Approved: March 15, 1995

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON HEAL'TH AND HUMAN SERVICES.
The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Carlos Mayans at 1:30 p.m. on March 14, 1995 in Room

423-S of the State Capitol.

All members were present except: Representative Joel Rutledge - excused

Committee staff present: Norman Furse, Revisor of Statutes
Bill Wolff, Legislative Research Department
Lois Hedrick, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Nancy Shobe, Executive Director, Board of Cosmetology
Michael R. Meacham, Government Relations Counsel for the
National Cosmetology Association of Kansas
Cathy Ferguson, President, National Cosmetology Association of Kansas
Robin Wolfe, Salon Owner
Linda Mortimer, Salon Owner

Others attending: See Guest List, Attachment 1.

The minutes of the meeting of March 13, 1995 were approved.

SB 286 - Cosmetologists licensure requirements and fees

The hearing was begun by the testimony of Nancy Shobe, in behalf of the Board of Cosmetology. She
outlined the agency’s responsibilities with respect to cosmetology and present the Board’s proposal to
strengthen the continuing education requirements for cosmetologists and those who teach the profession (see
Attachment 2). She provided a listing of the continuing education requirements of the other states (see
Attachment 3); and a letter from Dorian Pryce of the Bartlesville, Oklahoma Beauty College expressing his
concerns about the Kansas standards (Attachment 4). Also presented was a listing of student enrollment data
for calendar year 1993 (Attachment 5); and a listing comparing existing education requirements to the
proposed requirements (Attachment 6).

Questions were directed to Ms. Shobe. Representative Wells asked (looking at Attachment 5) how 9 were
enrolled, but 11 dropped from school. How can that be? Ms. Shobe explained that 9 were enrolled during the
calendar year, and 11 dropped during that year. Some of the 11 were carryovers from 1992 because of the
overlap in class schedules.

Chairperson Mayans asked if there was any objection to the committee amending the fees for licensing and
renewal (to $30) and delinquent billings (to $4)? Ms. Shobe said there is no objection. Mr. Furse stated there
are also amendments to make terminology changes comply with new terminology set out in the bill.

The hearing was then closed on SB 286.

SB 267 - Continuing education for_ cosmetologist licensees

Michael Meacham, testifying on behalf of the National Cosmetology Association, supported the bill;
explaining its contents and the need for a public policy on education (including the need for health standards
education and the precedents for requiring continued education) (see Attachment 7). He stated the request for
the legislation is coming from actively practicing cosmetologists and the public. Mr. Meacham presented a
video tape, produced by Channel 3 in Wichita, depicting some medical problems that were caused by inept and
unscrupulous operators of nail salons and the horrific problems that can result from opportunistic and uncaring
nail technicians. Mr. Meachman also circulated a photo of a chemical burn caused by incorrect application of
chemicals for a permanent. The lady pictured was from Hesston and is in litigation over the incident. Mr.
Meacham indicated 5 states have continuing education on the books: Illinois, Iowa,

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals l
appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.
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Nebraska, Ohio, and South Carolina.

Cathy Ferguson, President, National Cosmetologists Association of Kansas, presented testimony strongly
supporting continuing education and urged passage of the bills heard (see Attachment 8).

Linda Mortimer from Derby, testified that she has owned a salon since 1979, and employs 10 people. She
related that she has hired students right out of school, who in the first year turn to teaching cosmetology
without a good background of the business.

Representative Landwehr stated that she appreciates the need for the bill and asks if it is known what the
continuing education will be. Mr. Meacham replied that the State Board will determine the curriculum.

Representative Wells asked how “inactive” is defined--are those the ones who operate from their homes and
are they counted in the survey? Mr. Meacham replied if they are not in a licensed salon, they are not counted.
Representative Wells asked what legal recourse does an individual have if hurt by a cosmetologist? Mr.
Meacham said probably suing for damages and making a complaint to the board.

Representative Geringer asked how many cases of disease have been reported involving cosmetologists. Ms.
Shobe answered no cases of HIV have been reported; 2 cases of Hepatitis are being investigated; and because
tuberculosis can be air borne, it would be hard to trace source of infection and so there are no known cases
reported.

Representative O’Connor questioned the accounting if the proposed fee schedule is adopted. For instance,
active cosmetologists at $100 would be $1 million; make it $30, that is $300,000. Does the board have a lot
of expenses? Mr. Meacham replied that is is not intended to create a large fund for the board, and the board
does not intend to set the maximum fee as it may be too high. The boards wants to license and have some
degree of flexibility if the bill is enacted, especially if several inactive licenses are dropped.

Representative Hutchins asked how the board insures that licensees can prove their hours of continuing
education for renewals? Mr. Meacham replied that is the reason the effective date of the bill is set for July 1,
1996, in order to give the board sufficient time to establish the program and devise a method of keeping track
of the education hours.

Representative Merritt questioned the option of having a designee record the continuing education
achievements and recommended that a method of accountability be required if that work 1s contracted out.

Representative Kirk asked why an inactive license relating to disability is included. Mr. Meacham was not
certain, but believed that it may have been included in the boiler plate followed in developing the bill.

Representative Freeborn asked if any suppliers have been contacted as to their feelings on the bill? Mr.
Meacham answered he had visited with several and they were in support. Clint Johnson of Peel’s Beauty
Supply was present and stated that the board should have oversight on the courses offered.

Representative Haley asked about enforcement of licensing when an individual gets a home business permit--
how is the licensing with Cosmetology enforced? Ms. Strand said that when permits are issued by the local
government the applicant must supply a license and meet the H&E standards.

Representative Mayans indicated that “balloon” amendments have been developed that reduces some fees in
section 4 of the bill and authorizes the board to promulgate rules and regulations for the industry (see
Attachment 9). Representative Merritt made a motion, seconded by Representative L.andwehr, that the
committee amend SB 267 as indicated on Attachment 9).

Discussion ensued on the amendments. Representative Freeborn moved that a conceptual amendment be
included that one-half of the continuing education hours be health related. There was no second, so the
motion failed. Representative Merritt moved, and Representative I.andwehr seconded, that SB 267 be
passed as amended. A vote on the motion was taken, and on voice vote, the committee voted to pass SB
267, as amended.

The committee then considered action on SB 286. Chairperson Mayans asked if the agency had any
problems with the committee amending two fees in Section 4 (line 40 changed to $30 and line 42 to $4)
concerning esthetician licenses and renewals. Ms. Shobe answered there was no objection.

