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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE TAXATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman John Edmonds at 9:00 a.m. on February 12, 2004 in Room
519-S of the Capitol.

All members were present except:
Representative John Faber- excused
Representative Lee Tafanelli- excused

Committee staff present:
Chris Courtwright, Legislative Research Department
Martha Dorsey, Legislative Research Department
Gordon Self, Revisors of Statutes
Carol Doel, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
TC Anderson, Kansas Society of CPAs
Chris Morlan, Sedgwick City Appraisers
Marilyn Nichols, Kansas Registrar of Deeds
Ann Hull, President of Heartstrings Community Foundation
Barb Hinton, Legislative Post Auditor
Joan Wagnon, Secretary of Revenue
Bon McNeely, President Kansas Automobile Dealer’s Association

Others attending:
See Attached List

Chairman Edmonds called the meeting to order requesting any bill introductions.

T.C. Anderson, Kansas Society of CPAs requested the introduction of two bills. The first bill would amend
KSA 79-32,101 (a) (1) by increasing from $200 to $500 the amount of tax expected to be owed before
estimated tax payments would be due the state.

The second bill request would add a provision to 79-32,206, the credit for property tax paid on commercial
and industrial machinery and equipment status. This language would read, “The secretary of revenue shall
adopt rules and regulations regarding the filing of documents that support the amount of credit being claimed
in KS4 79-32,206.

Hearing no objections, the Chairman accepted these two bills for introduction.

Chairman Edmonds opened the meeting for public hearing on HB 2559 recognizing Chris Morlan of the
Kansas County Appraiser’s Association testifying in support. They are requesting that KSA 79-412 be
changed to require that the words “building on leased ground” appear on the first page of the lease if the lease
filed with the Registrar of Deeds indicates that the land and improvement value should not be listed on the
assessment roll as a single aggregate.

By including the words “building on leased ground” on the first page of the filed lease, less time will be spent
by county employees researching leases as well as correcting appraisal records. Less time will be spent by
county employees revising assessment rolls and sending new tax bills. (Attachment 1)

Appearing also in support of HB 2559, was Marilyn L. Nichols on behalf of the office of Shawnee County
Register of Deeds. They also support the change to “building on leased ground” appear on the first page of
a lease. This would clearly define the intent of the instrument recorded and would greatly assist the taxing
entities of the county as well as the proper indexing of the document in that office. (Attachment 2)

Written testimony was submitted by Judy Moler, General Counsel/Legislative Services Director. (Attachment

3)

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the committee for editing or corrections. Page 1




CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE HOUSE TAXATION COMMITTEE at 9:00 a.m. on February 12, 2004 in Room
519-S of the Capitol.

With no further proponents and no opponents, The Chairman closed the public hearing on HB 2559.

Public hearing on HB 2650 was opened with Ann Hull, President of Heartstrings Community Foundation
being recognized in support of the bill. Ms. Hull explained that the mission of Heartstrings Community
Foundation is to assist adults with developmental disabilities to live meaningful, productive and more
independent lives through interactions with the community. The organization is requesting a tax exempt
status for Heartstrings Community Foundation with the savings allowing them to assist more individuals
become independent citizens and become tax payers. (Attachment 4) Ms. Hull also included a copy of the
Foundation’s profit and loss statement for review. (Attachment 5)

With no one further wishing to address the bill, either proponent or opponent, Chairman Edmonds closed the
public hearing on HB 2650.

Public hearing on HB 2648 was next on the agenda with the Chairman acknowledging Barb Hinton,
Legislative Post Auditor as a proponent of the bill. In her testimony Ms. Hinton stated that the bill addresses
Taxation on Motor Vehicle Sales: Reviewing the Department of Revenue's Procedures for Ensuring That
Correct Amounts of Sales and Compensating Use Taxes Are Paid. During an audit they found several cases
in which vehicle dealers were allowed to continue operating even though they had a long history of not
remitting the sales taxes they collected. (Attachment 6)

