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Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY.
The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Michael R. O’Neal at 3:30 p.m. on January 23, 1996 in

Room 313-8S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Representative Gary Merritt - Excused
Representative Britt Nichols - Excused
Representative Candy Ruff - Excused

Committee staff present: Jerry Donaldson, Legislative Research Department
Mike Heim, Legislative Research Department
Jill Wolters, Revisor of Statutes
Cindy Wulfkuhle, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Helen Stephens - Kansas Peace Officers Association
Rosalie Thornburg - Kansas Department of Transportation
Dr. Roger Carlson - Kansas Department of Health & Environment
David Debenham - Deputy Attorney General, Criminal Division
Lt. Sam Grant - Kansas Highway Patrol
Gene Johnson - Kansas Community Alcohol Safety Action Program
Rhonda Mongold - Students A gainst Drunk Drivers
Stan Stewart - Mothers Against Drunk Drivers
Canda Byrne - Kansas Alcoholism & Drug Addition Counselors Association
Francis Wood - Women’s Christian Temperance Union
Terri Roberts - Kansas State Nurses’ Association
Amelia Mclntyre - Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks
Tuck Duncan - Kansas Wine & Spirits Wholesalers Association

Others attending: See attached list

HB 2442 - Covered offenses under civil asset forfeiture to include driving while suspended or revoked for
violation of DUI statute, was scheduled for a hearing but no conferees appeared to testify on the bill and the
bill was withdrawn from consideration.

Helen Stephens, Kansas Peace Officers Association, appeared before the committee with requests for two bill
introductions. The first would increase the amount of money needed when an accident report is filled out.

Representative Pauls made a motion to introduce this bill as a committee bill. Representative Goodwin
seconded the motion. The motion carried.

The second bill request dealt with the annual immigration card. Representative Ott made a motion to introduce
this bill as a committee bill. Representative Howell seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Hearings on HB 2603 - Drivers under 21 blood alcohol concentration of .02 or greater, were opened.

Rosalie Thornburg, Kansas Department of Transportation, appeared before the committee as a proponent of
the bill. She explained that Section 320 of the National Highway System Designation Act of 1995 requires
states to enact and enforce a law that would consider it unlawful for individuals under age of 21 to drive with a
blood alcohol concentration of .02 or greater. If the state fails to enact this law by 1998 it is subject to a
withholding of five percent of federal aid highway funds which is estimated at $6.9 million, and $13.9 million
each year thereafter, (Attachment 1).

Chairman O’Neal asked what the difference was between what passed out of committee last year and this bill.
Jill Wolters explained that the bill last year had a positive/negative BAC standard.

Stan Stewart, Mothers Against Drunk Drivers, appeared before the committee in support of the bill. He told
the committee that it seems reasonable to expect drivers under the age of 21 to drive without alcohol in their
system. After all they are not legally allowed to purchase alcohol, (Attachment2). As the City Manager at El

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals 1
appearing before the committec for editing or comections.
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Dorado, police officers have stopped 18-20 minors a year who have been drinking and blow less than .08.
The City Attorney won’t prosecute because they don’t have the container in their possession. He suggested
that the legislature should either pass HB 2603.

Committee members were concerned that prosecutors can’t prosecute those under the age of 21 unless the
police officer sees the minor with the alcohol. A request was made of staff to provide the committee with
information as to how this is allowed.

Dr. Roger Carlson, Kansas Department of Health & Environment, appeared before the committee in support
of the bill. He stated that clear impairment can be documented at .05. That is why there is a federal requirement
for interstate truck drivers at .04. At .08 one cannot safely operate a motor vehicle. The state currently has
182 testing instruments in operation and eight of these are more than eight years old and need to be replaced.
Each instrument is inspected and certified once a year, (Attachment3).

Chairman O’Neal commented that the Legislature had set up a special equipment fund to buy updated
equipment and questioned where the money came from. Dr. Carlson replied that 50% of the reinstatement
funds are directed towards rehabilitation efforts, 20% goes towards K.B.I. Laboratories and the remaining
10% toward Health & Environment. They have reported funding for only one quarter.

David Debenham, Deputy Attorney General Criminal Division, appeared before the committee as a proponent
of the bill. He commented that the Attorney General believes that the state owes it to youths to make sure that
they realize the dangers of drinking and driving, (Attachment4).

Lt. Sam Grant, Kansas Highway Patrol, appeared before the committee in support of the bill. He stated that
many youthful drivers are involved in alcohol related crashes. With the passage of this bill the safety of the
highway will be improved, (Attachment 5).

Gene Johnson, Kansas Community Alcohol Safety Action Program, appeared before the committee in
support of the bill. He suggested that the committee amend the bill tc include the requirement of an alcohol
and drug safety education program for those convicted of a first DUI and those who receive a diversion,

(Attachment 6).

Rhonda Mongold, Students Against Drunk Drivers, appeared before the committee as a proponent of the bill.
She commented that the consumption of alcohol by minors is all too common and that many teenagers are able
to obtain alcohol quite easily. She urged the committee to pass HB_ 2603 because it might save lives,

(Attachment 7).

Canda Byme, Kansas Alcoholism & Drug Addition Counselors Association, appeared before the committee in
support of the bill. She commented that laws do not stop young people from drinking or drinking and driving
but hopefully the education that follows an arrest and the loss of driving privileges would, (Attachment8).

Francis Wood, Women’s Christian Temperance Union, appeared before the committee as a proponent of the
bill. She stated that every two weeks an estimated 40% of high school seniors consume five or more drinks in

one sitting, (Attachment9).

Terri Roberts, Kansas State Nurses’s Association, appeared before the committee in support of the bill. She
shared with the committee an incidence where she was a nurse involved with 2 minor who died as a result of h
an alcohol-related crash by a drunken driver under the age of 21, (Attachment 10).

Amelia Mclntyre, Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks, appeared before the committee with an
amendment that .02 for those under 21 apply to boaters as well, (Attachment 11).

Tuck Duncan, Kansas Wine & Spirits Wholesalers Association, appeared before the committee with some
concerns on the bill, such as, the same penalties that apply to .08 would apply to .02 and that the family may
be dropped by their automobile insurance because their child had been convicted of drinking and driving,
(Attachment 12).

Hearings on HB 2603 were closed.

Representative Adkins made a motion to approve the committee minutes from January 9, 10, 16 & 17.
Representative Goodwin seconded the motion. The motion carred.
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Representative Adkins appeared before the committee with a bill request. He explained that when the Juvenile
Youth Authority was enacted all land titled in the name of SRS was transferred to the Youth Authority. The
bill would make it clear that only the youth centers would be transferred.

Representative Mays made a motion to have the bill request introduced as a committee bill. Representative
Grant seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Representative Garner appeared before the committee with several bill requests. The first dealt with changing
a condition of probation to allow “up to 180 days in jail”. Representative Garner made a motion to have this
bill introduced as a commiittee bill. Representative Haley seconded the motion. The motion carried.

The next would allow those who want to run for sheriff but have been convicted of a gambling or alcohol
violation to do so as long as the conviction was more than 10 years old. Representative Garner made a motion
to have this bill introduced as a committee bill. Representative Goodwin seconded the motion. The motion
carried.

The final bill request dealt with the ability of landlords to dispose of property after 120 days after the court has
ordered the tenant to leave the premises. Representative Garner made a motion to have this bill introduced as a
committee bill. Representative Snowbarger seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Representative Adkins made a motion to report HB 2442 adversely. Representative Garner seconded the
motion. The motion carried.

