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Date
MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY.
The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Michael R. O’Neal at 3:30 p.m. on February 14, 1996 in
Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Representative Ed Pugh - Excused
Representative Vince Snowbarger - Excused
Representative Doug Spangler - Excused
Representative Sabrina Standifer - Excused

Committee staff present: Jerry Donaldson, Legislative Research Department
Jill Wolters, Revisor of Statutes
Cindy Wulfkuhle, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Jim Patton, 22nd Judicial District Court Judge
Jim Clark, Kansas County & District Attorneys Association
Helen Stephens, Kansas Peace Officers Association
Anne Spiess, Kansas Association of Counties
John Kuether, Professor Washburn University
Paul Morrison, Johnson County District Attorney
Elwaine Pomeroy, Kansas Collectors Association
Representative Dennis Wilson
Representative Sharit Weber
Bud Grant, Kansas Retail Council
Carolyn Stergon, Johnson County Court

Others attending: See attached list

Hearings on HB 2752 - court may impose as a condition of probation in felony cases confinement to a
county jail for up to 180 days, were opened

Jim Patton, 22nd Judicial District Court Judge, appeared before the committee as a proponent to the bill. He
stated that the proposed bill would allow greater local control for sentencing judges to allow greater

punishment when determined necessary by the sentencing court and it would proved equal punishment for
males and females.(Attachment 1).

Jim Clark, Kansas County & District Attorneys Association, appeared before the committee in support of the
bill. He believes that there is a demand for more alternatives, such as, allowing the punishment to be up to
180 days in confinement. (Attachment2)

Helen Stephens, Kansas Sheriffs Association & Kansas Peace Officers Association, appeared before the
committee as an opponent to the bill. She stated that the space for increased inmates in jail and the funding are

not available. (Attachment3)

Anne Spiess, Kansas Association of Counties, appeared before the committee as an opponent to the bill. She
addressed the possible increase in property taxes that would occur if the courts are allowed to impose as a
condition of probation confinement to a county jail for up to 180 days. (Attachment4)

Hearings on HB 2752 were closed.

Hearings on HB 2743 - amendments to the elective share of surviving spouse statute, were opened.

John Kuether, Professor Washburn University, appeared before the committee as a proponent of the bill. He

presented the committee with an explanation of the proposed bill and explained that this bill was mainly clean-
up amendments. (Attachment5)

Hearings on HB 2743 were closed.
Hearings on SB 299 - allowing county or district attorney to collect administrative handling cost from maker

or drawer of bad checks & HB 2845 - allowing county or district attorney to collect administrative fee for
collection of worthless checks, were opened.




CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY, Room 313 S-Statehouse, at 3:30 p.m. on
February 14, 1996.

Paul Morrison, Johnson County District Attorney, appeared before the committee in support of HB 2845.
He explained that this would allow a fee to be collected from the payee of the worthless check. This would
allow the county to recoup some of the cost associated with the prosecuting and collection of the bad check.
The monies that would be collected would go into the county general fund. (Attachment6)

Representative Dennis Wilson, appeared before the committee as a proponent of the bills. He stated that these
bills would allow district attorneys to collect on bad checks faster and more efficiently by allowing them to
collect a penalty fee from the offender.(Attachment 7)

Representative Shari Weber, appeared before the committee as a proponent to the bills. She stated that many
of these checks are written for amounts under $25, causing more time and money to collect than the original
check is worth. (Attachment 8)

Bud Grant, Kansas Retail Council, appeared before the committee in support of the bills. He stated that the
civil recovery of worthless checks are working well, but there is the need at times for the district attorneys
office to collect. These bills would simply allow the county to recover the cost of their time for collecting the
worthless check. (Attachment9)

Elwaine Pomeroy, Kansas Collectors Association, appeared before the committee in opposition of the bills.
He stated that these bills would encourage district attorneys to prosecute persons giving worthless checks.
There are currently statutes that allow a method for collection of worthless checks in civil actions. (Attachment

10)
Hearings on SB 299 & HB 2845 were closed.

HB 2778 - county may be reimbursed for cost of sexual assault evidence collection kits

Representative Miller made a motion to report HB 2778 favorably for passage. Representative Ott seconded
the motion. The motion carried.

HB 2774 - supervision of persons conditionally released after finding of not guilty by reason of mental state

Representative Merritt made a motion to report HB 2774 favorably for passage. Representative Mays
seconded the motion. The motion carried.

HB 2793 - repeal of statute providing for houses to rent to employees of correctional institutions

Representative Miller made a motion to report HB 2793 favorably for passage and be placed on the consent
calendar. Representative Ott seconded the motion. The motion carried.