Don McKneely, President of KADA (Kansas Automobile Dealers Association), stood before the committee
to testify in the association’s behalf in support of HB 2648. Mr. McKneely thanked Secretary Wagnon and
her staff for the opportunity to work with them to ensure that all sales taxes that are collected by the license
motor vehicle dealers in the State of Kansas, are in fact, remitted to the Kansas Department of Revenue.
(Attachment 7)

Secretary of Revenue, Joan Wagnon, presented testimony in support of HB 2648. Secretary Wagnon
explained that the bill would amend K.S.A.8-2411 to provide for mandatory suspension or revocation of a
vehicle dealer’s license by the Director of Motor Vehicles if a dealer has failed to file sales tax returns or remit
sales tax for a period of three consecutive months. The Department of Revenue strongly supports this
proposal as an effective tax compliance tool. (Attachment 8)

With no one further wishing to testify, the Chairman closed the hearing on HB 2648.
Chairman Edmonds advised the committee members that due to the expected large hearing on HB 2599 and
HB 2700 next week that he would have to limit the members to one question per conferee and any other

questions would have to be addressed through the Vice-Chairman or the Ranking Member.

With no further business before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 10:20 a.m.

Unless specifically noted, the individual remarks recorded herein have not been transcribed verbatim. Individual remarks as reported herein have not been submitted to

the individuals appearing before the commiittee for editing or corrections. Page 2
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Kansas County
AN Appraiser’s Association

.

>

TO: HOUSE TAXATION COMMITTEE

FROM: KANSAS COUNTY APPRAISER'S ASSOCIATION
RE: HOUSE BILL 2559

DATE: FEBRUARY 12, 2004

Chairman Edmonds and Committee Members, | am Chris Morlan speaking on behalf of
the Kansas County Appraiser's Association. | hold a Registered Mass Appraiser
designation from the State of Kansas and an Assessment Administration Specialist
designation from the International Association of Assessing Officers.

Kansas Statute 79-412 requires that the County Appraiser value both land and
improvements and place a total of these values on the assessment roll — with one
exception. If the improvements are owned by an entity other than the land owner, and a
lease agreement has been recorded or filed in the office of the Register of Deeds, the
improvements will be assessed to the owner of the improvements. The land owner will
be assessed for the land and any buildings not covered in the filed lease agreement.
Filing the lease creates a “building on leased ground” record.

There are thousands of leases filed in Kansas’ Register of Deeds Offices every year for
a myriad of reasons. Typically, there is no way to identify a “building on leased ground”
lease from any other lease filed without reading through each and every lease. Most
County Appraiser's and Register of Deeds Offices do not have the resources to
completely read each lease that is filed to determine if it is a lease for a “building on
leased ground” or a lease for some other purpose. Many of these leases are brought to
the County Appraiser’s attention after the value notice or tax bill has been mailed to the
property owner. After realizing the value notice or tax bill includes the leased property,
the property owner requests the leased property’s value be separated from the rest of
their property and the value notice and tax bill be sent to the owner of the leased
property. This creates more work for the Appraiser, requiring research of the lease. In
addition, corrections then have to be made to the appraisal roll, creating more work for
the County Clerk and Treasurer if the roll has been certified and tax bills have been
mailed.

HOUSE TAXATION
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We respectfully request that KSA 79-412 be changed to require that the words “building
on leased ground” appear on the first page of the lease if the lease filed with the
Register of Deeds indicates that the land and improvement value should not be listed on
the assessment roll as a single aggregate.

By including the words “building on leased ground” on the first page of the filed lease,
less time will be spent by county employees researching leases as well as correcting
appraisal records. Less time will be spent by county employees revising assessment
rolls and sending new tax bills.

We ask that you favorably recommend House Bill 2559.

| will be happy to respond to questions you may have.



KANSAS REGISTER OF DEEDS ASSOCIATION

Marilyn L. Nichols

Shawnee County Register of Deeds
700 SE 7" Street, Room 108
Topeka, Kansas 66603-3932

TESTIMONY OF THE KANSAS REGISTER OF DEEDS ASSOCIATION
TO THE HOUSE TAXATION COMMITTEE
HB 2559

February 12, 2004
Representative Edmonds, Chairman and Members of the Committee:

I am here today on behalf of the Kansas Register of Deeds Association. We thank you for the
opportunity to allow us to provide some input during your decision-making process.

