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Date

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMERCE AND LABOR COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Don Dahl at 9:00 a.m. on February 12, 2004 in Room 241-
N of the Capitol. :

All members were present except:
Representative Kevin Yoder- excused
Representative Rob Boyer- excused

Committee staff present:
Jerry Ann Donaldson, Legislative Research Department
Norm Furse, Revisor of Statutes
June Evans, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee: Carol Cast, Division of Workers Compensation
Tom Caby, Stormont Vail Hospital
Terri Roberts, Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety
Jeff Cooper, Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety

Others attending:
See Attached List.

The Chairman stated the Floor was open to see if anyone was interested in working HB 2359 - Requiring
continuing education for certain contractors licensed by cities and counties.

Representative Novascone moved and Representative Ruff seconded to move HB 2359 out favorably.

After discussion Representative Sharp moved and Representative Novascone seconded a Substitute
Motion to amend on Page 1, line 25 and on Page 2. line 18, to add “not less than™ between “obtain” and
“six’’. The motion carried.

Representative Novascone moved and Representative Ruff seconded a Substitute Motion to move HB
2359 out as amended. The motion carried.

The Chairman asked if the Committee wished to take action on HB 2479 - Employment of illegal aliens,
penalties?

Representative Pauls moved and Representative Ruff seconded to move HB 2479 out favorably.

After discussion Representative Pauls withdrew her motion and Representative Ruff withdrew her second
to move HB 2479 out favorably.

The Chairman announced Workplace Disability would be the topic for discussion today.

Carol Cast, Coordinator, Employer Services, Division of Workers Compensation, gave a summary of how
the process works for workplace disability under workers compensation (Attachment 1)

Workers Compensation Information for Kansas Employers & Employees brochure is filed in the
Chairman’s office.

Tom Caby, Stormont Vail Hospital, gave an example of an employee being injured and claiming work
disability. Once the money ran out, the employee applied and got a job where her salary was $2.00 per
hour more than the previous job. Most workers eventually return to work doing same/similar work.
There is a timing issue as the future is not considered. Going back 15 years is subjective, it may or may
not be pertinent. A nurse could be injured and possibly 15 years earlier had worked at a minimum wage
job. Work disability should be similar to unemployment and should be capped. Economic conditions
should not be grounds for work disability (Attachment 2).
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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMERCE AND LABOR COMMITTEE at 9:00 a.m. on February 12,
2004 in Room 241-N of the Capitol.

Jeff Cooper, Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety, practicing attorney, and Adjunct Professor of Law at
Washburn University School of Law, has been teaching workers compensation for approximately 12 years
reviewed workplace disability under workers compensation. Mr. Cooper is also a Pro Tem Appeals Board
Judge, filling in when one of the Board Members has a conflict or 1s unavailable. The Legislature
changed the law in 1993 to set up a two-prong test, and for the past 10 years, we have been looking at
wage loss and task loss as the two prongs for the test. Under the current law, these two prongs are
averaged together.

Under the current law the wage loss prong is looking at actual wage loss. The statute, as written in 1993,
states wages are to be compared with what the employee was earning at the time of the injury with the
wages the employee is earning after the injury. As written, theoretically, the employee, if not brought
back to work and paid 90%, could sit at home, make no efforts to find a job, and would have a 100%
wage loss. The “liberal” Judges, the Appeals Board, and the Court of Appeals have judicially imposed a
“good faith” test.

The task loss prong is the second prong of the equation. Under current law, the “tasks™ are looked at that
were performed by the employee in jobs they have worked for the 15 years before the injury (Attachment

3).

Terri Roberts, R.N., chairperson, Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety, stated under current law mjured
workers in Kansas receive workers compensation benefits according to the severity and type of disability
sustained on the job. Work disability cases are those in which an employee sustains severe, permanent
injuries on the job that are not covered by the schedule of injuries in the Kansas statute, such as injuries to
the back, hip or the neck. These are career-ending injuries; injuries that rob employees of their ability to
perform the tasks they used to perform to earn their paycheck. A laborer who used to make a good wage
on the strength of his back and through an injury can no longer lift more than 25 pounds; that injury could
be career ending. A grocery store checker who used to stand behind a cash register all day who can no
longer work on her feet after her hip was shattered; that injury could be career ending. These are real
people with real bills to pay and real mouths to feed who must now compete in the real world for a real
job. Under current law, the amount of disability an injured worker receives in based, in part, on how
much the worker actually earned both before and after the injury. However, under the proposed
amendment, disability benefits would no longer be based on what the injured worker actually earned post-
injury but instead on what a vocational expert thinks an injured worker has the “capacity to earn” after the
injury (Attachment 4).

The Chairman stated that yesterday time expired on the topic of Pre-Existing Condition and so testimony
on that topic will be completed at this time.

Terri Roberts, R.N., chairperson, Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety, stated she wanted to call
attention to some of the word games being played by those who advocate changing the definition of “pre-
existing condition.” As with most areas of law, workers compensation has many parts, and it 1s difficult
to reform singular sections of the law without affecting the statute as a whole. Be assured that changing
the language used to define “pre-existing condition” is much more than a “surgical strike.” If the
Legislature adopts the definition of “pre-existing condition” being proposed, it would ultimately affect
every worker in Kansas who sustains a permanent injury on the job. The new definition of “preexisting
condition being proposed is so broad that virtually any worker over a certain age who sustains a
permanent injury on the job would have a preexisting condition. In this new proposal, “preexisting
condition” could mean any condition that has never been symptomatic, has never been diagnosed or has
never interfered with the ability to work or carry out daily activities of living (Attachment 5).

Jeff Cooper, Attorney at Law and Adjunct Professor of Law at Washburn University School of Law gave
information on what is work disability. The extent of permanent partial general disability shall be the
extent, expressed as a percentage, to which the employee, in the opinion of the physician, has lost the
ability to perform the work tasks that the employee performed in any substantial gainful employment
during the 15 year period preceding the accident averaged together with the difference between the
average weekly wage the worker was earning at the time of the injury, and the average weekly wage the
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CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE COMMERCE AND LABOR COMMITTEE at 9:00 a.m. on February 12,
2004 in Room 241-N of the Capitol.

worker 1s earning after the injury. In any event, the extent of permanent partial general disability shall not
be less than the percentage of functional impairment. An employee shall not be entitled to receive
permanent partial general disability compensation in excess of the percentage of functional impairment as
long as the employee 1s engaging in any work for wages equal to 90% or more of the average gross weekly
wage that the employee was earning at the time of the injury.

The law was changed in 1993 to set up a two-prong test, and for the last 10 years, have been looking at
wage loss and task loss as the two prongs for the test. Under the current law, these two prongs are

averaged together.

The following testimony was distributed by Dennis L. Horner on preexisting impairments (Attachment 6).

The meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m. The next meeting will be February 13, 2004.
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tplace Disability

(%/,W COMMITTEE ON
9: COMMERCE AND LABOR

WORKPLACE DISABILITY
February 12, 2004

Presented by: Carol S. Cast, Coordinator
Employer Services
Division of Workers Compensation

SUMMARY OF HOW THE PROCESS
WORKS '

% Injury Occurs

# Worker Notifies employer within 10 days; 75
days just cause — K.S.A. 44-520

2 Employer mails or delivers KWC-27 to employee
or legal beneficiary - K.S.A. 44-5.102(a)

= Employer notifies insurance carrier or group
funded plan

& Employerf/insurance carrier provides medical
treatment

= Accident report filed with Division within 28 days

SUMMARY OF HOW THE
PROCESS WORKS

£ Division mails written claim form (KWC-15)
to employee along with (KWC-136)
informational explaining injured workers
rights. '

* Employee files written claim form with
employer

= Insurance provider pays benefits
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place Disability

After Employee sustains injury, the
employee shall, upon request of employer,
submit to exam at reasonable time and place
by reputable health care provider, selected
by emplover. (K.S.A. 44-515)

BENEFITS

‘MEDICAL TREATMENT TO CURE
AND RELIEVE THE EFFECTS OF THE
INJURY - NO $3 MAXIMUM

-EMPLOYER CHOICE OF DOCTOR

*MEDICAL MILEAGE (More than 5 miles
round trip) (Current $.36/mile)

UNAUTHORIZED MEDICAL
TREATMENT

*Without application or approval,
employee may consult a health care
provider of the employee’s choice for
purpose of examination, diagnosis or
treatment up to $500.

