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Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMERCE AND LABOR COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Don Dahl at 9:00 a.m. on February 11, 2004 in Room 241-
N of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:
Jerry Ann Donaldson, Legislative Research Department
Norm Furse, Revisor of Statutes
Renae Jefferies, Revisor of Statutes
June Evans, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Dick Cook, Kansas Insurance Department
John Boulliet, Division of Workers Compensation
Terri Roberts, Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety
Bill Curtis, Kansas Association of School Boards
Steve Rothrock, Vice President, Whiteley’s, Inc
John Buselt, Via Christi Health System
Tim Rakestraw, Safety Supervisor, Superior Industries,
Pittsburg

Others attending:
See Attached List.

The Chairman stated that the meeting today is a continuation of informative sessions on workers
compensation. Topic for today is pre-existing conditions.

Dick Cook, Kansas Insurance Department, discussed the workers compensation insurance market and the
rating issues in Kansas. In order for an insurance company to write workers compensation insurance in
Kansas, the company must be licensed in Kansas and be authorized to write workers compensation
insurance. The carrier must file its rules, rates and forms with the Insurance Department in accordance
with Kansas law. According to the most current records, there are 240 carriers writing workers
compensation insurance in Kansas. Over the past several years, this figure has remained fairly constant.
In 1997 there were approximately 235 carriers writing this coverage in Kansas and in 2000 there were
approximately 250 carriers writing the coverage.

According to the National Council on Compensation Insurance, Inc. (NCCI), the rating organization used
by the carriers, there are approximately 53,500 employers paying over $400 million in annual Kansas
workers compensation premiums.

Workers compensation insurance written by insurance companies in Kansas is either written by an
insurance company direct (voluntary market) or through the Kansas Workers Compensation Insurance
Plan (the Plan). The Plan is set up for employers who in good faith are entitled to purchase workers
compensation insurance but are unable to secure the coverage through the voluntary market. The NCCl is
the administrator for the Plan and there are two servicing carriers that service the Plan. We are currently
in the fourth year of a contract with the servicing carriers which are Liberty Insurance Corporation and
Continental Western Insurance Company.

According to information provided by NCCI, the Plan currently has over 14,000 imsured risks accountmg
for approximately $60 million in annual premiums.

Kansas law requires five or more employers in the same bona fide professional, merchant, or trade
association that has existed for five or more years, in the same, similar, or closely related type of business,
with a combined net worth of over $1 million, and at least $250,000 in Kansas workers compensation
premium for the formation of a pool. In 1993, the Kansas law was amended to allow dissimilar types of
employers to pool if an adequate prediction of future losses could be made, if the pool has a combined net
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worth of over $1.25 million, and if the pool has at least $500,000 in Kansas workers compensation
premium.

Premiums paid by the employers should be adequate to cover the claims incurred by their insurance
companies. Rates are usually adjusted annually, based on premium and loss information provided by the
carriers to the NCCI. The major premium components are: 1. Base Rates, 2. Classifications, 3.
Experience Rating and 4. Payroll size.

In the last couple of years the loss cost multipliers have been on the rise. A couple of the reasons have
been the downturn in the investment markets and the rise in the cost of reinsurance. Because of this, the
voluntary market rates have been increasing even though the loss costs filed by the NCCI have remained
fairly constant (Attachment 1).

John Boulliet, Administrator, Self-Insurance Program, presented information concerning the Kansas Self-
Insurance Program. All employers in Kansas who meet the following requirements are eligible to apply to
the Division of Workers Compensation for self-insurance authority: 1. In continuous operation for at least
five years. 2. Provide the last five years of audited financial reports of the company applying for self-
insurance, or the parent company’s financial reports, if there 1s a parent company. 3. Have at least 100
employees (not necessarily in Kansas). 4. Have an annual premium of at least $300,000 to $350,000. 5.
Have a net worth of $10,000,000; however, will consider a net worth of less than $10,000,000. (If
approved, the smaller company will be required to purchase Aggregate Excess Insurance) (Attachment 2).

Terri Roberts, R. N., Chairperson, Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety, stated timing of today’s
discussion is auspicious. Last fall, the Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety commissioned the Docking
Institute of Public Affairs at Fort Hays State University to perform an independent analysis of the issue of
workers compensation in Kansas. The Docking Institute reviewed data from the United States
Department of Labor, the Kansas Department of Human Resources and various private organizations,
including NCCI, in order to document the state of workers compensation in Kansas. The Docking
Institute has recently completed its study, and are distributing copies of that report today (Attachment 3).

Dr. Bill Curtis, Associate Executive Director, Kansas Association of School Boards (KASB), provided
information on pre-existing conditions. The way in which the workers compensation system is required to
compensate employees today for pre-existing conditions is one of the major reasons why costs are
escalating at an alarming rate. The existing language in 44-501(c) is not being strictly applied, credits are
not uniformly received for previous functional settlements and, as is very evident by the Hanson case, the
employer no longer has any recourse to recover the majority of expenses incurred for injuries that were
pre-existing. If the Hanson case had occurred prior to 1993, the insurer could have recovered the vast
majority of expenses incurred for injuries that were pre-existing. If the Hanson case had occurred prior to
1993, the insurer could have recovered the vast majority of the cost of that claim through the second
injury fund and the loss would not have been recorded against USD 326. Under current law, if Mr.
Hanson needs another knee replacement, the employer and the insurance company at the time of that
procedure will stand the total cost. It seems there needs to be some compromise solution that does not
require the employer and the insurer to stand the total cost of the consequences of pre-existing conditions
(Attachment 4).

Steve Rothrock, Vice President, Whiteley’s Inc., stated they employ from four to eight employees.
Workers compensation and overall insurance costs have become a major expense for our company. Seven
years ago the over-all insurance expense was $13,000 per year. In 2004, the insurance expense is now
over $26,000. Seven years ago the pallets were selling for $5.65 and today they are bringing $5.15. Pre-
existing condition claims have hurt our business. Believe employers should only pay for the injuries that
occur at their work places and to the extent of damage that was caused, not damages that are existing
(Attachment 5).

Tim Rakestraw, Safety Supervisor and workers compensation coordinator at Superior Industries,
Pittsburg, expressed concerns of the current Kansas worker’s compensation laws.
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In 2002 there was an individual that gained legal representation after working for the company for just
under four months. The company was named in the suit for repetitive trauma. Upon court hearmgs, and
depositions, information was exposed where the employee had reported to her previous employer of her
condition. This had gone on for over four years at her previous employment with some conservative
medical treatment provided in the beginning, however, towards the end of her employment with her
previous employer she was given no treatment by them. She terminated her employment with that
company and came to work for our company without notifying us about her condition. The first time we
knew anything about her condition is when we received paperwork on the suit. She informed us at that
time that she did not want to bring a suit against the company because she felt that her previous employer
was the one responsible for her injury, but her attorney said that she should sue us because we were her
current employer and that we would be the ones having to pay. The other company was also named in the
suit, however, we lost the case and the Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) ruled that we owed all due
compensation and all medical costs. This case cost the company over $25,000. The other company which
did not provide proper medical treatment got off free and clear just because the individual did not work
there anymore. The claimant, however, did indeed make proper notification of injury prior to leaving her
previous employer. The ALJ ruled that since she was currently employed by us, that we were responsible
because it was an aggravation. Our company suffered the consequences for another company not
complying with the statutes of Kansas Workers Compensation by providing due medical care. The
employee was for sure within her ten day rule of notification of injury (Attachment 6).

Docking Report is filed in the Chairman’s Office.

The meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m. The next meeting will be February 12, 2004,
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Sandy Praeger ComMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE

To: Representative Donald Dahl, Chairperson
And Members
House Committee on Commerce and Labor
From: Dick Cook
Subject: Workers Compensation Insurance Issues

Insurance Companies, Group-Funded Pools and
Rating of the Coverage

Date: February 10, 2004

Chairman Dahl and Committee Members, I appreciate the opportunity to meet with you and
discuss workers compensation insurance market and rating issues in Kansas.

