Approved: March 21, 2003
Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Gary Hayzlett at 1:30 p.m. on February 11, 2003 in Room
519-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Representative Don Myers, excused
Representative Jim Yonally, excused

Committee staff present:
Bruce Kinzie, Revisor
Hank Avila, Legislative Research Dept.
Mary Galligan, Legislative Research Dept.
Betty Boaz, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Ed McKechnie, representing WATCO Companies, Inc.
Chuck Henry, Treasurer with Unified Government, Kansas City
Mickey Billinger, Ellis County Treasurer
Martha Neu Smith, Executive Director, Manufactured Housing Ass’n.
Debbie Ford, Riverside Mobile Home Park, Wichita

Others attending:
See attached list

HB 2191 - Port Authorities; certain powers

Chairman Hayzlett opened hearings on HB 2191. Chairman Hayzlett introduced Ed McKechnie who
presented testimony in support of this bill. (Attachment 1) According to Mr. McKechnie this bill will
allow Port Authorities greater flexibility in seeking financing options to preserve Kansas’ railroad
infrastructure. Currently, Kansas law only allows borrowing from the state, federal government and from
financial institutions and this bill would allow the Port to have the additional options of a private person
or entity, such as another railroad. Mr. McKechnie further asked the Committee to amend line 29, by
striking the word “and” and inserting the word “or”. Also in K.S.A. 12-3415 he asked that the language
be inserted as requested by their bond and financial attorneys. Further Mr. McKechnie asked that this bill
become effective upon publication in the Kansas Register.

There were no other proponents and no opponents.

Following questions from the Committee, Chairman Hayzlett closed hearings on HB 2191.

HB 2157 - Propertyv taxes on mobile and manufactured homes concerning obligations at time of
purchase, sale or moving

Chairman Hayzlett opened the hearings on HB 2157. Chuck Henry, Treasurer with Unified Government,
Kansas City, testified that property taxes are THE major source of revenue for most counties, cities,
school districts and community colleges. (Attachment 2) Delinquency rates are a factor in the setting of
the various mill levy rates for each jurisdiction, thus, the taxpayers who do pay support the taxpayers who
do not pay. He further testified the buyers of mobile homes are usually first-time owners of property in
Kansas and not familiar with Kansas taxation and registration laws. Many do not know their
responsibility under K.S.A. 58-4204 or even that they are supposed to receive a title from the seller. If
they do and they bring the title in to be transferred, the remainder of the prior year tax, all of the new year
tax, and any delinquent taxes are collected in accordance with K.S.A. 79-2109. Mr. Henry said that in
Wyandotte County, mobile homes represent a third of the unpaid personal property tax bills and
approximately 8 percent of the unpaid personal property tax dollars over the last decade. They believe
that this legislation will be an added tool in reducing the percentage that reaches that status by 10 percent.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
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CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE at on February 11, 2003 in Room
519-S of the Capitol.

After questions by members of the Committee, the next proponent was introduced. Mike Billinger, Ellis
County Treasurer and member of the Kansas County Treasurers Association Legislative Committee was
in support of HB 2157 because of the need to strengthen collection procedures on manufactured homes.
(Attachment 3) Mr. Billinger said it was extremely important that this bill be considered because many
manufactured homes leave the county before the taxes are paid, in some cases the homes are sold and
moved to new locations. The officials are almost powerless to force payment in the event the home 1s
moved out of county. HB 2157 would require the manufactured home owner to pay all taxes due
regardless if they are current or delinquent in both instances. Mr. Billinger concluded by saying that
delinquent taxes on manufactured homes are a problem that Treasurers deal with on an annual basis and
HB 2157 will assist in collecting delinquent and escaped taxes.

There were no other proponents appearing however written testimony was provided in support of HB
2157 by Ed Harbin, Ellis County Sheriff (Attachment 4) and Judy Moler, General Counsel/Legislative
Services Director for the Kansas Association of Counties. (Attachment 5)

Following questions by the Committee the Chairman asked if there were any other proponents. There
being none the Chairman called for opponents.