(May not be used to obtain
. - . Crwl -
a functional impairment N

rating.)




place Disability

The authorized Treating
Doctor determines when
the injured employee can
return to work:

Restricted

Full Duty

MMI (Maximum Medical

Improvement)

MEDICAL TREATMENT

UNSATISFACTORY MEDICAL TREATMENT

SUBMIT NAMES OF THREE HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS
WHO, IF POSSIBLE GIVEN THE AVAILABILITY OF
LOCAL HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS, ARE NOT
ASSOCIATED IN THE SAME PRACTICE.

INJURIED WORKER SELECTS ONE AS AUTHORIZED
TREATING HEALTHCARE PROVIDER.

FOR INDEPENDENT MEDICAL EXAM (IME), ONLY THE
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE CAN ORDER.

WHO PAYS

# The insurance carrier, group funded pool,
or self-insured employer.
- Medical Treatment (Includes
prescriptions)
- Medical Mileage — More than 5 miles
roundtrip
- Travel & living expenses (KSA 44-515)
- Disability benefits




;place Disability

AGGRAVATION OF A PRE-
EXISTING CONDITION

# EMPLOYER IS RESPONSIBLE
FOR THE INCREASED
FUNCTIONAL DISABILITY
CAUSED BY THE
AGGRAVATION OF A
PREEXISTING CONDITION

= RATING OF 10% INCREASES
TO 20% THE EMPLOYER IS
RESPONSIBLE FOR 10% PLUS

MEDICAL

TEMPORARY TOTAL BENEFITS

*-TEMPORARY TOTAL DISABILITY 2/3
AWW NOT TO EXCEED THE STATE
MAXIMUM IN EFFECT AT TIME OF
INJURY (Current Max is $440)

- SEVEN DAY WAITING PERIOD

TEMPORARY PARTIAL
GENERAL DISABILITY

KSA 44-510e

=Exist when worker returns
at wage less than wage at
time of injury

= Statute provides for
General body injury.
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;place Disability

FAILURE TO RETAIN AN INJURED

~ WORKER MAY RESULT IN LARGER
DISABILITY PAYMENTS TO SOME
INJURED WORKERS BUT IT IS NOT
ILLEGAL (UNDER W C LAW) TO NOT
BRING THEM BACK.

FUNCTIONAL VS WORK DISABILITY

SCHEDULED INJURY

Injury affects
extremities of
body:

EX: Arm, hand,

o fingers, leg,
@ toes, shoulder

INJURY THAT
AFFECTS THE
TRUNK OF BODY,
HEAD, or NECK
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;place Disability

WORK DISABILITY

“ A+B

© 2 = RATING

A= TASK PERFORMING
SKILLS OF LAST 15
YEARS

B= ACTUAL EARNING
LOSS: DATE OF INJURY
COMPARED TO TODAYS
EARNINGS

WORK DISABILITY

20 — 10 = 50% of skills lost

$300+-$640 =46.88% of earnings
retained

53.12% Loss of earnings

WORK DISABILITY

50% + 53.12% 103.12
2 2

51.56% rating for work disability




place Disability

DEATH BENEFITS
(KSA 44-510b)

- §250,000 MAXIMUM TO SPOUSE AND
DEPENDENT CHILDREN

« MINIMUM BENEFIT IS 50% OF THE
STATE’S AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE

. (Current minimum is $293/week)

- $40,000 LUMP SUM IMMEDIATELY-

NOT SUBJECT TO 8% DISCOUNT

* NOPENALTY FOR REMARRIAGE

DEATH BENEFITS

+$25,000 to heirs if no spouse or
dependents

*No dependents or heirs the
insurance company pays $18,500
to the Workers Compensation
Fund

*Burial allowance is $5000

ALCOHOL AND DRUGS
(KSA 44-501(d)(2) (A-E) ‘ [ B

*PROBABLE CAUSE TO CHECK
FOR ALCOHOL/DRUGS

- IMPAIRMENT —

*CONTRIBUTION i

*TEST SAMPLE MUST BE
CONTEMPORANEOUS

*TESTING BY APPROVED LAB
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‘place Disability

ALCOHOL ANDDRUGS

*COLLECTION/LABELING OF ’
SAMPLE PERFORMED BY OR
UNDER SUPERVISION OF LICENSED
HEALTH CARE PROFESSIONAL
*‘MUST ESTABLISH BEYOND A
REASONABLE DOUBT SAMPLE
TAKEN FROM EMPLOYEE.

LEGAL FLOW

= If employer and employee disagree
on entitlement of benefits, the
employee requests a preliminary
hearing

= Case is assigned to an -
Administrative Law Judge to make a 2
ruling based on the evidence
presented

= At any time during the legal process,

anyfparty may request a mediation

conference. All parties have to agree

to mediate.

REFER TO LEGAL FLOW CHART FOR LEGAL PROCESS




8/16/00

KANSAS WORKERS COMPENSATION LEGAL FLOW

K.S.A. 44-520
K.S.A. 44-557
K.S.A. 44-520a

K.S.A. 44-5,101
K.S.A. 44-5,102

K.S.A. 44-5,111

K.S.A. 44-5,117

" EMPLOYER NOTIFIED OF AN INJURY

-Ten (10) day notice of injury, (75) days after accident for
just cause

-Report filed with Director within (28) days after rece[pt of
such knowledge

-Written claim for compensatlon within 200 days of accident
or last paid compensation

-Informational material

-Distribution of informational K-WC 27/270

EMPLOYEE CONTACTS OMBUDSMAN |

-Ombudsman Program
{IF DISPUTE EXISTS...}

MEDIATION

-Mediation is available at anytime during a workers
compensation claim
{IF DISPUTE EXISTS...}

PRELIMINARY HEARING FILING PROCEDURE

K.S.A. 44-534
K.S.A. 44-534(b)

K.S.A. 44-534a(a)(1)

-Application for Hearing filed (E-1)
-No proceeding for compensation unless application on file
within (3) years of date of accident or within (2) years of date
of last payment of compensation---whichever is later
-Application for Preliminary Hearing (E-3)
-Seven (7) day written notice

{IF DISPUTE EXISTS...}



K.S.A. 44-534a
K..A.R. 51-3-5a

K.S.A. 44-512a

K.S.A. 44-551

K.S.A. 44-534a(a)(2)

8/16/00

PRELIMINARY HEARING HELD

_ALJ shall give (7) days notice by mail to the parties of the
date set for such hearing

-TTD and Medical decided

-Award of ALJ rendered within (5) days

-File for motion hearing if service of written demand not
made within (20) days from date of service of such demand
-Entitled to civil penalties and all past due compensation
shall become immediately due and payable

-Appeal to WC Board

-Any Party has within (10) days to make written request to
the WC Board. (Intermediate Saturdays, Sundays, and
Holidays shall be excluded in the time computation)
_Board’s findings or awards shall be issued within (30) days

“from date arguments were presented by the parties

_Board will only consider limited issues defined as

jurisdictional on review of preliminary findings
' {IF DISPUTE EXISTS...}

PRE-HEARING SETTLEMENT CONFERENCES

REGULAR HEARING STAGE

K.S.A. 44-534

K.S.A. 44-523

K.S:A. 51-3-8

-Application for Hearing filed (E-1)

-ALJ shall proceed with notice to all parties within (20) days
-Each party is allowed (30) days after hearing to complete
their case

-Award not entered within (30) days, Director may assign
matter to Assistant Director or to a special ALJ, or party may
request assignment

-Not less than (10) days prior to full hearing an ALJ shall
conduct a prehearing settlement conference to explore the
possibility that the parties may resolve issues and reach a
settlement prior to the first full hearing

-Pre-trial stipulations
{IF DISPUTE EXISTS...}

REGULAR HEARING HELD




K.S.A. 44-523
K.S.A. 44-551

K.S.A. 44-512a

New Section

K.S.A. 44-528

8/16/00

-See above Statute

-Appeal to WC Board

-Any party has within (10) days to make written request to
the WC Board (Intermediate Saturdays, Sundays, and
Holidays shall be excluded in the time computation)
-Board's findings or awards shall be issued within 30 days
from date arguments were presented by the parties
-Service of demand within (20) days from date of service of
such demand _

-Entitled to civil penalties and all past due compensation

shall become immediately due and payable
{IF RULING IS DISPUTED...}

POST AWARD MEDICAL

-Application for hearing filed (E-4)
-Hearing heard by the assigned ALJ
-Application must be given priority setting by the ALJ---only
superseded by preliminary hearings
-Parties shall meet and confer prior to the setting of the
hearing
-Prehearing settlement conference shall not be necessary
-Parties must be given opportunity to present evidence
(including testimony)
-ALJ may award treatment back to entry of underlying
award, but treatment cannot relate back more than six (6)
months following the application for post award treatment
-ALJ may award attorney fees and cost on claimants behalf
per K.S.A. 44-536(g)
-ALJ findings subjected to full review by the Board