On motion of Representative Mavans, seconded by Representative Landwehr, the committee voted to change

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been franscribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals 2
appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.
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the fees on lines 40 and 42 in Section 4 as just discussed. On motion of Representative Merritt, seconded by
Representative Wells, the committee, on voice vote, passed SB 286, as amended

Chairperson Mayans reminded the committee that it will hear SB 271 (creating under healing arts act inactive
license, federally active license, postgraduate permit and limited permit) at tomorrow’s meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:58 p.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for March 15, 1995.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals 3
appearing before the commitiee for edifing or corrections.
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State of Kansas

BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY

BILL GRAVES, Governor

603 S.W. Topeka Blvd., Suite 100
Topeka, Kansas 66603-3230
Phone: (913) 296-3155
Fax: (913) 296-3002
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IN SUPPORT OF

SENATE BILL 286

MARCH 14, 1995
HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES COMMITTEE ON
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Executive Director
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Mister Chairman and members of the committee, my name is Nancy
Shobe and I appear before you in my capacity as the Executive
Director of the Kansas State Board of Cosmetology. As you know the
board’s primary responsibility is to regulate the profession of
cosmetology and protect the public by enforcing the laws that exist
in Kansas Statutes. Since our agency deals with the public on a
daily basis it would be fair to say that we have a good
understanding of what laws work, and what laws could and should be
clearer. Our agency administers the licensing exam for candidates
to enter the profession, we get a first hand look at what students
are being taught.

The board has spent countless hours in deliberation with direct
contact from our legal counsel in the Attorney General’s office on
what 1is the most appropriate legislation to carry out our
responsibility as a good agency that works for you.

There are three major proposals in SB 286 that would make Kansas
Law more effective for the consumer, which in part of this bill is
the student, and also for the cosmetologists.

The Senate amended the original 1languge to repeal all fee
limitation increase requests. This should make this bill more
favorable to you. The only fees mentioned would be the new license
categories that this legislation would establish.

The first and most important issue in this piece of legislation is
establishing minimum requirements for Instructors who teach the
profession of cosmetology. As our law exists now, as soon as you
graduate from school and pass an entry level examination to
practice cosmetology, you are eligible to begin teaching. The
process 1is that you only apply for a license. There 1is no
training, experience, or fee required. There is no examination to
determine if you are qualified to teach. There are 29 schools of
cosmetology in the state. 10 of these schools are in Community
Colleges or Vo-Techs, while 19 are privately owned. All of these
schools with the exception of 3 participate in Title IV funds,
which are federal and state funds in the form of grants and loans.
The lowest tuition in a Community College is $1320 and the highest
in a private school is $7500. We license a total of 164
instructors which includes community colleges and vo-tech’s. Of
that number 54 of them in private schools started their teaching
career with less than one year experience, with over half of that
number being less than 3 months. The Cosmetology training does not
prepare someone to teach. We believe that there should be direct
teaching skills taught to someone before they begin to teach.
Students are being cheated of the education they are paying for in
that these teachers are not qualified to teach without valuable
experience in the field and a training program. In this year alone
there were 1650 students enrolled in schools throughout the state.
There are only 5 states in the United States that does not
credential 1its instructors with experience or an examination.
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Kansas is one of those states. The National exam is developed by
subject matter experts from all parts of the United States. These
are usually teachers. No teacher from Kansas has ever been asked
to participate because it does not appear that have any
credentials. There is a school owner present in the room who had
planned to testify, but because of time restraints is here in
support of this bill. I have provided documentation from her and
several private and public school in support of this legislation.

Most school owners that are really interested in giving a quality
education, would have to be in support of this bill. Also here
with the school owner are some students that firmly believe that
their instructors should have experience and be trained. I can
safely say that there would be no opposition from any student or
their parents, who may be paying for their education, on this
legislation. Cosmetologist who hire these graduates are for a
better education. The requirements in this bill are minimum. We
are asking for one year experience in the field and a 300 hour

training program directly related to teaching. This can be
provided by any school of Cosmetology, Vo-tech or Community
College. The Instructor would then be required to pass an

examination. Representative Mayans asked me to provide a pass fail
rate for your review.

The second point is that we have no provision for an esthetician
license (skin care). The only solution that we have to offer to
somecne coming here from another state, with a skin care license,
is to return to school to learn to do nails and then be examlned
for a cosmetology technician license, which would finally allow
them to do skin care. This bill would allow those who are already
licensed as cosmetology technicians to remain 1licensed, but
eliminate a cosmetology technician license for the future, then
establish the appropriate categories of licenses. This would do no
harm. Anyone who wishes to do both manicures and skin care can do
so by completing both courses. If they choose to do only one of
these professions then they would only need to go to school for
that particular training.

The third point is that at the present time, we require that
someone wishing to become an electrologist must first become a
cosmetologist or a cosmetology technician. This is cumbersome and
requires that the person attend two different schools to obtain one
license. It should be their choice whether they choose to practice
cosmetology or just electrolysis. If a nurse decides that they
want to train as an electrologist, they first have to train as a
cosmetologist. This is not good government.

These last two points only simplify some cumbersome laws. I have
included a chart to help you see what exists and what this
legislation would do. It is easy to see that the classifications
are more adequate for the scope of practice that it covers.

The rest of the language in this bill reflects technical clean-up.
I would be happy to answer any questions you may have. If not I
would urge you to take action on this bill and pass it favorably.
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Foreword
The Milady Cosmetology State Board Guide was first published in 1947 and has
since undergone revisions and improvements.
This newest edition reflects changes submitted by state organizations in mid-
1992 and provides information on the regulations in effect in each state, U.S.

analysis and educational analysis pages.

From its inception, Milady’s Guide 1o Cosmetology Licensing has met with the
warm approval of state licensing authoritics, school owners, teachers, technicians,
guestartists, manufacturers, and suppliers. This compilation is a desktop reference
for those who need licensing facts and figures at their fingertips.

We wish to acknowledge the many state officials whose generous contribution
and sustaining interest have made this edition possible.

For any information not covered in this guide, please contact the stateg directly.