Features and Market Conditions Pertaining to Insurance Carriers and Group-Funded
Pools Writing Kansas Workers Compensation Coverage

In order for an insurance company to write workers compensation insurance in Kansas, it must
be licensed in Kansas and be authorized to write workers compensation insurance. The carrier
must file its rules, rates and forms with our office in accordance with Kansas law. According to
our most current records, there are 240 carriers writing workers compensation insurance in
Kansas. Over the past several years, this figure has remained fairly constant. For example, in
1997 there were approximately 235 carriers writing this coverage in Kansas, and in 2000 there
were approximately 250 carriers writing the coverage.

According to recent information provided by the National Council on Compensation Insurance,
Inc. (NCCI), the rating organization used by the carriers, there are approximately 53,500
employers paying over $400 million in annual Kansas workers compensation premium. Please
see attached Exhibit 1, which shows a breakdown of the above mentioned figures by Premium
Range for the employers operating in Kansas.

Workers compensation insurance written by insurance companies in Kansas is either written by
an insurance company direct (voluntary market) or through the Kansas Workers Compensation
Insurance Plan (the Plan). The Plan is set up for employers who in good faith are entitled to
purchase workers compensation insurance but are unable to secure the coverage through the
voluntary market. The NCCI is the administrator for the Plan and there are two servicing
carriers that service the Plan. The servicing carriers are Liberty Insurance Corporation and
Continental Western Insurance Company. We are currently in the fourth year of a four-year
contract for the aforementioned entities to service the Plan.

420 SW 9TH STREET PHoNE 785.296.3071 ConsuMER HOTLINE WEBSITE {} oy L La L or
Toreka, Kansas 66612-1678 Fax 785.296.2283 1.800.432.2484 www.ksi_nsurance.or%j -0 L‘
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According to information provided by NCCI, the Plan currently has over 14,000 insured risks
accounting for approximately $60 million in annual premium. Please see Exhibit 2, which shows
a breakdown by Premium Range. For comparison purposes, the Plan peaked during 1993

with approximately $143 million in annual premium and 21,000 policies.

K.S.A. 44-581 in the Workers Compensation Act defines group-funded pools in Kansas as
“group-funded workers compensation pools”. These pools are licensed by the Kansas Insurance
Department under the Act. The 1983 Kansas Legislature enacted the pool portion of the Act.

Kansas law requires five or more employers in the same bona fide professional, merchant, or
trade association that has existed for five or more years, in the same, similar, or closely related
type of business, with a combined net worth of over $1 million, and at least $250,000 in Kansas
workers compensation premium for the formation of a pool. In 1993, the Kansas law was
amended to allow dissimilar types of employers to pool if an adequate prediction of future losses
can be made, if the pool has a combined net worth of over $1.25 million, and if the pool has at
least $500,000 in Kansas workers compensation premium.

There are several types of employers that have formed pools under the Chapter 44 workers
compensation law. The different categories of these pools are listed as below:

Construction Contractors (2 pools)
Nursing Homes (2 pools)
Restaurants and Motels (1 pool)
Hospitals (1 Pool)

Automobile Dealers (2 pools)
Feedlots (1 pool)

Truckers (1 pool)

Dissimilar Employers (1 pool)

09 =1 O N B LT R =

In addition to the above information regarding pools, there are four workers compensation pools
for municipalities, which exist under a separate law under Chapter 12. One of these pools
consists of school districts and the other three consist of counties and cities. There are some of
the same requirements for these pools as those requirements for Chapter 44 pools; however,
overall the requirements are less stringent for Chapter 12 workers compensation pools.

There are currently 15 Chapter 44 and 12 pools offering workers compensation in Kansas.
According to our most recent information, these 15 pools provide coverage to over 2,600
member employers and account for approximately $60 million in annual premium.

The following are some pros to pooling:

1. Availability of coverage.
a. Voluntary market may not write even good risks if we are in a hard market cycle
or if the employer is in a type of business believed to be extra hazardous or
subject to a frequency of claims.



2. Coverage is provided without the Plan “penalties”.
a. No premium discount.
b. 17.5% surcharge.
c. Assigned Risk Adjustment Plan surcharge.
d. No possibility of return of surplus (dividends).
3. Increased loss control and safety programs.
a. Loss control is specific to the industry since employers are generally in the same
type of work.
b. Adequate safety is required in most pools or members are expelled for
noncompliance.
4. Control of claims costs.
a. The pool handles its own claims or hires a service agent. The employers’ needs
are paramount.
Investment income accrues to pool members.
6. Possibility of lower costs or premium.
a. Pools can apply up to a 15% or 25% advanced discount to manual premiums for
Chapter 44 and Chapter 12 workers compensation pools respectively.
7. Possibility of return of surplus (dividends).

o

The following are cons to pooling:

1. Pools are not insurance companies.
a. There is no Guaranty Association if the pool becomes insolvent.
b. Pools are not subject to most insurance laws.
2. Members of pools are jointly and severally liable.
a. All members are responsible for each member.
b. Each member is responsible for all members.
c. Assessments may be required to meet the pool’s obligations under the Act and to

maintain the solvency of the pool. Pools have been required to make assessments.

3. Risk is not transferred.
a. Purchasing insurance transfers risk to the insurance company.
b. Pooling requires sharing risk with the other pool members.

4. Excess insurance is required.

a. Favorable attachment points for aggregate coverage can be difficult to obtain. -
Dissimilar pools must have at least $2 million aggregate limits that attach at no
more than 125% of standard premium.

b. Unfunded liability gaps could exist between the pool’s loss fund and the
attachment of the excess policy creating the possibility for the need of an
assessment.

c. Excess insurance has increased in cost and is harder to obtain in recent years.

5. Pressure from membership association regarding pool membership.

a. Successful pool operations require underwriting to keep the best risks in the pool.
This may require exclusion of some association members from participation of
the pool. The result could cause tension between association members.

b. Association executives and/or the trustees may feel pressure to permit poor risks
into the pool.



Rating Issues Effecting Workers Compensation Insurance

Premiums paid by the employers should be adequate to cover the claims incurred by their
insurance companies. Rates are usually adjusted annually, based on premium and loss
information provided by the carriers to the NCCI. The major premium components are:

1. Base Rates

2. Classifications

3. Experience Rating
4. Payroll Size

Prior to Kansas workers compensation reform legislation, which was enacted in 1993, insurance
rates were on the rise. The insurance carriers were facing loss ratios over 90%, which is shown
on the attached Exhibit 3, Workers Compensation Insurance Experience, which is compiled from
insurers’ annual statement information. This also shows a history of Kansas premium and loss
information in Kansas from 1982 through 2002. There were a number of reasons that losses
were growing faster than premium, one of which was medical cost inflation were high and there
was a lack of medical fee schedules and utilization review.

Because the insurers were losing money on writing workers compensation insurance, the market

' tightened which drove a lot of employers into the Plan. In 1993, which was the peak year for the
Plan, the Plan premium accounted for 39% of the total market premium. For comparison, in
1999, six years after the reform, the Plan premium was about 7% of the total market premium,
and today NCCI estimates the Plan premium to be around 18% of the total market premium.
Additionally, since the Plan’s premium was not funding the losses, the insurers had to make up -
the losses by assessments. The goal is for the Plan to be self-funding to make it more desirable
for insurers to write business in the voluntary market, and since insureds normally pay higher
premium in the Plan, it is important to have the voluntary market carriers writing the insureds
whenever possible.

Attached Exhibit 4, entitled History of Kansas Workers Compensation Rate Filings, fairly well
summarizes what has happened with rates in Kansas before and after the reform of 1993. As you
can see, from 1990 through 1993 the rate increases totaled 55.2% while after the reform, overall
rates and loss costs have decreased 35%, which accounts for a savings of $114 million to Kansas
employers. For illustration of difference in 1993 rates and 2004 rates, the following compares a
few of the common classes used in Kansas:

Rates Effective Rates Effective
Class Code No. Description 6-1-1993 1-1-2004
5551 Roofing $36.80 $20.70
5645 Carpentry $14.34 $10.35
8742 Outside Salespersons $00.78 $00.45
8810 Clerical $00.42 $00.32



One additional item that came out of the 1993 reform was that Loss Costs were required to be
filed by the NCCI instead of final rates for the voluntary market carriers. This meant the NCCI
was to file the factor to pay for Loss and Loss Adjustment Expense while the insurers were to
file the factor to account for their Administrative Expenses and Profit Loading. This factor is
known as the Loss Cost Multiplier. Going to a loss cost system allowed the insurers more
flexibility in developing their final rates and allowed for greater competition. As a result of this
change, the loss cost system was originally filed by NCCI and made effective June 1, 1995.
Exhibit 5, Calculation of Company Loss Cost Multiplier, is one of the forms that may be used by
a workers compensation insurer for determining the insurer’s loss cost multiplier.

