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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND INSURANCE.
The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Bill Bryant at 3:30 p.m. on February 15, 1996 in Room

527S-of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Representative Tom Sawyer
Representative Brenda Landwehr

Committee staff present: Bill Wolff, Legislative Research Department
Bruce Kinzie, Revisor of Statutes
Nikki Feuerborn, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Betty McBride, Department of Motor Vehicles
Representative Cindy Empson
John W. Smith, Department of Motor Vehicles
Linda DeCoursey, Kansas Insurance Department
Darrell Richardson, Kansas Insurance Department

Others attending: See attached list

Betty McBride, Director of the Vehicles, Division of Motor Vehicles of the Department of Revenue, presented
an investigative report regarding the development of an automobile liability insurance verification system
(Attachment 1). Mrs. McBride explained the four options considered by the Division:

1. Comprehensive insurance system interfacing with KDLS (Kansas Drivers License Service) and VIPS
(Vehicle Information Processing System). Upon application for a drivers license, the system would be
checked and without current insurance, a drivers license would not be issued. Vehicle registration would also
be contingent upon current insurance. The unique identifier for both systems would be SSN (social security
number) which would have to be statutorily mandated by the state. The public would strongly oppose such
legislation. Start-up costs would be $55,300 not including telecommunications and annual processing costs.

2. Comprehensive insurance system interfacing with VIPS. Identifier would be the vehicle identification
number (18 digits) which could lead to a high error rate due to the inability to match VIN’s thus creating a
large manual workload. Start-up costs would be $38,400.

3. Cancellation system interfacing with KDLS & VIPS. Cancellation and new policy information only would
be transmitted. Lapse in coverage would cause licensure suspension and vehicle registration revocation.
SSN/FEIN (Federal identification number) would link KDLS and VIPS. Start-up cost of $28,400.

4. Cancellation system interfacing with VIPS. Cancellation and new policy information only would be
transmitted. Lapse in coverage would cause licensure suspension and vehicle registration revocation.
Dependent upon VIN number. Start-up cost is $16,000.

Current manpower in the division cannot handle additional workload if SSN or VIN are used within a system
due to the high error rate.

Uninsured motorists are a small percentage (5% or between 100,000 and 200,000) of Kansas drivers.
Solution is contingent upon cooperation from the insurance industry and the establishment of a unique
identifier to tie the computer systems together. The key factor is enforcement and short of impounding the
vehicle, an uninsured motorist will continue to drive without a valid license or vehicle registration. The VIP
system has reached its limitations.

Hearing on HB 2691 - Motor vehicles, proof of financial security

Representative Cindy Empson explained the bill as changing from 20 days to 10 days the time for a person to
show proof of liability after an arrest or citation (Attachment 2). It shortens the time for a person to request a

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported hercin have not been submitted to the individuals 1
appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.
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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND INSURANCE,
Room 527S-Statehouse, at 3:30 a.m. on February 15, 1996.

hearing after conviction and states that if the owner cannot show proof of continuous financial security his
license is to be suspended.

John Smith, Division of Motor Vehicles, reviewed proposed changes in the law (Attachment 3). One of the
changes would be to revoke the tag of the arrested not to suspend as this is causing record keeping problems
and it only costs $2.00 to have the tag replaced.

The Committee discussed the problem of persons purchasing liability insurance in order to register a vehicle
and then canceling it the same or next day. Some insurance companies sell insurance by the month and it is
difficult to track the uninsured until they have been delinquent for two months. It is not plausible to require
the purchase of insurance by the year due to the expense when registering and tagging a vehicle. Some states
have started confiscating uninsured vehicles and it has become a nightmare due to storage and record keeping
problems. Kansas ranks low in insurance rates compared to other states. Hearing dates for person found to
be without vehicle insurance are scheduled 10 days after the hearing notices are mailed. Even though the only
question asked at the hearing is if the person involved in the accident or receiving the ticket had insurance at
the time of the incident, a hearing officer who is an attorney is required to conduct the hearing. A severe
shortage of hearing officers is causing two people from the Topeka office to travel throughout the state to meet
the needs. There is a backlog of hearings as these hearing officers are also required to provide administrative
hearings for those with DUI arrests refusing to take the alcohol or drug test. Most hearing officers are very
willing to work out some type of arrangement if the person involved in the incident has never been arrested
before for this violation. The current law is for chronic uninsureds. Many of the people found to be
uninsured are discovered through their involvment in accidents.

Mr. Smith was asked to work with Revisor Bruce Kinzie in the development of a balloon amendment for the
bill and present it to the Committee at a later date.

Linda DeCoursey of the Insurance Department presented comments regarding the participation of the
Department in the development of the report presented by the Division of Vehicles (Attachment 4). She
suggested that before a verification system is adopted, the following criteria be examined:

1. Kansas has a low uninsured population. The 5% do, however, appear to be the ones involved in a
high percentage of accidents. In the case of accidents involving uninsured motorists, the insured
motorist’s insurance pays for the entire cost of the damages to the insured’s car and driver.

2. Reducing uninsured motorist population is enforcement of laws. The NAIC recommends the strict
enforcement of laws including mandatory and significant fines for first time offenders. (Included in
the testimony are samples of what other states are doing to address the enforcement issue).

3. Institute a program for impoundment of tags or vehicles. This would require either hiring more
Highway Patrol personnel to remove the tags or the implementation of the “bounty hunter” system
used in Florida. This utilizes and authorizes recovery agents, repossessors, or private investigators to
seize license plates of vehicles known not to have insurance.

Darrell Richardson of the Consumers Division of the Kansas Insurance Department reported that the problem
of uninsured motorists is worsening in the metropolitan areas. He recommends that the minimum be a 3
month insurance payment plan so 30 day notices could be implemented.

Representative Dawson moved for the approval of the February 12 minutes. The motion was seconded by
Representative Correll. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:50 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for February 19, 1996.
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STATE OF KANSAS . DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Bill Graves, Governor John D. LaFaver, Secretary

Betty McBride, Director of Vehicles
Robert B. Docking State Office Bldg.
Kansas Department of Revenue

915 SW Harrison St.

Topeka, KS 66626-0001

(913) 296-3601
FAX (913) 296-3852
TTY (913) 296-3601

Division of Vehicles

MEMORANDUM
TO: The Honorable Rep. William M. Bryant
Chairman, Financial Institutions & Insurance Comm.

