Approved:_ February 16. 2001
Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE BUSINESS, COMMERCE AND LABOR COMMITTEE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Al Lane at 9:05 a.m. on February ¢ , 2001 in Room 521-
S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:  Rep. Jerry Aday - excused
Rep. John Ballou - excused
Rep. Broderick Henderson - excused
Rep. Mary Kauffman - excused
Rep. Rick Rehorn - excused

Committee staff present: Bob Nugent, Revisor of Statutes
Renae Jeffiies, Revisor of Statutes
Jerry Donaldson, Legislative Research Department
Bev Adams, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Terry Leatherman, KCCI
Jim DeHoff, KS AFL/CIO
Nicole Belville, individual
Sharon Huffman, Legislative Liaison, KCDC
Shannon Jones, SILCK
Bill Beachy, Pres. KS Action Network
Mary Becker, Kansans Respond
Sister Therese Bangert, Archdiocese of Kansas City, KS
Ron Hein, KS Restaurant and Hospitality Assn.

Others attending: See attached list
The minutes of January 30 and 31 were passed out to the committee. They will be acted on tomorrow.

Hearing on: HB 2130 - Raise state minimum wage to equal the federal minimum.

Jerry Donaldson, Researcher, explained that the bill would bring the Kansas mimimum wage up to the rate
set by the Federal Fair Labor Standard Act. It would also tie future wage increases to the federal minimum
wage so that it would automatically raise each time the federal rate is raised so that the legislature would not
have to act every time the federal minimum wage was raised.

Terry Leatherman, Kansas Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KCCI), appeared as an opponent of the bill.
The KCCTI’s opposition is grounded in their fundamental belief that what an employer pays an employee in
wages and benefits is best determined in free and competitive enterprise, not government imposition. They
suggest to the committee that Kansas become the eighth state to have no minimum wage requirement.
(Attachment 1) He finished his testimony by answering questions from the committee.

Jim DeHoff, Kansas AFL/CIO, appeared as a proponent of HB 2130. Kansas has one of the lowest minimum
wage laws in the United States. There are approximately 26,000 Kansas workers who make less that $5.15
per hour. (Note: Bill Layes, KDHR, verified from the audience that a new study, soon to be released, has the
number at 20,000 workers.) Some of the people who work for these low wages are: cooks in fast foods,
cashiers, child care workers, parking lot attendants, maids, service station attendants, waiters and waitresses,
and vehicle washers. (Attachment 2) He concluded his testimony by answering questions.

Nicole Belville is a waitress employed by Pizza Hut in Manhattan. She is a proponent of the bill. Currently
food servers are guaranteed only the Kansas minimum wage of $2.65 per hour. Sometime you hear that
waitresses really make as much as the federal minimum wage of $5.15 because tips make up the difference.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have
not been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1
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This is often not true. Tips should not be counted as part of their wage because they are not guaranteed.
(Attachment 3)

Sharon Huffman, Legislative Liaison, Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns, appeared as a proponent
of the bill. Only three in ten working age people with disabilities are employed full or part-time, two out of
three (67%) of whom would prefer to be working. By raising the state minimum wage it will provide some
incentives for currently unemployed individuals to go to work. (Attachment 4)

Shannon Jones, Statewide Independent Living Council of Kansas (SILCK), appeared as a proponent of the
bill. Obtaining economic self-sufficiency for people with disabilities is recognized as being one of the most
important goals of living as independently as possible. Raising the minimum wage would make it more
attractive for folks entering the workforce for the first time. Ms. Huffman also talked about the buy-in for
Medicaid which would also add incentives for more people with disabilities to become employed.
(Attachment 5)

Bill Beachy, President of the Kansas Action Network (KAN), spoke as a proponent of the bill. KAN is a
coalition of Kansas citizens concerned with the economic fairness and social justice of our state laws. They
think that Kansans that work for less that the federal minimum wage of $5.15 are not being paid a decent
wage. The figures also show that more Kansans work for less than the federal minimum wage than the
national average. (Attachment 6)

Mary Becker, Kansans Respond, appeared as a proponent. She furnished the committee with a graph that
shows the average income of Kansas families from 1978-1998. The disparity between the poorest and the
richest continues to increase in Kansas and in all states but four over the last two decades. Emergency service
providers throughout the state are reporting a high volume of clients, with continuing increases. People
earmning low wages are turning to community agencies for emergency help with rent, utilities, food,
transportation, medical care, and prescription drugs. (Attachment 7)

Sister Therese Bangert, Archdiocese of Kansas City, Kansas, is concerned about the parents who are working
but not able to provide for the basic needs of their children. The Catholic Charities in the Archdiocese serve
60,000 Kansans. They believe that the basic right of workers must be respected - the right to productive work
and the right to decent and fair wages. Charts in her testimony show what persons in different households
must earn to have an “adequate but austere” income. (Attachment 8)

Ron Hein, Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality Association (KRHA), appeared before the committee as an
opponent of HB 2130. He told the committee that when the minimum wage 1s bumped up, all wages must
be raised, as the employees who see others who have their wages raised, want theirs raised also. He also felt
that the bill as written may be unconstitutional. The KRHA would support the repeal of the state mimimum
wage but if the committee supports the bill, they propose that the bill be amended to have tips be treated the
same way as they are pursuant to the federal wage and hour law. (Attachment 9) Mr. Hein finished his
testimony by answering questions from the committee.

No others were present to appear for or against HB 2130, and Chairman Lane closed the hearing.

Chairman Lane adjourned the meeting at 10:35 a.m. The next meeting is scheduled for February 7, 2001, at
9:00 a.m. in Room 521-8S.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have
not been submitted to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 2
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LEGISLATIVE » Kansi$
TESTIMONY Commell.'ge

and Industry

The Unified Voice of Business
835 SW Topeka Blvd. » Topeka, KS 66612-1671 + 785-357-6321 + Fax: 785-357-4732 + E-mail: keci@kansaschamber.org ¢ www.kansaschamber.org

HB 2130 February 6, 2001

KANSAS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY
Testimony Before the
House Committee on Business, Commerce & Labor
by
Terry Leatherman -
Vice President — Legislative Affairs
Madam Chairperson and members of the Committee:
My name is Terry Leatherman. | am Vice President of Legislative Affairs for the Kansas

Chamber of Commerce and Industry. Thank you for the opportunity to explain why the Kansas
Chamber opposes increasing the Kansas minimum wage, as called for in HB 2130.

