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MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON COMMERCE.
The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Alicia Salisbury at 8:00 a.m. on January 31, 1994 in Room

123-S of the Capitol.

Members present: Senators Burke, Dowey, Gooch, Harris, Petty, Ranson, Reynolds, Salisbury,
Steffes, Vidricksen

Committee staff present: Lynne Holt, Legislative Research Department
Jerry Ann Donaldson, Legislative Research Department
Jim Wilson, Revisor of Statutes
Bob Nugent, Revisor of Statutes
Mary Jane Holt, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Richard Brock, Administrative Assistant, Kansas Insurance
Department
Goerge Gomez, Director, Division of Workers Compensation,
Department of Human Resources

Others attending: See attached list

Continuation of report on the implementation of the 1993 Workers Compensation bill

Richard Brock, Administrative Assistant, Kansas Insurance Department, appeared before the
Committee and discussed the Insurance Department’s implementation of 1993 SB 307. New Section 7 of the
bill requires insurers to provide certain workers’ compensation educational and informational material in both
English and Spanish to their insured. Kansas Insurance Department Bulletin 1993-22, Bulletin 1993-26,
Bulletin 1994-2 were distributed to all insurance companies authorized to transact workers’ compensation
insurance in Kansas see attachment 1. A camera ready copy of an English version of a brochure developed
jointly by the Kansas Insurance Department and the Kansas Department of Human Resources, Division of
Workers Compensation, was also distributed to the Committee, a copy of which is on file in the Legislative
Research Department. The workers compensation information for Kansas employers and employees is also
available on diskette. Fraud and abuse provisions will be addressed more fully in revisions which are
scheduled for July of each year. An Assistant Attorney General has been assigned to the Director of Workers’
Compensation, and the Kansas Insurance Department will be working on the revisions in cooperation with the
Assistant Attorney General.

Mr. Brock explained SB 307 also contained provisions requiring the Insurance Commissioner to
approve rates for the Workers™ Compensation Plan that would encourage a depopulation of the plan. The
Insurance Commissioner has approved a surcharge for employers insured in the Workers’ Compensation Plan
of 12 1/2% if their annual premium is $2,250 or more. A rating plan based on indemnity claims only has been
approved for those whose annual premium is lower than $2,250. If an employer has no indemnity claims
there is no surcharge; one indemnity claim has a 6% surcharge; and with two or more indemnity claims there
isa 12 1/2% surcharge.

In conformity with Section 22 of SB 307 the Insurance Department has adopted a regulation that will
implement loss cost rates for workers compensation. The regulation will go into effect July 1, 1994. The
National Council on Compensation Insurance will file only that portion of the rate necessary to cover losses of
claims. The Insurance Company is responsible for filing that portion of the rate that reflects their expenses,
profit and contingencies.

Mr. Brock stated that Commissioner Todd will serve as a member of the State Workers Compensation
Fund Oversight Committee, and an insurance agent from Manhattan has been designated to serve as the
Commissioner’s appointee on the Workers Compensation Advisory Committee.

George Gomez, Director, Division of Workers Compensation, Department of Human Resources,

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals 1
appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON COMMERCE, Room 123-S Statehouse, at 8:00 a.m.
on January 31, 1994.

informed the Committee February 11 is the tentative date for a meeting of the Oversight Committee. A topic
suggested for the Oversight Committee is an overview of the state fund.The Advisory Council met last Friday
through a telephone conference. The next meeting of the Advisory Council is set for February 18.

Mr. Gomez stated the Board of Review will conduct hearings on Mondays and Wednesdays, write
decisions on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and have case conferences on Fridays. Workers’ Compensation
Division has taken a 500 case sample from 10,000 active cases which have been sent to insurance carriers
requesting base line information. This is done to create a base line of data concerning what the system was like
under the old law and how the system is changing under the new law.

Concerning fraud and abuse, the Director appointed an Assistant Attorney General, Susan Stanley, to
the Division of Workers Compensation in January. The statutory date for appointment is September 1, 1993.

In regard to vocational rehabilitation, there were fifteen cases two weeks ago under the new actand a
clear indication that cases continue to be referred for rehabilitation.

