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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE.
The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Joann Flower at 1:30 p.m. on February 4, 1993 in Room

423-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Committee staff present:
William Wolff, Legislative Research Department

Sue Hill, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: ‘
Steve Paige, Director of Environmental Health Services, Department of Health/Environment
John Cotter, Director of Environmental Health Services, Wyandotte County Health Dept.
George Puckett, Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality Association
Frances Kastner, Director Governmental Affairs,Kansas Food Dealers Association
Cathy Rooney, Director Health Occupations Credentialing Unit, Bureau of Adult/Child Care
Department of Health and Environment
Pat Kissick, Kansas Professional Nursing Home Administrators Association
John Kiefhaber, Executive Vice President, Kansas Health Care Association

Others attending: See attached list

Chairperson Flower called the meeting to order noting there are two sets of minutes available. At the close of
the meeting today a motion will be in order for those minutes.

Chair requested a staff briefing on HB2118.

Dr. Bill Wolff gave a detailed explanation of HB2118, drawing attention to changes in fees; deletions and
additions of language proposed. He answered questions.

Mr. Steve Paige, Department of Health and Environment offered hand out_(Attachment No.l), stating passage
of HB2118 would increase the license for food service establishments from $40 to $100 per year. The law
requires food service establishments pay license fees to the Secretary of Health and Environment, and requires
that fee revenues defray the cost of the inspection and licensure program. In addition to increasing fee limits
for food service license fees, HB2118 proposes removing requirements for annual inspections of lodging
establishments. He detailed rationale for requesting this legislation.

Mr. John Cotter, Wyandotte County Health Department offered hand out (Attachment No.2) and stated he
appears before Committee in behalf of the Kansas Association of Sanitarians who support the proposed annual
license fee increase for food service establishments. In his view the number of state inspectors is inadequate.
The goal of this program is to prevent food borne illnesses and injuries associated with food service
establishments. They encourage an annual license fee of $100 for all food service establishments as a means of
providing additional funding which could be used to hire and train more food inspectors. He drew attention to
a letter from Finney County Health Department indicating support of HB 2118.

George Puckett, representing Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality Association (KRHA)offered hand out

(Attachment No.3) and noted the KRHA does not object to proposed changes in HB2118) including the ‘

increased annual fee. He noted eventually, reasonable and periodic adjustments might be necessary, and noted
it has been 10 years since a fee increase for this license. He suggested consideration of updating the
Application fee which is not a part of the proposed changes in (HB2118), i.e., on page 2, lines 2-5. This
Application fee currently is $100, and perhaps could be increased slightly.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals 1
appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC HEAT'TH AND WELFARE, Room 423-S
Statehouse, at 1:30 p.m. on February 4, 1993.

Frances Kastner, Director of Kansas Food Dealers Association offered hand out (Attachment No.4) stated
retailers see fees as a hidden tax, and therefore the expense of fees are passed on to the consumer. She
detailed all the various taxes that are required for a grocery store owner. She noted the State Food Service
Establishment Fund will receive none of the increases realized from the increased tax proposed in HB2118
since since 20% of all fees are transferred to the State General Fund for Administrative purposes. She thanked
members for the opportunity to share her concerns.

Numerous questions were asked, i.e., inspections are an ongoing process; Kansas averages 1.7 inspections
per establishment, per year; the average number of inspections of establishments for 1l other states is 232
establishments versus 824 inspections of establishments for Kansas inspectors. Many inspections done in
Sedgwick County are contracted out to the Local Health department; the fee of $100 is about the middle of the
fee range charged in other states. Mr. Paige outlined the procedures an inspector goes through during an
inspection. An inspection done on a complaint is done within a 24-hour turn around, others are done on a
priority basis, i.e., foodborne illness complaints, new establiishments, change in ownership, and routine
inspections. There is very little problem with lodging establishments which has lead to the change in the
inspections of lodging facilities. There is no smaller fee charged for a smaller establishment that may sell only
donuts and coffee than for an establishment that sells a large line of food; Mr. Paige noted high costs of fines
when a business is shut down, noting the inspection fee charged is only $100 so this is really the best liability a
food establishment business can buy.