HB 2130 proposes to tie the Kansas minimum wage to the federal minimum wage. KCCI

The Kansas Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KCClI) is a statewide organization dedicated to the
promotion of economic growth and job creation within Kansas, and to the protection and support of
the private competitive enterprise system. .

KCCl is comprised of mare than 2,000 businesses which includes 200 local and regional chambers of
commerce and trade organizations which represent over 161,000 business men and women. The
organization represents both large and small employers in Kansas, with 48% of KCCl's members

having less than 25 employees, and 78% having less than 100 employees. KCCI receives no
government funding.

The KCCI Board of Directors establishes policies through the work of hundreds of the organization's
members who make up its various committees. These policies are the guiding principles of the
organization and translate into views such as those expressed here.

House Business, Commerce & Labor Committee
2-6-01
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woL  aspectfully suggest the Committee consider another option regarding the state’s minimum
wage. Become the eighth state to have no minimum wage requirement, The following highlights why
KCCI would urge this option.

First and foremost, the Kansas Chamber's Oppdsition to HB 2130 is grounded in our
fundamental belief that what an employer pays an employee in wages and benefits it best determined
in free and competitive enterprise, not by government imposition. When wages are set by the private
sector, prfncip[es such as the value of a work position, the skills needed to perform work and the
availability of workers drives the determination of a wage. A government imposed sweeping wage
requirement lacks these important components. Issues independent of the value of work to be
performed drive the decisions rendered by government.

What would happen if HB 2130 became law? According to the Kansas Department of Human
Resources, Kansas currently has a lower percentage of workers earning below the federal minimum
wage than the national average, even with our current minimum wage law. The vast majority of
Kansas employers, who are compelled to follow federal minimum wage law, would not be affected.
Of the remaining employers who are governed by state minimum wage, KCCI would speculate that
most of them would be unaffected by the change, since they pay wages above $5 an hour. That
leaves a small crowd of employers who will feel the brunt of the increase proposed in this bill. The
small group of affected employers will likely respond to a minimum wage hike in a traditional fashion.

For that small band of businesses impacted, business reality calls for adjustments.
Government has just increased the cost of doing businesé by calling for higher employee wages. The
business must look for at the obvious, raise the price of goods or lower costs through workforce or
other adjustments. Therein lies the biggest problem with minimum wage increases. Economic forces
unleashed by minimum wage increases tend to negatively affect the person the proposals are
intended to help, the minimum wage worker. There is value to low wage employment for the

individual. These jobs tend to be for new workforce entries, exposing them to basic work ethics of
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pos . attitude, timeliness and working with others. These jobs are also the stepping stone to better
paying jobs.

Please also consider that this bill ties the Kansas minimum wage to federal changes to
minimum wage law in the future. For the first time, the Kansas Legislature will hand its future
responsibilities to Congress and the President in adjusting the minimum wage in the future. In the
past, KCCI has contended the Kansas Legislature is the appropriate authority for wage policy in our
state. HB 2130 calls for the state to abandon this responsibility.

Today’s civilian labor force is nearly 1.5 million Kansans. Total payrolls in the last fiscal year
exceeded $28 billion. The number of workers is up 10% and the payrall totals are 75% higher than a
decade ago. While there is certainly government workers in that equation, the growth in the state’s
economic engine is not a product of government action, but of private initiative. Increasing the state's
minimum wage law is simply not needed.

Thank you for considering KCC| comments regarding HB 2130, for asking yourself the
question of what role government should take in setting pay standards for the private sector, and
considering our suggestion to eliminate the state's minimum wage entirely. | would be happy to -

answer any questions.
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‘Representative Al Lane, Chairman

House Business, Commerce and Labor Industry Committee
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Ron Eldridge \ X B RE: HB 2130
Executive Secretary i _
g RSB ~ Chairman Lane and Committee Members:
Jim DeHoff : 5
-Executive Vice - |
- President :
Wayne Maichel I am Jim DeHoff, Executlve Secretary of the Kansas AFL-CIO. I'm appearmg

before you in support of HB 2130 HB 2130 is legislation that would raise the

Fhrchtive Board minimum wage from $2.65 per hour to $5.15 and then tie future wage 1ncreases to-'ﬁ _‘ SO

Ken Alexander

Melany Barnes. whatever the F ederal Minimum Wage Rate is under the Federal Fair Labor
-Clyde Brack ,
Tl Clappi,ren' Standards Act.
Dan Fairbanks
Barbara Fuller : S <
?‘md B w2 Kansas has one of the lowest minimum wage laws in the United States There are e
. Jim Hasrmg_s :
Jerry Helmick approxnnately 26,000 Kansas workers who make less than $5.15 per hour A
~ Fred Kaminska - 5
Lioyd Lavin majority of these worker’s need the extra money for just basic needs. 1 think it’s 3
Wil Leiker J : . , Y J S SR
Adrain Loomis important to remember that even with a minimum wage increase these workers .~~~
Pam Pearson ) ‘ ’ : — ; 2t i
Emil Ramirez will still be at a level that is hard to exist on. The poverty level of $8,959 foran - -
- . Bruce Reves ; - ; 7 it .
Debbie Snow - individual worker is based on the United States Census Bureau report of 2000.
' Berty Vines B e

- (See attached) _

You will probably hear from opponents that increasing the minimum wage will .. .

cause loss of jobs for teenagers and people that cannot be employed at a higher ol
rate. Recent studies done by the US Council of Economic Advisors pr‘o_vethirs to s
be a t.otally Eilsie statement. Their studies conclude that increases in the:nﬁhithpiﬁf "'.:‘.

wage have been important in raising the earnings of low-wage workers. Their" = = = =
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research suggests that recent minimum-wage increases have had little or no adverse effect on
employment. This study pertained to the Federal $5.15 minimum wage increase, but would

apply to state minimum wages also.

