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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND INSURANCE.
The meeting was called to order by Chairperson William Bryant at 3:30 p.m. on March 16, 1994 in Room
527-S of the Capitol. |

All members were present except: Representative Susan Wagle
Representative George Teagarden

Committee staff present: William Wolff, Legislative Research Department
Bruce Kinzie, Revisor of Statutes
Nikki Feuerborn, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Brad Smoot, Hartford Steam Boiler and Inspection Company
Dick Brock, Insurance Department
Representative Al Lane
Joe Speyer, Speyer Realty Company
Jean Duncan, Real Estate Commission

Others attending: See attached list

HEARING ON SB 568: Repeal of requirements of stock value for certain companies

Brad Smoot, representing the Hartford Steam Boiler Inspection and Insurance Company, explained the unique
law of Kansas regarding $1 par value requirements for stock (Attachment 1). This statute has had the effect of
substituting a $2.5 million insurer (at the time) for a $700 million company which seems contrary to the
apparent consumer interests. Problems have developed with the Industrial Risk Insurers as Hartford has
participated in IRI at a rate of .484% or $21,780 of the $4.5 million direct written premium in Kansas.
Hartford must either withdraw from the IRI or amend its bylaws to require a $1 par value. Neither appears to
be in the best interest of Kansas customers or shareholders. They are hereby requesting the repeal of the
current statute K.S.A. 40-209a.

HEARING ON SB 569: Risk-based capital requirements

This bill would require domestic life insurance companies, and foreign companies upon request, to submit
with their annual statement to the Insurance Commissioner, a report of their risk-based capital levels at the end
of the calendar year. Bill would authorize increasingly serious regulatory action against a deficient company.

Dick Brock, Insurance Department, stated that the bill would require that insurers maintain an amount of
capital and/or surplus that is commensurate with the perceived riskiness of their respective assets, liabilities,
and off-balance sheet activities (Attachment 2). The four major categories of risks to be measured are those
associated with: a) the insurer's assets, e.g. investment portfolio; b) the type of insurance the company writes,
e.g. predominantly traditional life insurance products versus interest sensitive contracts; c) an insurer's
profitability because of interest rate considerations, e.g. single premium deferred annuity products where the
guaranteed interest rate is designed to compete with non-insurance investment products; and d) other variable
aspects of an insurer's operations, e.g. underwriting philosophy, marketing strategies, management goals,
etc. Each Kansas domestic life insurer would be required to calculate its Risk Based Capital (RBC) and
provide the Department with more specific authority to take regulatory action against a company in
deteriorating financial condition. It would also require insurers to maintain a minimum level of capital specific
to the risk inherent in each company's operations.

HEARING ON SB 680: Exemption from continuing education requirements for real estate
brokers and salespersons licensed 10 or more years and 80 or more years of age

This bill would allow the Real Estate Commission to waive the continuing education requirement for those
licensees who are 80 years of age, or older, and who have been licensed for ten years.

Representative Al Lane introduced Mr. Joseph Speyer of Speyer Realty Company who operates realty
companies in both Missouri and Kansas.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals 1
appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.
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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND INSURANCE,
Room 527-S Statehouse, at 3:30 p.m. on March 16, 1994.

Joe Speyer stated he had been in the real estate business for 45 years and has taken continuing education
courses for license renewal every two years as required as well as reading bulletins, books, magazines and
whatever other materials are available for his profession. The courses are now repetitive for him and others
with his experience. Mr. Speyer recommends that Kansas adopt a policy much the same as Missouri has
which would exempt 80 year old licensees from taking continuing education courses if the Commission on
Real Estate agrees with the waiver (Attachment 3). This waiver would not have to be refiled with each license
renewal but would be ongoing.

Jean Duncan, Director of the Kansas Real Estate Commission, stated their objection to this proposal
(Attachment 4). Their belief is that all licensees need current knowledge to protect consumers in real estate
transactions. It is not good policy to open the door to waivers thereby inviting others to propose waivers for
other groups or reasons. ‘

ACTION ON SB 612: Insurance plans subject to group health and accident requirements

The bill expands portability of benefits by requiring that waiting periods for coverage be waived
not only for movement from one group policy to another, but also for movement from an
individual policy, a self-insured plan such as ERISA, a multiple employer welfare association ,
or a municipal funded pool. Credit for waiting periods served under one policy would be portable
for a period of 31 days from the date of termination of coverage under one type of policy to the
beginning of coverage under a new policy.

Bill would also expand the size of a "small group" plan for no more than 25 employees to no
more than 50 employees, so that guaranteed access provisions and rating restrictions are
applicable to small employer groups with 50 or fewer employees, as opposed to the current 25
or fewer employees.

An informative letter from William Sneed, HIAA, was distributed to the Committee (Attachment 5).

An amendment changing the waiting period from one year to 90 days on group policies was presented.
Representative Barbara Allen moved for the acceptance of the amendment. Motion was seconded by
Representative Neufeld. Motion carried. (Attachment 6)

The 90 day waiting period would cover all group policies and would go into effect on the anniversary date of
the contract.

Representative Neufeld moved to add a new section in the bill which would restrict the sale of stop/loss
insurance to small employers thus making it difficult to opt out of the community pool through the mechanism
of self insurance with stop/loss coverage. The motion was seconded by Representative Cornfield. Motion
carried.

Chip Wheelen of the Kansas Psychiatric Society presented an amendment which would include coverage for
diagnosis and medically necessary treatment of mental illness in any SEHC plan offered or delivered in this

state (Attachment 7).