Senator Reynolds moved and Senator Steffes seconded to adopt the minutes of January 26 and
January 27, 1994. The motion carried on a voice vote.

The Chairman adjourned the meeting at 9:00 a.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 1, 1994.
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KANSAS
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

420 S.W. 8th
Topeka 66612-1678 913-296-3071

1-800-432-2484 RON TODD
Consumer Assistance

STATE OF KANSAS Division calis only Commissioner

Bulletin 1993-22

TO: All Insurance Companies Authorized to Transact
Workers Compensation Insurance in Kansas

FROM: Ron Todd
Commigsioner of Insurance

SUBJECT: Senate Bill No. 307

DATE: August 24, 1993

Senate Bill No. 307 was enacted by the 1993 Legislature and New Section 7
of that legislation requires insuv:=rs to provide certain workers
compensation educational and informational material in both English and
Spanish to their insureds.

In response to the new law, I am attaching a camera ready copy of an
English version of a brochure developed jointly by the Kansas Insurance
Department and the Kansas Department of Human Resources - Division of
Workers Compensation. A diskette containing the same information is also
available and may be acquired by calling Twila Davidson at (913) 296-7815
or Val Warkentine at (913) 296~2060 without charge. Whichever medium is
most convenient to reproduce sufficient copies for your needs may, of
course, be used. 1In addition, the cover page may be modified to include
your organization's name and/or logo but the information included in the
brochure may not be altered.

As required by the bill and on and after October 1, 1993, this
information must accompany every workers compensation insurance policy
and any renewal thereof issued or delivered to a Kansas employer. The
purpose of the material is to provide Kansas employers and employees full
and fair information about their rights and responsibilities under the
Workers Compensation Act.

The Division of Workers Compensation is currently translating the

brochure's content to Spanish and we will provide you a copy of the

Spanish version as soon as possible. You need not and are not to delay
distribution of the attached until receipt of its Spanish counterpart,

however, because distribution requirements will not be retroactive. / ¢%77%l

77@77119”2C>zw

%wZM / -/

A




Bulletin 1993-22
Page 2
August 24, 1993

Please acknowledge receipt of this bulletin and your compliance with New
Section 7 of Senate Bill No. 307. Your response is requested no later
than September 15, 1993 and is to be directed to the attention of the
Fire and Casualty Division of this department.

iy 7t

Ron Todd
Commissioner of Insurance

RT:11lfc
Attachment
5263bw
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KANSAS
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

420 S.W. gth
Topeka 66612-1678 913-296-3071

1-800-432-2484 RON TODD
Consumer Assistance Commissioner

STATE OF KANSAS Division calls only

Bulletin 1993-26

TO: All Insurance Companies and Group-Funded Self-Insurance Plans
Authorized to Transact Workers' Compensation Insurance
in Kansas

FROM: Ron Todd
Commissioner of Insurance

SUBJECT: Senate Bill No. 307
Spanish Language Version of Educational and Informational
Material
DATE: November 1, 1993

An English language version of the workers' compensation educational and
informational material required by New Section 7 of Senate Bill No. 307
was transmitted to you with Kansas Insurance Department Bulletin 1993-22
dated August 24, 1993. We are now transmitting a camera ready copy of the
Spanish language version of the same material.

Ag before, a diskette containing the same information is also available

and may be acquired without charge by calling Twila Davidson at (913)
296-7815 or Val Warkentine at (913) 296-2060. Whichever medium is most
convenient to reproduce sufficient copies to meet your needs may, of
course, be used. The cover page may be modified to include your
organization's name and/or logo, and the type style of the information may
be amended; but, the text and general arrangement of the brochure is not to
be altered.

The Spanish version of the educational and informational material required
by Kansas law must be available for distribution with every workers'
compensation insurance policy and any renewal thereof issued or delivered to
a Kansas policyholder on and after January 1, 1994. Each insurance company
will be responsible for developing its own procedure for determining how and
when the Spanish language version is to be distributed. Companies may
distribute both the English and Spanish versions with every policy and
renewal, may combine both versions into one publication, or may develop a
policyholder response method of distribution such as obtaining a

statement of preference from the employer at the time of application as

to whether the English, Spanish or both versions are desired.