For several years each of you have seen labor help with economic development in Kansas.
Recently we supported and are actively engaged in the renewal of the Kansas lottery. Labor also
supported a moratorium on employment benefit contributions for positive account employers
that saved employers in Kansas apprexirﬁately $100 million dollars on Employment Security
Benefit Payments. We have also, through the years, supported most tax breaks for business. We
do this because of our beliefs that new business and expansions of W businesses will provide

opportunities for working families.

Now we are asking business to help workers who are at the low income level get a small break
with achieving a very small economic benefit in Kansas. Governor Graves supports a minimum

wage increase and has stated that he would sign legislation that increases the Kansas minimum

wage.

We hope that you take into consideration the 26,000 workers who deserve to make more than a

$2.65 per hour minimum wage rate, and pass HB 2130 favorably.

Thank you.
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Poverty 2000

Page 1 of 1

(Use landscape & legal printer options to print this table)

Poverty Thresholds in 2000, by Size of Family

{Dallars)

and Number of Related Children Under

Size of family unit

Related children

[ | | |
| One | Two | Three | Four
| | ] |
| [ | |
One person (unrelated indiwvidual)... I | | |
Under 65 years.........c0uv .. | 8,959 | | | I
65 years and over................ | 8,259 | | | |
| | | | |
Two PeoPle. .. ittt iee e | | [ I |
Householder under 65 years....... | 11,531 | 11,869 | . |
Householder 65 years and over.....| 10,409 | 11,824 | | |
| | I [ |
Three pecple......... CEIE B F R B RN | 13,470 | 13,861 | 13,874 | i
Four peoPlal o« v s v s aiies 55 85 3 0 wns | 17,761 | 1.8..052 ] 17,463 | 17,524 |
Bive PeORLlee o o i s 250 5t v e n o oo o l 21,419 | 21,731 | 21,065 | 20,550 | 20,2
Six people. ...t | 24,636 | 24,734 | 24,224 | 23,736 | 23,0
Seven pecple. ... ...t i e | 28,347 | 28,524 | 27,914 | 27,489 | 26,6
Eight people. ... ....ovuiuurinnnnnnn. | 31,704 | 31,984 | 31,408 | 30,904 | 30,1
Nine peocple or more................ | 38,138 | 38,322 | 37,813 | 37,385 | 36,6
| | | I |
Source: U.S. Census Bureaun.
Go to
Go to
Created: January 26, 2001
Last Revised: January 29, 2001
2-3
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us.ooL€y
Minimum Wage Laws in the States

Click on any state or jurisdiction to find out about applicable minimum wage laws.

Note: Where Federal and state law have different minimum wage rates, the higher standard
applies.

States with minimum wage rates higher ; . .
. = ° [  States with no minimum wage law
than the Federal

States with minimum wage rates the same States with minimum wage rates lower
. - prasece
as the Federal than the Federal

Minimum Wage and Overtime Premium Pay Standards Applicable to
Nonsupervisory NONFARM Private Sector Employment
Under State and Federal Laws
January 1, 2001

ALABAMA Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective  Minimum Rate  Designated Hours
Date (per hour)

Daily Weekly

No state minimum wage law.

2-4
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ALASKA Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$5.65 8 40

Under a voluntary flexible work hour plan approved by the Alaska Department of Labor, a 10-hour day,
40-hour workweek may be instituted with premium pay after 10 hours a day instead of after 8 hours.

The premium overtime pay requirement on either a daily or weekly basis is not applicable to employers
of fewer than 4 employees.

In Alaska the minimum wage rate is automatically set at 50 cents above the rate set in the Fair Labor

Standards Act.
ARIZONA Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective =~ Minimum Rate Designated Hours L
Date (per hour)

Daily Weekly

No state minimum wage law.

ARKANSAS Future Basic Premium Pay After
' Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)

Daily Weekly

(Applicable to employers of 4 or more

5.15 N/A 40
employees)

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor
Standards Act.

2-5
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CALIFORNIA Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
40
8 7th day: First 8 hours
$6.25 Over 12 (double (time and half)
time) Over 8 hours (double
time)

01/01/02 36.75

Overtime is due after 8 hours per day or 40 hours per week unless an alternative workweek of no more
than 4 days of 10 hours was established prior to 7/1/99.

Premium pay on 7th day not required for employee whose total weekly work-hours do not exceed 30
and whose total hours in‘any one work day thereof do not exceed 6, in specific wage and hour orders.

COLORADO Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$5.15 12 40
CONNECTICUT Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours L
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$6.40 40
01/01/02 $6.70

In restaurants and hotel restaurants, for the 7th consecutive day of work, premium pay is required at
time and one-half the minimum rate.

The Connecticut minimum wage rate automatically increases to 1/2 of 1 percent above the rate set in
the Fair Labor Standards Act if the Federal minimum wage rate equals or becomes higher than the State

minimum.
A4

1/29/01 9:18 AM
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DELAWARE Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$6.15

The Delaware minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal minimum wage rate if it is
higher than the State minimum.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA  Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
~ Date (per hour)

Daily Weekly
$6.15 40

In the District of Columbia the rate is automatically set at $1 above the Federal minimum wage rate.

FLORIDA "~ Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective = Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
No state minimum wage law. N/A N/A
GEORGIA Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)

Daily Weekly

(Applicable to employers of 6 or more

$3.25
employees)

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor
Standards Act.

b
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GUAM Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$5.15 40

The Guam minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead it adopts the Federal
minimum wage rate by reference.

HAWAII Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$5.25 40

An employee earning a guaranteed monthly compensation of $1,250 or more is exempt from the State
minimum wage law.

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor
Standards Act unless the State wage rate is higher than the Federal.

IDAHO Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours L
~ Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$5.15
ILLINOIS Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)

Daily  Weekly

(Applicable to employers of 4 or more

$5.15 40
employees)

The Illinois state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state
adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference.

_2-8
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INDIANA Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)

Daily  Weekly

(Applicable to employers of 2 or more

aHiplayees) $5.15 40

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor

Standards Act.
IOWA Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective | Minimum Rate Designated Hours L
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$5.15

The Jowa minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal minimum wage rate if it is higher
than the State minimum.

KANSAS Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$2.65 46

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor
Standards Act.

