Approved:__ February 18, 2003
Date

MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE.

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Senator Les Donovan at 8:30 a.m. on February 13, 2003
in Room 245-N of the Capitol.

All members were present except: Senator Harrington

Committee staff present: Bruce Kinzie, Revisor of Statutes
Hank Avila, Legislative Research Department
Marian Holeman, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Tom Whitaker, Exec. Dir. KMCA
Todd Spencer, Exec, VP OCIDA
Sheila Walker, Director, Division of Motor Vehicles, KDOR
Robert Longino, Dir. Alcoholic Beverage Control Division
Phillip Bradley, KS Licensed Beverage Assn.

Others attending: See attached list

SB 130: Apportioned registration of fleet vehicles: definitions, converter gears

Tom Whitaker, Executive Director, Kansas Motor Carriers Association appeared to request the
Committee’s favorable consideration of SB 130. Kansas is the only state to have an exception to the
International Registration Plan (IRP). The IRP is an agreement between all states that allows for
apportioned registration of interstate motor carriers. This bill will change the definition of “owner” and
eliminate the exception to the IRP. New Section 1 also allows for electronic registration of “converter
gear” with a $1 fee paid for each gear (Attachment 1).

Todd Spencer, Executive Vice-President, Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association (OOIDA)
explained this legislation is needed because when Kansas became part of IRP the enabling legislation did
not make provisions that would allow an owner-operator to purchase and IRP plate in their own name
while leased to a motor carrier. This places all Kansas resident owner-operator truckers at an economic
disadvantage (Attachment 2) He urged support of this needed legislation.

Sheila J. Walker, Director of Vehicles provided information on the extent and advantages of the IRP. The
Department of Revenue supports this change, not only because they wish to avoid IRP sanctions, but also
because the state may benefit from possible increase in number of vehicles registered. She proposed an
amendment regarding “converter gear” to allow for electronic registration for an annual $1 fee. Carriers
need to register so law enforcement in other jurisdictions will find them in compliance (Attachment 3).
No spoke in opposition to the bill. Since it seems to solve a real problem, plus having a positive fiscal
note, the Chair calied for final action. Senator Schodorf moved to adopt the amendment. Senator
Salmans seconded the motion. Motion carried. Senator Schodorf moved to recommend SB 130, as
amended, favorable for passage. Senator Goodwin seconded the motion. Motion carried.

SB 159: Concerning drivers’ licenses and identification cards

This bill would implement a vertical format to make drivers’ licenses and identification cards issued to
persons under the age of 21 more readily recognizable. Sheila J. Walker, Director, Division of Vehicles,
KDOR, testified in support of the bill. She explained changes can be made at no additional cost since the
effective date coincides with anticipated upgrade to the drivers license system (Attachment 4).

Robert Longino, Director, Alcoholic Beverage Control Division, KDOR encouraged passage of this bill as
it will provide another useful tool to all who attempt to verify age (Attachment 5). Phillip Bradley,
Executive Director, Kansas Licensed Beverage Association, represents primarily the “on premise people”
those who serve drinks in open containers inside their establishments. Also here informally speaking for
Amy Campbell who is quite ill this morning. She represents the off premise retailers, primarily package
liquor stores. Both groups are always looking for ways to reduce the chance of and/or actual sales to

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1



CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE at 8:30 a.m. on February 13, 2003
in Room 245-N of the Capitol.

underage persons. Discussed several ways present cards are illegally used to purchase alcohol. Very
happy to support this bill because with the vertical system, a glance can identify an underage ID. Several
other states have taken, or are in the process of doing so, this simple step to address the issue (Attachment
0).

Discussion and questions focused on whether or not county treasurers will still be able to issue cards. No
new equipment will be need to process these cards. Current local hardware can take the photos which will
be electronically forwarded to central processing. Even with the additional mailing cost, this method is
still more cost effective. Applicants will receive a temporary card until permanent one is mailed Senator
Gooch moved to recommend SB 159 favorable for passage. Senator Salmans seconded the motion.

Motion carried unanimously.

Approval of minutes

Senator Gooch moved to approve minutes of the two February 4. 2003 meetings: one at 8:30 a.m. in
Room 245-N: the second at 4:20 p.m. at the Rail and the next regularly scheduled meeting on February
11. 2003. Senator Salmans seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 9:30 a.m.