The committee meeting adjourned at 5:30. The next meeting is scheduled for January 24, 1996.
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KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

E. Dean Carlson Docking State Office Building Bill Graves
Secretary of Transporiation Topeka 66612-1568 Governor of Kansas

(913) 296-3566
TTY (913) 296-3585
FAX (913) 296-1095

TESTIMONY BEFORE
HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

REGARDING HOUSE BILL 2603
MANDATORY ZERO TOLERANCE LAW FOR DRIVERS UNDER AGE 21

January 23, 1996

Mr. Chairman and Committee Members:

Mr. Chairman and members of the committee, I am Rosalie Thornburgh, Bureau
Chief of Traffic Safety. On behalf of the Department of Transportation, I am here today
to support House Bill 2603 and provide testimony regarding the federal requirement to
enact a "zero tolerance" law for individuals under the age of 21.

The establishment of a zero tolerance law supports the fact that current law, in all
50 states and the District of Columbia, prohibits the purchase and public possession of
alcoholic beverages by those under the age of 21. Therefore, it would seem reasonable
to expect drivers under the age of 21 to have no alcohol in their systems and the
appropriate blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for these drivers would be zero. However,
given the present level of technology, a BAC level of 0.02 is generally accepted as a zero
tolerance level, indicating any measurable amount.

BACKGROUND/OVERVIEW

Section 320 of the National Highway System Designation Act (NHSDA) of 1995
(Public Law 104-59) contains a requirement for a state to enact and enforce a law that
considers an individual under the age of 21 who has a blood concentration of .02 percent

or greater while operating a motor vehicle in the state to be driving under the influence of
alcohol (DUI).

A state that fails to adopt and enact this law before October 1, 1998 (the beginning
of federal fiscal year 1999) is subject to a withholding of five percent of certain federal-
aid highway construction funds. In each year thereafter, failure to comply by October 1
will result in the state being subject to 10 percent withholding of certain federal-aid
highway construction funds.

House Judiciary
1-23-96
Attachment 1
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PERIOD OF AVAILABILITY OF WITHHELD FUNDS

The withholding provision applies to the first two years of penalty. In other words,
if compliance is reached by September 30, 2000 (the end of federal fiscal year 2000), the
amounts withheld for federal fiscal year 1999 and federal fiscal year 2000 would be
available to the state. Any funds withheld after September 30, 2000 (or October 1, 2000 -
the beginning of federal fiscal year 2001) would be a loss to the state.

PENALTY AMOUNTS ,

Based upon current estimates of our federal fiscal year 1997 apportionments, the
final year of authorization under ISTEA, the withholding amount for federal fiscal year
1999 would be $6.9 million. The withholding amount in federal fiscal year 2000, and each
year thereafter, would be $13.9 million.

COMPONENTS OF THE LAW ,

The language in Section 320 does not specify the sanctioning requirements for the
DUI offender. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has not yet
interpreted this law. However, NHTSA has a standing interpretation under another
alcohol grant program (Section 410) which requires, at a minimum, a mandatory 30-day
"hard" driver's license suspension. A "hard" suspension means that it may not be subject

to hardship, conditional, or provisional driving privileges. We are waiting on further
information from NHTSA.

OTHER KEY FACTS/STATISTICS

Attachment 1 is a Legislative Fact Sheet, prepared by NHTSA, which provides
pertinent information about the youth drinking and driving problem. The document shows
the 27 states plus the District of Columbia that have set the BAC limit at .02 or lower for
those under 21. It also describes positive outcomes of law changes in Maryland, Maine,
New Mexico, North Carolina and Wisconsin.

National findings show that more than 35 percent of all deaths of 15- to 20-year olds
result from motor vehicle crashes. In 1994, 37.6 percent of the 6,226 traffic fatalities of
this age group were alcohol-related. This translates to 2,343 fatalities nationally. The
alcohol involvement rate for young drivers, based on the total licensed driver population,
is about twice that of the over-21 age group.
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In Kansas, in 1994, 17.4 percent of the 92 traffic fatalities of this age group were
alcohol-related, as reported by police. This translates to 19 fatalities in Kansas. Other
pertinent statistics are presented in Attachment 2

In closing, passage of House Bill 2603 would meet the federal requirements
contained in the National Highway System Designation Act and prevent the withholding
of highway construction funds. I believe that this law would be an effective deterrent to
underage drinking and driving, and support the state's comprehensive efforts to reduce the
deaths and injuries among Kansas' youth.
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Zero-Tolerance Laws To Reduce
Alcohol-Impaired Driving By Youth

e U.S. Department of Transportation’s

National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration (NHTSA) encourages
States to enact zero tolerance laws
designed to reduce drinking and driving
among younger drivers. Such laws should:

B establish that any measurable amount
(.02 maximum) of alcohol in the blood,

breath, or urine of a driver under gge
21 would be an “lllegal per se”
offense; and,

W provide for immediate driver license

suspension perlods for those under
age 21 who exceed the applicable

blood alcohol concentration (BAC)
lirnit,

All 50 States and the District of Columbia
now have laws that prohibit the
purchase and public possession of
dlcoholic beverages by those under the
age of 21. Therefore, it would seem
reasonable to expect drivers under the
age of 21 to have po alcohol in their
systems, and the appropriate BAC for
these drivers would be zero. However,
NHTSA recognizes that, given the
present level of technology of alcohol
breath testing devices, it is difficult for
law enforcement officers to detect
exiremely low amounts of alcohol in the
body. It is for this reason that the agency
generally supports States that have laws
establishing a BAC level of 0.02, at which
it is lllegal for those under the age of 21
to operate a motor vehicle.

Younger drivers place a high value on
their drivers' licenses, and the threat of
license revocation has proved to be an
especlally effective sanction for this age
group.

In a radlo address to the nation on June
10, 1995, President Clinfon stressed the
importance of all states passing Zero
Tolerance Laws. "Zero tolerance will save
lives. I's already saving lives in 24 states,
including my home state...it's time to
have zero tolerance for under-age drunk
driving all across America, noft just in
some stafes.”

Key Facts

W More than 35 percent of all deaths of
15 fo 20 year olds result from motor
vehicle crashes. In 1994, 37.6 percent
of the 6,226 traffic fatalities of 15 to 20
year olds were dlcohol-related. The
percentage translates to 2,343 traffic
fatalities in this age group that were
alcohol-related last year.

Contents
R Key Facts

B States With Special Laws For
Youth

B How The Laws Work
B Cost Benefit Estimates

B Intermodal Surface Transportation
Efficiency Act (ISTEA) of 1991

B Information Sources




Key Facts (continued) States with Special Laws for Youth

Twenty-seven States and the District of

B In 1994, 22 percent of 15 fo 20 year old Columbia have set the BAC limit at .02 or

drivers involved in fatal crashes had some lower for drivers under age 21: Arizonaq,
alcohol in thelr blood. The dlcohol Arkansas, California, Connecticut,
involvement rate for young drivers, based on Delaware, District of Columbia, Idaho,
the total licensed driver population, is about llinols, lowa, Maine, Maryland,

Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota,
Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire,
New Jersey, New Mexico, North Caroling,
Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee,
Utah, Virginia, Washington, and West
Virginia. To correspond to age 21 alcohol
purchase laws, NHTSA supports the use of
age 21 as an appropriate threshold for
lower BAC limifs and longer suspension
periods.

twice that of the over 21 age driver.

