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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON FEDERAL AND STATE AFFAIRS.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Clyde Graeber at 1:30 p.m. on March 10, 1994 in Room 526-

S of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Representative Phill Kline, Excused

Committee staff present: Mary Galligan, Legislative Research Department
Lynne Holt, Legislative Research Department
Mary Ann Torrence, Revisor of Statutes
June Evans, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Representative Carlos Mayans
Jim Conant, Chief Administrative Officer, Alcoholic Beverage
Control Division
Neal Whitaker, Executive Director, Kansas Wholesalers Assn.
Don Bird, Kansans For Life At Its Best
Chuck Yunker, Adjutant, Kansas American Legion
Ronald R. Hein, Coalition for Instant Bingo

Others attending: See attached list

Representative Carlos Mayans offered an amendment on SB 467 which adds Columbus Day, the second
Monday in October back into the bill on Page 1, line 25. (See Attachment #1)

Representative Wilk moved and Representative Cornfield seconded to accept the amendment to SB 467 adding
back in Columbus Day, the second Monday in October as a legal public holiday. The motion carried.

Representative Wilk moved and Representative Cornfield seconded to move SB 467 out as amended
favorably. The motion carried.

The Chairperson opened the hearing on SB 545 and stated that the law that permits bingo licensees to conduct
games of instant bingo (commonly called “pull tabs”) will expire on July 1, 1994.

Ron Hein, Coalition for Instant Bingo, testified in support of SB 545, stating instant bingo is a large
organization, being comprised of the members of the Kansas Charities Cooperative, the American Legion, the
VFW, the Elks, the Eagles, the Knights of Columbus, and the Sunflower Club members, as well as numerous
other bingo licensees. These numbers are consistent with our original projection to the legislature that the
instant bingo legislation could raise between $500,000 and $1 million in tax revenue for the state each year.
(See Attachment #2)

Chuck Yunker, Adjutant, Kansas American Legion, testified in support of SB 545 stated bingo provided
revenue for the state and bingo operators and entertainment for the participants. (See Attachment #3)

Don Bird, Kansans For Life At Its Best, testified opposing SB 545 stating that games have been conducted
this year without rules and regulations and this needs to be addressed. (See Attachment #4).

Representative Benlon moved and Representative Lane seconded to put lines 36 - 39 on page 4 back in the bill
but change the date to 1995.

The bill would then sunset again in one year and Rules and Regs could be written.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been

transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to -I
the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.



Representative Wilk stated he opposed the amendment

Representative Wilk moved and Representative Robinette seconded to pass SB 545 out of committee
favorably. The motion carried.

The Chairperson opened the hearing on SB 544 relating to days of sales of alcoholic beverages.

Jim Conant, Chief Administrative Officer, Alcoholic Beverage Control Division, testified in support of SB
544 which would standardize the sale of alcoholic beverages on election days for all licensees. This bill was
requested by the ABC Division in an effort to address what has become a recurring enforcement concern for
the Division and local Law enforcement agencies. Although the bill is drafted to allow all sales on election
days, the Division’s concern is with consistency, whether that means allowing all sales or banning all sales.
(See Attachment #5)

Neal Whitaker, Executive Director, Kansas Beer Wholesalers Association, testified in support of SB 544,
stating there was no uniformity in enforcement of the law. Election day closing creates a real distribution
problem for beer wholesalers outside of the metropolitan areas. Most wholesalers send one truck to a
community on a weekly basis. When some establishments in a town are open and some are closed it causes
problems with the delivery schedule, creates additional costs in the form of overtime and fuel to service the
closed accounts at another time. Beer is delivered 2-3 times a week as it has a short shelf life. (See
Attachment #6)

Rebecca Rice, Legislative Counsel for Kansas Retail Liquor Dealers Association, provided testimony
supporting SB 544 stating the bill clarifies the laws. (See Attachment #7)

R. E. “Tuck” Duncan, Kansas Wine & Spirits Wholesalers Association, provided testimony supporting SB
544 stating it was impossible to ascertain to whom the law applied and to whom it did not. (See Attachment

#38)

Don Bird, Kansans For Life At Its Best, testified opposing SB 544, stating on a day when concentrated
efforts are being made to encourage the American public to participate more fully in the honored democratic
privilege of voting, the proposal to eliminate such a longstanding tradition raises some questions. (See
Attachment #9)

Representative Plummer moved and Representative Robinette seconded to move SB 544 out favorably. The
motion carried.

The Chairperson opened the hearing on HB 3048 dealing with cigarettes and tobacco products; relating to
regulation and taxation and monitoring sales of persons under age 18.

Representative Smith objected to the $1,000 fine on page 15, line 11. This amount is larger than a fine for
beer.

Representative Standifer briefed the committee on an amendment to HB 3048. (See Attachment #10)

Representative Standifer moved and Representative Benlon seconded to amend HB 3048 on page 11, line 13,

(p) by replacing with Bill Snell’s recommendation. (See Attachment #11)

It was asked of Representative Standifer if Section 15 would be deleted?
Representative Standifer stated, yes.

Representative Weinhold questioned the charge for fines.
Representative Wiard stated that possession was a problem.

Representative Sebelius moved and Representative Gilbert seconded a substitute motion to Table HB 3048.
The motion carried.

The Chairperson announced the Sub-committee on gaming would meet at 10:00 A.M. on Monday, March 14.
and the Sub-committee on Initiative would meet Friday, March 11 at 8:00 A.M.

The meeting adjourned at 3:10 P.M. and the next meeting will be March 14.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been

transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. 2
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As Amended by Senate Committee

Session of 1994

SENATE BILL No. 467

By Committee on Federal and State Affairs

1-11

AN ACT concerning legal public holidays; amending K.S.A. 35-107
and repealing the existing section.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 35-107 is hereby amended to read as follows:
35-107. (a) On and after January 1; 1976; The following days are
declared to be legal public holidays and are to be observed as such:

New Year's Day, January 1;

Lineoln’s Birthday; the twelith day in February;

Washington’s Birthday; the third Monday in February;

Martin Luther King, Jr., Day, the third Monday in January;

Bresidents” Washington and Lincoln Day, the third Monday in
February;

Memorial Day, the last Monday in May;

Independence Day, July 4;

Labor Day, the first Monday in September;

the second Monday in October;

Columbus Day; the second Monday in Oectobesr; Add Columbus Day,

Veterans' Day, the eleventh day in November 11;

Thanksgiving Day, the fourth Thursday in November;

Christmas Day, December 25.

(b) Any reference in the laws of this state concerning observance
of legal holidays shall en and after January 1; 1976; be considered
as a reference to the day or days prescribed in subsection (a) hereof
for the observance of such legal holiday or holidays.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 35-107 is hereby repealed.

Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after
January 1, 1995, and its publication in the statute book.
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MEW YEAR'S DAY

MARTIN LUTHER KING
LINCOLN'S BIRTHDAY
WASHINGTON'S BIRTHDAY
PRESIDENT'S DAY
MEMORIAL DAY
INDEPENDENCE DAY
LABOR DAY

COLUMBUS DAY
VETERANS' DAY

THANKSGIVING

CHRISTMAS

FEDERAL §

01/01/94

3rd Mon. in Jan.

last Mon. in May
07/04/94

1st Mon. in Sept.
2nd Mon. in Oct.

11/11/94

4th Thurs. in Nov.

12725794

STATE §

01/01/94
02/12/94
3rd Mon. in Feb.
last Mon. in May
07/04/94
1st Mon. in Sept.
2nd Mon. in Oct.
11/11/94

4th Thurs. in Nov.

12725794

(

* personnel Reg.

