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MINUTES OF THE HOUSE TAXATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman John Edmonds at 9:00 a.m. on March 17, 2004 in Room
519-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:
Chris Courtwright, Legislative Research Department
Martha Dorsey, Legislative Research Department
Gordon Self, Revisors of Statutes
Carol Doel, Committee Secretary

Conferees appearing before the committee:
Representative Kenny Wilk
Representative Lee Tafanell
Representative Gatewood
Elsie Meyer - Perry, KS
Melvin Gray - Perry, KS
Jan Sides - State Employee Association of KS
Maria Russo - Jayhawk Agency on Aging
Jim Snyder - Silver Haired Legislative Council
Craig Kaberline - Kansas Area Agencies on Aging Association
Karl Peterjohn - Kansas Taxpayers Network
Randall Allen - Kansas Association of Counties
Larry Baer - Kansas League of Municipalities
Mark Desetti - Kansas NEA
Ted Wary - Cherokee County
Frieda Culver - Cherokee County
Erik Sartorius

Others attending:
See Attached List

Chairman Edmonds opened the meeting asking for any bill introductions. There were none and he recognized
Mark Beck of the Property Valuation Department who brought information before the committee regarding
State Programs and Practices for Reducing Residential Property Taxes (Attachment 1) and the Consumer
Price Index for All Urban Consumers for the Kansas City Area which was acquired from the U.S. Department
of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. (Attachment 2)

The Chairman opened the meeting for public hearing on HCR 5032 with Representative Tafanelli giving
testimony in support of the Resolution. His testimony revealed that HCR 5032 would cap property tax
valuation increases on single-family residential property with a valuation of less than $250,000 which 1s
owned and occupied by a Kansas resident that is 65 years of age or older as of January 1. It would also allow
for the Legislature to provide, by law, for any subsequent adjustments in the value and/or age requirements
and also enact other legislation that may be necessary to implement such a program. This would relieve the
burden felt by seniors across the state. (Attachment 3)

Representative Kenny Wilk was next to stand in support of HCR 5032. He stated he agreed with
Representative Tafanelli’s testimony, but added that many seniors no longer have their health and they are
not able to go out and supplement their income. The passing of this Resolution would help keep seniors in
their homes. (See Signature on Attachment 3)

Presenting testimony in support of KCR 5032 was Elsie Flynn - Meyer a widowed taxpayer from Perry,
Kansas. Her intent in her testimony is to represent Senior Citizens who are living on a low income and are
paying high property taxes that continue to increase. (Attachment 4)

Also from Perry, Kansas was Melville Gray who supports HCR 5032. He provided a list of contributing
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economic drains that are occurring on retirees and a chart showing comparison of property tax paid by retirees
with and without valuation cap as provided in HCR 5032. (Attachment 5)

The State Employee Association of Kansas was represented by Jan Sides in favor of HCR 5032 stating that
each year the seniors see any increase in the valuation of their property and/or an increase in property tax and
the proposal in this Resolution would be a tool to help these people. (Attachment 6)

Mario Russo, Executive Director Jayhawk Area Agency on Aging also favors the passage of HCR 5032. In
her testimony she stated that support of this resolution is offered because it will assist seniors in maintaining
their independence in the community a bit longer by extending their financial resources. (Attachment 7)

Representing the Council of the Silver Haired Legislature was Jim Snyder. They also support HCR 5032.
Their opinion, as stated in M.r. Snyder’s testimony, is the increasing costs of health care and prescription
drugs hit senior citizens out of all proportion to their numbers. Older Kansans should not also have to worry
about losing their homes as a result of “backdoor” taxation in the form increased valuation and assessment
of their homes. (Attachment 8)

Supporting HCR 5032 was Kansas Area Agencies on Aging Association, represented by Craig Kaberline,
Executive Director. This would benefit many seniors on fixed incomes who continue to experience significant
increases in their property values. This legislation would not keep seniors from paying property taxes; instead
it would cap the property valuation at its current level. (Attachment 9)

Karl Peterjohn, Kansas Taxpayers Network, address the committee in support of HCR 5032 saying that this
proposal would address a portion of the tax appraisal problem in Kansas, but it does not provide a broad based
solution for all taxable property. (Attachment 10)

With no other proponents regarding HCR 5032, the Chairman recognized Randall Allen, Kansas Association
of Counties as an opponent of the Resolution. The Association has two main concerns.

1) Limiting the growth in appraised valuation of real estate to a cap established by legislative enactment
would in no way guarantee lower taxes.

2) The second concern about this proposal lis the inequity that it would create between and among parcels.
After experiencing years neglect in our property tax administration system, county commissioners and state
officials expended the fiscal and political capital to make our system better. They urge the committee to
refrain from presenting this proposed constitutional amended to the votes. (Attachment 11)

League of Kansas Municipalities Assistant General Counsel, Larry Baer also gave testimony in opposition
to HCR 5032 asking the committee to remember that property tax is one of the three legs that support local
government finances. They adamantly oppose any amendment to the Kansas Constitution that alters the
current fair market value approach to valuing residential property or that would place any cap or limitation
on increase of valuation for residential property. (Attachment 12)

Kansas National Education Association represented by Mark Desetti addressed the committee in opposition
to HCR 5032. Their testimony stated that the proposals in this Resolution will cut revenue but the need for
law enforcement, fire protection, schools and support for our most vulnerable citizens will not go away just
because there is no money. Now is not the time to be slashing taxes. (Attachment 13)

With there being no other opponents, the Chairman closed the hearing on HCR 5032 and opened the public
hearing on HCR 5031.

Representative Doug Gatewood stood before the committee in favor of HCR 5031. This Resolution would
allow the legislature to do a serious study and debate of the property valuation system and empower the
legislature to change the system to reflect economic growth or use a methodology that controls increases in
valuation but does not limit local taxing jurisdictions. (Attachment 14) Representative Gate wood also
submitted for the committees’ review copies of letters from his constituents. (Attachment 15)

Ted & Connie Wary of Columbus, Kansas, Cherokee County presented charts showing like property
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evaluations as well as a listing of their reasons for appeal. (Attachment 16)

Next to stand before the committee as a proponent to HCR 5031 was Erik Sartorius representing the City of
Overland Park, Kansas. This legislation could require the legislature to limit increases in the assessed value
of residential property. It would alter the current State policy of tying the evaluation of a homeowner’s
property to its fair market value. Limiting the growth in the assessed valuations of residential property could
increase the tax burden for a number of homeowners. They urge the committee to report this Resolution
favorable for passage. (Attachment 17) '

Having heard all of the proponents, Chairman Edmonds recognized Randall Allen as the first opponent on
HCR 5031. Mr. Allen stood on his previous testimony which he gave on HCR 5032.

Larry Baer, Kansas League of Municipalities as well as Mark Desetti, Kansas NEA also stood on their
previous testimony.

Mark Beck of the Property Evaluation Department submitted testimony in opposition to HCR 5031 stating
that they were in opposition because it abolishes Kansas’ longstanding practice of applying a uniform standard
for valuing all real property. (Attachment 18)

Submitting written testimony on HCR 5031 were Marlee Carpenter, KCCI (Kansas Chamber of Commerce
and Industry (Attachment 19) and by Wes Ashton of the Overland Park Chamber of Commerce, both in
opposition to HCR 5031 (Attachment 20)

There were no other conferees on HCR 5031. The Chairman closed the hearing and opened the hearing on
HCR 5038.

Karl Peterjohn was recognized as an opponent on HCR 5038 and wished to stand on his previous testimony
given on the previous Resolutions.

Chairman Edmonds then turned to the opponents of HCR 5038. Randall Allen, Association of Counties;
Larry Baer, Kansas League of Municipalities; and Mark Desetti, Kansas NEA who also wished to stand on
their previous testimony of the day.

The Chairman noted written testimony on HB 2924 from Chris Wilson, Executive Director of the Kansas
Building Industry Association. This bill was heard on Tuesday, March 16, 2004. (Attachment 21)

With no further business before the committee the meeting was adjourned at 10:30 p.m.
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Homestead Credit and Circuit Breaker Programs

State governments offer two types of property tax credit programs--homestead credits and
circuit breaker programs. In this paper, “homestead” refers to owner-occupied residential
property. Homestead credit programs offer the same property tax credits to all eligible
households (see Appendix Tables B-1 and B-2). For example, New Jersey offers a tax credit of
$90 to all homeowners and $100 to all renters under age 65 whose income is $40,000 or less

(homeowners) or $100,000 or less (renters).

Fourteen states and the District of Columbia offer homestead credit programs. Of the 14
states, three (Indiana, Massachusetts, and Mississippi) offer some combination of homestead
credits and homestead exemptions. Eight offer these credits to homeowners of all ages. Five of
the 14 states (Connecticut, Delaware, Tennessee, Utah, and Virginia) and the District of
Columbia offer credits only to homeowners age 65 and older (or disabled for Connecticut,
Tennessee, Utah, and Virginia). Starting in 2001, Arkansas homeowners of all ages were
eligible to receive a $300 homestead credit.

In contrast, states also offer circuit breaker programs whereby tax credits or homestead
exemptions decrease as income increases.! Therefore, the tax credit or homestead exemption
changes, depending on income, for eligible households. Most of these circuit breaker programs
are limited to low- and moderate-income homeowners and renters (see Appendix Tables A-1 and
A-2). Circuit breaker programs usually relieve the property tax burden by setting income
thresholds, such as three percent of income, which property taxes cannot exceed (subject to a
maximum tax credit). Homeowners or renters whose property taxes are above the threshold
receive a rebate of some or all of their property taxes.

Thirty-five states and the District of Columbia have circuit breaker programs. Of the 35
states, five (Nebraska, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, and Washington) offer homestead
exemptions available statewide that act as circuit breakers (homestead exemptions decrease as
income increases). These five states are also classified as homestead exemptions (see page five
of this report).” The other 31 states and the District of Columbia offer tax credits.! All but 10 of
the 35 states!! offer circuit breaker programs to both homeowners and renters; nine of the 10
states offer circuit breaker programs only to homeowners, whereas Oregon offers a circuit
breaker program that is targeted to renters only. The District of Columbia also offers tax credits
to homeowners and renters. California, Hawaii, Indiana, Massachusetts, New Jersey, and

8 Some references define circuit breakers as property tax credits that decrease as income increases. However, we
choose also to include in the defintion of circuit breakers, programs in which homestead exemptions decrease as

income increases.

? These four states are described in Appendix Table A-1 and Appendix Table B-2.

10 North Dakota offers a homestead exemption to hameowners and a tax credit to renters. New York offers a tax
credit that is available statewide and a homestead exemption that is available as a local option.

!1 Hawaii, Idaho, Nebraska, New Hampshire, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Washington, and Wyoming.
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Table 1
Comparison of Homestead Exemptions with
Different Assessment Levels

Fair Assessment | Assessed | Homestead | Taxable Effective
Market Levels Value Exemption | Value* Exemption*
Value
Homeowner #1 | $100,000 | 20% $20,000 $10,000 $10,000 50%
Homeowner #2 | $100,000 | 80% $80,000 $10,000 $70,000 12.5%

*Taxable value equals the product of the fair market value multiplied by the assessment level minus the homestead
exemption. The effective exemption equals the homestead exemption divided by the assessed value.

Forty states and the District of Columbia provide homestead exemptions (see Appendix
Tables B-1 and B-2). This includes five state programs (Nebraska, New York, North Dakota,
Ohio, and Washington) that we classify as both homestead exemptions and circuit breaker
programs (see Appendix Table A-1 and Appendix Table B-2), since the homestead exemptions
phase out as income increases. It also includes three states (Indiana, Massachusetts, and
Mississippi) that offer some combination of homestead credit and homestead exemption
programs. In addition, Utah and Montana reduce residential property values by a prescribed
percentage rather than a dollar amount. However, even though Utah and Montana label these
reductions as residential exemptions, we do not consider them as homestead exemptions, since
they function more like assessment levels in calculating assessed or taxable property values.

In contrast to circuit breaker programs, which primarily target homeowners age 55 or older,
half of state homestead exemption programs and the District of Columbia provide exemptions to
homeowners of all ages. Six states (Colorado, Delaware, Kentucky, New Hampshire, North
Carolina, and West Virginia) offer them only to households age 65 and older (or disabled for
Delaware, Kentucky, North Carolina, and West Virginia). Nine states 1 offer exemptions only
to special population groups, such as disabled veterans. Of those states that offer programs to all
ages, 10 provide more generous benefits to homeowners age 65 and older than to younger
homeowners'>. Further, unlike most circuit breaker programs, which offer rebates to
homeowners as well as renters, no homestead exemption directly benefits renters.