HEARINGS CLOSED ON HB2110.
HEARINGS BEGAN ON HB2118.

Chair noted, in the interest of time, a staff briefing would be deferred today, however, after testimony is given
if members have questions of staff, Dr. Wolff would oblige.

Cathy Rooney, Director of Health Occupations Credentialing Unit, offered hand out (Attachment No. 5) gave
rationale for HB2110 i.e.,the bill is being sought to allow for the establishment, collection, and processing of
fees to cover the administrative cost of the program, and to establish reinstatement and endorsement processes
that are consistent with other licensure programs in Kansas and other states. She gave a comprehensive
explanation of each of the proposed amendments, and urged passage as written.

Pat Kissick, Kansas Professional Nursing Home Administrators Association, offered hand out (Attachment
No.6) and drew attention to page 2, lines 19-34, specifically lines 22-23 regarding the amount of licensure
fees. She noted fees for nursing home administrators are at the top of the range at the present fime. A fee of
$100 should be more than adequate for licensing and credentialing this profession. She noted many nursing
home administrators in the state run small community-based facilities and a fee increase would be an additional
hardship on an industry already being hammered from every side with increased costs. She requested
language changes in HB2110 on page 2, lines 19-23 be removed, page two lines 33 & 34 retain the original
language, and page 3, line 19 retain the original language.

John Kiefthaber, Executive Vice President, Kansas Health Care Association offered hand out (Attachment
No.7) explained HB2110) would allow nursing home administrators’ licensing fees to be set in regulation
directly by the Board of Adult Care Home Administrators, instead of leaving the amount of the fee in statute
where it can be controlled by legislative authority. Kansas Health Care Association opposes this idea.

Members asked questions of all three conferees, i.e., Ms. Kessick when asked by a member, since they didn’t
approve of changes proposed, did they wish HB2110 changed or killed, and she he replied killed. It was
noted acute care home administrators aren’t licensed, adult care home administrators are, indicating inequity.
It was noted that the fee increases are the first requested since 1970. It was noted a licensee is issued a
reprimand for failure to report.

There was a discussion in regard to the Board of Healing Arts becoming the licensing agency for the Nursing
Home Administrators. Mr. Buening had been requested by Rep. Wells to attend and be available for
questions if necessary. Rep. Wells publicly thanked Mr. Buening for attending at her request.

HEARINGS CLOSED ON HB 2108.

Chair drew attention to Committee minutes for February |, February 2. Rep. Samuelson moved to approve
the minutes as presented, seconded by Rep. Freeborn. Motion carried.

Chair adjourned the meeting at 3:00.

Next meeting is scheduled for Monday, February 8, 1993.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 8, 1993.
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State of Kansas
Joan Finney, Governor

Department of Health and Environment

[ !

Robert C. Harder, Secretary Reply to:

Testimony presented to

House Public Health and Welfare Committee

by
The Kansas Department of Health and Environment

House Bill 2118

K.S.A. 36-503 requires food service establishments to pay license fees to the Secretary,
Kansas Department of Health and Environment. The law also requires that fee revenues defray
the cost of the inspection and licensure program. Passage of House Bill 2118 would increase
the food service establishment license fee limit from $40 to §$100 per year.

The KDHE annually collects approximately $660,000 in food service establishment fees. The
actual license fee amounts are established by administrative regulation as authorized by
K.S.A. 36-503. Currently, all food service establishments pay an annual license of $40.
Passage of HB 2118 will allow the Secretary to amend K.A.R. 28-36~30 allowing collection fee
revenues in an amount necessary to pay costs of the inspection and licensure program.

