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MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY.
The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Jerry Moran at 10:05 a.m. on March 17, 1993 in Room

514-S of the Capitol.
All members were present except: Senator Feleciano (excused)

Committee staff present: Michael Heim, Legislative Research Department
Gordon Self, Revisor of Statutes
Sue Krische, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:

Gene Johnson, Kansas Community Alcohol Safety Action Project
Representative Jan Pauls

Wanda Stewart, Area Director for National MADD

Jim Keller, Attorney, Division of Motor Vehicles

Tuck Duncan, Kansas Wine and Spirits Wholesalers

Doug Moshier, Asst. City Attorney, Wichita

David Goronkin, Chi-Chi’s Restaurants

Graham Dewsbury, Woodlands Race Track

George Puckett, Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality Association

Others attending: See attached list
SB 172 - DUI blood or breath alcohol level .08; no diversion if .20 or greater.
HB 2355 - Alcohol-related offenses, .08.

Gene Johnson, Kansas Community Alcohol Safety Action Project, testified in support of SB 172 regarding
lowering blood alcohol concentration level to .08 for all DUI offenders (Attachment 1). Mr. Johnson stated he
would support eliminating eligibility for diversion for those individuals who, at the time of arrest refuse to take
a breath or blood test, but urged the Committee not to adopt the provision that would eliminate eligibility for
diversion for a BAC of .20 or above. Mr. Johnson feels this provision would encourage individuals not to
take the breath test at the time of arrest.

Mr. Johnson advised the Committee that his organizations support the .08 BAC law in HB 2355 also, as well
as striking the word “motor” in existing statute to eliminate the DUI offender who presently can obtain a
license to operate a moped vehicle (Attachment 2). In response to a question, Mr. Johnson indicated five
states presently have the .08 law--California, Utah, Oregon, Maine and Vermont. He reviewed other
provisions of HB 2355 which he supports, including the provision that state law on DUI would apply on
military reservations within the state; requiring the Alcohol Safety Action Program to report to the Motor
Vehicle Department only the offenders who do not complete the program; the motor boat provision requiring a
boater education course if a boater refuses to take a breath test; the open container provision that would allow
those arrests to be traffic offenses rather than criminal offenses; and the mandatory ignition interlock for
second DUI offense when the BAC level was .15 or greater. Mr. Johnson asked the Committee to consider
raising the current $110 Assessment Fee paid to the court to a maximum of $125.

Representative Pauls testified in opposition to the provision in HB 2355 on page 33, lines 30-32 which creates
an affirmative defense to any prosecution that another occupant of the vehicle “was in exclusive possession of
the alcoholic beverage” (Attachment 3). Representative Pauls stated this portion of the law, if passed, would
encourage the drinking of alcohol and beer in vehicles.

Wanda Stewart, Area Director, National MADD, testified on SB 172 and HB 2355 that .08 BAC is a limit that
is reasonable and necessary for the driving safety of all (Attachment 4). She feels diversion should be an
exception and not a rule for DUI offenders. MADD supports a lower BAC level for youth and the application
of .08 BAC to boat operators. Senator Vancrum questioned Ms. Stewart about some of the studies and
statistics she quoted and Senator Rock commented that the California study she referred to in her testimony is
very controversial.

Jim Keller, Attorney, Division of Motor Vehicles, told the Committee the Department of Revenue supports

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim.
Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals appearing before the
committee for editing or corrections. 1
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HB 2355 but would suggest certain changes--some clarifying existing procedures in the statutory language;
some involving clean up language as a result of other changes in this bill or in prior legislation; and others
have been suggested by recent court decisions (Attachment 5). Chairman Moran stated a subcommittee may
be needed to review the Department’s proposed changes and to address the administrative issues raised by the
court cases.

Senator Ranson distributed to the members an article explaining ignition interlock devices (Attachment 6).
Commissioner Andrew O’Donovan, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services, SRS, submitted written testimony in
support of lowering the BAC to .08 from .10 percent (Attachment 7). Carol Lierz, State Chairperson, Kansas
MADD, submitted written testimony supporting the .08 percent BAC and opposing “affirmative defense” as
any part of “designated driver” (Attachment 8).

Tuck Duncan, Kansas Wine and Spirits Wholesalers, stated the loss of life due to abuse of beverage alcohol
cannot be tolerated, but questioned whether reducing the BAC level to .08 is providing a solution (Attachment
9). He noted the critical issue is that the problem is not at the .08 level, but at the .15 level. Mr. Duncan
emphasized that the law should provide methods to keep the hard core offender from driving, such as
mandatory interlock devices for persons in second and subsequent offenses, confiscation of the license plate
or car, and electronic monitoring devices.

Doug Moshier, Asst. City Attorney, Wichita, appeared in support of HB 2355 and specifically of the
provision amending K.S.A. 8-1567(m) which would permit local units of government which adopt their own
driving under the influence laws to establish minimum penalties which exceed those specified under state law
(Attachment 10).

Dr. Roger Carlson, Kansas Department of Health and Environment, submitted written testimony in support of
reducing DUT alcohol level from .10 to .08, but opposing the proposal for administrative fine under K.S.A. 8-
1014(d)3 (Attachment 11).

David Goronkin, Chi-Chi’s Restaurants, Shawnee, Kansas, urged the Committee to focus the law on the
repeat offenders and those whose BAC’s are at a .15 or above (Attachment 12). He feels lowering the BAC to
.08 will divert attention from the most dangerous impaired drivers.

Graham Dewsbury, Woodlands Race Track, appeared in opposition to HB 2355 stating that having to enforce
at the .08 level will divert police from focusing on the true criminals--repeat offenders (Attachment 13).

George Puckett, Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality Association, testified that there is no current federal
requirement that would require Kansas or any state to pass .08 BAC legislation in order to receive federal
highway funds (Attachment 14). He emphasized that the chronic abusers must be dealt with, not the average
citizen.

Chairman Moran announced that he will assign a subcommittee to further pursue this issue and report back to
the full Committee. The meeting was adjourned at 11:00 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for March 18,
1993.
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TESTIMONY

SENATE BILL 172
SENATE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE
MARCH 17, 1993

TO: Senator Jerry Moran, Chairman
Senate Judiciary Committee
Statehouse, Topeka, KS 66612

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:

I am Gene Johnson and I represent the Kansas Alcoholism and Drug
Addiction Counselors Association, the Kansas Association of Alcohol and Drug
Program Directors Association, and the Kansas Community Alcohol Safety
Action Project Coordinators Association. Our organizations support Senate
Bi11 172 1in regards to lowering the blood alcohol concentration level to
.08% for all DUI offenders. Our organizations, in the past, have promoted
highway safety through the elimination of the drinking driver. We are not
opposed to drinking, but feel that there is a time and place for that social
activity. In no way should drinking and driving be tolerated.

Since 1982 this Legislature has taken a firm stand in regards to those
people who consistently drink and drive. As you well know, in 1982 a major
change was made in our DUI Legislation. One might note that since this
major change the alcohol related fatalities have steadily dropped to
approximately one-half the total that were being identified in those early
years. It 1is now within our grasp, through stronger Tlegislation and
stricter enforcement of DUI laws, in the near future we will reduce the
alcohol related fatalities to Tess than 100 victims per year.

Senate Bill 172 is a positive step in achieving that goal. Any
reduction in blood alcohol concentration level lowers the probability of the
drinking driver having an alcohol related accident.
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We have some concern about eliminating the eligibility for Diversion
for those individuals who, at the time of arrest, have a blood alcohol
concentration of .20% or above. Although, philosophically it appears to be
the right thing to do, when one looks at it in the practical sense, it has
certain drawbacks:

1. By eliminating those people who are eligible for Diversion, whose
BAC of .20% or above, tends to encourage that individual to not take a
breath chemical test at the time of arrest.

2. By eliminating those people of over .20%, we would see a large
number of people who would refuse to take the breath test, and set the
matter for trial in hopes of being able to convince a Judge and/or jury of
their innocence.

3. Another factor we must consider, by eliminating Diversion for
those over .20%, could also put an additional bind on local Municipalities
and Counties who are presently pushed to the limit on jail space.

We would hope the Committee would consider eliminating those
jndividuals who fail to respond to the officer's request for a breath or
blood test rather than those DUI offenders who have a .20% BAC or above for
Diversion. These individuals are probably 1ikely to have a rather high BAC,
and are in fact, denying to the officer, themselves, and to the public, that
they were drinking and driving, by refusing to take the test. In our
opinion, these are the offenders who should be denied Diversion.

I thank you for allowing me to appear before this Committee on this
most important Legislation.

Respectfully submitted,

on

Gene Johrso \

Legislat Liaison

Kansas Alcoholism and Drug Addiction Counselors Association

Kansas Association of Alcohol and Drug Program Directors

Kansas Community Alcohol Safety Action Project Coordinators Association




TESTIMONY
SENATE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE
HOUSE BILL 2355
March 17, 1993

To: Senator Jerry Moran, Chairman
Senate Judiciary Committee
Statehouse, Topeka, KS 66612

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:

I am Gene Johnson and I represent the Kansas Alcoholism and Drug
Addiction Counselors Association, the Kansas Association of Alcohol and Drug
Program Directors Association and the Kansas Community Alcohol Safety Action
Project Coordinators Association. Our organizations support House Bill 2355
in the same manner as we support Senate Bill 172 as far as .08% is
concerned.

In this particular legislation, the word "motor" has been struck in
the existing Statute to eliminate the DUI offender who presently can obtain
a license to operate a vehicle under 49 ccs or the so-called "moped"
vehicle. Presently, individuals who have lost their Ticense because of
previous DUI convictions, approach the Motor Vehicle Department and receive
a moped Tlicense, and then continue to drink and drive on their mopeds. I
can relate three serious accidents in the City of Topeka in which two of the
drivers were hospitalized because of serious injuries they suffered after
consuming alcohol and trying to operate their mopeds. By removing the word
"motor" we would eliminate this very dangerous procedure.

House Bill 2355 also places administrative sanctions against those
individuals under the age of 21 who are operating a vehicle at a .04% BAC or
above. On a first occurrence the driving privileges of the offender would
be suspended for 30 days and on the second or subsequent occurrence, the
privileges would be suspended for 6 months. In addition, there will be a
$25 Administrative fine, assessed to cover the laboratory costs incurred by
the State.

=J
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Another policy of this legislative proposal is that it brings those
offenders that are arrested on military reservations within our State, under
full compliance to State Law. this has caused problems in the For Riley,
Kansas area, and this has met with approval with the law enforcement
officers in that area.

This legislation also changes the matter of the defendant who fails to
complete a Drug and Alcohol Safety Action education or treatment program.
Presently, the Alcohol Safety Action Program has submitted to the Motor
Vehicle Department written confirmation that the defendant has completed the
Alcohol Safety Action education or treatment program satisfactorily. We are
suggesting under this legislation that only those offenders who fail to
complete the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action education or treatment program
be reported to the Motor Vehicle Department. we believe this will cut down
on a considerable amount of paperwork for both the Motor Vehicle Department

and the Alcohol Safety Action Project program as well. This will be

consistent with the continuum of care concept and insure that we are
providing ample intervention measures and treatment for those people in need
of alcohol and drug services.

Our organizations have difficulties in the elimination of Diversions

for those individuals with an alcohol concentration level of .15% or more.

Under this Tlegislation, as 1in Senate Bil11 172, denying those offenders of
.15% BAC or above would disqualify for diversion over 60% of those
individuals who have been arrested for DUI in Shawnee County. This will
create a hardship on very limited jail space in several areas in the State.
In addition, it would encourage Court trials for those offenders who refuse
to that the test hoping that they would have a better chance of being found
not guilty. Also, this provision would tend to discourage offender's from
taking the BAC test knowing that if they have a concentration of .15% BAC or
above, that the Prosecutor could not offer diversion.

We would much prefer that those individuals who fail to cooperate with
the officer and refuse to submit to the chemical test at the time of arrest,
be deemed not a good candidate for Diversion. We feel that each local
prosecutor has the responsibility to set blood alcohol concentration Timits,
as he/she sees-best fit for his community.
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House Bil1l 2355 has the Motor Boat provision. Under this proposed
legislation, individuals who operate a vessel on our State Takes, rivers,
and waterways with a breath alcohol content of .08% or above, would be
subject to arrest, jail and fine and/or other penalties. In addition to
any other penalties, a person who refuses a test shall be required to
satisfactorily complete a boater education course of instruction approved
by the Secretary, before being legal to operate or attempt to operate a
vessal in our State.

Under this proposed legislation there are changes in the Open
Container laws as we presently see them in the State of Kansas. On Page
30, starting on Line 13, this legislation would allow the Alcohol Beverage
Control and its agents to still make arrests for violations of our liguor
laws under Chapter 41. However, this legislation also combines three Open
Container provisions of our Statue into one provision which allows those
arrests to be placed in the Traffic Section, which gives the arresting
officers the opportunity to files these as a traffic offense, rather than
a criminal offense. These changes have been needed for several years and
will be welcomed by our prosecutors and Court systems throughout the State.
There is also a provision in this proposed legislation that will give the
innocent party in the automobile, who claims no knowledge of the Open
Container, the right to defend himself in Court.

We would also like to have this Committee consider raising the present
$110 Assessment Fee to a maximum of $125. This is paid by the offender,
to the Court, as a condition of probation or diversion. The current
assessment of $110 was placed on the offender in the 1985 session. Court
costs at that time were believed to be $19 on a traffic caée. Court costs
are now $37. Our Alcohol Safety Action Projects have not had a rate
increase in evaluation fees since 1985. We realize that we are in tight
times, however our ‘organizations are also struggling to make timely
evaluations to the Courts and prosecuting attorneys with the limited funds
available.

Although some of these major provisions may sound severe to some
people, our organizations feel we must send a message through Tegislation
that we no longer will tolerate unsafe operation of vehicles by the drinking
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driver on our streets, highways, or waterways. It is our intention that
this act be construed as an act to promote public safety rather than to duly
penalize the DUI offender.

Respectfully submitted,

Gene Joxyson

Legislative Liaison

Kansas Alcoholism and Drug Addiction Counselors Association

Kansas Association of Alcohol and Drug Program Directors
Kansas Community Alcohol Safety Action Project Coordinators Association
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LABOR AND INDUSTRY
TRANSPORTATION
JOINT SENATE AND HOUSE COMMITTEE ON
ADMINISTRATIVE RULES AND REGULATIONS

TOPEKA

Testimony before the
Senate Judiciary Committee
Regarding
House Bill 2355
on
March 17, 1993

Thank you for the opportunity to testify before your committee on House Bill 2355

relating to the amendments to illegal transportation of liquor, KSA 41-804, and cereal malt
beverages, KSA 41-2719, in open containers.

| am in the unique position of having had clients charged with illegal transportation;
having prosecuted defendants on these cases; and having heard illegal transportation of alcohol
cases in court as judge.

House Bill 2355 would combine the two statutes on liquor and cereal malt beverages, to
one statute concerning “alcohol beverages”.

Under current law, no one can transport liquor or cereal malt beverages in an open
container unless the beverage is in alocked rear trunk, or in a recreational vehicle or bus, if
the beverage is in the exclusive possession of a passenger who is not in the driving compartment
of such vehicle or who is in a portion of such vehicle from which the driver is not directly
accessible.

Under current law, any person in the car can be charged with a violation of the state
statutes. Usually an officer will charge only the driver and one or more passengers, depending
on the factual situation. If there is just one open beer can in a car, the officer will not charge
more than one defendant unless the officer has proof that more than one person was drinking
from one can. The Judge hearing the case may suspend the drivers license of a defendant (which
is normally done to the driver only) and can also fine up to $200 or imprison for up to six
months. Usually a passenger is given a fine, but is occasionally placed on probation. Only very
rarely is a passenger’s drivers license suspended. The statutes do need a technical clean-up, to
provide that Judges are not required to restrict or suspend a passenger’s drivers license, as
passengers are normally just fined.

T
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The provision that | wish to draw to your attention to is on page 33 of House Bill 2355,
lines 30-32. This creates an affirmative defense to any prosecution, that another occupant of
the vehicle “was in exclusive possession of the alcoholic beverage”. In the terms of one
prosecutor | spoke with, this “creates a hole large enough to drive a truck through”. | have
heard of no actual situations in which this defense was necessary, as both officers and
prosecutors do not prosecute those individuals who are not actively drinking. Officers routinely
offer a Blood Alcohol Test to a passenger or driver who deny that they were drinking at all. If
there is no alcohol registered, the person is not charged.

The present open container statute became law in 1949. There have never been any
amendments to the liquor open container law. The cereal mait beverage law became law in
1982. State vs. Erbacher, 8 Kan. App. 2nd 169, 170 (1983) stated in part, regarding this law
that:

The legislative aim of this statute is clearly demonstrated by the scope of
the exclusions from its coverage. K.S.A. 41-2719 is intended to indirectly
prevent the intoxication of motor vehicle drivers by prohibiting the presence of
open containers of beer within the reach of a driver. Thus, so long as the beer is
unopened or in a place in the vehicle which is inaccessible to the driver, it may be
transported or consumed.

In 1949 another statute was also passed, K.S.A. 41-719 which provides that “...no
person shall drink or consume alcoholic liquor...inside vehicles while on the public streets,
alleys, roads, or highways.” This statute has been amended eleven times since 1949, but the
prohibition against drinking or consuming alcoholic liquor in vehicles has always remained.

The Kansas Supreme Court has ruled in State vs. Bishop 14 Kan. App. 2nd 223,225
(1990) that the state must prove that the defendant knew or had reasonable cause to know that
he was transporting alcoholic liquor in an open container. Thus, no defendant can be prosecuted
that has no knowledge of another’s possession of alcohol.

So--who wants the present open container laws changed? Law enforcement has made no
request for this new defense to the open container charge. The Trial Lawyers Association has not
made this request, to the best of my knowledge,no liquor dealers have requested this change. So-
--from whence came this request? Apparently it was first suggested last year in a conference
committee on the DUI bill. No data or testimony has been presented as to existing problems with
the open container law. | would suggest that a law that has been used since 1949 with no
problems should not be changed absent a request from law enforcement, or trial lawyers, or
judges, or defendants, or some such group.

The only justification on the House side ever presented for enacting this new affirmative
defense was to protect a “designated driver”, who is transporting drunks home from a party.
An assumption was made that drunks will be too belligerent to give up their drinks. (A drunk
that is belligerent in a car might prove to be a hazard to the driver with or without a drink.)
However, this section does not require that a driver be in route home. The driver could be joy-
riding with drinking passengers all night. If the passenger is already too drunk to drive, do they
need additional drinks? Also this bill has no requirement or limit on how many bottles or cans
can be claimed by one defendant. Do we really want to have one defendant claim possession of six
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opened cans of a six pack, and be the only person prosecuted in the car? The driver further has
ready access to alcohol, and is subject to the temptation to drink and drive.

The purpose of the laws prohibiting transportation of an open container of liquor or
cereal malt beverage in a car is to prevent drinking and driving. Why should this portion of the
law be passed that encourages the drinking of aicohol and beer in vehicles?



