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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE.
The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Gary K. Hayzlett at 1:30 p.m. on February 19, 1997 in

Room 526-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Representative Joann Flower, excused

Committee staff present: Hank Avila, Legislative Research Department
Bruce Kinzie, Revisor of Statutes
Jackie Buchanan, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Representative Vernon W. Correll
Flena C. Nuss, Office of Kansas State Fire Marshal
Pat Barnes, Legislative Counsel, Kansas Automobile Dealers Association
Kim Gulley, Assistant General Counsel, League of Kansas Municipalities

Others attending: See attached list

Minutes of the February 11, February 12, and February 13 meetings were presented for correction or
approval. Representative Dreher made a motion to accept the minutes as written, seconded by Representative
Humerickhouse. Motion carried.

HB 2202 - Driver’s licenses, exempting fire trucks

Hearing was opened. The Chair called on Representative Correll to present testimony in support of HB
2202 which exempts members of the Volunteer Fire Departments from the requirement of having a Class B
non-commercial driver’s license. Representative Correll has talked with the Department of Revenue and
Kansas Motor Carriers, and felt this was the best way to exempt those volunteer drivers. (Attachment 1)

Elena Nuss, with the Kansas State Fire Marshal’s Office, also represented the Kansas State Association of
Fire Chiefs, the Professional Fire Chiefs of Kansas, and the Kansas State Firefighters Association. She asked
that no distinction be made between the paid professional firefighters and volunteer professional firefighters,
and asked that the bill be amended to read, “or any fire apparatus operated by a fire department”. (Attachment

2)

Representative Correll advised the intention of the bill was to protect the volunteer fire departments from any
liability they might encounter in case they had an accident.

Chief H.A. Hartley, President, Kansas State Association of Fire Chiefs, responded that they are asking that all
firefighters be licensed the same whether they are volunteer or paid.

Hearing was closed on HB 2202.

HB 2203 - Filing of notice of security interest

Hearing was opened. The Chair called on Pat Barnes, Legal Counsel, Kansas Automobile Dealers
Association, who presented testimony in support of HB 2203. The bill simply requests that the time allowed
for noting the lien on the title for any vehicle that is sold which is financed, where the vehicle will be security
for the financial arrangements, be increased from the present time allowed of 10 days to 15 days. This change
will assist in insuring that those who sell vehicles can make sure the financing granted on the vehicle is
secured by the vehicle as intended by the buyer and seller. He advised the Kansas Division of Vehicles has no
problem with this bill.(Attachment 3)

Hearing was closed on HB 2203.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals 1
appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.




CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE, Room 526 -S Statehouse, at 1:30
p.m. on February 19, 1997.

HB 2223 - Cities, street improvements; costs

Hearing was opened. The Chair advised since he had requested this bill in the Governmental Organization and
Elections he had some comments to make. The Chair asked Vice-Chair Howell to chair this hearing.

Representative Hayzlett testified the request for this bill came about because of some taxpayers in his
hometown being taxed very heavily for a street repair project. Under the present statute, it allows a city to
connect two intervening links of two blocks or less. There is no allowance for a protest petition. The statute
currently says the city may pay 95% of the cost. The present statute was a very big hardship on these property
owners along this street repair project. HB 2223 states that the city at large shall pay 95% of the cost of the
proposed improvement.

The Vice-Chair called on Kim Guiley, Assistant General Counsel, League of Kansas Municipalities, who
presented testimony in opposition to HB 2223. She advised the League of Municipalities opposes the bill
because for 40 years a city has been allowed to improve connecting or intervening streets of two blocks or less
without protest petitions as it contains few adjacent property owners. The bill would burden all taxpayers and
provide a special benefit at little direct cost for the adjacent properties. She feels how much to assess adjacent
landowners should be decided by the local governments on a case-by-case basis, not a set amount of 95%.
She stressed going to the ballot box and not re-electing local government officials that promote the projects

you don’t like. (Attachment 4)

Written testimony in opposition to HB 2223 was presented by Jane Neff-Brain, Senior Assistant City
Attorney, City of Overland Park, as many of these small projects would have little benefit to the city-at-

large.(Attachment 5)

Concern was expressed by committee members of the fact that individual property owners are not notified of a
project of this nature and a means to protest the project.