Approximately $225,000 are paid annually to local agencies conducting inspections under
contract with the Secretary. The balance of fee revenues are credited to the State General
Fund. The annual cost of the inspection and licensure program is approximately $650,000
based on the KDHE’s proposed FY 94 budget request. An increase in license fees from the
current $40 per establishment to $70 per establishment i eeded to defray the cost of the
inspection and licensure program as mandated by K.S.A. = ~S T The $30 increase—inm fees
Would generate an estimated $360,000 in additional revenué to be shared between the SGFand
local agencies. The local agencies share is estimated at §122,000 annually with $238,000 to
the SGF. Contracting counties are reimbursed at a rate equal to 80 percent of license fee
revenues collected in their respective jurisdictions. :

In addition to increasing fee limits for food service license fees, House Bill 2118 also
proposes removing the requirement for annual inspections of lodging establishments. It has
been our experience that the lodging industry has responded very well to the Kansas
Department of Health and Environment standards in the last 10 years. As a result, our
inspections find that lodging establishments are routinely in compliance with applicable
standards. Continued routine inspections of facilities consistently found to be 1in
compliance are considered by the Kansas Department of Health and Environment a poor use of
scarce resources. Time spent inspecting facilities consistently in compliance could be used
more wisely if directed toward inspecting facilities found to be chronically noncompliant.

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment recommends favorable consideration of House

Bill 2118~ : .

Testimony presented by: Stephen N. Paige
Director .
Bureau of Environmental Health Services by
Division of Health /j?yg—é'
February 4, 1993 o
2497

Mills Building e 109 SW Sth e Topeka, Kansas 66612-1228 o (913) 296-1500
Printed on Recycled Paper



TESTIMONY FOR HOUSE BILI: NO. 2118

Dl

By Committee on Public Health and Welfare ;/
Joann Flower, Chairperson

Februarvy 4, 1993 - 1:30 P.M. - Rm 423S

Good afternoon. My name is John Cotter and T am the Director of Environ-
mental Health Services for the Wyvandotte County Health Department. I
appear before you this afternoon in behalf of the Kansas Association of
Sanitarians.

The Kansas Association of Sanitarians supports the proposed annual
license fee increase for food service establishments. Presently the
license fee is $40.00 per year. House Bill No. 2118 is proposing to
increase the license fee limit to a maximum of $100.00 per year and shall
be fixed in a amount which, together with the one-time application fee
(presently $90.00), is sufficient to defray the cost of administering the
food service establishment inspection and license activities.

__Presently, the number of state inspectors is inadequat . to _make the

necessary inspections and investigations as well as to provide appropri-

rating. Each state inspector presently handles approximately_800 estab-
“TTEHEEKE;. It is impossible for these inspectors to spend enough time in
the restaurants to effectively educate and train food service personnel.

The food program is very important to Kansas. Unfortunately, the program
has become more reactive than proactive because of the unreasonable work-—
load levels. The old adage that an ounce of prevention is worth more
than a pound of cure is especially true when it comes to food
sanitation. The goal of this program is to prevent foodborne illnesses
and injuries associated with food service establishments.

Inguries As s e AR e

<;In closing, the Kansas Association of Sanitarians encourages an annual

A\license fee $100.0 ) for all food service establishments as a means of
providing additional funding. These additional funds would be used to

( hire and train more food inspectors.

1\-—*—\

Also, I have attached a letter from Marilyn Peterson of Finney County
Health Department stating the Kansas Association of Local Health Depart-
ments, Kansas Public Health Association and the Kansas Association of
Sanitarians all agreed during the January 27, 1993 meeting that an

increase in license fees is greatly needed. N
0
That concludes my official presentation. With the Chairperson’s ﬂﬁ$;0 7
approval, I would be glad to answer any questions. %/ LQ
1‘/i
n
o
G

Attachment ézi%



FINNEY COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT

““We Care About Your Health’’ 919 Zarr Road * Phcne 316-272-3600 * Garden City, Kansas 67845

February 3, 1993

Jokn Cotter

Wyandotte County Health Department
613 Ann Avenue

Kansas City, KS 66101

RE: H.B. 2118

Please support H.B, 2118 to allow an increase in licemsing fees for food service
establichments. At the January 27, 1993 meeting of Kansas Association of Local
Bealth Departments, Kansas Public Health Asscciation and the Xansas Association

of Sanitariams, 1t was agreed am increase in licensing fees would provide much
needed increase in revenues without creating undue hardship on these establish-
ments. There is ome staff person to provide food service establishment inspections
and complaint investigation for all of Southwest Kansas. There is a eritical

need for increased revenue.