Martha Neu Smith, Executive Director of the Kansas Manufactured Housing Ass’n. began her testimony
(Attachment 6) by saying their opposition was only with the policy and logistics being proposed, not
whether or not personal property taxes should be paid. Their opposition is that first the bill requires that
all taxes be paid in full when either the title is transferred or prior to any movement when statutorily the
first half of property tax is due on December 20" and the second half is due on June 20", Second, the bill
requires homeowners to notify the county treasurer and county appraiser when a home is moved.
According to Ms. Smith, mobile and manufactured home owners are already required by law to notify the
county appraiser of the location of their home. Also there are no exceptions for new homes being
transported, or provisions for a park owner who evicts a home or who pays the $500 penalty for not
getting a certificate. She concluded by asking the Committee to not support HB 2157.

Following questions by the Committee the Chairman asked for the next opponent who was Debbie Ford,
Manager of Riverside Mobile Home Park. (Attachment 7) According to Ms. Ford, in Wichita, in January
of each year, each community manager receives a packet of information from the County Appraiser’s
Office. This packet includes the home site number, year, make, model and VIN # of the home and the
owner’s name (Attachment 8) and the community managers review the list and make appropriate
adjustments and then return it to the appraiser’s office. She also said the Sedgwick County Appraiser’s
Office and the Sedgwick County Manufactured Housing Ass’n. developed and implemented a brochure
advising homeowners of their responsibility to register their new home with the appraiser’s office.
(Attachment 9) This brochure is provided by the county and distributed at retailer locations. She
concluded with the statement that the relationships created between the manufactured housing industry
and the Sedgwick County Appraiser’s Office has been key in improving the delinquent tax issue in
Sedgwick County.

There were no further opponents to this bill and no questions from the Committee. Chairman Hayzlett
closed hearings on HB 2157.

Chairman Hayzlett commented that he had planned to work HB 2190 today but it looks like staff needs to
look at the amendments. Also HB 2157 has some points that need to be cleared up and maybe the two
sides can get together and talk to see if they cn work something out.

Chairman Hayzlett adjourned the meeting at 2:30 p.m. The next meeting of the House Transportation
Committee will be held on Wednesday, February 12, 2003.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
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COMPANIES, INC.

"Your Transportation Specialists*

WATCO

February 11, 2003

Rep. Gary Hayzlett

Chairman, House Committee on Transportation
The Statehouse

Topeka, KS 66612

Mr. Chairman and members of the Committee:

My name is Ed McKechnie, and I appear today on behalf of Watco Companies, Inc., and the Port
Authority of the City of Pittsburg, Kansas. Watco Companies is the holding company for
Kansas’ largest shortline railroad family, the South Kansas & Oklahoma Railroad and the Kansas
& Oklahoma Railroad. The good news today is that I do not appear before you asking for money,
merely the authority to seek greater flexibility in financing.

This 1s the intention of HB 2191: To allow Port Authorities greater flexibility in seeking
financing options to preserve Kansas’ railroad infrastrucuture. Currently, Kansas law only allows
borrowing from the State, the Federal Government, and from Financial Institutions, H.B. 2191
allows the Port to have the additional options of a private person or entity, such as another
railroad.

As we look to preserve Kansas’ railroad infrastruture, we believe the City of Pittsburg Kansas
Port Authority should have the broadest possible opportunites to finance branch lines.

Mr. Chairman, after further review by our General Counsel, and in particular several bond
lawyers, we also ask that this bill be amended in line 29, by strking the word “and” and inserting
the word “or”. Also, in KSA 12-3415 (the same general Port Authority Statute) to insert the
language I have attached. While we as a company do not feel these last two changes are
necessary, the bond and financial attorneys who have to sign off on these financial instruments
indicated their desire to have a clearer interpretation that a Port can either borrow the money or
issue the bonds. If the Revisor has a better suggestion, we would support that instead.

Finally Mr. Chairman, as we have a pending acquisition that is need of these changes, we ask the
bill become effective upon publication in the Kansas Register.

Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you and we ask for your support of this bill.