Representative Hayzlett thanked the committee and audience for their indulgence on this bill.
The Vice-Chair closed the Hearing on HB 2223.

HB 2010 - Division of vehicles, records, prohibiting disclosure of personal information

The Chair opened HB 2010 for discussion and final action. The subcommittee recommended a balloon,
prepared by Bruce Kinzie, Staff, for the bill. The balloon amends the bill to include the non-driver’s
identification cards on page 1; and on page 2 lines 14 through 21 the lines are stricken regarding the marketing
survey allowance. (Attachment 6)

Representative Dillon made a motion to accept the subcommittee’s report, seconded by Representative Shore,
and the motion carried.

Representative Dillon made a motion to pass HB 2010 favorably as amended, seconded by Representative
Howell, and the motion carried.

HB_2170 - Distinctive license plates for veterans of the military services

The Chair opened HB 2170 for discussion and final action.

Representative Shore made a motion to amend HB 2170 to include January 1, 1998, as the date of
implementation, and make one license plate for all branches of the United States Military Veterans, seconded
by Representative Correll, and the motion carried.

Representative McClure made a motion to pass HB 2170 favorably as amended. seconded by Representative
Humerickhouse, and motion carried.

HB 2203 - Filing of notice of security interest

The Chair opened HB 2203 for discussion and final action.

Representative Dillon made a motion to pass HB 2203 favorably, seconded by Representative Shore, and the

motion carried.



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE, Room 526 -S Statehouse, at 1:30
p.m. on February 19, 1997.

HB 2280 - School buses, exempting certain buses from certain requirements

The Chair opened HB 2280 for discussion and final action.

Representative Howell made a motion to amend the period of vears from 12 to 20 vears on lines 22 and 25 and
to strike all the new language of the bill, seconded by Representative Shore, and the motion carried.

Representative Powers made a motion to pass HB 2280 favorably as amended, seconded by Representative
Howell, and motion carried.

HB 2202 - Driver’s licenses, exempting fire trucks

The Chair opened HB 2202 for discussion and final action.

Representative Dillon made a motion to amend line 6 of page 2 to read “or any fire vehicle operated by a fire
department”, and line 15 insert “or any fire vehicle operated by a fire department”, seconded by Representative
Powers. Following discussion, Representative Dillon withdrew his motion and Representative Powers
withdrew his second.

Representative Powers made a motion to insert “volunteer fire vehicle” under class C motor vehicles on line 15
of page 2. seconded by Representative Correll. and the motion carried.

Representative Correll made a motion to pass HB 2202 favorably as amended, seconded by Representative
Humerickhouse, and the motion carried.

HB 2093 - Regulation of traffic, safety equipment

The Chair opened HB 2093 for discussion and final action.

Representative McClure made a motion on line 23 to insert the date of July 1, 1997, seconded by
Representative Pauls, and the motion carried.

Representative McKinney made a motion to amend the provisions of HB 2426 concerning alteration of
maximum speed limits by local autherities into HB 2093, seconded by Representative Correll, and

the motion carried.

Representative Powers made a motion to pass HB 2093 favorably as amended, seconded by Representative
McKinney, and the motion carried.

HB 2223 - Cities, street_improvements, costs

The Chair opened HB 2223 for discussion and final action.

After discussion, it was the consensus of the committee to postpone action on the bill and discuss with the
League of Municipalities some possible compromise.

HB 20673 - Driver’s licenses' and non-driver identification cards, expiration thereof

The Chair opened HB 2073 for discussion and final action.

Staff presented a balloon which amends the bill regarding the Commercial Drivers License (CDL.) to the
current 4-year expiration.(Attachment 7) Representative McClure made a motion to adopt the balloon, motion
seconded by Representative Dillon, and the motion carried.

Representative Pauls made a motion to pass HB 2073 favorably as amended, seconded by Representative
McClure, and the motion carried.

Meeting was adjourned at 3:15.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 20, 1997.
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STATE OF KANSAS

COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

RANKING MINORITY MEMBER: FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS
& INSURANCE
MEMBER: AGRICULTURE
TRANSPORTATION
SPECIAL CLAIMS AGAINST
THE STATE

VERNON W. CORRELL
REPRESENTATIVE, SEVENTH DISTRICT
LABETTE COUNTY
PO BOX 214
OSWEGO, KS 67356

TOPEKA

HOUSE OF
REPRESENTATIVES

TESTIMONY
HB 2202

Thank you Mr. Chairman and members of the Committee.