Our understanding of the intent of this bill is require the words * building on leased ground” to appear
on the first page of the Lease Apgreement that is filed in the Register of Deeds office. Further that the
responsibility is placed on the filer to be sure said words are included on the face of the document.

As you know the Register of Deeds Office is responsible for the recording of documents concerning real
estale transactions in each county and the preservation of those records as “public records”. We record
various types of documents and from time to time the purpose and intent of the instrument is difficult to
ascertain. The words “building on leased ground” would clearly define the intent of the instrument
recorded and would greatly assist the taxing entities of the county as well as the proper indexing of the
document in my office. I understand that Missouri Law requires all documents to be clearly titled and we
as the Kansas Register of Deeds Association have discussed the possibility of beginning suéh a change in
recording statutes in Kansas. Identification of docm.nents would not seem that difficult at first thought but
indeed it can be, as the legal language is not easily interpreted. This seems to be a step in the right
direction that would help us in the interpretation of the intent of said agreement. The Kansas Register

of Deeds Association urges the favorable passage of HB 2559,

HOUSE TAXATIUN
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ASSOCIATION OF

COUNTIES

6206 SW 9th Terrace
Topeka, KS 66615
78527202585
Fax 78592723585
email kac@ink.org

Written Testimony on HB 2559
Before the House Taxation Committee
By Judy A. Moler
General Counsel/Legislative Services Director
February 12, 2004

Chairman Edmonds and Committee members, thank you for allowing

the Kansas Association of Counties to submit written testimony on HB
2559,

The Kansas Association of Counties supports this legislation that
would amend K.S.A. 79-412 to include the words “building on leased
ground”. This which would be affixed to the first page of a lease filed
with the County Register of Deeds Office.

By this simple amendment, much time and aggravation will be saved
for county employees researching leases as well as affording more
prompt and effective service for taxpayers.

The Kansas Association of Counties urges you to act favorably on HB
2559,

The Kansas Association of Counties, an instrumentality of member counties under
K.SA. 19-2690, provides legislative representation, educational and technical
services and a wide range of informational services to its member counties. Inquiries
concerning this testimony should be directed to Randy Allen or Judy Moler by
calling (785) 272-2585.
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Heartitriigs Community Fonndation

Heartstrings
Community
Foundation

7044 W. 105th St
Overland Park, KS
66212

Pt 913-649-5700
Toll Free:866-649-5700
Fax# 913-649-5702
Eimail:
heartstringse{@Q)sbheglobal.net
Website:

www. heartstringsef.com

Executive
Board of Directors
President: Anne Hull
Vice-President: Pat Colloton
Sec/ Treas: Phyllis Young

Board of Directors
Liz Bartow

Dr. Wynne Begun
Kathieen Degen
Raleigh Lang
Doug Letbbrandt
Jennie Perdien
Gail Williams

Business Advisory Comuncil
Pat Colloton

Richard Farnan

Dean Oskuig

Cyndy Price

MaryAnne Simons

Brad Stratton

R. David Wents

Testimony for House Bill 2650
Tax Exempt Status for Heartstrings Community Foundation

Mr. Chair and members of the Tax Committee, thank you for the opportunity to speak
in support of House Bill 2650.

Heartstrings Community Foundation‘s mission is to assist adults with
developmental disabilities to live meaningful, productive and more independent
lives through interactions with the community.

Seventeen individuals in Johnson County have chosen Heartstrings as their provider of
Day Service. These people have various labels in their files, including Autism, Downs
Syndrome and Fragile X Syndrome and more. But the labels they claim are valued team
member, employee, volunteer and friend.

Because of Heartstrings Community Foundation these adults have jobs that are
interactive, they have business relationships and friendships, and they are needed.