=)



Page 2

Please acknowledge receipt of this bulletin and your compliance with new
Section 7 of Senate Bill No. 307. Additionally, many carriers have not
acknowledged receipt of Bulletin 1993-22. A combined reply to this and the
preceding Bulletin is acceptable. Your response is requested no later than
December 1, 1993 and is to be directed to the attention of the Fire and
Casualty Division of this department.

Ron Todd
Commissioner of Insurance

RT:jbfc
468075vs



KANSAS
INSURANCE DEPARTMENT

420 S.W. gth
Topeka 66612-1678 913-296-3071

1-800-432-2484 RON TODD
Consumer Assistance

STATE OF KANSAS Orisien cals only Commissioner

Bulletin 1994-2

TO: All Insurance Companies and Group Funded Self-Insurance
Plans Authorized to Transact Workers Compensation
Insurance in Kansas

FROM: Ron Todd
Commissioner of Insurance

SUBJECT: Senate Bill No. 307

DATE: January 7, 1994

Two (2) previous bulletins (1993-22 and 1993-26) were distributed to all
insurers and group-funded pools authorized to write workers compensation
insurance in Kansas. These bulletins transmitted English and Spanish
brochures containing certain workers compensation insurance educational and
informational material that is to be disseminated to insured employers as
required by New Section 7 of 1993 Senate Bill No. 307.

This bulletin provides, in Spanish and English, information Kansas employers
are required to provide injured employees pursuant to New Section 8 of
Senate Bill No. 307. The enclosed material was developed by the Division of
Workers Compensation within the Kansas Department of Human Resources and any
questions regarding the content of such information should be directed to
that office.

The attached information is to be immediately distributed to each
policyholder or group funded pool member in sufficient quantities to meet
their anticipated needs together with a statement that you will continuously
provide, upon request, whatever additional quantities are needed. The
actual number will, of course, vary depending on the risk classifications of
the respective insured employers as well as the number of employees on the
payroll. However, at a minimum, the initial, immediate distribution shall
consist of at least 2 copies of the attached information. Do not delay

this distribution until policy renewals. Immediately upon receiving notice
of injury to or death of an employee, the employer, by law, is to mail or
deliver the information to the employee or legal beneficiary.

Please acknowledge receipt of this bulletin and your compliance with new
Section §(c) of Senate Bill No. 307. Additionally, many carriers have not
acknowledged receipt of Bulletin 1993-22 (English brochure) and/or Eulletin




Page 2

1993-26 (Spanish brochure). A combined reply to this and the preceding two
(2) bulletins is acceptable. Your response is requested no later than
February 11, 1994 and is to be directed to the attention of the Fire and

Casualty Division of this department. H:/ﬂ7/ f/ fd |
/’ZM{ , e : L .
e
Ren Todd

Commissioner of Insurance

RT:jbfc
4630bw
Enclosures
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ATTENTION

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR INJURED EMPLOYEES

CLAIMS ADVISORY/OMBUDSMAN

DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
800 SW JACKSON STREET STE 600
TOPEKA KS 66612-1227

TOLL FREE 1-800-332-0353

If you were hurt on the job and have any questions about Workers Compensation benefits
contact the Claims Advisory Section at the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation.
The Division of Workers Compensation has full-time personnel who specialize in aiding
injured workers with claim information and problems. They can give information about
benefits an injured worker is entitled to receive. They can help try to solve problems with
benefits not being paid on time, with medical treatment, with unpaid medical bills, with
questions about how to figure settlement amounts, etc. Spanish interpreters are available
at the Division of Workers Compensation.

WHAT TO DO IF AN ACCIDENT OCCURS ON THE JOB:
1. Tell your employer that you were hurt on the job.
2. Follow your employer’s instructions on getting medical aid and follow the doctor’s instructions.

3. Within 200 days of the date of accident or the date of last payment of compensation for disability
or authorized medical care, tell your employer in writing that you expect workers compensation
benefits for your injury. Your employer might know you were hurt and compensation may be
paid, however, you could lose all rights to future compensation if you do not tell the employer
in writing. Thisis called a “Written Claim.” Written claim may be served in person by taking
it to the employer and getting a receipt for it or by mailing it to the employer by certified mail,
return receipt requested. The post office receipt for the certified letter is generally sufficient
proof that you sent written claim. :

AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE: Aworker’s “average weekly wage” is calculated by adding together
the base wage, the average weekly overtime and the weekly value of fringe benefits that have
been discontinued.