HB 2202 exempts members of the Volunteer Fire Departments from

the requirement of having a Class B non-commercial driver’s license.

It was pointed out by the Highway Patrol that they would not stop a

fire truck to check driver’s licenses, but should they be involved in an

accident, the driver could have problems.

Having talked to the Department of Revenue and the Kansas Motor

Carriers, it was decided the best way was to exempt those volunteer
drivers.

Vernon W. Correll ;L/ousa /ranﬁépor‘!—a-ﬁon

State Representative /Q-Hachmen-w\» i
District #7 2-19-97



Kans tate Fire Marshal
Suite buy; 700 SW Jackson
Topeka, KS 66603-3714

Telephone: (913)-29 )1
FAX: (913)-296-u 151

Internet: KSFMO0O1 @ INK.ORG

State Fire Marshal Gale Haag Governor Bill Graves

"Where Fire Safety is a way of life"

Testimony of Elena C. Nuss
Kansas State Fire Marshal’s Office

House Bill 2202 - Committee on Transportation

February 19, 1997

I want to thank this Committee for the opportunity to submit our testimony relating to driver’s
licenses as they apply to fire trucks. I am Elena Nuss with the Kansas State Fire Marshal’s Office.
I am representing the Kansas State Association of Fire Chiefs, the Professional Fire Chiefs of
Kansas, and the Kansas State Firefighters Association.

In presenting this testimony I am representing both volunteer and paid fire departments. Firefighters
in Kansas have long been striving for equal treatment regardless of the size of the department or
whether they are paid, part paid or volunteer. With the majority of Kansas fire departments
classified as either volunteer or part paid, we have more career volunteer firefighters and fire chiefs
than we have career paid firefighters and fire chiefs. In either case they are professionals, dedicated
to providing quality service to their communities. They respond to the same types of incidents, run
the same risks and have to comply with the same laws, the only difference is that some are paid
professionals and others are unpaid professionals.

Currently we know that there is a great deal of confusion surrounding whether or not a specific
drivers license is required to operate a fire truck. While researching this testimony, several calls
were made to various drivers license offices with the general response being that fire trucks are
exempt. Several calls were also made to some of our smaller fire departments to discover that very
few firefighters who regularly drive the fire trucks have more than a standard drivers license.

We are asking that no distinction be made between our paid professional firefighters and our
volunteer professional firefighters, therefore we would ask that the line be changed to read, “or any
fire apparatus operated by a fire department.” .

House ’T};QHSFO(HL+§Q\\
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TESTIMONY BEFORE THE HOUSE
COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

By the Kansas Automobile Dealers Association
February 19, 1997

RE: House Bill No. 2203

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee, I am Pat
Barnes, legislative counsel for the Kansas Automobile Dealers
Association which represents the franchised new car and truck
dealers of Kansas. Thank you for allowing us to appear here today
and provide our views and support for this bill. The revision to
the law which we are requesting with this bill is fairly minor. It
simply asks that the time allowed for noting our lien on the title
for any vehicle we sell which is financed, where the vehicle will
be security for the financial arrangements, be increased from the
present time allowed of 10 days to 15 days.

The current time line is essentially causing problems for
our members which, in some cases, has led to the loss of lien
rights, and security interests in vehicles, in bankruptcy
proceedings where debtors purchase cars from our members and then
turn around and file bankruptcy. Reports which we have received
indicate the bankruptcy rules appear to have been used to allow the
bankruptcy trustee to seek to avoid the dealer’s lien on the
vehicle for the purchase price in certain instances where
perfection did not occur within ten (10) days and, in so doing,
avoid paying for the vehicle in some instances where notice of the
lien is not made within 10 days of vehicle delivery. The debt then

becomes an unsecured debt in the bankruptcy and can be discharged.
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The net result is that the dealer loses 100% of the purchase price.

The time needed to process paperwork, transmit lien
notices and titles by mail and the press of daily business can all
combine to effectively invalidate a lien as against third parties
due to untimely filing by missing the current 10 day rule. A
typical example arises where a car is delivered on a Friday, the
paperwork on the transaction does not arrive at the dealer’s
administrative office until the following week, and by the time a
title is completed, and a lien notice prepared and mailed to the
state, another four days has elapsed to the point where you are
then at the following week by the time the state receives it, which
at that point may be one or two days outside the 10 day time frame
the current law provides. The problem is exacerbated if technical
problems arise with respect to paperwork that must be corrected, or
problems with the mail.