The next meeting will be Tuesday, February 18, 2003

Unless specifically noted, the individual remurks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to
the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. P age 2
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KANSAS MOTOR CARRIERS ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 1673 m Topeka, Kansas 66601-1673 = 2900 S. Topeka Blvd. m Topeka, Kansas 66611-2121
Telephone: (785) 267-1641 m FAX: (785) 266-6551 = www.kmca.org

Trucking Solutions Since 1936
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Second Vice President
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Public Relations Chairman
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Legislative Testimony

Before the

SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE
Senator Les Donovan, Chairman
Thursday, February 13, 2003

MR. CHAIRMAN AND MEMBERS OF THE
SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE:

I am Tom Whitaker, executive director of the Kansas Motor Carriers

Association. We appear before you today to ask for your support for Senate
Bill No. 130.

Currently, Kansas has an exception to the International Registration Plan (IRP)
as it relates to vehicle registration for owner/operators. The IRP is an
agreement between all states that allows for apportioned registration of
interstate motor carriers and such registration is done in the carrier’s base state.

Kansas law requires that an owner/operator who leases to a motor carrier
company for a period of 30 days or more must have the vehicle registered in
the carrier’s name. All other states allow the owner/operator to register in their
own name or allow for the option to register the vehicle in the name of the
owner/operator or motor carrier. The IRP governing board is currently
considering sanctions against Kansas if the state does not eliminate this
exception. Because of possible looming sanctions, the KMCA Board of
Directors approved a policy to seek changes to the IRP registration
requirements to allow optional registration depending on the negotiated
agreement between the motor carrier and the owner/operator.

The bill before you changes the definition of “owner” on page 2, lines 8 -10,
“in the event the commercial motor vehicle is subject to a lease with a driver,
the lessee or the lessor shall be deemed the owner.” This change eliminates our
exception to the IRP.

In addition, New Section | of the bill allows for the registration of “converter
gear” if such registration is done electronically, and a fee of $1 for each
converter gear is paid to the State. Kansas will issue the carrier a unique
number to be displayed on the converter gear. No license plate will be issued.
This change will allow Kansas based carriers the ability to register converter
gears in their base state to be in compliance with the laws of Alabama,
Pennsylvania, Indiana, Tennessee and Florida.
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Senate Bill No. 130 — February 13, 2003 — Page2

We wish to publicly thank the Division of Vehicles for their help in drafting this
legislation and for their support of SB 130.

The Kansas Motor Carriers Association respectfully requests that the Senate
Transportation Committee act favorably on SB 130. We thank you for the opportunity to
appear before you today, and would be pleased to respond to any questions you may
have.
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Comments on
Senate Bill No. 130

Statement of the

Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association

By:

Todd Spencer
February 13, 2002

Todd Spencer

Executive Vice President
Owner-Operator Independent
Drivers Association, Inc.

1 NW OOIDA Dir.

Grain Valley, MO 64029
Telephone: (816) 229-5791
Telefax: (816) 427-4468
www.ooida.com
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Good afternoon, Mr. Chairman, members of the Committee. Thank
you for the opportunity to share the concerns of owner-operator truckers on
Senate Bill 130 and to urge your support of this needed legislation.

The Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association is the national
trade association for small business owner-operator truckers. We currently
have over 90,000 members. Approximately 1600 of those members reside
in the State of Kansas and thousands more travel through the state every day.

Prior to creation and implementation of the International Registration
Plan for licensing trucks in interstate commerce each truck owner was
required to license individually with each state that he chose to operate in or
through. Although some states had reciprocal agreements with other states
that helped a little, it wasn’t all that uncommon to see trucks with a half
dozen different license plates hanging from the truck’s front bumper. That
truck still might not have been licensed for much more than half of the
United States. Not only was this system administratively burdensome and
unnecessarily expensive it was a barrier to small business truckers entering
the industry. The International Registration Plan greatly simplified the
system for both truck owners and states while assuring that each vehicle was
properly registered for the states it would operate in and that each state
received its rightful share of vehicle registration fees.

The reason this legislation is needed is because when Kansas became
a part of the International Registration Plan lawmakers did not incorporate
the provisions that would allow an owner-operator to purchase an IRP plate
in their own name while leased to a motor carrier. By not adopting the IRP
provision for registering owner-operator vehicles lawmakers unknowingly
placed all Kansas resident owner-operator truckers at an economic
disadvantage.

