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MINUTES OF THE Senate Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance.
The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Don Steffes at 9:00 a.m. on March 6, 1997 in Room 529-§

of the Capitol.
All members were present except:

Committee staff present: Dr. William Wolff, Legislative Research Department
Fred Carman, Revisor of Statutes
Nikki Feuerborn, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Whitney Damron, Kansas Bar Association
Jim Maag, Kansas Bankers Association
Newton Male, State Bank Commissioner
Chuck Stones, Kansas Be 1kers Association
Sue Anderson, Executive Director of Community Bankers
Bill Grant, Office of State Bank Commissioner
Judy Stork, Office of State Bank Commissioner
Sue Ann Schultz, General Counsel for Bank IV

Tom Wilder, Kansas Insurance Department
Pat Morris, Kansas Association of Insurance Agents

Others attending: See attached list

Hearing on HB 2057 - Release of mortgage or deed of trust

Whitney Damron, representing the Kansas Bar Association, explained the bill which would provide that any
mortgage or deed of trust against real property recorded on or after January 1, 1955, and before January 1,
1965, shaii be void unless prior to July 1, 1998, the mortgage holder files an affidavit with the Register of
Deeds stating the nature of the claim, the date of the last payment on the claim, and a description of the
property (Attachment 1). The bill would provide that any all mortgages recorded after January 1, 1965, if 32
years have elapsed and the owner of the mortgage has not filed an affidavit, then the mortgage is released by
law. Mr. Damron said this was an attempt to codify policy which the Legislature has made over 50-60 years.
This would definitely benefit families in the settling of estates. Itis an expensive and costly procedure to file
for quiet title. Included in the testimony was a balloon amendment prepared by the Title Standards
Committee of the Kansas Bar Association. This amendment would clarify that an action to foreclose would
also serve as a re-filing of the mortgage.

Jim Maag, Kansas Bankers Association, voiced their support of the legislation which would help all banking
and lending institutions.

Senator Feleciano moved to approve the sucgested amendment. The motion was seconded by Senator
Barone. Motion carried.

Senator Feleciano moved to report the bill favorably as amended. The motion was seconded by Senator
Bieos. Motion carried.

Hearing on HB 2070 - Banks and trust companies; stock ownership

Chuck Stones, Kansas Bankers Association, explained that this bill would eliminate the requirement for a
member of a bank’s board of directors to own common stock in the bank or trust company or in the parent
corporation with a par value of at least $500. This 1947 law was to assure that the director took his
responsibilities and actions seriously (Attachment 2). The $500 requirement is no long considered a
significant investment for an individual as other banking and court regulations have made bank directors liable
for their actions. Sub-S Corporations are now formed by banks and this requirement may impact the ability of
some banks to take advantage of this type of structure.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals 1
appearing before the commitiee for edifing or corrections.
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Newton Male, Kansas State Bank Commissioner, supported the request for this legislation as the law is
outdated and sometimes acts as a deterrent to finding people to serve on the boards (Attachment 3). As banks
grow and the size of the bank’s capital grows, the book value per share also grows. Although the par value of
the stock might be $100 per share, and a director is required to buy five shares to equal $500 par value, the
book value per share is in fact $6,000 per share and requires an investment of $30,000 per director.

Sue Anderson, Community Bankers Association, presented an amendment which would cap bank deposits at
any one bank at 15% of the total deposits of all Kansas banks whether they are state or foreign chartered
banks (Attachment 4). Total deposits would be based on deposits of savings deposits, shares and other
accounts in savings and loan associations, federal savings banks and building and loan associations in this
state as determined by the state bank commissioner according to the latest reports.

Revisor Fred Carman announced the title of the bill would have to be changed to make the amendment
germane.

Bill Grant, General Counsel for the Office of State Bank Commissioner, discussed the ambiguous language in
the bill and requested additional study of the proposed amendment. Their office would be required to
administer the law and a clearer intent would be needed. The Riegle Neal Act caps banks at 30% of total
deposits and states have the right to have lower caps. Most states do Fave some sort of cap regarding percent
of deposits which can be in one bank.

