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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Garry Boston at 1:30 p.m. on February 6 in Room 210
Memorial Hall

All members were present except:  Representative Brenda Landwehr, Excused

Committee staff present: Dr. Bill Wolff, Kansas Legislative Research Department
Norman Furse, Revisor of Statute’s Office
June Evans, Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Elizabeth Jessee, CDM, CFPP, Kansas Dietary Managers
Association
Nancy Fraser, CDM, CFPP, Horton Community Hospital
Ron Hein, Dietetic Association of Kansas
Terry Roberts, Executive Director, Kansas State Nurses
Association
Carolyn Keil, PhD, Pittsburg State University
Mark Stafford, Board of Healing Arts
Chris Collins, Kansas Medical Society

Others attending: See Attached Sheet

The Chairperson welcomed the girl scouts that were in the audience.

The Chairperson stated before working HB 2041, some of the members might want to contact their
constituents back home and find out what their wishes were and bring that information to the table when

working the bill which will probably be next week.

The Chairperson opened the hearing on HB 2117 - Dieticians licensing acts; defining dietetic services
supervisor and certified managers.

Dr. Bill Wolff, Kansas Legislative Research Department gave a briefing stating there were two
amendments to the dieticians licensing act. On page 1, line 34 “dietetic assistant” is being changed to
“certified dietary manager (CDM)”. On page 3, the term “certified dietary manager” is going to be
defined in the statute where previously these terms were defined by regulation adopted by the secretary of
health and environment. On lines 2 and 3 the term “dietetic services supervisor” is defined.

Elizabeth Jesse, CDM, CFPP, State Spokesperson, Kansas Dietary Managers Association, testified as a
proponent to HB 2117, stating the Association agrees and understands that CDM’s should not be held to
the same standards as a dietitian. CDM’s work together with registered dietitians to provide quality
nutritional care for residents/patients and perform the following tasks on a regular basis.

The educational curriculum to become a certified dietary manager (CDM) consists of one hundred
twenty(120 hours of course study, followed by an additional one hundred fifty(150) hours of supervised
field experience. CDM’s deserve the recognition for achieving above and beyond the educational
standards required by the state of Kansas (Attachment 1).

Nancy Fraser, CDM, CFPP, a proponent to HB 2117 stated she was concerned about accumulating 45
CEU’s in a 3 year period which is required, but soon learned about all the educational sessions and has
learned many things that has helped make competent work decisions (Attachment 2).

Ron Hein, legislative counsel for the Dietetic Association of Kansas (DAK), stated DAK can support the
change of title from “dietary manager” to “Certified Dietary Manager” as requested in this legislation.
Licensed dietitians work with dietary managers in providing food service and nutritional care to clients in

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted
to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1




CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMITTEE ON HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, Room
210, Memorial Hall at 1:30 p.m. on February 6. ‘

institutions as long term care facilities, hospitals and rehabilitation centers (Attachment 3).

After discussion Joe Kroll, KDHE, stated there was no objection in adopting this more contemporary
language. There also would be no objection to amending regulations with this change. This does not
expand the scope of practice.

The Chairperson closed the hearing on HB 2117.

The Chairperson opened the hearing on HB 2060 - Factors in licensure determinations for deciding
whether certain individuals have been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust.

Norman Furse, Revisor of Statutes Office, gave a briefing on HB 2060 reviewing the criminal convictions
as grounds for licensure action (public health statutes) (Attachment 4).

Terri Roberts, J.D., R.N., Kansas Nurses Association, stated they could not support the elimination of the
proposed amendment on page 2, lines 19-26 that eliminate the felony prohibition on licensure
(Attachment 5).

Carolyn Keil, R.N., PhD, Chair, Department of Nursing, Pittsburg State University, spoke in opposition to
the elimination of the felony prohibition in the Nurse Practice Act (Attachment 6).

Mark W. Stafford, General Counsel, Kansas Board of Healing Arts, stated that HB 2060 establishes
guidelines to assist licensing agencies determine whether a person who has been convicted of a felony
should obtain or keep a professional license. The Board supports HB 2060 and requests that it be
expanded to also include physician assistants when they are convicted of a crime (Attachment 7).

Chris Collins, Director of Government Affairs, Kansas Medical Society, provided written testimony
supporting HB 2060 with clarification (Attachment 8).

The Chairperson closed the hearing on HB 2060.

The meeting adjourned at 3:05 p.m. and the next meeting will be February 7.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted
to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 2
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To: Health and Human Services Committee

From: Elizabeth Jesse, CDM, CFPP, State Spokesperson, Kansas Dietary Managers
Association

Subject: House Bill #2117

*Kansas Dietary Managers Association was founded on October 16, 1963 under the
directorship of the Kansas Dietetic Association. In 1983 the Dietary Managers
Association formed its own board of directors.

*There are 392 Kansas Dietary Managers Association members
89% of all members are CDM’s, CFPP”s(Certified Dietary Managers, Certified
Food Protection Professionals).

* Approximately 15,000 members across the country are experienced, educated, and
trained professionals who work in nursing homes, hospitals, schools and other
institutional, and restaurant settings.

*The Dietary Managers Association agrees and understands that CDM’s should not be
held to the same standards as a Dietitian. CDM’s work together with registered
Dietitians to provide quality nutritional care for residents/patients and perform the
following tasks on a regular basis.

*Conduct routine nutritional screening/assessments

*[dentifies nutrition problems and needs

“Implements diet plans and physicians diet orders using appropriate modifications

*Documents nutrition information in the medical record

*Supervise preparation and serving of therapeutic diets and supplemental feedings

“Protect food in all phases of preparation, holding, service, cooling, and
transportation.

“Purchase, receive, and store food following established sanitation and quality
standards

*Write purchase specifications for supplies, chemicals, and equipment

*Supervise, discipline, and provide education for dietary staff

*Develop annual budget and operate within budget parameters

*Develop and implement policies and procedures

*The Dietary Managers Association(DMA) has been the leader in training and testing
food service managers for more than 15 years.
*There are five vocational training centers in Kansas and four correspondence
schools across the country.
*The future certification testing procedures will be computer based with immediate
access and results.

*The educational curriculum to become a Certified Dietary Manager(CDM) consists of one
hundred(120) hours of course study, followed by an additional one hundred(150) hours of
supervised field experience.
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*CDM’s obviously go above and beyond what the state requires for Dietetic Services
Supervisor, since CDM’s are required by the Dietary Managers Association to earn the
CFPP credential in Sanitation and Safety.