Representative Sebelius moved to accept the KPS amendment which would add a new mandate on small
oroup policies relative to psychiatric care. The motion was seconded by Representative Bruns. Motion
carried.

Representative Sebelius moved that a definition for exactly what psychiatric care is included in the bill be
amended into it. The motion was seconded by Representative Helgerson. Motion carried.

There was a review of mental health mandates and a discussion if a fiscal note would be required. Distinction
needs to be made between mental and medical help.

Representative Bruns moved to pass the bill out favorably as amended. Motion was seconded by
Representative Gilbert. Motion carried.

ACTION ON SB 566: Kansas uninsurable health insurance plan; pre-existing conditions

Concern was voiced that some people might wait until symptoms of illness appear before joining an insurance
group unless the 90 day waiting period was part of the plan. This may prevent major abuse.
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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND INSURANCE,
Room 527-S Statehouse, at 3:30 p.m. on March 16, 1994.

Representative Allen moved to pass the bill out favorably. Motion was seconded by Representative Neufeld.
Motion carried. ‘

ACTION ON SB 563: Valuation for reserve requirements for life and accident and sickness
insurance

Representative Cox moved to pass the bill out favorably. Motion was seconded by Representative Neufeld.
Motion carried.

ACTION ON SB 487: Regulation of utilization review organizations

Representative King presented an amendment for a new definition of "health care provider;" a new subsection
of entities not required to obtain certificate to conduct utilization review activities; and to increase the size of the
advisory committee from 11 to 13 members and to increase the number to 7 for health care providers. Motion

was seconded by Representative Bruns. Motion carried. (Attachment 8)

Representative Correll moved that the bill be passed out as amended. Motion seconded by Representative
Cox. Motion carried.

ACTION ON SB 640 (HB 2823): Insurance reimbursement for certain persons performing
mammography and prostate-specific_antigen testing

Representative Heleerson moved to reinsert requirement that testing is to be done according to American
Cancer Society eguidelines and that the bill become effective upon publication in the Register. Motion was
seconded by Representative Dawson. Motion carried.

Those facilities performing mammograms and not following the guidelines would not be covered for
insurance purposes. The bill will not include prostate-specific antigen testing as this will require a study and
ultimate mandate.

Representative Correll moved that the bill be passed out favorably as amended. Motion was seconded by
Representative Cox. Motion carried.

Representative Cox moved that the minutes of March 8 be approved. Motion was seconded by Representative
Correll. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 5:25 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for March 17, 1994.
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BRAD SMOOT

EIGHTH & JACKSON STREET TTORNEY 10200 STATE LINE ROAD
MERCANTILE BANK BUILDING A AT LAW SUITE 230
SUITE 808 LEAWOOD, KANSAS 66206
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66612 (913) 649-6836

(913) 233-0016
(913) 234-3687 FAX

STATEMENT OF BRAD SMOOT, LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL
FOR THE HARTFORD STEAM BOILER
INSPECTION & INSURANCE COMPANY,

PRESENTED TO THE KANSAS HOUSE
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND INSURANCE COMMITTEE
REGARDING 1994 SENATE BILL 568, MARCH 16, 199%4.

Chairman Bryant and Members of the Committee:

I am Brad Smoot representing The Hartford Steam Boiler
Inspection and Insurance Company of Connecticut (HSBC), a wholly-
owned subsidiary of The Hartford Steam Boiler Inspection &
Insurance Company (HSB), an engineering and property insurance
company with 1992 revenues of $682.1 million. The Kansas
Insurance Department has licensed HSBC to do business in Kansas as
a property and casualty insurer. We appear today in support of
1994 Senate Bill 568 which would repeal K.S.A. 40-209a, copy is
attached.

Approximately seven years ago, the parent company's
shareholders eliminated the par value of HSB's stock. The reason
HSB eliminated its par value was to permit it to declare stock splits
without having to convene shareholders to approve a charter
amendment each time. For references to the Kansas Corporation
Code permitting such actions by corporations, see K.S.A. 17-6403 and
17-6602. -

As a result of the elimination of par value stock, we were
notified by the Kansas Insurance Department of the requirements of
K.S.A. 40-209a. The par value requirements of Kansas law are
utterly unique in the fifty states. (California requires a par value
although no minimum amount is specified.) HSB created HSBC solely
as a result of the Kansas law and structured it to meet the $1 par
value stock requirements of the above statute. As we indicated to
the Department in 1989, this unique Kansas law had the effect of
substituting a $2.5 million insurer (at the time) for a $700 million
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company, which seems contrary to the apparent consumer interests
of K.S.A. 40-209a and other Kansas insurance laws.

In December of 1992, we notified the Kansas Insurance
Department of the problems we. were experiencing with the
Industrial Risk Insurers (IRI), a joint underwriting association
authorized under K.S.A. 40-273. 1In 1992, HSB participated in IRI at
a rate of .484% or $21,780 of the $4.5 million direct written premium
in Kansas covering 130 insureds including well-known companies
such as Boeing and General Motors. Since IRI does not permit
insurers to participate on a state by state basis, HSB must either
withdraw from the IRI or amend its bylaws to require a $1 par
value. Neither prospect appears to be in the best interests of our
Kansas customers or our shareholders.

In light of the extensive protections provided Kansas insureds
by K.S.A. 40-901, governing the capital and surplus requirements,
and applicable holding company laws, there is a real question
whether K.S.A. 40-209a truly extends any additional protections for
Kansas insureds. Consequently, we would urge the Committee
recommend SB 568 favorably for passage.