—Editor

Information in this book is provided, upon Milady Publishing’s request, by the individual licensing
offices. Milady staff is not responsible for the accuracy of information contained herein,

Copyright © 1993

MILADY PUBLISHING COMPANY
(A Division of Delmar Publishers Inc.)
3 Columbia Circle

Albany, NY 12212-5015

ISBN 1-56253-132-8

All n'gfus reserved. No part of this work covered by the copyright hereon may be reproduced or used
in any form or by any means—graphic, electronic, or mechanical, including photocopying,
recording, taping, or information Storage and retrieval Systems—without written permission of the
publisher.,

Printed in the United States of America
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1993 Teacher-Training Requirements

State B ol Prog. | Education Required Training and/or Experience
Lic. and Other Information

Alabama Yes Yes | Yas | HS Cosmetology license, 1 yr exp. & 650 T.T. hrs or
cosmetology license, no exp. & 1250 T.T. hrs

Alaska Yes Yes | Yes Alaska inst. lic.-1 yr practical exp. + 600 hrs T.T. or
3 yrs practical exp.

Arizona Yes Yes | Yes | HSorequiv. | Oper.lic. with 1 yrexp. +studentinstructortraining;
650 hrs cosmetology, 350 hrs manicuring, 500 hrs
esthetician

Arkansas Yeos Yos | Yes | HSorequiv. | Cosmetology liconse + 600 hrs +3yrs experience

Califomia N/A N/A | N/A ;

Colorado Requirements set by Dept. of Higher Education
after Nov. 1, 1920

Connecticut N/A N/A | N/A

Delaware Yes Yos | Yes Licensed cosmetologist + 3-6 months T.T.

Dist. of Columbia Yes Yes | Yes | 8th grade 3yrsexperienceor2000 hrsT.T. +6 mos exparience

Florida Yes Yos | Yes | HSorequiv. | Lic. cosm. with 2 yrs exp. + 600 hrs ol
Georgia Yes Yes HS or equiv. | Master lic. with 1500 sch. +inst. training 1500 hrs
Hawaii Yes Yes | Yes | HSorequiv. | 600 hrs instructor training from beauty school
Idaho Yes | Yes | Yes | 12coll. cred. | 6 mos T.T. or 3 mos T.T. and 2 yrs exp., or 5 yrs
experience
lllinois Yes Yes | Yes | HSorequiv. | 1000 hrs T.T. or 500 hrs T.T. + 2 yrs experience
within 5 yrs praceding examination
Indiana Yes Yes | No HS or equiv. | Lic.cosm.; 6 mosexp.insalon and 6 mos in schoo|
lowa No* Yos | Yes | HSorequiv. | Lic.cosm. +2yrsexp. orlic.cosm. + 1000 hrsT.T,
Kansas No Yes | Yes | HSorequiv. | 60 hrs T.T. + 40 hrs hairstyling
Kentucky Yes Yos | Yes | HSorequiv. | Lic.cosm.;1yrexp.+1000hrs apprentice/instructor
training in licensed school. Must pass science &
practical exam
Louisiana Yes Yes | Yes | HS Lic. operator + 500 hrs T.T. Lic. esthetician with 5
yrs experience
Maine Yes Yos | Yes | HSorequiv. | Licensed Maine Cosmetologist; 1000 hrs in
cosmaetologist instructor course :
Maryland Yos | Yes | Yes | HSorequiv. | Hold operatorlic. + 1000 hrs of Jr. T.T. or operator
for2yrs & complete boardapproved T.T. orcompleta
degree
Massachusetts Yes Yes | No HS or equiv. | 2 yrs registered hairdresser
Michigan Yes | Yes | Yes | HS 500 hrs T.T. + 3 yrs exp. (at least 1 yrin salon)
Minnesota Yes Yos | Yes | HSorequiv. | Plus 38 hrs formal training. 1400 hrs as lic,
cosmetologist, manicurist or esthetician
Mississippi Yes Yes | Yes | HSorequiv. | Lic. oper. with 2 yrs exp. + 750 hrs T.T. Must have
12 semesterhrsin “Methodsof Teaching”. Esthetics:
licanse 2 yrs exp. + 600 hrs, 12 semester hrs in
“Methods of Teaching”
Missouri Yes Yos | Yes | HSorequiv. | 1200 hrs of instructor's training
Montana Yes Yes | Yes Licensed cosmatologist, 3 yrs as operator or 850
hrs of teacher training
Nebraska Yes Yes | Yes | HSorequiv. | Licensed cosmetologist, 6 mos T.T. (925 hrs)
Nevada Yes Yes | Yes | HSorequiv. | Licensed cosmetologist 1 yr + 1000 hrs T.T. in
cosmaetology school
New Hampshire Yes Yos | Yes | HSorequiv. | Lic.oper. + 1yrexp.or900 hrs school training; or
lic. oper. + 1000 hrs school training
New Jersey Yos | Yes | Yes | HSorequiv. | Licensed cosmetologist-hairstylist or beautician:
500 hrsT.T. course; 30clockhrmethods of teaching
certificate and 6 mos employment experience
New Mexico Yeos Yes | Yes | HSorequiv. | Lic. cosm. with 3 yrs exp. + state examination or
1000 hrs T.T. plus state examination

*Must attend Instructor's Institute approved by Cosmetology Board
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1993 Teacher-Training Requirements (Cont’d)

Tl p : Required Training and/or Experience
Slate XA Lie | & sl and Other Information

New York No Yos | Yes |HSorequiv. | Temp. lic. 1 yr 2 yrs exp. Prov. lic.: 2 yrs exp.,
complete T.T. course. Reg. lic.: 2 yrs salon
experience + 90 hrs T.T.

North Carolina Yes Yes | Yes |HSorequiv. | Lic. cosmetologist with 5 yrs exp. or 6 mos as
licensed cosmetologist + 800 hrs T.T.

North Dakota Yes Yes | Yes |HSorequiv. | Lic.cosmetologist& 960 hrs T.T. or 1 yrexp. & 480
hrs T.T. or3 yrs exp. & 160 hrs T.T.

Ohio No Yes | Yes |HSorequiv. | 1yrworkingexperience inlicensed beauty salon or
1000 hrs apprentice instructor training in licensed
school of cosmetology

Oklahoma Yes Yes | Yes |HSorequiv. | 1500 hrs of cosmetology training + 1000 hrs of
instructor training or 2 yrs salon exp. + 500 hrs
instructor training

Oregon No No Yes |HSorequiv. | Current Oregon lic. in hair design/barber, facial
tech. & manicuring (or any comb.) + 1000 hrs T.T.
or 2 yrs exp. lic. pract/formal training comb.

Pennsylvania Yes Yes | Yes |HSorequiv. | Lic. cosm. + 500 hrs cosm. training

Puerto Rico Yes Yes | Yes |HSorequiv. | 30 hrs T.T. + 2 yrs exp.