- -Board review shall receive priority setting (superseded only
by preliminary hearings)
-Board must make a decision within thirty (30) days from the
time the review is submitted

REVIEW & MODIFICATION OF AWARDS

-Application for hearing filed (E-5)

-ALJ may appoint one or two health care providers to
examine the employee and report to the ALJ

-ALJ shall hear all competent evidence offered

3
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K.A.R. 51-19-1(c)

K.A.R. 44-528(d)

K.S.A. 44-551

K.S.A. 44-534a(a)(2)

K.S.A. 44-556(a)

K.S.A, 44-551(b)(2)(B)

K.S.A. 44-551

K.S.A. 44-556

K.S.A. 44-534a(a)(2)

8/16/00

-ALJ may modify award or reinstate a prior award by
increasing or diminishing the compensation subject to the
limitations provided by the Workers Compensation Act

-The number of reviews shall be limited to not more than
once during any six month interval, except in highly unusual
circumstances

-The effective date for the increase or decrease in the
functional impairment or work disability shall be the effective
date that the actual increase or decrease occurred, except
no modification awards more than (6) months priorto the =
application. '

WORKERS COMPENSATION BOARD

-Appeal to WC Board

-Any party has within (10) days to make written request to
Board |

-Review of preliminary hearing should set forth disputed
issues '

_Board’s findings or awards shall be issued within (30) days
from date arguments were presented by the parties

_Board does not rule in (30) days----party can request ALJ

start award
{IF LEGAL DISPUTE EXISTS...}

KS COURT OF APPEALS

-Review by the Board shall be a pre-requisite to judicial
review '

-Any party may appeal from a final order of the Board by
filing an appeal with the court of appeals within 30 days of
the date of the final order

-Such review shall be upon question of law

-Decision of Board on review of preliminary order is not

subject to further judicial review
' {IF LEGAL DISPUTE EXISTS...}

/"



KA 20-3018

KA 20-3016
KA 20-3017

8/16/00

KS SUPREME COURT

-Petition for review of Court of Appeals decision within (30) -
days after Court of Appeals decision

-Review of any such decision discretionary with the
Supreme Court

-Cases pending in Court of Appeals may be transferred to
-Supreme Court upon motion of Court of Appeals or a party.

However, Supreme Court may accept case for review or
may decline.

/3



DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION

TOPEKA KS 66612-1227

500 GW JAGKSON STE 600 EMPLOYER'S REPORT OF ACCIDENT—I

Submit
original OSHA Case or File Number
report only There is a $250 penalty for repeated failure to file Accident Reports within 28 days of the employer's receipt of knowledge of the accident.

READ INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE FILLING IT OUT.

1. Federal Employers Identification Number

2. Name of Employer Telephone Number ( )

3. Mailing Address

DO NOT WRITE
IN THIS SPACE

Street City State Zip Code

4. Location, if different from mailing address

AGE

oD

CAUSE

Street City State Zip Code
5. Nature of Business S.I.C. Code Dept. or Division
6. Name of Employee Age Sex
First Middie Last

7. Home Address

Street City State Zip Code

Birth Employee's Home Phone
8. Soc. Sec. # Date Occupation Number ( )
9. Date of Injury or Occupational Disease Time of Injury. AM./P.M.
Date Disability Began Gross Average Weekly Wage §
10. Place of Accident or last exposure
City County State

11. Was accident or last exposure on employer's premises? I:‘ ves [Ino

12. How did accident cccur?

NATURE

13. What was employee doing when injured?

14, Name substance or object that directly caused injury

15. Describe in detail nature and extent of injury, indicate part of body involved

16. Was worker admitted to hospital? D YES D NO Date Treated by emergency room only? |:| YES D NO

Hospital name & address

SEVERITY

O - NOTIME LOST

1 - TIME LOST

2 - MEDICAL

3 - FATAL

17. Name and address of attending physician or clinic

SOURCE

18. Has employee returned to regular duty? D YES D NO Light duty? D YES D NO Date

19. |s compensation now being paid? D YES D NO Date first/initial payment

20. Weekly compensation rate $ Is further medical aid needed? D YES D NO D UNKNOWN

21. Did employee die? D YES D NO  If so, give date of death (File amended report within 28 days if death subsequently occurs.)

22. Name and address of dependents (death cases only)

MEMBER

23. Insurance Carrier and Third Party Administrator

Address
Street City State ZIiP Phone
Policy Number Name of Agent
Claim Number Name of Claim Representative
24. Date of Report Completed by Title

Questions or comments can be directed to the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation, Topeka, KS - Phone: 1-800-332-0353

K-WC 1101-A (Rev. 1-02) - SUBMISSION DOES NOT CONSTITUTE ADMISSION OF LIABILITY -

DO NOT WRITE
IN THIS SPACE



General Instructions

1 Please answer every question on the accident report. Incomplete and/or illegible accident reports will be returned for
corrections. Returned accident reports may cause delays in benefits being paid to your injured employees.

2. Submit the original report only. Reports must be typewritten, computer generated (if an exact duplicate of K-wC
1101-A), or neatly printed in black ink. Please avoid submitting faxed or photostat copies of accident reports, they
are difficult for the Division to microfilm.

3. It is the employer’s responsibility to insure that an accident report is filed when necessary. This may be done by
sending it directly to the Division within 28 days of the date of the employer’s receipt of knowledge of the accident.
It is also permissible to send a report to your insurance carrier, third party administrator or pool association as long as
the report is submitted to the Division within the required time limit. Whichever method is used, please avoid filing
duplicate reports of the same accident. Only accidents which cause an incapacitating injury to the employee
are required to be reported to the Division.

4. Submission of this Employer's Report of Accident does not constitute a written claim.

Definition of an Incapacitating Injury

The Workers’ Compensation Act sets forth a strict time frame for filing of accident reports with the Division. The controlling
statute is K.S.A. 44-557(a), which reads as follows:

(a) it is hereby made the duty of every employer to make or cause to be made a report
to the director of any accident, or claimed or alleged accident, to any employee which
occurs in the course of the employee’s employment and of which the employer or the
employer’s supervisor has knowledge, which report shall be made upon a form to be
prepared by the director, within 28 days, after the receipt of such knowledge, if the
personal injuries which are sustained by such accidents are sufficient wholly or
partially to incapacitate the person injured from labor or service for more than the
remainder of the day, shift or turn on which such injuries were sustained.

Accident reports are not necessary for every work related injury. The statute requires a report to be filed when the worker’s
whole or partial incapacity continues beyond the “day, turn, or shift which such injuries are sustained” as the result of accident.
“Incapacity” is not specifically defined within the law, but the Division believes that the Legislature’s intent was to reference a
worker's whole or partial loss of the ability to perform his or her ordinary job tasks. Under that criterium, the decision of
whether to file a report is relative to the particular job and demands a judgment regarding how, if at all, the accident limited
the worker. When in doubt, keep in mind the law contains no penalty for filing a report that ultimately proves to be
unnecessary. There are penalties, however, for failing to file a report when one was required. Those penalties are fines and
limitations on the defenses the employer may assert should a claim be filed. The Division will of course, accept those reports
the employer wishes to file.

Instructions for Specific ltems

ltem 14: Name the object or substance which directly injured the employee. Example: machine or thing he/she struck or
struck him/her; vapor or poison he/she inhaled or swallowed; chemicals or radiation which irritated his/her skin; if
hernias, the thing he/she was lifting or pulling; etc.

Item 15: Please be as specific as possible indicating all that is known about the injury. Name part of body injured.

ADT
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KANSAS

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES KATHLEEN SEBELIUS, Governor
Jim Garner, Secretary

If you were hurt in a job related injury and have questions about workers
compensation, contact the Ombudsman/Claims Advisory Section of the Workers
Compensation Division at 1-800-332-0353 or 785-296-2996.

Se requiere que el empleador le proporcione tratamiento médico y compensacion al trabajador mientras
se restablece de cualquier accidente ocasionado por o a causa de su trabajo. Para mis informacién,
llame al teléfono 1-800-332-0353 o al 785-296-2996, o escriba a la oficina.

WRITTEN CLAIM: Even if your employer knows about the injury, you could lose all rights to further
compensation if you do not tell your employer in writing that you expect workers compensation benefits
for your injury. An accident report filed with the Division of Workers Compensation is not a
written claim. Written claim must be filed with the employer within 200 days of the date of accident
or date of last payment of compensation for disability or date of last authorized medical care. You may
take the written claim to the employer and obtain a receipt for it or you can mail it to the employer by
certified mail, return receipt requested. You can not obtain a hearing before an administrative law judge
unless you meet the following deadlines: filing an application for hearing within three (3) years of the
date of accident or within two (2) years of the last payment of compensation, whichever is later.

AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE: A worker’s “average weekly wage” is calculated by adding together
the base wage, the average weekly overtime and the weekly value of fringe benefits that have been
discontinued.

WEEKLY DISABILITY BENEFITS: While you are unable to work because of the injury, you are
entitled to weekly disability benefits for the duration of the disability. The first seven (7) calendar days
of disability is a waiting period and compensation is not payable for the first seven (7) days unless you
are unable to work for (21) consecutive calendar days. Your weekly disability benefit rate is 2/3 of your
average weekly wage, but not more than the maximum rate in effect on the date of your accident.

MEDICAL BENEFITS: An injured worker is entitled to all medical services reasonably necessary to
cure and relieve the worker from the effects of the injury. The employer has the right to select the doctor
who will treat the injury. A worker may seek the services of an unauthorized doctor up to a limit of
$500. A worker may apply for a hearing to change the authorized health care provider. Reimbursement
for travel to obtain medical treatment is payable for round-trips that are more than five miles. Necessary
hired transportation may be reimbursed.

DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
800 SW Jackson Street, Suite 600, Topeka, KS 66612-1227
Phone: 785-296-3441 « Fax: 785-296-0839 - Toll Free: 1-800-332-0353 - workerscomp@bhr.state.ks.us « www.hr.state ks.us
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.ORKERS COMPENSATION RECORDS: General access to accident reports and medical record.
filed with the Division of Workers Compensation is restricted to approved parties. Once an application
for hearing is filed, records are open for inspection. Questions about the accessibility of records can be
addressed to the Ombudsman/Claims Advisory Section.

MEDIATION CONFERENCE: The mediation conference offers both parties a reasonable
opportunity to resolve disputes without litigation. All disputed issues can be addressed at this informal
session, presided over by a mediator. A claimant may be represented by an attorney at a mediation
conference, but need not be. If you don’t have an attorney during the process, you may request
assistance from the Ombudsman/Claims Advisory Section. The absence of an attorney during the
process does not mean legal representation cannot be obtained later, if the dispute is not settled in this
informal setting. If you have questions about the mediation conference procedures, you may write or
call the toll-free number 1-800-332-0353 or (785) 296-0848. Mediation must be agreed to by all
parties.

VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION: Vocational rehabilitation services may be voluntarily offered
to assist you in returning to work. If you believe you will need such services, contact the insurance
carrier administering your claim to request referral to a qualified vocational rehabilitation provider.
If you have questions about vocational rehabilitation, you may write or call our toll-free number
1-800-332-0353 or (785) 296-2996.

SCHEDULED INJURIES: Injuries to the body members listed below are called “scheduled injuries.”

The schedule below shows the maximum number of weeks for which compensation can be received.
Actual compensation is based on the percentage of permanent disability.

Shoulder . . .« isvnwuwvssscns 225 THUOE &0 ot s s e s a5 65w 60
IR 0o rono i GREOEHERYES 210 Ist (index) finger ............ 37
Forearm ................. 200 2nd (middle) Fnger: ; vz a5 s o wwes 30
Haltid s s csssssswsmagessana 150 3rd (ring) finger ............. 20
| . P g 200 4th (little) finger ... .......... 15
Lowerlem « . « cowmis s au oo 190 (€ (-1 11 R 30
0L .cipssasmumuzszsrsans 125 Greattoe,end joint. .. ........ 15
Eye ....covoviiiit. 120 EBach ofherto8. o s s v 5 5 5 5 5 wome 10
Hearing, bothears .. :c.cvuas 110 Each other toe, end jointonly.... 5
Hearing, oneear............ 30

Injuries that are not “scheduled injuries” are called general body injuries for which compensation is
payable for a maximum of 415 weeks.

SETTLEMENTS: The law requires that compensation be paid for permanent disability caused by the
injury. It is payable by the week until paid in full unless all parties agree to a lump sum payment

(if allowed by statute) to close the claim. The Ombudsman/Claims Advisory Section cannot act as
your legal counsel, but will help you calculate the amount that would be payable for a specific
percent of disability. They cannot advise you whether the percent is appropriate for your injury.
You may wish to consult with an attorney to obtain a full examination of the facts and law as they
pertain to your injury.

/-
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WRITTEN CLAIM FOR COMPENSATION

In order to protect your rights for possible future workers compensation benefits, a written claim must be filed with
your employer within 200 days after one of the following:

(1) The date of accident.

(2) The last compensation paid.

(3) The last approved medical treatment.

An accident report filed with the Division of Workers Compensation IS NOT a written claim.

Employee’s Receipt

(Do not send to the Kansas Division of Workers Compensation Office)

I hereby acknowledge receipt of written claim:

Employer’s Signature Date Received:

Employee’s name:

Date of alleged accident:

KEEP TOP HALF FOR YOUR RECORDS

LEAVE BOTTOM HALF WITH EMPLOYER

WRITTEN CLAIM FOR COMPENSATION

Date: (month/day/year)

To (employer):

Street: City: State: Zip:

You are herewith informed that I claim compensation in accordance with the Workers Compensation laws of Kansas by reason of an accident

which arose out of and in the course of my employment with you on or about (date: month/day/year)

Signature (worker making claim): Social Security No.:

Street: City: State: Zip:

EMPLOYER INSTRUCTION: Please forward this claim to your workers compensation insurance carrier or to your self-insurance
claim processing office.

Federal Privacy Act Disclosure Section 7(a)(2)(B)

The mandatory requirement that social security number be included in forms filed with the Division of Workers Compensation is permitted by Section
T(a)(2)(B) of the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, since our regulations which require its disclosure were in existence before January 1, 1975. The number is used as a
means of identifying all the various records in the Division of Workers Compensation pertaining to an individual,
The use of social security numbers is made necessary because of the large number of applicants who have similar names and birth dates, and whose identities
can only be distinguished by the social security number.
/-
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ATTENTION

EMPLOYERS ARE REQUIRED TO PROVIDE THIS FORM TO EACH INJURED WORKER

OMBUDSMAN/CLAIMS ADVISORY

DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION
800 SW JACKSON STREET STE 600
TOPEKA KS 66612-1227

TOLL FREE 1-800-332-0353

If you were hurt on the job and have any questions about Workers Compensation benefits
contact the Ombudsman/Claims Advisory Section at the Kansas Division of Workers
Compensation. The Division of Workers Compensation has full-time personnel who
specialize in aiding injured workers with claim information and problems. They can give
information about benefits an injured worker may be entitled to receive.  They can help
try to solve problems with benefits not being paid on time, with medical treatment, with
unpaid medical bills, with questions about how to figure settlement amounts, etc. Assis-
tance in Spanish is available at the Division of Workers Compensation.

WHAT TO DO IF AN ACCIDENT OCCURS ON THE JOB:

1. Tell your employer that you were hurt on the job.

2. Follow your employer’s instructions on getting medical aid and follow the doctor’s instructions.

3. Within 200 days of the date of accident or the date of last payment of compensation for disability
or authorized medical care, tell your employer in writing that you expect workers compensa-
tion benefits for your injury. Your employer might know you were hurt and compensation may
be paid, however, you could lose all rights to future compensation if you do not tell the employer
inwriting. Thisis called a “Written Claim.” Written claim may be served in person by taking
it to the employer and getting a receipt for it or by mailing it to the employer by certified mail,
return receipt requested. The post office receipt for the certified letter is generally sufficient

proof that you sent written claim.

AVERAGE WEEKLY WAGE: Aworker's “average weekly wage” is calculated by adding together
the base wage, the average weekly overtime and the weekly value of fringe benefits that have

been discontinued.

WEEKLY BENEFITS: Benefits are paid by the employer’s insurance carrier or self-insur-
ance program. Injured workers are not entitled to compensation for the first week they are off work
unless they lose three consecutive weeks. The first compensation payment is normally due at the

K-WC 27 (Rev. 8-02)
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end ofthe 14th day of lost time. Aninjured employee is entitled to aweekly amount of 66 2/3 percent
of his average weekly wage up to a maximum of 75 percent of the state's average weekly wage.
These benefits are subject to legislative changes. If the injury results in permanent disability, the
Kansas compensation law provides for additional benefits.

MEDICAL BENEFITS: An injured worker is entitled to all medical services reasonably necessary
to cure and relieve the worker from the effects of the injury. The employer has the right to select
the doctor who will treat the injury. A worker may seek the services of an unauthorized doctor up
to a limit of $500. A worker may apply to the Workers Compensation Director to change the
authorized treating doctor. Reimbursement for travel to obtain medical treatment is payable at a
rate set by law for trips that are five miles or more (round trip).

RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE EMPLOYER:
1. Employers must report all employee injuries to the Division of Workers Compensation within

28 days from the date of injury, or the date the employer learned about the injury, when the
employee is wholly or partially incapacitated for more than the remainder of the day, turn, or

shift.

2. Employers must provide for the payment of workers compensation claims without any charge
to employees.

3. Employers must post the Workers Compensation Notice prepared by the Director.
4. Employers must pay compensation benefits regardless of insurance coverage.
5. Upon receiving notice of an injury, employers must provide the employee with written

information to assist the injured worker in understanding their rights and responsibilities in
obtaining compensation.

EMPLOYERS MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION FORINJURED WORKERS:

YOUR CLAIM WILL BE HANDLED BY:

Company

Address

Contact Person

Telephone ( )




Work Disability

Above and beyond the impairment rating
Is a significant cost driver
Incentive not to return to work until after settlement
Most workers eventually return to work doing same/similar
work
Is a timing 1ssue (The future is not considered)
15 years previous employment is subjective
o May or may not be pertinent or relevant

Issues

What is the “Capacity” to earn a wage?

Wage loss should never be “0” unless one is receiving Social
Security Disability

Work Disability should be similar to unemployment and

should be capped
e Economic conditions should not be grounds for work

disability
Example Dates
Jane Doe 23 years old — employed by ABC 3/99

Lifting - Injured back on & term. 8/99
WC Settlement Running award Begins 6/00
(10 functional rating 34% Work Disability) Ends 10/02
$9028 $30,698

Jane Doe employed by XYZ 11/02
Work Related Injury (Lifting — Injured Back) 02/03
Work Related Injury (Lifting — Injured Back) 05/03

Physical requirements at Job at XYZ was equivalent or exceeded
physical requirements at Job ABC. Once the money ran out the
employee applied and got a job. Note: employee wage was $2.00 an
hour MORE at XYZ than at ABC where she was awarded work
disability.
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TESTIMONY BEFORE
THE HOUSE COMMERCE & LABOR COMMITTEE

February 12, 2004

JEFF K. COOPER #12477
COCPER S LEE,; L.L.G.
ATTORNEYS AT LAW

COMMERCE BANK BUILDING
100 S.E. 9TH STREET, 3RD FLOOR
TOPEKA, KANSAS 66612

MR. CHAIRMAN DAHL AND MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE:

My name is Jeff Cooper, and I practice law here in Topeka, Kansas. T am also an
Adjunct Professor of Law at Washburn University School of Law and have taught
workers compensation for approximately 12 years. Tam also a Pro Tem Appeals Board
Judge which means I fill in when one of the Board Members has a conflict or is
unavailable. I represent the Kansas Workers Compensation Fund and have represented
them for at least the last 15 years. T also represent injured workers, as well as defending
claims for self-insured employers, such as the City of Topeka, Shawnee County, the State
Self-Insurance Fund, and I also defend claims on behalf of insurance companies.

As Chairman Dahl has requested these meetings be informational in nature, my

goal today is to speak to you as an Adjunct Law Professor on the topic of
Work Disability.

A. What is “Work Disability?”

1. Work Disability: The statutory framework for what is commonly referred
to as work disability is found in K.S.A. 44-510e. That statute is quite lengthy, and the
following is an excerpt of the relevant portions when dealing with work disability.

... The extent of permanent partial general disability shall be
the extent, expressed as a percentage, to which the employee,
in the opinion of the physician, haslost the ability to perform
the work tasks that the employee performed in any
substantial gainful employment during the 15 year period
preceding the accident averaged together with the difference
between the average weekly wage the worker was earning at
the time of the injury, and the average weekly wage the
worker is earning after the injury. In any event, the extent of
(E’ L /r ql) v
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permanent partial general disability shall not be less than the
percentage of functional impairment. . . . An employee shall
not be entitled to receive permanent partial general disability
compensation in excess of the percentage of functional
impairment as long as the employee is engaging in any work
for wages equal to 90% or more of the average gross weekly
wage that the employee was earning at the time of the

injury. . . .

2. Adjustment Period: Conceptually “work disability” 1s really an adjustment
period that the worker and their family are allowed under the law to enable them to adapt
to the injury. The worker is adapting to the loss of his job and is adapting to reduced, or
perhaps, no income, as well as the physical problems occasioned by the injury. Work
disability, or the adjustment period, is not lifetime benefits. The percentage referenced
in the statute pertains to a percentage of 415 weeks, which is the maximum number of
weeks of benefits under Kansas law. For example, a 40% work disability would entitle
a worker who has had a career-ending injury to a 166 week adjustment period.

3 Return to Work: “Work Disability” or the “Adjustment Period” only comes
into play when the employee has an injury where there are restrictions and the employer
does not return them to work paying at least 90% of the wages they were earning at the
time of the injury.

4. Incentive: The current law provides an incentive for employers to return
injured workers to an accommodated job, or a different job, within 90% of their wages.
If the employer returns the injured worker to work earning at least 90%, the employer’s
only responsibility is to pay compensation for permanent partial impairment, and the
issue of “work disability,” i.e., “adjustment period” never comes up. Under the current
law, the Legislature has wisely made it a priority to keep injured workers working.

0 Control: The absolute control over work disability is in the hands of the
employer.  If the employee is returned to work, no work disability,
i.e., adjustment period is provided for. As we all know, however, there are cases where
the employer simply cannot, or elects not to, return the worker to work making 90% of
their preinjury wages.

Test to Determine the Amount of
“Work Disability” or the Length of the “Adjustment Period”

1. The Legislature changed the law 1n 1993 to set up a two-prong test, and for
the last 10 years, we have been looking at wage loss and task loss as the two prongs for
the test. Under the current law, these two prongs are averaged together.



A. Wage Loss Prong

2. Wage Loss: The intent of the current law, is to look at actual wage loss.
The statute, as written in 1993, states we are to compare wages the employee was earning
at the time of the injury to the wages the employee is earning after the injury. Aswritten,
theoretically, the employee, if not brought back to work and paid 90%, could sit at home,
make no efforts to find a job, and would have a 100% wage loss. The “liberal” Judges, the
Appeals Board, and the Court of Appeals have judicially imposed a “good faith” test.

3. Good Faith: Under current law, the finder of fact must determine if the
employee has made a valid or “good faith” effort to find a job. If the employee has not
made a “good faith” effort to find a job, the Court will impute a wage to the employee.
Stated another way, the Court will determine theoretical ability to earn wages if a
“good faith” effort is not made by the employee. The cases clearly show the
Administrative Law Judges and the Appeals Board do not reward employees for sitting
at home and will not hesitate to impute a wage to an employee if a “good faith” effort to
find a job is not made.

If the employee makes a “good faith” effort to find a job, and simply cannot find
one, the wage loss prong will be 100% based on actual wage loss. If an employee on his
own finds a job, then their actual earnings will be compared to the wages earned at the
time of the injury.

4. True Litmus Test: Comparing actual earnings is a true test of wage loss.
Nobody goes out and purposely refuses a job. Injured workers go out and try to sell
whatever abilities they have left to respective employers. True wage lossto determine the
adjustment period makes sense. The law gives the individual who has suffered a
career-ending injury a period to adjust to the situation.

5. Modification of the Work Disability, i.e., Adjustment Period: The
circumstances of the injured worker following the initial determination of the period of
adjustment or work disability is subject to review and modification. A worker who has
suffered a career-ending injury, even after a good faith job search, may not find a job at
the time the determination of wage loss is made. The wage loss prong would then be
100%. At any time from the initial determination until the adjustment period runs out,
if the employee finds a job making 90% of his preinjury wages-work disability or the
adjustment period ends. Again, we are comparing actual earnings before the injury to
earnings after the injury in the current work disability test.




B. Task Loss Prong

1y Task Loss Prong: Task Loss is the second prong of the equation. Under
current law, we look at the “tasks” performed by the employee in jobs they have worked
for the 15 years before the injury.

2 Actual Task Loss: Similar to “wage loss” the current law has developed a
test that looks at actual loss of task performing abilities based on the restrictions of the
doctors. The opinion as to the loss of tasks is given by the doctors who have imposed the
restrictions. The doctor looks at a list of tasks and says which the employee can or cannot
now perform as a consequence of the injury.

3. Realistic Evaluation: The current task loss prong is an attempt to
realistically evaluate the loss of abilities suffered by a worker who has career-ending
injury. If my secretary, who as far as I know has not had an injury, loses her job, she
would likely apply for another. She would take her skills, such as operating a computer
with several programs, her telephone skills, her bookkeeping skills, and other skills she
has acquired, and attempt to sell those skills in the marketplace. She would list her work
experiences, her skills, etc., on any application. She would list those skills, because those
skills, i.e., her task performing abilities, is what she has to market to other perspective
employers.

