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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION.
The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Michael R. O’Neal at 3:30 p.m. on February 23, 1998 in
Room 519-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present: Ben Barrett, Legislative Research Department
Avis Swartzman, Revisor of Statutes
Cindy Wulfkuhle, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Representative Kay O’Connor
Mark Tallman, Kansas Association of School Boards
Representative Deena Horst
Gary Mitchell, Secretary of Department of Health & Environment
E.A. McAlexander, President St. John’s Military School

Hearings on HB 2907 - school districts enrollment of nonresident pupils, were opened.

Representative Kay O’Connor appeared before the committee as the sponsor of the proposed bill. She
explained that school district boards would have the authority to accept nonresident enrollments but not the
authority to charge tuition. (Attachment 1)

Mark Tallman, Kansas Association of School Boards, indicated that it had no policy position concerning a
school bsoard’s ability to charge tuition. However, he suggested new language that would retain the
nonresident pupil tuition prohibition. (Attachment2)

Hearings on HB 2907 were closed.

Hearings on HB 2837 - boarding schools excluded from certain care facility requirement, were

opened.

Representative Deena Horst explained that Department of Health and Environment staffing ratio requirements
for licensed child care facilities are not appropriate for a facility such as St. John’s upon which it imposes an
unnecessary financial burden. (Attachment3)

Gary Mitchell, Secretary of Department of Health & Environment, appeared as a proponent of the bill. He
commented that the Department rules require that each facility must have a minimum of one child care staff
member on duty and available for every seven residents during waking hours and a minimum of one for every
ten during sleeping hours. (Attachment4)

E.A. McAlexander, President St. John’s Military School, told the committee that St. John’s youngest students
are 12 & 13 years old. The cadets sleep in three separate buildings and that one staff person patrols each
building while the cadets are asleep. (Attachment5)

Hearings on HB 2837 were closed.

HB 2907 - school districts enrollment of nonresident pupils

Representative Reardon made a motion to retain the nonresident pupil tuition prohibition, but remove the
language that imposed certain limitations upon such enrollments. Representative Morrison seconded the
motion. The motion carried.

Representative Tanner made a motion to report HB 2907 favorably for passage, as amended. Representative
Horst seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed
verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to the individuals 1
appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.
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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION, Room 519-§ Statehouse, at 3:30 p.m. on
February 23, 1998.

HB 2837 - boarding schools excluded from certain care facility requirement

Representative Wempe made a motion to add to the definition of boarding school *a facility with accreditation
acceptable to the Secretary of Health and Environment that provides 24-hour care to school age children and
provides education as its primary function”. Representative Horst seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Representative Horst made a motion to report HB 2837 favorably for passage, as amended. Representative
Stone seconded the motion. The motion carried.

HB 2609 - certain cosmetologists exempted from continuing education requirements

Representative Shore explained that the subcommittee recommendations represent compromises and
agreements that were reached by various parties interested in the issue of cosmetology. He provided the
committee with copies of the balloon amendment. (Attachment6) He then covered key changes in the bill:
membership of the Board was increased from five to seven members; the Governor appoints the Board’s
Executive Director; The Executive Director must be a practicing cosmetologist; instructor’s examination will be
a written test; and continuing education requirements for practitioners are eliminated.

Representative Shore made a motion to adopt the sub committee report. Representative Horst seconded the
motion.

Representative Shore made a motion to amend section 7 to clarify that instructors have to take the written test
only. Representative Morrison seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Representative Shore made a motion to report Substitute for HB 2609 favorably for passage.
Representative Morrison seconded the motion. The motion carried.

HCR 5029 - memorializes Congress to assume its fair share of the costs of special
education_services

Representative Stone made a motion to report HCR 5029 favorably for passage and be placed on the consent
calendar. Representative Storm seconded the motion. The motion carried.

HB 2671 - autism information act

Chairman O’ Neal told the committee that he would like to appoint a three member subcommittee to work on a
recommendation for a resolution instead of a bill. He asked for volunteers, seeing none the Chairman
adjourned the meeting.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 24, 1998.
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February 23, 1998

TO: Education Committee Members
FROM: Kay O‘Connor@))
RE: HB 2907

Mr. Chairman and members of the committee, | come before you today to urge your
favorable consideration of HB 2907.

Over the past 2 years, through anecdotal stories, | have gradually come to see a
problem in the Kansas public schools, which are charged with providing a free and
appropriate education for all Kansas students.

We have a conflict, in my opinion, between the Kansas Constitution and Kansas
statutes. Article 6, Section 6, Paragraph B of the State Constitution states, "No
tuition shall be charged for attendance at any public school...".

You will note on your copy of HB 2907, in the stricken language on lines 23 to 28, that
school districts are currently permitted to charge an attendance fee. The language is
not quite honest in that no attendance costs are defrayed due to the fact that any
tuition collected is deducted from the school district state aid.

The State is the beneficiary at the expense of double taxation of the family crossing
district lines. We should not be discriminating against lower income families who, for
whatever reasons, choose a public school outside of their assigned district.

| have been informed that some schools are charging as much as $10,000 tuition.

| will be happy to stand for questions at the pleasure of the chair.

House Education
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EDUCATION

ART. 6, § 7

Law Review and Bar Journal References:

“Students’ Constitutional Rights in Public Secondary
Education,” Harold D. Starkey, 14 W.L.J. 106 (1975).

Attorney General’s Opinions:

School textbooks; when free textbooks required. 79-122.

Schools; buildings; compliance with municipal zoning
and building code requirements. 80-14.

Schools; teachers’ contracts; constitutionality of binding
arbitration provision in Senate Bill No. 718. 80-63.

Schools; transportation of students; transportation
routes. 83-180.

Capital outlay levy, funds and bonds; procedure, protest,
petition and election; effect of substitute resolution. 86-
69.

School attendance; G.E.D. 87-46.

Organization, powers and finances of boards of educa-
tion; interlocal agreements; duration of agreements. 87-
119.

CASE ANNOTATIONS

1. School dress code regulating hair length of male stu-
dents upheld; school boards authorized to provide rules
and regulations. Beline v. Board of Education, 210 K. 560,
563, 571, 502 P.2d 693.

2. Cited in holding local school board authorized to
close attendance facility. Brickell v. Board of Education,
211 K. 905, 917, 508 P.2d 996.

3. Cited; state board of education possesses general su-
pervisory powers over district boards. State, ex rel., v.
Board of Education, 212 K. 482, 485, 486, 492, 493, 497,
511 P.2d 705.

4, Mentioned in action involving collective negotiations
of teachers’ association with school board. National Edu-
cation Association v. Board of Education, 212 K. 741, 748,
512 P.2d 426.

§ 6. Finance. (a) The legislature may levy
a permanent tax for the use and benefit of state
institutions of higher education and apportion
among and appropriate the same to the several
institutions, which levy, apportionment and ap-
propriation shall continue until changed by
statute, Further appropriation and other pro-
vision for finance of institutions of higher ed-
ucation may be made by the legislature.

(b) The legislature shall make suitable pro-
vision for finance of the educational interests
of the state. No tuition shall be charged for
attendance at any public school to pupils re-
quired by law to attend such school, except
such fees or supplemental charges as may be
authorized by law. The legislature may au-

orize the state board of regents to establish
tuition, fees and charges at institutions under

. its supervision.

(c) No religious sect or sects shall control
any part of the public educational funds.

- History: Adopted by convention, July 29,
1859; ratified by electors, Oct. 4, 1859; L.

861, p. 59; original subject matter stricken
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and new subject substituted, L. 1966, ch. 10—
Spec. Sess.; Nov. 8, 1966.

Revisor’s Note:

Prior to 1966, section related to moneys from various
sources to be applied to support of common schools.

For annotations to original section, see K.S.A. Vol. 6,
p. 939; copyright 1964.

Provision for a permanent tax levy for educational in-
stitutions, previously appeared in § 10 of this article.

Research and Practice Aids:

Colleges and Universities e= 4, 6(1); Schools and School
Districts ¢= 16 et seq., 98 et seq.