GOVERNOR

12/31/93 (F)%*

01/17/94 (M)

05/30/94 (M),
07/04/94 (M)
09/05/94 (M)
11/11/94 (F)

11/24/94.(Th).
-11/25/94 %EY;

12/26/94 (M)*

(1) Discretionéry

JUDICIAL

12/31/93 (F)

01/17/94 (M)

(02/21/94 )"
05/30/94 (1)
07/04/94 (M)
09/05/94 (M)

k}b/lh/94 >
11/11/94 (F)

11/24/94 (Th)
11/25/94 (F)

12/26/94 (M)

(1) Discretionary
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HEIN, EBERT AND WEIR, CHTD.
ATTORNEYS AT LAW
5845 S.W. 29th Street, Topeka, KS 66614-2462
Telefax: (913) 273-9243
(913) 273-1441
Ronald R. Hein
William F. Ebert
Stephen P. Weir

HOUSE FEDERAL AND STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE
TESTIMONY RE: SB 545
Presented by Ronald R. Hein
on behalf of
Coalition for Instant Bingo
March 10, 1994

Mr. Chairman, Members of the Committee:

My name is Ron Hein, and I am legislative counsel for the
Coalition for Instant Bingo. The Coalition for Instant Bingo is
a large organization, being comprised of the members of the
Kansas Charities Cooperative, the American Legion, the VFW, the
Elks, the Eagles, the Knights of Columbus, and the Sunflower Club
members, as well as numerous other bingo licensees.

The Coéalition for Instant Bingo supports SB 545, which
eliminates the one year repealer provision of the instant bingo
legislation which was enacted in 1993.

Instant bingo is an extremely popular game which is played
in at least thirty-two states, including all of the surrounding
states of Oklahoma, Nebraska, Missouri, and Colorado. In 1993,
we predicted that this legislation would be a win/win for the
charitable and fraternal organizations which utilize bingo as a
fundraising tool for their benevolent operations, and for the
state of Kansas, which would receive additional tax revenues from
the game.

Mr. Jim Conant distributed material on January 18, 1994, to
the Senate Federal and State Affairs Committee showing the sales
and corresponding 1% bingo enforcement tax receipts by the state
for the first five months the game was in operation.

Attached to this testimony, I have prepared a chart which
reflects the same numbers Jim Conant passed out to that
Committee, but also includes the amount of revenues raised for
the state and local units of government by virtue of the sales
tax on such instant bingo sales.

These numbers are consistent with our original projection to
the legislature that the instant bingo legislation could raise
between $500,000 and $1 million in tax revenue for the state each
year.
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march 10, 1994
Page Two

The one year repealer was put into the 1993 legislation for
two reasons. One, to insure that the fiscal note was positive
for the state, which obviously, it has been.

The second issue related to the constitutionality of instant
bingo. The Attorney General filed an action challenging the
constitutionality of the instant bingo legislation, which was
filed against the Department of Revenue. The Topeka Moose Lodge,
a representative organization of the Coalition for Instant Bingo,
filed a Motion to Intervene in the action. The Shawnee County
District Court Judge declared the act constitutional on a ruling
from the bench, following a Motion for Summary Judgment which had
been filed by the Attorney General.

However, the Attorney General has decided to appeal the
litigation to the Court of Appeals, and that appeal will be heard
later on this vyear.

The Coalition strongly believes that this appeal should have
no impact on the passage of SB 545. If the appeal is
unsuccessful, and the District Court decision declaring the
instant bingo legislation constitutional is upheld by the
Appellate Court, then there would be no further need for repealer
legislation on the books. If the appeal is successful, and the
act is struck down as unconstitutional, then the act will be null
and void anyway, and, once again, there would be no need for a
repealer action, as the court action would stop the legislation
instantly.

Therefore, we strongly urge the committee and the
legislature to approve SB 545.

Thank you very much for permitting me to testify, and I will
be happy to yield to questions.
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MONTH

OF MONTH
SALES

July Aug.
Aug. Sept.
Sept. Oct.
Oct. Nov.
Nov. Dec.
Dec. Jan.

Jan. 94 Feb.

TOTALS

MONTHLY AVG

ANNUALIZED

REC’'D.

94
$

$
$

BINGO

SALES

$ 271,300
1,943,700
1,055,500
897,800
636,400
862,500
1,033,200
6,700,400
957,200

11,486,400

STATISTICS

1%

ENFORCEMENT

TAX
$ 2,713
19,437
10,555
8,978
6,364
8,625
10,332
$ 67,004
$ 9,572

$114,864

4.9%
STATE

SALES TAX

$ 13,293
95,241
51,719
43,992
31,183
42,262
50,626

$328,316

$ 46,902

$562,827

FY 94

TOTAL
STATE
TAX
$ 16,006
114,678
62,274
52,970
37,547
50,887
60,958
$395,320
$ 56,474

$677,691



HOUSE FEDERAL AND STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE
TESTIMONY BY CHARLES M. YUNKER
ADJUTANT, KANSAS AMERICAN LEGION

ON SENATE BILL 545

Thank you for providing me the opportunity today to testify on
behalf of the more than 90,000 members of The Kansas American
Legion, American Legion Auxiliary and Sons of The American Legion in
favor of Senate Bill 545. I want to thank this committee for
holding hearings on SB 545 which would remove the repealer, or
sunset clause, from the current Kansas Bingo laws regarding Instant
Bingo.

In retrospect I think the repealer placed on Instant Bingo last
year by this Committee was a good idea. Although I wish we wouldn’t
be discussing Bingo this year (or any future year for that matter)
the repealer has provided everyone, (the State, Bingo Operators, and
the public) a time frame in which to review Instant Bingo’s
performance as both a revenue generating source for the State and
Bingo operators alike, but also as entertainment for the
participants.

Based upon a report given to the Senate Federal and State
Affairs Committee several weeks ago by Bingo Enforcement and I
assume you have received, or will receive, a similar report; Instant
Bingo is proving to be successful on all fronts. That is; the
overall revenue of Bingo sales is up, thus revenue to the State of
Kansas in the form of Enforcement taxes and sales taxes to the State
General Fund are up. Further, the tax receipts to the State thus
far are consistant with the projections presented to the Legislature
last year by the proponents of Instant Bingo, and all at very
minimal increases in costs or labor to the State.
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Given the performance and public acceptance of Instant Bingo, I
believe Senate Bill 545 is non-controversial and urge your passage

thus making Instant Bingo a permanent part of the Kansas Bingo Laws,



TO: The Honorable Clyde Graeber, Chairperson
House Committee on Federal and State Affairs

FROM: Don Bird

Kansans For Life At Its Best
DATE: March 10, 1994
RE: Senate Bill No. 545

Thank you for the opportunity to appear as an opponent to Senate
Bill No. 545. Although we have some concerns with conceptual
aspects of instant bingo, I would first like to ask your
consideration concerning the monitering of such games.

A recent discussion with a member of the Rules and Regulations
Committee -- who, by the way, voted in favor of instant bingo --
revealed that these games have been conducted this year without
rules and regulations as required by the enacted legislation.
This was confirmed by Dr. Wolf, the revisor staffperson assigned
to that committee. This Is something that I believe this
committee needs to address before it proceeds further on this
issue.

Secondly, we request the committee to urge the attorney general
to continue to completion the appeal of Judge Buchele's

district court decision concerning the constitutionality of
instant bingo.

And finally, we would ask, especially in light of recent
discussion about the definition of gambling terminology, that you
consider some questions in reference to Judge Buchele's decision.

1) Is our understanding correct, that the definition of
bingo is not limited to its classic application but that it
can assume any number of possible forms that the legislature
may choose?

2) If this is the case, could the legislature in the future
create bingo video, bingo keno, bingo slots, etc., etc.?

3) If that is true, can we assume, then, that as far back
as 1975 the legislature could have conceivably created these
same exotic forms of bingo?