KENTUCKY Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours .1..
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
40
$5.15 7th day

The 7th day overtime law, which is separate from the minimum wage law differs in coverage from that
in the minimum wage law and requires premium pay for those employees who have worked 40 hours in
the six previous days.
A-7

The Kentucky state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state

6of 17 1/29/01 9:18 AM
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adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference.

LOUISIANA Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour).
Daily Weekly
There is no state minimum wage law. N/A N/A
MAINE Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Miﬂimum Rate Designated Hours .l
Date (per hour)

Daily Weekly

$5.15 40

The Maine minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal minimum wage rate if it is higher
than the State minimum.

MARYLAND Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours L
Date (per hour)

Daily Weekly
State Law $5.15 40

-Baltimore City Ordinance

(Applicable to employers of 2 or more) 85.15 40

Under the state minimum wage law, premium pay is required after 48 hours in bowling alleys and for

residential employees of institutions (other than a hospital) primarily engaged in the care of the sick,
aged, or mentally ill. ‘ '

The Maryland state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state
adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference.

2-/0
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MASSACHUSETTS Future

Basic

Effective Minimum Rate
Date (per hour)

$6.75

Designated Hours 1

Premium Pay After

1

Daily Weekly

40

http:/."www.clol.gov/dollesajpublic/minwage/ameﬁm.htm

The Massachusetts minimum wage rate automatically increases to 10 cents above the rate set in the Fair
Labor Standards Act if the Federal minimum wage equals or becomes higher than the State miminum.

MICHIGAN Future Basic
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1

Date

(Applicable to employers of 2 or more
employees)

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor

(per hour)

$5.15

Standards Act unless the State wage rate is higher than the Federal.

Premium Pay After

Daily  Weekly

40

MINNESOTA Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Designated ngrs :_l.
Date Rate
(per hour)
Daily  Weekly
Large employer (enterprise with annual $5.15 48
receipts of $500,000 or more) :
Small employer (enterprise with annual $4.90
receipts of less than $500,000) '
MISSISSIPPI Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
No state minimum wage law. N/A N/A

8of 17
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MISSOURI Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours L
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$5.15 40

In addition to the exemption for federally-covered employment, the law exempts, among others,

employees of a retail or service business with gross annual sales or business done of less than
$500,000.

Premium pay required after 52 hours in seasonal amusement or recreation businesses.

The Missouri state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state
adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference.

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor
Standards Act.

MONTANA Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)

Daily Weekly
State Law $5.15 , 40

Except businesses with gross
annual sales of $110,000 or less ' $4.00

The Montana state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state
adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference via administrative action.

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor
Standards Act unless the State wage rate is higher than the Federal.

NEBRASKA - Future -  Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Desjgnated Hours L
Date (per hour)

Daily  Weekly

(Applicable to employers of 4 or more

$5.15
employees)

b

1/29/01 9:18 AM
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NEVADA Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$5.15 8 40

By mutual employer/employee agreement, a scheduled 10-hour day for 4 days a week may be worked
without premium pay after 8 hours.

The premium overtime pay requirement on either a daily or weekly basis is not applicable to employees
who are compensated at not less than one and one-half times the minimum rate or to employees of
enterprises having a gross annual sales volume of less than $250,000.

The Nevada state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state
adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference via administrative action.

NEW HAMPSHIRE Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective = Minimum Rate Designated Hours L
Date (per hour)

Daily Weekly
$5.15 40

The New Hampshire minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal minimum wage rate if
it 1s higher than the State minimum.

NEW JERSEY Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$5.15 40

The New Jersey State minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the State
adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference.

2-/3

100f17 1/29/01 9:18 AM



iMinimum vvage Laws In the States

http://www.dol. gov/dol/esa/public/minwage/america.htm

NEW MEXICO Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)

Daily Weekly

$4.25 40
NEW YORK Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1

Date (per hour)

Daily Weekly

$5.15 40

The New York minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal minimum wage rate if it is

higher than the State minimum.

NORTH CAROLINA

Future Basic
Effective Minimum Rate
Date (per hour)

$5.15

Premium Pay After

Designated Hours 1

Daily Weekly

40

Premium pay is required after 45 hours a week in seasonal amusements or recreational establishments.

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor

Standards Act.

The North Carolina State minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the

State adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference.

NORTH DAKOTA

Future Basic
Effective Minimum Rate
Date (per hour)

$5.15

Premium Pay After

Designated Hours L

Daily Weekly

40

A/
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OHIO Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)

Daily  Weekly

State Law $4.25 40
Except, employers with gross annual $3.35
sales from 8150,000 to $500,000 )
Except for employers with gross $2.80
annual sales under $150,000 :
OKLAHOMA Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective = Minimum Designated Hours 1
Date Rate
(per hour)

Daily  Weekly

Employers of ten or more full-time
employees at any one location and
employers with annual gross sales over $5.15
8100,000 irrespective of number of
Sull-time employees.

All other employers. $2.00

The Oklahoma state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state
adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference.

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor

Standards Act.
OREGON Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$6.50 40

Premium pay required after 10 hours a day in nonfarm canneries, driers, or packing plants and in mills,
factories or manufacturing establishments (excluding sawmills, planing mills, shingle mills, and
logging camps).

. 215
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PENNSYLVANIA Future Basic
Effective Minimum Rate Premium Pay After
Date (per hour) Designated Hours 1
Daily Weekly
§5.15 40

The Pennsylvania state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state
adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference.

PUERTO RICQO Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour) :
Daily Weekly
$3.61 to $5.15 Andon statz?tory rest day ol
(double time) (amble tHe)

Employers covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) are subject only to the Federal
minimum wage and all applicable regulations. Employers not covered by the FLSA will be subject to a
minimum wage that is at least 70 percent of the Federal minimum wage or the applicable mandatory
decree rate, whichever is higher. The Secretary of Labor and Human Resources may authorize a rate
based on a lower percentage for any employer who can show that implementation of the 70-percent rate
would substantially curtail employment in that business.

RHODE ISL AND Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$6.15 40

Time and one-half premium pay for work on Sundays and holidays in retail and certain other businesses
is required under two laws that are separate from the minimum wage law.