Hatcher's Digest, Constitutional Law § 67; School Dis-
tricts § 100.

C.].S. Colleges and Universities §§ 9, 10; Schools and
School Districts §§ 17 et seq., 376 et seq.

Am. Jur. 2d Colleges and Universities §§ 30, 31.
Law Review and Bar Journal References:

“Student Fees in Public Schools: New Statutory Au-
thority,” Joe Allen Lang, 16 W.L.J. 439, 441, 442, 448
(1977).

Attorney General’s Opinions:

Schools; teachers contracts; constitutionality of binding
arbitration provision in Senate Bill No. 718. 80-63.

State educational institutions; management, operation;
fixing of tuition, fees and charges. 81-115.

Education; state board of education; authority. 83-154.

Schools; vocational education; plan for establishment;
approval by state board of education. 83-169.

CASE ANNOTATIONS

1. Order dismissing action to determine constitutionality
of 1973 School District Equalization Act as moot, vacated
and remanded; rights hereunder unresolved. Knowles v.
State Board of Education, 219 K. 271, 272, 273, 547 P.2d
699.

9. Apportionment of monies contained in fund estab-
lished hereunder by state finance council not unconsti-
tutional as being a usurpation of executive powers by the
legislature. State, ex rel., v. Bennett, 222 K. 12, 24, 564
P.2d 1281.

§ 7. Savings clause. (a) All laws in force at
the time of the adoption of this amendment
and consistent therewith shall remain in full
force and effect until amended or repealed by
the legislature. All laws inconsistent with this
amendment, unless sooner repealed or
amended to conform with this amendment,
shall remain in full force and effect until July
1, 1969.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of
the constitution to the contrary, no state su-
perintendent of public instruction or county
superintendent of public instruction shall be
elected after January 1, 1967.

(c) The state perpetual school fund or any
part thereof may be managed and invested as
provided by law or all or any part thereof may
be appropriated, both as to principal and in-
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KANSAS
ASSOCIATION

9‘13 273 3600

TO: House Committee on Education

FROM: Mark Tallman, Director of Governmental Relations
DATE: February 23, 1998

RE: : Testimony on H.B. 2907

Mr. Chairman, Members of the Committee:

KASB believes that the decision to admit non-resident students to a school district should be
made by the board of education of that school district. As we understand H. B. 2907, it would continue
to allow boards to make that decision. We do not have a specific policy position on a board’s ability to
charge tuition. As you know, under the current school finance act, such tuition is simply offset by
reductions in state aid. Therefore, we do not oppose this bill in its current form, if our understanding of
the intent is correct. It might be clearer to simply state that “If such nonresident pupils are permitted to
attend school, no tuition shall be charged.”

We do question whether the new material on lines 19-21 needs to be in statute. We would
suggest that these issues would be better addressed through local board policy.

Thank you for your consideration.

House Education
2-23-98
Attachment 2
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Chairman O’Neal and members of the House Education Committee:

HB 2837 would exempt boarding schools from the current staff/child ratios
that are required by regulation. Currently, boarding schools are considered
boarding homes for children and are required to maintain specific staff/child
ratios as determined by regulation, without consideration of the purpose of
the school or the population being served.

Current staff/child ratios: 1 staff to every 7 children during
waking hours
1 staff to every 10 children during
sleeping hours.

According to Kansas Departinent and Health officials, the above regulations
are designed to regulate homes which provide residential care to children in
the child welfare system, facilities serving the juvenile offender system, and
for homes serving children who need special care and treatment.

HB 2837 would address a concern of over-regulation that has been expressed
to several Salina legisiators by the staff at St. John’s Military School, Salina.
The youngest students at St. John’s are 12 - 13 years old, not the young
children one envisions when reading the statutes which reference child care
facilities. At a cost of $2,000 per month, parents from across the nation
choose to enroll students in this facility for the environment offered by the
school. If the parents were concerned about the staff/child ratios they would
be forcing the school to acquire more staff and/or would find a legal means to
pursue such a ratio.

The changes proposed by House Bill 2837 would maintain health and safety
requirements while allowing boarding schools to determine the staif ratios
which best serve their boarding school settings. This bill would instruct KDHE
to recognize the mission of boarding schools as being one of education rather
than simply care and treatment of children.

House Education
2-23-98
Attachment 3



1 thank you for your consideration of HB 2837 and [ urge your support of this
change which would facilitate the operation of boarding schools while
preserving their interest in maintaining basic health and safety requirements.



KANSAS

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & ENVIRONMENT
BILL GRAVES, GOVERNOR
Gary R. Mitchell, Secretary

Testimony presented to
House Education Committee
by

Gary R. Mitchell
Secretary of Health and Environment

February 23, 1998
House Bill 2837

Mr. Chairman, and members of the committee, thank you for the opportunity to appear before you to discuss
House Bill 2837 and its implications for the Kansas Department of Health and Environment. I am aware of the
different needs of boarding schools in our state who operate board and care programs as an ancillary service to

their educational program. The statutory change proposed by HB 2837 will facilitate the operation of these
boarding schools while preserving their interest in maintaining basic health and safety requirements.

Current KDHE Procedures for Boarding Homes Including Boarding Schools

O Boarding schools are considered boarding homes for children and are required to maintain specific

staff/child ratios as determined by regulation, regardless of the purpose of the school program and the
particular population served.

Changes Proposed by House Bill 2837

a Eliminates a specific staff/child ratio for Boarding Schools whose program is primarily education and not
residential care for children in the state’s custody or residential care for special needs populations.

O Maintains health and safety requiremants.
) Recognizes the unique mission of boarding schools as one of education rather than care and treatment of
children.

I am confident KDHE and boarding schools can continue to work together to ensure that children’s needs are
adequately met. Please consider me a resource for information as you consider this legislation. Thank you for
your time and consideration. I would be pleased to answer any questions from the committee. ‘

900 SW Jackson, Suite 620 Topeka, KS 66612-1290
IR\ 20A_NART Drintad An Damralad Danar TAY (785 26R-A346R
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Statement by E. A. McAlexander
President. St. John's Military School
To the Education Committee of the House of Representatives
Topeka, Kansas
February 23, 1998

Iam E. A. McAlexander and I have been President of St. John's Military School for
almost five years. I grew up in Mayetta, Kansas and spent 27 years in the United States
Navy, retiring in 1992 as a Captain. [ am very grateful for the opportunity to be with you
this afternoon and to speak in favor of the proposed legislation.

St. John's Military School was established in 1887 and will graduate its 110" class this
May. We have a historical association with the Episcopal Church, with an Episcopal
Priest serving as our chaplain, and the Bishop of the Diocese of Western Kansas being an
ex-officio member of our Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees is comprised of 15
members, mostly from the Salina Community, who take an active interest in the school.

St. John’s serves 200 young men in grades 7 through 12. Currently 15% of the cadets are
from Kansas, 35% are from Colorado, and 21 other states are represented. All of the
students live on campus during the normal nine-month school year, they wear uniforms,
and the high school students take Army Junior ROTC courses. We have a wide range of
athletic and extra-curricular programs. The cost to attend St. John’s is approximately
$19,000 per year and the average student will attend for three years.

Although there are several boarding schools in the state which do not have licenses, our
Board of Trustees decided several years ago to accept a few cadets who were in the
custody of SRS. At that time the school was licensed by the Department of Health and
Environment as a Residential Center. The annual inspections associated with that license
have been the most frustrating experiences I have had as President of the school, and
have been a major factor in our decision not to participate in the privatized foster care
program.

One source of contention during these inspections has been the staff to resident ratios
contained in KDHE regulation 28-4-271 (d) 3. It states that “Each facility shall have a
minimum of one child care staff member on duty and available of every seven residents
during waking hours and a minimum of one for every ten during sleeping hours.” This
raises several interesting issues in a boarding school environment, and the following is
one of the more obvious examples.

Depending on the interpretations of this regulation, (and there are several possible
interpretations) we would be required to have 12 to 15 staff members “on duty and
available” while the cadets are asleep. While this might be reasonable in a situation
where the “residents” are very young or behind locked doors, in our case it would be a
waste of resources.