[f the answers to these questions are potentlally in the
affirmative, we would encourage the legislature to close the 1lid
on Pandora's Box, leave the statute as it currently exists, and
allow instant bingo to lapse.
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STATE OF KANSAS

Robert A. Engler, Director
4 Townsite Plaza Suite 210
200 S.E. 6th Street

Topeka, Kansas 66603-3512

(913) 296-3946
FAX (913) 296-0922

Department of Revenue
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control

MEMORANDUM

TO: The Honorable Clyde Graeber, Chairman
House Committee on Federal & State Affairs

FROM: Jim Conant, Chief Administrative Officer
Alcoholic Beverage Control Division

DATE: March 10, 1994

SUBJECT:  Senate Bill 544

I appreciate the opportunity to appear before the committee today in support of Senate Bill 544, which
would standardize the sale of alcoholic beverages on election days for all licensees. This bill was
requested by the ABC Division in an effort to address what has become a recurring enforcement
concern for the Division and local law enforcement agencies. Although the bill is drafted to allow
all sales on election days, the Division's concern is with consistency, whether that means
allowing all sales or banning all sales.

The laws governing the sale of alcoholic beverages on election days date back to 1937 in the case of
cereal malt beverage (CMB), and 1949 in the case of alcoholic liquor. We believe these laws were
enacted to deal with situations where bars and taverns were also used as polling places, and to
deter attempts by unscrupulous candidates and their supporters to "buy votes” with liquor. Prior to
the advent of private clubs and, subsequently, full liquor by the drink, these laws had the effect of
halting all liquor sales during the time the polls were open in the state or a particular jurisdiction.
Under current law, however, all alcoholic beverages may be sold for consumption on state-
licensed premises, while package sales and on-premise CMB sales must be stopped while the polls
are open.

The inconsistent treatment of package sales vs. on-premise sales creates confusion for local
governing bodies and law enforcement agencies as well as licensees. Uncertainty exists as to the
type of election covered by the laws (bond elections, for example, do not require a halt in liquor
sales) and which licensees are affected (clubs and drinking establishments may sell CMB during
elections, locally-licensed taverns may not). These differences make the laws hard to enforce on
a consistent basis across the state, resulting in unnecessary efforts by local law enforcement and
inappropriate closures of businesses due to misinterpretation of the laws. The state and local
resources which must be diverted to interpret and enforce this confusing prohibition would be much
better utilized if directed at more serious violations which threaten the public health and welfare.

Thank you for your consideration of this bill. I would be happy to answer any questions the
committee may have.
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Testimony

before the

House Federal and State Affairs Committee
on Senate Bill 544

March 10, 1994

Kansas Beer Wholesalers Association supports ABC's effort to make election day
sales laws uniform. There is some irony in Kansas law today because the very
establishments that election day closing laws were aimed at - open saloons - are now
allowed to be open in the form of public drinking establishments.

Election day closing creates a real distribution problem for beer wholesalers
outside of the metropolitan areas. Most wholesalers send one truck to a community on a
weekly basis. When some establishments in a town are open and some are closed it
causes problems with the delivery schedule, creates additional costs in the form of
overtime and fuel to service the closed accounts at another time.

In addition, there is no uniformity in enforcement of the law. During a recent
school bond election in Smith Center the county attorney told a 3.2 on-premise
establishment that he must close during the time the polls were open, even though the

law refers to only national, state, county or city elections.
We encourage you to report Senate Bill S44 favorably .

Neal Whitaker
Executive Director
Kansas Beer Wholesalers Association

800 Jackson « Suite 1017 « Topeka, Kansas 66612-1216 « (913) 232-1230 « Fax (913) 232-8260 o =4
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TESTIMONY PRESENTED TO THE
HOUSE FEDERAL AND STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE
re;. SB 544

March 10, 1994

by: Rebecca Rice
Legislative Counsel for Kansas Retail Liquor Dealers Association

Thank you Mr. Chairman and members of the committee. My name 1s Rebecca Rice and I appear
before you today on behalf of the Kansas Retail Liquor Dealers Association in support of
Senate Bill 544,

The Association supports Senate Bill 544, which clarifies the laws regarding Election Day sales. The
Kansas Retail Liquor Dealers Association continues to support most legislation which eliminates the
inconsistencies in laws between alcohol beverage licensees, and, in addition, allows the retailer greater
flexibility in operating the business in a responsible and competitive manner.

I appreciate this opportunity to present our support of Senate Bill 544 and am willing to answer any
questions you may have.

Thank you, Mr. Chairman,
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WINE&PSPIRITS

WHOLESALERS ASSOCIATION. INC.

March 10, 1994

Testimony to be distributed.

To: House Committee on Federal and State Affairs

From: R.E. "Tuck" Duncan
John Bottenberg

Kansas Wine & Spirits Wholesalers Association

RE: Senate Bill 544

The Kansas Wine and Spirits Wholesalers Association supports Senate Bill 544.
During the last municipal/school board elections the KWSWA attempted to acquire a
list of the various types of elections and in which cities each was being held. First, we
asked the League of Kansas Municipalities and the Kansas County Association. They
were unable to tell us so KWSWA then inquired of the office of Secretary of State,
likewise without success. It was impossible to ascertain to whom the law applied and to
whom it did not. As a result, the current law caused wholesalers disruption in their
delivery patterns. As a general rule a retailer receives delivery on the same day each
delivery cycle. The same disruption which occurs for various holidays in municipal
services, is created by the current state of the law. Therefore, we support the

uniformity as proposed by SB 544 and encourage the committee to recommend this
bill favorably for passage.

Thank you for your attention to and consideration of this maiter.
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TO: The Honorable Clyde Graeber, Chairperson
House Committee on Federal and State Affairs

FROM: Don Bird

Kansans For Life At Its Best
DATE: March 10, 19934
RE: Senate Bill No. 544

After a little investigation, I discovered that the policy which
Senate Bill No. 544 proposes to change has been the practice of
this state for well over 100 Years. Kansas statutes have not
allowed the sale of alcoholic ligour on election days since 1880.
The state constitution prevented it until the repeal of
prohibition in 1948, whereupon the state legislature in 1949
enacted K.S.A. 41-712 as it currently reads.

My opponents have suggested that it was oversight that kept us
from changing an ‘"outdated" 1law. I suggest that it may be
oversight that prevented the legislature from making new policies
consistent with one that was sound and reasonable.

In a day when concentrated efforts are being made to encourage
the American public to participate more fully in the honored
democratic privilege of voting, the proposal to eliminate such a
longstanding tradition raises some questions.

1) Is it an assumption (or is it reality) that a vast
majority of these businesses are showing disregard for the
law? Shouldn't we assume that most retail owners are law-
abiding citizens who practice voluntary compliance with the
law? If so, then enforcement should not be an Issue; if
not, other more serious questions are in order,.

2) Why should the legislature even consider changing a
policy that promotes unimpaired judgment when its citizenry
enters the voting booth?

3) Does the difficulty of monitering a law by an
enforcement agency necessarily stand as sufficlent reason
for government to reverse a practice that communicates such
a valued message to its citizens?

My understanding is that the Alcoholic Beverage Control, who is

on record as having no position on the issue, has simply asked
for legislation that would bring consistency to the statute books

and thereby make their task easier. If uniformity of the law is

the need, then we encourage you to bring other statutes in accord
with K.S.A. 41-712 as it currently reads.
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Proceeding as SB 544 proposes would, we believe, raise questions
about government's initiative to urge its citizenry to vote with
as much good reason and judgment as possible.

Considering the tradition in the state of Kansas for well over a
century to promote sobriety in its citizens on election day,
let's not eliminate a policy that conveys to American society the
sacredness of the voting privilege granted its citizens.