Thank ycu.
Sincerely,

Marilyn Peterson
Administrator

(//ém/) /Z/ 7] //?\%
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NS ROSPITALTY KANSAS RESTAURANT

_AND HOSPITALITY .

AND HOSPITALITY ASSOCIATION

5« WICHITA, KANSAS 67201 « (316) 267-8383 » FAX (316) 267-8400

359 SOUTH HYDRAULIC P.O. BOX 23

My name 1is George Puckett, and I represent +the Kansas Restaurant and

Hospitality Association, a group of approximately 750 foodservice and

w

hospitality industry Pusinesses in Kansa

KRHA does nol object To the
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license fees allowable. WHlle KRHA is not £ind ways o
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its membels, weE 1calize there comes a time when 1Pa:onab¢@ =Ssls

in*matters such as our annual licensing

fee. We also und erstand there has not Le en an lnbl se in the annual fee
for mor uhan/ggg Y . KRHA realizes this will help assure the
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ransas Restaurant and Hospitallty Association would
making{decl sion by

k that the proposed license rIsee 1nhreabﬁ be a policy

the legisl:ture based on the lnfOLRaulOQ uubmltfea *y The accrctaly of

1ealfh aﬂu EPV‘rﬁLmPlt s .1ally world also like to make 2 suggestion
\,._,‘._““,y g T O -
+hat the committes might consider updating uhe Apprlicati ree which 1S

(Page 2, Lines 2-5). 1T

—

not a pvart of the proposed changes in HB2118.

~urrently costs $100 to apply for a foodservice license. This fee might
//_ FUNDORRREEES

he increased slightly as a consideration of the committee in order to help

very lowest possible for our foodservice

ﬁ/;&éj
/75

. Promoting Excellence in the Foodservice and Hospitality Industry Since 1933” mw j

the

641

keep annual licensing fee

and hospitality industry operators. Thank vou.



EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
JIM SHEEHAN
Shawnee Mission

February 4, 1993

OFFICERS House Public Health & Welfare Comm. OPPOSING HB 2118
PRESIDENT

SKIP KLEIER . .

Carbondale Madam Chair, and members of the Committee, I am Frances

‘Kastner, Director of the Kansas Food Dealers Association.

It VCEPRESIDENT  our members include wholesalers, distributors and retailers

Atwood of food products throughout Kansas.

ﬁ%ﬁﬁﬁiszr Over the years we have seen increases in not only the

Seneca number of licenses grocers need in order to operate theilr
business, but also the constant increase in the amount of

ASST TREASURER 4 those fees after they are established. If the maximum

Shawnee Mission allowed in HB 2118 is $100, we have little doubt that the

State Food Service License fee will become $100. Retallers
BOARD OFDIRECTORS  coo fees as a hidden tax. Of course-it is a cost of doing

SEe _LtEES dao @ L UEt o4
CHAIRMAN business, and that cost has to be passeqmgp to the consumer.

J. R. WAYMIRE S T

Leavermorth Information on licenses received from a Topeka grocery
GLEN CATLIN store include: State Food Service License $40; Shawnee
Herington County Food Service License $30; Selling non-prescription
TOM FLOERSCH \drugs requires a Pharmacy License of $20; cigarette license
Fredonia is $12; a city license to stay open after midnight is $25.
ROV FRIESEN If the store sells cereal malt beverages, they pay a local
Syracuse CMB license of $125, a State Fee of $25, and need a Federal

/CMB license costing $250.