A major change occurred in the rating of commercial insurance, including workers
compensation, during the 1997 and 1999 legislative sessions. In 1997 the rating laws were

- changed from a prior approval system to a modified file and use system for the insurers filing
their loss cost multipliers, and in 1999 the rating laws were amended to a true file and use
system. The NCCI still has to file the loss costs for the department’s prior approval, but once an
insurer files its loss cost multiplier, it may be used. By law, there are situations where the
department can disapprove the loss cost multiplier.

In the last couple of years the loss cost multipliers have been on the rise. A couple of the reasons
have been the downturn in the investment markets and the rise in the cost of reinsurance.
Because of this, the voluntary market rates have been increasing even though the loss costs filed
by the NCCI have remained fairly constant.

I hope you have gained a better understanding of workers compensation insurance from some of
the workers compensation issues that I have presented to you today.



Kansas

Premium Distribution by Size

Market Type is Voluntary + A/R.
Cancellations (Prorated) were Kept.

Premium is based on Any Exposure.

Policy Period 07/01/2002 through 06/30/2003.
Data Mart last updated on 11/02/2003.

State Premium Range Risk Count % of Total Risks Total Premium % of Total Premium Average Premium
KS $0 - 2249 35297 65.9 24674943 6.1 699
KS $2250 - 4999 7294 13.6 24634797 6.1 3377
KS $5000 - 9999 4355 8.1 30719420 7.6 7054
KS $10000 - 49999 5132 9.6 111739266 27.6 21773
KS $50000 - 99999 837 1.6 57670537 14.2 68901
KS $100000 - 499999 603 1.1 111634599 276 185132
KS $500000 and greater 36 0.1 44069642 10.9 1224157
Total 53554 100.00% $405,143,204 100.00% $7,565

Exhibit ]



Kansas

Premium Distribution by Size

Market Type is A/R.

Cancellations (Prorated) were Kept.

Premium is based on Any Exposure.

Policy Period 07/01/2002 through 06/30/2003.
Data Mart last updated on 11/02/2003.

State Premium Range Risk Count % of Total Risks Total Premium % of Total Premium Average Premium
KS $0 - 2249 10813 752 7982027 13.5 738
KS $2250 - 4999 1634 11.4 5389056 9.1 3298
KS $5000 - 9999 880 6.1 6172464 10.4 7014
KS $10000 - 49999 859 6 18220189 30.7 21211
KS $50000 - 99999 128 0.9 9091088 15.3 71024
KS $100000 - 499999 70 0.5 12451196 21 177874
KS $500000 and greater 0 0 0 0 0
Total 14384 100.00%  $59,306,020 100.00% $4,123

Exhibit 2



WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE EXPERIENCE

Exhibit 3

LOSSES PD. LOSSES INCUR.
DIRECT DIRECT DIRECT DIRECT TO PREMIUM TO PREMIUM

YEAR  PREMIUMS WRITTEN PREMIUMS EARNED LOSSES PAID LOSSES INCURRED WRITTEN EARNED
1982 154,944,245.00 152,315,135.00 88,345,714.00 107,979,341.00 57 70.9
1983 147,137,981.00 148,669,330.00 96,289,968.00 115,282,150.00 65.4 77.5
1984 141,097,428.00 140,223,325.00 106,701,375.00 125,520,390.00 75.6 89.5
1985 172,985,620.00 170,955,138.00 120,755,675.00 147,438,366.00 69.8 86.2
1986 208,167,277.00 202,033,619.00 134,554,116.00 170,153,475.00 64.6 84.2
1987 223,674,161.00 222,846,661.00 147,885,631.00 195,885,084.00 66.1 87.9
1988 257,039,527.00 259,548,305.00 164,5553,813.00 208,332,654.00 64 80.3
1989 264,102,264.00 263,386,009.00 184,857,801.00 239,142,874.00 70 90.8
1990 291,804,714.00 293,048,038.00 222,309,953.00 265,726,660.00 76.2 890.7
1991 341,012,872.00 337,125,586.00 243,751,957.00 321,497,677.00 71.5 95.4
1992 366,672,022.00 363,578,560.00 236,878,948.00 293,894,584.00 64.6 80.8
1993 367,030,245.00 365,646,558.00 220,091,021.00 231,228,324.00 60 63.2
1994 338,173,750.00 312,116,539.00 185,502,395.00 192,914,048.00 54.9 61.8
1995 312,745,351.00 322,205,785.00 159,776,412.00 139,528,898.00 511 43.3
1996 274,014,862.00 282,897,458.00 149,616,189.00 130,595,593.00 54.6 46.2
1997 261,121,536.00 261,895,503.00 145,248,549.00 134,603,154.00 56.6 51.6
1998 250,588,819.00 261,59.4,835.00 156,594,835.00 126,164,370.00 62.6 48.2
1999 251,341,523.00 252,545,287.00 170,144,109.00 179,376,781.00 67.7 71
2000 271,480,320.00 247,235,161.00 170,366,708.00 159,226,348.00 62.8 64.4
2001 291,575,463.00 269,386,691.00 190,426,537.00 237,335,832.00 65.31 88.1
2002 328,963,003.00 307,451,748.00 180,253,738.00 177,083,631.00 54.79 57.6

WRKCOMP.XLS




Exhibit 4
History of Kansas Workers' Compensation Rate Filings

National Council on Compensation Insurance

Effective Date Qverall Overall
of Change Manufacturing Contracting All Other Approved Requested
11/21/1989

(Disapproved) 0 0 0 0 22.6%

5/1/1990 7.3% 0.7% 7.3% 5.6% 22.6%
6/1/1991 23.4% 31.4% 21.5% 24.0% 30.9%
6/1/1992 26.9% 26.6% 17.2% 21.7% 31.4%
6/1/1993 5.4% 6.7% 2.0% 3.9% 21.3%
In voluntary market 0%
In assigned risk plan 12.9%
Law change -11.0%
Effective Office Goods
Date of and and Overall Overall
Change Manufacturing  Contracting Clerical Service Misc. Approved Requested
6/1/1994 -1.7% -3.4% -2.4% -3.9% 4.5% -2.0% -0.3%
6/1/1995 -5.7% -4.3% -9.3% -8.3% -8.7% -6.9% -5.0%
Voluntary
Loss Costs Combined -7.5%
6/1/1995
Assigned -7.3% -5.9% -10.9% -9.9% -10.2% -8.5% -8.5%
Risk Plan Rates
6/1/1996 -13.1% -11.1% -9.8% -6.4% -12.3% -10.4% 5.6%
Voluntary
Loss Costs Combined -11.5%
6/1/1996 -18.5% -16.7% -15.4% -12.2% -17.8% -16.0% -1.1%
Assigned
Risk Plan Rates
1/1/1998 -14.7% -8.8% -12.6% -13.8% -12.3% -12.7% -12.7%
Voluntary Loss
Costs Combined -13.2%
1/1/1998 -19.1% -13.5% -17.1% -18.3% -16.8% -17.2% -17.2%