I ask that the committee vote unfavorably on Senate Bill No. 544.
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Session of 1994
HOUSE BILL No. 3048
By Committee on Federal and State Affairs

2-16

AN ACT concerning cigarettes and tobacco products; relating to
regulation and taxation thereof; prohibiting certain acts and pro-
viding penalties for violations; amending K.S.A. 79-3301, 79-3302,
79-3303, 79-3304, 79-3309, 79-3316, 79-3321, 79-3322, 79-3323,
79-3326, 79-3373, 79-3377 and 79-3387 and repealing the existing
sections; also repealing K.S.A. 79-3305, 79-3310b, 79-3318, 79-
3370, 79-3372, 79-3376, 79-3380 through 79-3386 and 79-3390.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 79-3301 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3301. The fellowing words; terms and phrases As used in this
act; are hereby defined as follows:

(@) “Carrier” means one who transports cigarettes from a man-
ufacturer to a wholesale dealer or from one wholesale dealer to
another.

(b) “Carton” means the container used by the manufacturer of
cigarettes in which no more than 10 packages of cigarettes are placed
prior to shipment from such manufacturer.

tay (¢) ZGigarettes;~ “Cigarette” means any roll for smoking,
made wholly or in part of tobacco, irrespective of size or shape, and
irrespective of tobacco being flavored, adulterated or mixed with any
other ingredient if the wrapper is in greater part made of any material
except tobaccos.
seeciation; joint-stoek company; eorperation; estate; reeeiver;
trustee; assignee; referee or any other person aeting in a fi-
dueiary or representative eapaeity whether appeinted by a eoust
or otherwise and any combination of individuals:

{e} (d “Consumer” means that the person purchasing or re-
ceiving cigarettes or tobacco products for final uses.

{d} (¢) “Dealer” means every person; firm; eorporation; er
assoeiation of persons whe shall sell any person who engages in
the sale or manufacture of cigarettes in the state of Kansas, and who
is required to be licensed under the provisions of this acts.
arettes to other whelesale dealers; retail dealers; vending ma-
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chine operators and manufaecturers’ salesmen for the purpese
of resale in the state of Kansas:

 “Retail dealer” means & person other than a vending
machine eperator in possession of eigarettes for the purpese of
sale to a eonsumer;

tg} =Sele” means any transfer of title or possession or both;
exchange; barter; distribution or gift of eigarettes; with or with-
out consideration:

) (/ “Dealer establishment” means any location or premise;

ether than vending machine loeatiens; premisesat or from which
cigarcttes are sold, and where records are kepts,

{} “Tax indieia” means visible evidence of tax payment in
the form of stamps or meter imprints:
water applied gummed paper or heat proeess:
of ink printing machines;

&} (& “Director” means the director of taxations.

(h) “Distributor” means any and each of the following: (1) Any
person engaged in the business of selling tobacco products in this
state who brings, or causes to be brought, into this state from without
the state any tobacco products for sale; (2) any person who makes,
manufactures, fabricates or stores tobacco products in this state for
sale in this state; (3) any person engaged in the business of selling
tobacco products without this state who ships or transports tobacco
products to any person in the business of selling tobacco products
in this state.

{m} (i) “Division” means the division of taxationy.

n} “Manufacturer’s salosman” means a person employed by
o eigarette manufoeturer who sells eigarettes; manufactured by
sueh employer and proeured from wholesale dealers:
of eigarettes in which no mere than 10 packages of eigarettes
are placed prior to shipment from such manufacturer;

{p} “Package” means a container in which neo more than 25
individual eigarettes are wrapped and sealed by the manufae-
turer of ecigarettos prior to shipment to & wholesale dealer;

ta} “Reeceived” means the coming to rest of eigarettes for
s&le by any dealer in the state of Kansas:

8 Mending machine” means any eoin operated machine;
eontrivanee or deviee; by means of whieh eigarettes are sold
in their original package;

{s} “Vending machine operator’ means any persen whe

, other than vending machine locations,

you
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plaees a vending machine; owned; leased or operated by such
persen; at locations where eigarettes are sold therefrom: and
the owner or lessee of the premises upen which a vending
maehine is placed; shell not be eonsidered the eperator of the
machine; if such person dees not own or lease the machine
and if sueh person’s sole remuneration therefrom is a fat rental
ke%aeemmiséea;basedaﬁenéhemmbe;erval&eeieig—
arettes sold from the machine; or a combination of both ner
may sueh owner or lesseo or such ewner or lessee’s agents or
employees be an autherized agent of e vending machine op-
erator:

¢ () “License” means, in addition to the privilege of a licensee
to sell cigarettes or tobacco products in the state of Kansas, the
written evidence of such authority or privilege to so operate as
evidenced by any license er permit issued by the director of tax-
ations.

fa} (k) “Licensee” means any person holding a current license
or permit issued under the provisions of the cigarette tax laws
of the state of Kensas: issued pursuant to this act.

tv} “Distributer er dealer of eigarette vending machines”

{w} “GCarrier” means ono who tansports eigarettes frem a
manufaeturer te a wholesale dealer or from one whelesale
dealer to another:

() “Manufacturer’s salesperson” means a person employed by a
cigarette manufacturer who sells cigarettes, manufactured by such
employer and procured from wholesale dealers.

(m) “Meter imprints” means tax indicia applied by means of ink
printing machines.

(n) “Package” means a container in which no more than 25 in-
dividual cigarettes are wrapped and sealed by the manufacturer of
cigarettes prior to shipment to a wholesale dealer.

(0) “Person” means any individual, partnership, society, associ-
ation, joint-stock company, corporation, estate, receiver, trustee,
assignee, referee or any other person acting in a fiduciary or rep-
resentative capacity whether appointed by a court or otherwise and
any combination of individuals.

(p) “Received” means the coming to rest of cigarettes for sale by
any dealer in the state of Kansas.

(@ “Retail dealer” means a person 'in possession of cigarettes for
the purpose of sale to a consumer.

» Oother than a vending machine operator,

Vo
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(r) “Sale” means any transfer of title or possession or both,
exchange, barter, distribution or gift of cigarettes or tobacco prod-
ucts, with or without consideration.

(s) “Sample” means cigarettes or tobacco products distributed to
members of the general public at no cost for purposes of promoting
the product.

(t) “Stamps” means tax indicia applied either by means of water
applied gummed paper or heat process.

(w) “Tax indicia” means visible evidence of tax payment in the
form of stamps or meter imprints.

(v) “Tobacco products” has the meaning provided by K.S.A. 79-
3370 and amendments thereto.

(w) “Vending machine” means any coin operated machine, con-

trivance or device, by means of which merchandise may be sold.

“Wholesale dealer” means—those—persons wha-sell\¢i s

to other wholesale dealers, retail dealers,and manufacturer’s sales-
persons for the purpose of resale in the state of Kansas.

“Wholesale sales price” means the original net invoice price\\

for which manufacturer sells a tobacco product to a distributor, as
shown by the manufacturer’s original invoice.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 79-3302 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3302. (a) K.S.A. 79-3301 through 79-3304, 79-3306, 79-3309, 79-
3310, 79-3311, 79-3312, 79-3312a, 79-3313, 79-3316, 79-3321, 79-
3322, 79-3323, 79-3324a, 79-3326, 79-3328, 79-3329, 79-3371, 79-
3373, 79-3374, 79-3375, 79-3377, 79-3378, 79-3379, 79-3387, 79-3388

and sections 14 through-16] and amendments thereto, shall be known
and may be cited as the Kansas cigarette and tobacco products act.