House Transportation
Date: 7 _//
Attachment #_/
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12-3415

Chapter 12.--CITIES AND MUNICIPALITIES
Article 34.--PORT AUTHORITIES

12-3415. Same; borrowing money; issuance of bonds; approval required. (a) For the purpose of paying
all or any part of the cost of purchasing or acquiring land or interests therein, and the cost of purchasing,
acquiring, constructing, equipping, reconstructing, improving, repairing, enlarging, remodeling and furnishing
buildings, structures, plants, docks, wharves, warehouses, piers, sidings and other water-port facilities, airport
facilities, terminal facilities, land transportation facilities, railroad facilities or industrial-use facilities or any part
thereof; including additions, improvements, relocations, renovations, extensions and modifications thereof {all of
which as are included in a single preject are hereafter referred to in this act as “facility or facilities"), a port
authority created pursuant to this act, is authorized to borrow money upon credit of the income and revenues to
be derived from the operation of such facilities, togethsr with any other available income and revenues from other
revenue producing facilities of such port authority, and to issue negotiable bonds,of such port authority in such
amount as the board of directors of the pert authority shall deem nec ary for thie purpose; and to provide for
payment of such,bonds and rights of holders thereof as herein provided.

(b) Theport autho ity shall not issue bonds withog;,ﬁﬁ;]aving received approval, by resolution, of the
governing biody of the cjties or counties which comprise such port authority.
-

notes, -

-
r"f‘(d’"{

notes or

or other evidence of indebtedness pursuant to the authority granted in
KSA 12-3406 (b) (1)

i
b

-or other evidence of indebtedness



UNIFIED GOVERNMENT OF
WYANDOTTE COUNTY/KANSAS CITY, KANSAS

Charles A Henry
Director of Revenue/Treasury

710 North 7" Street Phone: (913) 573-2823
Kansas City, Kansas 66101 Facsimile: (913) 573-2890

TESTIMONY - HOUSE BILL 2157
TAXES ON MOBILE HOME AT TIME OF SALE/MOVING

February 11, 2003

House Transportation Committee
Representative Gary K. Hayzlett, Chairman

This testimony represents the support from the Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City,
Kansas in favor of House Bill 2157. I thank you for the opportunity to address the Committee on the topic.

Property taxes are THE major source of revenue for most counties, cities, school districts and community
colleges. The timely payment of these taxes affords the various jurisdictions (including the state) the
opportunity to pay their bills timely. Delinquency rates are a factor in the setting of the various mill levy
rates for each jurisdiction. Thus, the taxpayers who do pay support the taxpayers who do not pay.

Delinquent real estate taxes become a lien on the real estate. Since that real estate does not go anywhere, the
taxes will get collected either from the property owner or through a tax foreclosure sale.

Personal property taxes, on the other hand, require more effort to avoid losing the tax since the property can
leave the county before collection efforts even begin. This bill offers County Treasurers another tool in the
enforcement of payment of personal property taxes.

This bill primarily benefits individuals. The buyers of mobile homes are usually first time owners of
property in Kansas and not familiar with Kansas taxation and registration laws. Many do not know their
responsibility under K.S.A. 58-4204 or even that they are supposed to receive a title from the seller. If they
do and they bring the title in to be transferred, we collect the remainder of the prior year tax, all of the new
year tax, and any delinquent taxes in accordance with K.S.A. 79-2109. This is usually quite surprising to the
purchaser since they thought they bought it clear of tax liabilities.

This bill addresses that situation in four ways.

1. It imposes a penalty on the seller if taxes are not paid prior to the transfer. That penalty is paid by the
seller only and is not transferred to the buyer.

2. The mobile home parks have an opportunity to advise home buyers to receive a certificate of taxes
paid. This can put the park operator in a good light with the new tenant since it helps the tenant keep
their money and it comes at a time when the seller is generally within reach.

3. For those mobile homes moved on Kansas roads, it provides an opportunity to the movers to remind
the seller to obtain the certificate of taxes paid, thus helping the seller avoid a hefty fine.

4. Tor those mobile homes moved on Kansas roads, it provides law enforcement with an opportunity to
aide in the enforcement of property tax collection by simply asking for the certificate of taxes paid.

House Transportation
Date:  2-}/-© 3
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House Bill 2157

Testimony of Charles A. Henry

Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kansas
February 11, 2003

In Wyandotte County, mobile homes represent a third of the unpaid personal property tax bills and
approximately 8 percent of the unpaid personal property tax dollars over the last decade. While the dollars
are not significant (approximately $500,000) the amount of work and resulting frustration is overwhelming.

While we recognize that this one piece of legislation will not prevent all taxes on mobile homes from
becoming uncollectible, we believe that this added tool will reduce the percentage that reaches that status by
10 percent. If this legislation were combined with an increased effort by mobile home park owners to explain
the legal requirements of owning a mobile home, our delinquency rate would surely be reduced by .