SOUTH CAROLINA Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective ~ Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
No state minimum wage law. | N/A N/A
2-16
30f17 1/29/01 9:18 AM



YLl ywage Laws 1n tne states htrp://www.dol.gov/doi/esa./public/minwagefamerica.h:m

SOUTH DAKOTA Future Basic Premium Pay After
‘ . EffECtilve Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour) :
Daily Weekly
$5.15
TENNESSEE Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective ~ Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
No state minimum wage law. N/A N/A
TEXAS Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours L
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$3.35

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor

Standards Act.
UTAH Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$5.15

The Utah state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state law -
authorizes the adoption of the Federal minimum wage rate via administrative action.

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor
Standards Act.

A~LT
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YERMONT Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)

Daily  Weekly

(Applicable to employers of two or

more employees) 35,73 40

The State overtime pay provision has very limited application because it exempts numerous types of
establishments, such as retail and service; seasonal amusement/recreation; hotels, motels, restaurants;
and transportation employees to whom the Federal (FLSA) overtime provision does not apply.

The Vermont minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal minimum wage rate if it is
higher than the State minimum.

VIRGINIA Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily  Weekly

(Applicable to employers of 4 or more

employees) Feul3

The Virginia state minimum wage law does not contain current dollar minimums. Instead the state
adopts the Federal minimum wage rate by reference.

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor

Standards Act.
VIRGIN ISLANDS Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Miﬂimum Designated Hours l
Date Rate
(per hour)
Daily Weekly
40
State law $4.65 8 On 6th and 7th

consecutive days.

Except businesses with gross
annual receipts of less than $4.30
§150,000.

Implementation of an indexed rate, which was to have started January 1, 1991, has been delayed. (The
law provides that on January 1, 1991, and each January 1 thereafter, the minimum rate is to equal 50
percent of the average private, nonsupervisory, nonagricultural hourly wage as determined by the 215
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Vugmn Islands Wage Board for the previous November, rounded to the nearest multiple of 5 cents.)

WASHINGTON Future Basic Premium Pay After

Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1
Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly
$6.72 40

Premium pay not applicable to employees who request compensating time off in lieu of premium pay.

Beginning January 1, 2001, and annually thereafter, the rate will be adjusted for inflation by a
calculation using the consumer price index for urban wage earners and clerical workers for the prior
year.

WEST VIRGINIA Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1

Date (per hour)
Daily  Weekly

(Applicable to employers of 6 or more

employees at one location)’ $5.15 40

The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the Federal Fair Labor

Standards Act.

WISCONSIN Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours l

Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly

$5.15 40

WYOMING Future Basic Premium Pay After
Effective Minimum Rate Designated Hours 1

Date (per hour)
Daily Weekly

$1.60

2-/2
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| The overtime premium rate is one and one-half times the employee's regular rate, unless otherwise
specified.
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TESTIMONY ON H.B. 2130
BY NICOLE BELVILLE, MANHATTAN, KANSAS
FEBRUARY 6, 2001

I am here today on behalf of myself and other restaurant workers to support making the
Kansas minimum wage equal to the federal minimum wage.

I have been working in food service since I was 16, and speak from personal experience.
Currently food servers are guaranteed only the Kansas minimum wage of $2.65 an hour. We
sometimes hear that we really make as much as the federal minimum wage of $5.15/hour because
tips make up the difference. For many of us who wait tables this is often not true.

Tips should not be counted as part of our wage, because they are not guaranteed, and
because they often do not get us up to $5.15/hour. Lots of elements will determine how much you
earn in tips, such as how many tables you wait on, the location of the tables, the time of day, the
pace of business, and the charity of the customer. Do not assume that patrons of a restaurant tip the
server if the service was sufficient. I can run at the beck and call of customers with a smile on my
face for 8 hours and leave with as little as $10 in tips.

Restaurant service is hard work, and it deserves to be paid decently. Customers demand
undivided attention even when they can see that it is not possible. This pressure requires stretching
yourself as thin as you possibly can, and then hostile customers threaten to get you fired and leave
nothing on the table. Sometimes the harder you work, the less you get in tips because the customers
are not getting your undivided attention. That does not matter to your employer. He will expect
“fast friendly service” no matter what, even if a tip will not be the outcome. Sometimes it takes
great personal restraint not to walk off the job. We stay because we have to pay the bills.

If employers demand that we put up with this high pressure work, and do it well, they should
have to pay us a reasonable minimum wage.

Imagine the harsh realities of living on the current state minimum wage or maybe a little
more without relying on government programs. I now make $3.00/hour in wages. I cannot afford to
go to the doctor for regular checkups and illness. Even if I could afford to go to the doctor T would
not be able to afford the medication.

Each month I decide which service is in danger of being disconnected, and I rush to cover it
with the check I receive from the restaurant. My tips are used for gas, food and household
necessities. I do not have a telephone, an extensive wardrobe, vacations, evenings out for dinner or
movies. Every last penny 1 make is used for bare necessities.

This 1s true for many food servers [ know. A single mother of 3 that I work with feeds her
children on a diet of ramen noodles and peanut butter sandwiches. Luckily her mother is able to
provide childcare or else she would have to rely on SRS for help. Who needs welfare reform? We
need to be able to make ends meet by getting paid a decent wage when we are hard at work. A low
state minimum wage disables people like me from helping themselves. Our work doesn’t earn
nearly enough to make ends meet. It means we have to rely on government programs when we
could be supporting ourselves from our own labor.

I ask you to bring the state minimum wage up to the federal minimum.

House Business, Commerce & Labor Committee
2-6-01
Attachment 3



s KANSAS

Bill Graves DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES Richard E. Beyer
Governor L. . . Secrerary
Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns

Mission Statement: The Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns believes that all people with disabilities are
entitled to be equal citizens and equal pariners in Kansas society

TESTIMONY TO HOUSE BUSINESS, COMMERCE AND LABOR COMMITTEE
Tuesday, February 6, 2001
by Sharon Huffman, Legislative Liaison

Thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of HB 2130. The Kansas Commission on
Disability Concerns (KCDC) is an advisory commission that provides information and education
to the legislature and governor on issues of importance to Kansans with disabilities. The mission
statement of KCDC is:. The purpose of the Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns is to
involve all segments of the Kansas community through legislative advocacy, education and
resource networking to ensure full and equal citizenship for all Kansans with disabilities. KCDC
adopted a lofty goal of making Kansas the number one state in the nation for employment of
people with disabilities and would like to address an issue that will help accomplish that goal.