I would be pleased to respond to questions from the
Committee. :
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40-209a. Foreign stock companies; par
value of shares required. No stock insurance
company now or hereafter to be organized
under the laws of the United States or any
state thereof shall be authorized to do busi-
ness in this state unless the shares of capital
stock of such company shall have a par
value of at least one dollar ($1) per share,
which value shall be fixed by the articles of
incorporation. »

History: L. 1931, ch. 210, § 1; L. 1970,
ch. 174, § 1; March 11.
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Testimony on
Senate Bill No. 569
by
Dick Brock

Kansas Insurance Department

Historically, insurance companies have been subject to what we call minimum
financial requirements as a fundamental prerequisite to their ability to
transact business in this state. For example, as of May 1l of this year, a
stock life insurance company must have paid-in capital stock of at least
$600,000 and a surplus of at least $600,000 in order to qualify for a Kansas
Certificate of Authority. For a mutual life insurance company an equivalent
requirement applies but, because a mutual does not have capital stock the
$1.2 million applies to surplus only. Obviously, $1.2 million is not
sufficient to cover an insurance company's obligations if it writes any
business at all but if proper reserves are maintained, required deposits are
made and the company's financial condition is appropriately monitored, it
used to be theoretically presumed that the company's certificate would be
revoked before the minimum capital and surplus was greatly impaired. If so,
the company's minimum capital and/or surplus would be necessary only to
accommodate minor miscalculations or contingencies because the insurer would
only be statutorily insolvent. That is it would not have sufficient capital
and/or surplus to continue in business but it would not be insolvent in the

strict sense of having liabilities in excess of the company's resources.

When life insurers began to develop products that were designed to compete
with investment-type securities, accident and sickness insurance claim costs
became unpredictable, legal 1liability emerged as a frequent costly and
volatile exposure, and as insurance attempted to accommodate increasingly
complex risks, the financial stability of insurance companies became much
more difficult to gauge. As a result, insurance regulators began to require
more frequent financial reporting and development of more sophisticated
tools such as the NAIC's automated early warning system to detect potential
problem companies earlier. These efforts were and are productive but their

success revealed another problem. Specifically, much of the advantage of
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Jenate Bill No. 569

detecting problem companies earlier was lost because the law until the early
70's for Kansas and much more recent for some states did not permit the
regulator to take action until the company's capital and/or surplus was

actually below the minimum statutory level.

In 1972 Kansas addressed this problem by enactment of what we call the
"hazardous condition law'". Under this law, the Commissioner is authorized
to deem that a company is in a hazardous financial condition notwithstanding
the fact that it may still be in compliance with whatever minimum financial
requirements apply. Once deemed to be in a hazardous financial condition,
the Commissioner can then order the company to take one or more actions such
as the cessation of writing new business; placing a specified amount of
securities on deposit for the protection of policyholders; require changes
in the company's reinsurance program and so forth to either rectify the
situation or protect policyholder interests while the insurer attempts to

gain financial strength.

Senate Bill No. 569 is another step in this progression. In essence, this
bill will require that insurers maintain an amount of capital and/or surplus
that 1is commensurate with the perceived riskiness of their respective
assets, liabilities and off-balance sheet activities. More specifically,
the 4 major categories of risks to be measured are those associated with:
(a) the insurer's assets, e.g. investment portfolio; (b) the type of
insurance the company writes, e.g. predominantly traditional life insurance
products versus interest sensitive contracts; (¢) an insurer's profitability
because of interest rate considerations, e.g. single premium deferred
annuity products where the guaranteed interest rate is designed to compete
with non-insurance investment products; and (d) other variable aspects of an
insurer's operations, e.g. underwriting philosophy, marketing strategies,

management goals, and so forth.

This bill would require each Kansas domestic life insurer to calculate its
Risk Based Capital (RBC) and, in turn, provide the Department with more
specific authority to take regulatory action against a company in

deteriorating financial condition. It would also require insurers to
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Senate Bill No. 569

maintain a minimum level of capital specific to the risk inherent in each

company's operations.

When a company is found to be inadequately capitalized, the bill calls for
increasingly serious action by the Commissioner, commensurate with various
levels of inadequacy of actual capital compared to risk based capital

calculations.

Foreign insurers would also be required to file RBC reports with the
Department, when requested by the Commissioner. If a foreign insurer's RBC
is inadequate, the Commissioner would have authority to take specific

regulatory action if the state of domicile does not react to the deficiency.

As previously indicated, utilization of risk based capital requirements is
expected to be a more effective alternative to current fixed level minimum
capital requirements in that RBC will be unique to each company and will

vary as operating conditions change over time.

The RBC is calculated by applying factors to selected annual statement
asset, liability, and reserve items. These factors are established by the
National Association of Insurance Commissioners and represent the outcome of
extensive technical analysis regarding the amount of capital needed to cover
the identified risks. The calculation can be complex, with varying factors
for different classes of assets and liabilities and different lines of
business. Some factors may also vary by the concentration of the company's

exposure in an area.

Based on the relationship the formula produced RBC bears to the company's
actual capital and or surplus, four levels of progressively serious
regulatory action are provided by the bill. Again, these actions are

triggered by ratios of a company's adjusted capital to RBC calculations.

A Company Action Level Event occurs when capital to RBC ratios are: (a) 125%
to 100% of RBC and trending negatively or (b) 100% to 75%Z of RBC. In this
event, the company must file an RBC plan subject to regulatory review and
approval. Within the RBC plan the company must:

=
X}'

o

=
=



Senate Bill No. 569

identify conditions within the dinsurer that contribute to the
deficient RBC level;

. propose actions the insurer intends to take to eliminate the RBC

deficiency;

. provide a five year projection of income, capital, surplus, and new

and renewal business;

. identify key assumptions and the sensitivity of projections to the

assumptions; and

. identify business quality and problems, including assets, anticipated
business growth and associated surplus strain, extraordinary exposure to

risk, mix of business, and use of reinsurance.