A worker, who has a career-ending injury in his particular field, does not have,
most likely, a lot of those skills, i.e., task performing abilities, left to market. The current
law looks at the task performing abilities, i.e., skills that have been lost due to the injury
and those that the employee retains.

A truck driver, who suffers an injury, may still be able to drive a truck, but because
of the injury, can no longer unload the truck. He has lost some task performing ability.
The current law assigns a realistic measurable test to determine loss of those tasks,
1.e., marketable skills, the worker has lost.

4. Task Loss Directly Affects Employability: A career-ending injury will affect
a worker’s ability to find a job. If a worker, who, for 15 years, does equipment
maintenance on machines which requires heavy lifting, and has an injury and can no
longer lift over 15 pounds, he has lost the majority of his skills, 1.e., tasks that he has
performed in the last 15 years. Can that employee easily go out and find a job? If he
does, it is probably going to be for a lot less money. Should there be an adjustment
period, so that individual can get different training, education, or skills to get a different
job so his family does not suffer? The Legislature has wisely answered “Yes.” Remember
in 1993, vocational rehabilitation was done away with.




In summary, the current work disability, or adjustment period, and the test the
Legislature came up with in 1993, and the judicial interpretations of that test makes sense
and are based on actual losses that can be figured based on actual numbers, not theoretical

speculation. The incentive to the employer is real and benefits injured workers and
should remain in place.
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Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety

Work Disability

Chairman Dahl and members of the committee, I am Terr1 Roberts, executive director of the
Kansas State Nurses Association and chair of the Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety. The
Coalition is a group of more than 30 organizations representing nearly 500,000 working
Kansans, including firefighters, nurses, teachers, senior citizens, businesses, labor unions, and
other organizations. Thank you for this opportunity to discuss work disability under the Kansas

Workers Compensation Act.

Under current law, injured workers in Kansas receive workers compensation benefits according
to the severity and type of disability they sustain on the job. Work disability cases are those in
which an employee sustains severe, permanent injuries on the job that are not covered by the
schedule of injuries in the Kansas statute, such as injuries to the back, the hip or the neck. These
are career-ending injuries, injuries that rob employees of their ability to perform the tasks they
used to perform to earn the paycheck they used to eamn. A laborer who used to make a good wage
on the strength of his back who can no longer lift more than 25 pounds. A grocery store checker
who used to stand behind a cash register all day who can no longer work on her feet after her hip
was shattered. These are real people with real bills to pay and real mouths to feed who must now

compete in the real world for a real job.

Although these injured workers suffered permanent, career-changing physical impairments, the
disability payments they receive are shamefully low and short-lived. Disability payments serve
as a kind of temporary supplemental pay to assist injured workers who earn less after their injury
than they did before their injury. Under current law, the amount of disability an injured worker
receives 1s based, in part, on how much the worker actually earned both before and after the
injury. However, under the proposed amendment, disability benefits will no longer be based on
what the injured worker acfually earned post-injury but instead on what a vocational expert

thinks an injured worker has the “capacity to earn” after the injury. Why propose such a drastic

C)u,y,m LL:‘LLOI"
‘Q P
Atk # 4



change in the law? Because 1f the employer’s vocational expert can hypothesize that the injured
worker is capable of earning more in the open labor market than he or she actually earned, then
the amount of work disability benefits the employer or insurance company has to pay drops
precipitously—or disappears altogether. Unfortunately for injured workers, a potential job

opening is not the same as a job, and a “capacity to earn” will not keep the bill collectors at bay.

Those of you who have ever searched for a job in the so-called “open labor market” know how
difficult it can be, even for the most qualified and able-bodied among us. We have to compete
with other jobseekers for jobs available in both our geographical area and within our areas of
expertise and ability. It does not require a great deal of imagination to envision the added
difficulty of finding a new employer when you have a physical impairment that limits what you
can do. That is, in part, why the 1993 reforms included an incentive for employers to retain their
injured workers. Under current law, if an employer retains the injured worker at 90% or more of
his or her pre-injury wage, the employee is not eligible for work disability benefits. Indeed, since
1993, many injured workers /iave been retained by their employers, and many employers have

thereby avoided paying disability benefits.

Unfortunately, the proposed amendments strip away this incentive for employers to keep their
injured workers. Under the proposed amendment, an employer can avoid disability payments if
the vocational expert can show that the injured worker retains the “capacity to earn” 90% or
more of his or her pre-injury wage. Once again, this amendment advocates using a theoretical
“earning capacity’ rather than actual earnings. There is absolutely no incentive for an employer
to keep an injured employee under this amendment, and the injured worker will likely be

disposed of like so much “damaged goods.”

Once again the amendment goes one step further to ensure that injured workers are denied work
disability benefits. Under the proposed amendment, if an injured worker is retained by the
employer and 1s subsequently laid off—ostensibly for reasons that had nothing to do with the
worker’s injuries— then the employer does not have to pay work disability. Once again, the
injured worker, whose work abilities have been forever changed by an on-the-job injury, is thrust

out into the labor market to compete on a playing field made uneven by his work injuries.



The sad irony of the proposed amendments that rely so heavily on the opinions of vocational
experts theorizing about an injured worker’s “capacity to earn” is that they are, in many ways,
much like the provisions the 1993 Legislature did away with. Back then they called it an
“abilities test,” and 1t did not result in workers returning to work but in employers arguing that
they could, hypothetically, return to work. In reality, it failed. Let’s not delude ourselves into
thinking it can succeed today. Instead, let’s turn our attentions to getting real compensation and
real vocational rehab to injured workers so that they can earn real paychecks to support their very

real families.

Thank you.
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Pre-Existing Conditions
Terri Roberts, R.N., chairperson
Kansas Coalition for Workplace Safety
February 11, 2004

Chairman Dahl and members of the committee, I am Terri Roberts, executive director of the
KANSAS STATE NURSES ASSOCIATION and chair of the KANSAS COALITION FOR WORKPLACE
SAFETY. The Coalition is a group of more than 30 organizations representing nearly 500,000
working Kansans, including firefighters, nurses, teachers, senior citizens, businesses, labor
unions, and other organizations. Thank you for this opportunity to discuss an important

component of workers compensation insurance in Kansas: Preexisting conditions.

My colleague, Dennis Homner, will address the issue of preexisting condition in more detail.
But I wanted speak briefly about the critical importance of understanding some of the language
in the workers compensation law. In particular, I want to call the committee’s attention to some
of the word games being played by those who advocate changing the definition of “preexisting
condition.” Let me begin by quoting from material provided to the committee by Larry Karns
last Friday, Feb. 6. I believe Mr. Karns raised some excellent points that go to the heart of our

discussion on preexisting conditions. With regard to the term “preexisting condition,” Mr.

Karn’s written testimony says:

“Changing the language for presenting conditions in the vast majority of cases would
not be a major impact. It only invoives cases where a pre-existing condition
exists.... The reform is a surgical strike, not a broad and excessive reform, and applies

only to indemnity payments for pre-existing conditions.” (emphasis added)

As with most areas of law, workers compensation has many parts, and it is difficult to reform
singular sections of the law without affecting the statute as a whole. Let me assure vou that

changing the language used to define “pre-existing condition” is much more than a “surgical
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strike.” If the Legislature adopts the definition of “preexisting condition” being proposed, it
will ultimately affect every worker in Kansas who sustains a permanent injury on the job. To
use Karns® metaphor, this so-called “language reform” is not a “surgical strike” but a carpet
bombing, with lots of collateral damage in the form of injured workers and their families.

That is because the new definition of “preexisting condition™ being proposed is so broad that
virtually any worker over a certain age who sustains a permanent injury on the job will have a
preexisting condition. What this new proposal does is use the term “preexisting condition™ to
mean any condition—even conditions that have never been symptomatic, have never been
diagnosed or have never interfered with your ability to work or carry out your daily activities of

living. This new definition is intentionally confusing and is perhaps best illustrated by

following graphic scenario:

Joe, a 35-year-old male, has never had an injury to his arm or shoulder. He has never
had any treatment and has no physical limitations of any kind. While at work, Joe’s arm
is cut off just below his shoulder by machinery.

As a result of the new proposed definition of “preexisting condition,” the insurance
carrier will be able to take Joe’s amputated limb, haul it to the emergency room, have it
x-rayed, and prove that there is a degree of arthritis in the severed limb. The insurance
carrier will then argue that the injured worker is not entitled to his 100% loss of the arm
because his arm was imperfect due to the preexisting arthritis!