House Education
2-23-98
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As our campus is currently arranged, the cadets sleep in three separate buildings. We
have a minimum of one staff member awake and patrolling in each building while the
cadets are asleep. In addition, we have video cameras and two-way intercom systems
that allow duty personnel to listen and watch for cadets who may need assistance during
the night. This level of supervision should also be adequate to insure appropriate reaction
to a fire, tornado, etc.

[ understand that this regulation applies to any situation in which children under the age
of 16 are boarded over night. This would include youth detention centers, mental health
facilities, etc, where these ratios are appropriate. Our situation, with healthy active boys
who are free to leave their rooms, is totally different and there is no logic in dedicating
that many resources while they sleep. Apparently the inspectors have agreed since our
license has routinely been renewed. However, it has always been a discrepancy on the
inspection sheet requiring a response. [ have asked for a waiver of this requirement
several times without receiving a reply.

The most important motivation for having adequate supervision (and for having an
excellent school) is the demand of the market place. Parents will not enroll a child if they
do not feel he is adequately supervised. We encourage tours of the facility, hold a
Parent’s Weekend in the fall, and have parents visiting the campus almost every
weekend. Several of our cadets have at least one parent who is a lawyer so the possibility
of tort liability is a consideration. In addition, boarding schools are subject to SRS
regulation and investigation concerning adequate supervision, child abuse and neglect. In
short, there are other forces at work besides an arbitrary number in a regulation.

Thank you for your attention, and I strongly recommend that this legislation be passed.

5-2
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SUBSTITUTE FOR HOUSE BILL NO. 2609

By Committee on Education

AN ACT concerning the state board of cosmetology; persons and
practices regulated by the board; amending K.S.A. 65-1904a,
65-1904b, 65-1905, 65-1906, 65-1909, 74-2703 and 74-2704 and
K.S.A. 1997 Supp. 65-1901, 65-1902, 65-1903, 65-1904,
65-1907, 65-1908, 65-1912 and 74-2701 and repealing the

existing sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 1997 Supp. 65-1901 is hereby amended to
read as follows: 65-1901. As used in K.S.A. 65-1901 through
65-1912, and amendments thereto:

(a) "Apprentice" means any person engaged in learning the

practice of cosmetology, manteuring nail technology, esthetics or

electrology in a school of cosmetology, nail technology,
esthetics or electrology licensed by the board, except until such
time as an electrology school is established in this state
apprenticing of electrology will be subject to approval by the
board in a clinic or establishment.

(b) "Board" means the state board of cosmetology.

(c) "Cosmetologist" means any person, other than a
manicurist or esthetician, who practices the profession of
cosmetology for compensation.

(d) "Cosmetology" means the profession of:

(1) Arranging, dressing, permanently curling, curling,

waving, singeingy cleansing, dyeing temporarily or permanently

coloring, conditioning or bobbing cutting the hair;

(2) massaging, cleansing, stimulating, manipulating or
performing similar work on the scalp, face, neck, arms or hands,
by use of either the hands or mechanical or electrical
appliances;
(3) removing superfluous hair from the face or any part of
House Education
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the body by use of either the hands or mechanical or electrical
appliances other than electric needles:

(4) performing facials, skin care, eyebrow and eyelash

services;

t4y (5) wusing cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, lotions,
creams or other preparations in performing any of the practices
described in provisions (d)(1l), (2) and, (3) and (4):

£5 (6) manicuring, pedicuring or sculpturing nails; or

fﬁ}-—perferm&ng—any—ether-beautifying-pracess—on—any—person

(7) performing any other external application intended to

beautify or improve the complexion, skin, nails or hair.

(e) "Esthetician" means any person who, for compensation
practices the profession of cosmetology only to the following
extent:

(1) Performing facials, skin care and eyebrow and eyelash
services; or

(2) removing superfluous hair from the face or body, using
either the hands or mechanical or electrical appliances other
than electric needles.

(£) "Manicurist" means any person who, for compensation
practices the profession of cosmetology only to the extent of
manicuring, pedicuring and sculpturing nails.

(g) "Nail technology" means the--information——-related-—te
manicuring, pedicuring and sculpturing nails.

(h) "Electrologist" means any person who, for compensation
removes hair from, or destroys hair on, the human body for
beautification by use of an electric needle only.

(i) "Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership,
association or other entity.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 1997 Supp. 65-1902 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 65-1902. (a) Except as provided in subsection (b), no
person shall:

(1) Engage in practice of cosmetology, esthetics, manieuring

nail technology or electrology unless the person holds a valid

license, issued by the board, to engage in that practice;
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(2) conduct a school for teaching cosmetology unless the
person holds a valid license, issued by the board, to conduct the
school;

(3) teach cosmetology in a licensed school unless the person
holds a valid cosmetology instructor's 1license issued by the
board;

(4) conduct a school for teaching nail technology unless the
person holds a valid license, issued by the board, to conduct the
school;

(5) teach nail technology in a licensed school unless the
person holds a valid cosmetology or manicuring instructor's
license issued by the board;

(6) conduct a school for teaching electrology unless the
person holds a valid license, issued by the board, to conduct the
school;

(7) teach electrology in a licensed school or clinic unless
the person holds a valid electrology instructor's license issued
by the board;

(8) conduct a school for teaching esthetics unless the
person holds a valid license, issued by the board, to conduct the
school; e=r

(9) teach esthetics in a licensed school unless the person
holds a wvalid cosmetology or esthetics instructor's license
issued by the boards;

(10) own or operate a school, salon or clinic where

cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology or electrology is taught

or practiced unless the person holds a valid school, salon or

clinic license issued by the board; or

(1l1) teach or practice cosmetology, esthetics, nail

technology or electrology in a school, salon or clinic unless the

owner or operator of the school, salon or clinic holds a valid

school, salon or clinic license issued by the board.

(b) The provisions of this act shall not apply to:
(1) Any person licensed as a barber or apprentice barber:

(2) any person licensed to practice medicine and surgery,
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osteopathy, chiropractic, optometry, nursing or dentistry, while

engaged in that practice;
(3) any person who 1is a registered physical therapist or
certified physical therapist assistant while engaged in that

practice; or

(4) any teacher while engaged in instructing elementary or

secondary school students in the proper care of their own
persons.

(c) A person holding a license as a cosmetology technician
on the day immediately preceding the effective date of this act
shall continue to be a 1licensed cosmetology technician and
perform the functions of a cosmetology technician, as such term
was defined immediately prior to the effective date of this act,
and may renew such license subject to the payment of fees and
other conditions and limitations on the renewal of licenses under
article 19 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated and
acts amendatory of the provisions thereof.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 1997 Supp. 65-1903 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 65-1903. (a) Licensed schools may be established and
maintained in this state where the profession of cosmetology may
be taught or acquired, wunder the following conditions and
regulations:

(1) Any person may apply to the board for a license for
conducting a school for the teaching of the profession of
cosmetology. The license shall be granted by the board upon
proper and sufficient showing of competency of the applicant and
assurance of compliance by the applicant with the requirements of
this act, all reasonable rules and regulations adopted by the
board for the proper conduct of the school and all applicable
sanitation standards adopted by the secretary of health and
environment pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1,148 and amendments thereto.
Prior to issuance of the license, the applicant shall pay to the

board the nonrefundable license application fee established under

K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments thereto. School licenses shall be

renewed before July 1 of each year by submitting an application
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and payment of the nonrefundable license renewal fee established

under K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments thereto. No license fee shall
be required of schools operating under the state board of regents
or any tax-supported school. Nothing in this act shall prohibit
any person who is a licensed electrologist, while acting as owner
and manager of the person's clinic or establishment, from
teaching electrology in the regular course of the person's
business, but at no time shall any clinic or establishment have
more than one apprentice or charge tuition for its teaching
services.