A Regulatory Action Level Event occurs when capital to RBC ratios are
between 507 and 75% of RBC. The event also occurs when a company fails to
file an RBC report by the filing date without satisfactory explanation to
the Commissioner or fails to timely submit a required RBC plan; when the
Commissioner determines that an RBC plan is unsatisfactory; or when an

insurer fails to adhere to its RBC plan in a way that has a substantial

adverse effect.

When a Regulatory Action Level Event occurs, the insurer must submit a
satisfactory RBC plan as previously described. The Commissioner will also

examine the insurer and issue a Corrective Order specifying the required

remedial actions.

An Authorized Control Level Event is triggered by a capital to RBC ratio of
between 357 and 50% of RBC or the company's failure to respond to a
Corrective Order. For an Authorized Control Level Event, the Commissioner
will either take the action described above for a Regulatory Action Level
Event or, if considered to be 1in the best interest of policyholders,

creditors, and the public, the Commissioner can initiate receivership
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proceedings. If the Commissioner determines receivership is necessary, the

Authorized Control Level Event is sufficient grounds for such action.

A Mandatory Control Level Event occurs when the capital to RBC level falls
below 35% of RBC. When this occurs, the Commissioner is required to take
the actions necessary to place the insurer in receivership. If the
Commissioner reasonably expects that the Mandatory Control Level Event can

be eliminated within 90 days, action may be delayed for no more than 90 days

after the event.

Any of these regulatory steps 1s preceded by appropriate due process.
Specifically, an insurer has a right to an administrative hearing following

notification that:

. the Commissioner has adjusted an insurer's RBC report to correct an

inaccuracy;

. the insurer's RBC plan 1s unsatisfactory, thus constituting a

Regulatory Action Level Event;

. the insurer has failed to follow its RBC plan causing a substantial
adverse effect on the company's ability to eliminate the company action

level event; or
. the Commissioner 1s issuing a Corrective Order.

A1l RBC reports, RBC plans, work papers, and Corrective Orders must be kept
confidential by the Commissioner except for purposes of enforcing actioms
taken under Kansas insurance laws. Comparison of an insurer's total
adjusted capital to the RBC level will be used exclusively as a regulatory
tool to 1indicate the need for possible corrective action. It 1is not
intended as a means to rank insurers generally and, therefore, public‘
disclosure, in any manner or form, of information regarding the RBC level or
any component derived in the calculation of RBC levels of any insurer is

prohibited. Insurers are likewise cautioned that this restriction forbids
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use of RBC ratios or RBC levels for advertising or any other public

announcements.
Attached to my testimony is a chart I lifted from a newsletter distributed

by the Illinois Insurance Department which hopefully more clearly portrays

the various triggers and regulatory actions Senate Bill No. 569 authorizes.
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Risk Based Capital
Life, Accident and He

% RBC
o 125

and trending
negatively File RBC Plan and projections.

* 0t Company Action Review and approval by Regulators.

alth

File RBC Plan and projections.
Y 75 Company Action Review and approval by Regulators.

_ same as above, but Regulator
Regulatory Action issues Corrective Order.

Y 50

_ same as above, but Regulator has
L 35 Authorized Control  option to initiate Receivership.

Receivership (or 90 day waiting
period if Regulator believes

+ Mandatory Control  problems can be solved in that time.)
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METROPOLITAN KANSAS CITY BOARD OF REALTORS®
6900 NORTH EXECUTIVE DRIVE

B |  SUITE 200

, k KANSAS CITY, MO 64120-2111

it PHONE 816/242-4200

REALTOR® pax 816/2424212

February 10, 1994

Joseph Speyer

Speyer Realty Co.

4050 Broadway

Kansas City, MO 64111

Dear Mr. Speyer:

Attached is a copy of a page from the current Missouri Real Estate Commission
Statutes & Regulations book dated December, 1993.

This shows that under certain conditions the commission may waive all or part
of the Continuing Education requirements. Item #E states waiver may be granted
to a licensee who is at least 80 years of age. To the best of my recollection
this ruling has been in effect for 10 years or more. I called the Missouri Real
Fstate Commission offices in Jefferson City and they could not give me an exact
date but advised me that it had been in effect for a long time.

I hope this gives you the information you need.

Please call if I can be of further assistance to you.

Sincerely, L
’}{fﬂ y 4 )Zfzz/r{/rvw
Reta M. Sullivan
Education Administrator
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(4) This rule shall not be deemed to limit the commission’s authority to file a complaint
with the Administrative Hearing Commission charging a licensee with any actionable
conduct or violation, whether any complaint exceeds the scope of the acts charged in
a preliminary complaint filed with the commission and whether any complaint has been
filed with the commission.

(5) The commission interprets this rule, which is required by law, to exist for the benefit
of those members of the public who submit complaints to the commission. This rule is
not deemed to protect, or inure to the benefit of, those licensees, or other persons against
whom the commission has instituted or may institute administrative or judicial proceedings
concerning possible violations of the provisions of chapter 339, RSMo.

250-9.020 Investigation

(1) Upon receipt of a complaint in proper form, the commission shall investigate the
actions of the licensee against whom the complaint is made. In conducting an investigation,
the commission, in its discretion, may request the licensee under investigation to answer
the charges made against him/her in writing and to produce relevant documentary evidence
and may request him/her to appear before it. A copy of any written answer of the licensee
shall be furnished to the complainant.