FROM: Betty McBride ﬁ” S,

Director of Vehicles
DATE: October 12, 1995

RE: Automobile Liability Insurance Verification System

This report is in response to your letter requesting a cooperative investigation by the Departments
of Administration, Insurance, and Revenue regarding the development of an automobile liability

insurance verification system. At issue is the feasibility of such a system to identify and reduce the
number of uninsured Kansas motorists.

The Department of Revenue has coordinated this effort, working closely with the Department of
Insurance and representatives of the insurance industry in Kansas. Four options were considered
as systems solutions with programming costs ranging from $55,300 to $16,100, not including
telecommunications and annual processing costs. These options are listed below:

Ontion 1: Comprehensive insurance svstem interfacing with KDLS and VIPS

This option would contain a master file of current statewide policy information, which is updated
by the insurance companies on a regular basis. Upon application for a drivers license, the system
would be checked, and without current insurance a drivers license would not be issued. Vehicle
registration would also be contingent upon current insurance.

Cridcal to the development and success of a comprehensive system is a unique identifier that can
match the data between systems. It is not feasible to use name, address, and DOB because a
person may not have this information in identical format in each of the different systems. SSNis
the obvious choice, and while KDLS does have the ability to capture SSN and some drivers have
chosen to use their SSN, it is not mandatory. Also, VIPS does not currently capture SSN. A
statute change would have to be made to mandate SSN be supplied for drivers license and vehicle
registration purposes. Such a proposal would be strongly opposed by the general public.

Information Systems has estimated the start-up costs for this option of be $55,300, not including

telecommunications and annual processing costs. o/ 2
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Option 2; Comprehensive insyrance system interfacing with VIPS

It was suggested that a match between VIPS and insurance company data could be run using the
vehicle identification number (VIN). Vehicle registration would be contingent upon current
insurance. While in theory this may sound feasible, use of the VIN as the match criteria was a
concern, due to the length of the number. It is likely there would be a high error rate due to the
inability to match VINs, creating a large manual workload, unable to be absorbed with current
staff. IS has estimated the cost to develop this system at $38,400.

ion 3: ncellation system interfacing with KD VIP

In this scenario, cancellation and new policy information only would be transmitted. A lapse in
coverage would cause a license suspension and vehicle registration revocation. This system would

be dependent upon the capture and use of the SSN/FEIN to link KDLS and VIPS. The estimated
IS start-up cost is $28,400.

ion 4: ncellation _svstem interfacing with VIP

Cancellation and new policy information only would be transmitted. A lapse in coverage would
cause a revocation of the vehicle registration. This system would be dependent upon the accurate
capture of the VIN. The estimated IS start-up cost is $16,100.

It is apparent in each of the options that the key to a successful system is a unique identifying
number to cross match data between driver license, vehicle registration, and insurance industry
records. This is also a major obstacle, because one does not currently exist. While SSN seems a
likely choice, it is not mandated for either licensing or registration purposes, and is also not
required by the insurance industry. As stated earlier, a statute change would be needed.

Insuran Industr

The Department of Insurance coordinated a meeting with industry representatives to hear their
suggestions for possible solutions. Bill Sneed with State Farm served as spokesperson for the
group. He stated that while the industry was not necessarily opposed to the idea of a verification
system, and are willing to work with the State, the real issue in their opinion is enforcement.
Without adequate law enforcement of the existing insurance statutes, a new computer system alone

is not the answer. Also of great concern is the adverse impact a mandated computer system would
place on small independent agents. ‘

Information was presented at the meeting which concluded that the uninsured motorist problem in
Kansas is not critical. Specifically, the report stated:

+ Kansas' uninsured motorist population is very small compared to other states. Based on NAII
statistics, it ranks the 5th lowest out of 47 jurisdictions for which information is available. The
uninsured motorist population is approximately one-third the size of the national average.

+ Kansas has very favorable uninsured motorist claim frequency experience compared to other
states with compulsory liability insurance laws and the nation as a whole. The trend in the rate of
claims incurred in Kansas is almost flat over the five year period reviewed. Claim frequency for
other states has risen substantially.

+ Auto insurers are incurring very little lost dollars for uninsured motorist coverage in Kansas, as
its uninsured motorist loss cost is extremely small compared to other states.

A copy of this report is attached (Attachment 1). Also discussed at this meeting were other state
efforts to establish a similar system. Virginia, Utah, & New York have attempted to establish a
system, but with little or no success. They have been plagued with high implementation costs,
high error rates, and little or no effect on lowering the uninsured motorist rate.
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her ncern

The Department is concerned with the possibility of a high error rate if a system is implemented
“due to records that don't match up when using either SSN or VIN. Errors would have to be

handled and researched manually, creating a great workload for the Division, which could not be
absorbed with current staffing.

Summarv

In summary, the problem of uninsured motorists is always a serious problem; however, in Kansas
it appears to be a small percentage of the driving population. The challenge in trying to reduce it
even further is one of cost and method, realizing that the problem will never completely be
eliminated. A solution will be contingent upon cooperation from the insurance industry, and
without a unique identifier to tie the different computer systems together, a systems solution is not
possible. It is the general consensus of the group that a key factor is increased enforcement, and
short of impounding the vehicle, an uninsured motorist will continue to drive without a valid
license or vehicle registration.

cc: John LaFaver, Secretary of Revenue
Kathleen Sebelius, Insurance Commissioner
Sheila Frahm, Secretary of Administration
Tom Wilder, Dept. of Insurance
Dave Shrader, KDOR
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ATTACHMENT 1

KANSAS VS. OTHER STATES:
UNINSURED MOTORIST INSURANCE EXPERIENCE

This document has been prepared to offer statistical evidence
that Kansas' uninsured motorist population is not as severe as
those in other states, and that its uninsured motorist loss
experience is quite favorable compared to other states. The
source of the figures shown is the NAII database, representing
about 47% of the personal automobile premium volume. The tables
shown compare Kansas to all states or to various states with
compulsory liability insurance laws. Kansas, too, has a

compulsory law that requires drivers to purchase liability
insurance.