(2) Each school 1licensed under this subsection (a) shall
remain under the constant supervision of the board. Each licensed
school at all times shall employ and maintain a sufficient number
of instructors, duly licensed in the practices they teach, to
provide at least one instructor for every 25 students. Each
licensed school shall provide a course of training requiring not
less than 1,500 clock hours of instruction and practice in
preparation for the profession of cosmetology covering a period
of not 1less than nine nor more than 12 months of training for
full-time students. In addition, the school may provide a course
of training of 350 clock hours of instruction and practice in the

profession of manteuring nail technology, and a course of

training of 650 clock hours of instruction and practice in the
profession of esthetics. Such course of training shall include
the practices of cosmetology for all major ethnic groups residing
in the state, and the board shall require by rules and
regulations that each school shall provide instruction for
part-time students who are unable to attend a full schedule of
classes each week because of part-time employment; enrollment in
an accredited public or private school of secondary education by
a student who is pursuing a course of study leading to a diploma
from such school; enrollment in a cooperative industrial training
program, approved by the division of vocational education of the
state department of education, by a student who is working toward

an occupational objective; or the principles or tenets of the
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student's religion preventing full-time attendance. Instruction
of a part-time student shall be completed by the student within
18 months after the student's enrollment in the school.

(b) Any person who teaches the profession of cosmetology in
a licensed school of cosmetology shall be required to obtain a
cosmetology instructor's license from the board. To qualify for a
cosmetology instructor's 1license, the applicant must (1) be
licensed as a cosmetologist under this act, (2) have practiced as
a cosmetologist for one year prior to licensure, with 300 hours
of instructor training, er-have-ebtained-606-hours-of-——instructeor
trainingy (3) pass a cosmetology instructor exam, administered by

the board or the board's designee, and (4) pay the nonrefundable

instructor license application fee established by K.S.A. 65-1904

and amendments thereto. A cosmetology instructor license shall be
renewed every two years by furnishing satisfactory evidence that

the applicant, except the first renewal period following the

effective date of this act for applicants holding a cosmetology

instructor license on the effective date of this act and the

first renewal period following 1licensure for applicants not

holding a cosmetology instructor license on the effective date of

this act, has completed an--additienma:--26 100 clock hours of
continuing education approved by the board in the practice of

cosmetology and teaching ef-cesmeteiegy skills and methods, and

by paying the nonrefundable license renewal fee established by

K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments thereto.

(c) Licensed schools may be established and maintained in
this state where nail technology may be taught or acquired, under
the following conditions and regulations:

(1) Any person may apply to the board for a license for
conducting a school for the teaching of nail technology. The
license shall be granted by the board upon proper and sufficient
showing of competency of the applicant and assurance of
compliance by the applicant with the requirements of this act,
all reasonable rules and regulations adopted by the board for the

proper conduct of the school and all applicable sanitation
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standards adopted by the secretary of health and environment
pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1,148 and amendments thereto. Prior to
issuance of the license, the applicant shall pay to the board the

nonrefundable 1license application fee established under K.S.A.

65-1904 and amendments thereto. School licenses shall be renewed
before July 1 of each year by submitting an application and

payment of the nonrefundable license renewal fee established

under K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments thereto. No license fee shall
be required of schools operating under the state board of regents
or any tax-supported school.

(2) Each school 1licensed under this subsection (c¢) shall
remain under the constant supervision of the board. Each licensed
school at all times shall employ and maintain a sufficient number
of instructors, duly licensed in the practices they teach, to
provide at least one instructor for every 25 students. Each
licensed school shall provide a course of training requiring not
less than 350 clock hours of instruction and practice in
preparation for the profession of manicurist. The board shall
require by rules and regulations that each school shall provide
instruction for part-time students who are unable to attend a
full schedule of c¢lasses each week because of part-time
employment; enrollment in an accredited public or private school
of secondary education by a student who is pursuing a course of
study 1leading to a diploma from such school; enrollment in a
cooperative industrial training program, approved by the division
of vocational education of the state department of education, by
a student who is working toward an occupational objective; or the
principles or tenets of the student's religion preventing
full-time attendance. Instruction of e--part-time--student all
students shall be completed by the student within six months
after the student's enrollment in the school.

(d) Any person who teaches nail technology in a licensed
school of cosmetology or nail technology shall be required to
obtain a manicuring instructor's license from the board, unless

the person holds a valid cosmetology instructor's license issued

-1
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under subsection (b). To qgqualify for a manicuring instructor's
license, the applicant must (1) be licensed as a cosmetologist or
manicurist under this act, (2) have practiced as a manicurist or
cosmetologist for one year prior to licensure, with 300 hours of
instructor training, er--have--obtained-6600-hours-of-instructes
erainingy (3) pass a manicuring instructor exam, administered by

the board or the board's designee and (4) pay am a nonrefundable

instructor license application fee established by K.S.A. 65-1904

and amendments thereto. A manicuring instructor license shall
expire every two years and shall be renewed by furnishing

satisfactory evidence that the applicant, except the Ffirst

renewal period following the effective date of this act for

applicants holding a manicuring instructor license on the

effective date of this act and the first renewal period following

licensure for applicants not holding a manicuring instructor

license on the effective date of this act, has completed ean

additionat—-268 100 clock hours of continuing education, approved

by the board, in the practice of manicuring and teaching ef

manteuring skills and methods and paying the nonrefundable

license renewal fee established by K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments
thereto.

(e) Licensed schools may be established and maintained in
this state where the profession of esthetics may be taught or
acquired, under the following conditions and regulations:

(1) Any person may apply to the board for a license for
conducting a school for the teaching of the profession of
esthetics. The license shall be granted by the board upon proper
and sufficient showing of competency of the applicant and
assurance of compliance by the applicant with the requirements of
this act, all reasonable rules and regulations adopted by the
board for proper conduct of the school and all applicable
sanitation standards adopted by the secretary of health and
environment pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1,148 and amendments thereto.
Prior to issuance of the license, the applicant shall pay to the

board the nonrefundable license application fee established under

(-¥
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K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments thereto. School licenses shall be
renewed before July 1 cof each year by submitting an application

and payment of the nonrefundable license renewal fee established

under K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments thereto. No license fee shall
be required of schools operating under the state board of regents
or any tax-supported school.

(2) Each school licensed under this subsection (e) shall
remain under the constant supervision of the board. Each licensed
school at all times shall employ and maintain a sufficient number
of instructors, duly licensed in the practices they teach, to
provide at least one full-time instructor for every 25 students.
Each licensed school shall provide a course of training requiring
not less than 650 clock hours of instruction and practice in
esthetics.

(f) Any person who teaches esthetics in a licensed school of
cosmetology or esthetics shall be required to obtain an esthetics
instructor's 1license from the board, unless the person holds a
valid cosmetology instructor's license issued under subsection
(b). To qualify for an estheties instructor's 1license, the
applicant must (1) be licensed as a cosmetologist or esthetician
under this act, (2) have practiced as an esthetician or
cosmetologist for one year prior to licensure, with 300 hours of
instructor training, er--have--ebtained-666-hours-ef-instructor
trainingy (3) pass an esthetician instructor exam, administered

by the board or the board's designee and (4) pay ean a

nonrefundable license application fee established by K.S.A.

65-1904 and amendments thereto. An esthetics instructor license
shall expire every two years and shall be renewed by furnishing

satisfactory evidence that the applicant, except the first

renewal period following the effective date of this act for

applicants holding an esthetics instructor license on the

effective date of this act and the first renewal period following

licensure for applicants not holding an esthetics instructor

license on the effective date of this act, has completed an

additionat-28 100 clock hours of continuing education, approved

b-
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by the board, in the practice of esthetics and teaching ef

estheties skills and methods and by paying the nonrefundable

license renewal fee established by K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments
thereto.