,EA_RNIE'GRAHAM ( .
mporia -
Last year, we took a survey and found most of our

STAN HAYES members in the larger counties pay the State Food Service
Manhattan Establishment License at $40, and a County or City Food
roserTMccReary — S€rvice License fee of at least $30. The Topeka store
Goddard referred to above is inspected by the Shawnee County Health
JOHN MoKEEVER Department which receives 80% of the $40 state license fee.
Louisburg Adding that to County's fee of $30, it totals $62 for the

inspection of a food service establishment. Some local city

LEONARDMCKINZE or county fees are much higher than the $30 paid in Topeka.

CHUCK O'DELL If the same 80% is allowed for inspections done by the

Shawnee County Health Department, the State Food Service
BiLL REUST Establishment Fund will get none of the increase, no matter
Parsons how much it is, since 20% of all fees are transferred to
g%ywmmw the State General Fund for Administrative purposes.
BILL WEST I appreciate the opportunity of sharing our concerns
AMJ? with you, and urge you to NOT consider HB 2118 favorably.
COVERRMENTAL AFFAIRS ~¢:25;47‘¢eﬁ/ 7fi£;2;22/

: Frances Kastner, Director

FRANCES KASTNER Governmental Affairs, KFDA

g L_;ki) o
d%:/ -3

2809 WEST 47TH STREET SHAWNEE MISSION, KANSAS 66205 PHONE (913) 384-3838 FAX (913) 384-3868



State of Kansas
Joan Finney, Governor

Department of Health and Environment

Robert C. Harder, Secretary Reply to:

TESTIMONY PRESENTED TO
THE HOUSE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE COMMITTEE
by
THE BOARD OF ADULT CARE HOME ADMINISTRATORS
and

THE KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENT

House Bill 2110

The Board of Adult Care Home Administrators and the Kansas Department of Health
and Environment are responsible for administering the Kansas adult care home
administrators’ licensing program (KSA 65-3501 et seq.). There are approximately 800
persons licensed as adult care home administrators. This bill is being sought to allow for
the establishment, collection, and processing of fees to cover the administrative cost of
the program, and to establish reinstatement and endorsement processes that are
consistent with other licensure programs in Kansas and across the nation.

The specific amendments made by House Bill 2110 to meet these objectives are as
follows:

1  Section 1, page one, lines 25-26, grants specific statutory authority for the
temporary license fee to be fixed by rules and regulations adopted by the Board of
Adult Care Home Administrators;

2 Section 2, page two, lines 19-28, lists the different fees established in the licensing
act, requires these fees to be fixed in rules and regulations to cover the
administration costs of the program, and establishes the fee remittance, deposit,

and credit process; 70 #A} é() 5/
(OVER) 0?/ &Z ~ %5

Landon State Office Building e 900 SW Jackson e Topeka, Kansas 66612-1290 e (913) 296-1500

Printed on Recycled Paper



3 Section 3, page two, lines 31-32, requires the applicant to pay a license fee and
the examination fee, if required, to the Secretary of Health and Environment thus
allowing the fees to be separated;

4  Section 3, page two, line 34, removes the maximum cap on the license and/or
examination fees. Legislative oversight will occur during the promulgation process
for rules and regulations rather than statutorily. (Section 4(b), page 3, line 19,
removes the maximum cap on the renewal fee as well);

"~ 5 Section 4(b), page three, lines 23-30, determines that to renew a license within 30
days following its expiration requires a late renewal fee; that a license expired for
31 or more days is considered lapsed, and will require reinstatement prior to
renewal;

6  Section 4(d), page three, lines 40-42, requires submission of a renewal fee and
reinstatement fee when reinstating (currently only a reinstatement fee is required);
and

7  Section 4(e), pages three and four, allows endorsement of training received by
applicants outside the State of Kansas and requires that a reciprocity fee and
license fee be paid for persons seeking reciprocity from another state or
endorsement of out-of-state training (currently only a reciprocity fee is required).

These changes are consistent with other licensure statutes and legislative directive to
move toward encumbering the cost of the program through fees.

he Board and the Department recommend the passage of House Bill 2110 as written.