B NHTSA estimates that 848 lives were saved in
1994 by minimum drinking age laws. Since
1975, It Is estimated that amost 14,816 lives
have been saved In the affected ages by
these laws. However, young people under
age 21 are still greatly over-represented In
alcohol-related crashes and fatalifies,

B Driver license revocation or suspension has How The Laws Work
proven to be an effective deterrent in
reducing crashes and the reoccurrence of
alcohol-related driver offenses in the
general population. Some State licensing
officidls believe sanctions have an even
greater effect on younger drivers, since they
value their drivers' licenses so highly.

Typically, zero tolerance laws provide that
any amount of alcohol In the body of a
driver under age 21 (generdlly measured
as 0.02% BAC or greater) is an offense for
which the driver’s license may be
suspended for a period varying from 10
days to three months. These laws should
allow a police officer to require a breath
test from any driver under the age of 21, if

States with Lower BAC Levels for Youthful DWI Offenders
September 1995
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=3 Drivers under age 21:

551 .00 BAC (AZ, DC, IL, ME, MN, NC, OR, UT)

.01 BAC (CA, NJ)

.02 BAC ( AR, CT, DE, ID, IA, MD, MA, MI, MT,
NE, NH, NM, OH, RI, TN, VA, WA, WV)

.00 BAC (Wi for drivers under age 18)

.02 BAC (VT for drivers under age 18)

.04 BAC (GA, LA for drivers under age 18)
.07 BAC (TX for drivers under 21)

.08 BAC (MS for drivers under 21)
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How The Laws Work (continuea)

the officer has probable cause to believe that
the individual has been drinking (and should
Dot require that the officer have probable
cause to suspect actual impairment). Refusal
to take such a test should result in license
suspension under implied consent or
administrative license revocation (ALR) laws. In
the 38 States and the District of Columbia with
ALR laws, providing a sample that is positive
for alcohol should result in license suspension
under that iaw. Currently, States vary in
whether the speclal BAC level for underage
drivers s included in their ALR law.

Other States have taken the approach of
extending the period of license suspension
and increasing other pendities for underage
youth without changing the BAC definition of
an offense. Many States have extended the
period of license suspension and also
changed the BAC definition.

Cost Benefit Estimates

A NHTSA evaluation of the 0.02 law in
Maryland has shown an 11 percent decrease
in the number of drivers under age 21 involved
in crashes who, police report, “had been
drinking.” A study of the four other States
(Mdine, New Mexico, North Carolina, and
Wisconsin) reveadled a 34 percent decline in
adolescent night fatal crashes during the post-
law years compared to only a 7 percent
~decrease in adulf night fatal crashes.

Making any amount of alcohol in the body of
an underage person an offense can make the
enforce- ment effort easier, If the officer has
any reason to suspect that the individual has
been drinking, he or she can demand a
breath test and take action to arrest the
underage driver. Passive sensors, which can
detect low BACs, permit the police to identify
individuals with small amounts of alcohol in
their bodies. This has the potential fo reduce
enforcement and adjudication time and
expense, particularly if handled in an
administrative process.

Intermodal Surface Transportation
Efficiency Act (ISTEA) of 1991

ISTEA provides incentive grants to States that
achleve at least five of the following six critericr:

B An expedited administrative procedure for
suspending the license of drunk drivers;

B A law sefting a 0.10 blood alcohol concen-
tration as evidence of driving while intoxi-
cated (after three years, it must drop to .08);

B A statewide sobiiety checkpoint program;

B A self-sustaining drunk driving prevention
program;

B A program fo prevent drivers under age 21
from obtdining alcoholic beverages; and

B A mandatory senfence of 48 consecutive
hoursin jall or not less than 10 days of
community service for any person
convicted of DWI more than once in any
five year period.

States can dlso earn supplemental grants,
one of which is based on adopting a 0.02
blood alcohol concentration limit for drivers
under age 21.

Information Sources

A number of national organizations and reports
have supported legislation of this type. The
organizations and reports are as follows:

| BAC Limits For Youth: Evaluat it
Marvland .02 Law. NHTSA Report Number

DOT HS 807 860, March 1992, (Technical
Summary, DOT HS 807 859, March 1992.)

*Reduced BAC Limits for Young People
(Impact on Night Fatal Crashes)”, Alcohol,

Drugs. and Driving, R. Hingson, et al., Vol. 7
No. 2, pp 117-127.

Lower Legal Blood Alcohol Limits for Young/
Drivers', R. Hingson, et. d., Vol 7 No. 2, pp 117-127.

"NHTSALINE - Zefo Tolerance", 11-minute video
produced by USAA.

These reporls and additional information are available through your State Office of Highway
Safety, the NHTSA Reglonal Office serving your state, or from NHTSA Headquarters, Traffic Safety
Programs, NTS-21, 400 Seventh Street, 5.W., Washington, D.C. 20590, 202-366-9588.




ATTACHMENT 2

KANSAS TRAFFIC SAFETY FACTS 1994
YOUNG DRIVERS - 15-20 YEARS OLD

In 1994, young drivers accounted for 30 percent of all motor vehicle crashes

while making up only 10 percent of the driving public. Young drivers were
involved in almost 20,000 crashes.

This age group accounted for 21 percent of all motor vehicle deaths. Of the

4472 total fatalities in 1994, 92 were between the ages of 15 and 20 years.

ALCOHOL RELATED

In 1994, young drivers accounted for 15 percent of all alcohol-related motor

vehicle crashes, as reported by police. These young drivers were involved in
more than 500 alcohol-related crashes.

This age group accounted for 17 percent of all alcohol-related motor vehicle
deaths. Of the 109 total alcohol-related fatalities in 1994, 19 fatalities were
between the age of 15 and 20 years.

380 people in this age group were injured in alcohol-related motor vehicle
crashes. This accounted for 12 percent of the total alcohol-related injuries,
or 3,084.

In 1994, the alcohol involvement rate for these young drivers, based on the

total licensed driver population, was about twice that of the over 21 age
driver.

YOUNG DRIVER CRASH CAUSATION/CHARACTERISTICS

Most commonly reported driver error-related causes of crashes were
carelessness or inattention, failure to yield right-of-way, and speed.

Most crashes occurred between 2:00 P.M. and 6:00 P.M., on Friday or
Saturday, on local streets, in an urban setting, and on dry pavement.

Male drivers are more likely than female drivers to be involved.

Most young drivers killed were not wearing safety belts.

KDOT-Bureau of Traffic Safety
January 12, 1996
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HOUSE BILL 2603
ZERO TOLERANCE

My name is Stan Stewart, speaking on behalf of Kansas MADD as a proponent of House
Bill 2603. We ask for passage of House Bill 2603, Zero Tolerance which would establish a .02
BAC for those under 21. Why is there a need for “zero-tolerance” laws for underage 217
There is a real need for a consistent message to our youth that we do not want them drinking
before the age of twenty-one, nor drinking and driving. We need to reduce the alcohol-related
deaths and injuries due to drinking and driving. It is illegal for anyone under twenty-one to
possess, consume, obtain or purchase alcoholic beverages. All fifty states and the District of
Columbia now have laws that prohibit the purchase and public possession of alcoholic beverages
by those under the age of twenty-one; therefore it would seem reasonable to expect drivers under
that age of twenty-one to have no alcohol in their systems. Reasonable, yes; however, that is
not what our current law communicates. Our current BAC law says to youth "You can drink
'some’". Currently, minors arrested for DUI are subject to the same laws as adults, which is
a BAC of .08. In most instances, a minor stopped for DUI would not arrested for DUI unless
a BAC was .08 or higher. A lower BAC needs to be established to communicate to drivers
under the age of twenty-one that we want a clear message of no drinki‘ng of under the age of
twenty-one.