Mothers Against Drunk Driving

P.O. Box 332 ¢ El Dorado, Kansas 67042 « (316) 321-9113
BUTLER COUNTY CHAPTER

senate Judiciary Committee March 17 SB 172 HB2355
senator Jerry Moran, Chairman

I am, Wanda Stewart, Regional Director on the National Board
of Mothers Against Drunk Driving. I have been involved with
MADD since 1981.

I am still concerned enough about the issue of drunk driving
to stand before you today and ask for your leadership in
making our state a safer place in which to live.

I want to help motivate Kansas to address the problem of
drunk driving with the hopes it will protect others from the
pain we endured. Stan & I had to bury a three month old
baby boy because of the senseless decision of another Kansan
to drink and drive.

Kansas has made tremendous gains and your leadership is
needed to continue the fight against drunk driving. We must
ask ourselves "What else can be done?"

In 1981, the year we lost Scott there were 206 unique and
irreplaceable individuals- with names, families and dreams,
forever changed- killed because of drunk driving in our
state. Our fatalities and injuries are down yet I and other
Kansans don’t feel 112 fatalities and nearly 3500 injuries
are acceptable.

The DUI legislation contained in SB 172 & HB 2355 will go
far in addressing needed strategies to reduce the drunk
driving tragedies in our state.

In 1991 there were 21,827 DUI arrests made in our state. The
"“fatality risk" for drivers with a BAC between .05-.09 in
single~car crashes is 11 times higher than for a non-
drinking driver. Five states currently have .08 BAC per se
with 1® others addressing legislation this session.

.08 BAC per se is a limit which is reasonable and
necessary for the driving safety of all.
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The BAC limit for youth should be "zero tolerance" or lower
than .08 to match the public policy created when the minimum
legal age of "21" was enacted. No youth under the age of 21
is suppose to drink let alone drink AND drive. Research has
shown there is a need for a consistent "no use" message for
our youth. Tuwelve states have lower BAC levels for youth
under 21 with more states addressing legislation this

session.

MADD is also in support of a felony charge for third time
offenders.

There is also a need to set a limit requirement for
diversions. Diversion should be an exception and not a rule
for DUI offenders. Anyone with a .15 BAC or above should
not be eligible for diversion.

Lowering the BAC limit for boat operators is appropriate and
should be viewed with the same seriousness as vehicles.

Wwhat is a designated driver provision?

"aAffirmative defense" as become an issue and clarification
is needed. MADD does not support the concept of
"affirmative defense" as representing anvy part of a
"designated driver" provision. A designated driver program
does not endorse any type of open container within a
vehicle. Bottom line we need to communicate-Kansas does not

allow the transportation of open containers.
Thank you for your time and energy.

Wanda Stewart
Regional Director
MADD National Board
609 Random Rd.

El Dorado, Ks. 67042
316-321-6576



MEMORANDUM

TO: The Honorable Jerry Moran, Chairman
Senate Judiciary Committee
FROM: Jame G. Keller, Attorney
Kansas Department of Revenue
DATE: March 17, 1993
SUBJECT: House Bill No. 2355

[ appreciate the opportunity to appear before you with regard to
House Bill No. 2355.

This bill amends a number of statutes administered by the Division
of Vehicles. The Department of Revenue supports this bill, but would
suggest certain changes. Some of the changes simply clarify existing
procedures in the statutory language, some are to clean up language
as a result of other changes in this bill or in prior legislation, and
others have been suggested by recent court decisions.

Attached hereto is an explanation of the changes suggested by the
Department of Revenue along with a copy of the bill with the
proposed changes.

= a
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XP ATI F PROPOSED AMENDMENT
TO HOUSE BILL NO. 2355

Section 1:

Page 3, Line 16: The words "at least" are proposed to be
deleted because the suspension is for "one year."

Page 3, Line 29: The words "at least" are proposed to be
deleted because the suspension is for "one year."

Page 3, Lines 36-37: The language "has the right to consult
with an attorney” should be deleted. The original intention of that
language was to advise that the Fifth Amendment right to counsel
would still be available after the testing procedures were completed.
However, recent court decisions have construed the phrase as
granting a statutory right to counsel in addition to any constitutional
right. There have also been arguments made that the language
seems to restrict right to counsel only to those who have submitted
to the test, but not those who refused. Removal of the language will
simply eliminate these issues, but will have no effect upon any
constitutional right to counsel which the person will still have.

Page 5, After Line 8: This language is the same as that
contained in the Commercial Driver's License Act. Most prior court
decisions have construed this law as a remedial law which should be
liberally construed. However, some recent Kansas Court of Appeals
decisions have overlooked prior precedents and stated that the act
should be strictly construed. This proposed change will simply
eliminate the issue and make it clear that the proper standard is that
expressed in State v. Adee, 241 Kan. 825, 829 (1987).

Section 2:

Page 6, Lines 22-31: The proposed changes are necessary to
eliminate technical issues that arise regarding who serves the copy of
the certification and notice of suspension on the person and to
accommodate certain police procedures regarding the handling of
personal property of individuals in custody and in mailing
documents.




Page 6, Lines 32-40: The proposed changes are to clarify that
the person is to be suspended on the 20th calendar day after service
of the notice of suspension--in other words, the 20 day period
includes weekends and holidays. A recent court case ruled that the
present language was unclear.

Page 7, Lines 7-17: The proposed changes are to carry out
the purposes explained on the previous page and to make it clear
that the direction to forward the law enforcement officer's
certification and notice of suspension to the division of vehicles
within five days is directory rather than mandatory. Some
suspensions have been overturned because the certification was sent
in after six days rather than five although there was no effect upon
the proceeding.

Page 7, Lines 27-28: The proposed changes are to help make
it clear that K.S.A. 60-206 does not apply to this time period. To help
reduce the time period for setting administrative hearings to meet
federal guidelines, the time requesting a hearing is made the same
whether the certification was served by mail or in person.

Page 8, Lines 12-26: The section setting out the issues to be
raised at an administrative hearing for a test failure are separated
into breath test failure and blood test failure. A change in the
language of the issues for a breath test failure recognizes that the
Kansas department of health and environment is required to approve
all breath-testing instruments in use in Kansas and has a program for
periodic inspection of all such instruments and examination of all
persons certified to operate such devices. The Kansas courts have
repeatedly referred to the inspection and certification program of the
KDHE when issues have been raised about "reliability” and
"qualifications."

Page 8, After Line 30: This section sets out the issues for blood
test failures.

Page 8, Lines 39-42: The proposed changes are necessary as
a result of the changes proposed for paragraph (h)(2).

Page 9, Lines 13-21: The proposed language removes
language that has been used as a basis for an argument that the
suspension action should be dismissed if the matter is not set for
hearing within 30 days, although the statute presently provides that
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the only result is that the temporary license is extended until the
date set for hearing. The change merely eliminates the reference to
thirty days, but keeps the same procedure in effect. The additional
language sets out a procedure for the service of administrative
orders upon persons who have appeared at an administrative
hearing.

Page 9, Line 30: The proposed language is necessary as a
result of the additional language proposed in paragraph (k).

Page 9, After Line 35: Two additional paragraphs are
proposed. Paragraph (n) was suggested by the result of a recent
appellate decision which held that there were no procedural statutes
for implied consent cases and ruled that the Act for Judicial Review
should be used to supply administrative procedures. This proposed
paragraph makes it clear that this section and some of the provisions
in K.S.A. 8-255 constitute the administrative procedures to be used
for the implied consent law. Paragraph (o) is to clarify that the time
periods set out in this section are not governed by K.S.A. 60-206. A
definition of the term "calendar day" as used in this section is
included. This is in response to a recent court decision which held
that the present statutory language is unclear without such
references.

Section 8:

Page 17, Lines 27-28: New paragraph (e) in this bill eliminates
the need for the language proposed to be deleted.

Page 17, Lines 35-43, Page 18, Lines 1-6: The Department of
Revenue would recommend that new paragraph (d) be deleted.
Since .04 to .08 BAC levels for persons under 21 years of age are
included as "test failures" in K.S.A. 8-1013(h), such results would
bring about suspensions under K.S.A. 8-1014(b). Also, most test
failures result from breath tests rather than blood tests. The
provision regarding the administrative fine is unclear.

Page 18, Line 31: The language proposed to be deleted should
have been taken out when the sanction for a first occurrence refusal
was changed from 180 days to one year. There is no reason for a
reference to 150 days under present law.



Section 9: The restriction for using an ignition interlock device
under new paragraph (4) would appear to be infinite in duration.
The Department has no position on this, but merely wanted to call
this to the attention of the committee.

Iy
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[As Amended by House Committee of the Whole]

As Amended by House Committee

Sessivn of 1993

IIOUSE BILL No. 2355

By Representatives Crowell and O'Neal, Boston, Cornfield, Flower,
Goussen, Gracber, Mason, Mayans, Mays, Myers, O’'Connor, Sa-
muelson, Shallenburger, Shore, M. Smith and Wagle

2-5

AN ACT concerning alcohol-related offenses involving the driving or
operating of vehicles or vessels; amending K.S.A. 8-1001, 8-1002,
8-1005, 8-1008, 8-1011, 8-1012, 8-1013, 8-1014, 8-1015, 8-1567,
as amended by section 1 of chapter 298 of the 1992 Session Laws
of Kansas, 8-2204, 12-4305, 12-4415, 22-2908, as amended by
section 257 of chapter 239 of the 1992 Session Laws of Kansas,
-41-201 and 41-804 and K.S.A. 1992 Supp. 32-1131 and 32-1132
and repealing the existing sections; also repealing K.S.A. 41-2719
and 41-2720.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Scction 1. K.S.A. 8-1001 is hereby amended to read as follows:
8-1001. (a) Any person who operates or attempts to operate a moter
vehicle within this state is deemed to have given consent, subject
to the provisions of this act, to submit to one or more tests of the
person’s blood, breath, urine or other bodily substance to determine
the presence of alcohiol or drugs. The testing deemed consented to
herein shall include all quantitative and qualitative tests for alcohol
and drugs. A person who is dead or unconscious shall be deemed
not to have withdrawn the person’s consent to such test or tests,
which shall be administered in the manner provided by this section.

(b) A law enforcement officer shall request a person to submit
to a test or tests deemed consented to under subsection (a) if the
officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person was operating
or attempting to operate a meter vehicle while under the influence
of alcohol or drugs, or both, or to believe that the person was driving
a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in K.S.A. 8-2,128, and
amendments thereto, while having alcohol or other drugs in such
person’s system; and one of the following conditions exists: (1) The
person has been arrested or otherwise taken into custody for any
offense involving operation or attempted operation of a meter vehicle
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while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, or involving
driving a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in K.S.A. 8-2,128,
and amendments thereto, while having alcoliol or other drugs in
such person’s system, in violation of a state stalute or a city ordi-
nance; or (2) the person has been involved in a meoter vehicle ac-
cident or collisivn resulting in property damage, personal injury or
death. The law enforcement officer directing administration of the
test or tests may act on personal knowledge or on the basis of the
collective information available to law enforcement officers involved
in the accident investigation or arrest.

(c) 1If a law enforcement officer requests a person to submit to
a test of blood under this section, the withdrawal of blood at the
direction of the officer may be performed only by: (1) A person
licensed to practice. medicine and surgery or a person acting under
the supervision of any such licensed person; (2) a registered nurse
or a licensed praclical nurse; or (3) any qualified medical technician.
When presented with a written statement by a law enforcement
officer directing blood to be withdrawn from a person who has ten-
tatively agreed to allow the withdrawal of blood under this section,
the person authorized herein to withdraw blood and the medical
care facility where blood is withdrawn may rely on such a statement
as evidence that the person has consented to the medical procedure
used and shall not require the person to sign any additional consent
or waiver form. In such a case, the person authorized to withdraw
blood and the medical care facility shall not be liable in any action
alleging lack of consent or lack of informed consent. No person
authorized by this subsection to withdraw blood, nor any person
assisting in the performance of a blood test nor any medical care
facility where blood is withdrawn or tested that has been directed
by any law enforcement officer to withdraw or test blood, shall be
liable in any civil or criminal action when the act is performed in
a reasonable manner according to generally accepted medical prac-
tices in the community where performed.

(d) If there are reasonable grounds to believe that there is im-
pairment by a drug which is not subject to detection by the blood
or breath test used, a urine test may be required. If a law enforce-
ment officer requests a person to submit to a test of urine under
this section, the collection of the urine sample shall be supervised
by persons of the same sex as the person being tested and shall be
conducted out of the view of any person other than the persons
supervising the collection of the sample and the person being tested,
unless the right to privacy is waived by the person being tested.
The results of qualitative testing for drug presence shall be admissible
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in ¢vidence and questions of accuracy or reliability shall go to the
weight rather than the admissibility of the evidence.

(¢) No law enforcement officer who is acting in accordance with
this section shall be liable in any civil or criminal proceeding in-
volving the action.

(h (1) Before a test or tests are administered under this section,
the person shall be given oral and written notice that: (A) Kansas
law requires the person to submit to and complete one or more tests
of breath, blood or urine to determine if the person is under the
influence of alcohol or drugs, or both; (B) the opportunity to consent
to or refuse a test is not a constitutional right; (C) there is no
constitutional right to consult with an attorney regarding whether to
submit to testing; (D) if the person refuses to submit to and complete
any test of breath, blood or urine hereafter requested by a law
enforcement officer, the person’s driving privileges will be suspende-]
for se=bewsr one year; (E) if the person [is 21 or more years of age
at the time of the test,] submits to and completes the test or tests
and the test results show an alcohol concentration of 40 .08 o
greater, the person’s driving privileges will be suspended for at les
30 days; (F) [if the person is less than 21 years of age at the ti:
of the test, submits to and completes the test or tests, and the !
results show an alcohol concentration of .04 or greater, the pers:
driving privileges will be suspended for at least 30 days; (G)] if
person refuses a test or the test results show an alcohol concentrat:
of <10 .08 or greater and if, within the past five years, the pers:
has been convicted or granted diversion on a charge of driving un!
the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, or a related offense .
has refused or failed a test, the person’s driving privileges will
suspended for etbenst one year; (G} [(H)] refusal to submit to testii:x
may be used against the person at any trial on a charge arising out
of the operation or attempted operation of a meter vehicle while
under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both; {H} [(I)] the results
of the testing may be used against the person at any trial on a charg:
arising out of the operation or attempted operation of a meter vehicl
while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both; and ¢} [(J)]
after the completion of the testing, the person hes-the-righi-te-sonsut:
witheam-ettommey and may secure additional testing, which, if desire,
should be done as soon as possible and is customarily available from:
medical care facilities and physicians. If a law enforcement office:
has reasonable grounds to believe that the person has been drivii:
a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in K.S.A. 8-2,128, a1 !
amendments thereto, while having aleohol or other drugs in such
person’s system, the person must also be provided the oral and

HB 2355 -Am. by HOAW
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written notice pursuant to K.S.A. 8-2,145 and amendments thereto.
Any failure to give the notices required by K.S.A. 8-2,145 and
améndments thereto shall not invalidate any action taken as a result
of the requirements of this section. After giving the foregoing in-
formation, a law enforcement officer shall request the person to
submit to testing. The selection of the test or tests shall be made
by the officer. If the person refuses to submit to and complete a
test as requested pursuant to this section, additional testing shall
not be given unless the certifying officer has probable cause to
believe that the person, while under the influence of alcohol or
drugs, or both, has operated a metor vehicle in such a manner as
to have caused the death of or serious injury to another person. In
such event, such test or tests may be made pursuant to a search
warrant issued under the authority of K.S.A. 22-2502, and amend-
ments thereto, or without a search warrant under the authority of
K.S.A. 22-2501, and amendments thereto. If the test results show
a blood or breath alcohol concentration of -10 [.04 or greater but
less than .08, if such person is less than 21 years of age, or] .08
or greater [of any person], the person’s driving privileges shall be
subject to suspension, or suspension and restriction, as provided in
K.S.A. 8-1002; end emendments therets; and K-S-A- and 8-1014,
and amendments thereto. The person’s refusal shall be admissible
in evidence against the person at any trial on a charge arising out
of the alleged operation or attempted operation of a meter vehicle
while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both. If a law
enforcement officer had reasonable grounds to believe the person
had been driving a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in K.S.A.
8-2,128, and amendments thereto, and the test results show a blood
or breath alcohol concentration of .04 or greater, the person shall
be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle, pursuant
to K.S.A. 8-2,142, and amendments thereto. If a law enforcement
officer had reasonable grounds to believe the person had been driving
a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in K.S.A. 8-2,128, and
amendments thereto, and the test results show a blood or breath
alcohol concentration of +10 .08 or greater, or the person refuses a
test, the person’s driving privileges shall be subject to suspension,
or suspension and restriction, pursuant to this section, in addition
to being disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle pur-
suant to K.S5.A. 8-2,142, and amendments thereto.

(2) Failure of a person to provide an adequate breath sample or
samples as directed shall constitute a refusal unless the person shows
that the failure was due to physical inability caused by a medical
condition unrelated to any ingested alcohol or drugs.
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(3) It shall not be a defense that the person did not understand
the written or oral notice required by this section.

() Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the ad-
missibility at any trial of alcohol or drug concentration testing results
obtained pursuant to a search warrant.

(h) Upon the request of any person submitting to testing under
this section, a report of the results of the testing shall be made
available to such person.

\

Ny

(i) This act is remedial law and shall

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 8-1002 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-
1002. (a) Whenever a test is requested pursuant to this act and
results in either a test failure or test refusal, a law enforcement
officer’s certification shall be prepared. If the person had been driving
a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in K.S.A. 8-2,128, and
amendments thereto, a separate certification pursuant to K.S.A. 8-
2,145; and amendments thereto shall be prepared in addition to any
certification required by this section. The certification required by
this section shall be signed by one or more officers to certify:

(1) With regard to a'test refusal, that: (A) There existed reason-
able grounds to believe the person was operating or attempting to
operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or
drugs, or both, or to believe that the person had been driving a
commercial motor vehicle, as defined in K.S.A. 8-2,128, and amend-
ments thereto, while having alcohol or other drugs in such person’s
system; (B) the person had been placed under arrest, was in custody
or had been involved in a meter vehicle accident or collision; (C)
a law enforcement officer had presented the person with the oral
and written notice required by K.S.A. 8-1001, and amendments
thereto; and (D) the person refused to submit to and complete a
test as requested by a law enforcement officer.

(2) With regard to a test failure, that: (A) There existed reasonable
grounds to believe the person was operating a meter vehicle while
under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, or to believe that
the person had been driving a commercial motor vehicle, as defined
in K.5.A. 8-2,128, and amendments thereto, while having alcohol
or other drugs in such person’s system; (B) the person had been
placed under arrest, was in custody or had been involved in a meter
vehicle accident or collision; (C) a law enforcement officer had pre-
sented the person with the oral and written notice required by
K.S.A. 8-1001, and amendments thereto; and (D)) the result of the
test showed that the person had an alcohol concentration of 10 [.04
or greater but less than .08, if such person is less than 21 years
of age, in such person’s blood or breath or] .08 or greater in sueh
[any] person’s blood or breath.

| health, safety and welfare.

be liberally construed to promote public



shall be served with a copy of the law enforcement
officer's certification and

an

For purposes of this section, personal secrvice shall
include placing the copy of the law enforcement
officer's certification® and notice of suspension in
safekeeping to be given to the person upon release
from custody.

an

\

6

£

1 (3) With regard to failure of a breath test, in addition to those

2  matters required to be certified under subsection (a)(2), that: (A) The "

3 testing equipment used was certified by the Kansas department of

4 health and environment; (B) the testing procedures used were in

5 accordance with the requirements set out by the Kansas department

6 of health and environment; and (C) the person who operated the

7 testing equipment was certified by the Kansas department of health

8 and environment to operate such equipment.

