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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Michael O’Neal at 3:30 p.m. On March 14, 20001 in
Room 313-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Representative Geraldine Flaharty - Excused
Representative Andrew Howell - Excused
Representative Tom Klein - Excused
Representative Rick Rehorn - Excused

Committee staff present:
Jerry Ann Donaldson, Legislative Research Department
Jill Wolters, Revisor of Statutes Office
Cindy O’Neal, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Sheila Walker, Director of Vehicles, Department of Revenue, Division of Vehicles
Todd Butler, President, Kansas Merchant Security Association
Elwaine Pomeroy, Kansas Collectors & Credit Attorneys Association
Francis Kastner, Kansas Food Dealers Association
Marlee Carpenter, Kansas Retail Council
Senator Karin Brownlee
James Freeman, Moor, Hennessy & Freeman, Attorneys at Law
Marvin Allen, Permanent Paving
Roy Worthington, Kansas Land & Title Association
Chuck Stones, Kansas Bankers Association
William Larson, General Counsel, Association of General Contractors of Kansas
Janet Stubbs, Kansas Building & Industry Association

Hearings on SB 67 - driving under the influence, suspension of driving privileges, were opened.

Sheila Walker, Director of Vehicles, Department of Revenue, Division of Vehicles, informed the committee
that the proposed bill would remedy the conflict where the blood alcohol content of a driver under the age of
21 measures above .08, the licenses is suspended for a period of one year or the length of the diversion. Some
courts are allowing a 30 day license suspension rather than one year. (Attachment 1)

Jim Hanni, American Automobile Association of Kansas, provided the committee with written testimony in
support of the bill. (Attachment 2)

Hearings on SB 67 were closed.

Hearings on_ HB 2549 - worthless check; damages, were opened.

Todd Butler, President, Kansas Merchant Security Association, appeared before the committee as a proponent
of the bill. He explained that the proposed legislation would allow merchants the ability to send a notice of
aworthless check by first class. This would be less expensive to the merchant. It would also allow merchants
to set their return check service charge at $30 and remove the posting requirement. Finally, it amends the
definition of a worthless check to one that “is dishonored and not paid after presentment and demand”
(Attachment 3)

Elwaine Pomeroy, Kansas Collectors & Credit Attorneys Association, informed the committee that in most
legal instances notices are given by regular mail, therefore saving about $4.75 per certified letter. (Attachment
4)

Francis Kastner, Kansas Food Dealers Association, appeared in support of the bill. She stated that customers

who make honest mistakes are more likely to make good on the check immediately. It’s those who want the
goods and do not care about being honest that the bill addresses. (Attachment 5)



Marlee Carpenter, Kansas Retail Council, makes two significant changes that benefits businesses: allowing
the demand to be sent by first class and the removal of the requirement that a retailer must place a sign
mforming of the amount of the service charge. (Attachment 6)

Paul Davis, Kansas Bar Association, did not appear before the committee but requested his written testimony
in support of the proposed legislation be included in the committee minutes. (Attachment 7)

Hearings on HB 2549 were closed.

Hearings on SB 197 - extending filing time on certain mechanics liens, were opened.

Senator Karin Brownlee thanked the Chairman for holding hearings on the bill. She explained that it would
simply extend the time for filing mechanics’ liens for contractors and subcontractors to 120 days for
residential and 180 for property other than residential property.

James Freeman, Moor, Hennessy & Freeman, Attorneys at Law, informed the committee that the average
costs of filing a mechanics lien is $1,500 and that there was 660 filed in Johnson County last year. Extending
the time in which a lien can be filed benefits all the parties involved by determining if there is a dispute or
if payment is at issue and gives them an attempt to resolve it. (Attachment §) '

Marvin Allen, Permanent Paving, stated that he has talked to many companies about extending the filing time
on mechanics liens and they all support it. The number of liens that are filed are a tremendous costs to the
state and county court systems. (Attachment 9)

Written testimony from Commerce Bank & Western Retail Implement & Hardware Association stated their
support of the bill and was distributed (Attachments 10 & 11)

Roy Worthington, Kansas Land & Title Association, appeared in opposition to the bill. He commented that
the only people that would benefit from the bill would be contractors. The current law is a balanced law that
protects property owners and titles. (Attachment 12)

Chuck Stones, Kansas Bankers Association, told the committee that they are concerned that by extending the
time in which to file it would put the title in limbo and delay the closing on the loan. (Attachment 13)

William Larson, General Counsel, Association of General Contractors of Kansas, would like to see the lien
laws go unchanged. He doesn’t see the need or reason to expand the rights. He believes that it would simply
have the contractor paying at the end of 180 days instead of the 90 days. (Attachment 14)

Janet Stubbs, Kansas Building & Industry Association, stated that they were concerned about extending the
time to file liens on residential property, but have members that support and oppose extending the time on
commercial property. (Attachment 15)

Written testimony in opposition to the bill from Mid-America Lumbermens Association was distributed
(Attachment 16).

Hearings on SB 197 were closed.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted
to the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections.
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FROM: Sheila J. Walker, Director of Vehicles W
DATE: Matrch 14, 2001

RE: Senate Bill 67

Chairman O’Neal and members of the House Judiciary Committee, my name is Sheila Walker,
and I serve as Director of the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles. Thank you for the opportunity
to provide testimony today in support of Senate Bill 67.

The 1996 Kansas Legislature enacted zero tolerance, making it unlawful for any person less than
21 years of age to operate or attempt to operate a vehicle in this state with a breath or blood
alcohol content of .02 or greater. The law became effective in January 1997. The license
sanction for a first occurrence was a 30-day suspension. On a second and subsequent occurrence,
the license sanction was a 90-day suspension.

The 1999 Legislature made the license sanction even tougher for drivers under 21 whose blood
alcohol content measures between .02 and .0799. Starting July 1, 1999, the license sanction for a
first occurrence is a one-year suspension. On a second and subsequent occurrence, the license
sanction is, again, one year. However, there’s a discrepancy for drivers under 21 whose blood
alcohol content is .08 or greater.

If the blood alcohol content of a driver under the age of 21 measures above .08, the license is
suspended for one-year or the length of diversion. Some courts are allowing 30-day license
suspensions, rather than a full year. The message this sends to teens is: the more you drink,
the less of a driver’s license suspension you may serve.

When the Division attempted to clean up this inequity a year ago, Chairman O’Neal was wisely
quoted in the Topeka Capital-Journal as saying, “Obviously, we don’t want our laws to be more
lenient as the seriousness of the offense goes up.”
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We are once again trying to resolve this public safety concern this session. Our bill originally
proposed a one-year license suspension for all drivers under the age of 21 whose blood alcohol
content measures above .02.

The Senate Judiciary Committee amended the bill so drivers under 21 whose blood alcohol
content measures above .08 face a one-year license suspension, and drivers under 21 whose
blood alcohol content measures above .02 but under .08 face a 30-day license suspension,
followed by a 330-day restriction. Driving privileges will be suspended for one year on a second
or subsequent occurrence.

The Division supports the changes approved by the full Senate. We appreciate your
consideration as well.