According to the 2000 N.O.D./Harris Survey of Americans with Disabilities conducted for the
National Organization on Disability (N.O.D.), only three in ten working-age (18-64) people with
disabilities are employed full or part-time, two out of three (67%) of whom would prefer to be
working. Although this bill does nothing to address the unemployment rate of people with
disabilities, by increasing the state minimum wage it will provide some incentives for some
currently unemployed individuals to go to work.

Without going into details because I'm sure there are others here today who can do that much
more eloquently than I could, I just want to stress than many people with disabilities who are
currently receiving Social Security Disability Income (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income
(SSI) want to work. Unlortunately there are many disincentives built into the system that prevent
them from accepting employment. One of those is entry level wages that are lower than the
current level of SSDI or SSI payment. By removing just this one barrier you will be able to open
up the doors of employment to many people with disabilities who want to work.

KCDC urges this committee to recommend passage of HB 2130. Thank you.

House Business, Commerce & Labor Committee
2-6-01
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Testimony to
House Business, Commerce & Labor Committee
Representative Al Lane, Chair
In support of HB 2130

February 6, 2001

Mr. Chairman and members of the committee, thank you for this opportunity to
testify before you today. My name is Shannon Jones and | am the executive
director of the Statewide Independent Living Council of Kansas (SILCK). The
SILCK is mandated by the federal Rehabilitation Act as amended in 1998 to
examine programs and policies at the state level and determine what changes,
modifications and innovations may be necessary to remove barriers faced by
people with disabilities and to make recommendations for such changes so that
independent living and economic self sufficiency is possible for all Kansans. To
accomplish this mission we work closely with Centers for independent Living and
Kansans with disabilities of all ages. Today | am also representing the Kansas
Association of Centers for Independent Living or KACIL

The SILCK and KACIL support HB 2130 for several reasons. First, obtaining
economic self-sufficiency for people with disabilities is recognized as being one
of the most important goals of living as independently as possible. Advocates
have worked tirelessly over the past few decades to eliminate the barriers that
have kept people with disabilities in isolation, segregated settings and living in
poverty. We have made great strides most recently at the federal level with the
passage of the Ticket to Work and Work Incentive Improvement Act (TWWIIA).
Under this act states have the option of extending Medicaid coverage to working
people with disabilities whose income otherwise would disqualify them from the
health care coverage they so vitally need.

If we are successful this year in implementing the Medicaid Buy-in program at the
state level, we anticipate a whole new influx of potential employees, Kansans
with disabilities. Current income guidelines prohibit folks from earning more than
$698 per month (100% FPL) or risk losing their Medicaid coverage. Our
proposal for the Medicaid Buy-in program would raise eligibility to 300% of FPL
or approximately $2,100 per month with individuals contributing up to 7.5% of
their earnings to help cover the cost of their health care.

House Business, Commerce & Labor Committee
2-6-01
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Most folks will start out with entry-level jobs. But they will have to consider will it
really be worth working if at only $2.65 per hour? How can Kansans be expected
to pay for their heating bills let alone their prescription drugs etc.? Again there will
not be much incentive to go work if they are only earning $2.65 per hour or $424
per month, well below the federal poverty level. By raising the minimum wage to
$5.15 per hour or $824 per month, this becomes much more attractive to folks
entering the workforce for the first time.

The SILCK and KACIL clearly see the Medicaid Buy-in program and the raising
of the state minimum wage as the path to getting folks to become taxpayers
rather than tax takers. By raising the minimum wage to that equal to the federal
minimum wage we will steadily see folks with disabilities moving off the system
and contributing to the system. More Kansans seeking and finding employment
at a decent wage will further strengthen the Kansas economy. New taxpayers
will add resources to the state. We will have the dignity of earning a fair and
decent salary and become part of the community '

We urge your support to favorably pass HB 2130.



Kansas House Committee on Business, Commerce and Labor
Hearing on House Bill No. 2130 « 6 February 2001

Testimony by Bill Beachy, President
Kansas Action Network

Mr. Chairman, Representative Ruff, and members of the Committee. Thank you
for the opportunity to appear before you today in support of House Bill No. 2130. My
name is Bill Beachy. I am speaking to you as president of Kansas Action Network, a
coalition of Kansas citizens concerned with the economic fairness and social Jjustice of
our state laws. Our coalition includes farmers, members of organized labor, religious
organizations, people of color, people with disabilities and peace and justice groups

across the state.

According to U.S. Department of Labor statistics, Kansas has 20,000 people 18
years and older who work at regular jobs in our state who are paid less than the federal
minimum wage of $5.15 an hour. We may interact with these folks regularly, yet they
remain invisible to us. They deliver our newspapers, take care of our elderly and
infirm; they work in recreation and other small businesses, small newspapers or on the
farm; and they take home less than $800 a month! Do any of us think that that is a

decent wage?

Also from the U.S. Department of Labor, I found that a higher percentage of
Kansans works for less than the Federal minimum wage than is the case nationally:

2.7% for Kansas, compared to 2.4% for the nation as a whole.

The Kansas Action Network feels that making our state’s minimum wage be the
same as the Federal is the least we can do. We in KAN look forward to working with
members of the committee on this and other issues of economic Jjustice important to our

State.

House Business, Commerce & Labor Committee
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I. Income Disparity High in Kansas

A major national report was released last year by the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities and
the Economic Policy Institute, called “Pulling Apart: A State-by-State Analysis of Income
Trends”. Below is a brief summary of the report’s findings:

. Income inequality is wide and it increased in all states but four over the last two decades.

. Kansas is one of only 15 states whose poor have actually become poorer in the decade of
the ‘90's, while high-income families grew richer.

. Kansas ranks 6™ worst in the growth of inequality between the richest and poorest
families from the late 1980's to the late 1990's.

On wages:

The growth of income inequality is primarily due to the growth in wage inequality.
Wages at the bottom and middle of the wage scale have been stagnant or have declined
over the last two decades. The wages of the very highest paid employees, however, have
grown significantly.