Starting in property tax year 2002, Colorado homeowners age 65 and older who have owned
and lived in their homes for at least 10 consecutive years are eligible for a homestead exemption
equal to one-half the fair market value (up to $200,000) as determined by the assessment date.

14 Michigan, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, and Wyoming.

13 Alabama, Alaska, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, indiana, New York, South Carolina, and Texas.



Wisconsin offer state income tax deductions or credits to eligible renters that are not circuit
breaker programs, since the credit or deduction amount does not vary with taxpayer income (see

Appendix Table C-1).

Most state circuit breaker programs are targeted to homeowners at least 55 years of age
(more commonly age 65 and older) or disabled homeowners. Only 11 states!? and the District of
Columbia offer programs to homeowners of all ages (not including special population groups,
such as the disabled). Ofthe 11 states, five (Connecticut, Maine, Michigan, Montana, and New
York) offer one or more programs that are more generous to households age 65 and older than to

younger households.!?

~ Starting in tax year 2001, Massachusetts began offering a circuit breaker program to qualified
homeowners and renters. Qualified homeowners must be age 65 and older and have income of
$41,000 or less (single filers) or $61,000 or less (married, filing jointly). To qualify, the assessed
value (before exemptions but after abatements) of a homeowner’s principal residence cannot
exceed $412,000. The maximum refundable tax credit against income taxes is $385.

Starting on July 1, 2002, New Hampshire began offering a circuit breaker program to -
homeowners. Qualified homeowners must have an income of $20,000 or less (single filers) or
$40,000 or less (married). The maximum refundable tax credit can equal up to the total amount

owed for the state education property tax.

Homestead Exemptions

Homestead exemptions are reductions in the amount of assessed property value subject to
taxation for owner-occupied housing. The value of the tax reduction depends not only on the
exemption amount but also on the assessment level. As shown in Table 1, homeowners #1 and
#2 have the same homestead exemption and fair market values. However, homeowner #1
receives a greater tax reduction than homeowner #2 because of the lower legal assessment level.
The assessment level is a percentage that is multiplied by the fair market value to calculate the

assessed property value.

12 Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, Vermont,
Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

13 Maryland offers the same benefit to renters of all ages. However, renters under age 60 must have a dependent
under age 18 to qualify.



Appendix A

Table A-1

Circuit Breaker Programs for Homeowners: 2002

State Eligible Maximum Eligible Maximum Benefit
Homeowners Income
Artizona Age 65 and older $3,750 (single) $502
$5,500 (married couples,
filing jointly)
California* Age 62 and older, $37,119 $473
blind or disabled
Colorado Age 65 and older, $11,000 (single) $600
disabled, or $14,700 (married couples, '
. surviving spouse filing jointly)
age 58 and older
Connecticut Age 65 and older, $25,400 (single) $1,000 (single)
disabled, or $31,100 (married couples, | $1,250 (married couples,
surviving spouse filing jointly) filing jointly)
age 50 and older
All ages No income cap $500*
District of All ages $20,000 $750
Columbia
Hawaii Age 55 and older $20,600 $500
Idaho Age 65 and older, $20,750 $1,200
veterans, disabled,
blind, or surviving
spouses
Illinois Age 65 and older or $21,218 (1-person *
totally disabled household); $28,480 (2-
person household);
$35,740 (3-person
household)
Towa Age 65 and older or $17,588 $1,000
disabled !
Kansas Age 55 and older, $25.,000 $600
disabled, or with
dependent children
*See notes at end of table.
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State Eligible Maximum Eligible Maximum Benefit
Homeowners Income
Maine* Age 62 and older, $11,600 (single with no $400
or disabled age 55 dependents)
and older $14,400 (someone with a
spouse or dependents)
All ages $29,100 (single with no $1,000
dependents)
$45,100 (someone with a
spouse ot dependents)
Maryland* All ages None* *
Massachusetts™ Age 65 or older $42,000 (single) $790
$63,000 (married, filing
jointly)
Michigan All ages $82,650 $1,200
Minnesota All ages $81,600 $1,530
Missouri Age 65 and older or $25,000 (single) $750
disabled or age 60 | $27,000 (married couples,
and older receiving filing jointly)
surviving spousal
Social Security
benefits
Montana Age 62 and older $45,000 $1,000
All ages™ $16,824 (single) *
$22,432 (married couples,
filing jointly)
Nebraska Age 65 and older $25,700 (single)* ®
$30,300 (married couples,
filing jointly)*
Disabled $28,300 (single)* *
$32,600 (married couples)*
Nevada Age 62 and older $23,538 $500*
New Hampshire All ages $20,000 (single) Total tax credit from the

$40,000 (married couples)

state education property
tax

*See notes at end of table.
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State Eligible Maximum Eligible Maximum Benefit
Homeowners Income
New Jersey Age 65 and older or $100,000 $790
disabled
New Mexico Age 65 and older $16,000* $250
New York All ages $18,000* $375 (age 65 and older)
$75 (under age 65)
Age 65 and older $28,899 Up to the first 50%
AV,L
North Dakota Age 65 and older or $14,000* $2,000 taxable value
disabled
Ohio Age 65 and older or $24,100 $5,000 AV
disabled
Oklahoma Age 65 and older or $12,000 $200
disabled
Pennsylvania Age 65 and older, $15,000 $500
disabled, or
surviving spouses
_ age 50 and older
Rhode Island Age 65 and older or $30,000 $250
SSDI recipients*
South Dakota Age 65 and older or $9,750 (single) 35% of taxes due
disabled* $12,750 (multiple-member | (single); 55% of taxes
household) due (multiple-member
household)
Age 65 and older or $5,758 (single) 35% of municipal taxes
disabled* $7,765 (multiple-member due (single); 55% of
household) municipal taxes due
(multiple-member
household), L*
Utah Age 65 and older or $23,879 *
widowed
Vermont All ages $47,000 None
All ages $88,000 x
Washington Age 61 and older or $30,000 *
' disabled
West Virginia Age 65 and older $5,000 $125
AV=Assessed Value
L=Local Option

*See notes at end of table.
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State Eligible Maximum Eligible Maximum Benefit
: Homeowners Income
Wisconsin All ages $24,500 $1,160
Wyoming All ages 180% of the federal 50% of taxes paid the
poverty level* prior year or $500
: (whichever is less)

AV=Assessed Value

L=Local Option

SSDI= Social Security Disability Income
*Notes:

Connecticnt — Connecticut offers a circuit breaker program whereby residents of all ages and incomes are eligible
for an income tax credit of up to $500 off their real estate or car tax.

Illinois — The maximum benefit equals property taxes exceeding 3.5 percent of income, but not to exceed $700 less
4.5 percent of such income for a household income of $14,000 or less.

Maine — All homeowners whose income is less than $29,100 (single with no dependents) or $45,100 (someone with
a spouse or dependents) and whose property taxes are more than four percent of their household income are eligible
for a property tax refund of up to $1,000. Homeowners age 62 and older, or age 55 and older, and disabled and
whose income is less than $11,600 (single with no dependents) or $14,400 (someone with a spouse or dependents)
can qualify for a property tax refund of up to $400 without meeting the four-percent threshold requirement for
eligibility. However, homeowners who do meet the four-percent threshold are eligible for a property tax refund of
up to $1,000.

Maryland — The net worth of homeowners cannot exceed $200,000 (excluding the homestead itself). The
maximum benefit is up to taxes paid on the first $150,000 of assessed value.

Massachusetts — Starting in tax year 2001, Massachusetts began offering a circuit breaker program to qualified
homeowners and renters. To qualify, the assessed value (before exemptions but after abatements) of a homeowner’s
principal residence cannot exceed $425,000. :
Montana — The property tax rate is reduced by 80 percent for the maximum tax benefit. The property tax rate
reduction applies only to the first $100,000 of taxable value. To qualify for this benefit, homeowners must occupy
their home at least seven months of the year.

Nebraska — In addition to the income ceiling requirement, in order to qualify for the program, the homestead value
for homeowners age 65 and older cannot exceed $95,000, or 150 percent of the county’s average assessed value
(whichever is greater), plus $20,000. The maximum homestead exemption benefit for homeowners age 65 and
older equals $40,000 assessed value or 80 percent of the county’s average assessed value (whichever is greater).
For disabled homeowners, the maximum homestead exemption cannot exceed $110,000 assessed value, or 175
percent of the county’s average assessed value (whichever is greater) plus $20,000. The maximum homestead
exemption for disabled homeowners equals $50,000 assessed value, or 100 percent of the county’s average assessed
value (whichever is greater).

Nevada - The maximum benefit equals 90 percent of tax owed up to $500.

New Mexico — The income ceiling is $25,000 or less for Sandoval County residents, compared to $16,000 for all
other counties.

New York — The fair market value for all real properties cannot exceed $85,000 for eligibility for the statewide
circuit breaker program. Public subsidized housing is not eligible for the statewide circuit breaker program.

North Dakota — Assets may not exceed $50,000 (excluding the first $80,000 of the homestead’s market value).
Rhode Island — If sufficient state monies are available, homeowners and renters under age 65 can also apply to
receive full or partial credit.

South Dakota — Homeowners must have owned the property for which the refind is claimed for at least three years
or have been a state resident for five years for the statewide program. The local option program requires
homeowners to have owned and resided for at least five years in the property for which the reduction is claimed.
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Utah — The maximum benefit equals a $637 tax credit plus an additional credit equal to the tax on 20 percent of the

fair market value.
Vermont — The maximum benefit applied toward school property taxes for homeowners whose income is $88,000

or less is either a $15,000 homestead exemption, or the amount of school property taxes that exceed a factor (from
2.0% to 4.5%) multiplied by their household income (whichever is greater).
Washington — The maximum benefit equals up to 60 percent of total assessed value or $50,000 assessed value

(whichever is greater).
Wyoming — In addition to the 180 percent of the federal poverty level, the income ceiling changes based on the cost
of living for a particular county.

Source: Telephone survey of state legislative offices, state departments of revenue, state comptrollers offices, and
state treasury offices.
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Appendix B

Table B-1

Homestead Exemption and Credit Programs
Without Income Eligibility Requirements: 2002

State Eligible Homeowners Maximum Homestead
Exemption or Credit
Alabama All ages $4,000 AV (state taxes) and
$2,000 AV (county taxes)*
Over age 65 Full exemption (state taxes)
Alaska Age 65 and older, disabled $150,000 AV
veterans or Surviving spouses
over age 60
All ages $10,000 AV, L
Arizona All ages *
Arkansas All ages $300
California All ages $7,000 AV
Disabled veterans $100,000 AV*
Colorado Age 65 and older* 50% of the fair market value (up to $200,000)
Connecticut Age 65 and older or disabled L*
Delaware Age 65 and older 50% tax credit or $500 (whichever is less) on
school property taxes, L
District of All ages $30,000 AV
Columbia
Florida All ages $25,000 AV
Widows, blind, and disabled $500 AV
Totally disabled veterans ‘Full exemption
Georgia All ages $2,000 AV from state, county, and school property

Disabled veterans residing in an
independent or county school
district

taxes, except for school taxes levied by
municipalities and bonded indebtedness

$8,000 AV from state, county, school, municipal,

and special district taxes

$43,000 AV from state, county, municipal, and

school property taxes

AV=Assessed Value; L=Local Option; *See notes at end of table.
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Maximum Homestead

State Eligible Homeowners
Exemption or Credit
Hawaii Under age 55 $40,000 AV
Age 55 and older %
Disabled, blind, hearing $25,000 AV to full exemption
impaired
Fully disabled veterans Full exemption if owner-occupied
Idaho All ages $50,000 AV or 50% of AV, whichever is less, for
residential improvements
Illinois All ages $3,500 or $4,500 (Cook County) AV
All ages Up to a $45,000 exemption for the fair cash value
that was added to the homestead property by any
new improvement*
Age 65 and older $5,500 or $7,000 (Cook County) AV
Disabled veterans Up to $58,000 AV on a specially adapted home
_ purchased with federal funds
Indiana All ages x
Towa All ages $4,850 AV
Kansas All ages $2,300 AV or $20,000 fair market value for school
_ property taxes
Kentucky Age 65 and older or disabled $26,800 AV
Louisiana All ages $7,500 AV*
Maine All ages $7,000 AV
Blind $4,000 AV
WWI veterans age 62 and older $7,000 AV
and WWI widows of veterans
age 62 and older
Other veterans age 62 and older $5.000 AV
and other widows of veterans
age 62 and older
Disabled (paraplegic) and $47,500 AV

dependents

AV= Assessed Value; *See notes at end of table.
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State Eligible Homeowners Maximum Homestead
Exemption or Credit
Massachusetts Age 70 and older or $2,000 AV or $175 (whichever is greater)*
surviving spouse
Blind $5,000 AV or $437.50 (whichever is greater); local
option up to $500
Disabled (paraplegic) Full exemption
Michigan Certain disabled veterans Full exemption
Minnesota All ages ¥
Mississippi Under age 65 $300 tax credit*
Age 65 and older or disabled $7,500 AV*
Nevada Disabled veterans Up to $15,000 AV
Widows, orphans, and veterans $1,000 AV
Blind Up to $3,000 AV
New Jersey Age 65 and older Income tax deduction equal to property taxes paid
up to $10,000 or a $50 tax credit (whichever is a
, higher tax break)
New Mexico All ages $2,000 AV
New York All ages $30,000 AV for school property taxes*®
Qualifying veterans Exemption (local option) on 15% of AV toa
maximum of $12,000 if they served during
wartime™
North Carolina Disabled veterans $38,000 AV
Qhio All ages 12.5% of property taxes
Oklahoma All ages $1,000 AV
Oregon Disabled veterans or surviving $9,013 AV
spouses
Service-connected disabled $12,020 AV

veterans or SUrviving spouses

AV= Assessed Value
L=Local Option

*See notes at end of table.
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State Fligible Homeowners Maximum Homestead
Exemption or Credit
Pennsylvania All ages L*
Fully disabled veterans with Full exemption
service-related disability