*The CDM, CFPP credential are only maintained through obtaining 45 CEU’s in a
three year period

*The Dietary Mangers Association offers the following educational opportunities to its
members.
*District Meetings
*Two state workshops per year
*One annual meeting

*DMA offers the CFPP credential for all food service workers to become qualified in food
safety. This program has already gained acceptance by many states and health
departments in the last two years. DMA leads the way in this endeavor by offering the
CFPP credential. Individuals wishing to earn this credential must pass an approved 16
hour training program and successful completion of a 75-question Sanitation and Safety
Fxam. Once the CFPP credential is earned, the individual must maintain the

credential through five hours of continuing education every three years, to ensure he or
she remains current on safety and sanitation.

*Kansas does not have statewide requirements for LTC food manager certification.
*Food borne illness reports are on the rise
*I,TC residents are in the high risk category for food borne illness
*One of the top five cited adult care home regulations in Kansas and across the
nation is storage, preparation, and transportation of food under safe and
sanitary conditions.

*In section B paragraph 3 of the current LTC regulations the term “dietetic services

supervisor”: The term no loner exist. Dietetic Services Supervisors are CDM’s due to the
Dietary Managers Association governing board put in place 1983. CDM’s were Dietetic
Service Supervisors prior to 1983.

*Qverall LTC residents require optimum nutritional care. CDM’s deserve the recognition
for achieving above and beyond the educational standards required by the state of
Kansas. The Certified Dietary Manager is the person who operates the facility food
service on a daily basis. This law is just an update and will recognize the transfer in
terms from Dietetic Services Supervisor to Certified Dietary Manager.



WHAT I HAVE LEARNED BY BEING A CERTIFIED DIETARY MANAGER

When I passed the certification exam in 1987 I was concerned about how I would be able
to accumlate 45 CEU’s in a 3 year period. T soon learned about all the educational
sessions I would be able to attend to earn the CEU’s. By having to accumlate the 45
CEU’s to keep the certification, I have learned many things that have helped me make
competent decisions in my work.

I’ve learned to maintain dietary employee work schedules, work assignments, interview
and hire workers. I"ve learned to dicipline and counsel employees, conduct performance
evaluations, recommend promotions and how to terminate an employee.

How to write policies and procedures, conduct dietary inservices, do ongoing education
on new/different procedures, maintain a cleaning schedule and monitor that it is
followed, enforce proper hand washing, ongoing sanitation techniques.

Ive learned to purchase food and supplies needed in the dietary department, staying
within the facility budgets, maintaining records of purchases.Select qualified vendors and
service people.

What to look for when food is delivered, (broken boxes, dented cans, torn sacks, proper
temperatures, etc.), items that were ordered were delivered.

I’ve learned about monitoring food temperatures and the time food is on line, how to
prevent cross-contamination of food, safe procedures for thawing frozen food, proper
technique for cooling food, to label, date and monitor food rotation.

Learned to write menu’s (with dietitian’s approval), evaluate food acceptance surveys,
prepare standard recipes.

I"ve learned how to interview a client and document for the nutritional history and chart,
prepare a plan of nutritional care for the client, identify nutritional problems and make
recommendations. Look for food/drug interaction. How to implement Dr. diet orders,
mnstructing the dietary staff on the needs of the client.

Many of the items above I don’t think I would have learned if T wasn’t required to
accumulate the 45 CEU’s by attending workshops and networking with my peers, to keep
my certification.
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HEIN AND WEIR, CHARTERED
Attorneys-at-Law
5845 SW 29" Street, Topeka, KS 66614-2462
Telephone: (785) 273-1441

Telefax: (785) 273-9243

Ronald R. Hein Stephen P. Weir*
Email: rhein@hwchtd.com Email: sweir@hwchtd.com

*Admitted in Kansas & Texas

Testimony re: HB 2117
House Health and Human Services Committee
Presented by Ronald R. Hein
on behalf of the
Dietetic Association of Kansas
February 6, 2001

My name is Ron Hein, and I am legislative counsel for the Dietetic Association of Kansas
(DAK). The DAK is the trade association in Kansas representing licensed dietitians and
registered dietitians.

As licensed dietitians, the DAK can support the change of title from "dietary manager"” to
"Certified Dietary Manager" as requested in this legislation. Licensed dietitians work
with dietary managers in providing food service and nutritional care to clients in
institutions such as long-term care facilities, hospitals and rehabilitation centers.

Dietary Managers have completed 270 hours of vocational-technical training including
the areas of personnel management, food production and service, cost control, basic
nutrition, modified diets and care planning. To earn the title Certified Dietary Manager,
they must also successfully complete an exam administered by the national Dietary
Managers Association which validates they have the core knowledge needed by an entry-
level manager of institutional food service. The Dietary Managers Association takes care
to write a valid exam that is administered by a recognized independent testing
association.

Dietary managers direct the food service departments of many small to mid-size
hospitals, nursing homes, assisted living and rehabilitation centers in Kansas. They
oversee the preparation and serving of food according to the KDHE standards and the
federal regulations applicable to their institution. In addition, they monitor the nutritional
status of the clients served, and with the consultation of the licensed dietitian, deliver the
needed nutritional care. If potential problems or risks are identified. the dietary manager
refers to the licensed dietitian for full nutritional assessment to determine the care needed.
As dietitians, the DAK supports the recognition of the title, Certified Dietary Manager, as
indicating a level of preparedness for this role.

Our concern is about a possible confusion of scope of practice. Only licensed dietitians
have the education and training (4 year college degree plus supervised practice) to deliver
medical nutritional therapy (formerly diet therapy) as described in federal and state

HeHS
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House Health and Human Services Committee
Testimony re: HB 2117

February 6, 2001

Page 2

regulations. Certified Dietary Managers gather information regarding nutritional status,
screen for risks and problems using protocols developed by the licensed dietitian, and
deliver nutritional care as ordered by the physician in consultation with nursing and the
dietitian. They play an important and vital role in the day-to-day planning and delivery
of nutritional care, but are not prepared by education and training to deliver medical
nutrition therapy.

We appreciate the opportunity to contribute to your consideration of this legislation.
Although the DAK had concerns about the bill introduced previously, they can support
HB 2117.