The committee meeting adjourned at 5:30 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for February 15, 1996.
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STATE OF KANSAS
22»0 JUDICIAL DISTRICT
BROWN, DONIPHAN, MARSHALL, NEMAHA COUNTIES
JAMES A, PATTON MELOODEE BRUNA, C.S.R.
OISTRICT JMOGE, Div, 1 OFFIClAL COURT REPORTER
P.O. BOX 417 CARDL J. GROTH
HIAWATHA, KS 65434 ADAMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT

PHONE: 913-742-23522
FAX: 813-742-3505

February 14, 1996

Representative Michzel O'Neal
Chairman Judiciary Committae
House of Representatives
Capitol Building

Topeka, KS 66612

RE: Amendment to Criminal Code
Dear Representative O'Neil:

After reviewing current criminal statutes, I offer the following
proposed Amendment to K.S.A, 21~4610 for the following reasons.

Currantly, for Felony cases which have a presumptive probation
term, the Court has certain conditions of probation or suspended
sentence which it may impose under K.$.A. 21-4610. A copy of that
statute 1is attached to this letter for reference. Under the
statute, the Court has the pawer to impose any conditions of
probation deemed proper including, but not limited to those
enumerated in Subparagraph 1-13.

I propose that the legislature amend Subparagraph 13 of K.S.A. 21-
4610 to read as follows:

"(13) in felony cases, except for violation of K.S5.A.
8-1567 and amendments thareto, be confined in a county
jail not to exceed 180 days, which need not be served
consecutively.?

The amendment is proposed to allow greater local control for
sentencing judges, to allow greater punishment when determined

necessary by the sentencing Court, and to provide equal punishment
for males and females.

At the present time, on most non-property crimes and other low
level felonies, a gsentencing Judge must grant some time of
Community Corrections or Probationary release from incarceration

House Judiciary
2-14-96
Attachment 1
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Representative Michael O'Weal
RE: Amendment to Criminal Code
February 14, 1996

Page 2

upon sentencing. Under X.S.A. 21-4603d(a)(5), an additional
condition of Probation or Community Correction Services can be
assignment of a defendant to a Conservation Camp for a period not
te exceed 180 days. Generally, admissions requirements to Labette
County Conservation Camp are that the defendant be male, not older
than 30 and having no prior person felonies or significant history
of criminal activity. There is no conservation camp alternative
for female defendanta., Therefore, the possibilities of imposing
sentencas are unequal to male and female. If a female defendant
were in the same criteria as far as age and prior record were
concerned, she cannot be sentenced to any Conzervation Camp as a

condition of probation. Therefore, the male defendant has the
argument of a violation of due process of law and esqual protection
of law.

The purpose of amending Subparagraph 13 of K.S.A. 21-4610, allows
for substantial control at the local level. Very often, a
violation of Probation or Community Corrections is in the nature of
a technical viclation which would not be deemed sufficient to
ravoke the Probation Status and commit the defendant ta the
penitentiary. The six (6) meonth limit would give greater
flexibkility to the sentencing judge to fashion a period of
incarceration immediately after sentence such as 30 days to 60
days, and, then to release the defendant from further incarceration
with the potential that minor breaches could be handled by further
incarceration in the county Hail. This would not place the
defendants back in the penitentiary system, unless they committed
substantial breaches of the conditions of Probation or Community
Correction. This would alsc allow the sentencing judge a tool to
provide greater punishment in the event it was a crime for wvhich
the circumetances merited additional jail time, but did not arise

to a level of departure criteria from a presumptive probation
sentence.

Flexibility in sentencing which is tailored to the needs of the
State, the needs of the defendant and with due raspeot given to the
rights of the victim, would be greatly enhanced by having up to 180
days within which te incarcerate the defendant. The flexibility in
post-sentence incarceration would better meet the demands of the
various jurisdictions for the balancing act between punishment and
rehabilitation. Additionally, local gentrol would aid greatly in
obtaining payment of restitution, court costs and reimbursement to
the Board of Indigent Defense Services before they are released
from supervisory control of the Court Services Office and
jurisdiction of the Court. Once a defsndant leaves direct scrutiny
of the sentencing authority, the defendant's motivation to make
sure regular payments of court ocosts, restitution and reimbursement
to the Board of Indigent Defense Services wanes. By capturing all

A
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Representative Michael O'Neal
RE: Amendment to Criminal Code
February 14, 1996

Page 3

or the vast majority of these costs, the tax payer does not have
to bear such a significant burden.

T recommend that you consider favorably for passage the Amendment
to House Bill #2752 as it will further the interest of justice and
the citizena of the State of Kansas.

Very truly yours,

igtrict Judge, Div. 1

Jar/cig




OFF1CERS DIRECTORS
Paul J. Morrison, President

Nanette L. Kemmerly-Weber, Vice-President
Willlam E. Kennedy, Sec.-Treasurer

Dennis C. Jones, Past President

Julie McKenna
David L. Miller
Jerome A. Gorman
James T. Pringle

Kansas County & District Attorneys Association
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EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, JAMES W. CLARK, CAE + CLE ADMINISTRATOR, DIANA C. STAFFORD

Testimony in Support
of

HOUSE BILL NO. 2752

The Kansas County and District Attorneys Association supports the provisions of HB 2752, which
gives sentencing judges a more realistic alternative to incarceration by extending the period in which jail
time may be imposed as a condition of probation.