Presented by: Cathy Rooney, Director
Health Occupations Credentialing Unit
Bureau of Adult and Child Care
February 4, 1993



KANSAS PROFESSIONAL NURSING HOME
ADMINISTRATORS ASSOCIATION

3601 West 29th
Topeka, Kansas 66614
Phone: 913—273-4393

TO: Public Health & Welfare Committee
RE: House Bill 2110

In reference to House Bill 2110, I would respectfully ask
that this committee review the language of Lines 19 through
34 of page 2, specifically lines 22 & 23 addressing the
amount of the licensure fees for nursing home administrators.

In reviewing the fees and continuing education hours required

by other health care professionals in our state, I think you

—— e+ _ 1 . . .
will find that the fees for nursing home administrators are

at the(ioﬁjof the range at the present time. Minutes of the

Septembér 18, 1992 (attachment I), meeting of the Board of
Adult Care Home Administrators reflect changes in KAR 28-38-
23(b) which changes the renewal fee from $50.00 to $100.00

and the late fee from $25.00 to $50.00. In addition, KAR 28-

38-23(1i) adds reinstatement and renewal fees for

(A $120.0@ fee.) We feel that the

reinstatement_Qf license.
limit o3 ould be more than adequate for licensing and

10
credentIs] § of our profession. As you can see from the

attached data sheet, the Board of Healing Arts charges $30.00
for licensing Occupational Therapists and Physical Therapists

for two vears and with a continuing education requirement of
40 hours. Physicians have a licensure fee of $150 with a
requirement of 150 hours of continuing education every three
vears. The Board of Nursing charges $40. and requires 30
hours of continuing education every two years, etc.
(Attachment II).
™
Many nursing home administrators in the State of Kansas run
small community-based facilities. An increased fee would be
n additional hardship on an industry being hammered from

/every side with increased costs. This fact, coupled with the

ost of accumulating 6@ hours of continuing education, makes
it extremely costly for nursing home administrators to
maintain their professional licenses.

e feel it is not a good management practice to give any
agency or department a blank check in determining the amount
that can be charged to any one group. We are a very small
group and with discussions about a freeze 6ﬁ‘5€3ﬁ§§ﬁ§tru€f"

A
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and increased fees for licensure, our numbers are not like
to grow. Current figures indicate that approximately 100
licenses are not renewed every yvear with only 30-4@ new
licenses being issued.

In closing, we feel there is no precedent for raising the
licensure fee for only one category of health care
professional when that fee is already at thecfop of the

ange,/ nor is there a precedent for leaving the amount of
such fees up to the discretion of the licensing agency.
Wesreguestithatilines 19-23(upage 2) of HB 2110 be remove
that lines 33 & 34 (page 2) of HB 2110 retain the original
fanguage and that line 19, (page 3) of HB 211@ retain thgq
original language.

Thank you for allowing us this opportunity to express our
concerns on this House Bill #2110.

ly

A



ATTACE I

> KAR 28-38-18. changes were made in sections (a), (b), (c), and (d) to clarify the language in
these sections. A new section (¢) was added to state the passing scores for national and state
examinations. Sections (d), (¢), and (f) have clean-up of language also.

> KAR 28-38-19(¢)(2) clarifies training sites. This change reflects a policy statement that was
previously approved by the board. :

> KAR 28-38-19(e) defines qualifications of preceptors. This qualification was a policy statement
previously approved by the board. .

> KAR 28-38-19(f) clarifies disciplinary actions concerning preceptors. This regulation proposal also
was a policy previously approved by the board.

> KAR 28-38-20(a) was moved from section (d) of 28-38-18 being more appropriate to this section.
-This allows candidates 30 days after date of examination to submit qualifying requirements for the
licensure examination. KAR 28-38-20(d) allows an applicant two years to take and pass the
national examination after submitting the original application and fee.

> KAR 28-38-20(e) requires that the applicant pay the examination fee directly to the testing agency.

> KAR 28-38-21(c) changes are for clarification of language.