Since the minimum age to purchase alcohol -has been raised to twenty-one, per capita
arrests rates for driving under the influence for persons ages 18 to 20, which includes alcohol
and other intoxicants, have decreased by twenty-one percent. It has made a difference, and we

need to continue to going further by communicating a clear and consistent message for our

House Judiciary
1-23-96

Attachment 2
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youth. A lower BAC of .02 would enforce that no one under the age of twenty-one should even
be drinking, and certainly not drinking and driving.

Is drinking for under the age of twenty-one a problem? Yes, there is a distinct problem in our
state with under age drinking. (NOTE: HANDOUT) If you look at the 1994 statistics, there
were 3,627 reported liquor violations for individuals under the age of twenty-one. There were
1,800 drivers under the age of twenty-one who were arrested for DUI. Keep in mind that this
number does not include those with BACs lower than .08. There were 1,325 teenagers who
were either drivers or passengers in alcohol-related crashes. There were 24 under the age of
twenty-one who were killed in alcohol-related crashes in 1994. There were 529 under the age
of twenty-one who were seriously injured in alcohol-related crashes. MADD was before this
legislative body asking your assistance in passing a lower BAC for under age twenty-one. We
have a real concern when looking at the 1994 stats. For the first time since 1986, we see an
increase in alcohol-related fatalities and crashes involving those under the age of twenty-one.
Over 70% of our teenage drivers involved in alcohol-related crashes, fatalities, and/or injuries
are drinking drivers.

Young people under the age of twenty-one are still greatly over represented in alcohol-
related crashes and fatalities. Young people between the ages of 15-24 are the only group in
America with a declining life expectancy. The primary causes of death are accidents, suicide,
and homicide, and they are directly related to the illegal use of alcohol and other drugs. House
Bill 2603, Zero Tolerance, would establish a .02 BAC for under age twenty-one. MADD
supports this whichA models what twenty-seven other states and the District of Columbia have
done in lowering their BAC limits for under age drivers. Why a lower BAC for youth, besides
the obvious that they shouldn’t be drinking under the age of twenty-one. Let the simple fact that

Z2-2
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a teenage driver, mile for mile, is a high risk operator; this doubles when you combine drinking
and driving.

The most dramatic increase in a crash risk occurs at a BAC of .05 and above. Ata BAC
of .05 to .07 the risk of fatal crash involvement for the teenage driver is approximately four
times that of an older driver. The 1994 statistics show that there was a 28% increase in
alcohol-related crashes for drinking drivers who were 17 and under. A real concern is those
under 20 who were riding with drinking drivers - these are passengers. Passengér involvement
increased approximately 9% while fatalities increased 275%, injuries increased 12%. This is
a large number of alcohol-related crashes involving a large number of passengers which resulted
in significant, significant, increase in fatalities over last year.

Our youth need to hear a clear message "No drinking under the age of 21" and "No
drinking nor driving under the age of 21", Let’s join the other states who have adopted lower
BACs, particularly those states that have .02 BAC who have shown a decrease in the alcohol
fatalities and injuries in their states. (NOTE: MAP) Maryland has shown a 11% decrease in
the number of alcohol-rélated crashes involving those under 21. Another study showing four
other states revealed a 34% decline in adolescent night fatal crashes. Let’s join them to
communicate a clear message to our youth, because anything other than Zero Tolerance, .02

BAC, is a mixed message.

2-9
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3,627 Reported Liquor violations
for individuals under 21
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States with Lower BAC Levels for Youthful DWI Offenders
September 1995
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Dyivers under age 21:

.00 BAC (AZ, DC, IL, ME, MN, NC, OR, UT)

.01 BAC (CA, NJ)

.02 BAC ( AR, CT, DE, ID, 1A, MD, MA, Mi, MT,
NE, NH, NM, OH, R|, TN, VA, WA, WV)

.00 BAC (Wl for drivers under age 18)
.02 BAC (VT for drivers under age 18)
.04 BAC (GA, LA for drivers under age 18)
.07 BAC (TX for drivers under 21)
.08 BAC (MS for drivers under 21)

SOURCE: NaT1oNAL HiGHwAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION (SepT. 1995)




State of Kansas

Bill Graves Governor

Department of Health and Environment
James O’Connell, Secretary

Testimony presented to
House Judiciary Committee

The Kansas Department ;?,Health and Environment
House Bill 2603

The intent of HB2603 is to establish a deterrent against the consumption of
alcohol by younger drivers through administrative suspension of license at the
lowest level of alcohol which is technically and judicially defensible.

Currently, twenty-nine states and the District of Columbia have established
lower .alcohol tolerance. limits _for drivers younger than 21. The experience of
several states has generally been favorable in reducing alcohol-related highway

deaths and injuries. 1In addition, some epidemiologic evidence published in the

Journal of the U.S. Public Health Service shows a lower incidence of alcohol-

related fatalities in younger drivers in states which have established 0.00 or
0.02% tolerance levels.
Currently established DUI programs in Kansas, including those analytical

| quality assurance components managed at the Kansas Department of Health and

Environment, are focused on the prosecution of 23,000 impaired drivers who are
arrested on our highways each year. Although traditional roadside sobriety tests
which are used to indicate alcohol impairment will not be applicable to the
detection of very low alcohol 1levels, physical evidence and the use of
preliminary breath test devices may help to establish probable cause for arrest.
At the same time, however, we must be acutely aware of the fact that rigorous

operation of the proposed deterrent effort will require staff resources from all
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program components during these times of fiscal restraint and that.funding for
support of this change in tolerance level is not currently included in the KDHE
budget as submitted.

To accomplish the quality assurance components managed by the Department of
Health and Environment, additional operator training will be required to ensure
that low level alcohol tests are court defensible. It will also be necessary to
prepare an increased amount of standards for use in the continuing calibration
of each of the 182 evidential instruments. The certification officer will be
required to spend an estimated 20% additional time at each of the instrument
sites to ensure proper calibration, and breath alcohol program record keeping and
reporting will increase as well. Together, these additions to program operation
will require an estimated one-half of an FTE.

Finally, Kansas evidential instruments which are operating under optimal
conditions can be expected to detect ethyl alcohol at a level of 0.02% + 0.005%.
However, this level may be difficult to achieve routinely with some older
instruments. Kansas currently has 182 evidential instruments in operation
throughout the state. Eight of these models are more than eight years old and
will need to be replaced as soon as possible. It will cost approximately $6,000
to replace each of the older models. The 1995 legislature c¢reated an
instrument/equipment fee fund, but as of October 1, 1995, the fund had only
$3,000 dollars accumulated. The amount of dollars directed into this fund
appears to be insufficient to replace outdated instruments within a reasonable
time frame.

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment supports the deterrent
concept which is proposed in HB2603.