(b) 1t is the purpose and intent of this act to levy a tax en
eigarettes sold; distributed; conveyed or given away in this
state; and to eollect such tax from the whelesale or retail eig-
arette dealer; who frst sells; distributes or eonveys the eiga-
rettes in the state of Kansas- It is further the intent and purpese
of this aet that where a wholesale dealer or manufacturer’s
or for any other purpese whatever; the eigarettes shall be taxed
in the same manner as i they were sold in this state; and that
such tox shall be paid in the manner preseribed by rules and
regulations of the secretary of revenue regulate the sale of cig-
arettes and tobacco products in this state and to impose a tax
thereon.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 79-3303 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3303. Each person engaged in the business of selling cigarettes
in the state of Kansas shall seeure obtain a license as hereinafter

- : ~

N

(x) "Vending machine distributor" means any perso
who sells cigarette vending machines to a vendin
machine operator operating vending machines in th

state of Kansas.
(y) "Vending machine operator" means any perso
who places a vending machine, owned, leased or operate

by such person, at locations where cigarettes are sol
therefrom. The owner or lessee of the premises upo
which a vending machine is placed shall not b

considered the operator of the machine,”nor shall th
owner or lessee, or any employee or agent thereof b
considered an authorized agent of the vending machin
operator, if the owner or lessee does not own or leas
the machine and the owner's or lessee's sol
remuneration therefrom 1is a flat rental -fee or
commission, based upon the number or value o)
gigarettes sold from the machine, or a combination o
oth.

means any person who sells

vending machine operators

and 15
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set eut provided by this act. A separate application, license; and

fee is required for each dealer establishment owned or operated by

said a dealers Provided, That a vending machine operator may
submit one application for a vending machine eperator's master
him or her. The license shall be displayed in the dealer establish-
mentandéheveaéiagm&ehiﬁeper—mi&shal—l;emaiasee&%ely
and visibly attached to the vending machine and contain such
information as the director may require. Any vending machine
found without such permit attached thereto shall be sealed by
megea%e#%heé#ee@e*andsa&ésealsh&llbe;emeveéealy
byeaageméthedkeetefe&erpaymeatei&bepefmkieeaad
pemléeshe;ein&&erpreﬁéed:%eapplie&éeﬁferave&d&ag
smits shall list the brend name and seriel number of each mea-
chine, and such other information as required by the direetor:
Exeeptiaeeee;é&neewi&hpmpes}aé&e&alerde*erese&herwi&e
p;eviéedbylawitshallbea&l&w&l%raayéﬁeefesempleyee
of the department of taxation fo divulge or meke known in any
way; the loeation of any cigarette machineo te any persen net
an officer or employee of such division: Provided; That such
mfefm&&eamaybedw&lgeéteaaylawea#efeemea&eﬁﬁeer
%fasebysueheﬁeefiahise;heyeﬁieialé&&iesaadiasueh
e&pae*éyh;&-nyeiﬁeererempleyee;eve&kageaysuehleem
in violation of this prevision; shell in additien to the penslties

A vending machine operater; in the eourse of his business
&saveaéiagmaebiﬁeepemmﬁmaydispeseeﬁmsellveadk}g
machines witheut seeuring a license to sell vending machines:
from one location to enother and should & vending machine
beeome inoperative or be dispesed of; the permit pertaining
thereto may bo transferred to another machine: A vending me-
ehineepemte%sh&llwithiﬂteﬁ(—k@)é&y&ne%&ythed#ee@ereﬁ
the brand name; end serial pumber of vending machines that
beeemeiaepemt#e;tha%&redéspesedefbyhimerheﬁseld
by him or her; eequired by him or her or brought into serviee
in this state as additional machines: The key to the lower or
storage compartment of a vending machine shell remain only
in the pessession of the vending machine operater or his or
of & vending machine shall be performed by the vending me-
ehine operator thereof or his or her autherized agent: All vend-

—— Reinsert language regarding vending machines

jion
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ing machines shall be subjeet to inspeetion by the direetor or
his or her euthorized egents: No vending machine shall be
licensed unless it is so constructed that at least one package
of each vertical eclumn of eigarettes loeated therein is visible
have a permit affixod therote and the eigarettes shall show tax

/O

indieia of the Kansas tex _

Concurrently with a change in ownership of a dealer establishment
the license applicable thereto is void and shall be surrendered to
the director and shall not be transferred. On removal of a dealer
establishment from one location to another, the owner thereof shall
notify the director and surrender his or her license. The director
shall issue a new license for the unexpired term of the surrendered
license on payment of a fee of two dellars (32} $2 to be deposited
in the general revenue state treasury and credited to the state
general fund. Should a dealer’s license become lost, stolen; or de-
stroyed, the director may issue a new license on proof of loss, theft;
or destruction, at a cost of bwe dellars ($2} $2, to be deposited in
the general revenue state treasury and credited to the state general
fund.

Sec. 4. K.S.A. 79-3304 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3304. (a) Commencing with the biennium beginning January 1,
1986, the license o permit fee for each biennium or portion thereof
shall be as follows: {a} Retasl dealers Hoorse-

(1) For retail dealer’s license, $12 for each dealer establishment.

b} Retail dealer on railroed- (2) For retailer's license on
railroad or sleeping cars, $50. Only one retail license need be ob-
tained by each railroad or sleeping car company to permit it to sell
the sale of cigarettes on any or all of its cars within the state.

{e} Shotw; carnival and scatoring loense- (3) For show, car-
nival or catering license, $50 for each concession.

{8} Tomporary retail liconse- (4) Resident retail dealer’s tem-
porary license for a place of business of a temporary nature, $2 for
each seven days or portion thereof.

{e} Wholssals dealers leonss- (5) For wholesale dealer’s li-
cense, $50, for each dealer establishment. No wholesale dealer’s
license shall be issued until the person applying therefor has filed
with the director a bond payable to the state of Kansas in such an
amount as shall be fixed by the director, but in no event less than
$1,000, with a corporate surety authorized to do business in the
state of Kansas, and approved by the director. Should a wholesale
dealer be unable to secure a corporate surety bond, the director
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may issue a license to such wholesale dealer, upon the wholesale
dealer furnishing a personal bond meeting the approval of the di-
rector. Such bond shall be conditioned that the wholesale dealer
therein named will faithfully comply with all the provisions of this
act during the license period. Whelesale dealers shall submit to
the direetor upon request such records of sale or distributien
of cigarettes made in the state of Kansas; as may be required
by the direector- All records pertaining to sale of cigoerettes in
the state of Kansas shall be preserved for a period of twe years-
Failure to furnish the direetor with such information as may
be required shall be eause for suspension or revoeation of any
A whelesale dealer selling eigarettes to & manufaeturer’s
salesman shall at the time of delivery of same make & true
duplieate inveiee inserting therein the name of the salesmen
togother with the neme of such salesman’s employer:
8y Distributor or deelor of veonding machincs liconse: A |
distributer or dealer who sells eigarette vending machines into
the state of Kansas must seeure a license at a fee of $50; and
report on or before the tenth day of each month all sueh sales
made during the preceding month in Kansas to the direetor en
forms furnished by the direector; showing the name and address
of the purchaser: brand name of the machine; serial number
of the machine and the sale priee- —_—
{g) Manufacturers salosman lcense- (6) Manufacturer’s
salesman salesperson licenses, $20 for each salesman salesperson.
The manufacturer’s salesman salesperson shall, with respect to each
sale made to a retail dealer, make and deliver to the retail dealer
a true invoice wherein such salesman salesperson shall insert the
name of the wholesale dealer from whom such selesman salesperson
secured such cigarettes, together with such selesman’s salesperson’s
own name and the name of the retail dealer purchasing the cigarettes.
&) Vonding machine operator’s mastor liconse- No vending
machine operator shall place any vending machine ewned;
leased or operated by sueh operator at any loeation for the
purpose of selling eigarettes therefrom without Hrst having
made application to and having reeeived from the director; @
eharged for sueh license-
chine eperator’s master license; the operator of each eigarette
vending machine shall ebtain a permit for each vending ma-
chino operated by such operator for a foe of $12 for each permit-

Reinsert language regarding vending machines

— Reinsert language regarding vending machines

0"



Pt bt ok ot
WO O©Oo-1M U i Wk

14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22

24

26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34

36
37
38
30

42

HB 3048
8

(b) An application for a retail dealer’s; whelesale dealer’s or
vending machine operater’s master any license required under
the provisions of this act may be refused to: {a} (I} A person who
is not of good character and reputation in the community in which
such person resides; {b} or (2) a person who has been convicted of
a felony or of any crime involving moral turpitude or of the violation
of any law of any state or the United States pertaining to cigarettes
or tobacco products and who has not completed the sentence, parole,
probation or assignment to a community correctional services pro-
gram imposed for any such conviction within two years immediately
preceding the date of making application for any of such licenses.