Thank you for permitting me to testify, and I will be happy to yield to questions.

oy



MEMORANDUM

T Health Care Reform Legislative Oversight Committee

FROM: Norm Furse, Revisor of Statutes

DATE: November 8, 2000

RE: Criminal Convictions as Grounds For Licensure Action (Public Health Statutes)

Crime Convicted | Rehabilitated
65-1120 (Nurses) Felony or Yes Yes (2)*
Misdemeanor (1)
65-1517 (Optometrists) Felony Yes No
65-1436 (Dentist, dental hygienist) Felony or Yes Yes*
Misdemeanor (3)
65-1627 (Pharmacist) Felony Yes Yes*
65-1751 (Mortuary Arts) Felony or Offense Yes Yeu*
involving moral
turpitude
65-1908 (Cosmetology) Felony Yes Yes*
65-1947 (Tattooing, body piercing) Related Crime (4) Yes No
65-2006 (Podiatry) Felony Yes Yes*
65-2836 (Healing Arts) Felony or Yes Yes*
Misdemeanor (5)
65-2912 (Physical Therapy) Felony Yes Yes*
65-3508 (ACH Administrator)‘ Related Crime (6) Yes No
65-4209 (Mental Health Technician) Felony or Yes Yes(2)*
Misdemeanor (1)
65-5410 (Occupational Therapy) Felony (7) Yes No
65-5510 (Respiratory Therapy) Felony (7) Yes No
65-5809 (Professional Counselor) Felony Yes Yes*
65-6129b (Instructor-Coordinator, Felony or Yes Yes*
Ambulances) Other Crime (8)

Hals
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Page 2

65-6129¢c (Training Officer, Ambulances) | Felony or Yes Yes*
Other Crime (8)

65-6133 (Ambulance Attendant) Felony Yes Yes*®

65-6311 (Social Worker) Felony Yes Yes*

65-6408 (Marriage and Family Therapy) Relevant Crime (9) | Yes No

65-6508 (Speech Pathologists Relevant Crime (10) | Yes No
and Audiologists)

65-6604 (Alcohol or Other Drug Abuse Relevant Crime (10) | Yes No
Counselor)

65-6911 (Athletic Trainer) Felony Yes Yes*

74-5324 (PhD Psychologist) Felony (11) Yes No

74-5369 (Masters Level Psychologist) Felony (11) Yes No

*Sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust.

(1)
(2)

(3)

(4)
(5)

(6)
(7)

(8)

)
(10)

(11)

Misdemeanor involving an illegal drug offense.

Exceptno license shall be granted to any person with a felony conviction for a crime against
persons under article 34 of chapter 21 of the K.S.A. (crimes against persons)
Misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.

Convicted of crime relating to tattooing or body piercing.

Class A misdemeanor, whether or not related to practice of healing arts. The board of
Heahing Ants 1s required to revoke license of licensee following conviction of a felony unless
4 2 3 majority of board members present and voting determine by clear and convincing
cvidence that the licensee will not pose a threat to the public in the licensed capacity and has
been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust. The same requirements apply to an
apphication for an original license or to reinstate a canceled license.

('nme having a direct bearing on whether person should be entrusted to serve public.

Onlyv a felony conviction which is found by the board to bear directly on whether the
applicant or licensee should be entrusted to serve the public.

The enmes, other than a felony, must be related substantially to the qualifications, functions
and duties of the certificate holder.

Any cnme the board determines would render the convicted person unfit to practice.

Any cnme found by the licensing agency to bear directly on whether the applicant or licensee
should be entrusted to serve the public.

A felony involving moral turpitude.

Attached

K.S.A. 74-120

Montana Licensure of Criminal Offenders Act

New Mexico Criminal Offender Employment Act
Black’s Law Dictionary definition of moral turpitude



Emma Doherty, M.A., R.N.
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ASNIA

KANSAS STATE NURSES

Terri Roberts, J.D., R.N.
ASSOCIATION the Voice of Nursing in Kansas Executive Director

For More Information Contact
Terri Roberts J.D., R.N.
233-8638 Fax 233-5222

February 6, 2001

785.233.8638 * FAX 785.233.5222
www. nursingworld.org/snas/ks

H.B. 2060 Determining Qualifications of Certain Individuals for Licensure

Representative Gary Boston and members of the House Health and Human Services
Committee, my name is Terri Roberts R.N., J.D., and I represent the KANSAS STATE
NURSES ASSOCIATION (KSNA). The KANSAS STATE NURSES ASSOCIATION is the
professional organization for registered nurses 1n the state.

We understand that the intent of H.B. 2060 is to provide clear direction to state health
licensing agencies of specific criteria that should be considered when evaluating whether a
potential licensee has been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public’s trust. The new
section on page one appears to incorporate the criteria from the Vakas v. The Kansas
Board of Health Arts case decided by the Kansas Supreme Court in January of 1991. This
case and its criteria have been used by the Kansas Board of Nursing in recent years in
discussion we have had about matters related to fair and equitable review when they are
making determinations affecting licensure status.

KSNA supports the codification of these criteria that appears in the New Section 1 as it
applies to those “guilty of a felony or to have been guilty of a misdemeanor involving an
illegal drug offense” (in the case of licensees of the Board of Nursing K.S.A. 65-1120).

In our discussions we questioned the wording that appears in the criteria listed as (2), (4),
(5), (6) and (7) as it appears to use terminology that assumes a “previous disciplinary
action by the regulatory body” and we are unclear about the legislative intent of how this is
to be used for new licensing applicants that the Board would be considering? Clearly (1)
The present moral fitness of the licensee or applicant and (3) the extent of the licensee’s
or applicant’s rehabilitation provide direction to the agency, but again, we are not clear if
the Board of Nursing will have to use the other criteria that appear to be predicated on
previous disciplinary action by the agency. KSNA staff were present during the discussion
regarding these issues during the interim committee meeting where they were explained,
but now with the statutory language being proposed we are seeking greater clarity in its
applicability, if at all for new applicants for licensure and how the Board of Nursing would

The mission of the Kansas State Nurses Association is to promote professional nursing, to provide a unified voice for nursing
in Kansas and to advocate for the health and well-being of all people.

T

Constituent of The American Nurses Association f ‘ ) H S
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H.B. 2060 Determining Qualifications of Certain Individuals for Licensure
KSNA Testimony February 6, 2001
Page 2

be expected to implement the criteria in statute.