Testimony presented by:
Roger H. Carlson, Ph.D., Director

Kansas Health and Environmental Laboratory
January 23, 1996



State of Wansas

Difice of the Attorney General

301 S.W. 10t AveENUE, TOPEKA 66612-1597

CARLA J. STOVALL MAN PHONE: (913) 206-2215
ATTORNEY GENERAL CoNsuMER PROTECTION: 296-3751
Fax: 296-6296

STATEMENT OF
DEPUTY ATTORNEY GENERAL DAVID B. DEBENHAM
BEFORE THE HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE
RE: HOUSE BILL 2603
JANUARY 23, 1996

Dear Chairperson Mike O'Neal and Members of the Committee

I appear before you today on behalf of Attorney General
Carla J. Stovall, to ask for your support of House Bill 2603.
This bill would, in essence, create a zero alcochol tolerance
level for drivers less than 21 years of age.

One of the most important dates in the life of the youth
of our society is the day they have the ability to obtain
their drivers license. Concurrent with this privilege is the
duty and requirement to follow the traffic laws of this
state. Unfortunately, our younger drivers do not always
foresee the dangers of drinking and driving.

Those of us who have been driving for a number of years
realize the dangers of drinking and driving. We have become
aware of these dangers through the devastating effects that
drinking and driving have had on the victims of automobile
accidents.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration, more than 35% of all deaths of 15 to 20 year
olds result from motor vehicle crashes. 1In 1994, 37.6% of the
6,226 traffic fatalities of 15 to 20 year olds were
alcohol-related. What this means is that 2,343 traffic
fatalities in this age group were alcohol-related last year.
Quite frankly this is 2,343 deaths that could have been
prevented.

The NHTSA also noted that in 1994, 22% of the 15 to 20
year old drivers involved in fatal crashes had some alcohol in
their blood. This report further stated that, based on the

House Judiciary
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total licensed driver population, the alcohol involvement rate
for young drivers is about twice that of the over 21 age
driver.

Over the last few years our society has started to change
its outlook about drinking and driving. Education provided by
groups such as MADD and SADD and the enactment of stricter DUI
laws have seen the term "de51gnated driver" used much more
frequently than in the past.

We also owe it to our youth to make sure that they
realize the dangers of drinking and driving. This bill
addresses the youth of our society. It is already illegal for
those under 21 years of age to consume or purchase alcoholic
liquor or cereal malt beverages. This bill goes one step
further and makes clear that it is also against the law to
drive after drinking.

On behalf of the Attorney General, I urge your favorable
consideration of House Bill 2603.



Kansas Highway Patrol
Summary of Testimony
1996 House Bill 2603
before the
House Judiciary Committee
January 23, 1996

Good afternoon Mr. Chairman and members of the Committee. My name is Lieutenant

Sam Grant and | appear before you on behalf of Colonel Lonnie McCollum,. -

Superintendent of the Kansas Highway Patrol, in support of HB 2603. HB 2603
lowers the blood alcohol concentration threshold for those under 21 to .02%.

As a traffic safety agency, the Patrol is concerned about safety on our state’s
highways. Each year impaired driving causes many problems and results in many
deaths and injuries across Kansas. Unfortunately, as noted by previous conferees,
youthful drivers are involved in many alcohol related crashes

Many states throughout the country have already established lower blood alcohol
concentrations for youthful drivers. Studies show that these laws coupled with
public information and enforcement can lead to a reduction in total alcohol related
fatalities. In fact, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports that a
recent study of twelve states with lower limits for youth indicated a 20% reduction
in alcohol related fatal crashes among drivers under age 21.

Much has been done in recent years to combat the drinking driver prOblem in Kansas

and we feel that the .02% provision contained in House Bill 2603 is the next logical-

step in that progression. In addition to laws making it illegal for persons under 21
to purchase and publicly possess alcoholic beverages, the provisions of HB 2603 will
improve highway safety by making it clear that drinking and driving by those under 21
is not acceptable in Kansas.

I would be glad to answer any questions the committee may have.

HAHHHH
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Testimony

House Judiciary Committee
January 23, 1996

House Bill 2603
Good afternoon Chairman O'Neal and Members of the Committee:

My name is Gene Johnson and | am the Legislative Liaison for the Kansas
Community Alcohol Safety Action Project Coordinators, Association. It is my
pleasure to appear before you this afternoon in support of HB 2603.

The Kansas Community Alcohol Safety Action Project Coordinators Association
is composed of members throughout the State of Kansas who conduct the pre-
sentence alcohol and drug evaluations for those persons convicted of or who
receive a diversion from, the charge of DUI, under K.S.A. 8-1567. In addition we
conduct alcohol and drug evaluations for the courts throughout the State for
those persons under the age of 21 who have violated our Kansas Alcohol and
Drug Laws.

HB 2603 is another measure designed to save lives and prevent alcohol related
crashes in the State of Kansas.

The International Association of Chiefs of Police report that 15 to 20 year olds,
throughout the United States, make up 7% of the National driving population and
are involved in 14% to 16% of all fatal accidents. This Association also found that
25% to 30% of fatalities involving 15 to 20 year olds, are alcohol related.

The 1994 report on Kansas Communities That Care Survey indicated that by
age 12, 40.5% have tried alcohol at least on one occasion.

By age 14, (limited driving privileges are possible at this age) 66.2% have tried
alcohol at least on one occasion.

By age 16, 80% of all Kansas teenagers( full driving privileges) have tried
alcohol at least once.

House Judiciary
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Testimony HB 2603
page 2

HB 2603 will be an excellent intervention measure to deter our young Kansas
drivers, under the age off 21, from breaking the alcohol and drug laws of our
State. In lowering the BAC level to .02% on this age group we clarify that any
alcohol consumption by persons under the age of 21 who attempt to operate a
motor vehicle, is illegal in the State of Kansas. Offenders will lose their driving
privileges for a period of time, as well as be prosecuted for DUI.

We would recommend this Committee consider adding language to this
proposed legislation to require an alcohol and drug safety action education
program to consist of at least eight hours of instruction for those persons who
are convicted of the first offense of DUI or who have received a diversion from
the charge of DUI, both on the State or on the Municipal Court levels.

Any Alcohol and Drug Information School providing less than eight hours of
education is simply not getting the job done. The sole purpose of the Alcohol
and Drug Information School is to provide quality education to those persons
who have violated Kansas Alcohol and Drug Laws and to prevent further
violations of our DUI statute.

Our organization feels that in order to accomplish this, a minimum of eight hours
of education and information should be offered. '

Again, Mr. Chairman, and members of the Committee, we support HB 2603 as
traffic safety measure and our proposed amendment as a positive educational
component to our DUI statutes.

| will attempt to answer any questions at this time.

Respectfully submitted,

ok,

Gene Johrisgn
Legislativetiaison
Kansas Community Alcohol Safety Action Project Coordinators Association



Students Against Drunk Driving

Good morning and thank you for allowing me to come and speak with you
today on behalf of the Students Against Drunk Driving organization. My name is
Rhonda Mongold. Iam a Senior at Seaman High School and President of the
Kansas SADD chapter of the year. Let me share with you two of the main goals
our organization believes in. First of all, we promote a strong no-use message
among teenagers. Teenagers are not of legal age to consume alcohol. Secondly,
and even more importantly, we want to eliminate drunk drivers and save lives.
Our group strives to keep high school students and the community aware of the
dangers of drinking and driving. We sponsor events, distribute literature, and
work diligently throughout the year to combat this problem.