The Goody Delivery Business and the On My Own Home Accessories Store are the two
businesses run by Heartstrings participants.

e Goody Delivery sales teams provide premium snack items each week in
business offices.

e The On My Own Store acquires home decorating items and gift items through
donations, auctions and market purchases and sells them in a store located in
the Metcalf 103 Shopping Center in Overland Park. Custom designed gift
baskets are created and delivered or shipped.

The employees have their own business cards, are paid wages according to the
percentage of the tasks they complete independently - and a commission for sales
completed.

Several individuals are successful in supported employment in other businesses in the
community, such as Osco, Hallbrook Country Club, Babies R Us, Gordmans, HyVee,
Toys R. Us and Bodyworks. Heartstrings assists in finding and developing jobs and
maintaining them by offering ongoing support for the employee and employer.

Other aspects of HCF’s Day Service are volunteerism in nursing homes and Meals on
Wheels, individual fitness goals and workouts at the Jewish Community Center, and
social outings planned by the individuals.
The results of HCF’s day service are dramatic but this model of service is expensive. It
requires a low staff to person served ratio due to the many transitions in the community
during the day, and a vehicle for each team.
Our seven staff members are very experienced with other models of service and prefer
this model mainly because they witness such growth in the skill levels of the people
they assist. Our customers are convinced that our service is desirable and valuable.
2003
Cost of goods sold (through Goody Delivery and On My Own Store) was $25,669.
Income from Goody Del. and On My Own Store was $51,540.
Automobile Expenses $7500 but with an aging fleet will be more this year.
Becoming tax exempt would allow us to assist more individuals become more
independent citizens and become tax payers. I have attached a copy of our profit loss
statement and informational brochures about Heartstrings. Thank you for considering
assisting us make Kansas a more inclusive community.

HOUSE TAXATION
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Cash Basis

HCF

Profit & Loss
January through December 2003

income
Contributions
Fundraiser
Unrestricted

Total Contributions

Goody Delivery
Grants
Interest Income
Miscellaneous income
On My Own Store
Program Fees
Case Management
Day Service

Vocational Rehabilitation

Total Program Fees
Training
Total Income

Cost of Goods Sold
Costs of Goods Sold
Candy
Supplies

Total Costs of Goods Sold
Total COGS

Gross Profit

Expense
Advertising/Promotions
Automobile Expense

Gas
Repairs/Maintenance
Tags

Total Automobile Expense

Bank Service Charges
Contract Labor
Credit Card Fees
Dues & Subscriptions
Employee Gift
Fundraiser Expenses
Insurance

Health

Liability Insurance

Vehicle

Work Comp

Total insurance
Interest Expense

Finance Charges
Loan

Total interest Expense

Internet Services
Jewish Com Cen
Licenses and Permits
Membership Fees
Mileage

Miscelianeous Expense
Office Supplies

Jan - Dec 03

46,994.00
30,252.67

77,246.67

22,403.14
5,600.00
23.69
620.23
29,128.62

40,005.93

177,207.69

© 2,797.67
220,011.29
200.00

35523364

12,565.46
1310419

25,669.65

25,669.65

329,563.99

3,628.24

2,203.98
3,968.05

7,499.75

328.70
180.00
435.06
185.00
1,400.00
14,929.09

4,405.83
4,346.60
11,309.04
750.00

20,812.47

33.23
-25.36

7.87

222.40
1,763.30
1,605.13
2,541.33
6.40
1,086.64
2,036.10
HOUSE TAXA'TION
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HCF

Profit & Loss
January through December 2003

Payroll Expenses
Holiday
PTO
Wages - Administrative
Wages - Clients
Wages - Trainers