II. Most Current Wage Information

In the late 1990's, wages of both low-wage workers and workers in the middle of the wage
distribution grew in Kansas. However, gains by these workers did not make up for losses in the
1980s. In 1999, the inflation-adjusted hourly wages of low-wage workers (workers at the 20"
percentile) were 6.3% lower than they were in 1979.

Kansas At A Glance, Economic Policy Institute

II1. Level of Need Being Experienced by Low-Income Kansans

Emergency service providers throughout the state report a high volume of clients, many report
continuing increases. Agencies also report that increasingly, a large percentage of their clients
are working people. People carning low wages who are turning to community agencies for
emergency help with rent, utilities, food, transportation, medical care, and prescription drugs.

. The Kansas Foodbank Warehouse, food distributor to 450 food programs in the state such
as food pantries and soup kitchens, increased their distributions by 37 percent in 1999.
That was the third consecutive year of increases.

. Topeka Rescue Mission completed a $2 million expansion to their facility last year due to
the dramatic increase in homelessness among families in recent years. The new
expansion opened in February and by July, they were full. They have remained full ever
since.

. Catholic Charities in Wichita served 7,000 clients for emergency services in 1999. They
turned away 10,000 people during the same time period, due to lack of resources.

Kansans Respond  Topeka, Kansas 66601 7- 2
P. O. Box 2234 785-232-8663 ksrespond(@aol.com



Testimony in support of HB2130
Business, Commerce and Labor Committee
February 6, 2001
Sister Therese Bangert

Archdiocese of Kansas City in Kansas
913-321-9400

WELFARE REFORM STATEMENT:

The Catholic Bishops of Kansas just released their fourth Welfare Reform
Statement. These statements are a response to the concerns that Catholic
Charity directors across the state brought to them about welfare reform
policy. The Bishops have an ever present concern about the families of
Kansas. Those parents who are working but not able to provide for the
basic needs of their children are of particular concern. Adequate income
must be addressed as we continue to engage in the welfare reform
process. Thus we testified last year in support of SB265 and we return
this year to support HB2130.

Last year Catholic Charities in the Archdiocese served 60,000 Kansans.

THE DIGNITY OF WORK AND THE RIGHTS OF WORKERS:
One of the major themes of Catholic Social Teaching is the dignity of
work and the rights of workers. The economy must serve people, not the
other way around. If the dignity of work is to be protected, then the basic
rights of workers must be respected - the right to productive work and the
right to decent and fair wages.

KANSAS STANDARD OF NEED AND SELF-SUFFICIENCY
STUDY, 1999:

Kansas State University released a report called the Proposed Standard of
Need and the Self-Sufficiency standard for the State of Kansas, 1999,
This standard is based on an “adequate but austere” household income.
The two charts that accompany this testimony are from that report. The
charts demonstrate the hourly wage necessary for a family in Kansas.

The charts clearly demonstrate the wide chasm between the minimum
wage and the standard of need for families in Kansas.

Thank YOU for the opportunity to testify. Please support HB2130.
House Business, Commerce & Labor Committee
2-6-01
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Table ES-2

Self-Sufficiency Standards by Type of Household Expense, Monthty Eamings, and Houry Wage, by
Household Type for the State of Kansas: July, 1899.
Adult,
Adutt, Adult, Infant, 2 Adults,
Single Adult, Adult, Infant, Schoolage, Preschooler, Infant,
Adult Infant Preschooler Preschoaler Teen Schoolage Preschooler
Housing 377.10 480.02 480.02 480.02 480.02 643.36 480.02
Child Care 0.00 ' 752905 44563 974.68 190.14  1164.81 974,68
Fmood , 164.29 241.96 250.01 325.85 431.69 430.69 467.20
Transportation 193.00 193.00 193.00 193.00 183.00 193.00 386.00
Medical Care 65.81 196.18 196.18 204.37 196.18 204 .37 226.37
Miscellaneous 80.02 164.02 156.48 217.79 149.10 263.62 253.43
Total Taxes 189.69 260.48 188.51 378.09 -63.99 473.33 434 .88
Monthly Eamings  1069.91 2064.70  1909.85 2773.81 1576.15  3373.19 322255
Hourly Wage 6.42 12.39 11.48 16.64 9.48 20.24 9.67*

* Hourly wage rate for each of two eamers in the household.

The hourly wages have the following ranges by household types across counties within

Kansas,

Single Adult

Adult and Infant

Adult and Preschooler

Adult, Infant and Preschooler

Adult, Schoolage and Teen

Adult, Infant, Preschooler and Schoolage
Two Adults, Infant and Preschooler

Low
5.75
9.21
8.86

12.38
8.02

15.86
7.80%

* Both adults in the household employed at this rate.

High
7.08
15.21
13.62
19.20
10.52
23.44
10.90*
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HEIN AND WEIR, CHARTERED
Attorneys-at-Law
5845 S.W. 29th Street, Topeka, KS 66614-2462
Telephone: (785) 273-1441

Telefax: (785) 273-9243
Ronald R. Hein Stephen P. Weir*
Email: rhein@hwchtd.com Email: sweir@hwchtd.com

*Admitted in Kansas & Texas

Testimony re: HB 2130
House Business, Commerce and Labor
Presented by Ronald R. Hein
on behalf of
Kansas Restaurant and Hospitality Association
February 6, 2001

Mister Chairman, Members of the Committee:

My name is Ron Hein, and I am legislative counsel for the Kansas Restaurant and
Hospitality Association. The KRHA is the Kansas trade association for restaurant, hotel,
lodging and hospitality businesses in Kansas.

The KRHA opposes HB 2130. Minimum wage legislation, on the surface, sounds good
in concept. It would appear to help insure a certain, arbitrarily picked wage to all
workers.

But, in practice, minimum wage legislation oftentimes works adversely to the very people
that minimum wage legislation is intended to help. Most workers whose worth is higher
than the minimum wage, including professionals, technically skilled workers, skilled
laborers, and others, are not even impacted by minimum wage legislation. So, generally,
the intent is to raise the wages of those people who are untrained, unskilled, probably but
not always young, inexperienced workers either just entering the workforce, or in many
instances, those who are attempting to get work experience while going to school or
otherwise.