The next area we would like to comment on is the proposed amendment to K.S.A. 65-
1120 which would eliminate the “Article 34, Chapter 21" felonies as absolute bars to
licensure as an RN, LPN or advanced practice nurse. We cannot support the elimination
of the proposed amendment on page 2 lines 19-26 that eliminate the felony
prohibition on licensure. The list of felonies in Article 34, Chapter 21 are the most
henious crimes against persons that are recognized in state criminal statutes, and in the
1997 legislative session, KSNA worked alongside many other nursing organizations to
seek this very important absolute bar to nursing licensure. Subsequent to the statute being
changed, an Attorney General’s Opinion was requested by the Board of Nursing to ensure
that they would be clear about the applicability to previously licensed felons who would be
seeking renewal. Since that opinion the Board of Nursing has been denying licensure to
applicants with Article 34, Chapter 21 felony convictions.

We supported the absolute bar on licensure because in our profession we are expected to
be responsible for the health care and medical services rendered to clients who are in
various stages of health. Patients have great expectations of licensed nurses, many times
we are responsible for their care 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year, and this
enormous responsibility can only be accomplished with a high level of confidence and trust
by the patients that we have the requisite clinical competence and moral and ethical tenants
to perform those duties. Current Kansas law prohibits convicted felons from obtaining
teaching certificates from the Board of Education (K.S.4. 72-1397, K.A.R. 91-221a), and
prohibits convicted felons from operating licensed day cares or even living in a home
where a licensed day care is operated.

Because licensed nurses have the responsibility for life/death in many circumstances
mvolving the care they deliver, we believe it is essential that the absolute bar on licensure
from those convicted of the states most heinous crimes be preserved. We ask for your
support in making this amendment if this bill moves forward.

Thank you.
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Felony Crimes Against Persons

Article 34, Chapter 21

Sorted by Severity Level and then by Statute Number

Reference
21-3401
21-3402(a)
21-3439
21-3412(c)(3)*
21-3401
21-342]1
21-3401
21-3402(b)
21-3401
21-3403
21-3420
21-3427
21-3415(b)(1)

21-3440
21-3414(a)(1XA)
21-3440

21-3404
21-3426
21-3414(a)(2)(A)
21-3411
21-3437
21-3410
21-3422a(b)
21-3428
21-3413(a)(2)
21-3413(a)(3)
21-3413(a)y4)
21-3413(ax5)*
21-34(a(1XB)
21-3414a)(1XC)
21-3438(c)

21-3414(a)2)(B)
21-3406
21-3419
21-3438(a)
21-3422(c)(2)

Description

Murder in the first degree

International second degree murder

Capital Murder

Domestic Battery:; third or subsequent w/in last 5 yrs
Murder in the first

Aggravated kidnapping

Murder in the first degree; Conspiracy (21-3302)
Murder in the second degree (reckless)

“Murder in the first degree; Solicitation (21-3303)

Voluntary manslaughter

Kidnapping

Aggravated robbery

Aggravated battery on LEO-intentional, great bodily harm
(see 21-344(a} (1) A))

Injury to a pregnant woman in the commission of a felony
Aggravated battery - intentionai, great bodily harm

Injury to a pregnant woman in commission of K.S.A. 21-342
(aggravated assault), K.S.A. 21-3413(aX1), battery or K.S.A.
21-3517, sexual bartery

Invoiuntary mansiaughter

Robbery :

Aggravated battery - reckless, great bodily harm -
Aggravated assauit on law enforcement officer

Mistreatment of a dependent adult - physical

Aggravated assauit

. Aggravated interference with parental custody

Blackmaii

Battery against a correctional officer

Battery against a youth center officer

Battery against a juvenile detention officer

Battery against a city/county correctional officer/empioyee
Aggravated battery - intentional, bedily harm

Aggravated battery - intentional, physicai contact
Stalking when the offender has a previous conviction within
7 years for stalking the same victim

Aggravated battery - reckless, bodily harm

Assisting suicide

Criminal threat

Stalking in all other cases

[nterference with parental custody in all other cases

*This crime was created or the severity level of this crime was amended during the
1996 legislative session. '



Attorney Generals
Opinion 97-88
addresses interpretation
of Felony Licensure
Prohibition in S.B. 164

The Board of Nursing (BON) at their May meeting
requested a formal Attorney General's opinion re-
garding the revision of K.5.A. 65-1120 found in S.B.
164 which became effective July 1, 1997. Several
guestions was posed to the Attorney General in a letter
from the Board.

The section questioned reads as follows K.S.A. 65-
1120 {a) The board may deny, revoke, limit or
suspend any license, certificate of qualification or
authorization to practice nursing as a registered pro-
fessional nurse, as a licensed practical nurse, as an
advanced registered nurse practitioner or as a regis-
tered nurse anesthetist that is issued by the board or
applied for under this act or may publicly or privately
censure a licensee or holder of a certificate of qualifi-
cation or authorization, if the applicant, licensee or
holder of a certificate of qualification or authorization
is found after hearing:. . . (2) to have been quilty of a
felony or to have been quilty of a misdemeanor
involvinganillegal drug offense unless the applicant or
licensee establishes sufficient rehabilitation to warrant
the public trust, except that notwithstanding K.S.A.
74-120nolicense, certificate of qualification or autho-
rization to practice nursing as a licensed professional
nurse, as a licensed practical nurse, as an advanced
registered nurse practitioner or registered nurse anes-
thetist shall be granted to a person with a felony
conviction for a crime against persons as specified in
article 34 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Anno-
tated and acts amendatory thereof or supplemental
thereto.

The questions posed by the BON

were as follows:

1. With an effective date of July 1, 1997, does the
conviction have to be after that date or is it ime
related at all?

What if the conviction was outside of Kansas?

3. Since there is no grandfather clause. what about
those students who have such conviction who
are now in school? Shall we deny the license?

4. Does it effect those licensees who may be renewing
a license but have a past conviction?

5. If a person is licensed and commits a felony which
fall under article 34 of chapter 21, do we just then
proceed with revoking that license as we do now?
Does the new language refer only to granting a license?

6. What if 2 person who has been licensed which
lapses and then submits a reinstatement:

a. Has a conviction before new law becomes effective,
can we then grant a reinstated license?  or
b. Has a conviction between the license lapses
and application is submitted for reinstatement
(can show rehabilitation), can we then deny
with new law?

LB

Kansas Board of Nursing Only Has Statutory

Authority to Set the Minimum Standard for R.N.