Total Payroll'Expenses

Payroll Taxes
FICA
FUTA
SUTA

Total Payroll Taxes

Postage & Delivery

Printing & Reproduction

Professional Fees
Accounting
Consulting

Total Professional Fees

Program Expense
Day Services
Program Expense - Other

Total Program Expense

Rent
CAM
Rent - Other

Toiai Rent

Repairs/Maintenance
Building
Computer

Total Repairs/Maintenance

Supplies

Telephone
Cell Phone
Telephone - Other

Total Telephone

Training Expense
Mandt
Staff

Total Training Expense

Travel & Entertainment
Entertainment
Travel

Total Travel & Entertainment

Uniforms
Utiiities
Gas & Electric

Total Utilities

Total Expense

Net Income

Jan - Dec 03

3,103.04
8,190.17
36,417.35
412713
139,169.53

191,007.22

13,795.93
-47.34
0.00

13,748.59
2,362.35
9,219.50

1,862.81
20.00
1,882.81

131.40
70.00

201.40

3,954.42
6,476.09

10,430.51

317.02
470.64

787.66
87785

1,316.62
3,111.81

4,428.43

870.00
1,377.60

2,247 .60

10.00
336.06

346.06
628.00

,  1,917.43

1,917.43

298,752.89

30,811.10

I
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LECGISLATURE OF KANSAS

LEecistarive Division or Post Aupir

LT ERE B A ilissms 800 SOUTHWEST JACKSON STREET, SUITE 1200
LTI s il TorEKA, KANSAS 66612-2212
R TELEPHONE (785) 296-3792
Fax (785) 296-4482

E-MaAIL: Ipa@lpa.state ks.us

Information for the House Taxation Committee on HB 2648
Barb Hinton, Legislative Post Auditor
February 12, 2004
Mr. Chairman and members of the Committee, thank you for allowing me to appear before you
to provide background information on HB2648. This bill addresses an issue raised in our
performance audit, Taxes on Motor Vehicle Sales: Reviewing the Department of Revenue'’s
Procedures for Ensuring That Correct Amounts of Sales and Compensating Use Taxes Are Paid.

During the audit, we found several cases in which vehicle dealers were allowed to continue

operating even though they had a long history of not remitting the sales taxes they collected.

We looked at 7 of the 50 smaller used vehicle dealers Department field staff suspected weren’t
sending 1n all the sales tax they collected. We found fairly significant problems at 4 of those
dealers, and observed that 3 of the 4 had long histories of avoiding the Department’s collection

efforts. The attached pages provide details of these cases.

In addition, at the time of the audit, the Division of Taxation’s records showed accounts
receivable of about $7 million for approximately 500 vehicle dealers. Out of a sample of 11
dealerships with some of the largest accounts receivable, we found that 7 were continuing to sell
cars—anywhere from 1-900 vehicles during 2002. These dealers owed from $22,000 to

$436,000 each to ihe Depariment.

What we found led us to recommend that the Department take more timely action to revoke the
licenses of vehicle dealers who repeatedly fail to remit sales tax they’ve collected. Records for
2001 and 2002 show that only 1 vehicle dealer’s license was revoked for failure to pay retail
sales tax during that time. This bill would make it mandatory for the Department to suspend or
revoke a vehicle dealer’s license after 3 consecutive months of failure to file returns and remit

sales tax. HOUSE TAXATION
Attachment &
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® Dealer #1 sold 12 vehicles in August 2002, but he didn’t file a
tax return or remit the $2,016 in sales taxes he’d collected from
customers for those vehicles. In addition, the dealer volunteered
that he hadn’t remitted any sales tax at all in 2001 or 2002, and said
he needed to “negotiate” with the Department.

® Dealer #2 sold 21 vehicles in August 2002, but he didn’t file a
tax return or remit the $11,053 in sales taxes he’d collected
from customers for those vehicles. In addition, our testwork
showed this dealer failed to report and remit about $1,400 of the
nearly $13,700 he'd collected in July, and he didn’t file any returns
or remit any taxes for the remainder of 2002. He had collected
about $13,500 in sales taxes in September and October; complete
tax records for November and December weren’t available at the
time of our visit.

@® Dealer #3 sold 3 vehicles in August 2002 and remitted the $113
in taxes he had collected from customers. However, while
tracing sales that had been entered into VIPS from other months,
we discovered that in July the dealer sent in a return showing he
owed $940, but didn't send in any money. In September 2002, he
also didn't file a return or remit the sales taxes he’d collected on the
5 vehicles he sold that month.