Sec. 5. K.S.A. 79-3309 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3309. (@) Whenever the director shall haxe has reason to believe
that any dealer in eigarettes person licensed under this act has
violated any of the provisions of the eigarette tax law this act, the
director shall notify sueh dealer by registered or the person by
certified mail of the director’s intention to suspend or revoke the
person’s license or licenses of sueh dealer- Within 10 days after
mailing sueh noblice; such dealer within 10 days after the mailing
of the notice, the person may request a hearing in writing before
the director. The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the
provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act. If, after such
hearing, it appears to the satisfaction of the director that sueh deeler
the person has violated any of the provisions of the eigarette tax
law this act, the director is hereby authorized and empowered to
suspend or revoke the person’s license or licenses ef any sueh
dealer and may in addition deny the application of any sueh deealer
the person for a license or licenses for a portion of the succeeding
calendar year for such period as the director determines is necessary
but in no case for a period ending more than one year following
the date upon which sueh the license or licenses were suspended
or revoked. The suspension or revoeation of the vending me-
chine eperator’s master license shall suspend or reveke all
vending machino permits issued to sueh vending machine op-
erator for the temm of such suspension or revoeation of such
lieense-

(b) If eny dealer shall continue to sell eigarettes at any
dealer establishment or from a vending machine; a person con-
tinues to engage in activities requiring a license under this act after
having notice or knowledge of the suspension or revocation of &
Heense or permit issued to such dealer for sueh establishment
or vending machine; or shall eontinue for the person's license or
licenses or after becoming more than 10 days after beeceming de-

Reinsert language regarding vending machines

permit,
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linquent in the payment of any tax, penalty or interest; teo sell
eigarettes imposed pursuant to this act, the state shall be entitled,
in any proceedings brought for such purposes, to have an order and
judgment restraining and enjoining such unlawful sale and no bond
shall be required for the issuance of any such restraining order or
injunction.

Sec. 6. K.S.A. 79-3316 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3316. (a) All purchases of cigarettes by any dealer shall be evi-
denced by an invoice, a duplicate of which shall be furnished the
party receiving seid the cigarettes from any dealer and shell be
preserved for a peried of two {2} years whieh duplieates shall

be retained at the place of sale.

(b) Purchases of cigarettes by wholesale eigarette dealers shall
be made from the manufacturers of cigarettes or from other Kansas
licensed wholesale dealers. Purchases of cigarettes by retail dealers
shall be from wholesale dealers.

(¢c) All invoices issued by wholesale dealers shall be in duplicate
and a copy must accompany the consigned cigarettes. Cigarettes sold
by a wholesale dealer to any other dealer shall be evidenced by
invoices bearing the vendee’s name and license number. A wholesale
dealer selling cigarettes to a manufacturer’s salesperson shall at the
time of delivery of same make a true duplicate invoice inserting
therein the name of the salesman together with the name of such
salesperson’s employer.

(d) All records pertaining to sales of cigarettes by dealers in the
state of Kansas shall be preserved for a period of three years and
shall be available for inspection by the director or the director’s
designee at the dealer’s place of business.

(¢) Every wholesale dealer shall report to the director on or
before the tenth 10th day of each month, stating the amount of
cigarettes sold during the preceding month; and shall further report
and the amount of all cigarettes returned to the manufacturer. Any
wholesale dealer who refuses any shipment or part of a shipment of
unstamped cigarettes or has a shortage in the shipment of cigarettes
consigned to him er her such dealer shall in the monthly report
next following the refusal or shortage report to the director the
number of packages or cartons of cigarettes refused or short and the
name of the carrier from whom the cigarettes were refused or short-
age occurred. Such report shall be made on forms provided by the
director and shall contain such other information as the director may
require.

(/ Exemption from payment of cigarette tax on sale of cigarettes
made outside the state by any wholesale dealer shall be filed on
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forms provided by the director. Purchase of cigarettes by retail
dealers or vending machine operators shall be from whelesale
dealers-

Sec. 7. K.S.A. 79-3321 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3321. It shall be unlawful for any person:

(a) To possess, except as otherwise specifically provided by this
act, more than 200 cigarettes without the required tax indicia being
affixed as herein provided.

(b) To mutilate or attach to any individual package of cigarettes
any stamp that has in any manner been mutilated or that has been
heretofore attached to a different individual package of cigarettes or
to have in possession any stamps so mutilated.

(c) To prevent the director or any officer or agent authorized by
law, to make a full inspection for the purpose of this act, of any
place of business and all premises connected thereto where cigarettes
are or may be manufactured, sold, distributed, or given away.

(d) To use any artful device or deceptive practice to conceal any
violation of this act or to mislead the director or officer or agent
authorized by law in the enforcement of this act.

(e) Who is a dealer to fail to produce on demand of the director
or any officer or agent authorized by law any records or invoices
required to be kept by such person.

() Knowingly to make, use, or present to the director or agent
thereof any falsified invoice or falsely state the nature or quantity
of the goods therein invoiced.

() Who is a dealer to fail or refuse to keep and preserve for
the time and in the manner required herein all the records required
by this act to be kept and preserved.

(h) To wholesale cigarettes to any person, other than a manu-
facturer’s salesman salesperson, retail dealer or wholesaler who is:

(1) Duly licensed by the state where such manufacturer’s sales-
person, retail dealer or wholesaler is located, or

(2) exempt from state licensing under applicable state or federal
laws or court decisions including any such person operating as a
retail dealer upon land allotted to or held in trust for an Indian tribe
recognized by the United States bureau of Indian affairs.

(i) To have in possession any evidence of tax indicia provided for
herein not purchased from the director.

() To fail or refuse to permit the director or any officer or agent
authorized by law to inspect a carrier transporting cigarettes.

(k) To vend small cigars, or any products so wrapped as to be
confused with cigarettes, from a machine vending cigarettes, nor
shall a vending machine be so built to vend cigars or products that

/¢
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may be confused with cigarettes, be attached to a cigarette vending
machine.

() To sell, furnish or distribute cigarettes or tobacco products
to any person under 18 years of age.

(m) Eer any persen Who is under 18 years of age to purchase
or possess, or attempt to purchase or possess, cigarettes or tobacco
products.

(n) To sell cigarettes to a retailer or at retail that do not bear
Kansas tax indicia or upon which the Kansas cigarette tax has not
been paid.

(0) To sell cigarettes without having a license for such sale as
provided herein. .

_(p) To sell eigarette vending machines witheut having a L
eense as provided herein for sale of vending machines-cigametias
or-tobacco—produstsfrom

/1

0

without having a vending machine distributor's license

a vending machine

(@) Who is a retail dealer to fail to post and maintain in a
conspicuous place in the dealer’s establishment the following notice:
“By law, cigarettes and tobacco products may be sold only to persons
18 years of age and older.”

() To distribute samples within 500 feet of any school when such
facility is being used primarily by persons under 18 years of age
unless the sampling is: (1) In an area to which persons under 18
years of age are denied access; (2) in or at a retail location where
cigarettes and tobacco products are the primary commodity offered
for sale at retail; or (3) at or adjacent to an outdoor production,

repair or construction site or facility.