Imposition of jail time as a condition of probation was a time-honored tool for sentencing judges
as a means to get a defendant’s attention without incurring the cost, and losing the flexibility, of
sentencing to the custody of the Secretary of Corrections. This tradition came to a halt with the Kansas
Supreme Court’s decision in State v. Walbridge, 248 Kan. 65 (1990), when the Court held there was no
statutory authority for imposing jail as a condition of probation. The Legislature responded by allowing
such condition, but limiting it to a period of only 30 days. As a practical matter, this limitation has
effectively eliminated the option as thirty days is simply ineffective as a condition. In many instances,

a defendant has already done that much time prior to sentencing, and credit for time spent in jail
eliminates the option altogether.

The demand for a more realistic time period, like other alternatives to imprisonment, is more
critical under the Sentencing Guidelines Act, which reserves prison space to those convicted of violent
and drug offenses, leaving most property crime offenses punishable by presumptive probation, even for

repeat offenders. It is for this ever-increasing group of offenders that additional sentencing options, like
180 days confinement in the county jail, are needed.

House Judiciary
2-14-96
Attachment 2



KANSAS SHERIFFS ASSOCIATION
and
KANSAS PEACE OFFICERS ASSOCIATION

House Committee on Judiciary
House Bill #2752

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee;

My name is Helen Stephens, representing the Kansas Sheriffs Association and the Kansas
Peace Officers Association.

This bill has caused considerable discussion and consternation among members of both
organizations. In short, KSA and KPOA support the concept, but in reality the space for
increased inmates or for longer incarceration is not there - nor is the funding -- for these
reasons, we are opposing HB 2752.

County jail facilities across the state are at their capacity or close to it. Several counties,
including Sedgwick, Johnson, Wyandotte, Sumner, Pawnee, and Douglas Counties
presently have inmates at other jail facilities around the State. Stafford County has no
jail so theirs are sent to Barton or Pratt County. Most other facilities of any size are
near or at full capacity with their own inmates or "visitors". Saline County presently has
inmates from Douglas, Wyandotte, and Johnson plus a few federal inmates. Same with
Brown County. Barton County has inmates from Sedgwick, Johnson, Sumner, Pawnee,
Stafford, plus their own. Reno is full -- with their own. Lyon County has a contract to
take Johnson County inmates and is the only county I've talked with that has available
space.

Counties receiving inmates from other jurisdictions are reimbursed for use of their
facilities, something I cannot say is always being done if they house inmates sentenced
per the sentencing guidelines. As you know, county jails are to be reimbursed for felony
inmates sentenced per the guidelines. In past years, the legislature has not fully funded
the jail reimbursement, so the funds were pro-rated - the paperwork involved for local
units does keep some from applying for these funds.

In conclusion, for reasons of space and funding, we must ask that you do not pass HB
2752.

Thank you. I will stand for questions.

House Judiciary
2-14-96
Attachment 3



- Peterson Public Affairs Group

1200 SW 10th phone 913-233-7050
Topeka, KS 66604 fax 913-233-3518
TO: House Judiciary Committee

Rep. Mike O'Neal, Chairman

FROM: Anne Spiess
DATE: Feb. 13, 1996
RE: HB 2752

The Kansas Association of Counties (KAC) and the Kansas County Commissioners
Association (KCCA) are opposed to HB 2752. For a number of years we have appeared
on this issue in opposition and continue to have the same concerns with the proposal.

The main concern is, of course, the increase in property taxes that would occur if the
courts are allowed to impose as a condition of probation in felony cases confinement to a
county jail for up to 180 days. Another concern is available bed space. Many counties
have just built or are in the process of building new jails, so if this bill were to pass, these
jails would already be inadequate.

We thank the Committee for the consideration of our concerns and urge that this bill not
be passed. The KAC and the KCCA will resist having the local property taxpayer become
the solution for the state's prison problems.

House Judiciary
2-14-96
Attachment 4




HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE
TESTIMONY OF JOHN KUETHER
HOUSE BILL ggﬁ?
February 14, 1996

K.S.A. 59-6a201(b)

(b) "Fractional interest in property held in joint tenancy with the right of survivorship,"
whether the fractional interest is unilaterally severable or not, means the fraction, the numerator
of which is one and the denominator of which, if the decedent was a joint tenant, is one plus the
number of joint tenants who survive the decedent and which, if the decedent was not a joint

tenant, is the number of joint tenants |

Comment

The new language allows a rebuttal of the presumption of an immediate gift of a prorated
share. It conforms the section to Kansas property law generally, as was explained by the Kansas
Supreme Court in Walnut Valley State Bank and Trust Co. v. Stovall, 223 Kan. 459, 574 P.2d
1382 (1978).