Consumption of alcohol by minors is all too common. Many teenagers
are able to obtain alcohol quite easily. Older brothers and sisters, fake ID's,
lenient store owners, and even some parents will provide alcohol to minors. A
great number of high school parties involve teenagers drinking alcohol.
Afterwards, many young people get behind the wheel of a car without any regard
to the dangers they may be facing. In Kansas, a person is involved in an alcohol
related crash every three hours. That means two out of every five Kansans will
be in an alcohol related crash sometime during their lives. The worst part is that
50% of the people killed in alcohol related accidents are not the drunk drivers.
Teens have to get the message that underage drinking is not an option and
thatdrinking and driving will not be tolerated.

Alcohol is gtill the number one drug choice among America's youth and
still continues to be the number one killer between the ages of 16 and 24. In an
ideal world we could believe that teens won't drink alcohol and if they did drink,
they wouldn't drive. We could hope that they'd call their parents to come pick
them up rather than drive intoxicated. But, the fact is they don't! Most teens
would rather take their chances on the road than face getting in trouble at home.
At age 15, the average teenager is not mature enough to think about the
consequences of drinking and driving on their own. Many lack the driving skills
that age and experience would give them. Often cocky and self-confident, they
believe that a couple of beers is, "No big deal." But in actuality, after two beers
the average teen is driving impaired - and they are legally drunk after only three.

Passing legislation that would not tolerate underage drinking is a step in the
right direction. If young people know that there will be legal consequences to
their actions they would be more likely to think twice about having that beer.

I don't drink alcohol and therefore I don't drink and drive. But, I've been
to high school parties and I've seen many teenagers drink and get in their cars
and drive home. I and others in my organization can only prevent so many from
endangering their lives and the lives of others. We need help, and the
government needs to get involved. I urge you to fully consider House Bill
Number 2603 and see its way to passage. If even gne life is saved as a result of
this legislation, then it must be passed.

House Judiciary
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P.0. BOX 1732

For More Information Contact:
Canda Byrne, MSN, ARNP,CS
Legislative Representative

P. O Box 1732

Topeka, Kansas 66601

(913) 235-2400

January 23, 1996

HB 2603 An Act Concerning Alcohol or Drug
Related Offenses

Representative O’Neal and members of the Judiciary Committee, my
name is Canda Byrne. I am here representing the Kansas Alcoholism
and Drug Addictions Counselors Association and the Kansas Alliance
on Alcohol and Other Drug Services, Inc. to lend our support for HB
2603 which changes the blood alcohol concentration level to .02 for
persons under the age of 21.

We know that by the time the alcohol blood level reaches .05
thought, judgement and restraint are effected. There is decreased
reflex action and changes in depth perception leading to increased
risk for accident involvement.

In 1994, our most recent statistics, there were a total of 1,794 DUI
arrests of persons 21 years of age and younger, 273 of those were
children 17 years old and younger and 1,521 were between the ages of
18 and 20. That same year there were 543 alcohol related traffic
accidents involving young adults age 21 and younger (131 age 15-17
and 412 age 18-20). Of those 543 accidents 13 caused a death and 231
led to injuries.

One would assume that with the passage of this bill the number of
DUI arrests will increase for those under the age of 21. Hopefully,
this also will mean the number of young drivers under the age of 21
who will receive education about drinking and driving will increase,
and the 543 alcohol related car accidents reported in 1994 with 13
deaths will dramatically decrease.

Kansas laws are reactive and only require alcohol and drug education
after an arrest. Laws do not stop young people from drinking or even
from drinking and driving but hopefully the education that follows
an arrest through diversion programs and the loss of driving
privileges at an .02 alcohol level will stop our young folks from
driving after drinking.

Thank you for allowing me to speak in support of HB 2603. I would be
glad to answer any questions.

House Judiciary
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HB 2603

I am Franceé Wood, volunteer lobbyist for the Woman's Christian
Temperance Union of Kansas. Our group supports HB 2603, the lowering
of blood-alcohol concentration to 0.02 for drivers under 21.
(Actually, for all drivers).

Statistics tell us that every two weeks an estimated 40% of
high school éeniors consume five or more drinks in one sitting.\

It doesn't take much alcohol to have your judgment impaired.

Pure logic would indicate this bill is appropriate. Consumption
of alcoholic beverage under 21 is illegal, therefore why wouldn't
any amount of blood-alcohol be illegal?

Punishment should be certain and enforced. Teenagers do not
like to be without a driver's license. If driving on a revoked
license occurs, there should be stiff penalties so that it sends

a clear message that this activity will not be tolerated.

Thank you for your support of HB 2603.

1. Tufts University Diet ant Nutrition Letter as quoted in the

Health Hints published by Blue Cross and Blue Shield.
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700 SW Jackson, Suite 601 Betty Smith-Campbell, M.N., R.N., ARNP
Topeka, Kansas 66603-3731 President
I_\ 913/233-8638 * FAX 913/233-5222 Terri Roberts, J.D., R.N.

Executive Director

the Voice of Nursing in Kansas

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT:
Terri Roberts JD, RN

Executive Director

Kansas State Nurses Association
700 SW Jackson, Suite 601
Topeka, KS 66603-3731

(913) 233-8638

January 23, 1996

H.B. 2603 DRIVERS UNDER 21 BLOOD ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION
OF .02 OR GREATER

Chairperson 0O’Neal and members of the House Judiciary Committee my
name is Terri Roberts and I am a registered nurse and the Executive
Director of the Kansas State Nurses Association. The Kansas State
Nurses Association supports H.B. 2603 which would reduce the
current blood alcohol level to .02 for a DUI conviction for drivers
under the age of 21.

From 1993 to 1994 there was a 17.8% increase in alcohol related
crashes involving drinking drivers under the age of 20. Drinking
drivers 17 years of age and younger involved in alcohol-related
crashes increased 28% during the same time.

The good news is, deaths for drinking drivers under the age of 20
declined by 12.5%. The bad news 1is, injuries increased 18.6%.
Unfortunately the injuries and deaths don’t just occur to the
drinking drivers, passenger involvement in alcohol-related crashes
for drivers under the age of 20 increased by 9% and deaths
increased 275% from 1993-1994. Injuries to passengers riding with
drivers under the age of 20 increased 12%.

DUI arrests of juveniles is up 8% with 254 in 1993 and 273 in 1994.
The greatest increase in that population is among females. From
strictly an age perspective, in 1994, there were three DUI arrests
for children 10 and under, one for ages 10-12, one for ages 13-14,
ten for 15 year-olds, sixty-seven arrests for 16 year olds and 191
arrests for 17 year olds. In 1994 Kansas lost one 16 year-old and
six 18-19 year-olds to alcohol-related motor vehicle drinking
drivers.

The misslon of the Kansas State Nurses Assoclation is to promote professional nursing, to provide a unified volce for nursing In Kansas House ‘JUdICIary
1-23-96
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Kansas State Nurses Association
Testimony on H.B. 2603
Page 2

Now I would like to share with you a professional experience with
a death from an alcohol-related crash by a drinking driver under
the age of 21. One of the hardest things I have ever done in my
nursing career involved an underage alcohol related patient and his
family.