@® Dealer #4 sold 14 vehicles in August 2002 and remitted the
$2,283 in sales tax collected from customers. However, while
we were there the dealer told us that he had paid 2 of his sales tax

remittances with worthless checks.

It’s important to remember these 4 dealers weren’t selected at
random; they were among about 50 that were identified for us by
Division of Vehicles staff as dealers who might not be remitting
sales taxes. As a result, our findings shouldn’t be considered
representative of the practices of all small used car dealers.

In all, 3 of these 4 dealers have a long history of not remitting
the sales taxes they had collected, yet the Department had
allowed them to continue to operate. The problems we identified
with the Department’s enforcement actions related to each dealer
are described below:

@® The Department has allowed at least 1 dealer to continue to
operate without filing tax returns and without paying sales
taxes for the past 5 years. He sold slightly more than 500
vehicles during that time. Department records show that the last
enforcement action on this account was taken in 1995, when the
Department filed a successful tax levy against this dealer’s bank
account for nearly $12,000 for taxes he hadn’t remitted during 1992
and 1994. Although the Department’s Taxation staff reviewed this
account during March 1998 and made a decision to enforce
collections, those efforts were never pursued.

PERFORMANCE AUDIT REPORT
Legistative Division of Post Audit
April 2003
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In January 2003 (after a Department representative accompanied
us on our visit to this dealer), the Department resumed collection
efforts and mailed a tax statement for $490,000 in taxes, interest,
and penalties for sales taxes not remitted since 1997. Recently, the
Department also attempted to file a tax levy against his bank
account but it had been closed.

Dealer #2 hasn’t filed returns and remitted sales taxes since
August 2002, but the Department didn’t send payment due
notices until November. The Department appears to be following
its stated enforcement processes and timelines, which may not be
enough to encourage this dealer to comply. The Department made
telephone contact with the dealer in February 2003. In response,
the dealer agreed to get his returns filed by February 213, As of
March 11", this dealer hadn't filed the returns. During our fieldwork
at this dealer, we determined that he failed to remit slightly more
than $30,500 in sales taxes that he collected from his customers
from March to November 2002.

For dealer #3, the Department established 3 different payment
plans during 2002. Shortly after each payment plan was agreed-
upon, the dealer failed to make a payment; thus breaking the terms
of the agreement. Although the Department filed a tax warrant
against the dealer after the second payment plan was broken, it
didn’t follow through with enforcing the warrant. Instead, the
Department established a third payment plan which was just
recently broken. Currently, this dealer owes the State about $1,200
in vehicle sales tax.

More stringent enforcement actions aren’t taken against
dealers who've had a history of not remitting vehicles sales
tax. Dealer #4 has had a history of payment problems since at
least 1996, and currently owes the Department at least $300,000 in
unpaid tax, penalties, and interest for vehicles sales taxes that
should have been paid during calendar years 2000 and 2001, and
other filing periods. During 2002 the dealer wrote 5 worthless
checks to the Department for sales taxes owed. Over the years the
Department has sent this dealer several demand letters, filed tax
warrants against him, put levies on his bank account, and twice
seized money from his cash register. This same dealer continued
to sell vehicles and collect sales tax from buyers during this time,
and was still in operation while this audit report was written.

The Department likely needs to review and revise its
enforcement procedures to ensure that the enforcement actions
it takes are appropriate and progressively more stringent.

This audit was never intended to assess the adequacy of the
Department’s tax enforcement efforts. However, the examples of
the Department’s enforcement efforts, listed above, suggest that
there are likely problems in this area. In addition, during our audit,
an internal Department task force found significant problems,
including that the Department doesn’t take enforcement action

12
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against vehicle dealers who under-report sales tax owed, or who
either don’t remit or are late in remitting vehicle sales tax owed.
Profile 1-1, on page 15 summarizes the main problems identified by
the Department’s internal task force, as well as the plan the
Department has to ensure that dealers remit all the vehicle sales tax
they collect.