I. XKANSAS HAS A VERY LOW U.M. POPULATION; IN FACT, IT IS
MORE FAVORABLE THAN MOST OTHER STATES

Table I sets forth individual state ratios of uninsured motorist
(U.M.) claim frequency to bodily injury liability (B.I.) claim
frequency, reflecting the latest available experience (1992) from
NAIT. These ratios provide a fairly good indication of the
percentage of accidents involving uninsured motorists and may,
therefore, be used as a proxy to measure the extent of the
uninsured motorist problem. California, New York, Massachusetts
and South Carclina are not listed because the U.M. and B.I. data
in California is not comparable to each other, and B.I. data for
New York is not readily accessible. In addition, NAII does not
collect automcbile insurance statistics for the last two states.

Of the forty-seven jurisdictions shown below, Kansas ranks #43,
with a U.M.-to-B.I. claim frequency ratio of 7.7%. 1In other
words, there are 42 states, including the District of Cclunktia,
whose uninsured motorist population is greater than Kansas.
Kansas' U.M. population is much lower than the nation as a whole
(about 20%). The vast majority of people living in this state
already have liability insurance.
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TABLE I

Estimated Uninsured Motorist Population
and sState Ranking

1992 Ratio 1992 Ratio
cf UM-to-BI of UM~to-BI

Rank State Claim Frequency Rank State Claim Frequency

5 Alabama 28.4% 31 Montana 10.5%

7 Alaska 23.1 44 Nebraska 7.1

21 Arizona 14.3 14 Nevada 16.5

34 Arkansas 10.4 38 New Hampshire 9.5

"1 Colorado 34.8 41 New Jersey 8.9

19 Connecticut 14.4 4 New Mexico 30.1

13 Delaware 16.7 46 North Caroclina 4.6

10 Dist. of Col. 19.8 42 North Dakota 7.7

26 Florida 12.1 18 ©Ohio 15.3

20 Georgia 14.3 6 Oklahoma 25.0

35 Hawaii 10.2 12 Oregon 17.4

40 Idaho 9.1 28 Pennsylvania 11.4

30 Illinois 10.6 2 Rhode Island 33.7

16 Indiana 16.0 45 South Dakota 5.6

33 Iowa 10.4 9 Tennessee ! 20.7

43 Ransas . 7.7 8 Texas 21.2

23 Kentucky 13.4 32 Utah 10.5

22 Louisiana 13.5 39 Vermont 9.5

47 Maine 4.2 17 Virginia 15.5

25 Maryland 12.5 11 Washington 19.6

27 Michigan 11.9 37 West Virginia 9.6

15 Minnesota 16.3 2% Wisconsin 10.6

3 Mississippi 32.1 36 Wyoming 10.1

24 Missouri 13.1 Countrywide 20.4
Source: NAIT
IT. UNINSURED MOTCORIST CLAIM FREQUENCY EXPERIENCE IN KANSAS IS

FAVORABLE COMPARED TO OTHER STATES

A more in-depth look at uninsured motorist loss experience is
shown in Table II. Shown here are trends in uninsured and
underinsured motorists (U.M./U.I.M.) claim frequency of Kansas
versus various states whose compulsory liability insurance laws
became effective sometime between 1983 and 1985 and the nation as
a whole. This period was chosen because of the ready
availability of trend data from 1983 to 1987. Although clainm
frequencies involving uninsured motorists still continue to rise
for the most part, Kansas' claim frequency is very low compared
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to other compulsory insurance states and the countrywide average.
Kansas' relatively low frequency demonstrates that its uninsured
motorist problem is not that severe, since only 5 claims out of
10,000 insured vehicles were incurred in the late 1980s.

Certainly, it is less of a problem than in the eight compulsory
states shown below.

TABLE IX
Trends in U.M./U.I.M. Claim Frequency
(Per 10,000 Ins. Vehicles)

1983 1984 1985 1986 1987%*
Alaska 22 16 31 38 45
Arizona : 23 25 -29 31 33
-D.C. 66 131 95 89 107
Indiana 26 26 37 48 42
Kansas 3 4 5 5 s
New Mexico 46 43 51 60 64
Ohio 14 13 15 16 17
Vermont 4 6 24 92 883
Wyoming 4 5 6 6 5
Countrywide 21 22 27 30 29

* Data for 1987 is evaluated as of 15 months only, whereas data
for all previous years is evaluated as of 27 months. Hence,
claim frequency figures for 1987 are most likely understated.

Source: NAIT

III. UNINSURED MOTORIST LOSS COST EXPERIENCE IN MANY COMPULSORY
STATES IS WORSE THAN KANSAS

Presented in Table III is the trend in U.M. loss costs for bodily
injury coverage for Kansas compared to selected states having a
mandatory requirement. The period shown is 1990 through 1992.
The loss cost is the combination of the claim frequency and
average claim cost; it represents the average incurred loss per
U.M.-insured vehicle. Similar to the comparison of claim
frequency experience for U.M./U.I.M., Kansas has extremely low
U.M. (B.I.) loss costs relative to other compulsory states. This
further indicates that the uninsured motorist population in

Kansas does not create a critical problem in terms of insurance
losses.,

/=&
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TABLE IIXI
Kansas vs. Compulsory States
U.M. (Bodilv Inijurvy) Loss Cost Experience

1990 1991 1992%*
Kansas $ 2.73 $ 6.13 S 4.12
Arizona $31.22 $31.51 $20.33
Connecticut - 32.10 34.95 33.50
Delaware 19.82 20.11 18.50
Dist. of cCol. 38.78 47 .50 40.76
Louisiana 27.22 28.56 24.36
Nevada 30.13 32.11 25.96
New Mexico 28.05 28.63 29.00
Oklahoma 21.45 26.34 25.55
Pennsylvania 22.56 18.52 12.56

* Data for 1992 is evaluated as of 15 months only, whereas data
fcr all previous years 1s evaluated as of 27 months. Hence, loss
ccst figures for 1992 are most likely understated.