(g) Licensed schools may be established and maintained in
this state where the profession of electrology may be taught or
acquired, under the follcwing conditions and regulations:

(1) Any person may apply to the board for a 1license for
conducting a school for the teaching of the profession of
electrology. The license shall be granted by the board upon
proper and sufficient showing of competency of the applicant and
assurance of compliance by the applicant with the requirements of
this act, all reasonable rules and regulations adopted by the
board for the proper conduct of the school and all applicable
sanitation standards adopted by the secretary of health and
environment pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1,148 and amendments thereto.
Prior to issuance of the license, the applicant shall pay to the

board the nonrefundable license application fee established under

K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments thereto. School licenses shall be
renewed before July 1 of each year by submitting an application

and payment of the nonrefundable license renewal fee established

under K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments thereto. No 1license fee
shall be required of schools operating under the state board of
regents or any tax-supported school. Nothing in this act shall
prohibit any person who is a licensed instructor of electrology
or who is and has been for at least three years a licensed
electrologist, while acting as owner and manager of the person's
salon, clinic or establishment, from teaching electrology in the
regular course of the person's business, but at no time shall any
salon, clinic or establishment have more than one apprentice or
charge tuition for its teaching services.

(2) Each school licensed under this subsection (e) shall
remain under the constant supervision of the board. Each
licensed school at all times shall employ and maintain a

sufficient number of instructors, duly licensed in the practices
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they teach, to provide at least one full-time instructor for
every four students. Each licensed school shall provide a course
of training requiring not less than 500 clock hours of
instruction and practice in electrology covering a period of not
less than four months of training for full-time students and not
less than eight months of training for part-time students.

(h) Any person who teaches electrology in a licensed school
of cosmetology or electrology shall be required to obtain an
electrology instructor's license from the board. To qualify for
an electrology instructor's license, the applicant must (1) be
licensed as an electrologist under this act, (2) have practiced
as an electrologist for one year prior to licensure, with 300
hours of instructor training, er--have--ebtained--660--hours-——-of
instructor--trainingy (3) pass an electrology instructor exam,

administered by the board or the board's designee and (4) pay an

a nonrefundable instructor license application fee established

under K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments thereto. Electrology
instructor 1licenses shall expire every two years and may be
renewed by furnishing satisfactory evidence that the applicant,

except the first renewal period following the effective date of

this act for applicants holding an electrology instructor license

on the effective date of this act and the first renewal period

following licensure for applicants not holding an electrology

instructor license on the effective date of this act, has

completed an--additienat--26 100 clock hours of continuing
education, approved by the board, in the practice and teaching of

electrology and paying the nonrefundable license renewal fee

established under K.S.A. $65-1904 and amendments thereto. To teach
in a 1licensed salon, the electrologist is issued a license for
the period of training for the student. To qualify they must: (1)
Be a licensed practicing electrologist for a three-year period

and (2) pay an a nonrefundable instructor license application fee

established under K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments thereto.
(i) Axi--instructors—-heilding-a-vatid-instructorlis-iicense-eon

Becember-317-19957-upon-expiration-of-their-instructoris-iicenses
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shati--have-—-their---instructoris-—-license-—-reneved;——-witheout
examinationy—-by-—paying--the-renewat-fee-for-that-renewat-peried
and-furnishing--satisfactory-——evidence--that--the——appticant——has
compteted--an-additionat-166-ctock-hours-eof-continuing-educations
approved--by--the--boards;--in--the--practice--and---teaching——-of
cosmetotogyr-—maniecuring--or--etectrotogy--as-apprepriate-for-the

instructoris-ticense-heid-by-the-appiicants
t3> The board may adopt through rules and regulations a

curriculum for cosmetology, manieuring nail technology, esthetics

and electrology instructor training to be provided in a licensed
school of cosmetology.

(j) The board may provide by rules and requlations that

instructor licenses may expire less than two vears from the date

of issuance in order for the expiration date of the instructor

license to correspond with the expiration date of the

individual's license to practice cosmetology, nail technology,

esthetics or electrology. In each case in which an instructor

license is issued for a period of time of less than two years,

the board shall prorate the instructor license application fee

from the month of the date of application to the month of the

date of expiration of the license to practice cosmetology, nail

technology, esthetics or electrology.

Sec. 4. K.S.A. 1997 Supp. 65-1904 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 65-1904. (a) Unless revoked for cause, all licenses
of cosmetologists, cosmetclogy technicians, electrologists and
manicurists issued or renewed by the board shall expire on the
expiration dates established by rules and regulations adopted by
the board under this section. Subject to the other provisions of
this subsection, each such licensey-—-other—-than--the--tihree-year
sentor--cosmetotogist--tieense; shall be renewable on a biennial
basis upon the filing of a renewal application prior to the

expiration of the 1licensey and payment of the nonrefundable

license renewal fee established under this section and;--exeept
for--an--apprentice——-iticense;--the--eltectrotogist-1icense-and-the

sentor-cosmetologist-ticensey-for-iicenses-reneved-on——and--after

-T
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guty-—7--199F7;--furnishing-evidence-satisfactory-to-the-board-of
the-compietion-of-a-minimum——of--five--ctock--hours—-annuatiy——of
continuing--education--on-heatth-and-safety-retated-issues—in-the
practice-of-cosmetotogy-epproved-by——the--board--in--the--iicense
category-in-which-the-ticensee-heids-a-ticense-or-if-the-ticensee
hoids-—a--iicense--in-—mﬂre—-than—-one—-category7—in~the-category
speetfied-by-rutes-and-regulations-of-—the--board--for--licensees
hotding--mere--than--ene--licenses——aApplicants—-for—renewal-of-an
etectrotegist-ticense-shati-furnish-—-with--the--bienniat—-renewai
app}ication—-evidence—satisfactory-to—the-beard—of—the—compietien
of-18-ctock-hours-annuatiy-of-continuing-education—on-heatth--and
safety-—reiated——issues—in—eiectroiogist~practice—approved-by—the
board7—En—er&er—to-provide—for—the—estab&ishment—of—a——system—-ef
biennia&-—renewai-—of—iicenses—issued—by—the—board;~the—beard—may
provide-by-rutes-and-regulations-that-ticenses-issued-or—-renewed
may--expire--less——than--two--years—-from-the-date-of-issuanee-or
renevaiv-in-each-case-in-which-a-ticense-is-issued-or-reneyed-for
a—period—QE*time-of-iess—than~two-years7—the—beard—shaii-—prorate
to-the-nearest-whote-monti—the-ticense-or-renewai-fee-estabiished
under-this-section.

(b) Any cosmetologist's, cosmetology technician's,
esthetician's, electrologist's or manicurist's license may be

renewed by the applicant within 96-days six months after the date

of expiration of the applicant's last license upon submission of
proof, satisfactory to the board, of the applicant's
qualifications to renew practice as a cosmetologist, cosmetology

technician, esthetician, electrologist or manicurist, inetuding

the—-—compietion——-of———any—--app}icabie—-—centinu&ng——-education

requirements and payment of the applicable nonrefundable renewal

fee and delinquent fee prescribed pursuant to this section. Any
applicant whose license as a cosmetologist, cosmetology

technician, esthetician, electrologist or manicurist has expired

for more than one--year--prior——to-appiication-for-renewat six
months may obtain a license in the same manner and on payment of

the same nonrefundable fees as provided for an applicant for an
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original license en-and-sfter-duiy-i;-19967-and-upon—-preof-—that
such——--appticant---has--satisfactoriiy——-compieted--a—-program——ef
continuing-education-required-by-the-board-for——appiicants--whose
Ticenses-have-expired.