This is a simple change which will assist in insuring
that those who sell vehicles can make sure the financing granted on
the vehicle is secured by the vehicle as intended by the buyer and
seller. Thank you for your attention and I would be happy to

answer any questions which you may have.

T2



League of Legal Depaiunent

300 S.W. 8th
\ Kansas Topeka, Kansas 66603
=% Municipalities Phone: (913) 354-9565/ Fax: (913) 354-4186

Legislative Testimony

To: House Transportation Committee
From: Kim Gulley, Assistant General Counsel
Date: February 19, 1997

Re: HB 2223

Thank you for allowing the League to testify today in opposition to HB 2223
concerning 6a special assessments for street improvements by cities. We

believe the law as written is consistent with good public policy and need not be
amended.

The General Improvement and Assessment Law, established in 1957 and
codified at K.S.A. 12-6a01 et seq., spells out the procedures that must be
followed when cities impose special assessments on property owners for
improvements that benefit those properties. In particular, K.S.A. 12-6a06
establishes the notice and hearing requirements that cities must follow.

When the General Improvement and Assessment Law was enacted in 1957, the
legislature carved out two very narrow exceptions to the statutory procedures for
such assessments:

+ The improvement of a connecting street between two already improved
adjoining parallel streets or an intervening portion of a street where the
remaining part of the street has already been improved.

+ Sewer and stormwater improvements.

These exceptions have been a part of the assessment law since 1957, and the
legislature has not altered them since that time.

HB 2223 would require that when a city improves a connecting or intervening
street, the city must bear 95% of the cost of such improvements, thus shifting
the burden from those citizens whose property will benefit from the improvement
to the city at large. The League opposes this change for the following reasons:

¢ HB 2223 runs counter to the 40-year history of special assessments
which has recognized the public good in allowing a city to improve
connecting or intervening streets without protest petitions. By their very
nature, connecting and intervening streets are no more than two blocks
long and contain few adjacent property owners.

/1/0115@. Tra ns‘f)ori‘wH N
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+ As a matter of course, cities assess such improvements against all
property owners whenever a street is improved. Exempting individuals
on connecting or intervening streets from such payment would result in
an inequitable situation burdening all taxpayers and providing a special
benefit at little direct cost for the adjacent properties.

+ HB 2223 is inconsistent with the theory of local control under
constitutional home rule which was passed by the citizens of Kansas to
allow that local problems are deait with by local governments and not the
state legislature. How much to assess adjacent landowners should be
decided on a case-by-case basis by each locally elected governing body.
There may be situations where the improvement is so vital to the city at
large that it is appropriate for the city to pay 100% of the cost of the
project. In other instances, where the benefit is more specific to
individual properties, the city needs the authority to assess such costs
against the properties that will be benefitted most by the project.

In summary, the two very narrow exceptions to the protest provisions of the
special assessment law were drafted by the legislature in order to allow a city
governing body to complete the process of improving streets and provide for
public health and safety without interference from an individual protestor. HB
2223, by requiring the city to pay for 95% of such improvements would aiter this
process which has been in effect for over 40 years.

We would ask that you leave the matter of protesting such matters to the
citizens of these cities who may exercise the ultimate protest by use of the ballot
box. We ask that you recommend HB 2223 unfavorably for passage.




TESTIMONY IN OPPOSITION TO HOUSE BILL NO. 2223

TO: Chairman Gary K. Hayzlett
Members of the House Transportation Committee
DATE: February 18, 1997
RE: House Bill No. 2228 -- Proposed legislation pertaining to payment by a

city of 96% of the total cost of certain street improvements
Ladies and Gentlemen:

The City of Overland Park opposes proposed subsection (b), amending K.S.A. 12-6a07. The
City has historically utilized the K.S.A. 12-6a improvement district statutes in constructing
both thoroughfares and collector streets in the city. A portion, always over 6% of the cost of
that construction, is paid by developers or residents adjoining the improvement. In many
instances, these street improvements axe petitioned by the adjoining property owners, and in
some cases, those property ownexs propose to pay 100% of the cost of the improvement,

By amending K.S.A. 12-6a07 to include subsection (b), the legislature would force cities to pay
96% of the cost of ccrtain streets when their capital improvement budgeting or their long term
street improvement plans do not allow for the same. If property owners desire that those
streets be constructed and are willing to pay more than 5% of the cost, it would be
unfortunate for a city to deny them those streets because it is constrained by a statutory
provigion.

