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Date

MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Senator Les Donovan at 8:30 a.m. on March
12, 2002 in Room 245-N of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Senator Goodwin
Senator Harrington
Senator Pugh

Committee staff present. Hank Avila, Legislative Research Department
Bruce Kinzie, Revisor of Statutes
Marian F. Holeman, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Rep. Dennis McKinney
Tom Whitaker, Exec. Dir., KS Motor Carriers
Rep. Sharon Schwartz
Matt Moser, Titles & Registration, KDOR
Darrell Simnitt, Simnitt Bros., Inc.
L. N. Collier, Atty. Carlson Auction

Others attending: See attached list

HB 2693: Re traffic requlations; compression release engine braking system

Representative Dennis McKinney testified this bill is designed to enact a law which would
provide for a standard method throughout the state to handle the noise made by the
compression release engine braking system, or “Jake brakes” (Attachment 1).

Tom Whitaker, Executive Director, Kansas Motor Carriers Association, explained that “Jake
Brake” is a registered trademark. He further addressed his Association’s belief that this
problem should be addressed as a statewide issue because of the safety problem posed by
banning the use of these devices. 70% of all new heavy-duty trucks are equipped with Jake
Brakes because such vehicles are more efficient, productive, and safer as they enhance driver
control. KMCA supports HB 2693 as amended by the House Transportation Committee. It
targets trucks with engine brakes but without mufflers and should be more effective because it
would double the fine for violations to $60 (Attachment 2). Following committee discussion,
Senator Schodorf moved the bill favorable for passage. Senator Jackson seconded the motion.

Motion carried.

HB 2794: Re motor vehicles, 48 hour transport permit

An auctioneer constituent of Representative Sharon Schwartz requested this legislation to allow
auctioneers to issue a “transport permit,” which along with a bill of sale, would allow an auction
buyer of a vehicle to drive the vehicle home (Attachment 3). Several questions raised regarding
the 48 hour limit, since farm auctions, estate auctions, etc. often occur over three day week-end
periods. Mathew H. Moser, Manager Title and Registrations/Dealer Licensing, Department of
Revenue explained that HB 2794 permits auctioneers to sell motor vehicles, under certain
circumstances, without acquiring a motor vehicle dealer's license and would alleviate a major
inconvenience presently experienced in these circumstances. The bill would allow the Division
to design and implement a system that should be cost-effective and secure (Attachment 4).
Darrell Simnitt, Simnitt Brothers, Inc. further discussed the problems involved in this issue. He
presented written testimony from Richard H. Garvin, CAl, GPPA, Chairman of the Kansas
Auctioneers Association (Attachment 5). 30-day tags are issued to dealers only.

A non-dealer auctioneer would have to consult with the Division of Motor Vehicles if for any
reason they were selling more than 3 vehicles at one time.

L. N. Collier, Attorney at Law, representing Carlson Auction Service, Inc., expressed concern
that the 48-hour permit may encourage unlicensed motor vehicle auctions which would not be
subject to the same requirements as properly licensed auction dealers. He further listed
concerns related to Section (b) of the bill and asked for considered clarification of these

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not
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CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE at 8:30 a.m. on March 12, 2002 in
Room 245-N of the Capitol.

perceived problem areas. Since this bill can have a significant impact on auction motor vehicle
dealers and consumers it was suggested that auction vehicle dealers, who are already subject
to supervision by the Division of Vehicles, be included among those authorized to benefit from

this less expensive temporary registration permit (Attachment 6).

Senator Jackson requested an amendment to HB 2794 which, with necessary technical
changes, would add an additional reassignment on certificates of title. The lack of
reassignment space often leads to costly delays in transferring titles. Following a brief
discussion, Senator Jackson moved to adopt the amendment. Senator Salmans seconded the
motion. Motion carried.

Chairman Donovan requested that all those involved in concerns raised by last conferee, meet
with Staff Revisor and the Director of Motor Vehicles to work out problems and the Committee
will then return to the bill.