Assigned Risk
Plan Rates

1/1/1999 -6.0% -1.4% -2.7% -5.2% -3.2% -4.0% -4.0%

Voluntary Loss

Costs Combined -4.2%
1/1/1999 -9.1% -4.7% -5.9% -8.3% -6.5% -7.2% -7.2%

Assigned Risk
Plan Rates

Wrkcomp2.XLS



History of Kansas Workers' Compensation Rate Filings

National Council on Compensation Insurance

Effective Office Goods
Date of and and Overalll Overall
Change Manufacturing  Contracting Clerical Service Misc. Approved Requested
1/1/2000 -7.6% 2.3% -1.8% 3.8% 0.6% -0.5% -0.5%
Voluntary Loss ‘
Costs Combined -0.7%
1/1/2000 -11.0% -1.5% -5.4% -0.1% -3.1% -4.2% -4.2%
Assigned Risk
Plan Rates
1/1/2001 10.70% -3.80% 0.20% 2.20% 8.50% 3.30% 3.50%
Voluntary Loss
Costs Combined 4.30%
1/1/2001 25.30% 8.90% 13.40% 15.70% 22.80% 17% 17.20%
Assigned Risk
Plan Rates
1/1/2002 -2.90% -7.10% 0.00% -4.90% -4.60% -4.40% -4.40%
Voluntary Loss
Costs Combined -4.00%
1/1/2002 0.30% -4.10% 3.20% -1.80% -1.50% -1.30% -1.30%
Assigned Risk (-1.3% is a combination of 5.2% rate decrease and 4.1% changes in AR pricing programs)
Plan Rates
1/1/2003 4.10% -3.10% 12.00% 5.00% -5.70% 1.80% 3.90%
Voluntary Loss
Costs Combined 1.90%
1/1/2003 5.30% -2.00% 13.30% 6.20% -4.60% 3.00% 5.20%
Assigned Risk ,
Plan Rates
1/1/2004 4.80% -1.30% 5.60% 1.40% -5.60% 1.00% 4.80%
Voluntary Loss
Costs Combined 1.90%
1/1/2004 9.90% 3.50% 10.80% 6.30% -1.00% 5.90% 9.10%
Assigned Risk
Plan Rates
Wrkcomp2.XLS



Exhibit 5

Kansas

INSURER NAME DATE

NAIC NUMBER

INSURER RATE FILING
ADOPTION OF RATING ORGANIZATION PROSPECTIVE LOSS COSTS
SUMMARY OF SUPPORTING INFORMATION FORM
CALCULATION OF COMPANY LOSS COST MULTIPLIER

1. Line, Subline, Coverage, Territory, Class, etc., combination to which this page applies

2. Loss Cost Modification:
A. The insurer hereby files to adopt the prospective loss costs in the captioned Reference Filing:
(CHECK ONE)
(0 Without modification (factor = 1.000)
[J With the following modification(s). (Cite the nature and percent modification, and attach supporting data and/or
rationale for the modification.)

B. Loss Cost Modification expressed as a Factor (see example below):

NOTE: IF EXPENSE CONSTANTS ARE UTILIZED, ATTACH “ EXPENSE CONSTANT SUPPLEMENT” OR
OTHER SUPPORTING INFORMATION. DO NOT COMPLETE ITEMS 3-7 BELOW,

3. Development of Expected Loss 'Ratio. (Attach exhibit detailing insurer expense data and/or other supporting

information.)
Selected Provisions

A. Total Production Expense o,
B. General Expense : 9,
C. Taxes, Licenses and Fees : %
D. Underwriting Profit and Contingencies %
E. Other (explain) %
F. TOTAL S o

4. A. Expected Loss Ratio: ELR = 100% — 3F = %
B. ELR in decimal form =

5. Company Formula Loss Cost Multiplier: (2B + 4B) =

6. Company Selected Loss Cost Multiplier =
Explain any differences between 5 and 6

7. Rate level change for the coverages to which this page applies %

Example 1: Loss cost modification factor: If your company’s loss cost modification is —10%, a factor of .90 (1.000 - .100) should be used.
Example 2: Loss cost modification factor: If your company’s loss cost modification is +15%, a factor of 1.15 (1.000 + .150) should be used.
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Testimony before the
House Commerce and Labor Committee
Kansas Self-Insurance Program
John Bouillet, Administrator, Self-Insurance Program
February 10, 2004

Chairman Dahl and Members of the Committee

I am John Bouillet, Administrator of the Workers Compensation Self-Insurance program. Thank
you for the opportunity to appear today and present information concerning the Kansas Self-
Insurance program.

Mr. Cook has just described two of the three methods available to Kansas employers to insure
their workers compensation liability. Self-Insurance is the third method. KSA 44-532 and KAR
51-14-4 are the statute and regulation which identify the basic requirements of the program.

All employers in Kansas, who meet the following requirements, are ehglble to apply to the
Division of Workers Compensation for self-insurance authority:

1. In continuous operation for at least five years.

2. Provide the last five years of audited financial reports of the
company applying for self-insurance, or the parent company’s financial
reports, if there is a parent company.

. Have at least 100 employees, not necessarily in Kansas.

. Have a manual premium of at least $300,000 to $350,000.

. Have a Net Worth of $10,000,000; however will consider a net worth
less then $10,000,000. (If approved, the smaller company will be
required to purchase Aggregate Excess Insurance.)

wn B Lo

or meet the special exceptions of KSA 44-532: .. Purchasing an existing self-insured Kansas
firm, plant, or facility and the operation of the purchased firm, plant or facility (1) has been in
continuous operation in Kansas for at least ten (10) years (2) has generated an after tax profit of
at least $1,000,000 annually for the preceding three (3) consecutive years and (3) has a debt to
equity ratio of not greater than 3.5 to 1.
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Testimony to Committee
Page 2

or a corporation whose current identity is attributable to a merger or other transformation which
the whole or a substantial part of the previous identity’s assets and income have been transferred
to it, and its liabilities have not increased beyond the financial review requirements of the
director which qualified it under its previous identity as a self-insurer, may apply for renewal as a
self-insurer under its new name.

In order to begin the self-insurance approval process, either as a new applicant or a renewal
applicant, a completed K-WC 120, Application Form, and the necessary audited financial reports
must be received. A thorough review of the information submitted on the application form and
the financial reports is made. The financial information received from the employer for the
purpose of applying for self-insurance is exempt from the Open Records Law requirements (KSA
44-550b)

If the company meets the minimum requirements for the program, the amount of security
required to be on deposit with the state, either as a Surety Bond or a Letter of Credit, is

determined. The security instrument, in the approved amount, must be received prior to issuance

of the self-insurance permit. A security deposit is required from all self-insured employers,
except for Cities, Counties, and School Districts.

All self-insured companies must purchase Specific Excess Insurance with approved policy limits.
Smaller companies must also purchase Aggregate Excess Insurance. Proof of coverage, K-WC
129 Certificate of Excess Insurance, must be received prior to issuance of a self-insurance
permuit.

‘Self-Insurance reporting requirements are the annual filing of the application form and audited
financial report. Also, each self-insured employer must complete the K-WC 92, Annual Loss
Payment Reporting Form. The data received on the K-WC 92 form is used to determine the
annual assessment amount the company owes to the Division and to the Kansas Insurance
Department. The assessment program is based on the amount of reported paid losses for the
previous calendar year. Current assessment reporting requirements (KSA 74-712) do not break
out paid losses, only total amounts are reported.

Costs to self-insured employers due to the program are:

1. (KAR 51-14-4) Security Instrument  (Cost of Surety Bond or Letter of Credit)
2. (KAR 51-14-4) Excess Insurance (Cost of Purchase at Required Limits)

KAR - Kansas Administrative Regulation

This is an overview of the Kansas self-insurance program. [ will be happy to stand for any
questions.



DIRECTOR'S REGULATION 51-14-4, EFFECTIVE MAY 1, 1984

51-14-4. Seli-Insurance. An employer operating under the act shall only become qualified as a self-insurer throngh
the process of applying to.the division of workers compensation for a self-insurance permit. An employer making an
* application shall, upon the request of the director, submit information that the director may require to effectively

evaluate the financial status of the employer. An application for a self-insurance permit or a self-insured employer -

seeking arenewal permit, shall, if the director requests, pay the fees of a consultant approved by the division of workers
compensation to determine if the employer has the financial ability to become self-insured or to have his self-insurance

permit renewed.

The applicant for a new permit or an employer seeking a renewal permit shall furnish to the division of workers
compensation a bond written by a surety company admitted to the state, and authorized by the Kansas insurance
department to write surety bonds as required by the division. The bond shall be in an amount to adequately insure that
if the employer should become insolvent, payments on all claims will be guafanteed to the injured workers.

The applicant for anew permit or an employer seeking a renewal permit shall furnish a certificate of excess insurance
in an amount that may be quuifed by the division of workers compensation, and the division shall be notified by the
self-insured and insurance carrier at least 20 days prior to the cancellatlon or non-renewal of any excess msurance
policy. The excess workers compensation insurance shall be in conformity with Kansas insurance stautes and

Ievulatlons of the Kansas insurance commissioner.

An applicant for a new permit or an employer seeking a renewal permit shall set up financial reserves, furnish letters
of credit or provide other security in amounts and in a manner directed by the division of workers compensation to
insure the payment of all workers compensation claims as may be required by the Kansas workers compensation act.
An employer shall furnish to the division of workers compensation any other information the division may request
which will aid in fairly and adequately evaluating an application for a new or a renewal permit for self-insurance.