Bank Commissioner Male informed the Committee that they were not opposed to the bill but needed
clarification especially regarding out of state banks. Branches which are not home officed here in Kansas
were in question. Total deposits in Kansas are now more than $28 billion. According to Bank IV, their
deposits are between $4.5 and $5 billion.

The question of whether credit unions should be included in the deposit count was discussed.

Sue Ann Schultz, general counsel for Nations Bank (Bank IV), requested additional time to study the
proposed amendment. They were definitely supportive of the clean-up language concept.

The hearing was continued until Wednesday, March 12.

Hearing on HB 2071 - Discipline of agents

Tom Wilder, Kansas Insurance Department, reviewed the bill which sets out penalties which may be assessed
by the Insurance Commissioner if agents or brokers are negligent in turning in their continuing education
requirement compliance information (Attachment 5). The due date for this information was changed from May
1 to the agent and/or broker’s birthday. More than $65,000 was collected in penalties last year. An
amendment to remove the italicized section on lines 32 and 33 and place it in Section 2 was presented.

Patrick Morris, Kansas Insurance Agents Association, voiced their support of the bill and said it would be up
to the Kansas Insurance Department to fairly administer the penalty component of the bill.

Senator Feleciano moved to accept the proposed amendment, allow the revisor to make the necessary technical
chanees, and report the bill favorably as amended. The motion was seconded by Senator Becker. Motion
carried.

Senator Becker moved to approve the minutes of February 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 24, and 25. The motion
was seconded by Senator Praccer. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:00 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for March 11, 1997.
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WHITNEY B. DAMRON, P.A.
COMMERCE BANK BUILDING
{00 EAST NINTH STREET — SECOND FLOOR
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66612-1213
(913) 354-1354 & 232-3344 (FAX)

TO: Chairman Don Steffes
and the Senate Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance
FROM: Whitney Damron
on behalf of the Kansas Bar Association
RE: HB 2057 - Release of Mortgages
DATE: March 6, 1997

Good morning Chairman Steffes and Members of the Senate Committee on Financial
Institutions and Insurance. My name is Whitney Damron and | am appearing before you this
morning on behalf of the Kansas Bar Association in support of HB 2057.

When a mortgage has been paid in full, or for some other reason the mortgage is no
longer in effect (such as refinancing the mortgage with another mortgage company), the
mortgage should be "released.” This is done by the company or person holding the
mortgage filing a mortgage release document with the Register of Deeds. When title
examiners look at the county records, they see the release and they know that, for that
mortgage, the title is clear. If they do not see the release, they note the féct that the title
is still subject to a mortgage.

Most mortgages are 30 years or less. For a variety of reasons, sometimes mortgages
whose period has expired have not been released. Most often, this may be oversight, or the
mortgage institution has gone out of business. Or the mortgage filed was by an individual
who has since died and he has no probate estate which can release the mortgage. It is

important that these mortgages get released because if they are not, then the owner of the
e o f
v W/,
AZ75.c frronds !
G777



property, in order to sell property clouded by a mortgage on the title, must go to the expense
of filing a quiet title action to vest title in the owner.

To avoid the quiet title action, the law provides currently a law very similar to HB
2057, KSA 58-2333h.

Any mortgage or deed of trust against real property located in this state recorded on
or after January 1, 1951, and before January 1, 1955, or referred to or described in any
instrument of record within such period shall be void, unless, prior to July 1, 1988, the
owner and holder thereof files, in the office of the register of deeds of the county in which
the property is located, an affidavit stating: (a) The name and address of the owner and
holder thereof; (b) the nature of the claim; (c) the amount due on the claim; (d) the date of
the last payment on the claim; and (e) a description of the property. This section shall not
apply to or affect mortgages, deeds of trust or liens against real property of railroad
corporations recorded after January 1, 1890. Infancy, incompetency or nonresidency shall
not affect the operation of this act. History: L. 1987, ch. 259, 1,; July 1.

The 1987 legislature enacted this law. Howeuver, it only applies to mortgages recorded
on or after January 1, 1951 through January 1, 1955. We need to bring this up to date.