In some instances in Overland Park, an improvement benefits adjoining property owners
almost exclusively, with little benefit (o the city-at-large. The entire philogophy behind K.S.A.
12-6a is that properties be assessed to the extent of benefit received. This requirement, set
forth in more than one statutory section, will often be in direct opposition to proposed
subsection (b) which states that the city-at-large must pay 36% of the costs of certain
improvement districts.

Finally, if public safety dictates that those streets be constructed, and city policy requires that
adjoining property owners who most benefit from the improvement, pay more that 5% of its
costs, elected officials should be free to determine an equitable division of cost between those
property owners and the city-at-large.

Thank you for your consideration.
KM- ‘%5 @(—\%‘u %&o‘;_ﬁq_)

Robert J. Watson " Jane Neff-Brain
City Attorney Senior Assistant City Attorney

cc: Don Pipes, CM
Alan Sims, ACM
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Sesston of 1997
HOUSE BILL No. 2010

By Special Committee on Transportation

12-17

AN ACT relating to the records of the division of vehicles; amending
K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 74-2012 and repealing the existing section.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 74-2012 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 74-2012. (a) All records of the division of vehicles shall be subject
to the provisions of the open records act except as otherwise provided
under the provisions of this section and by K S.A. 1996 Supp. 74-2022,
and amendments thereto.

¢a) (b) All records of the division of vehicles relating to the physical
or mental condition of any person, to expungement or except as provided
further, any photographs maintained by the division of vehicles in con-

nection with the issuance of drivers” licenses lshall be confidential. Pho-
tographs or digital images maintained by the division of vehicles in con-
nection with the issuance of drivers’ licenses shall be available to law
enforcement agencies for use in criminal investigations. Records of the
division relating to diversion agreements for the purposes of K.S.A. 8-

1567, 12-4415 and 22-2908, and amendments thereto, shall be confiden-

tial and shall be disclosed by direct computer access only to:

(1) A city, county or district attorney, for the purpose of determining
a person’s eligibility for diversion;

(2) a municipal or district court, for the purpose of using the record
in connection with any matter before the court;

(3) alaw enforcement agency, for the purpose of supplying the record
to a person authorized to obtain it under paragraph (1) or (2) of this
subsection; or

(4) an employer when a person is required to retain a commercial
driver’s license due to the nature of such person’s employment.

All other reeords of the division of vehieles shall be subjeet to the
provisions of the open records act exeept as otherwise provided by K-5-A-
1606 Supp- 74-3032 and amendments thereto or this seetion:

() (c) Lists of persons’ names end addresses Personal information
contained in or derived from records of the division of vehicles shall not
be sold, given or received for the purposes prohibited by K.S.A. 21-3914
and amendments thereto, except that:

and nondrivers'

identification cards

thuégu'MT;Rm§5$mﬂ41k*§br\
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(1) The director of vehicles may provide to a requesting party, and a
requesting party may receive, such a list and aecompanying personal in-
formation from public records of the division upon written certification
that the requesting party shall use the list personal information solely for
the purpose of: (A) Assisting manufacturers of motor vehicles in compil-
ing statistical reports or in notifying owners of vehicles believed to: (i)
Have safety-related defects, (ii) fail to comply with emission standards or
(iii) have any defect to be remedied at the expense of the manufacturer;
(B) assisting an insurer authorized to do business in this state, or the
insurer’s authorized agent, in processing an application for, or renewal or
cancellation of, a motor vehicle liability insurance policy; or|(C) assisting

the selective service system in the maintenance of a list of persons 18 to
26 years of age in this state as required under the provisions of section 3
of the federal military selective service ac it 3

or3zead-io

(2) Any law enforcement agency of this state which has access to
public records of the division may furnish to a requesting party, and a
requesting party may receive, such a list and accompanying information
from such records upon written certification that the requesting party
shall use the list solely for the purpose of assisting an insurer authorized
to do business in this state, or the insurer’s authorized agent, in processing
an application for, or renewal or cancellation of, a motor vehicle liability
insurance policy.