Kansas law allows the Director of Motor Vehicles to deny, suspend,
revoke, or refuse to renew a dealer’s license if the dealer fails to
remit vehicle sales tax. However, Department records for 2001 and
2002 show that only one vehicle dealer’s license was revoked for
failure to pay retail sales tax. We weren’t able to tell whether any
other dealers’ licenses had been revoked before 2001; Department
officials told us the information wasn’t tracked before that year.

Division of Taxation records show there’s currently about §7
million in accounts receivable for about 500 vehicle dealers. The
Department has determined that about $230,000 of that amount is
uncollectible; generally because the statute of limitations has run
out. The remaining amount is somewhere in the Division’s
collections process, which might include phone calls reminding the
dealer that the money is owed, or the Department issuing tax
warrants or bank levies. We looked at a sample of 11 dealerships
with some of the largest accounts receivable—and found that 7 of
them had reported selling anywhere from 1 to slightly more than
900 vehicles during 2002. Each of these 7 dealers owe from
$22,000 to $436,000 to the Department.

We Identified Some
Instances Where Sales
Tax Exemptions Were
Claimed and Allowed
Inappropriately

Certain entities or vehicles sales are exempt from retail sales tax,
including vehicles purchased by nonprofit hospitals, educational
institutions, or public or private K-12 schools; vehicles purchased
for rental or lease (because taxes are paid as a part of the lease
payments); and vehicles purchased and used in another state.

When a vehicle buyer presents a sales tax exemption certificate to a
dealer, State law presumes the dealer took the certificate in good
faith if 3 things happen: the dealer identifies the person presenting
the certificate, the dealer keeps a copy of the certificate, and there’s
no evidence the exemption is improper. When presenting a sales
tax exemption certificate to a county treasurer, the buyer has the
burden of showing that the vehicle sale shouldn’t be taxable. If
there’s any doubt about whether the vehicle is taxable, the county
treasurer is supposed to collect sales tax.

Our testwork didn’t identify any inappropriate exemption
certificates for vehicles sales processed through county

PERFORMANCE AUDIT REPORT
Legislative Division of Post Audit
April 2003
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KANSAS AUTOMOBILE DEALERS ASSOCIATION

February 12, 2004

To:  The Honorable John Edmonds, Chairman
and Members of the House Taxation Committee

From: Don McNeely, KADA President

Re:  HB 2648 — Suspension or Revocation of Vehicle Dealer’s License for failure to Remit
Sales Tax

Good morning Chairman Edmonds, and Members of the House Taxation Committee.
My name is Don McNeely, President of the Kansas Automobile Dealers Association (KADA), a
state trade association representing the retail franchised new car and truck industry in the state of
Kansas. '

On behalf of the franchised new car and truck dealers in Kansas, I would like to thank the
Committee for the opportunity to offer a few comments in support of HB 2648. For the
Committee’s information, since the release of the report by Legislative Post Audit regarding
“Taxes on Motor Vehicles” last April, KADA has had extensive dialogue with the Department of
Revenue. I would like to thank Secretary Wagnon and her staff for the opportunity to work with
them to ensure that all sales taxes that are collected by licensed motor vehicle dealers in the State
is in fact remitted to the Kansas Department of Revenue.

While the report by Legislative Post Audit found the new car dealerships they sampled to
have been calculating, collecting and remitting sales tax correctly, over fifty percent of the used
vehicle dealerships sampled were not. Needless to say, our membership was quite upset and
disgusted with the fact that these licensed motor vehicle dealerships were allowed to continue to
operate without remitting the trust taxes they had collected from their customers. In one case,
one used car dealer had not remitted any sales tax for the past five years and one owed the State

at least $300,000.

I would like to compliment Secretary Wagnon and her staff for immediately responding
to this situation and implementing policies and procedures to ensure that sales taxes collected on
the sales of motor vehicles are in fact remitted to the State, and that those bad actors, which give
the entire industry a black eye, are dealt with appropriately.