9 (b) For purposes of this section, certification shall be complele
10 upon signing, and no additional acts of oath, affirmation, acknow-
11 ledgment or proof of execution shall be required. The signed cer-
12 tification or a copy or photostatic reproduction thereof shall be
13 admissible in evidence in all proceedings brought pursuant to this
14  act, and receipt of any such certification, copy or reproduction shall
15 accord the department authority to proceed as set forth herein. Any

person who signs a certification submitted to the division knowing
it.contains a false statement is guilty of a class B [nonperson]
misdemeanor.

() When the officer directing administration of the testing de-
termines that a person has refused a test and the criteria of subsection
(a)(1) have been met or determines that a person has failed a test
and the criteria of subsection (a)(2) have been met, the efficer-shel-

the copy of the law cnforcement officer's

certification and notice of

serve—upon~the personl notice of suspension of driving privileges
pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1014, and amendments thereto. If the deter-
mination is made while the person is still in custody, service shall

Mailing of the notice by another employce of the

be made in person by 4kelofficer on behalf of the division of vehicles.

" ] 27 VIn cases where a test failure is established by a subsequent analysis
law enforcement agency at the dircction of an 28 of a breath, blood or urine sample, ®hedoflicer shall serve netiee—ef
officer shall constitute mailing by an officer. 29 ewelsuspension in person er-by—eanethor-designatad—affiees or by

. . . . 30 mailing the notice to the person at the address provided at the ti

In addition to the information rcquircd by - 31 of Ulegtest 1 P provt e me
S‘;?.S“‘,‘O" (“l? . ‘_’fl. this section, the law enforcement 39 ()Y Fhe- noticeyshall contain the following information: (1) The
ollicers cerilication an 33 person's name, driver’s license number and current address; (2) the
¢ spension 34 reason and statutory grounds for the suspension; (3) the date notice
ol suspens 35 is being served andlthe effective date of the suspensionyahieh shall
a statement that 36 be the 20thlday after the date of service; (4) the right of the person
37 to request an administrative hearing; and (5) the procedure the per-

calendar 38  son must follow to request an administrative hearing. Thel notice of
39 _ suspension shall also inform the person that all correspondence will

law enforcement officer's certification and 40 be mailed to the person at the address contained in thelnotice of
41  suspension unless the person notifies the division in writing of a

law enforcement officer's certification and 42  different address or change of address. The address provided will
43  be considered a change of address for purposes of K.S.A. 8-248, and
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amendments thereto, if the address furnished is different from that
on_file with the division.

(e) If a person refuses a test or if a person is still in custody
when it is determined that the person has failed a test, the officer
shall take any license in the possession of the person and, if the
license is not expired, suspended, revoked or canceled, shall issue

\ -
\
Ny

20th calendar day after the date of service set

a temporary license effective until tlm'dete-ef—e»epenmen—e&s&ed—m-
“he-motion. If the test failure is established by a subsequent analysis

of a breath or blood sample, the temporary license shall be served

together with thel notice of suspension. A temporary license issued
pursuant to this subsection shall bear the same restrictions and lim-
itations as the license for which it was exchanged. Fhe-officer—shad}
«alre-provide-the-persen—with-e—copy—of-the—olficors—eertification—as
wol-forth-in—esubsestion—{e}e Within five days after the date of eerti~

out in the law enforcement officer's
certification and notice of suspension

copy of the law enforcement officer’s
certification and

service of a copy of the law enforcement
officer's certification and notice of suspension

/

feation—oi-the—test-refusal-or—test—failurd the—ollicor~whe—olestod-
semieo-shall-forward the officer’s certification and e~eepy—slihe nolice

of suspension, along with any licenses taken,8to the division.

() Upon receipt of the law enforcement officer’s certification, the
division shall review the certification to determine that it meets the
requirements of subsection (a). Upon so determining, Uie division
shall proceed to suspend the person’s driving privileges in accordance
with the notice of suspension previously served. If the requirements
of subsection (a) are not met, the division shall dismiss the admin-
istrative proceeding and return any license surrendered by the
person.

(g) If the person mails a written request which is poslmarked

- shall be forwarded

The failure to forward the law enforcement
officer's certification and notice of suspension
within five days after the date of service shall
not be cause for dismissal of the
administrative action on the person's driving
privileges unless the licensee can show

within ier:xys after service of the nolice, #
i, the division shall schedule a hearing
in the county where the alleged violation occurred, or in a county
adjacent thereto. The licensee may request that subpoenas be issued
in accordance with the notice provided pursuant to subsection (d).
Any request made by the licensee to subpoena witnesses must be
made in writing at the time the hearing is requested and must
include the name and current address of such witnesses and, except
for the law enforcement officer or officers certifying refusal or failure,
a statement of how the testimony of such witness is relevant. Upon
receiving a timely request for a hearing, the division shall mail to
the person notice of the time, date and place of hearing in accordance
with subsection (I} and extend the person’s temporary driving priv-
ileges until the date set for the hearing by the division.
(h) (1) If the officer certifies that the person refused the test,
the scope of the hearing shall be limited to whether: (A) A law
enforcement officer had reasonable grounds to believe the person

\Lsubsmntial prejudice resulting therefrom.

11 calendar

whether by personal service or by mail
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1  was operating or attempting to operate a motor vehicle while under
2 the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, or to believe that the

certified by the Kansas department of health andh
environment
certified by

the Kansas dcpartment of health and
environment '

lhch

substantially complied with procedures
Kansas department

approved by
of health and environment

indicated
in such person's blood or breath

was less than 21 years of age at the time of testing, or

‘ 3 person had been driving a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in
4 K.S.A. 8-2,198, and amendments thereto, while having alcohol or
5 other drugs in such person’s system; (B) the person was in custody
6 or arrested for an alcohol or drug related offense or was involved
7 in a meter vehicle accident or collision resulting in property damage,
8 personal injury or death; (C) a law enforcement officer had presented
9 the person with the oral and written notice required by K.S.A. 8-

10 1001, and amendments thereto; and (D) the person refused to submit
11  to and complete a test as requested by a law enforcement officer.
12 (2) If the officer certifies that the person failed #re test, the scope
13 of the hearing shall be limited to whether: (A) A law enforcement
14 officer had reasonable grounds to believe the person was operating
15 a meter vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or

16 both, or to believe that the person had been driving a commercial
17 motor vehicle, as defined in K.S5.A. 8-2,128, and amendments
18 thereto, while having alcohol or other drugs in such person’s system;

(3) If the officer certifies that the person failed a
blood test, thc scope of the hearing shall be limited to
whether: (A) A law enforcement officer had rcasonablc
grounds to bclicve the person was operating a vehicle

while under thc influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, or
to believe that the person had been driving a commercial

19 (B) the person was in custody or arrested for an alcohol or drug

20 related offense or was involved in a meter vehicle accident or col-
21 lision resulting in property damage, personal injury or death; (C) a
922 law enforcement officer had presented the person with the oral and

23  written notice required by K.S.A. 8-1001, and amendments thereto;

motor vehicle, as defined in K.S.A. 8-2,128, and

24 (D) the testing equipment used wastreliable; (E) the person who

amendments thereto, while having alcohol or other drugs
in such person's system; (B) the person was in custody or

‘ 25 operated the testing equipment was‘qualified; (F) the testing pro-

26 cedures used'were—soliebles (G) the test result determined that the
27 person had an alcohol concentration of -10 [.04 or greater but less

%{

:clrrested for an alcohol or drug related offense or was 28 than .08, if such person is less than 21 years of age, in such person’s
involved :jn a_vehicle aclmd.erfl or COI(I;S'Ol". re(s:ullmgl o 29 blood or breath or] .08 or greater in such [any] person’s blood or
popey g persnal iy op gt (©) 87ax]_ Sp b ) e v v g e i
oral and written notice rgqu‘ired by k.S[?A. 8-1001, and (i) At a hearing pursuant to this section, or upon court review
amendments thereto; (D) the testing procedurcs used were 32 of an order entered at such a hearing, an affidavit of the custodian
reliable: (E) the test result showed that the person had an 33 of r.ecords at the Kansas department of health and environment
alcohol  concentration of .04 or greater but less than .08 in 34 stating that the breath testing device was certified and the operator
such person's blood or breath, if such person was lcss than 35  of such device was certified on the date of the test shall be admissible
21 years of age at the time of the test, or .08 or greater in 36 into evidence in the same manner and with the same force and effect
any person's blood or breath; and (F) the person was 37 as if the certifying officer or employee of the Kansas department of
operating a vehicle. 38 health and environment had testified in person. Such affidavit shall
/ 39 be admitted to prove suchiseliability without further foundation re-
certification 40 quirement. A certified operator of a breath testing device shall be
41 competent to testily regarding the peopes—procedures do-bo-usad-in- ,”
approved by the Kansas dcpartment of health and 42 eondueting-the-test-
environment. 43 () At a hearing pursuant to this section, or upon court review
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of an order entered at such hearing, in which the report of blood
test results have been prepared by the Kansas bureau of investigation
or other forensic laboratory of a state or local law enforcement agency
are to be introduced as evidence, the report, or a copy of the report,
of the findings of the forensic examiner shall be admissible into
evidence in the same manner and with the same force and eflect as
if the forensic examiner who performed such examination, analysis,
comparison or identification and prepared the report thereon had
testified in person.

(k) If no timely request for hearing is made, the suspension
period imposed pursuant to this section shall begin upon the ex-

division shall set the matter for

and extend the person's temporary driving privileges until

piration of the temporary license granted under subsection (e). If a
timely request for hearing is made, thelhearing shati-be-held-within

» o s

At the hearing, the director or the representative of the director,

the date set for the hearing by the division

The director or the representative of the director shall
serve a  copy of the administrative order affirming or
fhsmlssing the administrative action upon the person, or.
if the person is represented at the hearing by an attorney.
upon the person's attorney. If the director or the
repfesentalive of the director takes the matter under
advisement and does not decide the matter at the close of

shall either affirm the order of suspension gr suspension and_re-

striction or dismiss the administrative action
O-davs-of-tho-date

ivisione No extension of temporary driving privileges shall be issued
for continuances requested by or on behalf of the licensee. If the
person whose privileges are suspended is a nonresident licensee, the
license of the person shall be forwarded to the appropriate licensing
authority in the person’s state of residence if the result at the hearing
is adverse to such person or if no timely request for a hearing is
received.

(@) All notices affirming or canceling a suspension under this sec-
tion, all notices of a hearing held under this section and all issuances

of temporary driving privilegesdpursuant to subsection (k) shall be
sent by first-class mail and a U.S. post office certificate of mailing
shall be obtained therefor. All notices so mailed shall be deemed
received three days after mailing.

(m) The division shall prepare and distribute forms for use by
law enforcement officers in giving the notice required b this section.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 8-1005 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-
1005. Except as provided by K.5.A. 8-1012 and amendments thereto,
in any criminal prosecution for violation of the laws of this state
relating to operating or attempting to operate a motor vehicle while
under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, or the commission
of vehicular homicide or manslaughter while under the influence of
aleohol or drugs, or both, or in any prosecution for a violation of a
city ordinance relating to the operation or attempted operation of a

the hcaring, notice of the decision shall be served upon
the person or the person's attorney by mail and shall be
con.sidcrcd effcctive on the third calendar day after the
notice is mailed. If the person is represented at the
hearing by an attorncy, secrvice of the administrative

orde_r upon the attorney shall be considered effective
service on the person.

and notices of dccisions of administrative hearings mailed

'(n) This section and the applicable provisions
conl.al'ncd in K.S.A. 8-255(d) and (e¢) constitute the
adml.mstrativc proccdures to be used for all administrative
hearings held under this act. To the extent that this

section and any other provision of law conflicts, this
section prevails.

(o) The provisions of K.S.A. 60-206, and
amcndments thercto, regarding the computation of time
| shall not bc applicable in determining the effective date of
suspension set out in subsection (d) or the time for
requesting an administrative hearing set out in subsection
(g). "Calendar day" when used in this section shall mean
that every day shall be included in computations of time
whether a weck day, Saturday, Sunday or holiday.
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motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both,
evidence of the concentration of alcohol or drugs in the defendant’s
blood, urine, breath or other bodily substance may be admitted and
shall give rise to the following:

(a) If the alcohol concentration is less than =10 .08, that fact may
be considered with other competent evidence to determine if the
defendant was under the influence of alcohol, or both alcohol and
drugs.

(b) If the alcohol concentration is 40 .08 or mere greater, it
shall be prima facie evidence that the defendant was under the
influence of alcohol to a degree that renders the person incapable
of driving safely.

(c) If there was present in the defendant’s bodily substance any
narcotic, hypnotic, somnifacient, stimulating or other drug which has
the capacity to render the defendant incapable of safely driving a
vehicle, that fact may be considered to determine if the defendant
was under the influence of drugs, or both alcohol and drugs, to a
degree that renders the defendant incapable of driving safely.

Sec. 4. K.S.A. 8-1008 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-
1008. (a) Connmunity-based alcohol and drug safety action programs
certified in accordance with subsection (b) shall provide:

(1) Presentence aleohol and drug evaluations of any person who
is convicted of a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567 and amendments thereto,
or the ordinance of a cily in this state which prohibits the acts
prohibited by that statute;

(2) supervision and monitoring of all persons who are convicted
of a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567 and amendments thereto, or the
ordinance of a city in this state which prohibits the acts prohibited
by that statute, and whose sentences or terms of probation require
completion of an alcohol and drug safety action program, as provided
in this section, or an alcohol and drug abuse treatment program, as
provided in this section;

(3) alcohol and drug evaluations of persons whom the prosecutor
considers for eligibility or finds eligible to enter a diversion agree-
ment in lieu of further criminal proceedings on a complaint alleging
a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567 and amendments thereto, or the ordi-
nance of a city in this state which prohibits the acts prohibited by
that statute;

(4) supervision and monitoring of persons required, under a di-
version agreement in lieu of further criminal proceedings on a com-
plaint alleging a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567 and amendments thereto,
or the ordinance of a city in this state which prohibits the acts
prohibited by that statute, to complete an alcohol and drug sufety
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action program, as provided in this section, or an alcohol and drug
abuse treatment program, as provided in this section; or

(5) any combination of (1), (2), (3) and (4).

(b) The presentence alcohol and drug evaluation shall be con-
ducted by a community-based alcohol and drug safety action program
certified in accordance with the provisions of this subsection to pro-
vide evaluation and supervision services as described in subsections
(c) and (d). A communmity-based alcohol and drug safety action pro-
gram shall be certified either by the administrative judge of the
judicial district to be served by the program or by the secretary of
social and rehabilitation services for judicial districts in which the
administrative judge declines to certify a program. In establishing
the qualifications for programs, the administrative judge or the sec-
retary shall give preference to those programs which have had prac-
tical experience prior to July 1, 1982, in diagnosis and referral in
alcohol and drug abuse. Certification of a program by the admin-
istrative judge shall be done with consultation and approval of a
majority of the judges of the district court of the district and mu-
nicipal judges of cities lying in whole or in part within the district.
If within 60 days after the effective date of this act the administrative
judge declines to certify any program for the judicial district, the
judge shall nolify the secretary of social and rehabilitation services,
and the sccretary of social and rehabilitation services shall certify a
communily-based alcohol and drug safety action program for that
judicial district. The certification shall be for a four-year period.
Recertification of a program or certification of a different program
shall be by the administrative judge, with consultation and approval
of a majority of the judges of the district court of the district and
municipal judges of cities lying in whole or in part within the district.
If upon expiration of certification of a program there will be no
certified programn for the district and the administrative judge de-
clines to recertify or certify any program in the district, the judge
shall notify the secretary of social and rehabilitation services, at least
six months prior to the expiration of certification, that the judge
declines to recertify or certify a program under this subsection. Upon
receipt of the notice and prior to the expiration of certification, the
secretary shall recertify or certify a community-based alcohol and
drug safety action program for the judicial district for the next four-
year period. To be eligible for certification under this subsection,
the administrative judge or the secretary of social and rehabilitation
services shall determine that a community-based alcohol and drug
safety action program is capable of providing, within the judicial
district: (1) The evalnations, supervision and monitoring required
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under subsection (a); (2) the alcohol and drug evaluation report re-
quired under subsection (c) or (d); (3) the follow-up dutics specified
under subsection (¢) or (d) for persons who prepare the alcohol and
drug evaluation report; and (4) any other functions and duties spec-
ified by law. Community-based alcohol and drug safety action pro-
grams performing services in any judicial district under this section
prior to the effective date of this act may continue to perform those
services until a community-based alcohol and drug safety action pro-
gram is certified for that judicial district.

(c) A presentence alcohol and drug evaluation shall be conducted
on any person who is convicted of a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567 and
amendments thereto, or the ordinance of a city in this state which
prohibits the acts prohibited by that statute. The presentence alcohol
and drug evaluation report shall be made available to and shall be
considered by the court prior to sentencing. The presentence alcohol
and drug evaluation report shall contain a history of the defendant’s
prior traffic record, characteristics and alcohol or drug problems, or
both, and a recommendation concerning the amenability of the de-
fendant to education and rehabilitation. The presentence alcohol and
drug evaluation report shall include a recommendation concerning
the alcohiol and drug driving safety education and treatment for the
defendant. The presentence alcohol and drug evaluation report shall
be prepared by a program which has demonstrated practical expe-
rience in the diagnosis of alcohol and drug abuse. The duties of
persons who prepare the presentence alcoliol and drug evaluation
report may also include appearing at sentencing and probation hear-
ings in accordance with the orders of the court, monitoring defen-
dants in the treatment programs, notifying the probation department
and the court of any defendant failing to meet the conditions of
probation or referrals to treatment, appearing at revocation hearings
as may be required and providing assistance and data reporting and
program evaluation. The cost of any alcohol and drug education,
rehabilitation and treatment programs for any person shall be paid
by such person, and such costs shall include, but not be limited to,
the assessments required by subsection (). 1f financial obligations
are not met or cannot be met, the sentencing court shall be notified
for the purpose of collection or review and further action on the
defendant’s sentence.

