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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND INSURANCE.
The meeting was called to order by Vice-Chairperson Les Donovan at 3:30 p-m. on January 31, 1996 in

Room 527S-of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Representative Delbert Crabb
Representative Phill Kline
Representative Tom Sawyer
Representative Gwen Welshimer

Committee staff present: Bill Wolff, Legislative Research Department
Bruce Kinzie, Revisor of Statutes
Nikki Feuerborn, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Jim Kent, State Treasurer’s Office
Danielle Noe, Kansas Credit Union Association
Matt Goddard, Heartland Community Bankers Assoc.

Others attending: See attached list

Hearing on HB 2683 - Unclaimed property bank deposits and funds

Jim Kent, Director of the Unclaimed Property Division of the State Treasurer’s Office, said the bill would
provide some relief to holders by reducing potentially unnecessary paperwork as well as reducing the labor
intensive process performed by his staff to audit and code holder reports (Attachment 1). The bill would
define the occasions when a demand or savings account at a bank or financial organization must be presumed
abandoned. Another amendment would increase from $25 to $50 the dollar value of property presumed
abandoned for which holders must provide mandatory notice to owners as well as report detailed information
to the State Treasurer. Anything under $50 would be reported in the aggregate. The third section would
increase the dollar value to $50 for abandoned property for which the State Treasurer must advertise owner
information and it would eliminate the requirements that they must advertise in a statewide newspaper. The
State Treasurer would be allowed to determine the manner in which advertisement is made.

Danielle Noe, Kansas Credit Union Association, testified in support of the bill which would allow financial
institutions to use return mail as an indication of the status of the property (Attachment 2). She explained that
their members’ data systems will not cross reference accounts to see if other accounts in the customer’s name
are active. This search must be done manually within their systems. Ms. Noe requested an amendment
which would increase the amount from $25 to $50 before a second notice of the implementation of a
dormancy charge is sent to the customer. The State Treasurer’s office voiced agreement with the proposed
amendment.

Matt Goddard, Vice-President of Heartland Community Bankers Association, appeared in support of the bill
which restores to the statutes the provision that a demand or savings account would not be presumed
abandoned if mail to the account owner has not been returned to sender (Attachment 3). The customer could
be ensured that their funds are available at their local financial institution even though there may not have been
account activity in quite some time.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:03 p.m. The next meeting will be held February 1, 1996.

Unless specifically noted. the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals 1
appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.
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STATE OF KANSAS

900 SW JACKSON, SUITE 201 Sally ThomPSOH TELEPHONE
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66612-1235 TREASURER (913) 296-3171

_ Testimony in Support of House Bill No. 2683
House Financial Institutions and Insurance Committee
) Wednesday, January 31, 1996
Jim Kent
Office of the State Treasurer
Mr. Chairman, members of the committee, thank you for the opportunity to appear before
the committee in support of House Bill 2683. My name is Jim Kent. I am Director of the
Unclaimed Property Division within the office of the State Treasurer, Sally Thompson.

Two years ago the legislature passed Senate Bill 393 completely overhauling the state's
-unclaimed property law. The purpose of House Bill 2683 is to provide some relief to holders
by reducing potentially unnecessary paperwork as well as reducing the labor intensive
process performed by my staff to audit and code holder reports.

The proposed amendments are as follows:

Section 1 - Amendment of KSA 58-3939 to further define the occasions when a demand or
savings account at a bank or financial organization must be presumed abandoned.

Under the current law, if I opened a $5,000 savings account to help pay for my son's college
tuition, and just left it set for 5 years, receiving my monthly statements, that account could
be presumed abandoned and turned over to the state as unclaimed property, if I did not
respond to a due diligence notification. It is our position that as long as regular
correspondence has not been returned to the sender, we should not assume the account to be
abandoned.

The office has recieved numerous calls and letters expressing support for this proposed
amendment from banks and other financial institutions. This amendment would reduce the

number of accounts for which notice, reporting and remittance is required.
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Section 2 - Amendment of KSA 58-3950 to increase from $25 to $50 the dollar value of
_property presumed abandoned for which holders must provide mandatory notice to owners
as well as report detailed information to the State Treasurer.

Generally, for property valued at $25 or more, holders complete owner notification
requirements and then report specific detailed information on property presumed abandoned
to the State Treasurer. For similar property valued at less than $25, the holder is allowed to
report in the aggregate, which alleviates the notification requirements and the reporting of
detailed information. . -

The proposed amendments would raise the dollar limit to $50 or more providing significant
reporting and notification relief to all holders. According to the National Association of
Unclaimed Property Administrators, 29 states currently use aggregate dollar amounts of $50
or more. The volume of holder reports processed by the Treasurer's Office has tripled in the
last five years from 1,500 to over 5,000. As the number of reports increases, the time and
resources needed to audit and process those reports also increases. Raising the aggregate
amount to $50 or more will allow my staff to process holder reports in a more efficient and
timely fashion.