Rhode Island* Veterans $1,000 AV

Blind $18,000 AV
South Carolina All ages $100,000 fair market value*®

Age 65 and older, disabled, or
blind

Paraplegics and disabled
veterans

$50,000 fair market value

Full exemption for the homestead and
the value of the land up to one acre

South Dakota Paraplegic veterans with Full exemption
specially adapted housing
Texas All ages $3,000 AV (county tax)*
Up to 20% of AV for any local taxing unit, such as
a school district, L
Under age 65 $15,000 AV (school taxes)
Age 65 and older or disabled $25,000 AV (school taxes)*
Additional exemption of at least $3,000 AV, L*
Utah* Disabled veterans Up to $82,500 taxable value
Blind Up to $11,500 taxable value
Vermont Disabled veterans $10,000 AV
West Virginia Age 65 and older or disabled $20,000 AV
Wisconsin All ages $300 tax credit toward personal income taxes
Wyoming Veterans $2,000 AV (not to exceed a tax benefit of $800);

disabled veterans may receive an additional $2,000
AV times their certified percent of disability.

AV = Assessed Value

L = Local Option

*Notes:

Alabama - Optional $2,000 exemption for other local taxing units.
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Arizona — Thirty-five percent of school taxes for operating and maintenance costs with a $500 cap on tax reduction.
Arkansas — Starting in 2001, homeowners of all ages are eligible to receive a $300 homestead credit.

California — Disabled veterans may not receive the $7,000 exemption for the general population if they are
receiving the disabled veteran exemption.

Colorado — Homeowners age 65 and older who have owned.and lived in their homes for at least 10 consecutive
years are eligible for a homestead exemption equal to one-half the fair market value (up to $200,000) as determined
by the assessment date.

Connecticat — In general, Connecticut localities provide homestead credits rather than homestead exemptions.
Hawaii — Exemptions for those age 55 and older increase with age, ranging from $60,000 assessed value (ages 55
to 59) to $80,000 assessed value (ages 60 to 64) to $100,000 assessed value (ages 65 to 69) to $120,000 assessed
value (age 70 and older). All homeowners have to pay a minimurn real property tax of $100. .

Tllinois — The $45,000 exemption is good for four years from the date the improvement was completed and
occupied. :

Indiana — Twenty percent of tax plus a homestead deduction of $35,000 assessed value or one-half of the total
assessed value (whichever is less). Homeowners can also deduct up to $2,500 of their property taxes from their
taxable state personal income.

Louisiana — Does not apply to municipal taxes except in Orleans Parish.

Massachusetts — Local option to have higher benefits. For example, Boston offers homeowners a homestead
exemption equal to 30 percent of the average assessed value in Boston. The Boston exemption applies to property
that is owned and occupied by homeowners as their primary residence.

Minnesota — The homestead credit equals 0.4% of property taxes on the first $76,000 of fair market value with a
maximum benefit of $304 at 2 market value of $76,000. The credit is reduced by 0.09% of the market value in
excess of $76,000 until the credit equals zero at property valued at $413,800 and greater.

Mississippi — Homeowners age 65 and older or disabled do not pay the entire tax on the first $7,500 assessed value.
This would be equivalent to $75,000 of the fair market value, since a ten-percent assessment ratio is used.
Homeowners under age 65 receive up to a $300 tax credit if their assessed value is $7,351 or over or a fair market
value of $73,510 or over.

Montana — In 2000, Montana reduced residential assessed property values first by 27.5% and then by 96.5%
(effectively reduced by 97.4%) to compute the taxable value of property. Since the 27.5% and the 96.5% are not
dollar amounts, this report does not consider them to be homestead exemptions. However, in Montana the 27.5%
ratio is known as a “homestead exemption”.

New York — The $30,000 exemption increased in counties where median home prices exceed the state average but
is not reduced if median home prices are below the state average. The exemption for veterans applies to all local
property taxes except for school property taxes.

Pennsylvania — This state has a local option program in which up to 5 0% of the median assessed value of
residential properties for school and municipal property taxes can be exempted.

Rhode Island — Some localities may provide other forms of homestead exemptions.

South Carolina — The $100,000 exemption applies only te school operating taxes.

Texas — Local taxing units have the option of granting an exemption of at least $3,000 for homeowners age 65 and
older or disabled. Ifa county collects a tax for farm-to-market roads or for flood control, the county must grant a
$3,000 exemption for this tax to all homeowners of all ages. Ifa county also grants an optional exemption for
homeowners age 65 and older or disabled, homeowners receive only the local-option exemption. Localities also
have the option of granting up to a 20% exemption on property taxes for homeowners of all ages.

Utah — Utah also reduces residential assessed property values by 45% to compute the taxable value of property for
primary residences (i.e., taxable property value equals the assessed property value times 45%). Since the 45% is not
a dollar amount, this report does not consider it to be a homiestead exemption; instead it is considered to be a type of
assessment level. Utah considers the 45% to be a “residential exemption.”

Source: Telephone survey of state legislative offices, state departments of revenue, state comptrollers offices, and
state treasury offices.



Table B-2

Homestead Exemption and Credit Programs:
With Income/Asset Eligibility Requirements: 2002

State Eligible Income Caps Maximum Homestead
Homeowners Exemption or Credit
Alabama Over age 65 $12,000 AGT $5,000 AV (local taxes)
Over age 65 $7,500 AGI Full exemption (state and
local taxes)
California Disabled veterans $42 814 $150,000 AV*
Delaware Age 65 and older L* L*
_ or disabled
District of Age 65 and older $100,000 Up to 50% of taxes
Columbia
Florida Age 65 and older $20,000 $25,000 AV, L
Georgia Age 62 and older $10,000 $10,000 AV*
Age 65 and older $10,000 $4,000 AV*
Indiana Age 65 and older | $25,000 $6,000 AV*
Blind or disabled $17,000 $6,000 AV
Iowa Disabled veterans $35,000 Full exemption
Massachusetts Age 70 and older, $13,000 (single)* $4,000 AV or $500 credit,
surviving $15,000 (married couple)* (whichever is greater)*
spouses, and '
certain veterans
Montana Fully disabled $30,000 (single) Full exemption
veterans or $36,000 (married, filing
surviving jointly)
spouses $25,000 (surviving spouse)
Nebraska Age 65 and older $25,700 (single)* *
$30,300 (married couples,
filing jointly)*
Disabled $28,300 (single)* *
$32,600 (married couples)*
New Hampshire | Age 65 and older $13,400 (single) i

$20,400 (married couples)

L = Local Option
AV= Assessed Value

*See notes at end of table.




State Eligible Income Caps Maximum Hemestead
Homeowners Exemption or Credit
New Jersey Age 65 and older, $10,000* $250
totally disabled,
or their surviving
spouses age 55
and older
Under age 65 $40,000 (homeowners) $90 (homeowners)
$100,000 (renters) .$100 (renters)
Under age 65 More than $10,000 (single) | Income tax deduction equal
or more than $20,000 to property taxes paid (up to
(married, filing joint) $10,000) or a $50 tax credit
(whichever is a higher tax
break)
All ages $200,000 *
New York Age 65 and older $62.100 $50,000 AV for school
' property taxes
Age 65 and older 528,899 Up to the first 50% AV, L
North Carolina Age 65 and older $18,000 $20,000 AV or 50% AV
or disabled (whichever is greater)
North Dakota Age 65 and older $14,000% $2,000 taxable value
or disabled :
Ohio Age 65 and older $24,100 $5,000 AV
; or disabled
Oklahoma All ages $20,000 $2,000 AV
Tennessee Age 65 and older $12,210 »
or disabled
Utah Age 65 and older $23,879 Abatement of 50% of tax up
or disabled to $637,L
Virginia Age 65 and older o All property taxes, L
or disabled
Washington Age 61 and older $30,000 *
or disabled

AV=Assessed Value; L = Local Option; AGI = Adjusted Gross Income

*Notes:

California — Disabled veterans may not receive the $7,000 exemption for the general population if they are
receiving the disabled veteran exemption.
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Delaware — Some Delaware localities offer homestead exemptions for non-school property taxes.

Georgia — For homeowners age 62 or older, $10,000 of assessed value is applied to school property taxes if earned
and any retirement income (such as pension income) exceeding $41,764 is $10,000 or less; for homeowners age 65
or clder, $4,000 assessed value for state and county property taxes if earned income and any retirement income
(such as pension income) exceeding $41,764 is $10,000 or less.

Indiana — The maximum homestead exemption for homeowners age 65 and older is $6,000 in assessed value or
one-half the assessed value (whichever is less). In addition, homeowners age 65 and older cannot own a primary
residence worth more than $69,000 in assessed value to be eligible for the exemption.

Massachusetts — Localities have the option of reducing the age requirement from 70 to 65, increasing the income
requirements from $13,000 to $20,000 (single) and from $15,000 to $30,000 (married couple), and raising the
maximum homestead credit from $500 to $1,000.

Nebraska — In addition to the income ceiling requirement, in order to qualify for the program, the homestead value
for homeowners age 65 and older cannot exceed $95,000, or 150 percent of the county’s average assessed value
(whichever is greater), plus $20,000. The maximum homestead exemption benefit for homeowners age 65 and
older equals £40,000 assessed value or 80 percent of the county’s average assessed value (whichever is greater).
For disabled homeowners, the maximum homestead exemption cannot exceed $110,000 assessed value, or 175
percent of the county’s average assessed value (whichever is greater) plus $20,000. The maximum homestead
exemption for disabled homeowners equals $50,000 assessed value, or 100 percent of the county’s average assessed
value (whichever is greater).

New Hampshire — Homeowners must have been a resident for at least five years. Assets (excluding a person’s
residence) cannot exceed $35,000. Homestead exemptions have to equal at least $5,000 in assessed property value.
The income and assets limits as well as the homestead exemptions can be increased with voter approval.

New Jersey — The $10,000 income ceiling excludes Social Security benefits or a government pension up to the
maximum amount of Social Security benefit allowed (whichever is greater). The maximum homestead credit for
the homestead credit with an income cap of $200,000 equals 40 percent of the school property taxes on the first
$45,000 of equalized dssessed value. Taxpayers cannot benefit from both this credit and the circuit breaker
progratu.

Nerth Dakota — Assets may not exceed $50,000 (excluding the first $80,000 of the homestead’s market value).
Tennessee — Tax credit is based on the first $18,000 market value or on a maximum assessed value of $4,500:
actual credit depends on tax rates and other related factors.

Virginia — Local option to exempt all property taxes for taxpayers with incomes at or below $30,000 and whose net
worth is below $100,000 (excluding dwelling); some cities and adjacent counties exempt taxes for persons with
incomes below $52,000 and whose net worth is below $193,000 (excluding dwelling). '
Washington — The maximum benefit equals up to 60 percent of total assessed value or $50,000 assessed value
(whichever is greater).

Source: Telephone survey of state legislative offices, state departments of revenue, state comptrollers offices, and
state treasury offices.
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CONCEPT

. Annually identifying market value but limiting the increases in the value of
real property to no more than the increase in the Consumer Price Index.
For purposes of this illustration, we have used the Consumer Price Index
fot all Urban Consumers (CPI-U) for the Kansas City area acquired from
the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.

« Following are properties from Johnson and Wyandotte counties. The
samples consist of residential properties that are increasing in value,
remaining relatively stable and properties that are declining in value. The
properties include a brief description and a graph depicting the
relationship between the annual market changes and the change based on
the CPI-U. The examples given make the assumption that any property
value decreasing will not be limited by the defined percentage. In the
calculations to follow a base maximum percent used was 3%. The CPI-U
is shown below for the year developed and the tax year applied against.