As a collector of taxes, which benefit numerous jurisdictions, I appreciate the assistance this bill provides.

1 would now stand for questions from the Committee.

A2



Presentation to the House Transportation (ommittee on House Bl” 2157
Fcbruary 11,2003

Mpr. Chairman and Members of the (Committee:

My name is Mike Eillingcr, Ellis Coun‘cy T reasurer and a member of the K ansas County
Treasurers Association’s chisiatfvc Committee. | am here in support of HB 2157 because

of the need to strcngti'xcn co"cction Proccdurcs on manufactured homes.

House Bl[! 2157 was introduced to assist Countg Treasurers in their attempt to collect
c{clinciucnt ad valoren taxes on manufactured homes. Tl-nc Kansas Countg Trcasurcrs
A\ssociation undertook a survey to determine the extent of the dciinqucncg Prol:a]cm in this
category. Tl-ucrc were 61 Countics who rcsPonc]cc{ to the survey. Tl-jc counties suwaged
issued 35,535 P’crsonal Propcrty tax warrants and assessed 38,866 manufactured homes. A
total of 5,680 warrants were issued on manufactured homes rcPrcscnting 16% of total
warrants issued. Or to Put it another way, the 5,680 warrants on manufactured homes are

15% of the total manufactured homes aPPraiscd.

Most Persona| property dclinclucnt taxpayers pay their late taxes within the first year after
thcg become clclinqucnt. As |ong as the Pcrsona| property remains in the county, the
T reasurer or the Sheriff has sufficient tax collection authori’cy to force the payment of taxes.

Itis cxtrcmc[g imPortant that Hb?_ 157 be considered because many manufactured homes
leave the county before the taxes are Paid, in some cases the homes are sold and moved to
new locations. | he T reasurer and the 5115ri1q: are almost Powcrlcss to force payment in the
event the home is moved out of county. Hb 2157 would r'equirc the manufactured home

ownerto pay all taxes due rcgardlcss i thcg are current or dc]inqucnt in both instances.

HB 2157 would rcc]uirc the Fo”owing:
1) T he seller will Provic!c the Purc]-naser with a certificate issued 139 the Countg
T reasurer that all tax liabilities have been Paid in full.

2) The Purchascr of the manufactured home will have 30 claBs from acquisition to
make aPP[ication for a new title and Provicfc the Countg [ reasurer with the
certificate of taxes Paic]. The T reasurer will Proviclc a copy of the certificate to
the Countg APPraiscr.

House Transportation
Date: Z A 4
Attachment # 2
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3) Any owner moving a manufactured home shall be rccluircd to obtain a certificate
of taxes Paid from the T reasurer of the county in which the home was located Prior to

the move.

‘1—) No manufactured home will be moved along highwaﬂs of the state, or along any cH:B

or county road without having a certificate of taxes Paid.

5) thncvcra manufactured home is moved into the state orinto another county, the

owner will notiﬁd the T reasurerand /—\PPraiscr of the new location and address of

the manufactured home.

6) ]]C the taxes are not Paid Prior to moving a manufactured I‘IOTTIC, there will be a
enalty inthe amount of $500.00 payable to the county where notification was
P ) Pey Y

rccluircd and/or where taxes were due and owing,

There are many administrative Proccdurcs that need to be followed when dcaling with
dciinquent taxes on manufactured homes. \When it is discovered that a manufactured home
has been moved from the countg, the Trcasurcr must continue the collection process knowing
full well of the likelihood that no taxes will be collected. Now you loose the dc|inqucnt tax Plus

devote limited resources Pursuing the collection ircnowirr.g it is all for notl-ling. [ ime is the worst

enemy of dcﬁhqucnf: tax collectors.

Dc|inqucnt taxes on manufactured homes are a Proljfcm Trcasurcrs deal with on an annual
basis. 12157 will assistin co”ccting dclinqucnt and cscaPcd taxes, thus hclPing reduce the

taxes of others who must make up the difference when taxes go unPaid.

Again, | would like to thank the (Chairman and the Committcc Members for your time and

attention to this matter.