Testimony in support of SB 67
House Judiciary Committee
March 14, 2001

My name is Jim Hanni and | am the President and CEO for the American
Automobile Association of Kansas. AAA Kansas is a membership organization
representing over 135,000 motorists in our state.

On behalf of AAA Kansas and its members, | am here to urge your support of SB
67 regarding drivers license suspension.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Association, during a typical
weekend, an average of one teenager dies every hour in a car crash. Almost 50
percent of those crashes involve alcohol. Alcohol-related highway crashes are
the leading cause of death for adolescents and young adults in the U.S. Lesser
penalties propagate the idea that drinking and driving is not a serious offense.
By imposing stricter penalties, the message is sent to young drivers that drinking
and driving is serious business.

In a public affairs survey conducted last October by AAA Kansas, 82 percent of
our members said that their top safety concern as motorists was drunk drivers.
This is no surprise considering that about 2 in every 5 Kansans will be involved in
an alcohol-related crash sometime in their life. (KDOT) Seventy-two percent of
the driving age public agrees that the penalties for drinking and driving should be
more severe. (NHTSA)

With the severity of consequences from drinking and driving, coupled with the
public support for stricter penalties, AAA Kansas urges your support of SB 67.
Thank you.
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March 13, 2001

HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE
Re: House Bill 2549

Members of the committee:

My name is Todd Butler and I am a Lawyer. First, let me thank you for the opportunity to
speak to you today on HB2#58. For 15 years I have practiced law. For most of that time,

collections have been the mainstay of my practice. Collecting worthless checks is a significant
part of my practice.

In every instance I am aware of, notice of the returned check is sent to the check writer by his
or her bank, and two to three notices via mail or phone call are attempted by the check recovery
company or merchant, before the check is ever sent to an attorney. After a check 1s received by
an attorney he or she must send a 30 day demand for payment to comply with federal law, the
Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and a 14 day demand for payment to comply with this Act,
K.S.A. 60-2610. Nothing in this bill will alter the number of notices sent to the check writer.

It is only after the expiration of the 14 day demand that suit can be filed, if you want to take
advantage of the attorney fees and damages provision allowed by this Act.

In my contractual relationship with merchants across Kansas I receive all of the attorney fees
awarded by the court pursuant to K.S.A. 60-2610. Ido not share in the return check service
charge, and the check amount is returned in whole to the Merchant. The Merchant is responsible
for all court costs and certified mail expense and recovers these amounts only if a recovery is
made.
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RESTRICTED MAIL

The current law requires that a demand for payment be sent to the debtor via registered mail
advising him or her of the impending lawsuit and the addition of attorney fees and damages, if
the check, service charge and registered mail charge is not paid within 14 days. This bill
proposes that the demand be sent via first class mail.

For the month of January, I have kept track of the results of the registered mail returns in my
office. The results are as follows: _
» 46% of the registered letters were received by the check writer or someone at the
home of the check writer,
> 38% of the registered letters were returned unclaimed, and
» 16% of the registered letters were returned for other reasons.

A large percentage of our registered mail is returned unclaimed. That means that the postal
carrier believes that the individual receives mail at the address and at least two notices have been
left by the postal carrier, notifying the individual that a registered letter needs to be picked up.
There is no explanation as to why the mail is unclaimed other than that to a person in financial
trouble no good news comes in certified mail.

If the purpose of the demand for payment is to put the check writer on notice, I can assure you
that more individuals will receive the demand if it is sent by first class mail. In Shawnee County,
the court has been sending hearing notices to criminal defendants using first class mail instead of
certified mail for over one year. We know from the experience of the Shawnee County District
Court that more criminal defendants are appearing in court.

In addition, the cost for restricted mail is now $6.94 a letter. With the thousands of worthless
checks being written, this puts a heavy financial burden on the Merchant.

POSTING OF THE RETURN CHECK CHARGES

Current law allows a $10 return check service charge unless another amount, not to exceed
$30, is conspicuously posted. It is my belief that approximately 98% of all merchants charge
$30 for a return check service charge. This bill proposes to set the return check service charge at
$30 and remove the posting requirement.

In 1993 T was co-counsel in a class action lawsuit filed in Douglas County. One of the claims
made was that the Merchant failed to conspicuously post a notice of the $30 return check charge.
Through my experience in that lawsuit I have learned that maintaining a notice of the return
check charge is a monumental task for the Merchant. These stickers get picked on and removed
by customers and their children, they are covered by displays placed by vendors, and they are
covered by individuals putting up signs for community events and looking for lost dogs.
Regardless of the difficulty, current law makes it the responsibility of the Merchant to post the
notice and therein lays the liability.
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In addition, it is impossible for the Merchant who makes home deliveries to maintain the
sticker. Therefore, unless this Merchant can separate the check given at the store from the check
taken on delivery all return checks must be charged at $10.

INTEREST APPLIED

Pursuant to K.S.A. 16-204 interest accrues on all past due (liquidated) amounts at 10%, unless
there 1s an agreement which specifies otherwise, except bad checks. Current law does not allow
the collection of interest until after Judgment. This Bill would allow the addition of interest on
worthless checks from the beginning. While this would only amount to pennies for the typical

bad check claim, it would amount to significant dollars to Merchants who have large losses in
worthless checks.

DEFINITION OF A WORTHLESS CHECK

Under current law, if an individual testifies that he or she thought they had sufficient funds in
the account to cover the check the court would have to make a finding of intent to commit fraud,
contrary to their testimony, in order to find that the check was by definition a worthless check.
This Bill cleans up the statutory definition of giving a worthless check. When a check is
dishonored and not paid after presentment and demand, by definition it is a worthless check.

REPEAL OF K.S.A. 60-2611

This bill proposes to repeal K.S.A. 60-2611. In the past I have as an alternative asked for
attorney fees pursuant to K.S.A. 60-2611, should the court find that the check was not given with
the intent to commit fraud. With the change of the definition of a worthless check, in under to
this bill, this act is no longer needed.

I thank you for your time.

Respectfully,

4

Todd B. Butler



REMARKS CONCERNING HOUSE BILL 2549

HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

MARCH 14, 2001

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to express support of House Bill 2549
on behalf of the Kansas Credit Attorneys Association, which is a state-wide organization
of attorneys whose practice includes considerable collection work, and Kansas Collectors
Association, Inc., which is an association of collection agencies in Kansas.

One of the changes that the bill makes is that the written demand for the payment
of a check would be given by first class mail. There have been many studies which show
very vividly that first class mail is much more likely to reach the intended recipient than
is restricted mail. The change to first-class mail will result in more of the written
demands actually reaching the persons who wrote the checks.

The establishment in the statute of a service charge of no more than $30.00
without the necessity of posting a notice recognizes the reality that often worthless
checks are given to a delivery person, such as a delivery person for pizza, where the
person receiving the pizza would not have occasion to see a notice posted at the place of
the pizza maker.

Our groups support the changes to the statute made in this bill.