T worked as a critical care nurse in a coronary unit, twelve hour
shifts, 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. and one weekend in May early in my nursing
career, I took report on the only patient I was assigned to that
night, a severely head-injured and traumatized alcohol-related

crash victim. The young man was only a couple of years younger
than I and had been in the operating room most of the night before
with a neurosurgeon working tirelessly to keep him alive. He had

tenuously survived the first 12 hours and my job was to monitor him
and help him through the next 12 hours. His family sat vigilantly
at his bedside during the 30-minute intervals, every four hours,
and remained quietly in the wvisitor’s lounge, comforting one
another. As you know, the first 24-48 hours with any kind of
trauma related injury to the brain is a significant time for
outcome determination with these kinds of injuries.

By 4:00 or 5:00 in the morning, I had to wake the neurosurgeon
several times to discuss declining vital signs and increased
intercranial pressure. By early morning, despite modern medicine
and the best technology, this young man’s family was going to have
to say goodbye to him.

He had been attending a siblings graduation ceremonies and had been
included in the post-graduation celebration, even though he was
under age. He had attempted to drive home alone with a significant
alcohol content in his blood stream.

As dawn approached and the nurse for day shift joined me at 6:45
a.m., we discussed how to best talk with the family about the
prognosis. She accompanied me as I went to talk with the family
and tell them about the patient’s rapidly changing status. With
the blessing of the surgeon, they said their goodbyes and shortly
thereafter he died.

Tt seemed senseless then and it seems senseless now. To this day
that nurse and I vividly recount the difficulty we experienced in
maintaining our composure to assist the family as they dealt with
this tragedy.

Nurses support the public policy surrounding H.B. 2603, which
sends a clear and decisive message related to underage drinking and
being in the driver’s seat of a motor vehicle under the influence
of alcohol.

We encourage your swift adoption of H.B. 2603. Thank you.

-2




STATE OF KANSAS
DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE & PARKS

Office of the Secretary
900 SW Jackson, Suite 502
Topeka, KS 66612

913/296-2281 FAX 913/296-6953

Representative Mike O'Neal, Chairman January 29, 1996
House Judiciary Committee

Room 170-W

State Capitol Building

Topeka, KS 66612

Dear Chairman O'Neal:

The Department of Wildlife and Parks is requesting amendments
to H.B. 2603 to include boating under the influence. Alcohol is a
factor in about half of the boating accidents and has had bearing
on boating related fatalities. Although involving all age groups,
the younger ages figure prominently in alcohol related accidents.
Lowering the blood alcohol level for those boat operators under 21
years of age to .02 should help lower the number of accidents that
occur on Kansas waters.

Two Department boating statutes (K.S.A. 32-1131 and K.S.A. 32-
1134) would be involved. Copies of those statutes are attached
with possible amendment language noted.

The Department would be most pleased to provide any
assistance needed to draft amendment language should the Judiciary
Committee desire to pursue this proposal. If the Judiciary
Committee desires not to amend H.B. 2603 to include amendments
related to boating under the influence, then the Department would
request development of an independent bill limited in scope to
such amendments. In no manner do we want to slow down the
consideration process on H.B. 2603, but we do recognize this as an
opportune time to address a significant problem with alcohol abuse
related to boating.

Thank you for your interest in boating safety.

Sincerely,

St it~

Steve Williams
Secretary

xXc: Governor Bill Graves

House Judiciary
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32.1131. Same; crime. (a) No person
shall operate or attempt to operate any vessel
within this state while:

(1) The alcohol concentration in the per-
son’s blood or breath, at the time or within
two hours after the person npw/o
tempted to operate the vessel, is408 or more, i

(2) under the influence of aleohol; CX"QCJ““\

(3) under the influence of any drug or com-
bination of drugs to a degree that renders the
person incapable of safely operating a vessel;
or

(4) wunder the influence of a combination of
alcohol and any drug or drugs to a degree that
renders the person incapable of safely oper-
ating a vessel.

(b) No person shall operate or attempt to
operate any vessel within this state if the per-
son is a habitual user of any narcotic, hypnotic,
somnifacient or stimulating drug.

(¢) If a person is charged with a violation
of this section involving drugs, the fact that
the person is or has been entitled to use the
drug under the laws of this state shall not con-
stitute a defense against the charge.

{d) No person shall operate or attempt to
operate any vessel within this state for three
months after the date of refusal of submitting
to a test if such person refuses to submit to a
test pursuant to K.5.A. 32-1132, and amend-
ments thereto.

(e) Violation of this section is a misde-
meanor punishable:

ment of not more than one year or a fine of sfélz oo
not less than $ hor more than $500, or both;
and

(2) on the second or a subsequent convic-
tion, by imprisonment for not less than 90 days
nor more than one year and, in the courts o
discretion, a fine not exceeding $566-=
() In addition to any other penalties pre-
scribed by law or rule and regulation, any per-
son convicted of a violation of this section shall
be required to satisfactorily complete a boater
education course of instruction approved by
the secretary before such person subsequently
operates or attempts to operate any vessel.
History: L. 1987, ch. 403, § 2; L. 1993,
ch. 259, § 10; July 1.
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32.1134. Same; use as evidence. In any
criminal prosecution for violation of the laws
of this state relating to operating or attempting
to operate a vessel while under the influence
of alcohol or drugs, or both, or the commission
of manslaughter while under the influence of
alcohol or drugs, or both, or in any prosecution
for a violation of a city ordinance relating to
the operation or attempted operation of a ves-
sel while under the influence of alcohol or
drugs, or both, evidence of the concentration
of alcohol or drugs in the defendant’s blood,

urine, breath or other bodily substance may ox « 08,
be admitted and shall give rise to the following: ; e d Aot oo L '7"/),@}% oy Lo o—rd o5
(a) If the alcohol concentration is less than «—— , 0%, S é o . 21 &L oot s.,\ifzcm@ “CY‘Z"" Vi
; ; . et 2 T O
++6; that fact may be considered with other 4«14,2/ CU»{;U‘" o

competent evidence to determine if the de-

2,1 AL R et

fendant was under the influence of aleohol, or W 4 L H’\OJVL

both alcohol and drugs. . o™ s AL } SRS s
(b) If the alcohol concentration is —Fo~er ¢ o= @;MJ :é;gj P e, \&é s d&%&“ﬂ&w&w 2
_mnores~it shall be prima facie evidence that the ? p e ol 5

defendant was under the influence of alcohol A ] N @% §

to a degree that renders the person incapable
of safely operating a vessel.

(¢) If there was present in the defendant’s
bodily substance any narcotic, hypnotic, som-
nifacient, stimulating or other drug which has
the capacity to render the defendant incapable
of safely operating a vessel, that fact may be
considered to determine if the defendant was
under the influence of drugs, or both alcohol
and drugs, to a degree that renders the de-
fendant incapable of safely operating a vessel.

History: L. 1987, ch. 403, § 5; July 1.




WINERPSPIRITS

WHOLESALERS ASSOCIATION. INC,

TO: House Judiciary Committee

FROM: R.E. "Tuck" Duncan
Kansas Wine & Spirits Wholesalers Association

RE: H.B. #2603

Congress enacted and the President approved the National Highway System Designation
Act of 1995 wherein it provides at 161 the following;

. . Operation of motor vehicles by intoxicated minors.
(2) Withholding of apportionments for noncompliance.

