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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE.
The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Joann Flower at 9:00 a.m. on February 21, 1995, in Room

423-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:

Committee staff present: Raney Gilliland, Legislative Research Department
Jill Wolters, Revisor of Statutes
Kay Scarlett, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Debra Duncan, Director, Animal Facilities Inspection Program, Kansas Animal Health Department
George Teagarden, Livestock Commissioner, Kansas Animal Health Department

Others attending: See attached list

Chairperson Flower asked the committee to review the minutes of February 16. If there were adjustments,
corrections, or additions to notify the committee secretary before 5:00 p.m. or they would be considered
approved as presented.

Hearing on: HB 2508 - Registering animal groomers

Chairperson Flower opened the hearing on HB_2508. Jill Wolters, Revisor of Statutes, briefed the
committee by stating that this bill would require animal groomers to be registered.

Debra Duncan, Director of the Animal Facilities Inspection Program for the Kansas Animal Health
Department, appeared in support of HB _2508. This bill would require animal groomers to pay an annual
registration fee of $75. Grooming facilities would only be inspected upon complaint. Their office receives a
number of complaints relating to sanitation of the facilities or treatment of the animals. Unsanitary conditions
can contribute to the spread of disease. Currently, no one inspects these facilities. This bill was
recommended by the department and the Companion Animal Advisory Board. (Attachment1)

At the present time there are approximately 119 groomers in the state, with about 50 veterinarians that also
groom animals. Exempting veterinarians that groom animals was discussed as they are registered and
inspected under other statutes. Inspection costs average about $150 per complaint. She stated that it was not
their intent to put people out of business, but to identify the problem and see that it is corrected. They tried to
differentiate between someone that grooms animals commercially, as opposed to someone that does this at
home as a hobby. They adopted the same language as for hobby breeders and boarding and training kennels.
Under the provisions of this bill if the service is provided at a location other than a home, they must have a
license. Exemptions would be the same as other statutes on animal dealer law.

This closed the hearing on HB _2508.

Hearing on: HB 2509 - Revisions to the livestock and domestic animal statutes, chapter 47

Chairperson Flower open the hearing on HB 2509. Jill Wolters, Revisor of Statutes, briefed the committee
on the bill. HB 2509 prohibits the importation or possession of feral swine, provides for civil penalties,
permits the livestock commissioner to require destruction of feral swine, relates to brands, removes Wallace
County from brand inspection list, classifies types of domestic animals that the livestock commissioner has
authority over to prevent infectious diseases, lists methods of disposal of dead animals, and other technical
and clarifying changes.

Unless specifically moted, the individual remasks recorded herein have not been transcribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals I
ppearing before the i for editing or cormrections.




CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, Room 423-S Statehouse, at 9:00 a.m.
on February 21, 1995.

George Teagarden, Livestock Commissioner, Kansas Animal Health Department, testified in support of HB
2509, His department had requested this legislation containing two policy changes, as well as some language
cleanup. This bill would outlaw the 1mportat10n or possession of feral swine. Feral swine can infect
domestic swine herds in the state. Kansas is free of swine brucellosis and has only one herd that is known to
be infected with swine pseudorabies. ~ Other new language in the bill lists three options for the disposal of
dead animals-burial; incineration; or delivery or unloading of the carcasses of dead animals or packing house
refuse at a disposal plant, substation, rendering plant or place of transfer licensed by the commissioner. Other
changes reflect today’s practices and are technical or clarify the statutes. (Attachment 2)

Mr. Teagarden was asked if a provision could be added to this bill that would help rid the state of that one
infected swine herd. Depopulation of the herd would be required, but he wasn’t sure they had the statutory
authority and the department didn’t have indemnity money to do so. This herd is confined and can be sold
only for slaughter. The herd consists of about 100 sows, seven pigs per liter twice a year. About 5 percent
die because of pseudorabies. The department has known about this herd since 1988.

Mike Jensen, Kansas Pork Producers Council, who was in attendance was asked if pork producers in the state
would be willing to pay an annual fee to rid the state of pseudorabies. Mr. Jensen explained the five stages of
a USDA program that would eliminate required testing of swine before crossing state lines if Kansas was
declared a disease free state. This testing can be expensive. Kansas can’t go beyond Stage 2 of this USDA
program until this problem is taken care of. It would be financially beneficial to swine producers in Kansas if
there were no infected herds in the state. Mr. Teagarden was asked to check on statutory authority to
depopulate this herd.

This concluded the hearing on HB 2509.

To clarify questions on HB_ 2486 during hearings yesterday, Mr. Teagarden stated that the veterinary
inspection fee paid by the consignee at public livestock markets is collected by the market operator and sent to
the Kansas Animal Health Department. The department sends the inspection fee money back to the
veterinarian. This fee is direct pass through, it has nothing to do with the department’s budget.

The meeting adjourned at 9:55a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for February 22, 1995.
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STATE OF KANSAS
KANSAS ANIMAL HEALTH DEPARTMENT

George Teagarden, Livestock Commissioner

712 South Kansas Avenue Suite 4-B Topeka Kansas 66603-3808
Phone 913/296-2326 FAX 913/296-1765

February 21, 1995

Madame Chair and Members of the House Committee on

Agriculture:

My name is Debra Duncan and I am the Director of the
Animal Facilities Inspection Program for the Kansas Animal
Health Department. H.B. 2508, which requires animal
groomers to be registered, was introduced at the request of
our Department, and was unanimously recommended by the

Companion Animal Advisory Board.

We ask that you add the definition of animal groomer to
the Animal Dealers Act. This category would be handled as a
registration, with a $75 fee. Grooming facilities would be
inspected only upon complaint. This is the same way we

regulate hobby breeders and boarding and training kennels.

Our office receives a number of complaints concerning
grooming facilities, usually relating to sanitation of the
facility or treatment or confinement of the animals. Poor
sanitation in a grooming facility can contribute the spread
of disease. No one, at this time, regulates these

facilities.

Thank you for your attention. I will be glad to

respond to any questions.
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STATE OF KANSAS
KANSAS ANIMAL HEALTH DEPARTMENT

George Teagarden, Livestock Commissioner
712 South Kansas Avenue Suite 4-B Topeka Kansas 66603-3808
Phone 913/296-2326 FAX 913/296-1765

February 20, 1995

Madame Chair, members of the House Agriculture committee, I
am George Teagarden, Livestock Commissioner, for the State
of Kansas.

I'm here today to ask for your favorable consideration of
H.B. 2509. H.B. 2509 contains two policy questions as well
as some language cleanup.

New section 1 of the bill outlaws the importation and/or
possession of feral swine. Kansas has a good track record
of disease control in swine herds within our state.
Currently, the state is free of swine brucellosis and has
only one herd that 1is known to be infected with swine
pseudorabies. In Texas and Oklahoma, feral swine continue
to infect domestic swine herds with both the above mentioned
diseases. Feral swine are sometimes used to stock hunting
preserves for wild boar hunts. I do not want to risk the
health of our domestic herds for this activity.

The other policy question is addressed in section 9 of the
bill. Section 9(a) and (b) are current law regarding what
you cannot do with an animal carcass. The new language
makes it clear that there are three options for disposal;
burn, bury or render.

Sections 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 deal with brand laws. The changes

in these sections reflect today’s practice. Brand
inspectors are contract employees. The time frames and
grace periods in section 3(d) are no longer needed. There

are only three (3) counties that have mandatory brand law.

Are there any questions?

George Teagarden
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