Section 3 - Amendment of KSA 58-3951 has two parts:

* First, to increase the dollar value of abandoned property for which the State
Treasurer must advertise owner information. The proposed increase from $25
to $50 or more parallels the proposed increases to dollar amounts described in
section 2.

Second, to eliminate the requirement of current law that the Office of the State
Treasurer annually advertise in a newspaper generally circulating in this state,
information concerning unclaimed property remitted in the previous year.

The State Treasurer has implemented more complete and less costly ways of advertising
names of apparent owners. The State Treasurer provides each county clerk and county
treasurer a listing of apparent owners with an address in Kansas, not just the property
remitted in the previous year. The listings are updated twice a year, in January and July after
the November and May reporting cycles. In addition, electronic data files of all apparent
owners are provided to Kansas INK on a monthly basis.
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The proposed amendment to KSA 58-3951 will give the State Treasurer discretion to
determine the manner in which advertisement is made.

Summary

In summary, the proposed amendmentsto the uniform unclaimed property act found in
House Bill 2683 will benefit holders by reducing the overall burden of required notification
and reporting paperwork, will increase the efficiency of auditing and coding holder reports,
will enhance the ability of unclaimed property staff to process higher volumes of holder
reports, and provide more flexibility to administer the program.

I've attached two pieces of information for your review: the first is statistical information
regarding the unclaimed property program and the other represents the number of properties
published compared to the number of properties available in each county. -

I would be happy to answer questions.

attachments



ATTACHMENT A
HOLDER REPORTS FILED - FISCAL YEAR
1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 YTD
1,504 1,397 2,136 4,922 5,384 1,115
AMOUNT FILED - FISCAL YEAR
1991 - 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 YTD

$4,218,294 $4,307,781 $4,510,73525,518,553510,105,896 $6,482,182

Life of the System - Total Records - as of December 1995

Count Dollars
Property Reported- 403,742 $81,462,040
Paid 86,566 $23,847,621 4
Current Unpaid 317,176 $57,614,419

Life of the System - Records $25 to $50 - as of December 1995

Count i Dollars
Property Reported 82,238 $2,857,085
Paid 20,336 $710,483
Current Unpaid 61,902 $2,146,602

Records above $50 represents approximately 80% of the property and 97 % of the do

Office of the Treasurer - January 1996
Unclaimed Property Division



COUNTY
Allen County - Iola
Anderson County - Garnett
Atchison County - Atchison
Barber County - Medicine Lodge
Barton County - Great Bend
Bourbon County - Fort Scott
Brown County - Hiawatha
Butler County - El Dorado
Chase County - Cottonwood Falls
Chautauqua County - Sedan
Cherokee County - Columbus
Cheyenne County - St. Francis
Clark County - Ashland
Clay County - Clay Center
Cloud County - Concordia
Coffey County - Burlington
Commanche County - Coldwater
Cowley County - Winfield
Crawford County - Girard
Decatur County - Oberline
Dickinson County - Abilene
Doniphan County - Troy
Douglas County - Lawrence
Edwards County - Kinsley
Elk County - Howard
Ellis County - Hays
Ellsworth County - Ellsworth
Finney County - Garden City
Ford County - Dodge City
Franklin County - Ottawa
Geary County - Junction City
Gove County - Gove
Graham County - Hill City
Grant County - Ulysses
Gray County - Cimarron
Greeley County - Tribune
Greenwood County - Eureka
Hamilton County - Syracuse
Harper County - Anthony
Harvey County - Newton
Haskell County - Sublett
Hodgeman County - Jetmore
Jackson County - Holton
Jefferson County - Oskaloosa
Jewell County - Mankato
Johnson County - Olathe
Keamy County - Lakin
Kingman County - Kingham
Kiowa County - Greensburg
Labette County - Oswego
Lane County - Dighton
Leavenworth County - Leavenworth
Lincoln County - Lincoln

TOT
1,094
498
1,591
1,178
3,030
2,401
1,056
4,527
291
560
2,052
323
567
821
1,025
734
203
3,134
3,235
371
1,557
1,059
8,119
481
711
2,032
520
4,204
4,352
2,067
6,179
286
410
628
741
256
902
526
633
- 2,259
473
262
788
1,115
311
39,369
353
869
513
2,030
236
4,805
435