te}(d) 1f alaw enforcement agency of this state furnishes information
to a requesting party pursuant to paragraph (2) of subsection (b}2} (c),
the law enforcement agency shall charge the fee prescribed by the sec-

retary of revenue pursuant to K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 74-2022, and amend-

ments thereto, for any copies furnished and may charge an additional fee

_ to be retained by the law enforcement agency to cover its cost of providing

such copies. The fee prescribed pursuant to K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 74-2022,
and amendments thereto, shall be paid monthly to the secretary of rev-
enue and upon receipt thereof shall be deposited in the state treasury to
the credit of the electronic databases fee fund, except for the $1 of the
fee for each record required to be credited to the highway patrol training
center fund under subsection (e} (f).

{(d)(e) The secretary of revenue, the secretary’s agents or employees,
the director of vehicles or the director’s agents or employees shall not be

or

L -2



HB 2010
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liable for damages caused by any negligent or wrongful act or omission
of a law enforcement agency in furnishing any information obtained from
records of the division of vehicles.

(e} (f) A fee in an amount fixed by the secretary of revenue pursuant
to K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 74-2022, and amendments thereto, of not less than
$2 for each request for information in the public records of the division
concerning any vehicle or licensed driver shall be charged by the division,
except that the director may charge a lesser fee pursuant to a contract
between the secretary of revenue and any person to whom the director
s authorized to furnish information under paragraph (1) of subsection
@) (c), and such fee shall not be less than the cost of production or
reproduction of any information requested. Except for the fees charged

ursuant to a contract for title and registration records on vehicles au-
thorized by this subsection, $1 shall be credited to the highway patrol
training center fund for each record.

(g) The division of vehicles shall implement methods and procedures
to ensure that individuals are provided an opportunity, in a clear and
conspicuous manner, to prohibit the disclosure of personal information
collected by the division of vehicles, except under the following situations:

(1) For use by any government agency, including any court or law
enforcement agency, in carrying out its functions, or any private person
or entity acting on behalf of a federal, state or local agency in carrying
out its functions;

(2) for use in connection with matters of motor vehicle or driver safety
and theft; motor vehicle emissions; motor vehicle product alterations; re-
calls, or advisories; performance monitoring of motor vehicles, motor ve-
hicle parts and dealers; motor vehicle market research activities, including
survey research; and removal of nonowner records from the original
owner records of motor vehicle manufacturers;

(3) for use in the normal course of business by a legitimate business
or its agents, employees or contractors, but only:

(A) To verify the accuracy of personal information submitted by the
individual to the business or its agents, employees or contractors; and

(B) if such information as so submitted is not correct or is no longer
correct, to obtain the correct information, but only for the purposes of
preventing fraud by, pursuing legal remedies against, or recovering on a
debt or security interest against, the individual;

(4) for use in connection with any civil, crimingl, administrative or
arbitral proceeding in any federal, state or local court or agency or before
any self-regulatory body, including the service of process, investigation in
anticipation of litigation, and the execution or enforcement of judgments
and orders, or pursuant to an order of federal, state or local court;

(5) for use in research activities, and for use in producing statistical
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reports, so long as the personal information is not published, redisclosed
or used to contact individuals; :

(6) for use by any insurer or insurance support organization, or bya
self-insured entity, or its agents, employees or contractors, in connection
with claims investigation activities, antifraud activities, rating or under-
writing;

(7) for use in providing notice to the owners of towed or impounded
vehicles;

(8) for use by any licensed private investigative agency or licensed
security service for any purpose permitted under this subsection;

(9) for use by any employer or its agent or insurer to obtain or verify
information relating to a holder of a commercial driver’s license that is
required under the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 (49
U.S.C. App. 2710 et seq.);

(10) for use by any requester, if the requester demonstrates it has
obtained the written consent of the individual to whom the information

ertains.

(h) As used in this section “personal information” means information
that identifies a person,E-réveﬂidentzﬁcation number, name, address, in-
cluding information on vehicular accidents, driving or equipment-related

-violations, but shall not include such information considered confidential

under subsection (b).

#)(i) The secretary of revenue may adopt such rules and regulations
as are necessary to implement the provisions of this section.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 74-2012 is hereby repealed.

Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its

publication in the statute book.



»,

Sestion of 1997

HOUSE BILL No. 2073

By Committee on Transportation

1-23

AN ACT relating to the division of vehicles; concerning the expiration
date of driver’s licenses and nondriver identification cards; amending
K.S.A. 8-1325 and K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 8-240, 8-246 and 8-247 and re-
pealing the existing sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 8-240 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 8-240. (a) Every application for an instruction permit shall be
made upon a form furnished by the division of vehicles and accompanied

by a fee of $2 for class A, B‘ﬁ_i)‘C,land $5 for all commercial classes. Every

other application shall be made upon a form furnished by the division
and accompanied by an examination fee of $3, unless a different fee is
required by K.S.A. 8-241, and amendments thereto, and by the proper
fee for the license for which the application is made. If the applicant is
not required to take an examination the examination fee shall not be
required. The examination shall consist of three tests, as follows: (1) Vi-
sion; (2) written; and (3) driving. If the applicant fails the vision test, the
applicant may have correction of vision made and take the vision test again
without any additional fee. If an applicant fails the written test, the ap-
plicant may take such test again upon the payment of an additional ex-
amination fee of $1.50. If an applicant fails the driving test, the applicant
may take such test again upon the payment of an additional examination
fee of $1.50. If an applicant fails to pass all three of the tests within a
period of six months from the date of original application and desires to
take additional tests, the applicant shall file an application for reexami-
nation upon a form furnished by the division, which shall be accompanied
by a reexamination fee of $3, except that any applicant who fails to pass
the written or driving portion of an examination four times within a six-
month period, shall be required to wait a period of six months from the
date of the last failed examination before additional examinations may be
given. Upon the filing of such application and the payment of such re-
examination fee, the applicant shall be entitled to reexamination in like
manner and subject to the additional fees and time limitation as provided
for examination on an original application. If the applicant passes the
reexamination, the applicant shall be issued the classified driver’s license
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for which the applicant originally applied, which license shall be issued
to expire as if the applicant had passed the original examination.

(b) For the purposes of obtaining any driver’s license, an applicant,
except for any applicant under 16 years of age, shall provide at least two
of the documents specified in K.S.A. 8-246, and amendments thereto.
Any applicant under 16 years of age shall provide at least one of the
documents specified in K.S.A. 8-246, and amendments thereto, which
shall contain the date of birth of the applicant and such applicant’s parent
or guardian shall sign the application for any driver’s license.

(c) Every application shall state the name, date of birth, sex and res-
idence address of the applicant, and briefly describe the applicant, and
shall state whether the applicant has theretofore been licensed as a driver,
and, if so, when and by what state or country, and whether any such
license has ever been suspended or revoked, or whether an application
has ever been refused, and, if so, the date of and reason for such suspen-
sion, revocation or refusal. In addition to the above criteria, applications
for commercial drivers’ licenses and instruction permits for commercial
licenses must include the following: The applicant’s social security num-
ber; the person’s signature; the person’s color photograph; certifications,
including those required by 49 C.F.R. 383.71(a), effective January 1,
1991; a consent to release driving record information; and, any other
information required by the division.

(d) When an application is received from a person previously licensed
in another jurisdiction, the division shall request a copy of the driver’s
record from the other jurisdiction. When received, the driver’s record
shall become a part of the driver’s record in this state with the same force
and effect as though entered on the driver’s record in this state in the
original instance.

(e) When the division receives a request for a driver’s record from
another licensing jurisdiction the record shall be forwarded without
charge.

(f)g # fee of $8 shall be eharged for a elass G driver’s lieense or farm
permit; e fee of $5 shall be eharged for a elass M driver’s license and @
fee of $12 shell be charged for @ elass A er B driver’s lieense and a fee of
$14 for any eless of eommereial License:

A fee shall be charged as follows:

(1) For a class C driver’s license issued to a person at least 21 years
of age, but less than 65 years of age, $12;

(2) for aclass C driver’s license issued to a person less than 21 years
of age or 65 years of age or older, or a farm permit, $8;

(3) for a class M driver’s license issued to a person at least 21 years
of age, but less than 65 years of age, $6.50;

(4) for a class M driver’s license issued to a person less than 21 years
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of age or 65 years of age or older, $5;

(5) for aclass A or B driver’s license issued to a person who is at least
21 years of age, but less than 65 years of age, $18;

(6) for a class A or B driver’s license issued to a person less than 21

years of age or 65 years of age or older, $12;
(7) for any class of commercial driver’s license(issued-to-a person-at-
least 23 -years-of ags;-but loss-than-65-yeare-of-age-$2L: ox
(8)~ for anyclassof commercial-driver’s license-issued to a-person less—

then 2L-years-of-age-0r-65-years of age.or-older) $14. ‘

A fee of $30($19shall be charged for each commercial driver’s license
endorsement, except air brake endorsements which shall have no charge.