Tax Year CPI-U Housing KC. Year Dex}eloped

1994 2.5% 1993
1995 2.1% 1994
1996 2.7% 1995
1997 4.2% (3% cap) 1996

HOUSE TAXATION
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16501 Horton St.
046-7P1-40-0-00-00-00.17

I'his property is a five bedroom, three and one-half bath, full basement Conventional Style home with a two car garage.
The home contains 3,760 square feet of living area and is located on a 141 ft. x 305 ft. lot. This home was built in 1976
and is considered a B grade.

o Value comparison of current market value to CPI CAP value.
s Appreciating neighborhood.

Appraised Value
$300,000 - e - - i e : 1997 Values
l 5287,700
$250,000 -
$200,000 +
$174,024
-39.51%
L
$150,000 +
i
$100,000
i
$50,000 - ; : : —e
1993 1994 1995 1996 1997

:"—'CPI CAP V__alueﬁ —o—Current Market Value




7322 Lafayette Lane
105-022-00-0

This property is a three bedroom, two bath, full basement Bilevel Style home with a two car basement garage. The home
contains 1702 square feet of living area and is located on a 85 ft. x 150 ft. lot. This home was built in 1963 and is
considered a C grade.

Value Comparison of current market value to CPI CAP value.
o Static neighborhood.

Appraised Vaiue
$95,000 | |
$85,000 +
575,000 +

565,000 4 . 1997 Values

3= S & - - ———g $61,800
$61,800
-0.00%

555,000 -+

45,000

535,000

$25,000

$15,000

$5,000 ‘ t : :
1993 1994 1995 1996 1997

g

=== Current Markel Value ~ —s—Current Markel Value J
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1118 Argentine Boulevard
105-072-55-9

This property is a two bedroom, one bath, partial basement Bungalow Style home with no garage. The home contains 967
square feet of living area and is located on a 25 fl. x 115 ft. lot. This home was built in 1920 and is considered a D grade.

o Value Comparison of current market value to CPI CAP value.
s Declining neighborhood.

Appraised Value

$95,000 +

585,000

.

575,000 +
$65,000 +
555,000
345,000 +
535,000 +
525,000

515,000 | 1997 Values
59,800
e s 59,800
$5,000 - ; : : - 0.00%
1993 1924 1985 1996 1997

o —

“CPI CAP Value —3=Currenl Market Value ' !




SUMMARY

As can be seen from the individual properties, the annual valuation
procedure does have certain "spikes," either up or down, depending on the
market conditions. Since each year is a stand alone value and is heavily
influenced by the prior year's economic activity, the chances of change,
possibly substantial, are present.

The use of the CPI-U to limit increases tends to reduce the severity of any
yearly market increases. As can be seen by the graphs, the neighborhoods
that are experiencing substantial growth benefit more from the use of an
index than do properties in stable or declining neighborhoods.
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Tax Shift Comparison
1992 CPI 1993 CPI 1994 CPI 1995 CPI 1996 CPI Total Taxes needed
1.4% 2.5% 2.1% 2.7% 4.2% (3% cap) $270,250.00
Neighborhood A
(Appreciating 8% per year)
Market Value CPI CAP Value
Total Total
Valuation Assessed Assessed
Year Total Value Value Mill Levy | Tax Dollars | Total Value Value Mill Levy Tax Dollars
1993 $15,000,000| $1,725,000 100.000 | $172,500.00 | $14,083,333 | $1,619,583 | 104.059 $168,532.29
1994 $16,200,000 | $1,863,000 95.335 $177,608.52 | $14,435,417 | $1,660,073 102.685 | $170,465.38
1995 $17,496,000| $2,012,040 90.744 | $182,580.76 | $14,738,560 | $1,694,934 | 101.558 $172,133.60
1996 $18,895,6801 $2,173,003 86.243 $187,405.82 | $15,136,502 | $1,740,698 | 100.045 $174,147.72
1997 $20,407,334 | $2,346,843 81.844 $192,074.43 | $15,590,597 | $1,792,919 98.341 $176,316.86
Neighborhood B
(Static)
Market Value CPI CAP Value
Total
Valuation Total Assesse _ Assesse
Year Total Value Value Mill Levy | Tax Dollars | Total Value Value Mill Levy | Tax Dollars
1893 $6,000,000 $690,000 100.000 $69,000.00 $6,000,000 $690,000 104.059 $71,800.74
1994 $6,000,000 $690,000 95.335 $65,780.93 $6,000,000 $690,000 102 685 - $70,852.98
1995 $6,000,000 $690,000 90.744 $62,613.43 $6,000,000 $690,000 101.558 $70,074.80
1996 | $6,000,000 | $690,000 86.243 | $59,507.51 | $6,000,000 | $690,000 100.045 | $69,030.90
1997 $6,000,000 $690,000 81.844 $56,472.18 $6,000,000 $690,000 98.341 $67,855.08
Neighborhood C
(Declining 2% per year)
Market Value CPI CAP Value
Total
Valuation Total Assesse Assesse
Year Total Value Value Mill Levy | Tax Dollars | Total Value Value Mill Levy Tax Dollars
1993 $2.500,000 | $287,500 | 100.000 | $28,750.00 | $2,500,000 | $287,500 | 104059 | $29,916.97
1994 | $2,450,000 | $281,750 95335 | $26,860.55 | $2,450,000 | $281,750 102.685 | $28,931.63
1995 $2.401,000 | $276,115 | 90.744 | $25055.81 | $2,401,000 | $276,115 , 101558 | $28,041.60_
1906 | $2.352,080 | $270,593 86.243 | $23,336.66 | $2,352,980 | $270,593 100.045 | $27,071.39
1997 $2,305,920 $265,181 | 81.844 $21,703.39 $2,305,820 $265,181 98.341 $26,078.07
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Summary

Neighborhood A Neighborhood B Neighborhood C
Valuation Market CPI CAP Market CPI CAP Market CPI CAP
Year Taxes Taxes % Difference| Taxes Taxes |% Difference] Taxes Taxes % Difference
1993 | $172,500.00|%168,532.29 -2.30% $69,000.00| $71,800.74 4.06% $28,750.001$29,916.97 4.06%
1994 |$177,608.52|$170,465.38 -4.02% $65,780.93|%$70,852,98 7.71% $26,860.55|$28,931.63 7.71%
1995 |$182,580.76|%$172,133.60 -5.72% $62,613.43|%$70,074.80| 11.92% |$25,055.81{%$28,041.60|. 11.82%
1996 |[$187,405.82{%174,147.72 -71.07% $59,507.51|%69,030.90| 16.00% |$23,336.66|%$27,071.39 16.00%
1997 |%192,074.43|%176,316.86 -8.20% $56,472.18|%67,855.08| 20.16% |%$21,703.39|%$26,078.07 20.16%

The three neighborhoods A, B, and C consist of the following:

Neighborhood A - 100 homes with an average value of $150,00 each
Neighborhood B - 100 homes with an average value of $60,000 each
Neighborhood C - 100 homes with an average value of $25,000 each

Neighborhood A is appreciating at the rate of eight percent per year, neighborhood B is static, and neighborhood C is declining at
the rate of two percent per year. The three neighborhoods combined must raise $270,250 in tax revenue. For purposes of this
illustration, we have used the same total tax revenue for all five valuation years.
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Concerns
Appeals

 Current appeal statutes will require amendment to clarify just what is
appealable. Would only the current year's market value, forming the basis
for it's taxable value with the growth limit applied, be appealable?

» If the previous years taxable or market values are allowed to be
challenged, several years of historical market data must be accessible for
appeals. This will increase administrative costs by retaining historical
market data to be used in appeals.

Tax

- If tax values do not grow proportionately because of the percent growth
limit concept, unless spending is reduced mill levies will change to offset
the difference and impose the offsetting burden on all properties.

 If the mill levy must be adjusted as a result of the use of the percent
growth limit concept, various class' of property will pick up a
disproportional share of the increased levies.

Concept

» This process would benefit the property owners in affluent subdivisions
with increasing markets. Property owners in older, slow growth areas of
the inner city and low income residents in declining neighborhoods, as
well as most rural property owners, will see little or no benefit.
Ultimately, property owners in slow growth areas will be paying property

taxes at a higher percentage of taxes to market value.

«  The growth limit percent concept may lead to annual increases in taxable
value, even when there is no current increase in market value.
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Administrative Process

« The growth limit percent concept will create a number of unique problems
for public utility real property. The market value of a public utility is, by
statute, developed on a "unitary basis".

+ Legislation would be necessary to determine how the growth limit percent
concept would be applied or influenced when a property is "split or
combined".

» Legislation would be necessary to determine how the growth limit percent
concept would be applied or influenced when property changes use and/or
class.

 Legislation would be necessary to determine how the growth limit percent
concept would be applied or influenced when a property sustained
additions, demolition or damage due to natural disaster.

* The current Kansas CAMA system does not have an historical file.
Software enhancements to administer the additional years data would be
required.

« The current hardware used to operate the CAMA system on the AS400 is
sized and configured for storage to handle the current software.
Additional storage would be required to hold the additional historical data
and resultant appeal computations.
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STATE OF KANSAS

TOPEKA

HOUSE OF
REPRESENTATIVES

Thank you Chairman Edmonds, and members of the committee, for allowing us to bring this issue in front of
you. HCR 5032 would cap property tax valuation increases on single-family residential property with a
valuation of less than $250,000 which is owned and occupied by a Kansas resident that is 65 years of age or
older as of January 1% of the tax year. This bill would also allow for the legislature to provide by law for
subsequent adjustments to the age and the valuation requirements and to enact such other legislation as 1s
necessary to administer this program.

We bring this issue because of a growing concern over the ever increasing property valuations and the impact
that it is having on our seniors, especially those on fixed incomes. The issue of escalating property tax
valuations is always a contentious issue with property owners. Atalmost every legislative coffee or other town
hall meeting, we hear elderly homeowners express their concerns about their ability to afford to live in their
homes and communities. Because of the tax situation, the future of seniors living in their own homes is in
jeopardy. The fact is the increasing property tax burden is forcing seniors to make life altering decisions about
where they are going to live based on tax considerations, instead of considering healthneeds or simply personal
preferences.

Over the last five years, Kansans have seen an average increase of thirty seven percent in their assessed
valuation. Some counties have seen increases over that time period as high as forty-seven percent. This
translates in individual property tax increases of hundreds of dollars. To those on fixed incomes, these
increased taxes put strain on an already overly-burdened budget.

Kansas seniors have seen double digit increases in the costs of insurance, prescriptions, utilities and property
taxes. These growing costs eat away at any possible increases in benefits and any savings that they may have
accumulated during their lives.

There are those that would say that increased valuation is good news to homeowners because their investments
are more valuable. That’s a good argument for a younger homeowner who wants to move on from a starter
home, but it doesn’t offer much to a senior who is trying to stay in the home that they have had all their lives.
I guess seniors, too, could sell and possibly take advantage of the increases in their property value, but then
what would they do and where could they go?

i o IRSSOORIN.. .|, 'O, PR, SRR, URRPIE NP . 3 1
There will also be thosc that will say that we cannot afford to do this, that the impact on budget would have

a negative effect on our school funding. What kind of message are we sending to our children? We are
teaching them that it is all right to sacrifice the very generation that has made our communities and our state
what it is today.

HCR 5032 may not be the perfect solution. We offer this to start the debate so that we can begin to address
the tremendous burden felt by seniors across this state.

Thank you for allowing us to speak on behalf of HCR 5032.

Rep. Lee Tafanelli HOUSE TAXATION Rep. Kenny Wilk
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Testimony On HCR 50322
Elsie Flynn-Meyer
Jefferson County, KS.

HOUSE COMMITTEE ON TAXATION
REP. John Edmonds, Chairman

My name is Elsie Flynn-Meyer

My intention today is to represent the many Senior Citizens who are living on a low income,
and are paying high property taxes that continue to increase. You have heard it before and will
again, over and over. “ Are we going to be taxed out of our home?” It hardly seems fair to reach
this age and have to live in fear of this happening. Are we being punished for living longer?

I am a widow, age 70. I live in Jefferson County and I’'m a member of the Perry United
Methodist Church. I enjoy the people and we work together. I’'m part of a group of widow
ladies. Their fear of the rising property taxes have become a big concern. When I first read about
putting a lid on property taxes, I felt there was a real need for it or hopefully some-thing better.

My story is like every other Senior Citizen, paying more for taxes than we receive in a month.
Being widowed, there is only one SS check and for me a small pension from a job I held for 6
years. I have made ends meet by cashing in my small CD’s. The interest was next to nothing so
the decision to cash in was an easy one. I'm not looking too far in the future, I know and I may
be sorry. Things do happen, like some-one hitting my car in the parking lot and left without a
note. My cost, $500.00 plus car rental for a week

We widows discovered that everything breaks the first year after our husband has passed away.
Not having someone around to fix it, we pay, and pay. The yard needs mowing and you guessed
1t-the mower won’t start.