Roughly 75% of owner-operator truckers lease their trucks to
authorized carriers on a contractual basis. These relationships vary in length
from a few months to many years depending upon a great many factors.
Current Kansas law requires that in each of these lease arrangements the
vehicle registration must be in the name of an authorized carrier and can’t be
in the name of the vehicle owner-operator even though the owner-operator is
the only name on the vehicle title and the owner-operator will pay the full
cost of the vehicle registration. Because of this provision in Kansas law,

o



many owner-operator truckers who would prefer to license their vehicle in
Kansas are forced to base-register in another jurisdiction. Senate Bill 130
would fix this.

While I cannot speculate with certainty, I would bet that by allowing
owner-operator truckers to base-register more freely the state treasury will
benefit by additional and higher registration fees -- something that I know is
important to all in Kansas including its truckers.

Thank you for this opportunity to share our concerns.

Respectfully,

Todd Spencer
Executive Vice President

P



JOAN WAGNON, ACTING SECRETARY KATHLEEN SEBELIUS, GOVERNOR

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
DIVISION OF VEHICLES
TO: Chairman Les Donovan o
Members of the Senate Transportation Committee X \/\/ :
FROM: Sheila J. Walker, Director of Vehicles @V [)Z’( [M’f"
DATE: February 13, 2003
SUBJECT: Senate Bill 130 — Owner-Operator & Converter Gear

Mr. Chairman, members of the committee, I am Sheila Walker, Director of the Kansas
Department of Revenue’s Division of Vehicles. Thank you for allowing me to testify in support
of Senate Bill 130. This bill amends the definition of “owner” of apportioned vehicles and
provides for the registration of “converter gear” in Kansas. ‘

Apportioned vehicles in Kansas are registered under the International Registration Plan (IRP).
The IRP is a registration reciprocity agreement among 59 jurisdictions in the United States and
Canada that provides for payment of license fees on the basis of miles operated in each
jurisdiction. Motor carriers register their fleet with a one-step registration. Under the IRP,
motor carriers can operate on an inter-jurisdictional basis in any IRP member jurisdiction
displayed on the cab card, provided they have obtained proper operating authority.

Kansas has been a member of the International Registration Plan for 22 years.

The IRP governing board is considering sanctions against Kansas because we have an exception
pertaining to owner-operators. Current Kansas law (8-1,100) requires that an owner-operator,
who leases a vehicle to a motor carrier for 30-days or more, register the vehicle in the motor
carrier’s name. All other states allow the option of registering the vehicle in the name of the
motor carrier or the owner-operator. By changing the definition in Senate Bill 130 (Page 2,
Lines 1-10), the vehicle could be registered in the carrier’s name or the owner’s name.

The Kansas Department of Revenue’s Division of Vehicles supports this change. Not only do
we want to avoid IRP sanctions, the state may also benefit financially if the number of vehicles
registered in Kansas increases.

Converter gear is newly defined as an auxiliary axle assembly having a fifth wheel used for the
purpose of converting a semi-trailer to a full trailer (Page 3, Lines 8-11, Section (p)). The New
Section in this bill (Page 1, Lines 13-18) allows converter gear to be registered with our Motor
Carrier Services Bureau, provided the registration is submitted electronically. We respectfully

recommend that the $1 registration fee be clearly stated as an annual fee (see attached balloon).

SENATE TRANSPORTATION
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Senate Bill 130 — Owner-Operator & Converter Gear
Page 2
February 13, 2003

With this amendment, converter gear registration may generate an additional $20,000 a year
according to industry estimates.

Several large Kansas-based carriers have a desire to register converter gear in Kansas so law
enforcement in other jurisdictions will find them in compliance.

In closing, the Kansas Department of Revenue’s Division of Vehicles would appreciate your
favorable consideration of Senate Bill 130, as amended.
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Session of 2003
SENATE BILL No. 130
By Committee on Transportation

2-4

AN ACT relating to apportioned registration of fleet vehicles; amending
K.8.A. 8-1,100 and repealing the existing section. - '

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

New Section 1.- A converter gear may be registered under the pro-
visions of K.5.A. 8-1,100 through 8-1,123, and amendments thereto, pro-
vided that the data required for registration is submitted electronically.
The division shall assign a unique number to each converter gear and
such number shall be durably marked on the converter gear as prescribed
by the division. #yfee of $1 shall be paid for each registration.