On behalf of the Kansas Automobile Dealers Association, I thank the Members of the
Committee for allowing me to appear before you this morning in support of HB 2648.
HOUSE TAXATION
Attachment 7
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KANSAS

JOAN WAGNON, SECRETARY KATHLEEN SEBELIUS., GOVERNOR
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Testimony to House Taxation Committee
Joan Wagnon

February 12, 2004
House Bill 2648

Chairman Edmonds and Members of the Committee:

House Bill 2648 would amend K.S.A. 8-2411 to provide for mandatory suspension or revocation
of a vehicle dealer’s license by the Director of Motor Vehicles if a dealer has failed to file sales
tax returns or remit sales tax for a period of three consecutive months. The Department strongly
supports this proposal as an effective tax compliance tool.

Legislative Post Audit (LPA) noted a compliance problem area concerning used car dealers
failing to remit the sales tax they collected. According to a LPA’s report dated April 2003, there
are approximately $7 million in sales tax accounts receivable for about 500 vehicle dealers. The
Department determined that $230,000 of this is uncollectible, because the statute of limitations
has expired. Passage of this bill should help to expedite recovery of the outstanding delinquent
balance. LPA recommended that the Department use the dealer license revocation administrative
process as a means of encouraging delinquent dealers to become current on their sales tax
remittance and reporting obligations. The Department has followed that recommendation. In the
past year, the Division of Motor Vehicles revoked 13 motor vehicle dealers’ licenses, and placed
13 dealers on payment plans, pursuant to K.S.A. 8-2411(29), which provides authority to revoke
or suspend for violations of the sales or withholding tax laws. As a result, we have collected was
$550,686.71 in sales tax from delinquent motor vehicle dealers.

The Director of Motor Vehicles has discretion to suspend or revoke a dealer’s license for
violations of the sales or withholding tax laws. However, statutorily mandating dealer license
suspension or revocation for a 3-month sales tax delinquency will add teeth to K.S.A. 8-2411 and
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between the privilege to do business and the obligation to timely report and remit the sales tax
collected on motor vehicle sales.

This proposal is also consistent with other Department initiatives for a tax clearance process for
renewal of professional licenses (Senate Bill 468; House Bill 2776), and for issuance or renewal
of liquor licenses (Senate Bill 414; House Bill 2680).

The Department recommends that the bill be amended to require that employer withholding taxes
be current as a condition for continuance of a dealer's license. A balloon amendment is attached.
HOUSE TAXATION
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Session of 2004
HOUSE BILL No. 2648
By Committee on Taxation

1-29

AN ACT concerning taxation; relating to suspension or revocation of ve-
hicle dealer’s license for failure to remit sales tax; amending K.5.A. 8-
2411 and repealing the existing section.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 8-2411 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-
92411. (a) When any licensee is found to be allegedly violating any of the
applicable provisions of this act, or any order or rule and regulation
adopted pursuant thereto, the director upon the director’s own motion
or upon complaint may commence a hearing against the licensee, which
hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Kan-
sas administrative procedure act.

(b) Any person who is found to have violated any applicable provi-
sions of this act, any rule and regulation adopted pursuant thereto or any
applicable order of the director shall be subject to a civil penalty of not
less than $50 nor more than $1,000 for each violation or such person’s
license may be suspended or revoked or both civil penalty and license
suspension or revocation, except that in addition to any civil penalty im-

posed pursuant to this subsection, the director shall suspend or revoke ]
the license of any person who is found to have violated the provisions ofy k.s.4 T79-3294 et se7. o [
K.S.A. 79-3601 et seq., and amendments thereto, by the failure to file

returns and remit“_s_a_les tax as required pursuant to K.S.A. 79-3607, and
amendments thereto, for three consecutive months. s vhheldr ) fax
(c) Any party aggrieved by the decision of the director may appeal - Ppe
the same to the district court in accordance with the provisions of the act
for judicial review and civil enforcement of agency actions.
Sec. 2. K.S.A.8-2411 is hereby repealed.
Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its
publication in the statute book.
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