Sec. 8. K.S.A. 79-3322 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3322. (a) Any person who violates any of the provisions of this
act, except as otherwise provided in this act, shall be guilty of a
misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be punished by a fine of
not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than one year,
or by both. In addition thereto any person found liable for any license
or permit fee or tax imposed under the provisions of this act shall
be personally liable for such license er permit fee or tax plus a
penalty in an amount equal to 100% thereof.

(b) Any person who violates this act by selling, furnishing or
distributing semple eigarettes or sample smokeless tebaeeo cig-
arettes or tobacco products to any person under 18 years of age
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be pun-
ished by a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $2,500 or
imprisonment for not more than one year, or by both.

1t shall be a defense to a prosecution under this subsection if: (1)
The defendant is a licensed retail dealer or a person authorized by

(s) To sell cigarettes or tobac

( _ co products from
vending machlpe, or to allow a vending machine to bg
placed on premises owned or operated by such person
unless purchases from such machine require interventioﬁ

of an employee
premises. ployee or agent of the owner or lessor of the
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law to distribute samples; (2) the defendant sold, furnished or dis-
tributed the cigarettes or tobacco products to the person under 18
years of age with reasonable cause to believe the person was of legal
age to purchase or receive cigarettes or tobacco products; and (3)
to purchase or receive the cigarettes or tobacco products, the person
under 18 years of age exhibited to the defendant a driver’s license,
Kansas nondriver’s identification card or other official or apparently
official document containing a photograph of the person and pur-
porting to establish that the person was of legal age to purchase or

receive cigarettes or tobacco products. '
(c) Any agent, employees or others who aid, abet or otherwise
participate in any way in the violation of this act or in any of the
offenses hereunder punishable shall be guilty and punished as prin-
cipals to the same extent as any person violating the this act.

Sec. 9. K.S.A. 79-3323 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3323. (a) The following are declared to be common nuisances and
contraband:

(1) All packages of cigarettes, in quantities of &wenty {20} 20
packages or more, not bearing indicia of tax payment as required in

this act end ell deviees for vending eigarettes in which un-

yZ

0

It shall be a defense to a prosecution under this
subsection if: (1) The defendant is not a retail dealer
or a person authorized by law to distribute samples;
and (2) the defendant furnished the cigarettes or
tgbacco products to the person under 18 years of age
with reasonable cause to believe the person was of
legal age to receive cigarettes or tobacco products.

stamped packages are found; and; — Reinsert

(2) all property and paraphernalia, other than vehicles, used in
the retail sale of sueh unstamped packages; other than vehieles;
are hereby declared to be common nuisances and eontraband
unstamped packages of cigarettes; and

(3) all vending machines used to dispense cigarettes or tobacco
products. )

Gigareties in vending machines and expesed to view not
showing indieia of tax payment required by this aet to be visible | -
from the outside of the vending machine shall be presumed to
be unstamped- -

(b) Any cigarettes or property constituting a common nuisance
and contraband as herein provided by this section may be seized
by the director or his er her the director’s authorized agent or any
duly constituted peace officer with or without process or warrant
and shall be subject to forfeiture as provided in this act. The party
making the seizure shall deliver to the vending machine operater
owner of the property and to the person or persons found in pos-
session of the same property a receipt stating from whom the prop-
erty was seized, the place of seizure; and a description and the brand
of the geods or the property seized. A duplicate of said the receipt
shall be filed in the office of the director and shall be open for
public inspection.

- Reinsert
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Sec. 10. K.S.A. 79-3326 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3326. The director of taxation shall administer and enforce the
provisions of this act. The secretary of revenue shall adopt rules and
regulations for the administration of this act. For the purpose of
enforcing this act the director may call to his er her the director’s
aid any law enforcement officer of this state to prosecute all violators
of any of the provisions hereef end of this act. The police of all
eities any city shall have the right to inspect all premises, records
and invoices pertaining to the purchase and sale of eigarettes of
such dealers in their respeetive eities wholesale distribution, re-
tail sale or sampling of cigarettes or tobacco products within the
city at all reasonable times. All agents and representatives of des-
ignated by the director are hereby invested with all the powers of
peace and police officers within the state of Kansas in the enforce-
ment of the eigarette tax law provisions of this act throughout the
state.

Sec. 11. K.S.A. 79-3373 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3373. Erem end after 12:01 o’elock a:m- on July I; 1872; No
person shall engage in the business of selling or dealing in tobacco
products as a distributor in eny place of business in this state
without first having received a license from the director to engage
in such business at that place of business. Every application for
such license shall be made on a form prescribed by the director and
shall state the name and address of the applicant; if the applicant
is a firm, partnership or association, the name and address of each
of its members; if the applicant is a corporation, the name and
address of each of its officers; the address of its principal place of
business; the place where the business to be licensed is to be con-
ducted; and such other information as the director may require for
the purpose of the administration of this act. A person witheut
outside this state who ships or transports tobacco products to retailers
in this state, to be sold by those retailers, may make application for
license as a distributor, be granted such a license by the director;
and thereafter be subject to all the provisions of this act and entitled
to act as a licensed distributor: Zrevided: That he er she file proef
with his er her application that he or she if the person files with
the application proof that the person has appointed the secretary of
state as his or her the person’s agent for service of process relating
to any matter or issue arising under this act.

Sec. 12. K.S.A. 79-3377 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3377. Exvery (a) Each distributor shall keep in each licensed place
of business complete and accurate records for that place of business,
including itemized invoices of: (1) Tobacco products held, purchased,

/7
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manufactured, brought in or caused to be brought in from witheut
outside the state; or shipped or transported to retailers in this state;
end of; and (2) all sales of tobacco products made, except sales to
an ultimate consumer. Such records shall show the names and ad-
dresses of purchasers; and other pertinent papers and documents
relating to the purchase, sale; or disposition of tobacco products.
When a licensed distributor sells tobacco products exclusively to
ultimate consumers at the addresses given in the license, no invoice
of those sales shall be required, but itemized invoices shall be made
of all tobacco products transferred to other retail outlets owned or
controlled by that licensed distributor. All books, recordsg and other
papers and documents required by this seetion subsection to be
kept shall be preserved for a period of at least twe (2} three years
after the date of the documents; as aforesaid; or the date of the
entries thereof appearing in the records, unless the director, in
writing, authorizes their destruction or disposal at an earlier date.

(b) At any time during usual business hours duly authorized
agents or employees of the director may enter any place of business
of a distributor and inspect the premises, the records required to
be kept under this act; and the tobacco products contained therein,
to determine whether or not all the provisions of this act are being
fully complied with. Refusal to permit such inspection by a duly
authorized agent or employee of the director shall be grounds for
revocation of the license. Every

(¢) Each person who sells tobacco products to persons other than
an ultimate consumer shall render with each sale itemized invoices
showing the seller's name and address, the purchaser’s name and
address, the date of sale; and all prices and discounts. He er she
Such person shall preserve legible copies of all such invoices for twe
{2} yvears frem three years after the date of sale. Every retailer

(d) Each distributor shall procure itemized invoices of all tobacco
products purchased. The invoices shall show the name and address
of the seller and the date of purchase. The retailer distributor shall
preserve a legible copy of each such invoice for twe {2} years from
three years after the date of purchase. Invoices shall be available
for inspection by authorized agents or employees of the director at
the retailer’s distributor’s place of business.

Sec. 13. K.S.A. 79-3387 is hereby amended to read as follows:
79-3387. (a) All revenue collected or received by the director from
the licenses and taxes imposed by this act shall be depeosited
nonthly with the state treasurer and by him or her eredited
remitted daily to the state treasurer, who shall deposit the entire
amount in the state treasury and credit it to the state general fund.
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() All moneys received from license fees imposed by this act
shall be collected by the director and shall be remitted daily to the
state treasurer who shall deposit the entire amount in the state
treasury and credit it to the cigarette and tobacco products regu-
lation fund created by section 14.