Elwaine F. Pomeroy
For Kansas Credit Attorneys Association
And Kansas Collectors Association, Inc,
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SUPPORTING HB 2549

I am Frances ZKXastner, Director of Governmental
Rffairs for the Kansas Food Dealers Association Our
members include retailers, distributors and manufactur-
ers of food products throughout the State.

Grocers have always tried to give their customers
the most value for the dollars spent in their stores.
However, there are some people who intentionally write
worthless checks, thereby causing the honest consumer,
like yvou and me, to pay more for their groceries.

If our customers write a bad check inadvertently,
they still cause a lot of time and expense to the
grocer for collecting on that check. We don’'t believe
this bill targets the person who makes an error in the
calculation of the balance in their check book.

The customer who makes an honest mistake
likely to responds to the grocer’s telephone
pays the amount of the bad check. In most instances,
the grocer is happy to get the money for the purchases
and forgives the $30 fee which he could collect.

is very
call and

When that is not the case, and the writer of a bad
check ignores the written demand letter and further
action is required, HB 2549 will help reduce the total
amount of profit lost from uncollected bad checks.

The bottom line in any business is that ALL the
cperating expenses incurred have to be paid before the
business can continue to coperate. We see no reason for
the honest consumer having to bear the burden of paving
for those who deliberately try to escape a debt.

Thank you for allowing me to present our views and
we urge you to recommend HB 2545 favorably.
e

¥
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Frances Kastner, Director
Governmental Affairs, KFDA
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HB 2549

March 14, 2001

KANSAS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY
Testimony Before the

House Judiciary Committee
by

Marlee Carpenter
Executive Director, Kansas Retail Council

Mr. Chairman and members of the Committee:

My name is Marlee Carpenter and | am the Executive Director of the Kansas Retail Council, an

affiliate of the Kansas Chamber of Commerce and Industry. | am here today in support of HB 2549,

which makes several changes to Kansas' worthless check statute.

The Kansas Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KCCl) is a statewide organization dedicated to the

promotion of economic growth and job creation within Kansas, and to the protection and support of
the private competitive enterprise system.

KCCl is comprised of more than 2,000 businesses which includes 200 local and regional chambers of
commerce and trade organizations which represent over 161,000 business men and women. The
organization represents both large and small employers in Kansas, with 48% of KCCl's members

having less than 25 employees, and 78% having less than 100 employees. KCCI receives no
government funding.

The KCCI Board of Directors establishes policies through the work of hundreds of the organization's
members who make up its various committees. These policies are the guiding principles of the
organization and translate into views such as those expressed here.

Worthless checks are a large problem for many retailers. In 1999, U.S. consumers wrote 68
billion checks of which 612 million personal checks bounced. These worthless checks totaled $19.9

billion. A Nilson Report states that U.S. consumers write more than 1.2 million bad checks daily.

House Judiciary
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The number of checks written each year is increasing, as is the number of checks that bc 3
Retailers lose millions of dollars each year processing and prosecuting bad check claims. Retailers
do not recover their costs in many cases, which increases the cost of doing business. Retailers have
no choice but to pass the costs of worthless checks to the consumers by increasing prices or
decreasing services.

HB 2549 makes several significant changes to the worthless check statute. There are two
changes that | would like to emphasize. The first change would allow a demand to be sent by first
class mail instead of certified mail. Retailers have found that many people do not sign for certified
mail and do not receive their notice. This is an expensive and frustrating process for the retailer.

Second is the removal of the requirement that a retailer conspicuously place a sign informing
patrons the amount of the service charge. Kansas is in a minority of states that require the posting of
a sign to invoke a higher service charge. Those who collect checks at the point of delivery receive a
$10 service charge on returned checks while those who collect checks at a store, where a sign can
be conspicuously displayed, receive a $30 service charge. This unfairly discriminates against

businesses that delivers or does service work. HB 2549 would remedy this inequity.

Thank you for your time today and we urge you to support HB 2549. | will be happy to answer

any questions.
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FROM: PAUL DAVIS, KBA LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:

As you are aware, House Bill 2549 grew out of House Bill 2150,
which was heard by the House Business, Commerce and Labor Committee
on February 7" and 8", The KBA stated several concerns it had with
House Bill 2150 to the House Business, Commerce and Labor Committee
at the hearings. Most specifically, the KBA objected to a provision that
would take away a judge’s discretion in awarding attorney fees in

worthless check cases.

The proponents of House Bill 2549 have drafted the bill to try to
address the concerns that the KBA and several other parties expressed
about House Bill 2150. We have carefully reviewed House Bill 2549 and
are very comfortable in supporting it. We agree with the change from
restricted mail to first class mail because it will result in a much higher
rate of penetration to debtors. This will only result in more worthless
check disputes being resolved prior to the commencement of litigation.
We appreciate the House Judiciary Committee’s consideration of the bill.

Thank you for allowing me to present this written testimony.
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The Honorable Mike O*Neal, Chairperson
Kansas House Judiciary Committee
Room 170-W

300 SW 10 |

Topeka, Kansas 66612

Re:  Senate Bill 197 - Revisions to K.S A, 960-1101, et seq., - Mechanic’s Lien Law
Dear Representative O'Neal:

Our fitrm’s primary practice area is in the primary field of construction contract matters,
construction claims and government contract claims, MHF has years of experience and expertise
representing general confractors, sybcontractors, material suppliers, owners and surety companies,
Our tepresentation, while focused in Kansas and Misgouri, extends natiopally end internationally in
advising consttuction related clients and resolving disputes through many available remedies and in
many jurisdictions. MHF advises construction related clients throughout the nation and files many
liens in a numbper of jurisdictions throughout the nation. A primary remedy utilized on behalf of
MHT"s clients is use of the various mechanic’s lien laws. These laws vary from state to state with
respect to notices, time limjtations and the availability of the remedy for use by various sub-tiers of
contractors, sub~contractors and suppliers on and to construction projects.

Based upon experienee, it is my opinion that the present Kansas mechanic’s lien law’s filing
time limitations are much too restrictive, disallow the construction indpsiry from functjoning in
generally aceepted construction industry standards, artificially restrict commerce in the construction
trades, regtrict competition in the industry, unduly restrict credit extension by trade creditors, result
in increased construction costs and needlessly increase the number of mechanic’s liens filed in
Kansas, Kansas requires subcontractors and suppliers to file mechanic’s liens against real estate and
the improvements within three (3) months of the last day worked or the last material delivered to the
project, The three month time limitation is much too short and results in many more liens being filed
than practicality otherwise would dictate, In contrast, many other jurisdictions (including Missouri)
allow mechanic’s liens fo be filed within six (6) months of the last day worked or materials supplied.
These jurisdictions regult in many fewer mechanic’s liens being filed in that the lotiger time frame
more truly reflect generally accepted construction industry credit and payment practices.
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In MHF’s experience the six month time limitations allows the owners, general contractars,
sub-~contractors and suppliets to resolye their differences without the real estate being unduly
encumbered ot affected and without artificially forcing construction parties into legal acrion,
Kansas’ shortened three month fime limitation results in & proportionately higher percentage of liens
being filed in Kansas than in jurisdictions with six month time limitations and artificially forces
construction parties into legal action. In Kansas parties are forced to proactively file mechanic’s
liens for protection, instead of filing liens as a last resort remedy (which MHF beljeves should be
the true purpose of mechanic’s lieng), The requirement to artificially file mechanic’s liens
unfortunately limits voluntary resolution of payment issues between owners, general contractors,
subcontractors and suppliers. Based upon MHF’s experience, the most prevalent reaction to the
filing of a mechanic’s lien is a polarization and hardening of positions between construction parties.
Relationships between owners and lenders are needlegsly strained because of the protective filing
of mechanic’s liens, Thig serves only to escalate disputes befween parties. Voluntary resolution
without the needless expenditure of legal expenses and without resort to and use of limited District
Court resoyrces is the most preferential method to remedy disputes.