Sec. 2., K.S.A.8-1,100is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-1,100.
As used in this act, the following words and phrases shall have the mean-
ings respectively ascribed to them herein: (a) The words “vehicle,” “motor
vehicle,” “truck,” “truck tractor, trailer,” “semitrailer, pole trailer,”
“specially constructed vehicle” and “passenger vehicle” shall have the
meanings respectively ascribed to them by K.S.A. 8-126; and amendments
thereto; : |

(b) “division” means the division of vehicles of the department of
revenue; :

{c) “director” means the director of vehicles of the division of vehicles

2 & 2« »

- within the department of revenue;

(d) “commercial vehicle” means any motor vehicle, other than a pas-
senger vehicle, and any trailer, semitrailer or pole trailer drawn by such
motor vehicle, which vehicle is designed, used and maintained for the
transportation of persons or property for hire, compensation, profit, or in
the furtherance of a commercial enterprise; -

(e) “fleet” means one or more commercial vehicles, at least one of
which is a motor vehicle; ‘

(f) “jurisdiction” means the states and territories of the United States,
the District of Columbia, the provinces of Canada, the states and terri-
tories of the Federal District of Mexico, and the states, provinces and
territories of any foreign country;

(g) “person” means an individual, firm, partnership, association, cor-
poration, estate or trust;

(h) “owner” means:

"[An annual



JOAN WAGNON, ACTING SECRETARY KATHLEEN SEBELIUS, GOVERNOR
; DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

DIVISION OF VEHICLES

TO: fdgaﬁ?:;e ;Eggngen Transportation Commigtee’: d/f VL//[OZK/«V‘/
FROM: Sheila J. Walker, Director of Vehicles %‘/ t/{/[ M/

DATE: February 13, 2003

SUBJECT: Senate Bill 159 — Vertical Drivers’ Licenses & ID Cards

Mr. Chairman, members of the committee, I am Sheila Walker, Director of the Kansas
Department of Revenue’s Division of Vehicles. Thank you for allowing me to testify on
Senate Bill 159.

This bill requires the Division to issue vertical drivers’ licenses and identification cards to those
applicants under the age of 21, making the licenses and ID cards more readily distinguishable to
bar owners and retailers in the liquor industry.

Since the bill’s implementatlon date (July 1, 2004) coincides with the implementation date of the
anticipated upgrade to our driver’s license systemn, the changes can be made at no additional cost
to the Division of Vehicles.

In closing, the Kansas Department of Revenue’s Division of Vehicles has the capacity to
implement the changes proposed in Senate Bill 159, and we support the measure.

s f
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JOAN WAGNON, ACTING SECRETARY

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL

To: Senator Les Donovan, Chairman, Senate Transportation Committee
From: Robert Longino, Director, Alcoholic Beverage Control Division
Date: February 13, 2003

Subj:  Support of Senate Bill 159

Mister Chairman and Distinguished Committee Members, it is my pleasure to visit with you for a
few minutes this morning in support of SB 159.

As many of you may know, the Division of ABC is very active in addressing the problem of
illegal purchasing of tobacco and alcoholic beverage products by underage persons. Restricting
access to these products is a challenging task that involves licensees, their employees, local law
enforcement and the community working together to reduce and prevent point of sale purchases.
The vast majority of the state’s tobacco and liquor licensees are making diligent efforts to restrict
access to these products at their retail locations. However, data from our controlled buy program
shows approximately 20% of those we check sell to underage persons. Many times the sale is the
result of the clerk simply not verifying the age once the ID is presented. The proposal in SB 159
will assist in this verification process.

The most common forms of identification used at point of sale locations in Kansas to verify the
age of purchasers are driver’s licenses and identification cards issued by the Division of Motor
Vehicles. Several changes were made to these documents in the mid 1990s that have been
helpful. For instance, rather than having to compute dates when verifying age, the addition of
red or green bars with information pertaining to the age of the individual has provided another
tool for those required to verify ages. The additional feature of a portrait versus the standard
landscape orientation will also assist people attempting to verify age and will eliminate the
option of altering the birth date on valid DLs and IDs of underage persons.

The vertical format will not completely prevent misuse and abuse of DLs and IDs by underage
persons. However, it will provide another useful tool for licensees, their employees and law
enforcement as they attempt to verify age. ABC supports this concept and encourages the
committee to forward the bill favorably.

Thank you for your time this morning and I’ll make myself available for any questions.

SENATE TRANSPORTATION
DOCKING STATE OFFICE BUILDING, 915 SW — COMMITTEE —DATE: 2- /.3 - &3

KATHLEEN SEBELIUS., GOVERNOR

Voice 785-296-7015 Fax 785-294-7185 h ATTACHMENT : 4~



lestimony on SB-159 on February 13, 2003
Senate Transporiation Committee
Mr. Chairman and Senators of the Committee,

I am Philip Bradley of the Kansas Licensed Beverage Assn ,representing

your constituents in the hospitality industry who own and manage bars,
&IISQS 3 y

clubs, restaurants, hotels and catering services where beverage
Licensed alcohol is served.
Beverage

Thank you for the opportunity to speak. I recognize the value of your
time and will be brief.