fc&——At——the——time-—af——app&ieation—-for-—i&cense——renewa}7—a
cosmetotogist-iicensed-in-this-state-may-appiy-to-the--board--and
quaiify—fof—a—three-year-senier-eesmetoiogist-iicense—byr

tiy-—Paying-the-fee-required-by-this-seections

faf——showing——evidence—-satisfactory——to-—the—board—of—having
been-actuatiy-employed-in-a-iicensed-saten-er-iicensed-schooli—-for
not-iess-than-126-days-during-the-preceding-three-years«

t3)--on--and--after--guity--17---19967-—-furnishing---evidence
satisfactory--to--the--board-ef-the-compietion-of-a-minimum-o£-15
ctock-hours-triennially-of-continuing--education--on——heatth--and
safety-—reiated—issues-in~the-practice~ef—cosmeteicgy—approved—by
the-board;—and

t4)y-——furnishing--evidence--satisfactory-—to--the-——board-—-of
attendance--of--46--ctock-—hours——of--courses--of——instruction—in
cosmetotogy-approved-by-the-board:

tdy (c) Any applicant for a license other than a renewal
license shall make a verified application to the board on such

forms as the board may require and, upon payment of the license

application fee and the examination fee shall be examined by the

board or their appointees and shall be issued a license, if found
to be duly qualified to practice the profession of cosmetclogist,
esthetician, electrologist or manicurist.
fe}-f&i--ﬂxcept-as-otherwiae—provided-in--this——sectien;—-the
board——shaiiw—require——evefy—~iicensee-—in-the—active—practéce—ef
cosmetoiegy—within—the—state—to-submit-evidence-—of-—satisfactery
compietion——of-—a——programrof—continuing—education—required-under
this—sectionr—Such—evidence-sha}i-be—made—in—writing-—in——a—-ferm
required-—by—the-board:—?he—boar&—sha}}-require—every—}icensee—in
the-active-practice-of-cosmetotegy-within-the-state——to-——remit——a
continuing-—education——fee-to—the—board-in-an—amount-fixed~by-the

boardr-The—beard—shai}—adopt—ruies—and——reguiat&ons——estabiishing

fp- 14
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the--program--ef--continuing--education--in--accordance-with-this
section-as-soon-as-possibie-after-the-effective-date-of-this-acer
in-estabiishing-such-requirements-the-board--shati--consider—-any
existing-programs-ef-centinuing-eduecation-currentiy-being-offered
to-ticensees-of-the-boards
t2y--Ffo——-gquatify--as-—-an--approved--provider--ef--centinuing
edueation--offerings;--persens;—-organizations——-or—--institutions
proposing--to--previde--such-continuing-education-offerings-shati
appty-to-the-beard-for-apprevat--and--submit--evidence--that——the
appiicant—-is——prepared--to——meet—-the-standards—an&—reéuirements
estabiished-by-the-rutes-and-reguiations—-of-the--board--for--sueh
continuing--education--offeringss—-Initiat--apptications-shati-be
made-in-writing-on-forms-suppltied--by--the--board--and--shalti--be
submitted—te—the—board-together—with—the—app}ication—fee—fixe&—by
the——boardr——euaiification—-as—an-approved—provider—of-continuing
eéucation—offerings-shaii—expire—five—years—after—the—granting—of
such—apprcvai-by-the-boardr—An—approved——provider-—of--aontinuing
education--offerings--shati--submit-—-annuatiy--to--the-—-board-the
continuing—education—pregram—apprcvai—fee——estabiished—"by-—ru}es
and--regutations;--ateng-with-an-annuat-report-of-its—educationat
programs—-for-the-previous-£fiscai-years-Appiications—-for--renewal
as-—an--approved-—-provider-—of-continuing-education-offerings-and
annuai-reports-shati-be-made-in-writing-en-forms-supptied-by-—-the
board--and--shati--be--submitted--to--the-board-tegether-with—the
apptication-fee-fixed-by-ihe-boards
fBi—-The—boar&—shaii-estab&ish-an—inactive--}icensem—eategory
and--may--waive--the--coni:inuing--education--requirements-for—the
renevai-of-a-license-and-piace-a-iicensee-on-inactive-status—-if-a
ticensee-is-not-engaged-in-or-has-retired-frem—-practice—-—-er——has
become-temporarity-or-pernanentiy-disabied-and-the-licensee—-£ites
with-the-board—a-certifieate—stating—either-of—the—foiiowingr
tAy——A--retiring--iicensee-——-certifies——-to--the-board-that—the
ticensees
fif——Has-retired-fremm-the——active——practice——of-—cosmetoiegy

servieces—or
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tiiy--is--net--engaged-—in--the--previsien-of-any-cosmetotegy

service—as-defined-by-the-statutes-of-the-state-of-Kansass-or
{tBy——a-disabted-ticensee-certifies-to——the--beard--that--such
ticensee-is—no-tonger-engaged-in-the-provision-of-any-cosmetotegy
service--as--defined--by--the--statutes—-ef-the-state-of-Kansas-by
reasen-—-of-—any--physicat--disabitity;——-whether---permanent———or
temporaryy-—and-shati-describe-the-nature-of-such-disabitity<-—Fhe
watver—--of--continuning--education--under--this——subseection--shalti
continue-so-teng-as-the-retirement-or-physicat-disabitity-exists<
Prior-to-returning-to-active-practice-£for-which-a-person-hoids-an
inaetive-ticense;-such-persen-shati-comptete-20--ecteck——hours—-of
continuing-—education——approved--by--the--board--in--the--ticense
category-in-which-the-ticensee-hotds-a-license-or-if-the-iicensee
hoids--a--iticense--in—-mere——than--one-—categoery;—in-the-category
specified-by-rutes-and-regutations-of-—-the--board--for--ticensees
hotding-more-than-one-ticenses—Fhe-board-shati-establish-by-rutes

and-reguitations-a-procedure-to-activate-an-inactive-ticensex
t£y (d) The board is hereby authorized to adopt rules and

regulations fixing the amount of nonrefundable fees for the

following items and to charge and collect the amounts so fixed,
subject to the following limitations:

Aetive Cosmetologist license er--renewat application

fee' fOI’ tWO Years--n()t more than........-----... $60
Inactive--cosmetotogist--Iicense-—-er-renewat;—for-twe

yeafS"""’ﬂOt’-IHOfe_thaﬂm.....-....-...----..-....... 39
Cosmetologist license renewal fee....sceeecscssacescs 60
Delinquent cosmetologist iiecense renewal fe€...eeeesn 4 25
Cosmetology technician license renewal fee, for two

Years__not more than-liilli'lI.....l'll'llll‘l'l. 393_5
Delinquent cosmetology technician renewal fee........ 25
Electrologist license er-remewal application fee, for

two years--not more thaNiwssessvsnsssnsnsnsisisis 36 35
Electrologist license renewal fe€...vevveosccccscccns 35
Delinquent electrologist iieense renewal fe€...eees.. 4 25

Senior--cosmetotegist——-iicense--or-renewat;—-for-three
b9 et -1 5t L1 oL - S 45

Manicurist license renewsi--or--renewa:t application
fee, for two years—-not more than....ceecceceseen 24 30
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Manicurist license renewal Fee....eeeeccccoccoccnscens

Delinquent manicurist Iicerse renewal FEC.eeeeecececeess

Esthetician license er-renewal application fee, for
two years—=-not more Lhal.iissiiceccsssssssccmessss

Esthetician license renewal Fe@..o.eoeoccsssococcessss

Delinguent esthetician fieense renewal fee€...........

Any apprentice license application fee--not more than

Additionat-training-iicense--—not-more—tham...........

New school license application FEe..eeeeeoooeecesesss

School license renewal fee--not more thaN............
Delinquent school license fee--not more than.........

New cosmetology services salon or electrology clinic
license application fee--not more than...........

Cosmetology services sazlon or electrology clinic
license renewal fee--not more ERAN i v w50 6 506 90 5 3 4

Delinquent cosmetology services salon or electrology
Clinic 1ICENSE IeNEWAL FEC..ovoeencoocconnnoens,.

Pransfer-of-saton-or-etectrotegy-ctinie--ticense-——-net
more-thanlll.-.I.Illl.l!...'l‘..!ulll.....llll.!l

Cosmetologist's examination--not more than...........
€osmetotogy-technicianls-examination-—net-mere-than. .
Electrologist's examination--not more than...........
Manicurist's examination--not more thaNeescssncsnsnane
Esthetician examination--not more CREN oo 0w 5 w0 00w w50
Instructor's examination--not more than.......c..e....

Out-of-state———-examinations Reciprocity application
fee_—not more than.-......-....----.....-....-.-..

But-ef-state-affidavits Verification of licensure....