K.S.A. 59-6a204
59-6a204. Decedent’s net probate estate. The value of the augmented estate includes

the value of the decedent’s probate estate, reduced by funeral and administration expenses,

family allowances and enforceable demands.

Comment

The amendment makes it clear that the homestead allowance, as well as the value of the
homestead is not part of the augmented estate. Homestead is in addition to the elective share
amount under both the old and the new of the elective share calculations. When the act was
passed in 1994, K.S.A. 59-6a215 provided for either a homestead or for a homestead allowance.
We neglected to mention both possibilities in this provision.

House Judiciary
2-14-96
Attachment 5



K.S.A. 59-6a205(a)(2)
(2) The decedent’s fractional interest in property held by the decedent in joint tenancy
with the right of survivorship. The amount included is the value of the decedent’s fractional
interest, to the extent that such fractional interest passed by right of survivorship at the

decedent’s death to the surviving joint tenant other Jj

} the decedent’s surviving spouse.

Comment

The change merely corrects a typographical error by substituting "than" for "that."
K.S.A. 5§9-6a207(a)(1)(C)

(C) property that passed to the surviving spouse by reason of the decedent’s death, but

3, family allowance, or

payments under the federal social security system; and

Comment
As in the amendment to K.S.A 59-6a204, this make it clear that the elective share is in
addition to the homestead or homestead allowances, and the statutory allowances. We neglected
to mention the possibility of both types of possibilities in the 1994 act.

K.S.A. 59-6a215

5§9-6a215. Homestead allowance. (a) {W

A surviving spouse is entitled to the homestead, or
of $25,000.

The homestead or homestead allowance is

exempt from and has priority over all demands against the estate. The homestead or homestead

allowance is in addition to any share passing to the surviving spouse {

by way of the elective share.



Comment
The amendments clarify that the surviving spouse is entitled to the homestead or a
homestead allowance of $25,000, at the surviving spouse’s election.

Language relating to minor children in lines 3, 4, 5, 8, and 9 is stricken because only
a surviving spouse has the right of election. The provisions for the minor children was
accidentally pulled into the section from the intestacy homestead provisions.

K.S.A. 59-505

59-505. Same; half of realty to surviving spouse. Also, the surviving spouse shall be
entitled to receive one-half of all real estate of which the decedent at any time during the
marriage was seized or possessed and to the disposition whereof the survivor shall not have
consented in writing, or by a will, or by an election as provided by law to take under a will,
except such real estate as has been sold on execution or judicial sale, or taken by other legal
proceeding; Provided, That the surviving spouse shall not be entitled to any interest under the
provisions of this section in any real estate of which such decedent in his or her lifetime made
a conveyance, when such spouse at the time of the conveyance was not a resident of this state

and never had been during the existence of the marriage relation §

Comment

When the elective share was adopted, K.S.A. 59-505 was retained allowing the surviving
spouse to receive one-half of any conveyance of realty during the marriage to which the
surviving spouse did not consent. Because the surviving spouse has this protection, it is fair to
account for any receipts under K.S.A. 59-505 in computing the elective share.

59-2233. il

Elective Share.

{ Notice of Right to

Upon the appointment and qualification of

N



any administrator or executor, [the filing of a petition to determine descent] the filing of a

petition for an order refusing to grand letters of administration or the filing of an affidavit

pursuant to K.S.A. 59-618a, the court shall forthwith cause a copy of the will, if any, §

together with a notice statement to the surviving
spouse stating: "Under K.S.A. 59-6a201 through 59-6a217, you might have
3 a right to take a share of property owned by the decedent at death,

in whole or in part, and of transfers of property made by the decedent prior to death." to be

mailed to the surviving spouse. Such notice shall be mailed within 10 days of the qualification
of the administrator or executor, [the filing of a petition to determine descent,] the filing of a

petition for an order refusing to grant letters of administration or the filing of an affidavit
pursuant to K.S.A. 59-618a. Proof thereof shall be by affidavit filed with the court.

Comment

This section was amended to provide a more accurate description of the spouse’s rights
to transfers made by the decedent.

The reference to notice on the filing of a petition to determine descent was striken since
that would cause great uncertainty by potentially allowing the spouse to elect years after the
decedent’s death. K.S.A. 59-6a211 restricts the right to elect to six months following the date
of the decedent’s death, as did prior law.

Other language clarifies the procedure for notice.

The end of the old satutue was stricken because the committee found these provisions
unnecessary because they overlapped with K.S.A. 59-6a211.