The result of such minimum wage legislation is oftentimes to force the employer to
reconsider his or her willingness to employ the least educated, least trained, least
experienced worker for employment. If the employer is forced to pay more than what the
employee is worth at that point in time, the employer might decide to employ an
individual who is more skilled, experienced, or trained. The government can increase the
minimum wage, but cannot force employers to pay a higher wage to those least
employable and highest at risk workers.

The minimum wage in Kansas certainly appears to be extremely low.

The impact of the minimum wage, both federal and state, is slightly different for the
restaurant, lodging, and hospitality industry due to the fact that many employees of our

House Business, Commerce & Labor Committee
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use Business, Comn..rce and Labor
riB 2130, Minimum Wage Bill
February 6, 2001
Page 2

industry also receive tips. Under federal law, the minimum wage is $5.15 per hour. But,
pursuant to federal law, only $2.13 of that minimum wage is required to be paid by the
employer in direct pay if the employee receives tips in a sufficient amount to exceed the
$5.15 minimum wage. If the tips do not bring the total wage to the minimum wage level,
then the employer must make up the difference in cash payment to meet that minimum
wage.

Under state law, the minimum wage is $2.65 per hour, but a maximum of 40% of such
amount can be in tips. If the minimum wage is raised to the federal minimum wage, the
employer must pay a cash wage of $3.09 per hour, since only 40% of the $5.15 ($2.06)
could be counted in tips.

To clarify this distinction, take an employee who is covered by state minimum wage vs.
an employee who is covered by federal minimum wage. Assume both employees receive
tips of $5.00 per hour. Under federal law, the payment of $2.13 plus the $5.00 in tips per
hour would result in total employee pay of $7.13 per hour. Under state law, the
employee would have to be paid $3.09 by the employer, and would add their $5.00 in tips
to that, resulting in $8.09 total wages per hour. Thus, for tip heavy businesses, HB 2130
would require a higher payment than the federal minimum wage.

Although the KRHA opposes HB 2130, they would have no objection to the repeal of the
state minimum wage. The vast majority of food and beverage employees in Kansas,
which constitutes approximately 13.5% of the workforce, already pay in excess of the
federal minimum wage.

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended, provides that the act “applies
“to enterprises that have employees who are engaged in interstate commerce, producing
—goods forf interstate commerce, or handling, selling or working on good or materials that
ve been moved in or produced for interstate commerce.”
—
There is also the so-called “enterprise” test, which requires $500,000 annual volume to be
engaged in interstate commerce. But even if the income is below that, any businesses are
covered, or specific employees are covered, to the extent that they are otherwise meeting
the definition of the act. The act has also been interpreted to cover those businesses
which have credit card sales because of the interstate nature of credit cards.

When government raises the minimum wage, at the state or federal level, it has a
“bumping” effect on the entire staff. If the federal minimum wage 1s raised from $5.15 to
$6.15 per hour, the person making $6.15 per hour, who has some skills or experience
which warrant the higher level of pay, then wants to know why the starting, unskilled
employee is making the same amount as him/her. They then want to move up to $7.15

per hour, which then causes the $7.15 per hour employee to feel the same way. And so P
¢?._
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on up the ladder. In short, when the government gets in the business of statutorily setting
minimum wages or prices, it has the effect of altering the free market system.

HB 2130 is also defective because it constitutes an unconstitutional delegation of Kansas
legislative authority to the federal government. It is my understanding, and I know that
this has been confirmed by opinion of the Revisor of Statutes Office in the past, that state
law, in order to be constitutional, can specify a federal law or other reference only as of a
date certain. To simply reference the federal law and amendments thereto, is an
unconstitutional delegation of state authority. To correct this, it is my understanding that
line 18 of HB 2130 would have to be changed to delete “and amendments thereto” and to
insert a date certain. This is an extremely complex legal issue, which I believe the
Attorney General has ruled on in the past, but I would simply call it to the committee’s
attention, and would urge the committee to confer with their legal staff on this point.

Although the KRHA would support the repeal of the state minimum wage and opposes
HB 2130, if the committee is inclined to support HB 2130, we would propose that the bill
be amended to have tips be treated the same way as they are pursuant to the federal wage
and hour law. A copy of balloon amendments that would accomplish that is attached to
my testimony.

Thank you very much for permitting me to testify, and I will be happy to yield to
questions.
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Sevslon of 2001
IMOUSE BILL No. 2130
By Committee on Business, Commerce and Labor

1-23

AN ACT concerning the state minimum wage; mnending K.S.A. 44-1203
and repealing the existing section.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 44-1203 is hereby amended to read as follows: 44-
1203. fa) Except as otherwise provided in the minimum wage and maxi-
mum hours law, every employer shall pay to each employee wages at a
rate of not less than $2.65 an hour. On and after July 1, 2001, such
minimum wage shall be an amount per hour equal to the amount provided
by section 6 of the fuir labor standards act and amendmnents thereto. The
secretary shall continuously monitor changes in the wages specified in the
Jair labor standards act and shall notify Kansas employers of changes
thereto. Tn calenlating such minimum wage rate, an employer may include

lips and gratuities'received, by an_employee in,
| , it ——

sy constititod-pust-ofth-semuneration of the-employce-and-

gratuities=The secretary shall require each employer desiring approval of
an allowance for gratuities to provide substantial evidence of the amounts
of such gratuities on account ol which the employer has taken an allow-
ance pursuant to this section.

thr—Fheprovisions-elf-thisseetion—shall-net-apply—te-any-employers
and-employees-whe-are-eovered-under-the-provisions-ofsection-6-of-the
fairdaborstandards-act-of 1938-as-amended-(20-U-5:C-A—§-006),-and-as
amem]t:tl-l—)y—the—fair]ahcr—st&ndaf&ﬂ—&mcndmeﬁh—ef—}(}?-l-ﬁtd-ﬂﬁy-ﬁther
acti-amendatory-thercolor-supplementabthereto:

Sec. 2. K.5.A. 44-1203 is hereby repealed.

Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its
publication in the statute book.

P

actually
and retained

the same manner as tips and gratuities are
treated pursuant to the fair labor standards
act, as of (date).