> KAR 28-38-22 reflects changes in fees.

> KAR 28-38-23(b) reflects changes in renewal fee from $50.00 to $100.00 and late fee from $25.00
to $50.00.

> * KAR 28-38-23(h) allows 7.5 clock hours of continuing education for preceptors. Old section (h)

' is deleted.

> KAR 28-38-23(i) adds reinstatement and renewal fees for reinstatement of license. The $120.00

reinstatement fee is proposed as a change from $100.00 as previously approved by the board.

Ms. Rooney pointed out that all the changes in the proposed regulations were previously approved by the
board except KAR 28-38-17, 28-38-20, and 28-38-23(i). She asked the board to approve these changes as

presented.

ACTION: Barbara Schroeder moved thevboard approve the changes in
the proposed regulations as explained bv Ms. Rooney. Sharon Durrell
seconded the motion. It passed.

Ms. Rooney traced the movement of the proposed regulations through the various departments for
approval and to the hearing process until the regulations become effective. '

Preceptor Approvals and Examination Results

Pat Dismukes reported that 11 additional preceptors were approved in the past three months for a total of
90 throughout the state. Sixteen candidates took the July 1992 examination for licensure as adult care
home administrators. Ten candidates passed and 16 candidates are signed up to take the October 1992

examination.

Other Business it r LS N

A NI

Board of Adult Care Home Administrator:

pp 3 of 9/18/92 Minutes



Category

Social Workers

Nurse

Doctors

Dieticians

Pharmacy

Dentist

Administrators

Fees CEU's
$90.00 BA(2 yrs) 6@ hrs
$95.00 MA " (2 yrs)

$100.00 Clinical

$40.00 (2yrs) 30 hrs.

(2 yrs)
$150.00 Annual 150 hrs.
(3 yrs)

$30.00 49 hrs.
(2 yrs)

$135.00 15 hrs.
(2 yrs)

$75.00 Annual 15 hrs
(annual)

$60.00 Annual 30 hrs
(annual)

$100.00 (2 yrs.) 60 hrs

ATTACHMENT

Licensing
Agency

Behavioral
Sciences

Board of
Nursing

Board of
Healing Arts

Board of
Healing Arts

Health &
Environment

Board of
Pharmacy

Kansas Dental
Board

Department of
Health &
Environment

T
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Kansas Health Car@ Association

221 SOUTHWEST 33rd STREET
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66611-2263
(913) 267-6003 « FAX (913) 267-0833

TESTIMONY
before the
HOUSE COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE
by
John L. Kiefhaber, Exec. Vice President
KANSAS HEALTH CARE ASSOCIATION

House Bill 2110

"AN ACT relating to fee structure for licensing adult care home
administrators ..."

Chairperson Flower and Committee Members:

. The Kansas Health Care Association, representing 213

/ professional nursing facilities throughout the State of Kansas, appreciates

~ the opportunity to speak in opposition to the passage of House Bill
1 2110. This bill would allow nursing home administrators’ licensing fees

/ to be set in regulation directly by the Board of Adult Care Home

. Administrators, instead of leaving the amount of the fee in statute, where
it can be controlled by legislative authority.

z _ Kwealth Care Association opposes this idea for two
reasons: ﬁrs;,/ the licensing fee would be set by the same authority that
‘now hears complamts concerning nursing home administrators and within
the influence of the Department of Health and Environment, which is
responsible for the survey and licensing of all nursing facilities in the
State. We believe the this could allow the amount of the feeto be set

to an onerously high level in the future without any effective way for / o
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/ the nursing home administrators to object. @dl},,/ the amount of the
—_fee comes out of the nursing facility’s budget in most cases --a budget
/that is already cut well below the level of the cost of quality care by
| the present Medicaid reimbursement rates. To allow administrator fees
to rise uncontrollably in the future would represent another opportunity
for our strapped nursing homes to lose funding that could otherwise go
toward patient care or facility upkeep.

Thank you for the opportunity to speak in opposition to
House Bill 2110.



