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MINUTES OF THE SENATE FEDERAL AND STATE AFFAIRS.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Senator Lana Oleen at 11:12 a.m. on January 28, 1999 in
Room 254-E of the Capitol.

All members were present:

Committee staff present: Russell Mills, Legislative Research Department
Theresa Kiernan, Revisors of Statutes
Judy Glasgow, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Carla Stovall, Attorney General
Rae Ann Davis, Legislative Research Department
Don Myer, Kansas Commission of Veterans Affairs

Others attending: See Attached Sheet

Chairman Oleen noted that over the last year a special task force, established by the Attorney General, had
looked at a number of issues regarding alcohol and driving and as a result of that task force Carla Stovall,
Kansas Attorney General, would like to introduce several bills in this committee.

Carla Stovall ask for bill introduction of the Far-reaching Alternation of Traffic and Alcohol Laws (FATAL)
Task Force. There are nine different bills that are to be introduced this Legislative Session

as aresult of the study. (Attachment 1). There were three reasons for the formation of the task force 1) there
is no point in time and no particular number of DUI’s where the drivers license will not be returned; 2)the
number one complain of law enforcement officers in the state is administrative hearings for DUT’s and 3)
based on a personal case history.

1. DUI criminal Penalties and Administrative Sanctions to be increased across the board. This would take
away the 5 year window that a drivers history are looked - She indicated it should be a life time of driving;
there should be a penalty for risking a child’s safety; a penalty for refusal to take a breath, blood or urine test;
DUI diversions would be limited to one per lifetime; and standardized journal entry required to be completed
by all municipal and district courts on all misdemeanor DUI convictions.

2. Aggravated Battery when fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer or boating under the influence.

3. DUI by any person less than 21 years of age

4. Boating and DUI change BAC standard, Add .02 BAC standard for persons under 21 and submit to PBT
test

5. Administrative hearing issues to clarify that The testing equipment and persons is certified
6. Impoundment and/or immobilization required for arrest for driving while suspended and while revoked

7. Alcohol and drug driver education minimum of four hours of alcohol and drug education required before
driver’s license can be issued.

8. Alcohol server training mandates mandatory alcohol training for all employees and managers of state
licensed establishments which include retail liquor stores, restaurants, clubs and bars

9. KEG registration require all kegs and other large containers of alcoholic or cereal malt beverages be
registered when purchased in order to assist in identifying persons illegally purchasing



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON FEDERAL AND STATE AFFAIRS, Room 254-E
Statehouse, at 11:12 a.m. on January 28, 1999.

Senator Jones requested information on the 6" bill, the vehicle impounded would only the driver’s vehicle
not a vehicle belonging to another person.

Senator Harrington inquired about the costs of item 7, concerning driver education on alcohol and drugs.
Attorney General Stovall stated that this would be charged to the person applying for the license.

Senator Biggs moved that the introduction of the bills. The motion was seconded by Senator Vratil. Motion
carried.

Senator Oleen requested the introduction of a bill on legislative compensation and benefits which addresses
the issue of the current retirement system replacing it with a deferred compensation plan; a salary increase
for legislators, and constitute a voucher allowance per month for constituent services when not in session
Senator Becker moved for introduction of the bill. Senator Vratil seconded the motion. Motion carried..

Chairman Oleen introduced Rae Anne Davis, Legislative Research, who presented the Interim Report of the
Joint Committee on State Building Construction Study Topic need for state-operated veterans cemetery (A
copy of the report is availabale at Legislative Research Department), and a background information on
veterans cemetery topic (Attachment 2).  This topic was the result of several individual legislators who
concerned about the lack of burial space available in existing cemeteries designated for veterans. The
conclusion of the committee was to introduce legislation that would authorize the Kansas Commission of
Veterans Affairs to develop a plan to establish, operate and administer one of more state veterans cemeteries
in Kansas. The result of this study was the introduction of SB 19.