Mike “Miqkeg” Bi“ingcr
 llis Countg | reasurer

KATREASURY\MLBWANUFACTURED HOME LE GISLATIONNF resentation to the
House Transportation Committcc on House E)i” 2157 on Fe.]:}ruar_q 11.doc Last Printcd 2,/10/200% 8:30 AM
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Before the House Transportation Committee

HB 2157
KANSAS
ASSOCIATION OF February11,200.3 . . .
COUNTIES By Judy A. Moler, General Counsel/Legislative Services Director

Thank you Chairman Hayzlett and Members of the House Local
Government Committee for allowing the Kansas Association of
Counties to provide written testimony on HB 2157.

The Kansas Association of Counties supports HB 2157. This bill is a
good bill for county government and county taxpayers as it requires
proof that property tax has been paid on a mobile home before the
mobile home is moved. This would increase the likelihood of
recouping taxes that might otherwise “escape”.

The Kansas Association of Counties supports the passage of HB 2157.

The Kansas Association of Counties, an instrumentality of member counties under K.S.A. 19-
2690, provides legislative representation, educational and technical services and a wide range
of informational services to its member counties. Inquiries concerning this testimony should
be directed to Randy Allen or Judy Moler by calling (785) 272-2585.

6206 SW 9th Terrace
Topeka, KS 66615
785027202585 House Transportation
Fax 785927203585 Date: 2 -//©3
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214 SW 6th St., Suite 206

Topeka, KS 66603-3719

7853575256

K A N S A 3§ 7853575257 fux
MANUFACTURED HOUSING kmhal@mindspring.com
TESTIMONY BEFORE THE HOUSE COMMITTEE
TRANSP%I\IIQTATION
TO: Chairman Gary Hayzlett
And Members of the Committee

FROM: Martha Neu Smith, Executive Director
DATE: February 11, 2003
RE: House Bill 2157

Chairman Hayzlett and Members of the Committee, my name is Martha Neu
Smith and | am the executive director of the Kansas Manufactured Housing
Association (KMHA). KMHA is a statewide trade association representing all’
facets of the Manufactured Housing Industry.

Thank you for the opportunity to comment on HB 2157.

KMHA would like to voice our opposition to HB 2157. Our opposition should in
no way be construed as questioning whether or not personal property taxes
should be paid, but only in the policy and logistics being proposed.

Our opposition is this, first, the bill requires that all taxes be paid in full when
either the title is transferred or prior to any movement. Statutorily the first half of
personal property taxes are due on December 20" and the second half is due
June 20™", According to the HB 2157 if a home is sold and title transferred or if
the home is just moved to another location between December 21% and June 19
all taxes would become due in full. Can you require a taxpayer to pay taxes
before they are legally due and what other personal property tax becomes due in
full prior to the legal due date? (It is important to note that personal property
taxes on manufactured homes cannot be prorated.)

Second, the bill requires homeowners to notify the county treasurer and county
appraiser when a home is moved. Mobile and manufactured home owners are
already required by law to notify the county appraiser of the location of their
home. The statute is:

K.S.A. 79-335 “The owner of each mobile home or manufactured home shall on
forms prescribed or approved by the director of property valuation furnish a listing

House Transportation
Date:_ 2-//-03
Attachment #_4




of each mobile home or manufactured home owned or possessed by such owner
for property taxation and any other information required by the director of
property valuation. Such listing shall be furnished to the county appraiser of the
county in which the mobile home or manufactured home is situated.”

Existing statutes go even further and require mobile home park owners to
list/report all the homes in their park and file it with the county assessor’s office
annually. The statute is:

K.S.A. 79-336 “The owner, lessee or operator of any mobile home park, and the
owner of any land which is not used as a mobile home park but where any one or
more mobile homes or manufactured homes are located, shall furnish the county
clerk or assessor of the county wherein said mobile home park or land is located
a list of all mobile homes or manufactured homes located thereon as of January
1 of each year, and shall notify the county clerk or assessor of any mobile home
or manufactured home moved onto such premises from any location outside the
boundaries of such county after January 1 and before July 1 of each year. Such
information shall be furnished in the manner and on forms prescribed by the
director of property valuation.”

A violation of K.S.A. 79-336 by the park owner is a class C misdemeanor.