Scurce: NAIT

IV. CONCLUSION

In conclusion, there is relatively little uninsured motorist
prcblem in Kansas. Its uninsured motorist population is one of
the lowest in the nation, almost a third of the countrywide
average. Very few uninsured motorist claims are incurred by
residents of this state, compared to other states with a
cczpulsory liability law. Moreover, the average U.M. loss amount
which insurance companies incur per insured vehicle is
significantly lower than other states.
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STATE OF KANSAS
CINDY EMPSON COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

CHAIRMAN: HOUSE SELECT COMMITTEE ON
REPRESENTATIVE, TWELFTH DISTRICT HIGHER EDUCATION
MONTGOMERY COUNTY
HOME ADDRESS: P.O. BOX 848
INDEPENDENCE, KANSAS 67301

CHAIRMAN: LEGISLATIVE EDUCATIONAL PLANNING
COMMITTEE
VICE CHAIRMAN: HOUSE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
TOPEKA OFFICE: STATEHOUSE, RM. 182-W COMMITTEE
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66612

(913) 296-7685

MEMBER: HOUSE TAXATION COMMITTEE

HOUSE OF
REPRESENTATIVES

FEBRUARY 15, 1996
TO: HOUSE FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND INSURANCE

RE: HB 2691

Mr. Chairman, Member of the Committee, thank you for allowing me
to appear before you today in support of HB 2691. This bill changes from
20 days to 10 days the time for a person to show proof of liability after
an arrest or citation. It also shortens the time for a person to request a
hearing after conviction and clearly states that if the owner cannot show
proof of continuous financial security his license is to be suspended.

I'introduced this bill because of an incident one of my constituents
contacted me about this summer. Her daughter was involved in a two car
accident last February 14, (1995). The man who hit her was cited for
failure to yield and no liability insurance. This should have been pretty
cut and dry, as the law clearly states that no motor vehicle shall be

registered or re-registered unless the owner has in effect a liability
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insurance policy covering such vehicle. However, five months after the
accident, when the mother first contacted me, this gentleman still had a
valid license and was still driving. He had also made no effort to pay for
the damages to the girl’s car.

When | got involved, | had multiple contacts with John Smith from
the driver Control Bureau and he helped me work out some changes to our
current laws that he believed would help alleviate this problem in the
future. He also has some additional changes with which | have no problem
but I will let him explain them.

If we are going to have mandatory liability laws, we should make

enforcement and penalties easy to enact. | ask for your favorable support

of HB 2691.
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Section 1. K.S.A. 8-1604 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-1604

(a) The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or
death of any person, or damage to any vehicle or other property which is
driven or attended by any person, shall give such person's name, address
and the registration number of the vehicle such person is driving, and upon
request shall exhibit such person's license or permit to drive, the name of
the company with which there is in effect a policy of motor vehicle liability
insurance covering the vehicle involved in the accident and the policy
number of such policy to any person injured in such accident or to the
driver or occupant of or person attending any vehicle or other property
damaged in such accident, and shall give such information and upon request
exhibit such license or permit and the name of the insurer and policy
number, to any police officer at the scene of the accident or who is
investigating the accident and shall render to any person injured in such
accident reasonable assistance, including the carrying, or the making of
arrangements for the carrying of such person to a physician, surgeon or
hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that such
treatment is necessary, or if such carrying is requested by the injured
person.

(b) In the event that none of the persons specified are in condition to
receive the information to which they otherwise would be entitled under
subsection (a) of this section, and no police officer is present, the driver of
any vehicle involved in such accident after fulfilling all other requirements of
K.S.A. 8-1602, and amendments thereto, and subsection (a) of this section,
insofar as possible on such person's part to be performed, shall forthwith
report such accident to the nearest office of a duly authorized police
authority and submit thereto the information specified in subsection (a) of
this section.

(c) Unless the insurance company subsequently submits an
insurance verification form indicating that insurance was not in force, no
person charged with failing to provide the name of such person's insurance
company and policy number as required in subsection (a), shall be convicted
if such person produces in court, within 20 10 days of the date of arrest or +~
of issuance of the citation, evidence of fifiaticial Security for the motor
vehicle operated, which was valid at the time of arrest or of issuance of the
citation. For the purpose of this subsection, evidence of financial security
shall be provided by a policy of motor vehicle liability insurance, an
identification card or certificate of insurance issued to the policyholder by
the insurer which provides the name of the insurer, the policy number,
make and year of vehicle and the effective and expiration dates of the policy,
[ . .
or a certificate of self-insurance signed by the commissioner of insurance.
Upon the production in court of evidence of financial security, the court
shall record the information displayed thereon on the insurance verification
form prescribed by the secretary of revenue, immediately forward such form
to the department of revenue, and stay any further proceedings on the
matter pending a request from the prosecuting attorney that the matter be
set for trial. Upon receipt of such form the department shall mail the form
to the named insurance company for verification that insurance was in force
on the date indicated on the form. It shall be the duty of insurance
companies to notify the department within 30 calendar days of the receipt
of such forms of any insurance that was not in force on the date specified.
Upon return of any form to the department indicating that insurance was
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not in force on such date, the department shall immediately forward a copy
of such form to the office of the prosecuting attorney or the city clerk of the
municipality in which such prosecution is pending when the prosecuting
attorney is not ascertainable. Receipt of any completed form indicating that
insurance was not in effect on the date specified shall be prima facie
evidence of failure to provide proof of financial security and violation of this
section. A request that the matter be set for trial shall be made immediately
following the receipt by the prosecuting attorney of a copy of the form from
the department of revenue indicating that insurance was not in force. Any
charge hereunder shall be dismissed if no request for a trial setting has been
made within 60 days of the date evidence of financial security was

produced in court. (effective 7-1-88)

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 1995 Supp. 40-3104 is hereby amended to read as
follows: (a) Every owner shall provide motor vehicle liability insurance
coverage in accordance with the provisions of this act for every motor
vehicle owned by such person, unless such motor vehicle: (1) Is included
under an approved self-insurance plan as provided in subsection (f); (2) is
used as a driver training motor vehicle, as defined in K.S.A. 72-5015, and
amendments thereto, in an approved driver training course by a school
district or an accredited nonpublic school under an agreement with a motor
vehicle dealer, and such motor vehicle liability insurance coverage is
provided by the school district or accredited nonpublic school; (3) is
included under a qualified plan of self-insurance approved by an agency of
the state in which such motor vehicle is registered and the form prescribed
in subsection (b) of K.S.A. 40-3106, and amendments thereto, has been
filed; or (4) is expressly exempted from
the provisions of this act.