The general constryction industry practice is that subcontractors and syppliers are not even
entitled to payment until the 75" day or later after a payment application is subtnitted on 2 project,
The payment application itself i commonly suybmitted 10-15 days after the date the work or
materials are last gupplied. Following normal, accepted canstruction industry trade practices
payment is not even due on a construction project until the 90" day after the work or materials are
provided, Thus, under Kansas law a prudent subcontractor or supplier is required to file a
mechariic’s lien alleging non-payment to protect itself when, in fact, payment may not even be due
or may only be late by a day or twa, Failure of the subcontractor or supplier to file its mechanic’s
lien would recklessly expose the claimant from losing a valuable remedy, and which may later
develop to be the only viable manner in which monies due are 1o be collected. This problem is
compounded by the commeon indusiry practice of contract balance retainage, which is often 10% of
the contract balance and often is n contractually payable until three (3) or more months after the
project is substantially camplete and may actually be many more months after the subcontractor or
supplier actually worked or supplied on the project. In ¢ircumstances where the monies are not even
due but protective liens are filed the business relationships among the parties arg much more
adversarial, protracted and expenses and needlessly add to the District Court’s dockets and case load.

MHF has many rlients performing substantial congtruction work in both Kansas and
Missouri. It is not uncommon for these clients to regylarly file 50-100 mechanic’s liens a year in
Kansag, while filing less than a dozen liens a year in Missouri. These clients are petrforming the
same wotlk for the samg type of customers in both gtates, The only material difference is Kansas®
three month filing limitation and Missourl's six month filing limitation. In fact, MHF has several
clients with two standard operating procedures, the Kansas procedure which is to begin lien filing
action if not paid in full on day 75 and the Migsouri procedure which is to begin lien filing action
if not paid in full on day 123.
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Extending the time in which any contractor or supplier may file a lien benefits all parties
involved in the construction project - bankers, owners, general contractors, subcontractors and
suppliers. It allows the parties the opportunity to first determine if there actually is a dispute or
payment jsgue and aftempt to resolve it. It then allows additional time to perfect the lien rights as
a remedy of last resort, not of first resort. The six month time limitation gives an opportunity for a
demand letter to be written and place all parties on notice that unless resolution is had the drastic
remedy of filing of a mechanic’s lien will ococur. The longer six month time limit in other
jurisdictions most certainly results in fewer liens being filed in slow payment situations, which may
be capsed by nothing other than the time constraints imposed to submit and obtain draws on a
construction loan with a prudent lender. It is beneficial for all parties to a congtruction project,
including lenders and owner, fo extend the lien filing litnitations to mor closely reflect the presently
accepted construction payment cyeles.

While the proposed modifications will benefit others associated with construction, e.g. title
companies, lenders, owners, efc., the proposed modifications to the law will not adversely affect
themn, Based upon our firm’s extensive practice in the mechanic’s lien law area in both Kansas and
Misgouri over the last 30 years, our firm recalls only four (4) instances when a title company acting
as an insyrer (as opposed o simple closing agent) ectyally paid any claim on mechanic’s lien
coverage. Two (2) of the instances were on the Missouri side and two (2) were on the Kansas side.
In three of the instances the title ingurer actually had held reserves from the loan closing with which
to cover the exposure. The fourth instance (which occurred in Kansas) involved an individual who
clearly intentionally acted to defraud not only lus trade creditors, but also his lenders and customers,
I would assume the individual was able to carry out the fraud in Kansas becanse the title ingurer had
not conducted a basic credit check or investigation of the individual against whom it was insuring,

Given the benefits which flow to all parties to the construction project and the natural time
limitations of the construction industry, the proposed extension of time limitations to six months for
all mechanic’s liens would vastly improve the construction industry in that it would allow the
industry to function in the cyrrent generally accepted congtruetion industry standards, it would not
artificially restrict commmerce in the construction trades, it would encourage competition in the
industry and would greatly decrease the number of mechanic’s liens filed in Kansas

Sincerely,

MOORE HENNESSY & FREEMAN, P.C,

JEF3/ltc
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Kenneth Keller, Controller
Western Extralite Co.

Kansas City, MO
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Kamrsas City, MO
1470 Liberty Street
Kansas City, MO 64102
816-421-8404

5t. Louis, MO

2444 Northline Industrial Dr.
Maryland Heights, MO 63043

314-432-4560

Lee's Summit, MO
1020 S.E. Hamblen Rd.
Lee's Summit, MO 64081
816-246-8300

N. Kansas City, MO
1124 Howell Street
NK.C., MO 64116
816-421-5888

St. Joseph, MO
1302 Frederick Ave.
St. Joseph, MO 64501
916-364-4500

Sedalia, MO

1501 Thompson Blvd.
Sedalia, MO 65301
660-827-3880

Warrensburg, MO
608 N. Ridgeview Drive
Warrensburg, MO 64093
660-429-6900

Lawrence, KS
1811 West 31st Street
Lawrence, KS 66046
785-843-4174

Leavenworth, KS
4601 Brewer Place
Leavenworth, KS 66048
913-727-2941

Manhattan, KS
221 Colorado Street
Manhatian, KS 66502
785-539-5665

Olathe, KS

1708 E. 123rd Street
Olathe, KS 66061
913-768-1777

Topeka, KS

4024 5. Topeka Blvd.

Topeka, KS 66609
'85-266-3541

WESTERN EXTRALITE GOMPANY

DISTRIBUTORS OF QUALITY ELECTRICAL PRODUCTS

1470 Liberty Street * Kansas City, MO 64102-1018
www.westernextralite.com

March 1, 2001

The Honorable Mike O’Neal

Chairman of the House Judiciary Committee
Kansas State Capitol Building

Room 170 West

Topeka, KS 66612

Dear Representative O’Neal:

RE: EXTENSION OF TIME FOR FILING MECHANIC’S LIENS — NON-
RESIDENTIAL PROPERTIES

My name is Ken Keller, Controller at Western Extralite Company, a wholesale
electrical distributor doing business in Kansas and Missouri. A large portion of our
sales are to the electrical contractors working in the construction industry. Most of
our sales are sold on credit.