Any duplicate Of 1iCeNnSe...eeeeveeueroescconosnesonees

Instructor's license er-renmewa: application fee, for
two years—--not more L= 2 ¥« B

Renewal of instructor's license FeCsnnnnnsmsssnonsss
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tg> (e) Whenever the board determines that the total amount
of revenue derived from the fees collected pursuant to this
section 1is insufficient to carry out the purposes for which the
fees are collected, the board may amend its rules and regulations
to increase the amount of the fee, except that the amount of the
fee for any item shall not exceed the maximum amount authorized
by this subsection. Whenever the amount of fees collected
pursuant to this section provides revenue in excess of the amount
necessary to carry out the purposes for which such fees are
collected, it shall be the duty of the board to decrease the
amount of the fee for one or more of the items 1listed in this
subsection by amending the rules and regulations which fix the
fees.
thy (f) Any person who failed to obtain a renewal license
while in the armed forces of the United States shall be entitled
to a renewal license upon filing application and paying the

nonrefundable renewal fee for the current year during which the

person has been discharged on and after July 1, 19967--and--upen
proof——that~sueh—appiicant—has-satisfactoriiy—cempieted-a-program
of-cont&nuing—educatien-required——by——the-—beard——for——appiicants
under—this-subsection.

(g) Any person who was formerly licensed as a cosmetologist,

a_ cosmetology technician, an esthetician, an electrologist or a

manicurist and whose license expired on or after July 1, 1996,

and was not renewed may obtain reinstatement of the license until

July 1, 1999, upon application to the board and upon pavyvment of

the applicable delinquent renewal fee.

(h) Any person who is currently licensed as a cosmetologist,

cosmetology technician, esthetician, electrologist or manicurist

on inactive status shall be deemed licensed on active status.

Upon application for renewal of the license as provided in rules

and regqulations, the person shall be issued a license which does

not indicate inactive status. Prior to application for renewal

of the license and upon request to the board, such person may

obtain a license which does not indicate inactive status.

(-8
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Sec. 5. K.S.A. 65-1904a is hereby amended to read as

follows: - 65-1904a. Any licensed cosmetologist, esthetician,

electrologist, manicurist, or person desiring to establish a
salon or «clinic shall make application, on a form provided, to
the Kansas state board of cosmetology, accompanied by the new
salon or clinic license fee established under K.S.A. 65-1904 and
amendments thereto. Upon filing of the application, the board
shall inspect the equipment as to safety and sanitary condition
of the premises and if the equipment and premises are found to
comply with the rules and regulations of the secretary of health
and environment and the rules and regulations of the Kansas state
board of cosmetology, the board shall issue a new salon or clinic
license. Nothing herein contained shall be construed as
preventing any licensed person from practicing cosmetology or
electrology in a private home or residence if the home or
residence complies with rules and regulations of the secretary

and the state board. Licensed salons and clinics may be

reinspected in accordance with a schedule determined by the board

by rules and regulations or upon a complaint made to the board

that such salon or clinic is not being maintained in compliance

with rules and regulations of the board. The license shall expire

on June 30 following its issuance. Any such license may be
renewed upon application accompanied by the salon or clinic
license renewal fee made to the board before July 1 of the year
in which the license expires. Any ecertifieate license may be
renewed by the applicant within 60 days after the date of
expiration of the last ecertifieate license upon payment of a
delinquent renewal fee.

Sec. 6. K.S.A. 65-1904b is hereby amended to read as
follows: 65-1904b. (a) Upon application to the Kansas state board
of cosmetology on a form provided for application for a

cosmetologist, cesmetetogy-technieian; esthetician, electrologist

or manicurist license, accompanied by the examinatien application

fee, a person practicing as a cosmetologist, ecesmeteiegy

technietan esthetician, electrologist or manicurist under the
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laws of another state or jurisdiction shall be granted a license

entitling the person to practice in this state if:

(1) The person is not less than 17 years of age and a

graduate of an accredited high school, or equivalent thereof:;

(2) the person submits to the board a-ecertified-cepy-eof-the

perseonts-birth-certificate verification of date of birth:

(3) the person submits to the board a written statement from

a person licensed to practice medicine and surgery under the laws

of any state showing that the person is free from infectious or

contagious disease; and
(4) the person meets at least one of the following criteria:

(A) The person's training and qualifications, including

examination requirements, are equal to the requirements for

licensure in this state; or
(B) the person has been licensed in the-ether—--state--fer--a
period-of-at-least-one-year-immediately-preceding-appltiecation-for

tieensure-—in--this--states-—-or a state or jurisdiction which has

substantially the same requirements for licensure as this state.

t€y——the-person-satisfactority-passes-an-oerat-examination——ox
demonseration-required-by-the-board-

(b) The renewal of a license issued pursuant to this section
shall be in the manner provided in K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments
thereto.

Sec. 7. K.S.A. 65-1905 is hereby amended to read as follows:
65-1905. (a) All examinations held or conducted by the board
shall be in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by the
board. The examinations shall include practical demenstrations
and written and-era: tests.

(b) Each applicant for licensure by examination shall:

(1) Be at least 17 years of age and a graduate of an
accredited high school, or equivalent thereof;-er-be-at-ieast--25
years—-of-age;

(2) submit to the board a-certified-copy-of-the-appiticantis

birth-certificate verification of date of birth;

(3) submit to the board a eertifiecate written statement from

(- 10



7 RS 2262
_21_
a person licensed to practice medicine and surgery under the laws
of any state showing that the applicant is free from contagious
and infectious diseases; and
(4) have served as an apprentice for the period of time
provided by K.S.A. 65-1912,
(c) Any person making application who apparently possesses
the necessary qualifications to take an examination provided

herein, upon application and payment of the nonrefundable

temporary permit fee, may be issued a temporary permit by the

board to practice cosmetology until the next regular examination
conducted by the board.

Sec. 8. K.S.A. 65-1906 is hereby amended to read as follows:
65-1906. Aii--ecertificates-of-registrationy-iicenses-and-permits
tssued-by-said-beardr;-pursuant-te-this-aecty-shati-be-kept--posted
in-a-conspictous-ptace-in-the-shepr;-estabiishment-or-schoni-where

the--hoider--thereof--is—-emptoyed--or-werkings (a) Each licensed

cosmetologist, esthetician, manicurist, electrologist and

instructor shall display such person's license in a conspicuous

place in the salon, clinic or school where the holder thereof is

employed or working.

(b) Each holder of a salon, clinic or school license shall

display the 1license and most recent inspection report in a

conspicuous place in the salon, clinic or school.

Sec. 9. K.S.A. 1997 Supp. 65-1907 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 65-1907. The chairperson, with the approval of the
board, shall employ inspectors to inspect schools, salons and
clinics and the inspectors shall perform all of the inspection
duties of the board, as required by this act, rules and
regulations of the board and sanitation standards adopted by the
secretary of health and environment pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1,148

and amendments thereto. The board shall provide training to the

inspectors £o enable the inspectors to provide current

information to school, salon and clinic personnel regarding

requirements of applicable statutes and requlations. It shall be

the duty of the board to determine the number of hours and

(=LA
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practice work required of students in each subject of
cosmetology, nail technology, esthetics and electrology taught in
a licensed school.

Sec. 10. K.S.A. 1997 Supp. 65-1908 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 65-1908. (a) The state board of cosmetology may
revoke any license provided for by this act, may censure, 1limit
or condition any license or may refuse to issue, renew or suspend

any license or assess a fine, not to exceed $1,000 per violation,

for any of the following reasons:

(1) Failure to comply with the sanitary requirements
prescribed by the secretary of health and environment pursuant to
K.S.A. 65-1,148 and amendments thereto;

(2) failure to comply with any provision of this act, with

the rules and regulations of the board of cosmetology or with any

order issued by the board;

(3) habituai--drunkenness——er--drug--addietion has become a

danger to the public by reason of alcohol or drug abuse;

(4) conviction of a felony7-but-sueh--ceonviction——-shaii-—-net

autematicaiiy-—operate-as-a-bar-to-tiecensure unless the applicant

or licensee is able to demonstrate to the board's satisfaction

that such person has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant

the public trust;

(5) the obtaining of, or the attempt to obtain, a license by
fraudulent misrepresentation or bribery;

(6) advertising by means of false or knowingly deceptive
matter or statement;

(7) failure to display the annual 1license or inspection
report as provided for in this act; or

t8y-—faiiure;—after-duty-17-19967-te-compty--with-—appticabie
continuing--education-requirements-while-aectiveiy-engaging-in-the
practice-of-cosmetotogy;-or

t9% (8) being found guilty of gross negligence or
unprofessional conduct as defined by rules and regulations of the
board.