Education Programs
The Board of Nursing recently requested clarification of the NPA regarding
authority to requiate the cuniculums of BSN programs. Steve Phillips, (the
Boards attorney) reply is provided below:

Pat Johnson

Executive Director—Board of Nursing

900 SW Jackson, Rm 551s

Topeka, KS 66612-1230

Dear Pat:

You asked whether the board has authority to set the curriculum for bachelor of nursing
programs. K.S.A. 65-1119 allows the board to require a school to submit proof that it “will
maintain the standard and basic professional nursing curriculum. . .."” A school must submit
evidence that “(1) It is prepared to carry out the professional curriculum as prescribed in the rules

and regulations of the board- and is prepared to meet such other standards as shall be established
by this law and the rules and regulations of the board.”

Implicit is that the board has authority to set a minimum standard for the curriculum to be a
professional nurse. The statute does not give the board additional authority to regulate the parts of
a curriculum which go beyond the minimum. The statute does not give the board autherity to
establish different categories of professional nursing, schools. In other words, the board can only
hold a bachelor of nursing program to the same standard as any other accredited program, i.e. an
associate degree program.

The board does not have authority to regulate the curriculum of a bachelor of nursing program.
The board could, however, raise the overall minimum curriculum requirements to a high enough
level that as a practical matter, a bachelor’s program would be required for all professional nursing
prograims.

This is not a formal attorney general’s opinion. Attorney General Stovall has not reviewed
the letter.

Very truly yours,

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
CARLA J. STOVALL

Steve Phillips

Assistant Attorney General

Attorney General Opinion No. 97-88

Public Health—Regulation of Nursing; Nurses-Denial,
Revocation of License: Prohibition on Licensure of Felons; Retroactivity

Synopsis: Amendments to the Nurse Practice Act stating that no license

shall be granted to a certain class of felons apply only to
applicants for new licenses after the effective date of the
amendment. The class of felonies. however, is not

limited by time, and applies to felonies occurring before the
effective date of the amendment. This limit on licensure is a
rational exercise of the state's police power and is not
prohibited by the ex post facto clause of the United

States Constitution. Cited herein: K.S.A. 1996 Supp.
65-1120 as amended by 1997 S. B. 14. S 4; K.S.A. 65-
1117; U.S. Const., Article 1, S 10, Amend. XIV.
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NOTE:

The entire text of AG's Opinion 97-88 is not being printed here, but is available
from KSNA. The following excerpts from the opinicn are helpful in understanding
the synopsis.

Excerpts Only AG Opinion 97-88

Before addressing your specific questions, it is necessary to determine the rights of a nursing licensee
once a license is granted. The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution, commonly
known as the Due Process Clause, provides that no state shall “deprive any person of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law.”

In order for the Fourteenth Amendment to apply, a nurse would have to have a property interest in
his or her license. In Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S.564,33L.Ed.2d548. 92 S.Ct. 2701 (1972)
the Court determined.

“To have a property interest in a benefit, a person clearly must have more than an abstract need or
desire for it. He must have more than a unilateral expectation of it. He must, instead, have a
legitimate claim of entitlement to it. It is a purpose of the ancient institution of property to protect those
claims upon which people rely in their daily lives, reliance that must not be arbitrarily undermined.

“Property interests, of course, are not created by the Constitution. Rather, they are created and
their dimensions are defined by existing rules or understandings that stem from an independent
source such as state law - rules or understandings that secure certain benefits and that support claims
of entitlement to those benefits.” Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. at 577, 33 L.Ed.2d at 561.

“Similarly, mutual expectations may create an entitlement in a license. For instance, a state-issued
license for the continued pursuit of the licensee's livelihood, renewable periodically on the payment
of a fee and revocable only for cause, creates a property interest in the licensee.”

Based upon the structure of the Kansas Nurse Practice Act, we believe a nurse has a property right in
a nursing license once the nurse receives the nurse's license, certificate of qualification, or authoriza-
tion to practice.

YYou ask whether the prohibition on licensure of a person with an article 34, chapter 21 person felony
is limited to felonies occurring after the effective date of the amendments (July 1, 1997). or if it also
applies to article 34 person felonies committed before that date. The amendment refers to “a felony
conviction.” We believe these words are clear and unambiguous. and that no statutory construction
is necessary—there is nothing in this phrase to limit application to new felonies. We believe it applies
to all such felonies, whether the felonious act or conviction occurred before or after the effective date
of the amendment (July 1. 1997). We do not believe that this constitutes a retrospective application
of the statute (which is not favored at law) because, as will be discussed, we believe this portion of the
amendment only applies to those persons applying for a new license after July 1, 1997.

Under the statutory scheme, so long as a nurse continues to meet certain requirements, including
“the requirements set forth in K.S.A. 65-1115 or 65-1116 and amendments thereto in effect at the
time of initial licensure of the applicant” the nurse receives a renewal license” K.S.A. 65-1117(a).
Reinstatement of a lapsed license is different. however. The nurse must essentially furnish “proof that
the applicant is competent and qualified.” K.S.A. 65-1117(b)

The issue is whether the words in the amendment “no license ... shall be granted” refer to just the
initial issuance of the license or renewals also. Because a license becomes a type of property right
once issued, we believe that a “renewal license” is something different from the issuance of the initial
license.

You also ask whether the bar on licensure would apply to students who entered nursing school
before the effective date of the amendments. but who have a prior person felony conviction under
article 34, chapter 21.

The state has police power to regulate the practice of health care providers. State ex. rel Schneider
v. Liggett, 223 Kan. 610, 615 (1978). Prior to licensure. a person has no “property right” in the
practice of nursing and is not entitled to constitutional procedural due process rights.

Nurses routinely deal with patients who are in a weak and dependent condition. The level of trust
between a patient and nurse must be uncompromised. The absclute bar on felons as nurses is only
for those with article 34 person-felony convictions, meaning viclent, person felonies such as murder,
manslaughter, kidnapping, etc. We believe there is a rational relationship between an absolute bar
against future licensure of nurses with such convictions and the goal of protecting the public health

and promoting the profession of nur.

In Meffeft v. Medical Board, 66 Kan. 723 (1903).

affd. 195 U.S. 625, the court upheld a new stat-
ute allowing the Medical Board to deny a license
to practice medicine based upon a felony convic-
tion. The court said it was not an invalid ex post
facto law:
“The revocation of a license to practice medicine
for any of the reasons mentioned in the statute
was not intended to be. nor does it operate as, a
punishment, but as a protection to the citizens of
the state.”