There are several types of veterans cemeteries; national cemeteries for veterans, which any honorably
discharged veteran with wartime service is eligible; Military Cemeteries run by the Department of Defense
which are open only to those who die while on active duty or to military retirees; and state veterans’
cemeteries, which are open to veterans, spouses, and eligible dependents.. Kansas has two national
cemeteries: one at Leavenworth and one at Fort Scott. There are two military cemeteries; Fort Riley which
will close in mid-1999 and Fort Leavenworth..

The Joint Committee on State Building Construction ask the Kansas Commission on Veterans Affairs
(KCVA) to look at this issue and report back to the committee on a state veterans cemetery for the state of
Kansas. The KCVA reported that one of the factors that they considered was that although the VA picks up
100 percent of the cost of construction through a grant, the state must pick up the cost of staffing and
operating costs of the cemetery. The KCVA’s recommendation estimates that a minimum of four sites would
be necessary to provide interment services to eligible veterans in areas note presently served by the national
veterans cemetery system. The proposed locations would be at the Kansas Soldier’s Home at Ft. Dodge, the
Kansas Veterans Home at Winfield, Fort Riley and an undetermined location in northwestern part of the state.
One would be opened each year beginning with the year 2000. The first would be opened at Fort Dodge in
the FY 2000; the second at Fort Riley, the third at Winfield and the fourth at the northwest location.

Don Myer said that the state did have a state veteran cemetery at Fort Dodge presently, it does not participate
in the VA State veterans program

In response to a question from Senator Becker concerning the number of people to be buried each year in
these cemeteries; Don Myer, Commissioner of the KCVA stated that it is expected that there will be 5,000
to 6,000 veterans deaths each year for the next 5 years and then it will drop off rapidly. In other states that
have state veterans cemeteries twenty five percent of qualified veterans use the cemeteries, but in Kansas he
would expect about twenty % of those veterans to utilize these facilities. This will be about 1100 to

1200 veterans using the cemeteries per year.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted

to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 2



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON FEDERAL AND STATE AFFAIRS, Room 254-E,
Statehouse, at 11:12 a.m. on January 28, 1999.

Questions concerning choice of locations for the state veterans cemeteries and eligibility for use of cemeteries
were expressed by committee members. Don Myer stated that the availability of state land and fact that state
employees would already be available to operate and maintain the system were taken into consideration in
the selection of sites.

Chairman Oleen asked for committee action on approving minutes for the committee Meeting on January 25.

Senator Harrington moved that the minutes be approved. Senator Biggs seconded the motion. The motion
passed.

The meeting adjourned at 11:55 a.m. The next meeting of the committee is scheduled for February 1, 1999.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted

to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 3
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State of Ransas

®ffice of the Attorney General

301 S.W. 10th Avenue, Topeka 66612-1597

CARLA J. STOVALL Attorney General Carla Stovall’s MAI PHONE: (785) 296-2215
ATTORNEY GENERAL Far-reaching Alteration of Traffic and Alcohol Laws T?xy 296{_3%%67
(FATAL) Task Force
Criminal:

Brian Leininger, Kansas Highway Patrol, Topeka
Brad Ambrosier, Attorney, Elkhart

Tim Holmes, Russell County Sheriff, Russell

Don Kaufman, Moundridge

Terry Malone, Dodge City City Attorney, Dodge City
Craig Spomer, Wabaunsee County Attorney, Alma
Max Sutherland, MADD, Topeka

Administrative:

Mike Watson, Wichita Police Chief, Wichita

Jim Keller, Department of Revenue, Topeka

Mary Ann Khoury, DUI Victim Center of Kansas, Wichita

Sergeant Charlie Kohler, Kansas Highway Patrol, Salina

Senator Lana Oleen, Manhattan

Honorable John Sanderson, District Court Judge, Emporia

Stan Sutton, Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Topeka

Prevention:

Rosalie Thornburgh, Bureau of Traffic Safety, Topeka

Captain Gayle Beth, Kansas City Police Department, Kansas City

R.E. “Tuck” Duncan, Topeka

Representative David Haley, Kansas City

Gene Johnson, Sunflower Alcohol Safety Action Project, Inc., Topeka
David Nance, City Council, Pittsburg

Rick Wilborn, Alliance Insurance, McPherson

Staff:

Juliene Maska, Victims’ Rights Coordinator, Topeka

Jane Nohr, Assistant Attorney General, Topeka

Nancy Lindberg, Assistant to the Attorney General, Topeka Sen. Federal & State Affairs Comut
Date: /— 25-79
Attachment: # /—/



ODffice of the Attorney General

301 S.W. 10th Avernue, Topeka 66612-1597

CARLA J. STOVALL

ATTORNEY GENERAL

ATTORNEY GENERAL CARLA STOVALL’S

MAIN PHONE: (785) 296-2215
Fax: 296-6296
TTY: 291-3767

FAR-REACHING ALTERATION OF TRAFFIC AND ALCOHOL LAWS TASK FORCE
LEGISLATIVE RECOMMENDATIONS

JANUARY 1999
L. A. DUI Criminal Penalties and Administrative Sanctions
Current Proposed

1** CONVICTION w/i 5 yrs: B Misdemeanor

Criminal:
48 hrs - 6 months jail or
100 hrs community service
$200 - $500 fine
Complete ADSAP educ. or treatment

Administrative:
License suspended 30 days/and restricted
330 days for test failure
License suspended 1 yr for refusal
License reinstatement fee $50

2nd CONVICTION w/i 5 yrs: A Misdemeanor
Criminal: 7
48 hrs + 3 days work release - 1 yr
(90 days minimum sentence)

$500 - $1,000 fine

Ignition interlock required if BAC
is .15 or above after admin.
suspension expires

1# CONVICTION in lifetime B Misdemeanor

48 hrs- 6 months jail or
100 hrs community service
$500 - $1,000 fine
Complete ADSAP educ. or treatment

License suspended 30 days/and restricted
330 days for test failure

License suspended for 1 yr for refusal

License reinstatement fee $200

2" CONVICTION in lifetime A Misdemeanor

10 days - 1 yr (90 days minimum sentence)
Work release/house arrest permitted after
10 days.

$1,000 - $1,500 fine

Ignition interlock required if BAC is .15
or above after admin. suspension expires



No treatment required unless Mandatory inpatient or outpatient

released on probation/parole treatment (not education)
Administrative:
License suspended 1 yr for failure License suspended 1 yr for failure
License suspended 1 yr for refusal License suspended 2 yrs for refusal
License reinstatement fee $50 License reinstatement fee $400

3rd CONVICTION w/i 5 yrs:Felony crime(nongrid) 3 CONVICTION in lifetime

Criminal:
48 hrs + 88 days work release - 1 yr 120 days - 1 yr (work release/house
(90 days minimum sentence) arrest permitted after 120 days)
$1,000 - $2,500 fine $1,500 - $2,500 fine
Ignition interlock required if BAC is Ignition interlock required if BAC is
.15 or above after admin. suspension .15 or above after admin. suspension
expires expires
Optional treatment Mandatory inpatient or outpatient
treatment (not education)
Administrative:
License suspended 1 yr for failure License suspended 1 yr for failure
License suspended 1 yr for refusal License suspended 3 yrs for refusal
License reinstatement fee $50 License reinstatement fee $600

4" CONVICTION w/i 5 yrs: Felony crime(nongrid) 4™ CONVICTION in lifetime

Criminal:
48 hrs + 88 days work release - 1 yr 15 months imprisonment in DOC
(90 days minimum sentence) before parole
$1,000 - $2,500 fine $2,500 fine
Court can revoke license tag or Court can revoke license tag or
temporary registration for one year temporary registration for one year
Optional treatment Mandatory inpatient or outpatient
treatment (not education)
Administrative:
License suspended 1 yr for failure License suspended 1 yr for failure
License suspended 1 yr for refusal License revoked 10 yrs for refusal