(d) An alcohol and drug evaluation shall be conducted on any
person whom the prosecutor considers for eligibility or finds eligible
to enter a diversion agreement in lieu of further criminal proceedings
on a complaint alleging a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567 and amendments
thereto, or the ordinance of a city in this state which prohibits the
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acts prohibited by that statute. The alcohol and drug evaluation
report shall be made available to the prosecuting attorney and shall
be considered by the prosecuting attorney. The alcohol and drug
evaluation report shall contain a history of the person’s prior traffic
record, characteristics and alcohol or drug problems, or both, and
a recommendalion concerning the amenability of the person to ed-
ucation and rehabilitation. The alcohol and drug evaluation report
shall include a recommendation concerning the alcohol and drug
driving safety education and treatment for the person. The alcohol
and drug evaluation report shall be prepared by a program which
has demonstrated practical experience in the diagnosis of alcohol and
drug abuse. The duties of persons who prepare the alcohol and drug
evaluation report may also include monitoring persons in the treat-
ment programs, notifying the prosecutor and the court of any person
failing to meet the conditions of diversion or referrals to treatment,
and providing assistance and data reporting and program evaluation.
The cost of any alcohol and drug education, rehabilitation and treat-
ment programs for any person shall be paid by such person, and
such costs shall include, but not be limited to, the assessments
required by subsection (e).

() In addition to any fines, fees, penaltics or costs levied against
a person who is convicted of a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567 and amend-
ments thereto, or the ordinance of a city in this state which prohibits
the acts prohibited by that statute, or who enters a diversion agree-
ment in lieu of further criminal proceedings on a complaint alleging
a violation of that statute or such an ordinance, $110 shall be assessed
against the person by the sentencing court or under the diversion
agreement. The $110 assessment may be waived by the court or,
in the case of diversion of criminal proceedings, by the prosecuting
attorney, if the court or prosecuting attorney finds that the defendant
is an indigent person e# thet the defendant has comploted an
gleohol and drug trestment program subsoquont to being
charged with a viclation of K-S-A- 81567 and emendments
therete. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the clerk
of the court shall deposit all assessments received under this section
in the alcohol and drug safety action fund of the court, which fund
shall be subject to the administration of the judge having adminis-
trative authority over that court. If the secretary of social and re-
habilitation services certifies the community-based alcohol and drug
safety action program for the judicial district in which the court is
located, the clerk of the court shall remit, during the four-year period
for which the program is certified, 15% of all assessments received
under this scction to the secretary of social and rehabilitation serv-
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ices. Moneys credited to the alcohol and drug safety action fund
shall be expended by the court, pursuant to vouchers signed by the
judge having administrative authority over that court, only for costs
of the services specified by subsection (a) or otherwise required or
authorized by law and provided by community-based alcohol and
drug safety action programs, except that not more than 10% of the
money credited to the fund may be expended to cover the expenses
of the court involved in administering the provisions of this section.
In the provision of these services the court shall contract as may be
necessary to carry out the provisions of this section. The district or
municipal judge having administrative authority over that court shall
compile a report and send such report to the office of the state
judicial administrator on or before January 20 of each year, beginning
January 20, 1991. Such report shall include, but not be limited to:

(1) The balance of the alcohol and drug safety action fund of the
court on December 31 of each year;

(2) the assessments deposited into the fund during the 12-month
period ending the preceding December 31; and

(3) the dollar amounts expended from the fund during the 12-
month period ending the preceding December 31.

The office of the state judicial administrator shall compile such
reports into a statewide report and submit such statewide report to
the legislature on or before March 1 of each year, beginning March
1, 1991.

() The sccretary of social and rehabilitation services shall remit
all moneys reccived by the secretary under this scction to the state
treasurer at least monthly. Upon receipt of the remittance, the state
treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury and
credit it to the certification of community-based alcohol and drug
safety action programs fee fund, which is hereby created. All ex-
penditures from such fund shall be made in accordance with ap-
propriation acts upon warrants issued pursuant to vouchers approved
by the secretary of social and rehabilitation services or a person
designated by the secretary.

Sec. 5. K.S.A. 8§-1011 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-
1011. A law enforcement officer, and the state or any political sub-
division of the state that employs a law enforcement officer, arresting
or taking custody of a person for any offense involving the operation
of or attempt to operate a meter vehicle while under the influence
of alcohol or drugs, or both, shall have immunity from any civil or
criminal liability for the care and custody of the meoteor vehicle that
was being operated by or was in the physical control of the person
arrested or in custody if the law enforcement officer acts in good
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faith and exercises due care.

Sec. 6. K.S.A. 8-1012 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-
1012. A law enforcement officer may request a person who is op-
erating or altempting to operate a meotor vehicle within this state
to submit to a preliminary scieening test of the person’s breath to
determine the alcohol concentration of the person’s breath if the
officer has reasonable grounds to believe that the person: (a) Has
alcohol in the person’s body; (b) has committed a traffic infraction;
or (c) has been involved in a meter vehicle accident or collision. At
the time the test is requested, the person shall be given oral notice
that: (1) There is no right to consult with an atlorney regarding
whether to submit to testing; (2) refusal to submit to testing is a
traffic infraction; and (3) further testing may be required after the
preliminary screening test. Failure to provide the notice shall not
be an issue or defense in any action. The law enforcement officer
then shall request the person to submit to the test. Refusal to take
and complete the test as requested is a traffic infraction. If the person
submits to the test, the results shall be used for the purpose of
assisting law enforcement officers in determining whether an arrest
should be made and whether to request the tests authorized by
K.S.A. 8-1001 and amendments thereto. A law enforcement officer
may arrest a person based in whole or in part upon the results of
a preliminary screening test. Such results shall not be admissible in
any civil or criminal action except to aid the court or hearing officer
in determining a challenge to the validity of the arrest or the validity
of the request to submit to a test pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1001 and
amendments thereto. Following the preliminary screening test, ad-
ditional tests may be requested pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1001 and
amendments thereto.

Sec. 7. K.S.A. 8-1013 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-

- 1013. As used in K.S.A. 8-1001 through 8-1010, 8-1011, 8-1012, 8-

1014, 8-1015, 8-1016, 8-1017 and 8-1018, and amendments thereto,
and this section:

(@) “Alcohol concentration” means the number of grams of alcohol
per 100 milliliters of blood or per 210 liters of breath.

(b) (1) “Alcohol or drug-related conviction” means any of the
following: (A) Conviction of vehicular battery or aggravated vehicular
liomicide, if the crime is committed while committing a violation of
K.S.A. 8-1567 and amendments thereto or the ordinance of a city
or resolution of a county in this state which prohibits any acts pro-
hibited by that statute, or conviction of a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567
and amendments thereto; (B) conviction of a violation of a law of
another state which would constitute a crime deseribed in subsection
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(b)(1)(A) if comniitted in this state; e (C) conviction of a violation
of an ordinance of a city in this stale or a resolution of a county in
this state which would constitute a crime described in subsection
(b)(1)(A), whether or not such conviction is in a court of record; or
(D) conviction of an act which was committed on a military res-
ervation and which would constitute a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567,
and amendments thereto, or would constitute a crime described in
subsection (b)(1)(A) if committed off a military reservation in this
state.

(2) For the purpose of determining whether an occurrence is a
first, second or subsequent occurrence: (A) “Alcohol or drug-related
conviction” also includes entering into a diversion agreement in licu
of further criminal proceedings on a complaint alleging commission
of a crime described in subsection (b)(1) which agreement was en-
tered into during the immediately preceding five years, including
prior to the effective date of this act; and (B) it is irrelevant whether
an offense occurred before or after conviction or diversion for a
previous offense.

(¢) “Division” means the division of motor vehicles of the de-
partment of revenue.

(d) “Ignition interlock device” means a device which uses a breath
analysis mechanisim to prevent a person from operating a motor
vehicle if such person has consumed an alcoholic beverage.

(e) “Occurrence” means a test refusal, test failure or aleshol or
drug-related conviction, or any combination thercof arising from one
arrest, occurring in the immediately preceding five years, including
prior to the effective day of this act.

() “Other competent evidence” includes: (1) Alcohol concentra-
tion tests obtained from samples taken two hours or more alter the
operation or attempted operation of a vehicle; and (2) readings ob-
tained from a partial alcohol concentration test on a breath testing
machine.

(g) “Samples” includes breath supplicd directly for testing, which
breath is not preserved.

(h) “Test failure” or “fails a test” relers Lo a person’s having results
of a test administered pursuant to this act, other than a preliminary
screening test, which show an alcohol concentration of 10 [.04 or
greater but less than .08, if such person is less than 21 years of
age, in such person’s blood or breath or] .03 or greater in the [any]
person’s blood or breath, and includes failure of any such test on
a military reservation.

(i) “Test refusal” or “refuses a test” refers to a person’s failure
to submit to or complete any test, other than a prefiminary sereening
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test, in accordance with this act:, and includes refusal of any such
test on a military reservation.

() “Law enforcement officer” has the meaning provided by
K.S.A. 21-3110, and amendments thereto, and includes any person
authorized by law to make an arrest on a military reservation for
an act which would constitute a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567, and
amendments therctlo, if committed off a military reservation in this
state.

Sec. 8. K.S.A. 8-1014 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-
1014. (a) Except as provided by subsection {d} fg} [(f)] and K.S.A.
8-2,142, and amendments thereto, if a person refuses a test, the
division, pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1002, and amendments thereto, shall
suspend the person’s driving privileges for one year.

(b) Except as provided by subsection {4} f¢} [(D] and K.S.A. 8-
2,142, and amendments thereto, if a person fails a test, the division,
pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1002, and amendments thereto, shall:

(1) On the person’s first occurrence, suspend the person’s driving
privileges for 30 days, then restrict the person’s driving privileges
as provided by K.S5.A. 8-1015, and amendments thereto, for an
additional 60 days; and

(2) on the person’s second or a subsequent occurrence, suspend
the person’s driving privileges for one year.

{¢) Except as provided by subsection {d} g/ [()] and K.S.A. 8-
2,142, and amendments thereto, if a person has an alcohol or drug-
related conviction in this state, the division shall:

(1) On the person’s first occurrence, suspend the person’s driving

>

then restrict the person’s driving privileges as provided by K.S.A.
8-1015, and amendments thereto, for an additional 330 days; and

(2) on the person’s second or a subsequent occurrence, suspend
the person’s driving privileges for one year er—until-thespersortns
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[{d) Except as provided by subsection (f), if a person less than
21 years of age shows an alcohol concentration of .04 or greater
but less than .08 in such person’s blood or breath, the division,
pursuant to K.S.A. 8-1002, and amendments thereto, shall:

[(1) On the person’s first occurrence, suspend the person’s driv-
ing privileges for 30 days;

[(2) on the person’s second or a subsequent occurrence, suspend
the person’s driving privileges for six months; and

[(3) assess an administrative fine of $25 to the person to cover
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the Kansas bureau of investigation laboratory costs. The division
shall remit all fines received under this section to the state treasurer
at least monthly. Upon receipt of such remittance, the state treas-
urer shall deposit the entire amount thereof in the state treasury
to the credit of the forensic laboratory and materials fee fund of
the Kansas bureau of investigation.]

td) [(e)] Whenever the division is notified by an alcohol and drug
safety action program that a person has failed to complete any
alcohol and drug safety action education or treatment program or-
dered by a court for a conviction of a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567,
and amendments thereto, the division shall suspend the person’s
driving privileges until the division receives notice of the person’s
completion of such program.

{8} fe) [(H] Except as provided in K.S.A. 8-2,142, and amend-
ments thereto, if a person’s driving privileges are subject to sus-
pension pursuant to this section for a test refusal, test failure or
alcohol or drug-related conviction arising from the same arrest, the
period of such suspension shall not exceed the longest applicable
period authorized by subsection (a), (b) e¥[,] (¢) [or (d})], and such
suspension periods shall not be added together or otherwise imposed
consecutively. In addition, in determining the period of such sus-
pension as authorized by subsection (a), (b) e#,} (¢) [or (d)], such
person shall receive credit for any period of time for which such
person’s driving privileges were suspended while awaiting any hear-
ing or final order authorized by this act.

If a person’s driving privileges are subject to restriction pursuant
to this section for a test failure or alcohol or drug-related conviction
arising from the same arrest, the restriction periods shall not be
added together or otherwise imposed consecutively. In addition, in
determining the period of restriction, the person shall receive credit
for #88~deys=et any period of suspension imposed for a test refusal
arising from the same arrest.

{e} (4 [(g)] If the division has taken action under subscction (a)
or (b) and such action is stayed pursuant to K.S.A. 8-259, and amend-
ments thereto, or if temporary driving privileges are issucd pursuant
to subsection (k) of K.S.A. 8-1002, and amendments thercto, the
stay or temporary driving privileges shall not prevent the division
from taking the action required by subsection (c).

8 (g} [(h)] Upon restricting a person’s driving privileges pursuant
to this section, the division shall issue without charge a driver's
license which shall indicate on the face of the license that restrictions
have been imposed on the person’s driving privileges and that a
copy of the order imposing the restrictions is required to be carried
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by the person for whom the license was issued any time the person
is operating a motor vehicle on the highways of this state. If the
person is a nonresident, the division shall forward a copy of the -
order to the motor vehicle administrator of the person’s state of
residence.

Sec. 9. K.S.A. 8-1015 is hereby amnended to read as follows: 8-
1015. (a) A driver whose violations were committed in a commercial
motor vehicle is exempt from utilizing the below-stated restrictions.
When subsection (b)(1) of K.S.A. 8-1014, and amendments thereto,
requires the division to place restrictions on a person’s driving priv-
ileges, the division shall restrict the person’s driving privileges to
driving only under the following circumstances: In going to and
returning from the person’s place of employment and in going to
and returning from a mandated alcohol education or treatment
program.

(b) (1) When subsection (c)(1) of K.S.A. 8-1014, and amendments
thereto, requires the division to place restrictions on a person’s
driving privileges, the division shall restrict the person’s driving
privileges to driving only under the following circumstances for a
period of 60 days: In going to and returning from the person’s place
of employment and in going to and retuming from a mandated
alcohol education or treatment program.

(2) Upon expiration of the 60-day period provided by subsection
(b)(1), the division shall restrict the person’s driving privileges as
provided by K.S.A. 8-292, and amendments thereto, for an additional
270 days, unless the convicting court, in lieu of such restrictions,
has ordered the restrictions set out in subsection (b)(3).

(3) Upon convicting a person of an alcohol or drug related offense,
the convicling court, in lieu of the restrictions set out in subsection
(b)(2), may restrict the person’s driving privileges to driving only a
motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device, approved
by the division and obtained, installed and maintained at the person’s
expense. Any fine imposed by the court for the conviction shall be
reduced by the court in an amount equal to the expense incurred
by the person for obtaining, installing and maintaining the ignition
interlock device.

(4) Upon a person’s second or subsequent conviction for an al-
cohol related offense and the person had an alcohol concentration
of .15 or more in the person’s blood or breath, the convicting court
shall restrict the person’s driving privileges to driving only a motor
vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device, approved by the
division and obtained, installed and maintained at the person’s ex-
pense. Any fine imposed by the court for the conviction shell [may]
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be reduced by the court in an amount equal to ihe expense incurred
by the person for obtaining, installing and maintaining the ignition
interlock device.

(c) Upon expiration of the period of time for which restrictions
are imposed pursuant to this section, the licensee may apply to the
division for the return of any license previously surrendered by the
licensee. If the license has expired, the person may apply to the
division for a new license, which shall be issued by the division
upon payment of the proper fee and satisfaction of the other con-
ditions established by law, unless the person’s driving privileges have
been suspended or revoked prior to expiration.

(d) Violation of restrictions imposed under this section is a mis-
demeanor subject to punishment and suspension of driving privileges
as provided by K.S.A. 8-291, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 10. K.S.A. 8-1567, as amended by section 1 of chapter 298
of the 1092 Session Laws of Kansas, is hereby amended to read as
follows: 8-1567. (a) No person shall operate or
any vehicle within this state while:

(1) The alcohol concentration in the person’s blood or breath as
shown by any competent evidence, including other competent ev-
idence, as defined in paragraph (1) of subsection (f) of K.S.A. 8-
1013, and amendments thereto, is -0 .08 or more;

(2) the alcohol concentration in the person’s blood or breath, as
measured within two hours of the time of operaling or altemp;ing
to operate a vehicle, is 10 .08 or more;

(3) under the influence of alcohol to a degree that renders the
person incapable of safely driving a vehicle; '

(4) under the influence of any drug or combination of drugs to
a degree that renders the person incapable of safely driving a vehicle;
or

(5) under the influence of a combination of alcoho!l and any drug
or drugs to a degree that renders the person incapable of safely
driving a vehicle.

(b) No person shall operate or attempt lo operate any vehicle
within this state if the person is a habitual user of any narcotic
hypnotic, somnifacient or stimulating drug. ’

(c) 1faperson is charged with a violation of this section involving
drugs, the fact that the person is or has been entitled to use the
drug under the laws of this state shall not coustitute
the charge. .

(d) Violatien of this seetion is & misdemennor- Upon a first
conviction of a violation of this section, a person shall be guilty of
a class B. nonperson misdemeanor and sentenced to not less than
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48 consecutive hours nor more than six months’ imprisonment, or
in the court’s discretion 100 hours of public service, and fined not
less than $200 nor more than $500. The person convicted must serve
at least 48 consecutive hours’ imprisonment or 100 hours of public
service either before or as a condition of any grant of probation or
suspension, reduction of sentence or parole. In addition, the court
shall enter an order which requires that the person enroll in and
successfully complete an alcohol and drug safety action education

program or treatment program as provided in K.S.A. 8-1008, and .

amendments thereto, or both the education and treatment programs.

(e) Ona second conviction of a violation of this section, a person
shall be guilty of a class A, nonperson misdemeanor and sentenced
to not less than 90 days nor more than one year's imprisonment and
fined not less than $500 nor more than $1,000. The five days’ im-
prisonment mandated by this subsection may be served in a work
release program only after such person has served 48 consecutive
hours’ imprisonment, provided such work release program requires
such person to return to confinement at the end of each day in the
work release program. Except as provided in subsection (g), the
person convicted must serve at least five consecutive days™ impris-
onment before the person is granted probation, suspension or re-
duction of sentence or parole or is otherwise released. As a condition
of any grant of probation, suspension of sentence or parole or of any
the person shall be required to enter into and complete
a treatment program for alcohol and drug abuse as provided in K.S.A.
§-1008, and amendments thereto.

() On the third or a subsequent conviction of a violation of this
section, a person shall be guilty of a severity level 9, nonperson
felony and sentenced to not less than 90 days nor more than one
year's imprisonment and fined not less than $1,000 nor more than
$2,500. Except as provided in subsection (g), the person convicted
shall not be eligible for release on probation, suspension or reduction
of sentence or parole until the person has served at least 90 days’
finprisonment. ‘The court may also require as & condition of parole
that such person enter into and complete a treatment program for
alcohol and drug abuse as provided by K.S.A. 8-1008, and amend-
ments thereto. The 90 days’ imprisonment mandated by this sub-
section may be served in a work release program only after such
person has served 48 consecutive hours' imprisonment, provided
such work release program requires such person to return to con-
fincment at the end of each day in the work release program.

(g Ona second or subsequent conviction of a violation of this
seclion, the court may place the person convicted under a house

other release,
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and 14 te 22; inelusive; through 22 of chapter 8 of Kansas Statutes
Annotated end; K.S5.A. 8-1,129, 8-1,130a, 8-1428a, 8-1742a and, 8-
2118 and K.S.A. 41-804, and amendments to these seetions thereto.