We believe that the clear purpose of the amend-
ments to K.S.A. 65 1120 are for the protection of
the public. They are not punitive and do not con-
stitute an ex post facto law. Consequently. a nurs-
ing student who applies for a license after July 1.
1997, with a person felony conviction as speci-
fied in article 34, chapter 21 must be denied a
license.

In determining the scope of the amendments to
K.S.A. 65-1120, we have attempted to determine
the Legislature’s intentions. We note that the Leg-
islature could constitutionally have gone further
and barred licensure (or made revocation man-
datory) for persons with other convictions, so long
as there was a rational basis for barring licensure.
For instance, the bar for licensure for article 34
felonies does not prohibit licensure of a person
convicted of any of the felonv sex offenses set forth
in article 35. We believe that a bar of licensure or
revocation of licensure for such crimes would not
be punitive in nature, but would be a rationally
based measure designed for the protection of the
citizens of this state. It is unclear to us why the
legislatively enacted ban was drawn so narrowly.

Finally you ask whether the absolute bar ap-
plies to convictions which occur outside of Kan-
sas. The bar on licensure applies to persons with
a “felony conviction for a crime against persons
as specified in article 34 of chapter 21 of the Kan-
sas Statutes Annotated.” The Legislature is pre-
sumed to intend that a statute be given a reason-
able construction so as to avoid unreasonable or
absurd results. Todd v. Kelly, 251 Kan. 512 (1992).
It would make no sense to distinguish between
crimes committed in another state and those com-
mitted in Kansas. We believe that by saying “as
specified.” the Legislature meant any criminal con-
viction in any jurisdiction which meets the elements
of a crime as set forth in the person felonies in
article 34 of chapter 21 of Kansas Statutes Anno-
tated. We do not believe it is limited to Kansas
convictions.

In summary, we believe that the amendments to
K.S.A. 1996 Supp. 60-1120 which provide "no
license.... shall be granted” apply only to appli-
cants for new licenses after the effective date of
the amendment. July 1. 1997. The felonies to
which the amendment applies. however, include
felonies committed before or after the effective
date of the act. The felonies may be from another
jurisdiction, so long as the elements are the same
as those of crimes specified in the person felonies
in article 34 of chapter 21.
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65-516

Chapter 65.--PUBLIC HEALTH
Article 5.--MATERNITY CENTERS ANDCHILD CARE FACILITIES

65-516. Restrictions on persons maintaining or residing, working or volunteering at child care facility or family day care
home. (a) No person shall knowingly maintain a child care facility or maintain a family day care home if, in the child care facility or family
day care home, there resides, works or regularly volunteers any person who:

(1) (A) Has a felony conviction for a crime against persons, (B) has a felony conviction under the uniform controlled substances act,
(C) has a conviction of any act which is described in articles 34, 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated and acts
amendatory thereof or supplemental thereto or a conviction of an attempt under K.S.A. 21-3301 and amendments thereto to commit any
such act, or (D) has been convicted of any act which is described in K.S.A. 21-4301 or 21-4301a and amendments thereto or similar
statutes of other states or the federal government;

Felony
th,! brion

(2) has been adjudicated a juvenile offender because of having committed an act which if done by an adult would constitute the
commission of a felony and which is a crime against persons, is any act described in articles 34, 35 or 36 of chapter 21 of the Kansas
Statutes Annotated and acts amendatory thereof or supplemental thereto, or is any act described in K.S.A. 21-4301 or 21-4301a and
amendments thereto or similar statutes of other states or the federal government;

(3) has committed an act of physical, mental or emotional abuse or neglect or sexual abuse as validated by the department of social
and rehabilitation services pursuant to K.S.A. 38-1523 and amendments thereto and (A) the person has failed to successfully complete a
corrective action plan which had been deemed appropriate and approved by the department of social and rehabilitation services, or (B)
the record has not been expunged pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by the secretary of social and rehabilitation services;

(4) has had a child declared in a court order in this or any other state to be deprived or a child in need of care based on an allegation
of physical, mental or emotional abuse or neglect or sexual abuse;

(5) has had parental rights terminated pursuant to the Kansas juvenile code or K.S.A. 38-1581 through 38-1584, and amendments
thereto, or a similar statute of other states;

lof2 2/6/01 12:12 P
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HB 2060

the time of the original conduct;

(8) the licensee’s or applicant’s present competence in the skills of
the profession; and

(9) such other factors as the licensing agency deems appropriate,

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2000 Supp. 65-1120 is hereby amended to read as
follows: 65-1120. (a) Grounds for disciplinary actions. The board may
deny, revoke, limit or suspend any license, certificate of qualification or
authorization to practice nursing as a registered professional nurse, as a
licensed practical nurse, as an advanced registered nurse practitioner or
as a registered nurse anesthetist that is issued by the board or applied for
under this act or may publicly or privately censure a licensee or holder
of a certificate of qualification or authorization, if the applicant, licensee
or holder of a certificate of qualification or authorization is found after
hearing:

(1) To be guilty of fraud or deceit in practicing nursing or in procuring
or attempting to procure a license to practice nursing;

(2) to have been guilty of a felony or to have been guilty of a mis-
demeanor involving an illegal drug offense unless the applicant or licensee
establishes sufficient rehabilitation to warrant the public trust-exeeptthat
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plementattherete in accordance with the provisions of section 1 and
amendments thereto;

(3)  to have committed an act of professional incompetency as defined
in subsection (e);

(4) to be unable to practice with skill and safety due to current abuse
of drugs or alcohol;

(5) tobea person who has been adjudged in need of a guardian or
conservator, or both, under the act for obtaim’ng a guardian or conser-
vator, or both, and who has not been restored to capacity under that act;

(6) to be guilty of unprofessional conduct as defined by rules and
regulations of the board,

(7) tohave willfully or repeatedly violated the provisions of the Kansas
nurse practice act or any rules and regulations adopted pursuant to that
act, including K.S5.A. 65-1114 and 65-1122 and amendments thereto;

(8) to have a license to practice nursing as a registered nurse or as a
nractical nurse denied, revoked, limited or suspended, or to be publicly

privately censured, by a licensing authority of another state, agency of
«ne United States government, territory of the United States or country

0

KANSAS STATE NURSES ASSOCIATION
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO H.B. 2060
Page 2 February 6, 2001

] felony prohibition on licensure to remain,
do not eliminate strike through section line 19-26.