License reinstatement fee $50 License reinstatement fee $800



5" CONVICTION w/i 5 yrs:Felony crime (nongrid) 5" CONVICTION in lifetime

Criminal:
48 hrs + 88 days work release - 1 yr 15 months imprisonment in DOC
(90 days minimum sentence) before parole
$1,000 - $2,500 fine $2,500 fine
Court can revoke license tag or Court can revoke license tag or
temporary registration for one year temporary registration for one year
Optional treatment Mandatory inpatient or outpatient
treatment (not education)
Administrative:
License suspended 1 yr for failure License revoked for lifetime
License suspended 1 yr for refusal License revoked for lifetime
License reinstatement fee $50 Reinstatement not permitted

B.  Risking A Child’s Safety (K.S.A. 8-1567)

° Enhance the applicable DUI penalty by 30 days for persons who have a child
under 14 years of age in the vehicle at the time they are driving under the
influence of alcohol or drugs.

C. DUI Test Refusal and Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) Refusal
L Refusal to take a breath, blood or urine test as requested by a law
enforcement officer would be a class B misdemeanor. (Under current law,
this is administrative only.)
@ Refusal to take PBT test would be increased from a traffic infraction to a
class C misdemeanor.
D. DUI Diversions
] DUI diversions shall be limited to one per lifetime.

E. Journal Entry

] Standardized Journal Entry required to be completed by all municipal and
district courts on all misdemeanor DUI convictions.

I. A Aggravated Battery (K.S.A. 21-3414)
e In response to State v. Huser, S.C.80-128, add provisions for unintentionally

causing bodily harm or great bodily harm to another person while
committing or attempting to commit a violation of driving while under the

fos e
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IV.

influence of alcohol or drugs, fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer
or boating under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

° Penalties: If great bodily harm is inflicted, severity level 6 person felony; if
bodily harm is caused whereby great bodily harm can be inflicted, severity
level 9 person felony; if bodily harm is inflicted, class A person
misdemeanor.

Absolute Liability (K.S.A. 21-3204)

o Add felony offenses for driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs,

driving while suspended and driving while habitual violator to the provisions
allowing for absolute liability offenses.

DUI By Any Person Less Than 21 Years Of Age (K.S.A. 8-1567a)

Amend the probable cause standard from "reasonable grounds to believe the person
was operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs" to
"reasonable grounds to believe the person has been operating or attempting to
operate a vehicle while having alcohol or drugs in such person’s system."

Criminal penalty: traffic infraction and $200.00 fine.

If a change is made in K.S.A.8-1567a to base the test request upon "reasonable
grounds to believe that the person has alcohol in his or her person,"” there should be a

change in the language in K.S.A. 8-1001 and 8-1002 to adapt to that change, since it
is the same test.

Boating and DUI (K.S.A. 32-1131)

Change the BAC standard to .08 from .10.
Add .02 BAC standard for persons under 21 years of age.
Submit to PBT test and refusal to take test would be a class C misdemeanor.

Administrative Hearing Issues

Amend administrative hearing procedures in K.S.A. 8-1002(h)(2) to clarify that the
testing equipment and person operating the testing equipment is certified by KDHE
and the testing protocols are in accordance with KDHE. Also, amend the language
stating "the person was operating a vehicle" to "the person was operating or
attempting to operate a vehicle."

Amend K.S.A. 65-1,107(a) and (b) to add "testing protocol."

Allow a $50 subpoena fee to be charged for each law enforcement officer
subpoenaed to attend and or testify in the administrative hearing. The law
enforcement agency would receive the fee.