The self-insurance permit of any employer shall expire on the anniversaly date thereafter, except when it has been
renewed by the division prior to that date. The employer shall furnish any information that the division of workers
compensation may require to effectively evaluate an application to renew a self-insurance permit at least45 days prior

to the anniversary date of the original permit.

An employer whose original or renewal application for self-insurance has been denied, or who takes exception to
Insurance orreserve requirements may request areconsideration by the division of workers compensation. The request
shall be made within 20 days of the receipt by the employer of the information which the applicant wishesreconsidered.
If the employer desires to have a record of the hearing, the reporter’s costs shall be assessed to the employer
(Authorized by K.5.A. 44-573; implementing K.S.A. A4—305b 44-505e, 44-505f, 44-532; effective Februaly 15,
1977; amended May 1, 1978; amended May 1, 1983; amended May 1. 1984.)
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"~ COMMONLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS RELATING TO

INDIVIDUAL SELF-INSURANCE IN THE STATE OF KANSAS

Q What dol doif my éompanj* wants to become self-insured? -

A.  If self-insurance is determined to be feasible by you and/or your insurance representative, write or telephone for a
self-insured packet of information as indicated below:

Department of Human Resources
Division of Workers Compensation
Business and Accounting Section
800 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1227
Telephone: (785) 296-3606

Upon receipt of the packet, either you or your Third Party Administrator should complete the following forms and
file at the above address:

1. Form 105, Application Oath to Become A Self-Insured
2.  Form 120, Application for Self-Insurance

Also send the foll.t-:)wing:

1.  Five years of the most recent audited financial reports of either the parent company, or

if none, the applicant company. In addition, file the most recent 10 Q or quarterly reports.
2. Acopy of the safety manual and/or safety program.
3.  Proposed excess insurance limits.

After a review is completed of the material submitted, we will contact you or your representative.
My business has been in existence for four years. Is the business eligible for self-insurance?

A private firm must be in existence, doing business under its present corporate identity (continuous operation), for at
least five years to make application; or is purchasing an existing self-insured Kansas firm, plant or facility and the
operation of the purchased firm, plant or facility:

1.  has been in continuous operation in Kansas for at least 10 years;
has generated an after-tax profit of at least $1,000,000 annually for the preceding three consecutive
years; and,

3. has aratio of debt to equity of not greater than 3.5 to 1. As used in this subsection, “debt” means the
sum of long-term borrowing maturing in excess of one year plus the current portion of long-term
borrowing plus short-term financial institution borrowing plus commercial paper borrowing, and
“equity” means the sum of the book value of stock plus paid-in capital plus retained earnings. The
method for calculating the amount of security required of self-insureds shall be reviewed by an actuary

every five years, beginning in fiscal year 1997. The costs for these actuarial studies shall be paid from
the workers compensation fee fund.

A corporation or other entity whose current identity is attributable to a merger or other transformation whereby the
whole or a substantial part of a previous entity’s assets and income have been transferred to it, and its liabilities have
not increased beyond the financial review requirements of the director, which qualified under iis previous identity as

K-WC 106 (Rev. 6-98) -1 - A
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« wclf-insurer under other provisions of the statute, and amendments thereto, may apply for renewal as a self-insu.
under its new name. The director may grant the application for renewal if satisfied that the new entity meets all
necessary financial criteria for renewal that would have been applied to the previous self-insured entity. An applica-

tion under these provisions shall be limited to an entity seeking renewal based upon the prior self-insured status of
another entity or entities.

A subsidiary corporation in business less than five years may be considered if its liability 1s guaranteed by a parent

corporation. New applicants must submit five years of the ultimate parent's audited financial reports and the most
recent quarterly statement or 10 Q.

Are there stateof Kansasstatutes .ai_ld iegﬁlaﬁbns thatpertam | to individual SElf-insﬁrédé_?

Yes. Refer to K.S.A. 44-332 and K.A.R. 51-14-4,

How do T know if being self-insured is best for my company?

A self-insured employer is assuming the responsibilities provided by an insurance carrier; therefore, there must be a
commitment on the part of top management to be self-insured, especially in the area of safety and loss control,
claims review and payment to injured workers, and especially the setting and periodic review of reserves for future

payment on known and existing claims. Also, an initial feasibility study should be made to determine if it is more
cost efficient to be self-insured or to continue with an insurance policy.

For information purposes, the self-insured packet includes an exhibit showing the liability buildup of ten cases over
a ten-year period.

T

The self-insured employer or parent company should demonstrate financial strength and liquidity to assure all
obligations will be properly met.

Our office performs a detailed review of the company's financial statements by reviewing the cash flow of the
company. Other key ratios reviewed are liquidity, profitability and debt-to-equity. We then compare these ratios with
other employers in the same type of business on a countrywide basis. Upon determining the applicable Standard

Industrial Classification Code, a Dun & Bradstreet peer review is completed. The long-term debt of the employer is
monitored by us, too.

During our financial review, trending is performed to ascertain in what direction the employer is financially headed.
The self-insured applicant is provided a copy of our financial worksheet printout.

If a compam has one or more subsuhanes thev WlSh to be self-msured are they combmed on the same

: apphcatmn"

If the subsidiary is separately incorporated, then each must have its own application. An Indemnity & Guaranty
Agreement must be signed by the ultimate parent of the subsidiary guaranteeing payment of all workers compensa-
tion liability.

If the entity is a division not separately incorporated, then the two companies can be included on the same applica-
tion.

Asa self-msured employer, are we f'éqﬁired to:'h'ave a Third Party Administrator assist us?

No. This is not a requirement, but an option. Many self-insureds have their own in-house staff of employees that do
loss prevention services, handle their own claims, establish.their own reserves and do other duties. If this is the

-0

(72-



swuation, the employer must furnish us with the plan developed for adjusting claims. Ttem 6 of the Form 120,
Application for Self-Insurance, addresses this issue, and Item 25 C requires the names, qualifications and experi-

~ence of the person(s) evaluating loss reserves.

- If we retam a T}nrd Partv Adnnmstrator or an ad_;ustmg companv, are thev reqmred to be hcensed in the
' -sﬁne of Kansas or domlcﬂed in the state"

No. At the present time, the Kansas Insurance Department only licenses insurance agents. Third Party Administra-

tors and insurance adjusters are not licensed. For self-insurance, we do not require Third Party Administrators to
have an office within the state.

= “’hatstate of Ka nsascosts can [ expectif ourcompan} becomes self-msured"

There are no premium taxes or administrative costs and, generally, no qualifying fees. There are two assessments to
be paid annually: one to our office and one to the Kansas Insurance Department, Workers' Compensation Fund.

The Division of Workers Compensation is a fee-funded agency, and assessment fees are assessed annually to
finance the costs associated with the operation of the Division. No general fund monies are received. An informa-
tion form describing the assessment procedure is included in the basic self-insurance packet.

The Kansas Insurance Department, Workers' Compensation Fund, annually assesses all self-insured employers an
assessment to finance the second injury fund, and other responsibilities of the Fund.

Wliat gbe thé‘r'assés"'sn.lents based on§ wﬁo is zisséss'ed§ .an'.d, _What is .t_-her time table .i-‘or mak'ing' p'ayments'.’. .

Each year during January, the Division sends a form to each self-insured, group self-insured (pool) and insurance
carrier authorized to write workers' compensation insurance in the state, asking the amount of losses paid under law
for the preceding calendar year. Based on that information, on approximately May 1 an assessment is levied against
the losses paid and shall not exceed 3%. The assessment shall be paid prior to July 1 of each year.

The Kansas Insurance Department, Workers' Compensation Fund, uses the same claims paid-base during the

preceding calendar year. Their assessment is due J uly 1st. Inquiries regarding the Kansas Workers' Compensation
Fund should be addressed to:

Workers' Compensation Fund
Kansas Insurance Department
420 S.W. 9th Street

Topeka, KS 66612-1678
Telephone (785) 296-7810

Is there an employee number or pre-m_ium size requirement to be eligible to apply for self-insurance?
Yes. The self-insured applicant should have a minimum of 100 employees either entirely in the state of Kansas or on
an interstate basis, i.e. 25 employees in the state of Kansas and 75 employees in the state of Missouri. This require-

ment is used to ascertain the size of the employer's operation.