Sec. 12. K.S.A. 124305 is hereby amended to read as follows:
12-4305. (a) The municipal judge shall establish a schedule of fines
which shall be imposed for municipal ordinance violations that are
classified as ordinance traffic infractions. Also, the municipal judge
may establish a schedule of fines which shall be imposed for the
violation of certain other ordinances. Any fine so established shall
be within the minimum and maximum allowable lines established
by ordinance for such offenses by the governing body. The following
traffic violations are specifically excluded from any schedule of fines:

(1) Reckless driving;

(2) driving while under the influence of alcokol or drugs, or both,
or driving with a blood or breath alcohol concentration of 10 .08
Oor more;

(3) driving without a valid license issued or on a canceled, sus-
pended or revoked license;

(4) fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer; or

(5) offense comparable to those prescribed by K.S.A. 8-1602, 8-
1603 and 8-1604 and amendments thereto.

(b) A person charged with the violation of an ordinance contained
in a schedule of fines established under subsection (a) shall, except
as provided in subsection (c), appear at the place and time specified

-~ in the notice to appear. If the person enters an appearance, waives

right to trial, pleads guilty or no contest, the fine shall be no greater
than that specified in the schedule.

(c) Prior to the time specified in the notice to appear, a person
charged with the violation of an ordinance contained in a schedule
of fines established under subsection (a) may enter an appearance,
waive right to trial, plead guilty or no contest and pay the fine for
the violation as specified in the schedule. At the election of the
person charged, such appearance, waiver, plea and payment may be
made by mail or in person and payment may be by personal check.
The complaint shall not have been complied with if a check is not
honored for any reason, or the fine is not paid in full prior to the
time specified in the notice to appear. When a person charged with
an ordinance traffic infraction or other ordinance violation on a sched-
ule of fines makes payment without executing a writlen waiver of
right to trial and plea of guilty or no contest, the payment shall be
deemed such an appearance, waiver of right to trial and plea of no
contest.

The municipal judge may authorize the clek of the miicipal
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court or some other person to accept by mail or in person such

voluntary- appearance, plea of guilty or no contest and payment of

the fine imposed by the schedule.

The schedule of fines and persons authorized tc accept such pleas
shall be conspicuously displayed in the office where such voluntary
appearance, plea of guilty and payment of fine occurs.

Sec. 13. K.S.A. 12-4415 is hereby amended to read as follows:
12-4415. (a) In determining whether diversion of a defendant is in
the interests of justice and of benefit to the defendant and the
‘community, the city attorney shall consider at least the following
factors among all factors considered:

(1) The nature of the crime charged and the circumstances sur-
rounding it;

(2) any special characteristics or circumstances of the defendant;

(38) whether the defendant is a first-time offender of an alcohol
related offense and if the defendant has previously participated in
diversion, according to the certification of the division of vehicles of
the state department of revenue;

(4) whether there is a probability that the defendant will coop-
erate with and benefit from diversion;

(8) whether the available diversion program is appropriate to the
necds of the defendant;

(6) the impact of the diversion of the defendant upon the
community;

(7) recommendations, if any, of the involved law enforcement
agency;

(8) recommendations, if any, of the victimn;

(9) provisions for restitution; and

(10) any mitigating circumstances.

(L) A city attorney shall not enter into a diversion agreement in

lieu of further criminal proceedings on a complaint alleging an alcohol
related offense if the defendant:

(1) Has previously participated in diversion of an alcohol related
offense;
(2) has previously been convicted of or pleaded nolo contendere

to an alcohol related offense in this state or has previously been
convicted of or pleaded nolo contendere to a violation of K.S.A. 8-
1567, and amendments thereto, or of a law of another state, or of
a political subdivision thercof, which prohibits the acts prohibited
by that statute; er

(3) at the time of the alleged alcohol related offense had an
alcohol concentration of .15 or more in the defendant’s blood or
breath; or
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{3} (4) during the time of the alleged alcohol related offense was
involved in a motor vehicle accident or collision resulting in personal
injury or death.

Sec. 14. K.S.A. 22-2908, as amended by scction 257 of chapter
239 of the 1992 Session Laws of Kansas, is hereby amended to read
as follows: 22-2908. (a) In determining whether diversion of a de-
fendant is in the interests of justice and of benelit to the defendant
and the communily, the county or district attorney shall consider at
least the following factors among all factors considered:

(1) The nature of the crime charged and the circumstances sur-
rounding it;

(2) any special characteristics or circumstances of the defendant;

(3) whether the defendant is a first-time offender and if the de-
fendant has previously participated in diversion, according to the
certification of the Kansas bureau of investigation or the division of
vehicles of the department of revenue;

(4) whether there is a probability that the defendant will coop-
erate with and benefit from diversion;

(5) whether the available diversion program is appropriate to the
needs of the defendant;

(6) the impact of the diversion of the defendant upon the
community;

(7) recommendations, if any, of the involved law enforcement
agency;

(8) recommendations, if any, of the victim;

(9) provisions for restitution; and

(10) any mitigating circumstances.

(b) A county or district attorney shall not enter into a diversion
agreement in lieu of further criminal proceedings on a complaint if:

(1) The complaint alleges a violation of K.S.A. 8-1567, and
amendments thereto, and the defendant: (A) Has previously partic-
ipated in diversion upon a complaint alleging a violation of that
statute or an ordinance of a city in this state which prohibits the
acts prohibited by that statute; (B) has previously been convicted of
or pleaded nolo contendere to a violation of that statute or a violation
of a law of another state or of a political subdivision of this or any
other state, which law prohibits the acts prohibited by that statute;
(C) at the time of the alleged alcohol related offense had an alcohol
concentration of .15 or more in the defendant’s blood or breath; or
{G} (D) during the time of the alleged violation was involved in a
motor vehicle accident or collision resulting in personal injury or
death: or

(2) the complaint alleges that the defendant committed a class A
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or B felony or for crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993, a

severity level 1, 2 or 3 felony for nondrug crimes or drug severity
level 1 or 2 felony for drug crimes.

Sec. 15. K.S.A. 1992 Supp. 32-1131 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 32-1131. (a) No person shall operate or attempt to operate
any vessel within this state while:

(1) The alcohol concentration in the person’s blood or breath, at
the time or within two hours after the person operated or attempted
to operate the vessel, is <10 .08 or more;

(2) under the influence of alcohol;

(3) under the influence of any drug or combination of drugs to
a degree that renders the person incapable of safely operating a
vessel; or

(4) under the influence of a combination of alcohol and any drug
or drugs to a degree that renders the person incapable of safely
operating a vessel.

(b) No person shall operate or attempt to operate any vessel
within this state if the person is a habitual user of any narcotic,
hypnotic, somnifacient or stimulating drug.

(¢) 1f a person is charged with a violation of this section involving
drugs, the fact that the person is or has been entitled to use the
drug under the laws of this state shall not constitute a defense against
the charge.

(1) No person shall operate or attempt to operate any vessel
within this state for three months after the date of refusal of sub-
mitting to a test if such person refuses to submit to a test pursuant
to K.S.A. 32-1132, and amendments thereto.

{(d) (¢) Violation of this section is a misdemeanor punishable:

(1) On the first conviction, by imprisonment of not more than
one year or a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $500, or
both; and

(2) on the second or a subsequent conviction, by imprisonment
for not less than 90 days nor more than one year and, in the court’s
discretion, a fine not exceeding $500.

() In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law or rule
and regulation, any person convicted of a violation of this section
shall be required to satisfactorily complete a boater education course
of instruction approved by the secretary before such person sub-
sequently operates or attempts to operate any vessel.

Sec. 16. K.S.A. 1992 Supp. 32-1132 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 32-1132. (a) Any person who operates or attempts to
operate a vessel within this state is deemed to have given consent,

subject to the provisions of this act, to submit to one or more tests
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of the person’s blood, breath, urine or other bodily substance to
determine the presence of alcohol or drugs. The testing deemed
consented to herein shall include all quantitative and qualitative tests
for alcohol and drugs. A person who is dead or unconscious shall
be deemed not to have withdrawn the person’s consent to such test
or tests, which shall be administered in the manner provided by
this section.

(b) A law enforcement officer shall request a person to submit
to a test or tests deemed consented to under subsection (a) if the
officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person was operating
or attempting to operate a vessel while under the influence of alcohol
or drugs, or both, and one of the following conditions exists: (1) The
person has been arrested or otherwise taken into custody for any
offense involving operation or attempted operation of a vessel while
under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, in violation of a
state statute or a city ordinance; or (2) the person has been involved
in a vessel accident or collision resulting in property damage, per-
sonal injury or death. The law enforcement officer directing admin-
istration of the test or tests may act on personal knowledge or on
the basis of the collective information available to law enforcement
officers involved in the accident investigation or arrest.

(¢) If a law enforcement officer requests a person to submit to
a test of blood under this section, the withdrawal of blood at the
direction of the officer may be performed only by: (1) A person
licensed to practice medicine and surgery or a person acting under
the supervision of any such licensed person; (2) a registered nurse
or a licensed practical nurse; or (3) any qualified medical technician.
When presented with a written statement by a law enforcement
officer directing blood to be withdrawn from a person who has ten-
tatively agreed to allow the withdrawal of blood under this section,
the person authorized herein to withdraw blood and the medical
care facility where blood is withdrawn may rely on such a statement
as evidence that the person has consented to the medical procedure
used and shall not require the person to sign any additional consent
or waiver form. In such a case, the person authorized to withdraw
blood and the medical care facility shall not be liable in any action
alleging lack of consent or lack of informed consent. No person
authorized by this subsection to withdraw blood, nor any person
assisting in the performance of a blood test nor any medical care
facility where blood is withdrawn or tested that has been directed
by any law enforcement officer to withdraw or test blood, shall be
liable in any civil or criminal action when the act is performed in
a reasonable manner according to generally accepted medical prac-
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tices in the community where performed. '

(d) - If there are reasonable grounds to believe that there is im-
pairment by a drug which is not subject to detection by the blood
or breath test used, a urine test may be required. If a law enforce-
ment officer requests a person to submit to a test of urine under
this section, the collection of the urine sample shall be supervised
by persons of the same sex as the person being tested and shall be
conducted out of the view of any person other than the persons
supervising the collection of the sample and the person being tested,
unless the right to privacy is waived by the person being tested.
The results of qualitative testing for drug presence shall be admissible
in evidence and questions of accuracy or reliability shall go to the
weight rather than the admissibility of the evidence.

{e) No law enforcement officer who is acting in accordance with
this section shall be liable in any civil or criminal proceeding in-
volving the action.

(f) (1) Before a test or tests are administered under this section,
the person shall be given oral and written notice that: (A) There is
no right to consult with an attorney regarding whether to submit to
testing; (B) refusal to submit to testing may be used against the
person at any trial on a charge arising out of the operation or at-
tempted operation of a vessel while under the influence of alcohol
or drugs, or both; (C) the results of the testing may be used against
the person at any trial on a charge arising out of the operation or
attempted operation of a vessel while under the influence of alcohol
or drugs, or both; and (D) after the completion of the testing, the
person has the right to consult with an attorney and may secure
additional testing, which, if desired, should be done as soon as
possible and is customarily available from medical care facilities and
physicians. After giving the foregoing information, a law enforcement
officer shall request the person to submit to testing. The selection
of the test or tests shall be made by the officer. If the person refuses
to submit to and complete a test as requested pursuant to this
seclion, additional testing shall not be given. The person’s refusal
shall be adinissible in evidence against the person at any trial on 2
charge arising out of the alleged operation or attempted operation
of a vessel while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both.

(2) Failure of a person to provide an adequate breath sample or
samples as directed shall constitute a refusal unless the person shows
that the failure was due to physical inability caused by a medical
condition unrelated to any ingested alcohol or drugs.

(3) It shall not be a defense that the person did not understand
the wrilten or oral notice required by this section.
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(g) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the ad-
missibility at any trial of alcohol or drug concentration testing results
obtained pursuant to a search warrant.

(h) Upon the request of any person submilling to lesting under
this section, a report of the results of the testing shall be made
available to such person.

() In aeddition to any other penalties prescribed by law or rule
and regulation, any person refusing to take a test or tests when
requested to do so by a law enforcement officer pursuant to this
section shall be required to satisfactorily complete a boater education
course of instruction approved by the secretary before such person
subsequently operates or attempts to operate any vessel.

Sec. 17. K.S.A. 41-201 is hereby amended to read as follows:
41-201. (a) The director of alccholic beverage control and agents and
employees of the director designated by the director, with the ap-
proval of the secretary of revenue, are hereby vested with the power
and authority of peace and police officers, in the execution of the
duties imposed upon the director of alcoholic beverage control by
this act and in enforcing the provisions of this act and the provisions
of KS.A. 41-804, and amendments thereto.

(b) The director and each agent and employec designated by the
director under subsection (a), with the approval of the secretary of
revenue, shall have the authority to make arrests, conduct searches
and seizures and carry firearms while investigating violations of this
act or violations of K S.A. 41-804, and amendments thereto, and
during the routine conduct of their duties as determined by the
director or designee. In addition to the above, the director and such
agents and employees shall have the authorily to make arrests, con-
duct searches and seizures and generally to enforce all the criminal
laws of the state as violations of those laws are encountered by such
employees or agents during the routine performance of their duties.
In addition to or in lieu of the above, the director and the director’s
agents and employees shall have the authority to issue notices to
appear pursuant to K.S.A. 22.2408 and amendments thereto. No
agent or employee of the director shall be certificd to carry firearms
under the provisions of this section without having first successfully
completed the firearm training course or courses prescribed for law
enforcement officers under subsection (a) of K.S.A. 74-5604a and
amendinents thereto. The director may adopt rules and regulations
prescribing other training required for such agents or employees.

(c) The attorney general shall appoint, with the approval of the
secretary of revenue, an assistant attorney general who shall be the
attorney for the director of alcoholic beverage control and the division

- - b 08

1 1
wid
]

. ¢ 4 e i i it s W e -

e e

OO~ Uk W e

N

2 R

1B 2355 -Am. by HOW

of alcoliolic beverage control, and who shall receive an annual salary
fixed by the attorney general with the approval of the director of
alcoholic beverage control and the state finance council.

Sec. 18. K.S.A. 41-804 is hereby amended to read as follows:
41-804. (a) As used in this section, “alcoholic beverage” means any
alcoholic liquor, as defined by KS.A. 41-102 and amendments
thereto, or any cereal malt beverage, as defined by K.S.A. 41-2701
and amendments thereto.

(») No person shall transport in any vehicle upon a highway or
street any alcoholic iquer beverage unless such liquor is:

(1) In the original unopened package or container, the seal of
which has not been broken and from which the original cap, cork
or other means of closure has not been removed;

(2) in the locked rear trunk or rear compartment, or any locked
outside compartment which is not accessible to any person in the
vehicle while it is in motion; or

(3) in the exclusive possession of a passenger in a vehicle which
is a recreational vehicle, as defined by K.S.A. 75-1212 and amend-
ments thereto, or a bus, as defined by K.S.A. 8-1406 and amendments
thereto, who is not in the driving compartment of such vehicle or
who is in a portion of such vehicle from which the driver is not
directly accessible.

{b} () Violation of this seclion is a misdemeanor punishable by
a fine of not more than $200 or by imprisonment for not more than
six months, or both.

(e} Exeept as provided in subseetion {f} upen eenvietion or
adjudication of a violation of this seetion; the judge; in additien
to any other penalty er disposition erdered pursuent te lavws;
shall suspend the person’s driver’s license or privilege to op-
erate a motor vehicle on the streets and highways of this state:
Upen eonviction or edjudieation of the first vielatien by such
persen; the suspension shall be for three menths: Upen adju-
dication of a second or subsequent wviolation; the suspensien
shall be for one year:

{d} Upen suspension of a license pursuant to this seetion;
the eourt shall require the persen to surrender the license to
the eourt; which shell transmit the license to the division of
motor vehieles of the department of revenue; to be retained
until the peried of suspension expires- At thet time; the lieensee
mey apply to the division for return of the lieense: Ilf the license
has expired; the person may apply for & new license; which
shall be issued promptly upon payment of the preper fee and
satisfuetion of other eonditions established by law for obteining
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e license unless another suspension or revecation of the per
sen's privilege to eperate a motor vehiele is in effeek

te} As used in this seetion; “highway” and “street” have
the meanings previded by K:S-A: 81424 and 8-1473; and
emendments thereto:

8 In lieu of suspending the driver’s lieruse or privilege to
eperate a motor vohicle en the highways ef this state of any
person eonvieted of violating this seetion; as provided in sub-
seetion {e}; the judge of the esurt in whieh such person was
eenvieted may enter an order which places conditions on sueh
person's privilege of operating a meotor vehiele on the highways
of this state; o eestified eopy of whiel such person shall be
required to earry any time such persen is operating a motor
vehiele on the highweays eof this state: Any suel erder shall
preseribe the duration of the esnditions impesed; whieh in ne
event shall be for a peried of less than three months for a first
vielation ner more than ene year for a secend violatien-

Upon entering an erder restrieting a persen’s license her-
eunder; the judge shall require sueh person to surrender sueh
person's drivers license to the judge whe shall eause it to be
ansmitted to the division of vehieles; tegether with a eopy of
the erder- Upon receipt thereof; the divisien of vehieles shall
issue witheut eharge a driver’s license which shall indicate en
its faee that eonditions have been impesed on such person’s
privilege of operating a moter vehiele and that a certified eopy
of the order imposing such eonditions is required to be earried
by the persen for whom the license was issued any ime sueh
person is operaling a motor vehiele en the highways ef this
state: If the persen eonvieted is & nonresident; the judge shall
eause a eopy of the erder to be transmitted to the division and
the division shall ferward a eopy of it to the moeter vehiele
administrator; of sueh persen’s state of residence: Sueh judge
shell fumish to eny persen whese driver’s license has had con-
ditions imposed on it under this seetion e eopy of the erder;
whieh shall be recognized as a valid Kansas driver’s license
until sueh time as the division shall issue the restrieted license
provided fer in this seetion:

Upen expiration of the peried of time for whieh eonditions
ere impeosed pursuant to this subsection; the licensee may apply
te the divisien for the return of the license previously surren-
dered by such licensee: In the event sueh license has expired;
sueh person may apply to the division for a new license; whieh
shell be issued immediately by the division upen payment of
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the proper fee and satisfaction of the other conditions estab-
lished by law; unless sueh person’s privilege to operate o motor
vehiele en the highways of this state has been suspended or
roveked prior thercter If any persen shall violate any of the
eenditions impoesed under this subseetion; such persen’s driv-
er’s license or privilege to operate & metor vehiecle ea the
highways of this state shell be revoked for & period of not less
then 60 days ner more than one year by the judge of the court
in whieh sueh persen is eonvieted of violating such eonditions-

(d) The court shall report to the division every conviction of a
violation of this section or of a city ordinance or county resolution
that prohibits the acts prohibited by this section. Prior to sentencing
under the provisions of this section, the court shall request and shall
receive from the division a record of all prior convictions obtained
against such person for any violations of any of the motor vehicle
laws of this state.

(e) Subject to the provisions of subsection (f), the division, upon
receiving a report under subsection (d), shall suspend the driving
privileges of the convicted person pursuant to K.S.A. 8-255 and
amendments thereto as follows: (1) Upon the first reported conviction
of such person, a suspension for three months; and (2) upon the
second or a subsequent reported conviction of such person, a sus-
pension for one year.