I had written a page of facts and figures, but after visiting with my friend Guilia, T have to tell her
story. Guilia became a widow in 1990. She has taken good care of her home and yard. Her
husband added on the home as time went on. The assessed value in the year 2003 was$150,000.
This year it became $10,540.00 more, the total being $161,040. Her increase in property taxes
totaled more than $400.00 for a grand total of $2140.84. Shocking to say the least. Sleeping
nights have become restless. The worry is needless and so unfair.

Why do Senior Citizens need to increasingly pay at a time in their lives when they can least

afford it; Because we are living longer, the Government should take a good look at the situation
and make our retirement years less stressful. Putting a lid on what we now have to pay will not
make it any easier for a lot of us on our limited income.

Please, please do something. I appreciate the opportunity to speak and to share our story.

Thank you.
' éé/jm/ %ﬂ/ﬁ 2 /7/(’74&
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Testimony on HCR No. 5032 House Taxation Cor ‘e

Melville W. Gray, (Ret.) Rep. John Edmonds, Jrman
Jefterson County, Kansas 17 March 2004

I am Melville W. Gray. I appreciate the opportunity to testify on HCR 5032 because I believe it to be very
important to the senior citizens of Kansas. In past years, I have always been amused to hear “old timers” tell a
story and relate with reference to “now back in the good old days”, or “in the blizzard of 86 it was like this™, all
referring to incidents over 100 years ago. Now I can relate to “back in 86”, because 1986 was the year [ retired.
Fran and I retired to our rural home in south central Jefferson County never envisioning the pitfalls of the economy
that were going to face us. The every increasing real property tax based on market value of our home, was but one
of many factors to make us “economically challenged”. The implementation of the provisions of HCR 5032 could
be a welcome segment of relief to a majority of retirees over age 65 and those that will follow.

I'would like to briefly list a few of the other contributing economic drains that are occurring on retirees.

1.

Nearly all retirees have an automatic 7% additional tax increase on their retirement income — SALES TAX.

2. General cost of living increases reflect in Social Security checks that increase each year in accord with the

3.

Consumer Price Index. The checks are increased by 2% or 3% but do not reflect all cost increases.

In parallel with cost of living increases, very few retirees have received an increase in income. The Social
Security increases have been mostly eaten by the increased cost of Medicare. Retirees have basically had a
stagnant income over the years since 1990. Many have had a decrease in income if part of that income was
derived from investments. The 911 incidents and following years have been a real financial loser.

If you are driving the Turnpike to see one of your doctors, even the Turnpike fees have increased
significantly. And if you think the price of gasoline hasn’t increased, think again. It is about doubled now
as opposed to 1990.

Health care costs are about to kill us. The state sponsored secondary health care insurance (paid totally by
retirees) has doubled in cost over the past five years alone — year 2004 it is $632 per month for retiree and
spouse. My neighbor lady was in her doctors office just this month and overheard two ladies talking. The
one lady was a state retiree and indicated the state sponsored health insurance had increased this year to the
point she had to drop it and go to a general Blue Cross policy because the cost of the state policy exceeded
the total amount of her retirement check. As a result, she was only taking one-half of her blood pressure
medicine. This is just asking for a stroke to happen and then the woman will be on Medicaid with public
funds paying for all her care. There are between 25,000 and 26,000 public service retirees from state, city,
county, and school districts that could not pay for this secondary health insurance for a retiree and spouse
with their entire KPERS retirement check. They are not getting the kind of health care they deserve.

I could go on with examples of economic stress that are imposed on our seniors but it is necessary to get to
the meat of HCR 5032. I am editor of a News Letter to a group of retirees and in May of 2002 I wrote an
article from which I take the following. “Earlier this year (2002), the Mayor of joint city-county govt. in
KC-Wyandotte Co. made a classical announcement. She told the public “I have good news and bad news.
The good news is our property valuation is going up significantly (the bldg. Boom associated with the
NASCAR track). The bad news is our property taxes are going up significantly because of this.”  Of
course the property taxes are going to go up unless the mill levy is appropriately reduced. Think what this
is going to do to the working man that has retired and expects to live out his life in the house that is paid
for. Every year that goes by, he is stressed by the myriad of increased economic costs partially listed
above.

The following Table — Residential Real Property, traces the short but devastating history of the annual
property tax assessed in four counties (Wyandotte, Douglas, Shawnee, and Jefferson) that were arbitrarily
chosen, but making sure my own county was there so I could verify conclusions.

The basis for development was as follows:

A. All figures relate to a home with an assumed market value of $100,000 in year 1990,
B. The market value and assessed valuation of the home does not increase from this point in accord with
HCR 5032,

C. The annual property tax will increase or decrease only in relation to the assessed mill levy.
HOUSE TAXATION
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Paga 2 — HCR 5032
M.W. Gray

Of interest is looking at the Mill Levy. In each county there appears to be a “politically correct” philosophy in the
adjustment of the Mill Levies which have been deceptively maintained at no increase or even a decrease. With one
exception, the increase is negative or at most a 1.8% increase but the assessed valuation is out of sight and
increased tax monies roll into the coffers. A residential home value has increased by over 200%. A $50,000 home
in 1990 Jefferson County, will have a market value of $103,180. The example $100,000 home now has a market
value of $207,130 and a tax load of over $2800.

It should be obvious the savings provided for in HCR 5032 can be significant relief to the worker expecting to
spend the rest of his life at home and is not looking to sell at a profit and look for another home in unfamiliar
surroundings.

The provisions of HCR 5032 is highly endorsed for its deserved benefits. Many other states have instituted similar
tax relief for retirees. Those I know of are Oregon, Washington, Oklahoma, and I believe Texas. This relief could
provide payment for several more prescriptions each month.

It should be recognized this Legislature has been requested to increase both the property tax and sales tax. Without
HCR 5032, the senior citizens will suffer both tax stresses.
I just received my assessed valuation notice for year 2004. It has increased by 23% over 2003, o
Residential Real Property
Comparison of Property Tax Paid By Retirees Without & With

Valuation Cap As Provided In HCR No. 5032, Session Of 2004.
Calculations assume a starting residential property with a 1990 valuation of $100,000.& in conformance
with proposals of HCR 5032 & the With Cap column is carried forward at that valuation without increasing,

| Annual Property Tax
Average County-Wide on $100,000 home based
Year County - on Assessed Valuation
Mill Levy % Change Assessed Valuation % Change & uniform appraisal
$/$1000 Valuation | Mill Levy Millions of Dollars Assessed Valuation | Without Cap | With Cap
1990 | Wyandotte $161.42~ | $567~—r__| $1937. | $1937.
=~-+10.6 % - 6%
1995 $178.55 «_ $593 $2148. | $2053.
114 % ™ 167.5%
2003 $158.14 = | , $993, < $3186. | $1819.
1990 | Douglas $120.93 ~_| $341, —__| $1451. | $1451.
> 389 - 2%
1995 $11639=_| $484, = $1901. | $1338.
= 999 | +85. %
2003 $104.83 = | $896. < | $3166. | $1206.
1990 | Shawnee $152.81~_ $777. = $1833. $1833.
/2‘ -2.08 % *____;‘_2‘ +12. %
1995 $149.62 £_| $874. T | $1927.  |$1720
~S-11.6 % =~ 148.%
2003 $132.28 < | $1,203, = | $2522 $1521.
1990 | Jefferson $117.02 —_ $58. — $1404. $1404.
™11.8% - 345%
1995 $119.112 $78, —___| $1846. $1370.
> +0.27 %. > 154.%
2003 $119.43 = | $120. = | $2842, $1373.
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Mr. Chairman and members of the Committee, thank you for the opportunity to
furnish testimony regarding the possibility of providing property tax relief to
seniors citizens. My name is Jan O. Sides, and I am with the State Employees
Association of Kansas (SEAK).

We have all heard horror stories about the financial difficulties of many of our
senior citizens—do they pay the gas bill, buy food, or buy Rx drugs. We are not
going to go into detail about this, since we are sure that you have heard many such
stories from your constituents.

Using retirees under the KPERS system as an example, we know they have not
received any increases in benefits for five (5) years from KPERS, if they are under
the state Health Care Program they have experienced significant increases in
premiums, and if they invested in a tax sheltered program or stocks they have seen
their savings dwindle. Many on Social Security saw their increase this year over
shadowed by the increase in their Part B Medicare premium. Basically everything
cost more today—and yet many seniors live on a fixed income if not a shrinking
income.

Each year they see an increase in the valuation of their property and/or an increase
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will help some more than others. But one of the things we keep hearing is “every
little bit helps”.

We appreciate you considering this proposal and encourage you to pass this
resolution.

Thank you for you time and consideration on this issue. I stand for questions.

HOUSE TAXATION
Attachment &

PO Box 5110 Topeka, KS 66605011 0 Phone: 785-267-1515 Fax: 785-379-95 Date 3 -~/ 7-0 4




Jayhawk Area Agency on Aging, Inc.

JEFFERSON

SHAWNEE
Maria C. Russo 1720 SW Topeka Blvd
Executive Director Topeka, Kansas 66612
Phone (785) 235-1367
Fax  (785) 235-2443

DOUGLAS

House Concurrent Resolution No. 5032

Testimony by Maria Russo, Executive Director
Jayhawk Area Agency on Aging

March 17, 2004

“Home is where the heart is. For Midwesterners, more so than for residents of any
other region, that home is often their very own. According to the Census Bureau, every
state in the Midwest boasts a home ownership rate above the national average of 66.2
percent.”! The home ownership rate in Kansas is 69.2 percent.

This resolution supports the work of the area agencies on aging — to help seniors live
independent and dignified lives. Our primary focus is on those seniors who are the
lowest economic levels and who are the most frail.

The eleven area agencies on aging throughout Kansas all work to help seniors remain
in their homes. In the past year, Jayhawk Area Agency on Aging assisted more than
7,000 seniors — assisted them with in-home services paid for with state and federal

funds and assisted them in accessing other community services that are not part of the
state and federal network.

Many seniors are on fixed incomes and challenged by rising costs, most notably for

prescriptions and health care. Reducing their tax obligation will help them to better deal
with these other concermns.

Support of this resolution is offered because it will assist seniors in maintaining their
independence in the community a bit longer by extending their financial resources.
Anything that can delay nursing home care is a benefit to the state.

HOUSE TAXATION
Attachment 7/
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The average cost of nursing home care in Kansas is $30,000 per year.? The average
length of stay in a nursing home until Medicaid is paying the bill is just over one year.
Medicaid, supported by state and federal taxes, pays the bill for approximately two
years.? All avenues that reduce time spent in a nursing home are beneficial to the state.

The inclusion of the ability to adjust the age and the valuation requirements is
appreciated. What seems relevant in today’s discussion or in a particular part of the
state may not be relevant to another time or place. Income requirements would allow

this change to support those who are most vulnerable to the hardship caused by
valuation increases.

As long as seniors are in the community, they are contributing to the well being of the
community and the state by being consumers and participants. Seniors want to stay in
their homes as long as possible. Helping them to do that is not only a good thing to do,
but also is the right thing to do.

# Kansas Department on Aging



House Taxation Committee
HCR 5032 - March 17, 2004

Mr. Chairman, members of the House Taxation Committee, | am Jim
Snyder of the Council of the Silver Haired Legislature. | am appearing this
morning in support of HCR 5032.

Across the state, many senior citizens have been seeing both new
schools and their property taxes go up, up, up. As a result, some house-rich
but cash-poor seniors are faced with a difficult dilemma. While most senior
citizens support better education for their community's youth, they are torn
between the new schools in their neighborhoods and their rapidly increasing
property taxes. Should they oppose education or get ready to move out of
their long-time home? For many Kansans this is no exaggeration. The
National Commission on Affordable Housing and Health Facility Needs for
Seniors calls this the “quiet crisis” that is looming for America’s seniors as the
population ages and the availability of affordable housing for them becomes
gradually unaffordable.

When we purchase a home and struggle for the next 30 years to pay for
it we assume that by age 65, it is ours - free and clear - oris it? 1 have a
friend who bought his house in 1966, and paid $35,000 for it. By 1977 it was
on the tax rolls valued at $100,000 and by 2004 its valuation was up to
$150,000. Our elected officials have claimed to be holding the line on taxes
for the past 20 years at their rate of $.50 per $100 valuation. In 1966 his
property taxes were a meager $325. By 2004 his propérty taxes were up to
$5000. This is a 360% increases in taxes alone over the 30 year life of his
mortgage.