54



STATE OF KANSAS
Tenth Judicial District

OFFICE OF DISTRICT ATTORNEY

PAUL J. MORRISON, DISTRICT ATTORNEY

COMMENTS
RE:. House Bill 2845
February 14, 1996

Check fraud is a serious criminal issue in this country. In a county the size of ours,
thousands of dollars in bad checks are passed to merchants every day. It was recently estimated
by the Jackson County, Missouri prosecutor's office that approximately four billion dollars in bad
checks are written in Jackson County each year. The figure in Johnson County is probably not
far from that.

The prosecutor's office is oftentimes the only viable resource for a merchant to use to
prosecute and collect bad checks. Unfortunately, due to budgetary constraints, we're only able
to scratch the surface of bad check prosecution. For example, in January of this year we took
in 493 checks turned over to our office for prosecution. That is probably much less than one
percent of the bad checks written in this county in that period of time. The administrative fee
allowed for in House Bill 2845 will help counties recoup the costs of bad check prosecution and

deploy more resources to that end. The fee will be paid by the passer of the bad check. This

is as it should be.

v

oSN —~——"

Paul J. Morrison, District Attorney
oh County, Kansas

ALEGISLATION HB2845 WP
House Judiciary
2-14-96

Attachment 6
JOHNSON COUNTY COURTHOUSE, P.O. BOX 728, OLATHE, KANSAS 6605}

PHONE NUMBER: (913) 764-8484 EXT. 5301



Bad-check writers flock to Johnson Gounty

ohnson County has gained a repu-
tation for being a good place for
business, but at least one booming
profession Isn’t giving merchants
the type of boost they're seeking.

An 18-month-old crackdown on bad-
check writers in- Kansas City, Mo.,
appears to be sending more kiters to
Johnson County, where state laws
make prosecution more difficult.

“That's possible because bad-check
writers are habitual communicators,”
said Carolyn Sturgeon, who heads the
Johnson County district attorney's
bad-check division. “They know the
stores who ask for good I.D. and the
ones who don't. They also know the
ones who turn cases over to prosecu-
tors and the ones that don’t.”

Seeking payment for had checks in

Kansas is more time-cansuming and

cost-prohibitive than in Missourl. As a

result, fewer victims seek to recover.

losses and end up writing them ofi.

John Sullivan, director of the
Jackson County prosecutor’s bad-
check unit, said Wal-Mart has been a
prime beneficiary of the crackdown so
far, collecting 20 percent more pay-
ment on bad checks.

On this side of the state line, the
news isn’t as good. Mary Maule, per-
sonnel manager with the Hy-Vee super-
market in Leawood, sald her store is
recelving about 20 percent more bad
checks than It did a couple years ago.
She attributed the increase to kiters
scared away from Kansas City, Mo.

Hy-Vee loses between $3,000 and
$7,000 a month on bad checks, Ms.
Maule said. It quit having banks run
bad checks through deposit twice to

reduce turnaround time and give
thieves less time to disappear.

When Dennis Meiners opened his
Apple Market in Overland Park last
March, he immediately began having a
problem with bad checks, many coming
from Missouri. Shortly thereafter, he
began issuing check-cashing cards and
running first-time check cashers
through the Telecheck computer.
Telecheck charges 2 percent of the cost
of a check, eflectively taking away
Meiners' small margin of profit on sales.

“People look for new business open-
ings and commit fraud in them,” said
Mr. Meiners, whose famlly also oper-
ates four grocery stores In Missourl.

small percentage.”

“We barely scratch the suriacg,“ he
sald. '

Mr. Sullivan estimated than more
than $4 billlion in bad checks are writ-
ten In Jackson County each year.

However, Missourl law allows units
like Mr. Sullivan’s to seek restitution
more aggressively and to make bad-
check writers pay collection fees. For
recovering a check worth $9.99 or less,
the prosecutor’s office charges $5. For
checks up to $99.99, the fee Is $10. For
checks of $100 and over, kiters are
charged $25.

Operating this way, which is basi-
cally like a collection agency, makes
prosecuting more cost-efficient and
saves victlins the trouble and expense
of hiring a private collection agency.

In the last 18 months, $1,144,735 has
been collected from bad-check writers
in Jackson County, Mr. Sullivan said.

“Of all the countles in Missourl,
we’re the most active in collecting bad

“You have to ask yourself if it's worthwhile.
*‘Are'the time and money worth it?”

- Carolyn Sturgeon, head of the district attorney’s bad-check unit

“When | saw what was happening, 1
had to create a card system. | had Blue

Springs and Peculiar, Mo, flocking In

until I put in a restrictive policy. They
were everyday customers.”

In 1994, the Johnson County district
attorney’s office processed 5,365 bad
checks worth $671,322. Of that, the
bad-check division collected $215,437.
More money was collected from cases
that actually went to court, but those
figures were not available.

Ms. Sturgeon wouldn’t guess the
total number of bad checks written in
Johnson County in 1994, but District
Attorney Paul Morrison sald the
amount processed represented “a verv

checks,” Mr. Sullivan said. “Nobody
comes close. The only operation In the
nation that comes close is the one in
San Dilego.” '

Kansas law prohibits prosecutors
from operating this way. A bill that
would have given prosecutors more
latitude passed the Kansas Senate last
year, but it dled in the House.