(b) An owner of an uninsured motor vehicle shall not permit the
operation thereof upon a highway or upon property open to use by the
public, unless such motor vehicle is expressly exempted from the provisions
of this act.

(c) No person shall knowingly drive an uninsured motor vehicle upon
a highway or upon property open to use by the public, unless such motor
vehicle is expressly exempted from the provisions of this act.

(d) Any person operating a motor vehicle upon a highway or upon
property open to use by the public shall display, upon demand, evidence of
financial security to a law enforcement officer. The law enforcement officer
shall issue a citation to any person who fails to display evidence of financial
security upon such demand. The law enforcement officer shall attach a copy
of the insurance verification form prescribed by the secretary of revenue to
the copy of the citation forwarded to the court.

No citation shall be issued to any person for failure to provide proof of
financial security when evidence of financial security meeting the standards
of subsection (e) is displayed upon demand of a law enforcement officer.
Whenever the authenticity of such evidence is questionable, the law
enforcement officer may initiate the preparation of the insurance
verification form prescribed by the secretary of revenue by recording
information from the evidence of financial security displayed. The officer
shall immediately forward the form to the department of revenue and the
department shall proceed with verification in the manner prescribed in the
following paragraph. Upon return of a form indicating that insurance was
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==



not in force on the date indicated on the form, the department shall
immediately forward a copy of the form to the law enforcement officer
initiating preparation of the form.

(e) Unless the insurance company subsequently submits an insurance
verification form indicating that insurance was not in force, no person
charged with violating subsections (b), (c) or (d) shall be convicted if such
person produces in court, within 26 10 days of the date of arrest or of L
issuance of the citation, evidence of financial security for the motor vehicle
operated, which was valid at the time of arrest or of issuance of the citation.
For the purpose of this subsection, evidence of financial security shall be
provided by a policy of motor vehicle liability insurance, an identification
card or certificate of insurance issued to the policyholder by the insurer
which provides the name of the insurer, the policy number and the effective
and expiration dates of the policy, or a certificate of self-insurance signed by
the commissioner of insurance. Upon the production in court of evidence of
financial security, the court shall record the information displayed thereon
on the insurance verification form prescribed by the secretary of revenue,
immediately forward such form to the department of revenue, and stay any
further proceedings on the matter pending a request from the prosecuting
attorney that the matter be set for trial. Upon receipt of such form the
department shall mail the form to the named insurance company for
verification that insurance was in force on the date indicated on the form. It
shall be the duty of insurance companies to notify the department within 30
calendar days of the receipt of such forms of any insurance that was not in
force on the date specified. Upon return of any form to the department
indicating that insurance was not in force on such date, the department
shall immediately forward a copy of such form to the office of the
prosecuting attorney or the city clerk of the municipality in which such
prosecution is pending when the prosecuting attorney is not ascertainable.
Receipt of any completed form indicating that insurance was not in effect on
the date specified shall be prima facie evidence of failure to provide proof of
financial security and violation of this section. A request that the matter be
set for trial shall be made immediately following the receipt by the
prosecuting attorney of a copy of the form from the department of revenue
indicating that insurance was not in force. Any charge of violating
subsection (b), (c) or (d) shall be dismissed if no request for a trial setting
has been made within 60 days of the date evidence of financial security was
produced in court.

(f) Any person in whose name more than 25 motor vehicles are
registered in Kansas may qualify as a self-insurer by obtaining a certificate of
self-insurance from the commissioner of insurance. The certificate of self-
insurance issued by the commissioner shall cover such owned vehicles and
those vehicles, registered in Kansas, leased to such person if the lease
agreement requires that motor vehicle liability insurance on the vehicles be
provided by the lessee. Upon application of any such person, the
commissioner of insurance may issue a certificate of self-insurance, if the
commissioner is satisfied that such person is possessed and will continue to
be possessed of ability to pay any judgment obtained against such person
arising out of the ownership, operation, maintenance or use of any motor
vehicle described in this subsection.

Upon notice and a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the
Kansas administrative procedure act, the commissioner of insurance may
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cancel a certificate of self-insurance upon reasonable grounds. Failure to pay
any judgment against a self-insurer, arising out of the ownership, operation,
maintenance or use of a motor vehicle registered in such self-insurer's
name, within 30 days after such judgment shall have become final, shall
constitute reasonable grounds for the cancellation of a certificate of self-
insurance.

(€)(1) Any person violating any provision of this section shall
be guilty of a class B misdemeanor and shall be subject to a fine of not less
than $200 nor more than $1,000 or confinement in the county jail for a
term of not more than six months, or both such fine and
confinement. (2) Any person convicted of violating any provision of this
section within three years of any such prior conviction shall be guilty of a
class A misdemeanor,

(h) In addition to any other penalties provided by this act for failure to
have or maintain financial security in effect, the director, upon receipt of a
report required by K.S.A. 8-1607 or 8-1611, and amendments thereto, or a
denial of such insurance by the insurance company listed on the form
prescribed by the secretary of revenue pursuant to subsection (d) of this
section, shall, upon notice and hearing as provided by K.S.A. 40-3118, and
amendments thereto, suspend:

(1) The license of each driver in any manner involved in the
accident;

(2) the license of the owner of each motor vehicle involved in
such accident, unless the vehicle was stolen at the time of the accident,
proof of which must be established by the owner of the motor vehicle. Theft
by a member of the vehicle owner's immediate family under the age of 18
years shall not constitute a stolen vehicle for the purposes of this section:

(3) the registrations of all vehicles owned by the owner of each motor
vehicle involved in such accident;