Also, the self-insured applicant shall have a minimum manual workers’ compensation premium of at least $250,000
- $300,000. A manual premium is the basic premium determined by multiplying the manual rate times each $100 of

- payroll per classification code. The referral to "standard premium" is the manual premium times the experience

modification.

12
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How much equity Should-é self-insured apph’canf have to be self-insured?

~ Historically, self-insurance was an option generally for only the large and very large employers who could afford

the exposure and expense of being self-insured. Otherwise, successive large losses might jeopardize the financial
being of the company and cause it to declare bankruptcy. This would be especially true if the employer is highly
leveraged, self-insured in numerous states and even self-insured in other lines of insurance such as general liability.
Today, because of workers' compensation market conditions and other factors, smaller employers are viewing self-
insurance as a viable option to insuring their workers' compensation exposure.

There is currently a $10,000,000 equity threshold and if an applicant has less equity, excess msurance, both specific

and aggregate limits, are required. For applicants with $10,000,000-plus equity, specific limits are required but
aggregate limits are optional.

‘What is excess insurance?

Excess insurance is obtained from insurance companies in the same manner as obtaining primary insurance. A "self-
insurance retention” amount is like a deductible amount on automobile or homeowners insurance, and for every
accident or occurrence, the self-insurance retention must be paid by the self-insured. Once the self-insurance
retention is paid, the insurance carrier is responsible. Generally, the larger and financially stronger self-insured
employers have a higher retention and the smaller companies have a lower retention. Aggregate msurance is more
costly to a self-insured employer, but is protected by placing a "cap” on the cumulative payments of claims. Once

this aggregate annual cap, or "Minimum Loss Fund" is met, the self-insured pays no more and the insurance carrier
pays up to the annual policy limit.

= What happens in the state of Ransas 1f the self—msured emplover becomes bankrupt durmfI the pohcv perlod
- and the bankruptcy freezes the funds of the employer? Are not typical excess policies written as reinsurance

= __cnntracts and if the retention is met, ﬁ]e self-msured shali pay ﬁrst and the excess insurance reimburse the
self—msured emplover" '

Yes, you are correct. The standard excess insurance policy is similar to a reinsurance contract, but state of Kansas
insurance laws protect the claimant. The state of Kansas excess insurance is viewed as "liability insurance" and if
the self-insured employer cannot pay the claim, the insurance carrier must do so.

Is an excess insurance policy required for all self-insureds?

Yes. Excess insurance is required for all self-insureds including public entities such as cities and counties. Excess
insurance is often referred to as "catastrophic coverage" to provide protection for the large losses.

Is excess insurance regulated by the Kansas Insurance Department?

Yes, because excess insurance policies are viewed as a "liability type" policy, each authorized insurance carrier with
the authority to write workers compensation coverage must obtain prior approval of the excess policy form from the
Kansas Insurance Department. However, the rates charged for excess workers compensation insurance are not
approved by the Kansas Insurance Department, and there is no standard rate.

How do I find an insurance carrier to provide an excess insurance policy?

The self-insured packet has a list of approved, admitted insurance carriers the Kansas Insurance Department has
provided. The list indicates all admitted carriers who have had their excess insurance policies approved. The list

also shows the companies authorized to write aggregate coverage. A commercial lines insurance agent will be able
to provide assistance in locating an insurance carrier.

-



I know of a non-admitted, surplus lines insurance carrier domiciled in Bermuda that can provide excess
workers compensation coverage at less cost than a companv on the list. Is this surplus lines coverage a ﬂable

No. The state of Kansas insurance laws require insurance coverage to be placed with an admitted carrier even
though the rates may be higher. However, the Kansas Insurance Department has a "white list" of surplus lines (not
admitted) carriers that excess coverage can be placed with if insurance coverage is unavailable in the admitted
market. If coverage is written by a company on the "white list," we require the policy to be filed with our office and
amended to meet the requirements of what is required from an admitted company. Also, Form 133, Non-Admitted
Insurance Carrier (Statement of Insured), must be completed and filed with us, and a written statement made by the
self-insured administrator for forwarding to the Kansas Insurance Department by us reflecting the unavailability of
excess workers compensation coverage in the admitted market. The filing of the Form 133 and written statement
made must be done at the time of each annual renewal of the excess policy.

What rtrxé;'ip'ens pchédufallyﬂaft_erﬂm}'"'seif'-ixis'ufeﬂ cd:ﬁpany ceéseé_ta be self-insured?

After the termination date is determined and our office issues a letter of termination, we must be provided the name
and policy number of the primary insurance carrier providing insurance coverage. The security posted will be

required until such time there is no further claim activity, no open reserves and no known occupational disease
exposure.

- The security amount continues at the amount retained at the time of termination and is reduced by one-third until the

end of the third year. If open reserves are present at the end of the third year, a factor of .25 is applied for Loss
Adjustment Expense and future assessments if a Letter of Credit is used to post security, or a factor of .10 is applied
if a surety bond is filed with us to the reserve amount, and an additional factor of .15 is applied for the cost of
deficiencies in case loss reserves. These factors are applied annually.

_ 'After the self-msured per:mt is termmated how long wdl my companv be assessed b} the Department of
~ Human Resources, DlVlSlOll of Workers Compensanon and Kansas Insurance Department, W orLers Com-

pensatmn Fund.

Your company will be assessed by our office and the Kansas Insurance Department, Workers' Compensation Fund,
until a zero balance of paid claims during a calendar year period is reported.

If my business is approved for self-insurance, how much security will I be required to post?

The amount of security that is required to be posted via a Letter of Credit or Surety Bond 1s determined after a

thorongh review of the financial stability and capability of the prospective company. and varies from one company
to another.

How is the secunty amount to be pbst_ed detéﬁﬁined fé__i' new self-insured apphcants and renewais?_ =

The basic method used is our Security Determination Form developed in 1982, and updated during fiscal year 1997,
by a consulting actuary. By statute, the form is updated now every five (5) years. The form has been very satisfac-
tory in determining the amount to be posted. However, for large employers initially seeking self-insurance, it has
appeared that the standard Security Determination Form would require too much security for the initial period. The
consulting actuary provided an alternative method of determining the amount to be posted. The method used is to
apply a .90 factor to the standard premium. The "standard premium" is the basic manual premium with the experi-
ence modification applied. The minimum amount of security is $350,000.

The .90 factor excludes insurance company profits, commissions, etc., but includes the pure premium, loss adjust-
ment factor and related items pertaining to claims. At the time of renewal, we would then use our standard Security .
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~ Compensation?

Determination Form as the self-insured's own reserves are determined. The pure premium of 60% ($.60 on the
premium dollar) is that portion of the premium amount designated to pay losses. The Loss Adjustment Expense/
Assessment Factor is 25% and is used to adjust and pay the claims, and to make allowance for future assessments.

For the small to medium size new applicants, we generally use the pure premium .60 factor as a reserve amount, and
this appears to work well; therefore, the standard Security Determination Form can be used. For extremely small
employers with a net worth of less that $10,000,000, aggregate insurance is required and the self-insured posts an
amount equal to the Minimum Loss Fund, which is the point at which the insurance carrier begins paying all claims
and the self-insured employer's liability ceases.

_ What form must the security take?

The security amount may be posted by use of either a bank Letter of Credit or a Surety Bond.

I chcose a Léﬁér of Credlt, ma} I use éi_}jbaniii’_ —

You may select a bank of your choice; however, prior to the issuance of the Letter of Credit, the bank must complete
a Bank Fact Sheet and submit a copy of the parent bank’s, or if none, its most recent audited financial statement.

After a thorough review of the bank, the Division will either accept or reject the bank as a Letter of Credit insurer. If
rejected, another bank must be selected.

_ What other requirements must be met for [:‘et_t.erS._Of.(ifedit?'- =

Because the Division of Workers Compensation has no legislative authority to administer payment of claims, a

Trust Operational Agreement must be established with a bank's trust department. The format for this agreement is
available from the Division.

_. Aml fequiréd to have the same bank issue both the Letter of Cr_é('i_it"anii”the Trust Opé_raiioﬁal Agreement?