Are the counties using these documents? Are they crosschecking for homes?
You will hear from Debbie Ford of Riverside Mobile Home Park how they work
with their County in helping them keep track of the homes.

Third, there is no exception in HB 2157 for the new home to be transported from
the factory to the retail center or from the retail center to the home site.

Fourth, what happens to the park owner who evicts a home and the taxes are not
paid? HB 2157 would not allow the home to be moved/evicted.

Again, what happens if a park owner evicts a home and the back taxes are more
than what the home is worth? Or the homeowner abandons the home and taxes
are not paid and there is no lien holder? In both cases, HB 2157 would not allow
the home to be moved/evicted.

Fifth, who pays the$500 penalty for not getting a certificate, the homeowner or
the transporter? It's the homeowner’s taxes, if its not the homeowner you are
effectively shifting the responsibility of property tax collection from the county to
the transporter. What other personal property tax is required to be collected by a
private business?

My last point is, are all counties willing and ready to take on the additional
administrative workload this bill will require. In Mr. Billinger's request to the
Kansas Association of Counties to have this bill be a KAC bill he states “the

oA



present laws are too cumbersome to collect delinquent taxes on manufactured
homes...”. Remember, more than just delinquent taxpayers will be requiring the
certificates to be issued. In fact, every time a home is sold; every time a home is
moved and every time the taxes are paid the homeowner should request the
certificate of taxes paid be issued to them. Not all taxpayers live in the county
seat that means additional work of faxing and mailing certificates. If the system
is too cumbersome now what happens when you add additional steps?

Again | should state we are not saying that the taxes should not be paid, just
don’t penalize park owners and transporters in an effort to collect them. | would
respectfully ask the Committee to not support this bill.

Thank you

6 -3



WRITTEN TESTIMONY
BEFORE THE
HOUSE COMMITTEE
ON TRANSPORTATION

To: Representative Gary Hayzlett and
Members of the Committee

From: Debbie Ford, Manager
Riverside Mobile Home Park
4560 S. Hydraulic
Wichita, KS 67216

Date: February 11, 2003

RE: Property Taxes on Mobile and Manufactured Homes

In January of each year, the Sedgwick County Appraiser’s office sends each
Manufactured Home Community in Sedgwick County a community list. In the packet
are instructions for updating records. The packet of information includes the home site
number, home information (year, make, model and VIN#), and owner's name as it
appears on the appraiser's records.

As a community manager, I review the list and make the appropriate adjustments to the
list, as of January 1* of the current year. In compliance with the state law, this listing
is then sent back to the appraiser’s office prior to March 15™ of the current year.

In 1999, the Sedgwick County Appraiser's Office became a member of the Sedgwick
County Manufactured Housing Association. Through this association, they established
a deep working relationship with the manufactured home industry. Together we
developed and implemented a brochure advising homeowners of their responsibility to

register their new home with the appraiser's office. 0
House Transportatio
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This brochure, provided by the county, is distributed at retailer locations. It is a part of

our "Welcome Package" to each new resident that moves into our Manufactured Home
Community.

We receive several calls monthly, from the Sedgwick County Appraiser's Office
verifying or clarifying information regarding a specific home.

The relationships that have been created between the manufactured housing industry
and the Sedgwick County Appraiser's Office have been key in improving the
delinquent tax issue in Sedgwick County.

Sedgwick County Appraiser's Office

Wanda Cadena

Director of Personal Property

434 N. Market

Wichita, KS 67203 316-383-8200

Mark Grindstaff
Personal Property Supervisor
434 N. Market

Wichita, KS 67203 316-383-8200

Janet Baptist

Customer Service Representative

525 N. Main, Room 227

Wichita, KS 67203 316-838-7461 ext. 2226



SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
OFFICE OF THE APPRAISER

Dear: Community Manager

Enclosed is the 2001 Manufactured Home Community List. The information provided
reflects the lot number, manufactured home, and owner's name as they appear on our
records. Please update the information to reflect lot numbers, manufactured homes, and
owner's names located in the community as of January 1, 2001. It is important that the
titled owner of the home be listed. Space has been provided to mark through incorrect
information and enter the new information under each lot. List each lot in the
community. If there was no home located on the lot, enter "vacant".