(1) Fiscal Year 1999. The Secretary shall withhold 5 percent of the amount required to be apportioned to any

State under each of paragraphs (1?1, (3), and (5)(B) of section 104(b) on October 1, 1998, if the State does not
meet the requirement of paragraph (3) on that date.

(22 Thereafter. The Secretary shall withhold 10 percent (including any amounts withheld under para raph (1)
of the amount required to be apportioned to any State under each of para raphs &11), (3), and (5)&3) of section
104(b) on October 1, 1999, and on October 1 of each fiscal year thereafter, if the State does not meet the
requirement of paragraph (3) on that date,

(3) Requirement. A State meets the requirement of this ﬁaragra h if the State has enacted and is enforcing a
law that considers an individual under the age of 21 who has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02 percent or

greater while operating a motor vehicle in the State to be driving while intoxicated or driving under the
influence of alcohol.

Long before the term "social responsibility" became fashionable in the lexicons of academia,
our industry has urged moderation, restraint and temperate use of its products. State and
local officials and leaders of the public and private groups must continue with a systematic

view of the problem recognizing the inter-relationships between legal, health, public
information, educational and Alcohol-Related Traffic Fataliti
technological responses to the problem. cohol-veated lratlic Fatalities

Declined 34% from 1982 to 1994

Progress has been made in the last "
decade, namely impressive reductions in 2500
alcohol related fatalities and significant
reductions  in  highway fatalities
involving  young  teenage  drivers. 1500
(Reference: National Highway Traffic

Safety Administration). 10:0001

5,000 A

20,000 -

Even as the number of miles driven in
the U'S. has lnCI‘ea.S?d, the nur,rlber Of 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994
alcohol-related fatalities has declined b

a dramatic 34% from 1982 to 1994. While the 1994 figure remains unacceptably high, it does
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orivers Under 21 Involved in Alcohol-Related

4393 Fatal Traffic Crashes reflect the results of anti-drunk

driving  programs sponsored by
government, prevention groups
and the licenseg beverage ﬁcohol
industry.  The federal guidelines
used to collect these data define
"alcohol-related" as an accident in
which anyone involved had a BAC
of .01 (one-one hundredth of one
percent). The number of young
drivers Sunder 21) involved in
% & alcohol-related fatal traffic crashes
1902 1983 1964 1965 1060 1067 1998 1989 1690 1091 1092 1993 1094  declined 59% from 4,393 in 1982 to

Data Source: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 1 784 in 1994
N .

As many members of the Committee are aware our association has for years been actively
engaged in efforts to deter purchases by underage persons at retail liquor stores. Some of the
materials used in that effort are provided
herewith.

We recognize that some form of this
enactment will become law because of the »
pressure to receive highway funds. We

would hope that state and local officials will ' my
use some of the funds received for

enforcement and deterrent purposes for own mn'he'
programs such as "Cops-in-Shop."  These -

efforts in the long run will do more than

arrests of persons under the legal drinking NOLD., NO SALE. NO WAY.

age.

Another concern we have is one that I
addressed to this committee in 1993.
Typically a first offender will receive a diversion and a fine. However, When you take a
breath test and fail or refuse to take such a test, a suspension of one’s license results. As a
result, pursuant to K.S.A. 40277 (copy provided herewith), an insurance company may
cancel it’s policy where "the named insured or any other operator, either resident in the
same household, or who customarily operates an automobile insured under the policy (a)
has had such persons driver’s license suspended or revoked during the policy period,” or
"(c)...is or has been convicted...for: (3) operating a motor vehicle while in an intoxicated
condition..." A .02 for a child under these bills could cause their family disastrous financial
hardship in securing a new policy, most likely through the Kansas Automobile Insurance

Plan (KAIP).

You might say, "Well, that’s his problem, he shouldn’t have gotten the DUL"
Unfortunately, it becomes all of our problem. It is my understanding that over 5% of
motorists are uninsured. These lower limits of the BAC f;vel could increase the percentage
of uninsured and underinsured motorists in Kansas. It is reasonable to project that as t%e
number of uninsured motorists become greater, uninsured motorist losses will increase and
thus premiums for the rest of us may likewise increase. This new BAC level for this special
class of individuals will probably cause more people to become part of the KAIP, and the
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limits of coverage will generally decrease, which means fewer insured drivers and lower
average coverage limits to protect the rest of us. Thus, what looks like a minor revision
with negative effects for the few in this special class and positive effects for the many, may

become a negative policy for all unless consideration is given to not applying the provisions
of K.S.A. 44-277 to first time offenses.

Another issue that must be explored in further detail is the impact this new level will have
on the employment prospects for these new offenders. Certain jobs in clubs, drinking
establishments, and CMB restaurants might be unavailable. Do we want to eliminate

eligibility for certain employment when implementing the .02 threshold? I suggest that the
committee explore this area as well.

We must redouble our educational efforts, for as we have seen there have been dramatic
reductions in the instances of alcohol related accidents and fatalities as a result of private and
public efforts in the past decade. Please do not misunderstand - the loss of one life due 1o
abuse of beverage alcohol cannot be tolerated. We merely ask that some of the unintended

effects on the insurance and emilloyment matters we have discussed be explored and
attended to before implementing this law.

Thank you for your kind attention to and consideration of these matters.

40-277. Automobile liability insurance
policies; limitations on policy conditions for
cancellation. No insurance company shall issue
a policy of automobile liability insurance in this
state unless the cancellation condition of the
policy or endorsement thereon includes the fol-
lowing limitations pertaining to cancellation by
the insurance company:

After this policy has been in effect for 60
days, or if the policy is a renewal, effective
immediately, the company shall not exercise
its right to cancel the insurance afforded under
(here insert the appropriate coverage refer-
ences) solely because of age or unless

1. The named insured fails to discharge
when due any obligations in connection with
the payment of premium for this policy or any
installment thereof whether payable directly or
under any premium finance plan; or

2. the insurance was obtained through
fraudulent misrepresentation; or

3. the insured violates any of the terms and
conditions of the policy; or

4. the named insured or any other opera-
tor, cither resident in the same household, or
who customarily operates an automobile in-
sured under the policy,

(a) has had such person’s driver’s license
suspended or revoked during the policy pe-
riod, or

(b) is or becomes subject to epilepsy or
heart attacks, and such individual cannot pro-
duce a certificate from a physician testifying to

such person’s ability to operate a motor ve-
hicle, or

(¢) 1is or has been convicted during the 36
months immediately preceding the effective
date of the policy or during the policy period,
for:

(1) Any felony, or

(2) criminal negligence, resulting in death,
homicide or assault, arising out of the operation
of a motor vehicle, or

(3) operating a motor vehicle while in an
intoxicated condition or while under the influ-
ence of drugs, or

(4) leaving the scene of an accident without
stopping to report, or

(5) theft of a motor vehicle, or

(6) making false statements in an applica-
tion for a driver’s license, or

(7) a third moving violation, committed
within a period of 18 months, of (i) any reg-
ulation limiting the speed of motor vehicles,
(i) any of the provisions in the motor vehicle
laws of any state, the violation of which con-
stitutes a misdemeanor or traffic infraction, or
(iii) any ordinance traffic infraction, or ordi-
nance which prohibits the same acts as a mis-
demeanor statute of the uniform act regulating
traffic on highways, whether or not the vio-
lations were repetitious of the same offense or
were different offenses.

History: L. 1967, ch. 271, § 2; L. 1984,
ch. 39, § 47; Jan. 1, 1985.
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