PUB
457
155
680
329
1,066
533
253
1,724
93
144
784
87
131
249
311
249
56
1,343
1,319
124
504
183
3,724
119
478
478
138
2,288
1,796
706
3,689
75
95
193
182
56
301
133
184
788
168
52
52
245
101
20,210
124
211
118
767
53
2,245
76

ATTACHMENT B

COUNTY

Linn County - Mound City
Logan County - Oakley
Lyon County - Emporia
Marion County - Marion
Marshall County - Maryville
McPherson County - McPherson
Meade County - Meade
Miami County - Paola
Mitchell County - Beloit
Montgomery County - Independence
Morris County - Council Grove
Morton County - Elkhart
Nemaha County - Seneca
Neosho County - Erie
Ness County - Ness City
Norton County - Norton
Osage County - Lyndon
Osborne County - Osborne
Ottawa County - Minneapolis
Pawnee County - Lamed
Phillips County - Phillipsburg
Pottawatome County - Westmoreland
Pratt County - Pratt
Rawlins County - Atwood
Reno County - Hutchinson
Republic County - Belleville
Rice County - Lyons
Riley County - Manhattan
Rooks County - Stockton
Rush County - LaCrosse
Russell County - Russell
Saline County - Salina
Scott County - Scott City
Sedgwick County - Wichita
Seward County - Liberal
Shawnee County - Topeka
Sheridan County - Hoxie
Sherman County - Goodland
Smith County - Smith Center
Stafford County - St. John
Stanton County - Johnson City
Stevens County - Hugoton
Sumner County - Wellington
Thomas County - Colby

w'I'rego County - Wakeeney
‘Wabaunsee County - Alma
Wallace County - Sharon Springs
Washington County - Washington
Wichita County - Leoti
Wilson County - Fredonia
Woodson County - Yates Center
Wyandotte County - Kansas City

Office of the Treasurer - January 1996

Unclaimed Property Division

TOT
462
338

4,001
905
5,950
2,969
538
1,595
545
5,702
903
360
625
1,266
616
610
937
663
478
705
641
1,250
1,038
353
7,547
594
1,144
5,938
791
467
1,450
5,266
659
77,673
2,614
34,184
282
625
263
579
266
528
2,567
743
274
521
173
756
419
1,404
469
29,894

PUB
181
92
1,708
223
298
1,067
163
551
136
1,911
300
93
180
391
144
144
277
176
107
182
125
125
477
94
2,591
155
268
2,629
223
68
318
2,053
194
26,425

1,287

12,164

198
79
180
88
231
883
203
72
138
41
159
102
396
133
12,520



Kansas
Credit
Union
Association

216 SW Tyler
Topeka, KS 66612
(913)232-2446
(913) 232-2730 fax

8410 W. Kellogg
Wichita; KS 67209

P.O.Box 757
Dodge City, KS
67801

Testimony on HB 2683
AN ACT concerning unclaimed property
Presented to the

House Financial Institutions and Insurance Committee

January 31, 1996

Thank you Mr. Chairman and members of the Committee:

I am Danielle Noe and I am here on behalf of the Kansas Credit Union
Association and its 160 member credit unions. Our members serve over 600,000
Kansans.

We are here today to support HB 2683 relating to unclaimed property.

In 1979 the Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act was enacted to
supersede the state escheat law. Some of you will recall that the Unclaimed
Property Act was once again rewritten during the 1994 session as SB 393. The
Kansas Credit Union Association has always thought of this Act as pro-consumer
legislation.

HB 2683 was recommended due to concerns that have been raised since
the 1994 changes.

The first change (page 2, line 14) relates to how a financial institution
determines when property is abandoned. Beginning with the 1979 Act, financial
institutions have been allowed to use returned mail as an indication that property
may be unclaimed. Conversely, it was presumed that if regular correspondence
was not returned to the sender, the property was presumed to be claimed.

During the revision of the unclaimed property act two years ago this
provision was not included. HB 2683 would put back into the Act a provision
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Kansas Credit Union Association
Testimony on HB 2683

January 31, 1996
Page 2

allowing financial institutions to use return mail as an indication of the status of the
property.

The current act allows financial institutions to use other account activity as
a presumption that the dormant account is also claimed. Practically speaking, our
members' data systems will not cross reference accounts in that manner.
Essentially, our members must first find the dormant accounts that fit the definition
of unclaimed property. Then they must manually search all of their accounts to
determine whether or not the owner of the unclaimed account has another account
which is not a dormant account.

If our members were allowed to use returned mail as a way to determine
whether an account is claimed, it would not only simplify the process but it would
also ensure that only the property which is truly unclaimed escheats to the state.