There are two ways to bring this law up to date. One is simply change the January
dates above and move forward a fixed time period. The second way, which we attempt in
HB 2057, is to let dates "float" automatically.

Subsection (a) is a section similar to the 1987 law. It brings forward all recordings
between January 1, 1955 and January 1, 1965. Subsection (b) is the float. For all
mortgage recordings after January 1, 1965, if 32 years have elapsed, and the owner of the

mortgage has not filed an affidavit, then the mortgage is released by law.



Example: Mortgage bank "A" files a standard 30-year mortgage on a House on
February 1, 1965. If 32 years pass without a mortgage release being filed of record, and
"A" does not file a new affidavit by July 1, 1987, (1964 + 32 years + to the next July 1),
then the statute releases the mortgage and on a title exam, the examiner would so indicate.

Included with my testimony is a proposed balloon amendment suggested by the Title
Standards Committee of the Kansas Bar Association. They did not have an opportunity to
review the bill during House deliberations and upon further review, suggested a technical
amendment which would clarify that an action to foreclose would also serve as a re-filing of
the mortgage.

On behalf of the Kansas Bar Association, | thank you for your consideration of HB

2057 and would be pleased to stand for questions.
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Session of 1997

HOUSE BILL No. 2057
By Committee on Judiciary

1-22

AN ACT concerning real property; relating to the release of a mortgage
or deed of trust.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. (a) Any mortgage or deed of trust against real property
located in this state recorded on or after January 1, 1955, and before
January 1, 1965, or referred to or described in any instrument of record
within such period shall be void, unless, prior to July 1, 1998, the owner
and holder thereof files, in the office of the register of deeds of the county
in which the property is located, an affidavit stating:

(1) The name and address of the owner and holder thereof;

(2) the nature of the claim;

(3) the amount due on the claim;

(4) the date of the last payment on the claim; and

(5) a description of the property.

(b) Any mortgage or deed of trust against real property located in this
state recorded on or after January 1, 1965, or referred to or described in
any instrument of record after such date, shall be void by operation of
law if: ’

(1) More that 32 years shall have elapsed between the date of the
initial recording of the mortgage; and

(2) prior to July 1 of the year next preceding the date 32 years after

the date of initial recording{the owner and holder of the mortgage does
not file in the office of the register of deeds of the county in which the
property is located, an affidavit stating:

(A) The name and address of the owner and holder thereof;

(B) the nature of the claim;

(C) the amount due on the claim;

(D) the date of the last payment on the claim; and

(E) a description of the property.

(c) This section shall not apply to or affect mortgages, deeds of trust
or liens against real property of railroad corporations recorded after Jan-
uary 1, 1890

(d) Infancy, incompetency or nonresidency shall not affect the op-
eration of this act,

v wunless an action is commenced to foreclose
the mortgage, or unless



KANSAS STATUTES
CHAPTER 58. PERSONAL AND REAL PROPERTY
ARTICLE 23. MORTGAGES OF REAL PROPERTY

58-2332. Mortgages or deeds of trust recorded prior to
1914 or referred to or described declared void; excep-
tions.

Every mortgage or deed of trust securing a debt
on real property in this state which mortgage or deed of
trust was placed of record before January 1, 1914, or re-
ferred to or described in any instrument of record prior to
said date, shall, from and after July 1, 1948, be void as
against the creditors of the person making the same or
against subsequent purchasers or mortgagees unless the
owner and holder thereof shall, prior to such date, cause
to be filed in the office of the register of deeds of the
county in which the property is located, an affidavit set-
ting forth the name and address of the owner and holder
thereof, the nature of the claim, the amount due thereon,
the date of the last payment thereon and a description of
the property included therein: Provided, That this act
shall not apply to or affect (1) mortgages, deeds of trust,
or liens upon property of railroad corporations recorded
after January 1, 1890, or (2) the indebtedness thereby
secured: Provided further, That infancy, incompetency or
nonresidence shall not affect the operation of this act.
[History: L. 1947, ch. 336, § 1; June 30.