In my case, my home has increased in appraised value more than 100%
and my property taxes have increased more than 150%....and my income has
decreased since my retirement.

For those Senior Citizens now depending on their Social Security checks
each month, this takes a real hunk out of their available funds. | am told that

might slow down the real estate market because people would not be selling
their houses as frequently. | would submit that such a concern, is itself stark
evidence of the forced sale of senior housing that is currently taking place.
Increasing costs of health care and prescription drugs hit senior citizens out of
all proportion to their numbers. Older Kansans should not also have to worry
about losing their homes as a result of “back door” taxation in the form of
increased valuation and assessment of their homes.

HOUSE TAXATION
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(Page 2 - Jim Snyder)

All taxes are unpopular but voters correctly perceive that property
taxes have no relationship to income, so that struggling families, middle-class
neighbors, affluent neighbors and seniors on fixed income all pay at about the
same rate--but definitely at different amounts. Prohibiting valuation increases
on homes of Kansas citizens 65 years of age or over is a good idea, though not
altogether a new idea. Several states including New Jersey, Texas, lllinois,
Pennsylvania, Georgia, California, Arizona and New York, among others, are
considering, have adopted or are in the process of implementing some form of
this proposed legislation.

However, it as idea whose time has come...and it should come to
Kansas. Older Kansans should not have to worry about losing their home or
saving account because property taxes continue to take a bigger bite out of
their pension or Social Security checks.

I urge your support.
Jim Snyder

343 SW Eimwood e
Topeka, KS 66606 rsnyder409@aol.com
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To: House Taxation Committee

From: Craig Kaberline, Executive Director, Kansas Area Agencies on Aging Association
Date: March 16, 2004

Testimony in Support of House Concurrent Resolution 5032

Representative Edmonds and members of the committee, thank you for this opportunity to appear before
you today to provide testimony regarding HCR 5032. My name is Craig Kaberline and I am the executive
director of the Kansas Area Agencies on Aging Association (K4A). K4A's mission is to work to improve
services and supports for all older Kansans and their caregivers. K4A represents all eleven Area Agencies
on Aging (AAA) who coordinate services for seniors in all 105 counties of Kansas.

I appear before you today in support of House Concurrent Resolution 5032, which by law would prohibit
valuation increases on single-family residential real property with a valuation of less than$250,000 which
is owned by and the principal place of residence of Kansas residents who are 65 years of age or older as
of January 1 of the tax year.

K4A believes this is an important piece of legislation for Kansas seniors, especially those seniors on a
fixed income. It would benefit many seniors on fixed incomes who continue to experience significant
increases in their property values. There are seniors who bought their modest home years ago in places
like Johnson County and are now struggling to stay living in these homes. They aren’t necessarily fancy
homes just modest homes whose value has continued to rise rapidly because of the growth of the area
around them.

This is not just happening in Johnson County, it is happening in many areas of the state. The rising
property valuations and property taxes are hurting many homeowners but in particular Kansas’ senior
population.

This legislation is not a new idea. Legislation similar to HCR 5032 has been passed in several states
including New York, New Jersey, Washington, and Oregon. Attached to my testimony is information
from the program in the state of Washington. Legislation similar to this bill is also being considered in
several more states including Missouri.

This legislation would not keep seniors from paying property taxes; instead it would cap the property
valuation at its current level. I believe this legislation is good public policy and good for Kansas seniors.

I thank you for your commitment to Kansas seniors. I ask for your support of House Concurrent

Resolution 5032. HOUSE TAXATION
Attachment &
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Washington State Department of Revenue

PROPERTY TAX
EXEMPTIONS FOR
SENIOR CITIZENS AND DISABLED
PERSONS

If you are a senior citizen or if you are dis-
abled, Washington has two programs that may
help you to pay your property taxes and/or
special assessments. Your household income
and your age or disability determine your
eligibility for both programs.

This publication provides a basic description
of the property tax exemption program for
senior citizens and persons with disabilities.
See the fact sheet fitled Information on
Washington’s Tax Structure—Property Tax
Deferrals for Senior Citizens and Disabled
Persons for more information on the deferral
program. This fact sheet is current at the time
of publication, however, future law changes
may make some of this information incorrect.
This material is intended for general informa-
tion purposes, it does not alter or supersede
any administrative regulations or rulings
issued by the Department of Revenue.

The Senior Citizen and Disabled Person
Property Tax Exemption Program freezes the
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levies, and may exempt a portlon of regular
levies. This results in:

1. Freezing the value of your residence as of
January 1, 1995 or January 1 of the initial
application year, whichever is later, and

2. Providing you with a reduction in your prop-
erfy taxes.

The assessor will continue to establish the
market value of the property, however, you will
only be billed for the taxes on the frozen value.

You must be at least 61 years old on Decem-
ber 31 of the year in which you apply, or

You must be unable to work because of a
physical disability. As proof of disability, you
must send a doctor’s statement with your
application.

The exemption is available for your principal
home and up to one acre of land. A mobile
home may qualify as your residence, even if
you do not own the land where the mobile
home is located.

The property must be your principal home at
the time you apply for the exemption. You
must occupy the home for at least six months
each year.

Your residence may qualify even if you are
temporarily in a hospital or nursing home. You
may rent your residence to someone else
during your hospital or nursing home stay, if
the income is used to pay the hospital or
nursing home costs.

December 2003 ChimlEsE s



Property used as a vacation home is not
eligible for the exemption program.

You must own the home for which the exemp-
tion is claimed, either in total (fee owner), as a
contract purchaser, mortgagee, deed of trust or
as a life estate (including a lease for life). If
you transfer your home under a revocable trust
agreement, you must retain the full use of the
property and be able to revoke the trust and
take ownership at any time. Irrevocable trusts
qualify, if they can be deemed a life estate.

A home owned by a married couple or by co-
tenants is considered owned by each spouse
or co-tenant. Only one person must meet the

age or disability requirement.

If you share ownership in a cooperative hous-
ing unit and your share represents the specific
unit or portion where you live, you will be
eligible for the exemption on your unit.

If your primary residence or the land under
your primary residence is owned by a govern-
ment entity, you are eligible for a comparable
exemption, if you meet the minimum qualifica-
tions.

Your annual household income may not
exceed $30,000. If your household income is
between $30,000 and $34,000, you may
qualify for the deferral program. See the fact
sheet fitled Information on Washington's Tax
Structure—Property Tax Deferrals for Senior
Citizens and Disabled Persons for more
information about the program.

Household income includes your disposable
income, that of your spouse, and any
cotenants. A cotenant is a person living in
your home who also has an ownership inter-
est. Household income does not include:

< The income of a person, other than a
spouse, who does not have ownership
interest and lives in your home. However,
the application must show any income the
person contributes to the household, or

<> The income of a person who has owner-
ship interest and lives elsewhere. How-
ever, if someone living elsewhere has any
ownership interest, the amount of your
exemption will be based on the percentage
of your interest in the property.

The maximum amount of annual income you
may receive to qualify for the exemption is
$30,000. The disposable income you receive
during the year you apply determines your
eligibility. (The assessor will require proof of
income.) Disposable income includes all
sources, whether or not they are taxable for
federal income tax purposes. Losses and
depreciation may not be deducted. Some of
the most common sources of income include:

& Wages, salaries, and tips.
€ Social Security benefits.
¢ Railroad retirement benefits.

€ Pension and annuity receipts, including
retirement bonds, Individual Retirement
Accounts, and distributions from Keough
plans. An annuity
is a payment of a
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ability payments, and welfare receipts
(excluding amounts received for the care of
dependent children).

< Interest and dividend receipts.

< Business income. Depreciation and busi-
ness losses may not be deducted.

«» Rental income. Depreciation and rental
losses may not be deducted.

© Capital gains.

If you were retired for two or more months
during the application year, your household
income will be computed by multiplying the
average monthly disposable income received
during the months you were retired by twelve.
If your spouse died before November 1 of the
application year or you have a significant
change in income that is expected to last an
indefinite period of time, your household
income is computed by multiplying the aver-
age monthly disposable income, after the
occurrence, by twelve.

To determine your disposable income, you
may take deductions for the following:

€ Capital gains you receive from the sale of
your principal residence, IF the gain is
reinvested in a replacement principal
residence.

© Non-reimbursed amounts you pay for your
spouse, yourself, or cotenant to live in a
nursing home.

< Non-reimbursed amounts paid for prescrip-
tion drugs for yourself, your spouse, or
cotenant.

< Non-reimbursed amounts you pay for
goods and services that allow you, your

spouse, or cotenant to receive in-home
care. The care received must be similar to
the care provided by a nursing home.

¢ Medical treatment, physical therapy, Meals
on Wheels (or similar meal delivery ser-
vice), and household and personal care.
Personal care includes assistance with
preparing meals, getting dressed, eating,
taking medications or areas of personal
hygiene.

< Special furniture and equipment, such as
wheelchairs, hospital beds, and oxygen.

When your annual income for the application
year is $30,000 or less, your home will be
exempt from all excess or special levies.
Excess or special levies are in addition to
regular levies. They require voter approval
and provide money for a specific purpose,
such as school bonds and maintenance and
operation levies.

In addition, when your income is $24,000 or
less, a portion of the regular levy amount may
be exempt. These exemptions are:

€ When your household income is $18,000
or less, you are exempt from regular levies
on the first $50,000 or 60% of your home's
assessed value, whichever is greater.

For example, if your household income is
$12,000 and the assessed value of your
property is
$150,000, the
taxable value of
your property is
$60,000 ($150,000
- $90,000 =
$60,000). 60% of
$150,000
($90,000) is R
greater than

$50,000.




< When your household income is between
$18,001 and $24,000, you are exempt from
regular levies for $40,000 or 35% of the
assessed value, whichever is greater, not
to exceed $60,000 of assessed value.

For example, if your household income is
$19,000 and the assessed value of your
_property is $150,000, the taxable value of your
property is $97,500 ($150,000 - $52,500 =
$97,500). 35% of $150,000 ($52,500) is
greater than $40,000, but less than $60,000.

transfer the exempt status to a replacement
residence. However, you may not receive an
exemption on more than the equivalent of one
residence in any year. YWhen an exemption is
transferred to a new residence, the value of
the new residence is frozen as of January 1 of
the year of change.

If you are moving to Washington, you may
transfer an exemption from another state to
your new YWashington residence, providing
you meet all other eligibility requirements and
provide proof of the exemption.

The effective date of the exemption is the date
the taxes are paid.

If you pass away before the taxes are paid, the
taxes will be recalculated without the exemp-
tion. Your surviving spouse may continue to
receive the exemption if he or she is at least
57 years old and meets all the other eligibility
requirements.

If you sell your home before the taxes are
paid, the exemption will continue through your
period of ownership, provided you pay the
portion of taxes owing for your period of own-
ership and the new owner pays the portion of
taxes for his/her period of ownership. If the
new owner pays the entire amount, the taxes
will be recalculated
without using the
exemption.

If you sell, transfer, or
are otherwise dis-
placed from your
residence, you may

Your county assessor administers this pro-
gram. Applications are available from that
office.

You may apply for the exemption program
during the year before the year the taxes are
due and payable. For example, if you want an
exemption for taxes due in 2003, you must
apply no later than December 31, 2002, using
your 2002 income.

When your application is filed after the dead-
line, you must use the income from the same
year as you would have, if you had filed your
application on time. For example, you would
use 2001 income, for a 2001 application to
receive the exemption from the 2002 taxes.

If you have paid prior years’ taxes because of
a mistake, oversight, or a lack of knowledge,
you may apply for a refund by filing an appli-
cation for refund with the county assessor.
You must file the application within three
years of the dates the taxes were paid. Re-
funds will not be made beyond the three-year
period.
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After approval, the exemption applies until a
new application is required. This happens:

< At least once every four years (you will be
notified by the county assessor), or

» When you sell your property and move to a
new home.

You must file a Change of Status report with
the assessor’s office if changes in your in-
come or living circumstances affect the ex-
emption.

Change of Status reports are available from
your county assessor.

The county assessor must notify you if your
application is denied. You may appeal the
assessor’s decision to the County Board of
Equalization. The County Board of Equaliza-
tion must receive your appeal by July 1, or
within 30 days of when the denial notice was
mailed, whichever date is later.

If you have any questions regarding the prop-
erty tax exemption for senior citizens or dis-
abled persons, contact your local county
assessor’s office at the telephone number
listed in the blue pages of your telephone
book.

Or you may contact:

State of Washington

Department of Revenue

Property Tax Division

Post Office Box 47471

Olympia, Washington 98504-7471
FAX (360) 586-7602

Telephone: (360) 570-5867

If you would like to inquire about the availabil-
ity of this publication in an alternate format for
the visually impaired, call (360) 486-2342. [f
you are hearing impaired, please call 1-800-
451-7985 for assistance through our Teletype
(TTY).