(4) if the driver is a nonresident, the privilege of operating a motor
vehicle within this state; or

(5) if such owner is a nonresident, the privilege of such owner to
operate or permit the operation within this state of any motor vehicle
owned by such owner. (i) The suspension requirements in subsection (h)
shall not apply:

(1) To the driver or owner if the owner had in effect at the time of
the accident an automobile liability policy as required by K.S.A. 40-3107, and
amendments thereto, with respect to the vehicle involved in the accident:

(2) to the driver, if not the owner of the vehicle involved in the
accident, if there was in effect at the time of the accident an automobile
liability policy with respect to such driver's driving of vehicles not owned by
such driver;

(3) to any self-insurer as defined by subsection (1) of K.S.A. 40-3103,
and amendments thereto;

(4) to the driver or owner of any vehicle involved in the accident
which was exempt from the provisions of this act pursuant to K.S.A. 40-
3105, and amendments thereto;

(5) to the owner of a vehicle described in subsection (a)(2).(j) For the
purposes of provisions (1) and (2) of subsection (i) of this section, the
director may require verification by an owner's or driver's insurance
company or agent thereof that there was in effect at the time of the accident
an automobile liability policy as required in this act.



Any suspension or revocation effected hereunder shall remain in effect e
until satisfactory proof“o”f”fmanmal security has been filed with the director
as required by subsection (d) of K.S.A. 40-3118, and amendments thereto,
and such person has been released from liability or is a party to an action to
determine liability pursuant to which the court temporarily stays such
suspension pending final disposition of such action, has-entered-into-an. o

. has entered into an agreement for L

the payment of damages or has been flnally adjudicated not to be liable in

respect to such accident and evidence of any such fact has been filed with

the director and has paid the reinstatement fee herein prescribed. Such
reinstatement fee shall be $25 except that if the registration of a motor

vehicle of any owner is suspended revoked within one year following a prior | —
suspension of the registratierrof-a motor vehicle of such owner under the
provisions of this act such fee shall be $75.

(k) The provisions of this section shall not apply to motor carriers of
property or passengers regulated by the corporation commission of the state
of Kansas.

(1) the provisions of subsection (d) shall not apply to vehicle dealers,
as defined in K.S.A. 8-2401, and amendments thereto, for vehicles being
offered for sale by such dealers. (effective 7-1-94)

Sec. 3 K.S.A. 40-3118 is hereby amended to read as follows: 40-3118
(a) No motor vehicle shall be registered or reregistered in this state unless
the owner, at the time of registration, has in effect a policy of motor vehicle
liability insurance covering such motor vehicle, as provided in this act, or is
a self-insurer thereof, or the motor vehicle is used as a driver training motor
vehicle, as defined in K.S.A. 72-5015, and amendments thereto, in an
approved driver training course by a school district or an accredited
nonpublic school under an agreement with a motor vehicle dealer, and such
policy of motor vehicle liability insurance is provided by the school district
or accredited nonpublic school. As used in this section, the term "financial
security” means such policy or self-insurance. The director shall require
that the owner certify that the owner has such financial security, and the
owner of each motor vehicle registered in this state shall maintain financial
security continuously throughout the period of registration. When an owner
certifies that such financial security is a motor vehicle liability insurance
policy meeting the requirements of this act, the director may require that
the owner or owner's insurance company produce records to prove the fact
that such insurance was in effect at the time the vehicle was registered and
has been maintained continuously from that date. Failure to produce such
records shall be prima facie evidence that no financial security exists with
regard to the vehicle concerned. It shall be the duty of insurance
companies, upon the request of the director, to notify the director within
30 calendar days of the date of the receipt of such request by the director of
any insurance that was not in effect on the date of registration and
maintained continuously from that date.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in K.S.A. 40-276, 40-276a and 40-
277, and amendments thereto, and except for termination of insurance
resulting from non-payment of premium or upon the request for
cancellation by the insured, no motor vehicle liability insurance policy, or
any renewal thereof, shall be terminated by cancellation or failure to renew
by the insurer until at least 30 days after mailing a notice of termination, by
certified or registered mail or United States post office certificate of
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mailing, to the named insured at the latest address filed with the insurer by
or on behalf of the insured. Time of the effective date and hour of
termination stated in the notice shall become the end of the policy period.
Every such notice of termination sent to the insured for any cause
whatsoever shall include on the face of the notice a statement that financial
security for every motor vehicle covered by the policy is required to be
maintained continuously throughout the registration period, that the
operation of any such motor vehicle without maintaining continuous financial
security therefor is a class B misdemeanor and that the registration for any
such motor vehicle for which continuous financial security is not provided is
subject to suspension and the driver's license of the owner thereof is subject
to suspension.

(c) The director of vehicles shall verify a sufficient number of
insurance certifications each calendar year as the director deems necessary
to insure compliance with the provisions of this act. The owner or owner's
insurance company shall verify the accuracy of any owner's certification upon
request, as provided in subsection (a).

(d) In addition to any other requirements of this act, the director
shall require a person to acquire insurance and for such person's insurance v
company to maintain on file with the division evidence of such insurance for ,m&)[) s
a period of three one years from-the-date-such-person's-driving privileges //éwf‘” ]

i ot i when a person has been

convicted in this or another state of any-ef-the-following violations ) 04‘/0 Y o B
enumerated in K.S. A 8-285: ¢l ) o

. P4 ;
(—Vehicular homicide; as defined by K-S-4-21 5495-and O ol PRvA

The director shall also require any driver whose driving privileges
have been suspended pursuant to this section erK:S:A—40-3104-and
amendments—therete to maintain such evidence of insurance as required
above. The company of the insured shall immediately mail notice to the
director whenever any policy required by this subsection to be on file with
the division is terminated by the insured or the insurer for any reason. The



receipt by the director of such termination shall be prima facie evidence
that no financial security exists with regard to the person concerned. :

No cancellation notice shall be sent to the director if the insured adds
or deletes a vehicle, adds or delete a driver, renews a policy or is issued a %Qu,/
new policy by the same company. No cancellation notice shall be sent to the —
director prior to the date the policy is terminated if the company allows a
grace period for payment until such grace period has expired and the policy
is actually terminated

For the purposes of this act, the term "conviction" includes
pleading guilty or nolo contendere, being convicted or being found
guilty of any violation enumerated in this subsection without regard
to whether sentence was suspended or probation granted. A forfeiture
of bail, bond or collateral deposited to secure a defendant's appearance in
court, which forfeiture has not been vacated, shall be equivalent to a
conviction. i i i i in—H

The requirements of this subsection shall apply whether or not
such person owns a motor vehicle.