Rhode Island Yes |Yes | Yes |HSorequiv. | Hold Rhode Island license for 3 yrs plus 300 hrs
instructor training

South Carolina Yes Yes | Yes |HS plus** 2yrspractice or 750 hrs of T.T.; current practice lic.

South Dakota No Yes | Yes |HSorequiv. | Sr.Instructor: Lic. Mgr.-Oper. & 2 yrs exp. or 1 yras
Jr. Instructor. 10 hrs board approved seminar each
year. Jr. Instructor: lic. oper. under supervision of
Senior Instructor

Tennessee Yos Yes | No HS or equiv. | Lic. cosmetologist; 300 hrs instructor training or 1
yrexp. as Jr. Instructor. Jr. instructors may work in
schoolmax. 3yrs. Sr. Instr. mustattend 24 hrs cont,
ed. every 2 yrs

Texas Yes Yes | Yes |HS orequiv. ;5_? hrs training or 2 yrs lic. operator exp. + 250 hrs

Utah Yes Yes | Yes ([N/A Lic. cosm. & 6 mos T.T.

Vermont No Yes | No HS or equiv. | Licensed Vermont operator with 2 yrs experience
as hairdresser

Virgin Islands Yes |Yes | Yes [HS 600 hrs T.T.

Virginia Opt. |[Yes | Yes Be holder of a current cosm. license and pass a
course in teaching techniques approved by the
State Boardof Ed. orcomplete aninstructortraining
course approved by the Virginia Board of Cosm.
supervised by a certified cosmetology instructorin
a beauty school and a seminar approved by the
Virginia Board of Cosm.; or pass an exam in
cosmetology instruction administered by the Board.

Washington Yes Yos | Yes 500 hrs instruction in teaching techniques

West Virginia Yes Yes | No Lic. cosmetologist + 3 yrs teaching experience and
at least 15 hrs college credits

Wisconsin Yes Yes | Yes 2000 hrs prac. + 150 hrs instruct. train. course

Wyoming Yes |[Yes | Yes [HSorequiv. | Lic. Wyomingoper., 1yrsalonexp.+1000hrs T.T.

Alberta, Canada No N/A | N/A | HS orequiv. | Grade 12trade certificate andvocationaled. degree

B.C., Canada N/A N/A | NJA  [N/A Current lic. + 3 yrs exp. or instructor course

N. S., Canada Yes N/A | NJA [HS 8 yrs in industry; 3 summer schools; 3 credits

Ontario, Canada No Yes | Yes |9th grade Must hold valid certification in trade of hairstylist

Quebec, Canada N/A N/A | NJA {N/A N/A

Saskatch., Canada | No No No N/A Grad. from registered school; valid Saskatch.
joumeyman's cert.

**Plus 45 hrs in Methods of Teaching course
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Skin Care

13,

Most states include skin care as part of the regular cosmetology curriculum, with no special license
required. Some states do have special licenses covering this type of service. The states having special
licenses are listed below, with the requirements for such licenses indicated.

State Forral Enirance Training Exam License Period ’I;J;eg:ieg
Education | Age (yr) % Exam
Alabama 10th grade | 16 1200 credit unithror| Yes | Sept. 30 odd yr $65
3000 hr apprentice
Alaska N/A N/A 350 hr Yes | Aug. 31 $55
Arizona 10th grade | None 600 hr Yes | Birthdate $38
Arkansas 10th grade | 16 600 hr Yes | Dec. 31 $30
Califomia 10th grade | 17 600 hr school or 18 Yes | 2 yr from issuance $32
mo exp outside
Calif.
Colorado None 16 550 hr Yes | March 31 $41
Delaware NI* NI* 300 hr Yes | Dec. 31 $60
District of 8thgrade | 16 125 hr Yes | April 15 (biennially) $40
Columbia or equiv.
Florida None 16 orHS | 240 hr Yes | June 30 (biennially) $50
dipioma
Georgia oth grade | 16 Necne Yes | Biannual $45
Hawaii 12th grade | 16 550 hr in school or Yes | Dec. 31 odd yr $75
1100 hr apprentice
Idaho 10th grade | 16-1/2 500 hr Yes | Dec. 31 $57
lllinois gthgrade | 16 750 hr Yes | Sept. 30 odd yr $99
lowa 12th grade | None 600 hr Yes | Biennial $55
Kansas HS/GED 17 1000 hrin approved | Yes | Birth month $15
cosmetolegy school odd/even yr
Louisiana 10th grade | 16 750 hr (min 3 mo) Yes | March 1 $55
Maine 10th grade | 16 750 hr (5 mo) Yes | June 30 (biennially) $60
Maryland ogthgrade |17 300 hr or 6 mo Yes | Oct. 31 odd yr $91
apprentice
Massachusetts | 8thgrade | 16 300 hr skincare Yes | Monthly $120
Minnesota ézé%or None 600 hr Yes | Dec 31—3yr $38
Mississippi 10th grade | 17 600 hr Yes | 1 yr from issuance $40
Nebraska 12th grade | NI* 600 hr NI* | Sept. 30 even yr NI*
Nevada 10th grade | 18 600 hr in school Yes | June 30 oddyr $55
New Hampshire | 12th grade | 16 450 hr Yes | June 30 oddyr $70
New Mexico 2yrHS 16 800 hr Yes | Birthmonth $45
North Dakota 12th grade | 17 900 hr Yes | Dec. 31 NI*
Ohio 8thgrade | 16 600 hr Yes | Jan. 30 oddyr $41
Oklahoma 8thgrade | 16 300 hr Yes | Birthmonth $30
Oregon None None 350 hr Yes | 1 yr from issuance $35
Pennsylvania 10th grade | 16 300 hr Yes | NI* Ni*
Rhode Island HS 18 600 hr Yes | June 20 $15
South Carolina | 10th grade | None 450 hr Yes | March 10 $45
Tennessee 10th grade | 16 750 hr Yes | Sept. 1 (biennially) set by
contract
Texas 7thgrade | 16 600 hr Yes | Birthdate $60
Vemont 12th grade | 17 550 hr Yes | Nov. 30 $60
or equiv
Virgin Islands NI* 18 1200 hr Yes | Dec. 31 $120
Washington NI* 17/ 500 hr Yes | Birthdate $25
Wisconsin HS/GED NI* 450 hr Yes | July 1 oddyr $63
Nova Scotia None i 150 hr Yes | 1yr $25

*NI = Not indicated
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BARTLESVILLE BEAUTY COLLEGE
622 EAST FRANK PBILLIPS BLVD.
AOMINISTRATION OFFICE 336-3444

BARTLESVILLE, OKLA. 74003

March 10, 1995

RANSAS STATE BOARD of COSMETOLOGY
603 S.W. Topeka Blvd, Suite 100
Toveka, Kansas 66603-3230

ATIN: Ms. Nancy Shobe/Executive Director

Re: Cosmetoloay Instructor Requirements

Dear Ms. Shobe;

As you are aware, I have displayed a definite interest in opening a new
Cosmetology School in the State of Kansas. I would like to take just a
moment to express my appreciation to you and your staff, Each individual
that I have had the occasion to come in contact with has extended the
profegsional courtesy one might hope to receive, but often does not.