The issue we are discussing is the extension of time for filing mechanic’s liens in
the State of Kansas. First we need to identify what are mechanic’s liens. They are
encumbrances that attach to real property, and the improvements thereon, and
remain until satisfied. Mechanic’s liens are one of the primary remedies available
to those in the construction industry to collect payments on unpaid sales. This
should, however, be used only as a last resort, for reasons I will outline later in this
letter.

The mechanic’s lien itself is similar in Missouri and Kansas. However, the time for
filing a lien is quite different. Attached you will find a comparison of the time for
filing liens between Missouri and Kansas and its affect on the general contractor,
subcontractor, and the supplier.

Suppliers to subcontractors in Kansas, whether they are plumbers, electricians, etc.,
have three months to file a mechanic’s lien. Those same suppliers in Missouri have
a 6-month filing period. A commonly used billing term in our industry is payment

due 10" prox. and is as follows:

1. The billing cycle runs from the 26" of one month to the 25™ of the following
month. See the time line enclosed.
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2. Payment 1s due, if no cash discount is offered, 30 days after the close of the
billing cycle. Inreality, this is 35 days, which runs through the end of the
month. Merchandise invoices dated through the 25™ of the month is normally
discountable on the following 10" and would be due without discount at the end
of that month. However, invoices dated on the 26™ are not due the following
10", but the 10" of the next month, and would still be subject to cash discount.

3. These are due net of discount by the end of that month and are still considered
paid within billing terms. Thus, an invoice dated on January 26™ could be 65
days old and still be paid within terms. This leaves only 25 days for the issuer
of the invoice to determine there is a problem and prepare for and file
mechanic’s liens in Kansas. This time frame is entirely too short.

Our customers often pay invoices from payments they receive from the general
contractor. There are a variety of reasons why they may wait 60 to 90 days before
they get paid. Payments are made on construction contracts monthly and delays
frequently occur. The supplier, on the other hand, has to file their liens within 90
days from the date material was last delivered to avoid loosing their lien rights.
There are many issues to consider before filing a lien:

1. It is expensive to file and then release liens when payments are received a little
late.

2. The profit margins in our industries are very close and do not provide for these
additional costs.

3. The administrative costs for monitoring and handling liens are extremely time-
consuming and expensive.

4. Most importantly, we spend considerable time, effort, and money developing

relationships with our customers. These relationships are destroyed when a lien
1s filed.
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We believe the Kansas law should be changed to allow a filing time of 180 days,
which 1s similar to 6 months currently being used successfully in Missouri. This
would result in fewer liens being filed and a greater time period to resolve issues,
thereby, preserving the business relationships referred to above. Our attorney tells
us they file three times more liens in Kansas than they do in Missouri. This is a
result in the time differential for filing. Our proposed change in the filing time
from 90 days to 180 days would benefit the owner, the general contractors, the
subcontractor, and the supplier, and would lighten the backlog of lawsuits in our
judicial system. The fiscal note is zero regarding our proposed change.

We urge the Senate Judiciary Committee to recommend the adoption of the law to
extend the mechanic’s lien filing period to 180 days as outlined above. The
construction industry is critical to the well being of our economy and everything
possible should be done to help those who finance the construction activity. All
parties would benefit from this suggested improvement.

Thank you for attention and cooperation.
Sincerely,

KLl

Kenneth R. Keller
Controller

/bb



LIEN LAWS — KANSAS AND MISSOURI

Nonresidential Property Time for Filing Lien *
KS MO

Tier I General Contractor 120 days 6 months

Tier II Subcontractor or supplier to 90 days 6 months —

general contractor

Tier IIT Subcontractor to a subcontractor or 90 days
a supplier to a subcontractor

* From date of last material delivered or labor performed.

Must give 10
days notice
before filing
lien

6 months —
Must give 10
days notice
before filing
lien



Time Line — 10th Prox. Payment Term

Example 1:
Billed Discount Net Discount Net Lien
25th 10th 30th 10th 30th Filing

55 days remaining to file lien

90 days to file lien

Example 2:
Billed Discount Net Discount Net Lien
26th 30th Filing

25 days remaining
to file lien

@ 10



Mechanic Lien Summary for the Year 2000

State

Kansas

Missouri

County Population Liens filed
Sedgwick 451,684 746
Johnson 440,198 6
Shawnee 170,773 218
Reno 63,702

Total 1,126,357 ~ 1,702
St. Louis 996,181 332
St Charles 280,448 123
Jackson Not available

Green 227,002 159
Total 1,503,631 * T 614

Missouri as a % of Kansas

* Excludes Jackson County Figures not available

Liens/1000

1.651597

1.499325

1.276548

1.224451

1.511066
Using Missouri rate
Kansas adjusted
Estimated savings

0.333273

0.438584

0.700434

0.408345

27.02 %

Cost of
Filing
@1,500
1,119,000

990,000
327,000

117,000

2,553,000

27.02 %

689,913
1,863,087

498,000

184,500

238,500

921,000
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PROPOSED CHANGE
IN THE
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‘Donald B. Dawson
NECA-Kansas City Chapter Manager

Kansas City, MO

March 2001
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Kansas City Chapter:

National Electrical Contractors Assoclation

NE

4016 Washington St. Joseph PO. Box 32255
Kansas City, MO 6411 | -~ Kansas City, MO 64171

March 6, 2001

The Honorable Mike O’Neal .
Kansas House Judiciary Committee
Room 170-W — State Capitol Buildin

300 SW 10" '
Topeka, KS 66612

RE:  Support for Senate Bill 197 - Kansas Mechanics Lien Law — Filing Time Period

Dear Representative O’Neal:

This letter is written urging your support for Senate Bill 197, which is currently before the
Kansas House Judiciary Committee. This bill will change the filing time period in the

Mechanics Lien Law in the State of Kansas for non-residential property liens, :

The current law in Kansas permits a construction contractor to file a mechanics lien on real
property or improvements to real property within three (3) months of the last day worked-or the
last day material is delivered. This is simply not enough time in today’s business climate. This
unusually short time period creates an environment in which more mechanics liens are filed than
is really necessary, and creates more tension between owners and contractors .that is simply
unnecessary, and introduces more legal involvement than is really required.

If the time period to file a mechanics lien was extended to six (6) months, owners and
contractors would be able to work out many of the issues, thus reducing the need to file
mechanics liens in the first place. Additional benefits of extending the time period to file
mechanics liens would be reduced legal expenses for all concerned, the owners would not have
to be burdened with issues involving their reputation when a lien is filed, and the
owner/contractor relationship would be preserved by being able to amicably resolve issues prior
to the filing of a lien.

Accordingly, we respectfully request your support for Senate Bill 197. This is a very important
issue to all of our members who work throughout the entire State of Kansas.