58-2333. Mortgages or deeds of trust recorded or referred
to or described of record prior to 1919 declared void; ex-
ceptions.

Every mortgage or deed of trust securing a debt
on real property in this state which mortgage or deed of
trust was placed of record before January I, 1919, or re-
ferred fo or described in any instrument of record prior to
said date, shall, from and after July 1, 1952, be void as
against the creditors of the person making the same or
against subsequent purchasers or mortgagees unless the
owner and holder thereof shall, prior to such date, cause
to be filed in the office of the register of deeds of the
county in which the property is located, an affidavit set-
ting forth the name and address of the owner and holder
thereof, the nature of the claim, the amount due thereon,
the date of the last payment thereon and a description of
the property included therein: Provided, That this act
shall not apply to or affect (1) mortgages, deeds of trust,
or liens upon property of railroad corporations recorded
after January 1, 1890, or (2) the indebtedness thereby
secured: Provided further, That infancy, incompetency or
nonresidence shall not affect the operation of this act.

[History: L. 1951, ch. 373, § ; June 30.

58-2333a. Mortgages or deeds of trust recorded or re-
ferred to or described of record between January 1, 1919,
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and January 1, 1923, declared void; éxceptions.

Every mortgage or deed of trust securing a debt
on real property in this state which mortgage or deed of
trust was placed of record on or after January I, 1919,
and before January 1, 1923, or referred to or described in
any instrument of record within the prescribed period,
shall, from and after July 1, 1956, be void as against the
creditors of the person making the same or against sub-
sequent purchasers or mortgagees unless the owner and
holder thereof shall, prior to such date, cause to be filed
in the office of the register of deeds of the county in
which the property is located, an affidavit setting forth
the name and address of the owner and holder thereof,
the nature of the claim, the amount due thereon, the date
of the last payment thereon and a description of the prop-
erty included therein: Provided, That this act shall not
apply to or affect (1) mortgages, deeds of trust, or liens
upon property of railroad corporations recorded after
January 1, 1890, or (2) the indebtedness thereby secured:
Provided further, That infancy, incompetency or nonresi-
dence shall not affect the operation of this act.

[History: L. 1955, ch. 300, § 1; June 30.

58-2333b. Mortgages or deeds of trust recorded or re-
ferred to or described of record between January 1, 1919,
and January 1, 1927, declared void; exceptions.

Every mortgage or deed of trust securing a debt
on real property in this state which mortgage or deed of
trust was placed of record on or after January I, 1919,
and before January 1, 1927, or referred to or described in
any instrument of record within the prescribed period,
shall, from and after July 1, 1962, be void as against the
creditors of the person making the same or against sub-
sequent purchasers or mortgagees unless the owner and
holder thereof shall, prior to such date, cause to be filed
in the office of the register of deeds of the county in
which the property is located, an affidavit setting forth
the name and address of the owner and holder thereof,
the nature of the claim, the amount due thereon, the date
of the last payment thereon and a description of the prop-
erty included therein: Provided, That this act shall not
apply to or affect (1) mortgages, deeds of trust, or liens
upon property or railroad corporations recorded after
January I, 1890, or (2) the indebtedness thereby secured:
Provided further, That infancy, incompetency or nonresi-
dence shall not affect the operation of this act.

[History: L. 1961, ch. 296, § 1; June 30.

58-2333c. Mortgages or deeds of trust recorded or re-
ferred to or described of record between January 1, 1927,
and January 1, 1935, declared void; exceptions.

Every mortgage or deed of trust securing a debt

on real property in this state which mortgage or deed of
trust was placed of record on or after January 1, 1927,
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and before January 1, 1935, or referred to or described in
any instrument of record within the prescribed period,
shall, from and after July I, 1968, be void as against the
creditors of the person making the same or against sub-
sequent purchasers or mortgagees unless the owner and
holder thereof shall, prior to such date, cause to be filed
in the office of the register of deeds of the county in
which the property is located, an affidavit setting forth
the name and address of the owner and holder thereof,
the nature of the claim, the amount due thereon, the date
of the last payment thereon and a description of the prop-
erty included therein: Provided, That this act shall not
apply to or affect (1) mortgages, deeds of trust, or liens
upon property of railroad corporations recorded after
January 1, 1890, or (2) the indebtedness thereby secured:
Provided further, That infancy, incompetency or nonresi-
dence shall not affect the operation of this act.
[History: L. 1967, ch. 304, § 1; July 1.