Approval of minutes

Senator Salmans moved to approve minutes of the March 6, 2002 meeting. Senator Jackson
seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 9:30 a.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for March 13m 2002.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not
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SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE
GUEST LIST

DATE: MARCH 12, 2002
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5125 SPRUCE
GREENSBURG. KS 67054
(316) 723-2129

ASSISTANT MINORITY LEADER
COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS
MEMBER. TRANSPORTATION
ENVIRONMENT
INTERSTATE COOPERATION
CALENDAR AND PRINTING

STATE CAPITOL. RCOM 327-5
TOPEKA. KS 66512-1504 =
1785) 296-7658 N
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March 12, 2002

Senate Transportation Committee

House Bill 2693

Thank you for the opportunity to testify today on House Bill 2693.

House Bill 2693 was introduced to find a method to handle the noise made by “jake braking”
trucks. While some cities have ordinances prohibiting compression braking, some trucks would
use the brakes right up to the edge of town. Homeowner and business owners on the edge of
town would then complain to their legislators. R

In the House Transportation Committee the Kansas Motor Carriers Association presented a
common sense solution to this idea: standardize muffler requirements for trucks. [ think thisis a

+ good idea and I hope you will support the bill. HB 2693 reduces the noise level and provides a
law which would be standard everywhere in the state.
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KANSAS MOTOR C~RRIERS ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 1673 m Topeka, Kansas 66601-1673 = 2900 S.Topeka Blvd. m Topeka, Kansas 66611-2121
Telephone: (785) 267-1641m FAX: (785) 266-6551 = www.kmca.org

Trucking Solutions Since 1936

KEN LEIGHT o _
Frito-Lay Service & Distribution Leglsla‘hve Testi mony by the

President . . .
Kansas Motor Carriers Association

JOHN LATHROP

Roadway Express

Ghalreenof s Bosid Testimony in Support of House Bill No. 2693

GLENN UNREIN
Golden Plains Trucking, Inc.

First Vice President Presented before the Senate Transportation Committee
A Senator Les Donovan, Chairman

Rawhide Trucking, Inc. Tuesday, March 12, 2002 Statehouse, Topeka, Kansas
Second Vice President

JEFF ROBERTSCN

J-M.J. Projects, Inc. MR. CHAIRMAN AND MEMBERS OF THE

Treasurer SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE:
LARRY "DOC" CRIQUI
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girpora;?gef::rsétarryg wew I am Tom Whitaker, executive director of the Kansas Motor Carriers

MIKE MILLER Association. | appear before you this morning representing our 1,400
Miller Trucking, LTD

ATA State Vice President member firms and the Kansas trucking and highway transportation
JERRY ARENSDORF "

Arensdorf Trucking, Inc. [ndUStry.

ATA Alternate State Vice President

MIKE ROSS

Ross Truck Line of Salina, Inc. As originally introduced, the provisions of HB 2693 would address the
ProTruck PAC Chairman

5 . . 1] 1
KELLY KILE use of a compression release engine braking system, or “Jake Brake”,
Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. T . . . . . ;
Budiii Relafons Bheiman within %2 mile of the city limits of any city which has passed an ordinance
MEL GRAVES prohibiting the use of any compression release engine braking system

S&G Associates, Inc.

Alliew Ingusliies Chaitman which results in the excessive, loud, unusual or explosive noise from

TOM WHITAKER .
Executive Director such motor vehicle.

KMCA believes now is the time to address this issue on a statewide

basis. A number of communities have expressed concern over the noise
associated with compression release engine braking systems. Several
communities have actually banned the use of these devices because of
complaints from residents. Unfortunately, banning the use of these

devices could pose a safety problem. Rather than have more

communities seek a ban on the use of these safety devices, KMCA Q. f

supports a more constructive approach to the root of the problem.
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What is a compression release engine braking system? Compression release engine braking
systems, simply known as engine brakes or jake brakes, provide the truck with a supplemental
retarding device, providing drivers a measure of reassurance while traveling hilly terrain, and saving
on engine and brake wear and tear. Because of a critical value associated with engine brakes, over
70% of all new heavy-duty trucks are equipped with these devices. Vehicles equipped with these

devices are more efficient and productive and are also safer as they enhance driver control.