WEEKLY BENEFITS: Benefits are paid by the employer’s insurance carrier or self-
insurance program. Injured workers are not entitled to compensation for the first week they are

K-WC 27 (11-93)



ott work unless they lose three consecutive weeks. The first compensation payment is normally
due at the end of the 14th day of lost time. An injured employee is entitled to a weekly amount of
66 2/3 percent of his average weekly wage up to a maximum of 75 percent of the state’s average
weekly wage. These benefits are subject to legislative changes. If the injury results in permanent
disability, the Kansas compensation law provides for additional benefits.

MEDICAL BENEFITS: An injured worker is entitled to all medical services reasonably necessary
to cure and relieve the worker from the effects of the injury. The employer has the right to select
the doctor who will treat the injury. A worker may seek the services of an unauthorized doctor up
to a limit of $500. A worker may apply to the Workers Compensation Director to change the
authorized treating doctor. Reimbursement for travel to obtain medical treatment is payable at a
rate set by law for trips that are five miles or more.

RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE EMPLOYER:

1. Employers must report all employee injuries to the Division of Workers Compensation within,
28 days from the date of injury, or the date the employer learned about the injury. '

2. Employers must provide for the payment of workers compensation claims without any charge
to employees.

3. Employers must post written notice of workers compensation insurance coverage in both
Spanish and English.

4. Employers must pay compensation benefits regardless of insurance coverage.

5. Upon receiving notice of an injury, employers must provide the employee with written
information to assist the injured worker in obtaining compensation.

EMPLOYERS MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION FOR INJURED WORKERS:

YOUR CLAIM WILL BE HANDLED BY:

Company

Address

Contact Person

Telephone ( )




. /
ATENCION

/ .
INFORMACION IMPORTANTE PARA TRABAJADORES |
LASTIMADOS EN EL TRABAJO

Llame a los: Consultivos de Reclamacion/Ombudsman

Llamada Gratis 1-800-332-0353

O Escriba A: :
DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
800 SW JACKSON STREET, SUITE 600
TOPEKA, KS 66612-1227

Si Ud. se ha lastimado a caﬁsa de su trabajo, y tiene
algunas preguntas con respecto a los beneficios de la
Compensaci én de Trabajadores, comuniquese con la
SECCICN DE CONSULTIVOS DE RECLAMACION/"OMBUDSMAN" del
Departamento de Compensacidén Para Trabajadores de
Kansas. Este departamento mantiene a sue dlSpOSlClOn
algun personal que espec1allza en dar asistencia con
los problemas de reclamacicn v en dar informacidn sobre
los reclamos, a los trabajadores lastimados a calisa del
trabajo. Este personal le puede informar sobre los
beneficios que un trabajador lastimado tiene derecho a
recibir. Tambien pueden asistirle en resolver los
problemas con respecto a los beneficios que no se le
estan pagando a tiempo, al tratamiento medico, a las
cuentas de los doctores que aun no se han pagado, y
tambien con preguntas respecto a la cantidad del
arreglo de resolucidn llamado "settlement’.

Interpretes en Espafol estan a su disposicion en el
Departamento de Compensacidén de Trabajadores.

/ /
QUE DEBE HACER SI LE SUCEDE UN ACCIDENTE A CAUSA DEL TRABAJO?

. . ’ .
1. Avisele inmediatamente al patron, o a su empleador, que Ud. se ha lastimado
a causa de su trabajo. (DENTRO DE 10 DIAS DEL ACCIDENTE) .
4
2. Siga las instrucciones del patrdé, o el empleador, con respecto al

tratamiento medico, y siga las instrucciones del .doctor medico.

3. Dentro de 200 dias del accidente, o del ultimo dia en que le pagaron
compensac1on por estar 1ncapac1tado, o en que recibio tratamiento medico
autorizado, avisele al patron/o al empleador POR ESCRITO gue Ud. espera recibir
los beneficios de compensacion de trabajadores, por su accidente. Aunque su
patron va se haya informado del accidente, y ya le este pagando los beneficios,
ud. ouede perder el derecho de recibir compensac16n en el futuro, si no le avisa
al patron o al empleador POR _ESCRITO.