250-9.030 Dismissal of Complaint

(1) If the investigation reveals that the complaint does not involve the violation of the
license law or these rules of the commission, the complaint will be dismissed by the
commission and the parties involved will be so advised.

(2) Withdrawal of a valid, legitimate complaint against a licensee as the result of restitution
of money or property to the complainant, or other corrective action by the licensee, shall
not be grounds for dismissal of the complaint by the commission except at its discretion.

250-9.040 Violations

(1) If the investigation discloses a probability that the acts of the licensee may be those
to justify disciplinary action against him/her, the matter will be presented to the
Administrative Hearing Commission for determination.

250-9.050 Action by the Commission

(1) Upon final ruling by the Administrative Hearing Commission that the acts of a licensee
constitute a violation of the license law or these rules, the commission shall proceed to
revoke or suspend the license of the offending licensee or take other authorized action
as-it shall deem appropriate.

(2) The commission may require a person who formerly held a license but had the license
placed on probation, suspended or revoked, to meet and perform certain conditions before
reinstating or reissuing a license to this person. These conditions may include, but shall
not be limited to satisfactory completion of certain educational requirements, passage of
a written examination of the type given to applicants for licensure, personal appearances
before and periodic reports to the commission and restitution of money or property.

Chapter 10 — Continuing Education
250-10.010 Requirements

(1) Each real estate licensee who holds an active license shall complete during the two
(2)-year license period prior to renewal, as a condition precedent to license renewal, a
minimum of twelve (12) hours of real estate instruction approved for continuing education
credit by the Missouri Real Estate Commission. An active license is any license issued
by the commission except those which have been placed on inactive status by a broker
or salesperson, pursuant to 4 CSR 250-4.040(4) and 4 CSR 250-4.060(5). Failure to provide

40

the commission evidence of course completion as set forth shall constitute grounds
for not renewing a license. For purposes of 4 CSR 250-10, an hour is defined as sixty
(60) minutes, at least fifty (50) minutes of which shall be devoted to actual classroom
instruction and no more than ten (10) minutes of which shall be devoted to a recess.
No credit will be allowed for fractional hours.

(2) At least three (3) hours of the twelve (12) hours of approved instruction shall
consist of one (1) of the following core curriculum courses, each of which shall include
thirty (30) minutes of instruction on current laws and regulations:

(A) Missouri laws governing the transfer of real property;

(B) Broker supervision and escrow account management; N
(C) Fair housing; ]
(D) Propety management; or m

(E) Commercial brokerage.

(3) The balance of the twelve (12) hours of instruction shall consist of courses which
have been approved for continuing education credit by the Missouri Real Estate
Commission. The commission will approve those courses which are determined by it
to be those through which real estate licensees can remain qualified and can become
more competent to provide a higher level of public service and protection.

(4) Individual licensees may receive continuing education credit for courses taken in
Missouri or another state which have not been previously submitted by the sponsor
for approval, provided course content, instructor qualifications and course administration
are acceptable to the commission. Applications for nonpreapproved course credit must
be on a form prescribed by the commission, accompanied by a nonrefundable evaluation
fee of ten dollars ($10).

{5) The commission may waive all or part of the continuing education requirements
upon a showing by the licensee that it is not feasible for the licensee to satisfy the
requirements prior to the renewal date. Waivers may be granted for the following causes:

(A) Serious physical injury or iliness;

(B) Active duty in the armed services for an extended period of time;

(C) Residence outside the United States;

(D) Membership in the Missouri Bar;

« (E) Licensee is at least eighty (80) years of age;

(F) Licensee has been licensed consecutively since 1942;

(G) Member of the Missouri Senate or House of Representatives at any time during
the renewal period to which the waiver applies; and

(H) Member of the Missouri Real Estate Commission during any portion of the renewal
period to which the waiver applies.

(6) The following offerings will not be considered by the commission to meet Missouri
continuing education requirements even though these offerings may be approved by
states with which Missouri enters into continuing education reciprocity:

(A) Training or education not directly related to real estate or real estate practice;

(B) Training or education in office and business skills, such as typing, speedreading,
memory improvement, report writing, personal motivation, salesmanship, sales
pyschology and time management;

(C) Sales promotions or other meetings held in conjunction with general real estate
brokerage activity;

(D) Meetings which are a normal part of in-house training;

(E) That portion of any offering devoted to meals or refreshments;

(F) Sales or brokerage prelicensure education; provided, however, the education will
satisfy the continuing education requirement for the license period during which the license
was issued to either a new, delinquent or reactivating licensee. Broker applicants who
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House Financial Institutions and Insurance Committee
March 16, 1994
Senate Bill 680

Mr. Chair and members of the committee:

My name is Jean Duncan, and I am the Director of the Kansas Real
Estate Commission. The commission is opposed to SB-680.

As amended by the Senate committee, it would allow the commission
to waive the continuing education requirement for those licensees
who are 80 years of age, or older, and who have been licensed for
ten years.

Mandatory education requirements are based on the concept that they
are in the best interest of the general public whom licensees
serve. The C.E. requirement is 12 hours taken during each two-year
renewal period. A recent change requires at least 3 of the hours
to be on agency relationships and obligations. Licensees do not
necessarily have to go to a classroom. There are a number of
approved correspondence courses.

Regardless of someone's age or experience, we believe anyone who is
active in the business needs continuing education. All licensees
need current knowledge to protect consumers in real estate
transactions. Further, we do not believe it is good policy to
open the door to waivers, thereby inviting others to propose
waivers for other groups or reasons.