Thank you for your consideration.
ncerely;

ﬁ onald B! son

Chapter Manager

fkslienlaw\dbd_ks_lienltr_housejudcommittee.doc

Telephone: (816) 753-7444  Fax: (816) 931-2314 » E-Mail: keneca@unicom.net &-12
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Dan Morgan, Director of Governmental Affairs
The Builders’ Association

Kansas City, MO
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1" "= BUILDERS” ASSOCIATION

SERvING MISSOURI AND KANSAS James L. Hutlon, Jr., President

Administrative Ofices at 632 Wes 39th Soreer - Kansas City, Missouri 64111 a (816) 531-4741

March 12, 2001

The Honorable Mike O’Neal

Room 170-W, State Capitol Building
300 SW 10™ Avenue

Topeka, KS 66612

Dear Representative O’Neal :

On behalf of nearly 450 general contractor, subcontractor and supplier members of the
Builders® Association who ate engaged in commercial and industrial building
construction and Who are domiciled in or perform work in Kansas, I urge your support of
Senate Bill 197. If adopted, this proposal would extend the time for filing mechanics’
liens on non-residential projects in Kansas and result in significantly fewer lien filings in
the state.

Senate Bill 179 would extend the lien-filing period for subcontractors and suppliers
performing work on or supplying materials to non-residential property from the current
three months to 180 days and would extend the filing period for general contractors
performing work on such property from the current four months to 180 days. The
Builders® Association supports an extension of the filing period in Kansas as a way to
reduce the number of mechanics’ lien filings in the state. Kansas’ relatively short lien
filing periods often encourage lien filings, unnecessarily cloud title to property and cause
strained relationships between owners and the contracting community.

Thank you for your thoughtful consideration of our position on this Important issue.
Please feel free to contact me for additional information.

Sincerely,
THE BUILDERS’ ASSOCIATION

bitbveg.

Dan Morgan
Director of Governmental Affairs

—— ——

OTTICERS AND DIRECTORS: Fhillip Moure,  Chairman  of the Board « Bill Fugan, Vice Chairman  of the Board
Cus Meyer, Assistant Chairman of the Board ¢ Leon Keller, Assistant Chairman of the Board « Demald R Pearee,  Assisiant
hairman of the Board * Morns I Dock, Immedisce Past Chairman of the Board o James O Delaney o Jefiry M. Dimon
wregory A, Dunn » Michael | Hayes « Todd Xane « Rory O‘Connor = Mark Teahan « ‘lhomas F Whittaker ¢ Richard A, Zahner

R-15



SUPPORTERS OF THE EXTENSION OF TIME
TO FILE MECHANIC’S LIEN

Western Extralite Company, 1470 Liberty Street, Kansas City, MO 64102-1018
Mid-America Lumbermen’s Assn., P O Box 419264, Kansas City, MO 64141
Carter-Waters Corporation, P O Box 412676, Kansas City, MO 64141

Shaw Electric Supply, 1066 E. 16" Street, Kansas City, MO 64108

Golden Star, Inc., P O Box 12539, North Kansas City, MO 64116
Associated River Terminal, P O Box 148, Marceilles, IL 61341

Harcros Chemicals, Inc., 5200 Speaker Road, Kansas City, KS 66106
Kansas City Electrical Supply, 10900 Mid America Ave., Lenexa, KS 66219
Heating & Cooling Distr., 4303 Merriam Dr., Overland Park, KS 66203
Alber Electric Company, 8601 Prospect, Kansas City, MO 64132

Electric League of Missouri & Kansas, 638 W. 39“1, Kansas City, MO 64111

IBEW & NECA Labor Management Corporation Trust
NECA Kansas City Chapter, P O Box 32255, Kansas City, MO 64171

SMACNA Kansas City Chapter, 777 Admiral Blvd., Kansas City, MO 64106

Missouri Valley Electric, P O Box 419640, Kansas City, MO 64141

Interstate Flooring, L.L.C./DBA Case Supply, 507 N Montgall, Kansas City, MO 64120
Teague Electric Construction, 14535 W. 96" Terrace, Lenexa, KS 66215

Builders Association, 632 W. 39 Stre_et, Kansas City, MO 64111

First National Bank of Olathe, 444 E. Santa Fe, Olathe, KS 66061

Stanion Wholesale Electric, P O Drawer P, Pratt, Kansas 67124

Mechanical Contractors Association, 9229 Ward Parkway, Suite 270, K.C., MO 64114

B -l



ADDITIONAL SUPPORTERS

Thomas M. Moore & James F. Freeman III — Partners in the law firm of
Moore, Hennessy & Freeman PC, Kansas City, MO

Robert E.Doran III — President of Capital Electric Construction Company,
Leavenworth, KS

D.L. Smith — President of D.L. Smith Electrical Construction, Inc., Topeka,
KS

H. Patrick Tolle — President of National Association of Credit Management,
Kansas City Division, Overland Park, KS

Donald B. Dawson — Chapter Manager of the Kansas City Chapter of the
National Electrical Contractors Association

Fire Sprinklers Association — Kansas City, MO
Kansas City Insulation Contractors — Kansas City, MO

The Sheet Metal & Air Conditioning Contractors, National Association of
Kansas City

Bernie Electrical Wholesale Company — Kansas City, KS
Broken Arrow Electric Supply — Broken Arrow, OK

C E D, Inc. — Mission, KS

Electrical Materials Company — Kansas City, MO

Glasco Electric Company — Tulsa, OK

Graybar Electric Company, Inc., Kansas City, MO

Marvin Allen — Vice President & Chief Estimator for Permanent Paving, a
Division of Ash Grove Cement, Overland Park, KS

Jim Lacy — President of Electrical Corporation of America, Raytown, MO

& -\



Jerry Root — President of Broadway Electric Construction Company, Kansas
City, KS

Bill Miller — Owner of Building Erection Services, Olathe, KS

Dan Haake — Owner of Haake Foundations, Raytown, MO

Bill Penny — Penny’s Concrete, Inc. Shawnee Mission, KS

Jamile Yameen - President of Electrical Contractors, Inc. Raytown, MO
Robert B. Fisher, President of Heartland Electric Corporation, Belton, MO
Scott L. Bond - Project Manager of Bond Electric, Inc., Lawrence, KS
James A. Fowler — Branch Manager of Shelley Electric, Inc, Emporia, KS

Tom Coble — Estimator of Shelley electric, Inc., Emporia, KS

8-19
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Concerete: The long-terin solution

8900 Indian Creek Parkway Suite 500 « Overland Park, KS 66210
{913) 451-7834 = (513) 451-0996 FAX = (816) 898-3600 MOBILE

MARVIN ALLEN. JR. March 14, 2001
VICE-PRESIDENT
Kansas House Judiciary Committee
Kansas State Capitol Building
300 SW 10t Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612

Dear Honorable Members of House Judiciary Committee:

RE: SENATE BILL 197 EXTENSION OF TIME FOR FILING MECHANIC'S LIEN'S —
NON RESIDENTIAL PROPERTIES

My name is Marvin Allen, Jr., Vice President of Permanent Paving, Inc., a Division of Ash Grove Cement Company.
My job takes me all over the State of Kansas, and for the past 18 years | have worked as a consultant on numerous projects
for contractors and owners in Kansas and Missouri where the lien law was an issue. As | testified at the Senate Judiciary
Hearing, | have talked to literally hundreds of business people interested in seeing Senate Bill 197 put into law. The
businesses are located all over the State of Kansas: Wichita, Hutchinson, Manhattan, Topeka, Ottawa, Lawrence,
Leavenworth, and Johnson County. Attached are letters from several banks referencing their support for Senate Bill 197.