One of my major concerns regarding the opening of a school in Kansas is the
lack of formal education required for Instructors. I'm sure you are familiar
with our licensing requirements in Oklahoma, I have great reservations when
considering the investment involved, of establishing a school in a State that
does not mandate certain criteria for those entrusted with the education and
career direction of our youth.

Please don't think that this is written in criticism, I respect the fact that
their is much to be said about practical experience in our industry.
Unfortunately many other factors are involved when teaching, such as the ability
through correct education to format Lesson Plans, outline Curriculums and
Schedules with the knowledge to properly execute and follow them. Regardless

of the practical experience in a salon that one may have, this is not taught in
any salon in any State.

I myself have been in the Cosmetology profession for over 20 years as an
Educator, Salon Owner and Private School Owner. I am very active in the State,
currently serving a second consecutive term as secretary of the Oklahoma
Private Cosmetology School's Association and constantly striving to see that
our student's are offered the highest quality of education possible.

In closing I must say that Kansas offers many opportunities for opening a new
Cosmetology School although I feel it necessary at this time to postpone any

decision to add a branch campus of my school until the Cosmetology Instructor
requirements are up graded in your fine State.

With Sincere Appreciation:
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BOARD OF COSMETOLQ(

603 S.W. Topeka Bivd., Suite 100
Topeka, Kansas 66603-3230
Phone: (913) 296-3155

N
JOAN FINNEY, Governor

October 6, 1994

Mr. Randall E. Williams,
KOICC Director

Kansas Dept of Human Resources
401 Topeka Blvd
Topeka KS 66603-3182

Dear Mr. Williams:

Enclosed is the information requested by your department, regarding

student enrollment data and examination data from January 1, 1993
through December Sile, SI9ISIGR
NAME OF SCHOOL ENROLLED DROPPED PASSED FAILED
ACADEMY OF COSMETOLOGY ) aLal, <) i
ACADEMY OF HAIR DESIGN 61 14 24 5
ADVANCED HAIR TECH 23 3
AMERICAN ACADEMY OF HATIR DESIGN 80 36 82 L2
BARTON CO COMM COLLEGE 47 215 28 14
COLLEGE OF HAIR DESIGN 34 6 34 9
COWLEY CO COMM COLLEGE 815 1,3 26 5
CRUM’S BEAUTY COLLEGE 138 49 57 9
DODGE CITY coMM COLLEGE 37 16 LS 4
TS CONTNEOMM COLLEGE 5C) 26 28 7
GARDEN CITY COMM COLLEGE SHIS 10 7 5}
HAIR BENDERS SCHOOL~-LAWRENCE 32 13 28 6
HAYS ACADEMY OF HAIR DESIGN 39 15 20 5
INDEPENDENCE COMM COLLEGE 30 19 14 2
JOHNSON CO AREA VOC TECH 819 13 10 6
KANSAS CITY, KANSAS AVTS 55 26 38 <)
KANSAS SCHOOL OF HAIRSTYLING 79 29 33 6
LA BARON HATIRDRESSING ACADEMY 75 27 43 10
LIBERAL ACADEMY OF HATIR DESIGN 25 16 7 7
MISSION BEAUTY ACADEMY 60 2l 34 12
NORTHWEST KANSAS AVTS 22 (5 52 4
PITTBURG SCHOOL OF BEAUTY 80 26 38 3
SIDNEY’S HAIRDRESSING COLLEGE 58 218 8% 8
SUPERIOR SCHOOL OF HAIRSTYLING 96 58 5t 4
continued

HOUSE H&HS COMMITTEE
S - 1%- 1995
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VERNON’S KS SCHOOL OF COS 1L3L{0) 41 41 L7
VERNON’S KS SCHOOL OF COS EAST 22 115} 32 20
VERNON’S KS SCHOOL OF COS WEST 53 18 22 8
VERNON’S KS SCHOOL OF COS EMPORIA 20 8 21 2
XENON INT'L SCHOOL OF HAIR DESIGN 89 26 61 350
SHOP APPRENTICES 3 2 4 jig

During the calendar year of 1993, we also licensed 369 out of state
applicants and scheduled 75 additional applicants for the
examination. Of these scheduled to be examined, we do not keep a
record of the number that passed, failed or failed to show for the
examination.

We also scheduled 13 individuals for our examination that have let
their licenses expire over 3 years. A record of these scheduled to

be examined is not kept showing if they passed, failed or failed to
show for the exam.

We hope the information encleosed in this letter is sufficient for
the needs of your department.

Sincerely yours,

KANSAS STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY

Nancy Shobe
Executive Director

NS:mlc



LICENSE CLASSIFICATIONS

(including practice and hour requirements)

EXISTING LAW

Cosmetology 1500 hours
(Hair, Skin and Nails)

Cosmetology Technician 1000 hours
(Skin and Nails)

Manicuring 350 hours
(Nails)
Electrology 500 hours +
(Removal of Hair with needle)
(Must hold a license for Cosmetology 1500 hours
or Cosmetology Technician) 1000 hours
LICENSE CLASSIFICATIONS
(including practice and hour requirements)
SB 286
Cosmetology 1500 hours

(Hair, Skin and nails)

Manicuring 350 hours
(Nails)

Esthetician 600 hours
(Skin)

Electrology : 500 hours

(Hair removal with needle)

HOUSE H&HS COMMITTEE
3 - 1% - 1995
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Testimony

of

The National Cosmetology Association

of Kansas

to the
House Health & Human Services Committee

in support of

Senate Bill 267

March 14, 1995

Michael R. Meacham
Governmental Relations Counsel
3530 Rushwood Court

Wichita, KS 67226

(316) 683-9507

HOUSE H&HS COMMITTEE
3 -4 — 1995 3125 Randolph # 207

Attachment__%7- ! Topeka, KS 67214
(913) 267-6056




I. The Cosmetology Industry. The chart below is a representation of the Kansas
Cosmetology industry. Senate Bill 267 addresses the public safety interests of
600,000 to 1,000,000 consumers and the professional interests of 25,000
cosmetologists and 3,500 salons.