Many prosecutors across the state
opposed the bill, but Mr. Morrison sup-
ported it wholeheartedly.

“The bottom line is that it provides
a service for people who are victim-
jzed,” he said. “It would allow us pro-
vide more services, and that's why
we're here. | hope somedav thev'll vet

something done.”

There are several other aspects of
Kansas law that make life easier on
kiters and tougher on merchants.

AT
uF

Once a bad check is discovered, a -
victim must go through a series of :
steps to prosecute. The first is sending »
a certified, restricted-delivery letter to

the kiter requesting payment. This

costs $4.95, plus standard postage. -
Missouri has no such requirement, .
allowing businesses to go straight to -

the prosecutor.

In addition, Kansas businesses can't
charge bad-check writers more than
$10 for each check. Banks on both
sides of the state line charge mer-
chants a fee — usually between $2 and
$6 — to process a bad check.

Factor in the time involved for a
merchant to prepare to prosecute, and
it's easy to see why many don't bother
to seek payment.

“You have to ask if it's worthwhile.”
Ms. Sturgeon sald. “Are the time and
money worth it?”

One supermarket, Cherokee Sun
Fresh in Overland Park, has decided it
is. Jerry Peck, who is retired from full-
time work, now spends 30 hours a
week collecting bad checks for the gro-
cery store.

Mr. Peck estimated that the store
gets $5,000 a month in bad checks,
$4,000 of which he is able to recover by
making phone calls and writing letters.

Many businesses have outslde col-
lection services, a move that has great-
ly reduced hassles for entrepreneurs

like Mike Hebberger, owner of Mike's ’

Olathe Liquor.

Mr. Hebberger estimated that he
takes bad checks worth $1,200 a year.
He pays $330 a year to Checkcare
Systems of Independence, Mo., which
guarantees him the face value of the
checks. Checkcare then attempts to
collect and charges the bad-check
writer a service fee.

—By Tom Perrin. staff wrltsr
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H.B. 2845

To: House Judiciary Committee Chairman Mike O’neal and other
distinguished members

Fr: Representative Dennis Wilson, co-sponsor of H.B. 2845

Re: Testimony concerning H. B. 2845 (a bill concerning prosecution
of worthless check writing)

Dear Chairmen O’neal: Feb. 7, ‘96

We all know that defaulted checks are a risk of business and a major
problem for merchants everywhere and, unfortunately, even in the state of
Kansas. However, the real impediment for merchants is the process of
trying to collect on bad checks efficiently and profitably.

Kansas merchants receive thousands of bad checks a year. They have
basically two options in attempting to collect their money. First, since it
is an illegal action (no matter how small the amount) , they can leave it
with the county D. A.’s office to pressure or prosecute the offender.
Although it usually takes very little pressure to collect from most
offenders, there are so many cases that the D.A.’s office becomes back-

logged and can’t always handle them promptly because of their limited
resources.

Secondly, merchants may go to a private collection firm which has
the necessary resources. However, the force and influence of these private
attorneys isn’t the same as with a District Attorney, so often times they

are not be able to collect the whole amount, much less enough extra to
cover their fees.

This bill would allow and encourage county D. A.’s to collect on bad
checks faster and more efficiently by allowing them to collect a penalty
fee from the offender. This fee would allow them to hire the necessary
staff. This is a legitimate activity for the public’s attorney to be
engaged in and so they ought to be allowed to do it as well as possible

This bill enjoys a lot of support. It was passed by the senate two
years ago, although it died in the House. Both the K. C. C. I. and the N. F. |. B.
support this measure as well as many legislators and county D. A.’s.

Therefore, | hope you will look favorably on H.B. 2845 and pass it out of
committee unamended.

House Judiciary
2-14-96
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LLOCAL GOVERNMENT
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Representative Shari Weber

Testimony for House Judiciary Committee - Hearing: February 14, 1996
Re: H. B. # 2845 - an act concerning crimes and punishment;
relating to giving a worthless check; administrative handling

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before the Committee today,
as a proponent of HB#2845.

In the 68th District | have had feedback from business owners in
regard to the growing problem of worthless checks issued to them for
goods and services. This ‘cost of doing business’ is not only a monetary
nuisance, but also takes valuable time to process and pursue prosecution.

| have also visited with members of the Eighth Judicial District about
the dramatic increase of worthless checks written and then prosecuted in
court. Many of these checks are written for amounts under $25.00,
causing more time and money to collect than the original document was

worth. These complaints prompt me to advocate for the components of
HB#2845.

This bill will allow each county or district attorney who takes any
action under the provisions of this bill to collect from the payee in such
court action an administrative handling cost, thereby covering the costs
of additional staff and expenses incurred.

| ask that you give HB# 2845 your favorable consideration. Thank you.