KSA 79-336 requires the owner of any land where one or more manufactured homes
are located to furnish the county appraiser a list of all manufactured homes on their land.
KSA 79-337 states, failure of a landowner or operator of any manufactured home

community, where one or more manufactured homes are located, to notify the appraiser
is guilty of a class C misdemeanor.

Data for electronic filing is available at the owner/operator's request. Data can be mailed
using diskette or e-mailed in a text format allowing the user to translate it into most

spreadsheet programs. |[f filing electronically, please return the updated information on
the disk that was mailed or by e-mail.

Remember: The deadline for filing manufactured home community lists is
March 15, 2001.

Mail or bring your community list to: Sedgwick Cou nty Appraiser's Office
525 N. Main STE 227
Wichita, KS 67203

The lists can be e-mailed to: tmasters@sedgwick.gov

For further assistance, please call the Information and Assistance Division at (316)
383-8200 or e-mail Terry Masters at tmasters@sedgwick.gov.
8l 54 l\'\sr'i nd st @.seddymk. 3W House Transpodaﬁion
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“... To Be The Best We Can Be.”
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#Manufactured Housing Community List as of January 1, 2003

Riverside

X
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\}
4560 S Hydraulic

L TAXPAYER NAME " |STY VEHICLE 1D NUM BS BEGI ICLE "CACLE MODEL_QCLE MENGT|WID FACDNL HOUSH BIT E
101 ISETT, ALICE A |TC|05L27979 01-Jan-89, |LIBERTY , 1999, 76| 16D 100E | 4560 S [HYDRAULIC
DEKING, JERRY i s !
103 & LINDA CLAD46770TN CLAYTON | ) 1999 80, 16 4560/S |HYDRAULIC
RIVERSIDE MOBILE | }
105 HOME PARK INC 59921403779 | |CHAMPION | 1 1999 76 16 4560'S |HYDRAULIC |
107 BURNS, KAREY § 05L11385 01-Jan-95 |LIBERTY OAKBROOK | 1978 56  14E 100 A | 4560S |HYDRAULIC B
109 LEEDY, ROBERT L MSB931680SN8775 | 01-Jan-94 |BELMONT PREMIERE | 1993 76 16D 100G | 4560S [HYDRAULIC | |
110 SHERER, SUE G ZWK801612745 01-Jan-94 |ZIMMER WINDSOR | 1985 76 16D 100A | 4560/S |[HYDRAULIC | |
111 ZIELKE, FRANCIS R 05L18787 01-Jan-84 |LIBERTY | 1983 76 14D 100A | 4560/S [HYDRAULIC |
RIVERSIDE MOBILE TXFLT12A51140FD1 ‘ | g
113 HOME PARK INC 2 FLEETWOOD |FESTIVAL | 1996 80 16 | 4560 S |[HYDRAULIC I
RIVERSIDE MOBILE i | | | o ; L
114 HOME PARK INC | i | |soLITAR | 11991, 76 16D | 100E | 4560 S 'HYDRAULIC |
115 [HART, EDGAR |TC|25432 01-Jan-94 |SKYLINE [ROYALCOV | 1987 76 16D  100A | 4560 S HYDRAULIC '
116 VACANT HOMESITE | 1 [] o T Tl 45608 HYDRAULIC |
| : 1 ‘ 1 | L |
17 FREEMAN, TOMMIE D|TC |04510402X _ 101-Jan-96, |SKYLINE ~ [CUTLASS 1988 66 14D 100A | 4560S |HYDRAULIC | |
118 PERRY, FORREST 8925 01-Jan-94 |KIT B | 1978 66 14D 100/A | 4560 S |HYDRAULIC |
119 507380 BLAICH, RANDY 05L12269 01-Jan-02_ |LIBERTY ~ 11979 56 14E | 100A | 4560S [HYDRAULIC =
120 460388/LOTT, DEBBIE 02520536R 01-Jan-99 |SKYLINE HILLCRES | 1982 66 14D | 100/A | 4560/S [HYDRAULIC *'
|COLLINS, ZELPHA | ; [ | g |
&/OR CINDY i : 3 i . ,
121 ROBERTSON ZWK75147223 | 01-Jan-00 |ZIMMER WINDSOR | 1980, 75 14D | 100A | 4560)S |HYDRAULIC
KLINGINSMITH, ' | ; | ) T
122 RONALD 05058688893 | 01-Jan-95 CHAMPION 1995) 76, 16D | 100G | 4560/S [HYDRAULIC | |
123 TRAGER, MICHAEL HOTX08805623 | 01-Jan-99 |OAKWOOD 1130 1097, 76  16C | 100E | 4560 S |HYDRAULIC I
124 | BARNES, KELLY | [38BA12674 ‘ | [ICHIEF ~~ |BONNAVILLA | 1983, 76 14 | ‘ 4560'S |HYDRAULIC | |
i © | |TXFLV12A77600C01 | : f ‘ R A SR S 1 SR
125 | 450375LANNING, MICHAELT TC|2 01-Jan-99 FLEETWOO CORONADO = 1987 76 16D | 100E  4560'S |HYDRAULIC
% [ RIVERSIDE MOBILE = | -‘ ; B j T 1T T T
{126 | 143609 HOME PARKINC  TC|ALS33037 _101-Jan95 |SUNSHINE  DELTA 1993 76 16D | 100G 4560 S [HYDRAULIC
1127 | THOPKINS,WANDAJ | |SP02AR0306580 CUISPRIT T 2002 80 16 | | 4560(S [HYDRAULIC