What that means for Joe, whose ability to work has been tragically and permanently
changed, is that he will not receive full compensation for his injury. Instead, his
compensation will be reduced by whatever percentage of arthritis the insurance carrier’s
doctor determines existed before Joe’s arm was amputated on the job—even though the
underlying arthritis—a normal part of the human aging process—did not contribute
to the accident and had never affected Joe’s ability to work.

Clearly, and contrary to what proponents have said, this definition of “preexisting condition”
was never intended by the 1993 Legislature. What the 1993 Legislature intended by allowing
employers to receive an offset for an injured worker’s preexisting condition was to prevent the
injured worker from receiving compensation more than once for the same injury. In other
words, it was to prevent the employee from “double-dipping.” We oppose such “double-

dipping,” and under current workers compensation law, employers can —and do— receive an
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offset when an injured worker has a preexisting impairment. What’s more, under current law,
employers are not asked to jump “higher hurdles” to prove a preexisting condition. Employers

must use the same 4AMA Guidelines to prove a preexisting impairment that employees must use

to prove they are entitled to a work disability.

We are not arguing semantics here. What the proponents of changing the definition of
“preexisting condition” are asking for is a dramatic and material change in the law in order to
reduce the already meager benefits offered to injured workers in Kansas. Please keep in mind
that 94% of all Kansas workers are covered by the workers compensation system. There are

lives and livelihoods at stake based on changing “mere words.”



PREEXISTING IMPAIRMENTS /CONDITIONS -
MISCONCEPTIONS AND APPLICATIONS

TESTIMONY BY THE KANSAS TRIAL LAWYERS ASSOCIATION
Februarv 11, 2004 -

Presented by: Dennis .. Horner

Prior to 1993, repeat injuries to the same part of the body could result in repeat
compensation to the injured worker. The 1993 changes to the Kansas Workers
Compensation Act ( K.S.A. 44-510 et. seq., specifically K.S.A. 44-501(c)) changed the
application of the law to the end that employers are no longer responsible for pre-existing
Impairments.

Proponents of Senate Bill 181 have suggested the intent of the law in 1993 was to
avoid employers being responsible for paying benefits for preexisting conditions. In
carefully considering the proposed legislation, it is necessary to fully and completely
understand how the law has been applied.

Before 1993, a worker could injure his/her knee, have a 10% impairment
established and collect benefits based upon a 10% impairment. Two years later, the same
employee could reinjure the same knee, have the same rating or perhaps a higher rating
and recover for all the impairment which existed. This was permitted since the benefit
weeks from the prior injury had expired. In theory, a worker could have collected over
100% on one knee for multiple injuries as long as the benefit period for the prior injury
had expired. If there was an overlap between benefit periods, K.S.A. 44-510a provided
for an offset to the extent benefit periods overlapped.

In 1993, K.S.A. 44-501(c) was amended to provide:

“The employee shall not be entitled to recover for the agoravation of a
pre-existing condition, except to the extent that the work related injury caused
increased disability. Any award of compensation shall be reduced by the
amount of functional impairment determined to be preexisting.”
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Since 1993, all claims for compensation have been subject to the provisions of the
Act as highlighted above. In all cases where proof of preexisting impairment is offered in
accordance with the AMA Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, awards for
benefits have been appropriately reduced. ( See Appendix A)

Proponents of SB 181 are now suggesting that the judges, Workers Compensation
Appeals Board and appellate courts are not following the law. The unfounded suggestions
are based upon assertions that the judges are not providing offsets to employees who have
a preexisting condition as opposed to a preexisting impairment. Proponents are wishing to
equate preexisting impairments with preexisting conditions. While the terms are used
interchangably by proponents of SB 181, they are not the same and should not be
considered the same.

First of all, it is imperative to understand basic principles of litigation.

The party bringing a claim has the burden of proof. In Kansas there are several
statutes which provide a necessary threshold to establish entitlement to compensation.

L K.S.A. 44-501 (a) provides:

... " In proceedings under the workers compensation act, the burden

of proof shall be on the claimant to establish the claimant’s right to an
award of compensation and to prove the various conditions on which the
claimant’s right depends.”

The burden of proof is defined in K.S.A. 44-508 (g) as:

“Burden of proof” means the burden of a party to persuade the trier of facts by a
preponderance of the credible evidence that such party’s position on an issue is
more probably true than not true on the basis of the whole record.”

Injured workers have had the burden of proving their cases for many years.
Burden of proof is not peculiar to workers compensation claims. Rather it is
mandated in all legal proceedings and requires a party asserting a claim to
prove it with evidence.

1L As aresult of the changes in 1993, claimants are now burdened with an additional
threshold to obtaining benefits. K.S.A. 44-510d and K.S.A. 44-510¢ were
amended to require workers to prove their entitlement to benefits in accordance
with the AMA Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment. Courts have
held that failure to prove an impairment in accordance with the AMA Guides is
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IV.

fatal to their claim. ( See Appendix C)

K.S.A. 44-501(c) does not mention any particular threshold in establishing what
impairment may have existed prior to a work related injury. However, the Courts
have determined that the offset provisions of this statute are intended to offset
impairments of the worker which must be established by the Guides. Since the
Guides mandate the approach to determining impairment of function, the court has
determined that the offset evidence must be offered in accordance with the same
standards. In other words, an apples to apples comparison.

The courts have long held that an aggravation of a preexisting condition is
compensable. That has been the law in Kansas for many years and is

an accepted premise nationwide. However, there is a difference between a
preexisting condition and a preexisting impairment. This difference is clearly
referenced in the case of Hanson v. Logan USD 326 and EMC Insurance
Company, 28 Kan. App.2d 92, 11 P.3d 1184 (2000) In Hanson, the court clearly
distinguishes between an impairment and a preexisting condition. Since all
enfitlement is based upon an impairment in accordance with the Guides, any setoff
must be established in accordance with the same Guides.

In essence, the preexisting impairment is a preexisting condition. In contrast,
a preexisting condition is not necessarily a preexisting impairment. Why is that
507

Example:  Nellie Hardwork, a 53 year old assembly line worker at General
Motors has worked without incident for 20 years. Up to today,
Nellie has not missed work for any injuries nor has she been treated
for any orthopedic problem. On February 11, 2004, Nellie has the
misfortune to fall on grease left on the concrete floor, sustaining a
hip fracture. During the initial phase of diagnosis, it is
discovered that Nellie has osteoporosis in the area of the fracture.

Fact: The osteoporosis is a preexisting condition. However, the
condition did not restrict or impact Nellie’s work or activities of
daily living. There is no medical evidence Nellie had prior
treatment, findings, complaints, or impairment of function relative to
her bone structures/ hips. Without prior complaints, treatment,
medical restrictions or some loss of use, there is no basis under the
Guides for assessing an impairment.

Accordingly, Nellie did not have a preexisting impairment since
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Contrasting
Example:

neither her personal daily activities or work duties were ever
impacted in any way.

Troy J. Moody sustained an injury to his low back on October 15,
1998. The evidence introduced by claimant established an
impairment of 25% and a preexisting impairment of 4% for a net
impairment from the 1998 accident of 21%.

Respondent offered evidence of a cumulative impairment of 19%
with a preexisting impairment of 7% for a net impairment from
the 1998 accident of 12%.

The administrative law judge referred claimant for an independent
medical examination. The court appointed doctor concluded
claimant had a cumulative impairment of 15% of which 5%
preexisted for a net impairment of 10%.

The judge concluded the claimant suffered a 20 % impairment and
had a preexisting impairment of 5% for a net impairment of 15%.

Here, the judge weighed all the evidence offered by both parties and
the court ordered evaluator and gave an appropriate offset to the
employer/carrier. ( Troy J. Moody v. Farmers Coop Equity
Company and Farmland Insurance Company, Docket No. 247,106)

The courts have reached similar conclusions in many cases. For
a listing of cases in which the courts have granted offsets pursuant to
K.S.A. 44-501(c), see Appendix A.

For an comparison of how benefits are reduced under current law,
see Appendix B.

Many workers, especially those over the age of forty (40), will have x-ray changes

in the event x-rays are taken. The changes may be asymptomatic. In other words, the
worker may never have known there were changes. For workers who have reached the
age of fifty (50), it highly likely that x-rays would reveal changes in many areas of the
body. However, those changes do not mean the worker has had an injmy” or “accident”.
The presence of the changes merely means the body has some wear in that area. Changes
in x-rays do not mean the worker had loss of use, medical treatment or loss of function.
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Further, the worker’s job and health history reflect the ability to perform all of his/her
activities of daily living and work duties without complaint or medical treatment,

Proponents of SB 181 would have you believe that Nellie Hardwork, the example
on page 3 or the fictional worker in the paragraph above should be denied compensation
because of a preexisting condition. This proposal is a substantial departure from the law
which has guided our system since its inception in the early 1900's. The proposal is very

regressive and dangerous in that it reduces benefit to workers who may have some
- changes in their body of which they have no knowledge, nor have been restricted in the
use of their body. This proposal is extremely repugnant to older workers who often have
x-ray changes and have no history of medical problems.