PROMEDIO DEL SUELDO__SEMANAL:_ Para. calcular un promedio .del sueldo. semanal
"average weekly wage'" del trabajador, se suman todos los siguientes: el sueldo
basico, mas un promedio de las horas extras (overtime) que se trabajan por
semana, mas el valor semanal de cualquier beneficio adicional que haya sido
descontinuado.

~ /
BENEFICIOS, SEMANALES: Los Beneficios se los paga la compdﬁ%a o el grupo de
Asegurac1on del Empleador, o el programa Qropio de Aseguracion del Empleador.
Los trabajadores que se han lastimado a causa del trabajo, no tienen derecho a

recibir compensac1on por la primera semana en que estan sin trabajar a calisa del

accidente industrial, A MENOS QUE esten sin trabajar por orden del doctor. Un

trabajador lastimado a causa del trabajo tiene derecho cada semana a una cantidad

K-WC 270 (11-93)



equlvalente al 66 2/3% por01ento del promedlo de su sueldo semanal hasta 1legar,
“a ‘un maximo, equlvalente :al .75% porc1ento del ipromedio de. sueldos "semanales :
;de51gnado por. el Estado de Kansas ~Estos beneflclos‘estan expuestos a’ cualqulerﬁ
"cambio‘que"ordenef1a31egislatura)delgestado
incapacidad:de modo permanenté, "1
a otros benef1c1os ad1c1onales.

BENEFICIOS MEDICOS" Un trabajador lastlmado a. causa del trabajo tlene derecho-
‘a todo’ serv1c1o medico. razonable y:necesarlo para curar y-aliviar’ al trabajador
'de los" ‘efectos del: ac01dente.A _E1" patrén, o-el” empleador, tiene derecho a escojer’
> el doctor. autorlzado para” darle tratamiento medico al: trabajador.' Aun a51,-eI
““trabajador;tiene’ derecho de~escoger los. servicios .de otro doctor que no ‘sea : .
‘autorizado hasta llegar al limite maximo .de $500.00 dolores. Un’ trabajador puede
pedirle al. Director del Departamento.de . Compensacion’ ‘de Trabajadores que le’
cambie- el doctor autorizado. Tambien tiene dereche de pedir recompensac1on de

la cantidad de gastos de viajes necasarios que haya hecho de mas de cinco (5)
millas, para obtener tratamiento medico de un accidente' industrial. E1l
porcentaje que se puede recompensar se establece por ley.

. . /
RESPONSABILIDADES DEL EMPLEADOR (EL PATRON):

1. El empleador debe reportar cada accidente industrial de los trabajadores
al Departamento de Compensacidn de Trabajadores, dentro de 28 dias de la fecha
del accidente, o.de la fecha en que el empleador se haya dado cuenta del
accidente. :

. . : . . ' L/ o, : ' .
2. . El empleador debe suministrar el pago de las reclamaciones sin cobrarle a
los trabajadores que hacen‘los reclamos‘de beneficios. .

. 3. El empleador debe exhlblr AVISOS POR ESCRITO en Ing;es v en’ Espanol
avisandoles a los traba]adores del Asegurac1on de Compensablon de Trabajadores

que tlene el empleador. o , , .
K . . t : : "',.

: /
4. El 9mpleador debe pagar los benef1c1os de compensac1on aunque no tenga
aseguracion. . . . .

: ) : ) . ’
5. En cuanto reciba aviso de un accidente,. el ‘empleador o patron debe

proporcionarle al trabajador informacién escrita, dandole -asistencia al
trabajador en la reclamacion de los beneficios.

LOS EMPLEADORES (EL PATRON) DEBEN COMPLETAR LA SIGUIENTE INFORMACION PARA CADA
TRABAJADOR LASTIMADO A CAUSA DEL TRABAJO:

ESTA PERSONA NOMBRADA SE ENCARGARA DE SU RECLAMO:

R
La Compania Es:

El_Domicilio Es:

Pongase_En‘Contacﬁo Con Esta Persona:_

T

P

‘Llame. a Este Telefonoi__ - ( ) "~ R SR : R