DATE: February 6, 2001

- TO: Gary Boston, Chair ‘
House Health and Human Services Committee

FROM: Carolyn Keil, RN, PhD
Chair, Department of Nursing, Pittsburg State University

RE: Elimination of the Felony Prohibition in the Nurse Practice Act

Chairperson Gary Boston and members of the House Health and Human Services
Committee, my name is Carolyn Keil. I am Chair of the Department of Nursing at
Pittsburg State University. I am here to speak on behalf of the nursing faculty at Pittsburg
State University in opposition to elimination of the felony prohibition in the Nurse
Practice Act. '

At Pittsburg State University we are passionate about the issue of felons in nursing, based
on painful past experience. Many of you will remember the brutal murder of a Pittsburg
State University student, Carrie Williams, in 1996, and the arrest, trial, and conviction of
Gary Kleypas, a senior nursing student, for that murder.

Nineteen years earlier, Gary Kleypas had been convicted of another murder, in Missouri.
His victim then was a woman in her 70s, his neighbor. She was raped and brutally
stabbed multiple times. He pled guilty to 2™ degree murder and was sentenced to 30
years in prison. Fifteen years later, in 1992, he was paroled. A year after he was paroled
he came to Pittsburg State University and applied to the nursing program. His parole
officer, who had supervised him for over a year, was one of his references. She said, “he
has learned a valuable lesson from his past mistakes.” Without knowing the details of the
murder, and with legal advice, the Department of Nursing reluctantly admitted him.

In the spring of 1996, Gary Kleypas was within weeks of graduation, almost a nurse,
when he murdered again. Carrie Williams was 20 years old, and his neighbor. He tied her
to a chair, sexually assaulted her, and brutally stabbed her multiple times. The headlines
read, “CONVICTED FELONS CAN PRACTICE NURSING” and “THE NURSE
MIGHT BE AN EX-CONVICT.”

Six weeks after the murder the nursing faculty at Pittsburg State University wrote a letter
to the Kansas State Board of Nursing, saying ... .Many people are asking questions
about the nursing department’s admission criteria and the potential licensure of a known
felon. We have learned that in the state of Kansas, known felons cannot be granted a
teaching certificate to teach our children --- but they can be a nurse. ... It is our belief
that...violent criminals and sex offenders have no place in the profession of nursing.
Nurses are entrusted to care for vulnerable populations. ... The potential risks of harm are
too great.” We asked for restrictions to licensure based on criminal history, believing that
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~ such a policy would help schools of nufsing decline admission to individuals with felony
“backgrounds and would help protect the public. ' ' ‘

Pittsburg State University’s senior nursing students, who were classmates of Gary
Kleypas, also wrote to the Kansas State Board of Nursing. They stated that “our
government has not been able to protect us from our own criminals. . .. Why would we,
the people of Kansas, want someone who had raped and murdered another person, to be a
nurse? How can we ask our patients to trust us when one of us may be a murderer or
rapist? We want stricter guidelines for admission to nursing education programs and for
the Kansas State Board of Nursing to prohibit licensure of convicted rapists and
murderers in Kansas.”

Later that year, Joan Sheverbush, a member of our nursing faculty, wrote to the Kansas
State Nurses Association in support of its position on absolute prohibition. She said “the
safety of patients, the general public, and all health care givers is of prime importance
when considering the issue of licensing convicted felons. There is no convincing
evidence that ...by merely completing a period of incarceration, probation, and parole
does an individual who has committed a violent act against another human become
rehabilitated.”

In a presentation to the Kansas State Board of Nursing regarding the situation, Jo Ann
Marrs, then Chair of the nursing program, read an original poem. The poem expressed the
feelings of the faculty and said, in part:

“How could someone eligible to become a nurse
Be suspected of such a heinous crime and worse?

Nursing is about protecting, caring, and healing,
Not about abuse, rape, and killing.

Surely violent and sex offenders could have been kept away
From all the vulnerable populations they would meet everyday.
But no laws exist in Kansas that support that view.

Violent offenders and sex offenders too, could be nursing
Your grandparents, child, or you.”

In the succeeding months, the Kansas Legislature did pass such a law, and a felon who
had been convicted of a violent crime against another person could no longer become a
nurse in Kansas. Today, merely four years later, we are discussing the removal of that
prohibition. For the nursing faculty at Pittsburg State University the emotions about the
prohibition are still very intense. We strongly believe that sexual predators and convicted
violent felons should not be licensed as nurses. People trust their lives to us, We
respectfully request that you allow the felony prohibition to stand.

I thank you for the opportunity to share our thoughts and feelings. I would be happy to
answer any questions that I can.



BILL GRAVES
Governor

KANSAS BOARD OF HEALING ARTS

235 S. Topeka Blvd.
Topeka, KS 66603-3068
(785) 296-7413

FAX # (785) 296-0852
(785) 368-7102

February 6, 2001

The Honorable Garry Boston, Chairperson
Health and Human Services Committee
Room 156-E

State Capitol

Re: 2001 House Bill No. 2060

Dear Chairman Boston and Members of the Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you on behalf of the Kansas Board of
Healing Arts in support of House Bill No. 2060. This bill establishes guidelines to assist
licensing agencies determine whether a person who has been convicted of a felony should obtain
or keep a professional license.

The Board is a fifteen member body appointed by the Governor. It is comprised of five
medical doctors, three doctors of osteopathic medicine and surgery, three doctors of chiropractic,
one podiatrist and three members of the general public. The Board regulates MDs; DOs; DCs;
podiatrists; physician assistants; respiratory, physical, and occupational therapists; PT and OT
assistants; and athletic trainers. The Board’s mission is to protect the public health and safety.
This is accomplished by granting licenses or registrations to those who are qualified, and by
taking disciplinary action against or denying licenses to those who engage in unprofessional,
dishonorable, or incompetent practice.

This state’s public policy has long been that licensing boards should exercise discretion
when determining whether a person who has been convicted of a felony should be allowed to
obtain or keep a professional license. This policy was announced in K.S.A. 74-120, adopted in
1972. In summary, that statute states that a conviction may be considered, but is not an
automatic barrier to professional licensure. The Board agrees that this is the appropriate policy,
and supports legislation that maintains that public policy.