Engine braking devices are not loud when the truck is equipped with a muffler. The problem is that a
small percentage of trucks do not have mufflers. In tests conducted on these braking systems, trucks
fitted with a standard muffler produced a noise level of 83dB with the engine brake on. This is under
the federal noise limits. In contrast, those trucks with no muffler and the engine brake applied produce

a noise level of 101 dB. To the human ear, this sounds twice as loud as a muffled truck.

What is current law? All new trucks, which have been manufactured during the past 20 years, have
been required to have a muffler, which meets EPA noise specifications. Current state law requires
that all vehicles must be equipped with a muffler. Violation of this law is a traffic infraction punishable
by a fine (tripled last year) of $30 plus court costs. Unfortunately, a limited number of truck owners
have removed the mufflers from their vehicles. Because of the low fine, the existing law does not

serve as a significant deterrent of this practice.

KMCA supports HB 2693 as amended by the House Transportation Committee. The bill targets only
those few vehicles, which pose the greatest noise problem — trucks with engine brakes but without
mufflers. Further, HB 2693 would double the fine for no muffler when using an engine brake and not

affect those vehicles without engine brakes.

Mr. Chairman we respectfully ask that the Committee act favorably on HB 2693. We believe this will
take care of the perceived jake brake problem in numerous communities throughout Kansas. Thank
you for the opportunity to appear before you today. | would be pleased to respond to any questions

you may have.

22
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This summer [ was asked by an auctioneer to introduce legislation
to clear up the legality of driving a vehicle purchased at an auction. At
the present time, when a vehicle is purchased at an auction the options
the purchaser has are:

1.  Drive the vehicle without a tag and risk being ticketed.

2. Drive the vehicle tagged with the original tag of the former

OWwner.

HB 2794 allows an auctioneer to purchase 48-hour transport
permits authorizing the purchaser of a vehicle at an auction conducted
by the auctioneer, to operate the vehicle for a period of 48 hours. The
fee for each permit shall be $2.00. This is a simple solution making it
legal to drive a vehicle bought at an auction back to the purchasers
residence.

Attached to this testimony is a letter from Mr. Bott, the auctioneer
who asked for introduction of the legislation.

Thank you for the opportunity to appear in support of HB 2794.
==
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February 11, 2002

Raymond E. Bott

Raymond Bott Realty & Auction
119 C. Street, Box 68
Washington, KS 66963

Rep. Sharon Schwartz

Kansas House of Representatives
Room 1108

Statehouse

Ste 47TW

Topeka, KS 66612

Sharon:

I like the idea of allowing auctioneers to issue a “transport permit”, which along
with a bill of sale, would allow the buyer of a vehicle at an auction to drive the vehicle
home. Buyers of vehicles at auction have been driving them home anyway, but many
times there is some doubt about ownership and insurance coverage at the time of sale at
an auction. There is also the small issue of the license plate that is on the vehcle. The
seller either removes his, which leaves the buyer driving a vehicle without a license plate,
or the seller leaves the plate on, which leaves the buyer driving a vehicle with someone
else’s license plate. A permit of this nature should help clear up those questions.

Sincerely,

)
ond

muﬁ"d Bott Realty & Auction

b 119 C Street, Box 68
T _\@a§§mgton, Kansas 66968
e 785-325-2734

© N
.'f":"’v

:.Home 785-325.273>
. u;;* - Gv-...r_!]all; raymond @bottrealtyauction.com
TN Web Site: bottrealtyauction.com

Fax: 785-325-2701
Mobile: 785-747-8017
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TESTIMONY

TO: Chairman Les Donovan

Members of the Senate Transportation Committee

FROM: Mathew H. Moser, Manager 77{’%&4@7

Titles & Registrations
DATE: March 12, 2002

SUBJECT: House Bill 2794 — 48-Hour Auctioneer Permits

Mr. Chairman, members of the Committee, I am Mathew Moser, Manager of the Title and
Registration Bureau for the Division of Vehicles. I want to thank you for the opportunity to
testify regarding HB 2794 and the issuance of 48-hour transport permits.