No, any bank willing to accept the state of Kansas wording for the Trust Operational Agreement is acceptable. The
Letter of Credit must identify the bank where the Trust Operational Agreement is issued and located.

 Are there requirements the bank must meet to handle Letters of Credit?

The bank must complete a Bank Fact Sheet reflecting its financial condition as well as to provide a copy of their
latest financial report for our review and acceptance. This review must be accomplished and approval granted prior

to the Letter of Credit being issued. The Bank Fact Sheet and financial statement must be filed on the bank's ulti-
mate parent bank, if applicable.

What-proc'édu_re is followed when a Letter of Credit or Surety Bond is called by the Director of Workers
If it becomes evident that the self-insured is unable to pay the workers compensation claims as they become due,
then the Director of the Division of Workers Compensation will call either all or part of the Letter of Credit or the

Surety Bond. The funds are placed in the previously agreed to Trust Fund for the Letter of Credit, and the surety

company pays in accordance with the terms of the surety bond. The funds are utilized to pay the claims as they
become due.

- How loilg_ does 1t take It'o be_come.self-inéu:.‘e&i’.

After receipt of the completed application and the previous five years of audited financial records on the prospective
self-insured company, permits have been issued in two weeks, but more realistically 30 to 45 days is normal.

-5 -
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How long is the pei'mit period in effect, and how often will I be required to renew the permit?

The permit normally is approved for one year or less initially depending on when the fiscal year ends for the self-
insured, and renewals are on an annual basis.

- What o_{her options are there to cover workers compensation requirements if self-insurance is unavailable or
not feasible? = ' = '

Continue to purchase an insurance policy to cover the liability or join a pool of similar employers. Pool coverage
(group self-insurance) is administered by the Kansas Insurance Department. Also, large deductibles are available
now, and your insurance agent can assist you in this area.

= A;ﬁé,iﬁé self-msured fé_c_ord's Iﬁai_ﬁtéined by th'é,i}iﬁs.icm_ and therefdr_e the datarpro_ﬁ(.l.ed b},"é self—msured

~ company available to the public?

KSA 44-550b provides the following, quoted in part: “Records open to public inspection, exceptions. (a) All
records provided to be maintained under K.S.A. 44-550 and amendments thereto shall be open to public inspection,

except that records relating to financial information submitted by an employer to qualify as a self-insurer pursuant
to K.S.A. 44-532 and amendments thereto.”

= If the companyw:shmg té_ﬁecéme' self—msured isa subsidiéry of ano'ther.ébrpbiration, whose .ﬁﬁai}ci.ai;{éte_-' _
- ment is analyzed? = = - ' = : = s

If there is a parent company, then the financial data and review is completed on the ultimate parent's financial

reports, not the subsidiary. This is done due to the fact that the parent has the ability to remove assets from the
subsidiary at will.

.Dbe_s_ ﬂl__& state of Kansas require a meeting with the prospective self-insured cdinj_aany representatives pribr to

In order to hold down costs, there is no requirement for a meeting. Mailing of the two application (Form 105 and

120) forms and five years of audited financial reports will begin the process. Problems will be addressed as they
arise with the appropriate representative.

' Assﬁmihg a qﬁatiﬁé& individual self-insured _emﬁloy_e_r bécbmes bankri_tpt, cannot ;paj,’ claims and the securlty
_ isinsufficient, do claims cease being paid® : = - :

No, the individual self-insured program has a "guaranty fund" to protect the injured workers. The law provides that
the Workers' Compensation Fund (second injury), administered by the Kansas Insurance Department, pay claims of
insolvent employers if other security is unavailable. The amount paid out is then assessed (post assessment) to all
other self-insureds, group self-insureds and insurance carriers indicating paid workers compensation claims.

Has a 'quaiiﬁed_ihdi_vi_du_al self-insured ever declared bankruptcy, could not pay its own claims and the
Workers' Compensation Fund have to make payments, and make an assessment for these payments?

No, not at this time.

Isit a state requirement that the Self-insured Permit Certificate be posted or displayed?

No, this is optional and no permit certificate posting requirement exists. Regulation 51-13-1 does require all em-
ployers operating under the Workers Compensation Act to post a Form 40, Posting Notice, advising employees what
to do in case of injury. The Posting Notice can be obtained by contacting the Topeka Workers Compensation office.
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Q. I I have additional questions or heed further expléné'ﬁoh, who should I contact? '

A.+ Contact:

Individual Self-Insureds

Department of Human Resources

Division of Workers Compensation

Business Office & Self-Insurance -
800 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600

Topeka, KS 66612-1227

Phone: (785) 296-3606

Group Self-Insureds (Pools)

Kansas Insurance Department
Commercial Multi-Perils Section
420 S.W. 9th Street

Topeka, KS 66612-1678

Phone: (785) 296-3071
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Chairman Dahl and members of the committee, T am Terri Roberts, executive
director of the KANSAS STATE NURSES ASSOCIATION and chairperson of the :
KANSAS COALITION FOR WORKPLACE SAFETY. On behalf of the Coalition, I want

to thank Chairman Dahl and the committee for this opportunity to discuss workers
compensation insurance in Kansas.

The timing of today’s hearing is auspicious. Last fall, the KANSAS COALITION FOR
WORKPLACE SAFETY commissioned the Docking Institute of Public A ffairs at

£
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Fort Hays State University to perform an independent analysis of the issue of
workers compensation in Kansas. The Docking Institute reviewed data from the
United States Department of Labor, the Kansas Department of Human Resources
and various private organizations, including NCCI, in order to document the state
of workers compensation in Kansas. The Docking Institute has recently

completed its study, and we are very pleased to provide the committee with copies
of their report today.

As you will see, the Docking Institute report contains a great deal of good news
for Kansas employers and work comp insurance carriers. It’s so favorable, in fact,

that the chamber may wish to use it in pitches to attract new businesses to the
state. The Docking Institute concludes:

“...[Bly any measure, Kansas employers pay some of the lowest

workers compensation costs in the nation.” (Docking Institute Report,
Page 9)

Let’s look at some of the factors the Docking Institute weighed in arriving at this
conclusion. Researchers first looked at how much Kansas employers were
actually paying for work comp insurance premiums. They found that emplovers
pay relatively low costs for work comp insurance and that, despite a slight rise
since 2001, premiums are still “substantially less than those charged in 1993 and
1994.” When they compared premiums in Kansas with premiums in other states.
the Docking Institute found that Kansas had the fourth lowest premium rate in the
nation. Only Virginia, Indiana and North Dakota had lower premiums.
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The Docking Institute also looked at employers’ premiums as a percentage of
total wages. Here, too, Kansas employers are doing well. The study finds that

premiums as a percentage of total wages “have been steadily falling for the last
decade” to about half the percentage they were in 1992,

To take this comparison a little deeper, the Docking Institute looked at employers’
costs in one of the most dangerous industries: Manufacturing. Even here, Kansas
ranked 21st among all states for the lowest workers compensation costs in the
manufacturing sector, and Kansas was the second lowest among our neighbors
Nebraska, Oklahoma, Colorado and Missouri. This is all the more remarkable

when you consider that the injury rate in Kansas for manufacturing issignificantly
higher than the national average.

Again, by every measure, Kansas emplovers enjoy some of the lowest workers
compensation costs in the nation. The only ones who might benefit from a
premium increase would be the already-profitable insurance carriers. Data

obtained from NCCI ranks Kansas third in the nation as one of the most favorable

environments for workers compensation profitability. The Docking Institute gives
us some insight as to why Kansas is ranked in the top three. The study found that
for 2002, workers compensation carriers in Kansas earned more than $307 million
in premiums and incurred direct losses of $177 million. In other words, for every

dollar earned in premiums in 2002, the carriers in Kansas paid out approximately
58 cents in benefits. Not too shabby.