Kansas Consumers of Cosmetology Services
Approximately 600,000 to 1,000,000

Licensed Cosmetologists
Approximately 25,000

Actively Practicing
Cosmetologists
Approximately 10,000

Inactive
Cosmetologists
(not working in Salons)
Approximately 15,000

Salons/Salon Owners
Approximately 3,500

Schools

20 Proprietary Schools

7 Community Colleges
(Barton County, Cowley County, Dodge City, Johnson County,
Independence, Garden City, and Ft. Scott)

3 AVTS A
(Johnson County, KansasCity , and
Northwest [Goodland])

Supply Houses
3 Kansas-based majors
Peel’s; Klendt; Bottenfield
several other supply houses do business in Kansas




II. Content of the Bill. This legislation:

* requires cosmetologists wishing to maintain an active license take

20 clock hours of continuing education during the biennium of their license;

e establishes a new category of license -- inactive for those not

wishing to participate in continuing education;

* directs the State Board of Cosmetology to implement this program
by July 1, 1996;

e provides for the State Board to set guidelines and retain control

over approved curriculum of continuing education programs, and;

* authorizes the State Board to promulgate rules and regulations,

and to set and receive certain fees, to implement this program.

e Further, the State Board is authorized to name a designee for
management of the continuing education record-keeping so no additions

to the state payroll are required to enforce this act.

About the Fees. NCA-Kansas knows that the Legislature is reluctant
to impose new fees on, ultimately, consumers. We believe the cost
suggested in this legislation is modest when seen in light of protecting the
public. The requirements of this legislation would cost a cosmetologist on
average the equivilent of two, perhaps three, “sets” per year. Most of the
fees would be paid by course providers, who would profit by offering
courses. While the fee limits called for in the bill may seem high, it is not
believed the State Board would actually set the Active License and
Registration Fees at the limit.

7 .3




II1. Public Policy for the Bill. In recent years, in other states, litigation has
been initiated by consumers injured by cosmetologists. The most dramatic
case has been an allegation of the spread of AIDS by a cosmetologist using
non-sterile manicure instruments, breaking the skin, thereby infecting the
client. While this is an extreme example, it serves to demonstrate the
public interest in safe and sanitary equipment and salons while receiving
this personal service, so often taken for granted. Additionally, consumers
receive scalp burns, hair loss and other injuries when applications of
chemicals are performed incorrectly, something more likely to occur at the
hands of those not current in their training with respect to the use of these
compounds. Continuing education, while certainly not a cure-all for all
the potential woes potentially facing consumers, would indeed provide
consumers a certain measure of reassurance that the person working on
them with potentially harmful chemicals and equipment at least

undertakes a minimum of current training.

IV. Examples. Examples of course offerings which would be beneficial as
continuing education include the handling of hazardous waste (blood and
some types of chemicals); sanitation procedures for implements; operation
of a small business; proper application of certain chemicals, and; courses
which teach how blood-related diseases (AIDS and Hepatitis) are spread.

V. Precedents from other states. Nebraska, Iowa, Illinois, South Carolina

and Ohio all have mandatory continuing education for cosmetologists.

7~




VI. Precedents from Kansas -- other professions. It seems to be the
prevailing public policy of this state to require continuing education of
those engaged in professions licensed by the State of Kansas. The
following is a partial list of professions whose members are required to

obtain continuing education and the requirement imposed by state law.

Accountants 40 hours per year
Attorneys 12 hours per year
Chiropractors 50 hours per year
Dentists 30 hours per year
Embalmers 12 hours per two years

Insurance Agents 15 hours per year

Law Enforcement Officers
Medical Doctors

40 hours per year
150 hours per three years

Nurses 30 hours per two years
L.P.N.s 30 hours per two years
Occupational Therapists 40 hours per two years
Optometrists 20 hours per year
Osteopaths 50 hours per year

Real Estate Brokers
Social Workers

Teachers

12 hours per two years |
60 hours per two years

15 hours per year*

*As a substitute for graduate level college course work

VIIL. Conclusion. In closing we ask the House Health and Human Services
Committee to recognize that this request is coming from actively
practicing cosmetologists and from the public. We believe you should give
greater weight to the compelling interest in public safety voiced by those

knowledgeable about the practice of cosmetology and their clients.

7 -5




NATIONAL COSMETOLOGY ASSOCIATION
OF KANSAS, INC.

PRESIDENT
Cathy Perguson
4115 Plum Tree

Wichita, Kansas 67226
H. (316) 634-6651
W. (316) 682-2625

FIRST VICE PRESIDENT
Terry Chrisco
10046 B. Bayley Court
Wichita, Kansas 67207
H. (316) 681-1779
W. (316) 682-3352

SECOND VICE PRESIDENT
Betty Pilcher
P. O. Box 186
Lebanon, Kansas 66952
H. (913) 389-8971
- W, (913) 389-6611

THIRD VICE PRESIDENT
Linda Mortimer
801 Beaver Trail
Derby, Kansas 67037
H. (316) 788-1493
W. (316) 788-3722

FOURTH VICE PRESIDENT
Pat Mauzey
1002 South "A"
Arkansas City, Kansas 67005
H. (316) 442-8698
W. (316) 441-5284

SECRETARY
Judith Buford
701 South Margrave
Ft. Scott, Kansas 66701
H. (316) 223-3687
W. (316) 223-5634

TREASURER
Sharan Bailey
1325 Arthur
Hutchinson, Kansas 67501
H. (316) 663-5097
W. (316) 663-4072

FINANCIAL SECRETARY
Seth Rislove
713 Main
Budora, Kansas 66025
H/W. (913) 542-3249

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
Gayle Killion
106 Railroad
Silver Lake, Kansas 66539
H. (913) 582-4241
W. (913) 582-5303

KEC CHAIRMAN
Betty Pilcher
P. O. Box 186
Lebanon, Kansas 66952
H. (913) 389-8971
W. (913) 389-6611

STYLES DIRECTOR
Terry Chrisco
10046 E. Bayley Court
Wichita, Kansas 67207
H. (316) 681-1779
W. (316) 682-3352

MISSION STATEMENT

I come to you first as a licensed cosmetologist from
the state of Kansas and second as the President of the
National Cosmetology Association of Kansas.