(e) Whenever the director shall receive prima facie evidence, as
prescribed by this section, that continuous financial security covering any
motor vehicle registered in this state is not in effect,the director shall notify
the owner by registered or certified mail or United States post office
certificate of mailing that, at the end of 30 days after the notice is mailed,
the registration for such motor vehicle and the driving privileges of the
owner of the vehicle shall be suspended, pursuant to such rules and
regulations as the secretary of revenue shall adopt, unless: (1) Within the
thirty-day period, such owner shall demonstrate proof of continuous
financial security covering such vehicle to the satisfaction of the director; or
(2) within the thirty-day period such owner shall request a hearing with the
director. Upon receipt of a timely request for a hearing, the director shall
afford such person an opportunity for hearing within the time and in the
manner provided in K.S.A. 8-255 and amendments thereto. If, within the
thirty-day period or at the hearing, such owner is unable to demonstrate
proof of continuous financial security covering the motor vehicle in question,
the director shall suspend the registration of such motor vehicle and the
driving privileges of the owner of the vehicle, unless the failure is due to a
cause beyond the reasonable control of the owner upon proof deemed
satisfactory by the director.

() Whenever the registration of a motor vehicle or the driving
privileges of the owner of the vehicle are suspended for failure of the owner
to maintain continuous financial security, such suspension shall remain in
effect until satisfactory proof of insurance has been filed with the director as
required by subsection (d) and a reinstatement fee in the amount herein
prescribed is paid to the division of vehicles. Such reinstatement fee shall
be in the amount of $25 except that if the registration of a motor vehicle of
any owner is suspended within one year following a prior suspension of the
registration of a motor vehicle of such owner under the provisions of this act
such fee shall be in the amount of $75. The division of vehicles shall, at
least monthly, deposit such fees with the state treasurer, who shall credit
such moneys to the state highway fund.



(8) In no case shall any motor vehicle, the registration of which has
been suspended for failure to have continuous financial security, be
reregistered in the name of the owner thereof, the owner's spouse, parent
or child or any member of the same household, until the owner complies
with subsection

(f). In the event the registration plate has expired, no new plate shall
be issued until the motor vehicle owner complies with the reinstatement
requirements as required by this act.

(h) Evidence that an owner of a motor vehicle, registered or
required to be registered in this state, has operated or permitted
such motor vehicle to be operated in this state without having in force and
effect the financial security required by this act for such vehicle, together
with proof of records of the division of vehicles indicating that the owner
did not have such financial security, shall be prima facie evidence that the
owner did at the time and place alleged, operate or permit such motor
vehicle to be operated without having in full force and effect financial
security required by the provisions of this act.

() Any owner of a motor vehicle registered or required to be
registered in this state who shall make a false certification concerning
financial security for the operation of such motor vehicle as required by this
act, shall be guilty of a clasﬁié isdemeanor. Any person, firm or L
corporation giving false in ation to the director concerning another's
financial security for the operation of a motor vehicle registered or required
to be registered in this state, knowing or héving\reason to believe that such [
information is false, shall be guilty of a clags B-A thisdemeanor.

() The director shall administer and<enforce the provisions of this act
relating to the registration of motor vehicles, and the secretary of revenue
shall adopt such rules and regulations as may be necessary for its
administration.

(k) Whenever any person has made application for insurance coverage
and such applicant has submitted payment or partial payment with such
application, the insurance company, if payment accompanied the application
and if insurance coverage is denied, shall refund the unearned portion of the
payment to the applicant or agent with the notice of denial of coverage. If
payment did not accompany the application to the insurance company but
was made to the agent, the agent shall refund the unearned portion of the
payment to the applicant upon receipt of the company's notice of denial.

(1) For the purpose of this act, "declination of insurance
coverage" means a final denial, in whole or in part, by an insurance company
or agent of requested insurance coverage. (effective 4-23-87)

Sec. 4 K.S.A. 8-1604 and 40-3118 and K.S.A. 1995 Supp. 40-3104 are
hereby repealed.

Sec. 5. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its
publication in the statute book.
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Commissioner of Insurance

Kansas Insurance Department
MEMORANDUM

TO: House Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance

FROM: Linda De Coursey, Coordinator
Government and Public Affairs

RE: Comments regarding the Automobile Liability Insurance Verification System

Mr. Chairman and members of the Committee:

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to make a few comments regarding the
Automobile Liability Insurance Verification System.

As you know, the Kansas Insurance Department participated with the Division of Vehicles
and representatives of the insurance industry in studying a verification system for Kansas as was
suggested in HB 2188.  We do concur with the report of that study in that a verification system
would not be cost effective for the state to implement.

We respectfully ask the House Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance to consider
the following points when making a decision whether to consider a verification system for
Kansas:

Kansas has a low uninsured population: Even though 5% of the motorist population in
Kansas are uninsured motorists, that translates to quite a few people (100,000 to 200,000) driving

around at risk. And, they do appear to be involved in accidents. The Consumers Assistance

Division of the Department receives many calls from consumers being involved in accidents with
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an uninsured motorists. When these uninsured drivers are involved in an accident, it causes
double injury to the other motorist--not only does the wreck cause damage to the insured’s car

and the driver, but the insurance policy of the insured motorist pays for the entire cost of the

damages.

Reducing uninsured motorist population is enforcement of laws: It does little good to
have laws which require mandatory insurance with no enforcement until there is an accident. In
some areas, police routinely ask motorists for proof of insurance; in other areas of the state, it
doesn’t happen. Some county clerks ask for an insurance card when tags are renewed; others
allow forms to be mailed and insurance information may be verified.