The study also examined the average cost per workers compensation case in
Kansas. It found that the average cost per case in Kansas, excluding medical
costs, is the 11th lowest in the nation. When you factor in medical costs, Kansas’
overall costs per case (meaning medical plus indemnity costs) are 72% of the
national average. In other words, the average case in Kansas costs employers and
insurance carriers 28% less than the national average. Again, by every measure
Kansas employers and insurers pay some of the lowest workers compensation
costs in the nation. But it’s not because workers and workplaces in Kansas are
safer than other states. In fact, injury rates in Kansas are significant!y higher than
the national average in virtually every industry. Kansas employees get hurt more
frequently and often more severely than the national average. When you compare
our injury rates from 1997 to 2001 to those of surrounding states, Kansas has had
the highest injury rate, or tied for highest, three years out of five. In other words,
Kansas employers and insurers are thriving despite unacceptable levels of injury.
How do they do it? By keeping the benefits to injured workers so pitifully low.
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According to the Docking Institute, the maximum weekly benefits for injured
workers in Kansas are the 7th lowest in the country. Moreover, Kansas offers the
lowest weekly benefits in the five-state region including our neighbors Missouri,
Nebraska, Colorado and Oklahoma. As you know, Kansas also is one of only four
states that caps permanent total disability rather than provide lifetime benefits,
and of the four, Kansas’ cap is by far the lowest. Kansas also caps permanent
partial disability, and we are a low-benefit state in terms of both scheduled and
unscheduled injuries.

All of this adds up to costs savings to employers and insurance companies. But I
doubt these statistics on injuries and paltry benefits to injured workers will appear
in any brochures promoting economic development in Kansas. Instead, the
chamber and others will entice business prospects with the simple fact that
Kansas employers can get great work comp rates without spending a lot on safety.

[ want to close by pointing out that the Docking Institute’s study presented today
stands in sharp contrast to assertions made, particularly those employers who self-
insure. Unlike the figures compiled by the Docking Institute, the figures asserted
by self-insureds have not been independently verified. That’s because self-
insureds’ financial records are not open to public scrutiny. What we do know
about self-insuring in Kansas is that it is optional. Employers who choose this
option do so hoping to lower their premiums through special discounts or by
reaping dividends. As Dick Cook with the Kansas Insurance Department noted in
testimony last fall, employers who self-insure must be prepared to take on all of
the risks and responsibilities associated with such an endeavor, and must
implement sound underwriting practices to be successful. Given what we know
about the favorable insurance environment in Kansas, the unverified complaints
of the se/f~insureds beg the question: Why aren’t you buying work comp
insurance on the open market, where Kansas employers enjoy some of the lowest
rates in the nation?

Thank you.
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TESTIMONY BEFORE THE
HOUSE COMMITTEE ON COMMERCE AND LABOR
ON
WORKERS COMPENSATION ISSUES - PRE-EXISTING CONDITIONS
BY
BILL CURTIS
FEBRUARY 11, 2004

Mr. Chairman and members of the Committee, thank you for the opportunity to testify today on an
important issue. My name is Bill Curtis and I am the Associate Executive Director of the Kansas
Association of School Boards (KASB). My primary responsibility is to serve as the administrator of the
workers compensation pool sponsored by KASB formed under the Kansas Municipal Group-Funded Pool
Act. The pool has operated since 1987 and currently has a membership of 212 with an annual premium
volume of $10, 221,484. Only members of KASB are eligible for membership in the pool and, therefore,
membership is limited to unified school districts, community colleges, vocational schools and intermediate
service units such as special education cooperatives and regional service centers.

The topic I wish to address today is pre-existing conditions. The way in which the workers
compensation system is required to compensate employees today for pre-existing conditions, I believe, is
one of the major reasons why costs are escalating at an alarming rate. The existing language in 44-501(c)
is not being strictly applied, credits are not uniformly received for previous functional settlements and, as is
very evident by the Hanson case, the employer no longer has any recourse to recover the majority of
expenses incurred for injuries that were pre-existing. If the Hanson case had occurred prior to 1993, the
insurer could have recovered the vast majority of the cost of that claim through the second injury fund and
the loss would not have been recorded against USD 326. Under current law if Mr. Hanson needs another
knee replacement, the employer and the insurance company at the time of that procedure will stand the total
cost. It seems to me that we must search for some compromise solution that does not require the employer
and the insurer to stand the total cost of the consequences of pre-existing conditions.
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Testimony before the House Commerce and Labor Committee

By Steve Rothrock
Vice President
Whiteley's Inc.
211 NW Norris

Topeka, KS 66608

| am Steve Rothrock of Whiteley’s Pallet and Industrial Supply. Whiteley’s Pallet and Blocking
is a small pallet company located in North Topeka. Whiteley’s employs anywhere from four to eight
people, depending on the work load.

Worker's Comp and overall insurance costs have become a major expense for our company.
Seven years ago when | purchased the business, the over-all insurance expense was $13,000 per
year. In 2004, our insurance expense is now over $26,000 a year. Seven years ago, we were
charging $5.65 each for a 48X40 #1 pallet. Today, that exact same pallet is brining $5.15 each to the
same company. With the rise in insurance costs, it was becoming very difficult to maintain
profitability.

My company has two experiences in dealing with pre-existing conditions with Worker's Comp.
Number one was an employee who came to work for us after being laid off from a concrete
contractor. While working for the concrete contractor, this employee had medical treatment, paid by
the contractor, on both of his wrists. The damage to his wrists was caused by tying steel together.
After two to three months of employment for us, he complained of the same problem with his wrists.
We sent him to the doctor, and he was told that he had carpel tunnel syndrome. Since we were the
last employer, we were responsible to pay to have both wrists repaired. Then, he was rated and our
insurance company had to pay for his disability rating. In two months, there in no way we were the
sole cause of his wrist damage.

Employee number two last year stepped on a pallet and twisted his knee. After the x-ray, it
was determined there was a partial tear and the scope-type surgery would repair the damage. After
the scope was done, it was determined that the patient had extreme arthritis in his knee. He was told
that he would probably need a total knee replacement in the future. The employee didn’t work very
hard on rehab, and his attorney fought and won through the courts to make our company pay for a
total knee replacement. The arthritis was caused from a car accident he was in years prior to
employment with our company. This was an extreme case of a pre-existing condition that my
company in no way caused to happen. We are now responsible to pay for two surgeries and a
disability rating for arthritis that we didn't cause.

These two claims go against our experience mod and drive up the cost of our insurance very
quickly. With such a small company and limited payroll, claims like these affect our Worker's Comp
insurance premiums in a very negative manner.

| would ask this committee to please consider changing the pre-existing conditions part in the
Worker's Comp laws to help small and large businesses survive. | also feel we should only pay for
the injuries that occur at our work places and to the extent of damage that we cause, not damages
that are already existing.

Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter.
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Legislative Testimony
February 11, 2004

Testimony before the House Committee
By Tim Rakestraw, Safety Supervisor-Superior Industries

Sir or Madam Chairperson and members of the committee:

My name is Tim Rakestraw, I am the Safety Supervisor and workers compensation
coordinator at Superior Industries in Pittsburg, Kansas. Thank you for this opportunity to
express some concerns of the current Kansas Workers’ Compensation laws.

I would like to make note of a horror story regarding pre-existing conditions.

First, in 2002 there was an individual that gained legal representation after working for
our company for just under four months. Our company was named in the suit for
repetitive trauma. Upon court hearings and depositions, information was exposed where
the employee had reported to her previous employer of her condition. This had gone on
for over four years at her previous employment with some conservative medical
treatment provided in the beginning, however, towards the end of her employment with
her previous employer she was given no treatment by them. She terminated her
employment with that company and came to work for us without notifying us about her
condition. The first time we knew anything about her condition is when we received
paperwork on the suit. She informed us at that time that she did not want to bring suit
against our company because she felt that her previous employer was the ones
responsible for her injury, but her attorney said that she should sue us because we were
her current employer and that we would be the ones having to pay. The other company
was also named in the suit, however, we lost the case and the ALJ ruled that we owed all
due compensation and all medical costs. This case cost our company over $25,000. The
other company, which did not provide proper medical treatment got off free and clear just
because the individual did not work there anymore. The claimant, however, did indeed
make proper notification of injury prior to leaving her previous employer. The ALJ ruled
that since she was currently employed by us, that we were responsible because it was an
aggravation. We suffered the consequences for another company not complying with the
statutes of Kansas Workers Compensation by providing due medical care. The employee
was for sure within her ten day rule of notification of injury.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to express some concerns that we as Kansans have
concerning Kansas Workers” Compensation. If anyone has any questions. [ would be
happy to answer any and all.

Tim Rakestraw

Safety Supervisor/Work Comp Coordinator
Superior Industries

Pittsburg, Kansas

620-232-3344 ext.610
trakestr@supind.com
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