We support Senate Bill 267. It is vital to the
upgrading of our profession and plays a large role in the
public safety of our consumers. Every person in Kansas
touched by a cosmetologist (hair, skin or nails) cares
greatly if their cosmetology professional is educated today.

We have petitions signed from all over this state.
There are several professionals -- nurses, lawyers -- who
feel these laws are archaic. Why, when we touch people
sometimes more than once a week, are we not in the same
mandatory continuing education status as they are?

This must be passed.

Respectfully,
C ) e N A
Yoy / (/ (A

|

Cathy Fergusonl

HOUSE H&HS COMMITTEE
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Ax Amended I)y Senate Committee

Seston of 1993

SENATE BILL No. 267

Bv Committee on Public Health and Welfare

2.G

AN ACT concermmy cosmetolosists relating to continuine education re-

quirernents 'alut ading K.S.A 63 F4End 65- l‘-)(@aml repealing the

\

existing sectinns

Be it enacted bi; the Legislature of the State of Kansas

Section 1. K.S.A. 65-1904 15 iu reby amended to read as follows: 65-
1904. (a) Unless revoked for canse. all licenses of cosmetologists, cos-
metology technicians, electrologists and manicurists issued or renewed
by the board shull expire on the expiration dates established by rules and
regulations adopted by the board under this section. Subject to the other
provisions of this subsection; cach such li(rnsr:,‘ot]mr than the three-year
senior cosmetologist license, shall be renewable on a biennial basis upon
the filing of a 1enewal application prior to the exprraton of the license
ened. pavinent of the renewal fee established nnder this section and.except
for an apprentice license and the semor cosmetologist license. for licenses
renewed on and after July 1. 1996 fumishing evidence satisfactory to the
board of the completion of a minuzm of 20 clock hours biennially of
continuing education approved by the board in the license category in
which the licensec holds a license or of the licensee holds o license in more
than one category. m the category spectfed by rules and regulations of
the board for heensees holdmg more than one license. In order to provide
for the establishment of a system of biennial renewal of licenses issued,
by the board. the board may provide by rules and regulations that licenses
issued or renewed may expire less than two vears from the date of issu-
ance or renewal T each case i which a license is issued or renewed for
a period of time of less than two vears, the board shall prorate to the
nearest whole month the heense o renewal fee established under this
section

(Y  Anv cosmetologist’s. cosmetology techmetan’s. electrologst’s or
tanicurist s heense mav be renewed By the apphicant within three vears
after the date of expiration of the applicant’s last license upon submission
of proof, satisfactory to the board, of the applicant’s qualifications to re-
new practice as a cosmetologist, cosmetology technician, electrologist or
manicurist. including the completion of any applicable continuinge edn-

establishing an inactive license category;

[, 65-1908 and 74-2702a

HOUSE H&HS COMMITTEE
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cation requirements and payment of the applicable renewal fee and de-
linquent fee prescribed pursvant to this section. Any applicant whose
license as a cosmetologist, cosmetology technician, electrologist or man-
jcurist has expired for more than three years prior to application for re-
newal may obtain a license in the same manner and on payment of the
same fees as provided for an applicant for an original license on and after
July 1. 1996. and upon proof that such applicant has satisfactorily com-
pleted a program of continuing education required by the board for ap-
plicants whose licenses have expired.

() At the time of application for license renewal, 2 cosmetologist
licensed in this state may apply to the board and qualify for a three-year
senior cosmetologist license by:

(1) Paying the fee required by this section;

(2) showing evidence satisfactory to the board of having been actually
employed in a licensed salon or licensed school for not less than 120 days
during the preceding three years;

(3) on and after July 1, 1996, furnishing evidence satisfactory to the
board of the completion of a minimum of 30 clock hours triennially of
continuing education approved by the board; and

3} (4) furnishing evidence satisfactory to the board of attendance of
40 clock hours of courses of instruction in cosmetology approved by the
board.

id)  Any applicant for a license other than a renewal license shall make
a verified application to the board on such forms as the board may require
and, upon payment of the examination fee shall be examined by the board
and shall be issued a license, if found to be duly qualified to practice the
profession of cosmetologist, cosmetology technician, electrologist or man-
icunist.

(¢) (1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the board shall
require every licensee in the active practice of cosmetology within the
state to submit evidence of satisfactory completion of a program of con-
tinuing education required under this section. Such evidence shall be
made in writing in a form required by the board. The board shall require
every licensee in the active practice of cosmetology within the state to
remit a continuing education fee to the board or its designee in an amount
fixed by the board. The board shall adopt rules and regulations establish-
ing the program of continuing education in accordance with this section
as soon as possible after the effective date of this act. In establishing such
requirements the board shall consider any existing programs of continuing
education currently being offered to licensees of the board.

(2) To qualify as an approved provider of continuing education of-
ferings. persons, organizations or institutions proposing to provide such
continuing education offerings shall apply to the board for approval and

-2
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submit evidence that the applicant is prepared to meet the standards and
requirements established by the rules and regulations of the board for
such continuing education offerings. Initial applications shall be made in
writing on forms supplied by the board and shall be submitted to the
board together with the application fee fixed by the board. Qualification
as an approved provider of continuing education offerings shall expire
five years after the granting of such approtal by the board. An approved
provider of continuing education offerings shall submit annually to the
board the continuing education program approval fee established by rules
and regulations, along with an annual report of its educational programs
for the previous fiscal year. Applications for renewal as an approved pro-
vider of continuing edncation offerings and annual reports shall be made
in writing on forms supplied by the board and shall be submitted to the
board together with the application fee fixed by the board.

(3)  The board shall establish an inactive license category and may
waive the continuing education requirements for the renewal of a license
and place a licensee on inactive status if a licensee is not engaged in or
has retired from practice or has become temporarily or permanently dis-
abled and the licensee files with the board a certificate stating either of
the following:

(1) A retiring licensee certifies to the board that the Izcensee:

(A) Has retired from the active practice of cosmetology service: or

(B) is not engaged in the provision of any cosmetology service as de-
fined by the statutes of the state of Kansas: or

(2) a disabled licensee certifies to the board that such licensee is no
longer engaged in the provision of any cosmetology service as defined by
the statutes of the state of Kansas by reason of any physical disability,
whether permanent or temporary. and shall describe the nature of such
disability. The waiver of continuing education under this subsection shall
continue so long as the retirement or physical disability exists. I the event
tkelfeemm#oéhepfmﬁwwhfekmehwwkw&e
dem&mmgaﬁefﬁkedm#whm%mtomekm
l&&mﬂ & pﬂaeeduﬁe to activate an inactive license- Prior to returning to
active practice for which a person holds an inactive license, such
person shall complete 20 clock hours of contmumg education ap-
proved by the board in the license category in which the licensee
holds a license or if the licensee holds a license in more than one
category, in the category specified by rules and regulations of the
board for licensees holding more than one license. The board shall
establish by rules and regulations a procedure to activete an inac-

-3
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tive license.