Man@%ﬁﬂé&}@b

Owner:'?’r'l/ei’ﬁdd /” H Qlf'k/

Date Submitted: "/3! /o3

Phone: 5352 -39
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If you feel your manufactured home has been
valued incorrectly, you have the following options:

If it is a clerical error:

Call the Information & Assistance Division,
and explain the error. They will take the proper
steps to get it corrected.

If there is damage to your manufactured home,
or you feel the value is too high:

‘When you receive your value notice, there will be
instructions and a form on back. Complete and
return the form according to the instructions in

order to schedule an informal value hearing,

OR

When you pay your first or second half personal
property tax, ask the County Treasurer's Office for
a Payment Under Protest Form. Complete and
return the form according to the instructions in
order to schedule a Payment under Protest Hearing.

For additional assistance contact:

Sedgwick County Appraiser's Office
Information & Assistance Division
(316) 383-8200

www.sedgwickcounty.org

PS-1533

Sedgwick County Appraisers Office

c
2 |
:@nn |
=
%r\‘sﬁt
C\-b-'
}g\rg;
™ ;
2 Y E
@ .G
ﬁmm
O W&

Do you own a |
manufactured home
|

in Kansas?

Read this NOW
to avoid penalties

(316) 383-8200

www.sedgwickcounty.org



You will need to contact the
Sedgwick County Appraisal Office
Information & Assistance Division

(316) 383-8200

Who has to file?

Anyone owns a manufactured home located or
registered in Sedgwick County as of January 1,
that is not permanently affixed to real estate, must
file a Personal Property form with the Appraisal
Office each year per Kansas Statute 79-303 and
79-306. A description and a location of the

mobile home must be included on the form.

How to file? DTE)

 —

When you purchase a manufactured home you
should call or stop by the Appraisal Office to
request or pick up the Personal Property form.

These forms are not automatically sent to you.

If you have filed a form for a manufactured home,
then each year we will mail a new rendition for

verification or changes for the year.

e

Filing Deadlines M

There are filing deadlines for the Personal Property
forms per Kansas Statute 79-306. We encourage you
to contact us and file the form in a timely manner

to avoid paying state mandated penalties.

The Personal Property form describing what you owned,
held or leased, as of January Ist of that year must be
filed with our office be March 15, EACH year.

REMEMBER
It is YOUR responsibility to file
this information with this office

If you have questions or wish to request a Personal
Property form, you may contact the Sedgwick
County Appraisal Office Information & Assistance
Division at (316) 383-8200, or you may visit our
office at 525 N. Main, 2nd floor.

Please complete the following information, tear off,
and mail. This will assure that you are on our mailing
list for next year. Please type or print clearly.

Owner's Name

Occupant's Name

Location of Manufactured Home
(please include lot # if applicable)

Owner's Mailing Address

Owner's Phone #

Manufactured Home Information

Make  Model Yr

Length  Width __ Central Air?___
1LD.#

Additions? ¢type) Size?

Type of foundation of the home?
Do you own the land the home is on?

Purchase date of home?

Price paid for the home?

‘Whom did you purchase the home from?

Owner's Signature Date

PS§-1533