Allow for administrative hearings to be conducted telephonically and/or by video at
the discretion of Kansas Department of Revenue.



VI.

VIL

VIII.

IX.

@ Set out specific documents and evidence which the licensee 1s to have access to at the
administrative hearing (or prior to the hearing).

© The signed statement of the officer, (DC27), would represent the testimony of the
officer and would stand on its own except in the event the officer has been
subpoenaed.

° Amend K.S.A. 8-1002(k) which requires a hearing to be held within 30 days and to
not be dismissed "absent a showing of legal prejudice”.

® Change references within K.S.A. 8-1002, such as in 8-1002(g) to "calendar days"
instead of "days."

® Similar changes should be made in the Uniform Commercial Driver’s License Act to
reflect those set out above, as appropriate.

Impoundment and/or Immobilization

Required for:

° Arrest for driving while suspended and driving while revoked.

° Length of impoundment and/or immobilization would be 30 days.
® Local jurisdictions would choose which method to implement.

Alcohol and Drug Driver Education

® Minimum of four hours of alcohol and drug education required before driver’s
license can be issued.

® Applies to each person who is issued an original Kansas driver’s license
prospectively.

] Education program must be conducted by a certified community-based alcohol and
drug action program.

° Cost will not exceed $35.00 per applicant.

Alcohol Server Training

Mandates mandatory alcohol training for all employees and managers of state licensed
establishments which includes retail liquor stores, restaurants, clubs and bars.

Must receive training once every three years.

Employees would receive a "server" card upon completion of training.
Background check would be completed prior to receipt of card.

Cost of server card not to exceed $25 per person. .

ABC would regulate.

KEG Registration

° Require all kegs and other large containers of alcoholic or cereal malt beverages be
registered when purchased in order to assist in identifying persons illegally
purchasing and those persons selling to underaged persons.



Records of keg purchases must be kept by retailers for 6 months and made
available to law enforcement officers upon request.

Illegal to remove or alter the keg identification number or possess a
container without the number. Class B nonperson misdemeanor.

Excludes kegs purchased by other drinking establishments, private clubs and
caterers.
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Kansas Legislative Research Department ; January 26, 1999
BACKGROUND INFORMATION ON VETERANS CEMETERY TOPIC

NATIONAL CEMETERIES

run by VA

honorably discharged veteran with war time service eligible for burial

open to vets from across country

Leavenworth National Cemetery expected to be full in 2015; Fort Scott National Cemetery expected
to be open until 2030 or later

VA focusing new cemetery efforts on more populous states

possible expansion of Leavenworth National Cemetery by razing old hospital building (entirely
federally funded)

MiLITARY CEMETERIES

e run by DOD; maintained by posts until they fill
e open only to those who die on active duty or to military retirees
e two in Kansas: Fort Riley and Fort Leavenworth

STATE VETERANS CEMETERY PROGRAM

e Kansas not currently participating
e VA pays 100 percent of construction costs; states pay 100 percent of operating expenses
e Kansas Soldiers’ Home at Fort Dodge is applying for construction grant currently

NEED FOR ACTION

e veteran death rates in Kansas to peak in 2003

e rate of deaths greater than capacity of the national and military cemeteries currently existing in
Kansas

s demand for burial at veterans cemeteries still unknown

PossIBLE CONSIDERATIONS

FORT RILEY

e military cemetery expected to close in mid 1999

s possibility of establishing state veterans cemetery on federally donated land

e study costs of $80,000; no existing state employees at location

KANSAS SOLDIERS” HOME AT FORT DODGE

e currently applying for VA grant

e would create state veterans cemetery by expandmg within existing state resources -
e would be at existing state operated facility

Kansas VETERANS HOME AT WINFIELD

e no study begun

o would be at existing state operated facility

#25566.01(1/26/39{1:44PM})

L Sen. Federal & State Affairs Comm.

Date; /—~Z25-99
Attachment: # 2 —/