Association

The KLBA strongly supports the use of vertical ID’s to assist in the fight
President against underage drinking.

Tom Intfen

Secretary/ Treasurer Many, many times while teaching TAM® Responsible Servers classes, 1
EaneonyDiia personally have heard those students who have been cited for serving an

Dishrict Vice Prosidcats underage person admit that they did look at the ID but misread the date or
elly Drisco

Monte Shanks miscalculated the age. Additionally reports from the Law Enforcement
Rob Farha community also cite this as a common mistake. News articles and state
Glenda Dewey gy . . Y PL I
Scott Van Gorden statistics show that in some areas at least 50% of those cited in “Sting
operations made this mistake of miscalculation. With a vertical system
f’{,;i,-”,:";‘,"::dﬂ’;';"““” we can assure personnel are able at a glance to identify an underage ID.

Many other states have taken this simple step to address this issue. There
are at least 13 states, 26% of the nation, that now have, are implementing
or are considering this format. (CO, CN, IA, KY, MA, MS, MI, NV, OH,
TX, VA, VT, WA) SB-159 would allow Kansas to do the same.
KLBA
745 New Hampshire, .
Suite 4 We support SB-159 and urge it’s passage.
P.O. Box 442066
Lawrence, KS 66044 Thask you,
Voice/Fax:
785.331.4282
Email: phil@klba.org
www.kiba.org .
Philip Bradley

Executive Director
Kansas Licensed Beverage Association

P |
Attached is more information on the KLLBA initiative on this issue. We

w== | thank Senator Barone for his leadership and mterest in preventing under-
At Brventee teriee | age access to beverage alcohol.
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COMMITTEE - DATE 2 -/3-03
ATTACHMENT « & . B

—_—



rrom Sununer of 2002 KLBA Campaign

VERTICAL Driver License & ID Cards

We propose that for all those under 21, there be a vertical license or identification card. There are at least 13
states, 26% of the nation, that now have, are implementing or are considering this format. (CO, CN, IA, KY,
MA, MS, MI, NV, OH, TX, VA, VT, WA) This entails the creating and circulating a new template to be
photographed by the license examiners at the time of issuance. The card dlmensmns and make-up remain the
same. Continuing the “Not 18 until” line would be an additional deterrent. This date will continue to assist
in identifying those Kansas youth trying to purchase tobacco products. The 'Not 21 Until" should remain on
the license and ID cards to assist in identifying those Kansans who try to purchase alcohol products prior to
their 2 1st birthday. Those under 21 that have been issued a horizontal license or identification card may not
be required to convert to the vertical license. These may be phased out over five years to reduce confusion
and cost. This would also prevent expired licenses from those who have recently turned 21 to be circulated as
fake ID’s (A special problem because of the youthful appearance in these photos). Below are listed 2 of lit-
erally over a hundred sites that surfaced on an Internet search. Also below i is a page from the VA ABC web-
site.

Mass. DL Site http://www.state.ma.us/rnﬁ/rmvnews/newlic.pdf
PA article http://www.nb.net/~simon/LICENSE HTML

From the VA ABC site hitp://www.abg.state.va.us/enftools/tools.htm#License

Check Virginia Driver’s Licenses!

The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has made Virginia driver's
licenses easier for checking an ID to determine if a person is underage.

Driver License photos will be taken face-forward, and the entire license will
be printed vertically rather than horizontally so clerks and servers will be able
to tell quickly and easily if a customer is under 21.

DMV also added a feature to help determine if someone is old enough to buy
tobacco products. In addition to the "Under 21 Until" message that is cur--
rently printed in red beneath the photograph, DMV will also add an "Under 18
Until" message for those persons less than 18 years of age.

Check out DMV's Web site at www.dmvnow.com for the latest updates.

TIP--To prevent un-

derage alcohol sales, PLEASE NOTE:
look for the "UNDER During alcohol underage buyer visits conducted by ABC nearly 40% of all

21 UNTIL" line in red retailers sold alcohol to ABC’s underage buyers. The underage buyers’ IDs
lettering on Virginia clearly indicated they were 18 or 19 years old, but of those clerks who sold,
Driver's Licensest more than half asked to see an ID and completed the sale anyway.

Clerks and servers must carefully check identification to verify the customer’s
age before making a sale. ( )





