Division of

. ining  an indivi

The use of social security is made y b f the large number of applicants who have similar names and

birth dates, and whose identities can only be distingui by the social security number.




R87-1 REQUIRED FROM CARRIER/EMPIL.OYERS
REPORT THE FOLLOWING

A. Workers who have lost 90 days of work due to a work related-injury. B.
Workers who have been previously reported to the division and an update
on the condition is requested or needed due to a change in status. C. Workers

referred to a vendor or agency for medical management. D. Workers who

have been referred to a vendor for vocational assessment or services.

Full name of adjuster
assigned to case.

T~

Full name and current
address including —]
phone and zip code.

Reported date of injury.

If referred for both,

State of Kansas
Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION

Insurance Carrier Status Report

Division of Workers Compensation
Rehabilitation Administrator

600 Merchants Bank Tower, 800 S.W. Jackson
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227

From (Insurance Carrier):

TO:

City, X

Zip:

Ins Ca File No

Adjustor: Phone ( ) -

. Re: Claimant: SSN:

Street:

City, State: Zip:

Phone: _( ) = Date of Birth:

Employer:

Job description:

| Accident date:

Claimant has lost days as of , 19 — (date form completed)

We have referred claimant on 19____to

(vendor) for medical management to assist claimant in

vocational assessment
reporting requirements
should be followed.

Complete only if refer-
ral to a rehabilitation
vendor has not been made

obtaining maximum medical improvement.

We have referred claimant on

19 to
(vendor) to determine whether vocational rehabilitation

|L_services are needed.

We have not made a referral because:

Claimant returned to work on

The claim is being denied as not compensable.

Claimant's medical condition has not stabilized.
Prognosis as to when condition will stabilize

Temporary total compensation (is) (is not) beingpaid. (Circlo one)
Claimant will return to work for the same employer when released by attending physician.

Estimated return to work date

Other

/’—-rr_”.'/'/
B

Federal Privacy Act Disclosure Section 7(a)(2}(B)
The mandatory requirement that social security numbers be included on forms filed wnh Ihs Division ofWorkers Compensation is permitted
by Section 7(a)(2)(B) of the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, since our ions which require its di: belcreJanuary 1,1975.
The number is used as a means of identifying all the various records in the Division of ining to an
The use of social security numbers is made necessary because of the large number of applicants who have similar names and birth dates,
and whose i can only be distingui: by the social security number.

K-WC-R 87-1 (Rev. 9-90)

Complete full name of
carrier, address and/or
| name, address of adjust-
ing company if com-
pany is handling for in-
surance company

Correct social security
| number (very important
to avoid duplication
and/or error)

Complete name of reha-
bilitation vendor.

Date claimant returned
to work with same
| employer as employed
by at the time of injury.

— Estimated maximum
medical improvement
date.

Date claimant will be
[ released by physician to

return to work.

October,1990

2-4/0



FORM 88

NOTICE OF HANDICAP, DISABILITY OR PHYSICAL
IMPAIRMENT

Department of Human Resources
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION

Name and addreSS Of 600 Merchants Bank Tower, 800 S.W. Jackson

Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227
the employer. Notice of Handicap, Disability or Physical Impairment
\ Employer:

Address: ey ) (State) (2ip Code) E loyment
i mplo
Correct name and - oy

date.

S OCI A I SECURITY The following employees were hired and/or retained by this employer with full knowledge of a handicap, disability or physical impairment;
to K.S.A. 44-566. Notice is hereby given to the Director pursuant to K.S.A. 44-567.

NUMBER of the Name of Employee Social Security Date List Category
Number Employed Number
employee. s

—~

cise Description of the
Nature of the Impairment

WE MUST HAVE AN
) IMPAIRMENT
. NUMBER FROM

5 CATEGORIES
f0, LISTED AT BOTTOM
OF PAGE.

(Employer or Agent) (Date)

INSTRUCTIONS TO EMPLOYERS: List all employees known to have any handicap, disability or physical impai i ic or mental
disease or disorder. Employees who have sustained physical injury must be included if the resulting condition causes them to be more susceptible to future
injury or if the injury resultod m psrmanenl mpanrmsnl. Separate entries are required for each identifiable disability. Be specific. The State of Kansas

the pevsons and ﬁhng this form with the state preserves certain legal defenses to which you may be entitled under
the Kznsas Workers Ci jon laws. Qi g g the use of this form should be directed to your insurance claims representative.

Indicate whether i |mpa|rmant is due to (1) ep«hpsy (2) diabetes, (3) cardiac disease, (4) arthritis, (5) amputated foot, leg, arm or hand, (6) loss of sight of one
or both eyes or a partial loss of vision of more than seventy-five percent (75%) bilaterally, (7) residual disability from poliomyelitis, (8) cerebral palsy, (9)
multiple sclerosis, (10) Parkinson's disease, (11) cerebral vascular accident, (12) tuberculosis, (13) silicosis or asbestosis, (14) psychoneurotic or mental
disease or disorder established by medical opinion or diagnosis, (15) loss of or partial loss of use of any membor of the body, (15) any physlca! ds!ormnly or
abnormality, (17) any other physical impairment, disorder or disease, physical or mental, which is orin
retaining employment. (Such as prior back injury, muscle strains, etc.)

Federal Privacy Act Disclosure Section 7(a)(2)(B)

The mandatory requirement that social sewnly numbers be included on forms filed with the Division of Workers Compensation is permitted by Section
7(a)(2)(B) of the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, since our regulations which require its disdosura were |n axlstanae before January 1, 1975. The numberis used
as a means of identifying all the various records in the Division of
The use of social security numbers is made necessary because of the large number of appltcams who have similar names and birth dates, and whose

can only be distinguished by the social security number.

K-WC 88 (Rev. 9-90)

October,1990
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