House Judiciary
2-14-96
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LEGISLATIVE
TESTIMONY

Kansas Chamber of Commerce and Industry

835 SW Topeka Blvd. Topeka, Kansas 66612-1671 (913) 357-6321 FAX (913) 357-4732
HB 2845 February 14, 1996

KANSAS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY
Testimony Before the
House Judiciary Committee
by
Bud Grant

Executive Director
Kansas Retail Council

Mr. Chairman and members of the Committee:
My name is Bud Grant and | appreciate the opportunity to appear before you today in support
of HB 2845.

The Kansas Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KCCI) is a statewide organization dedicated to the
promotion of economic growth and job creation within Kansas, and to the protection and support of
the private competitive enterprise system.

KCCl is comprised of more than 3,000 businesses which includes 200 local and regional chambers
of commerce and trade organizations which represent over 161,000 business men and women. The
organization represents both large and small employers in Kansas, with 55% of KCCI's members
having less than 25 employees, and 86% having less than 100 employees. KCCI receives no
government funding.

The KCCI Board of Directors establishes policies through the work of hundreds of the organization's
members who make up its various committees. These policies are the guiding principles of the
organization and translate into views such as those expressed here.

Over the last ten years, the Kansas Legislature has been very responsive to the requests from
the business community for assistance in addressing the problems of worthless checks. The reports

| receive indicate that the civil recovery alternative is working well. At the same time, there remain

: i g . . House Judiciar
instances where the need for the county or district attorney to intercede exists. 5_14.95 Y
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inty and district attorneys are not debt collectors. Yet, giving a worthless check is a ¢
and the involvement of these offices in the process can be persuasive and conclusive. This bill
offers some small reimbursement for the time expended by a city or county attorney, and places the
cost of that reimbursement where it should be...with the writer of the worthless check.

On behalf of the Kansas Retail Council, | urge the Committee to support passage of HB 2845.

I would be pleased to attempt to answer any questions.
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REMARKS CONCERNING SENATE BILL 299 AND HOUSE BILL 2845
HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE
FEBRUARY 14, 1996

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to appear before your committee
on behalf of Kansas Credit Attorneys Association, which is a state-wide organization
of attorneys whose practice includes considerable collection work, and Kansas
Collectors Association, lnc., which is an association of collection agencies in
Kansas.

We have concerns about these bills. These bills would encourage county and
district attorneys to prosecute persons who give worthless checks. Criminal
prosecutions always raise the possibility, however remote, of possible incarceration
of the offender. Is it good public policy to allocate scarce jail or prison cells
for this type of criminal offender, rather than for offenders who commit violent
actions?

Why should prosecution for one particular crime result in administrative
handling costs being collected, when prosecutions for other crimes do not result
in the collection of administrative handling costs? Why should the legislature
give any encouragement to the filing of criminal prosecutions for the giving of
worthless checks when no such encouragement is given for the filing of prosecutions
of any other crime?

Allowing county and district attorneys to collect administrative fees for
the prosecution of worthless check cases would be an additional funding source
so that more personnel can be added to the staffs of prosecutors to deal with
worthless check cases. This type of legislation is designed to increase activity
on the part of prosecutors to have criminal actions involving worthless checks.

It is especially unnecessary to encourage criminal prosecution for the
giving of worthless checks because there are statutes presently on the books

providing a method for the collection of worthless checks in civil actions, as

House Judiciary
2-14-96
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contrasted to criminal actions. For your information I am attaching copies

of K.S.A. 1995 Supp. 60-2610 and K.S.A. 60-2611. As you can see from reading
these statutes, a person who gives a worthless check is subject to considerable
civil liability including: court costs; the costs of collection; reasonable
attorney fees; plus the greater of either $100.00 or damages equal to three
times the amount of the check, but not to exceed $500.00 more than the amount
of the check.

Instead of encouraging criminal prosecutions for the giving of worthless
checks, the legislature should encourage the pursuit of the civil liability
method of dealing with worthless checks. Prosecutors should spend their limited
time and energies on more serious crimes.

The civil liability approach is better designed for making the victims of
this crime whole. A person who has received a worthless check wants the money the
check was written for, and is far more interested in getting the money than seeing
the writer of the check convicted of a crime. Criminal prosecution gets the money
back to the victim only through the cumbersome process of restitution. Even where
diversion is granted, court service officers would be involved in seeing the money
was paid to the victim, and those court service officers are already overburdened.
It is much better to leave the worthless check cases to the private sector, rather
than encouraging prosecutors to become involved.

It is also interesting to compare the 1995 bill, Senate Bill 299, which
placed a cap of $10.00 on the administrative fee which could be assessed by the
prosecutor, with the 1996 bill, House Bill 2845, which permits administrative fees

of us to $25.00. 1Is this an indication of future requested increases in fees?