Thank you for your consideration.
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March 15, 1994

The Honorable Bill Bryant, Chairman

House Financial Institutions and Insurance Committee
State Capitol Building

Room 112S

Topeka, Kansas 66612

RE: S.B. 612

Dear Chairman Bryant:

Please accept this letter on behalf of my client, The Health Insurance Association of
American ("HIAA"), in regard to the above bill. As you are aware, the HIAA is a health
insurance trade association consisting of over 300 insurance companies that write over
80% of the health insurance in the United States today.

You will recall that S.B. 612 was heard in your committee on March 14, 1994. At that
time a representative for the Kansas Psychiatric Society offered a proposed amendment

regarding a new mandate relative to psychiatric care. It is to this amendment [ wish to
address this letter.

Inasmuch as this amendment would require a new mandate, my client would contend that
K.S.A. 40-2248 and K.S.A. 40-2249 require a fiscal impact report. The above-mentioned
laws require a fiscal impact report so that the legislature may fully evaluate any social
benefits versus social costs for such mandates.

You will recall during the hearing the representative proposing the amendment was asked
on several occasions what additional costs would be incurred with this proposed change.
At the time of the hearing the proponent of the amendment was unable to provide any
specific fiscal evaluation.

. v/,
% // a AL L

A ) //}
/(//\f(? ey r "

V) ; &7 7Y
,'/,///,,(:/,//’5 L/{//(/,/C’/ )7 /



The Hon. Bill Bryant
March 15, 1994
page two

In addition, this proposed amendment was offered in the Senate hearings when S.B. 612

was being worked in committee. Please be advised that the Senate committee rejected the
proposed amendment.

Based upon the foregoing, we would respectfully request that your committee reject the
proposed amendment. I appreciate the opportunity to provide you this information, and
if you or any member of the committee have any additional questions, please feel free to
contact me.

Very truly yours,
GEHRT & ROBERTS, CHARTE

S 0. 4.

William W. Sneed
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As Amended by Senate Committee

Session of 1994
SENATE BILL No. 612
By Senators Praeger a;nd Bond

1-26

AN ACT relating to insurance; sickness and accident plans; small
employer health care plans; amending K.S.A. 40-2209, 40-2209d,
40-2209¢ and, 40-2209f and 40-2209h and repealing the existing

sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 40-2209 is hereby amended to read as follows:
40-2209. (A) Group sickness and accident insurance is declared to
be that form of sickness and accident insurance covering groups of
persons, with or without one or more members of their families or
one or more dependents. Or end after Mey £ 1894 this section
shall apply to & group or individual sickness and eeccident
ment income act of 1974 (ERISA) e group specifiod sn KSA-
40-2292 and amendments theroto and & group subject to K54
129616 et seq- and amendments thereto- Except at the option
of the employee or member and except employees or members
enrolling in a group policy after the close of an open enrollment
opportumty, no individual employee or member of an insured group
and no individual dependent or family member may be excluded
from cligibility or coverage under a policy providing hospital, medical
or surgical expense benefits both with respect to policies issued or
renewed within this statc and with respect to policies issued or
rencwed outside this state covering persons residing in this state.
For purposes of this section, an open enrollment opportunity shall
be deemed to be a period no less favorable than a period beginning
on the employee’s or member’s date of initial eligibility and ending
31 days thereafter. No group policy providing hospital, medical or
surgical expense benefits issued or renewed within this state or issued
or renewed outside this state covering residents within this state
shall limit or exclude benefits for specific conditions existing at or
prior to the effective date of coverage thereunder. Such policy may

impose a waiting period, not to exceed eme—yeas/ for benefits for
conditions, including related conditions, for which diagnosis, treat-
ment or advice was sought or received in the 90 days prior to the
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iployer.

(d) Except as expressly provided in this act, no health benefit
plan offered to a small employer shall be subject to:

(1) Any law that would inhibit any carrier from contracting with
providers or groups of providers with respect to health care services
or benefits;

(2) any law that would impose any restriction on the ability to
negotiate with providers regarding the level or method of reim-
bursing care or services provided under the health benefit plan.

(¢) Individual policies of accident and sickness insurance issued
to individuals and their dependents totally independent of any group,
association or trust arrangement permitted under K.S.A. 40-2209
and amendments thereto shall not be subject to the provisions of
this act. )

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 40-2209f is hereby amended to read as follows:
40-2209f. Health benefit plans covering small employers that are
issued or renewed within this state or outside this state covering
persons residing in this state shall be subject to the following pro-

visions, as applicable:
(a) Provisions of preexisting conditions shall not exclude or limit

coverage for a period beyond F—menths/following the individual's
effective date of coverage and may only relate to conditions or related
conditions for which diagnosis, advice or treatment was sought, dur-
ing the six months immediately preceding the effective date of cov-

erage.
(b) Such policy may impose a waiting period, not to exceed ene

—{90 dayvs

{90 days

~eer [for benclits for conditions, including related conditions, for
which diagnosis, treatment or advice was sought or received in the
six months prior to the effective date of coverage. On and after May
1, 1994, such policy shall waive such a waiting period to the extent
the employee or member or individual dependent or family member
was covered by a group or individual sickness and accident policy,
coverage under section 607(1) of the employees retirement income
act of 1974 (ERISA), a group specified in K.S.A. 40-2222 and amend-
ments thereto or a group subject to K S.A. 12-2616 et seq. and
amendments thereto which provided hospital, medical and surgical
expense benefits within 31 days prior to the effective date of coverage
under a health benefit plan with no gap in coverage.
(c) Any health benefit plan issued, delivered or renewed within
this state and subject to the provisions of this act, shall be renew-
ble with respect to all eligible employees or dependents at the
stion of the policyholder, contractholder; or small employer, except

10r:
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(1) the individual:

(A) Was covered under another employer-provided health benefit
plan at the time the individual was eligible to enroll;

(B) states, at the time of the initial eligibility, that coverage under
another employer health benefit plan was the reason for declining
enrollment;

(C) has lost coverage under another employer health benefit plan
as a result of the termination of employment, the termination of the
other plan’s coverage, death of a spouse, or divorce; and

(D)  requests enrollment within 31 days after the termination of
coverage under another employer health benefit plan; or

(2) the individual is employed by an employer who offers multiple
health benefit plans and the individual elects a different health ben-
efit plan during an open enrollment period; or

(3) a court has ordered coverage to be provided for a spouse or
minor child under a covered employee’s plan and request for en-
rollment is made within 31 days after issuance of such court order.