LAWRENCE T. BUENING, JR. DONALD B. BLETZ, M.D., OVERLAND PaRK BETTY MCBRIDE, PUBLIC MEMBER, CoLumBus
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR JAMES D. EDWARDS, D.C., EMPORIA CHARLOTTE L. SEAGO, M.D., LIBERAL
HOWARD D. ELLIS, M.D., LEAWOOD CAROLINA M. SORIA, D.O., WiCHITA
MEMBERS OF THE BOARD FRANK K. GALBRAITH, D.P.M., WicHITA EMILY TAYLOR, PUBLIC MEMBER, LAWRENCE
ROBERT L. FRAYSER, D.O., PRESIDENT JOHN P. GRAVINO, D.O., LAWRENCE ROGER D. WARREN, M.D., HANOVER
HOISINGTON SUE ICE, PUBLIC MEMBER, NEwToN RONALD J. ZOELLER, D.C., ToPEKA
LANCE E. MALMSTROM, D.C., VICE-PRESIDENT JANA D. JONES, M.D., LEAVENWORTH

TOPEKA



Testimony of Mark W. Stafford
Regarding House Bill No. 2060
Page 2

Initially, the fact of a criminal conviction, or even the acquittal from criminal charges,
should not be the only determining factor of whether a person may practice the healing arts.
Standing between an accusation and an actual conviction lie many things, some of which have
nothing to do with whether the misconduct actually occurred. For example, the skill of the
prosecutor and defense counsel, the accuracy of the jury instructions, the competence of the law
enforcement officers in collecting information, and sometimes even the popularity of the accused
may influence the actual verdict. When disciplining a licensed professional, the greatest concern
should be with the facts of the case rather than with the ultimate outcome of a criminal trial.

Secondly, the Board believes that licensing cases should be considered for the purpose of
public protection, not for additional punishment. Protecting the public does not require
automatic revocation of a professional license following every conviction. The public expects to
be protected from dangerous practitioners of the healing arts, but the public also needs access to
professional services provided by competent practitioners. The physician’s skills are a unique
benefit to society. Thus, when the practitioner engages in misconduct, discretion should be
applied to fashion appropriate remedies. Revocation or denial of a license might be the
appropriate remedy. However, placing conditions or limitations upon the license might provide
adequate public protection. The only purpose served by systematically revoking or denying a
license based upon a felony conviction is to punish the individual. Exacting appropriate and
sufficient punishment is the function of the criminal justice system, and not of regulatory boards.

Thirdly, the Board believes that determining rehabilitation is possible, though not a
perfect science. However, the Kansas Supreme Court has approved factors for establishing
rehabilitation. In Vakas v. Kansas Board of Healing Arts, 248 Kan. 589 (1991), the Court upheld
the Board’s decision not to reinstate a revoked license. The Board had applied eight factors in
finding that Dr. Vakas was not sufficiently rehabilitated. Those factors included: (1) the present
moral fitness of the doctor; (2) the demonstrated consciousness of the wrongful conduct and the
disrepute brought upon the profession; (3) the extent of rehabilitation; (4) the nature and
seriousness of the original misconduct; (5) subsequent conduct; (6) the time elapsed since the
original discipline; (7) the individual’s character, maturity, and experience at the time of the
original revocation; and (8) the individual’s present competence in medical skills. While Vakas
dealt with reinstatement of a revoked license, the Board may apply these factors any time
rehabilitation is questioned.

The Board has had several opportunities to consider whether a person convicted of a
felony should be granted a license or should have a license disciplined. Several licenses have
been denied or revoked based upon a person’s conduct which led to the felony conviction. In
those instances when revocation or denial has not been ordered some other discipline generally
has been ordered, usually in the form of a fine, censure, limitation and monitoring. Limitations
on the scope or extent of practice have been ordered when the Board believed these were
necessary as a means of protecting the public. Ultimately, the decision must be made whether



Testimony of Mark W. Stafford
Regarding House Bill No. 2060
Page 3

the individual warrants the public trust, and usually this requires considering the extent to which
the person has been rehabilitated. The factors for determining rehabilitation that were identified
in Vakas v. Kansas Bd. of Healing Arts are identical to the factors for determining rehabilitation
in House Bill No. 2060. Those factors are appropriate not only in reinstatement cases, but also in
any case in which an individual’s rehabilitation following a conviction is in question.

Finally, the Board suggests a minor amendment to the bill. K.S.A. 2000 Supp. 65-28a05
states grounds for disciplinary action against physician assistants. This is a new statute adopted
last session, and was apparently left out of this bill as an oversight. The Board asks that this
statute also be included in the amendments.

In conclusion, the Board fully supports House Bill No. 2060, and requests that it be
expanded to also include physician assistants when they are convicted of a crime.

Very truly yours,

Mark W. Staffor
General Counsel
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KANSAS MEDICAL SOCIETY

TO: House Committee on Health and Human Services

FROM: Chris Collins %« a(lrﬂ-f

Director of Government A ffairs
DATE: February 6, 2001

RE: HB 2060: Licensure Reinstatement

Chairman Boston and Ladies and Gentlemen of the Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to testify today in support of HB 2060. The Kansas Medical Society
endorses the concept of this bill and respectfully urges this committee to pass it after some
clarification.

HB 2060 standardizes the criteria that all licensing boards must utilize in determining whether a
licensee, whose license has been revoked because of a felony or misdemeanor conviction, should
have that license reinstated. KMS supports the concept of standardization of criteria for all licensing
boards on this issue. The criteria articulated in HB 2060 have their genesis in the Kansas State
Supreme Court case Vakas v. Kansas Board of Healing Arts, 248 Kan. 589, 808 P.2d 1355 (1991).
The criteria are reasonable and, as a practical matter, have been applied by the Kansas State Board
of Healing Arts in making such determinations since the Vakas decision was handed down. The
criteria ensure that all licensing boards require moral fitness of its licensees while ensuring that each
licensing board is still afforded a reasonable measure of discretion in policing its profession.
Furthermore, setting forth the Vakas factors in statute will afford applicants some measure of
predictability of their likelihood for success prior to committing considerable time and financial
resources to the licensure reinstatement process.

However, the Vakas factors may not be appropriate for those seeking licensure for the first time. For
example, factors set forth on lines 41 and 42 on page one of the bill, "(5) the conduct subsequent to
discipline; and (6) the time elapsed since the original discipline" assume that the licensing board has
already taken disciplinary action against the applicant. As a practical matter, that would have been
impossible as the licensing board would have had no jurisdiction over that individual prior to initial
licensure. KMS would respectfully ask this committee for additional clarification on the application
of those factors to those seeking initial licensure.

For the foregoing reasons, KMS urges the House Committee on Health and Human Services to pass
the bill, with some additional clarification. Thank you for the opportunity to comment today on this
important issue.
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