In my opinion, the Missouri 180 day Lien Law works in everyone’s best interest. Besides the obvious, which is the
additional time for working out differences, it would allow us to sustain business relationships that are lost when liens have
to be filed. The additional 90 days would allow us to work out our differences and problems in a normal business fashion,
which unfortunately has to be overlooked to meet the current 90 days requirement.

| would like to approach this a little differently and point out a recent conversation | had with an attorney in Kansas
City. He informed me that his firm files at least three times the liens in Kansas than it does in Missouri strictly because of
the time differential. Handling these additional claims is extremely costly to the state and county to which they are filed. In
addition, these claims, along with other items requiring litigation, have over-loaded and over-whelmed our court system.
Imagine the relief to the state, county, and our court system if two-thirds of the cases involving filing of liens now being filed
never got on the books. That is the kind of relief we would see if Senate Bill 197 were passed. The enormous cost to the
state and counties, and the over-burdening on our court system, filing claims is extremely expensive for the individual
business owner. In order to file a claim, normally an attorney is involved and suit must be filed as mentioned above. In
addition, the owner has the burden of copying records, getting proofs of delivery, etc., to substantiate his case. Filing liens
is extremely costly to the business community.

Lastly, as mentioned above, my work takes me throughout the State of Kansas. This is an important issue to all in
the construction industry. There may be some that say, “This is only a Johnson County issue”; however, let me guarantee
that filing liens and maintaining business relationships is something that is important and utilized by all throughout the State
of Kansas. | ask for your support in seeing that Senate Bill 197 be approved by the House of Representatives. A heartfelt
thank you to this committee for their support and for taking the time to consider Senate Bill 197.

Respectively,
Ndw'm ALLen, Jv.
Marvin Allen, Jr.
MA:sah House Judiciary
3-14-01

Attachment 9
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sssy Commerce Bank

1000 Walnut
Post Office Box 419248
Kansas City, Missouri 64141-6248

(816) 234-2201 EDWARD J. REARDON, I

Vice Chairman

March 12, 2001

The Honorable Michael R. O’Neal SENT VIA FEDERAL EXPRESS
Chairman, Kansas House Judiciary Committee
Kansas State Capitol Building

Room 170-W

300 SW 10"

Topeka, KS 66612

Dear Representative O’Neal:
RE: REQUEST YOUR SUPPORT OF SENATE BILL 197

As a lending institution, we request your support to extend the Kansas Lien Law filing time to 180 days from its
present 90 days for subcontractor and suppliers and 120 days for general contractors. (The filing extension, as
passed by the Senate S.B.197, applies only to non-residential construction.) The 180-day filing period is being
very successfully used in Missouri, resulting in:

o Significantly fewer lien filings
e Lower administrative and legal costs
e Sustained relationships

The extended lien filing time will provide these benefits:

o It will allow adequate time for all contractors and suppliers to resolve differences amicably and, thus
retain important business relationships.

o It will avoid expensive legal and administrative costs as well as court actions.

o It leaves the owner and lender out of the process until it becomes absolutely necessary that a mechanic’s
lien be filed.

Bottom Line: All parties in the chain of construction, the owner, the lender, the contractors, and material
suppliers will benefit, thus making Kansas a better place in which to do business.

For all of the above, we again request your cooperation to have this change become law.

Sincerely,

EdwardJ. Reardon, 11
Vice Chairman

hlm

House Judiciary
3-14-01
Attachment 10



W, ROBERT ALDERSON, JR.

ALAN F. ALDERSON"
JosEPH M. WEILER
DARIN M, CONKLIN
MARK A. BURGHART
DaNieL W. Crow""
LeEsLIiE M. MILLER
DEBORAH FRYE STERN

TO:

FROM:

RE:

DATE:

AT DERSON, ALDERSON, WEILER,

CoONKLIN, BURGHART & Crow, L.1L.C.

ATTORNEYS AT LAW

2101 S.W. 21sT STREET
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66604-3174
MAILING ADDRESS: P.O. Box 237
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66601-0237

(7851232-0753
FACSIMILE: I 7851232-1866
WEB SITE: www.aldersonlaw.com

MEMORANDUM

MEMBERS, HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

OF COUNSEL:
BRI1AN FrROST
THOMAS C. HENDERSON
JoHN E. JANDERA (RETIRED)

LL.M., TAXATION
“LICENSED TO PRACTICE IN

KANSAS AND MISSQURI

ALAN F. ALDERSON, LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL, WESTERN
RETATL. IMPLEMENT AND HARDWARE ASSOCIATION

SENATE BILL 197

MARCH 14, 2001

On behalf of the Western Retail Implement and Hardware
Association, a six-state association of farm equipment dealers
and hardware dealers, I am urging your support of Senate Bill

197.

Our Association believes this modification to our state's
mechanic's lien laws would work to the benefit of not only
those dealers who supply materials, but the contractors who
can forego the filing of liens because the dealers have more
time to determine whether an account has become questionable.

We believe the bill would actually reduce the number of liens
filed as well as reduce both legal and administrative costs.

On behalf of the hardware members of Western Retail Implement
and Hardware Association, we ask you to recommend Senate Bill
197 favorably for passage. Thank you.

House Judiciary
3-14-01
Attachment 11



KANSAS LAND TITLE ASSOCIATION
8621 E. 215T NORTH
SUITE 150
WICHITA, KS 67206

Date: March 14, 2001

TO: House Judiciary Committee

RE: Senate Bill 197

The Kansas Land Title Association is opposed to extending the time period for filing mechanics’
liens on property for the following reasons:

1. The current law is a fair balance between the rights of property owners to protect their titles to
real estate and the rights of contractors and subcoptractors to file liens if their bills for material
and/or labor are unpaid (i.e. currently 4 months for contractors and 3 months for

subcontractors). It would be unfair to property owners to exténd the time period for filing liens
to 180 days after work is completed; i1 52

2. Under the current law, contractors and subcontractors are already “privileged” and have the
“extraordinary right” to file liens after the date supplies, material, equipment or labor are last
furnished to the job, and gaining a lien priority which dates back to the commencement of the
furnishing of such labor, equipment, material or supplies to the job site. No other business
enjoys such a privilege to assist in obtaining payment for material/labor/services rendered;

3. Extending the time period for filing liens encourages contractors and subcontractors to make
faulty credit decisions. It is not the function of the legislature to assist businesses in receiving
payment for services; S ‘ ‘ ‘

4. The existing law has been in effect for decades; recent changes to the law have been to reduce
the harshness of'the law to consumers. Extending the time for filing liens will increase the
sometimes-harsh effect of the law.

- 3. Extending the time period will also make titles to real estate that much more uncertain to the
prospective buyers and mortgage lenders. The buyer:of a newly constructed commercial
property will be exposed twice as long to mechanics’ liens; :

6. Most mortgage lenders in Kansas require title insurance with mechanics’ lien coverage
when making a mortgage on commercial real estate; extending the time period for filing |
mechanics’ liens will only slow the process of mortgage lending while title insurance companies
determine the risk of providing such coverage and in many cases prevent title insurance
companies from providing mechanics’ lien coverage.