If one fails to make an original application or renewal application for a
driver’s license within the time required by law, or fails to make appli-
cation within 60 days after becoming a resident of Kansas, a penalty of
$1 shall be added to the fee charged for the driver's license.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 8-246 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 8-246. (a) If a driver’s license issued under the provisions of this act
is lost or destroyed, or if a new name is acquired, the person to whom
such driver’s license was issued may obtain a replacement upon:

(1) Furnishing satisfactory proof of the loss, destruction or name
change to the division, including an affidavit stating the circumstances of
the loss, destruction or name change;

(2) payment of a fee of $4 $8; and

(3) furnishing proof of the person’s identity as provided in subsection
(b).

(b) For the purposes of obtaining a replacement driver's license,
proof of a person’s identity shall include at least two of the following
documents, one of the documents shall bear the person’s signature and
one of the documents shall bear the person’s age or one of the documents
shall bear the person’s signature and age:

(1) Military identification card;

(2) military dependent identification card;

(3) military discharge papers;

(4) military D.D. 214;

(5) an original or certified copy of a state issued birth certificate;

(6) marriage license;

(7) medicare identification card;

(8) certified copy of court order specifying a change of name of the

rson;

P6(9) commercially produced school yearbook with photograph of the
person, and the book is less than five years old;

(10) a passport issued by any country;

(11) alien regjstration documents;

7-3

or

$10
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(12) expired or current driver’s license or identification card issued
by the Kansas division of vehicles or an expired or current driver’s license
or identification card of another state issued by similar authority, and for
any document in this item (12) the document must bear a photograph of
the person;

(13) student identification card bearing the photograph of the person;

(14) employee identification card bearing the photograph of the per-
son;

(15)  a birth certificate issued by any country;

(16) a copy of any federal or state income tax return bearing the
signature of the person; or

(17)  an identification certificate issued by the department of correc-
tions to an offender under the supervision of the secretary of corrections.

(c) The division may waive the furnishing of one of the documents
required by subsection (b) in the case of: (1) A person who is 65 or more
years of age; or (2) an inmate who has been released on parole, conditional
release or expiration of the inmate’s maximum sentence. When additional
clarification is needed to adequately describe any of the above items, the
division shall specify such clarification in making the requirement for such
item.

(d) Inlieu of providing one of the documents required by subsection
(b), a person may recite to the satisfaction of the driver’s license examiner
the recent motor vehicle operating record of the person.

(e) Any person who loses a driver's license and who, after obtaining
a replacement, finds the original license shall immediately surrender the
original license to the division.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 8-247 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 8-247. (a) All original licenses shall expire on the fourth enni
of the date of birth of the licensee whieh is nearest the date of applieation:
All renewals thereof; shell expire on every fourth anniversary of the date
of birth of the licensee(issued-to persony;

\._//

shall expire as follows

(1) (Who)are at least 21 years of age, but less than 65

licenses issued to persons who

shall expire on the sixth anniversary of the date of birth of the licensee
which is nearest the date of application; (o)
(2) Lwho are less than 21 years of age or are 65 years of age or older

f—licenses issued to persons

shall expire on the fourth anniversary of the date of birth of the licensee
which is nearest the date of application, All renewals under paragraph

or; (3) any commercial drivers license shall
expire on the fourth anniversary of the date of

(1) shall expire on every sixth anniversary of the date of birth of the
licensee and all renewals under{puragraph-(2j\shall expire on every fourth

anniversary of the date of birth of the licensee. No driver’s license shall
expire in the same calendar year in which the original license or renewal
license is issued, except that if the foregoing provisions of this section
shall require the issuance of a renewal license or an original license for a

J

birth of the licensee which is nearest the date
of application

paragraphs (2) and (3)
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