Elwaine F. Pomeroy
For Kansas Credit Attorneys Association
And Kansas Collectors Association, Inc.

10 -2




60-2610. Civil linbility for worthless
check. (a) 1f a person gives a worthless check, as
defined by subsection (g), the person shall be li-

able to the holder of the check for the amount of
the check, the incurred court costs, the costs of

restricted mall and the service charge and the
costs of collection, including but not limited to
reasonable attorney fees, plus an amount equal to
the greater of the following;

(1) Damages equal to three times the amount
of the check but not exceeding the amonnt of the
check by more than $500; or

(2) %100,

The conrt may waive all vr part ol the attorney
fees provided for by this subscction, if the court
finds that the damages and other amounts
awarded are sulficient to adequately compensate
the holder of the check.

(b) The amounts specified by subsection (a)
shall be recoverable in a civil action brought by or
on behall of the holder of the check mﬁy if: (1)
Not less than 14 days before filing the action, the
holder of the check made written demand on the
maker or drawer for payment of the amount of
the check, the incurred service charge and the
costs of restricted mail; and (2) the maker or
drawer failed to tender to the holder, prior to the
filing of the action, an amount not less than the
amount demanded. 'The written demand shall be
sent by restricted mail, as defined by subsection
(g), to the person to be given notice at such per-
son’s address as it appears on such check, draft or
order or to the last known address of the maker
or drawer and shall include notice that, if the
money is not paid within 14 days, triple damages
in addition to an amount of money equal to the
sum of the amount of the check, the incurred
court costs, service charge, costs of restricted mail
and the costs of collection Including but not lim-
ited to reasonable attorney fees nnlfess the court
otherwise orders, may be incurred by the maker
" or drawer of the check.

" (c) Subsequent to the filing of an action under
this section but prior to the hearing of the court,
the defendant may tender to the plaintiff as sat-
isfaction of the claim, an amount of money equal

1o the sum of the amonnt of the check, the to
arrred cot costs, service charge, costs of ye-
stricted mail and the costs of collection, including
but not limited to reasonable attorney fees. The
court may waive all or part of the attorney {ens
provided for by this subsection, if the court finds
that the damnges and other amounts awarded are
sufficient to a(%equately compensale the holder of
the check.

(d) If the tder of fact determines that the {ail-
wre of the defendant to satisly the dishonored
check was due to economic hardship, the court
may waive alt or Eart of the damages provided for
by this section, but the court shall render judg-
ment against defendant for not less than the
amount of the dishonored check, the incurred
court costs, service charge, costs of restricted mail
and the costs of collection, includin{; but not lim-
ited to reasonable attorney fees, unless otherwise
provided in this subsection. The court may waive
all or part of the attorney fees provided for by this
subsection, if the court finds that the damages and
other amounts awarded are sufficient o ade-
quately compensate the holder of the check.

(e) Any amount previously paid as restitution

~ or reparations to the holder of the check by its

maker or drawer shall be credited against the

~ amount for which the maker or drawer is liable

under subsection (a).

(H Convicton of giving a worthless check or
habitually giving a worthless check, as defined by
K.S.A. 81-3707 and 21-3708 and amendments
thereto, shall not be a prerequisite or bar to re-
covery pursuant to this section.

(g)” As used in this section:

(%) “Giving a worthless check” means the
making, drawing, issulng or delivering or causing
or directing the making, drawing, issuing or deliv-
ering of any check, order or draft on any bank,
credit union, savings and loan association or de-
rositmy for the payment of money or its cquiva-

ent: i

(A) With intent to defraud or in payment for
a preexisting debt; and

(B) which is dishonored by the drawee be-
cause the maker or drawer haJno deposits in or
credits with the drawee or has not sufficient funds
in, or credits with, the drawee for the payment of
such check, order or draft in full upon its pres-
entation.

(2) “Restricted mail” means mail which car-
ries on its face the endorsements “restricted mail”
and “deliver to addressee only,”

(3)  “Service charge” means $10, ar subject to
limitations contained in this subsection, il a larger
amount is posted conspicuonsly, the lm'gcr
amount. In no event shall the amount ol such in-
sufficient check service charge exceed $30.
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60-2G611. Civil action to collect on
check or order; rensonable attorney fees as-
sessed as costs. In any civil action to enforce
payment of or to collect upon a check, order or
raft on any bank, credit union, savings and loan
association or deposltm'y for the payment of
money or ils equivalent, payment upon which
such instrument has been refused because of in-
sufficient funds or no account, the party pre-
vailing on such cause of action shall be awarded
reasonable attorney fees, such fees to be assessed
by the court as costs against the losing party. The
fees shall not be allowed unless the plaintiff of-
fers proof during the trial of such action that
ptrior to the filing of the petition in the action
demand for payment of the check, order or draft
had been made upon the defendant by registered
mail not less than 14 days prior to the gling of
such suit.