(@3 (fi  The board is herebv anthorized to adopt rules and regulations
frang the amount of fees for the following items and to charge and collect
the amounts so fixed, subject to the following limitations:

Active connstologist license or renewal for two years — not more than EI 00
Inactite cosmetologist hcense or seniewal, for two vears — not more

than . . 3¢
Dichnauent cosmetologist heense 4

Costnetoln technician heense or renewad for tWo vears - not more

thien AU 30
Electrologast heense or renewal. for twu vears — not more than - 3
Delinquent electrologist license 4

Senior costetologast beense or renes «© for three vears - not more

than e . P 4.5
Manicurist license renewal or renewal, for two vears — not more than . 24
DLt gur 0t manicurist License 4
Anv apprentice license -— not more than ... . eiie e 12
Additional training license - - nor more than * 12
New school license ... ... e R 100
Schexd Bicense renewal — oot more than 50
Delinquent school license - not more than 10
New salon or electrology clinic license — not more than ‘ 30
Sadon or electrology chinic hevnse renewad — not more than 20
Debnguent salon or electroknn el heense 6
Transfer of sdon or electrology chme beense — not more than . 15
Cosmetologist's examination — not more than Py
Cosmetology technician’s evaromation pot more than 25
Electrolonst's examination — aot more than 25
Manicurist's examination — not more than 25
Out-of-state examinations — not more than 35
Out-of-state affidavits .. . .. .. ... e AT 2
Am duphcate beense . 2
Cosmetologest continumng edueation registration fee ... . . riU
Contenrany ednucation program applcarun fee 100

100

Contrnnny edncatron program apprenal fer

¢ (g} Whenever the board determines that the total amount of rev-
entre dernved from the tees collected pursnant to this section is insuffi-
cient to carry out the purposes for which the fees are collected, the board
may amend its rules and regulations to increase the amount of the fee,
except that the amount of the fee for any item shall not exceed the max-
imum amount authorized by this subsection. Whenever the amount of
fees collected pursuant to this section provides revenue in excess of the
amount necessan to carry ont the: purposes for which such fees are col-

$60
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lected., it shall be the duty of the board to decrease the amount of the
fee for one or more of the ttems hsted i thns subsection by amending
the rules and regulations which fix the fees.

st tht Am person who failed to obtain a renewal hicense while in the
armed forces of the United States shall be entitled to a renewal license
upon filing application and paying the renewal fee for the current year
dunng wlhuch the person has been discharged on and after July 1. 1996,
and upon proof that such applicant has satisfactorily completed a pro-
grant of continmng ednucation reguired by the board for applicants under
this subsection

Sec. 2. KSA 635-1908 is herebyv amended to read as follows: 65-
1908. (a) The hunsas state board of cosmetology mav revoke anv beense

provided for by this act Jor may refuse to issue, renews or suspend any
heense for any of the following reasons

(1) Failure to comply with the sanitary requirements prescribed by
the secretary of health and environment pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1,148 and
amendments thereto;

(2) failure to comply mth the rules and rcgulatluns of the board of
cosmetology: i -

(3)  habitual drunkenness or drug addiction;

(4)  conviction of a felony, but such conviction shall not automatically
operate as a bar to licensure;

(5) the obtaining of, or the attempt to obtain, a license by fraudulent
misrepresentation or bribery:

{6) advertising by means of false or knowingly deceptive matter or
statement; or

(7) failure to display the annual license or inspection report as pro-
vided for in this a(-t-_E‘r]

(8) fm'[uru, affe’r ]u[y 1. 1996. to t'mnply with n;rpli('a/)le continuing
education requirements while actively engaging in the practice of cos-l
metologl I

(b) The board may order the remedying of any violations of rules and
regulations of the board or any statutes pertaining to it

(c) Inspectors employed by the board shall ha\c such powers as the

hﬂ H‘(l N [)Yt SO ll}k }“ mk R dl\d Te gllldh()ll\ to "\dl\( m\pc ctions, mnves-

may censure, limit or condition any license

y OF
(9) being found guilty of gross negligence or
unprofessional conduct.

any establishment licensed by the board.

T Sec. 3. K.S.A. 74-2702a is hereby amended to
read as follows: 74-2702a. tay-Fhe-ruies-and
reguiations—of-the-board-of-registration-for
cosmetologiste—in-effect-at-the-time-this-act-takes
effect-shati-constitute-the-ruites-and-reguiations
of-the-state-board-of-cosmetorogy—created-by-this
act-untit-amended;-revoked-or-superseded-by
adoption—of-regutations-by-the-new-board-
tby--Whenever—-in-any-of-the-statutes-of-this
state-the—-term—“board-of-registration-for
cosmetologistsi-is-used;—or-the-term-thoardi-is
used-to-refer-to—-the-board-of-registration-for
cosmetologists;—such-terms—shaii-be-construed-to
mean—-the-board-of-cosmetotogy—-created-in-K-StA~
74-2701--Whenever—-in-any-of-the-statutes-of-this
state—the-term—"administrative-officeri-is-used-to
refer-to—the-administrative—officer-of-the-board-of

tigations, “and menies, except that a permanent order for dming@
busimess of a cosme tologlgshall be issued only by the board.
bd (i All proceedings onder ths section shall be conducted m ac-
cordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act.
ec. 3 K.S.A. 65-1904 and 65-1908 are hereby rcpea]e;g

registration-for-cosmetologists;—such-term-shaii-be
construed-to—mean-the-executive-director-of-the
board-of-cosmetotogyr—appointed-pursuant-to-K:-StAx
#4-2761s The Kansas state board of cosmetology may
adopt rules and regulations as may be necessary for
the administration of matters within the

/ This act shall take effect and be in force from and alter its
publication in the statute hook

jurisdiction of the board.
Sec. 4. K.S.A. 65-1904,
are hereby repealed.

65-1908 and 74-2702a
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