K.S.A. 8-2401 permits auctioneers to sell motor vehicles, under certain circumstances, without
acquiring a motor vehicle dealer’s license. Auctions held on the weekends do not afford
purchasers access to a county motor vehicle office where they may obtain a 30-day permit to
transport a vehicle purchased at a weekend auction.

HB 2794 grants the Division of Vehicles new authority to create a 48-hour permit that
auctioneers would be able to issue to their customers, for the purpose of transporting their
vehicles from the place of purchase. The bill gives the Division sufficient latitude to design and
implement a system that should be cost-effective and secure.

HB 2794 will alleviate a major inconvenience experienced by auctioneers, their clients and
customers.

I would like to thank the committee for permitting my appearance today and will stand for any
questions you may have.

Y-
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March 12, 2002

Senate Transportation Committee

Reference: HOUSE BILL No. 2794 (48 Hours permit)
Members of the Commitiee,

This is to inform the Senate Transportation Committee that the Kansas Auctioneers
Association is strongly in favor of House Bill No. 2794, which allows for a
48-hour permit for vehicles sold at auction.

This would allow a buyer of a vehicle purchased at auction to drive the vehicle from the
auction facility, or site of the auction, without fear of receiving a citation for “no tag”.

At present when a vehicle is purchased at auction, it legally can not be driven away from
the auction without first getting a tag or a 30 day permit for the vehicle. A process that is
both time consuming as well as frustrating for all involved. On more than one occasion,
after a vehicle was purchased at auction, the new owner was stopped by local law
enforcement or a Kansas State "Trooper and received a citation for not having a permit or
atag. Although, the officer was right in issuing the citation, the purchaser often blamed
the seller or the auctioneer for their citation.

The situation of buying a vehicle at auction and not being able to legally drive it away
from the auction site has been overlooked for far too long. A situation that the Kansas
Auctioneers Association feels can be remedied by the passage of House Bill No. 2794,

Respectfully,

Richard H. Garvin, CAI, GPPA
Chairman of the KAA Legislative Committee

SENATE TRANSPORTATION
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L.N. Collier

Attorney at Law
1301 Harrison, C33
Topeka, Kansas 66612

785-354-9385
Email reilloc@aol.com

March 12, 2002

TESTIMONY BEFORE THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE
CONCERNING HOUSE BILL 2794

Chairman Donovan, Members of the Transportation Committee, thank you for
allowing me to appear today concerning House Bill 2794. I am L.N. Collier, an attorney,
and I represent the Carlson Auction Service, Inc., doing business as the 1-70 Auto
Auction.

For more than twenty years, my client has done business as a licensed auction
motor vehicle dealer here in Topeka. As a licensed dealer, it is required to have in place
for the protection of the public a bond--raised from $15,000 to $30,000 by the last
legislature--policies of liability insurance, statutorily mandated premises requirements
and is subject to inspection for compliance by both agents of the Division of Vehicles and
law enforcement including the Kansas Highway Patrol.

My client has always taken these licensing requirements very seriously,
understanding them as the necessary safeguards for an ordered society and business
community and has taken an active interest in legislative and administrative matters
affecting the automobile industry. So, when this Bill came to its attention last Friday, my
client's president, Mr. Daniel Carlson, asked me to appear today.

From time to time, it becomes necessary during the administration of an estate,
for example, in the liquidation of the assets of that estate, to auction a motor vehicle
owned by the estate. That will always be necessary and a matter to be anticipated and
provided for by specific legislation since the buyer of the vehicle at such an auction must
have a way to remove the vehicle and, as expeditiously as possible, obtain registration for
1t.

Similarly, the repossession of vehicles by lenders and the subsequent disposing of
those vehicles, sometimes at auction, have been with us for as long as there have been
motor vehicles and will persist so long as there are defaulting borrowers. The buyers of
those vehicles also need a way to drive these cars away from the sale and get license
plates.