58-2333d. Mortgages or deeds of trust recorded or re-
ferred to or described of record between January 1, 1935,
and January 1, 1939, declared void; exceptions.

Every mortgage or deed of trust securing a debt
on real property in this state which mortgage or deed of
trust was placed of record on or after January 1, 1935,
and before January 1, 1939, or referred to or described in
any instrument of record within the prescribed period,
shall, from and after July 1, 1972, be void as against the
creditors of the person making the same or against sub-
sequent purchasers or mortgagees unless the owner and
holder thereof shall, prior to such date, cause to be filed
in the office of the register of deeds of the county in
which the property is located, an affidavit setting forth
the name and address of the owner and holder thereof,
the nature of the claim, the amount due thereon, the date
of the last payment thereon and a description of the prop-
erty included therein: Provided, That this act shall not
apply to or affect (1) mortgages, deeds of trust, or liens
upon property of railroad corporations recorded after
January 1, 1890, or (2) the indebtedness thereby secured:
Provided further, That infancy, incompetency or nonresi-
dence shall not affect the operation of this act.

[History: L. 1971, ch. 191, § 1; July 1.

58-2333e. Mortgages or deeds of trust recorded or re-
ferred to or described of record between January 1, 1939,
and January 1, 1943, declared void; exceptions.

Every mortgage or deed of trust securing a debt
on real property in this state which mortgage or deed of
trust was placed of record on or after January 1, 1939,
and before January 1, 1943, or referred to or described in
any instrument of record within the prescribed period
shall, from and after July 1, 1976, be void as against the
creditors of the person making the same or against sub-
sequent purchasers or mortgagees unless the owner and
holder thereof shall, prior to such date, cause to be filed
in the office of the register of deeds of the county in
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which the property is located, an affidavit setting forth
the name and address of the owner and holder thereof,
the nature of the claim, the amount due thereon, the date
of the last payment thereon and a description of the prop-
erty included therein: Provided, That this act shall not
apply to or affect (1) mortgages, deeds of trust, or liens
upon property of railroad corporations recorded after
January 1, 1890, or (2) the indebtedness thereby secured:
Provided further, That infancy, incompetency or nonresi-
dence shall not affect the operation of this act.
[History: L. 1975, ch. 346, § 1; July 1.

58-2333f. Mortgages or deeds of trust recorded or re-
ferred to or described of record between January 1, 1943,
and January 1, 1947, declared void; exceptions.

Every mortgage or deed of trust securing a debt
on real property in this state which mortgage or deed of
trust was placed of record on or after January 1, 1943,
and before January 1, 1947, or referred to or described in
any instrument of record within the prescribed period
shall, from and after July 1, 1980, be void as against the
creditors of the person making the same or against sub-
sequent purchasers or mortgagees unless the owner and
holder thereof shall, prior to such date, cause to be filed
in the office of the register of deeds of the county in
which the property is located, an affidavit setting forth
the name and address of the owner and holder thereof,
the nature of the claim, the amount due thereon, the date
of the last payment thereon and a description of the prop-
erty included therein. This act shall not apply to or affect
(1) mortgages, deeds of trust, or liens upon property of
railroad corporations recorded after January 1, 1890, or
(2) the indebtedness thereby secured. Infancy, incompe-
tency or monresidency shall not affect the operation of
this act.

[History: L. 1979, ch. 172, § 1; July L.

58-2333g. Mortgages or deeds of trust recorded between
January 1, 1947, and January 1, 1951, declared void; ex-
ceptions.