(b) The board may order the remedying of any violations of

(11
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rules and regulations of the board or any statutes-pertaining--te

t¢ provision of this act, and the board may issue a cease and

desist order upon board determination that the holder of a

license has violated any order of the board, any rules and

regulations of the board or any provision of this act.

(c) Inspectors employed by the board shall have such powers
as the board may prescribe by rules and regulations to make
inspections, investigations, and inquiries, except that a
permanent order for closing any establishment licensed by the
board shall be issued only by the board.

(d) All proceedings under this section shall be conducted in
accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative
procedure act.

Sec. 11. K.S.A. 65-1909 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 65-1909. (a) No person shall:

(1) Knowingly employ an individual to engage in any activity
for which a license is required pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1902 and
amendments thereto unless such individual holds a currently valid
sttehh license issued to such individual;

(2) violate any order or ruling of the state board of
cosmetology;

(3) fail or refuse to comply with rules and regulations
prescribed by the board or applicable sanitation standards
adopted by the secretary of health and environment pursuant to
K.S.A. 65-1,148; or

(4) violate any of the provisions of article 19 of chapter
65 of Kansas Statutes Annotated.

(b) Violation of subsection (a) is a misdemeanor punishable
by a fine of not 1less than $10 nor more than $100, or by
imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 10 days nor
more than 90 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

(c) The board may bring an action to enjoin any person from

practicing or teaching cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology or

electrology or from operating a salon, clinic or school if such

person does not hold a currently valid license. If the court

(-5



7 RS 2262
-

finds that such person is wunlawfully teaching or practicing

cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology or electrology or

operating a salon, clinic or school without a currently valid

license, the court shall enter an injunction restraining such

person from such unlawful acts.

Sec. 12. K.S.A. 1997 Supp. 65-1912 is hereby amended to read
as follows: 65-1912. (a) Any person desiring to practice as an
apprentice shall be required to pay to the board the fee required
pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1904 and amendments thereto and obtain an
apprentice license from the board. Application for an apprentice
license allowing a person to practice in a licensed school shall
be submitted to the board not more than 15 days after the
person's enrollment in the school.

(b) (1) An applicant for examination and 1licensure as a
cosmetologist shall be required to have practiced as an
apprentice in a licensed school for not less than 1,500 clock
hours.

(2) An applicant for examination and 1licensure as an
esthetician shall be required to have practiced as an apprentice
in a licensed school for not less than 650 clock hours.

(3) An applicant for examination and licensure as a
manicurist shall be required to have practiced as an apprentice
in a 1licensed school of cosmetology or nail technology for not
less than 350 clock hours.

(4) An applicant for examination and 1licensure as an
electrologist shall be required to have practiced as an
apprentice in a licensed school of cosmetology or electrology for
not less than 500 clock hours or in a licensed clinic or
establishment for not 1less than 1,000 clock hours of training.
The duration of practice as an apprentice in a clinic or
establishment must be in the clinic or establishment in which
practice was commenced, except that the board may permit, upon
written application and for good cause, the transfer of the
apprentice to another clinic or establishment for completion of

the term of apprenticeship. Any licensed cosmetologist who is

(-2
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practicing electrology in a licensed clinic or establishment on
July 1, 1987, may apply for and be issued an electrologist's
license without examination.

(c) No apprentice shall make any charge for the apprentice's
services, but a licensed school of cosmetology, electrology or
nail technology or a proprietor of a 1licensed clinic or
establishment in which an apprentice of electrology practices may
charge for services of the apprentice.

(d) For purposes of subsection (b), a person is not required

to have practiced as an apprentice continuously or without

interruption in obtaining the required number of hours.

Sec. 13. K.S.A. 1997 Supp. 74-2701 is hereby amended to read

as follows: 74-2701. (a) There is hereby created the Kansas state

board of cosmetology, which shall be composed of £ive seven

members, appointed by the governor, to regulate the practice of
the profession of cosmetology in Kansas. Subject to the
provisions of K.S.A. 75-4315c and amendments thereto, a member

shall be appointed from each congressional district and the

remainder from the state at large. Not more than three four

members shall be of the same political party. $Pwe Four members
shall be licensed operators—-of--a—-shep——and--shaiti--aise—-be
registered--cosmetotogistss—-two--members--shaiti--be---registered

cosmetologists; one member shall be a licensed permanent color

technician and tattoo artist or a licensed body piercer; and ene

member two members shall represent the general public interest,

except that no manufacturer, wholesaler or retailer of cosmetic
supplies or equipment used by the profession of cosmetology, or
any representative of such manufacturer, wholesaler or retailer,
shall become a member of the boardy—ner-shaiti-any-two-members-of
the-beard-be-graduates—-of-the-same-system——or--scheoi--of—-beanty
cutture.

(b) Each member of the board shall serve a term of three
years, and until a successor 1is appointed and qualifies. The
board shall annually select a chairperson from its membership.

(c) The beard--eof--cosmetotegy governor shall appoint an
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executive director who shall serve at the pleasure of the beard
governor. The executive director shall also be the treasurer of
the board and shall keep a record of the proceedings and perform
such other duties as the board shall direct. Phe-executive
director-shaii-be-a-practicing-cosmetotogist-and--have--the--same
educationat-quatifications-which-are-required-of-an-instructor—of
cosmetotogys

(d) When a vacancy occurs by death or resignation,
appointees to the board shall have the prescribed qualifications.
All vacancies in the board shall be filled by the governor for
the unexpired terms. The members of the board shall take the oath
of office prescribed for public officers before entering upon the
discharge of their duties.

tey-—Ffhe-—-board--eof-cosmetotegy-shati-have-an-advisery-member
appointed-by-the-governor-whe—-shati-be-quatified-in-the-—area——of
permanent--cotor--technotogy-and-tattoeoing-or—in-the-area-eof-bedy
péercingr——Such*member—shaii-serve—fer—a-term-cf—three—years——and
untit--a--sucecessor--is--appointed--and--quatified:--Fhe-advisery
member-may-attend-board-meetingsy--but--shali--net——be--a--voting
member-of-the-board~

Sec. 14. K.S.A. 74-2703 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 74-2703. It shall be the duty of such board to meet at
least twice each year, and at such times and places as it may
deem advisable, and shall at such times hold examinations of such
applicants as shall have applied for registratien licensure.

Sec. 15. K.S.A. 74-2704 1is hereby amended to read as
follows: 74-2704. All fees and payments required to be paid by
applicants for examinations or licenses, shall be paid to the
executive director of the Kansas state board of cosmetology or

the board's designee. The executive director, or the board's

designee, shall remit all moneys received by-er-fer-him-eor—her
from fees, charges or penalties to the state treasurer at least
monthly. Upon receipt of any such remittance the state treasurer
shall deposit the entire amount thereof in the state treasury.

Twenty percent <¢28%) of each such deposit shall be credited to

AT
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the state general fund and the balance shall be credited to the
cosmetology fee fund. All expenditures from such fund shall be
made in accordance with appropriation acts upon warrants of the
director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers
approved by the executive director or by a person or persons
designated by him-ex-her the board.

Sec. 16. K.S.A. 65-1904a, 65-1904Db, 65-1905, 65-1906,
65-1909, 74-2703 and 74-2704 and K.S.A., 1997 Supp. 65-1901,
65-1902, 65-1903, 65-1904, 65-1907, 65-1908, 65-1912 and 74-2701
are hereby repealed.

Sec. 17. This act shall take effect and be in force from and

after its publication in the Kansas register.
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