The second change in HB 2683 (section 2) relates to the information which
must be reported to the treasurer’s office. The change will increase to $50 the
value of property which must be reported individually to the state. The current
statute says that if the unclaimed property (with some exceptions) has a value of
less than $25 it can be reported in the aggregate. We feel that this change will

reduce the amount of time it takes our members to fill out the forms required by
this Act.

The third change in HB 2683 (page 3, line 19) relates to those account
owners which must be given additional notice that their account is about to be
subject to custody of the treasurer. This change would also increase to $50 the
value of property which requires this notice. Again, we believe that this change
will reduce the time that our members must spend reviewing their dormant
accounts.

Mr. Chairman, the changes in HB 2683 are offered in an attempt to
simplify the procedures required under the Unclaimed Property Act. We ask that
you will act favorably on HB 2683.

Mr. Chairman and members of the Committee:
We would like to request consideration of an amendment to HB 2683.
K.S.A. 58-3935, relates to the notice requirements before a financial

institution can impose a dormancy fee. When a member opens an account, they
contract at that time to pay a dormancy charge. Currently, this section requires a
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Testimony on HB 2683
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Page3

second notice prior to the imposition of a charge when the dormant account has a
value of $25 or more. We would like to see this increased to $50. We believe that
this amendment will simply provide consistency within the act because of the
increase in the value of property which requires additional notice and information
under the Act.

We hope that you will consider this amendment favorably.




38-3935. Lroperty p resumed aban-
doned; general rule. (a) Joxcept as otherwise
pro‘-.«‘ic,h?d by this «ct, all intangible propexty, in-
cluding any income ov increment devived there-
from, that is held, issued or owing in the ordinary
cowse of a holder's business and has remained
unclaimed by the owner for more than five years
after it became payable ov distributable is pre-
sumed abandoned.

(h)  Property is payablo or distributable for
the purpose of this act notwithstanding the own-
or’s Failure to make demand or to present any
instrument or docurment l'cquir(-:d to receive pay-
ment.

(c) A holder may not impose with respect to
any properly payable or distributable for the pur-
POse of this act, including any income ov incre-
ment derived therelvom, any fee ov charge cdue
to dormancy or inactivily or cease paynmnt of
interest unless:

(1) There is an enforceable written contract
hetween the holder and the owner of the prop-
crty pursnant to which the holder may impose a
charge or cease payment of interest;

(2) for property in excess, of $25; the holder,

16 more than three months before the initial im-
position of those charges ox cessation of intevest,
lyas mailed written notice to the owner of the
amount of those charges at the last known ad-
dress of the owner stating that those charges will
be imposed or that interest will cease, but the
notice providcd in this section need not be given
with respect to charges imposed ov interest
ceased before the effective date of this act, or for
property deseribed in K.S.A. 58-3937 and 58-
3938, and amendments thereto; and

(3) the holder regularly imposes such charges
or ceases payment of interest and in no instance
reverses or otherwise cancels them or retroac-
tively credits interest with respect to the prop-
erty. Charges imposed because of dormancy or
inactivity may be made and collected monthly,
quarterly or annually except that beginning with
the effective date of this act, such charges may
only be imposed for a maximum of five calendar
years.

History: L. 1994, ch. 8, § 2; March 3.

$50




EARTLAND Matthew S. Goddard, Vice President

OMMUNITY
ANKERS 700 S. Kansas Ave., Suite 512
SSOCIATION Topeka, (5?2‘?253 2622?2

To: House Financial Institutions and Insurance Committee

From: Matthew Goddard
Heartland Community Bankers Association

Date: January 31, 1996

Re: House Bill No. 2683

The Heartland Community Bankers Association appreciates the opportunity to appear before the
House Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance in support of HB 2683.

This bill would restore a provision to the state statue concerning unclaimed funds that was omitted
when it was rewritten by the legislature in 1994. With passage of HB 2683, a demand or savings
account would not be presumed abandoned if mail to the account owner has not been returned to
sender. The bill also raises the threshold amount from $25 to $50 for a variety of reporting
requirements.

The primary burden imposed on financial institutions by unclaimed property is one of simple
reporting. Our membership tries to find the owners of dormant accounts. As long as the account
owner is receiving correspondence about their account, regardless of any account activity, we see
little justification in assuming abandonment and surrendering their funds to the state. For the
customer, HB 2683 helps ensure that their funds are available at their local financial institution even
though there may not have been account activity in quite some time.

We respectfully request that the House Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance
recommend HB 2683 for passage.

Thank you.
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SERVING FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS IN COLORADO, KANSAS, NEBRASKA, AND OKLAHOMA