() In lieu of suspension of a person’s driving privileges as pro-
vided by subsection (e), the court may place restrictions on the
person’s driving privileges as provided by K.S.A. 8-292 and amend-
ments thereto for a period of> (1) Not less than three months upon
the first reported conviction of such person; and (2) not less than
one year upon the second or a subsequent reported conviction.

(@ It shall be an affirmative defense to any prosecution under
this section that an occupant of the vehicle other than the defendant
was in exclusive possession of the alcoholic beverage.

(h) The court shall require any person who is under the age of
21 who violates this section to enter into and complete an alcohol
and drug safety action program as provided by K.S.A. 8-1008, and
amendments thereto.

() For the purpose of determining whether a conviction is a
first, second or subsequent conviction in sentencing under this
section:

(1) “Conviction” includes being convicted of a violation of an
ordinance of any city, or resolution of any county, which prohibits
the acts that this section prohibits;

(2) only convictions occurring in the immediately preceding five

HB 2355—Am. by HUW
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years, including prior to the effective date of this act, shall be taken
into account, but the court may consider other prior convictions in
determining the sentence to be imposed within the limits provided
Jor a first, second or subsequent offender, whichever is applicable;
and

(3) it is irrelevant whether an offense occurred before or after
conviction for a previous offense.

(1) This section shall not be construed as preventing any city
Jfrom enacting ordinances, or any county from adopting resolutions,
declaring acts prohibited by this section as unlawful or prohibited
in such city or county and prescribing penalties for violation thereof,
but such ordinance or resolution shall provide for suspension or
restriction of driving privileges as provided by this section and the
convicting court shall be required to report convictions for violations
of such ordinance or resolution as provided by subsection (d).

(k) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the uniform
act regulating traffic on highways.

Sec. 19. K.S.A. 8-1001, 8-1002, 8-1005, 8-1008, 8-1011, 8-1012,
8-1013, 8-1014, 8-1015, 8-1567, as amended by section 1 of chapter
298 of the 1992 Session Laws of Kansas, 8-2204, 12-4305, 12-4415,
22-2908, as amended by section 257 of chapter 239 of the 1992
Session Laws of Kansas, 41-201, 41-804, 41-2719 and 41-2720 and
K.S.A. 1892 Supp. 32-1131 and 32-1132 are hereby repealed.

Sec. 20. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after
its publication in the statute book.




Epgio®

Ignition Devicesr 2
Lock Out Drunk Drivers =

Two bills introduced in
California in February would
expand the use of ignition in-
terlock devices that prevent a
car engine from starting if
the driver is intoxicated.

Under Assemblyman Ter-
ry Friedman's legislation, a
person convicted of drunk
driving with an excessively
high blood alcohol concen-
tration (BAC) of .16 or more
would not be allowed to op-
erate a motor vehicle until an
ignition interlock device is
installed. Under present law,
interlock systems are usually
used in sentencing repeat of-
fenders and are not based on
BAC level. Friedman’s law
would open their use to first-
time offenders.

A second bill, introduced
by Assemblyman Sam Farr,
would require a notation of
such sentencing on the of-
fender’s driver’s license.

Current interlock systems
typically consist of a hand-
held unit about the size of a
radar detector, that attaches
with Velcro underneath the
dash and is also wired to the
ignition. The driver must ex-
hale into the unit each time
the vehicle is started. If the
driver’s breath exceeds the
pre-set BAC level, the system
locks the ignition.

Repeat offenders commit
up to 80 percent of all drunk
driving incidents. The inter-
lock units allow individuals
to keep their driver’s licens-
es and continue to earn a
livelihood, while making
sure they don't drive while
intoxicated.

Sixteen states have enact-
ed legislation that allows
judges to use interlocks in
sentencing drunk drivers,
and 13 others have programs
to use the devices despite the
absence of enabling legisla-
tion, according to a study by
researchers at the Safety Ed-
ucation Center at the Univer-
sity of Maryland, College
Park. Counting the pro-
posed California legislation,
27 bills have been introduced
or carried over in 14 states as
of March 12.

The University of Mary-
land researchers say studies
indicate that the devices may
be more useful in reducing
repeat offenses than the tra-
ditional court-imposed pun-
ishments. For instance, in
Ohio re-arrest rates were
nearly three times lower for
DWI offenders using an in-
terlock system compared to
those receiving such penal-
ties as license suspensions,
fines and retraining.

Stte Legislatures May 1992 B
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THE ACCURATE AND CONVENIENT BREATH ALCOHOL
ANALYZER TO DETER AND MONITOR DRUNK DRIVING
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The AutoSense™ System is accurate and The AutoSense™ System is easily

programmable with tamper-resistant installed without alteration to cosmetics, AutoSense Alcohol
vehicle ignition interlock mechanics or electronics of vehicle Standards Laboratory

« Personal security code must be entered | = Quick and simple, the complete test maintains quality control
on the keyboard procedure takes less than 10 seconds and calibration.
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measured from 4-second breath sample The AutoSense™ System
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Indicator The AutoSense™ System electronically : .
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normal vehicle ignition is permitted. |f « Date and Time of all tests
BAC exceeds preset level, ignition is

tomatically prevented P t BAC from 0.000% to 0.200%
automatically preve eroent SAL 0 e The AutoSense™ System .
 Cheating attempts are detected and test | * Record of any attempt to tamper with .. The result of high-tech
invalidated the System Product Engineering and
« Accuracy backed by In-house Alcohol « Print-out of test results available for Forensic Science.
Standards Laboratory case-ioad management
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INTERNATIONAL
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San Jose, CA 95132-1009
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KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL AND REHABILITATION SERVICES
ALCOHOL AND DRUG ABUSE SERVICES
Andrew 0'Donovan, Commissioner

Senate Bill 172
Before the Senate Judiciary Committee
March 17, 1993
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SRS Mission Statement
"The Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services empowers
individuals and families to achieve and sustain independence and to participate
in the rights, responsibilities and benefits of full citizenship by creating
conditions and opportunities for change, by advocating for human dignity and

worth, and by providing care, safety and support in collaboration with others."
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Mr. Chair and members of the committee, on behalf of the Secretary of SRS, I
thank you for the opportunity to present you with this testimony. The issue
that I want to address in S.B. 172 1is lowering the legal blood alcohol content
Jevel at which a driver operating a vehicle is considered to be intoxicated and
incapable of driving safely.

The Kansas Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Programs and groups such as Mothers
Against Drunk Driving (MADD) and Students Against Driving Drunk (SADD) have been
significant forces in increasing public awareness and in changing attitudes.
about the risks and consequences associated with "drunken driving." Even that
term is outdated because the major challenge now is to change the social norms
that imply any use of alcohol is acceptable when driving.

A recent national study indicated that nearly one-third of the men and 14
percent of the women surveyed occasionally drive after drinking. All tests
conclude that any drinking impairs a person's judgment and coordination. It fis
a well-known fact that impairment can occur long before a person is
intoxicated. The "one drink for the road" may seem harmless but when confronted
with an emergency or unusual situtation it can be deadly. Alcohol's involved in
half of all fatal auto crashes and is still the number one cause of death for
15-24 year olds.

This bill is another important step in changing behaviors and in reducing

alcohol impaired crashes and fatalities. We support lowering the blood alcohol
content to .08 percent from .10 percent.

A0OD: jh
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Mothers Against Drunk Driving

3601 SW 29th Street « Topeka, KS 66614 « (913) 271-7525 - 1 (800) 228-6233

KANSAS STATE OFFICE
3/12/93

Senator Jerry Moran, Chairman
Senate Judiciary Committee
Kansas Senate Rm. 255 E
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1565

Dear Chairman Moran and Members of the Senate Judiciary Committee:

For the past two years Kansas MADD has aggressively sought
legislation lowering the legal limit for driving while in-
toxicated from the present level of .10 BAC to .08 BAC for
drivers 21 and older and a lower threshold for drivers un-

21 years of age. During the 1992 legislative session, .08
legislation passed the Senate only to be defeated in the

House by one vote. Since the 1992 legislative session, Kansas
MADD has provided legislators with data regarding drunk driving
in Kansas and scientific evidence substantiating the need to
lower the legal limit for driving while intoxicated.

During 1991, Kansas recorded 112 motor vehicle alcohol re-
lated fatalities and over 3,421 injuries as a result of drunk
drivers. The human suffering experienced by survivors of
drunk driving crashes and that of family and friends is is
immeasurable. Societal costs based on wages lost, medical
expenses, insurance administration costs, and property damage,
amounted to almost 86 million dollars last year in Kansas.

Kansas MADD supports the comprehensiveness of House Bill 2355
in addressing drunk driving. We strongly support Senate
Bill 172 and 2355 regarding .08 BAC.

Sincerely,

E; !_\d
Carol Lierz

State Chairperson
Kansas MADD
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KANSAS 1980 - 1991

Total alcohol related motor vehicle
crash fatalities - 2,089

KANSAS 1980 - 1991

Total alcohol related motor vehicle
crash injuries - 43,435

1991 Kansas DUI Arrests - 21,827

KANSAS 1991

Alcohol related motor vehicle crash
fatalitles, injuries and property
damage "societal" costs - $85,700,000.

TO ALLTHE SIGNS
THAT MAKE DRIVING
ALITTLESAFER,
WED LIKE TOADD
ONE MORE.

Even though your ability to drive a car
is seriously impaired at a blood alcohol
level of .08, mostAstates only prosecute
at .10 or higher.

We'd like every state to make .08 the
blood alcohol limit. If you want to help,
please call or write your state legislators.

Together we can make this a sign of life.

Mothers Against Drunk Dri\iné
Legislative Number
1-800-432-3924
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Mothers AgaihSt Drunk Driving

3601 SW 29th Street » Topeka, KS 66614 + (913) 271-7525 + 1 (800) 228-6233
KANSAS STATE OFFICE
3/12/93

Senator Jerry Moran, Chairman
Senate Judiciary Committee
Kansas Senate Rm. 255 E
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1565

Dear Chairman Moran and Committee Members:

Several news articles featuring the provisions of House Bill
2355 have labeled the "affirmative defense" provision as be-
ing a "designated driver" provision and as a result, Kansas
MADD has received inquiries regarding our position as to
"affirmative defense." :

Kansas MADD does not recognize nor does it support the con-
cept of "affirmative defense" as any part of/or concept of
"designated driver." Kansas MADD believes the concept of
"designated driver" is totally unrelated to "affirmative de-
fense."

Kansas MADD understands that “"affirmative defense} at the

discretion of prosecutors and judges, has been and is present-

ly being allowed in Kansas courts. If "affirmative defense"
is presently being practiced, the inclusion of “affirmative

defense" in House Bill 2355 should not weaken nor strengthen
the law.

Sincerely,

2 le
Carol Lierz

State Chairperson
Kansas MADD



WINERPSPIRITS

WHOLESALERS ASSOCIATION, INC.

March 17, 1993

TO: Senate Judiciary Committee
FROM: R. E. "Tuck" Duncan
RE: DUI legislation

We appreciate this opportunity to testify and want to commend
you Mr. Chairman, and your leadership, and that of your colleagues
on this committee, for focusing attention on the tragedy of drunk
driving. Long before the term "social responsibility" became
fashionable in the lexicons of academia, our industry has urged
moderation, restraint and temperate use of its products as enjoined
by President Roosevelt at the time of federal repeal and Governor
Carlson at the time of state repeal. State and local officials and
leaders of public and private groups must continue with a
systematic view of the problem recognizing the inter-relationships
between 1legal, health, public information, educational and
technological responses to the problem.

Progress has been made in the last decade, namely impressive
reductions in alcohol related fatalities and significant reductions
in highway fatalities involving young teenage drivers. (Reference:

Drunk Driving Facts, U.S.D.O.T., Natl. Highway Traffic Safety

Administration, Center for Statistics, September, 1990; and Age,
Alcohol and Traffic Accident, Kansas D.O.T., June 1988, State
Library Kan. T52, A265).

The vast majority of Americans and Kansan’s will consume

beverage alcohol responsibly. The motivation behind these bills is

e
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honorable. The message a change in BAC levels is intended to send
is commendable. However, passage of this bill is disillusioning.
I appear here today in opposition to several provisions because
they do not confront the true problem; that is, stopping persons
who have a history of drinking and driving from continuing to drink
and drive.

As true with many things in life a small percentage of persons
who do abuse the use of beverage alcohol and beer, create new
restrictions on the overwhelming majority of persons who are
responsible consumers. They find alternative ways to continue
their irresponsible behaviors.

Our association concurs with the objectives recommended by the
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to reduce the
impaired driving recidivism of drivers who have already been
arrested and processed through our criminal justice and/or
administrative sanctioning and rehabilitation processed; plus
preventing drinking and driving by such means as public
information, education, more responsible serving and hosting
practices, intervention by friends, designated driver programs,
safe ride programs, and preventing the sale of beverage alcohol to
minors.

This bill creates a whole new class of criminal: people who
have had 2 or 3 drinks in 60 minutes. (f.n.1) I know that’s not

its purpose, but that is its effect.

fn.1l.- 1 drink based on 1.25 oz spirits, 12 oz. beer, or 4 oz.
wine, @ 120 lbs. body weight 2 drinks = .07 @ 140 1lbs. 3 drinks =
.09; @ 160 lbs 3 drinks = .08 (DISCUS).

2



Look at what has been done -- our current laws have acted as
a deterrent. Spirits consumption in Kansas is down 13% over the
period FY 1984 to FY 1992 (based on spirits gallonage shipments,
Overview of the Kansas Liquor Industry ABC, Kansas Department of
Revenue, January, 1993.) Awareness of the problem is up, through
both government and private sector efforts. This association has
actively participated in the educational efforts to curb drinking
and driving. Please refer to the additional report regarding
K.W.S.W.A. efforts to heighten the understanding of the consumer.
This industry produced and distributed some of the first public
education materials when the original law was passed in the early
1980s.
In a report available in the State library entitled "DWI-Are

We Off Track?" by Terry M. Klein,, a consultant to the National
Center for Statistics and Analysis of the National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration (NHTSA), and a former chief evaluator in the
planning and evaluation division NHTSA, he states:

"Counter measures aimed at what are today considered

responsible drivers can only serve to divert

resources away from the larger part of the problem

and potentially could have negative effects. The

increased burden of ’‘more legally drunk drivers’

could stretch the current enforcement and judicial
resources beyond their means."

H. Laurence Ross, Ph.D., a professor of Sociology at the
University of New Mexico, author of numerous studies dealing with
the effect of law on driving while impaired by alcohol including

Deterring the Drinking Driver: Legal Policy and Social Control

and, Life Saving: Policy for Reducing Drunk Driving in America,



wrote in June 1991, commenting on Klein’s work:

"[T]he bulk of the problem is accounted for by
drivers who have blood alcohol concentrations
(BAC’s) of 0.10% or more. There is a need for our
society to reduce deaths due to drunk driving. A
common response to this need has been to increase
the severity of the punishment for drunk driving,
especially by mandating jail, at least for repeat
offenders. Unfortunately, this approach has not led
to important progress in reducing alcohol-related
fatalities..."

"Because the risk of a fatality increases
steeply with more alcohol in the blood, a second
response has been to lower the 1limit of 1legal
tolerance from 0.10% BAC to 0.08%. This is
currently the 1law in four states. Such a
concentration could be achieved by some people with
three drinks in an hour. Klein’s report addresses
this policy. He properly argues that the heart of
the drunk driving fatality problem is not at these
levels--and that it 1is inefficient to squander
resources in dealing with drivers who have
relatively low BACs. Instead, policy should focus
on heavier drinking drivers, who are
disproportionately involved in fatal crashes."

"Recent research supports Klein’s assessment
that 0.10% BAC is a reasonable legal limit. Drivers
with BACs between 0.10% and 0.15% appear to be over
four times more likely to cause a fatal crash than
those who, in most states, are obeying the current
law. Drivers over 0.15% BAC appear to be over 30
times more dangerous. Clearly, the heart of the
problem lies in the area of extremely heavy drinking
-- the drinker with a BAC of more than 0.15%, who
has probably consumed more than a dozen drinks in a
few hours."

"Data from a national survey of drivers
indicated that reducing the tolerated BAC below
0.10% would not necessarily be good public safety
policy. Reducing the limit to 0.08% would increase
the number of law violators by about 60% ...
Unless enforcement 1is increased proportionately,
this might result in a decrease in the probability
of arrest for extreme violators. To the extent that
the law’s threats lack credibility (because of a low
risk of apprehension), the change could greatly
exacerbate enforcement difficulties and possibly
reduce the existing effectiveness of the law." *%*%*
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"Finally, it can be argued that at BACs below
0.10%, the ratio of the benefits of drinking to the
costs associated with it is far more favorable than
at higher BACs. It is an error to allocate scarce
resources to this segment of drinkers when the more
dangerous segment 1is seldom apprehended. Further
research into benefits deriving from alcohol
consumption is needed, but plausible claims have
been made for reductions in stress and cardio~-
vascular problems."

"Drunk driving is still a significant social

problem in America but 1laws on lowering the

tolerated BAC below 0.10% are unlikely to be helpful

in addressing the problem. Such laws may reduce the

credibility of the threat to punish the heaviest

drinkers thus possibly reducing deterrence of the

most dangerous drivers. At the same time, they

would brand as criminal much behavior that is

customary, pleasurable, and much less risky to

society. I concur with Klein that reducing the BAC

limit is unlikely to be either fair or effective in

reducing deaths due to drunk driving."

Typically a first offender will receive a diversion and a
fine. However, when you take a breath test and fail or refuse to
take such a test a suspension of one’s license results. As a
result, pursuant to K.S.A. 40-277 an insurance company may cancel
it’s policy where "the named insured or any other operator, either
resident in the same household, or who customarily operates an
automobile insured under the policy (a) has had such persons
driver’s license suspended or revoked during the policy period."
A .02 or .04 for a child under these bills could cause their family
disastrous financial hardship in securing a new policy, most likely
through KAIP.

A standard (not preferred) policy for a good student single

male in his 20’s in Topeka will cost approximately $275.00 for 6

months. If he has no speeding tickets, and no accidents, the

%)\



license suspension due to the first DUI will increase that policy
to approximately $575.00 for six months; more than double. Add in
other minor violations and the cost increases even more. For a
middle aged person with a preferred rate the increase from their
current rate ($1200.00 @ 6 months for 3 cars, husband, wife and
student driver) could triple and most likely that individual would
not be able to secure the higher coverage limits of a preferred
policy.

You might say, "Well that’s his problem, he shouldn’t have
gotten the DUI." Unfortunately, it becomes all of our problem.
Current estimates provided me by the Insurance Commissioner’s
office indicate that wuninsured motorists in Kansas comprise
approximately 6-~7% of all motorists. In the real world, our
offender secures his new insurance, pays 1 or 2 months, buys his
tags and then because the cost is prohibitive, allows his insurance
to lapse. I contend these lower limits of BAC level will increase
the percentage of uninsured and underinsured motorists in Kansas.
I am informed that premiums for uninsured motorists rates have
recently modestly increased, because of increased loss experiences.
It is reasonable to project that as the number of uninsured
motorists become greater, uninsured motorist losses will increase
and thus premiums for the rest of us will likewise increase again.
These new BAC levels will probably cause more people to become part
of the Kansas Automobile Insurance Plan, and the limits of coverage
will generally decrease, e.g. fewer insured and lower average

coverage limits to protect the rest of us. Thus, what looks like

6
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a minor revision with negative effects for the few and positive
effects for the many, becomes a negative policy for all.