If drivers cannot provide proof of insurance, they face penalties of up to $1,000 and a
maximum six month jail term. Anyone convicted of a second offense, within three years, faces
fines of up to $2,500 and a maximum one-year jail term. Plus, conviction on a charge of driving
without insurance triggers an automatic suspension of the offender’s driver’s license.

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners studied uninsured motorists in 1989
and asserted that strict enforcement of laws, including mandatory and significant fines for first
time offenders was the key in keeping uninsured motorists off the roads. ~Attached to the
written testimony are a few examples of what other states are doing with regard to enforcement.

Institute a program for impoundment of tags or vehicles. This is an option, however, the
law in Kansas prior to the passage of the “no-fault” law required insurance companies to report
to the Division of Vehicles when drivers canceled their insurance. The Highway Patrol was then
notified and sent to remove license tags from the uninsured cars. The Legislature repealed that
statute in the 1980s because of various problems, including the fact that reports were often

incorrect, so tags were taken from motorists who had valid insurance. The Highway Patrol
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complained that they did not have sufficient staff to remove license tags and handle their other
duties. Perhaps we can consider what Florida has implemented recently--a “bounty hunter”
system to remove license tags from uninsured motorist cars.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to share our comments and concerns with you about the
verification system. Hopefully, we can come up with a reasonable solution. It will take inter-

agency cooperation, and the willingness to monitor and enforce the law.



Attachment 1
Enforcement efforts in other states for violation of mandatory and financial responsibility

laws,

Statutes and regulations.
Other states have pursued and implemented aggressive legislation to decrease the number of
uninsured motorists on their roads. The following are some recently enacted laws to increase the

enforcement of mandatory auto liability insurance and/or financial responsibility laws:

OHIO: Ohio’s new uninsured motorist law became effective in April of 1995. Although the
law is technically a financial responsibility law, it has some compulsory auto liability insurance
features. For a first offense of failure to produce proof of insurance, the minimum penalty is a 90
day license suspension and a $75 license reinstatement fee. For multiple offenses, suspension of
license for up to a year is possible and the reinstatement fee is $250 for the second offense and
$500 for third and subsequent offenses. There is a $50 penalty for failure to surrender a driver’s
license, license plates, or registration. Also, drivers who fail to show proof may be required to
maintain special high risk insurance for five years. In addition, law enforcement officers must
ask for proof of insurance when citing for traffic violations and drivers must bring proof of
insurance to court or face the 90 day license suspension. And as of October 20, drivers must
carry an insurance ID card or other written proof of insurance at all times. Prior to the new law,
Ohio had 15.3% uninsured motorists (1992).

ILLINOIS: Illinois’ mandatory insurance law became effective January 1, 1991 and was
permanently extended January 1, 1994. Uninsured vehicles are detected through routine traffic
stops and questionnaires sent to randomly selected registered vehicles by the secretary of state.
License plates are suspended if the questionnaire is not returned or if the driver had no auto
liability insurance as of the date listed on the questionnaire. There is a minimum fine of $500 for
driving without insurance and $1000 for driving a vehicle while its registration is suspended for
non-insurance. Vehicle registrations for all the owners of uninsured vehicles are suspended
pending proof of insurance and a $100 reinstatement fee. Repeat offenders must also pay a $100

reinstatement fee and receive a four-month suspension of vehicle registration. License plates
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may be confiscated from vehicles driven while registration is suspended due to failure to insure.
In 1987 19% of Illinois’ motorists were uninsured.

FLORIDA: Florida law permits law enforcement officers to impound or immobilize cars for
a second arrest for driving without a license if the first license revocation was due to driving
without insurance. Proof of insurance is necessary to recover the vehicle. In selected counties a
temporary experiment is being conducted in which recovery agents (repossessors) or private
investigators can seize license plates of vehicles known not to have insurance. In 1985, 31% of
Florida’s motorists were uninsured.

UTAH: Utah has recently established a database that coordinates auto policy holder data
with driver’s licenses and registrations. Insurance information is updated monthly by insurers.
The information from the database is used in two ways: law enforcement officers screen
motorists on routine traffic stops and also a comparison of records is made and warning letters
are sent to uninsured motorists. The database was established by InsureRite (Richard Kasteler,
president, 801-531-0731) and is administered by Utah’s Division of Motor Vehicles. According
to your June 27, 1995 notes from a meeting with Betty McBride, Bill Sneed and Pamela
Edwards, the system may have 90-97% accuracy and will cost $1 million to fund ($1.00 per
registration). A lawsuit has been filed in response to the establishment of the database claiming
that the state’s demand for insurance information is unconstitutional because it seeks to seize
insurance companies’ intellectual property. Utah had a 6% rate of uninsured motorists in 1988
but according to Holly Derum of InsureRite that rate had risen to 25% uninsured prior to the

establishment of the database.

Pending legislation.

ALABAMA: A bill making auto liability insurance mandatory was recently introduced with
the following penalties: $1000 fine and automatic suspension of drivers license and registration
for failure to produce proof of insurance. The projected cost of enforcement is $3 million. Forty
percent of Alabama’s motorists are uninsured.

LOUISIANA: New legislation would implement fines of $1000, license suspension, and a
possible six month jail term for drivers who lie about being insured. Twenty to forty percent of

Louisiana’s motorists are uninsured.

v



NEW MEXICO: A new bill would allow law enforcement officers to remove license plates
and impound vehicles involved in accidents. New Mexico has a 50% uninsured motorist rate.

CALIFORNIA: A bill to increase enforcement of California’s financial responsibility law
would require drivers to produce proof of insurance when they register or renew registration of
their auto or when requested by a police officer. Failure to produce proof would result in fines
and impoundment for the first offense and impoundment for the second offense. Insurers would
be required to notify the Division of Motor Vehicles when policies are issued, renewed, or
canceled. California has a 28-30% uninsured motorist rate.

CALIFORNIA, DELAWARE, MICHIGAN, AND EIGHT OTHER STATES: “No pay,
no play” legislation would bar uninsured motorists involved in accidents from bringing lawsuits

for pain and suffering.
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