Any mortgage or deed of trust against real prop-
erty located in this state recorded on or after January 1,
1947, and before January 1, 1951, or referred to or de-
scribed in any instrument of record within such period
shall be void, unless, prior to July 1, 1986, the owner and
holder thereof files, in the office of the register of deeds
of the county in which the property is located, an affi-
davit stating: (a) The name and address of the owner and
holder thereof, (b) the nature of the claim; (c) the amount
due on the claim; (d) the date of the last payment on the
claim; and (e) a description of the property. This section
shall not apply to or affect mortgages, deeds of trust or
liens against real property of railroad corporations re-
corded after January 1, 1890. Infancy, incompetency or
nonresidency shall not affect the operation of this act.
[History: L. 1984, ch. 249, § 1; L. 1985, ch. 185, § I,
July 1.
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58-2333h. Mortgages or deeds of trust recorded between
January 1, 1951, and January 1, 1955, declared void; ex-
ceptions.

Any mortgage or deed of trust against real prop-
erty located in this state recorded on or after January 1,
1951, and before January 1, 1955, or referred to or de-
scribed in any instrument of record within such period
shall be void, unless, prior to July 1, 1988, the owner and
holder thereof files, in the office of the register of deeds
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of the county in which the property is located, an affi-
davit stating: (a) The name and address of the owner and
holder thereof, (b) the nature of the claim; (c) the amount
due on the claim; (d) the date of the last payment on the
claim; and (e) a description of the property. This section
shall not apply to or affect mortgages, deeds of trust or
liens against real property of railroad corporations re-
corded after January 1, 1890. Infancy, incompetency or
nonresidency shall not affect the operation of this act.
[History: L. 1987, ch. 259, § 1; July 1.



Kansas Bankers Association

800 SW Jackson, Suite 1500

. Topeka, KS 66612
913—232—3444 Fax - 913-232-3484 E-Mail - kbacs@ink.org

3-6-97

TO: Senate Financial Institutions and Insurance Committee
FROM: Chuck Stones, Director Of Research

RE: HB 2070
Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you as a proponent to HB 2070. HB 2070
would eliminate the requirement for a member of a bank’s board of directors to own
common stock in the bank or trust company or in the parent corporation with a par value
of at least $500.

This requirement dates back to 1947, is outdated in today’s banking environment and, in
some cases, a hindrance to sound business decisions. When this provision was adopted
$500 was a significant investment for an individual. It was meant to assure that a
director of a bank lived up to his or her responsibilities as a director and kept the best
interests of the bank in mind when making decisions. Banking has changed significantly
since that time and other laws and courts have made bank directors liable for their
actions, making a mere $500 investment insignificant. In fact, the liability that a bank
board member faces has often times made it difficult to find people willing to serve.
There are also federal regulations that govern the actions of a banks board of directors.

In addition there has recently been some action taken at the Federal level involving
corporate structure that has impacted the makeup of a bank’s shareholders. Banks are
now allowed to form Sub-S corporations. This requirement may impact the ability of
some banks to take advantage of this type of structure.

Finally, there is no such requirement of other corporations in the general corporation
section of the Kansas Statutes. Stock ownership is governed by each corporation in their
by-laws, as would banks if this change is adopted.

The KBA appreciates you attention in this matter, and urges your favorable action on HB

2070.
/ 7/ V2 MW”/“Z .
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MARCH 7, 1997

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:

| am W. Newton Male, Bank Commissioner, and | am here to testify in favor of House Bill 2070. OQur
department supports this bill and feels the current law is outdated.

The original intent of this law was to impose a sense of financial responsibility upon an individual as they
became a director of a bank. The theory was the director would do a better job if they had some of their own
money at risk. The $500 par value requirement was established in 1947 when such level of investment by
the director brought with it a financial duty to the institution. This requirement is based on the par value of
the stock, not the book value. The book value, however, is generally the price the director pays for the
stock. Because of this, the actual investment by a director varies greatly from institution to institution. In
one bank the stock could cost $1 ,OOC versus $30,000 in another institution. As banks grow and the size
of the bank’s capital grows, the book value per share also grows. So, although the par value of the stock
for example is $100 per share and the director must buy five shares to equal $500 par value, the book value
per share is in fact $6,000 per share and requires an investment of $30,000 by the director. Numerous
people would be unable to afford such an investment. This large sum, coupled with the potential liability
associated with serving as a bank director would steer even those who could afford such a purchase to
decline their service as a bank director.  So, in many instances, this statute deters good people from
becoming directors. In other instances, the purchase sum is only $500, which by today’s standards hardly
appears to place a large financial responsibility on the director to “do a good job”. These requireme:tz, are

/_/d/lé/ A v}:l/l/ 7

outdated and should be repealed. Z
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SENATE BILL NO.