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) Chapter
84.36—Exemptions (Property Tax)

Washington Administrative Code (WAC)
Chapter 458-16.—Senior Citizen/Disabled
Persons Property Tax Exemptions

The Department of Revenue will provide
copies of specific laws and rules, upon re-
quest. Please call our Telephone Information
Center at 1-800-647-77086 for this service.
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KANSAS TAXPAYERS NETWORK www.kansastaxpayers.com

P.O. Box 20050 316-684-0082
Wichita, KS 67208 FAX 316-684-7527
17 March 2004

Testimony Supporting HCR 5038

There is a property tax problem that is growing every year as the tax appraisals increase
the amount of money that can be generated from Kansas property taxes. This is a
problem that has existed for well over a decade and I have spoken to this committee and
to the senate tax committee repeatedly about this problem. Kansas’ high property taxes
hurt this state’s economy and our competitiveness.

Seniors and other folks whose incomes are not growing as fast as their tax appraisals are
among those who are primarily being hurt by this system. HCR 5038 would exempt 50%
of the first $200,000 of appraised value of residential property owned by Kansans 67
years of age and older.

These citizens need and deserve property tax relief. However, Kansas Taxpayers
Network (KTN) believes that ALL Kansas property owners need and deserve relief from
rising tax appraisals. In the past KTN has testified in support of capping appraisal
increases to inflation, to a set percentage each year, to rolling back the mill levy in a
revenue neutral way, and other concepts to limit property tax growth.

This proposal along with HCR 5032 which is similar (age 65 and $250,000 valuation
limit) suffer from the fact that it would set up two classes of residential property owners
in Kansas. It would also provide another form of separation from all other classes of
taxable property including agricultural land, utility and commercial property.

KTN’s position is that all Kansas property taxpayers need tax relief, not just one class of
taxpayers. The most recent study by Kansas Inc. on state taxes released earlier this year
indicated that Kansas taxes on business property was the highest in our five state region
and second highest on residential property. This property tax data vividly indicate the
need for some limits to be placed on the property tax system in general and tax appraisal
hikes in particular.

Enactment of this amendment in this current form is likely to lead to additional tax shift
problems with future pressure being placed on non-residential property and residential
property of folks 67 and younger.

This proposal would address a portion of the tax appraisal problem in Kansas but it does
not provide a broad based solution for all taxable property. A broad based solution is
needed since the current system is leading to excessive property tax growth. HCR 5038
begins to address this problem but a broader, more comprehensive approach that will help
all taxpayers and improve our overall competitiveness is needed.
HOUSE TAXATION
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Testimony concerning HCR 5032,
HCR 5031, and HCR 5038
House Taxation Committee
March 17, 2004
Presented by Randall Allen, Executive Director
Kansas Association of Counties

Mr. Chairman and members of the committee, my name is Randall
Allen, Executive Director of the Kansas Association of Counties. Thank you for
the opportunity to present testimony on House Concurrent Resolutions 5032,
5031, and 5038. On behalf of our member counties, the Kansas Association of
Counties expresses its opposition to all three constitutional amendment
proposals, which preclude residential property valuation increases above some
artificial level, either 1) for a special population group, e.g. persons 65 and older
(HCR 5032), 2) for all residential property above a “to-be designated” maximum
increase (HCR 5031); or by way of exempting 50% of the first $200,000 in
residential real property valuation from property taxes (HCR 5038). We object
to all proposals for the same basic reasons, as follows:

1) Limiting the growth in appraised valuation of real estate to a cap
established by legislative enactment would in no way guarantee lower taxes. If
values are normally increasing and are not allowed to increase at a rate suggested
by market forces, county clerks would merely set higher levies (expressed in mill
levy rates) to compensate for the relatively lower aggregate property values
based on counties’ legally adopted budgets — all other factors being equal. There
is a common misperception that county commissioners set tax rates. In reality,
county commissioners and other locally elected governing bodies adopt budgets
while county clerks set tax rates. If a goal of imposing a cap on growth in
appraised value is to somehow limit taxes or spending, this proposal does not
accomplish this goal.

2) Our second concern about this proposal is the inequity that it would
create between and among parcels. For example, if the fair market value of one
property increases from $100,000 to $106,000 in a year’s time (i.e. a 6%
increase) while a property across town increases from $100,000 to only $102,000
in a year’s time (i.e. a 2% increase), and assuming there is a cap in the annual
valuation growth of 3%, why should the owner of the second property pay taxes
at an inevitably higher mill levy rate stemming from artificial caps on the growth
in appraised values, when that burden should be borne by the first taxpayer and
all other taxpayers who are in the same circumstances? As a result of an artificial
limitation, the tax burden would merely shift from more rapidly appreciating
properties to older, established properties which are stable or decreasing in value.
A shift would also likely be directed to commercial properties assessed at higher
rates, and to personal property taxes.

After experiencing years of neglect in our property tax administration
system in the 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s, county commissioners and state officials
expended the fiscal and political capital to make our system better. It is not

HOUSE TAXATION
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perfect, but it is infinitely better than it was before property values were revisited
on an annual basis. We urge the committee to refrain from presenting this
proposed constitutional amendment to the voters. Let the values reflect reality as
nearly as possible. Thank you.

The Kansas Association of Counties, an instrumentality of member counties under K.S.A. 19-2690, provides
legislative representation, educational and technical services and a wide range of informational services to its

member counties. Inquiries concerning this testimony should be directed to Randall Allen or Judy Moler by
calling (785) 272-2585.
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League of Kansas Municipalities

Date: March 17, 2004
To: House Committee on Taxation
From: Larry R. Baer

Assistant General Counsel
Re: HCR 5031 5032 and 5038 - Testimony in Opposition

Thank you for allowing me to appear before you today on behalf of the League of Kansas
Municipalities and its member cities to present testimony in opposition to HCR 5031, 5032 and
5038.

In order to maintain fair and equal taxation, the League supports appraisals based upon fair
market value. If a valuation cap or limitation is imposed, fair market value is no longer the
measuring stick for residential property valuations. A valuation cap or a valuation limitation
artificially decreases the appraised value of property, and, consequently, the assessed
valuation. When the valuation of one type of property decreases, the tax burden shifts to other
types of property. Stated another way, business and commercial property must generate more
taxes to make up that which is lost on residential property. In counties and school districts, this
shift of tax burden would also include agricultural property.

This type of legislation does not reduce property taxes. It merely shifts the tax burden.

Many of you remember the morass of valuation issues that existed prior to state wide
reappraisal and reclassification in the late 1980s. A valuation cap or limitation would soon have
values of residential properties just as skewed with reality as we saw prior to reappraisal. This
would result in the inequitable shifting of property taxes from some or all residential property,
depending upon the way the legislature forged the limitation or cap, to business and
commercial property. In counties and school districts, this shift of tax burden would also include
agricultural property.

Please remember, that property tax is one of the three legs of the stool that supports local
government finances. Sales tax and demand transfers being the other two legs. The demand
transfer leg has been dramatically shortened in the past two years. Legislation as proposed by
HCR 5031, 5032 and 5038 has the effect of trimming on the property tax leg of the stool. It
truly is time that we take a long hard look at where funding and revenues for local government
is going to be coming from as we go forward in the 21* century.

The League adamantly opposes any amendment to the Kansas Constitution that alters the
current fair market value approach to valuing residential property or that would place any cap or
limitation on increase of valuation for residential property. The League requests that you reject
HCR 5031, 5032 and 5038.

Thank you for your consideration of this matter. | will stand for questions when approoriate.
yeRTny eSS E AR ATION
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KANSAS NATIONAL EDUCATION ASSOCIATION / 715 SW 10TH AVENUE

Mark Desetti, Testimony

House Committee on Taxation
March 17, 2004

HCR 5032, HCR 5031, HCR 5038

Mr. Chairman, members of the committee, thank you for the opportunity to appear before you to
speak on the three proposed constitutional amendments under consideration today. I am here today
representing both Kansas NEA and the Kansas Association of School Boards.

As legislators you have a very difficult task — you’ve got to make the tough decisions. That’s
what you were elected to do. And you must balance the needs of the state with the reluctance of all people
to pay for those needs_. ox ;

Let’s face it, no one likes to pay. We don’t like to pay for anything. I wish I could get an Armani-
suit for the cost of a pair of Lee jeans and a tee shirt. But I can’t. And while I demand state, city and
county services, I wish someone else would pay for them. I am delighted to have law enforcement -
protecting my property and family. [ am most appreciative that the fire department is there if I need them; .
that my children can use the public library and parks; that I can get from one end of Kansas to the other. -
over smooth roads and highways. I find it comforting to know that there are services for the elderly, the
 disabled, and those without work. As the parent of four children, I am especially grateful for the top
quality schools and colleges that are available to them. I just wish someone else would pay for it all.

But it’s my duty to pay for those services and I pay for them with my taxes. As a taxpayer, I look
to the legislature to find ways to provide all of those services efficiently while ensuring that they are all
top quality.

Whenever there is a drop in tax revenue, you are left with the worst choices of all. You must
decide where to make painful cuts in services that Kansans have come to expect and enjoy. This is exactly
what you all have had to wrestle with for several years now as you deal with an economic downturn and
the impact of a series of tax cuts made in the 90’s.

The proposals before you today will cut revenue but you know that the need for law enforcement,
fire protection, schools, and support for our most vulnerable citizens will not go away just because there
is no money. Legislators, city and county commissioners, and local school boards will either cut services
or raise mill levies. There is no way around it.

Simply put, this is not the time to be slashing taxes. We urge you to reject all three of these

resolutions. HOUSE TAXATION
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March 17, 2004

Thank you Mr. Chairman and committee members for allowing me to testify on HCR 5031.

HCR 5031 and a companion resolution SCR 1620, heard this past Monday in the Senate Ways

and Means committee, would allow an amendment to the Kansas constitution that would allow
the State Legislature the ability to control increases in residential property valuation throughout
the state.

Mr. Chairman, having served on this committee for four years, I heard of this problem in each of
those four years and have not seen any stabilization of property values or any increases consistent
with cost of living increases in other essential commodities. This resolution, if passed by the
legislature and the citizens of Kansas, will not limit the legislature by controlling the growth in
only a limited area of residential valuation such as HCR 5032, which limits the control on only
property owned by senior citizens.

HCR 5031 would allow the legislature to do a serious study and debate of the property valuation
system and empower the legislature to change the system to reflect economic growth or use a
methodology that controls increases in valuation but does not limit local taxing jurisdictions.

Mr Chairman, HCR 5031 would be a step in the right direction for more truth in taxation.

HOUSE TAXATION
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My name is Aaron Williams. [am 31 years old. 1 have a lovely wife, two
children, and one on the way.

[ live on a neat, clean, 40 acre farm in rural Southeast Kansas. | share crop,
custom bale, small square bales of alfalfa and Bermuda hay. 1 fabricate steel
buildings, do concrete work and run a dozer. Everything [ have, I have built with my
own hands!! No one gave me a thing!

In 1993, [ started a business with $1,500 and a $240.00 a month tractor
payment. [ worked day and night to chase the American dream of owning my
own farm. I was so proud of all our accomplishments. We had accomplished
everything we had worked so hard for!! We owned our own farm, our own
equipment and my wife has stayed home to raise our children just as we had
planned. Our next goal was to build a house that we had been saving for
many years. Then cometh the tax man!!!

When your state chosen man serving in his 5™ county moved our way
he crushed our dreams with inflated appraisals and authoritarian attitude with
the law ag his hammer!!

Because of increased appraisals, this is how my life has changed.

1) We have sold the equipment we have owned.

2) We have downsized our company and l.aid off employees.

3) We have stopped plans for a new hay barn.

4)  We have taken the money we have saved for the house and remodeled
Our apartment in a rectangular steel building that was only going to be

A temporary means for the hope of a new house.

HOUSE TAXATION
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Recently, our property was re-evaluated (summer of 2003). But February
2004 after being involved in county concerns on taxation our county appraiser

paid my wife a “friendly” visit. He said he had noticed, while driving by,

that I had made improvements on the inside of my building. This seemed strange

so my wife called me on the job and I asked her to have him call me. His attitude
was not becoming a government official. Later I received calls from the appraisers
office on how he had bragged on “getting to me”. At this point, I felt threatened

by my local government because of my voluntary concern for our counties taxes.

[ thought the government was by the people and for the people and about life, liberty,
and the pursuit of happiness.

I recently inquired information on my upcoming years taxes. They will also be
increased again. I asked our appraiser about this and again | received the
authoritarian attitude. At this point, the appeal process looks meaningless to me!