Let us now look at the justification that unless we do this we
iose federal highway dollars. I am informed from discussions with
the Kansas Department of Transportation that there is a two tier
system for receiving certain highway funds. The first tier
requires that a state meet five of six criteria: (1) Prompt
drivers license suspension; (2) .10 per se DUI law; (3) Roadside
check points; (4) Self-sustaining drunk driving programs; (5)
Underage 21 prevention programs; and (6) Mandatory sentencing. It
appears that Kansas most 1likely will meet five of the
aforementioned six criteria to be eligible for a maximum of
$635,000.00. With regard to the second tier there are seven
elements for which additional funding would be provided by the
federal government to the state. In that, with each of the
following, for which a state complies, an additional amount of
funding is available. The second tier items include (1) .02 under
21 BAC;_(Z) Open container law; (3) Suspension of registration and
return of license plates; (4) Mandatory BAC testing; (5) Drugged
driving prevention; (6) .08 per se BAC; (7) Video equipment for
detection. The maximum available funds at the current time for any
one item is $15,000, according to KDOT. The issue here, as
reflected in the comments of Klein and Ross, supra. is whether
resources should be diverted to this new class of offenders for so
little monetary return.

The U.S. department of Justice in its report Jailing Drunk
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Drivers: Impact on the Criminal Justice System, National Institute
of Justice, May 1985, stated:
"Increased resources, in the form of additional

money, personnel, or facilities, are generally

required to effectively carry out a mandatory

confinement strategy. Legislators should recognize

the impact that mandatory confinement of drunk

drivers is likely to have on Judges, Prosecutors,

and particularly the correctional system."

It is reasonable to assume that a 20% reduction in the BAC
limit will result in increased arrests and pressures on the
judicial system. I have heard testimony in previous years of
estimates ranging from no less than 5% to most likely 10% more
arrests.

The only comprehensive Kansas study, prepared by the Institute
for Public Policy, University of Kansas, analyzing the Wichita
Comprehensive Program to reduce DWI, in May 1986 (found at Kan.
E50.1249, no. 121, State Library) states: "Indeed, the TOP [Target
of Opportunity Program] has pushed to the limit the ability of the
police, prosecutors and courts to handle DWI cases." What would a
10% increase do statewide? And, at these lower levels where the
margins of error increase proportionally, there will be more
contested and tried cases.

Another issue that must be explored in further detail is the
impact these new levels will have on the employment prospects for
these new offenders. Certain Jjobs in clubs, drinking
establishments, and CMB restaurants might be unavailable.

Statutory criteria for obtaining a commercial driver’s license and

federal regqulations appear to restrict individuals who have had
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suspended licenses. Do we want to eliminate eligibility for
certain employment by going to .08 and .02? I suggest that the
committee explore this area with the experts.

One problem‘that is addressed by the House bill is the repeat
offender and we applaud those efforts. vIn my view, the current law
compounds the problem rather than solves it. From a person who
gets multiple DUIs, we extract large fines, incarcerate and then
take away their driving privileges. Nonetheless, they drive. They
drive because they must go to work, in order to pay bills, support
their families and pay their fines.

The most detailed work in this area is The Hard Core Drinking
Driver, 1991. An executive summary is provided herewith. The
statistics show that drivers with high BACs pose the greatest
threat on the highway.

A key conclusion is that the legal system must have access-
and make use of - methods which effectively keep the so called
"hard core" offender from driving: ignition inter-lock devices;
confiscation of the license plate or car; and electronic monitoring
(hoﬁse arrest) devices.

The attached editorial by Candy Lightner, founder of Mothers
Against Drunk Driving, confirms other independent studies. She
notes that half of the drinking drivers involved in fatal crashes
have a BAC of 0.17 or greater; and, that among young people aged 16
to 24 the great majority of deaths involve drinkers with a BAC of

at least .15%.
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"Lowering the blood content won’t make a
difference to these offenders. After twelve years

we should be passed the point of just raising public

consciousness. We need to bring creativity into

play and focus on the programs and laws that w111

make the most difference," she says.

Its impaired driving we should be curbing, not all driving by
some offenders. The law should allow the Courts, in appropriate
cases, to restore limited driving privileges provided the offender
installs an inter-lock device. The law is in place to allow for
such devices, see K.S.A. 8-1016 and 8-1017. The legislature must
encourage its use, by allowing part of what would otherwise be the
fine to be used to pay for the purchase and payment of such
devices.

We must redouble our educational and treatment efforts, for as
we have seen there have been dramatic reductions in the instances
of alcohol related accidents and fatalities as a result of such
efforts in the past decade.

Please do not misunderstand =-- the loss of one life due to
abuse of beverage alcohol cannot be tolerated. The question we
present is whether in light of the foregoing reducing the BAC level
to .08 1is truly providing a solution, or is it merely a

disillusioning message. Thank you for your kind attention to and

consideration of these matters.
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1.0
BACKGROUND

THE

Y he report on *The Hard Core Drinking Driver™ was
oy veieased nearly a year ago. It has gencrated considerable
attention from the media and stimulaied significant discus-
sion among the research community as well as those involved
with the devalopment and impiamentation ¢f countermeasure
programs and policies.

The report showed that drivers with higa biooed alechol con-
cantrations {BACS) account for & vary significant portion of the
drinking driving probtlem -~ such drivets account for the vast
ma}ori’(y of ‘atally injured crinking drivers and a substantial porticn
of all drivera who are xilled. They are vast'y overrepresented in
serious crasnes.

The repont containad both original analyser — primarily using
data from the U.S. Falal Accident m,por*ng System (FARS) —
and a review of related literature.

The analyses were based on 1988 FARS data,; information
that is now quite daled. The purpose of this update is t¢ provide
more contempuorary irlennation and, In 3o doing, to determine if
the magnitude ¢f the problem o° high-BAC drivers has changed in
recent years,

This update replicates the principal anaiyses on the mag-
nitude of the problem of high-BAC urivers. For reference pur-
poses, ln the ongma' s!udy Ju ae kgy findings were contained in
F: igures 3-1, 3-2 and 3-3. In this upéile, wo nave reproduced the
origina! findings fer 1688 and provided the parailel findings for
1989, 1890, and 1881 (the most recent year for which data are
available).

HARD CORE
DRINKING
DRIVER

—.-..-—» e

UPDATE

H.M. Simpsori and D.R. May'hew

Traffic Injury Research Foundation

December 1992 i



£.0

Magnitude of

the Alcohol-
Fatal Crash

Y w2 hile some reductions In the incidencs of alcohol i fatally Problem
' M injured drivers have been reported over the past decade,
4 the problem persists at an unacceptable level. To
lllustrate, Figure 1 shows the percent of fatally injured drivers who
were posltive for aicohol from 1988 through 1991 (lllustrated in
the ple chart on the left of each segment uf the figure) and,
among those who had been drinking, the parcent who haa BACs
above and below .10 g/dl (illusirated in the bar on the right side).

As can be seen:
¢ the alcohol-crash problem Is still & signiticatit one;

¢ f{rom 1988 through 1990, 46% of the drivers kilied in
the U.S. had been drinking, this figure was slightly
lower in 1991; and

4 the averwhelming majority of drinking drivers have
BACs In excess of what Is the legai lhnit In mos! states
(.10 g/dl). Over 80% of the drinking drivers were
legally impaired. There has been little changs In this
figure over the past four years, .

o
o 82% DAC.10
o1% iz =
M ar SpS— . - TV
[T 8% ) 01709 - G A8% ) o9
; i NON-DRINKING/DRINGN
NON-DRINKINGDRINKING  poar e o) N NKING/ORINKING e mivE BAC
Figure 1.

BACs Among Faially Injured Drivers
in the United States

BAC 1D : -
83% ang over 83% ?ﬂ’:—o:‘of
| W% Yoo TRy Y08
OU-DAINKINGDRINKING POSITIVE BAC KNOiDRINK . NG/DRINKING

POSITIVE BAC




3.0

Levels of
Alcohol
Detected
Among Drinking
Drivers i\ more detziled examinaton of the ievels of aicohol found

-7 8\ among fatally injured drinking drivers is given in Figure 2.
i BACs have been aggregated inio several arbitrary but
conveniant ranges, For each year, the bar on the left shows the
levels of alcok¢! datected ameny lfnking drivers and the bar on

the right displays the leveis detenied among those drivers who
were legally irnpaired (BAC in excese of .10},

T
. g

*  From 1958 through 1981, some 64-65% of the drink-
ing drivers had BACs in excues of .15, About 40% of
drinking drivers hed very high BACs (.20 or greater).

¢ From 1988 through 1381, among drivers who were
legally impalred, scme 78-78% had BACS in excess of
15, About haif of the legally impairad drivers had
BACs of .20 or greater.

1988 1989
78%
et
DAt Aa.
Legall
m%airgd . lk\;ga?:zd
Figure 2.
BACs Among Fatally injured Drinking and
Legally Impaired Drivers in the U.S.
1990 1991
o] [ % | [ae [[7o0 19
;uu:”}én l
Drinking Ik}?)%?r"eyd ’
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v n even more detailed picturs of ine alechol levels found
1 among fatally injured drivers is given in Figure 3, which
>l presents the compiete distribution of SACs. 1

- &  The vast majority of fatally Injured drivers have BACs in
excess — ln many cases, well in excess — of tho legal
limit. Even extremely high BACs of .30 and above are
not uncommon.

4 The average BAC amonyg fatally injured dvinking diivers
Is .17 — nearly twice the legal lirnit. Thie average has
not changed in four years,

N 20
U £00]
M
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r
[
006 &1 015 02 06 03 03 04 PYVEPIIPY PPV Mt Sadg aanne
Blood Aicohol Conceniration (%) © o Biagd Alconsl Cancentraiion (%)
Figure 3.
BAC Distributicn Among Faially Injured
Drinking Drivers In the U.S.
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i . \
N 21 egatmn /7N Mean A" N sl o0im N A, ]
u m ................................ u
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Blood Alcshol Concerltration (%) Blood Aleohol Cancentration (%)

1. The absolute number of cases varies somawhat from year 10 year as 2 function of the number of
states included in the analysis. Consistent with i appruach used by the Nationai Highway Traffic
Safety Administration, only stales with an alcohol 1esting rate of 80% or greater are included.

\

8 | G



. 4.0
Conclusions

33 lightly less than half of the dilvers killed in the U.S. have
S beern drinking  There has been remarkably litlie change in
— this situation over the past few years. The alcohol-crash
problem ia still & significant one. -

The vast majority of drinking drivers have high BACs — over
80% have BACs in excess of .10; 64% have alcoho! levels in
excess of .15; and about 40% have BACs ¢f .20 or above. This
situation has shown littla chiange over the past feur years.

Among drivers who are legally impaired, aimost elght out of
ten have BACs of .15 or abuve end about haif have BACs of .20
or above. This siluaiion has shown iitile change over the past four
years.

The high incidence of excessive amounts of alcoho! Is also
reflected in the fact that the cverage BAC found among fatally
injured drinklng drivers is .17. This situation has shown littla
change aver the past four years.

The problem of the high-BAC driver [ &lill a very significant
one. It demanrds attention an¢ chailenges program and policy
maxers to develep and implement effective prevention initiatives.,
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DEPARTMENT OF LAW March 16, 1993

OFFICE OF CITY ATTORNEY
CITY HALL — THIRTEENTH FLOOR
455 NORTH MAIN STREET
WICHITA, KANSAS 67202 - 1635
(316) 268-4681

Senator Jerry Moran

Chair, Senate Judiciary Committee
State Capitol

Topeka, Kansas

Re: House Bill No. 2355
Ladies and Gentlemen:

Your committee has under consideration House Bill No. 2355, as
amended by House Committee and as amended by House Committee of the
Whole. This bill proposes several changes to the state statutes
dealing with driving or operating vehicles or vessels while under
the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Of particular interest to the City Council of the CcCity of
Wichita 1is the proposed amendment to subsection (m) of K.S.A.
8-1567. At present, cities and counties may, by local ordinance or
resolution, prohibit driving under the influence within their juris-
dictions. However, the penalties for violating such ordinances or
resolutions are, by state law, required to be set at the same mini-
mum and maximum level as the penalties under K.S.A. 8-1567. The
proposed amendment would allow cities and counties to establish
minimum penalties for driving under the influence violations within
their jurisdictions which exceed the minimum penalties established
by state law (K.S.A. 8-1567).

A few statistics illustrate the magnitude of this problem
locally. 1In Wichita in 1992, police made 2,562 arrests for driving
under the influence. This represents an increase of 11.9% over 1991
arrests. Of the 2,444 persons prosecuted for driving under the
influence, only 44 were acquitted after trial. Local statistics
also indicate that, during the weekends, one out of every eight
drivers on City streets 1is driving under the influence. The
national statistic is one out of ten. These numbers demonstrate
that driving under the influence is a very real problem in Wichita
and, more to the point for the Committee’s purpose, that it is a

ToT
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Senator Jerry Moran
March 16, 1993
Page 2

problem that is on the increase and which 1s of greater magnitude
in Wichita that in many other areas of the state and country.

The City Council is very concerned about the serious threat that
driving under the influence poses to each and every resident of the
City of Wichita. The Council believes that this threat is not the
same for each city or county in the state. As an urban area with a
high incidence of such offenses, the Council would 1like the flexi-
bility of being able to strengthen its minimum penalties as a means
of further discouraging this activity. It believes that strong
medicine is required and that local units of government need the
increased flexibility of more severe minimum penalties to drive home
the point that driving under the influence will not be tolerated.

At present, many offenders are able to satisfy the minimum

penalties by spending only 48 consecutive hours incarcerated. The
vast majority do this by going in on a Friday afternoon and getting
released on Sunday afternoon. If additional jail time is required

under state law, the offender may satisfy that sentence by being
placed in a work release program. Given the fact that the City of
Wichita has a diversion program which effectively gives most of-
fenders one bite of the apple before the penalties of K.S.A. 8-1567
are imposed, the deterrence effect of the City’s driving under the
influence laws 1is not what it could be.

For example, if the City of Wichita had the flexibility provided
by HB 2355’s proposed amendment to K.S.A. 8-1567(m), it could modify
the state’s minimum penalties for driving under the influence viola-
tions so that offenders would be required to make arrangements to
deal with their work and family obligations in order to find the
time to satisfy their sentence. This could be accomplished by re-
quiring that the sentence be served during the week or by increasing
the minimum to 72 or 96 consecutive hours.

In conclusion, the City Council of the City of Wichita encour-
ages favorable consideration of House Bill No. 2355 and specifically
endorses the proposed amendment to K.S.A. 8-1567(m) which would
permit local units of government which adopt their own driving under
the influence laws to establish minimum penalties which exceed those
specified under state law.

DJIM: cdh
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State of Kansas
Joan Finney, Governor

~—

Department of Health and Environment

Robert C. Harder, Secretary
Reply to:

Written testimony presented to
Senate Judiciary Committee
by
The Kansas Department of Health and Environment
House Bill 2355

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment has statutory responsibility
to administer a statewide breath alcohol program which ensures that court-
defensible test results are available for the prosecution of 20,000 DUI
subjects arrested in Kansas each year. This effort includes establishing the
test protocols and standards used by 235 law enforcement agencies as well as
the certification of 2,800 instrument operators and 155 evidential
instruments in 115 locations throughout the state. The Kansas breath alcohol
program has been operational in current form since 1973 and breath alcohol
evidential test results are widely accepted throughout the judicial systemn.

Preventing the deaths and injuries which result from drunk drivers on Kansas
highways is a significant public health priority. There is a large volume of
scientific evidence which clearly supports the conclusion that all drivers
with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or greater are unable to safely operate a
vehicle. A review of this evidence may be found in the monograph ("Effect of
Low Doses of Alcohol on Driving Related Skills - A Review of the Evidence,"
Moskowitz, 1988) which draws consensus from 177 articles in the scientific
literature. At an alcohol level of 0.08, impairment of reaction times, motor
functions, concentration, and other essential driving skills prevent safe
vehicle operation regardless of drinking experience.

In summary, drinking and driving do not mix. It is important that the
enforcement level which is chosen represent national consensus on alcohol
impairment and be scientifically and operationally defensible. We strongly
support the reduction of "per se'" DUI alcohol level from 0.10 to 0.08 to make
our highways more safe for all Kansas citizens.

One technical point under K.S.A. 8-1014(d)3 in this bill is worthy of
specific comment. While we would support a general cost recovery proposal
which 1is applied to all individuals convicted of DUI, and dispersed

appropriately, we do not support the proposal for administrative fine under
this section.

Testimony presented by: Dr. Roger Carlson, Director

Health and Environmental Laboratory
March 17, 1993
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TESTIMONY BEFORE THE KANSAS SENATE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE
March 17, 1993

Good morning ladies and gentlemen, my name is David Goronkin, and
I am an Area Supervisor for Chi-Chi’s Mexican Restaurants. I am
responsible for restaurant operations in Kansas, Missouri, and
Colorado. I reside in Shawnee, Kansas with my wife, Pam, and two
daughters, Morgan and Mara. I operate two locations in Wichita
and one in Overland Park, just west of the Missouri border. My
point is very simple and I will get right to it. Changing the
legal standard for intoxication from .10 to .08 may be well
intentioned but it is the wrong idea at:the wrong time. While
this measure may seem like a magic bullet that will accelerate
the ongoing downward trend in drunk driving deaths, it may arrest
or even reverse the gains we have seen so far and hope to see in
the future.

How can I say this? It is because of all of the possible
countermeasures that can be used to deter drunk driving, lowering
the BAC is the least effective. A nationwide survey conducted by
Dr. David Moore of the University of New Hampshire, a respected
pollster, found that ALR schemes, increased jail sentences or
longer license suspensions all had a greater impact on those
surveyed who reported that they may have driven after having too
much to drink. A BAC is a concept that most people simply don’t
understand. They will fear getting a DWI if they have a drink or
two after work or with dinner. License suspensions and
incarceration are easy to comprehend and send a very strong message:
Drive when you are intoxicated and you will pay a severe price.

Furthermore, when you are considering a measure to influence
behavior, it only makes sense to ask whose conduct you most want
to change. In this instance it is sensible to target any change
in the law to those who cause the most harm.

Statistics and experience both demonstrate beyond any shadow of a
doubt that the most dangerous drunk drivers are those whose BAC’s

are at a .15 or above. Data collected by the National Highway
Traffic Safety Administration shows that this group of drivers
accounts for the overwhelming majority of fatal alcohol related
accidents. If the present BAC doesn’t deter these people, will a
lower BAC have any effect? We must also ask ourselves if it makes
sense for our police officers to shift their enforcement efforts to
include those who may be impaired at the expense of missing those who
are truly bombed.