(r) “New business premium rate” means, for each class of busi-
ness as to a rating period, the lowest premium rate charged or .
offered, or which could have been charged or offered, by the small ’
employer carrier to small employers with similar case characteristics ( ‘
for newly issued health benefit plans with the same or similar cov-
erage.

(s) “Plan of operation” means the articles, bylaws and operating
rules of the program adopted by the board pursuant to K.S.A. 40-
22091 and amendments thereto.

(t) “Preexisting conditions provision” means a policy provision
which excludes or limits coverage for charges or expenses incurred
during a specified period not to exceed ene—gearifollowing the in-
sured’s effective date of coverage as to a condition or related con-
ditions for which diagnosts, treatment or advice was sought or re-
ceived in the six months immediately preceding the effective date of
coverage.

(w) “Premium” means moneys paid by a small employer or eligible
employees or both as a condition of receiving coverage from a small
employer carrier, including any fees or other contributions associated
with the health benefit plan.

(v) “Program” means the Kansas small employer health reinsur-
ance program, established under K S.A. 40-2209] and amendments
thereto.

(w) “Rating period” means the calendar period for which pre- y
mium rates established by a small employer carrier are assumed to “(}
be in effect but any period of less than one year shall be considered  §,

:I):

—{90 days
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a converted pohicv had the grovz pohicy been issued in that juns-
diction.

(21} The insurer shall give the emplovee or member and such
empiovee's or member's coverec dependents reasonable nouice of
the nght to conver: at ieast once cuning the six-month conunuation
period m accordance with rules anc regulotions adoptec by the
commussioner of insurance.

(E}11} No policy 1ssued by an msurer to which this sectior applies
shali contamn a provision which exciudes, hmuts or othenwise restricts
coverage because medicaid benefits as permutted by titie XIX of the
social security act of 1965 are or mav be available for the same
accident or illness.

(7) Violauon of this subsection snall be subject to the penalties
prescribed by K.S.A. 40-2407 and 40-2411. and amendments thereto.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 40-2209¢ is hereby amended to read as follows:
40-2208¢. 2} Anv individual or group health benefit plan issued to
a group authorized by subsection {A; of K.S.A. 40-2209 and amend-
ments thereto shall be subject to the provisions of this act if it
provides health care benefits covering emplovees of 2 small employer
and 1 it meets any one of the following conditions:

(1) Anv portion of the premium 15 pard by a smali empiover. or
any covered individual, whether through wage adjustments. reum-
bursemen:. withholding or otherwise:

(2) the health benefit plan 15 treated by the empiover or any of
the covered individuals as part of 2 pian or program for the purposes
of section 106 or section 162 of the United States internal revenue
code. or

(3) with the permission of the board. the carrier clects to renew
or continue a health benefit plan covering emplovees of an emplover
who no longer meets the defimtion of a “small empiover.”

{(bj For purposes of this act an aggregation of two or more small
emplovers covered under a trust arrangement or a policy 1ssued to
an association of small emplovers pursuant to subsection (A)S; or (5)
of K.5.A. 50-2209 and amendments thereto shall permit emplovee
or member units of more than two but less than 26 51 employees
or members and their dependents 10 participate i any health benefit
plan to which this act applies. Anv group which inciudes emplovee
or member units of 25 50 or fewer empiovees shall be subject to
the provisions of this act notwithstanding its inclusion of emplovee
or member units with more than 25 50 emplovecs or members.

{c) Except as expressly provided for n this act, no law requiring
the coverage or the offer of coverage of a health care service or
benefit shail apply to any SEHC pian offered or debvered tc 2 small
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emplover.

(d} Except as expressiv provided in thus act. no health benefit
pian offered to a small emplover shall be subject to:

(1} Any law that would inhibit any camer from contracting with
providers or groups of providers with respect to health care services
or benefits;

(2) anv law that would impose any restncuon on the ability to
negotiate with providers regarding the level or method of reim.
bursing care or services provided under the health benefit plan.

(e} Individual policies of accident and sickness msurance issued
t0 individuals and their dependents totallv independent of any group,
association or trust arrangement permitted under K.S.A. 40-2209
and amendments thereto shall not be subject to the provisions of
this act.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 40-2209f 1s hereby amended to read as follows:
30-2209f. Health benefit plans covering small emplovers that are
issued or renewed within thus state or outside tius state covering
persons residing in this swate shall be subject 1o the following pro-
visions, as appheable:

{a) Provisions of preexisting conditions shall not exciude or limit
coverage for 2 penod bevond 12 months following the individual's
effective date of coverage and may only relate to conditions or related
conditions for which diagnosis, advice or treatment was sought, dur-
mg the six months unmediatelv preceding the eficcve date of cov-
erage.