My client and the other, properly-licensed auction motor vehicle dealers in the
state would have no difficulty with this bill if it were confined to the situations generally
described in K.S.A. 8-2401(a) and involved but few vehicles per auction event; however,
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Testimony Before the Senate Transportation Co._ _.ttee
House Bill 2794

March 12, 2002

Page 2

it is our suggestion that the creation of the proposed 48-hour transport permits may
encourage the proliferation of unlicensed motor vehicle auctions, not subject to the same
safeguards required of licensed dealers, not subject to inspections by the Department of

Revenue or law enforcement authorities and leave the public exposed to unregulated and
unlawful practices.

Section (b) of the Bill would appear to be replete with uncertainty. While the
original bill was amended by the House to include the phrase "whose primary place of
business is in Kansas," probably intending that only Kansas auctioneers may buy permits
from the Director of Vehicles, the Bill does not really say that. Further, by including the
modifier "primary," the door seems left open to allow out-of-state auctioneers to buy 48-
hour transport permits so long as their primary business locations are in Kansas.

Next, while the "name of the purchaser" is required to be shown on the
application for the permit, it seems unclear whether the term "purchaser,” as it is used, is
the auctioneer purchasing the permits from the Director of Vehicles or the purchaser of
the vehicle at auction. Clearly, the permit eventually displayed on a vehicle should be
traceable to a specific owner of the vehicle, who was the vehicle’s auction purchaser,
without the necessity of law enforcement personnel having to obtain the auctioneer’s sale
records in order to determine whether registration is proper.

Next, while section (b) provides that "[O]nly one such permit may be used by the
same purchaser on the same vehicle," there appears to be no requirement that the permit
bear identifying information about the vehicle on which it is intended to be displayed. At
minimum, the vehicle's year, make, model and vehicle identification number should be
included on the permit in order to make enforceable the sanction the Bill provides and,
again, to enable law enforcement personnel to be able to determine proper registration.

In regard to that sanction, the Bill says that "the division of vehicles may deny
any auctioneer the authority to purchase 48-hour permits if the auctioneer is found to
have issued more than one 48-hour transport permit to the purchaser of a vehicle." Thus,
implicitly, the Bill would make available to auctioneers who are not licensees of the
Director of Vehicles, certain administrative procedures in the event the auctioneer's
authority to purchase permits is denied. We would suggest that the Division of Vehicles
has not considered this implication and that consideration of it could change the
Department of Revenue's fiscal note, previously submitted.

Finally, in the area of vehicle licensing concerns, the creation of yet another,
temporary registration (and this would be the fourth, temporary registration which would
exist in the vehicle registration statutes) would add to the uncertainty surrounding the
time at which such permits are issued, the sequence in which such permits might be
issued and the length for which eventual, permanent registration is defrayed. For
example, the Bill does not say that the 48-hour transport permit can only be issued
immediately subsequent to the purchase of the vehicle at auction. It is not outside the



Testimony Before the Senate Transportation nittee
House Bill 2794

March 12, 2002

Page 3

realm of possibility that a purchaser at auction could obtain the temporary, 30-day
registration which already exists in the statues and then be issued a 48-hour transport
permit. While the outcome in this situation should be that the vehicle was required to
have been registered as of the thirtieth day after it was purchased, there would be a
vehicle operated on the highway with seemingly valid registration.

It is our desire that this Committee consider amendments to the Bill in order to
come to terms with the troublesome areas brought to its attention during this testimony.
Further, my client has asked me to request that in the event the Committee determines
that it is appropriate to create yet another form of temporary registration, that the eventual
statute also provide for licensed auction motor vehicle dealers to be able to obtain and
issue them to their purchasers of vehicles. We suggest that auction vehicle dealers, who
are already subject to supervision by the Director of Vehicles, should also be allowed to
benefit from this less expensive temporary registration since we have established a
history with the State of accountability and familiarity with registration issues.

Thank you, again, for your permission to testify. I remain confident that the
Committee will weight my remarks in light of the public purpose intended to be served
by permitting the temporary registration of motor vehicles and in light of the potential
impact that this Bill, passed, could have on auction motor vehicle dealers and consumets.
I would be pleased to respond to any questions the Committee may have,