So I feel my only option is to hold back my first payment of taxes and pay the
penalty in hopes that we can resolve this tax issue. I will encourage others to do the
same. This confrontation was not by my choice!! But now I ask for the people who
represent me in the state of Kansas and many more great taxpaying citizens to give
us a hand in this serious situation. After all the only other option left for me and my
family, is to find residence somewhere else. | was born and raised here, the

appraiser was not!
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Average
Value of 5
Comparable
Properties

Annual
Increase

% Annual
Increase

Our
Property

Annual
Increase

% Annual
Increase

$41366.00

$32340.00

7=d lon w1z Lussy o

&LI:JM é (AN /(5.

Like Property Valuations
Appraised values (Average of 5 Comparable)

6 year
1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 average
$44256.00  $45832.00 $56428.00 $61468.00 $65392.00 $72224.00 -
$2890.00 $1576.00 $10596.00 $5040.00 $3924.00 $6832.00 $5143.00

7.0% 3.6% 23.1% 8.9% 6.4% 10.4% 9.9%
$37770.00  $42800.00 $43500.00 $51700.00 $51700.00  $63700.00  -------m--
$5430.00 $5030.00 $700.00 $8200.00 - - $12000.00 $5227.00

16.8% 13.3% 1.6% 18.9% B2 23.2% 12.3%

9.9% Annual x 6 x $32340.00 = $51549.96

oug ValuZ T yfrecd
To LEE (bbzpty Ticlensss
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Total Cherokee County Annual Increase
Year Value (Millions - $) ' $ (Mitlions) %
1997 4516 0000 e s
1998 $479.0 +27.4 +6.1
1999 $524.5 +45.5 +9.5
2000 $667.2 +142.7 +27.2
2001 $580.2 -87.0 -13.0
2002 $593.0 +12.8 42.2
2003 $665.5 +72.5 +12.2
6 year
Increase $213.9 44.2%
Average
Annual
Increase $35.7 (million) $35.7 (million) 7.4%
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Year
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002

2003

6 year
Increase

Average
Annual
Increase

Columbus, Crawford and
Salamanca Valuations
(Millions - $)

$112.8
$119.6
$125.6
$148.0
$140.6
$147.6

$162.3

$49.5

$8.3 (million)

Annual Increase

hy %
+6.8 +6.0
+6.0 +5.0
+22.4 +17.8
-7.4 -5.0
+7.0 +5.0
+14.7 +10.0
$49.5 38.8%

8.3 (million) 6.4%
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Property Value Changes — Cherokee County and Parts of
Cherokee County — 1997 to 2003 6 years

Total 6 yr Annual Total 6 yr
Increase Increase Increase
(%) (%) %
Our
Property $31,360.00 $5,227.00 73.8
5 Comparable
Properties * $30,858.00 $5,143.00 59.4
Columbus, Crawford
& Salamanca
Townships ** $49.5 million $8.3 million 38.8
Total Cherokee
County Valuation **  $213.9 million $35.7 million 442

* - Source, Cherokee County Appraisers Office.

Annual
Increase

%

12.3

9.9

6.4

7.4

** - These values include added new construction, not just increase in present or

old construction value.
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REASON FOR APPEAL

1. Our property was built in the 1880°s. It’s and old house.

2. Our property valuation has increased $31,360.00 in the last 6 years, for an
average annual increase of $5.227.00.

3. Our property valuation has increased 73.8% over the last 6 years for an average
annual increase of 12.3%.

4. Our property has increased 2.4% (12.3% — 9.9%) faster than the § comparable

properties that were given to us by the County Appraisers Office, for each of the
last 6 years.

5. Our property valuation has increased 5.9% (12.3% - 6.4%) faster each of the last
6 years than the valuation of Columbus City, Crawford and Salamanca
townships. The Columbus, Crawford and Salamanca townships value includes
new construction also. Ours is the same house.

6. Our property valuation has increased 4.9% (12.3% - 7.4%) faster than the total
Cherokee County valuation. (Each of the last 6 years) The total County

valuation also includes new construction and our house is the same house.

7. (a) If our property had increased at the same rate as the 5 like properties, it
would be valued for 2003 at $51,500.00

(b) If it would have increased at the same rate as Columbus, Crawford and
Salamanca townships, it would be valued for 2003 at $44,758.00

©  Ifit would have increased at the same rate as all of Cherokee County, it
would be valued for 2003 at $46,699.00

(d) Itisvaluedat $63,700.00; therefore it is from $1 8,942.00 to $12.200.00
too high in valuation.

(¢) This inflated valuation results in our taxes being considerably higher than
my neighbors with like property in USD 493 school district and that is unfair.

16~F
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Overland

KANSAS
8500 Santa Fe Drive
Overland Park, Kansas 66212

913-895-6100 ¢ Fax: 913-895-5003
www.opkansas.org

Testimony
Before The
House Taxation Committee
Regarding HCR 5031

March 17, 2004

The City of Overland Park appreciates the opportunity to appear today in opposition to House
Concurrent Resolutions 5031. This legislation would require the legislature to limit increases in
the assessed value of residential property.

Passage of HCR 5031 would alter the current State policy of tying the valuation of a
homeowner’s property to its fair market value. As HCR 5031 takes us further and further away
from assessed valuations reflecting fair market value, the State will be positioning itself for the
problems that brought about classification and reappraisal in the late 1980s.

Limiting the growth in the assessed valuations of residential property could increase the tax
burden for a number of homeowners. Rather than having valuations realize the increase in fair
market value for property, a cap on assessed valuations would artificially dampen their growth.

In Overland Park, for instance, some parts of the City have seen valuation increases close to
the rate of inflation. Other areas have seen double-digit growth some years, due to a very
competitive real estate market. With the City not realizing the benefit of the rapidly appreciating
area, the city council could need to raise the overall mill levy to maintain the level of services
demanded by our citizens. In doing so, residents in areas that were not quickly appreciating could
see an increase in their tax burden, while an increase in taxes would be minimized for residents in
rapidly appreciating areas.

The State, too, could see significant budgetary challenges if assessed valuations are no longer
tied to fair market value. Currently, the statewide mill levy for schools stands at 20 mills.
Annually, this levy brings in more money than it did the previous year, due to the ever-increasing
value of property (with a few exceptions) and the creation of new homes.

However, limiting the growth of assessed valuations will slow the rate of growth of revenue
generated by the statewide mill levy. Projections of revenue growth will have to be adjusted
downward, leaving the Legislature three choices. One, you could raise the statewide mill levy,
something that has received scant support in recent years. Two, funding for schools could be cut
— another option unlikely to receive much support. Or, three, the Legislature will have to make up
for the less-than-expected revenue by taking additional resources from the State General Fund.

The City of Overland Park opposes measures that would move the State of Kansas away
from valuing property based on fair market value. We ask that you not report HCR 5031

favorably for passage. HOUSE TAXATION
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MEMORANDUM

TO: Honorable John T. Edmonds, Chair
House Taxation Committee

FROM: Mark S. Beck

Director of Property Valuation
DATE: March 17, 2004
SUBJECT: HCR 5031

The Department of Revenue stands in opposition to HCR 5031 because it abolishes Kansas’ long-
standing practice of applying a uniform standard for valuing all real property. Over the last
decade, we have put forth great effort and have made great strides in attempting to provide
taxpayers with a uniform basis of valuation. In other words, we have tried to make certain all
property owners are treated similarly and fairly. No one will imply that the system we have in
place is perfect, nor will you hear anyone say it has the potential of perfection. However,
blemishes and all, our current system assures that some homeowners are not systematically
benefited at the expense of others; particularly others who own less desirable homes.

Under this concept, properties that are increasing in value will have their values capped at a level
below market value. Other properties having relatively stable values will remain at fair market
value, as will houses that are decreasing in value. The direct result is to shift some of the tax
burden away from those properties that are increasing in value to those that are not. “Growth
neighborhoods” will carry Jess of the property tax burden. “Stable neighborhoods ” and
“declining neighborhoods” will carry more of the property tax burden.

In addition to the property tax shifts within the residential subclass, limiting valuation increases on
houses will shift some of the tax burden from the residential subclass to the other subclasses.
Thus, agricultural, commercial and other subclasses will carry more of the property tax burden
vis-a-vis the residential subclass. HOUSE TAXATION
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Another impact of this concept will be to limit the growth in revenue generated from the 20-mi.
levy for schools. Currently, as residential values increase, more revenue is realized from the 20-
mill levy for schools. Artificially suppressing value growth obviously limits the growth in the
revenue dedicated to K-12 education.

Also complicating matters is the treatment of manufactured housing or mobile homes. Currently,
all mobile homes are valued at market value. This is true whether the homes are affixed to the
land and taxed as real property, or set on blocks and tied down and taxed as personal property.
As drafted, this amendment would specifically exclude those taxed as personal property from the
valuation increase limitation.
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Legislative Testimony

HCR 5031

Wednesday, March 17, 2004

Testimony before the Kansas House Taxation Committee

By Marlee Carpenter, Vice President Government Relations

Chairman Edmonds and members of the Committee:

The Kansas Chamber thanks you for the opportunity to express our members’
opposition to the property tax valuation limit proposal set forth in HCR 5031.

This resolution would shift the burden of paying a disproportionate share of property
taxes to business, because the limit only applies to residential properties. This shift
would further drive-up the government driven costs for business in Kansas and harm
the state’s business climate, which already falls into a mediocre category when
compared to other states.

HCR 5031 is not the way to encourage business growth and investment in Kansas.

The Kansas Chamber is the statewide business advocacy group, with headquarters in Topeka. It is working to make
Kansas more attractive to employers by reducing the costs of doing business in Kansas. The Kansas Chamber and its
affiliate organization, The Kansas Chamber Federation, have nearly 7,500 member businesses, including local and
regional chambers of commerce and trade organizations. The Chamber represents small, large and medium sized

employers all across Kansas. HOUSE TAXATION
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10k Representative John Edmonds, Chair
Members, House Taxation Committee

FROM: Wes Ashton, Director of Government Relations
Overland Park Chamber of Commerce

DATE: March 17, 2004

RE; HCR 5031- Requiring the legislature to limit increases in the assessed
value of residential real property.

The Overland Park Chamber of Commerce would like to express its opposition to the
HCR 5031, which would require the legislature to limit increases in the assessed value of
residential real property. The Chamber believes that this is crucial legislation that could
have a severe impact on the citizens and businesses of Kansas.

This resolution would cause a shift in tax policy to require businesses to pay a
disproportionate amount because this change only applies to residential property. Unless
cuts in spending accompany this resolution, the loss of revenue would have to be made
up elsewhere. Any shift to increase the tax burden on businesses would slow any type of
€CONomic recovery.

HCR 5031 would detrimentally change the state’s taxation policy. The chamber supports
appraisals based upon fair market value. If this resolution were implemented, then fair
market value would no longer be an equitable method for residential property valuations.
When the valuation of a certain type of property is limited, the burden will simply be
shifted to another type of property.

If this resolution were passed, some homeowners would still be treated unfairly.
Developing areas that are or should be increasing in valuation would be under their fair
market value, which would cause other neighborhoods that are established to be valued
unfairly in comparison. These developing areas would not be carrying their fair share of
the tax burden.

An additional detriment that would occur with passage of this resolution is that schools
would suffer. This resolution would limit the growth in revenue generated from the 20-
mill levy for schools. Placing a limitation on valuation would limit the growth in revenue
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The chamber acknowledges that the current system is not one of perfection. There are
occasional inequities, and sometimes a homeowner may be paying more in taxes than the
property 1s actually worth. While the chamber sympathizes with this dilemma, the
resolution before you today does nothing more than shift the problem to another place,
likely to be commercial and agricultural property.

For all the foregoing reasons, the Overland Park Chamber of Commerce strongly opposes
HCR 5031 for passage. Thank you for your time and attention to this issue.

For any further information, please contact the Chamber at 913-491-3600 or
washton@opks.org.



STATEMENT OF THE KANSAS BUILDING INDUSTRY ASSOCIATION
TO THE HOUSE TAXATION COMMITTEE
REPRESENTATIVE JOHN EDMONDS, CHAIR
REGARDING H.B. 2924

MARCH 16, 2004

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee, I am Chris Wilson, Executive
Director of the Kansas Building Industry Association. Our membership includes about
2300 companies and individuals involved in the state’s residential building industry.

KBIA is concerned about the potential impact of H.B. 2924. The current
language in the law with regard to sales tax exemptions and the requirements of
contractors, subcontractors, and repairpersons was developed through careful work of
legislators and interested parties and associations. If changes are warranted, they should
again be developed with care and thought to determine the impacts on those collecting
and paying the sales tax and on the state, cities and counties that receive it. For this
reason, we would urge you to not pass H.B. 2924 at this time, but to further study its
impact if you conclude there is a problem that needs to be fixed.

Thank you for your consideration.
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