New Sec. 14. (a) In addition to or in lieu of any other civil or
criminal penalty provided by law, the secretary of revenue or the
secretary’s designee, upon a finding that a licensee under this act
has violated any provision of this act or any provision of any rule
and regulation of the secretary of revenue adopted pursuant to this
act shall impose on such licensee a civil fine not exceeding $1,000
for each violation.

(b) No fine shall be imposed pursuant to this section except upon
the written order of the secretary of revenue or the secretary’s
designee to the licensee who committed the violation. Such order
shall state the violation, the fine to be imposed and the right of the
licensee to appeal the order. Such order shall be subject to appeal
and review in the manner provided by the Kansas administrative
procedure act.

(c) Any fine collected pursuant to this section shall be paid to
the sate treasurer, who shall deposit the entire amount in the state
treasury and credit it to the cigarette and tobacco products regulation
fund.

(d) There is hereby created, in the state treasury, the cigarette
and tobacco products regulation fund. Moneys in the fund shall be
expended only for the enforcement of this act and rules and regu-
lations adopted pursuant to this act. Such expenditures shall be made
in accordance with appropriation acts upon warrants of the director
of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by
the secretary of revenue or a person designated by the secretary.
Sec. 15. This act expressly preempts the regulation of-the
ting, licensing, distribution, advertising, samplitfg, pro-
of cigarettes and tobacco products, gr/afy limitation
acco products by any res}ricﬁon of the use of
coupons, discounts, promational allowances or premiums by any city,
county or other political subdivision f-this state and expressly su-
persedes any ordinance or reso by any city, county or other
political subdivision of this state that pertajns to these matters which
is adopted before, on oréfster the effective date of this act. A city,
county or other hﬁ:al subdivision of this state adopt an or-
dinance or resslution under the provisions of this act, bu
or restricted by such ordinance or resolution
nduct prohibited or restricted under this act

(strike)
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New Sec. 160 The provisions of K.S.A. 79-3610, 79-3611, 79-
3612, 79-3613, 79-3614, 79-3615 and 79-3617, and amendments
thereto, relating to the assessment, collection, appeal and admin-
istration of the retailers’ sales tax, insofar as practical, shall have full
force and effect with respect to taxes imposed by this act.

Sec. H, K.S.A. 79-3301, 79-3302, 79-3303, 79-3304, 79-3305, 79-

- -15
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3309, 79-3310b, 79-3316, 79-3318, 79-3321, 79-3322, 79-3323, 79-
3326, 79-3370, 79-3372, 79-3373, 79-3376, 79-3377, 79-3380 through
79-3387 and 79-3390 are hereby repealed.

17

Sec. 18 This act shall take effect and be in force from and after
its publication in the statute book.
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Wichita Interagency Council on Smoking and Health
March 7, 1994

Rep. Clyde D. Graeber, Chairperson
House Federal and State Affairs Committee
State Capitol Building

Topeka, KS 66612

Dear Rep. Graeber:

House Bill #3048 appears worthy of support in the main, with the striking exception of its

preemption clause, Section 15. May we request, urgently and emphatically, that this Section be
eliminated from the bill.

This clause would prohibit local governments from interfering in any way with the tobacco
industry’s ubiquitous and unrelenting promotion of its product, and should be recognized for the
subversive intent which motivates its inclusion in this bill.

Nothing could be more disingenuous than the argument that its effect would be to confer
uniformity on local laws throughout the state. Uniformity of regulation and enforcement can be
accomplished by means far less detrimental to the efforts of localities to control tobacco use than
would be inflicted by this preemption clause. The clause clearly has no beneficent purpose and

would serve only to disarm all opposition to the unconscionable seduction of the young and
impressionable into this ruinously harmful and addictive habit.

Studies by health policy analysts have shown that similar attempts by the tobacco industry to
nullify local initiatives through state preemption laws have been made, or are being made, in at
least 45 states nationwide. As in the present instance, these are promoted by industry lobbyists
or local front groups, and are unequivocally inimical to the public interest.

As confirmed by the Centers for Disease Control, smoking persists as the single leading cause of
death in this country, by causing or significantly contributing to the development of seriously
disabling diseases several of which, especially lung cancer and heart disease, are often fatal. The
burdens imposed on society and the national economy are enormous. The devastating drain on

welfare resources in Kansas made by indigent patients with tobacco-induced disease is a case in
point.

We have a moral responsibility, such as by removing the preemption clause from HB 3048, to

resist in the most effective ways possible all who would promote this destructive habit. To do

otherwise is to condone the tobacco industry’s exploitative purposes and to betray the trust of
the people of Kansas.

Respectfully submitted,

Phillip M. Allen, M.D., Ph.D.

Atal 7,



MEMORANDUM

TO: The Honorable Clyde Graeber, Chairman
House Federal and State Affairs Committee

FROM: William W. Sneed

Legislative Counsel

The Smokeless Tobacco Council
DATE: March 9, 1994

RE: H.B. 3048

As you are aware, H.B. 3048 was heard in your Committee on March 7,
1994. Since that time I have discussed the bill with several Committee members and have
picked up several questions that have consistently been raised by the various members of
your Committee. Inasmuch as several Committee members have raised the same issues,
[ thought it would be helpful if I provided you some additional information on these points.

1. Vending machines. In its current form the bill provides for a total ban
on all vending machines. Several members of the Committee have requested information
on other types of vending machine limitations as opposed to a complete ban. Attached to
this memorandum is some language that is being used in other states to limit the use of

vending machines.

2. Local enforcement. There appears to be some confusion as to the

effect the uniformity provision will have on local enforcement (New Section 15 on page
15). Frommy review of the bill, Section 10 found on page 13, which amends K.S.A. 79-
3326, keeps intact the ability of local law enforcement to enforce the provisions of the Act.
However, if there is a concern that New Section 15 diminishes that ability, [ would suggest

the following -amendment:

/)



on page 16 in line 2 following the period, add a new sentence as follows:

Nothing in this act shall prohibit the enforcement of the
provisions of this act by local law enforcement officials.

3. Uniformity. It is our contention that the uniformity provision found
in H.B. 3048 should be a major component of this bill from the state’s perspective. It is

vitally important to remember that it is the state’s responsibility under ADAMHA. Failure

to demonstrate compliance will result in the state’s losing valuable federal funding. The
sample done by the Department of Revenue already demonstrates a lack of compliance,
even though local units of government currently could be enforcing the laws now on the
books. Further, a patchwork type of regulation may create an inability for the state to
prove its compliance under federal law. Finally, from a business perspective, having one
set of rules to comply with will create a much better working environment when training
those individuals who will be involved in the point of sale on these products. Thus, the
uniformity in and of itself creates a much better likelihood of greater compliance in the
prohibition against minors procuring the tobacco product.

I hope that this information answers some of the questions raised by your
Committee. Needless to say, if you have any additional questions, please feel free to

contact me.

Respectfully submitted,

William W. Sneed

/-
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On page 11, line 13, add the following:

(p) To vend cigarettes or tobacco products at retail through a
vending machine located other than in: (1) a factory business
office or other place not open to the general public, in which
event the vending machine shall be in a place to which persons
under the age of 18 are denied access, or where the vending
machine is under the supervision of the owner of the establish-
ment or an employee of such owner; (2) a place to which
persons under the age of 18 are denied access; (3) places
where alcoholic beverages are offered for sale; or (4) a place
where the vending machine is under the supervision of the
owner of the establishment or an employee of such owner.
This prohibition shall not apply if the machine can be operated
only by the activation of an electronic switch by the owner of
the establishment or an employee of such owner prior to each
purchase, or is accessible only through the use of tokens.

NOTE: If the Committee chooses to amend the bill this or a similar fashion, the language
on page 12, lines 26-27, would need to be stricken and where appropriate the term
"vending machine" would have to be inserted throughout the bill.