(b) Such policy may impose 2 waiting penod. not to exceed one
vear for benefits for conditions. including related conditions. for
which diagnosis. treatment or advice was sought or receved in the
six months prior to the effective date of coverage. On and after May
I. 1994, such policy shall waive such a waiting penod to the extent
the emplovee or member or individual dependent or family member
was covered by a group or mdmndual sickness and acaident policy,
coverage under section 607(1) of the empioyees retirement income
cct of 1974 (ERISA). ¢ group specified in K.S.A #0-2222 and amend-
ments thereto or & group subject to K. S.A 12-2616 et seq. and
amendments thereto wiuch provided hospual, medical and surgical
expense bencfits within 31 daus prior to the effecuve date of coverage
under a hcaith benefit plan with no gap in coverage.

{c) Anv health benefit plan issued. deivered or renewed within
this state and subject to the presisions of ths act. shall be renew-
able with respect to all ehgible emplovees or dependents at the
option of the policvhoider. contractholder: or small empiover. except
ror:

‘3»/éj77

amendment requested by
Chip Wheelen on behalf of
Kansas Psychiatric Society

(f) Notwithstanding the provisions
of subsection (c) of this section or
K.S_A. 40-2,105 and amendments thereto,.
any SEHC plan offered or delivered in
this state shall include coverage for
diagnosis and medically necessary
treatment of mental illnesses.
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optional definition for SB612 re' KPS amendment

For purposes of this act "mental illness" means a clinically
significant behavioral or psychological syndrome or pattern that
occurs in an individual and that is associated with present
distress or disability or with a significantly increased risk of

suffering death, pain or disability.

drafted by Chip Wheelen
Kansas Psychiatric Society
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As Amended by Senate Commiltee

Session of 1994
SENATE BILL No. 487
By Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance

1-12

AN ACT relating to health care services; regulation of utilization
review organizations.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. This act shall be known and may be cited as the
utilization review organization act.

Sec. 2. The legislature finds that in order to promote the delivery
of quality health care services in a cost effective manner, it is nec-
essary to encourage greater coordination between health care pro-
viders and those agencies performing utilization review of health
care services. Effective standards for utilization review activities will
protect patients while reducing administrative costs associated with
the review and approval of health care services provided to patients.

Sec. 3. For the purposes of this act:

(a) “Commissioner” means the commissioner of insurance.

(b) “Utilization review” means the evaluation of the necessity,
appropriateness and efficiency of the use of health care services,
procedures and facilities.

(c) “Utilization review organization” means any entity which con-
ducts utilization review and determines certification of an admission,
extension of stay or other health care service.
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means a licensed medical care facility, a

(d) “Health care provider” hasthe-meaning provided-in-K-.S-A-
60-513d-and-amendments—thereto.

Sec. 4. (a) The commissioner shall adopt rules and regulations,
with the advice and apprewval of the advisory committee created by
section 5, establishing standards governing the conduct of utilization
review activities performed in this state or affecting residents of this
state by utilization review organizations. Unless granted an exemp-
tion under section 6, no utilization review organization may conduct
utilization review services in this state or affecting residents of this
state on or after May 1, 1995, without first obtaining a certificate
from the commissioner.

(b) The commissioner shall not issue a certificate to a utilization
review organization until the applicant:
(1) Files a formal application for certification in such form and

1licensed health maintenance organization,
or a person licensed or registered to engage
in an occupation which renders health care

services
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200¢(c)(6) respectively;
4) a person employed or used by a utilization review organization

.thorized to perform utilization review in Kansas, including, but
not limited to, individual nurses and other health care providers.
This exemption shall not apply with respect to individual persons
performing utilization review activities in conjunction with any in-
surance contract or health benefit plan pursuant to a direct con-
tractual relationship with a health maintenance organization, group-
funded self-insurance plan or insurance company;

(5) a health benefit plan that is self-insured and qualified under
the federal employee retirement income security act of 1974 as
amended; or

(6) hospitals, home health agencies, clinics, private health care
provider offices or any other authorized health care facility or entity
conducting general, in-house utilization review unless such review
is for the purpose of approving or denying payment for hospital or
medical services in a particular case.

(L) The provisions of section 4 (b)(2), (3), (4), (5), (6) and sub-
section (c) shall not apply to:

(1) Utilization review organizations accredited by and adhering
to the national utilization review standards approved by the utili-
zation review accreditation commission (URAC); or

(2) utilization review organizations presenting evidence satisfac-
tory to the commissioner that they subscribe and are adhering to
the voluntary guidelines established by the Kansas City private re-
view group. This exemption shall apply only to Kansas City private
review group participants located within the Kansas City, Missouri,
and Kansas Metropolitan Statistical Area established by the federal
Office of Management and Budget as of June 30, 1993; and

(3) such other utilization review organizations as the advisory
committee may recommend and the commissioner approves.

Sec. 7. (a) (1) It is unlawful for any person or utilization review
organization to perform utilization review activities in this state ex-
cept in accordance with this act.

(2) No utilization review organization nor any individual per-
forming utilization review activities may agree to be compensated
or receive compensation which is contingent in any way upon fre-
quency of certification denials, costs avoided by denial or reduction
in payment of claims or other results which may be adverse to the
needs of the patient as determined by the attending health care
provider. '

(b) When the commissioner has reason to believe a utilization

sview organization subject to this act has been or is engaged in

_—

P aan

(el

a4 il uf 46@00

2,

c

()}
(

(7) wutilization review organizations conducting
utilization review only with respect to mental health,
chemical dependency, chiropractic, optometric,
podiatric, dental or any other health care service
or services other than the practice of medicine and
surgery, until utilization review standards governing
such treatment or service are incorporated in rules
and regulations adopted pursuant to section 4 of
this act.