I am well aware of the support that this bill is getting from the
law enforcement community. Making arrests and getting convictions
in DWI cases is difficult and frustrating, particularly when defense
lawyers have tricks and technicalities on their side. Certainly,
reducing the BAC may make it easier to convict a driver who might go
free under the present standard.
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To do so, however, begs my earlier question: Who do we want to get?
Don’t take my word for it, ask the officers who come forward to
gsupport this bill who the most dangerous drinking drivers are. They
will tell you that it is the person with the high BAC, the repeat
offender and the problem drinker who drives often enough that it is
just a matter of time until he has an accident.

What little experience we have with a .®8 limit bears this out.

When California enacted the law, deaths increased in some parts

of the state. Nobody seems to know why, but its a sure bet that
the real drunks still continued to drink and drive.

Even Candy Lightner, the woman whose daughter’s tragic death
inspired her to found Mothers Against Drunk Driving, thinks .08

is a bad idea. Why? Because she knows who the dangerous drivers
are. She should, because the man who killed her little girl over
ten years ago was recently arrested for DWI for the seventh time.
Lightner doesn’t think it is wise to cast a wider net when wve keep
letting the big fish go. I agree, and you should too.

Those who really support this bill argue that we are making this
change not just to stop drunk driving, but to prevent someone who
is impaired from taking the wheel. I don’t want my wife and
daughters out on the highway with someone who is impaired any more
than you do, but I’ll take impaired over dead drunk any day of the
veek. I would also hate to think that we might catch an impaired
driver and miss the drunk.

Examination of the behavior of those who use alcohol and then
drive provides some compelling evidence against the adoption

of. ©8. The study circulated by the National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration in support of .®8 bills nationwide reveals
that those researching drinking and driving behavior concludes
that most drivers who drink are so prudent in their behavior that
they already curb their consumption to a point well below the
present BAC and 235% below the proposed .08 level.

I can tell you from my own experience that this is certainly true.

My customers don’t think drunk driving is a joke, and neither do

any of my employees. We support designated driver programs, use
responsible serving practices and keep an eye on our customers. Each
employee who serves alcohol participates in an extensive Alcochol
Avareness training program and is then routinely coached to insure
comprehension. Watching them like we do now, we have found that almost
all of our customers are careful about how much they drink.

These responsible customers are wy best customers. Because they
are already careful, I wonder if we really need a law that will
have a greater impact on what they do than the irresponsible
drinker and repeat offenders who kill.

As a server of alcohol, it is my public duty and legal obligation
to run my business respongibly. I don’t make money by getting
people drunk. I do, however, pay my employees, my suppliers and my
taxes by selling Margaritas, drinks, or beer to my customers. Since
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most, if not all, of them don’t drink enough now to even approach
either the present or the proposed BAC, I wonder why we need a law that
may stop them from having a Margarita with dinner when the real problem
is someone who has ten beers for dinner!

A wise man once said that the road to hell is paved with good
intentions. I ask this body not to question the end of this bill,
which I heartily support, but the means toward this end. One death
caused by a drunk driver is one death too many but if we don’t stop

the killers we won’t stop the killing. I ask you to change the present
laws to do this by severely punishing those who already break the law
we have now rather than harming responsible businesses that make an
honest dollar.

Thank you for your time.
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WUODLANDS

TESTIMONY OF GRAHAM M. DEWSBURY, SR.

RACING

A Facility of Sunflower Racing, Inc.

Mr. Chairman, Senators. My name is Graham Dewsbury of Merriam. I am the
Food and Beverage Director at The Woodlands Race Tracks in Kansas City and
I promise not to say the word "casino" for the remainder of my testimony.

I am also an independent restaurant owner. With my partners, I operate
TENERIFE CAFE in Lenexa.

I belong to the National Restaurant Association, The Missouri Restaurant
Association, serve as a Director of the Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality
Association, serve as a Director of the Greater Kansas City Restaurant
Association and am a member of the American Culinary Federation. The
Educational Foundation of the National Restaurant Association has
certified me as a Food Management Professional. But much, much more
important than all of the preceding, I am the father of six children and
as a father, I concur one hundred percent with the purported objective of
House Bill No. 2355 presently before the Committee.

I say "purported" objective because we are led to believe that this Bill
will get drunk drivers off the road. We are led to believe that this Bill
will ensure that none of my six children or any of your children will be
in any danger of being maimed, injured or worse by a drunk driver. If
this Bill would Accomplish these ends, or even help to accomplish them, I
would support it whole heartedly. This Bill will not accomplish these
ends, it will hinder them and I oppose it adamantly.

The difference in the degree of impairment between a .10 blood alcohol
content and a .08 blood alcohol content is minimal. Why? Because the
degree of impairment at .10 blood alcohol content is minimal to begin
with. You have heard or you will hear testimony from people far more
learned than me that will confirm my contention. Driving ability will not
be affected to any appreciable degree by this Bill.

There are, of course, people who should not drink at all. I remember at
family gatherings when I was a child that one of my Great aunts would be
given no more than a half glass of sherry. Within twenty minutes, Great
Aunt Minnie couldn't walk across the living room. She certainly couldn't
drive. Yet, this bill would not have affected Great Aunt Minnie. Her
blood alcohol content was probably less than .02, yet we certainly would
not want her to drive in this condition.

So who would this Bill affect? The drunk driver? The one we want off the
road? Will this Bill affect him or her? Will this Bill save my children
from the drunk maniac careening down the highway? Of course it won't.
He's got a blood alcohol content of .17, .22 or .28. This Bill will not
protect anyone of us from this maniac. Laws are presently ogighe books to
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protect us. They need to be enforced. OK. So this Bill will not affect
Great Aunt Minnie who could be dangerous. It will not affect the drunk
who is lethal. It does not in any way achieve its purported objective.

So who will this Bill affect? This Bill would affect three groups of
people: 1. My customers; 2. The Police; 3. My children. A person
who has a cocktail before dinner and a couple of glasses of wine with
dinner represents the epitome of my customers at TENERIFE CAFE in Lenexa.

Under this Bill, they are drunks treated the same way as the maniac with a
.18 blood alcohol content.

A person munching on a hamburger or a bowl of nachos and who drinks two or
three beers at The Woodlands between 6:30 p.m. and 10:30 p.m. is, under
this Bill, a criminal to be treated in exactly the same manner as the
maniac with a .22 blood alcohol content. And who treats these so called
criminals in exactly the same manner as the maniac with a blood alcohol
content of .25? Why, the second group of people this Bill would affect,
the Police. Our undermanned, underfinanced, over stretched Police.
Senators, if this Bill is enacted, you are mandating that our Police
search out and arrest people who are no danger to themselves or others.
And, while they are doing this, the maniac with a .25 blood alcohol
content goes careening on his or her murderous way.

Put yourself in the position of a Police Officer on patrol. Who is easier
to deal with, a very frightened diner with a .085 blood alcohol content or
a belligerent pugnacious drunk spoiling for a fight, or a sloppy drunk
stinking of vomit and excretement. Which one would you choose to work?
Which one would you choose to put in your patrol car? Believe me, I am
not demeaning our Police in any way, but wouldn't you, in all honesty,
choose to work the placid, nervous, clean .085 blood alcohol content
drinker. Of course you would. And while you are working this harmless
individual, you are not stopping the drunken driver and now this Bill
affects the third group of people, my children, your children and
everyone's children. They are in mortal danger from a drunk driver.

This Bill will not get drunk drivers off the road. This Bill will make it
more difficult for our Police to enforce the law as it is now written
while they are tied up working a harmless person.

Please save my children, save all children. Get the drunk driver off the
road. Assist our Police with manpower. Stop arrested drunk drivers from
seeking diversion or plea bargaining. Take away drivers' licenses. Put
illegal drivers in jail. Do not put more useless work on our Police.
Allow them to enforce the law as it is now written.

This well meaning Bill, introduced and supported by well meaning people
will not achieve its aim. Instead, it will accentuate our drunk driving
problem. It will over burden our already over burdened Police. It will
make criminals out of people who are not criminals, it will penalize
responsible restaurant owners who, as a group, have in the last ten years,

policed themselves so very well and most tragically, this Bill will put my
children at a greater risk.

Please, please please kill this Bill. Save our children. Thank you.
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KANSAS RESTAURANT
AND HOSPITALITY .

ASSOCIATION

My name is George Puckett and I represent the Kansas Restaurant and
Hospitality Association, a group of approximately 800 foodservice and haspitality
industry businesses. 1 am here today on behalf of our member restaurants who have
Kansas liquor licenses. This is our first testimony in regard to HB23533 and
KRHA did not address HBR3595 before the House committee. We are bringing our
concerns to you today in opposition ta HB2335.

Since the mid-1980's states have been the battlegrounds for efforts to lower
legal blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) levels for drivers. Flve states have
adopted a .08 BAC while at least twenty others have considered the idea at length
and then rejected it. Since 1991, some federal lawmakers and regulators have been
trying to alsc get in the act by attempting to bring federal pressure to bear on
states to lower BAC levels.

Last year U.S. Senator Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ), who chalrs the Senate
Appropriations subcommittee that doles out federal highway dollavs to the
tried to get Congress to consider withholding federal highway funds from s
that wouldn't move to .08. Even though Lautenberg shelved his plans for |1
after strong grassroots opposition from restaurateurs, bar owners, and other
“pro-.08" stance was seconded by the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration. In late October, then Transportation Secretary Andy Card went 2
step further and wrote to all 30 governors asking them to take action to lower
BAC's. Many individuals are confused on the issue of highway funds and I again
confirmed with the NRA and the Kansas Department of Transportation (KDOT) as late
as yesterday that there is no curre =nt federal requirement that would require Y
Kansas or any state to pass .08 BAC legislastion in order to receive federal = W
highway funds as was the concern during the 1992 session. '§ W
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Please consider the following additional information I acqguired from the

National Restaurant Association (NRA): 9(
/

1) .08 is not proven to be effective. There is evidence that reducing BAC's may

not be effective according to Professor H. Laurence Ross's 1973 study of Sweden's

BAC law change from .08 to .0S - There was no change on fatalities. Furthermore,
there appears to have been no impact on crashes upon the further lowering of
Sweden's legal BAC to .02 last year.

2) .08 may even increase the fatality rate. The State of Maine is one of the five
states which adopted the .08 standard. Between 1988, when the change took effect,
and the end of 1990, Maine's DWI arrest rate increased by 16 percent. This is to
bhe expected, because when you change the definition of drunk driving, more people
are technically driving drunk. But at the same time that Maire's arrest rate
increased, the State's alcohol-related fatality rate also increased, by more than
7 percent. In the first 6 months of 1992, Maine's alcohol-related fatalities rose
by an additional 8.4 percent. This unintended result may be caused by the
dilution of law enforcement activity against heavy drinkers.

3) Heavy drinkers cause most fatalities. According to the Insurance Institute for
Highway Safety, 12 percent of drivers who have been drinking have BAC levels in
excess of .10, yet these individuals are responsible for 86 percent of all alcohol
related traffic fatalities. Heavy drinkers must be the number gne priority of

. Promoting Excellence in the Foodservice and Hospitality Industry Since 1933” >-07-73
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grunk driving initiatives. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety agrees.
They argue that “as long as the death and injury problem from alcohol-impaired
driving is dominated by the minority of drinking drivers with very high BAC's, it
makes sense to focus laws and enforcement on this group, arresting more of them
rather than potentially diluting our already limited law enforcement effort by
shifting the focus to include drivers with lower BAC's."

4) .08 drivers are difficult to detect. According to a NHTSA report, the results
of roadside sobriety tests performed by law enforcement personnel are inaccurate
as much as 30 percent of the time at the current .10 level. This percentage would
increase if BAC levels were reduced, because of thne lower level of impairment of
suspected offenders. An example of this can be seen in the State of Maine's June,
1991 DWI arrest statistics., In June, 257 drivers with BAC's below .10 were
suspected of DWI and taken in for BAC testing. Of those 237, only 31 percent
actually had illegal BAC levels.

53 .08 enforcement is extremely burdensome. A 1985 study by physicians at the
Centers for Disease [Control found that in the State of Michigan, for example, each
drunk driving arrest consumes two to six hours of police officer time. They
slculated that arresting all alcohol-impaired drivers in Michigan would require
least 1,000,000 police hours per month. Tthis is the equivalent of 6230
ficers working full-time managing peperwork and other leogistic problems that
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follow drunk driving arrests., Obviocusly, no state 1s able to arrest all drunk

dirivers. To reduce fatalities, states should concentrate on those drivers which

most endanger public safety. Unfortunately, a change from .10 to .0B is likely to
dilute enforcement against the heaviest and most dangerous drinkers.

An article is attached to my testimony entitled, “Is MADD Veering OFff the
foad?" (Attachmant #1), by Candy Lightner, founder of MADD twelve years ago. The
article is from the Plain Dealer, Ohio's largest newspaper, located in Cleveland,
dated May 21, 1992, Specifically I would like to refer to that part of the

article starting at the bottom of the first column which I have marked with.a
Star. It states, "Lately, anti-drunken driving groups are working on legislation
that would lower the BAC to .08.,..." and ending, " While no one can deny that the
fa:e:t BAC is no BAL, this 1s also unrealistic given our limited resources and
ensrglies. Mmat is realistic, is attacking the problem drinkey or chronlc drunken

dJriver, the most dangerous threat to our society...
)

In conclusion, I would like to refer to attachment &2, entitled 1992 Breath
Alcohol Tests in Kansas.," This is information I acquired recently from the Kansas
Department of Health and Environment, Breath Alcohol FProgram. The information
reflects 1) BAC ranges, 2) Total Tests given in =ach range, and 3) the Number aof
Accidents in each range. Notice how the number of tests suddenly balloons by
thousands at .10 percent. Of particular significance is, of &the 1,687 individuals
involved in accidents, only %.8% were in the category from .04 thru .09. An
pverwnelming 20.24 of those tested inveolved in drunk driving accidents were in the
BAC cateqories of .10 percent and higher.

We ask you to consider what is the best use of scarce public resources in
fighting drunk driving. Our strong feeling is that resources must be allocated in
the most efficient manner to bring about the greatest possible reduction in the
rate of alcohol-related fatelities. We urge you to appose HB2333 and hope you
will give every consideration to our viewpoint as you make & decision on this

fficult issue. This type of legislation would frighten the wrong individual,
our customers who are, for the vast majority, law abiding citizens that consume
cohol in a responsible manner in our restaurants.
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Attachment #1

[s MADD veering off the road?

By CANDY LIGHTHER
g founded Mothers Against Drunk

Driving 12 years ago after my
13-year-old daughter, Cari, was
xilled by a hit-and-run drunken
driver. Two days before he killed my
daughter. the man had been arrested
for another hit-and-run drunken
driving with injury. His blood-alco-
hol content was 0.22% — more than
twice the 0.10%. the current legal
limit in most states.
My grief and anger made me de-
termined to do everything in my
pawer 1o stop the senseless slaughter
caused by impaired drivers. Though
still deeply committed to that goal.
worry that the movement | helped
create has lost direcuion.
Our biggest obstacle was society’s
tolerance of drinking and driving. So
we passed more than 1,000 laws. and
attitudes changed. Society no longer
considers impaired driving socially
acceptable.
This led to significant reductions
in alcohol-related fatalities: 50% in
1988 involved alcohol, as compared
to 57% in 1982. But we are suil no-
where near the point of eliminating
this horrible tragedy from our streets
\_‘a_nd highways.
T Lately, anti-drunken driving

groups are working on legislation
. that would lower the BAC to .08, The
i Yetent federal highway bill condi-
{ uons access to highway aid on imple-

Rather than put our limited resources into laws
that fail to address the real problem, we need
better enforcernent of existing laws and proven
;xﬂkksﬁuuhauedaﬂonynnajas@n#kant

impact.

menting anti-drunken driving mea-
sures. including the suggestion that
states adopt the .08 standard. Unfor-
tunately. this ignores the real core of
the problem. individuals who, de-
spite new laws and the change in at-
titude, continue to drink and drive.

While no one can deny that the
safest BAC is no BAC, this is also un-
realistic given our limited resources
and energies. What is realistic. is at-
tacking the problem drinker or
chronic drunken driver, the most
dangerous threat to our safety.

In our rush to “do the right thing”
let's not lose sight of the facts:

B Half of the drinking drivers in-
volved in fatal crashes have a BAC of
0.17 or greater. Most drivers with a
level this high are probtem drinkers
and repeat offenders.

@ Even among young people aged
16 to 24. the great majority of deaths
involved drinkers with a BAC of at
least .15%.

Lowering the blood alcohol con-
tent won't make a difference to these
offenders. Afer 12 years we should

be past the point of just raising pub-
lic consciousness. We heed to bring
creativity iato play and focus on the
programs and laws that will make
the most difference.

Ohio, for example, is concentrating
on measures that would reduce re-
cidivism. In the past 10 years, 53% of
all drunken driving offenses were
committed by repeat offenders. The
State Highway Patrol now notifies
law-enforcement officers of individu-
als whose driving record includes
five or more DUI convictions and
whose licenses were suspended. The
repeat offenders were also contacted
directly and told they risked re-arrest
if they continued to drive.

The results: 16% were arrested in
the first month of the crackdown.
Law-enforcement officers also usc
“boots”* o immobilize the vehicles of
repeat offenders after their licenses
have been suspended.

Similarly. Oregon impounds the
vehicles of those who drive with a
suspended license and forfeits them
10 the city. I am still amazed that the

man who killed my daughter is bar-
red from ever owning a handgun, but
he can own a car, even though he has
been arrested six times for impaired
driving and injured two other people.

In addition to measures aimed at
repeat offenders. why not issue ..
graduated licenses™ to young peo-
ple instead of giving them “carte
blanche” to drive at the age of 167
They can gain valuable driving expe-
rience under less h circum-
stances, such as daytime driving
only, with a limited number of pas-
sengers, at restricted speeds, and
without alcohol impairment.

Where it has been tried it has
worked. Crash rates among young
drivers showed a dramatic reduction.

We accomplished our goal of
changing attitudes. Now it's time for
new direction. Rather than put our
limited resources into laws that fail
to address the real problem, we need
better enforcement of existing laws
and proven policies that have dem-
onstrated a significant impact, such
as swift and sure license suspension,
sobriety checkpoints and designated-
driver programs.

If we really want to save lives, let's
go after the most dangerous drivers
on the road. Putting our trust in new
Jaws and regulations that attack only
the tip of the iceberg will not make

ighways saler.

Lightner founded MADD. D \




1992 BREATH ALCOHOL TESTS IN KANSAS

BAC LEVEL TOTAL TESTS GIVEN # IN ACCIDENTS
.04 758 49 (6.5%)
165
.05-.07 536 (9.8%) | 35 (6.5%
.08-.09 G54 LBl (8.4%)
/
L10-.14 6,191 457 (7.4%)
L 15-.19 6,290 S45  (8.7%)
1,522
20— .24 2,963 (90:2%) | 362  (12.2%)
25-.29 g21 119 (14.5%
30+ 228 N 39 (17.1%)
TOTALS 18,751 1,687

Source: ®ansas Department of Health and Environment, Breath Alcohol Program
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