7.'- Extending the time period for filing liens will require more performance bonds to be filed.
and extend the time period for obtaining end loan financing. A typical sequence of events in
commercial lending is as follows:

House Judiciary
3-14-01
Sl R PSRRI N SRR e L RSy sl e ‘s Attachment 12



a. mortgage lender files construction mortgage prior to start of work to gain priority
over liens;

job completed and occupancy permit issued;
c. title insurance underwriter will require 3 months (time for filing of subcontractor

liens) to run from issuance of occupancy permit prior to agreeing to insure new end
loan mortgage with mechanic’s lien coverage.

Extending the time period for filing subcontractor liens to 180 days could double the time period
before end loan financing is obtained. Agreeing to insure a mortgage that has not gained

priority over mechanic’s liens is a credit decision on the part of the title insurance underwriter
and not a function of title insurance.

The Kansas Land Title Association requests that the committee oppose this bill.

Sincerely,

Roy Worthington
Chairman, Legislative Committee



Kansas Bankers Association

800 SW Jackson, Suite 1500
Topeka, KS 66612

785-232-3444 Fax - 785-232-3484 kbacs@ink.org

3-14-01
TO: House Committee on Judiciary
FROM: Chuck Stones, Senior Vice President

RE: SB 197: Materialman’s Lien

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you regarding SB 197. This bill would effectively
extend the period of time to 6 months, that a contractor or subcontractor would have for filing a
materialman’s lien on property other than residential property.

Our concern is that by extending the time in which a lien could be filed, the legislature would also
be extending the time in which the title to that property would be clouded, which may end up
delaying the closing of the transaction. This has the potential of creating a hardship on the
property owner who is trying to finalize the transaction.

We understand that some contractors may feel that 90 days is not enough time to evaluate
whether they need to file a lien on the property, however, there are many other businesses that
are also suppliers of material or labor of another sort that do not even have the privilege of having
a statutory lien granted to them.

In a world where competition demands that we process other business transactions even faster,
we guestion the need to slow down the process for non-residential construction transaction.

House Judiciary
3-14-01
Attachment 13



TESTIMONY OF AGC OF KANSAS BEFORE THE
HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

IN OPPOSITION TO SB 197
March 14, 2001

By William A. Larson, AGC of Kansas General Counsel
The Associated General Contractors of Kansas opposes Senate Bill 197 insofar as the Bill amends
K.S.A. 60-1102 and K.S.A. 60-1103. These are the statutes, which provide for contractor and
subcontractor’s mechanic’s liens respectively. The Bill would amend K.S.A. 60-1102 with respect to
commercial construction to allow a contractor one hundred eighty (180) days after finishing its work on
a project to file a mechanic’s lien as opposed to the four (4) months, which is currently allowed. The
Bill would also amend K.S.A. 1103 to allow a subcontractor or material supplier on a commercial
construction project one hundred eighty (180) days to file a mechanic’s lien rather than the three 3

months, which is currently allowed.

The Associated General Contractors of Kansas (AGC) has consistently opposed changes to the
mechanic’s lien laws that affect commercial construction. The commercial construction industry
involves complex relationships between owners, contractors, subcontractors, and suppliers. In order to
successfully complete a construction project, these entities must work together and understand their
rights and responsibilities towards one another. Lien laws are important not only as a means of
collecting debts but also as a means of applying leverage between parties to adjust disputes that may
arise. The AGC feels that the building construction industry understands the lien laws and has learned
to use them effectively in regulating the industry.

A realistic scenario that may occur with this change is as follows. A general contractor pays a
subcontractor for work completed, unaware that the subcontractor has not paid a supplier for materials.
The supplier then files a lien. The owner, wanting the lien dissolved, advises the general contractor that
he will not release the retention, thus putting pressure on the general contractor to resolve the matter of
payment. The general contractor may, or may not, be able to work out payment by the subcontractor to
the supplier. The general contractor, then runs the risk of paying for the materials twice, once to the

subcontractor and then again directly to the supplier.

Another consequence of increasing the time limits for filing mechanic’s lien would be the extension of
time for ensuring that a project has been completed. It is to the benefit of all parties involved in a
construction project to complete the project in a timely manner. By extending the time for filing liens,
the time to ensure that all facets of a commercial construction project is completed is effectively

extended by three (3) months. We believe this would be disruptive to the industry.

For these reasons, the Associated General Contractors of Kansas opposes Senate Bill 197. House Judiciary
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HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

March 14, 2001
SB 197

MR. CHAIRMAN & MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE:

My name is Janet Stubbs, appearing today on behalf of the Kansas Building Industry Association’s
approximately 1700 members. These members are comprised of residential and light commercial
contractors, developers, subcontractors and other industry related type businesses.

Historically, the Kansas Building Industry Association has had a firm policy statement in opposition to
extending the filing time on mechanic liens out of concern as to the ramifications the board of directors
believe it would have on owners of the residential property. After the amendments which were made to
K.S.A. 60-1103 which provide for notice provisions, we believe the law has been providing the property
owner with as much protection as can be expected. KBIA strongly opposes an amendment to extend the
time constraints provided for residential property.

In the area of commercial property, there are mixed opinions. KBIA did not provide me with a separate
policy for residential and commercial. However, I did call some larger contractors who are active in the
Association and was told that it can sometimes be a problem but they believed extending it to 6 months
would be too much.

Therefore, I would suggest that if the Committee believes it is necessary to amend this statute for
commercial construction, we believe consideration should be given to a minimal extension of time.
Again, I want to reiterate that we firmly oppose any amendment to the law as it relates to residential
construction.

Thank you for the opportunity to appear.
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HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

March 14, 2001 Senate Bill No. 197

Mister Chairman: Members of the House Judiciary Committee. The following is a
prepared statement reflecting our position on Senate Bill 197, which allows an extension
on commercial liens filed in the State of Kansas.

My name is Art Brown, and I am the Kansas Regional Manager for the Mid-America
Lumbermens Association. Ibring 13 years of institutional knowledge regarding our
memberships State Committee meetings and Board meetings that have occurred during my
tenure with the Association.

At no occasion during the above mentioned time of service I have been with this
Association has the issue of an extended period of time for lien filing regarding
commercial transactions ever been discussed by any governing State body or the Board of
Directors of the Mid-America Lumbermens Association.

Given that no statement from our Board or State Committee has ever been provided, we

as a membership take no position of support or denial regarding SB 197 in its current
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form. We have no concerns as to the outcome of this issue and would adhere to the
wisdom of the body as to whether enactment of such a provision is indeed good public
policy. If the Committee so wishes, I can produce minutes from our State Committee
business meetings that go back to 1989 to support my statements.

It was thought that due to the fact we as an industry utilize the lien process, we should
make a position statement regarding this bill.

Having presented same, we wish the Committee well in its deliberations regarding SB 197.

Thank you.

Ve-2