‘What the proponents don’t openly admit is that when the employer offers evidence
of an impairment which predates the work related accident, the employer and carrier
obtain a set off in accordance with the AMA Guides, the same “threshold” which the

claim must meet to prove impairment under our law.( Appendix A)

When workers do not meet the burden of proof and do not prove their entitlement
to benefits in accordance with the Guides, their claims are denied by the judges/Board.
(See Appendix C)

Should the burden of proof vary between injured workers and employers? Or is it
more equitable that both parties follow the same set of rules for proving the eclements of
their positions as suggested by the statutes cited above? It is suggested both employees
and employers should use the same guidelines to establish entitlement to benefits or
setoff of benefits.

At this point in time, participants in the workers compensation community have
spent the last 11 years assessing, litigating and learning how the 1993 changes in our
system are to be applied. It has been a long 11 years with significant litigation and
expense to all parties involved. While there may be new approaches on some issues, we
now know:

a. Claimant must prove his/her impairment in accordance with the AMA Guides.

b. Employers have the burden of proving their claim to an offset by the same
Guudes.

¢. When the evidence is introduced in accordance with the Guides, the employer
and carrier obtain an appropriate offset.
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Further, it is important to note:

a. Passage of SB 181 would not have any significant impact on workers
compensation costs.

b. Kansas has a favorable cost structure for workers compensation is one of the
states with very low costs.

c. Any changes in the current law will cause increased litigation over a long
period of time. The increased litigation will increase costs to both employers
insurance carriers and workers.

Comments offered by:

Dennis L. Horner

Homer & Duckers, Chtd
610 Security Bank

707 Minnesota Avenue
Kansas City, Kansas 66101
913-281-2375

Email: dhlaw74@aol.com
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PREEXISTING IMPAIRMENTS /CONDITIONS -
MISCONCEPTIONS AND APPLICATIONS

APPENDIX A

The following reported cases are evidence that judges and Board follow K.S A 44-501(¢c)

which provides for a setoff of benefits. In the following cases, the emplover/carrier offered
evidence of preexisting impairment in accordance with the Guides.

Robert D. Leroy v. Ash Grove Cement Co., (Kansas Court of Appeals, Docket No. 88,748,
Not designated for publication ( April 2003)

Arthur Wagoner v. Exide Corporation and Zurich Insurance Company,
Docket No. 251,226 ( March 2002)

Leonard Coe v. McPherson Contractors, Inc. and Kansas Building Industry
Workers Compensation Fund, Docket No. 231,325 ( June 2000)

Michael D. Hitch v. The Boeing Company and Aetna,
Docket No. 179,689 & 230,397 ( February 2002)

Troy Moody v. Farmers Coop Equity Company and Farmland Insurance Co.
Docket No. 247,106 ( March 2001)

Salvador Robles v. National Beef Packing Co. and Wausau Insurance Co.
Docket No. 242,197 ( December 2001)

George Flowers v. City of Olathe and Kansas Eastern Regional Insurance Trust
Docket No. 234,203 ( Dec. 1999)

James C. Bauman v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co. and Travelers Insurance Co
and the Kansas Workers Compensation Fund, Docket No. 199,815 & 199,816
( January 1999)
Donna Massoth v. Raytheon Aircraft Co., Docket No. 213,006 ( April 1998)
Doris M. Reisigel v. Dillon Companies, Inc., Docket No. 201,044 (February 1998)

David Carver v. Missouri Gas Energy, Docket No. 195,270 ( July 1997)



Clarence L. Horton v. Bob’s Super Saver Country Mart and
Crum & Forster, Docket Nos. 220,167, 220,168 ( April 1999)

Terry Boyer v. Binney & Smith, Inc. and Royal Insurance Co.
Docket No. 228,897 ( May 2000)

Tina Wells v. USD 503 and Kansas Association of School Boards
Docket No. 264,213, ( February 2003)

Marilyn Fuller v. Farmers Insurance Company and Liberty Mutual
Insurance Co., Docket No. 262,620 ( April 2003)

James Banks, Jr. V. Magna Corporation and Topeka
Metal Specialties and Safeco Insurance Co. and Travelers

Docket No. 255,009 & 255,417 ( November 2002)

Thomas A. Hoge v. Concrete Service Co. Inc. & Depositors
Insurance Co., Docket No. 251,937 ( August 2002)

Debra Ann Phillips v. J.C. Penney, Inc., Docket Nos. 244,924, 244 925
& 251,351 ( April 2002)

Carol S. Gethins v. Cedar Living Center and Travelers
Insurance Co. Docket No. 250,491 ( December 2002)

Walter Samuel Hahn v. Midwest Drywall., Inc.
and Hartford Accident, Docket No. 258,223 ( June 2003)

Pamela J. Houk v. Community Living Opportunity & CIGNA
Docket No. 189,952 ( February 1999)

Stanley D. Converse v. ADIA Personnel Services and Pacific Employers
Insurance, Docket No. 184,630 ( December 1996)

David A. Carver v. Missouri Gas Energy, Docket No. 195,270 ( July 1997)

Leva Bohanan v. USD 260 and Kansas Association of School Boards
Docket No. 190,281 ( November 1995)

Nestor Villalobos v. National Beef Packing Co. and Lumberman’s
Underwriting Alliance, Docket No. 184,413 ( April 1998)



PREEXISTING IMPAIRMENTS /CONDITIONS -

MISCONCEPTIONS AND APPLICATIONS

» APPENDIX B

Mathematical comparison of benefits when K.S.A. 44-501(c) is applied.

Assume John Doe injures his right knee while working for Acme Manufacturing. John has
surgery and it is determined he has a current impairment in accordance with the AMA Guides of
20%. John admits having a prior injury to his right knee and it is established he had a preexisting
impairment of 5%. We must also assume certain facts for comparison purposes.

Average weekly wage $600.00
Temporary total benefits 10 weeks.

The benefit comparison is as follows:
Pre 1993

200 weeks ~ Maximum benefit weeks for a leg

$400 Benefit rate; 66.67% of Average
Weekly Wage

x 20% Impairment

80 weeks of benefits

x 200 weeks

$16,000.00  Award for permanency

Post 1993

200 weeks
x 15%

30

x3$400.00

$12,000.00

Impairment after
reduction for prior

Weeks of benefits

In this fictional case, the post 1993 law would result in a reduction in benefits of

$4000.00.
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PREEXISTING IMPAIRMENTS /CONDITIONS -
MISCONCEPTIONS AND APPLICATIONS

APPENDIX C

The following reported cases reflect a denial of benefits to the worker when the Workers
Compensation Appeals Board determined claimant had failed to meet his/her burden of proof that
he/she suffered a permanent aggravation of a preexisting condition.

Andrew E. Bradford v. Manhattan Mercury/Seaton Publishing
and Cincinnati Insurance Co., Docket No. 210,583 ( June 2000)

Jane Fuhr v. Dillon Companies, Inc. and Jane Fuhr v.
Albertson’s, Inc. Docket Nos. 233,475 & 248,793 ( June 2000)

Saul Zapata v. IBP, Inc., Docket Nos. 168,211 & 177,505 ( August 2000)

Fidel Esparza v. National Beef Packing Co. and Wausau Insurance Co.
Docket No. 239,452 ( September 2000)

Linda Everly v. Dillon Companies, Inc. Docket No. 233,739 ( June 1999)
Justin King v. Acme Foundry, Inc., Docket No. 258,656 ( May 2002)

Lort Walz v. APAC Customter Services and Travelers Indemnity Co.
Docket No. 258,206 ( May 2001)

Fernando Jimenez v. Prestige, Inc. and National Surety Corp.
Docket No. 256,161 ( March 2002)

Michael Finney v. Amazon.Com and Kemper Insurance Co.,
Docket No. 255,741 ( April 2003)

Sonnie Johnson v. Acme Foundry, Inc., Docket No. 253,871
( July 2002)

Barbara A. Elkins v. Cowley County Community College
and Kansas Association of School Boards, Docket No. 253,708 ( March 2002)

Tyrone Tyner v. Southeastern Public Service and Insurance Company
Of Pennsylvania, Docket No. 196,907 ( February 1999)

Sarah L. Walker v. Vanguard Piping System and Hartford Accident & Indemnity
Docket No. 261,336 ( February 2003)