By

AN ACT relating to bank holding companies; concerning ownership
limitations; amending K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 9-520 and repealing
the existing section.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 9-520 is hereby amended to read
ags follows: 9-520. (a) Excluding shares held under the
circumstances set out in paragraph (2) of subsection (a) of
K.S.A. 9-519, and amendments thereto, no bank holding company or
any subsidiary thereof shall directly or indirectly acquire
ownership or control of, or power to vote, any of the voting
shares of any bank domiciled in this state 1if, after such
acquisition, all banks domiciled in this state, in which the bank
holding company or any subsidiary thereof has ownership or
control of, or power to vote, any voting shares, would have, in
the aggregate, more than 15% of the total deposits of all banks
in this state plus the total deposits, savings deposits, shares
and other accounts in savings and loan associations, federal
savings banks and building and loan associations in this state as
determined by the state bank commissioner on the basis of the
most recent reports to supervisory authorities which are
available at the time of the acquisition.

(b) This section shall not prohibit a bank holding company
or any subsidiary thereof from acquiring ownership or control of,
or power to vote, any of the voting shares of any bank domiciled
in this state 1if the state bank commissioner, in the case of a
bank organized under the laws of this state, or the comptroller
of the currency, in the case of a national banking association,
determines that an emergency exists and that the acquisition is
appropriate in order to protect the public interest against the

failure or probable failure of the bank.
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(c) The provisions of subsections (a) and (b) shall be

expressly applicable to out-of-state bank holding companies, and

no such out-of-state bank holding company shall be permitted to

acquire ownership or control of a bank domiciled in this state,

if, after such acquisition, such out-of-state bank holding

company would control more than 15% of the total deposits of all

banks in this state plus the total deposits, savings deposits,

shares and other accounts in savingss and loan associations,

federal savings banks and building and loan associations in this

state, as specified in subsection (a). In calculating such

concentration level for out-of-state bank holding companies, all

insured depository institutions that would be affiliates as

defined in 12 U.S.C. 1841(k) shall be considered.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 9-520 is hereby repealed.
Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and

after its publication in the statute book.



Kathleen Sebelius

Commissioner of Insurance

K@n&wlnaumxx[kpmmmmnt
MEMORANDUM

To: Senate Financial Institutions
and Insurance Committee

From: Tom Wilder
Re: House Bill 2071 (Insurance Agents)
Date: March 6, 1997

I am appearing today in support of H.B. 2071 which makes several minor changes
to the laws governing the licensing of insurance agents in Kansas. The first section of the
bill amends K.S.A. 40-240f to allow the Insurance Commissioner to waive the mandatory
penalties assessed against agents who fail to timely certify compliance with our continuing
education requirements. The current law states that a penalty shall be assessed and the
Department would like the flexibility to not fine agents in cases where the violation of the
law was excusable error. In the last two year licensing period (1995 - 1996) we collected
approximately $65,000 from agents who failed to timely notify the Insurance Department
that they had completed their required continuing education hours.

The bill also gives insurance companies 30 days to certify that an agent has an
appointment to work for a company rather than the 15 days that is in the current law.
Finally, the legislation makes it clear that the certification costs which companies pay to
the Insurance Department is a nonrefundable fee.

The House Insurance Committee amended the bill to reinsert a provision in our
current law regarding the requirement for agents who let their licenses lapse to take a test
in order to be recertified as an insurance agent.

I would ask that the Committee approve House Bill 2071 favorably for passage.
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